# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Leizerman v. Toledo Bar Ass'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2031%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 507 U.S. 1018

## Text

19 £ea2 6G Fires |
|_JAN 26 1933

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

E. J. LEIZERMAN

Petitioner,

TOLEDO BAR ASSOCIATION

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Michael E. Tankersley Mark H. Aultman

(Counsel of Record) Charles W. Kettlewell
Alan B. Morrison 150 E. Wilson Bridge Road
Public Citizen Litigation Group Suite 200
2000 P Street, N.W., Suite 700 Worthington, Ohio 43085
Washington, D.C. 20036 (614) 436-2750
(202) 833-3000

Counsel for Petitioner

January 26, 1993

QUESTIONS PRESENTED’

1. Where federal courts have declared that it is
ethically permissible for lawyers to guarantee their clients’
loans for medical and living expenses that the clients need
to withstand delays in litigation, may states, consistent with
the Supremacy Clause, prohibit lawyers from guaranteeing
such loans when representing Federal Employers’ Liability
Act claimants in federal court?

2. Does a state prohibition on attorneys guaran-
teeing their clients’ loans for medical and living expenses
that the clients need to withstand delays in litigating their
personal injury claims unconstitutionally impair the rights
of access to the courts recognized under the First and
Fourteenth Amendment, where the state concedes that the
loan guarantees are not used to solicit clients, and do not
compromise the attorneys’ independent professional
judgment?

* In addition to parties the listed in the caption here, attorney
Michael E. McGill was also a party to the proceedings below as a
respondent, with petitioner Leizerman. See Al, A8, A10.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..... ccc cccccccees i

GPU PO ccc cess ec ccesscccsesecs 1

er 2

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PERAP VEEIEe MUVOVED occ c cece cece cccen 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...... ccc ceeces 2
A. Evidence Concerning Loans to Clients. ..... 3

B. Findings and Decisions of the Board of
Grievances and Discipline and the Supreme

TE BaD ban eke ecb eseeenecess 7
SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR GRANTING

ee ee 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...... 12

I. OHIO’S APPLICATION OF ITS PROHIBI-
TION ON LOAN GUARANTEES FOR
LIVING EXPENSES TO LOANS FOR FED-
ERAL FELA CLAIMANTS, WHEN SUCH
GUARANTEES HAVE BEEN APPROVED
BY THE FEDERAL COURTS, PRESENTS
AN IMPORTANT ISSUE UNDER THE
SUPREMACY CLAUSE THAT SHOULD BE
RESOLVED BY THIS COURT............ 16

II. STATE RULES PROHIBITING ATTORNEYS
FROM GUARANTEEING LOANS FOR
CLIENTS WHO NEED FINANCIAL
ASSISTANCE TO WITHSTAND LITIGATION
DELAYS IMPAIR RIGHTS OF ACCESS TO

IV

THE COURTS PROTECTED BY THE FIRST
AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS, AND
PRESENT IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL
ISSUES THAT SHOULD BE SETTLED BY
pp ere ere eee Se ee ee

2: ee ee ee ta ae

ee | PUTT CTC

ere eh 8 Perr rere rrree rrr er eT eee ee

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977) .. 22
Baylson v. Disciplinary Board of the

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania,

764 F.Supp. 328, 348-49 (E.D. Pa. 1991) ...... 19
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971) ..... 16, 24

Brady v. Southern Railway Co.,
ee ee rae 16

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Virginia,
OFT We REED KVieacaaa seen 12, 16, 18, 21, 22

Brown v. Western Railway of Alabama,
Re ek ee ee 16, 18

Central Vermont Railway Co. v. White,
ge ree er eana 17

Committee on Professional Ethics v. Bitter,
ZIP WE ee ee CH BPTFD bbc es ecceeccccs 15

County of Suffolk v. Long Island Lighting Co.,
710 F. Supp. 1407 (E.D.N.Y. 1989) .......... 19

Dice v. Akron, Canton & Youngstown Railroad Company,
a ef PP eee eee 16

Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada,
See OM Pre eee 22

Goldberg v. Kelley, 397 US. 354 (1970) ........ 25, 29

vi

Gulf Oil Co. v. Bernard, 452 U.S. 89 (1981) ....... 19
Jahn v. Champagne Lumber Co., 157 F. 407
ee eee 17
Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972) ...... 27, 28, 29
Little v. Streater, 452 U.S. 1 (1981) ........ 16, 24, 27

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co.,
8 RE 20, 24, 27

Louisiana State Bar Ass’n v. Edwins,
329 SO. 26 437 (La. 1976) .......... 8, 15, 20, 25

Mahoning County Bar Ass’n v. Ruffalo,
176 Ohio St. 263, 199 N.E.2d 396 (1964),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 931 (1964) ........... 6, 13
Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ........ 24
Monessen Southwestern Railway Co. v. Morgan,

EEE vaca nda ee case neciensns 16
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,

eee eT eee eee ee 24
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) ....... 21, 22
Norfolk and Western R. Co. v. Liepelt,

SO SEED pc ac cca wae eascecvavs 16
Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973) .......... 27

People ex rel Chicago Bar Ass’n v. McCallum,
341 Ill. $78, 173 N.E. 27 (1930) ............ 13

In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978) ......... 15, 21, 23

Vii

Be re GAL, GS UG. T91 CIBES) nc i ccc ceceves 22
Rand v. Monsanto Co., 926 F.2d 596

gts 2 Serre eer eee ee Tere 19
In re Ratner, 194 Kan. 362, 399 P.2d 865 (1965) ... 23
Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 U.S. 305 (1966) ........... 27
In re Ruffalo, 249 F. Supp. 432

oo ree ees eee 6, 12, 17
In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544 (1968),

reversing, 370 F.2d 447 (1966) ............. 6, 17
Shapero v. Kentucky Bar Ass’n,

ee Oe as ks an odbc oO wee 22
In re Snyder, 472 U.S. 634 (1985) ...........0.. 17
Sperry v. Florida, 373 U.S. 379 (1963) ........... 17
In re Teichner, 75 Ill. 2d 88,

ee Che TE i ao be BAK eve aeen ees 20
United Mine Workers v. Illinois State Bar Ass’n,

git & yg: ee ee 18, 21, 22
United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434 (1973) ........ 26

Waldman v. Waldman, 118 A.D.2d 577,
499 N.Y.S.2d 185 (2d Dep’t. 1986) ........ 14, 15

Walters v. National Association of
Radiation Survivors, 473 U.S. 305 (1985) ...... 26

Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary Counsel,
471 U.S. 626 (1985) ........... 9, 15, 21, 22, 24

Vili
Statutes and Rules

Federal Employers’ Liability Act (FELA),

ke errr rr er er ere err re 2
Ala. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8(e)(3) ...... 15
D.C. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8(d) ........ 15
Minn. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8 ........ 8, 15
N.D. Ill., Local Rules, Gen. R. 39 .............. 17
N.D. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8(e)(3) ...... 15

