# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shockey v. City of Portland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1839%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 507 U.S. 1017

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

92-1055 [eer

| DEC 15 tgp

No.

]
| OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1992

WILLIAM H. SHOCKEY,
Petitioner,
Ve

CITY OF PORTLAND, a municipal
corporation; JACK C. IRVIN,
individually and in his
official capacity; and
JOHN LANG, individually and
in his official capacity,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of
The State Of Oregon

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Richard C. Busse
(Counsel of Record)
Scott N. Hunt
LAW OFFICES OF

RICHARD C. BUSSE
521 American Bank Building
621 SW Morrison Street
Portland, Oregon 97205
(503) 248-0504

Counsel for Petitioner

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
Whether a public employee’s motive is
the controlling factor in determining
whether that person’s speech is constitu-
tionally protected under the First
Amendment where the content of the speech

addresses a matter of public concern.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW........... i
: s
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES... .cccvccvvsccssecs iii
OPINIONS BELOW... cer cccnccnsesesesesesse 2
JURISDICTION. wccccccseantesseseenssesess 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED... ccccaccecesesces 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. . oc cnvccsevcnsesns 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........... 9
1. This Case Presents An Exceptionally
Important Question That Concerns The
Essence Of Constitutional Analysis
Under The First Amendment............ 12
2. The Majority Opinion Below Incor-
rectly Interprets First Amendment
Precedent And Improperly Focuses
On Petitioner’s MOtive. .cssscssessene 12
a. Incorrect Interpretation Of
COMRIGR 00000040600 0666555 550 12
b. Improper Focus On Motive......... io
3. The Dissent Below And The Content-
Based Analysis Present The Correct
Interpretation Of Pickering And Its
PLOGONY.. ce crccnnceeeneseseneuseeeeeee 18
CONCLUSION. .cccvecesesecesecesseeeeeeuns 22

| |

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

Berg v. Hunter,
854 F.2d 238 (7th Cir. 1988),
cert. den., 498 U.S. 1053, 109
S.Ct. 1314, 103 L.Ed.2d 583
DUE CCGG cba Aes eG utc enécacccesccecee 10

Berger v. Battaglia,
779 F.2d 992 (4th Cir. 1985),
cert. den. 476 U.S. 1159, 106
S.Ct. 2278, 90 L.Ed.2d 720
Oe eee eels Ge Ske b-e-e 46k oa 604% 0 10

Breuer v. Hart,
909 F.2d 1035 (7th Cir. | a ee 10

Brinkley v. City of Tacoma,
114 Wash.2d 373, 787 P.2d 1366
Eee er 11

Caldwell v. City of Elwood, Ind.,
poe F.20 670 (7th Cir. 1992)........... 17

Connick v. Myers,
461 U.S. 138, 103 S.Ct. 1684, 75
Ee | ES passim

Cox v. Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn,
420 U.S. 469, 95 S.ct. 1029, 43
LS 8 3

Dodds v. Childers,
wee Fu.ee 271 (Sth Cir. 1991)........... 10

Dorsett v. Bd. of Tr. for St.
Colleges & Univ.,
940 F.2d 121 (Sth Cir. 1991)........... 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Garrison v. Louisiana,
379 U.S. 64, 85 S.Ct. 209, 13

£8.26 125 (L9GE) 2. cw ccecccvsesses

Givnan v. Western Line Consolidated
School District,
439 U.S. 410, 99 S.Ct. 693, 58

L.8G.20 GID (A979) wn ccnvcceessecss

Goffer v. Marbury,

956 F.2d 1045 (llth Cir. 1992)....

Havekost v. United States Dept.
of Navy,

Fee £sa0 386 (9H CIC. E9FL} 2005

Johnson v. Lincoln Univ. of Conn.,

77@ F.a6 443 (304 Cie. E9SS). 0000s

Kemp v. State Bd. of Agriculture,
803 P.2d 498 (Colo. 1990), cert.
den. U.S. » e828 8. SC.

2798, 118 L.8d.2d 972 (1991)......

McEvoy v. Shoemaker,

G2 F.2G 463 (10th Cic. 1969).....

Pearson v. Macon-Bibb County Hosp.
Authority,

vos Fuam 2274 (Lith Cic. 1992)....

Pickering v. Board of Education,
S9L U.Bs SSS, BS S.Ct. LIBk,

40 &18G. 26 Gil CEPGS) oc ccccncccoss

Rankin v. McPherson,
Sos U.68. Bes O86) Baits seen.
OT &. BWR. 2G 283 CSOT lh cccksudacee is,

Page

19, 20

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Roberts v. Joiner,

590 So.2d 195 (Ala. 1991), cert.

den. U.S. » B22 §.Ct.

he ee eS eee 11
Rode v. Dellarciprete,

BES FidG BAGS CAPSOl o wee ccnwewensssacce 10
Schalk v. Gallemore,

UG F.2G SFL CESK Ci. 299O) a ccvccscves 10
Shockey v. City of Portland,

313 Or. 414, _P.2d _—s- (1992)...passim
Stever v. Independent School Dist.

No. 625,

Paes Time BSS CECH CAs... TOPE) «osc 6a ce ess 16
Zamboni v. Stamler,

“B47 F240 73S (Sed Cic.), cect.

den. 488 U.S. 899, 109 S.Ct.

O95 200 cRGsdG 232 CAFES) oc ec accnances 15
Constitution And Statutes Page
ee ee Pas Serr ee eee eee ee ee ee 3
42 U.S.C. § 1983S... ccc ccrncrvscceceee passim
Be Pi Re er eee 4
eee a a rere ee ee ee ee 4

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Other Authorities Page
McGowan and Tangri, A Libertarian

Critique of University
Restrictions of Offensive

Speech,
pp Bw > OR ee ee ER. Drea re 19

No.

In The Supreme Court Of The United States
October Term, 1992
WILLIAM H. SHOCKEY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

CITY OF PORTLAND, a municipal
corporation; JACK C. IRVIN,
individually and in his
official capacity; and
JOHN LANG, individually and

in his official capacity,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of
The State Of Oregon

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner William H. Shockey ("Peti-
tioner") respectfully prays that a Writ of
Certiorari issue to review the Judgment and
Opinicn of the Supreme Court of the State
of Oregon entered on September 21, 1992.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The Judgment and Opinion of the Su-
preme Court of the State of Oregon was en-
tered on September 21, 1992, following the
denial of a Petition for Reconsideration,
is reported at 313 Or. 414, °.|'P.2d__,,
and appears in the Appendix. Judgment and
Opinion was entered in the Court of Appeals
of the State of Oregon on January 17, 1990,
is reported at 100 Or.App. 166, 785 P.2d
776, and appears in the Appendi:. Juve oment
was entered in the Circuit Court of the

State of Oregon for Multnomah County on

July 5, 1988, and appears in the Appendix.

JURISDICTION
The Judgment and Opinion of the
Supreme Court of the State of Oregon was
entered on September 21, 1992, following

the denial on August 25, 1992 of Respon-

dent’s Petition for Reconsideration.

ea

3
This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a); Cox Broad-

casting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 477-

79, 481, 95 §&$.¢€t. 1029, 43 L.Bd.2d 328

(1973).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY ..
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Petitioner alleged a violation of 42
U.S.C. § 1983. Section 1983 provides:

Every person- who, under
color of any statute, ordinance,
regulation, custom, or usage, of
any State or Territory or the
District of Columbia, subjects,
Or causes to be subjected, any
citizen of the United States or
other person within the jurisdic-
tion thereof to the deprivation

of any rights, privileges, or
immunities secured by the Con-
stitution and laws, shall be

liable to the party injured in an
action at law, suit in equity, or
other proper proceeding for
redress. For the purposes of
this section, any Act cf Congress
applicable exclusively to the
District of Columbia shall _ be
considered to be a statute of the
District of Columbia.

4
Petitioner bases his 42 U.S.C. § 1983
claim upon the First Amendment and the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution. The First Amendment states:

Congress shall make no law re-
specting an establishment o1
religion, or prohibiting the free
exercise thereof; or abridging
the freedom of speech, or of the
press; or the right of the pecple
peaceably to assemble, and to
petition the Government for a
redress of grievances.

U.S. CONST. amend. I.
The Fourteenth Amendment states:

All persons born or naturalized
in the United States, and subject
to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and
of the State wherein they reside.
No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the
privileges Or immunities of
citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, Or
property, without due process of
law; mor deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

US. CONST. amend. XIV, § l.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

William Shockey (Petitioner) was
employed as a wastewater mechanic’. for
Respondent City of Portland (Respondent or
City) from December 31, 1981 until his
discharge on June 11, 1985. Respondents
John Lang (Lang) and Jack Irvin (Irvin)
were his supervisors. Petitioner has worn
a beard for 25 years, because he develops
an inflammatory skin rash when he _ shaves
and because he has a "weak chin".

During 1984, the City considered
instituting a policy requiring wastewater
mechanics and other employees who could be
exposed to chlorine gas to wear respira-
tors. In an effort to comply with adminis-
trative rules that prohibited the wearing
of respirators over facial hair, the City
intended to adopt a clean shaven policy for
all wastewater mechanics. Petitioner wrote
and circulated a petition within his agency

protesting the regulations and submitted

6
the petition, which was signed by 34 per-
sons, to City of Portland Commissioner Mike
Lindberg, a publicly-elected official.
Commissioner Lindberg instructed Irvin to
"rethink" the policy.
Petitioner’s petition states:

"We, the undersigned, find
the proposed rules demanding that
beards be shaved before a _ res-
pirator test can even be taken to
be arbitrary and discriminatory.
The wearing or not wearing of
beards was not a condition of
employment and any hazards that
exist now existed at that time.
Furthermore, if everyone on site
is to be available in a chlorine
emergency, the questions of fit,
maintenance and hygiene of the
respirators, the supplying of
respirators for those who wear
glasses, training of all_ em-
ployees in their use, hazard pay,
and the availability of respir-
ators for office staff, contrac-
tors’ employees and visitors must
be answered. The aforementioned
proposed rules do not take into
account the use of respirators by
the last three mentioned groups.
It would be far more practical to
have a volunteer crew, specially
trained and outfitted to deal
with chlorine in emergency and
non-emergency situations." (Em-
phasis in original) (emphasis
added).

a

7
Despite the petition, the City im-
plemented the policy on August 1, 1984.
Petitioner subsequently attempted to obtain
an exemption from the clean shaven policy.
He submitted medical evidence that he has a
psychological attachment to his beard and
that he develops a most uncomfortable and
distressing facial rash when he_ shaves.
Nevertheless, the City refused to grant an
exemption and subsequently discharged him.
Petitioner brought this action for
violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and state
Claims for wrongful discharge, intentional
interference with economic relations and
handicap discrimination. He alleged that

the City had violated his right of free

speech under the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Consti-
tution. Petitioner dismissed his handicap
discrimination claim before trial. After

Petitioner had rested his case the trial

court granted a directed verdict against

8

Petitioner on his wrongful discharge and §
1983 claims. Although the trial court
allowed the intentional interference claim
to go to the jury, it struck any reference
in the claim to Petitioner’s right of free
speech. The jury returned a verdict for
Petitioner but did not award any damages.

Petitioner appealed the granting of
the directed verdict. The Oregon Court of
Appeals reversed and remanded on the § 1983
claim and the wrongful discharge claim.
Respondents petitioned for review. The
Supreme Court of the State of Oregon unani-
mously affirmed the Court of Appeals on the
wrongful discharge claim, and in a majority
opinion (four to three) reversed the Court

of Appeals on the § 1983 claim.

9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
ia This Case Presents An Exceptionally

Important Question That Concerns The

Essence Of Constitutional Analysis

Under The First Amendment.

This case squarely presents the issue
of whether if the content of a public en-
ployee’s speech on its face addresses a
matter of public concern, the _ speaker’s
personal interest in making it can denude
that speech of First Amendment protection,
and, if so, under what circumstances.
Stated differently, the question presented
is whether motive is determinative in that
analysis. Currently, Circuit Courts of
Appeal are sharply split as to whether

content or motive is the paramount factor

in the analysis established in Connick v.

Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 147-48, 103 S.Ct.
1684, 1690, 75 L.Ed.2d 708 (1983) (whether
an employee’s speech addresses a matter of

public concern must be determined by the

content, form, and context of a given

10
Statement, as revealed by the whole rec-

ord).°* State courts of last resort are

Breuer v. Hart, 909 F.2d 1035, 1039 (7th
Cir. 1990) (content is the greatest single
factor in the Connick inquiry); Ber Vv.
Hunter, 854 F.2d 238, 242 (7th Cir. S85).
cert. den. 498 U.S. 1053, 109 S.Ct. 1314,
103 L.Ed.2d 583 (1989) (even if the state-
ment is an outgrowth of a personal dispute
some aspect of it may touch upon matters of
public concern); Havekost v. United States
Dept. of Navy, 925 F.2d 316, 318 (9th Cir.
1991) (motive is not a litmus test, content
greatest single factor); Rode v. Dellar-
ciprete, 845 F.2d 1195, 1201 (1988) (motive
not determinative, focus on content);
Berger v. Battaglia, 779 F.2d 992, 998 (4th
Cir. 1985), cert. den. 476 U.S. 1159, 106
S.Ct. 2278, 90 L.Ed.2d 720 (1986) (same);
Cf. Schalk v. Gallemore, 906 F.2d 491, 495
(10th Cir. 1990) (look to subjective intent
of the speaker); McEvoy v. Shoemaker, 882
F.2d 463, 466 (10th Cir. 1989) (focus on
the motive of the speaker); Dorsett v. Bd.
of Tr. for St. Colleges & Univ., 940 F.2d
121, 124 (5th Cir. 1991) (must assess
speaker’s primary motivation); Dodds v.
Childers, 933 F.2d 271, 273 (5th Cir. 1991)
(same); Pearson v. Macon-Bibb County Hosp.
Authority, 952 F.2d 1274, 1278-79 (11th
Cir. 1992) (context emphasized); Goffer v.

