# Opposition Brief — Allstate Insurance v. Maleski

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1666%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 1080

## Text

No. 92-873

— ve as

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

*
ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Petitioner,
V.

CYNTHIA M. MALESKI, Acting Insurance
Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,
as Rehabilitator of the Mutual Fire, Marine and
Inland Insurance Company,

Respondent.
«

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Pennsylvania
¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
¢

RicHarpD DiSa.te, Esquire
Counsel of Record

Rocer Curran, Esquire

Rose, Scumipt, Hastey &
DiSatte, P.C.

900 Oliver Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15222-5369

(412) 434-8600

Attorneys for Respondent,
Cynthia M. Maleski,

Acting Insurance Commissioner
of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, as Rehabilitator
of The Mutual Fire, Marine
and Inland Insurance Company

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225.6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-283

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Where Petitioner concedes that it did not argue,
in the state court proceedings, that either the Pennsylva-
nia Insurance Department Act or the Plan of Rehabilita-
tion violates the Federal Arbitration Act, and where one
of the issues in the Petition is that the Pennsylvania
Insurance Department Act-is in conflict with the Federal
Arbitration Act, should that issue be addressed?

(2) Where the specific contract provisions relied
upon by Petitioner for its Contract Clause claim were not
entered into the record below, should this Court consider
Petitioner’s claim that the Plan impairs those contract
provisions in violation of Article I, Section 10 of the
United States Constitution?

(3) Where the sole issue presented is whether or not
the Plan of Rehabilitation grants more restrictive rights of
setoff than Petitioner would receive in a liquidation and
where the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has held, based
upon its interpretation of the Pennsylvania Insurance
Department Act, that, with respect to setoff, the rights of
creditors set forth in the Plan of Rehabilitation are the
same as they would be in liquidation, should the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari be denied?

(4) Where the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, in
interpreting the Pennsylvania Insurance Department Act,
has held that the substantive law of the Commonwealth
of Pennsylvania (in the context of insurance insolvency
proceedings) grants creditors the same setoff rights in
rehabilitation as it does in liquidation, and where the sole
issue raised in the Petition is that Petitioner will not

ii

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

receive the same rights in rehabilitation as it would in
liquidation, should this Court address issues involving
the state court’s interpretation of substantive state law?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS PRE-
8 NE eee Sore eee Tae eer eT eee

A. PETITIONER HAS WAIVED ANY CONSTITU-
TIONAL CHALLENGE TO SECTION X OF THE

B. THE PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME COURT’S
DECISION APPROVING THE PLAN DEALS
EXCLUSIVELY WITH MATTERS OF SUBSTAN-
TIVE PENNSYLVANIA LAW...................

C. THE PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME COURT
EXPRESSLY FOUND THAT THE PLAN SATIS-
FIES THE REQUIREMENTS OF NEBLETT .....

1. “MUTUAL” DEBTS/CREDITS FOR PUR-
POSES OF SETOFF DO NOT INCLUDE
CASE RESERVES AND IBNR..............

2. THE PLAN’S TREATMENT OF SECURED
CEDENTS IS AT LEAST AS FAVORABLE AS
IN LIQUIDATION........ Yo PETE ere ETT Te

D. THE SPECIFIC CONTRACT PROVISIONS-

RELIED UPON BY PETITIONER WERE NOT
ENTERED INTO THE RECORD BELOW; IN
ANY EVENT, THE PLAN DOES NOT VIOLATE
bo Bos Tay lo ta nner

eae hae GW hk eh '80h0 0 4CNO 664K 6

iv

11

14

15

15

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Accord, Appeal of Commonwealth Trust Co. of Pitts-
burgh, 324 Pa. 161, 188 A.200 (1936) .............. 16
Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71
I reg eee ces ly cae ek ee oe 12, 13
Commonwealth ex rel. Bell v. Tradesmen’s Trust Com-
gauy, 250 Pa. 372, 9 A. SPO (U91S). ... 225500008 8, 16
Dougherty Bros. & Co. v. Central National Bank, 93
ef RT Peer eee ee er eee 17
Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power and
Pe ES i a errr ere 8, 22, 23
FDIC v. Liberty Nat'l Bank & Trust Co., 806 F.2d 961
I I crt crap deus ccsanuccenex ts < 17

Foster v. Mutual Fire, Marine & Inland Insurance
Company, 1992 W.L. 210948 (Pa. Aug. 21, 1992) ...2, 7

Grode v. Mutual Fire, Marine & Inland Insurance
Company, 132 Pa. Commw. 196, 572 A.2d 798

eg ON re ca ee mre rere reapannen hae sae ora ee 6
Henz v. Superior Trucking Co., 96 F.R.D. 219 (M.D.

it SEG own ak ok ieee atk ha SE eee Ode eR oe Ons 18
Hortonville Dist. v. Hortonville Ed. Assoc., 426 U.S.

