# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Maldonado v. Josey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1784%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 507 U.S. 914

## Text

F I D

92-100 (0) BEC “—-

me

In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

LeROY MALDONADO, Personal Representative of the
Estate of MARK P. MALDONADO, Deceased,

Petitioner,
vs.

ANN JOSEY, Personal Representative of the
Estate of Margaret Berry,

Respondent.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Stephen E. Tinkler, Esq. JOHN B. ROESLER, Esq.
425 Sandoval Street Of Counsel to
Santa Fe, NM 87501 Roth, VanAmberg, Gross,
(505) 982-8533 Rogers & Ortiz

and 347 East Palace Avenue
Ernesto J. Romero, Esq. Post Office Box 1447
3602 Campus Blvd. N.E. Santa Fe, NM 87504-1447
Albuquerque, NM 87106 (505) 983-7319

CE) reer Counsel of Record
Co-Counsel for Petitioner for Petitioner

December 10, 1992

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225 6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Does the Estelle, Youngberg and DeShaney “special rela-
tionship” affirmative duty of care apply to public school
students?

II. If so, what is the scope of duty owed?

III. As of March 6, 1987, and presently, is there clearly
established substantive due process protection from
deliberate indifference to reasonably safe conditions of
care while in the functional custody of state officials?

IV. Did the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit err in
requiring strict factual correspondence between the gen-
eral legal principle or “establishing cases” and the fact
pattern of the presenting case?

V. To what extent are conflicts of decisions within the
same circuit, between circuits, and “unpublished” deci-
sions determinative in the qualified immunity inquiry?

VI. Should knowledge of the general legal principle and
the method of application to the facts be imputed to state
officials via their “reasonably competent” legal advisors?

VII. If acircuit court of appeals proceeds to the underly-
ing legal issue in a qualified immunity case, and renders
a decision on the merits, then in the same opinion dis-
poses of the case on qualified immunity grounds, holding
that the party is “therefore entitled to qualified immu-
nity,” has the underlying substantive issue been decided,
or is that issue permanently shrouded in a state of
“unclear law” as in most qualified immunity decisions?

ii
PARTIES

The parties to the Tenth Circuit appeal are the same
as those listed on the caption to this petition for writ of
certiorari. However, because the Court of Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit has listed all three defendants originally
named in U.S. district court in the full caption of the
reported Tenth Circuit decision, and there is some discus-
sion of these parties vis a vis supervisory, “failure to
train” liability in the Tenth Circuit opinion, their names
are set forth herein: Butch McGowen, and Paul Malano.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
RPMPRPEMUONMOD © MURPESIN EES 0.0... cc cece ces ceeessencs i
a aad Fo Wh ess esos essere ees ans’ ii
eg 8 | iv
Wikies eek ee de Cis es veseecceeces 2
ee LAL sie kes 64064 08h Ais eee see evese 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
era inca s es kha este evan ed seen 3
ope ae i a Ge 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 6

I. THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
TENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN THIS CASE
IS IN CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THE
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH
CIRCUIT AND U.S. DISTRICT COURT DECI-
SIONS FROM OTHER CIRCUITS ON THE
SAME MATTER, NAMELY WHETHER
ESTELLE, YOUNGBERG AND DESHANEY SPE-
CIAL RELATIONSHIP CUSTODIAL DUTY
PROTECTION EXTENDS TO PUBLIC SCHOOL
CHILDREN WHILE THEY ARE AT SCHOOL
UNDER SUPERVISION AND CONTROL OF
PUBLIC SCHOOL OFFICIALS PURSUANT TO
COMPULSORY EDUCATION LAWS.......... 6

Il. THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
TENTH CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED AN IMPOR-
TANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH
HAS NOT BEEN, BUT SHOULD BE, SETTLED
BY THIS COURT, NAMELY WHETHER CHIL-
DREN WHO ARE REQUIRED TO ATTEND
SCHOOL AND THEREBY ORDERED INTO
TEMPORARY DAYTIME CUSTODY OF STATE
OFFICIALS BY COMPULSORY EDUCATION
LAWS ARE CONSTITUTIONALLY ENTITLED

III.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

TO SOME LEVEL OF PROTECTION FROM
HARM AND TO CARE FOR BASIC SAFETY
DURING SCHOOL HOURS, AND TO WHAT
6 | eT reer re ey rey ery Per y rere ry

THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
TENTH CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED A FEDERAL
QUESTION, APPLICATION OF THE HARLOW
QUALIFIED IMMUNITY DOCTRINE, IN A
WAY WHICH CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS
OF OTHER CIRCUITS ON THE SAME MAT-
TER, AND IN A WAY WHICH CONFLICTS
WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS IN HARLOW
Fre SIT ca ok oan sed conan cou eee a kn es

i Ape ee 8 KA ca LN ENG AK OR ERE OR aoa eek

APPENDIX A-— Maldonado v. Josey, 975 F.2d 727

(MN te BOND occ vce ck

APPENDIX B- Maldonado v. Josey, Tenth Circuit

PUNE sh diis nus bb eaos beceaan

APPENDIX C - U.S. District Court Summary Judg-

ment Opinion and Order.........

APPENDIX D-—- Application and Order regarding

Extension of Time to File Petition
for Writ of Certiorari to and
including December 24, 1992.....

APPENDIX E- Excerpts from Petitioner’s Tenth

Circuit Brief of Appellant........

APPENDIX F- New Mexico Compulsory School
AUSERGANCS LAW. 2. 20.565 c cis snes

11

16

20

Al

Bl

Cl

D1

El

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASEs:
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987) ........... 17

Arroyo v. Pla, 748 F.Supp. 56 (D.Puerto Rico 1990) . .8, 16
Bell v. City of Milwaukee, 746 F.2d 2305 (7th Cir.

oo SR re pe ee ter rep esr irr rem rey are 19
pen © Worren, 641 US. 3o0 (1979) 2. oi sec ksna cin 11
Berry v. City of Muskogee, 900 F.2d 1489 (10th Cir.

| er rs Pee ree ee Tree errr eT Te Terre 15

Bonacci v. King, No. 91-3849, “unpublished” Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit decision (May

Se WE occu th bas eter ere een 10
Calkins v. Cox Estates, 100 N.M. 59, 792 P.2d 36

SRM ce Lancs eek We cave senses as eck eee es 15
City of Canton, Ohio v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378 (1989) ..... 7

D.R. By L.R. v. Middle Bucks Area Vo. Tech. School,
972 F.2d 1364 (3rd Cir. 1992) (en banc), cert.

pending, U.S. Sup. Ct. No. 92-816....... 9, 12, 13, 16
DeShaney v. Winnebago Cty. Soc. Servs. Dept., 489

ae ME PE bck oN xo 035.45 40-4 san eae sanenes passim
Doe v. Douglas School Dist. Re-1, 770 F.Supp. 591

nS REE 80s SiN GCG wapcehas ceeedaaer eeeenys 10

Doe v. Taylor Independent School Dist., 975 F.2d 137
(Sth Cir. 1992), cert. pending, U.S. Sup. Ct. No.

Eee yy re een nr er ye re 6, 7, 16
Doe “A” v. Special Sch. Dist. of St. Louis, 637
Pomme. Tide GE1P eo. THOS) nsec occa n sie e sass 8, 20

Dorothy F. v. Little Rock School Dist., 794 F.Supp.
ere re Pere err ere ee reer 10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976)........... 6, 12, 14
Garcia By Garcia v. Micra, 817 F.2d 650 (10th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 1220 (1988)........ 16, 18

Goodman v. Parwatikar, 570 F.2d 801 (8th Cir. 1978).... 12
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982)............. 17

Horton v. Goose Creek Ind. School Dist., 690 F.2d 470
(5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 463 U.S. 1207 (1983) .. .6, 7

Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977)....... 13, 14, 19

J.O. v. Alton Community Unit School Dist. 11, 909
Rae -26P Cth Cin. 1990)... 05 cc eccesasan cess 10, 13

Lopez v. Houston Independent School Dist., 817 F.2d
ee ee rr 6, 7, 16

Maldonado v. Josey, 975 F.2d 727 (10th Cir. 1992),
cert. pending, U.S. Sup. Ct. Ne... .s...5...... passim

Ney v. Hargrave, No. 91-1831A, “unpublished”
decision from the U.S. District Court for the
Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division
a POePe RTT Teer ere ee ye ek eee 10

Pagano By Pagano v. Massepequa Public Schools, 714
Pee. Ge CUARIN. Y. FUDD... oes ekiceagenscd eens 8

Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R., 248 N.Y. 339, 162 N.E.
errr er km. 15

Russell By Russell v. Fannin County School Dist., 784
Pon. bare CU ADAGG. TORE) 6 oicsis cts cexecchwen 10

a

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Stoneking v. Bradford Area School Dist., 882 F.2d 720

eo 8 At Se rn er rae Pe Pe
Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School

Ae Rk) ee 19
Waechter v. School District No. 14-030, 773 F.Supp.

SE COP CURER scx ck hard esd onshe ext aeanane 9
Youngberg v. Romero, 457 U.S. 307 (1982)......... passim
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1................. a
STATUTES:
tee £0 USS... Section 179401) ........55.. NP ee RD FA for 2
Be es areas | I NE + 6 ne nc 0h sy eke ees .4
2 a Sn NR SOP GRAS Cos Cader ea kee eenees 4
Ph ee ER a ee passim
Section 22-12-2 1978 N.M.S.A., as amended...... passim

MISCELLANEOUS:

Comment, Harlow v. Fitzgerald: The Lower Courts
Implement The New Standard For Qualified Immu-
nity Under Section 1983, 132 U.Pa.L.Rev. 901,
ey rs ee ana ...18

In The
Suprenie Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

LeROY MALDONADO, Personal Representative of the
Estate of MARK P. MALDONADO, Deceased,

Petitioner,
12 5 y

ANN JOSEY, Personal Representative of the
Estate of Margaret Berry,

Respondent.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner LeRoy Maldonado, Personal Representa-
tive of the Estate of Mark P. Maldonado, Deceased,
respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the Judgment and Opinion of the Court of Appeals for
the Tenth Circuit entered in the above entitled proceeding
September 16, 1992.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit is reported in 975 F.2d 727 (10th Cir. 1992),
reprinted in the APPENDIX hereto, Al-A21; the Tenth
Circuit Judgment, also filed September 16, 1992, is
reprinted in the APPENDIX hereto, B1-B2.

