# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Caterpillar Inc. v. Michigan Department of Treasury

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1440%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 1014

## Text

92-626

No.

+

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

¢

CATERPILLAR INC.,

Petitioner,

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,
REVENUE DIVISION,

Respondent.

¢

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of
The State Of Michigan

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

RicHARD A. HANSON
Counsel of Record

Of Counsel

OLIVER OLDMAN

Professor of Law

Harvard University

Langdell Hall

Cambridge, Massachusetts
02138

Don S. HARNACK

Grecory G. PALMER

Carot S. PoRTMAN
McDermott, Witt & EMERY
227 W. Monroe Street
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 372-2000

——

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Do the Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions
of the Michigan Single Business Tax Act violate the Com-
merce Clause because they automatically provide a Mich-
igan based company a larger tax benefit and a lower
effective tax rate as compared to a non-Michigan based
company such as Caterpillar when each acquires an iden-
tical piece of capital equipment?

2. Do the Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions
of the Michigan Single Business Tax Act violate the Com-
merce Clause because they permit a deduction for the
acquisition of real property located in Michigan but not
real property located elsewhere?

3. Did this Court intend in Trinova Corporation v.
Michigan Department of Treasury, ___ U.S. ___, 111 S.Ct. 818
(1991), to exempt from Commerce Clause challenge state
tax provisions which “encourage the growth and devel-
opment of intrastate commerce and industry” even when
such provisions discriminate against out-of-state com-
panies?

4. If this Court decides that the Capital Acquisition
Deduction provisions unconstitutionally discriminate
against Caterpillar, does the decision apply retrospec-
tively?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CUBS TIONS Pee eGR 0 568 oc i techie sees i
TABLE OF ALTRI tee ss ish ce iscecenncetwaieses iii
OPTIONS. DANG 6 5's PES epee caw eet pean 2
PURI A ss vos 5 ae een eed ee eee 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SD RIVA OM? 8 iss cds shee eee ese eee 3
STATEMENT OC THE CASS cues icen cesses esas 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 14

The Capital Acquisition Deduction Provisions
Were Not At leswe Env THROWER 6.0 iin cence esas wens: 15

The Capital Acquisition Deduction for Personal
Property Favors Michigan Based Companies
Solely Because of the Location of Their Business .... 16

The Capital Acquisition Deductions For Real
Property Impermissibly Encourage Michigan
ENUVOOEMNOI on nc icc nnscnssayese ae eaee ee eenes one 21

This Court Should Clarify Its Decision In Tri-
nova To Reaffirm That Discriminatory State
Taxes Ave Imperentesioet... ...) an
Nippert v. Richmond, 327 U.S. 416 (1946)............. 24
Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Department of Treasury,

oe. eee ae, Wee CAPPED scan cicuneese passim
io. & sOneeen, 457 US. Sor (19GZ). ..... 2.20005 26, 27

Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. Tully, 466 U.S. 388
REE Ger ae ee eee ae ree ey eee ae passim

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES:
SS ee! ee a err errer eee cr ry passim
Mich. Compiled Laws, Ch. 208, M.C.L.A. § 208.23;
oe Se ee. + ere ee rrr ee teres passim
Mich. Compiled Laws, Ch. 208, M.C.L.A.
§§ 208.45, 46, 49, 51; M.S.A. §§ 7.558 (45), (46),
lc Oe: Ree we go are ere na, arate ne ert passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Act of July 16, 1991, 1991 Mich. Pub. Acts 77..3, 9, 15
H.B. 4640, 78th Legisl., Regular Session 1975......... 6

e
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992
*

CATERPILLAR INC.,

Petitioner,

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,
REVENUE DIVISION,

Respondent.

*

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of
The State Of Michigan

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
¢

Petitioner, Caterpillar Inc. (“Caterpillar”),! respect-
fully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the
opinion and judgment of the Michigan Supreme Court
entered on July 31, 1992. In a four to three decision, the
Michigan Supreme Court reversed the lower Michigan
courts and upheld the Capital Acquisition Deduction pro-
visions of the Michigan Single Business Tax Act against

1 Petitioner has no parent company. Petitioner’s subsid-
iaries (other than wholly-owned subsidiaries) are listed in the
Appendix at 126a.

Caterpillar’s claim that these provisions facially discrimi-
nate against Caterpillar in violation of the Commerce
Clause of the United States Constitution.

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and dissenting opinions of the Michigan
Supreme Court are reported at 440 Mich. 400, ___ N. W.2d
___ (Mich. 1992) and are reprinted in the Appendix at
la-92a.

The opinion of the Michigan Court of Appeals is
reported at 188 Mich. App. 621, 470 N.W.2d 80 (Mich.
App. 1990) and is reprinted in the Appendix at 93a-104a.

