# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Blue Jeans Equities West v. City & County of San Francisco

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0989%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 866

## Text

feme Court, U.S,
92-117 FIIED
- —fL SUL 15 1992
| OFFICE Gr iit CLERK
In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

BLUE JEANS Eouities WEs1
A Jormt Venture
Petitioner.
\ VS.
City & COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO
A Municipal Corporation,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL

HOWARD N. ELLMAN*
KENNETH N. BURNS
THOMAS M. SHERWOOD
ELLMAN, BURKE, HOFFMAN &
JOHNSON
A Professional Corporation
One Ecker Building, Suite 200
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 777-2727
Attorneys for Petitioner
BLUE JEANS EQUITIES WEST
July 14, 1992

* Counsel of Record

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO INC + ISO NINTH ST + SF CA 94103 + (415) 864-2300

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

| Whether this Court’s opinion in Nollan v. California
Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825 (1987), holding that the “just
compensation” clause of the Fifth Amendment requires that an
exaction imposed as a condition of project approval must substan-
tially advance legitimate public interests directly related to the
project approved, applies to all exactions—or is the holding in
Nollan \imited solely to exactions of interests in land, as the
California Court of Appeal held.

2. Whether this Court’s decision in Nollan, supra, applies
only to “possessory takings” cases and does not apply to “regula-
tory takings” cases, as the California Court of Appeal held

3. Whether the action of the City and County of San Fran-
cisco (“City”) constitutes a “taking” under the Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendments of the United States Constitution when City
has sought to impose a regulatory fee of $3,100,000 on a project
approved two years pricr to the enactment of the regulatory fee
and where the fee seeks to alleviate impacts that were not found
to have been caused or created by the project in question at the
time it was approved.

il
LIST OF PARTIES

The caption of the case in this Court contains the names of all
parties to the proceeding in the Court of Appeal of the State of
California.

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CTI TIL noe cee eee tes e eee e eens

lo ae tie rr ire To

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........52020052 25

A. Procedural Posture: Ripeness .........---+--+++::

B.

ee ee eee er ee eee os oor

re ere ees eee

A. The California Court of Appeal Wrongly Concluded

B.

That Nollan Applies Only To “Possessory Takings”
and Not “Regulatory Takings” Cases ..........--

The Fifth Amendment Protects Property Owners
From Excessively Burdensome Restriction On The
Use Of Property: It Requires Compensation If The
Burden Exceeds That Which The Individual Should
Be Required To Bear .........--- 2. sees eee eres

1. Takings Are Determined By The Impact On The
Property Owner. The Nature Of The Interest
Taken Does Not Control ..........--+--+++:

2. The Fifth Amendment’s Just Compensation Re-
quirement Applies Equally To Cash Exactions
As It Does To Land Dedication Requirements

As Applied To Levi’s Plaza, The TIDF Plainly Fails
The Substantial Advancement Test Required By
aa kca bask sxe deenee sa ee eee rep es

PEO ogg icc u ca cakvecescseeysensenenaeanes

12

14

iV

. TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases
Page
Agins v. City of Tiburon 447 U.S. 255 (1980).......... 13,18
Andrus v. Allard 444 U.S. 51 (1979) ................. 16, 18
Armstrong v. United States 364 U.S. 40 (1960) ......... 12
Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Co. v. Phillips 332 U.S. 168
EN creas tk as kd ene coe 21

Avco Community Developers v. South Coast Regional Com. q
mission 17 Cal.3d 785, 132 Cal. Rptr. 386, 553 P.2d 546° -

fe) ee ee rere ree eat ony Ae Cee ee een 4
Blue Jeans Equities West v. City & County of San Francisco

3 Cal.App. 4th 164, 4 Cal. Rptr. 2d 114 (1992) ....... 2
Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth 408 U.S. 564

3) ee ere a entre niet rarer pee ee 4,14

Commercial Builders v. City of Sacramento 941 F.2d 872
(9th Cir. 1991) cert. denied 60 U.S.L.W. 3782 (1992)... 11
Connolly v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation 475 U.S.

BEE CEE De bd Sawin a ek ss oa en ee enes 13, 16, 17, 18
Erlenbaugh v. United States 409 U.S. 239 (1972) ....... 21
FCC v. Florida Corp 480 U.S. 245 (1987) .............. 10
First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v.

County of Los Angeles 482 U.S. 304 (1987) ......... 12, 18
Grupe v. California Coastal Com. 166 Cal.App.3d 148, 212

ae SH: EE EE no ko 54 00040 k Ap E ARES A Sa OK aa
Horn v. County of Ventura 24 Cal.3d 605, 156 Cal. Rptr.

Mt re eee 23

Kaiser Aetna v. United States 444 U.S. 164 (1979). .9, 16, 17, 18

Keystone Bituminous Coal Association v. DeBenedictis 480
Bee I 8.4 chu up ab ead 6 405040005 000 ee0u aes 11, 13

Lakeview Development Corporation v. South Lake Tahoe
tee ge FF. fe | errerrr error rr Terr 4

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp. 458 U.S.
| Ry Se Pre Peer re eae 9, 10, 16, 17, 18

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Com. 60 U.S.L.W. 4842
Re rr reer ery rer rr or 18, 19

V

.« TABLE OF AUTHORITIES C'TED

CASES
Page
Lynch v. Household Finance Corp. 405 U.S. 538 (1972).. 15
MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo 477 U.S.

SAD ATU) 8 kik ioe 38544 ee ee 3
Nollan v. California Coastal Commission 483 U.S. 825

CIDR en cd Pine See ee eee ee eee passim
Oscanyan v. Winchester Repeating Arms Co. 103 U.S. 26]

¢5 |) rr arar arreranne Caterast rata ey Ty 5
Penn Central Transportation Company v. New York City

450. US. WOO CIRTED on cee ces iiacaeseaepee ees 13, 18
Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon 260 U.S. 393 (1922) ...... 13,18
PruneYard Shopping Center v. Robins

SET ULSD. TS CGO oocccd ddysteunscess eee 10, 11,17
Pumpelly v. Green Bay Co. 13 Wall. 166 (1872) ........ 10
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co.

yess ee St, | eereererrr Tr yt 4, 12, 14, 16, 17

Russ Building Partnership v. City & County of San Fran-
cisco 44 Cal.3d 839, 244 Cal. Rptr. 682, 750 P.2d 324

CIDER) nnd ccaccsccuecunwapceenap unease eieeeeeees 4,8
Terminal Plaza Corp. v. City and County of San Francisco

186 Cal.App.3d 814, 230 Cal. Rptr. 875 (1986) ....... 4
United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373

4) eer rer eer ree rr 12
United States v. Stewart 311 U.S. 60 (1940)............ 21
Ward v. County of Riverside 273 Cal.App.2d 353, 78 Cal.

ae Ei. | Perrone rT ry re ert ce 23
Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith 449 U.S.

LSS, CHORD oo vnc ee cesennsesiin ieee 4, 14, 16

Yee v. Escondido 60 U.S. L.W. 4301 (April 1, 1992) ...9, 10, 11

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution ......... passim
Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution... .2, 13, 16
Cal Combet Bs TFAK ow occ cas canes sewecdesses 4

yo Bh. oe BC) ree penrere rrr ern 2

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Other
Page
L. Carroll, Through the Looking Glass and What Alice
POURNE TOGO oo. oon nuxnae0cabus sheet 20
G. Hunt, VI The Writings of James Madison ........... 16
John Locke, Two Treatises of Government .............. 16

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

BLUE JEANS EQUITIES WEST
A Joint Venture
Petitioner,

VS.
City & COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO

A Municipal Corporation,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO TH CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL

Petitioner, BLUE JEANS EQUITIES WEST, a joint venture
(“BJEW?”’), petitions for a Writ of Certiorari to review the order
of the California Court of Appeal, First Appellate District,
Division Three. The California Supreme Court denied BJEW’s
request for review and there are no other avenues for review of the
decision and judgment within the California court system.

