# Opposition Brief — Chronicle Publishing Co. v. Rison

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1845%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 507 U.S. 984

## Text

mpreme Court, U.S.
FIL iy i)

FEB 2 > 1
No. 92-1061 2 1993
or

Jn the Supreme Court of the Cinited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1992

| \]

i

‘HE CHRONICLE PUBLISHING COMPANY
PETITIONERS

R.H. RISON, WARDEN, ET AL

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
10 THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM ©. BRYSON
Acting Solicitor Genera

JOHN C. KEENEY
Acting Assistant ,

BROWN

\florney Cre

WILLIAM ©
Altorne Yy

; :
tf

Departme nt of Ju
Was/ mngto ‘ DC PDS LBO
(202) 514 9917

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether federal courts may adjudicate the merits
of moot cases.

2. Whether petitioner Martin’s release on parole
moots the claims presented in this case for injunctive
and declaratory relief against the enforcement of prison
regulations.

3. Whether this case is not moot because damages
were sought in the complaint or because petitioner The
Chronicle Publishing Company, which had published
articles by petitioner Martin while he was imprisoned,
alleges a continuing interest in the possible future
publication of work by other federal prisoners.

(1)

=e aa

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Tt al DEAR EE EO ee l
a slab eawendubepebanssvedensseussceevae l
cee cidapabhacadbanasébecsnenedsnbusésenssoves 2
st elisienscadevssninhdshaateudabacsctadecsscssesesevesnsenns 6
ol sasaseendaenuonsenvansucnnnencsonsace 17
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Haworth, 300 U.S. 227
ee a nen neebeniongenesninnena 7
Chapman v. Pickett, 586 F.2d 22 (7th Cir. 1978) ............. 12, 13

Church of Scientology v. United States, 113 S. Ct. 447
aA Andina naive Lcdbehubanmusdansasconnbatesoenen 7
| Cox v. McCarthy, 829 F.2d 800 (9th Cir. 1987) ................ 11
| Darring v. Kincheloe, 783 F.2d 874 (9th Cir. 1986) .......... 11, 16
Deakins v. Monaghan, 484 U.S. 193 (1988) .......... eee 6
Diamontiney v. Borg, 918 F.2d 793 (9th Cir. 1990) .......... 12
Dorman v. Thornburgh, 955 F.2d 57 (D.C. Cir. 1992) ...... 10
Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103 (1969) ............cseeeeseeeeees 16, 17
Harlow vy. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982) ones 15
Johnson v. Moore, 948 F.2d 517 (9th Cir. 1991) ............... 10, 11
Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. 472 (1990) ..... 6, 16
Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95 (1983) ...........ccceeeeeeee 6-7, 9, 16
McKinney v. Maynard, 952 F.2d 350 (10th Cir. 1991) ...... 13

Morales v. Schmidt, 489 F.2d 1335 (1973), aff'd on reh’g
en banc, 494 F.2d 85 (7th Cir. 1974) .............ccccccssseeseeees 11, 12
| O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974) .............ccceseeseeeees 11, 16
Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395 (1975) ...............ccscceseees 6, 10
Ross v. Reed, 719 F.2d 689 (4th Cir. 1983) ..........ceeeeeees 9, 11
Sosna v. Towa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975) ..........cccccccsccscseseesceeee 11

Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219 U.S. 498
a ais senncecakeddovecensinwivacssvnaneusens 6
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .............ccccccccercccsceee 16

(IIT)

IV

Cases—Continued:

Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975) .........ccccceeeeeee
Wiggins v. Rushen, 760 F.2d 1009 (9th Cir. 1985) ............
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974) oo... ececeeeeeeeee
Workman v. Mitchell, 502 F.2d 1201 (9th Cir. 1974) ........
Young v. Lane, 922 F.2d 373 (7th Cir. 1991) .............0...00

Regulations:

28 C.F.R.:
NE RI a REN ATR Poe
I ID aciésicctscanecéacodasuniunadcmnstacunbscecadonasvidiaolans
NE MINIT si shivenncdnciseenschaanduassbundsemesaemubelcrdusecueics
I IIIT 532s inn. sinnicascocartdncdennclaagdoamssaraanaamenddiianden

Miscellaneous:

Lee, Deconstitutionalizing Justiciability: The Example of
Mootness, 105 Harv. L. Rev. 605 (1992) ..............ceeeeeee

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

No. 92-1061

THE CHRONICLE PUBLISHING COMPANY, ET AL..
PETITIONERS

v.