The Opinion and Order, Final Judgment in re Capital
Acquisition Deduction, and Clarification of Final Judg-
ment in re Capital Acquisition Deduction of the Michigan
Court of Claims, Judge Thomas L. Brown presiding, are
not reported. They are reprinted in the Appendix at
105a-115a.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Michigan Supreme
Court was entered on July 31, 1992. No rehearing was
requested. The jurisdiction of this Court to review the
judgment of the Michigan Supreme Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the following constitutional and
statutory provisions:

U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, cl. 3

Mich. Compiled Laws, Ch. 208, M.C.L.A.
§ 208.23(a); M.S.A. § 7.558 (23)(a)

Mich. Compiled Laws, Ch. 208, M.C.L.A.
§ 208.23(c); M.S.A. § 7.558 (23)(c)

Mich. Compiled Laws, Ch. 208, M.C.L.A.
§ 208.45, 46, 49, 51; M.S.A. § 7.558 (45), (46), (49),
(51)

Act of July 16, 1991, 1991 Mich. Pub. Acts 77

The texts of these provisions are reprinted in the Appen-
dix at 116a-121a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves Caterpillar’s Commerce Clause
challenge to the Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions
of the Michigan Single Business Tax Act. The Single Busi-
ness Tax uses different formulas to apportion the Single
Business tax base and the deduction for the cost of capital
assets. Caterpillar asserts that the use of these differing
formulas facially discriminates in favor of Michigan
based companies and against non-Michigan based com-
panies in the same way as the New York statute which

this Court found unconstitutional in Westinghouse Electric
Corp. v. Tully, 466 U.S. 388 (1984).?

Caterpillar

Caterpillar is incorporated in Delaware and head-
quartered in Peoria, Illinois. Caterpillar and its subsid-
iaries constitute the world’s largest manufacturer of
earthmoving, construction and materials handling equip-
ment.

Caterpillar’s facilities and employees are predomi-
nantly located in Illinois. Caterpillar conducts a portion
of its business in Michigan and sells products to cus-
tomers in Michigan. Caterpillar is subject to and pays
Michigan Single Business Tax.

The Michigan Single Business Tax

The Michigan Single Business Tax is a modified value
added tax. The tax is imposed on the value added to the
economy by the taxpayer’s business. Value added is

2 Throughout this Petition Caterpillar refers to Michigan
based companies and non-Michigan based companies. A “Mich-
igan based” company is a company engaged in interstate busi-
ness with a predominant part of its facilities and employees in
Michigan as compared to its sales in Michigan. A “non-Michi-
gan based” company is a company such as Caterpillar, engaged
in interstate business with a predominant part of its facilities
and employees outside of Michigan as compared to its sales in
Michigan. The Michigan Supreme Court adopted these defini-
tions for purposes of its opinion. Appendix at 3a, n. 4.

basically the sum of the taxpayer’s net income, compen-

sation, depreciation on capital assets, and interest
expense.

The Single Business Tax uses the three-factor prop-
erty, payroll and sales formula to determine the share of a
company’s value added tax base which is fairly appor-
tioned to and taxable by Michigan.? The use of the three-
factor formula to apportion the value added tax base was
considered and upheld by this Court in Trinova Corp. v.
Michigan Department of Treasury, U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 818
(1991).

A major element of the Single Business Tax, which
was not at issue in Trinova, is the Capital Acquisition
Deduction. The Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions
permit taxpayers to deduct, subject to certain limits, the
cost of capital assets in the year the assets are acquired. In
effect, the Single Business Tax allows a deduction for the
“purchase price paid for the capital good - but then taxes
its depreciation.” Mobil Oil Corp. v. Department of Treasury,
422 Mich. 473, 373 N.W.2d 730, at 741, n. 14 (Mich. 1985).
The Capital Acquisition Deduction is taken after the tax-
payer has applied the three-factor formula to determine
the portion of the value added tax base which is appor-
tioned to and taxed by Michigan.

3 The three-factor formula produces an apportionment per-
centage which is the average of three ratios: (1) Michigan prop-
erty to total property, (2) Michigan payroll to total payroli, and
(3) Michigan sales to total sales. See, Trinova Corporation v. Mich-
igan Department of Treasury, __ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 818, 826
(1991).

The three-factor formula is not used to determine the
deduction for the cost of capital assets. The Capital
Acquisition Deduction for tangible personal property
such as equipment is determined by multiplying the total
cost of all equipment purchases, regardless of location, by
a two-factor formula consisting of the taxpayer’s prop-
erty and payroll factors.4 The deduction for real property
such as buildings is limited to the cost of such property
located in Michigan.

Proceedings Below

Caterpillar filed suit in the Michigan Court of Claims
on December 10, 1984, requesting a refund of Single
Business Tax for the tax year 1981. Caterpillar filed a
second suit, for the tax years 1982, 1983 and 1984, on
March 15, 1987. The cases were consolidated for trial and
decision.

Caterpillar made two separate claims for relief. As
one basis for relief, Caterpillar alleged that the three-
factor formula overstated the amount of Caterpillar’s
value added tax base fairly apportioned to Michigan.

As a separate basis for relief, Caterpillar alleged that
the Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions discrimi-
nated against Caterpillar in violation of the Commerce

4 As originally proposed and as passed by both the Michi-
gan House and Michigan Senate, the deduction for tangible
personal property was to be determined using the three-factor
property, payroll and sales formula. See H.B. 4640, 78th Legisl.,
Regular Session (1975). In the conference to reconcile the House
and Senate versions of the Single Business Tax, the formula was
changed to the two-factor formula.