Ue MR a cs kW ka eek eva kaa eee ares eee cus 11, 15
In Re Cabrillo, 101 Bankr. 443 (E.D. Pa. 1989)........ 17

Keystone Coal Association v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S.
SOE SE aA Goh treks thee canes CKO Reese eee, 23

Liberty Sav. Ass'n v. Sun Bank of Jacksonville, 572
fe 8, 2* B., erereorerrer rey errr re 17

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. Atchison, Topeka

& Santa Fe Railway Co., 470 U.S. 451 (1985)....... 21
Neblett v. Carpenter, 305 U.S. 297 (1938), reh’g

Gented, 30S US. G75 (1999) ...... cn cases 7, wy, 15, 23
Prudential Reinsurance Company v. Superior Court of

Los Angeles County, 1992 W.L. 347585 (Cal.

Supreme Court, Nov. 30, 1992)................044. 14
Ridgway v. Ridgway, 454 U.S. 46 (1981)....... 11, 15, 17
Vickodil v. Commonwealth Insurance Dept., 126 Pa.

Commw. 390, 559 A.2d 1010 (1989) ............ 19, 22
Unrtep States CONSTITUTION

Ratiete 1, Section 16 .n. occ sccctenctccsdsncedas 11, 23
STATUTES
The Federal Arbitration Act

Be Sag eB ee Per rn ye etn ry 9, 12
The McCarran-Ferguson Act

eek oe ee 8 ee er er err rts 12
Pennsylvania Insurance Department Act

Oy Baee e eeE 6 ss Sine sb ence cana cle 2, 18

pe Oe a hes 5 Wk co ee we eee 19

es ee” rere rere re rrr rr” 1

OD Fim We 6 8s on eee eres eee eee 1

ee FON. rere rer rrr rrr ey tt ce > 1

ee ee | Per errr rrr rors 2

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
ey ee Ps eee ren te rere herr: brent 2
i & 2 rer erry Peenere rr rere: fret se passim
oy eee)! | rrr errr errr re re er 5
Se ets. Wes 60 00 hn 0 5a eben de encssrauedsouseteks 21
a ee 7 : Pe ree ee erry etree were 21
ee SD Serer errr rrr rr rer ryt 20
Oe Fe Be Ae 0 sc csc kiviceeeseeacieetieueke tas 2

The National Association of Insurance Commis-

sioners (NAIC) Model Act..................0 eee 24

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent is Cynthia M. Maleski, the Acting Insur-
ance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsylva-
nia, as Statutory Rehabilitator (“Rehabilitator”) of The
Mutual Fire, Marine and Inland Insurance Company
(“Mutual Fire”). On December 8, 1986, the Common-
wealth Court of Pennsylvania entered an Order placing
Mutual Fire into rehabilitation pursuant to the Pennsylva-
nia Insurance Department Act (the “Act”), 40 P.S.
§ 221.15(a), and appointing the Insurance Commissioner
of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as Rehabilitator
pursuant to 40 PS. § 221.id(c).!

Mutual Fire is a mutusl insurance company which
was incorporated in 1902 under the laws of the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania.? Before it ceased writing busi-
ness in 1986, Mutual Fire’s business included a broad
range of property, casualty and special risks insurance,
with substantial reliance upon reinsurance. Mutual Fire is
licensed to do business in Pennsylvania, Delaware, New
York and Puerto Rico, and operates on a surplus lines
(non-admitted) basis in virtually every other state.

Article V of the Act governs the rehabilitation and
liquidation of insolvent insurance companies in Pennsyl-
vania. Its stated purpose is “the protection of the interests

1 Under the Pennsylvania Insurance Department Act, the
Commonwealth Court is assigned jurisdiction over, and super-
visory responsibility for, insurance rehabilitations and liquida-
tions. 40 P.S. § 221.4.

2 Mutual Fire has no parent company. Mutual Fire’s subsid-
iaries, as defined by Sup. Ct. R. 29.1, are: Endmark Data Process-
ing Corporation; Ryansure Intermediaries, Inc.; Cable Life
Insurance Co.; UMI Asset Management and UMI Holdings.

of insureds, creditors, and the public generally” through,
inter alia, “equitable apportionment of any unavoidable
loss.” 40 PS. § 221.1(c). The Act affords the Insurance
Commissioner, as statutory rehabilitator, broad discretion
and authority to “take such action as [s]he deems neces-
sary or expedient to correct the condition or conditions
which constituted the grounds for the order of the court
to rehabilitate the insurer.” Foster v. Mutual Fire, Marine &
Inland Insurance Company, 1992 W.L., 210948 (Pa. August
21, 1992) (A7),3 citing 40 P.S. § 221.16(b). This includes the
discretion and authority to formulate a plan for reha-
bilitating an insolvent insurance company. 40 P.S.
§ 221.16(d).

On January 31, 1989, pursuant to 40 P.S. § 221.16(d),
the Rehabilitator submitted to the Commonwealth Court
a Plan of Rehabilitation for Mutual Fire (the “Plan”).
Various creditors, including Petitioner, filed objections to
the Plan. On July 25, 26, 28, and August 1, 1989, hearings
were held before the Honorable James Crumlish, Jr., then
President Judge of the Commonwealth Court, to consider
the proposed Plan.

