# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shat-R-Shield, Inc. v. Trojan, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1065%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 870

## Text

-—_ G x Supreme Court, U.S,
9 yA di | FILED |

4
v0 OO 9?
In The | SPKE OF ! cou ;
Suprene Court of the Hnited States
- .

- October Term, i992

SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

TROJAN, INC.,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES LEE THOMASON
THOMASON & SPALDING
One Executive Drive
P.O. Box 8160
Red Bank, New Jersey 07701
(908) 530-9404

R. GALE RHODES, JR.
Counsel of Record
EVANS, OSBORNE & KREIZMAN

P.O. Box BB
Red Bank, New Jersey 07701

(908) 741-9550

Attorneys for Petitioner

2305

a ellate

ervices, inc.

(800) 3 APPEAL « (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether a patent owner that seeks infringement remedies
should expect a lower court to follow this Court’s doctrine of
equivalence, as stated in Graver Tank, or the “‘all-limitations”
doctrine stated by the Federal Circuit.

THE PARTIES
AND RULE 29.1 LISTING

Petitioner Shat-R-Shield, Inc., isa North Carolina corporation
that operates from facilities in Salisbury, North Carolina. Petitioner
owns U.S. Patent No. 4,507,332 for a method of safety-coating
fluorescent lamps.There are no other parent or subsidiary
companies.

Respondent Trojan, Inc., 1s upon information and belief a
Kentucky corporation, that operates in Mount Sterling, Kentucky.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ....................

The Parties and Rule 29.1! Listing.........
ER 8 gS a

re
ey a6 6 asa ee a Kee wee
Statement of Jurisdiction.................
Statutory Provisions Involved.............
Rn WE AU ccc eee nee

Reasons for Granting the Writ............

I. This Court needs to make it clear whether its Graver
Tank decision of evaluating patent claims and their
infringing equivalents as a whole has been overruled
impliedly by the Federal Circuit’s ‘‘all-limitations’’

ee tg an wu 4

I cg A

tN

tN

Contents
Page
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited:
Andrew Corp. v. Gabriel Electronics, Inc., 847 F.2d 819 (Fed.
Cir. 1988), cert. denied, us. _, 109 S. CA. Siz
(1988) re
Atlas Powder Co. v. E.1. DuPont DeNemours, 720 F.2d 1569
(Fed. Cir. 1964)... 2.5.5 cece cence reer cw ecncens 7
Casler v. United States, 9 U.S.P.Q. 2d (Cl. Ct. 1988),
aff'd. 833 F.2d 1026 (Fed. Cir. 1989).....-...-----: 6
Crown Cork & Seal Co. v. Ethyl Corp., 11 U.S.P.Q. 1557
ce. Wik, CIN ov cin a wee ha eve ns eee snes 6
Dawson Chemical Co. v. Rohm and Haas Co., 448 U.S. 176
1.) [On err mer ee Pee ee 6
Graphicana Corp. v. Baia Corp., 472 F.2d 1202 (6th Cir.
Lk. RO PUTeeNeer er 7
Graver Tank Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 339 U.S.
ee ese roe L-. 3, 6 7, 9
King Inst. Corp. v. Perego, 737 F. Supp. 1227 (D. Mass.
| SO PEE r ror rr rerr err rr Ey Terres a ase 5

Lemelson v. United States, 752 F.2d 1538, 224 U.S.P.Q. 526
(Fed. Cir. 1985). ......0 2c ccc cn ee cccneenneceesces 8

Contents

Malta v. Schulmerich Carillons, Inc., 952 F.2d 1320 (Fed.
Cir. 1991), ___. U.S. ___, 60 U.S.L.W. 3827 (1992)

Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-Wayland, Inc., 833 F.2d 931 (Fed.
Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 961 (1988) .......

Perkin-Elmer Corp. v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 822 F.2d
1528, 3 US.P.O. 28 1321 (ed. Ce.. 961) Wc ss ss

Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226 (Fed. Cir.
1989), cert denied, 5a. 110 S. Ct. 154
bp, CO PIE Pee PE GR Bs

Sanitary Refrig. Co. v. Winters, 220 U.S. 30 (1929).....

Spectra Corp. v. Lutz, 839 F.2d 1579 (Fed. Cir. 1988)

Sun Studs, Inc. v. ATA Equip. Leasing, Inc., 872 F.2d 978
‘(. @ Mao, . | Peererererer tener or ra te

TWM Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Dura Corp., 772 F.2d 1261 (6th Cir.
ROSY gin ova 60k OTR eee
Cle. TORU) os he 5 ae eee eee

Universal Gym Equipment Inc. v. Erwa Exercise Equipment
Limited, 827 F.2d 1542 (Fed. Cir. 1987) ...........

Valmont Indus., Inc. v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 14 U.S.P.Q. 2d
S576 CD. BD: TRE oo civ ck ieoge ee sass aukeesees

Page

i.e

Wa

~

vl

Contents
Page
Statutes Cited:
Section 271(a) of the Patent Act, Title 35 ............-. 2
y BOR Rome mrs” |) Perey re ee ee 2
Rule Cited:
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52..............--55:. 7

Other Authorities Cited:

Eshelman, Comment, 65 Tulane Law Rev. 883 (March,
1) Pee eer eee rey 6

Markey, The Federal Circuit and Congressional Intent, 4]
American Univ. Law Rev. 577 (Spring, 1992)... ... 6

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion of the Court of Appeals Shat-R-
Shield, Inc. v. Trojan, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 91-1388, 91-1389,
| On) eee rrrere ree re es la

Appendix B — Opinion of the District Court, Shat-R-Shield,
Inc. v. Trojan, Inc. (E.D. Ky., Cir. No. 86-221, April
1S. MGB). oo canx'cdubues censeweens eeeeeeeeaeee 8a

Appendix C — Judgment of District Court Dated April 15,
| | SCOT ee rer re 47a

Appendix D -- Judgment of Court of Appeals Dated May
e Seperrrererereer oer re ro 49a

Contents
Page

Appendix E — Opinion of Court of Appeals, 7rojan, Inc.,
v. Shat-R-Shield, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 88-1528, 88-1529,
my Sere, Wer een ee te Sla

l
No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

+
October Term, 1992

SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,

Petitioner,
VS.

TROJAN, INC.,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner, Shat-R-Shield, Inc., respectfully petitions fora
writ of certiorari to review the judgments of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

Following a bench trial before the United States District Court
forthe Eastern District of Kentucky, the court made findings of fact
and conclusions of law, which were unreported, and which are

5

reprinted at Appendix B hereto. The judgment declaring the
petitioner’s patent valid and enforceable but not infringed is at
Appendix C.

The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit affirmed the
finding of non-infringement, vacated the declaration of validity,
and affirmed the remainder of the judgment. The Circuit Court’s
opinion is unreported and is reprinted at Appendix A hereto, and the
judgment is Appendix D.

An opinion from an earlier companion case between the same
litigants was put in issue, and that unreported opinion is reprinted at
Appendix E.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered May 1,
1992. The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to review this
judgment derives from 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The petitioner's claim arose under Section 27 1(a) of the Patent
Act, Title 35, that provides in pertinent part as follows:

. whoever without authority makes, uses
or sells any patented invention, within the
United States during the term of the patent
therefore infringes the patent.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Presented for review on certiorari is a decision on an issue
central to the protection of patents. Tne decisional rule for the
doctrine of equivalence was established in 1950 by this Court. The

circuit added gloss to that rule in decisions involving patents for
devices, that typically pose questions like if a hinge equates to a
joint. The petitioner’s case concerns a patented process, that must
be viewed as a whole, and evaluating the equivalence of
methodology, not mechanisms, presents an appropriate case for this
Court to restore its doctrine of equivalents.

The petitioner is a small manufacturing firm that owes it
existence to the patents it was granted for coated lamps and for lamp
coating methods. Petitioner has pursued the protections accorded
those patents in two infringement suits, both tried against
respondent to conclusion. Each case turned on the patent
disclosures of exposing “predetermined” portions of a lamp to
“fluidized” particles of polymeric material. Presented here is a
decision in which petitioner's proof of infringement by equivalence
was measured incorrectly, because this Court's decisions on the
doctrine of equivalence are not followed in the lower courts. Those
courts’ decisional rules try instead to telescope between viewing
the equivalents of an invention “as a whole”, or out of that context,
as elemental parts. Moreover, the appellate panel here ignored the
prior decision, between these same parties, that the respondent
“predetermines” the extent of the coating applied to its lamps.
Compare, Appendix 3aand Appendix 54a.

The doctrine of equivalence stated by this Court has been
segmeated by diverse decisions of various circuit panels. As a
result, district courts and patent owners are unclear about how to
prove whether patents are infringed by equivalents. Certiorari
should be granted to clarify the doctrine of equivalence, so that
patents are accorded protection against infringement by
equivalents as a matter of settled law.

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THIS COURT NEEDS TO MAKE IT CLEAR WHETHER
ITS GRAVER TANK DECISION OF EVALUATING
PATENT CLAIMS AND- THEIR INFRINGING
EQUIVALENTS AS A WHOLE HAS BEEN
OVERRULED IMPLIEDLY BY THE FEDERAL
CIRCUIT’S “ALL-LIMITATIONS” RULES.

The essential inquiry to determine infringement by
equivalence asks whether the accused method performs
substantially the function, in substantially the way claimed in the
patent, to obtain substantially the result achieved by the patented
method. Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 339
U.S. 605 (1950). The petitioner and every patent owner that
endeavors to present proof and argument consistent with Graver
Tank must further argue each variant of the equivalence inquiry that
the Federal Circuit has developed.

Consider the patentholder that needs the protection of its
patents, who must prove a case of infringement that covers every
theory of equivalency. The patentee must try to chart a logical
course between the macro view of equivalence as a whole, and the
micro assessment of elemental equivalence. The dilemma of
choosing one or both approaches to proving equivalence is
widened, due to the uncertainty about whether to focus the
threshold inquiry on the whole process or on the elements. The
patentee has to prove that the invention and the accused process,
when viewed as a whole, function in substantially the same way to
achieve the same result, Graver Tank, id., at 608, while also
respecting circuit precedent that each element and all limitations in
the claimed method be found in a corresponding feature of the
accused method, and be shown to serve the same overall function to

EE

5

achieve the same overall result. Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-
Wayland, Inc., 833 F.2d 931, 934-35 (Fed. Cir. 1987) cert. denied,
485 U.S. 961, 1009 (1988). This elemental view of equivalence is
nearly atest for literal infringement. The tenet of Graver Tank that
an invention and its equivalents must be viewed as a whole is often
inconsistent with the circuit's view of each element, especially
where as here the patent covers a process that must be viewed as a
whole unlike a utility patent for parts combined into a device or
product.

This uncertainty and confusion about the doctrine of
equivalence leads courts to respect both approaches. See Malta v.
Schulmerich Carillons, Inc., 952 F. 2d 1320 (Fed. Cir. 1991)
(compare J. Rich: noting the circuit “has never adopted the three
prong approach to determining equivalency of a limitation”, but the
“function/way/result” equivalency analysis with respect toaclaim
limitation appears to be a helpful way to approach the problem”,
and, J. Newman, dissent, finding “evidence not only as to his
specific claim element but also as to the invention as a whole,
leaving no theory of equivalency uncovered.”), cert. denied,
__U.S. __,60U.S.L.W. 3827 (1992); King Inst. Corp. v. Perego,

- 737 F. Supp. 1227, 1238 (D. Mass. 1990) (espousing the “as a
* whole” analysis then the “each limitation” view).

Other cases favor the approach stated by this Court in Graver
Tank. See Uniroyal Inc. v. Rudkin- Wiley Corp., 939 F.2d 1540, 1544
(Fed. Cir. 1991) (trial court considered “the operation of the
invention and the accused deflector as a whole.”), and Sun Studs,
Inc. v. ATA Equip. Leasing, Inc., 872 F.2d 978, 989 (Fed. Cir. 1989)
(the “claimed and accused devices must be viewed and evaluated as
a whole.”); Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1240,
(Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, __U.S.__, 110 S. Ct. 154 (1989)
(prejudicial to have “isolated [a] specific claim eiement ...
removed from the. . . claimed invention in its entirety”); Andrew
Corp. v. Gabriel Elec., Inc., 847 F.2d 819, 825 (Fed. Cir. 1988), cert.