Clause. Caterpillar alleged that the methods used to
determine the allowable Capital Acquisition Deduction
provided greater tax benefits and produced lower tax
rates for Michigan based companies and Michigan invest-
ments solely because the companies and investments
were located in Michigan. Caterpillar’s discrimination
claim relied primarily on this Court’s decisions in West-
inghouse, Boston Stuck Exchange v. State Tax Commission,
429 U.S. 318 (1977) and Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co.
v. Reily, 373 U.S. 64, reh’g denied, 374 U.S. 858 (1963).°

On July 13, 1989, the Court of Claims entered its
Opinion and Order. The court declared that the Capital
Acquisition Deduction provisions violated the Commerce
Clause because the provisions impermissibly favored
Michigan based companies over non-Michigan based
companies. The court stated:

The discriminatory effect of MCL 208.23; MSA
7.588(23) has been consistently ruled unconstitu-
tional by the U.S. Supreme Court on grounds
that it violates the commerce clause. In Hallibur-
ton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Reily, 373 U.S. 64
(1962), reh’g denied, 374 U.S. 858 (1963), the U.S.

5 Prior to a decision on Caterpillar’s claims the Chief Judge
of the Court of Claims issued an order holding in abeyance all
cases involving challenges to the three-factor formula, pending
final action in Trinova. Because the constitutionality of the Capi-
tal Acquisition Deduction provisions was a “separate issue” not
present in Trinova and an issue “of great importance to the
Department of Treasury and taxpayers”, the parties filed a joint
motion on November 10, 1988 requesting the Court of Claims to
immediately consider and decide Caterpillar’s constitutional
claim. A copy of the Joint Motion is reprinted in the Appendix at
122a. Judge Brown granted the motion on November 16, 1988.

Supreme Court struck down a Louisiana use tax
exemption which had the effect of imposing a
lower use tax on property assembled in Louisi-
ana as compared to property assembled out of
state and brought into Louisiana. The Court
found this exemption to be a clear violation of
the Commerce Clause because it discriminated
against the out-of-state manufacturer as com-
pared to the in-state manufacturer when each
engaged in the same transaction — use of identi-

__ cal property in the state. The same result ensues
here. A Michigan company receives a greater
CAD than Plaintiff when each engages in the
same transaction — purchase and use of an iden-
tical piece of property in Michigan.

Appendix at 107a. The Court of Claims also determined
that its decision would be effective only for tax years
beginning after September 30, 1989 and denied Caterpil-
lar relief for the years 1981 - 1984. The Court of Claims
further held that the discriminatory effect of the Capital
Acquisition Deduction provisions should be remedied by
severing those provisions from the statute.

Caterpillar appealed to the Michigan Court of
Appeals those parts of Court of Claims’ decision which
denied retrospective relief and which eliminated the Cap-
ital Acquisition Deduction for future years. The Depart-
ment of Treasury did not appeal any part of the Court of
Claims decision. The Michigan Manufacturers Associa-
tion was, however, permitted to file a brief amicus curiae
to the Court of Appeals which argued that the Capital
Acquisition Deduction provisions were constitutional.

The Michigan Court of Appeals issued its decision on
February 5, 1991. The Court of Appeals affirmed the

Court of Claims’ denial of retrospective relief. Citing
Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), the Court of
Appeals held that the Court of Claims decision was not
clearly foreshadowed by prior decisions of this Court.
The Court of Appeals reversed on the question of remedy,
holding that only the language which discriminated
against non-Michigan based companies should be
severed from the statute.

On February 26, 1991, Caterpillar filed an Applica-
tion for Leave to Appeal to the Michigan Supreme Court
challenging only that part of the Court of Appeals deci-
sion which denied retrospective relief. On May 6, 1991,
the Michigan Department of Treasury filed an Applica-
tion for Leave to Appeal, challenging only that part of the
Court of Appeals decision regarding the proper remedy
for discrimination.

Prior to any action by the Michigan Supreme Court,
the Michigan Legislature adopted and the Governor
signed 1991 PA 77, which amended the Capital Acquisi-
tion Deduction provisions for tax years beginning after
September 30, 1989. The amendment provided that the
Capital Acquisition Deduction would be calculated by
applying the three-factor formula to the cost of all capital
assets.

On October 4, 1991, the Michigan Supreme Court
instructed Caterpillar and the Department of Treasury to
brief and argue the following issues: (1) Whether prior to

10

the passage of 1991 PA 77, the Capital Acquisition Deduc-
tion provisions violated the Commerce Clause;® and, if so,
(2) whether the lower courts erred by limiting the effect
of their rulings to tax years beginning after September 30,
1989; and (3) what relief, if any, Caterpillar should
receive.

The decision of the Michigan Supreme Court was
issued on July 31, 1992. The majority began its analysis of
Caterpillar’s discrimination claim by stating that a state
tax violates the Commerce Clause if

it is facially discriminatory, has a discriminatory
purpose, or has the effect of unduly burdening
interstate commerce.