R.H. RISON, WARDEN, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1) is
reported at 962 F.2d 959. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 2-40) is reported at 741 F. Supp. 1406.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
April 28, 1992. A petition for rehearing was denied on
September 21, 1992. Pet. App. 41-42. The petition for
a writ of certiorari was filed on December 18, 1992.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

1. In August 1986 petitioner The Chronicle Pub-
lishing Company, publisher of the San Francisco
Chronicle, published a bylined article submitted by
petitioner Martin, at the time a federal prisoner
serving consecutive 15 and 18-year sentences for
actual and attempted armed bank robbery. The
Chronicle mailed Martin a check in payment for the
article. Officials at the United States Penitentiary
in Lompoc, California, returned the check to the
Chronicle, along with a notice of United States
Bureau of Prisons (BOP) regulations barring such
payments to inmates. Tr. 3-279 to 3-280.’ Martin
decided to violate the regulations by continuing to
accept compensation for future articles (and by
continuing to permit the Chronicle to publish the
articles under his byline). To avoid confrontation
with prison officials, payments for the articles were
secretly funneled through Martin’s attorney. Tr. 3-
280, 7-1238. After the first article in 1986 (Tr. 5-280),
the Chronicle began publishing articles and reports
by Martin about every four to six weeks.

1 The regulation involved, 28 C.F.R. 540.20(b), provides
that an inmate “may not receive compensation or anything of
value for correspondence with the news media. The inmate
may not act as a reporter or publish under a byline.” Prison
regulations do not restrict inmates from submitting articles or
information to the Chronicle or other news media for
publication. To the contrary, “special mail” procedures autho-
rized by regulation allow inmates (including, at the time,
Martin) to send materials to the news media in sealed
envelopes, with no inspection by prison officials. See 28 C.F.R.
540.18(c). Moreover, the regulations do not prohibit the use of
a pseudonymous byline.

3

On Sunday, June 19, 1988, the Chronicle published
an article by Martin that criticized the prison’s
administration, “implied that [the warden’s] actions
had increased tension among prisoners and caused
violence,” and “contained express statements about
murders, assaults, and possible violence or rioting.”
Pet. 3; Pet. App. 16. The warden, concerned about the
security situation at the prison (particularly in the
context of major riots that had recently occurred at
two other federal prisons), followed the reecommen-
dation of his Chief of Security and placed Martin in
administrative detention for two days while investi-
gating whether Martin’s safety was in jeopardy and
whether Martin was attempting to encourage a group
demonstration. Several days later, Martin was trans-
ferred to another federal prison because of BOP
concerns that he would be a catalyst for a disturbance
at Lompoc. Pet. App. 31-35.

During the warden’s security investigation, prison
officials found evidence of the continuing compensa-
tion Martin was receiving for his writing. A dis-
ciplinary incident report was filed against Martin for
“conducting a business * * * while incarcerated.”” No
further action was taken with respect to the report
after Martin’s transfer. See Gov’t C.A. Br. 8.

2. On July 6, 1988, shortly after Martin’s transfer,
petitioners filed this action in the district court,
alleging that the BOP’s regulations barring inmates
from publishing under a byline, receiving compen-
sation from the news media, or conducting a business

“ No inmate is permitted to conduct or engage actively in a
business or profession while incarcerated. See 28 C.F.R
540.14(d), 541.13 (Table 3), 540.45.

