# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Koons v. Rogers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1154%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 934

## Text

Bupreme Court, U.S. |

(92-297
: . FILED |
scan AUG 1.4 1992 |

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK |
Sigprenwe Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

ART ROGERS and SONNABEND GALLERY. IN¢

Petition fora Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN B. KOEGEI
138 Spring Street
New York, New York 10012
(212) 226-7744

PAUL M. SMITH
KLEIN, FARR, SMITH & TARANTO
2550 M Street, N.W.——Suite 350
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 775-0184

v | > 4/3
Counsel for Pr one)

“Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - Was B.* 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a work of art that would otherwise qualify
for the copyright defense of “fair use’ becomes a form
of actionable commercial exploitation simply because its
creator was paid for that work.

2. Whether an artist who imitates but transforms a

prior work in order to criticize what it represents may
be held liable for copyright infringement simply because
the two works are superficially similar and the prior
work is not sufficiently well known to be a recognizable
object of the critique.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .............0........0.000000000......... : i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .... a i iv
OPINIONS BELOW .................... Midiaaiadtiaatsbeonsaiasamaioads 1
JURISDICTION ....... SP ARAL ACE ee, a eee 1
ype balay 95. at A's} | pe Ar 2
STATEMENT ..... a 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................. 6
I. THE RULING BELOW RAISES ISSUES OF
CRITICAL IMPORTANCE TO THE PROPER
ADMINISTRATION OF THE COPYRIGHT
eee eee ee EER 9
Il. THIS CASE MERITS REVIEW BY THIS
COURT ........ Kino LATE A ID gal Oe IE TE 20
DER a cl 24

(ill)

lv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

Acuff-Rose Music, Inc. v. Campbell, 754 F. Supp.
1150 (M.D. Tenn.), app. dismissed, 929 F.2d

ee ee ts < advected ee 19
Aliotti v.-R. Dakin & Co., 831 F.2d 898 (9th Cir.
1987) ee eS eae ECE See ET. Panes 15

Association of American Medical Colleges v.
Mikaelan, 571 F. Supp. 144 (E.D. Pa. 1983),

aff'd per curiam, 734 F.2d 3 (3d Cir. 1934) _...... 12
Berlin v. E.C. Publications, Inc., 329 F.2d 541 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 822 (1964) _............. 14,18
Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc.,

109 S. Ct. 971 (1989) .......00000...... Redage cence ae 9
Brewer v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 749 F.2d 527

UN is ED oon a ee ee pee 12
Elsmere Music, Inc. v. National Broadcasting Co.,

GZS F.20 252 (20 Cir. 1960) ...............-......<--0......... 20

Elsmere Music, Inc. v. National Broadcasting Ce..,
482 F. Supp. 741 (S.D.N.Y.), aff’d on opinion

below, 623 F.2d 252 (2d Cir. 1980) ....................... 16
Feist Publications, Inc. v. Rural Tel. Serv. Co.,
Lee ae Se ee Oe eet 9

Fisher v. Dees, 794 F.2d 482 (9th Cir. 1986) ....19, 20, 23
Folsom v. Marsh, 9 Fed. Cas. 342 (C.C.D. Mass.

EE aici occas se sea crts eA bite egies 20
Haberman v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 626 F. Supp.

201 (D. Mass. 1986) _...... . iccses Ga ae
Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters.

471 U.S. 5389 (1985) ............. 10, 11, 13, 16
Hustler Magazine, Inc. v. Moral Majority, Inc.,

796 F.2d 1148 (9th Cir. 1986) ... “ 12

Iowa State Univ. Research Found., Inc. v. Ameri-
can Broadcasting Cos., 621 F.2d 57 (2d Cir.

RO cas san cciceeeneeiceee hee cesceui eed eiemserer ves 9,12
Maxtone-Graham v. Burtchuaell, 803 F.2d 1253 (2d

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1059 (1987) _.. 12
MCA, Inc. v. Wilson, 677 F.2d 180 (2d Cir.

. | RRR ARA NAO Naren EGE le eL TERE SSUES DES NUAhted: PRE ee ee)

New Era Publications Int’l ApS v. Carol Publish-
ing Group, 904 F.2d 152 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
ee ee ee I I ois reac scarce ences 12

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Rosemont Enters., Inc. v. Random House, Inc.,

266 F.2d 303 (2d Cir. 1966), cert. denied, 385

tea! Be); 2 een er 12
Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City Studios,

Inc., 464 U.S. 417 (1984) . — 2 a passim
Stewart v. Abend, 110 S. Ct. 1750 (1990) ............... 7,11
United States v. Paramount Pictures, Inc., 334 U.S.

BOD CIDER) cain cviiereneerciet goes 10
Walt Disney Productions vy. Air Pirates, 581 F.2d

751 (9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1132

PROUD ssccctaxenciovsess PLN eR ee 16
Warner Bros. v. American Broadcasting Cos., 654

P28 304 (26 Cir. TOR) scien 18

Statutes

OF TES BF i cscs ss ceccdcaeciaan passim
Other Authorities

H.H. Arnason, The History of Modern Art (3d ed.

1986) 3
M. Brenson, Art: Whitney Biennial’s New Look,

N.Y. Times, Ape. 10; FEST - cisccnmen ean 3
M. Buskirk, “Appropriation Under the Gun,’ ’ Art

in America (June 1992)................--..-.--------------- 22
Gibson, “Decade in Review,” Sculpture, May June

1989 . Ain Se ee eer ae 3
3 M. Nimmer & ‘D. ‘Nimmer, Nimmer on Copy-

right ....... a oe ee passim
C. Owens, “The Allegorical Impulse: ‘Toward a

Theory of Postmodernism,” in Art After Mod-

ernism (B. Wallis ed. 1989) . PRUE Bee 608 3
R. Posner, Law and Literature: A Misunderstood

Relation (1988) . Bothy 15,18

K. Varnedoe & A. Gopnik, ‘High & Low: ~ Modern
Art/Popular Culture (1990) ake aye oat ‘s 3,4

IN THE
Suprenve Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

JEFF KOONS,
" Petitioner,
ART ROGERS and SONNABEND GALLERY, INC.,
Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Jeff Koons seeks review of a decision of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Cir-
cuit holding that a fine-art sculpture created by him in-
fringed the copyright in a photograph previously pub-
lished as a notecard by respondent Art Rogers.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit is reported at 960 F.2d 301, and re-
printed at Pet. App. la. The opinions of the United
States District Court tor the Southern District of New
York are reported at 751 I. Supp. 474 and 777 F. Supp.
1 and reprinted at Pet. App. 25a and 41a.