Marbury, 956 F.2d 1045, 1049-50 (lith Cir.
1992) (same).

11
also in direct conflict regarding the
application of the Connick analysis.’ Sup.
Ct. BR. 10.4(B). The issue of the proper
analysis under Connick is extremely im-
portant, because "speech concerning public
affairs is more than self-expression, it is
the essence of self-government." Garrison

v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 74-75, 85 S.Ct.

209, 13 L.Ed.2d 125 (1964). In this case,
the majority and dissent together represent
the two divergent and irreconcilable ap-
proaches to First Amendment analysis which

have developed in the wake of Connick. The

Kemp v. State Bd. of Agriculture, 803
P.2d 498, 503-04 (Colo. 1990), cert. den.
U.S. » 111 S.ct. 2798, 115 L.Ed.2ad
972 (1991) (personal motivation does not
preclude content touching on matter of
public concern); Cf. Roberts v. Joiner, 590
So.2d 195, 201-02 (Ala. 1991), cert. den.
U.S. _, 112 S.Ct. 2302, i L.Ed.2d

ats (1992) (focus on extent to which
speech calculated to disclose governmental
officials wrongdoing); Cf. Brinkley v. City
of Tacoma, 114 Wash.2d 373, 787 P.2d 1366,

1373 fn. 8 (1990) (Connick seems to say
even the "slightest tinge" of public con-
cern is sufficient).

12

existence of clear conflict among the
Circuit Courts of Appeal and state courts
of final resort on such a fundamental con-
stitutional issue, coupled with the extreme
importance of resolving that motive is not
determinative of such a right, dictate that
a Writ of Certiorari should issue.

a. The Majority Opinion Below Incorrectly

Interprets First Amendment Precedent
And Improperly Focuses On Petitioner’s

Motive.
a. Incorrect Interpretation Of
Connick.

The majority below erred in holding
that Petitioner’s speech did not address a

matter of public concern. Shockey v. City

of Portland, 313 Or. 414, 431, P.2d

(1992). The majority’s analysis relied
upon only two decisions, both from this

Court - Pickering v. Board of Education,

391 U.S. 563, 868 S.Ct. 1731, 20 L.Ed.2d 811

(1968) and Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138,

103 S.Ct. 1684, 75 L.Ed.2d 708 (1983). In

examining Connick the majority reasoned

13

that the context in which the questionnaire

was circulated was “the most’ important
factor to the Court." Shockey, 313 Or. at

429. Based upon this analysis the majority
found Petitioner only cared about his
beard, and even though the argument in his
petition "related to public policy” it did
not pass the Connick threshold test of
public concern. Shockey, 313 Or. at 330-
$l.

The majority’s analysis is fundamen-
tally flawed, because it is premised on the
belief that context is the determinative
factor in determining whether speech is a
matter of public concern. [In Connick, this
Court clearly stated the context to be a

personal grievance, i.e. one employee’s

dissatisfaction with a_ transfer e
Connick, 461 U.S. at 148. If context was

the determinative factor, all the questions

within the employee’s questionnaire would

14
not have touched a matter of public con-
cern. However, the Court found one ques-
tion, Question 11, to be a matter of public
concern because, notwithstanding its con-
text, personal grievance, and its form, a
questionnaire circulated only to. other
employees, its content or subject matter
established it to be so. Connick, 461 U.S.
at 148-49. For the majority below to be
correct, all of the questions in Connick
would have had to have been treated in the
Same manner. Shockey, 313 Or. at 445 fn.
14 (Unis, J., dissenting). The fact that
the Court in Connick did not treat all the
questions the same establishes that the
majority below erred when it found Peti-
tioner’s argument "related to public
policy" but, because context is the most
important factor, it did not touch a matter

of public concern. Shockey, 313 Or. at

429-31.

15

b. Improper Focus On Motive.

By elevating context to the status of
the controlling factor in the determination
of public concern, the majority below mis-
takenly transformed the motive of Petition-

er’s statement into its content. Rankin v.

McPherson, 483 U.S. 378, 397, 107 S.Ct.
2891, 97 L.Ed.2d 315 (1987) (Scalia, J.,
dissenting). An employee’s speech which
addresses matters of public concern is
protected even though the person’s sole
purpose is to protest a plan adverse to him

personally. Zamboni v. Stamler, 847 F.2d

73, 77-78 (3rd Cir.), cert. den. 488 U.S.

899, 109 S.Ct. 245, 102 L.Ed.2d 233 (1988).
The motive behind the speech is not rele-
vant to the threshold question, rather it
Should be considered in the second prong of

the Pickering balancing test. Johnson v.

Lincoln Univ. of Conn., 776 F.2d 443, 451

(3e@ Cir. 1965).

16

This focus on Petitioner’s motive led
to a further error. The majority below
treated the petition as a single statement,
and did not examine each statement within
the petition. Such a simplistic approach
ignored the detailed analysis used in
Connick. Connick, 461 U.S. at 147-51; see

Stever v. Independent School Dist. No. 625,

943 F.2d 845, 850-51 (8th Cir. 1991) (case
by case determination requires particular-
ized attention and evaluation of speech).
In Connick the Court examined and evaluated
each question, on the employee’s' single
questionnaire, separately. Connick, 461
0.8. 347-51. However, in this case, the
majority addressed the petition as a whole;
and, having decided that Petitioner "cared
about his beard, period" ruled all his

speech did not address matters of public

concern. Shockey, 313 Or. at 329-31.

17

By treating motive as determinative,
the majority in this case summarily dis-
missed the elements of the petition that
addressed the practicality and adequacy of
the proposed work safety rules. The peti-
tion specifically pointed out that’ the
rules did not take into account the use of
respirators by staff employees, contrac-
tors’ employees and visitors, any of whom
could be exposed to a poisonous chlorine
gas leak. The essence of all but the first
two sentences of the petition is that the
proposed city rule for dealing with a
lethal substance was inadequate to protect
large groups of employees and other members
of the general public. Such speech in-
volves public health and safety and there-
fore it relates to a matter of public

concern. See Caldwell v. City of Elwood,

Ind., 959 F.zZd 670, 672 (7th Cir. 1992)

(firefighter’s personal safety concerns re-

garding department’s use of ambulances are

18

“certainly a matter of public concern");

Shockey, 313 Or. at 442-45 (Unis, J.,

dissenting) (discussing numerous’ cases).

Thus, at least part of Petitioner’s speech

related to "a matter of political, social

or other concern to the community" and
therefore passed the threshold public

concern test. Connick, 461 U.S. at 146.

3. The Dissent Below And The Content-
Based Analysis Present The Correct
Interpretation Of Pickering And Its
Progeny.

"Content, not context as stated by the
majority [in Shockey], is the most impor-

tant factor in the inquiry whether the

public employee’s speech passes the
threshold public concern test." Shockey,
313 Or. 445-46 (Unis, J., dissenting). As

a starting point, even the majority’s

review of Pickering led it to conclude that

the decision was based on the "public’s in-

terest in the subject matter of Pickering’s

19

letter as a whole." Shockey, 313 Or. at
426 (emphasis added). In Connick while

distinguishing Givhan v. Western Line

Consolidated School District, 439 U.S. 410,

415-16, 99 S.Ct. 693, 696-97, 58 L.Ed.2d
619 (1979), this Court observed that the
employee’s protest of racially discrim-

inatory policies was "a matter inherently

of public concern" (emphasis’ supplied);
regardless of the choice of a private
forum. Connick, 461 U.S. at 148 fn. 8. If
the subject of a private protest can be
Said to "inherently" address a matter of
public concern, the aga of such a

protest must have been taken to be deter-

minative. Following Connick, in Rankin v.

McPherson, 483 U.S. 378, the analysis by

both the majority and dissent stressed the
paramount importance of content. Rankin,

483 U.8. at 386-87, 396-97; see also

McGowan and Tangri, A Libertarian Critique

of University Restrictions of Offensive

20
Speech, 79 Cal. L. Rev. 825, 855 (1991)
("Rankin demonstrates that the concept of
public speech has a very strong content
base ....)". Thus, the majority’s analysis
in Shockey is contrary to the major
holdings of this Court on the subject.

In Rankin though the majority and
dissent differed as to the meaning of an
employee’s ambiguous comment, both opinions
looked to the subject matter or content to
make the threshold determination. Rankin,
483 U.S. it 386-87, 396-97. Context was
used to determine the meaning of the
speech, not the speaker’s motive. The

dissent criticized the majority’s "trans-

formation of the motive for [the em-
ployee’s] statement into its content ... as
misguided ...." Rankin, 483 U.S. at 397
(Scalia, Jie dissenting) (emphasis in
Original). Although the rationale of the

Rankin majority may be explained because it

differed from the dissent as to the meaning

21
of the comment, the principle behind the
dissent’s criticism is sound - motive
should not be determinative of the thresh-
Old public concern test.

In this case, the majority actually
transformed the Petitioner’s motive for the
petition into the content of the petition,
by finding motive determinative. Rather
than using context to clarify any ambiguity
in the meaning of the petition, as the
Rankin majority did, the majority in
Shockey held that context itself was deter-
minative. The dissent in Shockey properly
rejected this approach believing this
Court’s precedent establishes that content
was the most important factor. The major-
ity’s error, if allowed to stand, would
deprive Petitioner of his constitutional
rights and have a chilling effect on the

speech of all public employees in Oregon

and elsewhere.

22
CONCLUSION

Content, rather than motive or con-
text, shouid be the most important factor
in determining whether a public employee’s
speech passes the threshold public concern
test. Motive should not be determinative
where the speech on its face addresses a
matter of public concern.

For this reason, Petitioner respect-
fully prays that a writ of certiorari issue
to review the Judgment and Opinion of the
Supreme Court of the State of Oregon.

Respectfully submitted,
Richard C. Busse
Scott N. Hunt
LAW OFFICES OF

RICHARD C. BUSSE
521 American Bank Building
621 SW Morrison Street

Portland, Oregon 97205
(503) 248-0504

APPENDIX

iio Se ee

ia

TABLE OF CONTENTS - APPENDIX

PAGE CONTENTS
la Decision and Opinion of the Supreme
Court of Oregon filed on July 9,
1992.
86a Order Denying Reconsideration in

the Supreme Court of Oregon dated
August 25, 1992.

88a Appellate Judgment in the Supreme
Court of Oregon entered on
September 21, 1992.

9la Decision and Opinion of the Court
of Appeals of the State of Oregon
entered on January 17, 1990.

102a Judgment in the Circuit Court of
the State of Oregon for the County
of Multnomah entered July 5, 1988.

la

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF OREGON

William H. SHOCKEY
Respondent on Review
Vi

CITY OF PORTLAND,
Jack C. Irvin and John Lang,
Petitioners on Review.

(CC A8611-06957; CA A49282; SC 36999)
In Banc
On review from the Court of Appeals*
Argued and submitted December 4, 1990.

Harry Auerbach, Deputy City Attorney, City
of Portland, argued the cause and filed the
petition for petitioners on review.

Richard C. Busse, Portland, argued the
cause for respondent on review. With him on
the response brief was Donald B. Potter,
Portland.

Robert D. Durham, of Bennett & Durhan,,
Portland, filed a brief on behalf of amici
curiae Oregon Trial Lawyers Association,
American Civil Liberties Union, Oregon
Education Association, AFSCME Council 75,
AFSCME Local 189, Portland Police Commanding
Officers Association, Portland Police Assoc-
iation, and Oregon Public Employees Union.

* Appeal from judgment of Multnomah
County Circuit Court, Robert L. Kirkman,
Judge pro tempore. 100 Or App 166, 785 P2d
776 (1990).

2a

GILLETTE, J.

The decision of the Court of Appeals is
reversed in part and affirmed in part. The
judgment of the circuit court is reversed as
to the wrongful discharge claim; otherwise
affirmed.

Unis, 7 or concurred in part and
dissented in part and filed an opinion in
which Van Hoomissen and Fadeley, JJ.,
joined.

GILLETTE, J.

This action for damages involves a city
employee’s claim that he was wrongfully
terminated in retaliation for circulating a
petition protesting a work safety policy.
The circuit court directed a verdict against
the employee. The Court of Appeals reversed
the judgment of the circuit court, holding

that firing petitioner for circulating the

petition would violate petitioner’s right to

3a

free speech under the federal

constitution.

Shockey v. City oF
Portland, 100 Or App 166, 785 P2d 776
(1990). We reverse in part and affirm in
part the decision of the Court of Appeals.

Plaintiff was a wastewater mechanic for
defendant City of Portland (city).
Defendants Lang and Irvin were his
supervisors. During 1984, the city
considered implementing a policy requiring
wastewater mechanics and other employees who
could be exposed to chlorine gas to wear
respirators. Pursuant to an administrative
rule, the policy also included a provision
that required bearded employees to shave any
facial hair that would be located under the
sealing surface of the respirator.

Plaintiff, who has worn a beard for

over 25 years, strongly opposed the policy.

lfhe First Amendment to the United
States Constitution, provides: "Congress
shall make no law *** abridging the freedom
of speech ***,"

4a

He circulated within his own city agency a

petition that stated:

the policy.

