# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Broderick Investment Co. v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0970%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 865

## Text

~() ,
| 92_52 "Sicha

JUL 13 1992
UFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1992

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY, a partnership and
successor to Broderick Wood Products, Inc.:
THE COLORADO NATIONAL BANK OF DENVER.
as trustee; and THE FIRST INTERSTATE BANK
OF DENVER, N.A.., as trustee,
Petitioners,

7's

THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Brooke Jackson
Counsel of Record
Elizabeth A. Phelan

HOLLAND & HART
Suite 2900

555 17th Street

Post Office Box 8749
Denver, CO 80201-8749
Telephone: (303) 295-8000

Counsel for Petitioners

July 10, 1992

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Can the phrase "discharge, dispersal, release or escape
of ... pollutants into or upon land ... or any water course or body of
water" in the pollution exclusion clause of the standard comprehensive
general liability insurance policy reasonably be interpreted to refer to the
seepage of chemical wastes from containment ponds into the
groundwater?

2 Does a federal appellate court have the power to direct
entry of judgment contrary to a jury verdict, where the appellee did not
renew its motion for directed verdict and did not file a motion for
judgment n.o.v.?

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 28.1 LIST

The parties to the proceedings below were the petitioners
Broderick Investment Company, a partnership and successor to
Broderick Wood Products, Inc., The Colorado National Bank, as
trustee, and The First Interstate Bank of Denver, N.A., as trustee, and
respondent, The Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company.

In addition, several insurance companies were parties to the case
in the district court and settled with the petitioners beforatrial. These
companies are United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co.; Truck Insurance
Exchange (The Farmers Group); The Continental Insurance Co.:
Century Indemnity Co.; Aetna Casualty & Surety Co.; The Travelers
Insurance Co.; and The Phoenix Insurance Co. Petitioners believe that
these companies no longer have an interest in the outcome of the case
and for that reason, they are not named as parties in the Petition for
Certiorari.

The parent company of petitioner The First Interstate Bank of
Denver, N.A., is First Interstate Bancorp.

LE A i TT ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
oo Bs ey ie agen

sg yes ais 6 eA Keene kk we

eM ttn ete iret hw A 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND

‘TOUmmnMe MULESINVOLVED ............cc0ccuscne 2

STATEMENT OF THECASE ........... ae ee 2

A. Factual Background........... oye oa ae

l. The parties ..... ey eee aoe”

2 Broderick’s operations ) 3

3 Groundwater damage : -

B. Procedural Background ..... ron 5

l Pretrial proceedings eked 5

2 District court rulings ...... 6

ty

Tenth Circuit proceedings
4. Order on rehearing ................ 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...... ite eae

ill

ARGUMENT , 3 11
| The Court Of Appeals Violated Erie By

Truncating The Analysis Required By Colorado Law |
i] The Court Of Appeals Had No Power

To Direct Entry Ot Judgment For

Hartford As To Coverage For The Ponds 17
\
CONCLUSION .. , | 19

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Alston v. Bowins, 733 F.2d 16!

(D.C. Cir. 1984)

American Family Mut. Ins. Co. v. Johnson,
®16 P.2d 952 (Colo. 1991)

Baltimore & Carolina Line, Inc. v. Redman
295 U.S. 654 (1935)

Bogk v. Gassert, 149 U.S. 17 (1893)

Chacon v. American Family Ins Co.,
788 P.2d 748 (Colo. 1990)

Claussen v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co..
865 F.2d 1217 (11th Cir. 1989)

Cone v. West Virginia Pulp & Paper Co.
330 U.S. 212 (1947)

Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins
304 U.S. 64 (1937)

Fortier v. Dona Anna Plaza Partners
747 F.2d 1324 (10th Cir. 1984

Globe Liquor Co _v. San Roman
332 U.S. 571 (1948

Haring v_ Prosise. 462 U.S. 306 (1983

[~

Hecla Min. Co _v. New Hampshire Ins Co
811 P.2d 1083 (Colo. 199]

Home Ins. Co. of New York v. Davila.
212 F.2d 731 (1st Cir. i Ee Ee ON TS 6 tt et 17

Johnson v. New York. N.H. & H.R. Co..
mG US. GEOG) os eee 17, 18

Montgomery Ward & Co. vy. Duncan,
STE US. 268 OR) a vs eee 17

National Grange Mut. Ins. Co. v.
Continental Cas. Ins. Co..
650 F. Supp. 1404 (S.D.N_Y. | ee ee dae a A 14