A. SECTION II OF THE PLAN PROTECTS
SECURED CREDITORS’ RIGHTS

The Plan establishes separate classes of creditors
based upon the priority of distribution set forth in 40 P.S.
§ 221.44. Pertinent classes include:

3 References to the Appendix in the Petition of Allstate are
designated as “A ___.”

Class 1-— Secured Cedents;
Class 2 —- Administrative Claims;
Class 3 - Wage Claims;

Class 4- Policyholder Claims (which
excludes surety bond lenders,
cedents and reinsurers);

Class 5- Surety Bond lenders;

Class 6 — General Unsecured Creditor Claims
(including those of cedents and
reinsurers).

Petitioner Allstate both reinsured, and ceded business to,
Mutual Fire.4 To the extent that Allstate is a secured
cedent (i.e., Mutual Fire was required to pledge collateral
to secure its obligations), it qualifies as a Class 1 creditor
under the Plan.

Section II(A) of the Plan adequately protects secured
cedents’ rights by providing that they can draw upon
their collateral (whether in the form of letters of credit or
trusts) for the full amount of their approved claims.
(A91-92.) Until such claims are adjusted under the Plan,
Petitioner Allstate and the other secured cedents neces-
sarily retain their liens against the collateral which they
hold.

4 Cedents are companies whom Mutual Fire reinsures.
Reinsurers are companies obligated to Mutual Fire under con-
tracts of reinsurance, having assumed Mutual Fire business.
Mutual Fire Plan, § I(4), (26) (A87, A90).

B. SECTION III OF THE PLAN PROTECTS SET-
OFF RIGHTS

The Plan directs the Rehabilitator to marshal estate
assets, in particular, reinsurance recoveries, which consti-
tute the most significant and substantial asset of Mutual
Fire. (Hearing Transcript, T. 40, 44.) Nevertheless, the
Plan gives appropriate recognition to the traditional equi-
table remedy of setoff between cedents and reinsurers.
Under Section III(D), mutual debts and credits, to the
extent that such obligations were due and owing as of
December 4, 1986 (the date on which the Insurance Com-
missioner filed her Petition for Rehabilitation), may be set
off.5 Thus, the Plan expressly permits creditors to exercise
their right to set off matured, liquidated obligations as of
the date of the filing of the Rehabilitation Petition. Case
reserves as of December 4, 1986 (which are estimates of
the amounts required to cover future payments on
account of known claims) and IBNR as of that date
(amounts predicted to be paid in the future on account of
events that have occurred but have not been reported as
claims) are not mutual debts under Pennsylvania law and
thus, are not available for setoff.

> The term “due and owing” refers to reinsurance amounts
recoverable on paid Losses (i.e., payments by cedents to poli-
cyholders and other claimants), paid Loss Adjustment
Expenses, Claim settlements and reimbursement agreements.
Mutual Fire Plan, § I(11) (A88).

While the Plan allows setoff of mutual debts and
credits as stated above, Section III(B) precludes setoff of
any premium obligations due to Mutual Fire. (A98.) This
provision is based upon 40 PS. § 221.32(b)(4), which
expressly prohibits setoff of premium obligations:

(b) No setoff or counterclaim shall be allowed
in favor of any person where:

(4) The obligation of the person is to pay
premiums, whether earned or
unearned, to the insurer.

40 P.S. § 221.32(b)(4). Section 221.32 applies both to reha-
bilitations and liquidations. (A19.)

C. SECTION X OF THE PLAN PROTECTS ARBI-
TRATION RIGHTS

In addition, the Plan (Section X) grants discretion to
the Commonwealth Court to allow court resolution of
claims otherwise subject to contractual arbitration clauses
on a case-by-case basis. Contrary to Allstate’s assertion
that “the party seeking arbitration” is required to obtain
Court approval (Petition, p. 5), Section X clearly states
that the party seeking court resolution in lieu of arbitration is
required to petition the Court. (A112.) Moreover, in order to
forego arbitration, the Court must make a determination
that court resolution “is in the best interest of the estate
and will not unduly prejudice any party to the dispute.”
(Plan, § X, A112.)

D. FINDINGS BY THE COMMONWEALTH
COURT AND THE SUPREME COURT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

In an Opinion and Order dated January 23, 1990, the
Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court (per then President
Judge Crumlish) approved, with certain modifications,
the Plan submitted by the Rehabilitator and concluded as
follows:

Having considered all objections and found that
the proposed Plan, with modifications, consti-
tutes an equitable apportionment of unavoid-
able loss, is in the best interests of insureds and
other creditors, and does not constitute an abuse
of the Rehabilitator’s discretion, we modify the
Plan consistent with this Opinion and approve it
in all other respects.

Grode v. Mutual Fire, Marine & Inland Insurance Company,
132 Pa. Commw. 196, 572 A.2d 798 (1990) (A71).

In particular, the: Commonwealth Court expressly
found that the alleged contractual impairments chal-
lenged by Petitioner and other creditors (including rights
asserted with respect to collateral, setoff and arbitration)
“are, for the most part, insubstantial and do not warrant
modification of the Plan except as hereinafter provided.”
(A52.) The Commonwealth Court then modified Section
I11(D) and imposed the following additional requirements
with respect to setoff:

(i) the Rehabilitator is to notify creditors

of her setoff calculations within 90 days of
approval of the Plan;

(ii) creditors have 30 days to object to the
setoff calculation; and

(iii) any dispute over the setoff calculation
is to be resolved pursuant to the claim resolu-
tion procedures of Section VII of the Plan. (A73.)