The U.S. District Court, District of New Mexico, Sum-
mary Judgment Opinion and Order, filed July 8, 1991, has
not been reported. It is reprinted in the APPENDIX
hereto, C1-C3.

JURISDICTION

The dates of entries of the Opinion and Judgment of
the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals sought to be reviewed
herein are September 16, 1992. (Al-A21 and B1-B2)

Application of No. A-423 for extension of time to file
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari was filed in this Court on
November 27, 1992, and ruled upon by Justice Byron R.
White November 30, 1992, Order granting extension of
time within which to file this Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari to and including December 24, 1992. See APPEN-
DIX hereto, D1-D3.

The statutory provision conferring jurisdiction on the
Court to review the decision in question by writ of cer-
tiorari is 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment:

Section 1

All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United States and of
the State wherein they reside. No State shall
make or inforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within
its jurisdiction the equal protection of laws.

Title 42 U.S.C. Section 1983

Every person who, under color of any stat-
ute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of
any State or Territory or the District of Colum-
bia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citi-
zen of the United States or other person within
the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the
party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,
or other proper proceeding for redress. For the
purpose of this section, any Act of Congress
applicable exclusively to the District of Colum-
bia shall be considered to be a statute of the
District of Columbia.

New Mexico Compulsory School Attendance Law,
Section 22-12-2 1978 N.M.S.A., as amended, see APPEN-
DIX F, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On March 16, 1987, Mark Maldonado, while attend-
ing Kearney Elementary School, a public grade school in
Raton, New Mexico, pursuant to state compulsory educa-
tion law, while unsupervised during class for nearly half
of the period (twenty minutes), became caught on his
bandanna in the cloakroom adjacent to his classroom and
died of strangulation. Margaret Berry, now deceased, was
the classroom teacher responsible for supervision of the
fifth grade class.

On August 7, 1990, LeRoy Maldonado, natural father
of the deceased Mark Maldonado, as Personal Represen-
tative of the Estate of Mark P. Maldonado, Deceased, filed
the First Amended Complaint to Recover Damages for
Wrongful Death, Violation of Civil Rights in U.S. District
Court, District of New Mexico, pursuant to district court
order permitting the filing of same. Monetary damages
were requested under Title 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 for
violation of the decedent’s Fourteenth Amendment sub-
stantive due process rights, wrongful death resulting
from alleged “deliberate indifference” to supervision,
failure of the classroom teacher to monitor the where-
abouts of said fifth grade students.

Jurisdiction of the district court was predicated on
Title 28 U.S.C. Sections 1331 and 1343.

The district court granted summary judgment on July
8, 1991, holding:

This Court cannot find the law well established
as to the supervisory duty of a teacher in a
classroom. At the time of Mark Maldonado’s
death, the law was not clearly established that

eel

grossly negligent, reckless or grossly reckless
failure to supervise a public school student may
give rise to a Section 1983 Fourteenth Amend-
ment substantive due process violation. Marga-
ret Berry, deceased, is therefore entitled to
qualified immunity.

APPENDIX, C2.

Appeal was timely taken to the Tenth Circuit Court
of Appeals on the issues of qualified immunity and the
deceased’s substantive due process rights to life and lib-
erty. APPENDIX, E1-E2.

The Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit rendered
its decision on September 16, 1992, APPENDIX, A1-A2]
and B1, affirming the district court, as follows:

[W]e conclude that compulsory attendance laws
do not impose the severe restraints on individ-
ual liberty that implicate the Due Process Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment. . . . Therefore,
appellee is entitled to qualified immunity.

APPENDIX, A15.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH
CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN THIS CASE IS IN CON-
FLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THE U.S. COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT AND USS.
DISTRICT COURT DECISIONS FROM OTHER
CIRCUITS ON THE SAME MATTER, NAMELY
WHETHER ESTELLE, YOUNGBERG AND
DESHANEY SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP CUSTO-
DIAL DUTY PROTECTION EXTENDS TO PUBLIC
SCHOOL CHILDREN WHILE THEY ARE AT
SCHOOL UNDER SUPERVISION AND CONTROL
OF PUBLIC SCHOOL OFFICIALS PURSUANT TO
COMPULSORY EDUCATION LAWS.

The following Fifth Circuit decisions are in direct
conflict with the Tenth Circuit’s decision in Maldonado v.
Josey, 975 F.2d 727 (10th Cir. 1992), APPENDIX, A1-A21.
These cases hold that the Estelle, Youngberg and DeShaney,
infra, “special relationship” affirmative duty of care
applies to public school children.

1. Doe v. Taylor Independent School Dist., 975
F.2d 137 (5th Cir. 1992), cert. pending, U.S. Sup.
Ct. No. 92-908;

2. Lopez v. Houston Independent School Dist.,
817 F.2d 351 (5th Cir. 1987); and

3. Horton v. Goose Creek Ind. School Dist.,
690 F.2d 470 (5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 463 U.S.
1207 (1983).

Taylor raised the question of whether public “school
officials” have a constitutional duty to protect students
from sexual molestation by a teacher when there is rea-
sonable notice to suspect such abuse. The Court of

ieee

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit answered affirmatively,
analyzing the case under two alternative standards, City of
Canton, Ohio v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378 (1989) supervisory
“failure to train” liability and the DeShaney “special rela-
tionship” affirmative duty of care, finding liability, inde-
pendently, under both theories. (Insofar as the holding is
dependent upon knowledge of the specific risk, “known
or reasonably foreseeable risks,” 975 F.2d at 144, Taylor
conflicts with DeShaney v. Winnegabo Cty. Soc. Servs. Dept.,
489 U.S. 189, 200 (1989), where this Court held that the
“affirmative duty to protect arises not from the State’s
knowledge of the individual’s predicament.”) The Canton
theory would only be available as against the entity and
supervisory personnel. The DeShaney rule, however,
would pertain to any “school official,” including class-
room teachers. (The Taylor court did not specifically
address DeShaney liability of the teacher (sexual moles-
ter)). Taylor, cites two “primary liability” cases, Horton
and Lopez, supra, for the proposition that “school officials
can be held liable under §1983 for the harms suffered by
school children based on a breach of their duty to protect
school children,” 975 F.2d at 145. “[T]he state cultivates a
special relationship with that child and thus owes... an
affirmative duty of protection. ** * [W]e .. . find a school
child to be in the ‘functional custody’ of school offi-
cials. . . . Separated from his or her parents (guardian),
the child’s safety and well-being are entrusted to school
officials.” (Emph. Supp.) Taylor, 975 F.2d at 145.

In Horton, a Fourth Amendment school case, the Fifth
Circuit held that “school officials have both a right and a
duty to provide a safe environment conducive to educa-
tion,” 690 F.2d at 480; and in Lopez, 817 F.2d at 356, the

Fifth Circuit held that a school bus driver was “entrusted
with the care of students attending school under Texas’
compulsory education statute . . . [and that h]is alleged
failure to protect... or to render emergency care [when a
student was beaten by other students on the bus] abuses
state power, and supports a Section 1983 action if the jury
finds it rose to the level of callous and indifference and
was the cause of injury.”

Reported U.S. District Court decisions applying
DeShaney “custodial duty” protection to public school
children are: Doe “A” v. Special Sch. Dist. of St. Louis, 637
F.Supp. 1138 (E.D.Mo. 1986) (where a Section 1983 liberty
interest claim was stated against a school bus driver who
sexually molested a handicapped student, “this Court
does not doubt that the constitutional rights of children
to be free from harm is commensurate with the rights of
adults in state custody,” id. at 1145); Arroyo v. Pla, 748
F.Supp. 56 (D.Puerto Rico 1990) (shooting of one student
by another, where the court found that DeShaney applies
within the public school context, but then incorrectly
applied DeShaney by requiring that the harm be commit-
ted literally at the hands of the teacher, this in spite of the
general “special relationship” custodial duty respon-
sibility under DeShaney, 489 U.S. at 200, students were
bringing guns to school and it was alleged that no reason-
able affirmative action was taken to periodically check for
firearms); Pagano By Pagono v. Massepequa Public Schools,
714 F.Supp. 641 (E.D.N.Y. 1989) (where failing to stop
repeated abuse by students upon another student rose to
the level of abuse of official responsibility and “deliberate
indifference” triggering Section 1983 liability, the court
found that the Section 1983 cause was analogous to

claims by prison inmates, 1.e., “[g]overnment owes a duty
to protect a person from harm if there exists a ‘special
relationship’ between that person and the government,”
id. at 643. “We consider elementary school students who are
required to attend school, the truancy laws still being in effect,
to be owed some [Constitutional] duty of care by defen-
dants ...,” emph. supp., id.); Waechter v. School District
No. 14-030, 773 F.Supp. 1005 (W.D.Mich. 1991) (A fifth
grade handicapped boy was forced to run the punish-
ment two minute 350 yard “gut run” at school, contrary
to medical restriction of no forced exertion due to con-
genital heart defect. The student collapsed and died
attempting to follow the teacher’s command. The
DeShaney “custodial duty” rationale for establishing a
Fourteenth Amendment liberty interest violation was
argued, inter alia, to the court upon defendants’ motion to
dismiss. The court denied the motion and applied
DeShaney as follows: “DeShaney is explicit that the protec-
tions of the due process clause are triggered when the
state’s affirmative action ‘restrains the individual’s free-
dom to act on his own behalf.’ DeShaney, 489 U.S. at
200... . Applying this reading of DeShaney as a general
rule in substantive due process analysis, it is clear that
decedent was in a custodial relationship with defen-
dant . .. [, who] was his teacher .. . [,] aware of
decedent’s physical limitations [,] and as recess mon-
itor . . . undertook to supervise decedent's activities. [The
teacher’s] affirmative action led to decedent’s death,”
emph. supp., id. at 1009).

