# Opposition Brief — Polk v. Dixie Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1713%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 1055

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

| DEC 14 1992

HE CLERK

No. 92-922

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

S

JAMES L. POLK and MATTIE B. POLK,

Petitioners,
vV.

DIXIE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent.

e

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit

e

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

*

SUZANNE N. SAUNDERS

(Counsel of Record)

Resecca L. WIGGINs

SAUNDERS, BELL, FORTENBERRY
AND Corson, P.A.

Post Office Box 16295

Jackson, Mississippi 39236-6295

(601) 362-0596

Attorneys for Respondent

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Polks’ filing of an improper petition,
without-service upon or any other form of notice to Dixie
Insurance Company within the allowed time, renders the
Poiks’ current petition, which was filed and served out-
side the established ninety-day time period, improper for
consideration.

2. Whether the neutral, non-racial reasons for strik-
ing two potential black jurors in this case meet the test
established in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986), for
peremptory strikes. 2

ii
LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 29.1 LIST

The parties to the proceedings below were the peti-
tioners, James L. Polk and Mattie B. Polk, and the respon-
dent, Dixie Insurance Company.

The Senatobia Bank, the lienholder on Mr. Polk’s
automobile, was a defendant in the district court but was
dismissed by stipulation of dismissal with prejudice on
February 17, 1988.

Dixie Insurance Company, now known as Infinity
Insurance Company, is a wholly owned subsidiary of the
Penn Central Corporation. The Penn Central Corporation
is a public stock company, the majority of its stock being
owned by American Financial Enterprises.

lii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Se I sco ons v's cn os coos vencdvreises i
List of Parties.and Rule 29.1 List.................. ii
EE ree ee Tne eee iii
I I cca op ks wa obin sc eS dceesoeiens iv
I 5 So 8 56 Kh hos 0 sp 50s ose c canes’ 1
IEE LT ee ee ee 1
i as bea p ea eb eauaccenes ec 2
IE yc ac snap eens ssdeccesacn 2
Summary of Argument for Denying the Petition... 5
Argument for Denying the Petition................ 8

I. Petitioners failed to properly file and serve their
petition for writ of certiorari within the pre-
scribed ninety-day time period................ 8

II. The Fifth Circuit’s opinion is consistent with
this Court’s decisions in Batson v. Kentucky, 476
U.S. 79 (1986), and Hernandez v. New York, 111 S.
ead es anna sae sea nss baw 11

Ill. The Fifth Circuit’s opinion does not conflict
with other circuit courts’ holdings which are
ESTEE Tee Tee 16

Ne i kkkein Ceenupene 25

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Barfield v. Orange County, 911 F.2d 644 (11th Cir.

1990), —- denied, 920 F.2d 13 (11th Cir. 1990),

cert. denied sub nom. Barfield v. Lamar, 111 S. Ct.

Gee REPU E Da 6 cot ask sie ecko ninekeeas 7, 18,.19, 20, 22
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) ........... passim
Dunham v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, 967 F.2d 1121

+, gx Be. | renee errs te tere Pre Pe ee
Fludd v. Dykes, 863 F.2d 822 (11th Cir. 1989), reh’g

denied, 873 F.2d 300 (11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied

sub nom. Tiller v. Fludd, 493 U.S. 872 (1989) ....... 19
Georgia v. McCollum, 112 S. Ct. 2348 (1992).......... 13

Harrison. v. Ryan, 909 F.2d 84 (3rd Cir. 1990), cert.
denied sub nom. Castille v. Harrison, 111 S. Ct. 568
POPE A 6a kik Uh vie bhadiseade eee 7, 3 12, 18

Hernandez v. New York, 111 S. Ct. 1859 (1991)
A ee re ye Pern 6, 11, 14, 15

Holland v. Illinois, 493 U.S. 474 (1990), reh’g denied,

SOG ELS. Tie Cee a 0 eN von eva sonawesvheertesias 6, 14
Moore v. Keller Indus., 948 F.2d 199 (5th Cir. 1991),
cert. denied, 112.S. Ct. 1945 (1992). . 5... .ccces0s: rie |

Pittsburgh Towing Co. v. Mississippi Valley Barge
Line Co., 385 U.S. 32 (1966), reh’ g denied, 385 U.S.
995 (1966) yuHOA SORA bp ue LSE eebumaWayeOTsEth e343 006s 10

Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 111 S. Ct. 2791 (1991).......... 2
Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 972 F.2d 83 (5th Cir. 1992)...1, 15

Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 943 F.2d 553 (5th Cir. 1991)..... 2

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 897 F.2d 1346 (5th Cir. 1990)
piaphcn rides Sacer as tN S ca Ge aaes ORL vce 2, 9, 17, 23

Reynolds v. Benefield, 931 F.2d 506 (8th Cir. 1991)
) aigkua eames wena wr Rean Wena ges cee deel bac ea eek Pr 3 See

Roman v. Abrams, 822 F.2d 214 (2d Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 489 U.S. 1052 (1989), reh’g denied, 490

is: See LEONE obec ak Re es Berane paren me ae 8, 24, 25
Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522 (1975) ............ 6, 14

Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450
i 225k on AG a oe Pe eh ca eec hae 12

United States v. Casper, 956 F.2d 416 (3rd Cir. 1992) ..7, 20

United States v. Chincilla, 874 F.2d 695 (9th Cir.
ped Ee Ee ee Pee eT eg em ean ane 8, 23

United States v. Cunningham, 713 F. Supp. 165
APRs BOO sores voce andes ees sesebengas 7, 16, 17

United States v. Lance, 853 F.2d 1177 (5th Cir. 1988) .... 20
United States v. Nicholson, 885 F.2d 481 (8th Cir.

ng SO Ee enter ann ae Spear ny aE aR ENT 7, 17, 18

Ran eNia ce Wht cae wink oud ease ahd doe meek R Tks 7, 21
United States v. Swinney, 970 F.2d 494 (8th Cir.

