# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Alabama v. Gingo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1448%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 1049

## Text

92-63 4

NO.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE ™ |
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1992
STATE OF ALABAMA,
PETITIONER,
Vv.

MCRAY GINGO, and
ATLAS INDUSTRIAL PAINTERS, INC.,

RESPONDENTS.
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
PETITION OF THE STATE OF ALABAMA
OF

JAMES H. EVANS
ATTORNEY GENERAL

AND

WILLIAM DUNCAN LITTLE, III*
ROBERT DOUGLAS TAMBLING

ASSISTANT ATTORNEYS GENERAL
ADDRESS OF COUNSEL:
Office of the Attorney General
Alabama State House
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130
(205) 242-7300

*COUNSEL OF RECORD

Il.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE
SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

CREATING AN EXCEPTION TO THE
DOCTRINE OF ARIZONA v. YOUNGELOOD
IS CONTRARY TO CALIFORNIA v.
TROMBETTA AND TO THE APPLI-
CATION OF BOTH YOUNGBLOOD AND
TROMBETTA BY THE COURTS OF
VARIOUS JURISDICTIONS?

WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE
SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
REGARDING THE DESTRUCTION OF
EVIDENCE IN THE HANDS OF A
SEPARATE GOVERNMENT CONFLICTS
WITH THOSE OF OTHER JURIS-
DICTIONS ON THIS QUESTION?

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGES

Arizona v. Youngblood,
468 U.B.s Gi CRBS) «oan cece viass passim

California v. Trombetta,
Tle fae eee ee passim

Commonwealth v. Dennis,
S588 A.2d 30 (Pa. 1991)......0-- 17

Ex parte McRay Gingo,
No. 1910360 (Ala.
peeks 12, SOUR is eee 13, 19

State v. Mabe,
412 &S.86.26@ 386 (6.C. 1991).«.. i?

Thor v. United States,
974 F.2G 215 (Sth Cir. 2978)... 20

United States v. Belden,
957 F.2d 671 (9th Cir. 1992),
cert. denied, 425 U.S. 970
LD TGs obs 66 o 06s ee ee bees ene eee ee io

United States v. Bermudez,
526 F.2d 89 (2nd Cir. 1975).... 20

United States v. Donaldson,
915 F.2d 612 (10th Cir. 1990).. 16

United States v. Harris,
738 F.2d 1068 (9th Cir. 1984),
cert. denied, 484 U.S. 832
tL) er rere eS 19

United States v. Malbrough,
922 F.2d 458 (8th Cir. 1990),
cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 2907

(2098) 6.0054kdsssee 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONTINUED)

PAGES
United States V. McKie,
951 F.2d 399 fo.¢. Cir. 299i). 15

United States vy. Pirre,
927 F.2d 694 (2nd Cir. Seeadccs 2S

United States yv. White,

766 F.Supp. 873 (E.D.
Wash. 1991)

el

NO.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1992
STATE OF ALABAMA,
PETITIONER,
Vv.

MCRAY GINGO, and
ATLAS INDUSTRIAL PAINTERS, INC.,

RESPONDENTS.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The Order of the Circuit Court of
Shelby County, Alabama, suppressing
test results based on waste samples
obtained by the Alabama Department of
Environmental Management (ADEM) and the
United States Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA), is not reported, but a
copy of this order accompanies this

petition as Appendix A.

1

The decision of the Court of
Criminal Appeals of Alabama reversing
the order of the Circuit Court of
Shelby County is not yet reported, but
a copy of this decision accompanies
this petition as Appendix B.

The decision of the Supreme Court
of Alabama reversing the decision of
the Court of Criminal Appeals is not
yet reported, but a copy of this
decision accompanies this petition as
Appendix C. The denial by the Supreme
Court of Alabama of Petitioner’s
application for rehearing is not

reported, but a copy of it accompanies

this petition as Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Supreme Court
of Alabama was issued on April 17,
1992. A timely application for
rehearing filed by the State of Alabama
was denied on July 10, 1992, and this
petition is filed within 90 days of
this date. This Honorable Court’s
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 1, Amendment XIV, U.S.

