# Opposition Brief — McGovern v. Town of Wilton

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1748%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 873

## Text

wesepee were MI hg We we

2. & D
FEB 5 1993

No. 92-961

a ee
In the Supreme Court of the Cinited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1992

MITCHELL LIPSHUTZ, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM C. BRYSON
Acting Solicitor General
JOHN C. KEENEY
Acting Assistant Attorney General
VICKI S. MARANI
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the jury that convicted petitioner, a judge
who accepted a payoff from a union official, was properly
instructed on the elements of 18 U.S.C. 1951 where the
jury was told that it could convict only if it feund that
petitioner accepted the cash knowing it was given with
the expectation that he would extend some benefit or
refrain from taking some harmful action.

2. Whether the government proved the interstate
commerce element of 18 U.S.C. 1951 beyond a reasonable
doubt.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I Sadana asdicbed nun cdidepaduncbeninabsdaquneehacebasebeess 1
PIII nscckcsseccncncnssapsescsosnnssnncssncsncsncosnensencesessosesonsosoceses iva
a sadeamnbamsnanncatehesnincovaces 2
Tn airatilleskiuadinnctasaentokanasidasnsttinnesaetevsbnnestnbasnnstense 10
ss een gecmbavnsnsnntinouces 16
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: ;
Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420 (1984) ...................0 13
Evans v. United States, 112 S. Ct. 1881 (1992) ................ 10, 12
McCormick v. United States, 111 S. Ct. 1807 (1991) ........ 6, 10, 12
Solorio v. United States, 483 U.S. 485 (1987) .................. 13
Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212 (1960) .................. 15
United States v. Cerilli, 6038 F.2d 1043 (8d Cir.), cert.
I I I sci tacensseneneqnannensnscsansscese 15
United States v. McKenna, 889 F.2d 1168 (1st Cir. 1989). 15
United States v. Murphy, 768 F.2d 1518 (7th Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1012 (1986) ................cceeeeceeeeeeeees 15
Constitution and statutes:
U.S. Const. Amend. V (Double Jeopardy Clause) ............ 9
ccc nccck while dhubeencneubcansspneshsoonscsoonesse 2
Is camsenunnsnabacosonciis 12
oa saichbanbtceannnnescnenesees 12

(III)

'
'
‘
'
i
.
i
’ )
i vel
: -
t
,
’
,
'
‘
‘
F mn
‘
.
f
5
~ —
ad
i Pa)
’ bile stn
a
ie : rae
) phe lata
; Pe ny
~~

Ce eee ee) ae eee ay eee ae oe

$$ LL en

In the Supreme Court of the Ginited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

No. 92-961
MITCHELL LIPSHUTZ, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The judgment order of the court of appeals, Pet.
App. la-3a, is unpublished, but it is noted at 972 F.2d

1333 (Table).
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
July 18, 1992. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on October 13, 1992 (a Tuesday following a
Monday holiday). The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,
petitioner was convicted of extortion under color of
official right, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1951. He was
sentenced to 18 months’ imprisonment. Pet. C.A. App.
Da3.' The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-3a.

1. a. In 1985, the Roofers Union in Philadelphia
was the subject of an investigation concerning payoffs
to political officials. Through electronic surveillance
of the union hall, law enforcement authorities
discovered that Steven. Traitz, the union’s business
agent, planned to continue the union’s practice of
giving cash at Christmas to public officials—
including petitioner, then a judge of the Philadelphia
Municipal Court—who could be of help to the union
and its members. Gov’t C.A. Br. 3; see also Pet. 9-13,
15-16.

On December 3, 1985, Traitz told a union member
that he intended to give $300 to some judges and $500
to others. “In other words,” he explained, “the guys
that I use, I[] get ‘em 500.” Pet. C.A. App. Da56-Da57;
see also id. at Dall3 (Traitz remarking to union

1 The record on appeal in this case consisted of a videotape
recording of the trial and tape recordings of conversations.
Transcripts of the latter were reproduced in the appendix that
petitioner filed with the court of appeals. The videotape was
also transcribed, but the court of appeals required the parties
to cite to the videotape, except for the small portion of the
transcript reproduced in the appendix. In discussing the
evidence at trial, we cite principally to petitioner’s appendix
and to the government’s brief in the court of appeals, which in
turn cites to the relevant portions of the videotape.