The Court also rejected the objections to Section X, and
concluded that it simply allows parties to request court
resolution in lieu of arbitration. (A66.)

Petitioner appealed this decision to the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court, arguing that Sections I!, III and X of the
Plan impermissibly impaired its contractual rights. Peti-
tioner concedes that it did not argue, either in the Com-
monwealth Court or in the Pennsylvania Supreme Court,
that Section X violated the Federal Arbitration Act. (Alls-
tate Petition, pp. 6-7.)

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court rejected the argu-
ments raised by Allstate and the other creditors on
appeal. With respect to the questions Petitioner presents
for review by this Court, the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court made the following specific findings:

(1) Section III of the Plan “ensures that the
creditors herein, at a minimum, will fare at least
as well under the rehabilitation as they would in
a liquidation proceeding,” in accordance with
Neblett v. Carpenter, 305 U.S. 297 (1938). (A19.)

(2) 40 P.S. § 221.32, which establishes what
forms of setoff will be permitted, encompasses
both liquidation and rehabilitation in Pennsyl-
vania. (A19.)

(3) “Mutual debts and credits” under 40
P.S. § 221.32 are limited to debts which are due
and owing (i.e., liquidated, matured) as of
December 4, 1986, the date upon which the peti-
tion for rehabilitation was filed. (Foster, citing

Commonwealth ex rel. Bell v. Tradesmen’s Trust
Company, 250 Pa. 372, 95 A. 574 (1915).) (A22.)

(4) The “speculative and intangible
nature” of case reserves and IBNR at the time of
the filing of the petition for rehabilitation “does
not warrant their being available for setoff.”
(A22-23.)

(5) Under Pennsylvania law, setoff is an
equitable remedy and accordingly, “is permis-
sive, not mandatory.” (A22.)

(6) Allowing reinsurers/cedents to set off
obligations that had not matured as of the filing
of the rehabilitation petition would result in a
windfall. (A23.)

(7) Section Ill of the Plan satisfied the
three-part test set forth by this Court in Energy
Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power and Light,
459 U.S. 400 (1983). (A16.)

(8) The Commonwealth Court’s approval
of Section X(A) was correct. (A36.)

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court also rejected Peti-
tioner Allstate’s argument that the Mutual Fire Plan was a
de facto liquidation which would wind up the company’s
affairs. (A13-14.) The Supreme Court fully agreed with
the Commonwealth Court’s conclusion that:

. the ultimate goal of the Plan is to have
Mutual Fire reemerge as a solvent insurer. The
Plan calls for Mutual Fire’s possible restructure
and orders that it maintain its required capital
and surplus minimums required in order to
resume operations in the future.

(A14.) Thus, Petitioner is misleading this Court with its
repeated characterizations of Mutual Fire as a “defunct”

insurance company and its descriptions of the insolvency
proceeding as a liquidation, rather than a rehabilitation.

e

REASONS FOR REFUSAL OF THE WRIT

Petitioner’s argument that the Plan abrogates its
alleged contractual arbitration rights in violation of the
Federal Arbitration Act was never raised in the state
court proceedings. Having waived any constitutional
argument on this issue, Petitioner is simply attempting to
generate a federal question in a case where none exists.

Petitioner’s remaining argument in support of review
is premised upon seriously flawed, and unsupported,
assumptions. First, Petitioner argues that it would have
been entitled to offset “significantly more” of its obliga-
tions in a liquidation proceeding. (Petition, p. 24.) This
contention is based, not upon any case or statute, but
upon Petitioner’s “belief” that mutual claims, for pur-
poses of setoff in liquidation proceedings, include case
reserves and IBNR. (Petition, p. 9, n.5.) This “belief” is
mistaken and as will be discussed, ignores completely the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s interpretation of 40 P.S.
§ 221.32, the statutory provision governing setoff, and
settled Pennsylvania law.®

6 40 P.S. § 221.32 provides, in pertinent part, that “mutual
debts or mutual credits . . . shall be set off and the balance only
shall be allowed or paid, except as provided in subsection (b).”
Subsection (b) expressly prohibits setoff where, inter alia, (1) the
obligation of the insurer to the person seeking setoff would not,
at the date of the filing of a petition for liquidation, entitle that
party to share as a claimant in the insurer’s assets and (4) the

10

Petitioner’s assertions that the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court “refus[ed] to apply” this Court’s decision
in Neblett v. Carpenter, 305 U.S. 297 (1938), reh’g denied, 305
U.S. 675 (1939), simply make no sense. (Allstate Petition,
p. 24). The Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s determination
that the Mutual Fire Plan satisfied the requirements of
Neblett could not have been more explicit:

Under Neblett, creditors must fare at least as
well under a rehabilitation plan as they would
under a liquidation, which [Petitioners] cur-
rently argue, would not be the case under this
Plan. We disagree. ... (A14.)

The Court also found that Section III of the Plan complied
with the Act’s relevant provision regarding setoff (40 P.S.
§ 221.32), which applies to rehabilitations as well as liq-
uidations. (A19.)” Thus, the Court found that, under the
Plan’s setoff provisions, creditors “at a minimum, will
fare at least as well under the rehabilitation as they
would in a liquidation proceeding, as mandated by the
holding of Neblett, supra.” (A19.)