New Castle County v. Hartford Acc. &
Indem. Co., 933 F.2d 1162 (3d Cir. | ee 12, 13

Pepper's Steel & Alloys, Inc. v.
United States Fidelity & Guar. Co.,
668 F. Supp. 1541 (S.D. Fla. 1987) ................002- 13

Salve Regina College v. Russell,
111 S.Ct. Fives. |) nh yt yn Oe Cre aA SS 1]

Slocum v. New York Life Ins. Co.,
228 U.S. 364(1913) .6 2 17

Sylvester Bros. Dev. Co. v. Great Cent. Ins. Co..
480 N.W.2d 368 (Minn. ADD. 98 oo ee 13, 14, 15, 16

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const. amend. VIE... 17

U.S. Const. amend. X 2.2.2... 1]

Vi

STATUTES

28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West. Supp. 1992) .. . .

28 U.S.C.A. § 1332(a)(1) (West Supp. 1992) ...... ah eee

oe U.S.C.A. § IGSZ (ISEB) ok nc ee ee eas 3

33 U.S.C.A. § 1362(12)(1986) .. .

RULES

Rule 50(b) Fed.R.Civ.P. (1989) .... gees eae 2,

Rule 50, Fed.R.Civ.P. (effective
Dec. 1, 1991)

OTHER AUTHORITY

Webster's Third New International

Dictionary (1971) ........... . 14,

Fed.R.Civ.P. 50 advisory committee's
note

to

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1992

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY, a partnership and
successor to Broderick Wood Products, Inc.:
THE COLORADO NATIONAL BANK OF DENVER.
as trustee; and THE FIRST INTERSTATE BANK
OF DENVER, N.A.., as trustee.
Petitioners,

V.

THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY.
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners respectfully request that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of Appeais
for the Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals and the order on rehearing
are reported at 954 F.2d 601 (10th Cir. 1992), and included in the
Appendix at la-17a. The court of appeals order requesting certification
to the Colorado Supreme Court, and the response of the Colorado
Supreme Court, are included in the Appendix at 20a-30a. The decision
of the district court interpreting the pollution exclusion clause was oral
and is unreported; the transcript of the ruling is included in the
Appendix at 31la-36a.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on January 8, 1992. A timely petition for rehearing was granted in part
and denied in part on April 15, 1992. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (West Supp. 1992).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND
FEDERAL RULES INVOLVED

The texts of the Seventh and Tenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution are reproduced in the Appendix at 37a. The text of
28 U.S.C.A. § 1652 (1966) is reproduced in the Appendix at 37a. and
the text of Rule 50(b). Fed.R.Civ.P., in effect at the time of trial in
1989, is reproduced in the Appendix at 38a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background.

1. The parties. Petitioner Broderick Investment Company
is a partnership and the successor In interest to Broderick Wood
Products, Inc. The latter company was formed in 1946 to treat wood
with preservative chemicals at a plant in Adams County, Colorado. Its
founder, William S. Broderick, placed its stock in trusts administered by
the two other petitioners, The Colorado National Bank of Denver and
what is today The First Interstate Bank of Denver, N.A. Broderick
Wood Products ceased operations in 1981 and was dissolved in 1982:
Broderick Investment Company, a partnership whose partners are the
two bank trustees, succeeded to the company’s rights and obligations.
This petition refers collectively to the petitioners as "Broderick".

In the mid-1960s and early 1970s, respondent Hartford Accident
& Indemnity Company ("Hartford") and other insurers developed a new
“pollution exclusion" clause for use in the industry's standard "Com-
prehensive General Liability" ("CGL") insurance policy. The insurers
intended, and represented to state regulators, that the policy would
provide coverage for pollution damage unless the damage was intended
or expected. Broderick purchased such policies from Hartford from
1976 through 1984, to Protect against liability to third Parties arising
from the operations of Broderick’s wood treatment facility.

+

—

2. Broderick’s operations. At the Broderick plant, wood

products such as telephone poles and railroad ties were pressure-treated
with either creosote or pentachlorophenol, the impregnated wood was
Ssteam-cleaned, and as much preservative as possible was recaptured.
The residue, which was 98 percent water and 2 percent chemicals and
oils, was piped into a containment pond, called the "main pond", on the
Broderick site. Built with the plant in 1946, the main pond represented
the state of the art in the industry. Tr. Vol. III at 352-53, 394-95.