4

(as applied to newspaper writing) were unconstitu-
tional on their face and as applied. Martin also sought
damages from the respondent prison officials for their
allegedly retaliatory actions in placing him in
administrative detention and transferring him to
another prison in June 1988. Pet. App. 7. At peti-
tioners’ request, the district court entered a
temporary restraining order and later a preliminary
injunction barring application of the challenged
regulations to Martin—and thus permitting the
continued publication of articles under his byline—
while the litigation was pending. Pet. 5.

Trial commenced in December 1989, and 13 days of
testimony were presented. On June 26, 1990, the
district court dissolved the preliminary injunction
and entered judgment for the respondents. Pet. App.
40. The court observed that the challenged reg-
ulations “do not control the content of what is said”
and that “no attempt is made to edit, restrain or
prevent written material from going out of the prison
or from being published.” Jd. at 14. Thus, the reg-
ulations restricting bylines, compensation, and the
conduct of business “are limited exceptions to the
broad grants to prisoners of means for exercising
their rights of expression.”* Jd. at 20. The court also

% 28 C.F.R. 540.20(b) also bars an inmate from “acting as a
reporter.” This provision, which bars an inmate from working
on a regular basis to provide information to the news media for
compensation, was never applied to Martin and is irrelevant
here. See Tr. 11-74. Even petitioners’ expert at trial agreed
that such conduct would constitute a real security threat
within the prison. Tr. 4-473. Petitioners have not claimed that
Martin was a reporter, or that the Chronicle has any interest in
hiring an inmate reporter.

5

recognized the potential dangers to physical security
within the prison that were alleviated by the
challenged regulations. Jd. at 15-19. After extensive
analysis, the court concluded that the regulations
were “rationally related to the legitimate penological
objective of prison security,” that they gave fair
notice to affected parties of the conduct they
prohibited, and that they were applied rationally and
in good faith on the facts of this case. /d. at 22, 24, 38-
39. The court therefore found no constitutional in-
firmity in the regulations on their face or as applied
to Martin’s conduct. Jd. at 38-39.

The district court also rejected Martin’s con-
tention that his placement in administrative deten-
tion and subsequent transfer was intended as
retaliatory punishment. It found from the evidence
that respondents “acted because of a genuine concern
for prison security and for no other reason,” Pet. App.
30, and thus denied Martin’s claim for damages. See
id. at 30-35, 38-39.

3. Petitioners appealed. In their briefs and at oral
argument petitioners challenged the district court’s
rulings as to the constitutionality of the regulations,
but did not contest the district court’s findings
rejecting Martin’s theory of retaliation and his claim
for damages.

In February 1992, Martin was released on parole.
He therefore ceased to be subject to the BOP
regulations at issue, which restrict the activities of
federal inmates only while they are actually
incarcerated. At the government’s suggestion, and
after full briefing by the parties, the court of appeals
found that Martin’s release had rendered the case

6

moot. Pet. App. 1. The court therefore vacated the
district court’s judgment and remanded the case to
that court with instructions to dismiss it as moot.
Ibid.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners first contend, Pet. 10-18, that fed-
eral courts have the power to decide the merits of
moot cases in certain circumstances, and that the
court of appeals should have done so in this case.
They base their position largely on the fact that con-
siderable resources have already been expended in the
course of the litigation, and argue that “the likely
precedential effect of a decision on appeal would
justify the [further] expenditure of judicial resources
necessary to adjudicate the merits.” Pet. 13 (quoting
Lee, Deconstitutionalizing Justiciability: The Ex-
ample of Mootness, 105 Harv. L. Rev. 605, 656 (1992)).