The following cases, going in the opposite direction
along with Maldonado, illustrate the seriousness of the
divergence on this issue in our federal courts: D.R. By

10

L.R. v. Middle Bucks Area Vo. Tech. School, 972 F.2d 1364
(3rd Cir. 1992) (en banc), cert. pending, U.S.Sup.Ct. No.
92-816 (because children are free to leave school no
DeShaney constitutional duty of care is owed); J.O. v.
Alton Community Unit School Dist. 11, 909 F.2d 267 (7th
Cir. 1990) (school children are not like prisoners or men-
tal patients, therefore DeShaney does not apply); Doe v.
Douglas School Dist. Re-1, 770 F.Supp. 591 (D.Colo. 1991)
(schools have not rendered students helpless, therefore
no DeShaney custodial duty of care is owed); Bonacci v.
King, No. 91-3849, “unpublished” Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit decision (May 15, 1992) (the “State
custody”) requirement is not met by compulsory school
attendance); Ney v. Hargrave, No. 91-1831A,
“unpublished” decision from the U.S. District Court for
the Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division
(April 10, 1992) (because of alleged delay and deliberate
indifference in not calling “911,” a student died of severe
allergic and asthma attack; the district court held that
there was no constitutional duty of care involved; in the
opinion the judge conceded that the girl was “helpless”);
Russell By Russell v. Fannin County School Dist., 784
F.Supp. 1576 (N.D. Ga. 1992) (compulsory attendance in
school did not impose upon the state any affirmative
duty to protect); and Dorothy F. v. Little Rock School Dist.,
794 F.Supp. 1405 (E.D.Ark. 1992) (no constitutional duty
to protect a handicapped student from sexual molestation
by another student; no custodial relationship existed
between the attacked student and the state sufficient to
impose on the state an affirmative constitutional duty to
protect him, and “[e]ven if the [c]ourt were to conclude
that a constitutional duty to protect exists based on the

11

alleged facts, the defendants would likely prevail by vir-
tue of qualified immunity,” id. at 1422).

Il. THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH
CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED AN IMPORTANT QUES-
TION OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH HAS NOT
BEEN, BUT SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THIS
COURT, NAMELY, WHETHER CHILDREN WHO
ARE REQUIRED TO ATTEND SCHOOL AND
THEREBY ORDERED INTO TEMPORARY DAY-
TIME CUSTODY OF STATE OFFICIALS BY COM-
PULSORY EDUCATION LAWS ARE
CONSTITUTIONALLY ENTITLED TO SOME
LEVEL OF PROTECTION FROM HARM AND TO
CARE FOR BASIC SAFETY DURING SCHOOL
HOURS, AND TO WHAT EXTENT.

The DeShaney substantive due process duty to pro-
vide a “reasonably safe” place for persons who are in a
custodial relationship with the state, through “institu-
tionalism, or other similar restraint,” 489 U.S. at 200, was
clearly established by Youngberg v. Romero, 457 U.S. 307
(1982) (involving fact pattern of a mentally retarded child
involuntarily committed to “Penhurst State School and
Hospital,” emph. supp.), where this Court found that the
liberty interest was implicated, and a section 1983 cause
of action stated, by alleged failure to provide reasonably
safe conditions of confinement, referring to Bell v. Wolfish,
441 U.S. 520 (1979) “detainees” who were entitled to such

protection. “The State .. . has the unquestioned duty to
provide reasonable safety for all residents and personnel
within the institution. . . . Respondent thus enjoys consti-

tutionally protected interests of reasonable care and
safety.” Youngberg, 457 U.S. at 324. Youngberg does not

12

turn on a voluntary versus involuntary distinction. (The
Eighth Circuit specifically does not require “involuntary”
confinement in a mental hospital for purposes of Estelle v.
Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976) protection, see Goodman v.
Parwatikar, 570 F.2d 801, 804 (8th Cir. 1978).)

To focus on any degree of voluntary submission to
public school, vis a vis the “choice” of attending a private
‘ of public school students
in their schools overnight, as do cases holding that the

school, or the “non-residency’

“special relationship” constitutional duty does not exist
within the school context, is to miss the point of Estelle,
Youngberg, and DeShaney. State actors who undertake the
care and “functional custody” of individuals have a cor-
responding duty to provide a reasonably safe environ-
ment. The case for DeShaney “custodial duty” application
is only bolstered by compulsory attendance or confine-
ment (including temporarily restrained or detained per-
sons).

The concurring (“dissenting”) opinion of Seymour,
C.J., in Maldonado, points out part of the irony in this area
of the law: “Under . . . [D.R.’s] analysis, school children,
as residents in their parents’ homes, are not in custody of
the state. Therefore, parents retain responsibility for pro-
viding for the children’s basic needs, including protection
during school hours,” emph. supp., 975 F.2d at 734,
APPENDIX, A18. “The Third Circuit further stated that to
provide this protection, parents may remove their chil-
dren from public school in favor of home education or

private schools . . . [, moreover] the student ‘could
... leave the school building ... ,” 1d., A18-A19.

13

How many parents have the time, let alone the skill,
to home-educate their children, if that is even an option
in the state? In a great number of families both parents
must work. What about single parent families? How
many parents in this country have the resources to pay
for private education? “For the vast majority of children
of school age, [there] is no choice at all.” D.R., 972 F.2d at
1380 (Sloviter, C.J., dissenting). Decisions such as Mal-
donado, D.R. and Alton, supra, not only are impractical,
they have not been decided within the context of the real
world. This unfair and illogical state of the law cries out
for a “reality check” by the highest Court of our land.

“Younger children are incapable of providing for
their own basic needs [, as if this even has to be said];
they depend on... [their] caretakers [, including day-
time caretakers,] to provide for them. Even the Third
Circuit recognized the difference between younger and
older school children. . . . [T]he court in Middle Bucks
stated: ‘[e]xcept perhaps when very young, the child is not
physically restrained from leaving school during school
hours.’ Id. at 1372 (quoting Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S.
651, 670. . . [((1977)] (emphasis supplied).” Maldonado, 975
F.2d at 735 & n.2, APPENDIX, A19 (Seymour, C.J., concur-
ring, “dissenting” opinion). Nevertheless, D.R. went on
to sweep grade school children in with high school stu-
dents.

“Even older children may be forced by school disci-

plinary procedures and rules [, including closed campus
restraint,] to rely on authority figures at school to protect
them from harm. | cannot fathom who, other than a teacher
or other school staff member, 1s capable of ensuring the ‘reason-
able safety’ of schoolchildren during the school day and class

14

periods,” emph. supp., Maldonado, 975 F.2d at 735, APPEN-
DIX, A19-A20, concurring, “dissenting” opinion.

Although such restraint and control as corporal pun-
ishment has been constitutionally sanctioned in Ingraham,
supra, there is no concomitant constitutional substantive
due process duty, according to the “Maldonado” line of
cases, to provide a “reasonably safe” school environment,
this in spite of the Court’s teaching in Ingraham, 430 U.S.
at 672, that the liberty interest may be implicated vis a vis
bodily integrity within the public schools. (In the context
of procedural due process, Ingraham held that traditional
common law remedies are fully adequate to afford pro-
cedural due process. The Maldonado court ignored pro-
cedural due process argument. There is no state remedy
against an educator in New Mexico. Maldonado, 975 F.2d
at 735 n. 4., APPENDIX, A21, concurring, “dissenting”
opinion.)

Although Judge Seymour disagrees in Maldonado
with the majority’s refusal to apply Estelle, Youngberg, and
DeShaney custodial protection in public schools, she con-
curred in the holding, because, applying DeShaney protec-
tion, the way that Mark Maldonado died in the
cloakroom (unsupervised for half of the class period,
becoming entangled and strangling to death) was not a
“foreseeable risk,” thus the classroom teacher was not
“deliverately indifferent,” thus no Section 1983 claim was
stated. Maldonado, 975 F.2d at 735, APPENDIX, Al6 &
A20. In this regard, Judge Seymour’s concurring opinion
also conflicts with DeShaney, 489 U.S. at 200, where this
Court held that “[t]he affirmative duty to protect arises
not from the State's knowledge of the individual's predica-
ment... . ” (Emph. Supp.)

15

Maldonado presents this Court with an examination of
the scope of DeShaney protection, within the public
schools, which is critically in need of definition given the
disparate and ever-increasing school cases stemming
from the violence in our society, as it found more and
more often within the schools. To what extent would the
DeShaney constitutional duty of care be owed when the
harm is inflicted by one student upon another, e.g., Pla,
supra, where firearms were brought onto school grounds?

Maldonado is a “Palsgraf” test for the Court to evalu-
ate the limits of the DeShaney language that a specific
predicament need not be known by the state actor. How
does this fit with the Section 1983 threshold of “deliberate
indifference,” Berry v. City of Muskogee, 900 F.2d 1489,
1494 n.5, 1495 (10th Cir. 1990), defined in Berry, 900 F.2d
1495-96 & n.9, in terms of negligence “foreseeability” and
“known or obvious risk”. See also Calkins v. Cox Estates,
100 N.M. 59, 62, 792 P.2d 36, 39 (1990): “In determining
duty, it must be determined that the injured party was a
foreseeable plaintiff —- that he was within the zone of
danger created by the respondent’s actions. ** * A duty
to an individual is closely intertwined with the fore-
seeability of injury to that individual, resulting from an
activity conducted with less than reasonable care by the
alleged tort-feasor. * * * Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R., 248
N.Y. 139, 162 N.E. 99 (1928).”