Constitution.

All persons born or
naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the
jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United
States and of the State
wherein they reside. No
state shall make or
enforce any law which
shall abridge the
privileges or immunities

eee

of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any
state deprive any person
of life, liberty, or
property, without due
process of law; nor deny
to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
No statutory provisions are at

issue in this proceeding.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents were indicted in
November 1988 by the Grand Jury of
Shelby County, Alabama, for illegally
disposing of hazardous waste; for
illegally violating an order of the
Alabama Department of Environmental

Management (ADEM) regarding disposal of

hazardous waste; and also for
unlawfully failing to prepare a

manifest for transportation of

hazardous waste, all in violation of

Code of Alabama 1975, §22-30-19.?+ In

February 1989, Respondent McRay Gingo
filed a motion for production and
disclosure requesting "any and all
tangible evidence in the State’s
possession, care, custody or control
relating to or consisting of ... paint,
hazardous waste, sludge, drums, ..."
After this motion was granted, the
State advised the defendants in writing
that the samples of hazardous waste
which had been collected by ADEM no

longer existed.

1A third defendant, kobert D.
White, was also indicted for related
violations of Code of Alabama 1975,

§22-30-19. White was a party in the
Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals but
did not file a petition for writ of
certiorari in the Supreme Court of
Alabama.

On September 4, 1990, the State of
Alabama filed a motion for pretrial
determination of the admissibility of
evidence, in anticipation that at some
point Respondents would object to the
introduction into evidence of the
laboratory test results on the ground
that the underlying samples were not
preserved fcr independent testing and
analysis by Respondents.

On October 12, 1990, a hearing was
held on the State’s motion. At this
hearing it was established that the
ADEM samples had been destroyed in late
April or early May, 1987. Furthermore,
separate samples taken by the United
States Environmental Protection Agency

(EPA) for its own purposes and

maintained in its custody and control

were destroyed in August 1989. On
February 22, 1991, the Circuit Court of
Shelby County entered an order finding
no bad faith in the destruction of
either set of samples but nonetheless
suppressing the test results from both
sets of samples (see Appendix A).
While the trial court did not specify
the basis for its decision, the briefs
for both sides addressed the question
of whether destruction of the samples
violated the Due Process Clause of the
14th Amendment. This decision was
appealed pretrial to the Court of
Criminal Appeals of Alabama.

On November 27, 1991, the Court of
Criminal Appeals reversed the decision

of the Circuit Court, holding that

because there was no bad faith in the

destruction of either set of samples
there was no violation of the Due
Process Clause of the 14th Amendment
and the test results were admissible
(see Appendix B). After rehearing was
denied, Respondents filed a petition
for writ of certiorari in the Supreme
Court of Alabama, which petition was
granted.

On Apri) 17, 1992, the Supreme
Court of Alabama reversed the decision
of the Court of Criminal Appeals. The
Supreme Court of Alabama agreed that
there was no bad faith in the
destruction of either set of samples,
but recognized an exception to the

doctrine of Arizona v. Youngblood, 488

U.S. 51 (1988), based upon the critical

nature of the evidence destroyed. The

Supreme Court of Alabama thus held that

the destruction of the samples violated
the Due Process Clause of the 14th
Amendment, and suppressed the test
results as to both the ADEM samples and
the EPA samples, even though the EPA
samples were never in the State’s
possession (Appendix C). On July 10,
1992, the Supreme Court of Alabama
denied Petitioner’s application for

rehearing.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE
SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
CREATING AN EXCEPTION TO
THE DOCTRINE OF ARIZONA vy.
YOUNGBLOOD IS CONTRARY TO
CALIFORNIA v. TROMBETTA
AND TO THE APPLICATION OF
BOTH YOUNGBLOOD AND
TROMBETTA BY THE COURTS OF
VARIOUS JURISDICTIONS.