JURISDICTION

a >

1992, and denied a timely petition for rehearing on

e

The Court of Appeals entered judgment on April 2

2

May 18, 1992. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 107 of title 17 of the United States Code pro-
vides as follows:

Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 106 and
106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including
such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords
or by any other means specified by that section, for
purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting,
teaching {including multiple copies for classroom
use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement
of copyright. In determining whether the use made
of a work in any particular case is a fair use the
factors to be considered shall include—

(1) the purpose and character of the use, includ-
ing whether such use is of a commercial nature or is
for nonprofit educational purposes;

(2) the nature of the copyrighted work;

(3) the amount and substantiality of the portion
used in rejation to the copyrighted work as a whole;
and

(4) the effect of the use upon the potential market
for or value of the copyrighted work.

STATEMENT

This case involves a copyright infringement claim
brought by respondent Art Rogers, a professional photog-
rapher who in 1980 was commissioned to shoot a black-
and-white portrait of two people holding eight puppies.
In 1984, Rogers licensed the publication of this photo-
graph on notecards distributed to stores around the coun-
try. Petitioner Jeff Koons is a prominent artist and
sculptor who in 1988 created a large, brightly colored
sculpture entitled String of Puppies. This sculpture was
modeled to a considerable extent on the figures in the

3

notecard. It was initially exhibited at the Sonnabend
Gallery in New York as part of a body of 20 sculptural
works under the title “Banality Show.”

Like the other art works that Koons produced for this
exhibition, String of Puppies was intended in part as a
criticism of a commercial, mass-produced image from
popular culture. As the Second Circuit recognized, peti-
tioner “works in an art tradition dating back to the
beginning of the twentieth century,” Pet. App. 4a—a
tradition characterized by use of commonplace images or
objects in the creation of new works. Many contemporary
artists, sometimes referred to as ‘“post-modernists,” “draw
upon the artistic movements of Cubism and Dadaism,
with particular influence attributed to Marcel Duchamp,
who in 1913 became the first to incorporate manufac-
tured objects (readymades) into a work of art.” Jd. at
15a. They typically incorporate “images into works of
art to comment critically both on the incorporated object
and the political and economic system that created it.”
Id. In this process, “the meaning of the original object
[is] extracted and an entirely new meaning set in place.”
Id. at 4a.! One well-known example is the work of Andy
Warhol. Jeff Koons is recognized as one of the most im-
portant contemporary visual artists in this tradition.”

1 See C. Owens, “The Allegorical Impulse: Toward a Theory of
Postmodernism,” in Art After Modernism 205 (B. Wallis ed. 1989)
(“The appropriated image may be a film still, a photograph, a draw-
ing; it is often itself already a reproduction. However, the manipu-
lations to which these artists subject images work to empty them
of their resonance, their significance, their authoritative claim to
meaning.”). See generally H.H. Arnason, The History of Modern
Art 635-91 (3d ed. 1986); K. Varnedoe & A. Gopnik, High & Low:
Modern Art/Popular Culture 369-403 (1990).

2 See Gibson, “Decade in Review,” Sculpture, May/June 1989, at 23
(“Koons’ kitchen-objects represent the climax of the so-called Simu-
lationist movement, in which artists make and exhibit works of art
based on real-world commodities to draw attention to, and criticize,
what they view as the excessively commercial character of the art
market.”) ; M. Brenson, Art: Whitney Biennial’s New Look, N.Y.
Times, Apr. 10, 1987 at C24 (“Mr. Koons has formulated one of the

i ii

1

Thus, in making String of Puppies, petitioner in-
structed the artisans assisting him to recreate in sculp-
tural form various features of the Rogers notecard be-
cause his goal was to reproduce what he considered a
typical example of popular culture. But Koons also
sought to transform the notecard image in order to make
his own radically different artistic statement. This trans-
formation included a number of very significant changes
—using the sculptural medium and a larger-than-life
scale, adding vivid painting (especially the blue on the
dogs), adding daisies to the hair of the two people and
exaggerating their facial expressions for a vacuous effect,
and placing a bulbous nose on each puppy.’ As a result
of these changes, the overall aesthetic effect of the sculp-
ture is quite distinctive. The notecard presents a scene
that the court below described as “charming”, Pet. App.
lla, while Koons’ sculpture is highly disturbing. As
petitioner put it, his goal was to take “the sculpture out
of the realm of reality into the realm of unreality but
without eliminating a sense of believability.” CA Jt. App.
at 789." He felt that he had “stripped away entirely the
personality of the notecard picture and substituted [his]
own values and [his] own message.” /d. at 791.

In keeping with Koons’ general practice, only three edi-
tion copies of the sculpture exist.. No further copies were

most jaded and puritanical statements made by an artist about
consumer culture.’’).

3 Photographs from the record showing the notecard, a frontal
view of the Koons sculpture, and the sculpture displayed as part
of the larger Banality show are reproduced in the appendix to this
petition at pages 48a, 49a & 50a.

* See also K. Varnedoe & A. Gopnik, Supra, at 396 (describing the
“Banality” show) (“Koons’s figurines were shocking because of the
way they looked. They were nightmarish—devil dolls. in which the
insipid language of the cartoons’ over-accentuated contours ‘and
biscuit glazes was suddenly made hard and staring.’’).