6

denied, __ U.S. __,109 S. Ct. 312 (1988) (affirmed applying
“doctrine of equivalents to the accused device in light of the
claimed invention viewed as a whole’”’).

In addition, various decisions make one or another approach
the threshold inquiry. See Casler v. United States, 9 U.S.P.Q. 2d
1753, 1777-78 (Cl. Ct. 1988), aff'd, 883 F.2d 1026 (Fed. Cir. 1989)
and Crown Cork & Seal Co. v. Ethyl Corp., 11 U.S.P.Q. 1577, 1588
(E.D. Va. 1989) (both assessing equivalence first under Graver
Tank standard, then finding comparison of elements unnecessary).

The Courts acknowledge the “confusion” about equivalence,
Valmont Indus., Inc. v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 14 U.S.P.Q. 2d 1374, 1380
(D. Neb. 1990), and commentators recognize that the Federal
Circuit must “feel its way” to a definitive statement of the doctrine
of equivalence. Markey, The Federal Circuit and Congressional
Intent, 41 Amer. Univ. L. Rev. 577, 579 (Spring, 1992); Eshelman,
Comment, 65 Tul. L. Rev. 883, n. 11 (Mar. 1991).

The doctrine of equivalence has prime importance to patent
attorneys and patent owners concerned about the protectable scope
of their patents. This Court is asked to clarify the confusion in the
circuit and district courts about the viability of the Graver Tank
decision and about whether the infringement by equivalents
determination views each elemental step, removed from the context
of the process as a whole. Resolving the issue will “forestall”
continued confusion, and serve purposes substantially the same as
those recognized when certiorari was granted in Dawson Chemical
Co. v. Rohm and Haas Co., 448 U.S. 176, 179 and 185 atn. 4(1980).

In petitioner’s case, the district court decided against using the
Graver Tank standards, then it read the “‘all-limitation” rule as
requiring that a literal difference between elements precludes
equivalence. This approach was affirmed as a factual issue of

——_—_—_ Tee

5

infringement not shown to be clearly erroneous. The district court's
rejection of Graver Tank was indicated by its refusal to accept the
following proposed finding in petitioner’s Rule 52, F.R.Civ.P.
submission.

The Trojan coating process for fluorescent
lamps contains each claimed step of the ‘332
Patent literally “or with such variations as are
consistent with its being in substance the same
thing” as the process claimed in the *332
Patent. Sanitary Refrig. Co. v. Winters, 220
U.S. 30, 42 (1929); Graver Tank and Mfg. Co.
v. Linde Air Products Co., 399 U.S. 605, 608-
09 (1950); Graphicana Corp. v. Baia Corp.,
472 F.2d 1202, 1203 (6th Cir. 1973).

Trojan’s coating process “performs
substantially the same function in substantially
the same way” to yield the same result as the
‘332 Patent. Atlas Powder Co. v. E.J. DuPont
DeNemours, 720 F.2d 1569, 1579 (Fed. Cir.
1984); TWM Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Dura Corp.,772
F.2d 1261, 1269 (6th Cir. 1983).

The district court judge supplanted Graver Tank and the
authorities cited by petitioner with circuit panel decisions that
confuse infringement by equivalence with literal variations. In
place of petitioner’s proposed finding above, the court inserted the
following.

3. A finding of infringement under the
doctrine of equivalents requires finding that
the accused method or device performs
substantially the same function in substantially
the same way to obtain the same result. Where

a

8

the function is performed in a different way,
there is no equivalence. Spectra Corp. v. Lutz,
839 F.2d 1579, 1582 (Fed.Cir. 1988). The fact
that two devices achieve substantially the same
result creates no presumption that they do so in
substantially the same way. Universal Gym
Equipment Inc. v. Erwa Exercise Equipment
Limited, 827 F.2d 1542, 1548 (Fed.Cir. 1987).
The numerous differences between the Trojan
process and the claimed process compel a
finding that the Trojan coating process and the
claimed process compel a finding that the
Trojan coating process does not coat bulbs in
substantially the same way as the claimed
process. Consequently, the Trojan method
does not infringe Claims 1, 4, and 7 under the
doctrine of equivalents. [(Appendix B, hereto,
page 41a).]

The Spectra decision echoes the diverging views on
equivalence. There, a wax and polymer composition claimed in the
patent was replaced in the accused matter with only a wax. The
panel acknowledged the “all elements” rule and noted the missing
polymer, but its decision was based on the larger issue that the
claimed and accused composition did not work in substantially the
same way. Inthe petitioner’s case, the district court relied further on
citations to Lemelson v. United States, 752 F.2d 1538, 1551, 224
U.S.P.Q. 526, 533 (Fed.Cir. 1985) and Perkin-Elmer Corp. v.
Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 822 F.2d 1528,3U.S.P.Q. 2d 1321 (Fed.
Cir. 1987). These decisions take the narrowest view of omitted or
substituted elements. In Perkin-Elmer, the panel said a substituted
coupling was not equivalent, because that element failed the

a

9

function/way/result tests: to be equivalent, the “element substituted
inthe accused device... must not... substantially change the way in
which the function . . . is performed. /d., 822 F.2d at 1533. The
petitioner and others find it confusing to reconcile this elemental
test of function/way/result with, first, Malta, supra (this circuit
“has never adopted the three prong approach to determining
equivalency ofa limitation”), and second with Graver Tank, which
finds a patent claiming a “nonalkaline earth metal” ingredient was
infringed by the substitution of an alkaline earth metal. Because the
narrow rule was applied in petitioner’s case, his patent that claimed
a step of “exposing” the lamp to coating particles in a dry
“fluidized” dispersion was different, and so nonequivalent, to
coating with particles in a liquid “fluidized” dispension. This was
the finding, despite uncontradicted evidence of numerous
references in the prior art to the equivalence of using dry or liquid
dispersions as acoating medium (Appendix B, 21a, { (a); 21a-22a,
q (b); and 32a, J (c)). “An important factor is whether persons
reasonably skilled in the art would have known of the
interchangeability of an ingredient not contained in the patent with
one that was.” Graver Tank, supra, 339 U.S. at 609.

Had the district court recognized that Graver Tank still states
the doctrine of equivalence, then its myopic evaluation of the
equivalence issue may not have undermined petitioner's proofs and
its patent. Only aclarification of the doctrine of equivalence and a
remand to consider the issue properly can do justice in petitioner’s
case.

10

CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, a petition for certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES LEE THOMASON
THOMASON & SPALDING
One Executive Drive

Red Bank, New Jersey 07701
(908) 530-9404

R.GALE RHODES, JR.

Counsel of Record

EVANS, OSBORNE & KREIZ?iAN
P.O. Box BB

Red Bank, New Jersey 07701
(201)741-9550

Attorneys for Petitioner

la
APPENDIX A— OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS,
SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC. V. TROJAN, INC. (FED. CIR. 91-
1388, 91-1389, MAY 1, 1992)
NOTE; Pursuant to Fed. Civ. R. 47.8, this disposition is not citable
as precedent. It is a public record. The disposition will appear in

tables published periodically.

UNITED STATES COURT OFAPPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

91-1388, -1389
SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
V.
TROJAN, INC.,

Defendant-Cross-Appellant.

DECIDED: May 1, 1992

Before NIES, Chief Judge, NEWMAN and MICHEL Circuit
Judges.

NIES, Chief Judge.

Shat-R-Shield, Inc. (SRS) appeals from the April 15, 1991,
judgmentof the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Kentucky, No. 86-221, holding that Trojan, Inc.’s process of
applying a plastic coating to the glass envelope and portions of the

2a

AppendixA

end caps of fluorescent lamps does not infringe U.S. Patent No.
4,507,332 (the ‘332 patent). Trojan cross-appeals the district
court’s holding that (1) the ‘332 patent is not invalid, (2) the ‘332
patent is not unenforceable,’ and (3) Trojan is not entitled to an
award of attorney fees. Trojan also asserts that SRS’s appeal to this
court is frivolous and warrants imposition of sanction. We vacate
the district court’s judgment with respect to validity and affirm the
remainder of the judgment. Trojan’s request for sanctions for the
appeal is denied.

DISCUSSION

I. SRS’S APPEAL
A.

SRS appeals the district court’s holding that Trojan’s process
for coating fluorescent lamps does not infringe the ‘332 patent.
Because SRS expressly waived literal infringement at oral
argument, the only question on appeal is whether the district court
erred in holding that Trojan’s process does not infringe the *332
patent under the doctrine of equivalents. SRS argues that the district
court erred by (1) misinterpreting the scope of the claims, (2) using
the accused process as a reference point for the doctrine of
equivalents analysis instead of the patent’s claims, and (3) failing to
conducta proper function/way/result analysis.

SRS contends that the district court interpreted the claims two
different ways, broadly for the validity analysis and narrowly for
the infringement analysis. However, upon application of the correct

1. Trojan alleged that SRS's mislabeling of its products and false advertising
constituted unclean hands and caused the patent to become unenforceable. Because we
affirm the judgment of noninfringement, we need not address Trojan’ s argument.

(occas iii

3a

AppendixA

claim construction, which we interpret as a matter of law, Key Mfg.
Group v. Microdot, Inc., 925 F.2d 1444, 1448, 17 USPQ2d 1806,
1809 (Fed. Cir. 1991), we find no legal error in the district court’s
infringement analysis.

Although distinctions exist between claims 1,4, and7, each of
these claims includes the steps of ‘‘masking said pins and all of said
and caps except said predetermined portion thereof’’ and
‘exposing said glass envelope and said predetermined portion of
said end caps to a fluidized bed of powder of said polymeric
material for a second predetermined period of time to apply a
coating of said powder to said glass envelope and to said
predetermined portion of said end caps.”

The district court found that “the Trojan coating process does
not coat bulbs in substantially the same way as the claimed process”
and that the Trojan process is “fundamentally different” from the
claimed process. Significantly, the district court also noted “[t]he
concerns behind the doctrine of equivalents [are] not present inthis
case.” See London v. Carson Pirie Scott & Co., 946 F.2d 1534, 1538,
20 USPQ2d 1456, 1458-59 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (application of the
doctrine of equivalents is the exception, rather than the rule, and is
not simply the second prong of every infringement charge).

In the accused process, the lamp’s pins are held by adapters.
The lamps are lowered into a liquid solution of plastisol, a
dispersion of extremely small particles of polyvinyl chloride (PVC)
suspended in a liquid plasticizer, and then rotated. As the only
contact between the liquid solution and the lamp occurs at the
surface of the liquid, masking is not required to protect the pins.
Also, because in the Trojan process “[t]he portion of the end caps
which is coated varies from lamp to lamp, and is thus not
‘predetermined,’” masking is not required to define a

_

ta

AppendixA

predetermined coated portion of the end caps. Conversely, the
masking claimed in the ‘332 patent protects the pins from exposure
to the coating powder and defines the “predetermined portion” of
the end caps which is to be coated. Accordingly, the district court
specifically found that ‘‘the adapters of Trojan do not function as
masks.”’ SRS has not proven this finding clearly erroneous. There is
no substitution of an equivalent for the masking step.

The ‘332 patent also requires “a fluidized bed of powder,” i.e.,
powder supported in air. SRS argues that Trojan’s plastisol is
equivalent to the fluidized bed of ‘332 because both contain
particles supported in a fluidizing medium; air in the 332 process,
liquid plasticizer in Trojan’s process. The district court correctly
noted that powder coating and plastisol coating involve
‘fundamentally different mechanisms.” When the lamp is removed
from the fluidized bed of powder, it is covered with individual PVC
particles. When a lamp is removed from the Trojan plastisol bath, it
is coated in a liquid plasticizer which contains PVC particles.
Moreover, the process claimed in the ‘332 patent produces a coating
comprised only of PVC powder. The fluidizing agent, air, passes out
of the system. In the Trojan process, the coating is comprised of
both the particles of PVC and the fluidizing agent, the plasticizer.