"We, the undersigned, find the
proposed rules demanding that
beards be shaved before a
respirator test can even be taken
to be arbitrary and
discriminatory. The wearing or
not wearing of beards was not a
condition of employment and any
hazards that exist now existed at

that time. Furthermore, if
everyone onsite is to _ be
available in a chlorine

emergency, the questions of fit,
maintenance and hygiene of the
respirators for those who wear
glasses, training of all
employees in their use, hazard
pay, and the availability of
respirators for office staff,
contractors’ employees and
visitors must be answered. The
aforementioned proposed rules do
not take into account the use of
respirators by the last three
mentioned groups.

"It would be far more practical
to have a volunteer crew
specially trained and outfitted

to deal with chlorine in
emergency and non-emergency
situations."

(Emphasis in original.)

In August 1984, the city implemented

Plaintiff refused to shave his

5a
beard and sought to be exempted from the
policy by providing an evaluation from a

social worker that he "is a normally

integrated man who has organically

integrated his beard into his identity."
Evidence also indicated that plaintiff would
develop “=~ most uncomfortable and
distressing facial inflammatory skin
eruption" if he shaved. The city refused to
make an exception for plaintiff. Plaintiff
did not shave off his beard. On June 10,
1985, the city discharged him.

Plaintiff sought review by the city’s
Civil Service Board. The board found that,
in violation of the ‘eity’s charter, the
"discharge decision was not made in good
faith for the purpose of improving public
service" and ordered that plaintiff be
reinstated with back pay.

Plaintiff then brought an action for

damages based on the common law tort of

nti

6a
wrongful discharge.” He also claimed

damages under 42 USC § 1983, on the ground

that his employment has been terminated
wrongfully because he had exercised his
constitutionally protected right of free
speech when he circulated his petition.
Plaintiff also brought a claim against Lang
and Irvin as individuals for intentional
interference with economic relations.?

The case was tried to a jury. After
plaintiff rested his case, the circuit court
granted defendants’ motion for directed
verdict on the wrongful discharge and § 1983
claims, finding that there was "no evidence
to indicate that [plaintiff] was terminated

as a result of the circulation of the

petition." The jury found in favor of

*The common law tort of wrongful
discharge was recognized by this court in
Nees v. Hocks, 272 Or 210, 536 P2d 512
(1975).

3Before trial, plaintiff voluntarily
dismissed a separate claim that is not
relevant to this appeal.

aa

7a

plaintiff on the remaining claim against
Lang and Irvin for intentional interference
with economic relations, but awarded no
damages.

Plaintiff appealed, contending that the
Circuit court erred in granting the directed
verdict. The Court of Appeals agreed with

plaintiff and reversed the circuit court’s

entry of the directed verdict on both the
wrongful discharge and § 1983 claims. The
Court of Appeals held that "there was
evidence of a causal link between
plaintiff’s petition and his termination"
and that the petition was constitutionally
protected by the free speech guarantee of
the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution. ?% Shockey v.

4The Court of Appeals also held that
the trial court erred in striking
plaintiff’s request for attorney fees under
42 USC § 1988 and in granting defendants’
motion for summary judgment on plaintiff’s
Claim for punitive damages under 42 usc §
1983. Shockey v. City of Portland, 100
Or App 166, 170, 785 P2d 776 (1990). The

8a
City of Portland, 100 Or App 166, 170, 785
P2d 776 (1990). Defendants then petitioned
this court for review, which we allowed.
310 Or 195, 795 P2d 554 (1990).

Defendants first contend that’ the
circuit court lacked subject matter
jurisdiction over plaintiff’s common law
wrongful discharge claim. Defendants reason
that plaintiff’s common law_- wrongful
discharge claim is, in essence, a complaint
alleging an unfair labor practice, "for
which the Public Employees Collective
Bargaining Act [PECBA], ORS 243.650 to
243.782, provides his exclusive remedy."
Defendants argue in the alternative that, to
the extent plaintiff’s claim is not

foreclosed by PECBA, "plaintiff’s exclusive

Court of Appeals affirmed the circuit court
in striking plaintiff’s request in his
intentional interference claim for attorney
fees incurred in reinstatement proceedings
before the Civil Service Board. Id. at 171.
Defendants do not challenge those holdings
before this court.

9a
judicial remedy for challenging defendants’
action is by writ of review, under ORS
34.010 to 34.100."

PECBA defines certain acts as unfair
labor practices. Under the Act, the
Employment Relations Board (ERB) is
responsible for investigating complaints
alleging unfair labor practices and, if
necessary, conducts a hearing before issuing
a final order. ORS 243.676.

ORS 243.672(1)(g) provides:

of ¢ 3 ey - is an unfair labor

practice for a public employer or

its designated representative to
do any of the following:

Nkkkkk

"(g) Violate the provisions of

any written contract with respect

to employment relations[.]"
The collective bargaining agreement between
the city and the union to which plaintiff
belonged stated that the city could not

discharge any employee "without just cause."

We understand defendants to argue that

10a

plaintiffs’ claim for common law wrongful
discharge constitutes an unfair labor
practice under ORS 243.672(1)(g), because
the discharge would be without just cause in
violation of the collective bargaining
agreement. We shall assume, for the
purposes of this opinion, that firing
plaintiff "without just cause" would be an
unfair labor practice that ERB’ could
investigate. ORS 243.672(1)(g) and (4); ORS
243.676.

Defendants’ argument requires us to
consider whether PECBA deprives the circuit
court of subject matter jurisdiction over
the wrongful discharge action.
ORS 243.676(1) charges ERB with
investigating an unfair labor. practice
complaint. ERB holds a hearing to determine
whether the person named in the complaint
has engaged in or is engaging in any unfair

labor practice. If so, ERB must state its

findings of fact, order the person to cease

lla

and desist from the unfair labor practice,
take "such affirmative action, including but
not limited to the’ reinstatement of
employees with or without back pay, as
necessary to effectuate the purposes of"
PECBA, and award representation costs and
attorney fees. ORS 243.676(2).

PECBA, while granting jurisdiction to
ERB to investigate and hear unfair labor
practice complaints, is silent as to whether
the Act was intended to foreclose common law
state remedies, such as claims for wrongful
discharge, and a review of the legislative
history does not provide the answer to this
issue.

This court has summarized its
methodology in determining whether the
legislature intended to foreclose a common-
law remedy when it created a statutory one

as follows:

"(Aj]n actionable common law tort
[remains actionable] *** unless
the provisions of [the allegedly

12a

conflicting legislation]
demonstrate the legislature’s
intent not only to provide what
it considered to be adequate
remedies to *** plaintiff, but by
implication show a _ legislative
intent to abrogate or supersede
any common law remedy for
damages. See Brown v. Transcon
Lines, 284 Or [597], 611[, 588
P2d 1087 (1978)]."

Holien v. Sears, Roebuck and Co., 298 Or 76,
90-91, 689 P2d 1292 (1984).

PECBA expressly states that its purpose
is to ensure that public employers and
public employees enter into negotiations and
collective bargaining agreements. For
instance, ORS 243.656(5) states that:

"It is the purpose of [PECBA] to
obligate public employers, public
employees and their
representatives to enter into
collective negotiations with
willingness to resolve grievances
and disputes relating to
employment relations and to enter
into written and signed contracts
evidencing agreements resulting
from such negotiations. It is
also the purpose of [PECBA]} to

promote the improvement of
emplioyer-employee relations
within the various public

employers by providing a uniform
basis for recognizing the right

13a

of public employees to join

organizations of their own

choice, and to be represented by

such organizations in their

employment relations with public

employers."
PECBA also declares that the "people of this
state have a fundamental interest in the
development of harmonious and cooperative
relationships between government and its
employees," ORS 243.656(1); that
"(rjecognition by public employers of the
right of public employees to organize and
full acceptance ke K [of ] collective
negotiation between public employers and
public employee organizations can alleviate
various forms of strife and unrest," ORS
243.656(2); that "(e)]xperience in private
and public employment has also proved that
protection by law of the right of employees
to organize and negotiate collectively
Safeguards employees and the public from

injury, impairment and interruptions of

necessary services, and removes’ certain

14a
recognized sources of strife and unrest,"
ORS 243.656(3); and that "(t]he state has a
basic obligation to protect the public by
attempting to assure the orderly and
uninterrupted operation and functions of
government," ORS 243.656(4).

The purpose and policy underlying PECBA
is that public employers and _ public
employees resolve their disputes through
resort to collective bargaining when there
is a collective bargaining agreement. That
approach is consistent with this state’s
policy that, ordinarily, an employee who is
subject to a collective bargaining agreement
first must utilize any collective bargaining
agreement procedures as the vehicle for
redress of disputes before resorting to a
court action. See, e.g., Gilstrap v.
Mitchell Bros. Truck Lines, 270 Or 599, 606,
529 P2d 370 (1974) cert den 421 US 1011

(1975) (so holding).

15a

We perceive no reason to say that
plaintiff’s claim for wrongful discharge
offends the purpose and policy of PECBA or
this court’s requirement that a complaining
party first pursue its contractual remedies
before seeking help from the court system.
The present action does not interfere with
PECBA’s purpose of requiring public
employers and employees to enter into
negotiations and_ collective bargaining
agreements, nor does it thwart the act’s
intent that disputes first be resolved
through resort to contract remedies -
plaintiff successfully exhausted his
contract remedies when he appeared before
the Civil Service Board. In this action,
plaintiff seeks damages that were not
available to him either before the Civil
Service Board or before ERB. In short, in
the terms of the standards identified in

Holien v. Sears, Roebuck and Co., supra,

there has been no demonstration of either

16a
the legislature’s intent to identify and
provide an adequate remedy for all the harm
suffered by plaintiff or of a legislative
intent to supersede this common law remedy.

The circuit court has_ subject matter

jurisdiction to hear plaintiff’s claim.°

Cf. Tracy v. Lane County, 305 Or 378, 752
P2d 300 (1988) (ERB’s jurisdiction under
PECBA not exclusive, but is primary where
the right of a party to seex relief in
circuit court depends on defendant’s having
committed an unfair labor practice.)
Defendants next contend that’ the
circuit court lacked subject matter
jurisdiction over plaintiff’s common law
wrongful discharge claim because, defendants
assert, plaintiff’s sole judicial remedy

under state law is a writ of review under

Sour decision today speaks only to
whether PECBA forecloses a particular form
of tort action. We do not decide whether
other types of claims likewise would be
available in spite of the fact that PECBA
was implicated.

17a

ORS 34.010 to 34.100. Defendants rely on
Koch v. City of Portland, 306 Or 444, 760
P2d 252 (1988), to support that assertion.
Defendant’s assertion is incorrect, and
their reliance on Koch is misplaced.

The sole issue before this court in
Koch v. City of Portland, supra, was whether
the decision of the Mayor of the City of
Portland, acting in his capacity as
Commissioner of Public Safety, to suspend a
Portland police officer, "was made ’in the
exercise of judicial or quasi-judicial
functions[.]’" Id. at 447. This court held
that the suspension decision was a quasi-
judicial act and, therefore, was reviewable
by writ of review. Id. at 448-49. This
court did not hold in Koch, or in any other
case that has been brought to our attention,
that, because writ of review is available to

review a termination decision, the affected

employee is precluded from bringing an

18a

action for damages based on the common law
tort of wrongful discharge.

As previously stated, plaintiff
appealed his termination to the City of
Portland Civil Service Board pursuant to
Portland City Charter Section 4-501. The
Civil Service Board found in plaintiff’s
favor, reinstated plaintiff with back pay
and restored seniority and benefits. In
Miller v. Schrunk, 232 Or 383, 388, 375 P2d
823 (1962), this court held:

"When any charter or statute sets

out a procedure whereby = an

administrative agency must review

its own prior determination, that

procedure must be followed.

Judicial review [by way of writ

of review] is only available

after the procedure for relief

within the administrative body

itself has been followed without

success." (Emphasis added.)
Plaintiff’s success before the Civil Service
Board made writ of review not. only
unnecessary, but unavailable. The circuit

court has subject matter jurisdiction over

plaintiff’s common law wrongful discharge

19a

Claim. We turn now to a consideration of
the evidence on the merits of plaintiff’s
claims.

Defendants argue that the trial court
did not err in directing verdicts as to
plaintiff’s wrongful discharge and 42 USC §
1983 claims, because there was no evidence
of a causal connection between plaintiff’s
circulation of the petition and his
discharge.

In determining whether the trial court
erred in entering a directed verdict for
defendants, we view the evidence in the
light most favorable to the non-moving
party - in this case, plaintiff - and extend
to that party the benefit of every
reasonable inference that may be drawn from
the evidence. Foster Vv. Schnell
Refrigeration Co., 280 Or 411, 414, 571 P2d
497 (1977).

The evidence would permit a trier of

fact to find that Irvin and Lang were

oe

20a

hostile toward plaintiff’s attempt to
receive an exemption from the challenged
policy. Other employees testified that
management retaliated against employees who
spoke out against management practices or on

safety issues by firing them. ®

Lang
admitted that plaintiff’s petition made him
angry and caused him some anxiety. Irvin
admitted that he did not help plaintiff find
other comparable city employment before
terminating him, although he had assisted
other employees who did not comply with the
facial hair policy. While plaintiff had no
proof to spare, the foregoing evidence, when
combined with the reasonable inferences that
can be drawn therefrom, was sufficient to

allow a trier of fact to conclude that

plaintiff was discharged for circulating his

Scontrary to defendants’ position taken
in their petition to this court, defendants
did not object to all of the testimony
supporting the foregoing summary, and the
evidence was not excluded by the trial
court.