In Maldonado, although the specific “predicament”
was not known, Mark Maldonado was within the “zone

of danger” — the classroom teacher had a duty not to be
“deliberately indifferent” to the supervision of her fifth
grade class, of which Mark Maldonado was a member,

16

particularly as to Knowing the whereabouts of the stu-
dents for half of the class period, knowing at least con-
structively that one key reason for supervision of grade
school-aged students is to prevent physical harm and
accidents.

Another related issue for Supreme Court decision in
this case is whether “inaction” may suffice to state a
DeShaney public school case, as in Lopez, supra, or
whether the harm must result from infliction by the
school official, as in Pla, supra.

Ill. THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH
CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED A FEDERAL QUES-
TION, APPLICATION OF THE HARLOW QUALI-
FIED IMMUNITY DOCTRINE, IN A WAY WHICH
CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF OTHER CIR-
CUITS ON THE SAME MATTER, AND IN A WAY
WHICH CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S
DECISIONS IN HARLOW AND ANDERSON.

The Maldonado, D.R. and Taylor Petitions for Writs of
Certiorari, all currently pending before this Court, arrive
in qualified immunity wrappers. This seems to be the
“state of the art” in constitutional tort appellate practice,
where the underlying constitutional “right” cannot be
clearly established and the issue is preserved, in perpetu-
ity, where “there looms the . . . unpalatable possibility of
multiple bites of a constitutionally forbidden fruit.” Gar-
cia By Garcia v. Miera, 817 F.2d 650, 656 n.8 (10th Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 1220 (1988).

The qualified immunity holding in Maldonado is an
enigma. The Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

17

“conclude[d] that compulsory attendance laws do not
impose the severe restraints on individual liberty that
implicate the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment,” 975 F.2d at 733, APPENDIX, A15, yet later,
on the same concluding page of the majority opinion,
Circuit Judge Tacha finds: “Therefore, appellee is entitled
to qualified immunity.” The court was aware of conflict-
ing decisions which factored into the qualified immunity
holding. Is the first conclusion pertaining to application
of DeShaney to public schools of precedential value on the
merits, or is Maldonado merely precedent that qualified
immunity may successfully be invoked by educators in
the Tenth Circuit whenever a DeShaney type claim is
advanced for alleged “deliverate indifference” to a public
school child’s safety —- because the law is not “clearly
established”?

Both the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit and
the U.S. District Court, District of New Mexico, incor-
rectly combined the two elements of the qualified immu-
nity inquiry into a singular “clearly established” probe,
using the “strict factual correspondence” rule, discussed
infra.

“(Qualified immunity] requires . . . [the court] to
undertake ‘an inquiry into the general legal principles
governing analogous factual situations, if any, and a subse-
quent determination whether the official should have
related this established law to the instant situation’ [cita-
tions omitted].” (Emph. Supp.) Stoneking v. Bradford Area
School Dist., 882 F.2d 720, 726 (3rd Cir. 1989) (“Stoneking
II”). Cf. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982), and
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 639-41 (1987). In Stone-
king II, 882 F.2d at 726, the constitutional right, the first

18

aspect of the qualified immunity inquiry, was the general
constitutional protection of “freedom from invasion
of . . . personal security.” The second part of the Harlow
inquiry in Stoneking II involved the more fact-specific
legal analysis of whether or not the facts of the “estab-
lishing cases” were sufficiently analogous to the present-
ing facts so as to give the state actor cause to hesitate in
the commission of a potential constitutional tort.

Is the state official’s “objectively reasonable knowl-
edge” of the law and application to the facts imputed via
“a reasonably competent legal advisor” (Garcia By Garcia,
817 F.2d at 658)?

The second part of the qualified immunity inquiry,
application of the legal right, may be accomplished in one
of three divergent ways, depending upon the circuit in
which the case originates: (i) strict factual correspondence
between the constitutional right “establishing case” and
the instant case, (ii) application of the general legal prin-
ciple to an analogous fact pattern, or (iii) requirement
that public officials anticipate legal developments. See
Comment, Harlow v. Fitzgerald: The Lower Courts Imple-
ment The New Standard For Qualified Immunity Under Sec-
tion 1983, 132 U. Pa. L.Rev. 901, 923-32 (1984), and cases
cited therein. This Court has not yet settled the question
of which of these various approaches should be taken.
What may be an enforceable constitutional right varies
depending upon the circuit, 1.e., qualified immunity may
or may not shield a Section 1983 constitutional tort claim,
depending upon which approach the circuit takes.

Neither has this Court decided the related questions
of whether or not a split of authorities from different

19

circuits gives rise to qualified immunity, or if a split of
authority within one jurisdiction clearly establishes an
unclear state of the law in that circuit, whether knowl-
edge of “unpublished” or unreported decisions may be
imputed to public officials, and, as already questioned,
whether the official’s “objective knowledge of the law” is
to be imputed to the state actor via his/her “reasonably
competent” legal advisor.

In Maldonado, the general legal right not to be
deprived of life without due process of law, by “deliberate
indifference” or “recklessness” of a state official who has
functional custody of the individual, was “clearly estab-
lished” by March 16, 1987, see Bell v. City of Milwaukee, 746
F.2d 2305 (7th Cir. 1984). The federal common law Section
1983 deprivation of life claim was presented to the Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in Maldonado, APPEN-
DIX, E1-E2, however the court did not address this
branch of the substantive due process claim in its opin-
ion.

Regarding the liberty interest claim, the first part of
the qualified immunity inquiry should also have been
successfully surmounted in Maldonado, referencing the
constitutional right “establishing cases” which were in
effect in 1987: “there is a constitutionaily protected liberty
interest in reasonable care and safety of one .. . under the
control of state actors,” Youngberg, 457 U.S. at 317-19;
“students do not shed their constitution rights at the
school house gate,” Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Com-
munity School District, 393 U.S. 503, 506 (1969); bodily
integrity of public school students implicates a constitu-
tionally protected liberty interest, Ingraham v. Wright, 430
U.S. at 672; “the constitutional rights of children to be

20

free from harm is commensurate with the rights of
adults . . . given the helplessness and blamelessness of
the victims,” Doe “A”, 637 F.Supp. at 1145.

CONCLUSION

For the above stated reasons, this Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN B. ROESLER, Esq.

Of Counsel to

Roth, VanAmberg, Gross,
Rogers & Ortiz

347 East Palace Avenue

Post Office Box 1447

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1447

(505) 988-8979

Counsel of Record
for Petitioner

and

Stephen E. Tinkler, Esq.
425 Sandoval Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 982-8533

Ernesto J. Romero, Esq.
3602 Campus Blvd. N.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87106
(505) 562-2131

Co-Counsel for Petitioner

December 10, 1992

Al

APPENDIX A
Maldonado v. Josey, 975 F.2d 727 (10th Cir. 1992)

Leroy MALDONADO, Personal Representative
of the Estate of Mark P. Maldonado, Deceased,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Anne JOSEY, Personal Representative of the
Estate of Margaret Berry, Deceased; Butch
McGowen; Paul Malano, in their individual
capacities only, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 91-2176.
United States Court of Appeals,
Tenth Circuit.

Sept. 16, 1992.

Parent brought action for wrongful death of child,
arising from child’s accidental death in school cloakroom
adjacent to his grade school classroom. Complaint
asserted that death of child from strangulation after he
was Caught on bandana in cloakroom occurred as direct
result of teacher’s failure to supervise her students. The
United States District Court for the District of New Mex-
ico, John E. Conway, J., entered summary judgment in
favor of teacher, principal, and superintendent, and
plaintiff appealed. The Court of Appeals, Tacha, Circuit
Judge, held that: (1) state compulsory school attendance
law did not give rise under the due process clause to
affirmative duty to protect school children who attend
state-run schools from constitutional deprivations by pri-
vate actors, and (2) teacher was entitled to qualified
immunity, as plaintiff failed to establish a constitutional
deprivation with regard to teacher’s liability.

A2

Affirmed.
Seymour, Circuit Judge, filed concurring opinion.

Stephen E. Tinkler (John B. Roesler, Of Counsel to
Roth, VanAmberg, Gross, Rogers & Ortiz, Santa Fe, N.M.,
and Ernesto J. Romero, of The Romero Law Firm, Albu-
querque, N.M., with him on the briefs), Santa Fe, N.M.,
for plaintiff-appellant.

Kevin M. Brown (Stephen M. Williams, of Miller,
Stratvert, Torgerson & Schlenker, P.A., with him on the
brief), Albuquerque, N.M., for defendants-appellees.

Before SEYMOUR and TACHA, Circuit Judges, and
BENSON, District Judge.*

TACHA, Circuit Judge.

Appellant LeRoy Maldonado appeals an order of the
district court granting summary judgment in favor of
appellees. On appeal, Maldonado contends that the dis-
trict court erred in granting summary judgment in favor
of appellees on the basis of qualified immunity. We exer-
cise jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and affirm on
different grounds.

BACKGROUND

On March 16, 1987, Mark Maldonado, while attend-
ing Kearney Elementary School in Raton, New Mexico,
became caught on his bandana in a cloakroom adjacent to

* The Honorable Dee V. Benson, District Judge for the
United States District Court for the District of Utah, sitting by
designation.

A3

his classroom and died of strangulation. Mark Mal-
donado was eleven years old and in the fifth grade when
he died. According to the complaint, Mark Maldonado
was unsupervised in the adjacent cloakroom for approx-
imately twenty minutes. During this period, his teacher,
Margaret Berry, was conducting class in the classroom
and was responsible for a class of fifth grade students,
including Mark Maldonado. The record does not disclose
the reason for Mark Maldonado’s absence from the class-
room.

On August 7, 1990, LeRoy Maldonado filed an action
for monetary damages under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in the
United States District Court for the District of New Mex-
ico for the wrongful death of Mark Maldonado. The com-
plaint asserted that the death of Mark Maldonado
occurred as a direct result of Margaret Berry’s failure to
supervise her students and principal Paul Malano’s and
superintendent Butch McGowen’s deliberate indifference
to training and supervision requirements.