This Court has made quite clear that “{u]nder
Article III of the Constitution, federal courts may
adjudicate only actual, ongoing cases or controver-
sies.” Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S.
472, 477 (1990) (citing Deakins v. Monaghan, 484 U.S.
193, 199 (1988), and Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395,
401 (1975)). This rule requires that the parties have a
“personal stake in the outcome” of the lawsuit. Los
Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95, 101 (1983). Absent a
class action or a dispute that is “capable of repetition,
yet evading review,” Southern Pacific Terminal Co.
v. ICC, 219 U.S. 498, 515 (1911), the requirement of a
live controversy between personally interested
parties subsists through all stages of federal judicial
proceedings, trial and appellate. E.g., Lewis v. Con-
tinental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. at 477-478; Los Angeles

7

v. Lyons, 461 U.S. at 101-102, 109. Petitioners put for-
ward the classic arguments for why one might devise
a court system prepared, at least in complex or
interesting cases, to offer advisory opinions. How-
ever intriguing, those arguments are irrelevant in
the face of the contrary system adopted by the
Constitution and repeatedly reaffirmed by this Court.
See, e.g., Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Haworth, 300
U.S. 227, 241 (1937); Church of Scientology v. United
States, 113 S. Ct. 447, 449 (1993).

Even if dismissal were not constitutionally com-
pelled, however, there are no particular circum-
stances in this case that might counsel a federal
court to strain to reach the merits of the case. As the
district court found, Pet. App. 14-15, 20, the specific
regulations challenged here impose very limited
restrictions on the broad privileges of federal inmates
to communicate information and written materials to
the news media. Inmates are allowed to submit
articles and letters for publication without censor-
ship by prison authorities and without restriction as
to content. They are not prevented from providing
factual material to the news media. In fact, inmates
may communicate to the news media through “special
mail” that is sealed by the inmate and not subject to
inspection by prison authorities. 28 C.F.R. 540.18(c)._

The challenged regulations bar only those ac-
tivities that the BOP views as having the greatest
potential for creating security problems within
federal prisons, while leaving open as many forms of
inmate communication as possible. Indeed, Martin
continued to publish articles in the Chronicle even
after the adverse judgment of the district court in

8

this case, subject only to the requirements that he
cease using a byline and cease receiving compen-
sation.‘ See Pet. App. 67-68.

Petitioners claim that dismissal is a “pointless
waste of judicial resources,” because the trial took
several weeks and the case had already been briefed
and argued in the court of appeals when it became
moot. Pet. 16. That argument of course discounts the
potential waste of resources of the court of appeals
and of this Court in resolving a case which sub-
sequent events have rendered moot. Moreover, while
petitioners did challenge the facial constitutionality
of several regulations, much of the trial evidence and
many of the issues raised on appeal involved specific
factual issues of no continuing importance, such as
the details of the prison authorities’ dealings with
Martin and the constitutionality of the regulations as
specifically applied to him.

2. Petitioners also contend that Martin’s parole
does not moot this case, relying on the fact that the
terms of his parole might permit future reincarcera-
tion on a variety of grounds. Moreover, they assert a

* The observation that the regulations are so limited in
scope may account for the fact that the issue of their validity
does not arise with any frequency. Indeed, petitioners asserted
below that the regulations in issue had never been applied to
any inmate other than Martin. Martin C.A. Br. 7, 10. While
respondents disputed this specific contention, it is clear that
occasion for application of the these regulations arises only
rarely. Gov't C.A. Br. 44 & n.35. As the district court stated,
“[t]he evidence disclosed perhaps two instances of prisoners
who wrote under a byline for a newspaper, although it is
questionable whether they had acted as a reporter or received
compensation.” Pet. App. 27.

9

conflict among the courts of appeals on this issue.
Pet. 18-19. These arguments are without merit.

a. This case is not one whose particular facts
disclose a serious issue that is “capable of repetition,
yet evades review.” Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. at
109; Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975). In
the absence of a class action, that doctrine is limited
to cases meeting each of two conditions: (i) the chal-
lenged action must be in its duration too short to be
fully litigated prior to its cessation or expiration, and
(ii) there must be a reasonable expectation that the
same complaining party will again be subjected to the
same challenged action. E.g., Weinstein v. Bradford,
423 US. at 149.