1992), cert. denied, No. 92-6413, 1992 WL 331988

CRF, SUE no WN neh oe aek ba bvSbmccbenes e's 7

United States v. Terrazas-Carrasco, 861 F.2d 93 (5th
NOR I a eg eg eg Pe

United States v. Todd, 963 F.2d 207 (8th Cir. 1992) ..7, 21

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
United States v. Williams, 934 F.2d 847 (7th Cir.
EEE AS TE ne gre Pe ee rer ee eer 21
United States v. Wilson, 867 F.2d 486 (8th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 493 U.S. 827 (1989)............. 7, 17, 18
Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 412 (1985).............. 14
Williams v. Chrans, 957 F.2d 487 (7th Cir. 1992)...... 21
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
ess anak seks oh mabe boas ON RS Nba wNA 2
PP Oe URES) oo ii digs kann tscarcsvvas sues a oy Oe
I I EB ss og dws av ceeS ean iacascxckiens 8
I RE SD SOE ons ckavess eke dcesaessunwanss 11
oe 2 ee eee ree 5, 8, 10
he CME BO ceca sever ctabivensehesee kun 11
RE PD cca kee d sev seseseessarsas 11

I TES OIE I. oc oe iviccnasdarcegensetus 11

No. 92-922
4

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

s
JAMES L. POLK and MATTIE B. POLK,
Petitioners;
V.

DIXIE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent.

7

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit

*

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
¢

Respondent Dixie Insurance Company [Dixie]
respectfully requests this Court to deny the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit.

OPINION BELOW

The August 4, 1992, opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit is officially
reported at Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 972 F.2d 83 (5th Cir.
1992). It is attached as an Appendix to the Petition.

Other reported decisions in this case, in reverse chro-
nological order, are as follows:

Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 943 F.2d 553 (5th Cir. 1991);
Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 111 S. Ct. 2791 (1991); and

Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 897 F.2d 1346 (5th Cir.
1990).

*

JURISDICTION

Although the Polks state that jurisdiction is proper in
this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254, respondent Dixie
Insurance Company contests whether the petition was
timely filed and properly served pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 2101(c) and the Rules of the Supreme Court of the
United States. Dixie’s argument regarding this issue is set
out more fully below in Point I of the Argument for
Denying the Petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Statement of the Case found at pages 2-4 of the
Polks’ petition must be supplemented.

At the hearing on remand to determine whether the
black members of the jury panel were stricken for non-
racial reasons, counsel. for Dixie Insurance Company
stated that the main reason for her striking the potential
jurors at issue was lack of “eyeball contact.” (VI R. 8.)
Although admitting that she did not remember the exact
details, since over three years had passed and the law
had not required reasons to be given in civil cases at that

time, on cross-examination by Petitioners’ counsel, coun-
sel for Dixie again stated her reason for-excluding the
potential jurors was lack of eyeball contact.

Q: And up until today, up until you got up
here and gave your statement just now, the
only reasons that have ever been assigned
by you until right in January of 1992 for
excluding these jurors was eyeball contact.
Is that not true?

A: That is true then, it is true now, and eyeball
contact is the one, and when I said eyeball
contact, eyeball contact is not just looking at
me, it is the expression on their face when
they are looking at me, whether there is a
smirk or smile or rolling their eyes, it is the
impact of the eyeball contact, if. any.

Q: And, so that is your reason as of right now
for excluding the jurors, eyeball contact?

A: It has never changed. It was that the day it
happened, it was that the day I signed the
affidavit, and it is true today.

(VI R. 15-16.)

Again, on cross examination, Dixie’s counsel
unequivocally stated her reason for excluding the poten-
tial jurors.

Q: It’s your testimony that you don’t have any
specific recollection of why you excluded
the jurors that you excluded, is that a fair

, statement?

A: It was eyeball contact. I can tell you that for
sure, and in the eyeball contact, they either
weren’t looking at me or they were looking

at me and I| thought they were not listening
to me when I had eyeball contact.

(VI R. 20.) (Emphasis added.) The fact that Dixie’s coun-
sel places great weight on eye contact is evidenced in the
following statement made during voir dire, “Good morn-
ing, I’m going to ask you some questions, and when I do,
I need you to open your eyes up and raise your hand... . ”
(IV R. 21.) (Emphasis added.)