Ohio Code of Prof. Responsibility, DR 5-103 .. passim

Ohio Code of Professional Responsibility,
ob | POPPE TO TOT EECCA ETE EET 7, 28

Se ee le aos oe ee 0 06980 O ee ee Y
Other Materials
ABA, Final Draft of the Model Rules of
Professional Conduct, 67 ABA Journal
eee 14
ABA Formal Opinion No. 288 (Oct. 11, 1954) .... 13

ABA, Model Code of Professional
Responsibility, DR 5-103 (1969) ........ 7, 13, 14

ABA, Model Rules of Professional Conduct,
SE DP RUENEE. b robbs ee ces edwsscers 13, 14

ALI, Tentative Draft No. 4, Restatement of the Law
Governing Lawyers (April 10, 1991) ........ 14, 26

CO ei OO OO

ix
Annotation, 8 A.L.R. 3d 1155 (1966) ............ 13

G. Hazard and W. Hodes, The Law of Lawyering:
A Handbook on the Model Rules of Professionai
Conduct, 274 (2d Ed. 1992 Supp.) .......... 14

Note, Guaranteeing Loans to Clients Under
Minnesota’s Code of Professional Responsibility,
FF Ue ere 13

Note, Loans to Clients for Living Expenses,
oe Oe Mh) eee re 13

C. Wolfram, Modern Legal Ethics (1986) ..... 7, 14, 26

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992

No. 92-

E. J. LEIZERMAN

Petitioner,

TOLEDO BAR ASSOCIATION
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of the State of
Ohio is reported at 64 Ohio St. 3d 669, and is reprinted in
the Appendix to this petition at pages Al-6. The Findings
of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Recommendation of the
Board of Commissioners on Grievances and Discipline of
the Supreme Court of Ohio is not reported, and is
reprinted in the Appendix at pages A7-14.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Supreme Court of Ohio was
issued on September 16, 1992. Al. A timely petition for
rehearing by petitioner EJ. Leizerman was denied on
October 28, 1992. A1S. This Court has jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. § 1257.

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

DR 5-103(B) of the Code of Professional
Responsibility of the State of Ohio provides as follows:

While representing a client in connection with
contemplated or pending litigation, a lawyer shall
not advance or guarantee financial assistance to
his client, except that a lawyer may advance or
guarantee the expenses of litigation, including
court costs, expenses of investigation, expenses of
medical examination, and costs of obtaining and
presenting evidence, provided the client remains
ultimately liable for such expenses.

Petitioner also relies on the First Amendment and
Fourteenth Amendments to, and the Supremacy Clause in
Article VI of, the Constitution of the United States, which
are set forth in the Appendix at A16.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Toledo Bar Association brought disciplinary
proceedings against Petitioner EJ. Leizerman for assisting
injured clients in obtaining bank loans for medical and
living expenses pending delays in resolution of their claims
for lost income and other compensation under the Federal
Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 51-60 (“FELA”).
The Ohio Board of Commissioners on Grievances and
Discipline found that petitioner had not engaged in any
improper solicitation, that the loans were given only to
existing clients who needed the money to withstand delays

sins Wanecmmmmelabnaiiaibacoanaiuaiial

in litigation, and that the loan guarantees had not
interfered with petitioner’s obligation to exercise
independent professional judgment on behalf of his clients.
Nonetheless, the Board and the Ohio Supreme Court con-
cluded that DR 5-103(B) of the Ohio Code of Professional
Responsibility, which states that a lawyer shall not guaran-
tee financial assistance to a client, except litigation
expenses, flatly prohibits a lawyer from guaranteeing loans
| for medical or living expenses, even under the circum-
| stances presented here.

Petitioner seeks review by this Court because
Ohio’s prohibition on guaranteeing loans needed to sur-
vive litigation delays forces FELA claimants to forfeit their
right to trial and accept inadequate settlements. This
application of the Ohio rule is preempted by federal court
decisions holding that such loans are appropriate because
they allow FELA claimants to vindicate their rights. In
addition, it violates rights of access to the courts
recognized by this Court’s decisions under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments.

A. Evidence Concerning Loans to Clients.

Petitioner E. J. Leizerman has been a member of
the Ohio Bar since 1976. His primary area of practice is
representing personal injury claimants, and the majority of
his cases involve claims under the FELA. Apart from this
case, he has never been the subject of a disciplinary
proceeding. A2, All. Petitioner cooperated fully with the
Bar Association’s investigation, and the hearing in these
proceedings was conducted on the basis of stipulated facts,
exhibits, affidavits, and one-day of live testimony, see A8-
10, which established the following facts about the loans
at issue.

Petitioner and his former associate, Michael E.
McGill, represented several personal injury claimants who
were unable to work due to their injuries, and lacked any

other adequate sources of income. Because of court
delays, obtaining a hearing on their claims for lost wages
and other compensation could take two to four years.
Hearing Tr. at 33, 42. During this period, the claimants
were left without funds for medical treatment and support.
Without financial assistance, they would have been forced
to settle their claims “on the basis of desperation and not
the reasonable value” of their case. A22 (Affidavit of Jerry
W. Smith 4 8).

The evidence also showed that the railroad
industry, taking advantage of the economic pressure that
prolonged litigation places on unaided personal injury
claimants, “intentionally attempts to delay FELA cases in
order to force injured employees to settle their claims.”
Al2. A retired claims adjuster for Consolidated Rail
Corporation stated that the carrier “frequently and
purposely delayed the resolution of and settlement of
cases,” particularly with respect to persons who were
unrepresented or known to have no sources of income,
and that these practices enabled it “to negotiate settle-
ments with these persons on a greatly reduced basis and
in amounts which were, in my opinion, grossly low and
inadequate.” A418 (Affidavit of Ron W. Ward, 91 5, 6).
Consequently, the investigator stated, it is not uncommon
for attorneys to advance funds or guarantee loans in order
to provide claimants with living expenses while awaiting
resolution of their claims. /d. { 4.

To aid clients who faced financial hardship, Mr.
Leizerman and Mr. McGill assisted them in obtaining
loans from a_ local bank by signing as co-makers of the
loans. The loan notes were drawn in amounts of a few
thousand dollars, rolled over periodically and renewed,
with additions, if necessary, on a ninety-day basis. AQ,
A11; Hearing Tr. at 31-35. In each instance, the attorneys
made clear that the clients were ultimately responsible for
repaying the loan. Al2, Al3. The loan proceeds were

used only for medical and/or living expenses during pend-
ing litigation or settlement negotiations. Ai1-12. In
addition, the possibility of obtaining loans was never used
as a basis for advertising or solicitation, but was only
discussed with existing clients who raised the need for such
assistance after the attorney-client relationship had been
established. All, A13.

The loans allowed clients to endure pretrial delays
and obtain judgments or settlements that were more favor-
able than the offers made by the defendants when the
claimants were facing financial difficulties. See, e.g., A19-
20: Hearing Tr. at 99-100, 193-94. The clients who
obtained these loans attested that they were satisfied with
the handling of their cases, and had no complaints
concerning the loan process or the representation they
received. A12, 13.