6 An initial proof, traditionally known as an “artist proof,” was

- kept by Koons as a personal record of his work and was not made
available for purchase.

ever intended (and New York law would forbid further

copies). All three edition works were purchased by col-
lectors for a total of $367,000. Respondent’s complaint,
filed in 1989 in the U.S. District Court for the Southern
District of New York, claimed copyright infringement
and unfair competition under the Lanham Act and state
law. On December 10, 1990, the district court granted
respondent’s motion for summary judgment on the issue
of copyright infringement. Pet. App. 40a. It held that
the photograph and the sculpture are “substantially sim-
ilar,” and rejected the asserted defense of “fair use’ as
a matter of law.°

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit affirmed. It agreed that the two works
are substantially similar, adopting an approach that asked
only whether elements of the works are recognizably sim-
ilar without taking into account their overall differences
in terms of aesthetic appeal or message. Pet. App. 10a.
With respect to the issue of “fair use,” the Second Circuit
referred to each of the four factors set out in the statute.
17 U.S.C. $107. Disregarding Koons’ own affidavit, it
held, first, that the “purpose” of Koons’ sculpture was
primarily for profit and thus exploitive. Pet. App. 14a.
In so doing, it relied on the fact that collectors had paid
high prices for the sculpture. The court flatly rejected as
inapplicable the statutory concepts of “criticism” or “‘com-
ment.” Jd. It also refused to consider the sculpture as a
form of “parody,” construing this term to apply only
where the original work is sufficiently well known that it

6 The court held that the question of damages presented disputed
issues requiring a trial. It also ruled, however, that Rogers should
receive the artist’s proof of the s« ulpture, even though Koons had
never offered it for sale. Believing that any actual turnover of his
artist’s proof would not be required until the end of the case, Koons
loaned it to a museum in Germany for a temporary exhibition, The
district court held him in contempt and ordered the proof returned
to Koons’ warehouse in New York. This aspect of the case is not

raised in the instant petition.

i

6

will be recognized as the object of the parody by viewers
of the later work. 7d. at 16a.

Turning to the second and third factors, the court of
appeals then held that the creative and imaginative “na-
ture” of the photograph militated against a finding of
fair use, and that the “amount and substantiality” of the
copying done by Koons was greater than would have been
permitted even in a true parody case. Jd. at 17a. Finally,
the court of appeals ruled that there was no possible
dispute with respect to the fourth fair-use factor, the

“effect of the use on the potential market for or value of
the copyrighted work.” Here, petitioner had argued that
the two works appealed to entirely different audiences and
that the record contained no evidence establishing even
a meaningful possibility (much less a likelihood) of mar-
ket injury. The court, however, invoked a presumption
of market injury based on its prior conclusion that peti-
tioner’s work was “primarily commercial in nature.” Jd.
at 20a (citing Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City
Studios, 464 U.S. 417, 451 (1984)). Applying this pre-
sumption, it concluded that it was “obviously not implaus-
ible” that the sculpture could interfere with a sale by
respondent of the right to produce a derivative sculpture
based on the photograph, Pet. App. 20a,” even though a
true derivative would convey the “charming” message of
the Rogers photograph, while Koons’ “horrific” sculpture
did not do so.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The central issue in this case is what standards a court
should apply when a plaintiff in an infringement action
seeks to rebut a “fair use” defense by labelling the de-
fendant’s work “commercial” and thus exploitive. As the
Second Circuit’s decision illustrates, application of proper

* The court also unjustifiably speculated that Koons might sell
photographs of his sculpture, thereby limiting “Rogers’ potential
market for the sale of the notecards, in addition to any other
derivative use he might plan.” Pet. App. 20a.

_
(

standards to resolve the question of commerciality is
critical, because a court’s characterization of a challenged
work as commercially exploitive automatically leads to a
finding of liability for infringement. At the same time,
that decision demonstrates the need for clarification of
the applicable standards—both in fair-use cases generally
and in the specific context of cases involving works of
parody or satire. In the absence of such guidance, the
lower courts are producing inconsistent and unpredict-
able decisions, often demonstrating little awareness of the
basic principles that should distinguish actionable in-
fringement from fair use. Moreover, if left undisturbed,
the Second Circuit’s ruling will have a severe practical
impact, not only on artists like petitioner working in the
“nost-modern” tradition but also on other artists and
authors who may wish to “use” prior works in legitimate,
and often critical, ways.

While this Court has in recent years addressed various
aspects of fair use, it has not established clear rules for
applying the first factor set forth in the statute: “the
purpose and character of the use, including whether such
use is of a commercial nature.” 17 U.S.C. $107. The
need for such clear rules was greatly heightened when this
Court, in Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City
Studios, created new presumptions that commercial uses
are “unfair” and, more specifically, that any commercial
use causes market injury to the creator of the prior
work. 464 U.S. at 449, 451. After Sony, a court’s inquiry
into “commercial use” under the first fair-use factor has
become critical to a determination of market injury, the
“‘most important, and indeed, central’”’ factor in the
fair-use context. Stewart v. Abend, 110 S. Ct. 1750, 1769
(1990) (quoting 3 M. Nimmer & D. Nimmer, Nimmer on
Copyright § 18.05[A], at 18-102.4 (“Nimmer’”)). In-
deed, as this case illustrates, labelling a work as commer-
cial exploitation, when combined with the Sony presump-
tions, permits a court to bypass altogether a meaningful
separate inquiry into market injury.

8

This approach might not be a matter of serious con-
cern if the Second Cireuit had addressed the “commercial
use” question in a way that took into account the funda-
mental purpose of the fair-use privilege. This privilege is
designed to allow subsequent authors and artists to use
prior works in the creation of new ones that communicate
new and distinct messages and do not impinge on valid
commercial rights in the prior works. But the court
adopted reasoning that has littie or nothing to do with
this underlying purpose. It focused first on the fact that
petitioner was paid for his sculpture, even though that
fact is equally present in virtually every fair-use case,
It then ruled out characterization of the sculpture as a
form of social criticism or “parody” based on another
fact (the relative obscurity of the Rogers photograph )
that has no logical connection to the policies underlying
the fair-use defense.