The main pond was intended to contain the wastes. Tr. Vol. IV
at 565-73, 582. The pond was dug down to a natural clay layer, id. at
564-65, and raw cement was added. Sam Tait, then general manager
and later president, watched the construction crew place approximately
two inches of raw cement up and down the banks to prevent seepage,
but did not recall whether cement was placed on the bottom. Tr. Vol
IV at 565; Tr. Vol. V at 654. Nonetheless, Tait believed that the entire
pond was lined with raw cement and so indicated in writing before this
dispute arose. Ex. CW (“original pond was excavated during 1946
and ... was sealed off with powdered cement"). Hartford's agent,
Richard Rohrer, noted during a conversation with James Bollig, the
Broderick employee who bought the insurance: "when ponds dry out
(water) mixture will be bagged & hauled to Calif for disposal (under
seal-cement to keep it from seeping into ground No problems since
1946....D]." Ex. CO (emphasis added); Tr. Vol. II at 133-34. Later.
when Forrest Dean, a crane operator, attemptéd to dredge accumulated
Sludge off the bottom of the main pond, he encountered a hard, im-
penetrable material that was as hard as cement. Tr. Vol. VI at 859.
870-71. In 1989, Dr. Andrew Middleton, an environmental engineer,
examined chunks of material taken from the main pond, and testified
that they appeared to contain cement. Tr. Vol. V at 765-66.

The second pond, created a few years after the first, had a
larger surface area and very shallow depth. It served to Capture an\
overflow from the main pond and to prevent spills onto the land. Tr
Vol. IV at 572-73. The so-called "third pond" was actually not a
“pond” at all; it was a smal! collection area for spillage and drippage out
of the intake equipment feeding the main pond, Tr. Vol. IV at 608, and

ve)

was not identified as a source of any groundwater contamination, Tr.
Vol. V at 726.!

William Broderick, the owner, insisted that the wastes be con-
tained. Tr. Vol. IV at 567-68: Tr. Vol. VI at 841-43. His employees
walked the area around the ponds at least once a month, looking for
signs of seepage. Ex. CW. None was found after 34 years. Id.

3. Groundwater damage. Yet seepage of wastes into the
groundwater did occur. Chemicals seeped from the main pond and the
overflow pond, as well as from plant equipment in the plant process
area. Tr. Vol. V at 735-39. See also Jury Instr. 2; Verdict, ¢4 1, 2:
Answer Brief of Appellees at 8 (filed in 10th Cir. July 27, 1990):
Appellees’ Supplemental Brief at 20 (filed in 10th Cir. Oct. 18, 1991).
Groundwater contamination was discovered in late 1982, when a landfill
north of the Broderick site detected pentachloropheno! in one of its
monitoring wells. The discovery was reported to the State of Colorado,
which notified the EPA; the EPA informed Broderick in early 1983.
Tr. Vol. III at 475-77; Vol. VI at 985-86. At that point, the source of
the pentachlorophenol was unknown; it may have Originated from
Broderick, from another wood treatment plant immediately east of the
Broderick plant, or from the landfill. Tr. Vol. III at 476-77: Vol. VI at
986-87.

The Broderick trustees immediately commissioned a hydrogeo-
logic study, which involved the drilling of multiple groundwater wells.
By mid-1983 the study concluded that chemicals leaking out of one or
more of the Broderick ponds had seeped through the soils and entered
groundwater. Tr. Vol. III at 478-83: Vol. VI at 986-87. Subsequent
investigation showed that chemicals had been entering the groundwater
during each of the years when liability insurance had been purchased

‘Beneath the ponds was a natural clay layer. Clay is a com-
mon liner material, Tr. Vol. VIII at 1300. and is part of today’s
EPA standard, Tr. Vol. V at 741. In the context of Broderick’s
effort to build ponds to contain the wastes, the clay layer was
considered part of the containment System. This was not an in-
stance of wanton dumping of waste onto the ground, which is
the type of activity the pollution exclusion was intended to
exclude.

from Hartford, 1976-1984, which was an undisputed fact at trial. Tr.
Vol. V at 735-37; Vol. VI at 889.