While testifying that eye contact was the primary
reason for striking the potential -jurors, counsel also
offered secondary reasons in support of these peremptory
strikes. Notes of co-counsel from the trial revealed that
one of the jurors struck.was an insurance clerk for a
company that wrote fire insurance policies. As testified to
at the hearing, it is standard practice for Dixie’s counsel
to excuse members of any industry that is affiliated with
the case being tried. Thus, because this case actually
involved questions of coverage on an atttomobile policy
following the destruction of the vehicle by fire, counsel
testified that this juror would have been stricken under
this practice. As stated at the hearing, “I would not want
someone who comes into the room with barrels of exper-
tise that would have an impact on tainting the entire
jury....” (VIR. 17-18.) |

Co-counsel’s notes showed the ‘other black panel
member at issue to be unemployed. Again, counsel for
Dixie testified that striking this juror would have been
consistent with her usual practice of striking any poten-
tial juror who is unemployed. (VI R. 10.) That the white
member of the venire struck was also unemployed reite-
rates the testimony on this issue. |

On page 3 of their Statement of the Case, the Polks
state, “The insurance company bolstered racial aspects of
the case by asking Polk about his illegitimate children.” It
should be noted that it was counsel for the Polks who
initially addressed the issue of race. (IV R. 19.) In fact,
nowhere in the record does counsel for Dixie state or
insinuate that the race of the plaintiffs or jurors was of
any concern. The line of questioning regarding Polk’s
children related directly to Polk’s motive for driving
home on the night of the alleged accident instead of
staying at the home of his girlfriend — such motive having
been placed in issue as a result of Petitioners’ counsel's
direct examination of James Polk.

Finally, perhaps because it does not comport with
their argument that they. were unable to rebut Dixie’s
counsel’s articulated reasons, Petitioners failed to men-
tion in their Statement of the Case that they actually
called a rebuttal witness at the hearing. (VI R. 22-24.)

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT FOR
DENYING THE PETITION

This petition should be denied because of Petitioners’
failure to file and serve a proper petition within the
ninety days allowed under 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) and
Supreme Court Rule 13. The improper petition filed
within the ninety-day time period was not served on
Respondent Dixie Insurance Company and was rejected
by the Clerk of the Supreme Court for not meeting the
printing requirements: of the Supreme Court Rules and
for not being accompanied by a motion to proceed in

-

forma pauperis. The failure to timely file the petition
divests the Court of jurisdiction to consider same. Alter-
natively, even if the improper petition filed within the
ninety days meets the jurisdictional requirements, Peti-
tioners’ intentional disregard of this Court’s procedural
guidelines justifies the denial of the petition in this case.

Contrary to Petitioners’ arguments, the Fifth Circuit’s
decision in this case is consistent with this Court’s deci-
sion in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986). Counsel’s
articulated reasons were related to the particular case to
be tried even though, because over three years had
passed since the voir dire in this case, specific details
could not be recalled. Additionally, Batson’s requirement
that the reasons be “clear and reasonably specific,” Bat-
son, 476 U.S. at 98 n.20, was met. Petitioners’ argument
that the reasons stated did not allow a rebuttal is incon-
sistent with their extensive cross-examination of Dixie’s
counsel and their actually calling a rebuttal witness at the
hearing on remand. Further, Petitioners’ assertion that
peremptory strikes should be abolished to fulfill their
“right to have blacks on a jury” is inconsistent with prior
rulings of this Court. Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522, 538
(1975), quoted in Holland v. Illinois, 493 U.S. 474, 483
(1990), reh’g denied, 494 U.S. 1050 (1990). The Fifth Circuit,
in affirming the findings of the trial court, was merely
following the standards for appellate review established
by this Court in Batson and Hernandez v. New York, 111 S.
Ct. 1859 (1991).

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion is also consistent with
other circuit courts’ decisions involving similar facts. As
to the failure of Dixie’s counsel to recall specific details,

.the Fifth Circuit relied on decisions rendered by the

Eighth Circuit, United States v. Nicholson, 885 F.2d 481 (8th
Cir. 1989), and United States v. Wilson, 867 F.2d 486 (8th
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 827 (1989). The facts in
these cases more closely resemble the facts in this case
than the one Third Circuit case cited by Petitioners, Har-
rison v. Ryan, 909 F.2d 84 (3rd Cir. 1990), cert. denied sub
nom. Castille v. Harrison, 111 S. Ct. 568 (1990), or the cited
district court opinion, United States v. Cunningham, 713 F.
Supp. 165 (M.D.N.C. 1988).

The Fifth Circuit’s upholding of the finding of no
discrimination based on the stated reason of eye contact
is not only consistent with the one case cited by Peti-
tioners on this issue, Barfield v. Orange County, 911 F.2d
644 (11th Cir. 1990) reh’g denied, 920 F.2d 13, (11th Cir.
1990), cert. denied sub nom. Barfield v. Lamar, 111 S. Ct. 2263
(1991), but it is also consistent with decisions rendered in
the Third, Seventh, and Eighth Circuits. United States v.
Casper, 956 F.2d 416 (3rd Cir. 1992); Dunham v. Frank’s
Nursery & Crafts, 967 F.2d 1121 (7th Cir. 1992); United
States v. Swinney, 970 F.2d 494 (8th Cir. 1992), cert. denied,
No. 92-6413, 1992 WL 331988 (U.S. Nov. 30, 1992); United
States v. Todd, 963 F.2d 207 (8th Cir. 1992); Reynolds v.
Benefield, 931 F.2d 506 (8th Cir. 1991); United States v.
Sherrills, 929 F.2d 393 (8th Cir. 1991).

Finally, this case is not unique in finding no discrimi-
nation even though all minority members were stricken.
See Dunham, 967 F.2d at 1122; Reynolds, 931 F.2d at 508;
Barfield, 911 F.2d at 646. The two Fifth Circuit cases cited
by Petitioners on this issue, Moore v. Keller Indus., 948 F.2d
199 (5th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 1945 (1992), and
United States v. Terrazas-Carrasco, 861 F.2d 93 (5th Cir.
1988), do not, of course, show a conflict between circuit

courts on this issue. Petitioners mischaracterize the hold-
ings in the other two cases cited, United States v. Chincilla,
874 F.2d 695 (9th Cir. 1989), and Roman v. Abrams, 822 F.2d
214 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1052 (1989), reh’g
denied, 490 U.S. 1014 (1989). In fact, Roman is not even a
case in which all members of a particular race were
excluded from the jury. Nevertheless, none of these cases
mandate a finding of discrimination merely because all
minority members of the jury panel were stricken.