The result was a ruling that ultimately makes no sense.
While Koons’ idiosyncratic sculpture certainly resembles
the Rogers “charming” photograph in a superficial way,
it also constitutes an independent act of expression about
the “banality” of those aspects of our culture typified by
the photograph. To suggest that the sculpture, with its
own distinctive message and audience, affected the mar-
ket for the photograph or for derivative works faithfully
based on the photograph is absurd. And it is equally ab-
surd to suggest that Koons selected the photograph as a
model in order to “exploit” the creativity of respondent.

That the Second Circuit could nevertheless find infringe-
ment as a matter of law in this case is, by itself, com-
pelling evidence of the need for action by this Court.
Copyright law strikes a “difficult balance” between two
goals: (1) safeguarding valid commercial rights of au-
thors and artists in order to encourage their expression
and (2) leaving ample room for additional creative efforts
by others. Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City
Studios, 464 U.S. at 429. The fair-use privilege helps to

os A ERE

9

strike this balance, by preventing “ ‘rigid application of
the copyright statute when ... it would stifle the very
creativity which that law is designed to foster.’ Stewart
vy. Abend, 110 S. Ct. at 1768 (quoting /owa State Jn.
Research Found. v. American Broadcasting Cos., 621 F.2d
57, 60 (2d Cir. 1980)). The Second Circuit’s almost
reflexive condemnation of petitioner’s work as commer-
cial exploitation—an approach that is, unfortunately, far
from unique—-demonstrates the need for review by this
Court in order to ensure that copyright law continues to
be a vehicle for encouraging, rather than suppressing,
desirable and legitimate forms of expression.

I. THE RULING BELOW RAISES ISSUES OF CRITI-
CAL IMPORTANCE TO THE PROPER ADMINIS-
TRATION OF THE COPYRIGHT LAWS.

1. The importance of this case reflects the central role
of the fair-use doctrine in establishing the proper scope
of copyright protection. Like any copyright case, this
one ultimately requires assessment of specific facts relat-
ing to the features of unique creative works. But the
approach adopted by the Second Circuit severely distorts
that assessme..t and thus threatens a more general dis-
ruption of the careful balance reflected in copyright law.

“The primary objective of copyright is not to reward
the labor of authors, but ‘{t]o0 promote the Progress of Sci-
ence and useful Arts.’”’ Feist Publications, Inc. v. Rural
Tel. Serv. Co., 111 S. Ct. 1282, 1290 (1991) (citations
omitted). In pursuit of this goal, copyright law joins
patent law in seeking to respect both “the interests of
authors and inventors in the control and exploitation of
their writings and discoveries on the one hand, and so-
ciety’s competing interest in the free flow of ideas, infor-
mation, and commerce on the other hand.” Sony Corp.
of America v. Universal City Studios, 464 U.S. at 429.°

8 See also Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 109
S. Ct. 971, 975 (1989) (“From their inception, the federal patent

i
laws have embodied a careful balance between the need to promote

10

At its heart, copyright law thus involves a utilitarian cal-
culus about what degree of protection for original works
will foster the greatest degree of creative activity. In
this process, “ ‘reward to the [copyright] owner [is] a
secondary consideration,’ ”’ justified only as a means to
“induce release to the public of the products of his crea-
tive genius.’”’ /d. (quoting United States v. Paramount
Pictures, Inc., 334 U.S. 131, 158 (1948) ).

The fair-use doctrine helps to strike the proper balance
by authorizing artists and authors to “use” prior works
in the creation of new ones that express new, and often
critical, messages without depriving existing copyright
holders of the commercial incentives that encourage crea-
tivity. See Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation
Enters., 471 U.S. 539, 549-50 (1985); id. at 581 n.2
(Brennan, J., dissenting). Drawing from the case law,
Congress in 1976 listed four factors to be applied to eval-
uating a fair-use defense.” This codification, however, has
not proved successful in providing structure and predict-
ability in this important area of the law. The statutory
factors have an “almost infinite elasticity ... [and a]
concomitant inability to resolve difficult questions.” 3
Nimmer, § 13.05{A][5], at 13-102.6. All too often, “the
factors . . . tend to degenerate into post-hoc rationales
for antecedent conclusions, rather than serving as tools
for analysis.” Jd. at 13-102.10.

The solution, as this Court has suggested, is to give
primary importance to the fourth statutory factor: the ac-
tual or potential effect of the subsequent use on the mar-

innovation and the recognition that imitation and _ refinement
through imitation are both necessary to invention itself and the
very lifeblood of a competitive economy.” ).

® These four factors are: “(1) the purpose and character of the
use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for
nonprofit educational purposes; (2) the nature of the copyrighted
work; (3) the amount and substantiality of the portion used in rela-
tion to the copyrighted work as a whole; and (4) the effect of the
use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.”
17 U.S.C. § 107.

11

Ket value of the prior work or its derivatives. See Stewart
». Abend, 110 S. Ct. at 1769; Harper & Row, Publishers,
Inc. v. Nation Enters, 471 U.S. at 566. Such an approach
correctly looks to whether the new work in some way ful-
fills the same “function” as the prior work, see Nimmer
§ 13.05/B], and thus threatens to interfere with the com-
mercial incentives that are the “engine of free expres-
sion” under the copyright laws, Harper & Row, Publish-
ers. Inc. v. Nation Enters., 471 U.S. at 558.

The Second Circuit’s decision in this case, however, ex-
emplifies a far less discerning approach, one that courts
tend to apply when they first address another factor—
the “purpose and character of the use’—and determine
that the use was “commercial” in nature. As we have
suggested, this problem has arisen because this Court
created a presumption that commercial use causes market
injury, Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City Studios,
464 U.S. at 451, but has not established a workable defini-
tion of “commercial use” that provides predictable stand-
ards or that would justify the Sony presumption across
the board. As a result, a subsequent use of a prior work
may undeservedly be labelled “commercial” in nature,
thereby effectively forfeiting the fair-use defense, even
where the use communicates a new and distinct message
and even where there is no real evidence of actual or po-
tential market injury.