The plant process area was not discovered as a source of con-
tamination until 1989. The plant source was caused by leakage from
underground pipes and valves, from tanks, pumps, and other machinery
(collectively, the "plant equipment"), and from above-ground drip tracks
used to dry treated wood. Tr. Vol. V at 736-39. Undisputed expert
testimony was that approximately 30 percent of the groundwater con-
tamination could be attributed to ‘eakage from the plant process area
Id. at 755-566. The jury found that the groundwater contamination
from the ponds and from the plant area constituted one occurrence.
Verdict, $1 at 1.’

B. Procedural Background.

l. Pretrial proceedings. In February, 1986, the Environ-
mental Protection Agency ("EPA") sued Broderick Investment Company
and the two trustees of the Broderick Wood Products’ trusts. seeking
recovery of the environmental response costs that had been and would
be incurred in cleaning up the facility. Shortly thereafter, United States
Fidelity & Guaranty Company, the insurer of one of the trustees of the
Broderick trusts, filed this diversity suit pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A.

§ 1332(a)(1) (West Supp. 1992) against Broderick, the trustees.
Hartford, and other insurers for the trustees, seeking a declaration of the
parties’ rights and obligations. Before trial, Broderick settled with all of

"The court of appeals erred in Stating that “the jury verdict
form focused only on the seepage of the toxic chemicals from
the holding ponds into the groundwater." Pet. App. at 10a
The first question on the verdict form expressly directed the jury
to consider the plant source of contamination in determining
whether there had been one or two occurrences. Verdict. € |:
see also id. ¢ 2(A) through (1)(directing jury to answer as to
“plant, ponds or both"). The other questions did not specify a
source of groundwater contamination, thereby leaving the jury
free to consider both the ponds and the plant process area. See
id. § 2 (A) through (1) (asking the jury to make findings con-
cerning “damage to the groundwater or offsite properties" and to
‘the release or escape of the chemicals into the ground water.")

5

a

designating Broderick the plaintiff and assigning to Broderick the burden
of proving coverage.

Before trial, the district court interpreted in accordance with
Colorado law two key provisions of the CGL policies, the occurrence
definition and the pollution exclusion clause. The district court’s
interpretation of the occurrence definition and the jury’s finding of an
occurrence were affirmed by the court of appeals, Pet. App. at 9a. and
are not at issue here.

2 District court rulings. The “pollution exclusion” clause
excludes the following:

property damage arising out of the discharge, dispersal,
release or escape of smoke. vapors, soot, fumes, acids.
alkalies, toxic chemicals. liquids or gases, waste
materials or other irritants. contaminants or pollutants
into or upon land, the atmosphere, or any water course
or body of water; but this exclusion does not apply if
such discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden
and accidental.

In essence, the clause excludes coverage for a “discharge. dispersal,
release or escape" of poliutants "into or upon land ... or any water
course or body of water" and preserves coverage if "such discharge,
dispersal, release or escape is sudden and accidental."

The district court recognized that as to the containment ponds,
there were two events to which the phrase ‘discharge, dispersal. release
Or escape” could apply: (1) the initial placement of wastes in the ponds.
Or (2) the seepage of wastes out of the ponds into the groundwater. Pet
App. at 34a-36a. Consistent with well-established principles of
insurance law, both generally and in Colorado, the district court chose
the interpretation that favored coverage and held that the operative
“discharge, dispersal, release or escape” was the seepage from the ponds
into the groundwater. Id. The district court also predicted that the
Colorado Supreme Court would interpret the phrase "sudden and acci-
dental", in the exception to the exclusion, to mean "unexpected and
unintended". Id. at 34a-35a.

The jury was instructed accordingly and was asked. inter alia,
for each of the years Hartford insurance was in effect (1976 - 1984),
whether the discharge, dispersal, release or escape of chemicals into the
groundwater was unexpected and unintended by Broderick. The jury
decided this question in favor of Broderick for years 1976 through 1983,
and the district court entered judgment accordingly. Hartford neither
renewed its motion for directed verdict at the close of the evidence nor
filed a motion for judgment n.o.v

3 Tenth Circuit proceedings. On appeal, Hartford argued
that the district court's interpretation of the pollution exclusion clause
was erroneous. After oral argument, the Tenth Circuit attempted to
certify to the Colorado Supreme Court the interpretation of the phrases
“discharge, dispersal, release or escape" and “arising out of" as used in
the pollution exclusion clause. Pet. App. at 20a-27a. The Colorado
Supreme Court denied the request. Id. at 28a.