Petitioner deliberately limited the clients that he
assisted in obtaining loans to clients pursuing claims under
the FELA. A8-9. Consequently, his conduct (as distin-
guished from Mr. McGill’s) only resulted in advancing
funds to FELA claimants. A2, All.' All the cases at
issue in the disciplinary proceeding for which petitioner
was responsible were filed in the federal courts in Ohio,
which have held that it is permissible for lawyers to
guarantee loans for living expenses of clients who need
financial assistance to withstand delays in litigation.
Hearing Tr. at 156. Indeed, the Ohio and federal court
precedents on this issue are in direct conflict. In 1964 the

1 Nine of the twelve loans involved in the disciplinary proceeding
were for FELA claimants and were procured by both attorneys; the
other three loans for non-FELA claims were procured by Mr. McGill
alone. The Board found that, although Mr. Leizerman signed notes
for the non-FELA cases after funds had been disbursed in order to
protect the integrity of other FELA loans, his actions did not result
in advancing funds to non-FELA clients. All, A8-9.

Supreme Court of Ohio, interpreting the Canons of
Professional Ethics adopted by Ohio at that time,
suspended an attorney because he advanced small sums of
money for living expenses to two recently widowed clients
pursuing claims under the FELA for the death of their
husbands. Mahoning County Bar Ass’n v. Ruffalo, 176
Ohio St. 263, 199 N.E.2d 396 (1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S.
931 (1964). The district court for the Northern District of
Ohio then reviewed this decision, but refused to impose
discipline against Mr. Ruffalo for this same conduct
because it concluded that advancing funds to permit clients
to withstand delays in litigation under FELA was not un- |
ethical or improper. Jn re Ruffalo, 249 F. Supp. 432 (N.D.
Ohio 1965). The court expressly rejected the Ohio
Supreme Court’s views, and determined that prohibiting
advances to assist a needy client in meeting living expenses
“is not in consonance with this Court’s concept of justice
or the underlying purposes of the Canons of Professional
Ethics,” because, among other things, banning such ad-
vances would undermine the rights of plaintiffs in FELA
litigation. Id. at 440-45.2__ In the disciplinary proceeding
below, petitioner established that the federal district court
for the Northern District of Ohio still follows the views
announced in Jn re Ruffalo, and had specifically approved
petitioner’s request for permission to advance funds for
living expenses to a FELA claimant who need the funds
because of litigation delays. See A24-26.

? The Sixth Circuit, in a separate disciplinary proceeding, declined
to address whether the loans made by Ruffalo constituted a valid basis
for disbarment, but relied on the Ohio disciplinary board’s findings to
disbar Ruffalo on alternative grounds. This Court reversed the Sixth
Circuit’s decision, finding that Ruffalo had been denied due process
in the state board’s hearing on the disciplinary charges. In re Ruffalo,
390 U.S. 544 (1968), reversing, 370 F.2d 447 (1966).

EN ge ae

B. Findings and Decisions of the Board of
Grievances and Discipline and the Supreme
Court of Ohio.

In October 18, 1990, the Toledo Bar Association
filed complaints against petitioner and Mr. McGill,
alleging that the loans described above violated DR 5-
103(B) of the Ohio Code of Professional Responsibility,
which is identical to the same provision in the American
Bar Association ("ABA") Model Code of Professional
Responsibility. See p. 1, supra. The stated purpose of this
Rule is to prevent attorneys from obtaining a financial
interest in the outcome of litigation that would interfere
with ‘the exercise of the attorney’s independent
professional judgment on behalf of a client.? At times,
the Rule is also defended on the ground that it prevents
attorneys from using the promise of advances to solicit
clients.‘

Petitioner argued that DR 5-103(B) should be con-
strued narrowly so that it did not prohibit guaranteeing
loans for existing clients who needed financial assistance
to obtain their day in court, because applying the rule to
such situations did not serve the interests the Code was
intended to promote and, if so applied, (i) Ohio’s author-
ity to apply the rule to loans made to assist FELA claim-
ants was preempted by the federal court’s approval of such
loans; and (ii) the rule would be unconstitutional under

3 See Ohio Code of Professional Responsibility, EC (Ethical
Consideration) 5-8 (“A financial interest in the outcome of litigation
also results if monetary advances are made by the lawyer to his
client.”); C. Wolfram, Modern Legal Ethics, § 9.2.3 at 507 (1986).

* See A6, (Opinion of Holmes, J., dissenting) (“The basic purpose
underlying the Disciplinary Rule addressed in this matter is to curtail
or regulate the unprofessional solicitation of clients through the
advancement of monies, or the direct assistance in attorney monies,
during the course of litigation.”); C. Wolfram, supra, § 9.2.3 at 507.

the First Amendment, and the Due Process and Equal
Protection clauses of the Fourteenth Amendments.°

In support of his constitutional challenges,
petitioner presented testimony from the former Minnesota
Director of Lawyers Professional Responsibility, Michael
J. Hoover, who stated that experience in Minnesota shows
that applying the Rule broadly to reach loans to indigent
clients who would otherwise be forced to accept inade-
quate settlements is not necessary to prevent unethical
conduct. Mr. Hoover testified that Minnesota’s version of
DR 5-103(B) was changed in 1985 to explicitly permit such
loans, and that adding this language to the Rule did not
result in any problems in protecting the public from un-
professional behavior. See A12; Hearing Tr. at 240, 245.

Moreover, Mr. Hoover noted that lawyers are per-
mitted to advance funds and acquire financial interests in
the outcome of the litigation for other purposes. Under
DR 5-103 of the Ohio Code, and the professional codes of
Minnesota and other jurisdictions, attorneys are permitted
to acquire an interest in the outcome of civil litigation (1)
by contracting for a reasonable contingency fee; and (ii) by
making advances or guaranteeing loans for litigation
expenses for clients. See Ohio Code of Prof. Responsi-
bility, DR 5-103; Minn. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8.
The conflict of interest concerns raised by these permitted
financial interests, Mr. Hoover testified, were not different
from those presented by lawyers guaranteeing loans for
living expenses. Hearing Tr. at 240-45. The Bar Associa-
tion presented no counter-evidence to show any state
interest in prohibiting attorneys from guaranteeing loans
to impecunious clients, nor did it offer evidence of any

5 See Louisiana State Bar Ass’n v. Edwins, 329 So. 2d 437, 446 (La.
1976) (interpreting identical provision of Louisiana Professional Code
to permit loans to indigent clients because applying rule would not
promote purpose of the Code and would raise constitutional
problems).

state interest in distinguishing loans for living expenses,
which are prohibited, from loans for litigation expenses,
contingency fees or other financial interests that lawyers
are permitted to acquire under the Ohio rules.

Under Ohio procedures, disciplinary complaints
are heard by the Board of Commissioners on Grievances
and Discipline, which, in turn, makes a recommendation
to the Supreme Court of Ohio.® A Hearing Panel of the
Board heard all the evidence and made the following
factual findings, which were adopted by the full Board of
Commissioners on Grievances and Discipline:

The testimony is uncontroverted that all the loans
were given only to already existing clients who
needed the money to withstand delays in litigation.
There is no evidence of improper solicitation.
Once it was determined loans were needed, they
were facilitated openly from a regulated financial
institution. These loans were made only after the
clients personally convinced the respondents that
the loans were needed. There is no evidence of
any interference with Respondents’ independent
professional judgment.