Appendix at 22a (emphasis in original). In response to
Caterpillar’s claim of facial discrimination the majority
stated:

The CAD is available for any taxpayer, whether
a multistate company or a company whose busi-
ness activity is allocated entirely to Michigan -
an instate company. This is true under both
subsections 23(a) and 23(c). Therefore, Caterpil-
lar cannot point to any treatment of instate and
out-of-state companies that is discriminatory on
its face.

6 The Michigan Supreme Court held that it was authorized
to consider the constitutionality of the Capital Acquisition
Deduction provisions because of the importance of the issue.
The Michigan Manufacturers Association again filed a brief
amicus curiae in support of the constitutionality of the Capital
Acquisition Deduction provisions.

11

Appendix at 22a-23a. On the questions of discriminatory
purpose and effect the majority held that the Capital
Acquisition Deduction provisions were fairly designed to
measure the amount of taxpayers’ Michigan investment
and that Michigan was not required to use the same
methods to apportion the value added tax base and the
Capital Acquisition Deduction.

Finally, the majority interpreted this Court’s decision
in Trinova as having already considered and decided that
the Single Business Tax, including the Capital Acquisition
Deduction provisions, did not violate the Commerce
Clause. The majority stated:

Although the Court’s analysis in Trinova was
based on review of the SBT as a whole and not
on the CAD provisions specifically, the Court
expressly stated that the CAD provisions were
relevant to the Court’s analysis and review of
the SBT’s constitutionality. See Trinova, supra,
111 S.Ct. 826 and 835-836.

Appendix at 23a, n. 31. The majority then concluded:

The Trinova Court found that the SBT did not
discriminate against interstate commerce in vio-
lation of the Commerce Clause, distinguishing
the SBT from other taxing statutes that it has
held to be unconstitutional.

Appendix at 26a-27a. Having found that the Capital
Acquisition Deduction provisions were constitutional the
majority did not reach the questions of retrospective
application and remedy.

12

Chief Justice Cavanaugh, joined by Justice Levin,
dissented from the majority opinion.” He began by stat-
ing that Trinova did not address the constitutionality of
the Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions:

The majority appears to suggest that the United
States Supreme Court may have already upheld
the CAD apportionment against Commerce
Clause challenge, as part of the overall scheme
of the SBT, in Trinova. See slip op, p 23, n 31, and
p 26, n 32. If this is what the majority intends to
suggest, the suggestion is plainly erroneous.

Appendix at 32a, n. 3. Chief Justice Cavanaugh went on
to conclude that the Capital Acquisition Deduction provi-
sions were facially discriminatory, citing this Court’s
decisions in Westinghouse; Boston Stock Exchange; and Kraft
General Foods, Inc. v. lowa Department of Revenue, __ U.S.
__, 112 S. Ct. 2365 (1992).

To illustrate the discriminatory effect of the two-
factor formula, Chief Justice Cavanaugh used examples
of hypothetical Michigan based and non-Michigan based
companies similar to those used by this Court in Westing-
house. Appendix at 68a-7la. Based on these examples,
Chief Justice Cavanaugh concluded:

[I]t is clear, on the face of the statute, that two
otherwise similarly situated companies that
invest in equal-value amounts of new personal
property during the tax year will receive differ-
ent deductions under the CAD, depending on

? Justice Brickley filed a separate dissenting opinion in
which he found the Capital Acquisition Deduction for tangible
personal property to be unconstitutional under Westinghouse
but the deduction for real property to be permissible.

13

the degree to which they are physically based in
Michigan to begin with (as measured by the
property and payroll factors), and depending on
whether they invest the newly acquired per-
sonal property in state or out of state.

Appendix at 49a (emphasis in original). Regarding the
deduction for real property located in Michigan, Chief
Justice Cavanaugh stated:

[T]he deduction, resulting in a substantially
lower effective tax rate on the Michigan-appor-
tioned tax base, is afforded only to a company
investing in Michigan real property, as com-
pared to a similarly situated company investing
in out-of-state real property.

Appendix at 52a. Chief Justice Cavanaugh summarized
his analysis of the Capital Acquisition Deduction provi-
sions as follows:

Thus, both the personal property and real prop-
erty CAD apportionment formulas, when
applied in conjunction with the three-factor
apportionment of the SBT itself, result in the
imposition of higher effective tax rates on the
Michigan-apportioned tax base with regard to
companies that are either predominantly non-
Michigan-based or that direct their investments
outside Michigan... .

Appendix at 53a.

Chief Justice Cavanaugh also challenged the major-
ity’s interpretation of this Court’s decision in Trinova as
holding that all promotion of investment in Michigan is
constitutional. He stated:

ee,

14

[B]ecause I believe my colleagues have mis-
construed the United States Supreme Court's
case law in this regard, | discuss this issue in
some detail.