~~

3

member on December 9, 1985, that “the Judges will
take care of us. I take care of them good.”). On
December 5, 1985, Traitz and several union stewards
stuffed envelopes with the cash intended for public
officials. Gov’t C.A. Br. 4, 38. Traitz mentioned that a
previous business agent for the union “used to give
his top judges 500.” Pet. C.A. App. Da71; Pet. 15
(quoting Traitz). Traitz announced that, to “[t]he
guys with balls, I’m gonna [glive five.” Jbid.; Pet. 15
(quoting Traitz). Identifying petitioner as one such
judge, Traitz stuffed an envelope for him with $500.
Ibid.; see also Pet. C.A. App. Da71, Da78, Da94, Da100;
Gov’t C.A. Br. 4, 38.

On December 6, 1985, during a conversation about
when the money would be distributed, Traitz told a
union member that he would be seeing petitioner.
Pet. C.A. App. Dall0-Dalll. Four days later, peti-
tioner, accompanied by his girlfriend Linda Dincel,
accepted the money from Traitz at the Riverfront
Restaurant in Philadelphia. Gov’t C.A. Br. 5; see also
Pet. 16, 19. Later that day, Traitz told union
members that he was not worried about a particular
judge who “got scared” because “it'll go in front of
one of my other friends and I’ll be alright. * * * I can
always go to Braig or go to [petitioner] and tell ‘em
‘Hey, I need help.” Pet. C.A. App. Da118-Da119.

b. In the fall of 1985, Robert Nagel, an employee of
Town and Country Roofing, approached Traitz about
obtaining legal representation for Nagel’s nephew,
Eric Burns, who had been arrested by Philadelphia
police for theft and receiving stolen property. Those
offenses were misdemeanors triable in Municipal
Court before petitioner. On November 27, 1985,

4

Burns’ trial date, Traitz called petitioner and told him
that Burns would be appearing before him.? Traitz
identified Burns as “one of my guys’ nephews” and
said that Burns needed a “clean bill to get into the
army.” The case was called, but the complaining wit-
ness was unavailable due to illness. Petitioner
continued the case to a special listing before himself
on December 30, 1985. Gov’t C.A. Br. 3, 4, 40; Pet.
C.A. App. Da46-Da50; see also Pet. 13-15, 20.

On December 30, Burns appeared before petitioner
for trial. Gov’t C.A. Br. 5. The case was tried to the
bench. /bid.2 After hearing the evidence, petitioner
(who apparently had forgotten Traitz’s call about the
case) found Burns guilty of receiving stolen property,
noting that he did not “have too much trouble”
arriving at that verdict. Pet. C.A. App. Dal63-Dal64.
Burns’ attorney then asked if Robert Nagel, Burns’
uncle, might speak on Burns’ behalf. /bid. Petitioner
replied that he would hear Nagel only on the question
of sentencing, explaining that “(t]he case has already
been disposed of, as far as the verdict is concerned.”
Id. at Dal64. After Nagel stated that Burns was
planning to enlist in the armed forces, the following
exchange occurred:

BY MR. PADOVA [defense counsel]:
Q. Who does [Burns] work for?

2 Only Traitz’s end of the conversation was recorded,
because the recording device was in the union hall’s ceiling.
Gov’t C.A. Br. 4.

8 The transcript of the Burns trial, Pet. C.A. App. Dal29-
Dal70, was admitted into evidence at petitioner’s trial. Gov’t
C.A. Br. 40.