A11-12 (record citations omitted), A3.

Although the Board found that none of the inter-
ests promoted by the Disciplinary Rule was implicated
since there was no advertising or solicitation involved, and
“no evidence that the independent professional judgment
of either Respondent was compromised in any way,” the
Board concluded that the conduct was a clear violation of
DR 5-103(B). A13-14. It recommended that petitioner
and Mr. McGill be disciplined with a six-month suspen-

© Ohio Gov. Bar. R. V, §§ 2, 6, 8; Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary
Counsel, 471 U.S. 626, 654 (1985).

a eT

10

sion, to be stayed on the condition that there be no
further violations of DR 5-103(B). A14.

Petitioner presented his federal claims to the
Board, but the Board concluded that constitutional
challenges were “beyond its jurisdiction to consider.” A13.
Petitioner’s federal challenges under the First and
Fourteenth Amendment and the Supremacy Clause (and
other arguments) were then presented to the Ohio
Supreme Court. See A30-A34. In a per curiam opinion,
the Court affirmed the Board’s conclusion that financial
assistance to needy clients, even when made to withstand
delays in FELA litigation, are prohibited under Ohio’s
Code of Professional Conduct. The Court did not discuss
the federal claims. Although it noted that petitioner’s
arguments against DR 5-103(B) “warrant some review,”
the Court entered judgment against petitioner based on
the Board’s findings, and reduced the Board’s recom-
mended penalty to a public reprimand. See A4-5. Two
judges dissented on the basis that the recommended
penalty should not have been reduced. AS5-6.’

On September 23, 1992, respondent filed a motion
for reconsideration based on the Ohio Supreme Court’s
failure to discuss his preemption and other constitutional
challenges. A35. The motion was denied, without
opinion, on October 28, 1992. A15.

7 During the course of the disciplinary proceedings, on December
11, 1991, a petition was submitted to the Ohio Supreme Court to
amend DR 5-103(B) to explicitly recognize an exception for loans
needed to withstand delays in litigation, as has been done in
Minnesota and other jurisdictions. See A27, A13, A4 n.1. No
amendment of the Rule has been adopted, however.

ae

11

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Most states now have disciplinary rules that, like
the Ohio rule at issue here, prohibit lawyers from pro-
viding financial assistance to clients they represent in
litigation, with the exception of advances for litigation
expenses. When applied to forbid any assistance for
medical and living expenses needed to survive delays in

| litigation, as Ohio did here, these rules deny personal
injury claimants, including FELA claimants, the assistance
needed to obtain a hearing to vindicate valid claims. This
Court should grant certiorari to review two sets of
important constitutional issues presented by the Ohio
Supreme Court’s decision in this case.

1. The decision below raises important consti-
tutional issues under the Supremacy Clause because it
involves the use of state disciplinary proceedings to
discipline attorneys representing claimants under a federal
statute in federal court for conduct that the federal courts
have explicitly approved because it fosters the vindication
of federal rights. The FELA and the standards of profes-
sional conduct in federal court proceedings are governed
by federal law. But in the decision below Ohio has
encroached on federal rights and on the authority of
federal courts by prohibiting attorneys from guaranteeing
loans for FELA claimants — despite the fact that federal
courts have declared that such loans are ethical precisely
because they are often needed to preserve the claimants’
right to just resolution of their FELA claims. Because
virtually all members of the federal bar are subject to state
disciplinary rules that may be inconsistent with federal law,
this use of state authority over attorneys to impose a pro-
hibition that is contrary to federal law raises important
issues concerning the ability of states to trespass on the
federal courts’ authority over attorney conduct, and to
impair the ability to obtain relief under the FELA.

12

2. The decision below also raises important
constitutional questions under this Court’s decisions
concerning the rights of access to the courts under the
First Amendment, and the Due Process and the Equal
Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment. The
use of state disciplinary rules in Ohio, and other states, to
prohibit lawyers from providing financial assistance to
indigent clients who will otherwise be forced to abandon
or accept an inadequate settlement of their claims because
of financial hardship caused by court delays is inconsistent
with the decisions of this Court holding that states cannot
enforce professional conduct or other rules that impose
unjustified or arbitrary barriers on access to the courts.
Review by this Court is warranted because, by prohibiting
attorneys from guaranteeing loans such as those involved
here, states may deprive a wide range of personal injury
claimants of the financial assistance needed to survive
prolonged litigation and resolve their claims on the merits,
without serving any legitimate state interest in preventing
improper solicitation or conflicts of interest.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court has recognized that defendants can,
and often do, use the delays inherent in litigation to force
claimants to accept quick and cheap settlements, partic-
ularly in FELA actions. See Brotherhood of Railroad
Trainmen v. Virginia, 377 U.S. 1, 3-4 (1964). “ ‘The impor-
tance of financial aid from his lawyer to an injured
workman may spell the difference between injustice and
justice.’ ” In re Ruffalo, 249 F. Supp. at 444 (quoting
Mahoning County Bar Ass’n v. Ruffalo, 176 Ohio St. 263,
199 N.E.2d 396, 403 (Herbert, J., dissenting)). Court
delays can slow final resolution of a claim for years, and
railroads and other defendants can wait-out indigent claim-
ants until they are forced to abandon their claims alto-
gether, or settle them for a small percentage of their
reasonable value. “ ‘In short, the powerful can close ,the

13

doors of the courts to the weak by reason of the lack of
finances of the claimant.’ ” Jd.

This barrier to just resolution of FELA claims is
strengthened when state disciplinary rules are applied, as
Ohio has done here, to prohibit attorneys from guaran-
teeing loans for medical and living expenses that clients
need to survive prolonged litigation and resolve their
claims based on the merits. The problem is not limited to
Ohio, however. Most states now have rules that prohibit
attorneys from providing financial assistance to clients they
represent in litigation, with an exception only for litigation
expenses. These rules are not only a vestige of the ancient
prohibitions on champerty and maintenance, but are ac-
tually more restrictive than the common law. Prior to the
ABA’s adoption of the Model Code of Professional Re-
sponsibility in 1969, most cases recognized that it was not
improper for attorneys to provide advances for living ex-
penses to assist indigent clients “where without such aid
[the client] would be unable to enforce a just claim.”*
But most jurisdictions have displaced the common law
principles and canons with codes by adopting DR 5-103(B)

8 People ex rel Chicago Bar Ass'n v. McCallum, 341 Ill. 578, 173
N.E. 827, 831 (1930); see generally Annotation, 8 A.L.R. 3d 1155, 1158,
1176-77 (1966) (reviewing cases and summarizing general rule as
permitting loans for living expenses where loans are not used for
solicitation); Note, Loans to Clients for Living Expenses, 55 Cal. L.
Rev. 1419, 1421-23 (1967) (cases prior to 1955 “favored loans for
living expenses, recognizing that with them clients might withstand
unjust settlement offers they would otherwise accept out of
necessity”); Note, Guaranteeing Loans to Clients Under Minnesota’s
Code of Professional Responsibility, 66 Minn. L. Rev. 1091, 1093-99
(1982) (cases interpreting common law and Canons of Ethics adopted
by the ABA in 1908 generally approved loans for living expenses).
The principal pre-1969 authorities concluding that assistance for living
expenses is flatly prohibited were ABA Formal Opinion No. 288 (Oct.
11, 1954), and the Ohio Supreme Court’s decision in Mahoning County
Bar Ass’n v. Ruffalo, supra.

