# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Masters v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2100%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 508 U.S. 906

## Text

Bupreme Court, U.S,
FILED

92-1341 | FEB 5 1993

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

eel

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

ALAN MASTERS,
Petitioner,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PATRICK A. TUITE*

BRENT D. STRATTON

Tuite, Stratton & Menaker
105 West Adams Street
31st Floor

Chicago, IL 60603

312/ 641-1022

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
1. Do consecutive maximum twenty year
sentences for racketeering and
racketeering conspiracy convictions that
involve identical conduct violate the
Fifth Amendment prohibition against
double punishment for the same offense?
2. Do consecutive maximum twenty year
sentences for a pre-Guidelines
racketeering conviction and a Guidelines
racketeering conspiracy conviction
violate the Sentencing Guidelines where:
(a) the Guidelines prohibit
consecutive sentences for conspiracy and
the object of the conspiracy; and
(6b) the Guidelines' goal of
punishing post-November 1, 1987 conduct
is not served because no conduct occurred

after the Guidelines' effective date

except for the continued concealment of
the conspiracy?

3. Is the Due Process Clause of the
Constitution violated by a sentencing
judge's finding that the Sentencing
Guidelines mandate a consecutive maximum
twenty year sentence instead of a
concurrent five year sentence where:

(a) the judge's decision is based
on a factual finding by only a
preponderance of evidence; and

(b) the finding is based on
conduct that the jury found the defendant

did not commit?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS
Petitioner Alan Masters was defendant-
appellant before the United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.
Respondent before this Court, the United
States of America, was plaintiff-appellee

below and commenced the prosecution

against Petitioner.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented for Review... i-ii
Parties to the Proceedings....... iii
TOOLS GCE COMNTOMNTH. occcvcccscveseers iv-v
TAaSlS CF AUTNOTITLIOB.. wc cccvcvccces vi-viii
OBEREGM BOLO. cc cscs ccctecessecer 2
SUPLOGLOCAOMs cc ccessecsesvzessccss 2
Constitutional Provisions and
Statutes Involved.............2.. 3
Statement of the Case............
I. Proceedings before Remand for
ROSSONTONGANG . se cccscccececvzes 4-10
II. Resentencing Hearing......... 10-12
III. Court of Appeals Decision
Following Resentencing...... 12-15
Reasons for Granting the Petition
I. This Court Should Resolve the
Uncertainty as to Whether the
Double Jeopardy Clause Permits
Consecutive Sentences for
Multiple Convictions Based on
TGONTAICAL COMBNGE. ccccccncecs 16-36

iv

a

Il.

Ill.

This Court Should Grant
Petitioner's Writ to Resolve

the Conflicts Within the
Sentencing Guidelines with Respect
to the Propriety of Consecutive
Sentences for Guidelines and
Ppre-Guidelines CountS...-+++s-. 36-43

This Court Should Resolve the
Split in the Circuits as to
Whether a Sentencing Judge Must
Consider Conduct of Which the
Defendant Was Acquitted But Which
the Judge Finds to Have Occurred
By Only 4 Preponderance of
Evidence...-ceeresseereeee*® 44-45

A. Reliance on Acquitted
Conduct..--+e2eerseee%? 45-49

B. Use of a Preponderance
Standard of Proof...---- 50-65

ConcluSion...ccccorssoserrrrrree® 65

Appendix...--+sssrsserrrrre® A-1 - A-38

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

Albernaz v. United States,
Sou UB. Bae CAPER) o ccc 14,17,29,31

Blockburger v. United States,
284 U.S. 299 (1932)........ 17,19,20

Garrett v. United States,

471 U.S. 773 (1985S). ccc cccees 29,30

Heflin v. United States,
moe U.B« GAS LADOR Decsscces 17,22,29

Jeffers v. United States,
432 U.S. 137 (1977).......4-- passim

McMillan v. Pennsylvania,

Pe Gas FE CEP e sak ceoenseess passim

Miller v. Florida,
mes Sola Se CADET va ccacceses passim

Missouri v. Hunter,
459 U.S. 359 (1983)..... 14,17,28,31

Mullaney v. Wilbur,

421 U.S. 684 (1975)..... 93,54,56,62

North Carolina v. Pearce,
££ A ib) Be ly eee ee 19

Prince v. United States,
352 U.S. 322 (1957)........... 17,29

vi

United States v. Brady,
928 F.2d 844
(Oth Cir. 1991)..--eeeeeeeeces 48,49

United States v. Felix,

_Jiz s.ct. 1377,
118 L.Ed.2d 25 (1992)..--++-- passim

United States v. Kikumura,
918 F.2d 1084
(3d Cir. 1990)... --eeeeeeeeees 15,62

United States v. Masters,
924 F.2d 1362
(7th Cir.)
cert. denied,
U.S.

eee

TTT 8.64. 2010 (1991). .00- 0000 9,42

United States v. Masters,
978 F.2d 281
(7th Cir. 1992)..---eeeseereeees 16

United States v. Niven,
952 F.2d 289
(Oth Cir. 1991)..----eeeeeeees 17,34

United States v. Scarano,
975 F.2d 580
(9th Cir. 1992)..---+-eeee> 17, 33,38

United States v. Sutton,
642 F.2d 1001
(6th Cir. 1980),
cert. denied,

453 U.S. 912 (1981)..---++eeee- 18,26

United States v. Townley,

929 F.2d 365
(8th Cir. 1991)... cc eee cree e veces 63

United States v. Turkette,
452 U.S. 576 (1981)... eee eeees 21

Whalen v. United States,
455 U.S. 684 (1980)...... “se cccces 19

In Re Winship,
397 U.S. 358 (1970)........2.4.. 54,55

viii

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

ALAN MASTERS,
Petitioner,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioner, Alan Masters, petitions for
a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit entered in this case.

es

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is
reported at 978 F.2d 281, and is
reproduced in the Appendix to this
Petition at pages A-1 - A-32.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMEN%

On October 14, 1992, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
affirmed Petitioner's sentence. On
November 9, 1992, the Court of Appeals
denied rehearing and rehearing en banc.

This Court's jurisdiction is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

Amendment V to the Constitution of the
United States:

28

...nor shall any person be subject for
the same offence to be twice put in
jeopardy of life or limb...nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law....

U.S.C. Section 994(1)(2):

The Commission shall insure that the
guidelines promulgated pursuant to
subsection (a)(1) reflect...the
general inappropriateness of posing
consecutive terms of imprisonment for
an offense of conspiring to commit an
offense or soliciting commission of an
offense and for an offense that was
the sole object of the conspiracy or
solicitation.

Sentencing Guidelines Sections 2A2.1

(1988 version), 3D1.2, 5Gl.1, and 5G1.2

are set out in the Appendix at A-34 - A-

38.

rs |

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Proceedings before Remand for
Resentencing

Petitioner was charged in June 1988 in
a four-count indictment that alleged
violations of 18 U.S.C. Section 1962(c),
1962(d), and 1341. (R. 1). The district
court had jurisdiction over Petitioner's
case under 18 U.S.C. Section 3231.

Count One charged Petitioner and two
others with racketeering, i.e. being a
member of an association-in-fact
enterprise which committed certain
racketeering acts. Racketeering Act
Number Five of Count One charged that
Petitioner (a) planned and solicited the
murder of his wife, Dianne Masters; (b)
conspired with others to murder, and

procured and aided and abetted the

murder; and (c) participated in
concealing the murder. (R. 1).
Racketeering Acts One through Four
alleged bribery violations, and Number
Six alleged mail fraud stemming from
Petitioner's obtaining proceeds from his
wife's life insurance policy. (R. 1).

Count Two charged Petitioner and the
same two others with racketeering
conspiracy, and incorporated the same
enterprise and the same pattern of
racketeering acts set out in Count One,
including the homicide of the
Petitioner's wife. (R. 1)

Counts Three and Four charged
Petitioner with mail fraud in that he
made false statements on a claim for
proceeds from the insurance policy in his

wife's name. (R. 1) The government

alleged that Petitioner's statement on

the claim that the cause of his wife's

death was under investigation was false
because Masters had himself killed his

wife.

The indictment described the alleged
racketeering enterprise which was charged
identically in Counts One and Two, as
follows: "Defendants ALAN MASTERS,
MICHAEL J. CORBITT and JAMES D. KEATING,
and the Law Offices of ALAN MASTERS,
P.C., the Willow Springs Police
Department [Corbitt's employer], and the
Cook County Sheriff's Police Department
[Keating's employer] formed and were an
association-in-fact and constituted an

enterprise as that term is defined in

Title 18 United States Code, Section

1961(4)...."

The jury found Petitioner guilty of
Counts One and Two and not guilty of
Counts Three and Four. (R. 165, 166)

The jury returned a special verdict on
Counts One and Two. (R. 165) The special
verdict on Count One listed all six
Racketeering Acts and subdivided
Number Five into (a), (b), and (c).
Number Six was subdivided into six parts,
corresponding to the six mailings that
were in furtherance of the alleged mail
fraud conduct (charged in Counts Three
and Four)(R. 165).