5

A. He works for the Roofer’s Union, and he
works for me. I am in the Roofer’s Union.

THE COURT [petitioner]:

It just seems a shame if he wants to go into
the Air Force—

MR. NAGEL:

I have heen suggesting the Navy, Your
Honor.

THE COURT:
Let me see counsel in the back.

Id. at Dai65-Dal66.

Petitioner then conducted an off-the-record dis-
cussion in which he berated defense counsel for not
calling Nagel as a character witness and told the
assistant district attorney that the case would be
reversed on appeal. Pet. C.A. App. Dal166; Gov’t C.A.
Br. 8. Petitioner set aside the conviction, granted a
new trial, incorporated the record from the previous
trial, and accepted a stipulation as to what Nagel’s
testimony would be. Petitioner then acquitted Burns.
Pet. C.A. App. Dal66-Dal169; Gov’t C.A. Br. 8.

c. On February 10, 1986, two FBI agents inter-
viewed petitioner at his home. When asked if Traitz
had given him an envelope containing $500 at the
Riverfront Restaurant on December 10, 1985, peti-
tioner replied that he would have to “cudgel” his
memory. When asked if Traitz had ever asked him to

6

intercede in a case, petitioner said that he could not
recall. Gov’t C.A. Br. 8-9, 40; Pet. 26-27.‘

d. On April 29, 1986, one day before the filing
deadline, petitioner filed a financial disclosure form
with the Pennsylvania Supreme Court listing a $500
personal gift from Traitz. Gov’t C.A. Br. 9; Pet. 39.

2. Petitioner testified in his own defense. He
admitted that Traitz gave him $500 in the Riverfront
Restaurant on December 10, 1985, but he claimed that
he and Traitz were longtime friends and that the
money was a wedding gift. He denied that he had set
aside Burns’ conviction as a result of his telephone
conversation with Traitz about the case. Gov’t C.A.
Br. 9, 26-27; Pet. 4-5.

At the close of the evidence, petitioner moved for a
judgment of acquittal, relying on McCormick v.
United States, 111 S. Ct. 1807 (1991), to support his
claim that “the mere receipt of money in itself is
ambiguous.” July 17, 1991, Tr. 172. The court denied
the motion. It noted that, unlike this case,
McCormick involved a payment that was alleged to be
a campaign contribution. The court explained that it
could see “the great danger to anybody holding public
office of confusing their responding to a constituent’s
needs and having also received a campaign con-
tribution from that constituent.” Jd. at 173. “But,”
the court continued, “what is a judge allowed to do for
a constituent? Nothing.” /bid.

4 Linda Dincel, who had been present at the restaurant
when petitioner received the $500, was also present during
much of petitioner’s interview with the FBI agent, but made
no comment. She married petitioner 12 days later. Gov’t C.A.
Br. 9.

7

Prior to instructing the jury, the district court
described the instructions it planned to give. With
respect to the elements of extortion under color of
official right, the court said, among other things, that
it intended to instruct the jury that “i]t is enough
that the benefactor transfers something of significant
value to the public official, with the expectation that
the public official wili extend to him some benefit or
refrain from some harmful action. And the public
official accepts the thing of significant value, knowing
that it is being transferred to him because of his
office.” July 19, 1991, Tr. 148. Defense counsel
responded: “I take it then, you’re rejecting the
Defendant’s point for charge that was submitted this
day to the Court?” Jd. at 149. The court said “yes.”
Defense counsel then turned to what he referred to as
a question “of particular concern, * * * the
admissibility of the tapes.” bid.°

The district court instructed the jury as follows:

Extortion under color of official right is the
wrongful taking or accepting by a public
official of money or other property not due him
or his office. It is enough that the benefactor
transfers something of significant value to the
public official with the expectation that the

5 While arguing that petitioner sought an instruction that
“required proof of a quid pro quo,” Pet. 5, petitioner has not
reproduced the instruction that was requested, and we have
not been able to locate such a requested instruction, either in
the record or elsewhere. (Government trial counsel’s recollec-
tion is that defense counsel gave the district court a handwrit-
ten proposed instructi8n shortly before the court described the
instructions it planned to give.)