In the case at bar, the Supreme
Court of Alabama has unilaterally
created an exception to the rule of

Arizona v. Youngblood, 488 U.S. 51

(1988), that a defendant must prove bad
faith on the part of the prosecution in
the loss or destruction of potentially
exculpatory evidence in order to
establish a violation of due process.
In so holding, the lower court has held

contrary to California v. Trombetta,

467 U.S. 479 (1984), upon which

10

Youngblood was based. Furthermore, the

Alabama Supreme Court’s decision in
this case is inconsistent with the

application of Youngblood and Trombetta

by courts in various federal and state
jurisdictions.

This case involves a prosecution
for various illegal acts regarding
hazardous waste. Prior to trial
Respondents moved for production of all
tangible evidence within the possession
of the State. The State subsequently
notified Respondents that the samples
of the hazardous waste had been
destroyed. The trial court, ina
pretrial ruling, suppressed the test
results as to the samples collected by
the Alabama Department of Environmental
Management (ADEM) and separate samples
collected by the United States Environ-
mental Protection Agency (EPA) and

11

maintained by EPA. This decision by
the trial court was eventually upheld
by the Supreme Court of Alabama.

In its ruling the Alabama Supreme
Court recognized the general rule of

Arizona v. Youngblood, supra, that a

defendant must establish bad faith
before the loss or destruction of
potentially exculpatory evidence will
be considered a due process violation.
The lower court, however, created on

its own an exception to the Youngblood

rule in this case, based on the
following language in the concurring
opinion in Youngblood of Justice
Stevens.

In my opinion, there may
well be cases in which the
defendant is unable to
prove that the State acted
in bad faith but in which
the loss or destruction of
evidence is nonetheless so

12

gC ee

critical to the defense as

to make a criminal trial

fundamentally unfair.
488 U.S. at 61 (concurring opinion,
Stevens, J.) The Alabama Supreme Court
held in effect that because proving the
hazardous nature of the waste was the
heart of the State’s case, the
destruction of the samples was
fundamentally unfair, and thus the case
fit the exception recognized by Justice

Stevens. Ex parte McRay Gingo, No.

1910360 (Ala. April 17, 1992), ms. op.
at 6-10 (Appendix C at 31-33.
This holding by the lower court is

contrary to California v. Trombetta,

supra, upon which Youngblood was

based. In Trombetta, which involved a

charge of driving while intoxicated,

the defendant was presumed to be

13

intoxicated if his blood alcohol level
was above 0.10 percent. 467 U.S. at
482. The evidence destroyed was the
breath sample from which were obtained
the test results which the State
intended to rely on in proving its
case. Id., at 482-483. The missing

evidence in Trombetta was thus as

important to the State’s case as that
here. The Court nonetheless held that
bad faith must be established in order
for the suppression of the test results
to be required. Id., at 488-489.
Moreover, other cases applying

Trombetta and Youngblood have held in

cases involving evidence similar to

that here that a defendant must show

bad faith in order to establish a due

process violation. In United States v.

Belden, 957 F.2d 671 (9th Cir. 1992),
where the charge was manufacturing
marijuana, the Ninth Circuit held,

citing Youngblood, that a showing of

bad faith was required where the
government had destroyed a number of

the marijuana plants. In United States

¥, Mokie, 951 F.2d 399 (0.C. Cir.

1991), the defendant was charged with
possession of more than five grams of
crack cocaine; bad faith was needed to
suppress test results where the crack

had been lost. In United States v.