14

of the ABA Model Code, Rule 1.8(e) of the 1983 ABA
Model Rules of Professional Conduct, or comparable
provisions, which contain no express exception for such
loans.’ Despite criticism that prohibiting all loans for

* See Waldman v. Waldman, 118 A.D.2d 577, 499 N.Y.S.2d 185 (2d
Dep’t 1986) (language of DR 5-103(B) prohibits advances of money
motivated solely by concern for client’s financial plight that would
have been proper under the former Canons of Ethics); C. Wolfram,
supra § 9.2.3 at 508-509 & nn. 86-88 (pre-Code authority was divided,
but most decisions under the Code hold assistance with living expenses
is prohibited, no matter how needful the client); ALI, Restatement of
the Law Governing Lawyers, Tent. Draft No. 4, § 48 at 227, 231
(April 10, 1991) (“Loans going beyond litigation expenses are barred
in most jurisdictions”).

All together, forty-five states have adopted rules against financial
assistance that provide no explicit exemption for living or medical
expenses. See infra note 10 (describing jurisdictions that have such
exemptions). Many, like Ohio, have adopted the language of DR 5-
103(B) of the Model Code of Professional Responsibility. See supra at
1. Over half the states have now adopted Model Rule 1.8(e), which
provides:

A lawyer shall not provide financial assistance to a client in

connection with pending or contemplated litigation except

that: (1) a lawyer may advance court costs and expenses of
litigation, the repayment of which may be contingent on the
outcome of the matter; and (2) a lawyer representing an in-

digent client may pay court costs and expenses of litigation
on behalf of a client.

The final draft version of Model Rule 1.8(e) contained language
permitting advances of “reasonable and necessary medical and living
expenses,” see Final Draft of the Model Rules of Professional Con-
duct, 67 ABA Journal 12 (Spec. Supp., Oct., 1981), but it was amended
to remove this language before final adoption. G. Hazard and W.
Hodes, The Law of Lawyering: A Handbook on the Model Rules of
Professional Conduct, 274 (2d Ed. 1992 Supp.) Nevertheless, the
Model Rule is more liberal than DR 5-103 because it does not require
that the “client remains ultimately liable for [financial assistance with
litigation] expenses.” Thus, the attorney is permitted to finance
litigation expenses without the assurance that they will be repaid by
the client.

ee

living expenses is unjustified and prejudices the rights of
needy claimants, only a few jurisdictions have adopted
rules that explicitly permit such assistance.'°

The Ohio Supreme Court’s decision in this case
places the constitutional infirmities of rules that prohibit
loan guarantees needed to withstand litigation delays in
particularly sharp focus because (i) the decision is contrary
to the Ohio federal courts’ determination that such loans
should be permitted, and (ii) the findings of fact below
demonstrate that the ban does not serve any of the state
interests behind the ethics rules. The only result of
applying the state rule to bar the loan guarantees at issue
in this proceeding is to prevent needy clients who have
valid claims under the FELA from obtaining the financial
assistance necessary to survive until they can have their
claims heard in federal court. Thus, this rule falls within
a familiar pattern of cases in which prophylactic
disciplinary rules have been declared unconstitutional
when applied in a manner that does not serve the interests
behind the rule. See Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary
Counsel, 471 U.S. 626, 644-45 (1985); In re Primus, 436

10 See A27, Minn. Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 1.8(e)(3)
(lawyer may guarantee loan needed to withstand delays in litigation);
N.D. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8(e)(3) (same); A28, D.C. Rules
of Prof. Conduct, Rule 1.8(d) (lawyer may provide financial assistance
necessary to maintain litigation); Ala. Rules of Prof. Conduct, Rule
1.8(e)(3) (permitting emergency financial assistance); Texas Rules of
Professional Conduct, Rule 1.8(d)(1) (permitting advances for reason-
ably necessary medical and living expenses); Cal. Rules of Professional
Conduct, Rule 4-210(A)(2) (permitting loans to clients). Louisiana
has recognized such an exception by narrowly interpreting DR 5-
103(B) as not prohibiting loans to existing clients for necessary living
expenses. Louisiana State Bar Ass'n v. Edwins, 329 So.2d at 446. Other
jurisdictions, however, have concluded that such interpretations are
foreclosed by the language of their code or rules. See Waldman v.
Waldman, supra; Committee on Professional Ethics v. Bitter, 279
N.W.2d 521, 523 (Iowa 1979).

16

U.S. 412 (1978). Regardless of the general validity of the
rule, it is unconstitutional when applied in a manner that
serves no state interest, but “ ‘operates to deprive an
individual of a protected right.’ ” Little v. Streater, 452
USS. 1, 16 (1981) (quoting Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S.
371, 379 (1971)). The decision below should be reviewed
by this Court because it infringes on both the rights
protected by the FELA, and the constitutional rights of
access to the courts protected by the First and Fourteenth
Amendments.

I. OHIO’S APPLICATION OF ITS PROHIBITION ON
LOAN GUARANTEES FOR LIVING EXPENSES TO
LOANS FOR FEDERAL FELA CLAIMANTS, WHEN
SUCH GUARANTEES HAVE BEEN APPROVED BY
THE FEDERAL COURTS, PRESENTS AN IMPOR-
TANT ISSUE UNDER THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE
THAT SHOULD BE RESOLVED BY THIS COURT.

The FELA was enacted to create a federal right to
compensation for injured railroad employees that would
displace state “common-law rules that sometimes made
recovery difficult or even impossible.” Brotherhood of
Railroad Trainmen, 377 U.S. at 3. In order to protect
these federal rights, this Court has on several occasions
granted certiorari to make clear that federal rights are not
“defeated by the forms of local practice,” Brown v. Western
Railway of Alabama, 338 U.S. 294, 296 (1949), and
underscore that “federal law governs cases under the
[FELA].” Dice v. Akron, Canton & Youngstown Railroad
Company, 342 U.S. 359, 361-62 (1952). In doing so, the
Court has held that state procedural and pleading rules
that impair the right of workers to vindicate their rights
under the FELA are preempted by federal law, even when
state courts are exercising concurrent FELA jurisdiction.
See Monessen Southwestern Railway Co. v. Morgan, 486
U.S. 330, 335-36 (1988); Norfolk and Western R. Co. v.
Liepelt, 444 U.S. 490, 493 (1980); Brady v. Southern

——<— ee

17

Railway Co., 320 U.S. 476 (1943); Central Vermont Railway
Co. v. White, 238 U.S. 507 (1915).