8

public official will extend to him some benefit
or refrain from some harmful action. And the
public official accepts the thing of significant
value * * * that is being transferred to him
because of his office.

All that is necessary is that the motivation
for the payment or giving of property, be the
public official’s office to which the defendant
was not entitled. In short, the benefits must
have been given to the defendant because of his
public office and the defendant must have
accepted the benefit knowing the motive.

There’s no requirement that the public
official induced the payment, or giving of other
property in the sense that he demanded it,
initiated it, suggested it or solicited it. The
public office itself provides the inducement for
the giving of the property.

The Government need not prove as part of its
case that the public official misused his office
in a sense that he granted some benefit or
advantage to his benefactor to which the
benefactor was not entitled.

A public official misuses his office when he
passively receives and retains property
because of his office. In short, the Government
need not show that the defendant did anything
for the person or entity which gave him
property or even promised to do so. A public
official’s retention of things of value paid to
him by private persons for performance of
official duty is a misuse of his office in and of

ecto mata ae

9

itself. This is true, even if the public official
accepts property for an implicit promise of fair
treatment.

It is not necessary to prove that the
defendant obtained or accepted money or
property through the use of coercion, duress or
fear toward the payor.

Pet. C.A. App. Dal74-Dal75. See also id. at Dal73
(government must prove beyond a reasonable doubt
that “the money was given to the defendant due to his
official position, that is, because he was a judge,” and
that “the defendant accepted the money knowing that
it was being given to him because of his official
position”), Dal75-Dal76 (same), Dal77-Dal178 (same).

4. The court of appeals affirmed by judgment order.
Pet. App. la-3a. The court stated that it had con-
sidered petitioner’s contention that “the district
court erred in ruling that the Hobbs Act does not
require proof of a quid pro quo in the context of
alleged under color of official right offenses,” as well
as his claim that the case “must be remanded for a
hearing as to whether the money paid to [petitioner]
by Traitz was derived from a fund properly classified
as an asset of the Roofer’s Union|.}” Pet. App. 2a.°

6 The cuurt likewise rejected petitioner’s contentions that
the government had not “adduced sufficient evidence of [his]
knowledge that the money was provided to him because of his
office,” Pet. App. 2a; that some of the district court’s eviden-
tiary rulings “violated [his] rights to confrontation and a fair
trial,” Pet. App. la-2a; and that his prosecution in federal court
violated the Double Jeopardy Clause and his right to a speedy
trial, Pet. App. 2a. Although petitioner mentions the last of

10

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner first contends, Pet. 40-63, that the
district court should have instructed the jury that it
could not convict him unless the government proved
that he agreed to commit a specific act in return for
the payoff. There is no merit to that contention.

In McCormick v. United States, supra, which
involved the receipt of campaign contributions, this
Court heid that “(t]he receipt of contributions is * * *
vulnerable under the [Hobbs] Act as having been
taken under color of official right, but only if the
payments are made in return for an explicit promise
or undertaking by the official to perform or not to
perform an official act.” 111 S. Ct. at 1816. The Court
reasoned that “[t]o hold otherwise would open to
prosecution not only conduct that has long been
thought to be well within the law but also conduct
that in a very real sense is unavoidable so long as
election campaigns are financed by private con-
tributions or expenditures, as they have been from
the beginning of the Nation.” Jbid. In Evans v.
United States, 112 S. Ct. 1881 (1992), in contrast,
which involved the receipt of a $7,000 payment that
was not a campaign contribution, the Court held “that
the Government need only show that a public official
has obtained a payment to which he was not entitled,
knowing that the payment was made in return for
official acts.” 112 S. Ct. at 1889.’

those contentions in his statement of the case, Pet. 6-9, he has
not otherwise pursued any of them in this Court.