In pertinent part the special verdict
stated: "In finding defendant Alan
Masters GUILTY of Count One of the

Indictment, we find beyond a reasonable

doubt that he committed the following

7

~~ sedl

checked Racketeering Activities of the
charged enterprise...." (R. 165) The
jury checked Numbers One through Four and
part (a) of Number Five (charging the
solicitation to murder Dianne Masters).
(R. 165) The jury did not check parts
(b) and (c) of Number Five (charging

the murder of Dianne Masters and
concealment of her death) or any of the
six parts of Number Six (the mailings
regarding insurance). (R. 165) The
special verdict for Count Two (RICO
conspiracy) did not subdivide Numbers
Five and Six; consistent with its verdict
on Count One, the jury checked Numbers
One through Five and did not check Number

Six. (R. 165)

In a forfeiture hearing held after the

return of the jury verdicts, the jury was
asked to find but did not find against
Masters on the special forfeiture verdict
regarding property of Dianne Masters that
Petitioner gained upon her death and
which the government contended he should
forfeit because he procured her murder.
(R. 165).

On appeal, the Court of Appeals
affirmed Petitioner's convictions on

Counts One and Two. See United States v.

Masters, 924 F.2d 1362 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 111 S.Ct. 2019 (1991). In
rejecting one of Petitioner's challenges
to an evidentiary ruling by the district
court, recognizing the jury's decision,
the court stated: "And if there was

error here, it was harmless, since it

went to a charge -- conspiracy to murder,

as distinct from conspiracy to solicit
and conceal -~- on which the defendants
were acquitted." Id. at 1368. The court
also vacated Petitioner's sentence on
Count Two (the racketeering conspiracy
count) and remanded the case to the
Gistrict court to make a finding as to
whether the conspiracy extended past
November 1, 1987, thus requiring that the
conspiracy count be sentenced under the
Sentencing Guidelines. Id. at 1369.

II. Resentencing Hearing

The parties did not dispute that the
government had alleged a conspiracy that
extended past November 1, 1987. (R. 279)
The district court found that an offense
level of 43 (life imprisonment) would

apply to resentencing Petitioner on Count

10

ceeded

Two. (R. 289) The district court
explained that Level 43 was the
applicable offense level because, despite
the jury's verdict, he found by a
preponderance of the evidence that
Petitioner was liable for the murder of
his wife. (R. 302 at 9) Thus, the court
ruled that Section 2Al1.1 of the
Sentencing Guidelines, which governs
first degree murder, applied to
Petitioner's case. (R. 302 at 9-10).*
Finally, the district court ruled
that, to vindicate the Guidelines, the
sentence on Count Two, based on the
statutory maximum of a life sentence on

an offense level of 43, must be a twenty-

*The district court said that he would
reach Level 43 by two alternate routes,
which are explained in the appellate
court's opinion, that are not pertinent
to this writ.

year sentence to run consecutively to the
previously imposed 20 year maximum
sentence on the pre-Guidelines
racketeering conviction. (R. 302 at 71).

III. Court of Appeals Decision
Following Resentencing

On October 14, 1992, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
affirmed the Guidelines sentence imposed
on Count Two. See 978 F.2d 281 (opinion
reproduced in Appendix at A-1l - A-32). On
November 9, 1992, the Court of Appeals
Genied rehearing and rehearing in banc.

In its opinion, the Court of Appeals
held that the district court properly
found that Section 2Al.1, which applies
to murder and carries a base offense
level of 43, was the appropriate

guideline section for Count Two. See 978

12

biieeieneeeeeereenceeeeeeel

F.2d at 284. (A-10 - A-13). The Court
also upheld the district court's decision
to run the Guidelines sentence
consecutive to the pre-Guidelines
sentence, citing Section 5G1.2(d), which
governs sentencing on multiple counts of
conviction under the Guidelines. See id.
(A-11).

The Court of Appeals next rejected
Petitioner's argument that consecutive
maximum sentences for racketeering and
racketeering conspiracy violate the
Double Jeopardy Clause. Id. at 285. (A-

15 - A-18). Citing United States v.

Felix, U.S. , 232 $.Ct. 1377, 116

L.Ed.2da 25 (1992), the court Claimed that
separate punishment for choate and

inchoate crimes always is permissible.

13

Id. (A-15 - A-16) Citing Missouri v.

Hunter, 459 U.S. 359 (1983) and Albernaz

v. United States, 450 U.S. 333 (1981),

the court also contended that cumulative
punishment at a single trial never
violates the Double Jeopardy Clause. Id.
(A-16)

The Court of Appeals next ruled that
the jury's finding that Petitioner did
not conspire to murder and conceal the
murder of his wife did not bar the
district judge from finding that
Petitioner was responsible for the murder
and basing Petitioner's sentence on that
finding. 978 F.2d at 285. (A-19 - A-22).

Finally, the court rejected
Petitioner's call for a standard of proof
greater than a preponderance of evidence

when the factua) findings at sentencing

14

result in dramatic increases in the
length of sentence. The
court recognized that its holding

conflicted with United States v.

Kikumura, 918 F.2d 1084 (3d Cir. 1990),

but opined that Kikumura is inconsistent

with McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 479 U.S.

79 (1986). See id. (A-22 - A-25).

eT

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. This Court Should Resolve the
Uncertainty as to Whether the
Double Jeopardy Clause Permits
Consecutive Sentences for
Multiple Convictions Based on
Identical Conduct.

Petitioner was sentenced to two
consecutive twenty-year maximum sentences
for racketeering and racketeering
conspiracy. The conduct that violated
the racketeering statute (18 U.S.C.
Section 1962)(c)) was the identical conduct
that violated the racketeering conspiracy
statute (18 U.S.C. Section 1962(d)). The
Court of Appeals claimed that decisions
cf this Court foreclose Petitioner's
argument that consecutive sentences

violated the Double Jeopardy Clause. See

United States v. Masters, 978 F.2d 281,

285 (7th Cir. 1992)(citing United States

16

v. Felix, U.S. , 112 S.Ct. 1377, 118

L.Ed.2d 25 (1992); Missouri v. Hunter,

459 U.S. 359 (1983); Albernaz v. United

States, 450 U.S. 333 (1981); Blockburger

vy. United States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932) )(A-

-15 - A-17). Petitioner asserts that if these

decisions are to be interpreted as
permitting consecutive sentences for
identical conduct charged under multiple
statutes, then those decisions of this
Court are in conflict with Jeffers v.-

United States, 432 U.S. 137 (1977),

Heflin v. United States, 358 U.S. 415

(1959), and Prince v. United States, 312

U.S. 322 (1957). In addition,
the lower court's decision is in conflict

with United States v.- Scarano, 975 F.2d

580 (9th Cir. 1992), United States v.

Niven, 952 F.2d 289 (9th Cir. 1991) and

17

Aries

United States v. Sutton, 642 F.2d 1001

(6th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 453 U.S.

912 (1981) in assessing the double jeopardy
ramifications of consecutive sentences
for identical conduct. This Court should

grant certiorari in Petitioner's case to

resolve these conflicts and the
uncertainty as to when consecutive
sentences are permitted.

Although the Court of Appeals asserts
that the decisions of this Court
unquestionably reject a double jeopardy
challenge to consecutive sentences for
racketeering and racketeering conspiracy,
several decisions of this Court in fact
support Petitioner's position. As a
starting point, the Double Jeopardy

Clause of the Fifth Amendment "protects

18

against multiple punishments for the same

offense." North Carolina v. Pearce, 395

U.S. 711, 717 (1969). The test for
determining whether conduct can be

punished twice was stated in Blockburger

vy. United States, 284 U.S. 299, 304

(1932): "The applicable rule is that,
where the same act or transaction
constitutes a violation of two distinct
statutory provisions, the test to be
applied to determine whether there

are two offenses or only one is whether
each provision requires proof of an
additional fact which the other does
not." This Court more recently has
explained that the assumption "underlying
the rule is that Congress ordinarily does
not intend to punish the same offense

under two different statutes." Whalen v.

19

United States, 455 U.S. 684, 692 (1980).

"Accordingly, where two statutory
provisions proscribe ‘the same offense, '
they are construed not to authorize
cumulative punishment in the absence of a
Clear indication of contrary legislative
intent." Id.

Although the Blockburger analysis

examines the statutory elements of two
offenses, this Court often has looked to
the actual offenses charged and to the
government's evidence in determining the
propriety of cumulative punishment. In

Jeffers v. United States, 432 U.S. 137

(1977), this Court barred consecutive
sentences for violations of Sections 846
(conspiracy) and 848 (continuing criminal

enterprise) of Title 21 of United States

20

Code. This Court looked beyond the
statutory elements to the common law
meanings of "conspiracy" and "concerted
action" and to the government's actual
evidence. See 432 U.S. at 147-57 & n.16.
This Court held that the requirement of
"concerted action" necessarily requires
"proof of an agreement among the persons
involved in the continuing criminal
enterprise." 432 U.S. at 150. Even
though Section 848 does not on its face
require a conspiracy or an agreement,
this Court held that the common meaning
of the phrase “in concert" is agreement
or cooperative action. See id. at 148-49

& n.14; see also United States v.