In addition, this Court has made clear that the
rules of professional conduct in federal courts are
controlled by federal law, and not by state law. In re
Snyder, 472 U.S. 634, 645 n.6 (1985); In re Ruffalo, 390
US. 544, 547 (1968). Efforts by states to exercise their
disciplinary authority in a manner that conflicts with
federal law and impairs the ability of attorneys to vindicate
federal rights are preempted. See Sperry v. Florida, 373
U.S. 379 (1963) (state law against unauthorized practice of
law preempted by federal law licensing patent attorneys).
A state cannot hinder or obstruct “the right to perform
the functions within the scope of the federal authority.” Jd.
at 385.

The discipline imposed by the Supreme Court of
Ohio’s actions cannot be reconciled with either of these
lines of authority. First, by applying a state disciplinary
rule to FELA cases, the Ohio Supreme Court has imposed
standards that are inconsistent with the standards of
conduct established by the federal courts. The discipline
imposed here is contrary to the decision of the federal
District Court for the Northern District of Ohio specif-
ically rejecting the Ohio Supreme Court’s view and con-
cluding that it would be unjust to prohibit attorneys from
guaranteeing such loans for FELA claimants. Jn re Ruffalo,
249 F. Supp. at 442-45. It is also inconsistent with the
evidence showing that the federal court in Ohio still
endorses such assistance. A26."' The implications of the

1! The Ohio federal courts are not alone. See N.D. Ill. Local
Rules, Gen. R. 39 (providing that, for good cause shown, court may
approve advances by attorney to client for living costs); Jahn v.
Champagne Lumber Co., 157 F. 407, 418 (W.D. Wisc. 1908) (“It has
never been held violative of law or public policy to give financial aid

(continued...)

18

use of state disciplinary authority to interfere with the
representation of clients in federal court is not limited to
the FELA, however. Virtually all attorneys practicing in
federal court are members of state bars that may have
disciplinary rules that are contrary to federal law. Under
the Supremacy Clause, states cannot be permitted to
punish attorneys litigating in federal court for taking
actions that the federal courts have authorized.

Second, by prohibiting attorneys from representing
FELA claimants in a manner that has been expressly
approved by the federal courts, the Ohio Rule specifically
frustrates the ability of FELA claimants to obtain the fair
hearing of their claims under federal law. The Supremacy
Clause prohibits states from obstructing federally pro-
tected rights to relief in this manner. Cf. Brown v. Western
Railway, 338 U.S. at 296 (state pleading rule cannot be
used to defeat rights protected by the FELA). For
example, a state could not impose an ethics rule pro-
hibiting attorneys bringing class actions in federal court
from communicating with potential class members, because
such a rule would be inconsistent with the policies behind
the federal class action rule. Cf. Gulf Oil Co. v. Bernard,
452 U.S. 89, 99-102 (1981). Likewise, a state could not
frustrate the enforcement of federal legislation by prohibit-
ing attorneys from entering into reasonable contingent fee
arrangements, or forbidding advances for litigation ex-
penses, where such practices are consistent with federal
law and help to vindicate the federal rights at issue. See
County of Suffolk v. Long Island Lighting Co., 710 F. Supp.
1407, 1414-1S (E.D.N.Y. 1989) (DR 5-103(B) restrictions
on advancing litigation expenses preempted insofar as they

(continued)
to a poor suitor who is prosecuting a meritorious cause of action. . . .
The law does not tolerate the notion that a powerful defendant may
force the abandonment of a suit whenever he is able to exhaust the
slender means of a weak antagonist.”)

19

are inconsistent with national policies that underlie class
actions); accord Rand v. Monsanto Co., 926 F.2d 596, 600-
01 (7th Cir. 1991); Baylson v. Disciplinary Board of the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, 764 F.Supp. 328, 348-49
(E.D. Pa. 1991).

The disciplinary rule at issue here is preempted for
the same reason. The federal courts in Ohio have
declared that guaranteeing loans for indigent FELA claims
is ethical and assists in vindicating the rights created by
Congress under the FELA. Enforcement of the state’s
contrary rule in cases involving assistance to FELA claim-
ants undermines the rights created by Congress by denying
claimants the assistance that they need to resolve their
claims based on the merits, rather than financial despera-
tion. Moreover, the existence of similar disciplinary rules
in other jurisdictions prevents, or at least deters, such
assistance to FELA claimants because of the threat that
States may use their regulatory authority over attorneys to
prevent assistance to claimants in FELA cases, or similar
actions under federal law.””

Accordingly, the decision below undermines both
the authority of the federal courts and the rights protected
by the FELA. This Court should grant certiorari to
remove the inconsistency between the state and federal

2 This Court’s decision in Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen,
rested on the First Amendment rather interference with the federal
FELA rights in violation of the Supremacy Clause. See United Mine
Workers, 389 U.S. 217, 224 n.9 (1967) (decisions in Button and
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen did not rest on state interference
with federal programs, so they are equally applicable to litigation
involving rights created by state law). Nevertheless, the Court did
note that “[a] State could not, by invoking the power to regulate the
professional conduct of attorneys, infringe in any way the right of
individuals and the public to be fairly represented in lawsuits
authorized by Congress to effectuate a basic public interest.”
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, 377 U.S. at 7.

20

ethical standards, and declare that federal law controls
whether or not attorneys can guarantee loans needed for
FELA claimants to withstand delays in litigation.

II. STATE RULES PROHIBITING ATTORNEYS FROM
GUARANTEEING LOANS FOR CLIENTS WHO
NEED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO WITHSTAND
LITIGATION DELAYS IMPAIR RIGHTS OF
ACCESS TO THE COURTS PROTECTED BY THE
FIRST AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS, AND
PRESENT IMPORTANT CONSTITUTIONAL
ISSUES THAT SHOULD BE SETTLED BY THIS
COURT.

Prohibiting loans for living expenses of clients who,
without such financial assistance, will be unable to have
their day in court also presents important constitutional
issues under the decisions of this Court concerning the
rights protected by the First Amendment, and by the Due
Process and Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Lower courts have repeatedly questioned
the constitutionality of applying these rules to impede the
ability of indigent personal injury claimants to pursue their
claims in Court. See Louisiana State Bar Ass’n v. Edwins,
329 So.2d 437, 446 (La. 1976); In re Teichner, 75 Ill. 2d 88,
387 N.E.2d 265, 271-72 (1979). These important issues
should be resolved by this Court.

This Court’s decisions have declared that the First
Amendment, and the Due Process and Equal Protection
Clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment establish closely
related and, to some extent, overlapping restrictions on
states’ abilities to impose prohibitions that handicap access
to the courts. See Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455
U.S. 422, 430 n.5 (1982). Ohio’s ban on assisting needy
clients to withstand delays in litigation by guaranteeing
bank loans fails to satisfy the tests established by the
Court under each of these provisions.