NOTE: In all quoted material, footnotes are omitted and emphasis is
ours unless otherwise stated. We support factual statements by citation
to the record before the California Court of Appeal. We use “RT” to -
signify citations to the Reporter’s Transcript and “AA” to signify
citations to Appellant’s Appendix (containing documents filed with the
Court Clerk) by document and page reference where appropriate. We
refer to trial exhibits by exhibit number.

2

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 3
Cal.App.4th 164, 4 Cal. Rptr. 2d 114 (January 31, 1992). A copy
of the opinion is attached as Appendix A. The order of the
California Supreme Court denying BJEW’s Petition for Review
was filed on April 29, 1992. A copy of the Supreme Court’s Order
is included as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The California Supreme Court's denial of BJEW’s Petition for
Review constitutes the final decision of California‘s highest court
in this matter. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 USC Section
1257(a).

.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution:

... nor shall private property be taken for public use, without
just Compensation.

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution:

SECTION 1...No State shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdiction the equa! protection of
the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Procedural Posture: Ripeness.

This case concerns the validity of a permit condition imposed
by the City and County of San Francisco (“City”) when it gave
its final approval to a development project, a high-rise office and
retail building. City finally interpreted the permit condition when
it demanded payment of a regulatory fee that it claimed was owed
under that permit condition. BJEW paid the fee under protest and

a ieeiemeaeaniec eee al

3

commenced this action to contest it. It seeks this writ to reverse
an adverse ruling after a bench trial on the merits, affirmed on
appeal by the California Court of Appeal, and after review was
denied by the California Supreme Court.’

B. Summary.

In Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825
(1987), this Court held that a condition imposed in connection
with the approval of a project violates the “just compensation”
requirement of the Fifth Amendment of the United States Con-
stitution unless it alleviates an impact caused by the project
approved. /n this case, the California courts have held that the
Nollan doctrine does not apply to the facts recited below—that
City can require BJEW to pay a regulatory fee without showing
that the imposition substantially advances a legitimate public
interest that the project impacts. The California courts have
concluded that Nollan does not apply because it is a “‘possessory
takings” case, and the constitutional requirement that Nollan
declares does not apply to the regulatory imposition of fees.

BJEW is the owner of an office and retail complex known as
“Levi's Plaza” located at the foot of Telegraph Hill in the
Northeast Waterfront section of San Francisco, California.’ City
granted final approval for Levi’s Plaza on January 4, 1979.°

The approval resolution (“Resolution”) contained many condi-
tions. The condition at issue here is:

5(c) The owner of the project shall make a good faith effort
to participate in future funding mechanisms to assure ade-

' City has made “a final and authoritative determination” of the terms
and conditions upon which it would allow development to proceed.
BJEW’s claims are ripe for adjudication under the doctrine of MacDon-
ald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo, 477 U.S. 340, 348 (1986).

>See Map, Appendix C attached.
> Ex. 2.

4

quate transit service to the area of the City in which the
project is located.*

This case arises out of City’s effort to collect $3,100,000 as a
fee to raise money for capital transit improvements pursuant to an
ordinance enacted two years after it approved Levi's Plaza. By
that time, Levi's Plaza was nearly complete. Unless Paragraph
S(c) requires BJEW to pay, City cannot constitutionally collect
the fee.°

City had no transit funding mechanism in place or in contem-
plation while it was considering and approving Levi's Plaza.

“Ex. 2, Para. 5(c). Approval resolutions are the “law of the City.”
The rules of statutory construction apply. See Terminal Plaza Corp. v
City and County of San Francisco, 186 Cal.App.3d 814, 825, n. 7, 230
Cal. Rptr. 875, 880 n. 7 (1986).

* Ordinance No. 224-81, San Francisco Admin. Code 38.1, ef seg.;
Ea. 3.

* Russ Building Partnership v. City & County of San Francisco, 44
Cal.3d 839, 244 Cal. Rptr. 682, 750 P.2d 324 (1988) determined that
the fee here in question was a development or regulatory fee, and not a
tax. If the fee had been determined to be a “tax,” it would have violated
California Proposition 13 limits because it was enacted without the
required two-thirds vote. Cal. Constitution Article 13A. As a develop-
ment fee, it cannot apply to a project protected by a “vested nght,” i.e.
the mght to proceed free of regulation adopted after the vested right
accrued. Russ Building Partnership, 44 Cal.3d, at 845-46; Avco Commu-
nity Developers v. South Coast Regional Commission, 1? Cal.3d 785,
132 Cal. Rptr. 386, 553 P.2d 546 (1976), appeal dism'd, 429 U.S. 1083
(1977). State law controls the definition and extent of “vested rights” as
an incident of the concept of “property.” See, e.g., Lakeview Develop-
ment Corporation v. South Lake Tahoe, 915 F.2d 1290 (9th Cir. 1990).
As this Court has stated, “[W]e are mindful of the basic axiom that
*“[ p]roperty interests ... are not created by the Constitution. Rather,
they are created and their dimensions are defined by existing rules or
understandings that stem from an independent source such as state
law.” ’” Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1001 (1984),
quoting from Webb's Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S.
15S, 161 (1980), quoting in turn from Board of Regents of State
Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972).

Indeed, Levi's Plaza was the first commercial project approved by
City where City’s planners recognized a possible “linkage” be-
tween new development and impact upon transit service.

When it approved Levi’s Plaza, City did not have enough
evidence of the project’s expected impact on transit to impose a
mandatory requirement.* Its ideas were “general and amorphous
... The only funding mechanism tentatively discussed during
consideration of Levi’s Plaza was an assessment district, a device
that would impose the cost of additional transit service upon all
developed property rather than simply upon new development.'°

More than two years later, City enacted the Transit Impact
Development Fee Ordinance (“TIDFO”) imposing a $5.00 per
square foot fee on new construction in the “Downtown Area” of
the City, broadly defined to include the Northeast Waterfront
area where Levi's Plaza is located.'' Claiming that the TIDFO
constitutes the funding mechanism referred to in Paragraph 5(c)
of the Resoiution, City demanded that BJEW pay $3,100,000.
BJEW paid the money into escrow under protest and commenced

’ See note 15, infra
* See note 16, infra.

” Testimony of Assistant Planning Director, RT 172:2-3. At trial, the
City Attorney characterized the situation as follows:
“As of January 4, 1979 [when Levi's Plaza was approved] .. . no
[City] employee knew what kind of funding mechamism, if any,
would be imposed on BJEW to mitigate the transit impact
generated by the Levi's project.” RT 49:18-23.
This statement purports to paraphrase Paragraph 18 contained in a
supulation of facts in the Clerk’s Record at AA 29. It is an admission
binding on City. See Oscanyan v. Winchester Repeating Arms, Co., 103
U.S. 261 (1881).

RT 75:8-23; 76:5-9; 101:17-102:12: 105:28-107:15; AA 28-29.
19 16-17.

The “Downtown Area” as defined by the TIDFO includes an
attenuated geographical appendage, apparently designed to include
Levi's Plaza notwithstanding its remoteness from the traditional down-
town area. See Appendix C.

6

this action to contest it. The amount in issue now exceeds
$4,000,000, with interest.

When it was considering BJEW’s application for approval of
Levi's Plaza, City prepared an environmental impaci report. That
report, and other material available at the time, showed that
Levi's Plaza might impose a burden on transit service. Designed
to house the corporate offices of Levi Strauss & Co., the project
would relocate Levi's employees away from the traditional down-
town area to the Northeast Waterfront—an area that was then
underserved by transit.'”

The transit deficit in the Northeast Waterfront, however, was
not then related to office use; nor was it seen as part of a larger
problem besetting the urban core. In its very next action recogniz-
ing possible linkage between project construction and transit
impact, City imposed a condition on approval of a residential
project in language identical to that used with respect to Levi's
Plaza.'* Despite the identical language in its permit and its
location close to Levi's Plaza, the “Downtown Area” as defined
by the TIDFO excludes this project.