9 Thus, here, the Second Circuit placed great reliance
on a single fact in determining that petitioner was en-
gaged in commercial exploitation: he was well paid for
his sculpture. See Pet. App. 14a (“Koons’ substantial
profit . . . militates against the finding of fair use”).

10 See also Pet. App. 4a (Koons’ “works sell at very substantial
prices, over $100, 100") : id. at 6a (“Three of the four copies made
were sold to collectors for a total of $367,000... .”). The court
also saw fit to note that “Tw hile pursuing his career as an artist,
[petitioner] also worked until 1984 as a mutual funds salesman, a
registered commodities salesman and broker, and a commodities
futures broker.” Jd. at 4a.

12

In so doing, the court was not alone. The case law in the
lower courts reflects abundant confusion over whether
receipt of compensation renders a particular use ‘‘com-
mercial” under the first statutory factor.'' In reality,
however, it should be obvious that the all-important
commercial noncommercial distinction cannot depend on
the mere fact of receipt of compensation. After all, artists
and authors of fiction—just like the critics, news reporters
and scholars whose works are cited in the statute as ex-
amples of presumptively ‘fair’? use '-—nearly always
seek to be paid for what they create."

See Hustler Magazine, Inc. v. Moral Majority, Inc., 796 F.2d
1148, 1152 (9th Cir. 1986) (reproduction of magazine excerpt for
purposes of fundraising by nonprofit groups constitutes commercial
use); Brewer v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 749 F.2d 527, 529 (9th Cir.
1984) (reproduction of photograph in magazine was a commercial
use); lowa State Univ. Research Found., Inc. v. American Broad-
casting Cos., 621 F.2d 57, 61 (2d Cir. 1980) (production of biog-
raphy of public figure for network broadcast constitutes commer-
cial use); Association of American Medical Colleges v. Mikaelian,
571 F. Supp. 144, 152 (E.D. Pa. 1983) (use for educational purposes
by for-profit organization is commercial), aff'd per curiam, 734 F.2d
3 (3d Cir. 1984). But see New Era Publications Int'l ApS v. Carol
Publishing Greup, 904 F.2d 152, 156 (2d Cir.) (publication of
biography is noncommercial despite anticipated profits), cert. de-
nied, 111 S. Ct. 297 (1990); Rosemont Enters., Inc. v. Random
House, Inc., 366 F.2d 303, 307-08 (2d Cir. 1966) (same), cert.
denied, 385 U.S. 1009 (1967); Haberman v. Hustler Magazine, Inc.,
626 F. Supp. 201, 210-11 (D. Mass. 1986) (reproduction in for-profit
magazine of prior works for purposes of commentary is noncom-
mercial). See also Maxtone-Graham v. Burtchaell, 803 F.2d 1253,
1262 (2d Cir. 1986) (“The commercial nature of a use is a matter
of degree, not an absolute ... .”), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1059
(1987).

12217 U.S.C. $107 (“‘[Tihe fair use of a copyrighted work
for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching

13 Nor can the outcome turn on the amount of the compensation.
It hardly makes sense to give lesser leeway to an artist merely
because his prominence in the art world makes all of his works more
valuable.

13

This Court has at least suggested the proper answer to
this problem, in its application of the fair-use factors in
Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters., supra.
There, the Court asked whether the use had the purpose
of “supplanting {one of| the copyright holder’s commer-
cially valuable right|s|.”” 471 U.S. at 562. It concluded
that a magazine’s quotation of extracts from unpublished
memoirs was commercial because the magazine had
usurped the right of first publication that had already
been sold to others. /d. Applied generally, this approach
would mean that the first fair-use factor would be as-
sessed in conjunction with the fourth factor—potentia!
market injury. A cha!lenged use would be “commercial”
if it had the potential to supplant demand for the orig-
inal or appropriated a valuable commercial right that
could otherwise have been sold in the marketplace.'! Such
an approach would assure that functional, market-based
considerations always retain their primary role in deter-
mining whether a particular use will interfere with the
commercial incentives that promote free expression.

Here, as we have suggested, that approach could not
have led to condemnation of petitioner as a commercial
exploiter as a matter of law. Petitioner here relied on the
obvious fact that his highly disturbing, limited-edition
sculpture, part of a gallery show criticizing the “banality”
of popular culture, in no way competed in the marketplace
with respondent’s photograph or its potential derivatives.
This meant that the value of the photograph to Rogers
remained unaffected. The Second Circuit nevertheless

14 The Second Circuit repeatedly quoted this Court’s statement in
Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters. that the crux of
the issue is “whether the user stands to profit from exploitation
of the copyrighted material without paying the customary price.”
Pet. App. 14a, 16a (quoting 471 U.S. at 562). It seemed to believe
that Koons’ failure to pay a “customary price” by itself rendered
his use commercial. But this is obviously circular: it is the failure
to pay a “price” to the copyright holder that raises the fair-use issue
in the first place. The real question is whether the use makes it more
difficult to sell the original work, or derivative rights, to others.

14

avoided any real assessment of this question, by ignoring
the obviously distinctive qualities of the Koons sculpture,
labelling it a form of commercial exploitation, and thereby
simply presuming market injury that was not proved."

3. To be sure, after focusing on Koons’ profits, the
court of appeals then went on to consider his “contention
that the primary purpose of the use was for social com-
ment.” Pet. App. 14a. Here, however, it made another
fundamental error—-holding that while the Koons sculp-
ture might be a “satirical critique of our materialistic
society,” he could not escape the label of ‘commercial ex-
ploiter’”’ because the object of his critique was not suffi-
ciently well known to be recognizable te those who would
view the sculpture. Pet. App. 16a. As a result of this
fact, the court held, the sculpture was not a “parody” or
“satire” of the photograph, and thus did not qualify for
heightened protection

This aspect of the decision below is also important.
Parody and satire, as literary genres, have “thrived from
the time of Chaucer,” and are “deserving of substantial
freedom—-both as entertainment and as a form of social
and literary criticism.” Berlin v. B.C. Publications, Ince.,
329 F.2d 541, 545 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 822
(1964). In this century, as noted above, it has become
commonplace for artists also to use existing images in
the creation of new works that criticize what those
images represent. These works have become a key part
of the ‘dialogue’ between mass culture and its social
critics.