While the end result, acoated lamp, may be comparable in each
process, the Trojan process achieves this result in a different way
from the process disclosed in the *332 patent with respect to both
steps required and materials. We are unpersuaded by SRS’s
arguments that equivalency between the accused process and the
limitations of the claims was established. Therefore, the district
court’s finding that the Trojan process does not infringe the ‘332
patent under the test set out in Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air
Prods. Co., 339 U.S. 605 (1950), for determining infringement
under the doctrine of equivalents, is not clearly erroneous. Spectra

Sa
AppendixA

Corp. v. Lutz, 839 F.2d 1579, 1582, 5 USPQ2d 1867, 1869 (Fed. Cir.
1988).

B.

SRS also asserts that the district court committed procedural
‘‘errors”’ by failing to narrow the issues under the partial summary
judgment procedure of Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(d) and by allowing Trojan
to name an expert witness beyond the date set in the pretrial order.
Both of these rulings are discretionary with the trial judge and no
abuse of discretion has been shown.

II. Trojan’s Cross-Appeal

A.

While Trojan cross-appeals from the district court’s judgment
that the ‘332 patent is not invalid, it asks only that the judgment of
validity be vacated if we uphold the judgment of noninfringement.
This is in accordance with our usual practice. Advance Transformer
Co. v. Levinson, 837 F.2d 1081, 1084, 5 USPQ2d 1600, 1603 (Fed.
Cir. 1988); Pennwait Corp. v. Durand- Wayland Inc. ,833 F.2d 931,
939, 4 USPQ2d 1737, 1743 (Fed. Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S.
961 & 1009 (1988) (en banc); Fonar Corp. v. Johnson & Johnson,
821 F.2d 627, 634, 3 USPQ2d 1109, 1114 (Fed. Cir. 1987), cert.
denied, 484 U.S. 1027 (1988). Accordingly, the district court’s
judgment holding that the ‘332 patent has not been proven invalid is
vacated.

6a

AppendixA
B.

Trojan cross-appeals the district court’s refusal to award
attorney fees under Fed. R. Civ. P. 11° and requests, as well, its
attorney fees and costs on appeal under Rule 38 for frivolous
appeal. We affirm the district court’s denial of attorney fees and
deny the Rule 38 request.

Trojan argues that SRS brought suit without having reasonable
basis for believing Trojan was infringing the *332 patent. Trojan
also charges that SRS made a claim of infringement totally devoid
of merit and put forth frivolous arguments, thereby subjecting
Trojan to litigation in bad faith. The district court expressly found,

this action was brought in good faith and on a
reasonable belief that the ‘332 patent may have
been infringed. [SRS] and its attorney could
have reasonably believed that they had a basis
for filing the lawsuit and the Court finds that
their conduct met the objective standard of
reasonableness under the circumstances. The
Court does not find that there was any improper
purpose in filing this lawsuit.

Trojan would have us treat the statement by SRS’s counsel,
made shortly after the process patent issued, that “it was not
proper” to sue under the process patent at that time, as, in effect, an
admission that SRS did not know what process Trojan was then
using. Trojan argues that SRS later filed this action without any
further investigation.

2. Trojan states that it relied on 35 U.S.C. § 285 (1988) as well but makes no
argument that this is an exceptional case within the meaning of the statute. Thus, this
statute has not been shown to apply.

7a

AppendixA

SRS attempted to find out Trojan’s process through discovery
in a separate suit for infringement of its product patent. Thwarted in
that effort, it filed this suit based upon an examination of the
product. SRS’s president, Mr. James D. Nolan, filed an affidavit to
the effect that Trojan’s lamps bore marks similar to lamps made
using the process of the ‘332 patent. Trojan asserts Nolan’s
testimony is inconsistent with later testimony.

While others might have reached a different conclusion from
the trial court on the issue of whether SRS had areasonable basis for
making the pleadings of its complaint, we are unpersuaded that the
court here abused its discretion in denying sanctions. The exercise
of discretion respecting sanctions, particularly the denial of
sanctions, is the type of discretionary decision that is virtually
unreviewable. It would be wholly inappropriate for an appellate
court to impose trial sanctions, as Trojan urges, simply because it
disagreed with a factual finding of the trial court. The trial court is
clearly in the best position to “marshall the pertinent facts and apply
the fact-dependent legal standard mandated by rule 11.”’ Cooter &
Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S. 384,___, L1O L. Ed. 2d 359, 379-
80 (1990). In suia, Trojan has not convinced us that the district court
abused its discretion by refusing to award attorney fees under Rule
11. Cooter & Gell, 496U.S.at___, LIOL. Ed. 2d at 381-82 (1990).

Trojan argues that SRS’s appeal is frivolous as filed and as
argued, citing what it asserts as the weakness of SRS’s arguments
and SRS’s mischaracterization of the facts. Nonetheless, we hold
that SRS’s appeal is not frivolous and does not waisrant sanctions
under Rule 38.

8a

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE DISTRICT COURT,
SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC. V. TROJAN, INC. (E.D. KY., CIR.
NO. 86-221, APRIL 15, 1992)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
LEXINGTON

Civil Action No. 86-221

SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,
PLAINTIFF,

TROJAN,INC.,
DEFENDANT.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In this civil action, plaintiff Shat-R-Shield, Inc. alleges that
defendant Trojan, Inc. has infringed, and continues to infringe,
United States Patent no. 4,507,332. Defendant Trojan
counterclaimed for a declaration of non-infringement and
invalidity of the ‘332 patent. All issues pertaining to damages were
severed for later consideration pursuant to rule 42(b) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure. The infringement and validity issues were
tried to the Court beginning on November 13, 1990. The following
Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law are made pursuant to rule
52(a).

9a

Appendix B
I. FINDINGS OF FACT

A. THE PARTIES

1. The Plaintiff Shat-R-Shield, Inc. (hereinafter “SRS”) is a
North Carolina corporation with its principal place of business at
116 Ryan Patrick Drive, Salisbury, North Carolina 28144.

2. The defendant Trojan, Inc., (hereinafter “Trojan’’) is a
Kentucky corporation with its principal place of business at Old
Owingsville Road, Mt. Sterling, Kentucky 40353.

B. THE SRS PROCESS PATENT

1. The patent in suit is United States Patent no. 4,507,332
entitled “Methods of and Apparatus for Coating the Glass Envelope
and Predetermined Portions of the End Caps of a Fluorescent
Lamp.” The patent covers a particular method of coating a
fluorescent light bulb with plastic. The original application for the
patent was filed January 17, 1977, by James D. Nolan (“Nolan”) and
Axel T. Karlsson (“Karlsson”). This first application was
abandoned and continued into Serial no. 516, 658, filed July 25,
1983, naming the same inventors. The United States Patent &
Trademark Office examined the application and issued U.S. Patent
4,507,332 (“the ‘332 patent” or “the SRS Patent”) on March 26,
1985.

2. SRS (formerly called Incoplas) owns the ‘332 Patent, and
the process described in that patent is utilized by SRS to
manufacture safety coated fluorescent lamps.

10a

Appendix B
C. RELATED LITIGATION

1. In earlier litigation between the same parties in this district,
Civil Action No. 85-143, the validity and infringement of a related
patent, No. 4,506,189 (DX-25) were in issue. The “189 patent (“the
product patent”) covered a fluorescent light tube or bulb having a
plastic coating on it to prevent glass and other materials from
dispersing if the tube breaks. There were four claims in the product
patent, of which Claim 1 was the broadest. It read as follows:

In a fluorescent lamp including a glass
envelope and an end cap at each end of said
glass envelope, the improvement comprising:

integrally formed coating means
surrounding said glass envelope and a
predetermined portion of each of saidend caps;
and

said coating means being transparent to light
emanating from said fluorescent lamp and
upon said glass envelope being broken into
glass shards said coating means for
maintaining said glass shards and said end caps
in association thereby preventing the
broadcasting of said glass shards.

2. Inthe prior litigation, Trojan contended that the claims of the
product patent were invalid under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and that Trojan’s
coated fluorescent bulbs did not infringe the claims.

3. After atrial on the merits, findings of fact and conclusions of
law were entered declaring the product patent was valid, and that
Trojan had infringed the patent. Judgment was entered enjoining

ee

lla

Appendix B

Trojan from manufacturing or selling its coated fluorescent bulbs.

4. Appeals were taken by both parties to the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit. Trojan appealed from that part of the
judgment holding the product patent valid and infringed. SRS
appealed from that part of the judgment denying an accounting for
damages, refusing to find that Trojan’s conduct was wanton and
willful and denying an award of attorneys’ fees or treble damages.

5. On appeal, the Court of Appeals reversed the District Court
and held that the product patent was invalid for obviousness under
35 U.S.C. § 103. Trojan, Inc. v, Shat- R-Shield. Inc., 13 U.S.P.Q.2d
1732 (Fed.Cir. 1989) The basis for the decision of the Court of
Appeals was that two prior art patents, the Thomas Patent No.
3,621,323 (DX-33) and the Evans Patent No. 3,602,759 (DX-34)
made the product patent claims obvious to a person of ordinary skill
in the art. Having held the product patent invalid, the Court of
Appeals did not reach the other issues on appeal.

D. THE ‘332 PATENT IN SUIT

1. The ‘332 Patent describes the process invented by Nolan and
Karlsson and each process step is set forth in the claims. All of the
‘332 Patent claims were pleaded, but for simplicity the parties and
the Court have focused on the independent Claims 1,4, and 7.

2. Claim 1' is representative of the three independent claims of
the patent in suit and reads as follows:

1. Claims 1,4, and 7 are substantially similar, therefore only the full text of Claim
1 will be set forth in this opinion. Any significant points or differences in the claims will
be noted when necessary.

Iie enscnneieeeail

12a

Appendix B

A method of coating the glass envelope of a
fluorescent lamp and a predetermined portion
of the end caps of said lamp with a coating of
polymeric material and wherein said lamp is
provided with at least one electrical connecting
pin on each end cap and wherein said end caps
are secured to said glass envelope at radial
positions with respect thereto, said method
comprising:

(a)

(b)

(Cc)

(d)

securing said end caps against radial
displacement with respect to said glass
envelope;

subsequently, preheating said
fluorescent lamp to heat said glass
envelope and at least said predetermined
portion of said end caps to a first
predetermined temperature above the
melting point of said polymeric material
for a first predetermined period of time;

subsequently, masking said pins and all
of said end caps except said
predetermined portion thereof;

exposing said glass envelope and said
predetermined portion of said end caps to
a fluidized bed of powder of said
polymeric material for a second
predetermined period of time to apply a
coating of said powder to said glass
envelope and to said predetermined
portion of said end caps;

EEE

13a

Appendix B

(e) subsequently, reheating said _ glass
envelope and at least said predetermined
portion of said end caps to a second
predetermined temperature above said
melting point of said polymeric material
for athird predetermined amount of time
to melt and fuse said powder on said glass
envelope and said predetermined portion
of said end caps to form said applied
powder into a substantially uniformly
thick coating of polymeric material; and

(f) subsequently, unmasking said pins and
said end caps and unsecuring said end
caps.

Subparagraphs (a) through (f) define the six
separate steps of the claimed method.

3. As a predicate to determining infringement and validity, the
Court first defines the meaning of the process steps claimed in the
‘332 Patent and the scope of the patent claims. In this regard, the \
Court considers the usual and accepted meaning of the words used
in the patent claims, the meaning given those terms by the inventor,
and evidence of how the terms are used by persons skilled in the art
of plastic coating.

The patented process applies a safety coating to a common
fluorescent lamp that is a glass envelope with end caps secured to
each end. Fluorescent lamps have “at least one electrical
connecting pin on each end cap” and these “end caps” are secured to
the glass envelope of the tube at “radial positions,” (Claim 1). Most
fluorescent lamps are “provided with a pair of electrical connecting
pins oneachend cap” and these “pairs of electrical connecting pins

l4a

Appendix B

are in... radial alignment with each other.” (Claims 4&7).