The district court granted summary judgment as to
all defendants on July 8, 1991. With regard to defendants
Malano and McGowen, the district court found that the
plaintiff did not show “that the need for more or different
training is so obvious, and the inadequacy so likely to
result in the violation of constitutional rights that the
school administrators can reasonably be said to have
been deliberately indifferent.” With regard to the teacher,
the district court concluded that “[o]n March 16, 1987, the
law was not clearly established as to a teacher’s duty to
observe every student in class for the time the students
are in class.” This appeal followed.

A4

DISCUSSION

" We review summary judgment orders de novo, using
the same standards the district court applies. Osgood v.
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 848 F.2d 141, 143 (10th
Cir.1988). Summary judgment is appropriate “if the
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and
admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,
show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact
and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a
matter of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c); see Anderson v. Liberty
Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 247-48, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2509-10, 91
L.Ed.2d 202 (1986).

On appeal, Maldonado challenges only the district
court’s judgment with regard to the teacher’s liability.!
Maldonado argues that the district court erred in grant-
ing summary judgment in favor of the appellee on the
basis of qualified immunity. He asserts that qualified
immunity was improper because the law was clearly
established on March 16, 1987. The district court con-
cluded that it could not “find the law well established as
to the supervisory duty of a teacher in a classroom.”
Maldonado contends that a Fourteenth Amendment lib-
erty interest and a Fourteenth Amendment protection
from deprivation of life without due process of law were
implicated by the failure to provide reasonable care and
safety for public grade school children and by reckless

1 Appellant’s brief states: “This appeal pertains only to the
defendant-appellee classroom teacher’s liability.”

AS

indifference to supervision requirements in a public
grade school.

As a threshold inquiry to qualified immunity, we first
must determine whether Maldonado’s allegations, even if
accepted as true, state a claim for violation of any rights
secured under the United States Constitution. See Siegert
v. Gilley, __ U.S. __, __, 111 S.Ct. 1789, 1793, 114
L.Ed.2d 277 (1991). The Due Process Clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment provides that no state may “deprive
any person of life, liberty, or property, without due pro-
cess of law.” Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, Maldonado’s
claim invokes the substantive component of the Due Pro-
cess Clause in that he asserts that, under the circum-
stances, the state was under a categorical obligation to
protect Mark Maldonado. The Supreme Court’s decision
in DeShaney v. Winnebago County Department of Social Ser-
vices, 489 U.S. 189, 109 S.Ct. 998, 103 L.Ed.2d 249 (1989),
guides our determination of whether this categorical
obligation arose.

In DeShaney, the Supreme Court held that the Due
Process Clause did not impose a duty on a state to protect
the life, liberty, and property of citizens from depriva-
tions by private actors absent the “State’s affirmative act
of restraining the individual’s freedom to act in his own
behalf.” Id. at 200, 109 S.Ct. at 1006. In that case, a state
agency repeatedly received reports of the abuse of Joshua
DeShaney by his father and, even after receiving these
reports, did not remove the child from his father’s cus-
tody. Eventually, the child suffered permanent brain dam-
age as a result of his father’s repeated beatings. The child
and his mother brought an action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983
against the state officials alleging that the state agency’s

A6é

inaction deprived Joshua DeShaney of his liberty in viola-
tion of the Due Process Clause. ‘

The Supreme Court began its analysis by noting that
the Due Process Clause “forbids the State itself to deprive
individuals of life, liberty, or property without ‘due pro-
cess of law.’ ” Id. at 195, 109 S.Ct. at 1003. However, the
Court stated that the Due Process Clause “cannot fairly
be extended to impose an affirmative obligation on the
State to ensure that those interests do not come to harm
through other means.” Id. The Court found that only “in
certain limited circumstances [does] the Constitution
impose[] upon the State affirmative duties of care and
protection with respect to particular individuals.” Id. at
198, 109 S.Ct. at 1004-05.

The Court recognized that this affirmative duty nas
been found to exist in only a few, limited situations. The
state must provide adequate medical care to prisoners, see
Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660, 82 S.Ct. 1417, 8
L.Ed.2d 758 (1962); the state must provide involuntarily
committed mental patients with services that are neces-
sary to ensure their reasonable safety from themselves
and others, see Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307, 314-25,
102 S.Ct. 2452, 2457-58, 78 L.Ed.2d 28 (1982); and suspects
in police custody who have been injured while being
apprehended by the police must be given medical care by
the state, see City of Revere v. Massachusetts Gen. Hosp., 463
U.S. 239, 244, 103 S.Ct. 2979, 2983, 77 L.Ed.2d 605 (1983).
The Court explicitly left open the possibility that this
affirmative duty to protect could arise if “the State by the
affirmative exercise of its power removed Joshua from
free society and placed him in a foster home operated by
its agents.” DeShaney, 489 U.S. at 201 n. 9, 109 S.Ct. at

A7

1006 n. 9. The Court indicated that such “a situation
[might be] sufficiently analogous to incarceration or insti-
tutionalization to give rise to an affirmative duty to pro-
tect.” Id. Since DeShaney, we have held that a child in the
state’s legal and physical custody who is placed in a
private foster care facility is in a sufficiently analogous
position to fall within this limited class of situations
where an affirmative duty does exist. Yvonne L. v. New
Mexico Dep’t of Human Servs., 959 F.2d 883 (10th
Cir.1992).2

In declining to find an affirmative duty in DeShaney,
the Court noted that the incarceration and institutionaliz-
ation cases only demonstrate “that when the State takes a
person into its custody and holds him there against his
will, the Constitution imposes upon it a corresponding
duty to assume some responsibility for his safety and
general well-being.” Id. 489 U.S. at 199-200, 109 S.Ct. at
1005. Most importantly, explaining the rationale behind
this principle, the Court stated that “when the State by
the affirmative exercise of its power so restrains an indi-
vidual’s liberty that it renders him unable to care for
himself, and at the same time fails to provide for his basic
human needs - e.g., food, clothing, shelter, medical care,
and reasonable safety — it transgresses the substantive
limits on state action set by the Eighth Amendment and

2 Three other circuits have reached the same conclusion. See
K.H. ex rel. Murphy v. Morgan. 914 F.2d 846 (7th Cir.1990); Taylor
ex rel. Walker v. Ledbetter, 818 F.2d 791 (11th Cir.1987) (en banc),
cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1065, 109 S.Ct. 1337, 103 L.Ed.2d 808 (1989);
Doe v. New York City Dep’t of Soc. Servs., 649 F.2d 134 (2d Cir.
1981).

A8

the Due process Clause.” Id. at 200, 109 S.Ct. at 1005-06.
The Court concluded that

[i]Jn the substantive due process analysis, it is
the State’s affirmative act of restraining the indi-
vidual’s freedom to act on his own behalf -
through incarceration, institutionalization, or
other similar restraint of personal liberty -
which is the “deprivation of liberty” triggering
the protections of the Due Process Clause, not
its failure to act to protect his liberty interests
against harms inflicted by other means.

Id. at 200, 109 S.Ct. at 1006 (footnote omitted). Thus, in
light of DeShaney, we must decide on this appeal whether
New Mexico State compulsory attendance laws? so
restrain a school child’s personal liberty that the Due
Process Clause imposes upon the state an affirmative
obligation to protect that child. _

We emphasize that Mark Maldonado’s situation does
not fall within the cases holding that extreme corporal
punishment, or sexual abuse and harassment by a school
teacher or counselor, can violate the substantive due pro-
cess rights of school children. In Ingraham v. Wright, 430
U.S. 651, 674, 97 S.Ct. 1401, 1414, 51 L.Ed.2d 711 (1977),
the Supreme Court held that “where school authorities,
acting under color of state law, deliberately decide[] to
punish a child for misconduct by restraining the child
and inflicting appreciable physical pain,” Fourteenth

3 The New Mexico Constitution, art. XII, § 6 provides that
“[e]very child of school age and of sufficient physical and men-
tal ability shall be required to attend a public or other school
during such a period and for such time as may be prescribed by
law.” See also N.M.Stat.Ann. §§ 22-12-1 to 22-12-7 (Michie 1978).

AY

Amendment liberty interests are implicated. In Garcia v.
Miera, 817 F.2d 650, 654 (10th Cir.1987), cert. denied, 485
U.S. 959, 108 S.Ct. 1220, 99 L.Ed.2d 421 (1988), we held
that Ingraham “clearly signaled that, at some degree of
excessiveness or cruelty, the meting out [of] such punish-
ment violates the substantive due process rights of the
pupil.” Similarly, the Third Circuit has held that school
authorities could be found liable for establishing and
maintaining a policy, practice, or custom with deliberate
indifference to the consequences when a student was
sexually abused by her teacher. Stoneking v. Bradford Area
Sch. Dist., 882 F.2d 720 (3d Cir.1989) (en banc), cert. denied,
493 U.S. 1044, 110 S.Ct. 840, 107 L.Ed.2d 835 (1990) (Stone-
king II). The court expressly distinguished DeShaney and
stated that “[nJothing in DeShaney suggests that state
officials may escape liability arising from their policies
maintained in deliberate indifference to actions taken by
their subordinates.” Id. at 725.

In the corporal punishment and sexual abuse con-
texts, a state actor directly inflicts the harm on the stu-
dent and thereby implicates the Due Process Clause
which itself imposes limitations on state conduct. In con-
trast, this case does not directly implicate these substan-
tive due process concerns because regardless of whether
the school teacher could have prevented the harm, she
did not directly inflict Mark Maldonado’s injury. Thus,
this case bears a closer resemblance to DeShaney, where
the harm was inflicted by a private actor, than to Garcia,
where a state actor inflicted the injury on a student. The
resemblance between this case and DeShaney explains
why our discussion of the relationship between the state
and public school students in Hilliard v. City and County of

A10

Denver, 930 F.2d 1516 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, _. ~ U.S. __,
112 S.Ct. 656, 116 L.Ed.2d 748 (1991), is inapposite.