Trinova would seem, at face value, to afford the
greatest support to my colleagues’ position. The
Court there stated: “It is a laudatory goal in the
design of a tax system to promote investment
that will provide jobs and prosperity to the citi-
zens of the taxing state. States are free to ‘struc-
tur[e] their tax systems to encourage the growth
and development of intrastate commerce and
industry.’ ” 112 L Ed 2d 912, quoting Boston
Stock Exchange, 429 U.S. 336. Such sweeping lan-
guage, if taken out of context and in isolation,
would seem to flash a green light to economic
protectionism. But this language can only be
understood in context.

Appendix at 36a-37a. He argued that the Court’s state-
ment was made only in response to the taxpayer’s claim
in Trinova that encouragement of intrastate business was
itself evidence of discrimination. Chief Justice Cavanaugh
concluded that this language did not immunize the Capi-
tal Acquisition Deduction provisions from Commerce
Clause challenge simply because they encourage Michi-
gan business.

Caterpillar now petitions for a writ of certiorari to
review the Michigan Supreme Court’s decision.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A writ of certiorari should be issued to review the
decision of the Michigan Supreme Court because the

15

decision directly conflicts with this Court’s decisions
regarding discriminatory state taxes, particularly West-
inghouse and Boston Stock Exchange. It is also important
that this Court review and repudiate the majority’s sug-
gestion that Trinova approved the enactment of state tax
Provisions designed to encourage Michigan business
regardless of their discriminatory impact. As Chief Justice
Cavanaugh recognized, if the Michigan Supreme Court’s
misinterpretation of Trinova is not corrected, states may
be encouraged to adopt protectionist tax legislation under
the guise of encouraging intrastate business.

The Capital Acquisition Deduction Provisions Were Not
At Issue In Trinova

The majority’s suggestion that this Court considered
and approved the Capital Acquisition Deduction provi-
sions in Trinova is, as the dissent states, “plainly erro-
neous”. These provisions are referred to only three times
in the Trinova opinion and then only in describing the
calculation of the taxpayer’s Single Business Tax liability.
See 111 S.Ct. at 826, 827 and 833. It distorts these brief
references beyond recognition to suggest that the Court
considered the constitutional status of the Capital Acqui-
sition Deduction provisions. The majority’s attempt to do
so only highlights the weakness of its argument.8

® It is instructive that the Michigan Department of Treasury
was apparently persuaded that the Capital Acquisition Deduc-
tion provisions were unconstitutional and, thus, did not appeal
the Court of Claims decision. The Michigan legislature appar-
ently reached the same conclusion and enacted 1991 PA 77 to
change the method of calculating the Capital Acquisition

—vv ee

16

The Capital Acquisition Deduction for Personal Prop-
erty Favors Michigan Based Companies Solely Because
of the Location of Their Business

The inevitable effects of using a two-factor property
and payroll formula to determine the Capital Acquisition
Deduction for personal property are undisputed. They
are illustrated by Chief Justice Cavanaugh’s hypothetical
taxpayers. Appendix at 68a-7la. The majority made no
effort to challenge or rebut his analysis.

The hypotheticals involve two companies of identical
size, with identical Michigan three-factor apportionment
percentages and making identical investments. The use of
the two-factor formula to determine the Capital Acquisi-
tion Deduction for tangible personal property gives the
Michigan based company a substantially greater deduc-
tion than a non-Michigan based company when each
invests in an identical piece of equipment in Michigan.
Similarly, the use of the two-factor formula provides the
Michigan based company with a lower effective tax rate
than the non-Michigan based company. The greater tax
benefit and lower effective tax rate are provided to the
Michigan based company solely because its business is
located in Michigan and for no other reason.

Even Chief Justice Cavanaugh overlooks the most
pernicious effect of the method used to calculate the
Capital Acquisition Deduction for personal property.
Under his example the Michigan based company receives
a Capital Acquisition Deduction of $68,233 where it
invests $100,000 in equipment for use outside Michigan.

Deduction to one utilizing the three-factor formula. That action
came after this Court’s decision in Trinova.

17

Appendix at 70a. The non-Michigan based company
receives a $31,667 Capital Acquisition Deduction when it
invests $100,000 on equipment for use inside Michigan.
Appendix at 68a. Thus, the Michigan based company
receives a greater Capital Acquisition Deduction for
investing outside Michigan than the non-Michigan based
company receives for investing inside Michigan.

State tax provisions which discriminate based solely
on the location of the taxpayer’s business have repeatedly
been held unconstitutional by this Court. American Truck-
ing Associations, Inc. v. Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266 (1987), sum-
marizes the Court’s decisions as follows:

Under our consistent course of decisions in
recent years a state tax that favors in-state busi-
ness over out-of-state business for no other rea-
son than the location of its business is
prohibited by the Commerce Clause. Tyler Pipe
Industries, Inc. v. Washington Dept. of Revenue,
ante, p. 232; Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias, 468 U.S.
263 (1984); Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638
(1984); Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. Tully, 466
U.S. 388 (1984); Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S.
725 (1981); Boston Stock Exchange v. State Tax
Comm’‘n, 429 U.S. 318 (1977).

483 U.S. at 286. Westinghouse illustrates the analysis
which this Court has used to test state taxes against
discrimination claims.