—— Ce
21a
petition. The trial court’s ruling to the
contrary was error.
The foregoing sufficiency argument is

the last argument asserted by defendants

against the decision by the Court of Appeals

to reinstate plaintiff’s wrongful discharge

Having found no error with respect

claim.
to any of the claims that defendants make
here, we affirm the Court of Appeals’
decision to reinstate plaintiff’s wrongful
discharge claim. We turn next’ to
defendants’ contentions that deal
specifically with plaintiff’s claim under 42
USC § 1983.

After obtaining reinstatement through

the civil service process, plaintiff brought

Wwe do not intimate that the evidence
to which we have referred necessarily makes
out a case of wrongful discharge. But,
because the only challenge that defendants
make in this court is to the sufficiency of
the evidence of wrongful discharge, we have
not considered and do not address the other
elements of that tort or whether evidence of
the other elements was present in this case.

-

22a

the present action, claiming that firing him
because he wrote the aforementioned petition
violated his right to free speech under the
federal Constitution and that such a
violation was actionable under 42 USC §
1983. No one disputes the latter half of
his theory - if the circumstances of
plaintiff’s firing violated his free speech
rights under the First Amendment, the firing
is actionable. The fight here is over the
first half, viz., whether firing plaintiff
on account of the petition violated his
right to free speech.

Review of the relevant case law - case
law coming from the United States Supreme
Court, because the claim arises’ under
federal law - leads us to conclude that one
need consider only two pertinent cases to
see that plaintiff fails to meet’ the
criteria for obtaining the relief that he

seeks. Because those cases are dispositive,

we discuss them at some length.

a

23a

The first important case was Pickering
Vv. Board of Education, 391 US 563, 88 S Ct
1731, 20 L Ed 2d 811 (1968). Pickering, a
high school teacher, had written a letter to
a newspaper criticizing the local school
board and the district superintendent for
the way they had handled recent school
financing efforts. He was fired. After the
firing had been sustained in the state
courts, the United States Supreme Court
granted certiorari and reversed.

The Court first made it clear that
public employees do not forfeit free speech
rights by accepting public employment. Id.

at 568. The Court recognized that a public

employer has a right to expect loyalty on
the part of its employees, but that loyalty
could not be exacted at the expense of the
right of the public employees to voice their
views as to certain issues. Just which

issues would transcend the rights of the

employer to discipline its employees could

24a

not be described categorically, the Court
admitted. However, the Court said,

"in the course of evaluating the

conflicting claims of First

Amendment protection and the need

for orderly school administration

in the context of this case, we

shall indicate some of the

general lines along which an
analysis of the controlling
interests should run."

Id. at 569.

The Court began by noting that nothing
in Pickering’s letter implicated a close
working relationship between Pickering and
any of the persons whom he was criticizing.
"Thus," the Court said, "no question of
maintaining either discipline by immediate
superiors or harmony among coworkers is
presented here." Id. at 570. Therefore,
the Court held, a public’ employee’s
"comments on matters of public concern that
are substantially correct" could not furnish

grounds for dismissal, even if those

comments were critical in tone. Id.

25a

The Court then proceeded to examine the
false statements that it found in
Pickering’s letter. As to those, the Court
held, there was no proof of any harm to the
district or its interests caused by the
letter. (Indeed, the Court noted,
"Pickering’s letter was greeted by everyone
but its main target, the Board, with massive
apathy and total disbelief." Id.) "More
importantly," the Court noted,

"the question whether a_ school
system requires additional funds
is a matter of legitimate public
concern on which the judgment of
the school administration,
including the School Board,
cannot, in a society that leaves
such questions to popular vote,
be taken as conclusive. On such
a question, free and open debate
is vital to informed decision-
making by the electorate.
Teachers are, as a class, the
members of a community most
likely to have informed and
definite opinions as to how funds
allotted to the operation of the
schools should be spent.
Accordingly, it is essential that
they be able to speak out freely
on such questions without fear of
retaliatory dismissal.

26a

Ukkkke

"What we *** have before us is a
case in which a teacher has made
erroneous public statements upon
issues then currently the subject
of public attention, which are
critical of his ultimate employer
but which are neither shown nor
can be presumed to have in any
way either impeded the teacher’s
proper performance of his daily
duties in the classroom or to
have interfered with the regular
operation of the schools
generally. In these
circumstances we conclude that
the interest of the_- school
administration in limiting
teachers’ opportunities to
contribute to public debate is
not significantly greater than
its interest in limiting a
Similar contribution by any
member of the general public."

Id. at 571-73. (Footnote omitted.)

The Court’s constant references to
issues of "public importance" was no
accident. As it summarized its holding:

"In sum, we hold that, in a case
such as this, absent proof of
false statements knowingly or
recklessly made by hin, a
teacher’s exercise of his right
to speak on issues of public
importance may not furnish the
basis for his dismissal from
public employment."

27a

Id. at 574. (Footnote omitted.) It: is
Clear, both from text and context, that
Pickering was based on the public’s interest
in the subject matter of Pickering’s letter
as a whole. It was the lack of interest
that proved fatal in the other pertinent
decision of the Court.

In Connick v. Myers, 461 US 138, 103 S
Ct 1684, 75 L Ed 2d 708 (1983), the fired
public employee, Myers, was an assistant
district attorney. She objected to a
proposal to transfer her to another section
of the office and, when her protestations
did not help, she resorted to circulating a
14-item "questionnaire" to her’ fellow
employees that was not-so-subtly critical of
the district attorney and his principal
lieutenants. The district attorney
determined that the questionnaire was an act
of insubordination and fired her. She then

brought an action in federal court under 42

USC § 1983, claiming that her free speech

28a
rights had been violated. Both the district
court and the court of appeals sustained her
claim. On certiorari, the United States
Supreme Court reversed.

The district attorney maintained before
the Court that Myers’ questionnaire
concerned only internal office matters and,
as such, did not constitute speech of
"public concern," as that phrase had been
used in Pickering. As a general matter, the

Court was inclined to agree:

"Although we do not agree that
Myers’ communication in this case
was wholly without First
Amendment protection, there is
much force to [the district
attorney’s argument]. The
repeated emphasis in Pickering on
the right of a public employee
‘as a citizen, in commenting upon
matters of public concern,’ was
not accidental. This language,
reiterated in all of Pickering’s
progeny, reflects both the
historical evolvement of the
rights of public employees, and
the common-sense realization that
government offices could not
function if every employment
decision became a constitutional
matter."

|

29a

Id. at 143. (Footnote omitted.) The key to
Pickering, the Court explained, was the fact
that “"Pickering’s subject was ’a matter of
legitimate public concern’ upon which ‘free
and open debate is vital to informed
decision making by the eleoterats.** Id. at
145. (Citation omitted.) In fact,

Pickering, its antecedents, and
its progeny lead us to conclude
that if Myers’ questionnaire
cannot be fairly characterized as
constituting speech on a matter
of public concern, it is
unnecessary for us to scrutinize
the reasons for her discharge.
When employee expression cannot
be fairly considered as relating
to any matter of political,
social, or other concern to the
community, government officials
should enjoy wide latitude in
managing their offices, without
intrusive oversight by the
judiciary in the name of the
First Amendment."

Id. at 146. (Footnote omitted.)
The Court was not drawing a _ line
between employee speech wholly unrelated to

any matter of general public concern, on the

one hand, and speech that touches in some

30a
minor way on matters of public concern, on
the other. Even speech that alludes to
matters of public concern does not, by
virtue of that fact alone, bring the speaker
within the ambit of First Amendment
protections sufficient to support an action
under 42 USC § 1983. The Court explained:

"Whether an employee’s' speech
addresses a matter of public
concern must be determined by the
content, form, and context of a
given statement, as revealed by
the whole record. In this case,
with but one exception, the
questions posed by Myers to her
co-workers do not fall under the
rubric of matters of "public
concern." We view the questions
[in the questionnaire] pertaining
to the confidence and trust that
Myers’ co-workers possess’. in
various supervisors, the level of
office morale, and the need for a
grievance committee as mere
extensions of Myers’ dispute over
her transfer to another section
of the criminal court. *** [Wje
do not believe these questions
are of public import in
evaluating the performance of the
District Attorney as an elected
official. Myers did not seek to
inform the public that_~ the
District Attorney’s Office was
not discharging its governmental
responsibilities in the

31la

investigation and prosecution of
criminal cases. Nor did Myers
seek to bring to light actual or
potential wrongdoing or breach of
public trust on the part of [the
district attorney] and others.
Indeed, the questionnaire, if
released to the public, would
convey no information at all
other than the fact that a single
employee is upset with the status
quo. While discipline and morale
in the workplace are related to
an agency’s efficient performance
of its duties, the focus of
Myers’ questions is not’ to
evaluate the performance of the
office but rather to_ gather
ammunition for another round of
controversy with her superiors.
These questions reflect one
employee’s dissatisfaction with a
transfer and an attempt to turn
that dispute into a cause
celebre.

"To presume that all matters
which transpire within a
government office are of public
concern would mean that virtually
every remark - and_ certainly
every criticism directed at a
public official - would plant the
seed of a constitutional case.
While as a matter of good
judgment, pubic officials should
be receptive to- constructive
criticism offered by their
employees, the First Amendment
does not require a public office
to be run as a roundtable for
employee complaints over internal
office affairs."

32a
Id. at 147-48. (Emphasis supplied.)
Not all cases could be resolved by this

analysis, however. Some, including Connick,

would require a further step. The Court
explained:
"One question in Myers’
questionnaire, however, does

touch upon a matter of public
concern. Question 11 inquires if
assistant district attorneys
‘ever feel pressured to work in
political campaigns on behalf of
office supported candidates.’

kkk

"Because one of the questions in

Myers’ survey touched upon a

matter of public concern and

contributed to her discharge, we

must determine whether [the

district attorney] was justified

in discharging Myers. ***,"
Id. at 149. (Footnotes omitted.) In other
words, if, when read in context, part of
Myers’ questionnaire "touched on a matter of
public concern," it was necessary to proceed
to a second step in the analysis. That step
involved balancing’ the interests of

management and employee.

33a

The Court then examined the various
considerations that, under Pickering, should
play a role in such a balancing analysis.
A court in striking the balance was required
to give "full consideration" to’ the
government’s interest in effective and
efficient performance of its public
responsibilities. Id. at. 150. It was also
pertinent that Myers’ distribution of the
questionnaire interfered with the
necessarily close working’ relationship
required between a deputy prosecutor and her
superiors. Id. at 151-52. The time, place,
and manner in which the questionnaire was
circulated were also relevant. Id. at 152-
33s

It was clear, however, that the context
in which the questionnaire was circulated
was, even in the balancing phase of the
analysis, the most important factor to the

Court. The Court reviewed that

34a
consideration and then announced its
conclusions, as follows:

"Finally, the context in which
the dispute arose is also
Significant. This is not a case
where an employee, out of purely
academic interest, circulated a
questionnaire so as to obtain

useful research. Myers
acknowledges that it is- not
coincidence that the

questionnaire followed upon the
heels of the transfer notice.
When employee speech concerning
office policy arises from an
employment dispute concerning the
very application of that policy
to the speaker, additional weight
must be given to the supervisor’s
view that the employee _ has
threatened the authority of the
employer to run the office. ***

"Myers’ questionnaire touched
upon matters of public concern in
only a most limited sense; her
survey, in our view, is most
accurately characterized as an
employee grievance concerning
internal office policy. The
limited First Amendment interest
involved here does not require
that [the district attorney]
tolerate action which he
reasonably believed would disrupt
the office, - undermine his
authority, and destroy close
working relationships. Myers’
discharge therefore did not
offend the First Amendment. ***

errr eee

35a
"kke(T}]t would indeed be a
Pyrrhic victory for the great
principles of free expression if
the [First] Amendment’s
safeguarding of a public
employee’s right, as a citizen,
to participate in discussions
concerning public affairs were
‘ confused with the attempt to
constitutionalize the employee
grievance that we see presented
here."
Id. at 153-54. Thus, it will be seen that
"context" is a pertinent consideration in
both the first and second steps of the
Connick analysis.

It will be clear from the foregoing
that we do not disagree with the dissent as
to the appropriate analytical framework.
The difference between our view and that of
the dissent is simple: We do not find the
wording of plaintiff’s petition, in context,
to require us to proceed beyond the first
step in the Connick analysis. As to that

first step, the parallels between this case

and Connick are great and, where there are

ee

36a
differences, the differences do not favor
plaintiff. The similarities:

1. Both cases arose out of an
employee’s dissatisfaction with a management
decision that affected that particular
employee in a way that the employee
disliked.

2. Both employees attempted to enlist
the views of fellow workers in support of
their position.

a. The principal thrust of each
employee’s message concerned the employee’s
particular grievance.

4. There is no suggestion that either
employee raised any issue beyond the
employee’s immediate personal grievance
other than for the purpose of gathering
ammunition for the principal, personal fight
that the employee already was waging.

i Each employee confined the dispute

to the workplace and to pertinent

supervisory personnel.

37a
The differences:

i. Plaintiff here chose a more direct
form of challenge even than that employed in
Connick. The questionnaire there at least
purported to be intended for employees, not
for management. The petition here was a
direct challenge to management.

a. Unlike Myers’ attitude in the
Connick case, plaintiff’s attitude here made
him a less fit employee than others who
complied with the shaving policy, because
plaintiff could not assist in circumstances
requiring use of a respirator.