None of the planning documents or data considered by City
while it was processing or approving the permit for Levi's Plaza
quantified its expected impact on transit or defined an area of
impact broader than the Northeast Waterfront. Members of the
City Staff thought there was an impact—but they didn’t know
what it was and didn’t know that they would ever know with
sufficient certainty to impose a mandatory requirement. '*

‘? Ex. | (Levi's Plaza Final Environmental Impact Report Excerpts at
7); RT 25:14-19; 27:21-28:27; 29:9-15; 113:5-13. At the time the project
was approved, Broadway was generally regarded as the northern bound-
ary of the downtown area. RT 123:16:24. Levi’s Plaza is considerably
north of Broadway. See Appendix C.

‘> Approval Resolution For Wharf Park Residential Project, Exhibit
19, Para. 6, adopted June, 1979. See Appendix C for location.

'*See note 9, supra. Rai Okomoto, City’s then Planning Director,
testified:

Question (by Mr. Ellman, counsel for BJEW):

All of these uncertainties were compounded by City’s long-
standing “transit-first’”” policy—a policy that had been in place
and implemented in several ways long before Levi's Plaza was
proposed. The “transit-first” policy discourages the use of private
automobiles by commuters in the hopes of compelling urban
employees to utilize public transportation.’ For example, City
prohibits construction of parking garages in its office commercial
areas, does not allow new buildings to provide parking to serve the
needs of commuters, and mandates the imposition of parking fees
that discriminate against all-day parkers. These policies are ex-
pressly intended to increase the burden on transit wholly apart
from new construction.’

Enacted more than two years after City considered and ap-
proved Levi’s Plaza, the TIDFO effectively redefined the impact
on transit the project supposedly caused, redrew the boundaries of
the area impacted—and crystallized a vague concept into a
precise and formidable exaction. Instead of focusing on the
Northeast Waterfront, it defined impacts in terms of an expansive
Downtown Area. Levi’s Plaza falls within the newly defined
Downtown Area only through creation of an improbable extrusion

The first phrase of this [paragraph 5(c) of Exhibit 2, the exaction
condition] refers to ‘a good faith effort’.... What is the under-
standing that you had in the Planning Department of the meaning
of that term in an approval resolution?

Answer:

" | think again at that time this relationship between development
and transportation was just beginning to be understood as a
significant phenomenon, if you will, in the course of planning, and
I] think that we felt at the time, and I believe the Commission
agreed, which is undoubtedly why they adopted this language, that
we hadn't provided enough evidence that could lead us to make it a
mandatory requirement that developers assume some burden of
the impact on transit. The phrase “good faith effort”, was in effect
then a kind of compromise. ... RT 104:7-105:7.

'S See, e.g., RT 168:22-169:8; San Francisco Master Pian Transporta-
tion Element pp. 1.4.9, 11, 13; I1.1.38, 40.

'© RT 179:19-28. [Admission by Assistant Director of Planning. ]

8

from the traditional northern boundary of the City’s urban core.'”
Instead of dealing with transit impact generally, the TIDFO
focuses solely on the impact caused by “cumulative” office
development.'* Rather than creating an assessment on all bene-
fited property—as would be the case with an assessment district—
it lays the entire burden on new construction. And from a
“general and amorphous” idea, insufficiently specific to create
mandatory obligation and contemplating a “good faith effort to
participate ..., it creates a specific, mandatory and substantial
fee.

City did all this with a Jegislative enactment, making its
determination apply to all office buildings by virtue of their
proposed use and location. The TIDFO provides no mechanism
for defining the impact or the mitigation by reference to the
specific attributes of specific projects. The TIDFO did not purport
to address Levi’s Plaza or the findings that had been made in the
environmental impact report for that project. It simply threw the
project into the basket with the others, relying on a provision that
made the fee apply to all projects that had a “future funding
mechanisms...” provision in their approval resolutions.

The California courts have now held that Nollan does not apply
to the foregoing facts. Believing that result to be wrong and a
violation of its constitutional right to just compensation, BJEW
petitions this Court for certiorari.

'’ Appendix C.

'* TIDFO, Ex. 5. The purpose of the TIDFO is Summarized in Russ
Building Partnership v. City and County of San Francisco, 44 Cal.3d
839, 844-45, 244 Cal. Rptr. 683-84, 750 P.2d 324, 325-26 (1988). Russ
Building held that the TIDFO could be applied to two projects approved
later than Levi's Plaza but prior to enactment of the TIDFO, based on
language in approval resolutions that differs substantially from that
contained in the approval resolution for Levi’s Plaza. The Court in Russ
Building refused (apparently on procedural grounds) to apply No/llan to
the facts before it. See 44 Cal.3d at 845, n.6.

'? See note 9, supra.

© See note 15, supra.

9

ARGUMENT

A. The California Court of Appeal Wrongly Concluded That
Nollan Applies Only To “Possessory Takings” and Not
“Regulatory Takings” Cases.

The California Court of Appeal states its conclusion in the first
paragraph of its opinion:

In this action we consider whether the heightened scrutiny
test alluded to in Nollan...should be applied to the
[ TIDFO] .... We conclude the Nollan analysis is applicable
only to “‘possessory takings,’ rather than ‘‘regulatory tak-
ings,’ and does not apply to the TIDF.

3 Cal.App.4th at 166, 4 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 115.

As a preliminary matter, we submit that if a recent, landmark
interpretation by this Court of the Fifth Amendment of the
United States Constitution is to be limited, it is for this Court, not
the California Court of Appeal, to make that determination. As it
happens, this Court explicitly rejected the Court of Appeal’s
limiting postulate in an opinion filed 60 days later.”'

Yee v. Escondido, 60 U.S.L.W. 4301 (April 1, 1992) defines
the difference between “possessory takings” and “regulatory tak-
ings” as follows:

*! The error in the Court of Appeal’s conclusion is obvious on the face
of the Nollan opinion. For example:

In Loretto (Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458
U.S. 419 (1982)), we observed that where governmental action
results in “[a] permanent physical occupation of the property, by
the government itself or by others, see 458 U.S., at 432-433, n.9,
“our cases uniformly have found a taking to the extent of the
occupation, without regard to whether the action achieves an
important public benefit or has only minimal economic impact on
the owner,” id., at 434-435. Nollan, 483 U.S., at 831-32.

The Court concluded that the “permanent physical occupation” analysis
did not apply to the facts before it. If Nollan was truly a possessory
takings case, then this Court could have cited Loretto, supra, and Kaiser
Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) and left the matter at that.

10

... The government effects a physical taking only where it
requires [emphasis in original] the landowner to submit to
the physical occupation of his land. “This element of re-
quired acquiescence is at the heart of the concept of occupa-
tion.” FCC v. Florida Corp., 480 U.S. 245, 252 (1987). Thus
whether the government floods a landowner’s property,
Pumpelly v. Green Bay Co., 13 Wali. 166 (1872), or does no
more than require the landowner to suffer the installation of
a cable (citing Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV
Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982)), the Takings Clause requires
compensation if the government authorizes a compelled
physical invasion of property.

Such compulsion is lacking, however (and the case becomes a
“regulatory takings” case), if the imposition occurs as a result of
voluntary action on the part of the property owner.”

The Court zs onlied “regulatory takings” analysis to Yee because
the condition ot which Yee complained was imposed upon the
conduct of a business that he could discontinue,” as the plaintiffs
in Nollan and in PruneYard Shopping Center v. Robins, 447 U.S.
74, 82-84 (1980), could have avoided the impositions of which
they complained by electing not to engage in the activities that
triggered them. The Nollans could have avoided dedicating the

22 Cf. Nollan, 483 U.S., at 834.

3 Yee, 60 U.S.L.W., at 4303:

But the Escondido rent control ordinance, even when considered
in conjunction with the California Mobilehome Residency Law,
authorizes no such thing [requirement of physical invasion].
Petitioners voluntarily rented their land to mobile home owners.
At least on the face of the regulatory scheme, neither the City nor
the State compels petitioners, once they have rented their property
to tenants, to continue doing so. To the contrary, the Mobilehome
Residency Law provides that a park owner who wishes to change
the use of his land may evict his tenants... (Citation). Put
bluntly, no government has required any physical invasion of
petitioners’ property. Petitioners’ tenants were invited by petition-
ers, not forced upon them by the government. (Citation).