21

A. The First Amendment. This Court has recog-
nized that litigation, and assistance to litigants, is protected
by the First Amendment. NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415,
429-30 (1963); accord In re Primus, 436 U.S. at 431-32.
Moreover, the Court has specifically held that efforts to
assist injured workers in pursuing FELA claims are pro-
tected by the First Amendment, Brotherhood of Railroad
Trainmen, 377 U.S. 1 (Virginia prohibition on union plan
for advising injured workers to obtain representation of
union-approved attorneys for FELA claims violates First
Amendment). The First Amendment interests recognized
in Button are equally applicable to litigation “solely
designed to compensate the victims of industrial acci-
dents.” United Mine Workers v. Illinois State Bar Ass’n, 389
U.S. 217, 223 (1967).

These cases hold that state professional conduct
rules that handicap the ability to provide assistance to
litigants must be drawn “with narrow specificity.” Button
371 U.S. at 433, 438. Prophylactic rules aimed at pre-
venting maintenance of baseless litigation or conflicting
interests may not be applied broadly unless the state
demonstrates a “substantial regulatory interest, in the form
of substantive evils flowing from the petitioner’s activities,
which can justify the broad prohibitions which it has
imposed.” Id. at 444; accord United Mine Workers v.
Illinois State Bar Ass’n, 389 U.S. at 222-23; Brotherhood of
Railroad Trainmen v. Virginia, 377 U.S. at 7-8. Moreover,
the state’s interest must not be speculative or theoretical;
the state bears the burden of making a “showing of a
serious danger here of professionally reprehensible
conflicts,” to justify the rule. Button, 371 U.S. at 443;
accord Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, 377 U.S. at 8.
Thus, “the burden is on the State to present a substantial
government interest justifying the restriction . . . and to
demonstrate that the restriction vindicates that interest
through the least restrictive means.” Zauderer, 571 U.S.
at 647.

22

This Court’s holdings in Button and Brotherhood of
Railroad Trainmen were summarized in United Mine
Workers v. Illinois State Bar Ass’n, which held that applying
Illinois’ rules against the unauthorized practice of law to
prohibit a union from hiring a lawyer to handle workmen’s
compensation claims for its members violates the First and
Fourteenth Amendments. The state prohibition on
solicitation struck down in Button violated the First
Amendment, the Court said, because “the dangers of
baseless litigation and conflicting interests” it purported to
prevent were “far too speculative to justify the broad
remedy invoked by the State.” Jd. at 223. Likewise, in
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Virginia, Virginia’s
prohibition on a union plan for advising injured workers
to obtain representation by union-approved attorneys to
assist them in pursuing FELA claims was found unconsti-
tutional because there was only “a theoretical possibility”
of conflict of interests, and this “distant possibility of harm
could not justify” the prohibition on the union’s efforts to
assure that “each injured member would be justly compen-
sated for his injuries.” Id. In United Mine Workers the
state’s prohibition was struck down because “there was
absolutely no indication that the theoretically imaginable
divergence between the interests of the union and member
arose in the context of the particular lawsuit,” id. at 224,
and the state failed to produce any evidence that per-
mitting assistance to injured workers would result in any
harm to the public. Jd. at 225.

Subsequent cases have reaffirmed these principles
in concluding that certain prophylactic disciplinary rules of
Ohio and other states are unconstitutional under the First
Amendment. See, e.g., Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, __
U.S. ___ (1991); Shapero v. Kentucky Bar Ass’n, 486 U.S.
466, 472-78 (1988); Zauderer, 471 U.S. at 639-48; Bates v.
State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977). These cases
firmly establish that state disciplinary rules that infringe on
First Amendment rights cannot be applied indiscriminately

1 manana

:

23

to circumstances where the conflicts of interest or other
substantive evil the rules purport to regulate are absent, or
are merely hypothetical. See In re RJ.M., 455 U.S. 191,
207 (1982); In re Primus, 436 U.S. at 436.

Ohio’s application of its prohibition on financial
assistance to clients to the conduct at issue here cannot
withstand scrutiny under the test in Button and its progeny.
The decision below plainly frustrates access to the courts.
The state acknowledged that the loan guarantees were
given only to clients who demonstrated a need for finan-
cial assistance in order to continue to pursue their claims
during the delays in litigation. Thus, prohibiting such
guarantees strengthens defendants’ ability to force claim-
ants to accept settlements based on financial hardship, and
prevents indigent clients from pursuing valid claims. By
barring the financial assistance necessary for claimants to
survive court delays and resolve their claims on the merits,
the rule infringes on rights protected by the First
Amendment.

The state’s own findings establish that there is no
countervailing state interest to justify this infringement.
The Board acknowledged that the loans were made
through an independent financial institution, that there
was no improper solicitation, and that there was no
conflict of interest involved. Indeed, the state was unable
to identify any state interest served by prohibiting loans
for living expenses needed to allow claimants to survive
court delays and obtain a hearing on their claims.”
While the rule reduces litigation by limiting the ability of
impecunious clients to pursue their claims through pretrial

13 See also In re Ratner, 194 Kan. 362, 399 P.2d 865, 874 (1965)
(where there is no improper solicitation, loaning money to client so
he could live until case was tried rather than being forced to settle
does not present any of the evils addressed by rules against
maintenance).

hte

24

delays, this does not reflect a legitimate state interest but,
to the contrary, underscores the constitutional infirmities
of the rule. This Court has made clear that “we cannot
endorse the proposition that a lawsuit, as such, is an evil.
... That our citizens have access to their civil courts is not
an evil to be regretted; rather it is an attribute of our
system of justice in which we ought to take pride.”
Zauderer, 471 U.S. at 643. Thus, by prohibiting financial
assistance needed to permit litigants to have their day in
court, the state unconstitutionally violates rights protected
by the First Amendment.

B. Due Process. A client’s cause of action under
the FELA is plainly “a species of property protected by
the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process Clause.” Logan
v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. at 428-31; Mullane v.
Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313
(1950). The Due Process Clause protects access to the
courts to obtain a hearing on such claims, and requires
that state laws that deprive litigants of that access be
justified by an overriding state interest. “[H]aving made
access to the courts an entitlement or a necessity, the
State may not deprive someone of that access unless the
balance of state and private interests favors the govern-
ment scheme.” Logan 455 U.S. at 430 n. 5; see also Little
v. Streater, 452 U.S. at 13-16; Matthews v. Eldridge, 424
U.S. 319, 335 (1976) (due process requires balancing
private interests, and risk of erroneous deprivation, against
government’s interests); Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. at
3%

Ohio’s prohibition on guaranteeing loans for living
expenses to clients who need financial assistance in order
to withstand delays in litigation cannot withstand scrutiny
under this balancing test. The private interests affected by
the prohibition are substantial. The prohibition on obtain-
ing assistance for living expenses not only burdens, but

25

ee

may deprive, indigent claimants of their right to obtain a
hearing on their claims:

If an impoverished person is unable to secure
subsistence from some source during disability, he
may be deprived of the only effective means by
which he can wait out the necessary delays that
result from litigation to enforce his cause of
action. He may, for reasons of economic necessity
and physical need, be forced to settle his claim for
an inadequate amount.

Louisiana State Bar Ass’n v. Edwins, 329 So.2d at 446.