2 Perhaps most importantly, there
truly is no matter raised by plaintiff’s
petition that is of "public concern," at
least in the Pickering and Connick sense of
that term. Plaintiff here was not
challenging any act of his supervisors as
illegal. He was not speaking to any matter
that either had been or would be put to a

public vote. And he was not protesting,

ee

38a
even indirectly, office policy that was
requiring other employees to give up or
compromise one or another of their rights as
citizens. In other words, this employee

cared about his beard, period. To elevate

that concern to a constitutional case merely

because the employee mustered an argument
related to public policy in pursuit of his
personal goal would so trivialize the
"public concern" requirement of Pickering,
Connick, and other cases, as to read the
requirement virtually out of existence.

Although its stated ground for its
decision was incorrect, the circuit court
did not err in dismissing plaintiff’s claim
under 42 USC § 1983. The Court of Appeals
decision to the contrary was error.

The decision of the Court of Appeals is
reversed in part and affirmed in part. The
judgment of the circuit court is reversed as
to the wrongful discharge claim; otherwise

affirmed.

= = |

39a

UNIS, Jey concurring in part,
dissenting in part.

The majority misreads well-established
First Amendment? precedent used to
determine the free speech of public
employees. In so doing, the majority
misconstrues the class of speech on which
public employees may speak out without fear
of retaliation. The majority’s opinion has
the potential to discourage disclosures of
the sort of information that the public
employee is particularly, and often
uniquely, able to provide. Thus, the
majority’s opinion may deprive the public of
valuable information with which to evaluate
the performance of elected officials.

Plaintiff, a wastewater mechanic for
the city of Portland (city), was discharged

-

after he circulated a petition within his

Ifhe First Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides:

"Congress shall make no law ***
abridging the freedom of speech ***,"

40a
agency protesting a work safety policy.”
The city’s Civil Service Board found that,

in violation of the city’s charter, the

*Plaintiff’s petition stated:

"We the undersigned, find the
proposed rules demanding that
beards be shaved before a
respirator test can even be taken
to be arbitrary and
discriminatory. The wearing or
not wearing of beards was not a
condition of employment and any
hazards that exist now existed at

that time. Furthermore, if
everyone on site is to _ be
available in a chlorine

emergency, the questions of fit,
maintenance and hygiene of the
respirators, the supplying of
respirators for those who wear
glasses, training of all
employees in their use, hazard
pay, and the availability of
respirators for office staff,
contractors’ employees and
visitors must be answered. The
aforementioned proposed rules do
not take into account the use of
respirators by the last three
mentioned groups.

"It would be far more practical
to have a volunteer crew,
specially trained and outfitted

to ~ deal with chlorine in
emergency and non-emergency
situations." (Emphasis in

original.)

4la
"discharge decision was not made in good
faith for the purpose of improving public
service," and ordered that plaintiff be
reinstated with back pay. The majority
concludes that the dismissal of plaintiff’s
43 USC § 1983 claim? did not violate
plaintiff’s free speech rights under the
First Amendment, because the petition did
not address a matter that, in the majority’s

view, is of public concern.?4

342 USC § 1983. The section provides:

"Every person who, under color of
any statute, ordinance,
regulations, custom, or usage, of
any State or Territory or the
District of Columbia, subjects,
or causes to be subjected, any
citizen of the United States or
other person within the
jurisdiction thereof to the
deprivation of any rights,
privileges, or immunities secured
by the Constitution and laws,
shall be liable to the party
injured in an action at law, suit
in equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress. ***"

4Remarkably, the majority recognizes

that plaintiff’s petition relates to public
policy. 313 Or at 431. Nonetheless, the

a

42a
It is beyond dispute that speech by a
public employee which discloses information
on matters of public health and safety is of

> Because all but the first

public concern.
two sentences of plaintiff’s petition
address matters of public health and safety
and because there is no evidence in the
record that the circulation of the petition
adversely affected the operations of the
city, interfered with plaintiff’s working
relationship with his fellow employees, or
impaired workplace discip'tine, I dissent
from the majority’s holding that denies
plaintiff the right to proceed under § 1983.
I concur, however, in the majority’s
decision concerning plaintiff’s common law

claim for wrongful discharge.

majority holds that plaintiff’s petition
does not touch upon a matter of public
- concern.

>See discussion, infra.

| |

43a

Plaintiff’s action under § 1983 is
based on his claim that his employment had
been terminated wrongfully in retaliation
for exercising his right to free speech
under the First Amendment. At his jury
trial, after plaintiff rested his case, the
trial court directed a verdict on the § 1983
claim, finding that there was insufficient
evidence of causation, i.e., that there was
"no evidence to indicate that [plaintiff]
was terminated as ae result of the
circulation of the petition." The Court of
Appeals reversed, holding that there was
sufficient evidence of causation, that
plaintiff’s speech was a matter of public
concern, and that plaintiff’s petition was
protected speech under the First Amendment.
Shockey v. City of Portland, 100 Or App 166,
785 P2d 776 (1950). Defendants’7 then
petitioned this court for review, which we

allowed. 310 Or 195, 795 P2d 554 (1990).

The issue presented to this court as to

44a
plaintiff’s § 1983 claim is whether it was
proper for the trial court to direct a
verdict for defendants at the conclusion o1
plaintiff’s case in chief.
I. 42 USC § 1983 CLAIM

A. Jurisdiction

Section 1983 of the Civil Rights Act,
a successor of the Civil Rights Act of
1871,° was enacted in response to a
perceived unwillingness by states to protect
their citizens’ rights. Monroe v. Pape, 365
we i167, 160, 31..83 Ce 473,..3 & 8a 2a) 492
(1961), overruled on other grounds, Monell
v. Department of Social Services of New
York, 436 US 658, 98 S Ct 2018, 56 L Ed 2d
611 (1978). "The purpose of § 1983 is to
deter state actors from using the badge of
their authority to deprive individuals of
their federally guaranteed rights and to

provide relief to victims if such deterrence

act of Apr. 20, 1871, ch 22, § 1, 17
Stat 13 (codified at 42 USC § 1983 (1982)).

intinsdliecpeernainemeieneneiamaend

45a
fails." Wyatt v. Cole, US , P
S Ct ’ L Ed 2d , 60 USLW

4383, 4384 (May 18, 1992) (citing Carey v.
Piphus, 435 US 247, 254-55, 98 S Ct 1042, 55
L Ed 2d 252 (1978)). Thus, § 1983 provides
direct access to a judicial forum to all
individuals who claim that > their
constitutional or other federal rights have
been violated by persons acting under color
of state law. Collins v. City of Harker
Heights, Texas, ___—~-US____, 112 S Ct 1061,
1066, 117 L Ed 2d 261 (1992); Burnett v.
Grattan, 468 US 42, 50, 104 S Ct 2924, 82 L
Ed 2d 36 (1984). "State courts have
concurrent subject matter jurisdiction with
federal courts over § 1983 actions."
Nutbrown v. Munn, 311 Or 328, 337, 811 P2d
131 (1991) (citing Maine v. Thiboutot, 448
US 1, 100 S Ct 2502, 65 L Ed 2d 555 (1980).
B. Background

As relevant to this case, § 1983

provides a remedy to a public employee who

a

46a

is discharged for exercising his or her free
speech rights guaranteed by the First
Amendment. Rankin v. McPherson, 483 US 378,
383, 107 S Ct 2891, 97 L Ed 2d 315 (1987)
(citing Perry v. Sindermann, 408 US 593,
597, 92 S Ct 2694, 33 L Ed 2d 570 (1972)).
The question then is whether a public
employee’s speech (here, plaintiff’s
petition) is protected by the First
Amendment.

To determine whether a public
employee’s speech is protected by the First
Amendment, we must consider a series of
decisions by the Supreme Court of the United
States which collectively suggest a method
of analysis. I will discuss the relevant
law in those decisions and the suggested
methodology. I then will apply that
methodology to this case.

In Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385
US 589, 605-06, 87 S Ct 675, 17 L Ed 2d 629

(1967), the Supreme Court held that a public

47a

employer may not condition public employment
on the relingquishment of First Amendment
rights. In Pickering v. Board of Education,
391 US 563, 88 S Ct 1731, 20 L Ed 2d 811
(1968), the Court qualified that holding by
stating that, although a public employee
does not surrender First Amendment rights to
comment on matters of public interest by
virtue of government employment, "the State
has interests as an employer in regulating
the speech of its employees that differ
Significantly from those it possesses in
connection with regulation of the speech of
the citizenry in general." Id. at 568.

In Pickering, the Court imposed two
important limitations on a public employee’s
free speech rights guaranteed by the First
Amendment. First, the Court suggested that
false statements knowingly or recklessly
made would not be protected. Id. at 574 and
n 6. There is no contention asserted in

this case that this limitation applies to

48a

plaintiff’s statements in this’ case.
Second, the Court articulated a balancing
test to determine whether the speech rights
asserted by public employees are protected
by the First Amendment. "The problem in any
case[,]" said the Court, "is to arrive ata
balance between the interests of the [public
employee], as a citizen, in commenting upon
matters of public concern and the interest
of the State, as an employer, in promoting
the efficiency of the public services it
performs through its employees." Id. at
568.

In Connick v. Myers, 461 US 138, 103 S
Ct 1684, 75 L Ed 2d 708 (1983), the Court
fine-tuned its holding in Pickering. In
Connick, the public concern test made its
debut in the area of public employee speech.
There, the Court held that First Amendment

protection afforded to a public employee

under Pickering extends only to speech

addressed to matters of "public concern" and

——————— ee

49a
that unless the employee’s speech involves
a “matter of public concern," "it is
unnecessary for [courts] to scrutinize the
reasons for *** discharge." Id. at 146.
Stated slightly differently, only when the
public employee engages in speech addressed
to matters of "public concern" is the First

Amendment implicated.’ "(Wjhen a public

7See Mt. Healthy City School District
Board of Education v. Doyle, 429 US 274,
283-84, 97 S Ct 568, 50 L Ed 2d 471 (1977)
(although untenured teacher can be dismissed
for "no reason whatever," he cannot be fired
for exercise of First Amendment rights).

"’Whatever differences may exist
about interpretations of the
First Amendment, there is
practically universal agreement
that a major purpose of that
amendment was to protect the free
discussion of governmental
affairs.’ Mills v. Alabama, 384
US [214, 218, 86 S Ct 1434, 16 L
Ed 2d 484 (1966)]}. ‘For speech
concerning public affairs is more
than self-expression; it is the
essence of self-government. ’
Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 US 64,
74-75[, 85 S Ct 209, 13 L Ed 2d
125,] (1964)."

Burson v. Freeman, US . » aa8
S Ct 1846, 1850, 119 L Ed 2d 5 (1992).

50a

employee speaks not as a citizen upon

matters of public concern, but instead as an

employee upon matters only of personal
interest," the First Amendment does not

protect that employee from termination. Id.

at 147.

Cc. Analytical Framework to Determine
Whether Public Employee Speech is
Constitutionally Protected
The Senrine Court has framed a two-

prong test to determine whether a public

employee’s speech is protected by the First

Amendment. First, the employee’s speech

must involve a matter of public concern.

Second, the employee’s First Amendment

rights in commenting on a matter of public

concern must not be outweighed by the public
employer’s interest in providing public
services efficiently. Each of these
requirements must be satisfied before the
employee’s speech is protected by the First

Amendment.

5la

i. Threshold Public Concern Test

An employee’s expression may be fairly
characterized as constituting expression on
a matter oof public’ concern when it
"relat[es] to any matter of political,
social, or other concern to the community,"
id. at 146, as “determined by the content,
form, and context of [that expression] as
revealed by the whole record." Id. at 147-
48. In answering the question whether the
employee’s speech involves a matter of
public concern, the court must examine for
itself the statements in issue and the
circumstances under which they are made to
see whether they are of a character that the
First Amendment protects. Rankin v.
McPherson, supra, 483 US at 386; Connick v.
Myers, supra, 461 US at 150 n 10. "The
inappropriate or controversial character" of
the expression is irrelevant to the inquiry.
‘Rankin v. McPherson, supra, 483 US at 387.

Whether speech concerns a matter of "public

52a

concern" is a question of law, not fact, for.
the Court. Connick v. Myers, supra, 461 US
at 148 n 7.

2. Pickering Balancing Test

Even if the public employee’s speech
involves a matter of public concern and,
therefore, passes the threshold public
concern test introduced in Connick and,
accordingly, the First huewdnant is
implicated, a retaliatory discharge
nevertheless may not offend the First
Amendment. As previously stated, the
determination of whether a public employer
has properly discharged an employee for
engaging in speech of public’ concern
requires an application of the Pickering
balancing test, i.e., a balance between the
interests of the employee as a citizen, in
commenting on matters of public concern, and.
the interest of the governmental body as an
employer, in providing public’ services

efficiently. Connick v. Myers, supra, 461

53a
US at 146; Pickering v. Board of Education,
supra, 391 US at 568. Relevant to the
balancing analysis is the manner, time, and
place in which the expression is made.
Connick v. Myers, supra, 461 US at 152.
Impairment of workplace discipline and
creation of disharmony with coworkers are
factors to be weighed in the balance.
Rankin v. McPherson, supra, 483 US at 388;
Connick v. Myers, supra, 461 US at 152-53;
Pickering v. Board of Education, supra, 391
US at 570-73. In applying the Pickering
balancing test, a wide degree of deference
will be given to the employer’s assessment
of such disruption, at least in situations
where "close working relationships are
essential to fulfilling public

n8

responsibilities. Connick v. Myers,

- 8For public employee speech that
touches on matters of public concern in only
a most limited sense, the public employer’s
disciplinary action will be upheld when the
employer "reasonably believe{s that the
speech] would disrupt the office, undermine

54a
Supra, 461 US at 151-52. If the public
employer’s interest in efficiency outweighs
the employee’s right to freedom of
expression, the employee’s expression is not
protected by the First Amendment.’ If the
public employer’s interest in efficiency
outweighs the employee’s right to freedom of
expression, the expression is’ protected.
Rankin v. McPherson, supra, 483 US at 392.
Whether the employee’s speech enjoys the

protected status is a question of law for

his authority, and destroy close working
relationships." Connick v. Myers, 461 US
138, 154, 103 S Ct 1684, 75 L Ed 2d 708
(1983). While the test is cast in objective
terms, its reasoning entails a large amount
of subjectivity, as the public employer may
take action based on his view of a potential
for disruption. Id.

