# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kotrosits v. GATX Corp. Non-Contributory Pension Plan for Salaried Employees

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1460%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 1021

## Text

92-648 ;°

Case Number:
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
SEPTEMBER TERM, 1992

EDWIN KOTROSITS, ET AL.,
Petitioners
vs.

GATX CORPORATION NON-CONTRIBUTORY
PENSION PLAN FOR SALARIED EMPLOYEES,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Seymour Traub, Esq.
Counsel of Record for
Petitioners
TRAUB, BUTZ & FOGERTY, P.C.
Suite 200, 1620 Pond Road
Allentown, PA 18104
(215) 395-1010

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Third Circuit Court of
Appeals' decision reversing the decision of
the District Court and denying Petitioner
class members certain retirement and welfare
benefits represented an inappropriate
disregard of the District Court's
discretionary findings of fact that the Plan
fiduciaries acted in bad faith and under a
conflict of interest when they denied
Petitioners' claims for benefits, thereby
effectively circumventing the arbitrary and
Capricious test developed by the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals in Brown v. Alabama

Blue Cross/Blue Shield, Inc., 889 F.2d 1556

(lith Cir. 1991), cert. den. 484 U.S. 1012,

111 S. Ct. 712, 112 L. Ed. 2d 701 (1991), and
Substantially impairing employees' rights to
recover pension and welfare benefits under

ERISA?

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PARTIES

I hereby certify that:

1. The panel of judges below at the
Third Circuit Court of Appeals are The
Honorable Walter K. Stapleton, The Honorable
Anthony J. Scirica, and The Honorable Jane R.
Roth.

Re Plaintiffs below, Petitioners in
this Court, are Edwin Kotrosits, Julius
Ruggeri and Marvyn Souders, on their own

behalf, and on behalf of all others Similarly

Situated.
3. Counsel for Plaintiffs below,
Petitioners in this Court, is Seymour Traub,

Esq., Of Traub, Butz & Fogerty, P.C.
4. Defendant below, Respondent in this

Court, is GATX Corporation Non-Contributory

Pension Plan for Salaried Employees.

5. Counsel for Defendant below,

Respondent in this Court, is Herbert L.

and Kenneth E. Wile, of Mayer, Brown & Platt.

Basti cane pane

By: Ley, Hb tar> af

Seymouf/ Traub, BSquire

Traub, Butz & Fogerty, P.C.
Suite 200, 1620 Pond Road

Allentown, PA 18104

(215) 395-1010

Attorneys for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Question Presented............ 2
Certificate of Interested
ag ee ee 4
wemecze GE CONEOGRES. «ccc cccccuae 5
Table of Authorities.......... 6
Cites to the District
Court and Court of Appeals.... 9
Statement of Grounds on
which Jurisdiction Invoked.... 10
Statutes and Regulations
Rea ns & Se eo ee ke a ll
Statement of the Case
i By 2 a 12
Basis for Federal
Roig! ol ot 26
Pe 6 4.6 W666 he eek ARKO OR 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page(s)
Anderson v. Blue Cross/Blue 45

Shield of Alabama, 907
F.2d 1072 (llth Cir. 1990)

Anderson v. Ciba-Geigy Corp., 50
a9 F.a@ i516, 1522
(llth Cir. 1988)

Bass v. The Prudential Insurance 46
Company of America, 1991 U.S.
Dist. LEXIS 7720 (D. Kan.

May 29, 1991)

Brown v. Blue Cross/Blue 24, 30, 34-36,
Shield of Alabama, Inc., 41, 44-46, 47-
898 F.2d 1556 ' 49, 50-51

Cargile v. Confederation Life 45

Insurance Group Plans, 748
F. Supp. 874 (N.D. Ga. 1990)

CBS Inc. v. International 32
Photographers of the
Motion Picture Industries,
Local 644, 603 F.2d 1061
(2d Cir. 1979)

Daniels v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 46
758 F. Supp. 326, 355
(W.D. Pa. 1991)

Dennard v. Richards Group, Inc., 49

681 F.2d 306, 314
(Sth Cir. 1982)

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. a7,

v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 115, 48,
109 S. Ct. 948, 103 L.Ed.
2d 80 (1989)

Fox v. Kane-Miller Corp.,
398 F. Supp. 609 (D. Md.
1975), aff'd., 542 F.2d 915

(4th Cir. 1975)

Guy v. Southeastern Iron
Workers Welfare Fund, 877
F.2d 37 (lith Cir. 1989)

Harper v. R. H. Macy & Co.,
928 F.2d 544 (8th Cir. 1990)

In Re: Gulf Pension Litiga-
tion, No. 86-4365, 1991
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4631
(S.D. Texas, April 10, 1991)

International Alliance of
Theatrical Stage Employees
v. Gulf Int'l Cinema Corp.,
568 F. Supp. 1396
(E.D. La. 1983)

Kotrosits v. GATX Corpo-
ration Non-Contributory
Pension Plan for Salaried
Employees, 757 F. Supp.
1434, 1156 (E.D. Pa. 1991)

Mainline Investment Corp. v.
Gaines, 407 F. Supp. 423
(N.D. Tex. 1976)

Miller v. Metropolitan Life

Insurance Co., 925 F.2d
979 (6th Cir. 1991)