Petitioner seeks review of the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court’s decision approving the Mutual Fire Plan of Reha-
bilitation because it is dissatisfied with that Court’s find-
ings and conclusions with respect to matters of
substantive Pennsylvania law. Petitioner would have this

obligation is to pay premiums, whether earned or unearned, to
the insurer.

7 In fact, the Plan, as modified by the Commonwealth
Court, specifically incorporates 40 P.S. § 221.32, removing any
doubt that setoff under the Plan is identical to setoff under the
Act.

11

Court substitute its judgment for that of the Pennsyivania
Supreme Court in matters involving the interpretation of
(1) the Pennsylvania Insurance Department Act and its
provisions regulating insolvent insurance companies; and
(2) Pennsylvania common law governing “mutual” debts
and credits. This Court, which does not sit in appellate
review of state court judgments, has consistently refused
to exercise its jurisdiction over such matters of substan-
tive state law. Ridgway v. Ridgway, 454 U.S. 46, 54 (1981);
Hortonville Dist. v. Hortonville Ed. Assoc., 426 U.S. 482, 488
(1976).

With respect to its claim under Article I, Section 10 of
the United States Constitution (the “Contract Clause”),
Petitioner is asking this Court to assess the Plan’s impact
upon specific contract provisions (relating to collateral,
setoff and arbitration) which are not before the Court and
were never made part of the record in the state court
proceedings. In any event, the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court specifically found that (i) the Plan did not consti-
tute a substantial impairment of Petitioner’s contractual
rights; and (ii) the Plan (including its provisions relating
to secured creditors. setoff and arbitration) served a legit-
imate and significant public purpose, and was “legit-
imately designed to ameliorate a financial hazard for the
good of ali involved.” (A17.)

A. PETITIONER HAS WAIVED ANY CONSTITU-
TIONAL CHALLENGE TO SECTION X OF
THE PLAN

In presenting its questions for review, Petitioner con-
tends that Section X of the Plan, which grants the

12

Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania the discretion to
allow court resolution in lieu of arbitration on a case-by-
case basis, abrogates its rights to arbitrate under rein-
surance contracts with Mutual Fire, and therefore, vio-
lates the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 1 et seq.
However, Petitioner eventually concedes that “[its] brief
and oral statement in the Commonwealth Court did not
specifically mention the Federal Arbitration Act and its
conflict with the McCarran-Ferguson Act... .” (Allstate
Petition, pp. 6-7.) Likewise, Petitioner admits that it failed
to raise this issue before the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court:

Petitioner’s brief to the Supreme Court of Penn-
sylvania restated its objection to the Plan’s abro-
gation of its contractual right to arbitration, but
did not specifically reference the Federal Arbitration
Act. (emphasis added.)

(Allstate Petition, p. 7.)

Obviously, Petitioner Allstate is attempting to fashion
a federal question for review by this Court where none
exists. As a result of Petitioner’s failure to raise these
issues, the Pennsylvania courts had no opportunity to
pass on the applicability of the Federal Arbitration Act to
the provisions of the Plan. Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v.
Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, 76 (1988). Petitioner has clearly
waived the argument which it seeks to present concern-
ing a “conflict” between the Federal Arbitration Act and
the McCarran-Ferguson Act. (Allstate Petition, pp. 13-22.)
As this Court has stated:

. at the minimum .. . there should be no
doubt from the record that a claim under a

13

federal statute or the Federal Constitution was
presented in the state courts... .

Bankers Life, 486 U.S. at 77-78.

In any event, the Plan does not abrogate arbitration
rights of Petitioner and other creditors, but simply grants
the Commonwealth Court the discretion to allow court
resolution in lieu of arbitration on a case-by-case basis.
Under Section X of the Plan, arbitration will be sup-
planted only where court resolution is: (1) requested by at
least one party; and (2) granted by the court upon a
finding that it is in the best interest of the estate, without
undue prejudice to any party. (A112.) In approving Sec-
tion X(A) of the Plan, the Commonwealth Court explicitly
stated: “We construe this section as permitting parties to
a dispute to request Commonwealth Court resolution in
lieu of arbitration.” (A66.) The Pennsylvania Supreme
Court agreed. (A36.)

Moreover, even if Petitioner had properly raised and
preserved a challenge to Section X, the issues presented
in the Petition are not ripe for review. There has been no
suggestion by Petitioner that the Commonwealth Court
abused its discretion by denying arbitration in any case,
nor has any factual record been developed which couid
be presented to this Court for review. On the contrary,
acknowledging that there is no case or controversy with
regard to Section X, Petitioner simply suggests that this
issue “needs further refinement” (Petition, p. 12) and in

8 In fact, the Rehabilitator filed petitions under Section X
seeking court resolution to resolve contract disputes with sev-
eral reinsurers. These petitions were denied by the Common-
wealth Court. -

14

effect, is seeking an advisory opinion. Above all, it is
properly within the discretion of the Commonwealth
Court and within the realm of its jurisdiction, to decide
whether court resolution is preferable in any specific
instance based upon the best interest of the estate.