The end caps are at radial positions with respect to the glass
envelope and the pairs of electrical connecting pins are in radial
alignment with each other so the lamp will fit into an electrical
fixture and illuminate. The radial alignment of the end caps and
pairs of electrical connecting pins must be maintained during and
after the coating process or the pairs of electrical connecting pins
will not fit into the electrical fixture.

(a) Securing. The first step in the ‘332 Patent process is
“securing” the end caps of the fluorescent lamp to prevent their
displacement or loosening during the preheating, coating, and
reheating steps. The function of this step is, as stated in Claim 1, to
secure the “end caps against radial displacement.” Claims 4&7
express the function of securing the “electrical connecting pins
against displacement out of... radial alignment.”

When asked toexplain this step, James Nolan testified that itis
accomplished by synchronizing the drives on each end of the lamp,
and that SRS ran intotrouble when it did not synchronize the drives.
Securing is a quality control and precautionary measure made
necessary because of variations in the end caps and the way they are
placed on the lamp by the manufacturer. End caps are glued to
opposite ends of the glass envelope with an adhesive that may melt
in the heating steps, and this could cause the end caps to become
loosened with respect to the glass envelope and the pairs of
electrical connecting pins to become displaced from their radial
alignment. Different fluorescent lamp manufacturers use different
types and amounts of adhesives to attach the end caps. At the time
the invention was made, the heat sensitivity of the end caps
adhesive was more ofa problem than today because of the improved
adhesives. The result of the “securing” step is to eliminate this

vv

15a

Appendix B

occasional problem of loose end caps and misaligned electrical
pins.

One mode of “securing” taught in the ‘332 Patent specification
is to engage the end caps or the pins of the lamp and to impose
“sufficient force to securely engage the opposed end caps.” (col. 5,
line 5). The patent describes and the patent drawings depict
springloaded elements that engage and secure the end caps and
electrical connecting pins of the lamp. (Figs. 5&6 of PX-4).

Securing maintains the original placement and alignment of
the end caps and the electrical connecting pins on the lamp during
the heating and coating steps of the process. (‘332 Patent, col. 5,
lines 23-32). Claim 7 additionally incorporates rotation of the lamp
as part of the process. This rotation is imparted via the securing
means which as stated in the specification “engage the end caps
with sufficient force such that when the elements are rotated ...
rotation is imparted to the fluorescent lamp.” (col. 5, lines 19-21).
The securing step in Claims 1, 4, and 7 holds the end caps and pins
secure so that “they will not be moved out of such radial alignment
during the subsequent steps” of the process. (col. 5, lines 30).

(b) Preheating. The next step claimed in the ‘332 Patent is
preheating the “glass envelope and at least [a] predetermined
portion of [the] end cap toa... predetermined temperature above the
melting point of the polymeric material ... fora first predetermined
period of time.”

The inventor Nolan explained that preheating promotes
adherence between the polymeric coating material and the glass
envelope and end caps. Nolan also explained that, the time and
temperature of the preheating affects the thickness of the final
coating.

16a

Appendix B

The ‘332 Patent claim language requires that the preheating
temperature be above “the melting point” of the polymeric material
used for coating. The step of preheating above the melting point
means to apply heat to a temperature that will cause particles of
polymeric coating material to soften or to become tacky or sticky so
that the particles cling to the heated article.

The inventor Nolan testified that preheating above the melting
point in his invention meant heated enough to make the polymeric
material stick to the lamp, and the Court finds that this term would
mean the same to one of ordinary skill in the art.

Dr. Philip Reucroft of the University of Kentucky College of
Engineering, an expert on Materials Sciences, agreed that persons
in the plastic coating art use the terms melting point, sintering point,
and softening point interchangeably. Reucroft corroborated this by
reference to published scientific literature, specifically the text by
Swarj Paul, and by his reference to prior art patents. The
interchangeable use of these terms appears in DX-38 the Dettling
Patent no. 3,414,409 (col. 1, lines 61-2: “temp-_rsature above the
sintering or melting point of the coating material”; and, col. 4, lines
11-15: “the sintering or melting point of the coating material ... and
the melting or softening point”), as well as in DX-35 the Al Patent
no. 3,565,664 (col. 3, line. 58) (“the sintering or melting
temperature of a thermoplastic”); see also DX46 Knapsack, GB
#759,214 at lines 12-13 and 26-27.

The Modern Plastics Encyclopedia (DX-11) lists the
properties of polymeric materials, including the polyvinyl chloride
polymeric material used by defendant Trojan, and it refers
specifically to “melting” and to the “melting” temperature of those
materials. No evidence suggests that the inventors meant the
“melting” limitation to be inclusive only of crystalline polymers.

ceeemaaea aia aaa ia

17a

Appendix B

The greater weight of the evidence shows the inventors intended
that melting point would include temperature sufficient to soften
both crystalline and amorphous polymeric materials. Thus, the
Court concludes that the term melting point as applied to polymeric
material, including PVC, is synonymous with the softening or
sintering temperature that promotes adherence of the polymeric
material to the glass envelope and the predetermined portion of the
end caps of the lamp.

The optimum time and temperature parameters to melt the
chosen polymeric coating material are predetermined. One way
that the preheating to melting function can be achieved is with a
“radiant” or “convection heater” (‘332 Patent, col. 4, line 4)
including an oven. The inventors recognized that “advantageously”
the fluorescent lamp is preheated “to atemperature within the range
from about 150° F to 400° F for a period of time in the range from
about 5 seconds to 4 minutes.” (col. 6, lines 29-33). As a result of
preheating, the softened polymeric material will stick to the glass
envelope and portions of the end caps of the fluorescent lamp during
the coating step described below.

(c) Masking. The next step in the ‘332 Patent is masking a
portion of the end caps and all of the electrical connecting pins. The
word mask is usually defined as a cover. In the ‘332 Patent claims,
the mask covers the electrical connecting “pins and all of [the] end
caps except [a] predetermined portion thereof.” (Claims 1,4&7).
The preamble of Claim 1 specifies coating a “predetermined”
portion of the end caps of the lamp. In the claimed process, the
extent of the coating is predetermined by masking. Step (c), the
masking step, is carried out after-preheating the bulb. Masking of
the electrical pins is essential in powder coating utilizing a fluidized
bed. The mask is illustrated in Figure 5, Part No. 21. Step (c) calls
for “masking said pins and all of said end caps except said

18a

Appendix B

predetermined portion thereof.”

The masking step functions to establish parameters for the
extent of the coating to be applied. Specifically, the polymeric
material contacts only those “portions of the end caps not covered
by the masking element” (col. 5, line 50&68). The mask is designed
to keep polymeric material particles off of the electrical connecting
pins. The other parameter is permitting the polymeric material to
coat that portion of the end caps that was predetermined to resultina
safety coating capable of maintaining the end caps in association
with pieces of the glass envelope should the lamp be broken.
Masking can be achieved with covers that are concentric but of
smaller diameter than the end cap. (Figs. 5&7). The patent
specification suggests that the “masking” and “securing” steps can
be accomplished with a “combination” element (col. 4, lines
37&49). In these ways, masking assures that no more than the
predetermined portion of the end caps is coated and that the covered
electrical connecting pins are not coated.

(d) Coating. The preheated glass envelope and predetermined
portions of the end caps are then exposed to powder or particles of
the polymeric coating material in a fluidized bed. The polymeric
particles are “fluidized” which means that the particles are
dispersed in a fluidizing medium. The functiou is “to apply a
coating” of polymeric particles tothe glass envelope and to only the
predetermined portions of the end caps. (Claims 1,4,&7).

The only coating method described in the specification of the
patent in suit utilizes a “fluidized bed” of powdered plastic. The
only powdered plastic disclosed in the specification is Surlyn, a
product of the DuPont Chemical Company, (col. 6, lines 45-49).
The powdered Surlyn is placed in a container having a perforated
plate to support the powder. Air is blown upwardly through the

| iene

19a

Appendix B

perforated plate and through the powder so as to suspend the
powder in the air stream. (Column 4, lines 6-14). The specification
states that the construction of the fluidized bed was known to those
skilled in the art. (col. 4, lines 6-9). To obtain the coating onthe bulb,
the bulb, which has been preheated to a temperature above the
melting point of the Surlyn powder, is immersed in the bed, so that
powder particles collect on the bulb. The bulb with the adhering
powder particles is then removed from the bed and placed inan oven
where it is reheated to a temperature above the melting point of the
powder, so that arelatively smooth coating is obtained.

Defendant’s expert Dr. Tony Hancock gave the opinion that
heat makes PVC gelatinous but, to a chemical engineer, gelation ~
and melting define different conditions. Perhaps a doctor of
chemical engineering would draw distinctions between melting
and gelation based on the molecular structure of the polymeric
material. However, the inventor Nolan, whois one of ordinary skill
in the plastic coating art, is not achemist, not an engineer, and holds
no post-secondary degree. The specification that Nolan gave to his
patent application used “melting” to describe the softening he
observed when plastic is heated. The Court’s interpretation of the
claimed steps in the ‘332 Patent of preheating and reheating above
the melting point is as Nolan testified. Dr. Reucroft and Dr.
Hancock agreed that unheated PVC particles in plasticizer do not
stick together, but when sufficient heat is applied, it causes these
solid PVC particles to soften and become sticky. To a person of
ordinary skill in the art, this softening with heat would be described
as melting. See Specialty Composites v. Cabot Corp., 845 F.2d981,
985 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (PVC in plasticizer will “havea lower melting
point”). Furthermore, the function of the claimed preheating is to
melt powder so that the powder will adhere to the bulb.

In sum, the coating step in the ‘332 Patent is “exposing” the

|

20a

Appendix B

entire “glass envelope” and only the “predetermined portions of the
end caps” to particles of polymeric coating material which are
dispersed in a fluidizing medium. As previously set forth, the
powder collects on all of the unmasked surfaces of the bulb. The
inventors Nolan and Karlsson testified that the surface level of the
fluidized bed could be controlled to be virtually flat just like a
liquid.

(e) Reheating. The coated lamp is next reheated according to
time and temperature conditions determined in advance to be
effective to “melt and fuse” the particles of polymeric material into
a “substantially uniformly thick coating.” (Claims 1,4,&7). Again
the lamp is exposed to a temperature “above the melting point” of
the polymeric material, as indicated in the preheating step.
However, the reheating step is longer, so that the lamp is heated for
enough time to melt and to fuse the particles of polymeric material
into a coating. Claim 7 adds the aspect of rotating the lamp during
the reheating step.

(f) Unmasking and Unsecuring. The last step entails
removing the masks that covered the pins and removing the coated
lamp from the securing apparatus. Step (f) of Claim 1 calls for
“unmasking said pins and said end caps and unsecuring said end
caps.” These steps are the reverse of steps (c) and (a) respectively.

E. VALIDITY

1. STANDARD

Trojan alleges that the claims of the patent in suit are invalid
under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The deterraination of validity requires an
analysis of the prior art, the differences between the teachings of the
prior art and the claims of the patent in suit, the level of skill inthe art

2la

Appendix B

at the time the invention was made, and whether or not the claims of
the patent in suit would have been obvious to the person of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Graham v. John
Deere, 383 U.S. 1(1966).

2. ART CITED BY EXAMINER

The Court first will review the scope and content of the prior art
cited by the Patent Examiner, as listed on the first page of the ‘332
Patent.