In Hilliard, the police arrested the driver of an auto-
mobile and left the female passenger stranded in the
automobile. The police left the passenger without keys to
the automobile due to her intoxicated state; a third per-
son subsequently robbed and sexually assaulted her. We
reviewed Ingraham and concluded that “it was not clearly
established in 1988 that someone whose person was not
under some degree of physical control by the state or
who was not involved in a fourth amendment search or
seizure would have a clearly established, constitutionally
protected liberty interest.” Id. at 1520.

In reaching this conclusion, we briefly discussed the
relationship between school children and the state. We
stated that

[p]ublic school students, although not restricted
to the same degree as arrestees, convicts and
patients involuntarily committed to state mental
hospitals, are similarly involved in an environ-
ment where the state has some lawful control
over their liberty. Students are required by state
law to attend school and thus are prevented by
the state from voluntarily withdrawing from sit-
uations posing the risk of personal injury.

Id. Read in context, our discussion in Hilliard suggests
only that a party pursuing a substantive due process
claim under Ingraham must allege that she was subject to
at least the same degree of restraint that the state
imposed upon public school children. As we have already
noted, however, the present case does not implicate the
concerns that were addressed in either Ingraham or this

a

All

court’s decision in Garcia - namely, affirmative acts of
excessive or cruel punishment. Therefore, our discussion
in Hilliard about the relationship between the state and
public school students has little bearing on the question
that we must decide here.

This case presents us squarely with an issue that we
did not address in Hilliard - that is, whether a com-
pulsory state attendance law sufficiently restrains a
school child’s liberty so that the state incurs, under the
Due Process Clause, an affirmative duty to protect school
children who attend state-run schools from deprivations
by private actors. We hold that compulsory attendance
laws in no way restrain a child’s liberty so as to render
the child and his parents unable to care for the child’s
basic needs. Thus, no affirmative duty arises merely on
the basis of compulsory attendance laws.

This Third Circuit faced this precise issue in D.R. v.
Middle Bucks Area Vocational Technical Sch., 972 F.2d 1364
(3d Cir.1992) (en banc). In Middle Bucks, public high
school students sued Pennsylvania school authorities
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for harm suffered when they were
physically, verbally, and sexually molested by several
male students. The recurring assaults occurred through-
out the 1989-90 school year while the students attended a
graphic arts class. The plaintiffs argued that a special
relationship. existed between students and the school
authorities during the school day because the State’s
compulsory education laws so restrained the children’s
liberty interests that they should be deemed to be in the
State’s custody during school hours for purposes of the
Fourteenth Amendment. That special relationship, they
argued, gave rise to an affirmative constitutional duty on

Al2

the part of state officials to protect students from serious
harm. The court held that no special relationship based
upon a restraint of liberty existed, stating that “[b]y
requiring D.R. to attend assigned classes at Middle Bucks
as part of her high school educational program, and
authorizing officials to engage in disciplinary control
over the students, the school defendants did not restrict
D.R.’s freedom to the extent that she was prevented from
meeting her basic needs.” Id. at 1372.

The court distinguished the incarceration and institu-
tionalization cases from those involving school students
because the former involve “full time severe and contin-
uous state restriction[s] of liberty” and render the institu-
tionalized “wholly dependant upon the state . . . to meet
their basic needs.” Id. at 1371. In contrast, parents decide
where their children will be educated, and public school
children “remain resident in their homes [and] may turn
to persons unrelated to the state for help on a daily
basis.” Id. at 1372. The court also contrasted the school
student context with the foster care cases:

A relationship between the state and foster chil-
dren arises out of the state’s affirmative act in
finding the children and placing them with
state-approved families. By so doing, the state
assumes an important continuing, if not imme-
diate, responsibility for the child’s well-being.
In addition, the child’s placement renders him
or her dependent upon the state, through the
foster family, to meet the child’s basic needs.
Students, on the other hand, do not depend
upon the schools to provide for their basic
human needs.

Id. (citations omitted).

Al13

The Seventh Circuit reached the same conclusion in
J.O. v. Alton Community Unit Sch. Dist. 11, 909 F.2d 267
(7th Cir.1990). In Alton, parents of various students
brought an action against Illinois school authorities under
§ 1983 for violation of their children’s liberty interest as a
result of the alleged sexual molestation of their children
by a school teacher.* The plaintiffs argued that “the
school defendants had a ‘special relationship’ to the
school child», imposing an affirmative duty to provide
for their sa.cty and to prevent the child abuse that
occurred in this case.” Id. at 272. The Seventh Circuit
concluded that “the government, acting through local
school administrations, has not rendered its school-
children so helpless that an affirmative constitutional
duty to protect arises.” Id. The Seventh Circuit based this
conclusion on the fact that school children, unlike pris-
oners and mental patients, are able to provide for their
basic human needs and that “parents still retain primary
responsibility for feeding, clothing, sheltering, and caring
for the child.” Id.

After reviewing DeShaney, Middle Bucks, and Alton,
we agree with the Third and Seventh Circuits and con-
clude that compulsory attendance laws do not create an
affirmative constitutional duty to protect students from
the private actions of third parties while they attend

4 Despite the fact that the school teacher is a state actor, the
court distinguished Stoneking II because the plaintiffs argued
that the authorities were liable only because of their special
relationship with the students, not because they established or
maintained policies allowing the action to occur. Id. at 271-72.

Al4

school. Under DeShaney, an affirmative duty to protect
arises only when the state “so restrains an individual's
liberty that it renders him unable to care for himself, and
at the same time fails to provide for his basic human
needs.” DeShaney, 489 U.S. at 200, 109 S.Ct. at 1005. This
type of restraint simply does not occur under New Mex-
ico compulsory attendance laws. Although a child may
well be in the “custody” of the school authorities during
school hours, this custody does not amount to a restraint
that prohibits the child and his parents from caring for
the basic needs of the child. Compulsory attendance laws
do not alter the fact that parents retain ultimate respon-
sibility for their child’s food, shelter, clothing, medical
care, and reasonable safety.

Further, the state does not confine school children in
the same way that it confines prisoners, the institu-
tionalized, or children in foster homes. These individuals
depend completely on the state to satisfy their basic
human needs; the state restrains their liberty to such an
extent that it renders them unable to care for their own
basic needs. School children, on the other hand, can leave
school at the end of the day. The compulsory education

> Two recent district court opinions, relying on Alton,
reached the same conclusion. See Dorothy J. v. Little Rock, Sch.
Dist., 794 F.Supp. 1405 (E.D.Ark.1992) (holding that state laws
regarding compulsory education and in loco parentis authority
do not give rise to special relationship between school district
and student sexually assaulted by another student); Doe v. Dou-
glas County Sch. Dist. RE-1, 770 F.Supp. 591 (D.Colo.1991) (con-
cluding that special relationship did not exist between county
school district and student where school psychologist sexually
molested student). But see Waechter v. School Dist. No. 14-030, 773
F.Supp. 1005 (W.D.Mich.1991).

¢

a

Al15

laws do not change the fact that the parents are the
primary caretakers of the students; those same parents -
and not the state - must determine and address the basic
needs that each child has. This amount of freedom on the
part of the student and the degree of parental involve-
ment and control necessarily dictate that the state does
not become the primary caretaker simply by mandating
compulsory school attendance.

Thus, we conclude that compulsory attendance laws
do not impose the severe restraints on individual liberty
that implicate the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Although the facts of this case present a
truly tragic situation, the Due Process Clause “does not
transform every tort committed by a state actor into a
constitutional violation.” Id. at 202, 109 S.Ct. at 1007.

Because appellant does not appeal the district court’s
grant of summary judgment in favor of defendants
McGowen and Malano, we do not address whether Mal-
donado stated an independent basis for liability that is
not controlled by DeShaney. See Stoneking II, 882 F.2d at
725 (“Liability of municipal policymakers for policies or
customs chosen or recklessly maintained is not depen-
dent upon the existence of a ‘special relationship’
between the municipal officials and the individuals
harmed.”). We simply conclude that Maldonado has
failed to establish a constitutional deprivation with
regard to the school teacher’s liability. Therefore, appel-
lee is entitled to qualified immunity.

AFFIRMED.

SEYMOUR, Circuit Judge, concurring.

Al6

No sooner does this circuit determine that the state
owes children in its custody an affirmative duty of pro-
tection, Yvonne L. v. New Mexico Dep't of Human Servs., 959
F.2d 883, 893 (10th Cir.1992), than the majority here limits

~ that duty to exclude schoolchildren. While I concur in the

result reached by the majority opinion, I depart from its
analysis at a critical point. Rather than conclude flatly
that no affirmative duty exists in this situation, I would
follow the analysis set out in Yvonne L., 959 F.2d at 890-93,
and hold that a child legally required to attend school
and thereby forced into the temporary day-time custody
of the state’s agents is constitutionally entitled to some
level of protection from harm and care for basic safety. |
would nonetheless affirm summary judgment in defen-
dant’s favor because there is no evidence in the record
that the teacher was deliberately indifferent to the danger
that awaited Mark Maldonado, and thus no issue of mate-
rial fact with respect to defendant’s breach of a clear
affirmative duty.

DeShaney v. Winnebago County Dep't of Social Servs.,
489 U.S. 189, 109 S.Ct. 998, 103 L.Ed.2d 249 (1989), as the
majority recognizes, interprets past Supreme Court prece-
dent as holding that “when the State takes a person into
its custody and holds him there against his will, the
Constitution imposes upon it a corresponding duty to
assume some responsibility for his safety and general
well-being.” Id. at 199-200, 109 S.Ct. at 1005. The idea is
simply that the state assumes an obligation to fulfill the
“basic human needs - ¢.g., food, clothing, shelter, medical
care, and reasonable safety,” id. at 200, 109 S.Ct. at 1005
(emphasis added), of those people whom the state has
rendered unable to care for themselves.