Because Petitioners failed to timely file and serve a
proper petition and because they cannot show a conflict
between the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case and either
this Court’s precedents or the decisions of other circuit
courts, the petition for a writ of certiorari in this case
should be denied.

°

ARGUMENT FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. Petitioners failed to properly file and serve their
petition for writ of certiorari within the prescribed
ninety-day time period.

Judgment was entered by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in this case on August 4,
1992. Accordingly, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) and
Supreme Court Rules 12 and 13, a petition for writ of
certiorari should have been filed with proof of service by
November 2, 1992. This did not take place. Not until
November 13, 1992, did Dixie Insurance Company receive
a copy of the Polks’ petition in this matter. The letter to
the Clerk of the Supreme Court which accompanied the

9

petition was dated November 11, 1992, and stated, “Con-
sistent with my certificate of service, 1 am today forward-
ing a true and correct copy of the Petition to opposing
counsel.” Clearly, Dixie was not served until after the
deadline for the Polks’ petition. Furthermore, proper
copies of the petition were not filed until after the dead-
line.

Apparently, some form of a petition was filed on
October 29, 1992. The petition filed at that time was
rejected by the Clerk of the Supreme Court because no
motion to proceed in forma pauperis in order to be exempt
from the printing requirements of the Supreme Court
Rules accompanied the improper petition. Furthermore,
Dixie was not served with a copy of this petition. Again,
it was not until November 13, 1992, after the prescribed
ninety days had passed, that Dixie first learned of the
Polks’ decision to seek a writ of certiorari in this case.

The Polks proceeded in a similar fashion when seek-
ing a writ previously in this case. An earlier opinion from
the Fifth Circuit, Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 897 F.2d 1346 (5th
Cir. 1990), was entered on April 11, 1990. On July 9, 1990,
the Petitioners filed a petition for a writ of certiorari
which did not comply with the printing requirements of
the rules of this Court. By letter dated July 12, 1990, the
Clerk of Court advised the Petitioners’ attorney that the
petition must be corrected and that upon receipt of a
corrected petition, it would be filed as of the date of the
original petition. The corrected petition was not received
by the Clerk until August 6, 1990.

Obviously, the theory of counsel for the Petitioners is
to file something — anything - in this Court, regardless of

10

whether it sufficiently meets the requirements of the
Supreme Court Rules, and then proceed at his leisure in
filing proper copies of the petition: Absolutely no excuse
was given for failing to follow the procedural guidelines
established by this Court. Because counsel for the Polks
has brought this same case before this Court previously
and was at that time directed by the Clerk as to the
proper requirements, he certainly cannot claim ignorance
or inexperience. Rather, the previous incident serves only
to illustrate his desire to take advantage of the Clerk’s
earlier generosity. To allow such flagrant disregard of the
Court’s procedural rules violates the very purpose of the
rules and hinders the efficient administration of justice.

As stated in Pittsburgh Towing Co. v. Mississippi Valley
Barge Line Co., 385 U.S. 32, 32-33 (1966), reh’g denied, 385
U.S. 995 (1966):

This Court has been generous in excusing
errors of counsel, but if there are to be rules,
there must be some limit to our willingness to
overlook their violation. While we are inclined
to be generous in exercising our discretion to
forgive a mistake and waive the consequences of
negligence, fairness to other counsel and to par-
ties with business before the Court as well as
due regard for our own procedures leads us to
believe that this case does not warrant our
indulgence.

Because the Polks failed to properly file and serve
their Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit within the pre-
scribed ninety days as set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) and
Supreme Court Rule 13, proper jurisdiction is lacking in
this case. Alternatively, even if the filing of some form of

11

a petition on October 29, 1992, meets the jurisdictional
requirements, the lack of timely service upon the oppo-
sing party and proof of same, as required by Supreme
Court Rules 12.1 and 29, and the failure to timely file
proper copies and a docket fee, as required by Supreme
Court Rules 12.1 and 33, or a motion seeking to proceed
in forma pauperis as provided under Supreme Court Rule
39, justify a denial of the Polks’ petition under the cir-
cumstances of this case.

II. The Fifth Circuit’s opinion is consistent with this
Court’s decisions in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79
(1986), and Hernandez v. New York, 111 S. Ct. 1859
(1991).

Petitioners attempt to persuade this Court to grant
their petition by arguing that the Fifth Circuit’s opinion
conflicts with this Court’s decision in Batson v. Kentucky,
476 U.S. 79 (1986). Their first argument is that Dixie’s
counsel failed to articulate a neutral explanation “related
to the particular case to be tried.” Batson, 476 U.S. at 98.!

1 Petitioners do not argue that the reasons articulated by
Dixie’s counsel were not racially neutral. A plurality of this
Court stated in Hernandez v. -New York, 111 S. Ct. 1859, 1866
(1991):

A neutral explanation in the context of our anal-
ysis here means an explanation based on something
other than the race of the juror. At this step of the
inquiry, the issue is the facial validity of the prosecu-
tor’s explanation. Unless a discriminatory intent is
inherent in the prosecutor’s explanation, the reason
offered will be deemed race neutral.
Clearly, the reasons articulated by Dixie’s counsel — eye contact
and employment status — meet this standard.