B. THE PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME COURT’S
DECISION APPROVING THE PLAN DEALS
EXCLUSIVELY WITH MATTERS OF SUB-
STANTIVE PENNSYLVANIA LAW

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court specifically found
that case reserves and IBNR, which are unliquidated and
contingent as of the date of the filing of a petition for
rehabilitation or liquidation, are not “mutual” under
Pennsylvania law and hence, not subject to setoff.
(A22-23.)? That Court also found that any actual contrac-
tual impairments arising out of the Plan (including the
alleged effects upon security interests, setoff and arbitra-
tion claims) were “insubstantial” and, in any event, such
Plan provisions were “legitimately designed to amelio-
rate a financial hazard for the good of all involved.”
(A15-17.)

Petitioner is simply challenging the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court’s interpretation of Pennsylvania law with

9 By letter dated December 17, 1992, counsel was advised
that Allstate intends to file a supplemental brief presenting the
case of Prudential Reinsurance Company v. Superior Court of Los
Angeles County, 1992 W.L. 347585 (Cal. Supreme Court, Nov. 30,
1992). As of this printing, no supplemental brief has been
received. If such a brief is filed in this case; Respondent reserves
the right to file a supplemental brief in response thereto.

15

regard to the purpose of the Insurance Department Act
and the meaning of “mutuality.” This type of challenge is
not, and never has been, a basis for seeking review by
this Court. In fact, this Court considers itself “bound to
accept the interpretation of [state] law given by the high-
est court of the state,” Hortonville Dist., 426 U.S. at 488,
and has emphasized that decisions of state courts will be
subject to disturbance only to the extent that “they incor-
rectly adjudge federal rights.” Ridgway, 454 U.S. at 54
(emphasis added).

C. THE PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME COURT
EXPRESSLY FOUND THAT THE PLAN SATIS-
FIES THE REQUIREMENTS OF NEBLETT

1. “MUTUAL” DEBTS/CREDITS FOR PUR-
POSES OF SETOFF DO NOT INCLUDE
CASE RESERVES AND IBNR

As stated, in considering Neblett, the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court removed any need to compare setoff
rights under liquidation and rehabilitation when it ruled
that 40 P.S. § 221.32, which is set forth under the Act’s
liquidation section, also applies to rehabilitations.
(A18-19.)!° Thus, regardless of whether Mutual Fire is in
rehabilitation or liquidation, Petitioner would only be
permitted to set off “mutual” debts and credits as pro-
vided under 40 PS. § 221.32.

10 The Pennsylvania Supreme Court stressed that § 221.32
begins by stating that its provisions apply to any action or
proceeding “under this article.” (A19.) The term “article” refers
to Article V of the Act, which encompasses both rehabilitations
and liquidations. Id.

16

Notwithstanding Petitioner-Allstate’s belief that Sec-
tion 221.32 would permit setoff of case reserves and IBNR
(Petition, p. 9, n.5), the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
specifically found that a “mutual” debt must be a present,
mature obligation as of the date of the filing of the
petition for rehabilitation. According to the Court:

[No right of setoff can be available against a
note or other obligation that does not mature
until after a receiver for the insolvent debtor is
appointed. Commonwealth ex rel. Bell v. Trades-
men’s Trust Company, 250 Pa. 372, 95 A. 574
(1915). Accord, Appeal of Commonwealth Trust Co.
of Pittsburgh, 324 Pa. 161, 188 A. 200 (1936).

(A22.) The Pennsylvania Supreme Court further con-
cluded that case reserves and IBNR “are not preseni
obligations of the reinsurer”:

Case reserves and IBNR are at most calculations
or estimates of future, potential liabilities, which
often times are contingent upon a later develop-
ment or growth of the claim or some intervening
procedure such as litigation.

(A22.) According to the Court, the unliquidated nature of
case reserves and IBNR at the time of the filing of the
petition for rehabilitation “does not warrant their being
available for setoff....” Id.!! The Pennsylvania Supreme

11 The category of claims allowed to be set off under the
Plan (the “due and owing” amounts) were matured, liquidated
obligations of Mutual Fire on the date the Commissioner peti-
tioned for rehabilitation. In the context of a reinsurance agree-
ment, the due and owing amount represents the funds already
paid by the primary insurance company, which are currently
payable to the primary insurer by the reinsurance company. On

17

Court’s interpretation of Pennsylvania law with regard to
“mutuality” is not an adjudication of “federal rights” and
thus, is not a subject for review by this Court. Kidgway,
454 U.S. at 54.

For more than a century, Pennsylvania Courts had
relied upon this principle:

Whatever may be the rights of a party whose
debt is due and payable to compel an insolvent
debtor to set off a claim against him not due, a
party whose debt is not due has no equitable
claim to have it set off against a debt of his own
already due in the hands of a party who is
insolvent.