(a) The Shank reference, U.S. Patent no. 3,937,854, (DX-29)
teaches applying particles of polymeric material to glass items,
particularly bottles. Shank suggests a preheating step (col. 3, line 27
and col. 6, line 35), exposing glass articles to particles of polymeric
material, including Surlyn (col. 4, line 34), in a liquid (col. 4, line
45) ofadry (col. 4, line 52) dispersion by using fluidized bed (col. 4,
line 67) or spray (col. 6, line 31) methods. Shank suggests to apply a
coating over “substantially the entire ... article” (col. 7, line 49) or
“only toa limited area” of it (col. 7, Lines 55-6) and a post-heating
step (col. 4, line 63). The Shank coating “resists” but does not
prevent “scattering of glass fragments” if the bottle “is broken”
(col. 4, line 8). The Shank patents do not havea “securing” step akin
to that in the ‘332 Patent; the bottles are carried on “chucks” (col. 5,
line 63) which are not described or depicted.

(b) The Campagna Patent no. 3,856,498 (DX-32) discloses
methods of applying a “shatterproof” coating of polymeric material
to a glass vessel (col.1, line 66). It suggests “a preheat cycle, a
particulate coating application” and a post-heating or “fusing” step
(col. 4, lines 20-2). The preheated items can be “dipped ... into a
fluidized bed” (col. 5, line 35). However, Campagna recognizes
that “solvent systems” like a plastisol dip or “spray methods” can

a

22a

Appendix B

provide equivalent coating results (col. 5, lines 37-8). Campagna
grips the bottles at the neck between a fixed and a spring-loaded
element, (Fig. 4, part 34), or alternatively, grips the neck between
flat and notched elements (Fig. 12, part 92). These holders cover
part of the bottle and so, “portions of the neck are not coated” (col. 7,
lines 39-40).

(c) The Sharretts Patent no. 3,440,078 (DX-37) is for an
apparatus that will hold the article to be coated and also “mask those
areas on which a coating is not desired” (col. 1, lines 51-2). The
combination holding and masking apparatus is a hollow “manifold”
(col. 2, line 51) through which pressurized air is blown thus
preventing the coating “material from coming into contact with the
heated surface of the object” being coated. (col. 2, line 45-6).

(d) The Koerper Patent no. 3,989,859 (DX-27) discloses the
preheating of an article (col. 2, line 33) that can be cylindrical (col.
3, line 26 & Fig. 3), and post-heating it (col. 5, line 19) after coating.
Koerper exposes the article to particles of polymeric material (col.
5, line 3-4 and col. 6, line 68) using a spray (col. 5, line 8) or a
fluidized bed (col. 6, line 59) application. Koerper coats the entire
tubular article while it turns on rotating rollers, which are cooled
“below the melting point” of the polymeric coating material (col. 5,
line 31-42).

(e) The Sentementes Patent no. 3,959,525 (DX-28), the
Audesse Patent no. 3,902,946 (DX-31) andthe Van Laar Patent no.
2,868,620 (DX-45) disclose methods of safety-coating photoflash
lamps with polymeric materials. During the coating step,
Sentementes simply clamps the bottom of the lamp, Audesse
similarly uses “chucks” (col. 5, line 14&16) and Van Laar holds the
bulbs in a “stand.” Sentementes uses a fluidized bed of polymeric
particles with preheating and postheating steps (col. 4, line 35-46).

———

23a

Appendix B

Van Laar dips the bulbs into a “dispersion of thermo-plastic ...
particles ... in a liquid” (col. 2, line 35-6) including polyviny!
chloride particles in a liquid dispersion (col. 4, line 17&39). These
particulate coatings differ from Audesse who uses a thermoplastic
sleeve that is vacuum shrunk onto the bulb and heated.

(f) The Boyce Patent no. 3,018,187 (DX-42) teaches the
application of a moisture-impervious coating to the glass envelope
of a fluorescent lamp. Dip and spray appiications are suggested
(col. 5, line 19-21). The entire glass envelope receives the coating,
and no disclosure or no suggestion is made about securing or
masking the base caps. Boyce does suggest removing “any excess
coating” (col. 4, line 13) manually with an “air knife” (col. 4, line
17).

The references cited by the Examiner involve some aspects of
holding, preheating, masking, coating with particles in fluid
dispersions, and post-heating. No one of these patents, however,
discloses all of the process steps claimed in the ‘332 Patent. These
references do not suggest combining their features one with another
in any way that would suggest that the combined steps of the
patented process would be obvious to a person skilled in the art of
coating. No one of these patents suggests accomplishing the same
function, in the same way, to obtain the result claimed in the ‘332
Patent. After reviewing these references and other patents in the
search fields listed, the Patent Examiner allowed a patent to issue on
the process claimed in the ‘332 Patent.

3. THE PATENTS PRESENTED BY TROJAN

Next, the Court examines the prior art offered at trial by Trojan
in support of its claim of invalidity.

24a

Appendix B

(a) Trojan relied on the pioneer patents on fluidized bed
coating, which are the Gemmer (DX-44) and Dettling patents (DX-
38,40&43). The Dettling ‘245 reference states, in pertinent part:

As is known, articles can be coated by the use
of fluidized beds. The coating material in
powder form is placed in a fluidized state and
the article to be coated is heated to a
temperature equal to or above the softening or
melting point of the coating material, is then
placed in the dense phase of the bed, moved to
and fro, and removed when the desired coating
thickness is attained, ... (Col. 1, lines 12-20)

ee

The use of such beds has provided superior
coatings as well as-new processes which avoid
certain difficulties of old methods. For
example, it is possible to coat articles of
irregular and complex shapes very quickly and
simply and yet attain uniformity in spite of
shape differentials. Also, solvents and similar
materials needed in prior methods are
obviated. (Col. 1, lines 36-42)

The Dettling patent states among its
objectives:

... the provision of a means and a method for
holding articles in fluidized beds so that the
article to be coated is coated only at desired
areas. A still further objective is the provision
of a holder and a method of holding which

cia

25a

Appendix B

leads to auniform, well defined boundary line
between the area to be coated and the area to
remain uncoated. These and other objects will
appear hereinafter.

These objectives are accomplished by the
provision of holders which are clamps having a
covering area corresponding in size and shape
to the area of the article that is to remain
uncoated... (Col. 1, lines 60-71).

*x* *

Pressure is exerted through the clamps to hold
the article... (Col. 2, lines 25-26)

(b) The Dettling ‘245 reference goes on to describe a method
for coating atube, withreferenceto FIG. 1, as follows:

The tube 4 is preheated to the desired
temperature. When the tube is at the desired
temperature, the operator picks it up with the
cold holder and carries it to the fluidized bed
and immerses it in the dense phase of the bed
for such time as is necessary, usually about § to
10 seconds. With the article held by the holder,
a plurality of dippings can be made, and the
coated article may then be post heated, if
required for complete coating fusion. (Col. 2,
line 67-Col. 2, line 3)

Claim 8 of the Dettling ‘245 reference, reprinted as DX-59,
reads as follows:

26a

Appendix B

A method for applying a coating to a limited
portion of the surface of an article comprising
the steps of heating the article toa temperature
above the melting point of a pulverulent
coating material, engaging said article witha
holding device which covers and encloses all
portions of the article on which a coating is not
desired, immersing the article in the
pulverulent coating material so that the coating
material in proximity to the article surface
sinters and fuses into a complete coating, and
during the immersion maintaining the holding
device at a temperature below the sintering
temperature of the coating material.

Dettling U.S. Patent No. 3,419,409 (DX-38) discloses various
examples of fluidized bed powder coating processes in which an
article such as a pipe is preheated, exposed to a fluidized bed of
powdered polymeric material, and postheated. Gemmer Patent no.
2,844,489 (DX-44) is described asa coating for metal articles (col.
1, line 30), and the eleven examples are given (cols. 7 thru 10) for
coating various metal articles. In Dettling Patent no. 2,974,060,
(DX-43) the four coating examples given (cols. 4&5) are metal
articles. The Knapsack British reference (DX-46) is an equally
limited disclosure, and is cumulative of Gemmer.

The Dettling and Glemmer patents are cited in the Sharretts
(DX-37) and in the Sentementes (DX-28 at col. 2, line 30) patents,
which the Examiner did review and cite against the ‘332 Patent.
Thus, Trojan did not prove that the Examiner failed to consider the
Gemmer and Dettling patents when he searched the art pertinent to
the ‘332 Patent. Furthermore, Dettling and Gemmer are limited to
fluidized bed coating and thus, these are more narrow disclosures

———————————

2/a

Appendix B

than the art cited against the ‘332 Patent by the Examiner, which
teaches several forms of dip coating and spray methods. Also,
Dettling and Gemmer deal almost exclusively with coating metal
objects.

(c) The Evans Patent no. 3,602,759 (DX-34), issued August
31, 1971, is a product patent for a lamp protected with a shrunk
plastic “sheath” (col. 1, line 62). The Evans reference recites that it
relates to electric lamps and “has particular reference to a
fluorescent lamp that is provided with a jacket or sheath which
comprises an integral part of the lamp.” (Col. 1, lines 5-6). One of
the problems it describes is that “the envelopes of fluorescent lamps
are fabricated from relatively thin walled glass tubing and are,
therefore, quite fragile. The lamps are, thus, mechanically weak,
and are easily and frequently broken during handling, shipping,
etc.” (Col. 1, lines 24-27). These problems were solved “by
enclosing all or part of the lamp ina sleeve that is fabricated from
shrinkable light transmitting plastic. Preferably the sleeve is made
of heat shrinkable plastic that is initially of such dimensions and so
oriented that it will fit loosely overthe lamp and, upon being heated,
will shrink and form a smooth tight-fitting sheet that conforrns to
the shape of the part of the lamp which it encloses.” (Col. 1, lines 57-
59).

The Evans patent further provides:

Tests have shown that fluorescent lamps
provided with such shrink fit plastic sheaths
can frequently be dropped from heights of 3 to
4 feet without breaking. Moreover, when the
bulb does break the sheath remains intact and
preserves the integrity of the lamp. The danger
that the force of the resulting implosion of the

28a

Appendix B

envelope may scatter glass fragments, lamp
parts, dust, etc. is accordingly eliminated.”

(Col. 6, lines 8-14).

The Evans patent contemplates that the sheath extends over the
end caps and is described as follows:

The lamp is inserted into the tubing and
centered so that about 1-1/2 inches of the
plastic sleeve extends beyond each of the base
faces. The lamp is then supported by the base
pins or base faces so that the plastic sleeve is
not held or restrained in any way and is thus
free to moveas it shrinks to fit the lamp.

The lamp is then uniformly heated to a
temperature of approximately 400° F. by
blowing heated air on the lamp while it is
rotated. This can be achieved by exposing the
lamp to radiant heat or by placing it in an oven.
When the plastic sleeve has shrunk into tight-
fitting engagement with the lamp, the lamp is
allowed to cool, during which time contact
with the hot plastic is avoided to prevent
scratching, etc. After the lamp is cooled, the
excess plastic at each end of the lamp is
trimmed witha sharp cutting tool.
(D X 60.)

In Trojan. Inc. v. Shat-R-Shield. Inc., 13 U.S.P.Q.2d
1732,1733-1734 (Fed.Cir. 1989), the Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit held that the Evans patent is directed to a protective
plastic coating ona fluorescent lamp, and that the Evans patent was

—_——— i

29a

Appendix B

pertinent prior art as to U.S. Patent No. 4,506,189, the product
patent. The Court of Appeals further held that Evans “teaches a
protective coating on a fluorescent lamp by covering the tube and
end caps with adherent polymeric material which prevents
disbursement of glass shards.”

Coating a glass lamp witha thermoplastic sleeve is disclosed in
the Audesse Pateni no. 3,902,946, (DX-31) which the Examiner
cited in the ‘332 Patent. The prior search fields for the Evans and
Audesse patents overlap in class 156/86 which is listed on both of
these references. Evans contains no teaching about securing the end
caps or the electrical connecting pins against radial displacement.
Evans and Audesse do not preheat the article to be coated. Evans
does not suggest masking the pins or any portions of the end caps. In
fact, Evans requires that the “excess plastic ... be trimmed by a
suitable cutting tool after the plastic has cooled.” (col. 3, line 20-22.
This trimming step is eliminated by the masking approach in the
‘332 Patent. Additionally, the Evans patent does not disclose the
fluidized bed coating process.