As one would expect, works that criticize prior works
through parody or satire have long been recognized as

15 Respondent offered, in support of his motion for summary judg-
ment, evidence establishing at most a theoretical possibility of sales
of the right to produce a derivative sculpture based on his photo-
graph. Petitioner offered affidavits directly contradicting this show-
ing. Because of the Sony presumption, the court of appeals ignored
this factual dispute and simply speculated that some market injury
was “not implausible.” Pet. App. 20a.

a

15

primary examples of fair use. When such works are
challenged under the copyright laws, “copying” in one
sense is both undisputec’ and obvious. But the law is
nevertheless receptive to such copying, for two reasons.
First, “many parodies are intended as criticisms of the
original, and for the author to be able to suppress criti-
cism would interfere with the literary marketplace and
distort the test of time.” R. Posner, Law and Litera-
ture: A Misunderstood Relation 350 (1988). Second, “a
parody is not intended to be a substitute for the original

jand! therefore, except insofar as it is effective
criticism, the parody should not diminish the sales of the
original author’s work and indeed may increase them.”
Id. In sum, this form of copying, in general, does not
interfere with any interests that prior copyright holders
can legitimately expect to have protected.

Thus, in this case, petitioner openly and deliberately
made use of the Rogers photograph in the creation of his
sculpture. But the Koons sculpture embodied a deliber-
ate aesthetic transformation of that prior image. The
faces of the people were rendered cartoon-like and blank.
The dogs, painted blue and given bulbous noses, also had
the appearance of cartoon characters. The work as a
whole was included in a show condemning the “banality”
of popular culture in a prominent New York gallery. On
such facts, it can hardly be supposed that petitioner was
competing for respondent’s audience or otherwise affect-
ing the demand for respondent’s “charming” photograph."
16 The Second Circuit’s failure to recognize the essential differ-
ences between the Rogers photograph and the Koons sculpture was
also reflected in its handling of a separate issue—“substantial simi-
larity.” This requirement, which applies even where, as here, the
defendant concedes some degree of actual copying, 3 Nimmer,
§ 13.03[A], at 13-23, calls for a qualitative determination whether
the nature and degree of the copying implicates copyright concerns
by affecting the legitimate interests of the creator of the original,
see id. at 13-45 to -47. In cases like this one, courts often ask
whether the “total concept and feel” of the two works is substan-
tially similar. See, e.g., Aliotti v. R. Dakin & Co., 831 F.2d 898, 901

16

The Secoad Cireuit nevertheless held that such an
artistic approach js per se illegitimate in those cases
Where the work being eviticized, while typical of some
aspect of culture, is not itself wel] known. This holding
is supported by some but not all of the rather confused
case law in this field." But such a rule ultimately makes
no sense. The policies underlying copyright provide no
basis for drawing 2 distinction between parodies of
famous works and parodies of lesser-known works that
typify something about our culture. Cf. Harper & Row.
Publishers, Ine. v. Nation Enters., 471 U.S. at 559 (“It
is fundamentally at odds with the scheme of copyright
to accord lesser rights in those works that are of great-
est importance to the public.”), Regardless of the celeb-
rity of the work being criticized, a new creation that
sends a different message to a different audience does not
supplant the demand for the earlier work and thus
does not implicate copyright concerns, See 3 Nimmer
$.13.05/B], at 13-102.12 ‘“But if regardless of medium,
the defendant’s work. although containing substantially
similar material, performs a different function than that
of the plaintiff's, the defense of fair use may be in-

(9th Cir, 1987) (citing cases). Here, however, the Second Circuit
did noteven view the actual sculpture, and asked only whether a lay
observer would recognize that the Koons sculpture was based in
part on the Rogers photograph, Pet. App. lla—a fact that petitioner
had already conceded. It thus gave no weight to the possibility that
petitioner's transformation of the photograph, creating an entirely
different aesthetic impression, might lead a fact-finder to find no
substantial similarity.

Ty Compare Elsmere Music, Inc. v. National Broadcasting Co.. 482
F. Supp. 741, 746 (S.D.N.Y.) (“the issue to be resolved . _ . is
Whether the use in question is a valid satire or parody, and not
whether it is a parody of the copied song itself”), aff'd on opinion
below, 623 F.2d 252 (2d Cir. 1980), with MCA, Ine. v. Wilson, 677
F.2d 180, 185 (2d Cir. 1981) (copyrighted work must be “at least
in part an object of the parody”), and Walt Disney Productions vy.
Air Pirates, 581 F.2d 751, 758 n.15 (9th Cir, 1972) (where prior
works are “not also an object of the parody,” the “need to conjure
them up would be reduced if not eliminated”), cert. ds nied, 439
U.S. 1132 (1979),

17
voked,’”’).'" Moreover, there are good reasons relating to
artistic authenticity why an artist might choose to base
his critique of popular culture on a real (although rela-
lively obscure) image, '”

The flimsiness of the court’s reasoning is apparent from
its suggestion that petitioner could huve mounted a
parody defense, if only he had displayed the Rogers
photograph with his sculpture. Pet, App. 16a (‘audience
fwareness of original “may come from the fact that
its existence is in some manner acknowledged by the
parodist in connection with the parody”). If the scope of
fair use in the parody context is to reflect the underlying
goals of copyright, the presence or absence of such 4
display cannot be a critical factor in the analysis. After
all, open acknowledgement of a prior source does not
alter the commercial] impact of a parody,

Instead, in parody cases as elsewhere, the determina-
tion whether a use is presumptively legitimate or eom-
mercially exploitive should be undertaken in a manner
consistent with this Court’s analysis in the Nation case,
It should turn on Whether the new work takes something
of value from the prior author or artist by fulfilling
demand for the original or by basing its OWN appeal in
wnole or in part on the creative efforts reflected in the

'’ The Second Circuit Stated that allowing parodies of relative]
unknown works would mean that there is “no practicable bounda;
to the fair use defense.” Pet. App. 16a This, of course, is not tru
Well-known works ar hardly subject to unlimited copying unde)
current standards. A purported parodist of a famon work mu
show that he in fact js communicating a new and critical messag
and not engaging in commercial exploitation. Se, Pp. 17-18 infra
Precisely the same limitation would apply to works making use o}
lesser-known images.