7 The difference is in the specificity of the agreement. That
is, it would not be a violation of the Hobbs Act to make a
campaign contribution to a legislator because the legislator was

11

In this case, petitioner did not claim that the $500
was a campaign contribution. Instead, he claimed that
Traitz gave him the $500 as an early wedding gift.
Pet. 5. It is clear that the jury did not believe
petitioner, but instead accepted the evidence adduced
by the government that the $500 was paid for access,
influence, and favorable treatment in cases involving
union members. That evidence included the recorded
conversations between Traitz and union members
about how petitioner “comes through” for them,
Traitz’s telephone call to petitioner asking him to
give the nephew of a union member a “clean bill” in a
case about to come before him, and petitioner’s
setting aside of his own verdict in that case after the
union member reminded him, at sentencing, of the
union connection. In other words, petitioner was
placed “on retainer” by the annual payment. And the
evidence showed that he “came through,” even though
the jury was instructed that the government did not
need to prove that petitioner had actually misused his
office.

generally in favor of protectionist trade policy and the
contributor’s business would profit from protectionist legisla-
tion. But it would be a violation of the Hobbs Act, under
McCormick, for a candidate to accept a campaign contribution
that was expressly conditioned on the candidate’s agreement to
vote in a particular manner on a specific matter. It would also
be a violation of the Hobbs Act, under Evans, for a legislator to
accept a cash payoff (not a campaign contribution) from a
person the legislator knows to have an interest in protectionist
legislation, where the legislator knows that the payment was
made in return for the legislator’s official acts of support for
protectionist trade policies, even if no specific act was promised
in exchange for the payment.

12

The jury instructions that were given in this case
were consistent with EHKvans. The jury was
instructed that, in order to convict, it had to find that
“the benefactor transfers something of significant
value to the public official with the expectation that
the public official will extend to him some benefit or
refrain from some harmful action,” and that “the
public official accepts the thing of significant value
knowing that it is being transferred to him because of
his office.” Pet. C.A. App. Dal74. That was sufficient
to satisfy Evans, for it shows that the jury found that
petitioner believed the payment was made “in return
for official acts.” 112 S. Ct. at 1889.°

2. Petitioner also contends, Pet. 63-64, that the
government failed to prove the interstate commerce
element of 18 U.S.C. 1951 beyond a reasonable doubt.®

8 Petitioner states, Pet. 52, that in McCormick, 111 S. Ct. at
1813 n.5, this Court “recognized that a conflict exists in the
Circuits respecting the applicability of the quid pro quo
requirement to non-campaign funds.” In fact, in the footnote
cited by petitioner, the Court recognized that there was an
inter-circuit conflict on the question whether an affirmative
act of inducement by a public official was an element of the
offense of extortion under color of official right. The Court
observed that resolution of that conflict would have to await
another day. 111 S. Ct. at 1813 n.5. That day came in Evans v.
United States, supra, and the Court held that inducement is
not required.

® Section 1951(a) prohibits obstructing, delaying, or affect-
ing commerce “in any way or degree.” Section 1951(b)(3)
defines “commerce,” in pertinent part, as “all commerce
between any point in a State * * * and any point outside
thereof; all commerce between points within the same State
through any place outside such State; and all other commerce
over which the United States has jurisdiction.”

sss ceiiimmiamaiiiaauaasmeamaiaaii

13

On appeal, petitioner raised a claim that he
conceded (Pet. C.A. Br. 47) he had not presented to the
district court. He requested a remand to determine if
the union’s legal services fund was an asset of the
union or a trust fund that belonged to eligible
members of the union as opposed to the union as an
entity. Pet. C.A. Br. 47-48. The court of appeals
denied the request for a remand without discussion.
| Pet. App. 2a.
| In this Court, petitioner asks for more. He argues
that the legal services fund “is not an asset of the
union,” that “the United States has failed to prove the
necessary jurisdictional element of the offense,” and
that “[a]n error in recognition of this factor would
constitute plain error.” Pet. 64. Review of that
contention is not warranted, if only for the reason
that it was neither raised in the court of appeals nor
addressed by that court. See, e.g., Solorio v. United
States, 483 U.S. 435, 451 n.18 (1987); Berkemer v.
McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 443 (1984).