(d) The Quirk Patent no. 3,102,409 (DX-41) is a process patent
for applying a moisture-impervious coating of silicone to only the
glass envelope of a fluorescent lamp. The Quirk patent describes
“rolling” the lamps through a solution, thereby covering the entire
external service of the glass envelope, while limiting the depth of
immersion to prevent coating of electrical contacts. (DX-41, at
col.2, line 69 - col. 3, line 6).

Quirk is cumulative of the Boyce Patent no. 3,018,187, (DX-
42) which the examiner cited against the ‘332 Patent. In fact, the
Boyce reference, which discloses both dip and spray applications,
is broader than Quirk, which only dips the tube. No securing step
and no preheating step is suggested in Quirk and no masks are used.

30a

Appendix B

The lamp rolls through a silicone emulsion with its ends resting on
guide rails. (col. 3, line 3).

(e) The Al Patent no. 3,565,664 (DX-35) is another prior art
reference from the same class of patent, as the Shank and
Sentementes references. Al applies a coating to metal articles to
prevent corrosion. Al masks the threads of pipe by wrapping cork or
asbestos around the parts. No securing step is necessary or
suggested. The shatterproofing function of the ‘332 Patent is not
suggested inthe Al patent.

(f) The Beene Patent no. 3,535,136 (DX-36) discloses a
“tubular mask” to cover the threads on a pipe (col. 2, line 20). The
mask is tapered to form a definite raised edge to the coating, so it
will mate with acoated joint to be threaded on the pipe.

(g) Van Laar patent No. 2,868,670 (DX-45), issued January 13,
1959, discloses providing a coating on a flash bulb by immersing
the glass envelope ina dispersion of polyvinyl chloride (PVC) resin
particles, and subsequently heating it to solidify the coating.

(h) Thomas Patent No. 3,621,323, issued November 16, 1971,
relates to acoated incandescent electric light bulb. The coating is an
elastomeric coating extending over the glass envelope and over the
upper portion of the base of the bulb. The patent contains a specific
teaching that the coating should extend at least one-eighth of an
inch (1/8") over the base. Upon shattering of the glass, the coating
has sufficient strength to remain attached to the metallic base. The
resultant “pod” contains the glass fragments inside the pod.

The Thomas patent suggests a dip process coating that is
cumulative of the Van Laar Patent no. 2,868,670 (DX-45) which the
Examiner reviewed before he allowed the ‘332 Patent. Van Laar

‘

3la

Appendix B

U.S. Patent No. 2,868,670, discloses, at col. 2, lines 32-39,
providing a plastic coating on a flash bulb by immersing the glass
envelope in a dispersion of PVC particles in a liquid and
subsequently heating to solidify the polymeric iuaterial (DX45).

The prior art patents offered by Trojan are cumulative of, and in
many ways are more limited disclosures than, the patents reviewed
by the Patent Office when it issued the ‘332 Patent.

4. DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE PRIOR ART AND
THE PATENTIN SUIT

(a) None of the prior art references suggest a securing step
having the function, form, and result of that found in the ‘332
Patent. The early coating process patents hold the workpiece in
tongs or simple apparatus. Even the glass and lamp references
suggest only unsophisticated holders, including chucks or clamps.
The fluorescent lamp references of Boyce, Quirk, and Evans

suggest no securing step or apparatus at all, and none can be clearly
envisioned from those disclosures. Nowhere does the prior art deal
with or suggest the problem of displacement or misalignment of end
caps sealed to the tubular article that is to be heated and then coated.

(b) The combination of process steps in the ’332 Patent is not
disclosed in any single prior art patent. None of the patents offered
by Trojan teach or suggest a method of coating the glass envelope
and predetermined portions of the end caps with a uniformly thick
coating of polymeric material that will contain glass shards and
maintain the end caps if the lamp is broken.

The Boyce, Quirk, and Evans references do not teach masking,
rather they suggest that unwanted coating should be manually cut
off as the final step. No reference suggests masking to achieve the

32a

Appendix B

function of ensuring the predetermined extent of the coating using a
moveable engageable.mask and no reference suggests a method of
masking that provides a coating, determined in advance, sufficient
to contain both the glass shards and the end caps if the lamp shatters.

(c) Dip coating methods using polymeric particles dispersed in
the fluidized bed or in a liquid dispersion are found in the prior art.
So too is exposing only desired portions of the article to be coated
using methods of partial or total immersion. Primarily, the prior art
suggests methods for coating metal or other thick articles that retain
heat, unlike the thin glass wall ofa fluorescent lamp.

Dip coating with fluidized particles is not analogous to the
preformed sleeve that is heat shrunk onto an article. With the sleeve,
there is no preheating of the lamp. This also makes securing
unnecessary. Rather, the sleeve may be preheated before it is placed
around the lamp. See Audesse Patent no. 3,902,946, (DX-31) col. 4,
line 20-23 and Evans Patent no. 3,602,759, col. 2, line 75-col. 3, line
l.

(d) The safety coating of polymeric material applied in the ‘332
Patent is substantially different and not suggested by the moisture-
impervious coating applied such as in the Boyce Patent no.
3,018,187 (DX-42) that the Examiner cited. In these references,
there is no preheating to promote adherence of the coating material,
and only the glass is coated with the silicone emulsion. Exposing
the glass envelope anda predetermined portion of each endcapona
fluorescent lamp is not disclosed and is not suggested by the prior
art.

(e) After considering the scope and content of the prior art, the
Court finds that the differences between the prior art and the
invention claimed in the ‘332 Patent would not have been obvious

33a

Appendix B

to one of ordinary skillin the art. No prior art reference suggests that
references be combined into the process disclosed in the ‘332
Patent.

(f) Trojan failed to present clear and convincing proof that the
process in the ‘332 Patent was known or used by others before
Nolan and Karlsson invented it. The Robroy deposition, referred to
by Trojan, concerns a process that was kept in confidence.

(g) Trojan failed to present clear and convincing evidence to
overcome the presumption of validity for the ‘332 Patent. The
United States Patent Office issued the ‘332 Patent after their
examination of the prior art, from which it was decided that the
process described by Nolan and Karlsson was a new, useful and
non-obvious invention.

(h) In addition, there are secondary indicia of non-
obviousness. The process in the ‘332 Patent is used successfully by
SRS and the product enjoys customer acceptance, which is directly
attributable to the ‘332 Patent process. The invention satisfied a
longfelt need, and the process succeeded where others had failed.

F. THE TROJAN PROCESS AND INFRINGEMENT
CLAIM

1. Trojan, at its manufacturing plant in Mt. Sterling, applies
polyvinyl chloride (PVC), a polymeric material, as a coating to the
glass envelope and a portion of each end cap of fluorescent lamps,
using a process that plaintiff has alleged infringes the ‘332 Patent.

2. The method used by Trojan to provide its coated fluorescent
light bulbs does not use a powder, does not use a fluidized bed, and
does not use Surlyn. Trojan’s method was independently developed

34a

Appendix B

in its facility in Meadsville, Pennsylvania in 1983 ard 1984, and
was put into commercial operation in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky in the
summer of 1984. Trojan’s method utilizes a liquid called a plastisol.
The plastisol is a dispersion of extremely small particles of
polyvinyl chloride suspended in a liquid plasticizer. Lawrence
Rice, who developed the Trojan process, testified that liquid
coating was selected by Trojan due to its simplicity and the desire to
avoid patent problems.

Joseph Satterlee, a former Trojan employee, acknowledged
that the overall function and result of the two processes were the
same. Satterlee agreed that the Trojan process “steps provide the
fluorescent lamp with a safety coating of polymeric material that
extended over the entire outer surface of the glass envelope and
portions of the end caps, [Trojan] determined in advance.” PX-17,
page 17, lines 1-8 (hereinafter denoted by page:line, e.g., 17:1-8).
While both Trojan and SRS apply a plastic coating that functions to
maintain the glass envelope and the end caps in association if the
fluorescent lamp is broken, the methods of applying the coating are
not equivalent.

3. In the Trojan process, the ends of each fluorescent tube are
placed manually into a supporting engagement with adapters. The
tube is supported at its opposite ends in a manner analogous to the
way the bulb is supported in use in fluorescent light fixtures. The
tube is rotated by a mechanism which drives the adaptor at one end
only and, while continuously rotating, the tube is placed in an oven
for a short period of time, then withdrawn from the oven, and then
lowered into touch contact with a liquid bath of the above-
mentioned plastisol. After a coating of the liquid plastisol has built
up on the exterior of the tube, the tube is raised to remove it from
contact with the bath, and, still rotating, is placed in an oven where
the plastisol is transformed into a transparent, tough gel.

35a

Appendix B

4. The Trojan process does not involve coating a
“predetermined portion” of the end caps, as set forth inthe preamble
of Claim 1. The portion of the end caps which is coated varies from
lamp to lamp, and thus is not “predetermined.”

5. Trojan’s heating of the lamps before and after coating does
not cause the end caps to loosen, and therefore no securing of the
end caps is necessary. In the Trojan process, the tube is driven for
rotation at only one end. There is no use of synchronized drives as in
the SRS process. Trojan’s method does not involve “securing” the
end caps as set forth in Step (a).

6. The Trojan coating process and the coating process claimed
in the patent in suit involve fundamentally different mechanisms.
Trojan’s process involves transforming the liquid plastisol into a
tough, transparent gel with limited application of heat, without
melting; the patent involves heating the powder to its melting point
to melt it into a liquid, followed by cooling to return it to a solid
state.

7. The Trojan process does not involve preheating the
fluorescent lamp to a temperature “above the melting point of said
polymeric material” as set forth in step (b). Trojan’s polymeric
material is unplasticized PVC in a liquid plastisol, which does not
have a melting point. Trojan’s preheating does not perform the same
function nor any analogous function of the SRS method. The liquid
plastisol will coat the bulb regardless of whetherit is preheated.

8. The Trojan process does not include masking as recited in
step (c). In the Trojan process, coating of the pins cannot occur
because they are kept above the level of the plastisol, and masking is
not needed. The adapters used by Trojan do not function as masks.
Furthermore, the step of placing the ends of the bulb in the adapters
in the Trojan process occurs before heating of the lamp, and

36a

Appendix B

accordingly the requirement of step (c) that the masking occur
“subsequently” to the “preheating” would not be met by Trojan’s
placement of the bulb ends in the adapters, even if the adapters did
function as masks.

9. The Trojan method does not meet the limitations of step (d)
because Trojan does not use a fluidized bed of powder, and Trojan
does not apply a coating of powder.

10. Trojan does reheat its bulbs after coating, but the reheating
does not melt and fuse a powder, and does not form an applied
powder into a coating. The function of Trojan’s reheating istocurea
liquid plastisol, not to melt and fuse a powder. The result of the
reheating is a solid, clear gel, whereas the result of the claimed step
(e) is a fused powder which does not become clear and solid until
after it is cooled.

11. The Trojan method does aot involve unmasking the pins
and end caps as set forth in step (f), nor does it involve “unsecuring”
the end caps as set forth in step (f), because the end caps are not
masked or “secured” in the manner claimed.

Il. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. JURISDICTION AND VENUE
The Court has subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.3.C.
§§ 1338, 2201, and 2202 and personal jurisdiction over both parties.

Venue is proper in this district.

B. VALIDITY

1. A patent is presumed to be valid, and the patent statute, 35

37a

Appendix B

U.S.C. § 282, places the burden of proving facts establishing
invalidity on the person asserting the claim. The patent challenger
must establish those facts by clear and convincing evidence, andthe
ultimate burden of persuasion never shifts from the patent
challenger. Jones v. Hardy, 727 F.2d 1524,1528 (Fed.Cir. 1984).