1]

offensive easement by electing not to take the benefits of the
permit restricted by the easement condition. PruneYard could
have excluded unwanted political solicitors by ceasing to engage
in the commercial activity found to have invited them.

Here, BJEW complains of a condition attached to a permit.
The condition regulates the exercise of a right, i.e., the right to
use its property for a specific purpose.” As in Yee, Nollan,
PruneYard and other “regulatory takings” cases, BJEW could
have avoided the imposition by electing not to proceed.

In short, the conclusion of the California Court of Appeal on
the pivotal issue in this case is inescapably wrong, flying in the
face of rationale often repeated in opinions of this Court on issues
of taking that were restated with emphatic clarity in Yee.*> Nollan
is a regulatory takings case.

Setting aside the clear error in its use of terminology, it is
possible that the Court of Appeal intended to limit No/llan to
those cases where the government exacts an interest in the
regulated land rather than payment of a fee or the imposition of
another form of burden on the night to use property. Such a
limitation is equally wrong. We deal with it in the next sections of
Argument.

**.. the right to build on one’s own property—even though its
exercise can be subjected to legitimate permitting requirements—
cannot remotely be described as a “governmental benefit.”

-Nollan, 483 U.S., at 834, n.2.

*> The Court of Appeal relied on Commercial Builders v. City of
Sacramento, 941 F.2d 872 (9th Cir. 1991) cert. denied, 60 U.S.L.W.
3782 (1992) which reached a similar result on similar reasoning.
Commercial Builders deals with a facial attack on the constitutionality
of an ordinance requiring developers of commercial buildings to contrib-
ute funds for low cost housing. In a facial attack, the plaintiff must
establish that there is no state of facts to which the ordinance can be
constitutionally applied. Keystone Bituminous Coal, Association v.
DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470 (1987). This is not a facial Attack case. This
case went to tral and must be decided on its facts.

12

B. The Fifth Amendment Protects Property Owners From
Excessively Burdensome Restriction On The Use Of Prop-
erty: It Requires Compensation If The Burden Exceeds That
Which The Individual Should Be Required To Bear.

1. Takings Are Determined By The Impact On The Prop-
erty Owner. The Nature Of The Interest Taken Does
Not Control.

In Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960), the
Court stated:

The Fifth Amendment's guarantee that private property
shall not be taken for a public use without just compensation
was designed to bar Government from forcing some people
alone to bear public burdens which, in all fairness and
justice, should be borne by the public as a whole.”

In Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1004-5 (1984),
the Court quoted United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S.
373, 378 (1945), as follows:

...[C]Jourts have held that the deprivation of the former
owner rather than the accretion of a right or interest to the
sovereign constitutes the taking. Governmental action short
of acquisition of title or occupancy has been held, if its
effects are so complete as to deprive the owner of all or most
of his interest in the subject matter, to amount to a taking.

A regulation may advance a legitimate State interest and still
constitute a taking. Police power regulations that fail to advance a
legitimate public purpose are void for that reason alone. Thus, the
fact that the TIDFO may have a valid: purpose—funding for
enhanced public transit—does not end tlte inquiry. It answers only
the first portion of the threshold question, nothing more. Once the
government establishes the facial legitimacy of its action, the
focus shifts to the opposite pan of the balance, i.e., the impact of

*° See also First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v.
County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 318-19 (1987).

13

the regulation on a particular property owner based on the facts of
that specific case.”

Nollan deals with the problem created by a particular class of
regulatory takings cases, those in which the government imposes
conditions upon the issuance of a permit.”* The Court held that a
regulatory condition goes “too far””’ in imposing a burden upon a
property owner unless the condition directly alleviates an impact
the proposed project would otherwise cause and that would have
justified a refusal to approve the project without the mitigating
condition. Unless so constrained—in the absence of such a nexus
— the condition does not substantially advance a legitimate state
interest and it exceeds the constitionally permissible burden
government can impose upon a property owner without payment
of just compensation.

The issue posed by this case is whether or not that doctrine
applies only to conditions that require a property owner directly to
give away an interest in the permitted property itself. In so
holding, the Court of Appeal necessarily concluded that this

-” This Court has repeatedly stated that takings cases must be decided
on their particular facts. See, e.g., Keystone Bituminous Coal Associa-
tion v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 492-93, 495 (1987); Connolly v.
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, 475 U.S. 211, 224 (1986); Agins
v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 (1980); Penn Central Transporta-
tion Company v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 138 (1978).

** Given, then, that requiring uncompensated conveyance of the

easement outright would violate the Fourteenth Amendment, the
question becomes whether requiring it tg be conveyed as a
condition for issuing a land-use permit alters the outcome....
Our cases have not elaborated on the standards for determining
what constitutes a “legitimate state interest” or what type of
connection between the regulation and the state interest satisfies
the requirement that the former “substantially advance” the
latter.

Nollan, 483 U.S., at 834.
2° Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 413, 415 (1922).

14

Court would have found no infirmity in a condition requiring the
Nollans to pay a fee to acquire the very easement they could not
be required to dedicate. The conclusion is i'logical, unsupported
by any authority and plainly contrary to this Court’s conclusion
that “...the Fifth Amendment’s Property clause... [is] more
than a pleading requirement, and compliance with it... [is]
more than an exercise in cleverness and imagination.” Nollan,
483 U.S., at 841.

2. The Fifth Amendment’s Just Compensation Require-
ment Applies Equally To Cash Exactions As It Does To
Land Dedication Requirements.

It is the burden imposed upon the exercise of property rights
that must be tested by constitutional formulations stated by this
Court. The nature of the exaction does not determine the extent
of the burden, nor should it be used as the yardstick to determine
when governmental action has gone “too far” and traversed the
takings threshold.

The concept of property protected by the Fifth Amendment's
just Compensation requirement is not a sterile or rigid concept,
restricted to interests in land. To the contrary, this Court has
recognized that “property” encompasses a vast range of funda-
mental rights protected by the Constitution although not defined
by it.”

*° “We are mindful of the basic axiom that “‘[p]roperty interests
... are not created by the Constitution. Rather, they are created and
their dimensions are defined by existing rules or understandings that
stem from an independent source such as state law.”””’ Ruckelshaus v.

Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1001 (1984) (quoting Webb's Fabulous
Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 161 (1980), quoting in turn
from Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577
(1972)).

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538, 552 (1972)
states:

(T]he dichotomy between personal liberties and property
rights is a false one. Property does not have rights. People
have rights. The right to enjoy property without unlawful
deprivation, no less than the mght to speak or the nght to
travel, is in truth a “personal” right, whether the “property”
in question be a welfare check, a home, or a savings account.
In fact, a fundamental interdependence exists between the
personal right to liberty and the personal right in property.
Neither could have meaning without the other. That nights in
property are basic civil rights has long been recognized.

This oft-quoted statement echoes teachings of the Framers as
well as their antecedents. For example, James Madison wrote of
‘“property:”

This term in its particular application means: “that domin-
ion which one man claims and exercises over the external
things of the world, in exclusion of every other individual.”

In its larger and juster meaning, it embraces every thing to
which a man may attach a value and have a right; and which
leaves to every one else the like advantage. (Emphasis in
original).

In the former sense, a man’s land, or merchandise, or
money is called his property.

In the latter sense, a man has property in his opimions and
the free communication of them

He has a property of peculiar value in his religious opin-
ions, and in the profession and practice dictated by them

He has property very dear to him in the safety and liberty
of his person.

He has an equal property in the free use of his faculties
and free choice of the objects on which to employ them.

In a word, as a man is said to have a mght to his property,
he may be equally said to have a property in his nghts

16

Where an excess of power prevails, property of no sort is
duly respected. No man is safe in his opinions, his person, his
faculties or his possessions.