%Justice Scalia, joined by three other
justices in Rankin v. McPherson, 483 US 378,
399, 107 S Ct 2891, 97 L Ed 2d 315 (1987)
(Scalia, J., dissenting) couched the issue
as whether the employer’s interest in
preventing the expression of such statements
outweighed the public employee’s First
Amendment interest in making the statement.

55a

the court. Connick v. Myers, supra, 461 US
at 148 n 7.
D. Causation

If the public employee’s speech is
constitutionally protected, the public
employee has the burden to show causation,
i.e., that his or her speech was a
"substantial" or "motivating" factor in the
discharge decision, Mt. Healthy City School
District Board of Education v. Doyle, 429 US
274, 287, 97 S Ct 568, 50 L Ed 2d 471
(1977), i.e., that one of the reasons for
the discharge decision was the employee’s
protected speech. See Price Waterhouse v.
Hopkins, 490 US 228, 250, 109 S Ct 1775, 104
L Ed 2d 268 (1989) (same standard in suit
under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964). If the public employee carries that
burden, the burden shifts to the public
employer to show by a preponderance of the

evidence that it had other adequate grounds

for dismissal, Mt. Healthy City School

56a
District Board of Education v. Doyle, supra,
429 US at 287, i.e., that the same adverse
decision as to the public’ employee’s
employment would have been reached even in
the absence of the _ protected speeci:. 1°
See Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, supra, 490
US at 244-45 (opinion of Brennan, Marshall,
Blackmun, and Stevens, JJ.) (same standard
in suit under Titie VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964); id. at 259 (White, J.,
concurring in the judgment); id. at 276-77
(O’Connor, J., concurring in the judgment).

Whether the protected speech was a

10The public employer "must show that
it would have terminated him, not that it
could have." Gillette v. Delmore, 886 F2d
1194, 1198 (9th Cir 1989) (emphasis in
original).

"‘Tj]he employer’s burden is most
appropriately deemed an affirmative defense:
the plaintiff must persuade the factfinder
on one point, and then the employer, if it
wishes to prevail, must persuade it on
another." Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, 490
US 228, 246, 109 S Ct 1775, 104 L Ed 2d 268
(1989) (discussion of burden of proof in
suit under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964).

57a

substantial or motivating factor in the
decision to terminate employment is a
question of fact. Stever v. Independent
School Dist. No. 625, 943 F2d 845, 851 (8th
Cir 1991).?} If the public employer
"fails to purge its [discharge] decision of
the ‘taint’ of unconstitutional motivation,
that decision cannot’ stand." Tribe,
American Constitutional Law 816 (2d ed 1988)
(citing Mt. Healthy City School District
Board of Education v. Doyle, supra).

E. Discussion of Key Supreme Court

Decisions

llphe sufficiency of the evidence to
create an issue of fact for the jury is, of
course, solely a question of law. Stever v.
Independent School Dist. No. 625, 943 F2d,
845, 851 (8th Cir 1991). In reviewing a
trial court’s ruling on a motion for
directed verdict on insufficiency of proof,
an appellate court must view the evidence
and all reasonable inferences to be drawn
therefrom in the light most favorable to the
non-moving party. Foster v. Schnell
Refrigeration Co., 280 Or 411, 414, 571 P2d
497 (1977).

58a

The Supreme cCourt’s discussions in
Pickering v. Board of Education, supra,
Connick v. Myers, supra, and Rankin v.
McPherson, supra, provide a - useful
background for evaluating plaintiff’s claim.
In Pickering v. Board of Education, supra,
a public high school teacher was dismissed
for writing a letter to a local newspaper,
criticizing the way in which the Board of
Education had handled bond issue proposals
and its subsequent allocation of financial
resources between the school’s educational
and athletic programs. The teacher’s letter
also openly criticized the superintendent of
schools for attempting to prevent teachers
in the district from opposing or criticizing
the proposed bond issue. 391 US at 566.
The Court held that the dismissal of the
school teacher was an impermissible
infringement on the teacher’s' protected
speech, rejecting the notion "that teachers

may constitutionally be compelled to

59a
relinquish the First Amendment rights they
would otherwise enjoy as citizens to comment
on matters of public interest." 391 US at
568. The Court framed the proper inquiry as
“arriv[ing] at a balance between the
interests of the teacher, as a citizen, in
commenting on matters of public concern and
the interest of the State, as an employer,
in promoting the efficiency of the public
services it performs through its employees."
391 US at 568. The statements in the
letter, the Court said, addressed "issues
then currently the subject of public
attention, which are critical of [the
teacher’s] ultimate employer but which are
neither shown nor can be presumed to have in
any way either impeded the teacher’s proper
performance of his daily duties in the
classroom or to have interfered with the
regular operation of the schools generally."
391 US at 572-73 (footnote omitted). The

Court held that, "absent proof of false

60a

statements knowingly or recklessly made by
him, a teacher’s exercise of his right to
speak on issues of public importance may not

.
furnish the basis for his dismissal from
public employment." 391 US at 574 (footnote
omitted). Because no such showing had been
made regarding the teacher’s letter, the
Pickering court held that the teacher’s
dismissal was impermissible under the First
Amendment. Id. at 574-75.

In Connick v. Myers, supra, Myers, an
assistant district attorney in New Orleans,
was informed by Connick, the district
attorney, that she would be transferred to
prosecute cases in a different section of
the criminal court. Myers objected to the
transfer and, in this context, circulated a
questionnaire to other employees. 461 US at
140-41. The questionnaire consisted of
fourteen entries and is reprinted in the

appendix to the opinion, id. at 155-56.

Questions 1 through 5 asked employees to

6la

describe their work experience with office
transfers. Questions 6 through 9 asked
employees about the existence of a rumor
mill and its effect on office morale.
Question 10 asked for an assessment of their
confidence in certain named supervisors.
Question 11 asked whether employees felt
pressure to work in political campaigns
supported by the district attorney.
Questions 12 through 14 asked whether a
grievance committee was needed, whether
morale in the office was good, and whether
any other issues of concern to the employees
needed to be addressed. Id. Connick
accused Myers’) of "Creating a ‘mini-
insurrection, ’" considered the questionnaire
an act of insubordination, and discharged
Myers. Myers filed suit under 42 USC §
1983, | contending that her employment was
wrongfuily terminated because she exercised
her First Amendment right of free speech.

Id. at 141. The Supreme Court disagreed.

62a

The Court held that only one entry, Question
11 - asking whether fellcw staff members
felt pressured to work on- political
campaigns on behalf of of fice-supported
candidates - touched on a matter of public
concern. Id. at 149. The other questions
were "mere extensions of Myers’ dispute over
her transfer." Id. at 148. These questions
did not concern the office’s performance of
its prosecutorial functions, nor did they
allege any fraud or wrongdoing. According
to the Court:

"While discipline and morale in

the workplace are related to an

agency’s efficient performance of

its duties, the focus of Myers’

questions is not to evaluate the

performance of the office but

rather to gather ammunition for

another round of controversy with

her superiors. These questions

reflect one employee’s

dissatisfaction with a transfer

and an attempt to turn that

displeasure into a cause
celebre."

63a

Id. at 148. “fAs such, these questions did]
not fall under the rubric of matters of
‘public concern.’" Id.

With respect to Question 11, the only
entry that did relate to a matter of public
concern - the question concerning whether
staff members felt pressured to work on
political campaigns - the Court applied the
Pickering balancing test and struck the
balance for the public employer. Id. at
149. That is, the isolated statement
(Question 11) was afforded protection to the
point of requiring the Pickering balancing
even though the statement was only one of 14
entries and could arguably be called a
pretext for and motivated by the basically
personal grievance. According to the Court,
despite the "limited First Amendment
interest involved," Myers’ supervisor was
justified in discharging Myers based on
speech that he "reasonably believed would

disrupt the office, undermine his authority,

64a
and destroy close working relationships[,]"
id. at 154, even absent any evidence of
actual disruption. Myers’ discharge did
not, therefore, offend the First Amendment.
Id.

In Rankin v. McPherson, supra, the
firing of a data entry employee (deputy
county constable) for privately remarking to
a co-worker (who happened to be her
boyfriend), after hearing of an
assassination attempt on President Reagan,
"if they go for him again, I hope they get
him," 483 US at 381, was held to violate the
employee’s right of free speech under the
First Amendment to the federal constitution.
The Court held that the data-entry
employee’s remark, taken in context,
constituted a matter of public concern,
Since it was made in the course of a
conversation concerning the policies of the
President’s administration and came on the

heels of a news bulletin regarding a matter

65a

of heightened public attention, and was
protected by the First Amendment. /4 Id.
at 386. The Court stated that the constable
did not demonstrate that the state interest
justified firing the data entry employee:
she had purely clerical duties and no law
enforcement duties; the statement was made
privately in a room not readily accessible
to the public; and there was no evidence
that the employee’s statement had
discredited her office or interfered with
its efficient functioning. Id. at 388-89,
392.
F. Application of Analytical Framework to

This Case

i. Threshold Public Concern Inquiry

Turning to the first requirement of the
two-prong test to determine whether a public

employee’s speech is protected by the First

12th contrast, an actual threat to kill
the President would not be protected, the
Court said. Rankin v. McPherson, supra, 483
US at 386-87.

66a

Amendment, I agree with the Court of Appeals
that plaintiff’s petition does involve a
matter of public concern. As previously
stated, speech that can fairly be considered
as relating to any matter of political,
social, or other concern to the community is
constitutionally protected, Connick Vv.
Myers, supra, 461 US at 146, as determined
by the content, form and context of that
expression as revealed by the whole record.
Id. at 147-48.

a. Cantent

Except for the first two sentences of
plaintiff’s petition, the content’ of
plaintiff’s petition addresses issues
involving public health and safety.
Omitting the first two sentences,
plaintiff’s petition reads:

"'I]f everyone on site is to be

available in a chlorine

emergency, the questions of fit,

maintenance and hygiene of the

respirators, the supplying of

respirators for those who wear
glasses, training of all

67a

employees in their use, hazard
pay, and the availability of
respirators for office staff,
contractors’ employees and
visitors must be answered. The
aforementioned proposed rules do
not take into account the use of
respirators by the last three
mentioned groups.

"It would be far more practical
to have a volunteer crew,
specially trained and outfitted

to deal with chlorine in
emergency and non-emergency
situations."

How the majority concludes that this
language does not involve a matter of public
concern}? bewilders me.

The thrust of all but the first two
sentences of plaintiff’s petition addresses
the practicability and adequacy of the
proposed governmental work safety rules and
regulations in protecting employees and
other members of the public who could be
exposed to a chlorine’ gas_ leak. In
particular, the petition states that the

proposed rules did not address that "fit,

13313 Or at 429-31

68a
maintenance and hygiene of the respirators,"
"training of all employees in their use,"
and whether “office staff, contractors’
employees and visitors" would be required to
wear respirators. The petition suggested an
alternate solution for dealing with chlorine
gas, a lethal substance, in emergency and
non-emergency situations. The content of
the speech in plaintiff’s petition,
therefore, went beyond plaintiff’s personal
employment concern (his desire to retain his
beard), and expressed concern about health
and safety in the work place and
particularly about the protection afforded
to employees and other members of the public
from a chlorine gas _ leak. Plaintiff’s
petition, in essence, states that the
proposed city rule for dealing with a lethal
substance on city property was inadequate to
protect large groups of employees and other

members of the general public.

a

69a

Speech by a public employee about
public health and safety is clearly speech
on a matter of public concern. In Caldwell
v. City of Elwood, Ind., 959 F2d 670, 672
(7th Cir 1992), a firefighter’s statements
to the mayor at the mayor’s home discussing
his (firefighter’s) safety and employer’s
concerns regarding the fire department’s use
of ambulances are, the court said,
"Certainly a matter of public concern." In
Burgess v. Pierce County, 918 F2d 104, 105-
06 (9th Cir 1990), a county fire marshall’s
statements to county officials and members
of the public that passage and enforcement
of county ordinances would conflict with
state fire flow and county ordinances,
threaten life and property, and expose the
county to potential tort liability were held
to be a matter of public concern. In
Considine v. Board of County Com’rs, 910 F2d
695, 700 (10th Cir 1990), a county

employee’s statements that alleged numerous

70a
statutory and regulatory public health and
safety violations were occurring on projects
that were sponsored by the county and under
the direction of the county’s’ elected
officials and administrative staff were held
to involve a matter of public concern and
were entitled to First Amendment protection.
In Mofin v. Albuquerque Public Schools, 906
F2d 1434, 1437-38 (10th Cir 1990), a public
school teacher’s criticism of a superior’s
disciplinary philosophy was recognized as
speech on a matter of public concern because
"'gjenerally, speech by a public’ school
employee about a policy or practice which
can substantially and detrimentally affect
the welfare of the children attending the
school constitutes speech on a matter of
public concern." In Finch v. City of
Vernon, 877 F2da 1497, 1502 (11th Cir 1989),
the court held that a police chief’s