Turkette, 452 U.S. 576

(1981)(association-in-fact racketeering

enterprise is a “group of persons

21

Saitama

associated together, for a common purpose
of engaging in a course of conduct"). In
the instant case Petitioner was charged
with being a member of an association-in-
fact racketeering enterprise.

This Court had earlier applied the
same double jeopardy analysis in
invalidating consecutive sentences under
the federal bank robbery statutes. In

Heflin v. United States, 358 U.S. 415,

419-20 (1959), this Court held that
double jeopardy is violated by the
imposition of consecutive sentences for
the use of a dangerous weapon while
robbing a bank under 18 U.S.C. Section
2313(d) and receipt of money taken from a
bank under 18 U.S.C. Section 2113(c).

This Court so held despite the presence

22

—

of different elements in the two sections

of the statute. See id.; see also Prince

v. United States, 352 U.S. 322, 327-29

(1957)(under 18 U.S.C. Section 2113,
offense of entering a bank with felonious
intent merges with offense of bank
robbery if bank robbery is consummated,
thus prohibiting consecutive sentences,
despite different elements).

The analytical similarity between
racketeering and racketeering conspiracy
is comparable to the similarity between
conspiracy in continuing criminal
enterprise in the Jeffers case. AS
charged in Petitioner's case, the
racketeering count required the same
element of agreement that is an element
of racketeering conspiracy. The

indictment against Petitioner alleged an

23

EE

association-in-fact enterprise that
consisted of Petitioner, Michael Corbitt,
James Keating and the three legal
entities with which those individuals
were associated. The racketeering
conspiracy count charged that Petitioner,
Corbitt and Keating agreed to conduct the
affairs of that association-in-fact
enterprise through a pattern of
racketeering activity. The agreement
needed to form the conspiracy also was
necessary to the formation and continued
existence of the association-in-fact.

The only way the government could prove
the existence of the association-in-fact
was to prove that Petitioner, Corbitt and
Keating agreed, either explicitly or

implicitly, to form the enterprise which

24

‘iaiieaieieiiumaaiaai

the government charged was formed to
commit the criminal acts alleged. Just

as the defendants in Jeffers could not
act in concert with one another without
agreeing to do so, see 432 U.S. at 149-
50, Petitioner, Corbitt and Keating could
not associate with one another without
agreeing to do so.

The Court of Appeals erroneously
construes Petitioner's double jeopardy
argument as relying solely on "an
identity of evidence." See 978 F.2d at
285 (A-17). To the contrary, Petitioner
consistently has argued that the elements
of the racketeering and racketeering
conspiracy counts were essentially the
same, particularly given the analytical
similarity between 4 conspiracy and an

agreement to form an association-in-fact

25

enterprise.

However, despite the focus on the
elements of two offenses, the courts
frequently look to the charges and proof
presented at trial in determining whether
two offenses are distinct. Indeed, this
Court noted in Jeffers: “The two
indictments in this case are remarkably
similar in detail. It is clear that the
identical agreement and transactions over
the identical time period were involved
in the two cases." 432 U.S. at 150
n.16.

Similarly, in United States v. Sutton,

642 F.2d 1001, 1040 (6th Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 453 U.S. 912 (1981), the

Court specifically held that "the proofs

in this record showing these defendants

26

violated Section 1962(c) and 1962(d)
[racketeering and racketeering
conspiracy] were identical. Under these
circumstances, We believe that the
conspiracy convictions under Section
1962(d) merge with the Section 1962(c)
convictions for the purposes of
sentence." And, in United States v-
Felix, __U.S.-__es 112 $.Ct. 1377, 118
L.Ed.2d 25 (1992), in which this Court
rejected a double jeopardy challenge to 4
subsequent prosecution, this Court noted
the many differences between the conduct
charged in the two indictments: "The
actual crimes charged in each case were
different in both time and place; there
was absolutely no common conduct linking

the alleged offenses." See u.S. at

112 $.Cct. at , 118 L.Ed.2d at 33.

——— —_———-

27

———=——

In Petitioner's case, the conduct
charged in the two counts and the
evidence presented in support of those
charges could not be more identical. Not
one allegation contained in the
racketeering count was not also contained
in the conspiracy count, and vice versa.
Although the Court of Appeals is correct
in saying that an identity of evidence
alone will not support a double jeopardy
Claim, here the identity of evidence,
combined with the identity of
allegations, combined with the virtual
identity of elements does support
Petitioner's double jeopardy argument.

The Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit claims that this Court's

decisions in Felix, Missouri v. Hunter,

28

iii ci aia

459 U.S. 359 (1983), and Albernaz v.

United States, 450 U.S. 333 (1981)

preclude Petitioner's double jeopardy
challenge to the consecutive sentences.
If the Court of Appeals is correct, then
these decisions are in conflict with

Jeffers, Heflin and Prince. However,

Petitioner does not believe that Felix,

Hunter and Albernaz preclude his claim.

Although this Court stated in Felix that
a substantive offense in a conspiracy to
commit that offense are not the same for
double jeopardy purposes, see 118 L.Ed.2d
at 36, that statement was in the context
of a subsequent prosecution case. The
issue of consecutive sentences for choate
and inchoate offenses was not raised in

Felix. Even Garrett v. United States,

471 U.S. 773 (1985), which this Court

re

cited in Felix, does not preclude
Petitioner's claim. Garrett involved
cumulative punishment for a continuing
criminal enterprise conviction and a
separate conviction for an offense that
was a predicate of the CCE count.*
Garrett would control if Petitioner had
been given consecutive sentences for
racketeering and for 4 separate

conviction for one of the predicate

*There is even a question as to whether
consecutive sentences of this nature were
involved in Garrett. As Justice Stevens
noted in his dissenting opinion, Garrett
received a five year sentence for a
predicate conviction in Washington, a
consecutive fourteen year sentence for
predicate convictions in Florida, and a
forty-year concurrent sentence on the CCE
count. See 471 U.S. 773 at 807 n.27.

The majority opinion suggests that the
forty-year sentence was concurrent with
the fourteen-year term but consecutive to
the five-year term. See id. at 775, 777.

30

racketeering activities, e.g., bribery or
conspiracy to murder. However, what
raises the double jeopardy concern in
Petitioner's case is that he received
consecutive maximum sentences for
racketeering and racketeering conspiracy
convictions that involved identical
conduct.

Missouri v. Hunter also does not

control here. Although Hunter involved a
single prosecution, the defendant
received concurrent sentences for the two
offenses that he claimed violated the
Double Jeopardy Clause. See 459 U.S. at

361-62. Finally, Albernaz involved

consecutive sentences, but they were
imposed on two separate conspiracy counts
charged under two separate conspiracy

statutes. See 450 U.S. at 334. One

31

statute prohibited the importation of

marijuana into the United States and the
other statute prohibited distribution of
marijuana within the United States. See
id. In contrast, the indictment in
Petitioner's case involved but one course
of conduct that was charged in two
separate counts. The essence of Count
One was that Petitioner agreed to
associate in fact with his co-defendants
for the purpose of engaging in
racketeering activity. The essence of
Count Two was that Petitioner agreed to
agree to associate in fact with the co-
Gefendants for the same purpose. The two
counts could not be more the same.
Petitioner's case also presents a

variation on the double jeopardy issue

32

because the racketeering count was pre-

Guidelines and the racketeering
conspiracy count was sentenced under the
Guidelines. The decision of the Court of
Appeals stands in conflict with decisions
of other circuits that have held that the
Double Jeopardy Clause does not permit a
court to impose a consecutive Guidelines
sentence based on conduct that was
already was considered in a pre-Guidelines
sentence. In United States v. Scarano,
975 F.2a 580 (9th Cir. 1992), the Court
vacated the defendant's sentences for
social security fraud and mail fraud
because the "district court both
incorporated the losses from count two
[pre-Guidelines] into its calculation of
total losses for its Guidelines sentence

on count one, and imposed consecutive

33

sentences." Id. at 586; see also United

States v. Niven, 952 F.2d 289, 293 (9th
Cir. 1991)("inclusion of the pre-
Guidelines portion of the total loss when
determining both the pre-Guidelines and
Guidelines sentences potentially violates
the Double Jeopardy Clause," where the
sentences run consecutive).

In Petitioner's case, the conduct that
was used to determine that he receive a
consecutive maximum Guidelines sentence
also was used to determine that
Petitioner receive the statutory maximum
on the pre-Guidelines count. As noted
repeatedly, the conduct alleged in the
two counts was identical, and the
government neither charged nor proved any

conduct of the Petitioner occurring after

the effective date of the Guidelines
(November 1, 1987). The racketeering
conspiracy count extended past that date
only based on the government's allegation
that the conspirators agreed to conceal
their actions up to the date of the
indictment in 1988 (and indefinitely).
Therefore, this Court should grant
Petitioner's writ to resolve the split in
the circuits as to whether consecutive
sentences for identical conduct contained
in pre-Guidelines and Guidelines counts
violates the Double Jeopardy Clause.

This Court also should grant Petitioner's
writ to resolve the uncertainty as to
whether consecutive sentences are
permitted for racketeering and
racketeering conspiracy, particularly

where the racketeering count is

35

predicated on an association-in-fact

enterprise.