In the Certification Order, the court of appeals had expressly
recognized that the phrase “discharge, dispersal, release or escape’
could reasonably apply to either (1) the placement of wastes in the
ponds, or (2) the seepage of wastes out of the ponds into the ground-
water. Pet. App. at 23a, 25a-26a. By the time this Order was issued.
the Colorado Supreme Court had confirmed the district court’s
Prediction that “sudden and accidental" meant "unexpected and
unintended." See Hecla Min. Co. v. New Hampshire Ins Co.. 81]
P.2d 1083, 1090-92 (Colo. 1991) Accordingly, the choice of the initia!
placement would mean that there was no coverage because that
placement was not “unexpected and unintended": choice of the seepage
would confirm coverage because the jury had found that the seepage was
unexpected and unintended. Under this analysis, controlling Colorado
principles of insurance law required affirmance: if there are two
reasonable interpretations of a clause, a court must adopt the
interpretation that provides coverage. Chacon v. American Family Ins
Co.. 788 P.2d 748, 750 (Colo. 1990); Hecia. 811 P.2d at 1090

Yet in its final decision, the Tenth Circuit abandoned this
analysis. It addressed only the pond source. not the plant source. of
groundwater contamination. The panel reasoned that because the phrase
“discharge, dispersal, release or escape" was in the disjunctive. "the
exclusion is triggered if even one of the four words unambiguously
describes [Broderick’s] placement of waste into the ponds.” Pet. App

at lla. The panel then concluded that “applying any reasonable inter-
pretation, the phrase ‘discharge into or upon the land’

describes [the] placement of waste into the ponds." Id. The panel
rejected Broderick’s argument that “discharge” means “to let go",
“Telease from confinement", or "to give outlet to", none of which fits
the placement of wastes in ponds built to confine. contain, and store the
waste. Id

Applying Colorado case law interpreting “arising out of” in automo
bile insurance policies, the panel ruled that the phrase embodies a “but
lor” analysis and concluded that the "contamination of the groundwater
could not have occurred but for [Broderick’s] discharge into the holding
ponds.” Id. at 12a-13a. Because the deposit of wastes into the ponds
was not sudden or accidental, the panel held that Broderick’s claim for
coverage was barred by the pollution exclusion clause. Id. at 13a. The
panel reversed and remanded with directions to enter tudgment for
Hartford. Id

4 Order on rehearing. In its petition for rehearing,
Broderick argued that the court of appeals had no power to direct entry
of judgment for ..* «ford, because Hartford had not renewed its motion .
for directed verdict and had not filed a motion for judgment n.o.v
Broderick also argued that even under the court of appeals interpretation
of the exclusion, the record supported the finding of coverage for
contamination arising trom the main pond and the plant equipment

As to the main pond, Broderick asserted that the panel had
erroneously assessed the sufficiency of the evidence and mistakenly
concluded that the pond was not lined with cement. Because the panel
was required to accept the evidence of cement as true. Broderick
argued, the deposit of wastes into the main pond, even if characterized
as a discharge, dispersal, release. or escape,” was into or upon cement
not land, rendering the pollution exclusion clause inapplicable to that
event

As to the plant equipment, Broderick noted that the placement of
chemicals in pipes and machinery in the course of operations also could
not be characterized as a “discharge, dispersal, release or escape” "into
or upon land." Thus, the pollution exclusion clause was inapplicable to
that event as well

Noting that the court of appeals could affirm on any ground sup-
ported in the record, Broderick argued that, at a minimum, the court
should affirm the finding of coverage as to the main pond and the plant
equipment. Broderick also challenged the panel's interpretation of the
pollution exclusion clause, asserting that the pane! had not adhered to
Colorado law concerning interpretation of exclusions and had thereby
violated Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1937) Broderick re-

quested in the alternative that the court of appeals renew its request to
the Colorado Supreme Court for certification

The panel granted rehearing in part and denied it in part. The
panel clarified its holding concerning the main pond and “reempha-
size[d] that [the court] adopted all of [Broderick’s] characterizations of
the evidence as true.” Pet. App. at 16a. This statement required the
conclusion that the main pond was lined with cement and was not
“land”, thereby rendering the phrase “discharge, dispersal, release or
escape’ inapplicable to the initial placement of wastes in the ponds
Nonetheless, the panel! held that Broderick had “discharged waste into
the land and is not entitled to coverage for any damage that emanated
trom its discharge of waste into the main pond or any of the other
ponds.” Jd.