In any event, there is no merit to petitioner’s
contention. The evidence showed that the Roofers
Union locals for which Traitz served as the business
agent included within their jurisdiction the States of
New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware, and that
union members performed work for contractors in all
three States. Gov’t C.A. Br. 35, 37. The evidence also
showed that the $500 paid to petitioner came from two
sources: (1) kickbacks paid to Traitz by a law firm
that represented union members under a prepaid legal
services plan, which was funded by the union-
affiliated contractors and which operated on behalf of
union members from all three States, and (2) checks

14

drawn on the union’s account at Continental Bank and
payable to union stewards, ostensibly to reimburse
them for travel and telephone expenses, but which
were in fact cashed by Traitz’s secretary and given to
Traitz. Gov’t C.A. Br. 4-5, 35, 37-38; see also Pet. 12 &
n.3, and Pet. C.A. App. Da42-Da43, Da58-Da61, Da84.
The district court instructed the jury that in order
to convict petitioner, it had to find beyond a
reasonable doubt that because of the $500 payment to
him, “interstate commerce was delayed, interrupted
or adversely affected.” Pet. C.A. App. Dal76. The
court explained that “interstate commerce may be
adversely affected within the meaning of these
instructions by an increase in the cost of doing
business in interstate commerce, or by the reduction
of profits from interstate business.” Jbid. It
concluded by stating that “[iJf you find beyond a
reasonable doubt that the roofers union had
jurisdiction over Pennsylvania, New Jersey and
Delaware, and its assets were depleted by a $500
payment to the defendant * * * then the interstate
commerce element has been satisfied.” Jd. at Da177."°

10 After the court instructed the jury, petitioner’s attorney
asked the court “to instruct the jury that in the event that they
find that the money that was used by Steven Traitz in this case
came from Herbert Fisher, that they may not consider that
money was derived in any way from a source which would
affect interstate commerce.” Pet. C.A. App. Dal87. (Fisher
was a member of the law firm—Bloom, Ocks and Fisher—that
represented union members under the union’s prepaid legal
fund and that kicked back ten per cent of its fees in cash to
union officials, who then distributed the money to public
officials helpful to the union. Gov’t C.A. Br. 38.) Petitioner
himself then expanded on this request, arguing that “if the

15

The instructions accurately defined the interstate
commerce element for the jury. See Stirone v.
United States, 361 U.S. 212, 215 (1960); see also
United States v. McKenna, 889 F.2d 1168, 1173 (1st
Cir. 1989); United States v. Murphy, 768 F.2d 1518,
1530-1531 (7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1012
(1986); United States v. Cerilli, 603 F.2d 415, 424 (3d
Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1043 (1980). A
reasonable jury could find that the $500 payment to
petitioner affected commerce within the meaning of
the Hobbs Act by depleting or diminishing assets of
the union, which operated in and derived its money
from three States. Accordingly, the interstate
commerce element of the statute was satisfied.

money had—once it reached Mr. Fisher was his and he illegally
gave it, then the union wasn’t entitled to it and therefore it was
not a proper asset of the union and therefore the proper assets
were not depleted. It’s not a proper asset if somebody steals
money.” Pet. C.A. App. Dal87. In other words, petitioner
contended that if the payoff he obtained had been received by
the union as a kickback, he was absolved of liability. The court
properly denied the requested instruction, ibid., as there is no
legal basis for petitioner’s contention that extortion cannot
affect interstate commerce if the funds paid to the defendant
were unlawfully obtained by the victim in the first place.

16

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WiLLIAM C. BRYSON
Acting Solicitor General

JOHN C. KEENEY
Acting Assistant Attorney General

VICKi S. MARANI
Attorney

FEBRUARY 1993

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1748%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