II. This Court Should Grant Petitioner's
Writ to Resolve the Conflicts Within
the Sentencing Guidelines With Respect
to the Propriety of Consecutive
Sentences for Guidelines and Pre-
Guidelines Counts.

Even if the consecutive sentences
imposed in this case did not violate the
Double Jeopardy Clause of the
Constitution, Petitioner contends that
the Sentencing Guidelines do not permit
the consecutive sentences imposed here.
The Court of Appeals held, without
Giscussion, that Section 5G1.2(d)
requires that Petitioner's sentences run
consecutive because the statutory
maximums of twenty years on each count

are less than the prescribed sentence of

life imprisonment for level 43, which the

36

district court determined applicable to
Petitioner's Count Two conviction under
the Guidelines. See 978 F.2d at 284 (A-
11). Because the court's intepretations
carry broad ramifications for the
imposition of consecutive sentences under
the Guidelines, this Court should grant
Petitioner's writ to correct the lower
court's erroneous reading of the
Guidelines.

The lower court's interpretation and
application of the Guidelines is
erroneous in three ways. The court's
first error is in assuming that Section
5G1.2(d) automatically applies where one
count is under the Guidelines and the
other is pre-Guidelines. By their very

nature, the Guidelines apply only to

37

offenses occurring after November l,
1987. Thus, Section 5G1.2 applies only
to sentencing on multiple counts of
conviction, where all counts are under
the Guidelines. The Court of Appeals
erroneously assumed that Section 5G1.2
must apply where one count is pre-
Guidelines. Nothing in the Guidelines
supports that conclusion by the Court of
Appeals. In fact, decisions from other
courts have made clear that the decision
to run a Guidelines count consecutive to
a pre-Guidelines count is a discretionary

one for the sentencing judge. See, e.g.,

United States v. Scarano, 975 F.2d 580,

586 (9th Cir. 1992).
Second, the Court of Appeals
erroneously assumed that, if Section

5G1.2 can apply to combinations of

3&

Guidelines and pre-Guidelines counts,
no other sections of the Guidelines
also apply t > such combinations. If
Section 5G1.2 applies even to pre-
Guidelines counts, then other sections,
such as those governing the grouping of
counts, also must apply.

Third, the Court also erroneously
concludes, albeit implicitly, that the
dictates of Section 5G1.2 necessarily
override the application of all other
sections of the Guidelines. With respect
to other Guidelines sections that apply
to Petitioner's case (despite the
inclusion of a pre-Guidelines count), the
starting point is 28 U.S.C. Section

994(1)(2), which states in pertinent

part: "The Commission shall insure that

the guidelines promulgated pursuant to
subsection (a)(1) reflect...the general
inappropriateness of imposing consecutive
terms of imprisonment for an offense of
conspiring to commit an offense or
soliciting commission of an offense and
for an offense that was the sole object
of the conspiracy or solicitation."

The Sentencing Commission's directive
is implemented in Section 3D1.2, which
governs the grouping of closely-related
counts. Application Note 4 to Section
3D1.2 states in part: "When one count
charges a conspiracy or solicitation and
the other charges a substantive offense
that was the sole object of the
conspiracy or solicitation, the counts
will be grouped together."

If Section 3D1.2 is applied to

40

Petitioner's case, the two counts for
which he was sentenced clearly would be
grouped together. After applying the
balance of Section 3D, Section 3D1.5
dictates that a sentencing judge use the
combined offense level, after grouping,
to determine the sentence in accordance
with the provisions of Chapter 5.
Because grouping the two counts would
result in a single count of conviction,
Section 5Gl.1{a) would apply, resulting
in the statutorily authorized maximum
sentence of 20 years as the Guidelines
sentence. And, applying the previously
described restrictions on consecutive
sentences for conspiracy and substantive
offenses, the Guidelines sentence would

run concurrently to the pre-Guidelines

41

ee

sentence.

This approach is particularly
appropriate in Petitioner's case because
a consecutive Guidelines sentence was not
necessary to punish conduct that occurred
after the effective date of the
Guidelines and thus could not be punished
within the scope of the pre-Guidelines
count. As noted earlier, the indictment
in this case alleged no conduct after
November 1, 1987, except a continuing
conspiracy of silence. In fact, as the
Court of Appeals noted in Petitioner's
first appeal to the Seventh Circuit, the
application of Section 5G1.2 is designed
to give "maximum effect to the Guidelines
within their intended domain, i.e.,
crimes committed after November 1, 1987."

See United States v. Masters, 924 F.2d

42

1362, 1369 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

__U.S.___, 111 S.Ct. 2019 (1991).
Petitioner engaged in no conduct after
November 1, 1987, although the conspiracy
continued as one of concealment after
that date. Thus, a consecutive sentence
is not needed to give maximum effect to.
the Guidelines within their intended
domain. Because all of Petitioner's
conduct that was charged under the
Guidelines count also was charged under
the pre-Guidelines count (in fact the
concealment of the conspiracy began in
1982 and ran up to November l, 1987 and
then beyond), giving maximum effect to
the Guidelines is achieved by a

concurrent sentence on the Guidelines

count.

III. This Court Should Resolve the
Split in the Circuits as to
Whether a Sentencing Judge Must
Consider Conduct of Which the
Defendant was Acquitted But Which
the Judge Finds to Have Occurred
By Only a Preponderance of Evidence.

The sentencing judge in Petitioner's
case determined that Petitioner should
receive the statutory maximum sentence on
the Guidelines count and that the

Guidelines sentence must run

consecutively to the pre-Guidelines

sentence. The sentencing judge based
this determination on a factual finding,
by only a preponderance of evidence, that

Petitioner was responsible for the murder

of his wife, even though the jury found

that Petitioner was not so liable. The

Court of Appeals upheld the sentencing

judge's decision in both respects:

approving the reliance on acquitted

44

conduct and factual findings by only 4
preponderance of evidence. See 978 F.2d
at 285-87 (A-19 - A-32). The lower
court's decision is in conflict in both
respects with decisions from other
circuits. Given the tremendous
signficance of sentencing hearings under
the Sentencing Guidelines and the
mandatory nature of factual findings
under the Guidelines, this Court must
resolve the split in the circuits on
these important issues and clarify what a
sentencing judge can rely on and by what
standard a judge makes factual

determinations.

A. Reliance on Acquitted Conduct
The flaws in the lower court's

approval of the use of acquitted conduct

45

case, makes a factual finding that the

defendant committed murder, even though
the jury found that he was not
responsible for the murder, then the
Sentencing Guidelines mandate that the
judge sentence him as if he had been
convicted of murder. That is what
violates due process, and it is that
difference between Guidelines sentencing
and pre-Guidelines sentencing that the
Court of Appeals failed to recognize.
Second, the lower court also failed to
see the distinction between using
acquitted conduct to merely select a
sentence within a guideline range and
using acquitted conduct to select an
entirely different and more serious
guideline section. Petitioner does not

dispute that all relevant conduct under

46

makes a factual finding that the

defendant committed murder, even though
the jury found that he was not
responsible for the murder, then the
Sentencing Guidelines mandate that the
judge sentence him as if he had been
convicted of murder. That is what
violates due process, and it is that
difference between Guidelines sentencing
and pre-Guidelines sentencing that the
Court of Appeals failed to recognize.
Second, the lower court also failed to
see the distinction between using
acquitted conduct to merely select a
sentence within a guideline range and
using acquitted conduct to select an
entirely different and more serious
guideline section. Petitioner does not
dispute that all relevant conduct under

47

Section 1B1.3 should be considered in
selecting a sentence within a guideline
range. What Petitioner's case presents,
however, is a radically different
scenario. In Petitioner's case, the
sentencing judge used acquitted conduct
to select an entirely different guideline
section -- murder instead of conspiracy
to commit murder -- which resulted in a
Gramatic increase in the sentence
mandated by the new guideline section.
The lower court's approval of the use
of acquitted conduct in this manner not
only violates due process, it puts the
court's decision in conflict with United
States .. Brady, 928 F.2d 844 (9th Cir.

1991). In Brady, the court persuasively

stated:

We would pervert our system of
justice if we allowed a defendant to
suffer punishment for a criminal
charge for which he or she was
acquitted. The Guidelines recognize
that voluntary manslaughter is to be
punished less severely than murder
by setting a lower base offense
level for voluntary manslaughter
than for murder. A sentencing judge
should not be allowed to circumvent
this statutory directive by making a
finding of fact -- under any
standard of proof -- that the jury
has necessarily rejected by its
judgment of acquittal. ;

928 F.2d at 851. Although the court in
Brady based its decision on statutory and
not constitutional grounds, see id. at
852 n.14, the tone of the Brady decision
is clearly consistent with Petitioner's
due process argument. This Court should
grant Petitioner's writ to resolve this
split in the circuits concerning the use
of acquitted conduct under the

Guidelines.