G. Hunt, VI The Writings of James Madison at p.101 (The
Knickerbocker Press, 1906), (quoting from The National Ga-
zette, March 29, 1792).”'

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments” do not differentiate
between types or classes of property interest, nor do they suggest
that money is entitled to less protection than land.

This Court has consistently used the same verbal formula in its
regulatory takings cases without regard to the type of interest
being regulated—and allegedly taken. For example, see Webb's
Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155 (1980) (an
excessively burdensome fee); Andrus v. Allard, 444 US. 51
(1979) (regulation of the sale of bird feathers); Ruckelshaus v.
Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986 (1984) (regulation of intellectual
property rights in chemicals registered by the EPA); Connolly v.
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, 475 U.S. 211 (1986)
(regulation of monetary nghts under ERISA).

The Court’s opinions in these cases provide no support for a
distinction in takings analysis based upon the nature of property
required to be given up. For example, Connolly takes pains to
reconcile its opinion with a list of regulatory takings cases that
includes Loretto and Kaiser Aetna. See Connolly, 475 U.S., at
224. Loretto and Kaiser Aetna are both cases where the govern-
ment took a possessory interest in land. The regulation attacked

*' See also, John Locke, TWO TREATISES OF GOVERNMENT
(P. Laslett, rev.ed. 1988, Section 124, Sections 201, 202 (“Whenever
the Legislators endeavor to take away and destroy the Property of the
People... they put themselves into a state of War with the People who
are thereupon absolved from any farther obedience.” (Emphasis in
original) ).

*? “—N Jor shall private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.”

17

as a taking in Connolly was a provision of ERISA imposing a
monetary liability in the operation of pension trust funds.

Connolly also cites Ruckelshaus as part of the authoritative line
of takings cases that includes Loretto and Kaiser Aetna. Ruckel-
shaus, an intellectual property regulation case, in turn cites and
relies upon land use regulation cases including PruneYard, a
regulatory takings case—but a case where the regulation required
a certain type of physical invasion of real property as a condition
to its use for certain purposes. And to complete the circle,
Ruckelshaus is cited and relied upon by Nollan (another regula-
tory taking, land invasion case) as articulating the controlling
“regulatory takings” formula. 483 U.S., at 833 n.2.

The Court of Appeal quoted a portion of the Nollan opinion
attempting to support its conclusion that the “heightened scru-
tiny” required by the case applies only to conditions that exact
interests in the regulated land. 3 Cal.App.4th, at 169. The entire
passage in which that sentence occurs is as follows:

We view the Fifth Amendment’s Property Clause to be more
than a pleading requirement, and compliance with it to be
more than an exercise in cleverness and imagination. As
indicated earlier, our cases describe the condition for abridg-
ment of property rights through the police power as a
“substantial advanc[ing]” of a legitimate state interest.
[Emphasis in original]. We are inclined to be particularly
careful about the adjective where the actual conveyance of
property is made a condition to the lifting of a land-use
restriction, since in that context there is heightened risk that
the purpose is avoidance of the compensation requirement,
rather than the stated police-power objective.

483 US., at 841.

This language, we submit, says nothing more than that dedication
requirements (as opposed to cash conditions) should be viewed
with greater suspicion because they are more likely to be illegal,

18

not because land gets more constitutional protection than
33
money.

C. As Applied To Levi’s Plaza, The TIDF Plainly Fails The
Substantial Advancement Test Required By Nollan.

Intense analytical scrutiny is not needed to show that the
TIDFO—applied to Levi's Plaza on the facts of this case—fails
both parts of the Nol/an substantial advancement test.

Nollan begins with the proposition that if a public purpose
justifies the imposition of a regulation prohibiting exercise of a
right to develop the subject property, then the property owner can

* The second piece of Nollan to which the Court of Appeal might
have referred is:

Had California simply required the Nollans to make an easement
across their beachfront available to the public on a permanent basis
in order to increase public access to the beach, rather than condi-
tioning their permit to rebuild their house on their agreeing to do so,
we have no doubt there would have been a taking.... We have
repeatedly held that, as to property reserved by its owner for private
use, “the nght to exclude [others is] ‘one of the most essential
sticks in the bundle of rights that are commonly characterized as

property.*”

(Citing Loretto and Kaiser Aetna). Nollan, 483 U.S., at 831. This
passage is preliminary to the main argument, stating a premise in
response to Justice Brennan’s dissent. It does not suggest that exaction
of an interest in the regulated real estate or “the right to exclude others”
is essential to a finding of a taking or to the “substantial advancement”
rationale the Court adopted to define the takings threshold. We have
long passed the point where it could seriously be argued that no
regulation can go “too far” unless it deprives the property owner of a
right to exclude others. See, e.g., Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Com.,
60 U.S.L.W. 4842 (June 29, 1992); First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church of Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987);
Connolly v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp., supra; Andrus v. Allard,
supra; Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980); Penn Central Transpor-
tation Company v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104 (1978).

19

raise no constitutional objection to a regulation that directly
serves the same end while allowing development to proceed. A
justifiable building ban provides the starting point. 483 US., at
836.

Here, City cites impact upon public transit as its justification.
At the time City considered and approved Levi's Plaza, however,
it could not define the impact, it had no mitigation (building ban
or otherwise) in mind and its planning staff had no idea whether,
at what point and in what form it would resolve these issues.** On
this state of facts, we submit that City could not lawfully have
banned construction of Levi’s Plaza because of its potentially
“general and amorphous” impact on public transit.

Once it is established that “.. . the right to build on one’s own
property—even though its exercise can be subjected to legitimate
permitting requirements—cannot remotely be described as a
‘governmental benefit” [Nollan, 483 US., at 834, n.2], it should
be clear beyond argument that a regulation prohibiting develop-
ment must have a stronger base than that advanced here. Thus,
City’s effort to apply the TIDF to Levi's Plaza, viewed as of the
time the project was considered and approved on its specific facts,
fails at the first hurdle of the Nollan test.

The question remains whether City cured this defect by the
“findings” in the TIDFO. Being unable to find a potential impact
on transit sufficient to justify a regulatory ban on the right to
construct Levi’s Plaza when the project was before it, can City
create a justification by legislative findings—adopted to apply
generally and without regard to the specific attributes of the
project—two years after the fact? Lucas suggests not.’ Even

* See notes 9 and 16, supra.

38 In Lucas. the State of South Carolina claimed the right to prohibit
use of certain property for its only economic beneficial purpose without
payment of just compensation based upon a general legislative finding
that such uses would constitute a nuisance. This Court rejected the idea

20

without that suggestion, however, the question does not raise
serious analytical difficulties.

Plainly, no permit reservation can expand the scope of what is
constitutionally permissible under No/lan, nor can the City create
additional regulatory conditions after vested rights have accrued.
So the permitting authority is bound by the more restrictive of the
answers to the following questions: Was the imposition fairly
contemplated within the permit reservation? And, if so, does the
imposition meet the Nollan test?

In this case, the California Courts rejected the second question
altogether. They then applied California’s loose and forgiving
interpretive approach to the former. They allowed general, legisla-
tive findings to supersede the specific fact-findings of the project
approval process. We know from this record that when Levi's
Plaza was approved, City viewed transit impact as an attribute of
project /ocation in the Northeast Waterfront of the City and not
as an attribute of office use.*° If City considered transit impact an

that such a nuisance finding could properly be made by generally
applicable legislative enactment. 60 U.S.L.W. at 4842.