34,
50

40

50

34

46

3d

37

40

46

4

“2 om
a

44,

Newell v. Prudential

Insurance Company of America,
904 F.2d 644 (llth Cir. 1990)

Niagra Paper Corp. v. Paper
Industrial Union Manage-
ment Pension Fund, 800 F.2d
742, 745-46 (8th Cir. 1986)

Poole v. Seattle-First
National Bank, 741 F.
Supp. 837, 846

Short v. Central States
Southeast and South West
Areas Pension Fund, 729
F. 2d 567, 571 (8th Cir.
1984)

say WV. B.R. Mallory & Co.
712 F.2d 1209 (7th Cir.
1983)

Taylor v. Continental
Group, 933 F.2d 1227
(3d Cir. 1991)

Van Boxel v. Journal Co.
Employees Pension Trust,
836 F.2d 1048 (7th Cir.
1987)

Miscellaneous

BNA Pension Reporter,
Volume 17, No. 38
Pp. 1591 (Sept. 17, 1990)

G. Bogert & G. Bogert, The
Law of Trusts and Trustees,

section 543 at 197-98 (rev.
2d ed. 1978)

45

49

45

49

34

Ww
~J

40

CITES TO THE DISTRICT COURT
AND COURT OF APPEALS

The opinion of the District Court is
found at 757 F., Supp. 1434 (E.D.Pa. 1991).
The opinion of the Court Of Appeals is

found at 1992 U.S. App. LEXIS 1510, 15 E.B.c.

1729 (1992).

STATEMENT OF GROUNDS ON
WHICH JURISDICTION INVOKED

The final judgment by the District Court
was entered on February 25, 1991. On
April 15, 1991, an Order was entered in the
District Court denying the Plan's Motion for a
New Trial, or in the alternative, to Amend the
Judgment. The opinion of the Court of Appeals
reversing the District Court decision was
filed on July 6, 1992.

Petitioners are authorized to seek review
of this matter by Rule 17, Rules of the United

States Supreme Court and 28 U.S.C.

section 2101.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The Empioyee Retirement Income Security

Act, 29 U.S.C. §1001 et. seq.

pant
—

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND THE FACTS

Plaintiffs are former longtime employees
of Fuller Company. Fuller was a direct
subsidiary of GATX Corporation from 1954 to
1975, at which point it became a wholly-owned
Subsidiary of General American Transportation
Company ("GATC"), a Subsidiary of GATX. ac
remained so up until December 31, 1986, when
GATX and GATC severed their relationships with
Fuller by selling all its stock to an entity
known as F. A. Holding Company.

As a result of their Fuller employment,
Plaintiffs were participants in the GATX
CORPORATION NON-CONTRIBUTORY PENSION PLAN FOR
SALARIED EMPLOYEES ("the rian”). The Plan
document provided for payment of a particular
form of retirement benefits, i.e., "the 75/80
benefits," to any employee (a) whose age and
years of service added up to 80, or who was at
least 55 years of age, and his age and years

of service added up to 75; and (b) who

a je. a

experienced a termination of employment due to
layoff, permanent plant shutdown or
disability. The Plan contained no definition
or explanation of the term, “,aver?.”

The Plan is a non-contributory defined
benefit plan. That is, the employer makes all
of the contributions, and the monthly amount
received by each pensioner is determined based
upon a formula taking into consideration the
employee's salary during a certain period of
employment with a participating company.

Under the Plan, a participating
Subsidiary such as Fuller was responsible for
making contributions associated with its
employees. However, after its December ah»
1986 sale of Fuller, GATX was solely
responsible for any contributions needed after
that date to fund payment of retirement
benefits to any former Fuller participants in

the Plan.

The GATX/GATC sale of the Fuller stock on
December 31, 1986, took place pursuant to a
Stock Purchase Agreement executed by the
pertinent parties (i.e., GATX, GATC and F.A.
Holding Co.), on October 12, 1986. This
Agreement contained a specific provision
providing that the sale constituted a
“termination of employment" of all Fuller
employees. Furthermore, there was no language

whatsoever in the Agreement obligating F.A.

Holding to continue operating Fuller or to
retain or rehire any of the people who had
worked for Fuller prior to the December ai,
1986 closing. The Stock Purchase Agreement
differed from an earlier draft which had
called for Fuller-related assets and
liabilities under the Plan to be transferred
to F.A. Holding; indeed, there was no language
even obligating F.A. Holding or the new Fuller
Company to adopt their own pension plan. The

Agreement also obligated GATX to indemnify

F.A. Holding against "any and all claims,

liabilities, losses, damages, costs and
expenses relating to or arising directly or
indirectly out of a claim that [the Plan}
required providing subsidized early retirement
benefits [ i.e., 75/80 benefits] ...."

At the time of the Fuller sale, the three
representative Plaintiffs each qualified, from
an age and years of service standpoint, for
75/80 benefits. Each requested those benefits

before December 31, 1986 but was rejected.

When the Stock Purchase Agreement was
Signed on October 12, 1986, the Plan
Administrator, James Herbert (who also
happened to be Director of Employee Benefits
at GATX), had not yet decided whether to
permit Fuller employees who were being
terminated pursuant to that Agreement to
pursue 75/80 retirements. He did, however,
request GATX' actuaries to determine the

increased pension cost which would result if

a 15 -

Fuller employees elected the 75/80 option.