49

B. Use of a Preponderance Standard
of Proof

Even if the reliance on acquitted
conduct does not violate the
Constitution, the use of a preponderance
standard for factual findings does
violate due process where the result of
those findings is a dramatic increase in
the sentence. The lower court's
rejection of Petitioner's argument again
puts its decision in conflict with the
decisions of other circuits. This Court
should grant Petitioner's writ to resolve
that split in the circuits and to clarify
this critical issue concerning standard
of proof at Guidelines sentencing
hearings.

Citing this Court's decision in

McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79

50

(1986), the lower court claims that 4
preponderance standard at a sentencing
hearing always satisfies due process.
See 978 F.2d at 286 (A-22). Not only did the
Court of Appeals again ignore the
difference between Guidelines sentencing,
which mandates a particular sentence
based on a factual finding, and pre-
Guideline sentencing, where factual
findings did not mandate a particular
result, but the Court of Appeals
oversimplified this Court's decision in

McMillan.

In McMillan, this Court made it clear

that the government's power to enhance 4a
sentence on the basis of a factor proved
by a preponderance of evidence does not
allow the government to punish a
defendant for an offense without proving

51

4

the elements of that offense beyond a
reasonable doubt. See 477 U.S. at 84-90.

Although this Court upheld in McMillan

the imposition of a minimum sentence on
the basis of a sentencing factor, other
language in the decision clearly
indicated that this Court would not have
approved sentencing on a preponderance
standard for an entirely distinct offense
that carried a dramatically longer
sentence. This Court noted that the

statute in question in McMillan "only

becomes applicable after the defendant
has been duly convicted of the crime for
which he is to be punished." 477 U.S. at
87. The statute "neither alters the

maximum penalty for the crime committed

nor creates a separate offense calling

SZ

for a separate penalty..-.-" Id. at 87-
88. The statute ""ups the ante' for the
defendant only by raising to five years
the minimum sentence which may be imposed
within the statutory plan. The statute
gives no impression of having been
tailored to permit the [sentencing
factor] finding to be a tail which wags
the dog of the substantive offense." Id.
at 88.

Elsewhere in McMillan, this Court

noted that the statute there was
different than the statute invalidated in

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975).

In Mullaney, "once the State proved the

elements which Maine required it to prove
beyond a reasonable doubt, the defendant
faced 'a differential in sentencing range

from a nominal fine to a mandatory life

53

sentence.'" 477 U.S. at 87 (quoting

Mullaney, 421 U.S. at 700).

Although Mullaney involved a statute

that required a defendant to prove a
mitigating factor at trial, the analysis

in Mullaney applies as well to the

sentencing process. In Mullaney, this

Court noted that the State of Maine
sought to limit the holding of In re
Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) "to those
facts which, if not proved, would wholly
exonerate the defendant." 421 U.S. at
697. This Court responded:

This analysis fails to recognize
that the criminal law of Maine, like
that of other jurisdictions, is
concerned not only with guilt or
innocence in the abstract, but also
with the degree of criminal
culpability. Maine has chosen to
distinguish those who kill in the
heat of passion from those who kill
in the absence of this factor.

54

Because the former are less
"blameworth[y],"...they are subject
to substantially less severe
penaities....

The safeguards of due process are
not rendered unavailing simply
because a determination may already
have been reached that would
stigmatize the defendant and that
might lead to a significant
impairment of personal liberty. The
fact remains that the consequences
resulting from a verdict of murder,
as compared with a verdict of
manslaughter, a@iffers significantly.
Indeed, when viewed in terms of the
potential difference in restrictions
of personal liberty attendant to
each conviction, the distinction
established by Maine between murder
and manslaughter may be of greater
importance than the difference
between guilt or innocence for many
lesser crimes.

Moreover, if Winship were limited
to those facts that constitute a
crime as defined by state law, a
state could undermine many of the
interests that decision sought to
protect without effecting any
substantive change in its law. It
would only be necessary to redefine
the elements that constitute
different crimes, characterizing
them as factors that bear solely on

;
¥
: 55

the extent of punishment.
421 U.S. at 697-98 (citation omitted).

This Court's language in Mullaney

speaks volumes in Petitioner's case.
Under the lower court's interpretation
and application of the Guidelines,
Petitioner can be punished for murder,
even though the government has
established liability for murder only by
a preponderance of evidence after a jury
refused to convict beyond a reasonable
doubt. Rather than being a distinct
offense -- indeed the most serious
imaginable -- that the government must
prove beyond a reasonable doubt, the
murder became nothing more than a
sentencing factor that is used to
Getermine the extent of Petitioner's

punishment under the Guidelines. Under

56

ee

the lower court's interpretation of the
Guidelines, a defendant convicted of one
offense can be sentenced on the basis of
every other offense having some
connection to the offense of conviction,
even though the defendant was never
charged, tried or convicted of the other
offenses. For example, 4 defendant could
be convicted of 20 counts of mail fraud
(based on 20 separate mailings) that
relate to the collection of life
insurance proceeds, and then be sentenced
to 100 years in prison (five year maximum
sentences on each count, all running
consecutively), based on 4 finding by 4
preponderance of evidence that the
defendant was responsible for the murder

of the life insurance policyholder.

4
«
}

Petitioner's case implicates the Due
Process Clause because of the dramatic
increase in his sentence based only on a
preponderance of evidence finding. As
Petitioner contended below, his
Guidelines sentence should have been
based on Section 2A2.1 of the 1988
version of the Guidelines, which was the
version in effect at the time of

Petitioner's original sentencing in 1989.*

*The trial court applied the version of
the Guidelines that became effective
November 1, 1990, which were in effect at
the time of Petitioner's resentencing in
1991. The 1991 Guidelines moved
conspiracy to commit murder from Section
-2A2.1 to a new section 2A1.5. Section
2A1.5 increased the base offense level
from 20 to 28, and directed that
conspiracies that resulted in the death
of a victim be sentenced under the first
degree murder guideline section, 2Al1.1.
The lower courts rejected Petitioner's
argument that the Ex Post Facto Clause of
the Constitution barred the sentencing
judge from applying the new guideline,
since it dramatically increased the

footnote cont'd

offense level for conspiracy to commit
murder. See Miller v. Florida, 482 U.S.
423 (1987); see also Questions Most
Frequently Asked About the Sentencing
Guidelines, Appendix E at Question No. 71
(November 1990). The lower court's
conclusion that Amendment 311, which
changed the offense level for a
conspiracy to commit murder, was merely a
Clarifying amendment and thus could be
applied retroactively, is definitively
rebutted by the commentary to Amendment
311: “This amendment restructures
Section 2A2.1 and increases the offense
level for attempted murder and assault
with attempt to commit murder where the
intended offense, if successful, would
have constituted first degree murder to
better reflect the seriousness of this
conduct. For the same reason, the
enhancement for an offense involving the
offer or receipt of anything of pecuniary
value for undertaking the murder is
increased. For greater clarity, an
additional guideline (Section 2A1.5) is
inserted to cover conspiracy or
solicitation to commit murder." Because
the newer version of the Guidelines
dramatically increased the sentence for
conspiracy to commit murder, its
application in Petitioner's case violated
the Ex Post Facto Clause. This Court
should grant Petitioner's writ if for no
other reason than to clarify this aspect
of the Sentencing Guidelines.

59

Under the 1988 version of Section
2A2.1, the base offense level for
conspiracy or solicitation to commit
murder is 20. Various enhancements are
listed, but the commentary clearly states
that the enhancements do not apply where
the offense of conviction is a mere
solicitation. Thus, Petitioner has
consistently contended that his base
offense level under Section 2A2.1 would
be 20. Even conceding two separate two-
level increases that the sentencing judge
derived from Chapter 3 of the Guidelines
(two-level increase for being an
organizer and two-level increase for
obstructing the investigation),
Petitioner's offense level would be 24,
which( would result in a sentence of 51-63

months, to run concurrently to his Count

60

PILES SEI ADAEIRE

‘
4
‘

One sentence of twenty years.

In contrast, simply by making a
factual finding by a preponderance of
evidence that Petitioner was responsible
for his wife's murder, the sentencing
judge was compelled by the Guidelines to
assign Petitioner an offense level of 43,
which calls for life imprisonment under
the Guidelines. The trial court then
concluded that, in order to approach a
sentence of life imprisonment, the Court
had to sentence Petitioner to the
statutory maximum of twenty years and
then run that sentence consecutively to
the pre-Guidelines sentence. Thus, based
only on a finding by a preponderance of
evidence, the sentencing judge inflated

Petitioner's sentence from no increase at

61

all (5 years concurrent with the pre-
Guidelines sentence) to twenty years
which was then added to the pre-
Guidelines sentence. When the Guidelines
result in such a dramatic increase in a
sentence such as in Petitioner's case,
the factual findings at sentencing become
the "tail which wags the dog of the

substantive offense." McMillan v.

Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. at 88. That

inbalance in the process is what this
Court found violative of due process in

Mullaney and is equally violative of due

process here.
The lower court's opinion also is in
conflict with the decisions of other

circuits on this issue. In United States

v. Kikumura, 918 F.2d 1084, 1100-02 (3d

Cir. 1990), the court held that a clear

62

and convincing standard of proof must be
used before a judge can impose such a
dramatic increase in a Guidelines

sentence. Likewise, in United States v.