2. In challenging validity under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the
challenger’s burden is to show that “the difference between the
subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that
the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time
the invention was made toa person having ordinary skill inthe art to
which said subject matter pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103. In applying
the test, the Court must determine: (a) the scope and content of the
prior art; (b) the differences between the prior art and the patented
design; and (c) the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made. Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 17
(1966). Secondary considerations such as commercial success are
also relevant to the issue of validity. Graham v. John Deere Co., 383
U.S. at; 17-18, 86 S.Ct. at 693. For commercia! success to have
relevance, a nexus must be established between the merits of the
claimed invention and the commercial success. Cable Electric
Products, Inc. v. Genmark, Inc., 770 F.2d 1015,1027 (Fed.Cir.
1985).

3. Trojan failed to prove clearly and convincingly that any
reason exists to declare the ‘332 Patent invalid. Jones.v. Hardy, 727
F. 2d 1524, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Trojan failed to overcome the
statutory presumption of validity accorded the ‘332 Patent. 35
U.S.C. § 282; Carella v. Starlight Archery, 804 F. 2d 135, 138 (Fed.
Cir. 1984), aff’g597 F. Supp. 613 (E.D. Mich. 1984).

4. Trojan failed to prove clearly and convincingly that some
single prior art reference disclosed each and every element of the
patented invention. Carella, 804 F.2d at 135; RCA Co. v. Applied

38a

Appendix B

Digital Data Systems, Inc., 730 F. 2d 1440 (Fed. Cir. 1984); Panduit
Corp. v. Dennison Mfg., 774 F. 2d 1082, 1101 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Trojan failed to come forward with clear and convincing evidence
that the invention in the ‘332 Patent was known or used publicly by
others before Nolan and Karlsson filed their application.

5. Trojan failed to present clear and convincing evidence
sufficient to overcome the presumption of validity accorded patents
issued after examination and evaluation by an Examiner of the
United States Patent Office. Structural Rubber v. Park Rubber, 749
F. 2d707 (Fed. Cir. 1984); Cordis Corp. v. Medtronic, Inc., 780 F.2d
991, 996 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The validity of a process patent is
unimpaired by whether the product is also patentable. /n re
Armstrong, 75 F. 2d 826, 832 (C.C. P.A. 1935) cert. denied, 296
U.S.576(1935);Application of Naylor, 369 F.2d 765, 768 (3rd. Cir.
1972).

6. Trojan failed to prove clearly and convincingly that the
subject matter of the invention in the ‘332 Patent would have been
obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made.
Carella, 804 F.2d at 135; Alco Std. Corp. v. TVA, 808 F. 2d 1490,
1498 (Fed. Cir. 1986) aff’g 597 F. Supp. 133 (W.D. Tenn. 1984).
The Court rejects the conclusion of defendant’s expert King, who
“envisioned” that unstated aspects were inherent in the prior art
disclosures. King’s “retrospective view-of inherence is not a
substitute for some teaching or suggestion” of the claimed
combination ina prior art reference. Jn re Newell, 891 F.2d 899, 901
(Fed. Cir. 1989); SmithKline Diagnostics Inc. v. Helena Labs.
Corp., 859 F.2d 878, 887 (Fed. Cir. 1988). In addition, the “mere
fact that the prior art could be modified” to resemble the ‘332 Patent
process “would not have made the modification obvious unless the
prior art suggested the desirability of the modification.” Jn re Mills,
916F. 2d 680, 682 (Fed. Ciz. 1990).

39a

Appendix B

7. Trojan failed to meet its burden of proof on its allegation that
the Patent Examiner failed to consider pertinent prior art. Solder
Removal v. USITC, 582 F. 2d 628, 633 n. 9 (C.C.P.A. 1978):
Lindemann Maschinenfabrik v. Am. Hoist & Derrick, 730 F. 2d
1452, 1460 (Fed. Cir. 1984). None of the references offered by
Trojan are more pertinent than the prior art considered by the
Examiner. The patents and prior art submitted by Trojan were
essentially cumulative of the referenced art. Rosemount, Inc. v.
Beckman Instruments, 727 F. 2d 1540, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

8. Evidence of commercial success that resulted from an
invention is one of the secondary considerations that indicates the
invention was not obvious to one skilled in the pertinent art.
Graham v. Deere, 383 U.S. 1, 17 (1986). The testimony of Mr.
Nolan that sales of fluorescent lamps coated using the patented
process had grown from zero to over $4 million is relevant evidence
of the commercial success of the product. Johns-Manville Corp. v.
Guardian Indus., 586 F. Supp. 1034 (E.D. Mich. 1983), aff’d, 770
F.2d 178 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Jack Winter, Inc. v. Koratron, Inc., 375
F.Supp. i (N.D. Cal. 1974).

The product produced by this patent satisfied a long-felt need
for such a product, and others had tried to produce such a product
and failed. See Carella, 804 F.2d at 135; Graham v. Jones, 383 U.S.
1,17 (1966). Moreover, the Court has recognized its obligation to
construe the claims of the ‘332 Patent so as to sustain their validity
as far as possible. Carman Indus., Inc. v. Wahl, 724 F. 2d 932, 937 n.
5 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

40a

Appendix B
C. INFRINGEMENT

1. The inquiry before this Court is whether the defendant’s
process infringes upon the process set forth in the ‘332 patent. To
resolve this inquiry, first the “patented invention as indicated by the
language of the claims must first be defined (a question of law), and
then the trier must judge whether the claims cover the accused
device (a question of fact).” Envirotech Co. v. Al George Ind., 730F.
2d 753, 758 (Fed. Cir. 1984). In addressing the first step, the patent
claims were “construed in light of the specification.” U.S. v. Adams,
383 U.S. 39,49 (1966), where necessary to ascertain “the scope and
meaning of the language employed in the claims,” Autogiro Co. of
America v. U.S., 384 F. 24391, 397 (Ct. Cl. 1967) (subs. hist. om.) as
one skilled in the art would construe them. SmithKline Diagnostics
Inc. v. Helena Labs. Corp., 859 F.2d 878, 882 (Fed. Cir. 1988).

2. A finding of infringement requires that each claim limitation
or its equivalent be present in the accused method. Lemelson v.
United States, 752 F.2d 1538, 1551 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In order fora
court to find infringement, the plaintiff must prove, by a
preponderance of the evidence, the presence of every element or its
substantial equivalent in the accused device. To be a “substantial
equivalent” the element substituted in the accused device for the
element set forth in the claim must not be such as would
substantially change the way in which the function of the claimed
invention is performed. Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand- Wayland, Inc.,
833 F.2d 931, 935 (Fed.Cir. 1987); Lemelson v. United States, 752
F.2d 1538, 1551, 224 U.S.P.Q. 526, 533 (Fed.Cir. 1985); Perkin-
Elmer Corp. v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 822 F.2d 1528, 3
U.S.P.Q.2d 1321 (Fed.Cir. 1987). In light of the differences
between the Trojan process and that of Claims 1,4, and7, the Trojan
process does not literally infringe those claims.

4la

Appendix B

3. A finding of infringement under the doctrine of equivalents
requires finding that the accused method or device performs
substantially the same function in substantially the same way to
obtain the same result. Where the function is performed in a
different way, there is no equivalence. Spectra Corp. v. Lutz, 839
F.2d 1579, 1582 (Fed.Cir. 1988). The fact that two devices achieve
substantially the same result creates no presumption that they do so
in substantially the same way. Universal Gym Equipment Inc. v.
Erwa Exercise Equipment Limited, 827 F.2d 1542, 1548 (Fed.Cir.
1987). The numerous differences between the Trojan process and
the claimed process compel a finding that the Trojan coating
process does not coat bulbs in substantially the same way as the
claimed process. Consequently, the Trojan method does not
infringe Claims 1,4, and 7 under the doctrine of equivalents.

4. The burden is on the patentee to prove that the range of
equivalence which it seeks would not ensnare the prior art. Wilson
Sporting Goods Co. v. David Geoffrey and Associates, 904 F.2d
677, 684-685 (Fed.Cir. 1990); Stewart-Warner Corp. v. City of
Pontiac, 767 F.2d 1572, 226 U.S.P.Q. 676, 682 (Fed.Cir. 1985). The
prosecution history of a patent is also to be considered in
interpreting the claims. McGill v. John Zink Co., 736 F.2d 666, 221
U.S.P.Q. 944 (Fed.Cir. 1984).

5. The concerns behind the doctrine of equivalents is not
present in this case. The doctrine was developed to prevent an
infringer from stealing the benefit of an invention. Trojan did not
seek to misappropriate the work of Nolan and Karlsson. Rather,
Trojan expended great time and effort to develop its own method
and “invent around” the adversely held patent. Texas Instruments v.
U.S. International Trade Commission, 805 F.2d 1558, 1572 (Fed.
Cir. 1986).

42a

Appendix B

6. Inthe present case, the claims cannot be construed to read on
the accused method, either literally or under the doctrine of
equivalents. The process obtains essentially the same result,
however, they do not perform in substantially the same way. The
Trojan process is a liquid coating process which is fundamentally
different than the powder coating process claimed in the ‘332
patent.

D. UNENFORCEABILITY

1. A patent is unenforceable where the patentee has acted
inequitably. Keystone Driller v. General Excavator Co., 290 U.S.
240 (1933). Inequitable conduct may involve failure to disclose
material information or submission of false information. Proof of
inequitable conduct requires threshold showings of materiality and
intent. J.P. Stevens & Co., v. Lex Tex, Ltd., 747 F.2d 1553,1559-60
(Fed. Cir. 1984).

2. Prior to the establishment of the Federal Circuit, various
courts utilized different standards of materiality, the strictest being
the objective “but for” standard under which proof of materiality
requires a showing that the patent would not have issued but for the
inequitable conduct. See Plastic Container Corp. v. Continental
Plastics, 607 F.2d 885, 889 (10th Cir. 1979). The Federal Circuit has
held the standard of 37 C.F.R. § 1.56(a), whether there is a
substantial likelihood that a reasonable Examiner would consider
the information important, to be the appropriate starting point. J.P.
Stevens, 747 F.2d at 1559; American Hoist & Derrick Co. v. Sowa &
Sons, 725 F.2d 1350, 1362 (Fed.Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 US.
821 (1984).

3. Once the thresholds of materiality and intent are established,
the Court must balance them and determine as a matter of law

43a

Appendix B

whether the patent should be held unenforceable due to inequitable
conduct. J.P. Stevens & Co., 747 F.2d at 1560. Questions of
materiality and intent are interrelated, sothat alesser showing of the
materiality of the withheld information may suffice when an
intentional scheme to defraud is established. Whereas a greater
showing of the materiality of withheld information would
necessarily create an inference that its non-disclosure was
wrongful. American Hoist, 725 F.2d at 1363 (citing Digital
Equipment Corp. v. Diamond, 653 F.2d 701,716 (1st Cir. 1981 )).

4. The relationship of patent attorneys to the Patent Office
requires the highest degree of candor and good faith. “The Office
must rely upon their [patent attorneys] integrity and deal withthem
in a spirit of trust and confidence.” Kingsland v. Dorsey, 338 U.S.
318,319(1949),

5S. The duty of candor and good faith is summarized as follows,
at37C.F.R. § 1.56(a):

A duty of candor and good faith toward the
Patent and Trademark Office rests on the
inventor, on each attorney or agent who
prepares or prosecutes the application and
every other individual who is substantially
involved in the preparation of prosecution of
the application and who is associated with the
inventor, with the assignee or with anyone to
whom there is an obligation to assign the
application. All such individuals have a duty to
disclose to the Office information they are
aware of which is material to the examination
of the application. Such information is material
where there is a substantial likelihood that a

da

Appendix B

reasonable examiner would consider it
important in deciding whether to allow the
application to issue as a patent. The duty is
commensurate with the degree of involvement
in the preparation or prosecution of the
application.

6. Once a Court finds a violation of the duty of candor
amounting to inequitable conduct, every claim of the patent — not
just the particular claims to which the inequitable conduct is
directly connected — is unenforceable. J.P. Stevens & Co. v. Lex
Tex, Ltd., 747 F.2d 1553, 1561 (Fed.Cir. 1984).

7. Trojan contends that SRS’s conduct, including false
marking, advertising, bad faith in bringing and maintaining this
action, and Nolan’s failure to disclose the prior art of which he was
aware, constitutes inequitable conduct rendering the patent
unenforceable.