The first condition is clearly absent here. Terms of
incarceration in federal prisons are not necessarily
short, and if other prisoners in the future wish to
assert the same claim presented here, there is no
reason to believe that they will not have ample time to
litigate it. See Wiggins v. Rushen, 760 F.2d 1009,
1011 (9th Cir. 1985) (Kennedy, J.); Young v. Lane, 922
F.2d 370, 373 n.7 (7th Cir. 1991); Ross v. Reed, 719 F.2d
689, 694 (4th Cir. 1983). Martin himself was incar-
cerated from 1981 until early 1992, which would
ordinarily be ample time to resolve a claim such as
the one presented in this case.®

® It should be noted that Martin substantially delayed
commencement of this litigation even after the challenged
restrictions became an issue. Petitioners were specifically
advised of the regulations at least as early as 1986, when Martin
first wrote an article for the Chronicle. Rather than chal-
lenging the regulations at that time, however, Martin simply
continued to violate them, secretly funneling payments for his
articles through his attorney. Tr. 3-279 to 3-280, 3-398, 7-1238.

10

The same reasoning answers the Chronicle’s
argument, Pet. 9, 17, that it retains an independent
interest in the case because the fact pattern is
“capable of repetition” with respect to other
(unidentified) inmate authors. In this regard, the
Chronicle inexplicably relies on a letter from the
BOP, sent after the judgment in the district court,
expressing concern that the continuing publication of
Martin’s articles (without a byline but with details
sufficient in context to identify the author) could
cause a security problem in the prison to which
Martin had been transferred. See Pet. App. 67-68.
The letter refers only to the specific security
problems arising with respect to Martin, and it gives
no indication of any continuing dispute with the
Chronicle that would extend beyond Martin’s release
on parole.

Nor is the possibility that Martin may violate the
terms of his parole and be reincarcerated, so that he
would again be subjected to the restrictions of the
federal prison regulations, sufficient to prevent the
ease from being moot. The mere possibility of
reincarceration or retransfer cannot preserve a claim
for injunctive and declaratory relief regarding prison
conditions as a live controversy after a prisoner is
transferred or released on parole. See, e.g., Wein-
stein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. at 149; Preiser v. New-
kirk, supra; Dorman v. Thornburgh, 955 F.2d 57, 58
(D.C. Cir. 1992); Johnson v. Moore, 948 F.2d 517, 519
(9th Cir. 1991). With respect to equitable relief, such

It was not until two years later, after prison officials
discovered financial records showing the continuing payments,
that petitioners chose to challenge the regulations in court.

RR nee CLR > omnes 2

11

a live controversy requires a continuing, present
injury, or a real and immediate threat of repeated
injury. E.g., O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 494
(1974). The possibility of return to prison for a new
violation is “too speculative * * *, and as such cannot
be the basis for a finding that the case continues to
present a justiciable question.” Wiggins v. Rushen,
760 F.2d at 1011. See O’Shea, 414 U.S. at 496-497; Cox
v. McCarthy, 829 F.2d 800, 804 & n.3 (9th Cir. 1987);
Darring v. Kincheloe, 783 F.2d 874, 876 (9th Cir.
1986); Ross v. Reed, supra. Given the lack of any
evidence indicating an unusual likelihood of rein-
carceration, the court of appeals properly found the
case to be moot.

b. Contrary to petitioners’ assertion, Pet. 18-19,
the decision below does not conflict with those of
other courts of appeals.®

§ Although any intra-circuit conflict would of course not
require the intervention of this Court, petitioners’ suggestion,
Pet. 19 n.20, that the decision below departs from Ninth Circuit
precedent is also without merit. See Johnson v. Moore, 948
F.2d at 519 (where transferred prisoner “demonstrated no
reasonable expectation of returning,” claims for injunctive
relief were moot); Wiggins v. Rushen, supra (inmate’s com-
plaint for an injunction became moot upon transfer and parole,
even where new charges had already been filed against him).
In Workman v. Mitchell, 502 F.2d 1201 (9th Cir. 1974), the suit
was not mooted by the release of the named inmate plaintiffs
because, unlike this case, Workman was a class action. See
Sosna v. lowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975). The Workman court’s
passing reference (502 F.2d at 1207 n.7) to the Seventh
Circuit’s decision in Morales v. Schmidt, 489 F.2d 1335 (1973),
affd on rehearing en banc, 494 F.2d 85 (1974), is simply
erroneous dictum that does not establish even an intracircuit
conflict. While the similarly brief reference to the issue in