The actuaries advised that it would cost at
least an additional $2 Million.

On November 19, 1986, Mr. Herbert
travelled to Fuller's offices in Bethlehem,
PA, and made two significant announcements:

(a) he would not allow any Fuller
employees to elect the 75/80 point
retirement option, and

(b) that any Fuller employee who

did not retire before December 31, 1986,

would lose certain welfare benefits

(i.e., lifetime medical and life

insurance benefits), which up to then had

been available to all retiring Plan
participants.:

As the District Court correctly noted,

the timing of Mr. Herbert's decision to deny

No threats were made nor was any action
taken to deprive any Plan participants other
than Fuller employees of these welfare
benefits.

16

75/80 benefits (i.e., after receiving

notification of the significant amount those
benefits would cost the Plan) is significant
because the Stock Purchase Agreement had
already been signed at that point and GATX
knew it would have suffered a significant loss
in the net proceeds in that t¥ansaction since
it could not pass those additional pension
costs on to the purchaser, F. A. Holding. Of
equal if not greater Significance is that by
denying Plaintiffs' claim for 75/80 point
benefits, GATX was further able to avoid the
expense of the lifetime medical and life
insurance benefits which would have been
payable to the Souders' subclass if its
members had been allowed to elect 75/80
retirement before December 31, 1986. As with
the added pension costs, GATX could not pass
these on to F. A. Holding since they had
already signed, sealed and delivered the Stock

Purchase Agreement, and that document (in

- OF

Section 5.10(i)) Obligated F. A. Holding to

reimburse GATX only a fixed Sum, i.e.,
$600,000.00, of the annual costs incurred by
GATX in providing post-sale health and welfare
benefits "to former employees of Fuller who
have retired prior to the Closing

GBte « « « «*

Edwin Kotrosits and Julius Ruggeri
represent a subclass of employees who were 55
years of age or older as of the December 31,
1986, closing. Based on their age and years
of service, the members of this subclass
qualified to elect (which they did when their
75/80 requests were rejected) an actuarially-
reduced 55/15 early retirement. They did so
however, only because they were threatened and
Scared that if they did not they would lose
the lifetime welfare. Marvyn Souders
represents a subclass of Fuller
employees/participants who had not yet reached

595 years of age as of the Closing date.

- 18 ion

None of the Plaintiffs knew whether they

would have jobs with the new company when they
left work on December 31, 1986. They were
told they would learn after the sale. On
January 2, 1987, both Messrs. Kotrosits and
Ruggeri received calls inviting them to work
with the new Fuller Company. Mr. Souders was
told on January 5, 1986 to report on

January 6, 1986 to the Fuller facility where
he had worked previously.

After the December 31, 1986 closing, the
representative Plaintiffs pursued claims under
the Plan's administrative process. The Plan
Administrator, James Herbert (Director of
Employee Benefits at GATX) denied those

Claims. Plaintiffs appealed to the three-

person Benefits Committee, James Glasser,
President and Chief Executive Officer of GATX;
Paul Heinen, Vice President and General
Counsel of GATX; and Roland Finkelman (also

Mr. Herbert's boss), Vice President of Human

19 -

»

Resources at GATX. The Benefits Committee
denied the appeals on the grounds that the
employees did not suffer a "layoff" under
Section 4.5(a) of the Plan.

These "fiduciaries" attempted to rest
these not-unexpected denials on the Supposed
Similarity and applicability of prior GATX
transactions involving (1) Marine Transport
Lines, Inc., (2) GARD Division, (3) Richmond
Terminal, (4) Pollock, and (5) GATC (Sharon,
PA). However, these were readily
distinguishable (in ways they were not told or
knew and chose to disregard) from the Fuller
sale.

In 1983, GATX spun off the shares of a
wholly-owned subsidiary, Marine Transport
Lines, Inc ("MTL"), as a special dividend to
GATX shareholders. This transaction differed
from the Fuller sale in that GATX received no
consideration in return for the spun-off MTL

Shares. Furthermore, MTL management (not the

20

Plan fiduciaries), gave five employees the

option of electing a layoff prior to the spin
off so they could obtain a 75/80 retirement.

On April 12, 1984, GATX sold the property

and assets of its GARD, Inc.,
division/subsidiary to Chamberlain
Manufacturing Corporation. Chamberlain
assumed all liabilities for pension benefits
arising under the plan relative to GARD
employees. In addition, the Asset Purchase
Agreement obligated Chamberlain to establish a
separate pension plan to cover GARD employees,
which had to be substantially similar to
Chamberlain's existing plan. F. A. Holding
was not obligated here to provide a Plan for
the new Fuller employees.

In September, 1984, GATX Tank Storage
Terminals Corporation sold its Richmond
Terminal to Unitank Terminal Service. The
language in the Agreement of Sale Specifically

provided that (a) the Richmond Terminal

>

employees "shall" become employees of the

buyer, and (b) the asset/sale transaction was
not to be considered a termination of
employment for the salaried employees of the
Richmond Terminal.’