8. Trojan has failed to prove its defense of unenforceability.
Trojan presented some evidence that SRS continued using the
patent number for its product patent until all appeals of the litigation
concerning that product patent were exhausted. After that, some
brochures with the product patent number were distributed
inadvertently. There was no proof of wrongful intent. Sears,
Roebuck & Co. v. Sears, 744 F. Supp. 1297, 1308 (D. Del. 1990)
(“bad intent is the essence of the defense” of unclean hands).

Moreover, the conduct concerned the product patent, and not
the process “patent in suit.” Kolene Co. v. Motor City Metal
Treating, Inc., 440 F.2d77, 84 (6th Cir. 1971). The conduct was not
“directly related to the matter in litigation.” Keystone Driller Co. v.
General Elec. Co., 290 U.S. 240, 245 (1933), cited in Kearnev &

45a

Appendix B

Trucker Corp. v. Cincinnati Milacron Inc., 562 F. 2d 365,371 (6th
Cir. 1977).

9. Additionally, there is absolutely no evidence that material
information was intentionally withheld with intent to deceive the
Patent Office. The Court finds there was no breach of the duty of
candor or any inequitable or wrongful conduct that would affect the
enforceability of the ‘332 Patent.

E. ATTORNEYS’ FEES

1. Under rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the
signature of an attorney ona pleading, motion, or other paper that, to
the best of the signer’s knowledge, information, and belief, formed
after reasonable inquiry, certifies the pleading is well grounded in
fact and is warranted by existing lawora good faith argument for the
extension, modification, or reversal of existing law, and thatit is not
interposed for any improper purpose, such as to harass or to cause
unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of litigation. Ifa
pleading, motion, or other paper is signed in violation of this rule,
the Court, upon motion orupon its own initiative, shall impose upon
the party who signed it, arepresented party, or both, an appropriate
Sanction, which may include an order to pay to the other party or
parties the amount of the reasonable ex penses incurred because of
the filing of the pleading, motion, or other paper, including a
reasonable attorney’s fee.

“Under Rule 11, sanctions may be imposed if a reasonable
inquiry would have disclosed that the pleading, motion or other
paper was not well-grounded in fact.” Mann v. G & G
Manufacturing, Inc., 900 F.2d 953, 959 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 111
S.Ct. 287 (1990). The test forthe imposition of rule 11 sanctions is
whether the individual attorney’s conduct was reasonable under the

46a

Appendix B

circumstances. In other words, the attorney’s conduct must “meet
an objective standard of reasonableness under the circumstances.”
Id. at 958.

2. Under 28 U.S.C. § 1927, any attorney who multiplies the
proceedings in any case unreasonably and vexatiously may be
required by the Court to satisfy personally the excess costs,
expenses, and attorney’s fees reasonably incurred because of such
conduct.

3. Under 35 U.S.C. § 285, the Court, in exceptional patent
cases, may award reasonable attorney’s fees to the prevailing party.

4. Trojan requests that this Court impose sanctions against
SRS, pursuant to the above listed provisions. This request is
primarily based upon the fact that this action was brought during the
course of discovery inthe earlier litigation.

5. The Court finds that this action was brought in good faith and
on areasonable belief that the ‘332 patent may have been infringed.
SRS and its attorney could have reasonably believed that they hada
basis for filing the lawsuit and the Court finds that their conduct met
the objective standard of reasonableness under the circumstances.
The Court does not find that there was any improper purpose in
filing this lawsuit. Therefore, the Court declines to award attorney
fees to Trojan in this case.

This 15th day of April, 1991.

s/ Karl S. Forester
KARLS. FORESTER, JUDGE

47a

APPENDIX C — JUDGMENT OF DISTRICT COURT
DATED APRIL 15, 1991

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
LEXINGTON
Civil Action No. 86-221

SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,

PLAINTIFF,

VS.

TROJAN, INC.

DEFENDANT.
JUDGMENT

ITIS HEREBY ORDERED ANDADJUDGED as follows:

1. U.S. Patent No. 4,507,332 is valid.

2. U.S. Patent No. 4,507,332 is not infringed by the defendant.
Trojan, Inc.

3.U.S. Patent No. 4,507,332 is enforceable.

4. Judgment is rendered in favor of the defendant on the
Complaint, and the Complaint is dismissed with prejudice.

48a

Appendix C

5. Judgment is rendered in favor of the plaintiff, Shat-R-
Shield, Inc., on the counterclaim.

6. Each party shall bear its own costs and attorney fees.

This 15thApril, 1991.

s/ KARLS. FORESTER
KARL'S. FORESTER, JUDGE

Notice is hereby given to the entry of this order or judgement
on4-15-91 ©

Leslie G. Whitmer, Clerk

By: Sharon Vicolyk, D.C.

49a

APPENDIX D — JUDGEMENT OF COURT OF APPEALS
DATED MAY 1, 1992

UNI7 ED STATES COURT OFAPPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

91-1388, -1389

SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,
Piaintiff-Appellant,

VS.
TROJAN, INC.,

Defendant-Cross-Appellant.

JUDGMENT
Eastern District-of Kentucky
Filed
May 1, 1992
AT LEXINGTON

FRANCIS X. GINDHART
CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT

ON APPEAL from the UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

In CASE NO(S). No. 86-221

50a

Appendix D

This CAUSE having been heard and considered, itis

ORDERED and ADJUDGED:

AFFIRMED AND VACATED

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

DATED May 1, 1992

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

Sla

APPENDIX E — OPINION OF COURT OF APPEALS,
TROJAN, INC., V. SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC. (FED. CIR. 88-
1528, 88-1529, OCTOBER 31, 1989)

UNITED STATES COURT OFAPPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

88-1528, -1529

TROJAN, INC..
Plaintiff-Appellant,

VS.
SHAT-R-SHIELD, INC.,

Defendant/Cross-Appellant.

Note: This opinion has not been prepared for publication in a
printed volume because it does not add significantly to the body of
law and is not of widespread legal interest. Itisa public record. It is
not citable as precedent. The decision will appear in tables
published periodically.

DECIDED: October 31, 1989

Before NIES, NEWMAN, and MICHEL. Circuit Judges.

NIES, CIRCUITJUDGE.

Trojan, Inc., appeals from the final judgment of the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Kentucky, Trojan,
Inc. v. Shat-R-Shield, Inc., 703 F. Supp.609, 8 USPQ2d 1391 (E.D.
Ky. 1988), holding the four claims of United States Patent No.

52a

Appendix E

4.506.189 (‘189) in suit valid, infringed and enforceable, and
enjoining Trojan from further infringement but awarding no
damages. Shat-R-Shield, Inc., (SRS) cross-appeals, requesting a
remand for an accounting for damages. Because we reverse the
court’s holding on validity, we need not reach the other issues
raised in the appeal or cross-appeal.

OPINION

The general subject matter of the invention is a fluorescent
lamp on whicha plastic coating is placed to retain shards of glassif
the tube is broken. Applying the proper law to undisputed facts, we
reverse the court’s holding that the ‘189 patent claims were not
proved invalid for obviousness within the meaning of 35 U.S.C
§ 103 (1982). The district court erred in determining obviousness
simply over the Van Laar patent. When considered with the
teachings of the Evans and Thomas patents, the opposite
conclusion is compelled. Panduit Corp. v. Dennison Mfg., Co.,810
F.2d 1561, 1565, 1 USPQ2d 1593, 1595 (Fed. Cir. 1987).

Upon finding that Trojan’s expert witness was not persuasive
and credible,* the court held that “[tJhis finding of noncredibility
alone would prohibit Trojan from meeting its burden of proof on its
invalidity claim.” Trojan, Inc., 703 F. Supp. at 617, 8 USPQ2d at
1396. That ruling is erroneous as a matter of law. Opinion
testimony on the legal conclusion of obviousness is neither
necessary to prove one’s case nor controlling. Avia Group Int'l, Inc.
v. L.A. Gear Cal., Inc., 853 F.2d 1557, 1564, 7 USPQ2d 1548, 1554
(Fed. Cir. 1988). Rejection of such testimony here did not relieve
the district court of its obligation to determine whether each of the
inventions claimed, i.e., each claim, would have been obvious to

*We have reviewed this testimony and fail to understand the basis for the dis trict
court’ s castigation of the expert personally. Simply rejecting the evidence is sufficient.

—EOOo

53a
Appendix E

one of ordinary skill in the art from all of the teachings presented in
the prior art before it.

The Evans patent, United States Patent No. 3,602,759, is
directed toidentical subject matter, i.e.,a protective plastic coating
on a fluorescent lamp. The court first rejected Evans on the
(grounds that “the claims of the [Evan’s] invention do not
demonstrate that the [coating] process is done ‘in situ.’” Trojan
Inc., 703 F. Supp. at 617, 8 USPQ2dat 1396. Contrary to the court’s
understanding, a prior art patent must be considered for what it
teaches, not merely for what it claims. See, e.g., W.L. Gore &Assoc.,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 1550, 220 USPQ 303, 311 (Fed.
Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). Also, it does not
follow that because the sleeve of plastic disclosed in the Evans’
patent is formed separately, ipso facto, no coating is “formed in
situ.” Indeed, the sleeve forms a coating with the application of heat
once the sleeve is in place on the lamp. Finally, the district court
failed to note that claim 1 of the ‘189 patent has no “‘in situ”
limitation.

The court also erroneously discounted the Evans patent
because it “was not practical_and could not be used successfully
commercially.” Jd. The relevance of a patent as prior art is not
affected by whether the claimed invention was ever
commercialized. /n re Blake, 352 F.2d 309, 312, 147 USPQ 289,
291 (CCPA 1965) (patent statute does not require commercial use
of subject matter of a prior-art disclosure for that disclosure to
qualify as a reference); cf. In re Deters, 515 F.2d 1152. | 155, 185
USPQ 644, 647, (CCPA 1975) (thatareferenceisa “paper patent” is
irrelevant to its value as evidence of level of skillinthe art).

The court also erroneously ruled “that the Evans patent would
not have issued if the [PTO] examiner had looked at the Thomas

S4a

Appendix E

patent.” Trojan, Inc., 703 F. Supp. at 618, 8 USPQ2d at 1397.
Notwithstanding that gratuitous assessment of invalidity by the
court, the Evans patent remains pertinent prior art.

The court discounted Thomas, U.S. Patent No. 3,621,323, as
cumulative to Van Laar. Jd. We do not agree. Thomas discloses a
coating onan incandescent bulb, which, as Trojan point out, “filled
the prior art gap between a one-time flashbulb [Van Laar] and a
continuously illuminated lamp.” Also, in the claimed invention, the
coating on the lamp must surround the glass envelope and a
“predetermined portion” of the end caps which prevents
interference with an electrical connection. Thomas contains that
teaching.

We conclude that the inventions of claims 1-4 of the ‘189
patent would have been obvious from the combined teachings of the
references to one of ordinary skill in the art. See Carella v. Starlight
Archery, 804 F.2d 135, 140,231 USPQ 644 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Evans
teaches a protective coating on a fluorescent lamp by covering the
tube and end caps with adherent polymeric material which prevents
disbursements of glass shards. The only limitations which even
arguably are not disclosed by the Evans patent alone are: coating a
“predetermined portion” of the end caps, recited in all the claims;
and “in situ”, recited in claims 2-4. The district court gave
“predetermined portion” the meaning of “determined in advance”
and the phrase “formed in situ” the meaning of unformed before
placement on the lamp. Given those meanings, teachings of both
limitations can be found in Thomas; at least“‘in situ” in Van Laar;
and Evans supplies the suggestion for use of a plastic protective
coating on either a single or double ended fluorescent lamp for the
same purpose. By rejecting Evans and Thomas as refrences, the
district court had an improper foundation upon which to base its
decision. Cf. In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097, 231
USPQ 375, 380 (Fed. Cir. 1986)(“Non-obviousness cannot be
established by attacking references individually”).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_1065%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