12

The Seventh Circuit follows the general rule set
forth above. See, e.g., Young v. Lane, 922 F.2d 370,
373 & n.7 (1991) (transfer of prisoners mooted claims
for injunctive relief). Petitioners cite that court’s
decision in Morales v. Schmidt, 489 F.2d 1335 (1973),
aff'd on rehearing en banc, 494 F.2d 85 (7th Cir. 1974).
Morales, however, involved mailing restrictions that
had a continuing effect on the former prisoner even
while he was on parole. The court made clear that
prison officials would “have legal custody of the
plaintiff, although a parolee, for six more years and
[have] authority to impose restrictions upon him,”
and that the official in question had in fact “stated
that he has refrained from preventing Morales from
communicating with his sister-in-law solely because
of the duty to comply with the district court’s
injunction.” 489 F.2d at 1336. Morales thus stands
only for the unremarkable proposition that parole of a
prisoner will not moot a challenge to governmental
regulations that continue to restrict his activities.’

Petitioners also cite Chapman v. Pickett, 586 F.2d.
22 (7th Cir. 1978). Chapman held that a portion of a
paroled prisoner’s declaratory claim was not moot
because of the possibility that records of disciplinary

Diamontiney v. Borg, 918 F.2d 793, 795 n.1 (9th Cir. 1990), is
somewhat unclear, that case was held not to be moot apparently
because, as discussed in the text with respect to Morales, the
challenged mail policies could “still have an impact on [the
former prisoner’s] correspondence with the courts.”

7 The Morales court did note the possibility that the parolee
might be returned to prison after a future infraction. It did
not, however, indicate that that possibility by itself would
suffice to prevent the case from being moot.

13

action taken against him would be used against him in
the future. Jd. at 26-27. Because Martin was never
disciplined for his violation of the byline and
compensation regulations, there can be no such claim
of a continuing adverse effect in this case. Thus,
regardless of its merits, Chapman’s holding is not
applicable here.

The Tenth Circuit’s decision in McKinney v. May-
nard, 952 F.2d 350 (1991), is also consistent with the
decision below. Unlike petitioner Martin, McKinney
had not been released on parole at the time of the
court of appeals’ decision; rather, he had been
transferred to another facility and placed on “pre-
parole” status for a number of months. It appears
from the court’s brief discussion of the point, which is
based largely on a citation to Morales, that in that
status McKinney, like Morales but unlike Martin,
remained subject to the terms of the challenged
regulations. Jd. at 351 n.1. .

3. Petitioners also contend, Pet. 20-22, that there is
a continuing controversy regarding damages in this
case. An inmate’s claim for damages for past illegal
conduct is not, of course, mooted by his release or
transfer. See, e.g., Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539
(1974). In this case, however, Martin’s claim for
damages was resolved adversely to him in the district
court and the court’s findings on the damages issue
were not challenged on appeal.

In the district court, Martin’s damages claim was
founded upon the allegation that his placement in
administrative detention and his transfer to another
prison denied him due process, and that the actions
were intended as punishment to retaliate against him

14

for the content of his writing. The district court
specifically rejected those contentions, finding that -
the “defendants acted because of a genuine concern
for prison security and for no other reason.” Pet.
App. 30. See Pet. App. 30-35, 38-39. Petitioners’
appeal to the Ninth Circuit did not challenge these
findings, but raised only issues related to the claims
for injunctive and declaratory relief. Because the
trial court’s factual findings dictate rejection of the
damages claim and were not challenged on appeal,
there is no continuing controversy as to the award of
damages.