"“(wjarning [to the city council] that

closing a public road would create a safety

hazard is speech on a matter of public

71a

concern." In Price v. Brittain, 874 F2d
252, 258 (5th Cir 1989), a state mental
health facility social worker’s statements
to patients regarding their right to outside
legal counsel and to prosecute civil actions
against officials within the facility who
were mistreating them were held to be a
matter of public concern. In Franzier v.
King, 873 F2d 820, 825-26 (5th Cir 1989), a
nurse’s report to superiors of violations of
nursing practices in the prison infirmary
which endangered the prisoners was held to
be a matter of public concern. In Gillette

v. Delmore, 886 F2d 1194, 1197-98 (9th Cir

1989), a firefighter’s comments to his
supervisor and other city workers
criticizing the behavior of other

firefighters and police officers in their
handling of a drug overdose case were held
to be speech about a matter of public

concern. In Teeters v. Scott, 733 F Supp

72a
1279, 1281-83 (ED Ark 1990), a nurse’s
comments to a mother of a patient that the
patient was occasionally deprived of meals
and bathroom privileges, and that hospital
personnel were being mean to the patient,
were a matter of public concern because they
concerned the standard of care given a
patient at a public institution. In Brown
v. Port Authority of New York and New
Jersey, 656 F Supp 517 (EDNY 19897). aff’d
without opinion, 867 F2d 1424 (a Cir 1988),
a lieutenant in the security force assigned
to JFK Airport was disciplined following his
writing a memo to his superiors and his
union in which he expressed the view that
airport security was not sufficient to repel
terrorist activity. Although the memo
addressed plaintiff’s personal safety
concerns, noted the court, the memo
essentially concerned the ability of the

airport to respond to a matter of utmost

public concern - terrorism. Id. at 521. In

73a

Woodruff Vv. Bd. | a 3) of Cabell
Huntington, 319 SE2d 372, 378-379 (W VA
1984), hospital employees’ distribution near
the hospital of leaflets disclosing a labor
dispute with the hospital and the effects of
job eliminations on the level of pubiic
health care was held to be speech on a
matter of public concern.

Additionally, the Oregon Legislative
Assembly has recognized that speech which
discloses information on matters of pubic
health and safety is of public import. ORS
659.510(1) (b) (B) prohibits a public employer
from taking or threatening to take
disciplinary action against an employee for
the disclosure of any information that the
employee reasonably believes is evidence of
"substantial and specific danger to public
health and safety resulting from action of
the state, agency or political sub-

division." One purpose of the Oregon Safe

Employment Act, ORS 654.001 to 654.295 ORS

74a
654.750 to 654.780, and ORS 654.991, is to
“assure as far aS possible safe and
healthful working conditions for every
working man and woman in Oregon." ORS
654.003. To accomplish that purpose, the
Legislative Assembly provides a procedure
that "{e]ncourage[s]) employers and employees
to reduce the number of occupational safety
and health hazards and to institute new
programs and improve existing programs for
providing safe and healthful working
conditions." ORS 654.003(1). Under ORS
654.062(5) (a), it is an unlawful employment
practice for an _ employer "to bar or
discharge from employment or otherwise
discriminate against any employee or
prospective employee," who “opposed any
practice forbidden by {health and safety
laws}]" or who “made = any complaint or
instituted or caused to be instituted any
proceeding under [the health and safety

laws)]."

75a
b. Form

As to form of plaintiff’s expression,
plaintiff’s petition was "posted on the
company bulletin board," given to the city
commissioner in charge of the Bureau of
Environmental Services, and circulated among
employees affected by the policy. The fact
that plaintiff’s speech was not directed to
the public at large, to inform it of the
perceived problems, is not determinative to
the inquiry of whether the speech involves
a matter of public concern. See Rankin v.
McPherson, supra, 483 US at 386 n 11 ("The
private nature of the [public employee’s]
statement does not *** vitiate the status of
the statement as addressing a matter of
public concern."); see also McGowan and
Tangri, A Libertarian Critique of University
Restrictions of Offensive Speech, 79 Cal L
Rev 825, 855 (1991) ("Rankin demonstrates
that the concept of public speech has a very

strong content base - the speech at issue

76a

was not distributed in anything remotely
resembling a public fashion."); Gillette v.
Delmore, supra, 886 F2d at 1198 (a public
employee’s speech was held to involve a
matter of public concern even though made to
employee’s supervisor and other city
workers, and not to the public at large).

c. Context

Taken in context, I will assume
that plaintiff’s petition arose because of
plaintiff’s personal dissatisfaction with
the proposed work safety policy. A motive
of personal concern’ behind a _ public
employee’s speech is not, however,
dispositive on the issue whether’ the
employee’s speech involved a matter of
public concern. Breuer v. Hart, 909 F2d
1035, 1038-39 (7th Cir 1990); Belk v. Town
of Minocqua, 858 F2d 1258, 1264 (7th Cir

1988). Content, not context as stated by the

77a
majority,/* is the most important factor
in the inquiry whether the public employee’s
speech passes the threshold public concern
test. Breuer v. Hart, supra, 909 F2d at

1039; Belk v. Town of Minocqua, supra, 858

14 The majority’s analysis is
premised on the notion that context
is the most important factor and, in
this case, the determinative factor, in
determining whether something is a
matter of public concern. 313 Or at 428
-429. The majority admits that plaintiff’s
petition relates to public policy, 313
Or at 430-31, but refused to consider it
a matter of public concern because of
the context in which it was presented.
This analysis is fundamentally flawed.
In Connick, the context was clearly
stated by the Court to be a personal
grievance, i.e., "one employee’s [Myers’ }
dissatisfaction with a transfer and an
attempt to turn that displeasure into
a cause celebre." 461 US at 148. If
context was the most important factor
in determining whether the speech was
a matter of public concern, what
caused the Court to conclude that
Question 11 was a matter of public
concern? Even though Question 11 was
presented in the context of thirteen
other entries relating to a private
grievance, it was found to be a matter
of public concern because, notwith-
standing its context (personal
grievance) and form (circulated only
to other employees), its content
established it to be so.

78a

1264; Berg v. Hunter, 854 F2d 238, 242-43
(7th Cir 1988), cert den 489 US 1053, 109 S
ce 1314, 103 L Ed 2d 583 (1989).
Bodensteiner and Levinson, 1 State & Local
Government Civil Rights Liability 77, §
1:08.50 (1987); McGowan and Tangri, supra,
79 Cal L Rev at 855.

In Connick v. Myers, supra, the Supreme
Court considered one of Myers’ thirteen
questions - the question regarding pressure
to work in political campaigns - to be of
public concern, even though the Court found
that Myers’ grievances were fairly rooted in
a personal dispute over her transfer. The
fact that a "speaker was motivated by narrow
self-interest" does not automatically mean
that the issue is not of public concern.
Breuer v. Hart, supra, 909 F2d at 1038-39;
Bodensteiner and Levinson, supra. Connick
makes clear that a public employee’s

statements motivated, triggered, or

predominated by a personal grievance,

79a

dissatisfaction, or narrow self-interests
may nevertheless involve matters of public
concern necessitating inquiry as to whether
the employee’s (plaintiff’s) speech passes
the second requirement of the two-prong test
to determine whether the speech is protected
by the First Amendment, namely, the
Pickering balancing test. The fact that
plaintiff’s speech arose in the context of
what began as a personal dispute does not,
therefore, in itself disqualify that speech
from constitutional protection.

In sum, as determined by the content,
form, and context of plaintiff’s expression
as revealed by the whole record, I conclude
that, despite whatever self-interests
motivated or triggered plaintiff to.
circulate the petition, all but the first
two sentences of plaintiff’s petition
concerns a matter of public concern.

2. Application of Pickering

Balancing Test

80a

Having determined that the speech
in plaintiff’s petition involves a matter of
public concern, the court must balance
plaintiff’s First Amendment interest in
commenting on a matter of public concern
against the interest of the city, as an
employer, in promoting the efficiency of the
public services it performs through its
employees. Rankin v. McPherson, supra, 483
US at 388-91. At the time that the trial
court directed the verdict for defendants,
the record did not support a finding that a
legitimate city interest justified firing
plaintiff. I find no evidence in the record
that plaintiff’s petition interfered with
the city’s interest in the effective and
efficient fulfillment of ite
responsibilities to the public. Nothing in
the record indicates that the circulation of
plaintiff’s petition impaired work-place
discipline or created disharmony with co-

workers. Nor does the record disclose any

8la
evidence that plaintiff’s superiors
reasonably believed that plaintiff’s speech
would disrupt the operation of the
wastewater treatment plant where plaintiff
worked, undermine his superior’s authority,
or destroy close working relationships.
Like Rankin v. McPherson, Supra, there was
no evidence that plaintiff’s statements had
discredited the city or interfered with its
efficient functioning.?° Similarly, there
is no evidence that plaintiff’s petition was
circulated in an inappropriate time, place

or manner. Absent any particularized

15 In fact, the city made no claim that
plaintiff’s petition disrupted the
wastewater treatment plant, destroyed close
working relationships with supervisors or
fellow employees, or constituted
insubordination.

As previously stated, the city’s
Civil Service Board found that, in violation
of the city’s charter, the decision to
discharge plaintiff was not made in good
faith for the purpose of improving public
service. Defendants did not Challenge the
propriety of that finding.

82a

evidence of defendants’ interests in this
case, I must conclude that, based on the
record the trial court had before it when it
directed the verdict, the employer’s
(city’s) interest in efficiency does not
outweigh the employee’s (plaintiff’s)
freedom of expression. Without such a
showing, plaintiff’s First Amendment rights
predominate. I conclude, therefore, that
defendants were not entitled to a directed
verdict on the issue whether plaintiff’s
petition is protected speech under the First
Amendment to the federal constitution.
G. Causation Determination

Having determined that defendants were
not entitled to a directed verdict with
respect to the question of whether
plaintiff’s petition is protected by the
First Amendment, I review the evidence to
determine whether it is sufficient on the
causation issue. If so, the trial court

erred in entering a directed verdict for

83a

defendants. If there was’ insufficient
evidence to establish causation, the trial
court correctly granted the defendants’
motion for directed verdict. In determining
the propriety of the trial court’s directing
the verdict, this court views the evidence
in the light most favorable to the non-
moving party (in this case, plaintiff), who
is entitled to the benefit of every
reasonable inference that may be drawn from
the evidence. Foster Vv. Schnell
Refrigeration Co., 280 Or 411, 414, 571 P2d
497 (1977).

The evidence would permit a trier of
fact to find that plaintiff’s supervisors,
Irvin and Lang, were hostile toward
plaintiff’s attempt to receive an exemption
from the challenged policy. Other employees
testified that management retaliated against
employees who spoke out against management
practices or on safety issues by firing

them. Lang admitted that plaintiff’s

84a
petition made him angry and caused him some
anxiety. Irvin admitted that he did not
help plaintiff find other comparable city
employment before terminating him, although
he had assisted other employees who did not
comply with the facial hair policy.?®
While plaintiff had no proof to spare, the
foregoing evidence, when combined with the
reasonable inferences that can be drawn
therefrom, was sufficient to allow a trier
of fact to conclude that plaintiff’s speech
was a "substantial" or "motivating" factor
in defendants’ discharge decision. There is
no evidence in the record to show by a
preponderance of the evidence that
defendants had other adequate grounds for
dismissal, i.e., that the same adverse

decision to plaintiff’s employment would

l6contrary to defendants’ assertions,
defendants did not object to the testimony
supporting the foregoing summary, and the
evidence was not excluded by the circuit
court.

85a
have been reached even in the absence of the
protected speech. It was error, therefore,
for the trial court to grant defendant’s
motion for directed verdict on plaintiff’s

§ 1983 claim.

II. CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, I would
remand this case to the circuit court for
proceedings not inconsistent with this
opinion.??’

Van Hoomissen and Fadeley, JJ., join in

this opinion.

+7The Court of Appeals concluded that
"(pjlaintiff’s petition was constitu-
tionally protected." Shockey v. City of
Portland, 100 Or App 166, 170, 785 P2da 776
(1990). To the extent that that conclusion
forecloses defendants from demonstrating to
the trial court that plaintiff’s petition is
not protected by the First Amendment as a
result of the application of the Pickering
balancing test, I disagree.

86a

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF OREGON

WILLIAM H. SHOCKEY
Appellant/Respondent

Vv.

PORTLAND CITY OF
Respondent/Petitioner

JACK C. IRVING
Respondent /Petitioner

JOHN LANG
Respondent /Petitioner

OREGON TRIAL LAWYERS ASSN
Amicus Curiae

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
Amicus Curiae

OREGON EDUCATION ASSN
Amicus Curiae

AFSCME COUNCIL 75
Amicus Curiae

AFSCME LOCAL 189
Amicus Curiae

PORTLAND POLICE COM OFFICER
Amicus Curiae

PORTLAND POLICE ASSN
Amicus Curiae

OREGON PUBLIC EMPLOYEES UNION
Amicus Curiae

ORDER DENYING RECONSIDERATION
SC S36999
CA A49282

The court has considered the Petition
for Reconsideration and orders that it be
denied.

DATED: August 25, 1992

/s/ Wallace P. Carson, Jr.