Townley, 929 F.2d 365, 369-70 (8th Cir.
1991), the court was faced with an
eighteen-level increase in the
defendant's base offense level and a
seven-fold increase in the permissible
sentencing range. Although not
explicitly adopting 4 clear and
convincing standard, the court stated in
Townley that "due process conceivably
could require more than a mere
preponderance....We do not foreclose the
possibility that in an exceptional case,
such as this one, the clear and

convincing standard adopted by our sister

63

circuit might apply." Id. at 369, 370.

Petitioner's case presents one of the
most important issues to come out of the
Sentencing Guidelines. Because the
results of factual findings mandate the
selection of specific offense levels, the
questions of the standard of proof and
the reliance on acquitted conduct are of
Supreme importance. One simple factual
finding, rejected by the jury, has
resulted in a mandatory and dramatic
increase in a defendant's sentence,
despite the lack of any evidence beyond a
preponderance. Petitioner has been
sentenced as if convicted of the most
serious offense imaginable, despite the
jury's rejection of the government's
proof. This Court should grant

Petitioner's writ to correct this

64

—————-

injustice and prevent the Sentencing
Guidelines from being so wrongly
interpreted for future defendants.

CONCLUSION

Wherefore, Petitioner respectfully
prays that this Honorable Court grant
this Petition and issue a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

i a cf Pa Iedl.

pi A., Tuite* ©
» Ba dt
Med D \J PAN - _

‘cule Stratton

Tuite, Stratton! & Menaker
105 West Adams Street
3lst Floor

Chicago, IL 60603

312/ 641-1022

*Counsel of Record

HORA!

APPENDIX

Table of Contents

Opinions and Orders

Opinion, United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit, October 14, 1992........ A-1

Order, United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit, November 9, 1992........ A-33

Sentencing Guidelines Sections

2A2.1 Assault with Intent to
Commit Murder: Conspiracy
or Solicitation to Commit
PRE occ eseceeeonveseese A-34

3D1.2 Groups of Closely-Related
COUNTB. ccc cccccvccccccccs A-35

9G1.1 Sentencing on a Single Count

TT OL Cree A-36

9G1.2 Sentence on Multiple Counts

OF CONVICTION. ..ccccccves A-37

{Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in United
States v. Masters]

Before BAUER, Chief Judge, EASTERBROOK,
Circuit Judge, and WOOD, Jr., Senior Circuit
Judge.

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge.

Judges and genies have this in common:
by granting supplicants exactly what they

wish for, they may produce misery and

regret. Eakin v. Continental Illinois

National Bank, 875 F.2d 114, 118 (7th

Cir. 1989). Alan Masters, sentenced to
40 years in prison for racketeering
activities that ran the gamut from
protecting bookies to soliciting the
murder of his wife, asked to be
resentenced under the sentencing
guidelines. He had received the maximum
sentence for the crimes of which he had

been convicted (consecutive 20-year

A-i

terms) and believed that the guidelines
required a lower sentence. We granted
his wish. 924 F.2d 1362, 1369 (7th Cir.
1991). Once again the district court
selected a 40-year term--but with a big

difference. Under the first sentence,

Masters was eligible for parole after 10
years, and a well-behaved prisoner had to
be released after serving two-thirds of
his sentence, shortened by 120 days of
good time credit per year. 18 U.S.C.
Sections 4161, 4205(a), 4206(d) (1976)
ed.). Imprisonment under the Sentencing
Reform Act of of 1984, by contrast, comes
without possibility of parole, and a
prisoner earns good time at a maximum

rate of 54 days per year. 18 U.S.C.

Section 3624(b). Masters now rues his

request and appeals again. So does his
henchman James Keating, who on the first
appeal adopted Masters' arguments but now
disclaims any desire for a guideline
sentence.

On the first apoeal Keating adopted all
of Masters' arguments, adding a few of
his own. We understood him to seek
resentencing under the guidelines and
remanded so that the district judge could
determine whether the conspiracy ended -
befcre November 1, 1987, the date the new
sentencing system took effect. Keating
did not seek rehearing, and in the
district court he clamored for the
benefit of the guidelines--until he saw
how the prosecutor calculated the
guideline sentence for Masters. Then he

yanked his request and insisted that he

A-3

had never wanted resentencing. Too late.
By adopting all of Masters' arguments on
the first appeal, Keating invited what
happened. If he believed that we
misunderstood the effect of this
adoption, he should have asked the first
panel to rescind the portion of the
judgment remanding his case. Instead he
embraced the remand, and the
recalculation, until the numbers turned
sour.

Masters concedes that his criminal
enterprise continued into the period
covered by the Sentencing Reform Act.
Keating submits that he dropped out
before November 1, 1987. The jury
convicted Keating on an indictment

charging that the conspiracy continued

A-4

through mid-1988. Never during trial, at
the initial sentencing, or on the first
appeal, did Keating say that he withdrew
at any earlier date. In his initial
filing after remand, Keating told the
district court: "There is no evidence
that your Petitioner withdrew from the
conspiracy. Therefore, the conspiracy

continued after November 1, 1987."

Keating changed his tune when he realized
the effect of the guidelines, but he was
right on the facts: there is no evidence
that he withdrew, and the district judge
so found. He took no step to end the
criminal adventure or report its

operations to the authorities, did not

make a clear break of it and thus did not

withdraw under the demanding standard of

the criminal law. United States v.

Patel, 879 F.2d 292 (7th Cir. 1989). As

Keating's remaining arguments track
Masters', we need not mention him again.
Masters was convicted of racketeering
and conspiracy to commit racketeering.
Only the latter offense lasted into the
guideline era. Masters contends that a
court should start with Section 2El.1,
which applies to racketeering
conspiracies. That guideline provides a
base offense level of 19 or the level
appropriate to the substantive crime,
whichever is greater. Because in
Masters' view that offense was
solicitation to commit murder, the
substantive guideline is Section 2A2.1.
(Rather, was Section 2A2.1, as that

guideline existed before amendment 311.)

Guideline 2A2.1 provided a base offense
level of 20. Masters submits that
because Section 2El.1 lists no
adjustments, none can be made. Combining
an offense level of 20 with his criminal
history category of I produces a
guideline range of 33-41 months. Because
he received more than that for the
racketeering offense, Masters concludes
‘that the guideline sentence for the
conspiracy is effectively zero, running
concurrently with the substantive RICO
sentence. See U.S.S.G. Section 5G1.2(c).
The district judge Saw things
‘differently. He calculated the sentence
in three ways, each of which produced 40
years' imprisonment. Each of the three

depends to some degree on his finding

that Masters "is directly responsible for

the murder of his wife." The judge so
found even though the jury did not answer
a special interrogatory asking about the
murder. Masters contends that this
omission produced an implicit acquittal,
an argument to which we return.

1. Section 2E1.1(a)(2) calls for use
of "the offense level applicable to the
underlying racketeering activity." Not
the base offense level, as Masters would
have it, but the whole offense level.
Guideline 2X1.1(a) drives home this
point, providing that in cases of
attempt, solicitation, and conspiracy
that fall outside other guidelines, the
court should use the “base offense level
from the guideline for the substantive

offense, plus any adjustments from such

A-8

guideline for any intended offense

conduct that can be established with
reasonable certainty." Then Section
2X1.1(b) provides some increases on top
of the "base" level computed in this way,
Starting from the base of 20 in the
former version of Section 2A2.1, the
district judge added 2 levels for more
than minimal planning (Section
2A2.1(b)(1)), 9 levels for the use of a
firearm to inflict bodily injury on
Dianne Masters (Section 2A2.1(b)(2),
(3)), and 2 more levels for paying money
to other persons in connection with the
crime (Section 2A2.1(b)(4)). Thus the
district judge arrived at 33 within
Section 2A2.1 itself. Then he turned to
generally applicable enhancements: 2

levels because Mrs. Masters was

A-9

physically restrained (Section 3Al1.3), 2
levels because Masters was the organizer
or leader of the conspiracy (Section
3B1.1(c)), and 2 levels for obstruction
of justice (Section 3Cl.1). Level 39
yields a sentencing range of 262-327
months. Nothing in the computation thus
far reflects the victim's death. Because
Dianne Masters died and Alan Masters was
responsible, the judge concluded that an
upward departure to 480 months is
appropriate. See U.S.S.G. Section 5K2.1,
providing that departure is in order when
a death results.

2. Section 2El.1(a)(2) refers to "the
offense level applicable to the

underlying racketeering activity."

Instead of turning to the guideline for

conspiracy to commit murder, as in the
prior method, one may turn to the
guideline for murder, Section 2Al.1. The
base offense level for murder is 43.
Life imprisonment is the sentence
prescribed for level 43 offenses. To
come as close to life imprisonment as
possible, the court gave consecutive
maximum sentences on each count, for a
total of 40 years. Guideline 5G1.2(d)
requires this approach.