Indeed, it is the Second ( Ircuit’s approach that is t) Uy impra
ticable, Recognizability is hardly an “ejther or” proposition. It
a matter of degree, and di pends largely on the particular audience
considered,

tist

'’ It would contravene the very essence of the post-modern a}
tradition for an artist lik Koons to make up images intended to
represent popular culture, rather than incorporating real ones

18

prior work. The question should be whether the “parody”
is truly a work of criticism, with a distinct message and
audience, or is merely an effort to capitalize on the
appeal of the original to the commercial detriment of its
creator. See R. Posner, supra, at 350 (drawing a distine-
tion between critical “parodies” and noncritical “bur-
lesques,” which merely borrow from a prior work for
humorous effect and should not be authorized without
consent}.

The lower courts have groped toward a_ recognition
of this principle, but without establishing a clear and
workable rule. In some cases, where the original work
and the “parody” perform different functions in separate
genres, the absence of commercial exploitation has been
readily recognized. See, e.g., Berlin v. E.C. Publications,
Inc., 329 F.2d at 545 (publication of a satirical version
of song lyrics in a humor magazine had “neither the
intent nor the effect of fulfilling the demand for the
original”); Haberman v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 626
F. Supp. 201, 211 (D. Mass. 1986) (“It does not appear
that [the] reproduction of Haberman’s postcards was
intended to increase sales of the magazine and, thus,
in this fashion, improperly capitalize on Haberman’s
work.”’) ; id. (“Haberman markets his works as fine arts
photographs and postcards. The Hustler reproductions

. would not serve as suitable substitutes for someone
who wished to collect the art ....”) Where, however,
the two works are in the same genre (e.g., two performed
ur recorded songs, or two television shows) there remains
substantial doubt about when a parody’s distinctive mes-
sage is enough to negate the charge of commercial ex-
ploitation. See MCA, Inc. v. Wilson, 677 F.2d 180, 185
(2d Cir. 1981) (“We are not prepared to hold that a
commercial composer can plagiarize a competitor’s copy-
righted song, substitute dirty lyrics of his own, perform
it for commercial gain, and then escape liability by call-
ing the end result a parody or satire on the mores of
society.”) ; Warner Bros. v. American Broadcasting Cos.,
654 P.2d 204, 211 (2d Cir. 1981) (involving Superman

’

19

and the television show “Greatest American Hero”) (“we
question whether the |parody| defense could be used to
shield an entire work that is substantially similar to and
in competition with the copyrighted work”). But sec
Fisher v. Dees, 794 F.2d 432, 438 (9th Cir. 1986) (in-
volving the song “When Sunny Gets Blue” and a recorded
parody “When Sunny Sniffs Glue”) (“The two works do
not fulfill the same demand. Consequently, the parody
has no cognizable economic effect on the original.’’) ;
Acuff-Rose Music, Inc. v. Campbell, 754 F. Supp. 1150,
1153-59 (M.D. Tenn.) (following Fisher on similar
facts), app. dismissed, 929 F.2d 700 (6th Cir. 1991) .2°

Under any view, this case should be seen as one involv-
ing a true parody. There may well be cases where a
purported parody is nothing more than an effort to
appropriate valuable features of a prior work without
bothering to create an entirely new one. See MCA, Ine.
v. Wilson, 677 F.2d at 185 (purported parody song sim-
ply sought to capitalize on a popular tune). But here
there could be no suggestion that the Koons sculpture
lacked a critical message or that its commercial value
was enhanced in any way by the selection of the Rogers
photograph as a starting point. One reason for this,
as the Second Circuit recognized, was. that few people
who viewed the sculpture were likely even to be aware of
the photograph. Yet, ironically, this fact was treated as
a decisive consideration confirming that Koons acted “in
bad faith, primarily for profit-making motives.” Pet.
App. 17a.

Petitioner was thus put in a classic “double bind.” If
he had chosen a well-known image as the basis for his
critique, he might have been accused of exploiting exist-
ing public recognition. When he chose instead an image

*? Appropriate disapproval of works that merely “burlesque” prior -
works for humorous effect, without criticizing what those works
represent, may well explain the comments in the case law suggesting
that a parody must be in part a critique of the work used in its
creation. See note 17 supra.

20

that typified popular culture but was not well known—
at least in the world where his works are viewed and
sold—he was labelled a commercial exploiter precisely
because his work did not “conjure up” recognition of a
prior work. This determination, in turn, led inexorably
to a presumption of market injury and a denial of the
fair-use defense.*!