Al7

In Yvonne L., we followed a number of other courts in
concluding that state foster care is a situation in which
the state, by shouldering the responsibility to care for
children, incurs an affirmative constitutional duty to
insure their reasonable safety. We held that an affirmative
duty to foster children follows from the line of cases
imposing such a duty on the state with respect to pretrial
detainees, see City of Revere v. Massachusetts General Hosp.,
463 U.S. 239, 103 S.Ct. 2979, 77 L.Ed.2d 605 (1983) (duty to
provide medical care), mentally disabled people in state
institutions, see Youngberry v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307, 102
S.Ct. 2452, 73 L.Ed.2d 28 (1982) (duty to insure reasonable
safety), and prisoners, see Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 97
S.Ct. 285, 50 L.Ed.2d 251 (1976) (duty to provide medical
care). We also analogized the situation of children in state
foster care to that of juveniles involuntarily placed by the
state in a private boarding school, see Milonas v. Williams,
691 F.2d 931 (10th Cir.1982), cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1069, 103
S.Ct. 1524, 75 L.Ed.2d 947 (1983). On the basis of this line
of cases and the above-quoted language from DeShaney,
we concluded that “[i]f defendants knew of the asserted
danger to plaintiffs or failed to exercise professional judg-
ment with respect thereto, .. . and if an affirmative link to
the injuries plaintiffs suffered can be shown, then... de-
fendants violated plaintiffs’ constitutional rights.” Yvonne
L., 959 F.2d at 890.

The majority attempts to distinguish the custodial
situations described in DeShaney and Yvonne L. from the
facts presented here by observing that compulsory atten-
dance laws do not “render the child and his parents
unable to care for the child’s basic needs.” Maj. op. at 7°21.
To reach this conclusion, the majority focuses on .wo

Al18

circuit court decisions. In J.O. v. Alton Community Unit
Sch. Dist. 11, 909 F.2d 267 (7th Cir.1990), the Seventh
Circuit concluded that a school district is not constitu-
tionally liable for the sexual molestation of students by
their teacher because compulsory attendance laws do not
create “responsibility for [the students’] entire personal
lives.”! Id. at 272. Following a similar rationale, the Third
Circuit held that compulsory attendance laws do not
create an affirmative duty to protect high school students
from repeated sexual assaults by other students because
children in school are still able to meet their own “basic
needs.” D.R. v. Middle Bucks Area Vocational Technical Sch.,
972 F.2d 1364 (3d Cir.1992) (en banc). Both courts read
DeShaney as finding an affirmative duty to protect only
when the state has physical custody of the individual.
Under this analysis, school children, as residents in their
parents’ homes, are not in custody of the state. Therefore,
parents retain responsibility for providing for the chil-
dren’s basic needs, including protection during school
hours. The Third Circuit further stated that, to provide
this protection, parents may remove their children from
public school in favor of home education or private

1 The suggestion in Alton that sexual assault is a matter of
one’s “personal life” is as offensive as it is bizarre. No one, to
my knowledge, has contended that a school district is to be held
constitutionally responsible for all harm that may befall a stu-
dent, no matter when or where. A school or teacher may none-
theless assume an obligation to protect its students during those
hours that a student is on school premises or in a classroom as
required by state law.

Al19

schools. The Third Circuit also found no custodial rela-
tionship stemming from a restraint of the student’s lib-
erty since the student “could, and did, leave the school
building every day. The state . . . thus did not deny her
meaningful access to sources of help.” Id. at 1372.

Much of the Middle Bucks analysis does not support
the majority’s opinion here. Unlike the repeated incidents
in Middle Bucks and Alton, a sole incident is the basis of
Mark Maldonado’s death. No warnings or previous inju-
ries existed to alert Mark’s parents or to allow Mark to
“seek help.” Moreover, even if such warnings had exis-
ted, the belief that alternatives to public education are
easily found is misplaced. “For the vast majority of chil-
dren of school age, [there] is no choice at all.” Middle
Bucks, 972 F.2d at 1380 (Sloviter, C.J., dissenting).

Beyond the stark differences in facts, the basis of the
holdings in Alton and Middle Bucks is off the mark. Obvi-
ously, a parent does not lose all control over, nor all
responsibility for, satisfying a child’s basic needs simply
as a result of school attendance laws. But younger chil-
dren are incapable of providing for their own basic needs;
they depend on parents or other caretakers to provide for
them.? Even older children may be forced by school disci-
plinary procedures and rules to rely on authority figures
at school to protect them from harm. | cannot fathom

2 Even the Third Circuit recognized the difference between
younger and older school children. In discussing whether high
school children are in some sort of custody of the school during
school hours, the court in Middle Bucks stated: ” ‘[e]xcept perhaps
when very young, the child is not physically restrained from
leaving school during school hours.’” Id. at 1372 (quoting
Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651, 670, 97 S.Ct. 1401, 1412, 51
L.Ed.2d 711 (1977) (emphasis added).

A20

who, other than a teacher or other school staff member, is
capable of ensuring the “reasonable safety” of school-
children during the school day and class periods.

A number of district court cases are at odds with the
holdings of Alton and Middle Bucks, followed by the
majority here, that public school personnel owe no consti-
tutional duty to children in their care. In Pagano v. Massa-
pequa Pub. Schs., 714 F.Supp. 641, 643 (E.D.N.Y.1989), for
example, the court held “elementary school students who
are required to attend school... to be owed some duty of
care by [school] defendants.” Id. at 643. Similarly, a dis-
trict court more recently held that.a student “was in a
custodial relationship” with his teacher, who required the
student to run a 350 yard sprint despite his knowledge of
the student’s congenital heart defect. Waechter v. School
Dist. No. 14-030, 773 F.Supp. 1005, 1009 (W.D.Mich.1991).*
But see Dorothy J. v. Little Rock Sch. Dist., 794 F.Supp. 1405
(E.D.Ark.1992) (following Alton).

Although I believe the state owes a constitutional
duty to provide for the reasonable safety to children
required to attend school. | would nevertheless affirm the
dismissal of the complaint in this case. Because the com-
plaint does not allege that the teacher was deliberately
indifferent to the potential danger to Mark Maldonado, it
fails to state a breach of the teacher’s duty. See Appel-
lant’s Appendix at 1-6. | do not believe the Constitution

3 Because the teacher was the direct cause of harm in Wae-
chter, that case could presumably have also been brought under
the line of cases following Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651, 97
S.Ct. 1401, 51 L.Ed.2d 711 (1977). See, e.g., Garcia v. Miera, 817
F.2d 650 (10th Cir.1987) cert. denied, 485 U.S. 959, 108 S.Ct. 1220,
99 L.Ed.2d 421 (1988).

A2]

requires an elementary school teacher to protect her stu-
dents from unknown and unforeseen harms, or to follow
the minute-by-minute progress of her eleven-year-old
charges. Even accepting as true the allegations that the
teacher “permitt[ed] him to leave the classroom and
remain in the cloakroom unsupervised for [twenty min-
utes],” id. at 3, there is nothing that suggests either the
teacher’s “deliberate indifference” or “failure to exercise
professional judgment,” see Yvonne L., 959 F.2d at 893-94.
Under the facts as alleged, the teacher did not breach the
duty I believe the Constitution imposes.

The ground on which I concur, however, is a far cry
from the majority’s holding that no constitutional duty
exists in any case. Under the majority’s holding, children
suffering all manner of injuries attributable to the know-
ing inaction of state officials charged with their supervi-
sion and care will be unable to pursue federal
constitutional claims. We do not adequately discharge our
duty to interpret the Constitution by merely describing
the facts as “tragic” and invoking state tort law, see maj.
op. at 732.4 In my judgment, the Fourteenth Amendment
requires that we recognize some affirmative duty on the
part of public school teachers to protect students who are
in the total care of the school during the period of their
compulsory attendance.

4 Such an abdication is particularly disingenuous when, as
here, the teacher or other state actor is insulated from state
liability under a state tort claims act, see N.M.Stat.Ann. § 41-4-4
(1989).

Bl

APPENDIX B

Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals Judgment in Mal-
donado v. Josey

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

LEROY MALDONADO, Personal
Representative of the Estate of
MARK P. MALDONADO,
Deceased,

)
)
)
)
)
Plaintiff — Appellant, ) No. 91-2176
) (D.C. No.
m ) CIV-90-267-JC)
ANNE JOSEY, Personal )
Representative of the Estate of )
MARGARET BERRY, Deceased; )
BUTCH MOGOWEN, PAUL )
MALANO, in their individual )
capacities only, )

)

)

Defendants — Appellees.

JUDGMENT
Entered September 16, 1992

Before SEYMOUR and TACHA, Circuit Judges, and BEN-
SON*, District Judge.

*The Honorable Dee V. Benson, District Judge for the
United States District Court ofr [sic] the District of Utah,
sitting by designation.

———

B2

This cause came on to be heard on the record on
appeal from the United States District Court for tne Dis-
trict of New Mexico, and was argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the
judgment of that court is affirmed.

A true copy Entered for the Court

Teste ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk
Robert L. Hoecker By: /s/ Patrick Fisher
Clerk, U. S. Court of Patrick Fisher
Appeals, Tenth Circuit Chief Deputy Clerk

By
/s/ \llegible

Deputy Clerk

Cl

APPENDIX C

U.S. District Court, District of New Mexico, Summary
Judgment Opinion and order

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

LeROY MALDONADO, Personal Pig biel
Representative of the Estate J
of Mark P. Maldonado, Deceased, FILED
a UNITED STATES
Plaintiff, DISTRICT
VS. COURT
ANNE JOSEY, Personal Representa- JUL 8 1991

tive -

of the Estate of Margaret Berry,
Deceased; BUTCH McGOWEN and
PAUL MALANO, in their individual
capacities only,

Defendants.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

THIS MATTER having come before the Court upon
the Motion for Summary Judgment filed by all Defen-
dants on the issue of qualified immunity. On June 26,
1991, a hearing was held on the motions. The Plaintiff,
LeRoy Maldonado, personal representative of the Estate
of Mark P. Maldonado, was represented by counsel of
record, Defendant, Anne Josey, personal representative of
the estate of Margaret Berry, appeared in person and was
represented by counsel of record and Defendants Butch
McGowen and Paul Malano were represented by counsel
of record. The Court, after reviewing the pleadings filed
herein, hearing argument of counsel and being otherwise

ae

C2

fully advised in the premise, finds that the motions for
summary judgment as to all Defendants are well taken.