TEC was a wholly-owned subsidiary of GATC
and a second tier subsidiary of GATX. In
June, 1984, GATX sold TEC's assets to Brown
Minneapolis Tank and Fabricating Company.
Notwithstanding its knowledge that Brown
Minneapolis was considering hiring some TEC
employees, the Plan granted 75/80 pensions to
all 11 TEC employees who qualified in terms of
age and years of service. Two of TEC's
employees, Messrs. Deason and Miller, received
75/80 layoff pensions as well as jobs with
Brown Minneapolis.

Following the rejection by the Benefits

Committee, Petitioners filed this action in

‘AS noted before, the Agreement here
provided the opposite.

22

the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania. After
extensive discovery and the filing of numerous
Briefs and Stipulations of Fact with the
Court, the Honorable Edward N. Cahn issued a
seventy-eight (78) page Opinion in Support of
an Order wherein he held that (a) members of
both subclasses were entitled to 75/80
benefits, and (b) members of the SOUDERS
subclass were also entitled to the lifetime
medical and life insurance welfare benefits
‘io would have received had they been
properly permitted to elect 75/80 retirement
on or before December 31, 1986. In his
detailed and well-reasoned Opinion, Judge Cahn
made factual findings that (a) the Plan
fiduciaries had been operating under a
conflict of interest, (b) Petitioners had
indeed suffered a "layoff" because of their
temporary suspension of work at the time of

the December 31, 1986 Closing, and that the

- 23 on

Plan had acted in bad faith in first refusing

to disclose to the Petitioners how their
pension benefits were to be handled in
conjunction with the sale and in later using
the threat of the loss of the lifetime welfare
benefits to intimidate and coerce the
Plaintiffs into submitting forms electing an
actuarially-reduced 55/15 retirement. Under
the test established by the Eleventh Circuit

Court of Appeals in Brown v. Blue Cross/Blue

Shield of Alabama, Inc., 898 F.2d 1556, 1566-

67 (llth Cir. 1990), Judge Cahn determined
that the Plan fiduciaries abused their
discretion in denying Plaintiffs' claims for
75/80 benefits.

The Plan appealed Judge Cahn's decision.
In reversing, the Third Circuit Court of
Appeals essentially disregarded all of Judge
Cahn's factual findings, made its own factual

findings that there was no bad faith or a

conflict of interest, and applied a fully

deferential standard of review which doomed

ail of Plaintiffs' claims.

BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION

This suit invoked federal jurisdiction
pursuant to the Employee Retirement Income

security Act, 29 U.S.C. §1001, et seq.

26 -

ARGUMENT

The issue before this Court is of
considerable significance in the arena where
employers and employees wage battle over
pension rights. It also goes to the heart of
a District Court's fact-finding
responsibilities and an appellate court's
ability to disregard those findings to change
the outcome of a case to its own liking.

In 1989, this Court issued its decision

in Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489

U.S. 115, 109 S. Ct. 948, 103 L.Ed. 2d 80
(1989), essentially holding that trial courts
were to apply a de novo standard of review in
evaluating decisions of ERISA plan
fiduciaries, unless the plan provided for a
more deferential standard. The obvious effect
of that decision was that every employer which
did not already incorporate a highly

deferential standard in its plans to

immediately cause them to be amended to take

advantage of that more relaxed standard of

review. The net effect for employees has been
that virtually all claims for ERISA benefits
are now governed by an arbitrary and
capricious standard. However, application of
this standard, particularly where a conflict
of interest (i.e., a factual finding) is
unnecessarily and improperly disturbed by an
appellate court, will clearly result in
employees having less rights under ERISA than
they would have had prior to the enactment of
ERISA. In pre-ERISA cases where contract law
principles applied, an employee could at least

count on being able to argue that questionable

plan provisions should be interpreted against
the drafter, i.e., the employer. Now,
however, this is not so, even where (as here)
the Plan does not condition receipt of
benefits on an event (i.e., "permanent"
unemployment) on which the fiduciaries claim

to have based their decision.

= 28 on

In the case before this Court, the Third

Circuit Court of Appeals has truly compounded
the workers' dilemma. The District Court
engaged in a detailed and studied
consideration of all the evidence and
determined that the Plan fiduciaries had been
acting in bad faith, under a conflict of
interest and in an arbitrary and capricious
manner in finding (as a factual matter) there
had been a "temporary suspension" of
employment (i.e., a layoff). The Court of
Appeals disregarded all of that effort and
concluded that a layoff or cessation of
employment had not occurred, despite the fact
that (a) the Stock Purchase Agreement between

GATX and F. A. Holding specifically provided

that the sale was a "termination of

employment" for purposes of the Plan for all

Fuller participants, (b) Petitioners had been
sent letters by the Plan Administrator after

the sale confirming there had been a

-_ 29 -

"termination" of their employment for Plan

purposes, and (c) the lower courts factual
determination that the Plaintiffs left work on
the last day of their employment without jobs,
and that they would not know until after the
first of the year whether or not they would
have jobs at the new Fuller Company. In
reaching its decision, the District Court
properly applied and relied upon the Eleventh

Circuit's decision in Brown v. Blue Cross/Blue

Shield of Alabama, Inc., Supra. As a result,

the Third Circuit's rejection of the District
Court's rationale creates a likelihood of
confusion among lower and appellate courts as
to precisely what the arbitrary and Capricious
and/or abuse of discretion standard involves,
and to what extent factual determinations of a
District Court should be disregarded by a
Court of Appeals.