12

While it is true that counsel stated she could not
remember the specific details surrounding the striking of
the jurors in this case, especially since over three years
had passed and the controlling law at the time required
no reasons to be given, she stated unequivocally that her
primary reason was eyeball contact. She was certain that
this was the reason for striking these particular jurors
because that is always the basis for her use of peremptory
strikes. In addition, counsel offered secondary reasons for
striking each of the potential jurors. One was unem-
ployed and one worked for an insurance company.
Because counsel for Dixie prefers jurors who are
employed, but not within the same industry as the party
she represents, she stated that these were additional rea-
sons for striking the panel members at issue. Clearly,
counsel’s stated reasons did relate to the particular case
to be tried and were, thus, in conformity with Batson’s
mandates.

Petitioners next argue that the Fifth Circuit failed to
follow “Batson’s incorporation of the standard of” Texas
Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248 (1981),
cited in Batson, 476 U.S. at 98 n.20. Petitioners argue that
the race-neutral reasons articulated in this case were not
“clear and reasonably specific,” as required by Batson, 476
U.S. at 98 n.20, since they were not precise enough to
provide a target upon which to focus a rebuttal. While
Burdine, within the Title VII context, does mention “the
necessity of rebutting the inference of discrimination aris-
ing from the prima facie case,” Burdine, 450 U.S. at 258,
this language clearly refers to the role of those accused of
discrimination, not the accusers. As for those claiming
discrimination, Burdine merely states that they are to “be

13

afforded ‘a full and fair opportunity’ to demonstrate pre-
text.” Burdine, 450 U.S. at 258. Such an opportunity was
afforded the Polks at the hearing on this matter. In fact,
Petitioners’ argument that they could not properly rebut
the reasons articulated in this case is particularly puz-.
zling in light of the extensive cross-examination con-
ducted by Petitioners’ counsel as well as their actually
calling a rebuttal witness at the hearing. (VI R. 22-24.)
Perhaps their complaint is not so much that they could
not “make a rebuttal,” but that their rebuttal was unsuc-
cessful.?

Petitioners go so far as to argue that the Fifth Cir-
cuit’s decision in this case renders Batson illusory and
that “only the elimination of peremptory challenges will
suffice 6 afford black citizens the right to have blacks on

_a jury.” Petition at 7. The importance of peremptory
strikes, however, has consistently been recognized by this
Court. See, e.g., Georgia v. McCollum, 112 S. Ct. 2348, 2358
(1992) (noting “the contribution of the peremptory chal-
lenge to the administration of justice”). Furthermore, this
Court has recognized that although potential jurors may

2 In light of Petitioners’ complaint that the articulated rea-
sons in this case were subjective, as discussed more fully in Part
III of the Argument for Denying the Petition, it should also be
noted that the Court in Burdine, which is relied on so heavily by
Petitioners, actually criticized the Fifth Circuit for placing too
heavy a burden on a defendant in a Title VII case. Burdine, 450
U.S. at 256-58. The court stated further, “The Court of Appeals
also erred in requiring the defendant to prove by objective evidence
that the person hired or promoted was more qualified than the
plaintiff.” Burdine, 450 U.S. at 258 (emphasis added).

FA PN PSST phe EN ON . | | 3 |

i4

not be excluded merely because of their race, “[dJefen-
dants are not entitled to a jury of any particular composi-
tion.” Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522, 538 (1975), quoted in
Holland v. Illinois, 493 U.S. 474, 483 (1990), reh’g denied, 494
U.S. 1050 (1990). Thus, Petitioners’ assertions are incon-
sistent with prior rulings of this Court.

In truth, Petitioners’ request for a writ of certiorari in
this case, as with their reasons for an appeal to the Fifth
Circuit, is based not on a legal question which needs to be
resolved, but on their disagreement with the district
court’s finding that Dixie’s counsel’s stated reasons were
credible and were not racially motivated. Such is not the
basis for either a reversal by an appellate court or the
granting of a petition for a writ of certiorari by this Court.

This Court recognized in Batson that “[s]ince the trial
judge’s findings in the context under consideration here
largely will turn on evaluation of credibility, a reviewing
court ordinarily should give those findings great defer-
ence.” Batson, 476 U.S. at-98 n.21. More recently, the Court
stated: |

In the typical peremptory challenge inquiry, the
decisive question will be whether counsel’s
race-neutral explanation for a peremptory chal-
lenge should be believed. There will seldom be
much evidence bearing on that issue, and the
best evidence often will be the demeanor of the
attorney who exercises the challenge. As with
the state of mind of a juror, evaluation of the
prosecutor’s state of mind based on demeanor
and credibility lies “peculiarly within a trial
judge’s province.”

Hernandez v. New York, 111 S. Ct. 1859, 1869 (1991) (quo-
ting Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 412, 428 (1985)).

15

The district court, at the hearing on remand in this
case, found that the reasons articulated by counsel for
Dixie were credible and were not racially motivated. The
Fifth Circuit, recognizing the standard of review outlined
in Hernandez, found as follows:

Whether the striking party was or was not moti-
vated by its proffered explanation is a fact-
intensive question which must be decided case
by case in light of the totality of circumstances.
We cannot say that eye contact necessarily is a
phony reason when it is proffered as justifica-
tion for removal of all black jurors. On the
record in this case, the trial court’s conclusion
that Dixie’s counsel was not motivated by racial
consideration is a permissible view of the evi-
dence.