Turning to the plant equipment, the panel held that the jury had
been incorrectly instructed regarding the pollution exclusion. Id. The
cour vacated its earlier direction to the district court to enter judgment
for Hartford, and remanded for a new trial "to determine whether cover-
age exists for the contamination caused by waste that emanated from the
‘plant equipment’ and for further proceedings consistent with this
opinion.” Id. The court denied all other aspects of the petition for
‘ehearing. Id. at 17a

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Petitioners are aware that 'state-law determinations by the coun
Of appeals will rarely constitute an appropriate subject of this Coun
review.” Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S 306, 314 n.8 (1983) However
the features of this case make it one of the exceptional! cases to whict

Haring refers

First. the decision resolved an issue of tremendous national sig
nificance. the scope and meaning of the pollution exclusion clause ir

a ay

the standard CGL policy. The clause is the Subject of scores of cases all
over the country, a byproduct of the federal environmental laws that im-
pose widespread liability for the cost of cleaning up environmental
damage. Although numerous cases have been brought, this case is one
ot the very few in which a full factual record has been developed and,
even more uniquely, in which a jury has found that the insured neither
intended nor expected the environmental! damage. The complete factual
record will facilitate this Court’s resolution of the significant legal issues
in an area in which lower courts throughout the nation are greatly in
need of guidance

Second, although the meaning of the pollution exclusion is gov-
erned by state law, "the same contract language is at issue in nearly all
insurance litigation pertaining to the years 1971 to 1986." Pet. App. at
3a (emphasis added). Yet that language has been interpreted in diamet-
rically opposite ways by the Third and Tenth Circuits, as well as by
tederal district courts -- differences that cannot be attributed to dif-
ferences in state laws because the applicable contract interpretation
Principles do not vary significantly from state to state. Some insureds
therefore may have coverage and others may not, due solely to the
accident -- or fortuity -- of the federal district or circuit in which the site
's located and either party’s decision to seek a federal forum

These considerations make the Tenth Circuit's failure to adhere
to Erie exceptionally significant and therefore worthy of this Court's
review. The sheer magnitude of environmental contamination and the
Staggering cost of remediation give both insureds and insurers an irre-
sistible incentive to shop for the most favorable forum available. Be-
Cause diversity jurisdiction can often be established, Erie serves as the
only protection against making federal courts unwitting players in such a
strategy. Absent strict compliance with Erie, the coverage decision
could well be different depending on whether the case is brought in state
or federal court

The court of appeals decision also violated a principle of federal
Procedural law. Under this Court's longstanding precedent, rooted in
the Seventh Amendment, the federal appellate courts have no power to
direct the entry of judgment for the loser of a jury verdict, in the
absence of a renewed motion for directed verdict at the close of the
evidence and a timely-filed motion for judgment n.o.v. The Tenth Cir-
Cuit's decision directing entry of judgment for Hartford on the issue of

10

coverage for groundwater contamination arising from the retaining
ponds directly conflicts with this rule. At a minimum, the Court should
grant certiorari, reverse the court of appeals decision summarily, and
remand for reconsideration in light of the Court's precedent

ARGUMENT

I. The Court Of Appeals Violated Erie By
Truncating The Analysis Required By Colorado Law.

The Tenth Circuit's interpretation of the pollution
exclusion violated the court's duty to apply state law. Erie R. Co. v
Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938): U.S. Const. amend. X: 28 U.S.C.A
§ 1652 (1966). Here, that duty required the Tenth Circuit, before
denying coverage on the basis of the pollution exclusion, to ask whether
Hartford had shown that (1) the exclusion applied and (2) the exclusion
was not subject to any other reasonable interpretation. Hecla Min.