Dougherty Bros. & Co. v. Central National Bank, 93 Pa. 227,
231 (1880) (citations omitted). This view is still widely
accepted. See, e.g., Liberty Sav. Ass'n v. Sun Bank of Jackson-
ville, 572 F.2d 591, 595 (7th Cir. 1978) (” .. . a debt is not
subject to setoff unless it has matured... . ”); In Re
Cabrillo, 101 Bankr. 443 (E.D. Pa. 1989) (setoff was denied
in a bankruptcy proceeding with respect to an installment
loan agreement, as opposed to a demand note); see also
FDIC v. Liberty Nat'l Bank & Trust Co., 806 F.2d 961, 969

the other hand, case reserves are merely the primary insurance
company’s estimates of the amounts which it may expend in the
future in defending, settling or otherwise disposing of claims
which have been reported to it. Only future events (e.g., a jury
verdict) will determine whether additional funds will be
expended on any particular claim and, if so, in what amounts.
Likewise, IBNR amounts represent an estimate of expenses that
may be incurred on account of events that have occurred but
have not yet ripened into claims or been reported to the primary
insurance company.

18

(10th Cir. 1986); and Henz v. Superior Trucking Co., 96
F.R.D. 219 (M.D. Pa. 1982).

The record in this case amply supports the decision
to limit setoff to liquidated due and owing amounts, not
loss reserves or IBNR, as of December 4, 1986. At the
hearings on the Plan, an expert on behalf of the cedents
group (some of whom are Petitioners at Case No. 92-937)
testified that, even in non-insolvency situations, the
industry-wide practice was to use net balance accounting
(i.e., setoff) and that it applied only to due and owing
balances, not case reserves or IBNR. (T. 489, 537-538.) If
setoff as practiced within the insurance industry applies
only to due and owing amounts, Petitioner can hardly
complain that the same principle in the Plan somehow
violates its contract rights.

Not only are the Plan’s setoff provisions, as approved
by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, consistent with
well-established Pennsylvania legal principles and the
factual record, but they also implement the important
public policy behind the Act of maximizing protection to
policyholders (40 P.S. § 221.1(c).) Thus, the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court correctly concluded that allowing Peti-
tioner and other creditors to set off obligations against
Mutual Fire that had not matured as of the time of filing
the petition for rehabilitation (case reserves and IBNR)
would result in a “windfall” to Petitioner not available to
policyholders. (A23.)

In addition, the setoff demanded by Petitioner would
wreak havoc with the Act’s equitable distribution scheme
under which innocent third parties (policyholders), who
are dependent upon the financial obligations of these

19

reinsurers to Mutual Fire, have been assigned a priority
above that of cedents and reinsurers. As the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court observed:

.. . [T]he exigencies attendant to a major com-
mercial insolvency and the goals of rehabilita-
tion necessitate the reality that “individual
interests may need to be compromised in order
to avoid greater harm to a broader spectrum of
policyholders and the public.”

(A15-16), citing Vickodil v. Commonwealth Insurance Dept.,
126 Pa. Commw. 390, 559 A.2d 1010, 1013 (1989).

2. THE PLAN’S TREATMENT OF SECURED
CEDENTS IS AT LEAST AS FAVORABLE
AS IN LIQUIDATION

Contrary to Allstate’s assertions, the Plan’s treatment
of secured cedents’ claims and collateral is perfectly clear.
Section II(A) of the Plan provides that secured cedents
can draw upon their collateral for the full amount of their
approved claims. The procedure for claims adjustment
and approval is clearly set forth in Section VII of the Plan.
(A108.)

Should the value of the collateral exceed the amount
of the secured cedents’ allowed claims, that excess is to
be paid to the Rehabilitator. Section II(A) (A91). The term
“excess collateral” is clearly defined in the first para-
graph of Section II(A) dealing with secured claims gener-
ally, to be “any collateral . . . in excess of the amount to
which said Secured Creditor is entitled pursuant to this
Plan. ...” (A91.) See also 40 P.S. § 221.3. Should the value
of the allowed claims exceed the value of the collateral,

20

the amount of any deficiency will be treated as a Class 6,
unsecured claim. Section II(A)(l) (A91).

Until such time as the secured cedents’ claims are
fully adjusted pursuant to Section VII, the secured
cedents necessarily retain their liens against the collat-
eral. Nothing in the Plan abrogates the cedents’ security
interests.

Thus, the Plan merely provides that the payment to
secured cedents from their collateral shall be made by
drawing down against that collateral once their claims
are finally approved. Through this orderly adjustment of
claims, the Rehabilitator can determine her interest in any
excess collateral.

Petitioner’s argument that the Plan somehow uncon-
Stitutionally impairs its rights vis-a-vis its collateral is
absurd. The requirements for court approval before Alls-
tate can draw against its collateral and that Allstate be
permitted to draw against its collateral those amounts
due and owing from Mutual Fire, without acceleration,
for paid losses and loss adjustment expenses hardly rise
to the level of “impairment.” (Petition, pp. 9-10.) In any
event, Petitioner fails to cite any case or Insurance Act
provision to support its contention that its collateral
rights are “significantly less favorable” under this Plan
than under liquidation. (Petition, p. 24.)