Westinghouse involved a challenge to New York’s
method of calculating a credit against its franchise tax for
shipments made by Domestic International Sales Corpo-
rations (“DISCs”) through New York ports. Like the Sin-
gle Business Tax, the New York franchise tax is

— ye

18

apportioned using a three-factor formula. Like the Capi-
tal Acquisition Deduction, the DISC credit was taken
after the franchise tax base was apportioned. The DISC
credit was based upon the percentage of exports through
New York ports versus total exports. The higher the
percentage of shipments through New York, the greater
the credit.

The Court’s opinion analyzed the effect of the DISC
credit by constructing hypotheticals showing various per-
centages of shipments through New York. The hypotheti-
cals established that taxpayers received greater tax
benefits and lower effective tax rates as their level of
shipments through New York increased. On these bases
the method used to calculate the DISC credit was found
to violate the Commerce Clause.

Chief Justice Cavanaugh’s hypotheticals establish the
same patterns. Taxpayers receive a greater Capital Acqui-
sition Deduction and lower effective tax rates as their
production activities are concentrated in Michis .

Westinghouse is also instructive because New York
tried to defend the DISC credit using the same arguments
that the Michigan Supreme Court majority used in the
present case. For example, the majority in this case claims
that the method used to apportion the Capital Acquisi-
tion Deduction is fair. New York also claimed that the
method used to determine the DISC credit was constitu-
tionally acceptable. The Court responded:

The Tax Commission’s argument that New York
employs a constitutionally acceptable allocation
formula, in our view, serves only to obscure the

19

issue in this case. The acceptability of the alloca-
tion formula employed by the State of New York
is not relevant to the question before us.

466 U.S. at 398. The same response is appropriate here.

The majority in this case takes comfort in the fact that
this Court approved the use of the three-factor formula to
apportion the Single Business Tax base and infers that
this approval extends to the Capital Acquisition Deduc-
tion provisions. New York similarly argued that the
Court’s approval of the three-factor formula to apportion
DISC income should be viewed as approval of the DISC
credit. The Court in Westinghouse responded that the tax-
payer's

challenge is not foreclosed by our holding that

New York’s allocation of DISC income is consti-

tutionally acceptable. See 459 U.S. 1144 (1983)

(dismissing for want of a substantial federal

question Westinghouse’s challenge to method of

allocating DISC income to parent). “Fairly
apportioned” and “nondiscriminatory” are not
synonymous terms.

466 U.S. at 399. The same response is appropriate here.

The majority argues that the Capital Acquisition
Deduction provisions are intended only to limit the
deduction to capital investments taxable in Michigan.
New York argued that the limitation on the DISC credit
was intended to ensure that the credit was available only
for activities taxable by New York. In Westinghouse the
Court responded:

The Tax Commission argues that multiplying

the allowable credit by the New York export
ratio of the DISC merely ensures that the State is

20

not allowing a parent corporation to claim a tax
credit with respect to DISC income that is not
taxable by the State of New York. This argument
ignores the fact that the percentage of the
DISC’s accumulated income that is subject to
New York franchise tax is determined by the
parent’s business allocation percentage, not by
the export ratio. In computing the allowable
credit, the statute requires the parent to factor in
its business allocation percentage. § 210.13(a).
This procedure alleviates the State’s fears that it
will be overly generous with its tax credit, for
once the adjustment of multiplying the allow-
able DISC export credit by the parent’s business
allocation percentage has been accomplished,
the tax credit has been fairly apportioned to
apply only to the amount of the accumulated
DISC income taxable to New York. From the
standpoint of fair apportionment of the credit,
the additional adjustment of the credit to reflect
the DISC’s New York export ratio is both inaccu-
rate and duplicative.

466 U.S. at 399. The same response is appropriate here.°

° One other defense offered by the majority deserves com-
ment. The majority suggests that the two-factor formula was
chosen because the acquisition of capital assets “is most likely to
be located where a company’s property and payroll (employees)
are located.” No empirical support is offered for this statement.
Moreover, if the statement is true, why did Michigan adopt a
provision which disproportionately benefits Michigan based
companies if they would place new investments in Michigan in
any case? Caterpillar respectfully suggests that the answer is
that the two-factor formula was chosen precisely because it
benefits Michigan based companies - to the detriment of com-
panies such as Caterpillar.

_

21

In the end, Westinghouse rejected all of New York’s
defenses with an analysis very similar to that used by
Chief Justice Cavanaugh:

It is this second adjustment, made only to the
credit and not to the base taxable income figure,
that has the effect of treating differently parent
corporations that are similarly situated in all
respects except for the percentage of their
DISCs’ shipping activities conducted from New
York. This adjustment has the effect of allowing
a parent a greater tax credit on its accumulated
DISC income as its subsidiary DISC moves a
greater percentage of its shipping activities into
the State of New York.

466 U.S. at 400-401. The Capital Acquisition Deduction
has the same effect and the Court should come to the
same conclusion here.