3. Amendment 311, effective
November 1, 1990, moved conspiracy to
commit murder from Section 2A1.5. This
guideline Says that "{i]f the offense
resulted in the death of a victim, apply
Section 2Al.1 (First Degree Murder)."
U.S.S.G. Section 2A1.5(c)(1). That takes

us straight to Method 2. Congress

A-11l

nite

provided that courts must apply the
guidelines "that are in effect on the
date the defendant is sentenced". 18
U.S.C. Section 3553(a)(4). Masters was
sentenced before amendment 311 but
resentenced after its adoption. He
contends that ii on post facto clause of
the Constitution prevents the court from

applying this amendment to him. But see

United States v. Bader, 956 F.2d 708 (7th

Cir. 1992). Sidestepping this
contention, the district court treated
amendment 311 as clarifying rather than
changing the law--as demonstrating, in
other words, that Method 2 has been the
right one ail along.

Like the district judge, we conclude

that Method 2 is proper. Methods 1 and 3

A-12

- reinforce the result, demonstrating the
(rough) internal consistency of the
guidelines. Masters insists that the
guidelines implement a charge-offense
system and observes that he was neither
charged with nor convicted of murder.
True enough, the Sentencing Commission
rejected real-offense sentencing as
impractical, see Stephen Breyer, The

Federal Sentencing Guidelines and the Key

Compromises Upon Which They Rest, 17

Hofstra L.Rev. 1, 8-12 (1988); Ilene H.

Nagel, Structuring Sentencing Discretion:

The New Federal Sentencing Guidelines, 80

J.Crim.L. & Criminology 883, 914-25
(1990). The guidelines start with the
offense of conviction. U.S.S.G. Section

1B1.2(a); United States v. Missick, 875

F.2d 1294, 1302 (7th Cir. 1989). But

A-13°4

real-offense principles influence not
only the aggravating and mitigating
factors but also the definition of
relevant conduct under Section 1B1.3.
William W. Wilkins, Jr. & John R. Steer,

Relevant Conduct: The Cornerstone of the

Federal Sentencing Guidelines, 41

S.C.L.Rev. 495 (1990); Nagel, 80
J.Crim.L. & Criminology at 925-27. For
example, the guidelines use the full
quantity of drugs sold or loot stolen in
a single scheme or course of conduct, not
just the amount the prosecutor names in
the indictment, to determine the
seriousness of an offense. U.S.S.G.

Section 1Bl1.3(a)(2); United States v.

White, 888 F.2d 490 (7th Cir. 1989).

Cross-references within the guidelines

A-13-2

introduce real-offense principles into

the charge-offense system. United States

v. Davern, 970 F.2d 1490 (6th Cir.
1992)(in banc). Section 2El.1(a)(2),
which requires the court to use "the
offense level applicable to the underlying
racketeering activity", speaks of the

underlying activity and not an underlying

conviction. Often there will be no other

conviction, and the existence of one in
this case does not change the nature of
the cross-reference. Section
1B1.3(a)(iii) says that "cross references
in Chapter Two ... shall be determined on
the basis of the following: (1) all acts
and omissions committed and aided or
abetted by the defendant ... that
occurred during the commission of the

offense of conviction". The murder of

A-14

Dianne Masters occurred during the
racketeering conspiracy. So Section
2El1.1(a)(2), read from the perspective of
Section 1B1.3(a), directs the court to
the murder guideline rather than the
solicitation guideline. At least it does
this if the court's finding that Masters
is responsible for his wife's murder is
sustainable, and the process is otherwise
consistent with the Constitution.

Masters tries to knock out the
entire guideline sentence with the
argument that consecutive terms for
racketeering and racketeering conspiracy
violate the double jeopardy clause. How
could this be, given the ancient

principle that choate and inchoate crimes

may be punished separately? United

States v. Felix, U.S. , a8 8.

1377, 118 L.Ed.2d 25 (1992). An overlap
in the evidence used to prove the two
crimes does not matter; the elements of
the offense, and not the evidence used to
prove these elements, identify separate

crimes. Id. U.S. at - ,» 112

S.Ct. at 1382-83. Then there is the
further rule that cumulative punishment
is always consistent with the double
jeopardy clause, provided there is but a

Single trial. Missouri v. Hunter, 459

U.S. 359, 103 S.Ct. 673, 74 L.Ed.2d 535

(1983); Albernaz v. United States, 450

U.S. 333, 343-44, 101 S.Ct. 1137, 1144-
45, 67 L.Ed.2d 275 (1981). According to
Masters, because racketeering is an
organized activity, it is impossible to

be a racketeer and not be a conspirator.

A-16

Provided there is only one trial, it is a

matter of nomenclature whether the
legislature says that a particular
enterprise violates two laws, each
punishable by 20 years' imprisonment, or
one law punishable by 40 years'
imprisonment. Masters does not contend
that consecutive sentences for
racketeering and racketeering conspiracy
are impermissible under the "elements"

approach used since Blockburger v. United

States, 284 U.S. 299, 52 S.Ct. 180, 76

L.Ed. 306 (1932), to decide when criminal
statutes establish separate offenses. He
urges identity of evidence, not identity

of elements. Felix, Albernaz, and

Hunter, sink that contention.

To make headway, Masters needs to

A-17

upset the district judge's finding that
he is responsible for the murder of his
wife. Plenty of evidence supports the
finding, but Masters insists that the
judge had no business reexamining the
jury's acquittal. The judge submitted to
the jury a set of verdict forms listing
"racketeering activities" in which
Masters may have engaged. The jurors
checked off lines indicating findings
that Masters planned and solicited the
murder of his wife and participated in
the overall racketeering enterprise.
They left blank a line concerning the
actual murder. Masters treats this
omission as a finding that he is not
responsible; the prosecutor replies that
the jury, having found all it needed to,

Gecided not to resolve the question.

A-18

Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184,

78 S.Ct. 221, 2 L.Ed.2d 199 (1957), which
uses an “implicit acquittal" approach
similar to the one Masters espouses,
could limit the prosecutor's ability to
try Masters for the crime of murder. But
of course the prosecutor does not want to
try him for that offense. Our dispute
concerns the selection of a sentence for
the crime of conspiracy. A sentence at
the top of the statutory range does not
punish Masters for a crime he didn't
commit; it uses all available information
about his character and dangerousness in
choosing the sentence for the crime of
which he stands convicted. Judges have
been considering defendants' activities

and character since long before there

A-19

were guidelines, with consistent approval
from the highest court. E.g., Roberts v.

United States, 445 U.S. 552, 100 S.Ct.

1358, 63 L.Ed.2d 622 (1980); United
States v. Grayson, 438 U.S. 41, 98 S.Ct.
2610, 57 L.Ed.2d 582 (1978); Williams v.

Oklahoma, 358 U.S. 576, 79 S.Ct. 421, 3

L.Ed.2d 516 (1959); Williams v. New York,

337 U.S. 241 (1949); see also Chapman v.

United States, U.S. », ee BcGSa

1919, 114 L.Ed.2d 524 (1991); United
States v. Pinto, 875 F.2d 143 (7th Cir.
1989). This is one reason why we have
held that judges may take other crimes
into account when selecting a sentence
under the guidelines, even if the
defendant has been charged with and

acquitted of those crimes. United States

v. Fonner, 920 F.2d 1330, 1332-34 (7th

Cir. 1990); see also, e.g., United States

v. Morrison, 946 F.2d 484, 501 (7th Cir.

1991); United States v. Welch, 945 F.2d

1378, 1385 (7th Cir. 1991); United States

v. Lawrence, 934 F.2d 868, 873-74 (7th

Cir. 1991), id. at 875 (concurring
opinion). An acquittal means that the
charge was not proven beyond a reasonable
doubt; it does not mean that the
defendant didn't do it. Dowling v.

United States, 493 U.S. 342, 110 S.Ct.

668, 107 L.Ed.2d 708 (1990). We

recognize that a divided panel of the
ninth circuit has forbidden district
judges to consider conduct of which a

person has been acquitted, United States

v. Brady, 928 F.2d 844 (9th Cir. 1991),

but we have previously announced our

disagreement with that court's

conclusion. United States v. Smith, 953

F.2d 1060, 1066 (7th Cir. 1992).

All that remains is Masters' contention
that in considering whether a defendant
committed some other offense, courts
should use a standard more exacting than
the preponderance of the evidence. As a
constitutional argument this goes

nowhere. McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477

U.S. 79, 106 S.Ct. 2411, 91 L.Ed.2d 67
(1986), hoids that the preponderance
standard satisfies the due process
clause. We have applied this holding to
sentencing under the federal guidelines.

United States v. Ebbole, 917 F.2d 1495

(7th Cir. 1990). Similarly, the Supreme

Court has concluded that the

preponderance standard is appropriate

when deciding whether to use other crimes

evidence at trial. Huddleston v. United

States, 485 U.S. 681, 690 (1988). The
district judge used the preponderance
standard when concluding that Masters is
responsible for his wife's murder, and
this was entirely proper. Conviction at
trial supplies all of the justification
the Constitution requires for depriving
the defendant of liberty for any term up
to the maximum prescribed by statute.
How much of that time to grant back in
sentencing, and what procedures to use
when doing so, are legislative rather
than constitutional choices given

McMillan and its many predecessors.

Contemporaneously with our decision in

Ebbole, the third circuit concluded that

A-23

when the findings made at sentencing
transform the offense of conviction into
something much more grave, and with a
much more severe penalty, the court sould
use an enhanced burden of persuasion.