WALLACE P. CARSON, JR.
CHIEF JUSTICE

87a
COPIES TO:
RICHARD C. BUSSE Attorney for

Appel lant/Respondent
HARRY AUERBACH Attorney for

Respondent/Petitioner
ROBERT ALLEN BENNETT Attorney for Amicus
Curiae

This computer-generated case Caption may not
comply with ORAP 2.05(1) & 5.05(5b).

88a

FILED: July 9, 1992

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF OREGON

WILLIAM H. SHOCKEY,

Respondent on Review,
Vv.

CITY OF PORTLAND, a municipal corporation;

JACK C. IRVIN, individually and in his

official capacity; and JOHN LANG,

individually and in his official capacity.
Petitioners on Review.

(CC A8611-06957; CA A49282; SC S$36999)

In Banc

On review from the Court of Appeals.*

Harry Auerbach, Deputy City Attorney, City

of Portland, attorney for petitioners on

review.

Richard C. Busse, Portland, attorney
respondent on review.

GILLETTE, J.

The decision of the Court of Appeals is
reversed in part and affirmed in part. The
judgment of the circuit court is reversed as
to the wrongful discharge claim; otherwise

affirmed.

89a
Unis, J., concurred in part and dissented in
part and filed an opinion in which Van
Hoomissen and Fadeley, JJ., joined.
*Appeal from Judgment of Multnomah County
Circuit Court, Robert L. Kirkman, Judge Pro

Tempore. 100 Or App 166, 785 P2d 776 (1990).

DESIGNATION OF PREVAILING PARTY AND AWARD OF
COosTs

Prevailing party: Petitioners on Review

{ ] No costs allowed. {X} Costs allowed,
payable by:
Respondent on
Review

APPELLATE JUDGMENT

MONEY JUDGMENT

Judqment #1

Creditor: CITY OF PORTLAND; JACK C. IRVIN,
individually and in his official

capacity; and JOHN LANG,
individually and in his official
Capacity

Debtor: WILLIAM H. SHOCKEY

Costs: $145.00* $60.00 of this amount

to be paid

90a

Attorney Fees: == to: STATE COURT
ADMINISTRATOR

TOTAL: $145.00

Interest: Simple, 9% per annum, from the

date of this appellate judgment

Appellate Judgment
Effective Date: September 17, 1992
SUPREME COURT
(seal)

9la

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE
STATE OF OREGON

SHOCKEY,
Appellant,
Vv.
CITY OF PORTLAND et al,
RESPONDENTS.
(8611-06957; CA A49282)

Appeal from Circuit Court, Multnomah
County.

Robert L. Kirkman, Judge pro tempore.
Argued and submitted October 25, 1989.

Richard C. Busse, Portland, argued the
cause and filed the briefs for appellant.
With him on the reply brief was Donald B.
Potter, Portland.

Harry Auerbach, Deputy City Attorney,
Portland, argued the cause and submitted the
brief for respondents.

Before Joseph, Chief Judge, and Warren
and Rossman, Judges.

ROSSMAN, J.

Affirmed on claim for attorney fees
incurred before Civil Service Board;
otherwise reversed and remanded for
proceedings not inconsistent with this
opinion.

92a

ROSSMAN, J.

Plaintiff contends that the City of
Portland (city) and two of its employees,
defendants Land and Irvin, fired him in
retaliation for his circulating a petition
protesting a work policy. He alleged claims
for common law wrongful discharge and under
42 uSC § 1983,? asserting that defendants
violated his right to free speech under the
First and Fourteenth Amendments. He also
brought a claim against Lang and Irvin as
individuals, alleging that they had
intentionally interfered with his economic

relations with city. He sought punitive

142 USC § 1983 provides:

"Every person who, under color of
any statue, ordinance, regulation, custom,
or usage, of any State or Territory,
subjects, or cause to be subjected, any
citizen of the United States or other person
within the jurisdiction thereof to the
deprivation of any rights, privileges, or
immunities secured by the Constitution and
laws, shall be liable to the party injured
in an action at law, suit or equity, or
other proper proceeding for redress."

93a
damages on his § 1983 claim and, under 42
USC § 1988,2 reasonable attorney fees. He
also requested attorney fees incurred in
reinstatement proceedings before the city’s
Civil Service Board.

In pretrial motions, the trial court
struck plaintiff’s requests for attorney
fees and granted defendants’ partial summary
judgment on the § 1983 claim for punitive
damages. After plaintiff rested his case,
the trial court found that there was no
evidence that he was fired for circulating
the petition and, accordingly, granted
defendants’ directed verdict on the § 1983
and wrongful discharge claims. Although the

trial court allowed plaintiff’s intentional

242 USC § 1988 provides, in pertinent
part:
"In any action or proceeding to
enforce a provision of sections 1981, 1982,
1983, 1985, and 1986 of this title, *** the
court, in its discretion, may allow the
prevailing party, other than the United
States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part
of the costs."

94a
interference claim to go to the jury, it
struck any reference to his right to free
speech. The jury returned a verdict for
plaintiff, but awarded no damages.
Plaintiff appeals; we affirm in part and
reverse and remand in part.

Plaintiff was employed as a waste water
mechanic for city and worked under Land and
Irvin. During 1984, he learned that city,
in an effort to comply with administrative
rules that prohibit the wearing of
respirators over facial hair, intended to
adopt a clean shaven policy for all waste
water mechanics. Plaintiff strongly opposed
the policy. He has worn a beard for 25
years, because he develops an inflammatory
skin rash when he shaves and because he has
a “weak chin." He circulated a petition
expressing dissatisfaction with the policy.

the petition reads:

"We, the undersigned, find the
proposed rules demanding that
beards be shaved before a

95a

respirator test can even be taken
to be arbitrary and discrim-
inatory. The wearing or not
wearing of beards was not a
condition of employment and any
hazards that exist now existed at
that time. Furthermore, at
everyone on site is to be avail-
able in a chlorine emergency, the
questions of fit, maintenance and
hygiene of the respirators, the
Supplying of respirators’ for
those who wear glasses, training
of all employees in their use,
hazard pay, and the availability
of respirators for office staff,
contractors’ employees and
visitors must be answered. The
aforementioned proposed rules do
not take into account the use of
respirators by the last three
mentioned groups. It would be
far more practical to have a
volunteer crew, specially trained
and outfitted to deal with
chlorine in emergency and non-
emergency situations."

Despite the petition, the policy was
implemented on August 1, 1984. Plaintiff
Subsequently refused to shave his beard,
and, in an attempt to receive an exemption
from the policy, he submitted medical
evidence that he has a_ psychological

attachment to his beard and that he develops

a skin rash when he shaves. Nonetheless, he

96a
was discharged on June 11, 1985. Shortly
thereafter, he commenced this~ action,
claiming that he was fired in retaliation
for circulating the petition.

Plaintiff first argues that the trial
court erred in allowing defendants’ motion
for a directed verdict on his wrongful
discharge and § 1983 claims and in striking
any reference to his right to free speech in
his intentional interference clain. A
directed verdict should be entered only when
a reasonable person could draw only one
inference from the evidence. Van Den Bron
v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 86 Or App 329, 738 P2d
1011 (1987). When reviewing a directed
verdict, we interpret the evidence in the
light most favorable to the non-moving
party, who is entitled to every reasonable
inference supported by the record. Dennis
v. McLean, 53 Or App 282, 631 P2d 839, rev

den 291 Or 771, 642 P2d 308 (1981). With

those principles in mind, we hold that there

97a

waS evidence of a causal link between
plaintiff’s petition and his termination.

Plaintiff testified that Irvin and Lang
appeared hostile toward his attempt to
receive an exemption from the policy. Other
employees testified that management had
retaliated against other workers who spoke
out against management practices or on
safety issues. When asked about’ the
petition, Lang admitted that it made him
angry and caused him some anxiety. Irvin
admitted that he did not assist plaintiff in
finding other comparable city employment
before terminating him, although he had done
so for other employees who did not comply
with the policy. Irvin also admitted that
he ignored reports concerning plaintiff’s
psychological attachment to his beard. Even
though 13 months had elapsed between the
petition and his termination, we conclude
that a jury could infer from the totality of

the evidence that the petition was a

98a

motivating factor in plaintiff’s
termination.
Defendants argue that, even if

plaintiff was fired for circulating the
petition, the trial court did not err
because his speech was not protected by the
First Amendment. Citing Connick v. Meyers,
461 US 138, 75 L Ed 2d 708, 103 S Ct 1684
(1983), they contend that plaintiff’s
petition is not protected because it does
not relate to "matters of public concern."
We disagree. Although plaintiff may have
been motivated to circulate the petition for
personal reasons, it questioned the
practicality of the hazards inherent in the
proposed policy. A major purpose of the
First Amendment is to protect free dis-
cussion, including the manner in which the
government operates. Mills v. Alabama, 384
US 214, 218, 16 L Ed 2d 484, 86 S Ct 1434
(1966). Plaintiff’s petition was constitu-

tionally protected.

99a

Plaintiff also argues that the trial
court erred in striking his request for
attorney fees under § 1988 and in granting
defendants’ motion for summary judgment on
his claim for punitive damages under § 1983.
The trial court based those rulings on its
determination that such damages are
prohibited by the Oregon Tort Claims Act
(OTCA). Under Rogers v. Saylor, 306 Or 267,
760 P2d 232 (1988), and our opinion in the
Same case, 88 Or App 480, 746 P2d 718
(1987), both rulings were in error.?

Plaintiff also argues that the trial
court erred in striking his request in his
intentional interference claim for attorney
fees incurred in reinstatement proceedings

before city’s Civil Service Board. Attorney

3In that § 1983 action, we allowed
attorney fees, but held that the oOTCA
precludes a claim for punitive damages. 88
Or App at 484. On review, this court’s
decision to allow attorney fees was not
contested, and the Supreme Court held that
punitive damages are also_ recoverable.
2Rogers v. Saylor, supra, 306 Or at 278.

100a

fees and other expenses from another
proceeding may be recovered in an action
against a defendant when the defendant’s
charged wrongful conduct has involved the
plaintiff in previous litigation with a
third party. fe ee Group/Equipment
Financing, Inc. v. Young, 99 Or App 270,
272, 782 P2d 169 (1989). The preceding
litigation, however, did not involve a third
party but rather the same defendants.
Therefore, the rule of damages involving
prior litigation with a third party is not
applicable. The trial court properly struck
the claim for attorney fees before the Civil
Service Board.

Plaintiff finally argues that the trial
court erred in denying his motion for a
mistrial. The motion was based on the trial
judge’s acknowledgement that he "wouldn’t
have taken the case" had he known that he

would be requested to evaluate the testimony

of a certain city employee, a personal

10la

acquaintance of the judge who had been
involved in plaintiff’s termination. We
need not discuss that contention, because
the problem should not arise on retrial.

Affirmed on the claim for attorney fees
incurred before the Civil Service Board;
otherwise reversed and remanded for

proceedings not inconsistent with this

opinion.

102a

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF
OREGON FOR THE COUNTY OF MULTNOMAH

WILLIAM H. SHOCKEY,
Plaintiff,
Vv.
CITY OF PORTLAND, a municipal corporation;
JACK C. IRVIN, individually and in his
official capacity; and JOHN LANG, in-
dividually and in his official capacity,
Defendants.

No. A 86111-06957
JUDGMENT

This matter came on regularly for trial
on May 25, 1988 before the undersigned
judge, and a jury. Plaintiff William H.
Shockey appeared through his-~ attorney,
Richard C. Busse. Defendants City of
Portland, John Lang and Jack Irvin appeared
through their attorney, Stuart J. Cutler.

Prior to the commencement of the trial,
plaintiff moved to voluntarily dismiss his
First Claim for Relief (Handicap
Discrimination). The Court so ordered.

After plaintiff rested his case, and

after having heard arguments’ by both

counsel, the Court granted defendants’

103a
motions for directed verdict against
plaintiffs’ Second Claim for Relief
(Wrongful Discharge) and his Third Claim for
Relief (42 USC § 1983). Accordingly, the
Court ordered 2 and 3 dismissed.

The jury, having heard arguments by
both counsel and, having been instructed on
all matters of law and, having retired to
deliberate upon its verdict, did thereafter
on May 31, 1988 return into court a verdict
in favor of defendants, which, omitting the
title of the court and cause, was in the
following form:

We the jury, being first
duly empaneled and sworn, do as
our verdict answer as follows:
1. Has the Plaintiff estab-
lished by a preponderance of
the evidence that any of the
Defendants listed below
interfered with his economic
relations with the City of
Portland in any manner
alleged in Plaintiffs

complaint?

Answer:

No)

104a

Defendant, Jack C. Irvin:

(Yes or No)

Defendant, John Lang: Yes (Yes or

If your answer to this
question includes a Yes

answer as to any
defendant, then answer
the next question. If

your answers to this
question is No as to
all Defendants then
skip the next question.

2. What sum of money
has PiGint ses
established by a
preponderance of the
evidence will

compensate him for any
emotional distress that
he sustained which
should be ° awarded
against the Defendants
listed below as a
result of their
interference with his
economic relations with
the City of Portland?

Answer:
Defendant, Jack C Irvin:

Defendant, Jack Lang:
Dated the 31 day of May,

/s/Glenn Buchanan

Presiding Juror

| ;

105a

The matter now coming on for judgment
upon the foregoing verdict, it is hereby

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that defendants
have judgment against plaintiff William H.
Shockey and that such action be, and the
same is, hereby dismissed in its entirety
and with prejudice, and that the defendant
is granted j

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1839%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