It is the use of one formula to determine the amount
of value added activities in Michigan and a second and
different formula to calculate the allowable Capital
Acquisition Deduction for personal property which make
that provision unconstitutional. The result is discrimina-
tion in favor of Michigan based companies solely because
they are located in Michigan. Such discrimination is
unconstitutional.

The Capital Acquisition Deductions For Real Property
Impermissibly Encourage Michigan Investment

The majority and Justice Brickley claim that limiting
the Capital Acquisition Deduction for real property to
property located in Michigan is a constitutionally permis-
sible way to encourage Michigan investment. They ignore

a aaa aia

22

the interrelationship of the Capital Acquisition Deduction
provisions and the depreciation element of the value
added tax base.

As the Michigan Supreme Court recognized in Mobil
Oil, the Single Business Tax permits an immediate write-
off for capital assets and then taxes the depreciation of
such assets. As the Michigan Supreme Court put it, the
Single Business Tax allows a deduction for the

purchase price paid for the capital good — but
then taxes its depreciation.

373 N.W.2d at 741, n. 14. The effect of this combination
can be seen in Chief Justice Cavanaugh’s hypotheticals.
Appendix at 68a-71a.

Each hypothetical taxpayer acquiring Michigan real
property receives a 100% Capital Acquisition Deduction
but pays Single Business Tax on only approximately 50%
of the subsequent depreciation on the property which is
included in the tax base. By contrast, each hypothetical
taxpayer constructing an industrial building outside
Michigan receives no Capital Acquisition Deduction but
still pays Single Business Tax on approximately 50% of
the subsequent depreciation included in the tax base. This
is a powerful, and impermissible, tax advantage to build-
ing in Michigan.

In Boston Stock Exchange the issue was whether New
York could encourage trade on New York stock exchanges
by imposing a lower tax rate on transactions conducted
wholly on the New York exchanges than the rate applied
to transactions conducted partially outside New York.

23

The Court held that the New York law violated the Com-
merce Clause because it provided a direct commercial
advantage to local business. The Court stated:

The obvious effect of the tax is to extend a
financial advantage to sales on the New York
exchanges at the expense of the regional
exchanges. Rather than “compensating” New
York for a supposed competitive disadvantage
resulting from § 270, the amendment forecloses
tax-neutral decisions and creates both an advan-
tage for the exchanges in New York and a dis-
criminatory burden on commerce to its sister
States.

429 U.S. at 331. The Capital Acquisition Deduction for
real property has the same effect. By permitting a deduc-
tion for Michigan investment but not for out of state
investment, the Capital Acquisition Deduction for real
Property unconstitutionally encourages taxpayers to
locate their plants in Michigan to the detriment of other
States.

This Court Should Clarify Its Decision In Trinova To
Reaffirm That Discriminatory State Taxes Are Imper-
missible

This Court’s role in policing discriminatory state
taxes is based on a fundamental fact of political life —
taxpayers have little political voice outside their home
state. This lack of a political voice was recognized by
Justice Stone in McGoldrick v. Berwind-White Coal Mining
Co., 309 U.S. 33 (1940). He explained the Court’s rationale
for striking discriminatory state taxes:

ew

24

Lying back of these decisions is the recognized
danger that, to the extent the burden falls on
economic interests without the state, it is not
likely to be alleviated by those political
restraints which are normally exerted on legisla-
tion where it affects adversely interests within
the state.

309 U.S. at 46, n.2. Justice Rutledge made a similar point
in Nippert v. Richmond, 327 U.S. 416 (1946):

Provincial interests and local political power are
at their maximum weight in bringing about
acceptance of this type of legislation. With the
forces behind it, this is the very kind of barrier
the commerce clause was put in the fundamen-
tal law to guard against.

327 U.S. at 434.

States may misinterpret certain language in this
Court’s decision in Trinova, leading them to believe that
this Court is now more tolerant of discriminatory state
tax provisions if they are intended to promote intrastate
business and investment. In Trinova, the taxpayer claimed
that the fact the Single Business Tax was adopted to
encourage Michigan investment was evidence that the tax
was unconstitutional. This Court rejected that argument,
stating: .

States are free to “structur[e] their tax systems
to encourage the growth and development of
intrastate commerce and industry.” Boston Stock
Exchange, supra, 429 U.S., at 336-337.

Trinova, U.S. at__, 111 S.Ct. at 835. The Court did not
repeat the next sentence from Boston Stock Exchange:

—

25

We hold only that in the process of competition
no State may discriminatorily tax the products
manufactured or the business operations per-
formed in any other State.

429 U.S. at 337.

As Chief Justice Cavanaugh noted, the quotation
from Trinova can be misinterpreted as an approval of
discriminatory state tax provisions designed to encourage
local business. He stated:

Such sweeping language, if taken out of context
and in isolation, would seem to flash a green
light to economic protectionism.

Appendix at 36a-37a. The majority adopted just such a
misinterpretation in this case.

It is all too likely that other states will follow the lead
of the majority when analyzing the permissibility of dis-
criminatory state taxes. The Court should take this oppor-
tunity to reconfirm its long standing rule that state tax
provisions which encourage intrastate business are con-
stitutional only if the provisions do not discriminate
against interstate commerce.