In support of this ruling, the Court states the following:

1. There has been no showing by the Plaintiff that
the need for more or different training is so obvious, and
the inadequacy so likely to result in the violation of
constitutional rights that the school administrators can
reasonably be said to have been deliberately indifferent.
Stoneking v. Bradford Area School District, 882 F.2d 720, 725
(34d Cir. 1989) City of Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378, 109
S.Ct. 1197, 103 L.Ed.2d 412 (1989). There is no viable
substantive due process claim against Malano and
McGowen based upon supervisory liability theories.

2. On March 16, 1987, the law was not clearly estab-
lished as to a teacher’s duty to observe every student in
class for the time the students are in class. The law is still
not clearly established that there is a duty to protect
children who are compelled by state law to attend school
who are physically mistreated by school district
employees. Stoneking v. Bradford Area School District, 882
F.2d 720, 724 (3rd Cir. 1989). There has been no showing
of any cases addressing the failure to supervise students
in a classroom. The Court in Stoneking could not find the
law well established as to the sexual abuse of children in
school. Therefore this Court cannot find the law well
established as to the supervisory duty of a teacher in a
classroom. At the time of Mark Maldonado’s death, the
law was not clearly established that grossly negligent,
reckless or grossly reckless failure to supervise a public
school student may give rise to a Section 1983 Fourteenth
Amendment substantive due process violation. Margaret
Berry, deceased, is therefore entitled to qualified immu-
nity. This decision as to defendant Ann Josey, Personal

C3

Representative of the Estate of Margaret Berry, Deceased,
is based upon the defense of qualified immunity.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Defendants’ motion
for summary judgment is hereby granted. Plaintiff's Com-
plaint is dismissed with prejudice as to all defendants.

/s/ John E. Conway
DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

SUBMITTED BY:
BEALL, PELTON, O’BRIEN & BROWN

By: /s/ Kevin M. Brown
KEVIN M. BROWN
Attorney for Defendants

APPROVED BY:

By: /s/ John B. Roesler
JOHN B. ROESLER
Attorney for Plaintiff

By: /s/ Ernesto J. Romero by John Roesler
ERNESTO J. ROMERO
Attorney for Plaintiff

By: /s/ Stephen Tinkler by John Roesler
STEPHEN E. TINKLER
Attorney for Plaintiff

APPROVED :

By: /s/ Illegible
STEPHEN M. WILLIAMS
Attorney for Defendant
Anne Josey

D1

APPENDIX D

Application No. A-423 for extension of time to file petition
for a writ of certiorari, filed November 30, 1992, and Order
by Justice Byron R. White, filed November 30, 1992, grant-
ing extension to and including December 24, 1992.

ROTH, VANAMBERG, GROSS, ROGERS & ORTIZ
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
347 EAST PALACE AVENUE
SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO 87501

MICHAEL P. GROSS (NM,AZ) MAILING
RAYMOND Z. ORTIZ (NM,DC ADDRESS:
CARL BRYANT ROGERS (NM)
F. JOEL ROTH (NM) say gis
RONALD J. VANAMBERG (NM) hg
eee 87504-1447
JOHN B. ROESLER (NM,MO)

TELEPHONE

(505)283-7319
(505)288-8979

TELECOPIER
(505) 983-7508
November 25, 1992

VIA FEDERAL EXPRESS

William K. Suter

Clerk of the Court

United States Supreme Court
One First Street NE
Washington, D.C. 20543

Re: Rule 13.2 Request for Extension of Time to File
Petition for A writ of Certiorari

Dear Mr. Suter:

I respectfully request a one week extension of time from
December 16, 1992, to and including December 24, 1992,

|

D2

within which to file petition for writ of certiorari to
review the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals decision in
Maldonado v. Josey, No. 91-2176, 1992 W.L. 221991, ___ F.2d
____ (10th Cir. Sept. 16, 1992), copy of slip. op. attached.

Good cause exists to grant this extension. | am faced with
a December 21, 1992 completion deadline on a public
school law treatise under contract with Am Jur Trials.

I would appreciate the Court’s indulgence in considering
the Maldonado petition along with two other current peti-
tions presenting the same issue of law, i.e., whether the
Court should extend DeShaney “custodial duty” protec-
tion to public schools. See D.R. v. Middle Bucks Area Voca-
tional Technical School, No’s. 91-1136 & 91-1137, 1992 W.L.
19115, ss F.2d ___ (3rd Cir. August 11, 1992) (cert. pend-
ing, Sup. Ct. Docket No. 92-816), and Doe v. Taylor Inde-
pendent School Dist., No. 90-8431, 1992 W.L. 247175, ___
F.2d __ (5th Cir. Oct. 2, 1992) (cert. pending as of Friday,
November 27, 1992).

Thank you for your consideration of this matter.
Sincerely,

/s/ John Roesler
JOHN B. ROESLER
JBR:clg

Enclosure

cc: Messrs. Stephen E. Tinkler, Ernesto J. Romero, Step-
hen M. Williams and Kevin M. Brown; Mr. & Mrs.
LeRoy Maldonado

ier nerereennnnenenieel

D3

Supreme Court of the United States
No.
A-423
Leroy Maldonado,
Petitioner
V.

Anne Josey, et al.

ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of coun-
sel for the petitioner,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing a petition for
a writ of certiorari in the above-entitled case, be and the
same is hereby, extended to and including

December 24, 1992.

/s/ Byron R. White
Associate Justice
of the Supreme
Court of the United States

Dated this 30th

day of November, 1992.

El

APPENDIX E

Excerpts from Tenth Circuit Brief of Appellant regard-
ing Section 1983/Wrongful Death deprivation of life
without due process of law claim, and the Statement of
the Issue and Statement of the Case as pertain to the
deprivation of life claim.

* * *

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

Was the law “clearly established” on March 16, 1987,
so as to satisfy the first “purely legal” step of the two-
part Harlow v. Fitzgerald test, that the Fourteenth Amend-
ment liberty interest and protection from deprivation of
life without due process of law were implicated, respec-
tively, by a public school teacher’s failure to provide
“reasonable care and safety” during class for grade
school children, and by “reckless indifference” to super-
vision requirements at a public grade school, causing
death of a pupil?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Summary Judgment as to all defendants was granted
by the District Court on July 8, 1991, on the basis of
qualified immunity (Aplt’s Append. pp. 118-120), and
Notice of Appeal was filed on August 7, 1991 (Aplt’s
Append. pp. 121-122). This appeal pertains only to the
defendant-appellee classroom teacher’s liability, and the
first purely legal inquiry of the two-part Harlow v.
Fitzgerald, infra, test, namely whether the liberty interest

E2

and protection from deprivation of life without due pro-
cess were Clearly established and implicated in this case
on March 16, 1987, the date of alleged wrongful death.

As stated and alleged in plaintiff-appellant’s “First
Amended Complaint To Recover Damages For Wrongful
Death, Violation of Civil Rights,” filed on August 7, 1990
(Aplt’s Append. pp. 1-7), this is an action for monetary
damages by decedent’s estate under Title 42 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 1983 for the wrongful death of fifth grade student
Mark P. Maldonado at Kearney Elementary School, a
public elementary

* * *

Moreover, a separate Federal common law “Section
1983/Wrongful Death” claim for “deprivation of life without
due process of law” has been stated! The threshold here for
stating a claim or recovery is “reckless indifference.” See
Bell v. City of Milwaukee, 746 F.2d 2305 (7th Cir. 1984),
decided three years prior to the wrongful death in this
case. (Berry v. City of Muskogee, 900 F.2d 1489 (10th Cir.
1990), recently modified the damages element of the
claim, however the Constitutional right to be free from
“reckless indifference” while one is under the care, cus-
tody, supervision or control of the State remains the
same. The basic legal right not to be deprived of life
without due process of law while in the care and control
of the State was clearly established and implicated on
March 16, 1987. But for the classroom teacher’s “reckless
indifference” to supervision of this child, who was
entrusted to her supervision and control, Mark Mal-
donado would not have died on March 16, 1987.

ue * .

Fl

APPENDIX F

New Mexico Compulsory School Attendance Law, Sec-
tion 22-12-2 1978 N.M.S.A., as amended.

22-12-2. Compulsory school attendance;
responsibility.

A. Any qualified student and any person
who because of his age is eligible to become a
qualified student as defined by the Public
School Finance Act [22-8-1 to 22-8-42 NMSA
1978] until attaining the age of majority shall
attend a public school, a private school, a home
school or a state institution. A person shall be
excused from this requirement if:

(1) the person is specifically exempted
by law from the provisions of this section;

(2) the person has graduated from a
high school;

(3) the person is at least sixteen years
of age and has been excused by the local school
board or its authorized representative upon a
finding that the person will be employed in a
gainful trade or occupation or engaged in an
alternative form of education sufficient for the
person’s educational needs and the parent,
guardian or other person having custody and
control consents;

(4) with consent of the parent, guard-
ian or person having custody and control of the
person to be excused, the person is excused
from the provisions of this section by the super-
intendent of schools of the school district in
which the person is a resident and the person is
under eight years of age; or

Ieee

F2

(5) the person is judged, based on
standards and procedures adopted by the state
board, to be unable to benefit from instruction
because of learning disabilities or mental, physi-
cal or emotional conditions.

B. A person subject to the provisions of the
Compulsory School Attendance Law [22-12-1 to
22-12-7 NMSA 1978] shall attend school for at
ieast the length of time of the school year that is
established in the school district in which the
person is a resident.

C. Any parent, guardian or person having
custody and control of a person subject to the
provisions of the Compulsory School Atten-
dance Law is responsible for the school atten-
dance of that person.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1784%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