In a liquidation, the Insurance Act (40 P.S. § 221.43)
requires that the secured creditors’ collateral be valued
by conversion into money or by agreement, compromise
or litigation. Such a valuation prior to the release or
payment of collateral to the secured creditor is obviously
necessary to determine the estate’s interest in any excess

21

collateral. Further, the secured creditors’ claim or claims
must also be determined, as provided in the liquidation
sections of the Insurance Act, 40 P.S. §§ 221.38 and 221.41.
Only after both the value of the collateral and the amount
of the secured creditors’ claims have been determined can
the rehabilitator or liquidator know the value of the
estate’s interest and take appropriate steps to marshal
that value for the benefit of the estate.

The process provided in the Plan for determining the
secured cedents’ claims and paying them from their col-
lateral is nothing more than a method of valuing the
estate’s interest and providing for its realization by the
estate. Since a secured cedent’s full rights in the collateral
are maintained by the Plan, Petitioner Allstate cannot be
heard to complain about its treatment. Clearly, a slight
modification in the procedure for payment from collateral!
does not amount to a deprivation of due process rights
under the rule in Neblett.

D. THE SPECIFIC CONTRACT PROVISIONS
RELIED UPON BY PETITIONER WERE NOT
ENTERED INTO THE RECORD BELOW; IN
ANY EVENT, THE PLAN DOES NOT VIOLATE
THE CONTRACT CLAUSE

Petitioner has not even attempted to meet its thresh-
old burden of demonstrating that it in fact possesses
contractual rights altered by the law. National Railroad
Passenger Corp. v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co.,
470 U.S. 451, 472 (1985). Petitioner claims that it was a
party to various reinsurance contracts with Mutual Fire,

22

which contained provisions concerning security /collat-
eral, arbitration and setoff. (Petition, p. 4.) Then, Peti-
tioner argues that the Plan “severely restricts” each of
these provisions. (Petition, pp. 5, 9-10.) However, these
crucial reinsurance contracts, which Petitioner insists
have been abrogated by the Plan, were never made part
of the record in the state court proceedings. These absent
contracts, which now are at the very heart of Allstate’s
request that this Court review the Peansylvania Supreme
Court’s decision on the Mutual Fire Plan, were obviously
not important enough to warrant their admission as evi-
dence during the course of four days of hearings.

In any event, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
addressed the Contract Clause challenge raised by Peti-
tioner (A15-16) and properly found that the Plan satisfied
the three-part test set forth by this Court in Energy
Reserves. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court found that
any actual contractual impairments as a result of the Plan
“are insubstantial.” (A15.) The Court also concluded, cit-
ing the decision of the Pennsylvania Commonwealth
Court in Vickodil, supra, that the exigencies associated
with a major insurance insolvency and the goals of reha-
bilitation (minimizing the harm to all affected parties)
“necessitate the reality” that individual interests may
have to be compromised “to avoid greater harm to a
broader spectrum of policyholders and the public.” (A15.)

Inexplicably, Petitioner suggests that the foregoing
analysis by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court is faulty
because this Court’s requirement in Energy Reserves that a
statute (which substantially impairs contractual rights)
serve “a legitimate and significant purpose,” is only dicta.
(Petition, pp. 25-26.) Quite the contrary, it is well settled

23

that the prohibition in Article I, Section 10 of the United
States Constitution against impairing the obligations of
contracts “is not to be read literally,” Keystone Coal Assoc.
v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 502 (1987), but must be
accommodated to the inherent power of the state “to
safeguard the vital interests of its people.” Energy
Reserves, 459 U.S. at 410. The Pennsylvania Supreme
Court’s decision approving the Plan leaves absolutely no
doubt that the Plan provisions being challenged by Peti-
tioner are reasonable and legitimately designed to foster
the goals of rehabilitation in Pennsylvania.

Likewise, Petitioner’s attempt to separate itself from
the gas suppliers in Energy Reserves strains credulity. All-
state’s argument that the Plan constituted “a sudden and
unanticipated retroactive modification” to the commer-
cial expectations of major reinsurers in the United States
is difficult to accept. (Petition, p. 25.) The Pennsylvania
Supreme Court specifically noted that:

.. . the objectors to the Plan are members of a
highly regulated industry and as such were well
aware of the powers of the Rehabilitator. (emphasis
added.)

(A16, n.4.)

Indeed, the current Pennsylvania Insurance Depart-
ment Act, in effect since 1977, and decisions issued there-
under, place substantial emphasis upon the broad powers
of the Insurance Commissioner, as rehabilitator, “to effec-
tuate equitably the intent of the Rehabilitation statutes,
i.e., to minimize the harm to all affected parties.” (A15.)

24

Moreover, the National Association of Insurance Com-
missioners (NAIC) Model Act, upon which the Pennsyl-
vania Insurance Department Act is based, has been in
existence for almost 25 years (with the Wisconsin Insur-
ance Law serving as the original model legislation) and is
well known to members of the reinsurance industry.
Therefore, it is difficult to believe that Petitioner Allstate
was surprised in this case.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is submitted that the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD DISALLE, EsQuirE
Counsel of Record

ROGER CURRAN, ESQUIRE

Rose, ScHmMipT, HaAsLey &
DiSAaLte, P.C.

900 Oliver Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15222-5369

(412) 434-8600

Attorneys for Respondent,
Cynthia M. Maleski,

Acting Insurance Commissioner
of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, as Rehabilitator
of The Mutual Fire, Marine
and Inland Insurance Company

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1666%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