To start with, there was a "layoff,"

there can be no doubt the Petitioners were

= 30 on

terminated, even though it may have been

briefly, since (1) the Plan sponsor
characterized the Fuller sale as a termination
‘Of employment in the Stock Purchase Agreement;
and (2) GATX, the Plan sponsor, sent betters
in March, 1987 to a member of Fuller
participants confirming that "[their] services
with GATX terminated on December 31, 1986."
The underlying issue is whether this
termination resulted from a "layoff" under the
Plan document.

Respondent continuously argued that the
term "layoff" has a meaning other than its
common usage, i.e., temporary suspension of
employment, and necessarily entails a long-
term or permanent period of employment.

However, the Plan does not state this, indeed,

it contains no definition of "Levert .*
Respondent also contends that Petitioners did

not suffer a layoff (hence, no termination of

employment) because they were offered

positions with the new Fuller Company and

suffered no break in their employment
relationship. However, the District Court
properly found (which the appellate court paid
no heed) that since the Plan document did not
make 75/80 point benefits contingent upon any
specific period of unemployment, the fact that
their jobs were temporarily suspended
(terminated according to GATX) the Plan
fiduciaries had read into the Plan a condition
which did not exist. This, 7” course, is the
essence of arbitrary and capricious conduct.

The Third Circuit, however, disagreed
with the District Court's factual
interpretation (and, essentially that of other
courts which have been forced to define the
term "layoff" where no other meaning is
ascribed under the plan document) of a
layoff.’ Indeed, the Third Circuit agreed

“See CBS Inc. v. International

Photographers of the Motion Picture
industries, Local 644, 603 F.2d 1061 (2d Cir.

- 32 os

with Respondent that the “most common"

understanding of a layoff is where an employee
suffers a loss of work time and direct
compensation, yet there is neither evidence of
this meaning under the Plan nor any other
Supporting authority offered on this issue.

In short, the Third Circuit has held that it
is not arbitrary and capricious for plan
fiduciaries to "rewrite" a plan by imposing
non-existent conditions. However, had GATX
intended a requisite length of time to pass
for a layoff to exist, they could have very
easily done so in the Plan document. The fact

that they didn't, yet later attempted to

1979) (A layoff consists of a period of
temporary dismissal -- inherent in the term is
the anticipation of recall); and International
Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees v. Gulf
Int'l. Cinema Corp., 568 F.Supp. 1396 (—.D.
La. 1983) (Layoff is no more than a suspension
of work of an individual employee).

aa *

impose that requirement, is the essence of

arbitrariness.’

The Plan fiduciaries were allowed by the
Third Circuit to interpret the Plan document
in any way they saw fit under the
circumstances; regardless of the level of
their conflict of interest.

On the conflict of interest issue, the
Eleventh Circuit's decision in Brown is
pivotal. In applying this Court's holding in

Firestone Tire and Rubber Company v. Bruch,

489 U.S. 115, 109 S.Ct. 948, 103 L.Ed.2d 80

‘Other employers have had no trouble more
Clearly defining the meaning of a layoff
and/or the various possible types of
terminations warranty certain enhanced levels
of benefits. See Taylor v. The Continental
Group, 933 F.2d 1227 (3d Cir. 1991) (Severance
benefits due on "involuntary termination",
defined as "any ... termination .... within
two years after a change in control taow 88
and Harper v. R.H. Macy & Co., 928 F.2d 544
(8th Cir. 1990) (Severance benefits available
when employee is “permanently terminated or
laid off for periods that exceed ninety
days").

a4 =

es Psat ,

ARCA NTH Ds italia np sa Sian MES: Ge 2 Nae

‘aia aay ailbtieses OP NIE wb

aie

tT

davetelaht-litedte' _— = , Oed

(1989), the Eleventh Circuit held in Brown as

follows:

A wrong but apparently
reasonable interpretation is
arbitrary and capricious if it
advances the conflicting
interest of the fiduciary at
the expense of the affected
beneficiary or beneficiaries
unless the fiduciary justifies
the interpretation on the
ground of its benefit to the
class of all participants and
beneficiaries."

Brown v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Alabama,

Inc., 898 F.2d 1556, 1566-67 (llth Cir. 1990).
The Brown court correctly followed the
Restatement (Second) of Trusts §187, Comment d
(1959) which provides six factors in
determining whether there is an abuse of
discretion: (1)the extent of the discretion
conferred upon the trustee by the terms of the
trust; (2) the purposes of the trust; (3) the
nature of the power; (4) the existence or non-
existence), the definiteness or
indefiniteness, of an external Standard by
which the reasonableness of the trustee's

= 35 =-

OR ae ee DRS

Ss *

COP MEMES

Strid. Kell Kini eV TE RE MED NLC A CNM I SE Ste FS Nat Se ht Spee 8 tia

0 ee ee ee

conduct can be judged; (5) the motives of the
trustee in exercising or refraining from
exercising the power; and (6) the existence or
nonexistence of an interest in the trustee
conflicting with that of the beneficiaries.

In the case subjudice, the District Court
followed Brown and found the Plan fiduciaries
to have had "an interest" conflicting with
that of the beneficiaries, i.e., a conflict of
interest, when they denied Petitioners' claims
for benefits. The Third Circuit simply
refused to recognize this obvious conflict;
perhaps that was the only way they could avoid
directly test challenging Brown.