II. THIS CASE MERITS REVIEW BY THIS COURT.

This case involves issues of general importance merit-
ing review by this Court. The decision below is perhaps
the most glaring, but hardly the first, example of the
difficulties that the lower courts have had in determining
whether works are “commercial” and in applying copy-
right concepts to critical and parodic works. Moreover,

“! The court of appeals also ruled that petitioner had used much
more of the photograph than was necessary for a valid parody.
Pet. App. 18a (applying the third fair-use factor of the “amount
and substantiality” of the copying). While some courts have adopted
a similar limitation, see, e.g., Fisher v. Dees, 794 F.2d at 439
(parody may take “no more from the original than is necessary to
accomplish reasonably its parodic purpose’’), such a rule serves no
legitimate purpose in a case involving a true parody that has a
distinct message and audience and does not exploit the commercial
value of the original. See Elsmere Music, Inc. v. National Broad-
casting Co., 623 F.2d 252, 253 n.1 (2d Cir. 1980) (per curiam) (“A
parody is entitled at least to ‘conjure up’ the original. Even more
extensive use would still be fair use, provided the parody builds
upon the original, using the original as a known element of modern
culture and contributing something new for humorous effect. or
commentary.”),; 3 Nimmer § 13.05[C], at 13-102.25 (“But short of
such near-verbatim identity of content, the disparity of function
between a serious work, and a satire based upon it, will sometimes
justify the defense of fair use even where substantial similarity
exists.”) ; ef. Harper & Row, Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Ente rs., 471
U.S. at 550 (“‘[A] reviewer may fairly cite largely from the
original work, if his design be really and truly to use the passages
for the purposes of fair and reasonable criticism.’ ’’) (quoting
Folsom v. Marsh, 9 Fed. Cas. 342, 344 (C.C.D. Mass. 1841)): Sony
Corp. of America v. University City Studios, 464 U.S. at 447-56
(even total duplication of a prior work may sometimes constitute
fair use).

21

if left undisturbed, the Second Circuit’s eager condemna-
tion of petitioner's work as “wilful and egregious”
“piracy,” Pet. App. 23a, 18a, will have serious practical
consequences, inhibiting the creativity of many other
artists and authors.

The above discussion shows, at the very least, that this
area of the law is grossly in need of clarification. By
virtue of the Sony presumptions, identification of ‘“com-
mercial” uses of prior works has taken on enormous im-
portance. Yet the courts are far from reaching any con-
sensus about how to make such a determination—some-
times focusing on the profitability of a work but some-
times focusing (more appropriately in our view) on the
impact of the work on the commercial interests of the crea-
tor of a prior work. See note 11 supra. The result is a
series of decisions that provide little guidance to artists
and authors and tend to reflect, more than anything else,
the visceral reactions of judges to the merits of particular
creative efforts.

This case, involving a new work that sought to criticize
the very essence of a prior work, provides an appropriate
vehicle for addressing this problem. Parodists, satirists,
and other critics, after all, nearly always seek payment
for what they produce. A rule labelling such works, on
that basis, as “commercial” and therefore presumptively
“unfair” would work a major change in the latitude tra-
ditionally accorded to those who seek to express themselves
through parody.

Moreover, by granting review in this case, the Court
could also address the distinctive problems raised by
parodies that continue to plague the lower courts. As we
have noted, the existing case law is somewhat inconsistent
with respect to whether a purported parody must directly
criticize a prior work that is recognizable to the audience.
See note 17 supra. The courts are also confused about
how to separate true parodies from what Judge Posner
has called “burlesques,” which simply exploit the popu-

22

larity of features of prior works. Sec pp. 18-19 supra.
Such recurrent problems certainly warrant the attention
of this Court.

sut perhaps the most compelling argument for review
here is based on the practical consequences of the ruling
below, from a circuit that plays a central role in the ad-
ministration of the copyright laws. As the court of ap-
peals recognized, the fine arts have in recent years ex-
hibited a strong trend toward works that incorporate
images from popular culture. This entire post-modern
movement has now been placed in jeopardy by a decision
blatantly hostile to such an artistic approach.

The Second Circuit’s ruling sends an unmistakable
message that use of existing images will be viewed as
presumptively illegitimate, even where, as here, there is
no realistic concern about interference with the legitimate
interests of the creators of those images. See M. Buskirk,
“Appropriation Under the Gun,” Art in America, at 37
(June 1992} (citing the “ominous implications” of the
Second Circuit’s ruling for the post-modern movement).
In essence, the court below decreed that artists who sel]
works incorporating images from the culture at large
will be treated as if they are in the “business” of com-
mercial appropriation of the work of others unless they
can show that the audience will understand their work as
a comment, not just on popular culture, but also on a par-
ticular prior work. Even then, if those artists sell their
works for substantial amounts of money, it is far from
clear that the fair-use privilege will be applied.**

The predictable result of this decision will be a spate
of lawsuits by copyright holders seeking to profit from
the fact that images from popular culture have turned up
in the works of post-modern artists. These lawsuits wil]

*2 We note that, under the current copyright regime, almost any
image that exists in popular culture can claim copyright protection.
Thus, post-modern artists have no real choice about selecting images
that have the potential for producing copyright challenges.

iN a

23

be brought even where, as here, there is no actual com-
mercial injury. Indeed, they will be brought precisely
because copyright holders will object to being held up as
representatives of “banal” or otherwise undesirable as-
pects of our culture.

If such claims are sanctioned, the current evolution of
fine arts will be severely affected. Copyright holders cer-
tainly are not going to grant licenses to artists seeking to
use images in this way. See Fisher v. Dees, 794 F.2d at
437 (“Parodists will seldom get permission from those
whose works are parodied. Self-esteem is seldom strong
enough to permit the granting of permission even in ex-
change for a reasonable fee.’’) The net result will be
suppression of artistic criticism of popular culture—an
outcome that utterly defeats the purposes of copyright
because it inhibits creativity while in no way furthering
the legitimate interests of copyright holders in profiting
from their works in the ways that they would ordinarily
anticipate.

Indeed, the effects of the decision below will also reach
well beyond the fine arts. Many different kinds of creative
activity, in many fields, depend on the use of prior works.
It is only where such use in fact threatens commercial
injury that the copyright laws should come into play.
Yet the ruling below sends an ominous message that even
in the absence of actual or potential injury, reliance on
the defense of fair use may be a risky proposition. This
Court should act to remove this threat to the free flow
of legitimate ideas and expression.

P24
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN B. KOEGEL *
138 Spring Street
New York, New York 10012
(212) 226-7744

PAUL M. SMITH
KLEIN, FARR, SMITH & TARANTO
2550 M Street, N.W.—Suite 350
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 775-0184

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1154%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