Pirre, 927 F.2d 694, 696-697 (2nd Cir.
1991), where the defendant was charged
with importation of cocaine, the

destruction of part of the cocaine did

not result in the suppression of test

15

results absent bad faith. In United
States v. Malbrough, 922 F.2d 458, 463
(8th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111
S.Ct. 2907 (1991), a prosecution for
manufacturing marijuana, bad faith was
required for suppression where most of
the marijuana was intentionally
destroyed before trial. In United
States v. Donaldson, 915 F.2d 612 (10th
Cir.1990), where the charge was
conspiracy to possess more than 100
kilograms of marijuana, destruction of
the marijuana did not result in the
suppression of test results absent a

showing of bad faith. In United States

v. White, 766 F.Supp. 873, 884-885

(E.D. Wash. 1991), a hazardous waste
prosecution like the case at bar, the
consumption of the waste during testing

did not require suppression of the

16

results without bad faith. In State v.

Mabe, 412 S.Ed.2d 386 (S.C. 1991), a
case involving trafficking in cocaine,
suppression of test results could be
based only upon a showing of bad

faith. In Commonwealth v. Dennis, 588

A.2d 30 (Pa. 1991), a DUI case,
destruction of a blood sample showing
blood alcohol level did not require
suppression of the test results without
bad faith.

These cases are all similar to the
instant case because in each the
government, in order to make its case,
had to introduce test results to prove
the identity or chemical make-up of a
particular substance which had been

destroyed. None of the cases

recognized the exception to Youngblood

found by the Alabama Supreme Court.

17

Deena

Thus, the decision by the lower court
represents a departure from the

prevailing interpretation of Trombetta

and Youngblood, and creates a split
among the courts as to the application
of those cases.

Because of division among the
courts as to whether bad faith is
required for a due process violation in
cases involving evidence such as this,
the Court should grant certiorari as to

this issue.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW
REGARDING THE DESTRUCTION
OF EVIDENCE IN THE HANDS
OF A SEPARATE GOVERNMENT
CONFLICTS WITH THOSE OTHER
JURISDICTIONS ON THIS
QUESTION

In the instant case the Supreme

Court of Alabama Suppressed not only

18

- |

the results of tests on the samples

taken by the state agency, ADEM, but
also results based on EPA’s samples,
even though these later samples were
never in the State’s possession. Ex

parte McRay Gingo, supra, ms. op. at

9. (Appendix C at 32-33).

This holding, which makes the State
responsible for the acts of a third
party government over which it has no
actual control, is inconsistent with
what appears to be the general rule
that one government has no obligation
to turn over evidence in the posses ;ion

of another government. United Sta‘.es

v. Harris, 738 F.2d 1068, 1072 (9th

Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 832

(1987) (no duty on federal prosecutor

to turn over tapes possessed by state);

19

Thor v. United States, 574 F.2d 215,

220-221 (5th Cir. 1978) (no duty on
federal prosecutor under Rule 16,
F.R.Cr.P. to turn over address book in

state possession); United States v.

Bermudez, 526 F.2d 89, 100 n. 9 (2nd

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 970

(1976) (no duty on federal rrosecutor
under Jencks Act to turn over material
in state investigator’s file). While
these cases do not specifically address
the question of whether one government
can be held on constitutional grounds
to be responsible for the acts of
another, they at least imply that this
is not the case.

Because of the difference between
the holding in the case below and those
in other cases regarding the responsi-

bility of a government for evidence in

20

ee

the possession of a third party, the
Court should grant certiorari to decide

this issue.

CONCLUSION

As has been shown above, the
holding of the Supreme Court of Alabama
regarding the two questions discussed
above are in conflict with both those
of this Court and those of the courts

of various other jurisdictions. For

21

this reason the Court should grant

certiorari to address these questions.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES H. EVANS
ALABAMA ATTORNEY GENERAL

OA — - — Z. KEE o>

WILLIAM DUNCAN LITTLE, III

ALABAMA ASSISTANT ATTORNEY
GENERAL

CFF , <) i. )

ROBERT DOUGLAS TAMBLING

ALABAMA ASSISTANT ATTORNEY
GENERAL

Ss

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

ADDRESS OF COUNSEL:

Office of the Attorney General
Alabama State House

11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130
(205) 242-7300

1909C

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1448%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