One undeniable indicator of the conflict
found by the District Court was that the
three-person benefits committee consisted
entirely of high-ranking GATX officers who
held the highest positions within the company.
There was not a single voice on that Committee

which would be inclined to speak up for the

== 36 =

ed Tipe PAL a Oh a ol

ek Shor in ek Lot eee

ch tia = Sis oaks 5 sit. class,

at Sard ag OS BO LON 2

workers whose lives were being affected by

pension decisions such as this one. Moreover,
since GATX sponsored the Plan, the District
Court correctly found there was a monetary
conflict.

Because GATX had just sold Fuller,
it had no incentive to consider the
effect of the benefits decision on
the morale and productivity of
Fuller employees. Moreover, the
fact that the denial affected a
large number of employees and
resulted in an estimated savings of
$2 million for the Plan undermines
the rationale for deferential
review. The larger the expenditure,
the greater the possibility that the
sponsor will eventually have to
replenish the Plan's funds."

Kotrosits v. GATX Corporation Non-Contributory

Pension Plan for Salaried Employees, 757 F.

Supp. 1434, 1156 (E.D. Pa. 1991). See also,

Van Boxel v. Journal Co. Employees Pension

Trust, 836 F.2d 1048 (7th Cir. 1987).

A trustee is required to "exclude all
selfish interest and all consideration of the
interest of third person" in making fiduciary

decision. G. Bogert & G. Bogert, The Law of

-_ 37 _

NN otk Ra RY Se ol

Trust and Trustees, Section 543 at 197-98(2d)
Rev. R. Ad. 1978). Here, GATX as Plan sponsor
was unquestionably obligated to make all
future contributions to this Plan which might
result from any actuarial shortfalls. The
Third Circuit, inexplicably felt this to be of
no significance, even though the savings
resulting to the Plan would be in excess of at
least $2,000,000.00, because the Plan was
"fully funded." This conclusion, however,
overrode yet another factual finding of the
District Court that such a significant
considerable outlay would unquestionably have
an effect on the company which is required to
fund the Plan in the future, irrespective of
the current financial condition of the Plan.
Quite frankly, it is hard to fathom how
avoiding such a major outlay of funds could
not be deemed in GATX's interest (i.e.,
contrary to Plan beneficiaries' interests)

when GATX is the company required to make all

o~ 38 o_

Thee

future contributions to the Plan, the amount
of those contributions will obviously be
affected by such a major outlay, regardless of
whether or not at any given point in time the
Plan happens to have more or less assets than
its accrued liabilities.’

Perhaps more importantly, the Third

Circuit improperly and unfairly brushed aside

here were differences of interpretation
concerning actuaries' reports submitted
concerning Plan assets and liabilities.
Respondent contends it was "fully funded,"
Claiming it had an $8.79 Million "surplus" as
of January, 1986 and a $10.2 Million Claiming
"surplus" as of January 1, 987. However, the
"accrued benefit" figure on which these
numbers are based includes only benefits
earned as of the valuation date; it does not
anticipate future service or future salary
increases which will undoubtedly occur
("|. . . the accrued benefit values are very
different from the Ongoing (i.e., future)
funding requirements which do include
assumptions about future benefits to be
earned") (emphasis supplied). In other words,
it indicates "full funding" if the Plan would
have been terminated (which obviously did not
happen) on those dates. However, and more
Significantly, there is nothing on the record
indicating that the Benefits Committee was
aware of this supposed current (as opposed to
future) funding “surplus" when it denied
Plaintiffs' claims for benefits.

on 39 -

ANS at De SRR RE Tt 2 ERED ON be URE

an even more direct and compelling indication

of the fiduciaries' conflict of interest,
i.e., that by denying Petitioners' 75/80
claims, Gé«TX avoided its direct out-of-pocket
liability for the lifetime medical and life
insurance benefits for the Souders class.
These are precisely the type of unfunded
welfare benefits which courts have repeatedly
and consistently found trigger a conflict of
interest. Moreover, there was nothing
preventing the Third Circuit from taking
judicial notice of the high cost of retirees'
medical costs. See Fed.R.Evid. 201(f). See

Mainline Investment Corp. v. Gaines, 407 F.

Supp. 423 (N.D. Tex. 1976) (judicial notice

taken of rising oil prices). Fox v. Kane-

Miller Corp., 398 F. Supp. 609 (D. Md. 1975),

aff'd., 542 F.2d 915 (4th Cir. 1975). See

also BNA Pension Reporter, Volume 17, No. 38,

p. 1591 (September 17, 1990) (discussing costs

of retiree medical benefits. However, the

- 40 -

elias KE

Third Circuit ignored this authority and
blithely shrugged off the significance of
these welfare benefits as they related to the
conflict of interest issue.

It is submitted that the Third Circuit
felt compelled to override the District
Court's factual finding that there has
conflict of interest because of its critical
Significance under the Eleventh Circuit's

decision in Brown v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of

Alabama. It is further submitted that the
effect of the Third Circuit's action is to do
an end run on Brown, thereby establishing
precedent for other courts to avoid the sound
rationale and holding of Brown, particularly
given the imminent demise of the de novo
standard of review as previously discussed.
The logic and holding of the Brown decision is
SO important it bears discussion.