* See note 13, supra. At trial, City’s witnesses sought to explain away
the references in this record to the Northeast Waterfront by testifying
that enhanced bus service to the Northeast Waterfront benefits other
areas of the City because the buses move from place to place, etc. RT
101:17-102:12; 134:4-10; 136:23-27. This testimony was advanced to
show that references to the “Northeast Waterfront” should be construed
to include the entire “Downtown Area” (redefined in the TIDFO to
include virtually the entire eastern third of City) because the bus routes
extend into those areas. The argument perfectly exemplifies Humpty
Dumpty’s rule: “When I use a word, it means just what I choose it to
mean—neither more nor less.” L. Carroll, Through the Looking Glass
and What Alice Found There, Chapter 6. Because if the Northeast
Waterfront (the “area of the City in which the project is located...”
[ Exhibit 2, paragraph 5(c) } is defined to include anywhere the buses go,
the phrase means anything that the maker of the bus routes chooses to

21

attribute of office use, it would not have imposed a transit impact
condition on a residential project in the Northeast Waterfront
area in the very next action it took in which it imposed a transit
condition on the approval of any project anywhere.’

Nor does the language of the permit condition calling for a
“good faith effort to participate” contemplate a mandatory fee.
That language calls for affirmative participatory action on the part
of BJEW—as would be required to form an assessment district—
the only funding mechanism under discussion at the time Levi's
Plaza was approved.

The TIDFO does not deal specifically with the conditions of
Levi's Plaza. It makes general findings that cumulative office
development in a broadly defined Downtown Area impact transit
and require payment of a $5 mandatory fee. No participation by
property owners is required other than to write and deliver a
check. The TIDFO redefines the impacted area, the nature of the
impact and the funding mechanism as perceived at the time of
Levi’s Plaza.

City and the California Courts have shrugged all this off on the
grounds that Levi’s Plaza had an impact on transit and the
approval resolution condition gave City the right to redefine that

make it mean—in this case, two years after the fact in aid of City’s quest
for funds.

37 The Wharf Park approval is also the law of the City. See note 4,
supra. City’s actions closest in time after Levi's approval provide highly
probative evidence of its intent. See, e.g., United States v. Stewart, 311
U.S. 60, 64-65 (1940):

__. The later act can therefore be regarded as a legislative interpre-
tation of the earlier act (citations) in the sense that it aids in
ascertaining the meaning of the words as used in their contempo-
rary setting. /t is therefore entitled to great weight in resolving any
ambiguities and doubts.
See also, Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Co. v. Phillips, 332 US. 168
(1947); Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S. 239 (1972).

22

impact in any terms that might fit within the broadest definition
of “future funding mechanism...” At best, this is nothing more
than the “indirect relationship” approach explicitly rejected in
Nollan.** At worst, the northern boundary of the “Downtown
Area” as defined by the T1DFO—with its sharp-edged bulge
reaching more than four blocks to take in Levi’s Plaza—punctu-
ates, we submit, City’s “*... out-and-out plan of extortion.’
(Citation). Nollan, 483 U.S., at 837.

We agree that Condition 5(c) in the Levi's Plaza approval
resolution deals with transit as does the TIDFO. More than that is
required, however, for the TIDFO to apply to Levi's Plaza. As
this Court observed, some sort of condition dealing with “visual
access” might have been constitutionally permissible in Nollan.
483 U.S., at 835. The access condition selected by the Commis-
sion, however, was not—because it did not alleviate a burden
caused by the Nollans’ project.

** In Nollan, the California Court of Appeal stated its conclusion as
follows:

In Grupe v. California Coastal Com., (1985) 166 Cal.App.3d
148, 165, 212 Cal.Rptr. 578, the court construed the leading
California case on the constitutionality of exactions, (citation) to
hold that only an indirect relationship between an exaction and a
need to which the project contributes need exist. We agree with the
Grupe reasoning....The Court in Grupe held that the access
condition was related to a need for pubic access to which Grupe’s
project contributed, even though standing alone it had not created
the need for access... ..

223 Cal.Rptr. 28, 30 (1986).

It is precisely this “indirect relationship” formula that this Court
rejected. 483 U.S., at 838, 841. Despite that rejection, it is precisely the
same indirect, general relationship that the Court of Appeal has used in
this case.

23

Fifth Amendment “just compensation” cases are decided on
their particular facts.*’ In no class of cases can that be more clear
than those where permit conditions must directly mitigate im-
pacts on the public interest that (i) a proposed project would
otherwise cause and that (ii) would be sufficient to justify
prohibiting development of the project in the first instance. We
doubt that a fact specific requirement of this sort can be met by a
generally applicable legislative enactment adopted two years after
the fact. Such a conclusion is particularly compelling when the
enactment purports to crystalize the pivotal issues of impact,
mitigation and public interest that City admits it could not resolve
when it was engaged in the very fact-finding exercise upon which
the validity of the imposition in this case must depend.*”

We submit that if the nature and extent of an imposition such
as a regulatory fee is reserved for future determination, that
determination must meet the same constitutional standards ar-
ticulated in the Nollan case that would have been required at the
time the permit was issued. It must be based on the same facts
and the same public interest considerations. The City must be
able to show that the condition substantially advances a legitimate
interest that would have justified a regulation prohibiting develop-
ment of the project in the first place. And the condition reserving
that judgment to a future date must precisely spell out the public
interest to be served, the impact to be alleviated and the type of
mitigation that would achieve the purpose.

None of that happened here, nor did the California Courts
require it. They rejected Nollan entirely and did not get past the

39 See authorities cited at note 28.

“ Issuance of a permit for a project such as Levi's Plaza is an exercise
in administrative adjudication to which the requirements of due process
apply. See, e.g., Horn v. County of Ventura, 24 Cal.3d 605, 156 Cal.
Rptr. 718, 596 P.2d 1134 (1979); Ward v. County of Riverside, 273
Cal.App.2d 353, 78 Cal. Rptr. 46 (1969).

24

general concept of “transit.’’ In so doing, they vindicated City’s
demand for $3,100,000.

Nollan applies—and it requires more than City could or did
show to sustain the TIDFO exaction against Levi's Plaza.

CONCLUSION

The California Court of Appeal erred when it rejected Nollan
as precedent for resolution of this case. In holding that Nollan
does not apply to a monetary imposition, the California Court of
Appeal drastically and erroneously limited a landmark opinion of
this Court.

This Court should issue a writ of certiorari to reverse the result
below and hold that Nollan applies to monetary exactions im-
posed as conditions upon the issuance of permits; and that the
imposition in this case fails the substantial advancement test
Nollan articulates.

Dated: July 14, 1992
HOWARD N. ELLMAN*
KENNETH N. BURNS
THOMAS M. SHERWOOD
ELLMAN, BURKE, HOFFMAN &
JOHNSON
A Professional Corporation
Attorneys for Petitioner
BLUE JEANS EQUITIES WEST

* Counsel of Record

(APPENDICES FOLLOW)

oe

A-1

APPENDIX A

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION
IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION THREE

FILED JANUARY 31, 1992

BLUE JEANS EQUITIES WEST,
Plaintiff and Appellant,
v.
CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO.
Defendant and Respondent.

A051759
(Super. Ct. No. 814330
San Francisco County)

WHITE, P.J. In this action we consider whether the height-
ened scrutiny test alluded to in Nollan vy. California Coastal
Comm'n (1987) 483 U.S. 825 (hereafter Nollan) should be
applied to San Francisco’s Transit Impact Development Fee
(TIDF) Ordinance. (Ord. No. 224-81, codified at S.F. Admin.
Code, § 38.1 et seq.) We conclude the Nollan analysis is applica-
ble only to “possessory takings,” rather than “regulatory takings,”
and does not apply to the TIDF.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff Blue Jeans Equities West is the owner and developer
of Levi’s Plaza, a five-building office, retail and condominium
complex in the north or northeast waterfront section of San
Francisco. This area of San Francisco is located away from the
financial district, the traditional area of downtown office space. At
the time of the project’s conception, the main tenant was to be
Levi Strauss & Company, which was then located in the financial
district of the city. Prior to construction of the complex, a final
environmental impact report was prepared by the San Francisco

A-2

Department of City Planning. Among other things, the report
discussed the adverse impact the project would have on
transportation. '

The permit for Levi’s Plaza was approved by the San Francisco
Planning Commission’s Resolution No. 8142 on January 4, 1979.
The resolution contained a condition in its transit mitigation
section, designated as paragraph 5(c), which provided: “The
owner of the project shall make a good-faith effort to participate
in future funding mechanisms to assure adequate transit service to
the area of the city in which the project is located.”