Polk v. Dixie Ins. Co., 972 F.2d 83, 86 (1992).3

Because the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case is
consistent, contrary to Petitioners’ assertions otherwise,
with this Court’s opinions in Batson v. Kentucky and Her-
nandez v. New York, the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

3 The Polks, in their Reply Brief filed with the Fifth Circuit,
actually argued that the appellate court should grant oral argu-
ment in this case in order to review the demeanor of Dixie’s
counsel for themselves. Reply Brief of the Appellants at 11-12.
Even assuming that the same attorney would present the appel-
late argument if such were required, this requested procedure,
which is in direct contradiction of this Court’s rulings in both
Batson and Hernandez, would quite clearly invade the province
of the trial court as well as place an unnecessary burden on the
federal appellate courts.

16

III. The Fifth Circuit’s opinion does not conflict with
other circuit courts’ holdings which are based on
similar facts.

After arguing that the Fifth Circuit’s opinion in this
case is inconsistent with this Court’s ruling in Batson,
Petitioners next attempt to persuade this Court to grant
their petition by arguing that the Fifth Circuit’s decision
conflicts with decisions reached in other circuits. A closer
reading of the cases cited by Petitioners, however, reveals
the inaccuracy of these arguments.

Petitioners first argue that the Fifth Circuit’s affir-
mance of the district court’s findings is inconsistent with
the holding in Harrison v. Ryan, 909 F.2d 84 (3rd Cir. 1990),
cert. denied sub nom. Castille v. Harrison, 111 S. Ct. 568
(1990). Petitioners also cite to a federal district court
-opinion, United States v. Cunningham, 713 F. Supp. 165
(M.D.N.C. 1988). In both of these cases, the district court
found that the prosecutor was unable to sufficiently set
forth non-racial reasons for exercising his peremptory
strikes. Accordingly, because “[t]he district court’s factual
determinations, including issues of credibility, are enti-
tled to great deference and are not to be overturned
unless clearly erroneous,” Harrison, 909 F.2d at 86, the
appellate court affirmed the district court’s findings in
Harrison.

Furthermore, in both cases cited by Petitioners, the
prosecutors could not recail anything regarding their rea- ©
sons for striking certain panel members. While thinking
the strikes may have been for various reasons, the prose-
cutors could never say with any certainty. As the Fifth
Circuit correctly noted, when distinguishing the factual

17

situation presented in Harrison, “That is not the situation
here. Dixie’s counsel maintains that she must have relied
on eyeball contact because she always does and may have
relied on other race-neutral factors in line with guidelines
she generally follows.” Polk, 972 F.2d at 85.

In reaching its decision, the Fifth Circuit relied on
two opinions from the Eighth Circuit in which the factual
patterns were more like the case at hand than the facts
presented in Harrison. In United States v. Nicholson, 885
F.2d 481 (8th Cir. 1989), the court was presented with the
following situation:

Because the voir dire had taken place two years
earlier and because he could not locate his notes
made at the time, the prosecutor could not recall
at the hearing the specific reasons why he uti-
lized peremptory challenges against the three
black venire members. Accordingly, the pros-
ecutor presented a standard set of guidelines
that he had used over several years to evaluate
potential jurors.

Nicholson, 885 F.2d at 482. The Eighth Circuit Court of
Appeals held, “Because we do not find the district court’s
finding clearly erroneous, we affirm its holding that the
government’s peremptory challenges were exercised in a
constitutionally permissible manner.” Nicholson, 885 F.2d
at 483. Accord United States v. Wilson, 867 F.2d 486 (8th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 827 (1989).

Unlike the uncertainty of the prosecutors in both
Harrison and Cunningham, relied upon by Petitioners,
counsel for Dixie was certain of her reasons for striking
the panel members because of her general practice. Coun-
sel stated at the hearing, “I can tell this Court for sure that

18

the element of eyeball contact is the turning factor in
every decision I make in every case that I try.” (VI R. 8.)
(Emphasis added.) Again counsel stated, “It was eyeball
contact. I can tell you that for sure.” (VI R. 20.) (Emphasis
added.)

Based upon the facts presented and because of the
great deference afforded to the trial court’s findings, the
Fifth Circuit, as the Eighth Circuit in Nicholson and
Wilson, affirmed the decision of the district court. This
decision is not in conflict with the Third Circuit’s holding
in Harrison but is simply based upon a different factual
situation. In all the cases, the appellate court upheld the
district court’s initial decision. .

Next, Petitioners argue that the Fifth Circuit’s deci-
sion conflicts with the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion in Bar-
field v. Orange County, 911 F.2d 644 (11th Cir. 1990), reh’g
denied, 920 F.2d 13 (11th Cir. 1990), cert. denied sub nom.
Barfield v. Lamar, 111 S. Ct. 2263 (1991), in upholding
eyeball contact as a legitimate reason. To the contrary, the
Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case is in accord with the
Eleventh Circuit’s opinion. In Barfield, the counsel
explained his striking of a panel member as follows:

I felt that Ms. Sills was looking at me, and
looking at my client, and looking at the Defen-
dant’s table with an expression that conveyed to
me some hostility, and it was my gut feeling,
based on her facial expression that she was
likely to not be fair and impartial to the Sheriff.
For that reason, I feel that we should strike her.

Barfield, 911 F.2d at 646.