In that case, the defendant/

insurer/administrator had denied plaintiff's

on 41 as

claim for hospitalization benefits under a
group health plan. The denial was based on
the plaintiff's supposed failure to obtain
pre-certification for the hospital admission.
The District Court for the defendant,
holding that the denial of benefits denial was
not arbitrary and capricious.” In reversing,
the Eleventh Circuit first noted that under

Firestone, courts should consider common law

principles applicable to trusts in evaluating
whether there has been an abuse of

discretion.’ The court then dutifully

“Interestingly, the effect of the Third
Circuit's decision in this case is the same as
holding that the District Court should have
entered summary judgment in favor of the Plan
and against the within Petitioners. That is,
the Third Circuit essentially held that taking
all facts as true before the District Court
(even though the Third Circuit redefined those
facts on its own), Petitioners could not
prevail as a matter of law.

‘In Firestone, this Court when speaking
the application of the abuse of discretion
standard, noted that the fiduciary's conflict
of interest should be weighed as “a factor" in
determining whether there has been an abuse of
discretion. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 489

== 42 -

followed this Honorable Supreme Court's

direction in Firestone, citing and discussing

the six factors enumerated in Section 187 of

the Restatement (Second) of Trusts. (Id. at

1564-65). After an exhaustive review of those
criteria, plus the history of and rationale
behind the abuse of discretion standard, the
court established the following rule:

When a plan fiduciary
demonstrates a substantial
conflict of interest on
the part of the fiduciary
responsible for benefits
determinations, the burden
shifts to the fiduciary to
prove that its
interpretation of plan

- provisions committed to
its discretion was not
tainted by self-interest.
That is, a wrong but
apparently reasonable
interpretation is
arbitrary and capricious
if it-advances the
conflicting interest of
the fiduciary at the
expense of the affected
beneficiary or
beneficiaries unless the

U.S. at 115, 109 S.Ct. at 956, 103 L.Ed. 2d at
95.

= 43 =

fiduciary justifies the
interpretation on the
ground of its benefit to
the class of all
participants and
beneficiaries. Id. at
1566-67.

The Brown court shifted the burden to the
fiduciaries to justify their actions because
people having a conflict of interest

‘ inherently implicate
the hobgoblin of self-
interest. Adverse
benefits determinations
Save considerable sums
that are returned to the
fiduciaries' corporate
coffers. The presumption
that the fiduciaries acted
for the future Stability
of the fund cannot be
entertained. Id. at
1568.°

The court further noted that,

[t]he area of discretion
to which deference is paid
must’ be confined narrowly
to decisions for which a

“The Brown court also went on to hold
that if the fiduciary sufficiently justifies
his conduct, the burden then shifts back to
the plaintiff to demonstrate that conduct is
“arbitrary and capricious by other measures"
(Id. at 1568).

im 44 -

conflicted beneficiary can
demonstrate that it is
operating exclusively in
the interests of the plan
participants and
beneficiaries ... . The
fiduciary, however, should
bear the burden of
dispelling the notion that
its conflict of interest
has tainted its judgment.
Id. *

Since Brown was decided, it has been
approvingly cited by two other panels of the

llth Circuit. See Anderson v. Blue Cross/Blue

Shield of Alabama, 907 F.2d 1072 (llth Cir.

1990) and Newell v. Prudential Insurance

Company of America, 904 F.2d 644 (llth Cir.

1990). It has also been followed in Poole v.

Seattle-First National Bank, 741 F. Supp. at

846 ("find[ing] the reasoning in Brown to be

persuasive"); and Cargile v. Confederation

Life Insurance Group Plans, 748 F. Supp. 874

(N.D. Ga. 1990).° Other courts have taken

*In Cargile, the defendants' effort to
justify their decision on the basis of its
benefit to other participants, consisted of a
Single self-serving sentence in defendant's

_ 45 -

notice of the general principles of Brown,

even though not having to apply its specific

holding of to their facts. Bass v. The

Prudential Insurance Company Of America, 1991

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7720 (D. Kan. May 29, 1991);

In re: Gulf Pension Litigation, No. 86-4365,

1991 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4631 (S.D. Texas,

April 10, 1991). Miller v. Metropolitan Life

Insurance Co., 925 F.2d 979 (6th Cir. 1991);

Daniels v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 758 F. Supp.
326, 355 (W.D. Pa. 1991). Seen.
Petitioners have been unable to locate a
Single decision challenging or criticizing the

abuse of discretion test established in Brown.

Brief that the fiduciary had sought to

conserve the plan assets. (Id. at 880). The
court ruled that this "naked assertion" cannot -
“purge the taint of self-interest." Id.

Ironically, in this case, Respondent made a
last-minute desperate effort to place evidence
before the District Court that the Plan
Administrator was acting in the best interest
of all participants. This consisted of a
conclusory and virtually meaningless Affidavit
submitted by the Plan Administrator, Mr.
Herbert, which the District Court correctly
gave little credence.