Indeed, the impact of the rule is particularly acute
in personal injury claims, like the FELA claims at issue
here, where the claimant’s need for assistance and the
claim of entitlement that has been delayed are directly
linked. In such actions, the claimant alleges that it is the
defendants’ tortious conduct that resulted in the injuries
that give rise to his or her medical expenses and loss of
earnings — but, without financial assistance, the claimant
will be unable to survive the delays necessary to obtain a
hearing on his or her entitlement to compensation for
these very same losses. This Court has recognized that
delays in resolving a claim of entitlement to funds that are
needed for the claimant’s support raise special
constitutional concerns. See Goldberg v. Kelley, 397 U.S.
254, 264-65 (1970) (due process requires pre-termination
hearing where claim is for benefits that provide essential
means of support). The prohibition on financial assistance
imposed by Ohio not only ignores this problem, but
assures that defendants that are allegedly responsible for
the claimants’ hardship also have every incentive and
opportunity to use litigation delays to place even more
economic pressure on injured FELA claimants in order to
deprive them of their day in court. See C. Wolfram, supra
§ 9.2.3 at 509.

26

On the other hand, no countervailing substantial
state interest is advanced by applying this prohibition to
the type of loans prohibited by the Ohio Supreme Court
here. Narrower rules, drawn to recognize that it is
permissible to guarantee a loan that “is needed to with-
stand delay in litigation that otherwise might unjustly
induce the client to settle or dismiss a case because of
financial hardship rather than on the merits,” adequately
protect the state’s interest in preventing unethical conduct.
ALI, Tentative Draft No. 4, Restatement of the Law
Governing Lawyers § 48(2)(b), pp. 224-25, 227-28; see A27-
29; supra note 10 (describing rules of other jurisdictions
permitting loans for living expenses).

In the proceedings below, the Toledo Bar Associa-
tion asserted that the prohibition raised no due process
concerns by relying on United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434
(1973), and Walters v. National Association of Radiation
Survivors, 473 U.S. 305 (1985). Those decisions are plainly
inapposite. In Kras the Court concluded that there was no
due process violation presented by conditioning discharge
of debts in voluntary bankruptcy on the payment of filing
fees because bankruptcy was not a fundamental right.
This case, however, involves denial of the right to a
hearing on a property right claim under FELA — a funda-
mental right protected by the Due Process Clause. In
Walters, the Court upheld a limitation on attorneys fees
because the administrative hearings provided to claimants
were designed to be informal, nonadversarial, and favor
the claimant. 473 U.S. at 323-24, 333-34. There was no
contention that the claimants were deprived of their right
to a hearing, only that they were effectively denied the
ability to retain counsel. In contrast, the only hearing
FELA claimants may obtain is a formal, adversarial
hearing in court, and the claimants who cannot survive

27

court delays without financial assistance are wholly
deprived of any hearing."

C. Equal Protection. The Equal Protection
Clause requires that state rules drawing distinctions that
impose particular burdens on the right to be heard “must
be kept free of unreasoned distinctions that can only
impede open and equal access to the courts.” Rinaldi v.
Yeager, 384 U.S. 305, 310-11 (1966). Accordingly, this
Court has held that state rules that limit the rights of
particular categories of claimants by creating distinctions
that are not rationally related to legitimate governmental
objectives are unconstitutional under the Equal Protection
Clause. Logan, 455 U.S. at 439 (Blackmun, J., con-
curring); id. at 444 (Powell, J., concurring); see also
Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972) (special requirement
that defendants in summary ejectment proceedings post
double bond to appeal violates equal protection).

Ohio’s disciplinary rules violate the Equal Protec-
tion principles established in these cases by flatly pro-
hibiting loans for medical and living expenses, while
permitting attorneys to acquire interests in the outcome of
the litigation through other means. The different treat-
ment afforded various financial interests under the Ohio
Rules is not “reasonably tailored to achieve” any state
interest. Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. at 78-79. The state
permits lawyers to enter into agreements for contingent
fees and advance costs for litigation expenses because

4 The decision in Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973), is
distinguishable for the same reason. In Ortwein this Court held that
a $25 filing fee to appeal decisions rendered after a state
administrative hearing did not violate the due process clause because
the claimants were afforded an administrative hearing that satisfied
the requirements of due process. No such administrative hearing is
available here. See Little v. Streater, 452 U.S. at 16 n.12 (where interest
is constitutionally significant and no alternative forum exists, case is
comparable to Boddie rather than to Kras and Ortwein).

28

these practices “may be the only way a client can enforce
his cause of action.”’* But the state arbitrarily forbids
all loans for medical or living expenses — even though such
advances may be equally necessary for clients to enforce
their rights.

This arbitrary distinction leads to irrational results.
Under the Ohio rules, attorneys can advance funds to pay
a physician to perform a medical evaluation of a client’s
injuries in preparation for trial, but cannot guarantee a
loan to pay for the treatment of those same injuries —
even when the treatment is necessary to mitigate the harm
from the injury. In addition, loans for medical and living
expenses are prohibited regardless of the amount or cir-
cumstances, while advances for litigation costs are un-
limited. Thus, the rules permit attorneys to make
advances for litigation expenses that may result in their
acquiring a substantial interest in the outcome of the
claim, but prohibit any guarantees for living expenses — no
matter how modest those expenses are in relation to the
claim. These distinctions are not justified by any interest
in preventing attorneys from acquiring a financial stake
that would impair professional judgment, as such impair-
ment depends upon the amount of the advances or inter-
est, not the type of expenses needed to pursue the
litigation.

Moreover, the burden imposed by the prohibition
obviously falls only upon poor clients, and places a
particular burden on claimants who are in need of finan-
cial assistance precisely because they have been injured,
and their request for compensation has been delayed in
the courts. Such claimants, because they are unable to
obtain financial assistance, may be foreclosed from
pursuing their claim for the loss wages and injuries that
give rise to their financial distress “no matter how

15 Chio Code of Professional Responsibility, EC 5-7, 5-8.

29

meritorious their case may be.” Lindsey v. Normet, 405
U.S. at 79; cf. Goldberg v. Kelley, 397 U.S. at 264-65.
Thus, the different treatment afforded to living and
medical expenses, litigation expenses, and contingency
fees, is not rationally related to any legitimate govern-
mental purpose, and merely serves to impair the rights of
needy clients to pursue legitimate claims that they are
entitled to compensation to cover their living and medical
expenses.

For all these reasons, the application of state
professional codes to prohibit loans for living expenses in
order to withstand delays in litigation, as Ohio has done
here, presents important constitutional issues that should
be resolved by this Court.

CONCLUSION

The Court should issue a writ of certiorari to
review the federal constitutional challenges to the
Supreme Court of Ohio’s application of DR 5-103(B) to
prohibit loans for medical and living expenses needed in
order for FELA claimants to withstand delays in litigation.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael E. Tankersley Mark H. Aultman

(Counsel of Record) Charles W. Kettlewell

David C. Vladeck 150 East Wilson Bridge Road
Alan B. Morrison Suite 200

Public Citizen Worthington, Ohio 43085
Litigation Group (614) 436-2750

2000 P Street, N.W., Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 833-3000

January 26, 1993 Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2031%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