On May 5, 1981, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors
enacted the TIDF ordinance. As our Supreme Court described it:
“The ordinance, which became effective the following month,
requires developers of downtown buildings containing new office
space to pay a TIDF as a condition of issuance of a certificate of
completion and occupancy. [Citation.] The TIDF, not to exceed
$5 per square foot of new office space, provides revenue for the
municipal railway to offset the anticipated costs of the increased
peak-period ridership generated by the new office space over the
useful life of each office building.” [Citation.]” (Russ Bldg.
Partnership v. City and County of San Francisco (1988) 44
Cal.3d 839, 844-845 (hereafter Russ J/).) At the time of its
enactment, plaintiff had not yet received a certificate of coinple-
tion for Levi’s Plaza.

Plaintiff filed a complaint for declaratory relief against the city,
contending the TIDF ordinance is unlawful and invalid as applied
to the Levi’s Plaza project and the TIDF may not be imposed
with respect to plaintiff. While the case was pending, the parties

'The report states in pertinent part: “Employees arriving by BART,
AC Transit, SAMTRANS, Southern Pacific, and the ferries would have
to transfer to another mode (MUNI) to reach the project site. The
proportion of vehicle drivers among Levi Strauss employees would tend
to increase from about 16% to about 17.5%. Sixteen additional bus runs
on Routes 15/42 and 32 would have to be operated during the peak hour
to provide adequate capacity to sustain the 17.5% vehicle-driver modal
split. This would represent about 4-minute headways on the combined
15 and 42 routes and about 6-minute headways on Route 32.”

A-3

stipulated to the fee calculation and plaintiff deposited the agreed
amount, over $3.1 million, in trust, pending the case’s outcome.

The trial court entered judgment for defendant, finding that the
TIDF ordinance is not an unconstitutional “taking” on its face or
as applied to plaintiff, plaintiff acquired no vested right to build or
use Levi's Plaza without payment of the TIDF, and defendant is
not estopped from requiring plaintiff to pay the TIDF. This appeal
followed.

DISCUSSION

In Russ Bldg. Partnership v. City and County of San Francisco
(1987) 199 Cal.App.3d 1496 (hereafter Russ J). Division Five of
this District held the San Francisco TIDF ordinance was a valid
development fee, which could not be challenged under arti-
cles XIII A and XIII B of the California Constitution or the
equal protection and due process clauses of the federal and state
Constitutions. In eesence, the opinion finds the TIDF a fee. rather
than a special tax. (/d., at p. 1507.)

In Russ II, the Supreme Court addressed the question of
whether the TIDF ordinance could be applied to projects which,
at the time of the enactment of the ordinance, were in the course
of construction pursuant to building permits conditioned on the
developers’ participation “in a downtown assessment district, or
similar fair and appropriate mechanism, to provide funds for
maintaining and augmenting transportation service... .”
(Russ II, supra, 44 Cal.3d at p. 843.)’ The high court concluded
that the condition encompassed the TIDF, and held that the
TIDF could be imposed on the projects without impairing the
developers’ vested rights. (/bid.) However, the Russ IJ court
expressly declined to address whether the TIDF violated the
takings clause of the United States Constitution, as interpreted in
Nollan. (Russ II, supra, 44 Cal.3d at p. 845, fn. 6.)

2Russ II left intact the Russ J holding that the TIDF was a valid
development fee. (Russ II, supra, 44 Cal.3d at p. 845.)

A-4

In Nollan, the United States Supreme Court held the Califor-
nia Coastal Commission had violated the Fifth Amendment by
conditioning a building permit for beachfront property on the
owners’ dedication of an easement allowing the public to walk on
the portion of the property nearest to the ocean. The condition
requiring an easement violated the “taking” clause, because it did
not serve a governmental purpose related to the permit to rebuild.
(Nollan, supra, 483 U.S. at p. 838.) At least one California court
has interpreted the Nollan holding as providing “there must be a
substantial connection, or ‘nexus’ between the public burden
created by the construction and the necessity for the easement.”
(Surfside Colony, Ltd. v. California Coastal Com. (1991) 226
Cal.App.3d 1260, 1267, fn. omitted). This interpretation is based,
in part, on footnote 3 of the Nolian opinion: “[O]ur opinions do
not establish that these standards are the same as those applied to
due process or equal protection claims. To the contrary, our verbal
formulations in the takings field have generally been quite differ-
ent. We have required that the regulation ‘substantially advance’
the ‘legitimate state interest’ sought to be achieved, [citation],
not that ‘the State ‘could rationally have decided’ that the
measure adopted might achieve the State’s objective.’ [Cita-
tions.]” (Nollan, supra, 483 U.S. at pp. 834-835, fn. 3.)

A threshold issue is whether the Nollan nexus test should be
applied to the case at bench. Plaintiff takes an affirmative posi-
tion, while defendant disagrees.

It is settled that any regulation of economic interests which
“goes too far” becomes a “taking” under principles of inverse
condemnation. (Penna. Coal Co. v. Mahon (1922) 260 U.S. 393,
415; First Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles County (1987) 482
U.S. 304, 316; Golden Cheese Co. v. Voss (1991) 230 Cal.App.3d
727, 731.) However, there is no set formula for determining what
constitutes a “taking”; the courts rely instead on ad-hoc, factual
inquiries into the circumstances of individual cases: (Connolly v.
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. (1986) 475 U.S. 211, 224; Pen
Central Transp. Co. v. New York City (1978) 438 U.S. 104, 123-
124.)

In Agins v. Tiburon (1980) 447 U.S. 255, the United States
Supreme Court stated: “The application of a general zoning law

A-5

to particular property effects a taking if the ordinance does not
substantially advance legitimate state interests, [citation], or
denies an owner economically viable use of his land, [citation].
The determination that governmental action constitutes a taking
is, in essence, a determination that the public at large, rather than
a single owner, must bear the burden of an exercise of state power
in the public interest.” (/d., at p. 260). Nollan has been construed
as refining the first prong of the Agins test “to require that the
regulation advance the precise state interest which avowedly
motivated it.” (Long Beach Equities, Inc. v. County of Ventura
(1991) 231 Cal.App.3d 1016, 1029.)

However, the high court appears to make a distinction between
“regulatory taking,” i.e., economic regulation, most forms of
zoning, and other restrictions on land use, and “possessory tak-
ings,’ where the government, or an authorized third person,
physically intrudes upon or appropriates the property. (See Man-
heim, Tenant Eviction Protection and the Takings Clause, 1989
Wis. L.Rev. 925, 939.)

Nollan specifically points out that “our cases describe the
condition for abridgment of property rights through the police
power as a ‘substantial advanc[ing]’ of a legitimate state interest.
We are inclined to be particularly careful about the adjective
where the actual conveyance of property is made a condition to
the lifting of a land-use restriction, since in that context there is
heightened risk that the purpose is avoidance of the compensation
requirement, rather than the stated police-power objective.”
(Nollan, supra, 483 U.S. at p. 841, emphasis in original.) Based
on this language, most legal scholars have concluded the Nollan
strict scrutiny approach is limited to unconstitutional conditions
and possessory takings cases. (See, e.g., Manheim, supra, 1989
Wis. L.Rev. at p. 950; Lawrence, Means, Motives, and Takings;
The Nexus Test of Nollan v. California Coastal Commission
(1988) 12 Harv. Envtl. L.Rev. 231, 263; but see Been, “Exit” as
a Constraint on Land Use Exactions: Rethinking the Unconstitu-
tional Conditions Doctrine (1991) 91 Colum. L.Rev. 473.)