This Court Should Reverse the Michigan Supreme
Court and Apply its Decision Retrospectively

Caterpillar submits that the Michigan Supreme
Court’s decision is in error and the Capital Acquisition
Deduction provisions are unconstitutional. If this Court
concludes that these provisions are unconstitutional, Cat-
erpillar requests that the Court make it clear that its
decision applies retrospectively. While this issue was not
addressed by the Michigan Supreme Court, the Court of

26

Appeals refused retrospective treatment. If this Court
reverses and does not address the question of retrospec-
tivity, the result will simply be further litigation on that
question in the state courts. Because the question of retro-
spectivity is a federal question, American Trucking Associa-
tions, Inc. v. Smith, 496 U.S. 167 (1990), it is appropriate
that the Court address the question now.

The Michigan Court of Appeals concluded that the
decision finding Capital Acquisition Deduction provi-
sions unconstitutional could apply only prospectively
because

the SBTA “was new and experimental legisla-
tion in this state.” Town & Country Dodge, supra,
p 234. We also believe that the method of deter-
mining the CAD - especially for personal prop-
erty — is unique. A similar deduction has never
been declared to be unconstitutional.

Appendix at 98a. This conclusion fundamentally mis-
reads the first test of Chevron Oil.!° This is seen most
clearly by comparing the Court of Appeals decision with
this Court’s statements on prospective and retrospective
decisions in U.S. v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982) and in its

10 Prior to the United States Supreme Court’s decision in
James B. Beam Distilling Company v. Georgia, __ U.S. __, 111
S.Ct. 2439 (1991), it appeared settled that a decision based on the
Constitution could be applied only prospectively if it satisfied
the criteria set forth in Chevron Oil. However, in Beam Distilling
five justices explicitly rejected the Chevron test or seriously
questioned its continued validity. Plurality opinion of Justices
Souter and Stevens, __:;U.S. at __, 111 S.Ct. at 2447, and con-
curring opinions of Justices Scalia, Marshall and Blackmun, __
U.S. at__, 111 S.Ct. at 2450 and 2451. Nonetheless, even under
Chevron retrospectivity is mandated in this case.

EE EEE Ee

27

per curiam decision in Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Caryl, 497 U.S.
916 (1990).

U.S. v. Johnson involved the question of whether a
prior decision of the United States Supreme Court in a
criminal case applied retrospectively. The Court stated:

[When a decision of this Court merely has
applied settled precedents to new and different
factual situations, no real question has arisen as
to whether the later decision should apply retro-
spectively. In such cases, it has been a foregone
conclusion that the rule of the later case applied
in earlier cases, because the later decision has
not in fact altered that rule in any material way.

457 U.S. at 549. The statement has direct application on
the present case. A decision finding the Capital Acquisi-
tion Deduction provisions unconstitutional does nothing
more than apply settled precedents of Commerce Clause
jurisprudence to a new and different factual situation.
Thus, retrospective application should be a “foregone
conclusion.”?!

This Court’s per curiam decision in Ashland Oil also
counsels in favor of retrospective application. In Ashland
Oil, the Court gave retrospective application to its deci-
sion in Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984), point-
ing out:

11 The fact that Johnson is a criminal case does not detract
from its application here. The first test of Chevron Oil, whether a
decision overrules prior precedent or could not otherwise be
anticipated, is the same for civil and criminal cases. Johnson
cited Chevron Oil and other civil cases as relevant to the deter-
mination of whether a decision is a matter of “first impression”
or “clearly foreshadowed” by prior law. 457 U.S. at 550, n. 12.

ee

28

Armco neither overturned established precedent
nor decided “an issue of first impression whose
resolution was not clearly foreshadowed.” Chevron
Oil, supra, 404 U.S., at 106, 92 S.Ct., at 355. To be
sure, Armco paved the way for Tyler Pipe Industries,
Inc. v. Washington State Dept. of Revenue, 483 U.S.
232, 107 S.Ct. 2810, 97 L.Ed.2d 199 (1987), which
arguably “overturn[ed] a lengthy list of settled
decisions” and “revolutionize[d] the law of state
taxation,” Id., at 257, 107 S.Ct., at 2825 (Scalia, J.,
concurring in part and dissenting in part), by
extending the internal consistency test. Armco
itself, however, was not revolutionary.

497 U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at 3205. A decision finding the
Capital Acquisition Deduction provisions unconstitu-
tional can hardly be described as “revolutionary”. Such a
decision overrules no prior decisions of this Court. It
simply applies settled law. Thus, retrospective applica-
tion is both appropriate and necessary.

*

CONCLUSION
This petition for a writ of certiorari to the Supreme
Court of Michigan should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

RicHARD A. HANSON
Counsel of Record

Of Counsel Don S. HARNACK

OLIVER OLDMAN Grecory G. PALMER

Professor of Law Carot S. PorTMAN

Harvard University McDermott, Witt & Emery

Langdell Hall 227 W. Monroe Street

Cambridge, Massachusetts Chicago, Illinois 60606
02138 (312) 372-2000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1440%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