19

This is almost identical to the following statement
made by Dixie’s counsel at the hearing on this matter:

A: It was eyeball contact. I can tell you that for
sure, and on the eyeball contact, they either
weren't looking at me or they were looking
at me and I thought they were not listening
to me when I had eyeball contact. You know
as well as I do that some people roll their
eyes, look away, some people have a smirk
on their face. That is the gut feeling that |
have to react on when I am selecting jurors.

(VI R. 20.)

Petitioners assert that in Barfield, the court “differen-
tiated using ‘body language’ as a reason for exclusion,
from using ‘eye contact’ as a reason for exclusion.” Peti-
tion at 6. This is a mischaracterization of the Eleventh
Circuit's holding. The court did not differentiate between
body language and eye contact. To the contrary, the court
stated, “In Fiudd this court noted that ‘eye contact with
members of the venire and their expressions in response’
were matters attorneys ‘often take into account in exercis-
ing their peremptory challenges,’ and matters the trial
court may consider in deciding Batson questions.” Bar-
field, 911 F.2d at 648 (quoting Fludd v. Dykes, 863 F.2d 822,
829 n.6 (11th Cir. 1989), reh’g denied, 873 F.2d 300 (11th
Cir 1989), cert. denied sub nom. Tiller v. Fludd, 493 U.S. 872
(1989)). While noting that sometimes there would be
nothing more than counsel’s statement to support such
reasons, the court continued, “To some extent, however,
that is true of any explanation offered by counsel. The
credibility decision is for the trial judge.” Barfield, 911
F.2d at 648 n.1. The court concluded, “We -hold that the

20

explanation offered for challekging prospective juror Sills
was not legally insufficient as a matter of law. Stated
otherwise, if the explanation is credible - and we assume
on this appeal that it is — it is sufficiently clear and
specific to pass muster under Batson.” Barfield, 911 F.2d at
648. Petitioners’ reliance on Barfield as creating a conflict
among the circuit courts sufficient for this Court to grant
their petition is clearly misplaced.

Not only is the Fifth Circuit’s opinion in this case
consistent with the Eleventh Circuit’s holdings in Barfield
and Fludd, it is also in accordance with opinions rendered
in the Third, Seventh, and Eighth Circuits in which sub-
jective reasons such as eye contact, lack of attentiveness,
or the general demeanor of a prospective juror were cited
as valid non-racial uses of peremptory strikes.

In United States v. Casper, 956 F.2d 416, 418-19 (3rd
Cir. 1992), the court stated that the reason need not “be
‘quantifiable’ to be race neutral,” and cited with approval
the Fifth Circuit’s decision in United States v. Lance, 853
F.2d 1177, 1181 (5th Cir. 1988) (prosecutor’s observation
of eye contact and demeanor was significant and consti-
tuted neutral explanation of peremptory exclusion).

The Seventh Circuit, in Dunham v. Frank’s Nursery &
Crafts, 967 F.2d 1121 (7th Cir. 1992), was faced with an
argument similar to that of Petitioners in this case. Nev-
ertheless, the court held as follows:

Mr. Galvin’s testimony was that his intuitive
judgment was based not on Mrs. Mitchell’s race,
but on her demeanor in the courtroom, on her
appearing to look in Mrs. Dunham’s direction,
rather than at the court or at the defendant or at

21

Mr. Galvin. This Court has stated that “[a]dequ-
ate explanations for exercising a peremptory
strike may include a prosecutor’s ‘intuitive
assumptions that are not fairly quantifiable.’ ”
Williams v. Chrans, 957 F.2d 487, 490 (7th Cir.
1992) (quoting United States v. Williams, 934 F.2d
847, 850 (7th Cir. 1991)).... In the present case,
Mr. Galvin’s intuitive judgment was based on
the juror’s specific behavior and demeanor in
the courtroom; it is “a neutral explanation
related to the particular case to be tried.” Batson,
476 US. 96. .... ,

Dunham, 967 F.2d at 1124-25. This court, too, cited to the
Fifth Circuit opinion of Lance, 853 F.2d at 1181, in which
eye contact was the stated reason.

Eye contact and demeanor have also been upheld as
sufficient non-racial reasons in several cases from the
Eighth Circuit. See United States v. Swinney, 970 F.2d 494,
496 (8th Cir. 1992) (“Government struck the second black
juror because he wore dark sunglasses and ‘a big gold
watch’ into the courtroom, and the prosecuting attorney
was unable to establish eye contact with him”), cert.
denied, No. 92-6413, 1992 WL 331988 (U.S. Nov. 30, 1992);
United States v. Todd, 963 F.2d 207, 211 (8th Cir. 1992)
(“venireperson . . . appeared inattentive, impatient, and
hostile to the prosecutor”); Reynolds v. Benefield, 931 F.2d
506, 513 (8th Cir. 1991) (prospective juror “challenged
because of the definite impression of the defendants that
his facial expressions and body language indicated hostil-
ity”); United States v. Sherrills, 929 F.2d 393, 394 (8th Cir.
1991) (“prosecutor stated that she had challenged three of
the blacks because they were inattentive”).