Case law subsequent to Nollan appears to confirm this view.
Pennel v. San Jose (1988) 485 U.S. 1, concerns a city rent control
ordinance that permits consideration of “hardship to a tenant”

A-6

when determining whether to approve a rent increase proposed by
a landlord. In addressing whether rent control was per se a taking
the court stated: “[WJe have ‘consistently affirmed that States
have broad power to regulate housing conditions in general and
the landlord-tenant relationship in particular without paying com-
pensation for all economic injures that such regulations entails.’
(/d., at p. 12, fn. 6, quoting Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan
CATV Corp. (1982) 458 U.S. 419, 440.) Pennell appears to
reaffirm the traditional view that as long as governmental regula-
tions do not require a landowner to suffer the physical occupation
of a portion of his real estate, the regulations will be analyzed as
nonpossessory governmental activity. (See Loretto, supra, 458
U.S. at p. 440.)

More on point, in Commercial Builders v. Sacramento (9th
Cir. 1991) 941 F.2d 872, commercial developers challenged a city
ordinance that conditioned nonresidential building permits on
payment of a fee to offset burdens associated with the influx of
low-income workers to work on such developments. The develop-
ers argued that pursuant to Nollan, an ordinance that imposes an
exaction on developers can be upheld only if it can be shown that
the development is directly responsible for the social ill that the
exaction is designed to alleviate. Citing St. Bartholomew's Church
v. City of New York (2nd Cir. 1990) 914 F.2d 348, 357, fn. 6,
Adolph v. Federal Emergency Management Agency (Sth Cir.
1988) 854 F.2d 732, 737, and Naegele Outdoor Advertising, Inc.
v. City of Durham (4th Cir. 1988) 844 F.2d 172, 178, the Ninth
Circuit concluded Nollan’s heightened scrutiny test was inappli-
cable to regulations that do not constitute a physical encroach-
ment on land. (Commercial Builder, supra, 941 F.2d at p. 874.)

Plaintiff principally relies on Bixel Associates v. City of Los
Angeles (1989) 216 Cal.App.3d 1208, to support its claim that a
heightened scrutiny test should be employed. In Bixel, a devel-
oper was required to pay a fire hydrant fee as a condition of the
issuance of a building permit. The fee was established by two city
ordinances. The developer argued that the fee was a specia! tax,
which violated article XIII of the California Constitution. The
Court of Appeal agreed, holding that the fire hydrant fee ordi-
nances did not contain language embodying the required constitu-

A-7

tional safeguards | which must be employed in fashioning a valid
development fee.’ (/d., at p. 1220.) Bixe/ neither considered nor
decided whether the fee constituted a taking in violation of the
Fifth Amendment. (J/bid. )

In light of the above-quoted language in Nollan and post-
Nollan case law, we hold that any heightened scrutiny test
contained in Nollan is limited to possessory rather than regulatory
takings cases.

Plaintiff also contends condition 5(c) of its building permit did
not contemplate payment of the TIDF. First, it submits the
language of the condition, i.e., “the owner. . . shall make a good-
faith effort to participate in future funding mechanisms to assure
adequate transit service to the area of the city in which the project
is located,” denotes a voluntary rather than manaatory obliga-
tion.* We disagree. Good faith performance of a contract “em-
phasizes faithfulness to an agreed common purpose and
consistency with the justified expectations of the other party.”
(Careau & Co. v. Security Pacific Business Credit, Inc. (1990)
222 Cal.App.3d 1371, 1393, fn. 15, quoting Rest.2d Contracts
(Tent. Draft Nos. 1-7) § 231, com. a.) Thus, the “good faith”
language in condition 5(c) may not be employed to make
plaintiff's participation discretionary.

Plaintiff next asserts the condition was devoted to improving
transit service “to the area of the city in which the project is

‘The Bixel court explicitly distinguished the imprecise basis for
determining the fee in that case with the methodology employed and
described in Russ /. (Bixel, supra, 216 Cal.App.3d at p. 1219.)

“In its statement of decision, the trial court stated: “The Court further
finds that the phrase ‘good faith effort’ was not included to allow mere
voluntary participation in the support of transit funding mechanisms, but
anticipates BJEW’s participation in whatever funding mechanism the
City and County could best devise that reasonably met the requirements
of the transit demands. The phrase does not connote the mandatory
language of ‘shall,’ however, such-mandatory language was not neces-
sary. The phrase was intended to acknowledge notice of an obligation to
participate in whatever reasonable funding mechanism was devised.”

A-8

located.”’ It points out this condition was identical with the permit
conditions for Wharf Park I and II, which are residentia!
projects.” Plaintiff compares this language with the articulated
purpose of the TIDF ordinance and the wording contained in the
permits for projects considered in Russ /, and concludes the
commitments were different. We find the argument unpersuasive.

The TIDF ordinance was enacted “[i]n order to be able to
provide public transit services for new development in the Down-
town Area,...[{j] It is the purpose of this ordinance to require
developers of new development in the Downtown Area to pay a
fee which is related directly to the incremental financial burden
imposed upon the Municipal Railway both for initial capital
outlay for the acquisition of rolling stock and the construction of
facilities; and for the long term operation, maintenance and
replacement of those facilities once they are in place.” (S.F.
Admin. Code § 38.3.) Each of the plaintiffs in Russ J and Russ I
had, as a condition of its building permit, the following language:
“In recognition of the need for expanded transportation services
to meet peak demand generated by cumulative office develop-
ment in the downtown area, [the developer] shall participate in a
downtown assessment district, or similar fair and appropriate
mechanism, to provide funds for maintaining and augmenting
transportation service, should such a mechanism be established
by the City.” (Russ II, supra, 44 Cal.3d at p. 844.) While the
wording of the condition contained in the Russ plaintiffs’ permits
differs from that in condition 5(c), our Supreme Court found the
conditions substantially similar. (/d., at p. 844, fn. 2.)

‘The Levi's Plaza approval provided that plaintiff “shall make a good-
faith effort to develop... housing on a nearby site, for low- and
moderate-income occupants.” Plaintiff complied with this provision by
building Wharf Park I and II, residential projects located between Levi's
Plaza and Pier 39.

<_<

A-9

The fact that Levi’s Plaza is located away from the traditional
downtown area does not alter our view that the project is subject
to the TIDF. Plaintiff stipulated that the project is within the
geographic downtown area as defined by the ordinance. Plaintiff
had notice that its development would adversely impact on public
transportation and agreed to participate in funding mechanisms to
assure adequate transit service to its project.

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed.

White, P. J.

We concur:

Mermill, J.

Werdegar, J.

A-10

Blue Jeans Equities West v. City and County of San Francisco

A051759
Tnal Court:

Trial Judge:
Counsel of Appellants:

Counsel for Amicus
Curae on Behalf of
Appellants:

Counsel for
Respondent:

San Francisco County
Superior Court

Daniel M. Hanlon

Howard N. Ellman

Ellman, Burke, Hoffman & Johnson
One Ecker Building

Suite 200

San Francisco, CA 94105

Ronald A. Zumbrun
Edward J. Connor, Jr.
Richard M. Stephens
Pacific Legal Foundation
2700 Gateway Oaks Drive
Suite 200

Sacramento, CA 95833

Louise H. Renne

City Attorney

George E. Krueger
Utilities General Counsel
Robin M. Reitzes
Deputy City Attorney

City Hall, Room 206
San Francisco, CA 94102-4682

A-1]

APPENDIX B

First Appellate District, Division Three, NO. A051759
S025468

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN BANK

Blue Jeans Equities West,
Appellant
V

City & County of San Francisco,
Respondent

Supreme Court Filed
April 29, 1992
Robert Wandruff Clerk
Deputy
Appellant’s petition for review DENIED.

The request for an order directing depublication of the opinion is
denied.

Lucas
Chief Justice

A-12

APPENDIX C

r f. Cable Car Line

KEY
» Levi's Plaza
Wharf Park

- cc Two Projects Involved
In Russ Bldg Partuershig

FILBERT

,
Pon
\ele + Pag
= $ - AS

ca
yiave
ose

as
BOSTON” wrtAL
> “paD

At gt
eume
>ja7a

paar SEY
)
“1% aid | Morne
\s =
woort® LY

mo lan pore =}
ye | gust

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0989%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