Now that mootness has become an issue in the case,
petitioners have suggested that the damages claim
was not limited to the alleged retaliation. Pet. 20.
While there is arguably broader language included in
the complaint, petitioners’ pretrial statement clearly
identifies the alleged retaliation as the basis of the
damages action:

The damages phase concerns whether Defendants

retaliated against Plaintiffs’ First Amendment

activities and, if so, what damages should be

awarded.
* * * * *

[In the damages phase] [i]t probably would be left
for the jury to determine whether Defendants had
retaliated against Plaintiffs’ expression of their
First Amendment rights * * *.

Pretrial Statement 9-10.
Moreover, under the facts of this case, no viable
damages claim could have been advanced except under

Sen

15

the retaliation theory. This case is not the typical
one in which damages are sought based on the past
application of regulations to a prisoner. Through
June 1988, the Chronicle and Martin chose to ignore
and evade the regulations. Shortly thereafter, peti-
tioners filed this suit and promptly obtained a tempo-
rary restraining order and subsequent preliminary
injunction barring application of the regulations to
Martin while the case was pending. Accordingly,
prior to final judgment in the district court, Martin
continued to receive compensation and have articles
published under his byline unimpeded by the chal-
lenged regulations. Because the regulations were not
in fact applied to him, he could not have suffered any
injury from their application.

Petitioners’ claim is further foreclosed by the
qualified immunity of the respondent BOP employees.
See Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982).
For the reasons expressed in the district court’s
factual findings and opinion upholding the constitu-
tionality of the challenged regulations, and given the
lack of any contrary authority, it is evident that the
respondent BOP employees’ conduct in applying the
BOP regulations in a non-retaliatory manner did not
violate any clearly established constitutional rights
of which a reasonable person would have been aware.
Accordingly, any damages claim predicated on such
good-faith enforcement of the regulations is not
viable. Petitioners fault the court below for not
addressing, or remanding for further proceedings on,
the qualified immunity issue. Pet. 20-21. As dis-
cussed above, however, petitioners’ damages claim had
been resolved in the district court on other sufficient

16

grounds and, in any event, there is no serious
argument on the qualified immunity question that
would have warranted discussion or remand by the
court below.

4. Finally, petitioners contend, Pet. 17, 22 n.22, that
regardless of Martin’s continuing interest in the
case, the Chronicle’s independent interest prevents
the case from becoming moot upon Martin’s release.
Given Martin’s release, however, the Chronicle has
demonstrated no present or continuing injury, nor
any “real” or “immediate” threat of repeated injury
from application of the allegedly unconstitutional
regulations. See Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. at
101-102; O’Shea v. Littleton, supra. Absent its on-
going business relationship with Martin or another
actual inmate writer, the Chronicle cannot continue
to prosecute the suit. See Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S.
490, 498-499 (1975); Darring v. Kincheloe, 783 F.2d
at 877.

The Chronicle’s vague assertions that it “main-
tains an interest in reporting about prisons,” Pet. 17,
or is “very much interested in publishing pieces by
convicts,” Pet. App. 63, do not identify the sort of
“specific live grievance” required to preserve federal
jurisdiction, Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494
U.S. at 479 (quoting Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103,
110 (1969)), but rather enter “the area of speculation
and conjecture.” O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. at 497.
The Chronicle has not named any particular federal
inmate who has submitted an article it would publish
but for the regulations; it has not stated that there is
any actual federal inmate author it wishes to
compensate but cannot; and it has not averred that

pe ARR stent

17

there is any federal inmate author making sub-
missions for whom a byline under a pseudonym would
be insufficient. On the record of this case, there is no
substantial controversy of “sufficient immediacy and
reality to warrant the issuance of a declaratory
judgment.” Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. at 108.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WILLIAM C. BRYSON
Acting Solicitor General

JOHN C. KEENEY
Acting Assistant Attorney General

WILLIAM C. BROWN
Attorney

FEBRUARY 1993

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1845%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