United States v. Kikumura, 918 F.2d 1084,

1098-1102 (3d Cir. 1990). Kikumura was
convicted of transporting explosives
across state lines, with a guideine range
of 27-33 months. The district judge
concluded that Kikumura planned to use
the bombs to kill scores of people and
departed upward to the statutory maximum
sentence, 30 years. This twelve-fold
increase in the punishment, the court of
appeals concluded, required greater

confidence than the preponderance of the

evidence.

Although Kikumura expressed this

conclusion in constitutional terms, it is
impossible to square such a holding with

McMillan--or with the history of

discretionary sentencing in the United
States. Before November 1, 1987, some
federal judges regularly sentenced
defendants to the maximum terms provided
by law, and tacked sentences
consecutively, on hunch and whim. A few
even acquired sobriquets such as "Maximum
John" (Judge Sirica, of Watergate fame).
Others rejected deterrence and desert as
justifications of imprisonment and gave
sentences reflecting disparate views
about rehabilitation. States
occasionally adopted indeterminate

sentencing systems. For some years in

California every felony carried a term of

life, with release in the discretion of
the Adult Authority. Zero-to-life
sentences meant that everything lay in
the hands of persons who were scarcely
obliged to consider evidence, let alone
to weigh it carefully. See Marvin

Zalman, The Rise and Fall of the

Indeterminate Sentence, 24 Wayne L.Rev.

45 (1977). The guidelines represent a
reaction against vesting such discretion
in the hands of persons who may have
Gramatically different ideas about
punishment. Yet they hardly exemplify a
consensus that in 1987 what had been the
norm in 20th Century sentencing became
constitutionally repulsive. See United

States v. Silverman, 976 F.2d 1502 (6th

Cir. 1992)(in banc)(constitutional rules

applicable to pre-guideline sentencing,
including the preponderance standard,

still govern); United States v. Galloway,

976 F.2d 414 (8th Cir. 1992)(in

banc)(same); United States v. Restrepo,

946 F.2d 654 (9th Cir. 1991)(in

banc)(same); cf. United States v. Wise,

976 F.2d 393 (8th Cir. 1992) (in banc)
(confrontation clause does not apply at
sentencing under the guidelines). While
sentencing practices have cycled, from
fixed terms in the 19th Century to
discretion in the middle 20th Century to
quided discretion in the late 20th
Century, the due process clause has
remainec the same. It is statutes,
rules, practices, and ideas about
criminology that have changed. Rather

than treating the Constitution as

A-27

paraffin that may be poured into a mold
suiting current tastes, courts properly
look to these statutes, rules, and

practices. The living legal community,
and not an imagined decision imputed to
those long departed, is responsible for
contemporary sentencing practices.

No one can deny that the guidelines,
coupled with recent increases in the
maximum terms for many offenses, have
increased the importance of sentencing
vis-a-vis trials. We have indicated some
sympathy with the conclusion that when
sentencing becomes the dog and the trial
the tail, judges should borrow some of
the devices used at trial to protect the
defendant's interests and improve

accuracy (two objectives that are not

A-28

always compatible). See United States v.

Trujillo, 959 F.2d 1377, 1382 (7th Cir.

1992); United States v. Schuster, 948

F.2d 313, 315 (7th Cir. 1991). Cf.

United States v. Jewel, 947 F.2d 224, 238

(7th Cir. 1991)(concurring opinion).
Neither the Sentencing Reform Act nor the
guidelines specifies a burden of
persuasion, so courts must devise their
own. We are free to modify this standard
as wisdom gained from experience
suggests. But the preponderance standard
remains the norm--in sentencing, as in
almost all litigation, because it treats
errors in either direction as equally

costly. Grogan v. Garner, U.S. ‘

, 111 S.Ct. 654, 659, 112 L.Ed.2d 755

(1991); Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston,

459 U.S. 375, 390, 103 S.Ct. 683, 691-92,

A-29

74 L.Ed.2d 548 (1983). An excessive
sentence injures the defendant, but an
insufficient sentence injures society,
especially persons who may be victims of
crime tomorrow if courts do too little to
Geter and incapacitate criminals today.
Nothing about Masters' sentencing
suggests any need for an enhanced burden
of persuasion. Taking an offender's
other crimes into account is, as we have
remarked, an old practice indeed. The
Gistrict judge obviously took the murder
into account when imposing consecutive
20-year terms in what he supposed was a
pre-guideine sentence. On remand, the
district judge reimposed these terms
under the guidelines. Here we find no

Gramatic alteration of the roles of trial

A-30

ican catia eaiastmiliaatiieiaainiiaiadi ili

and sentence. True, the guideline

sentence means no parole and lesser good-

time credits, but these statutory changes
dod not alter the balance between trial
and sentencing. Working through the
guideines after the fashion of Method 1
also shows the difference between our

case and Kikumura: instead of departing

upward by an order of magnitude, the
district judge here used the finding of
murder to support a four-level departure,
from level 39 to level 43. So we may
defer until another day the decision
whether development in a common-law
fashion ever would lead to the use of a
clear-and-convincing standard in
sentencing. Finding murder by a
preponderance of the evidence violated

none of Masters' rights.

A-31

AFFIRMED.

( JUDGMENT ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION OF REHEARING EN BANC OF THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT).

Entered on November 9, 1992

Case no. 91-2985

Before BAUER, Chief Judge, EASTERBROOK,
Circuit Judge and WOOD, Senior Circuit
Judge.
PER CURIAM:

Defendant-Appellant filed a petition
for rehearing and suggestion of rehearing
en banc on October 28, 1992. No judge in
regular active service has requested a
vote on the suggestion of rehearing en
banc, and all of the judges on the panel
have voted to deny rehearing. The
petition for rehearing is therefore

DENIED.

SENTENCING GUIDELINES SECTIONS

2A2.1 Assault with Intent to Commit

Murder:

Conspiracy or Solicitation

to Commit Murder; Attempted Murder

(a) Base Offense Level: 20

(bob) Specific Offense
Characteristics

(1)

(2)

(3)

If an assault involved
more than minimal
planning, increase by 2
levels.

(A) If a firearm was
discharged, increase by
5 levels; (B) if a
firearm or a dangerous
weapon was otherwise
used, increase by 4
levels; (C) if a
firearm or other
dangerous weapon was
brandished or its use
was threatened,
increase by 3 levels.

If the victim sustained
bodily injury, increase
the offense level
according to the
seriousness of the
injury:

Degree of Increase in

Bodily Injury Level
(A) Bodily Injury add 2
(B) Serious Bodily

Injury add 4

(C) Permanent or
Life-Threatening
Bodily Injury add 6

3D1.2.

(4) If a conspiracy or
assault was motivated
by a payment or offer
of money or other thing
of value, increase by 2
levels.

Groups of Closely-Related Counts

All counts involving
substantially the same harm shall
be grouped together into a single
Group. A count for which the
statute mandates imposition of a
consecutive sentence is excluded
from such Groups for purposes of
Sections 3D1.2-3D1.5. Counts
involve substantially the same
harm within the meaning of this
rule:

(a) When counts involve the same
victim and the same act or
transaction.

(b) When counts involve the same
victim and two or more acts

A-35

or transactions connected by
a common criminal objective
or constituting part of a
common scheme or plan,
including, but not limited
to:

(1) A count charging
conspiracy or
solicitation and a
count charging any
substantive offense
that was the sole
object of the
conspiracy or
solicitation. 28
U.S.C. Section
994(1)(2).

9G1.1. Sentencing on a Single Count of
Conviction.

(a) Where the statutorily
authorized maximum sentence
is less than the minimum of
the applicable guideline
range, the statutorily
euthorized maximum sentence
shall be the guideline
sentence.

(b) Where a statutorily required
minimum sentence is greater
than the maximum of the
applicable guideine range,
the statutorily required
minimum sentence shall be

5G1.2.

(c)

the guideline sentence.

In any other case, the
sentence may be imposed at
any point within the
applicable guideline range,
provided that the sentence

(1) is not greater than the
statutorily authorized
maximum sentence, and

(2) is not less than any
statutorily required
minimum sentence.

Sentence on Multiple Counts

of Conviction

(a)

(b)

The sentence to be imposed
on a count for which the
statute mandates a
consecutive sentence shall
be determined and imposed
independently.

Except as otherwise required
by law (see Section
5Gl.1(a),(b)), the sentence
imposed on each other count
shall be the total
punishment as determined in
accordance with Part D of
Chapter three, and Part C of
this Chapter.

(c)

(d)

If the sentence imposed on
the count carrying the
highest statutory maximum is
adequate to achieve the
total punishment, then the
sentences on all counts
shall run concurrently,
except to the extent
otherwise required by law.

If the sentence imposed on
the count carrying the
highest statutory maximum is
less than the total
punishment, then the
sentence imposed on one or
more of the other counts
shall run consecutively, but
only to the extent necessary
to produce a combined
sentence equal to the total
punishment. In all other
respects sentences on all
counts shall run
concurrently, except to the
extent otherwise required by
law.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2100%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