- 46 a

Here, the District Court found as a
factual matter that the Plan had failed to
sustain its burden of proving that denial of
Plaintiffs' 75/80 claims benefitted other
participants or beneficiaries (757 F. Supp. at
1461). Under Brown, this absolutely mandates
a conclusion that the Plan fiduciaries abused
their discretion in denying Plaintiffs' claims
for benefits. Critically however, the Third
Circuit's refusal to get to this issue by
overruling the District Court's finding of a
"conflict" completely undermines Brown and
sends conflicting and confusing signals to
trial and appellate courts. In particular,
can an appellate court wishing to avoid the
effects of Brown do so by simply reversing the
District Court's factual finding that there
was a conflict of interest? Or shouldn't the
appropriate level of deference be accorded the
lower court's factual findings, with an

appellate court then being bound to follow the

- 47 =

test laid down in Brown, i.e., once a conflict
exists, then has the fiduciary met its burden
o: proving it acted in the best interest of
all Plan participants and if he hasn't, then
he has abused his discretion.

Lastly, the Third Circuit's decision has
implications concerning the application of the
arbitrary and capricious standard above and
beyond its side-stepping of Brown. Here, the
Taird Circuit advocates that unless there is a

"direct" conflict (not "a conflict" as

Giscussed in Brown and in Restatement of

—

trust, Section 167), a plan fiduciary's

cecision should be afforded full deference
irrespective of the fact that the fiduciaries
2s here) consist of a stacked deck of
-ndividuals who are obviously pro-employer and
énti-employee.
There was certainly a divergence of
-Dinion, even prior to this Court's decision

-. Firestone, as to what constituted an abuse

‘ - 68. ~ ‘

of discretion or arbitrary and capricious

conduct by plan fiduciaries.

The Fifth Circuit followed a three part
test to evaluate a plan administrator's good
faith: (1) uniformity of construction; (2)
“fair reading" and reasonableness of that
reading; and (3) unanticipated costs. Dennard

v. Richards Group, Inc., 681 F.2d 306, 314

(Sth Cir. 1982). The Eighth Circuit defined
the arbitrary and capricious standard as
requiring a determination of whether the
fiduciary's decision was supported by
substantial evidence, was contrary to law or

was made in bad faith. See Niagara Paper

Corp. v. Paper Industrial Union Management

Pension Fund, 800 F.2d 742, 745-46 (8th Cir.

1986); Short v. Central States Southeast and

South West Areas Pension Fund, 729 F.2d 567,

571 (8th Cir. 1984). The Seventh Circuit
required proof that the fiduciary's decision

was arbitrary, fraudulent or in bad faith.

- 49 o

Siv_v. P.R. Mallory & Co., 712 F.2d 1209 (7th

Cir. 1983). The pre-Firestone and pre-Brown

test in the Eleventh Circuit was "whether [the
trustees] interpretation was made rationally
ard in good faith - not whether it was right."

Arderson v. Ciba-Geigy Corp., 759 F.2d at,

1522. In a post-Firestone case, but pre-

deting Brown, the llth Circuit cited the three
pert test referenced in Dennard, supra. See

Guy v. Southeastern Iron Workers Welfare Fund,

877 F.2d 37 (lith Cir. 1989).
It is submitted that, having given the

-restone decision a chance to be digested and

acDlied by the District and Circuit Courts,
trere is confusion as to (a) a District
Ccurt's fact-finding responsibilities, and
certicularly as to how far an appellate court
sould transgress in overturning well
substantiating findings such as were made in
t-=is case by the District Court, and (2) how

rrecisely the arbitrary and capricious

_—

standard is to be applied, particularly the

extent which a conflict of interest plays, and
to what level (i.e., direct, indirect,
intermediate, etc.) that conflict must rise to
trigger the test enunciated by the Eleventh
Circuit in Brown. However, regardless of the
test formulated, it is submitted that the
Third Circuit here did precisely what it
admonished the District Court not to do, i.e.,
it ignored the District Court's well-supported
factual findings of bad faith, conflict of
interest and interpretation of plain Plan
language. By contrast, it is inconceivable,
as a matter of law, that an injustice has not
occurred here, and that the obviously
conflicted fiduciaries (all major officers of
GATX) did not abuse their discretion, in
applying an interpretive gloss to the word
“layoff" which did not exist in the Plan, when
(a) they did not have any information before

them concerning the funded status of the Plan,

_ 51 a

(b) the fiduciaries put nothing meaningful on
the record before the lower court from which
anyone could reasonably conclude they were
acting in the interest of anyone other than an
impermissible party i.e., GATX, (c) they
attempted to claim there was no "termination"
of employment, despite the fact that the Stock
Purchase Agreement and a post-closing letter
sent by Plan representatives clearly indicated
that there had been such a termination, (d)
they sought to base their decision on the
existence of a pension plan for the new Fuller
Company which had not yet been adopted and
which Fuller had no duty to adopt, and (e)
they sought to "rely" on the prior
transactions (i.e., MTL, TEC, etc.) was
completely misguided because the scanned
information which they had received from the
Plan Administrator was very misleading as to
the nature of those transactions and indeed on

closer scrutiny, those transactions undercut

the decision made by the fiduciaries in this

TRAUB, BUTZ & FOGERTY, P.C.

Respectfully submitted,

y: Sev Le uA- fie

Se: ymout Traub,“Esquire
Attorheys for Petitioners
EDWIN KOTROSITS, et al.

1620 Pond Road, Suite 200
Allentown, PA 18104
(215)395-1010

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1460%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