22

In Reynolds, 931 F.2d at 512, the court made the
following observation:

It is well to note that feelings are not always’.
expressed in words, and, indeed, may be clearly
manifested by gestures and facial expressions. A
grimace or stare may express hostility or dis-
pleasure quite as clearly as words shouted
across a room. Much literature may be found on
interpreting “body language” as a fundamental
and effective practice in the selection of a jury.
See, e.g., 1 S. Schweitzer, Cyclopedia of Trial Prac-
tice § 144 (2d ed. 1970); 5 Am.Jur.Trials § 65
(1966) (valuable information can be obtained by
observing a juror’s demeanor). It has been noted
that the “body language method” of jury selec-
tion “looks to a juror’s appearance, behavior,
and non-verbal responses, since these are
viewed as giving a truer picture than verbal
answers.” T. Mauet, Fundamentals of Trial Tech-
niques 32 (2d ed. 1988). It may also be relevant to
note “the juror’s attitude toward the lawyer.” Id.

Petitioners’ assertion that the Fifth Circuit’s uphold-
ing of the neutral reason of eyeball contact for Dixie’s use
of peremptory strikes creates a conflict among the circuit
courts is clearly without merit.

Finally, Petitioners argue that a writ should be
granted in this case because the case is unique in exclud-
ing all members of a racial minority. However, courts
have affirmed district courts’ findings of no discrimina-
tion even when all minority members were stricken. See,
e.g., Dunham, 967 F.2d at 1122; Reynolds, 931 F.2d at 508;
Barfield, 911 F.2d at 646.

23

Interestingly, two of the cases cited by Petitioners are
actually two earlier opinions from the Fifth Circuit. Moore
v. Keller Indus., 948 F.2d 199 (5th Cir. 1991), cert. denied,
112 S. Ct. 1945 (1992); United States v. Terrazas-Carrasco,
861 F.2d 93 (5th Cir. 1988). Obviously, these two opinions
cannot be used to argue a conflict between the Fifth
Circuit and other United States circuit courts necessitat-
ing a writ of certiorari in this case. Furthermore, although
the Fifth Circuit stated in these cases that the fact that all
minorities were not stricken “substantially support[ed]
the finding of no discrimination,” Moore, 948 F.2d at 202,
Terrazas-Carrasco, 861 F.2d at 95, the court did not state
the reverse — that excluding all members of a minority
group would automatically result in a finding of discrimi-
nation. When presented with that argument in this case,
the Fifth Circuit refused “to establish such a per se rule.”
Polk, 972 F.2d at 86.

As for the other two cases cited by Petitioners on this
issue, Petitioners misrepresent the decision of the court in
each of these cases. Petitioners contend that the Ninth
Circuit in United States v. Chincilla, 874 F.2d 695 (9th Cir.
1989), held that the “[f]act that all minority members
were excluded from jury panel requires the court to disal-
low purely subjectively based challenges.” Petition at 6.
Nowhere in Chincilla is such a requirement mandated.
The court’s discussion of the fact that all minority mem- -
bers were excluded was within the framework of deter-
mining whether a prima facie case had been established —
the first step in the Batson procedure. Chincilla, 874 F.2d at
698. Such is not a contested issue in this case. Further-
more, although the court in Chincilla did reject the rea-
sons articulated by the prosecutor, there is no indication

24

that this rejection was based on the striking of all the
minority members. Rather, the court found certain incon-
sistencies and weaknesses in the prosecutor’s explana-
tions. Chincilla, 874 F.2d at 698-99.

Petitioners’ reliance on the Second Circuit’s decision
in Roman v. Abrams, 822 F.2d 214 (2d Cir. 1987), cert.
denied, 489 U.S. 1052 (1989), reh’g denied, 490 U.S. 1014
(1989), is an even greater enigma. Petitioners conclude
from this case that “[g]eneral responses regarding ‘life-
style’ and ‘background’ are inadequate when utilized to
exclude all minority members.” Petition at 6. The exclu-
sion of all minority members, however, was not even an
issue in this case. The defendant’s argument was based
on the prosecutor’s striking of whites from the jury;
nevertheless, the jury actually empaneled “consisted of
three Whites and nine persons who were Black or His-
panic.” Roman, 822 F.2d at 218. Consequently, this is not a
case in.which the exclusion of all minority panel mem-
bers had any bearing whatsoever on the court’s decision.

The Second Circuit in Roman merely upheld the
lower court’s decision that the various reasons given by
the prosecutor were inadequate to rebut the prima facie
case established by the defendant. The district court had
“found that the reasons adduced by Levin [the prosecu-
tor] for his challenges were circumlocutory, trivial, child-
ish, incredible, and designed to cover up the ADA’s
discriminatory intent.” Roman, 822 F.2d at 228. Because of
the lower court’s findings, the court stated as follows:

The findings of the trial court are to be
upheld on appeal unless they are clearly erro-
neous. Assessments of credibility of witnesses
are peculiarly within the province of a trier of

“ny

25

fact who has had an opportunity to view and
hear the witnesses, and such assessments are
entitled to considerable deference on review.
Plainly the district court’s decision to disbelieve
the testimony of a witness who has appeared
before it must be respected where the evidence
adduced supports that decision.

Roman, 822 F.2d at 228 (citations omitted).

Because the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case does
not confit with decisions of other circuits, including
those cited by Petitioners, the Polks’ petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.

¢

CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing discussion, Respondent Dixie
Insurance Company respectfully requests this Court to
deny the Polks’ Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Dixie Insurance Company,
Respondent

BY: Suzanne N. SAUNDERS
(Counsel of Record)
Respecca L. WiccINs
SAUNDERS, BELL, FORTENBERRY
AND Corson, P.A.
Post Office Box 16295
Jackson, Mississippi 39236-6295
(601) 362-0596

Attorneys for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1713%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