Co. v. New Hampshire Ins_Co., 811 P.2d 1083, 1090 (Colo. 1991):
American Family Mut. Ins. Co. v. Johnson, 816 P.2d 952, 953 (Colo.
1991). The Tenth Circuit, however, conducted only the first of these
inquiries: it held that Broderick’s placement of waste in the containment
ponds constituted a "discharge ... into or upon the land," for which
there was no coverage. Pet. App. at lla. Assuming for the sake of
argument that this was a reasonable interpretation, it was only the
beginning of the controlling analysis. The Tenth Circuit's failure even
to address, much less to resolve, the second component led to a decision
that conflicts in principle with a decision of the Coldrado Supreme
Court, as well as with decisions of other courts, including the Third Cir-
cult. See infra at 11-13. These conflicts surely encourage the forum
shopping that Erie was intended to prevent and therefore warrant this
Court's review

2 The case also permits the Court to clarify that de novo
review under Salve Regina College v. Russell, 11! S.Ct. 1217 (1991).
leaves ample room for the state rule of decision to inform the appellate
court's inquiry. Here. the substantive issue before the Tenth Circuit
was not whether the district court's interpretation of the pollution
exclusion was correct in the abstract, but rather, whether the district
court had correctly found that the pollution exclusion was subject to
more than one reasonable interpretation. Hecla, 811 P.2d at 1090.
Johnson, 816 P.2d at 953. If so, then the interpretation favoring cover-

age was proper as a matter of law, without regard to whether the court
of appeals would have chosen that interpretation had the court of appeals
decided the issue in the first instance.

3. Had the Tenth Circuit undertaken the second Step for
analyzing the applicability of an exclusion, the court would have found
abundant evidence of both the existence and the reasonableness of
another interpretation.

a. Decisions Of Other Courts. The decisions of
other courts, most notably the Colorado Supreme Court and the Third
Circuit, confirm that Broderick’s interpretation is reasonable. In Hecla,
the Colorado Supreme Court addressed other issues arising under the
pollution exclusion clause, i.e., the duty to defend and the meaning of
the phrase "sudden and accidental" in the pollution exclusion clause.
Yet the court’s analysis plainly focused not on the initial placement of
wastes in the Yak Tunnel -- an unlined, manmade, underground tunnel
that was as much the “land” as the unlined Broderick secondary pond,
see 81] P.2d at 1085 n.2 -- but rather. on the unexpected and unin-
tended release of wastes from the tunnel into the California Gulch. Id.
at 1092. Hence, the Tenth Circuit’s holding conflicts in principle with
Hecla’s focus: had the Colorado Supreme Court adopted the Tenth Cir-
Cuit’s view, coverage would have been denied because the initial
deposits of wastes in the tunnel were neither sudden nor accidental. At
a minimum, Hecla’s focus on the secondary "discharge, dispersal,
release or escape" certainly confirms the reasonableness of Broderick’s
interpretation.

In New Castle County v_ Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co..
933 F.2d 1162 (3d Cir. 1991) (Delaware law). the Third Circuit focused
its analysis of the pollution exclusion clause on the "discharge, dis-
persal, release or escape" of pollutants from the landfill. Id. at 1169,
1199-1203. If this was not a reasonable interpretation, then the Third
Circuit's exhaustive opinion was wholly unnecessary -- coverage would
have been denied at the outset because the initial disposal of wastes in
the landfill was both expected and intended. See also Claussen v. Aetna
Cas. & Sur. Co., 865 F.2d 1217, 1220 (11th Cir. 1989)(in certifying to
Georgia Supreme Court the interpretation of "sudden and accidental" in
the exception to the pollution exclusion, Eleventh Circuit asked whether
there was coverage "for the discharge of pollutants from a landfill over
an extended period of time" )(emphasis added).

no

Although the Tenth Circuit's conflict with New Castle is not an
intercircuit conflict concerning either federal law or the law of a single
State, the conflict is nonetheless significant. Conflicting decisions of
federal circuit courts concerning the meaning of identical policy
language under uniform state law principles of interpretation Surely
encourages the forum shopping that Erie was designed to prevent

In addition, the very fact that the circuit courts decided the issue
differently -- not the correctness of either view -- is highly significant
under Colorado law and demonstrates the Tenth Circuit's error in this
case. See Hecla, 811 P.2d at 1092 n.13 (conflicting judicial authority
“dispels the ... contention that the exclusionary language is clear’")
(quoting Just v. Land Reclamation, Ltd., 155 Wis.2d 737, 456 N.W.2d
570, 578 (1990)). This principle may well explain the Colorado
Supreme Court's decision to deny the panel's certification request. In
the Certification Order, the panel itself confirmed that there is another
reasonable interpretation of the clause. See Pet. App. at 25a-26a (noting
that "discharge" could reasonably be read to mean "a final relinquish-
ment of wastes” and that record "adequately supports the Jury's implicit
finding" that Broderick viewed its activities as “storage”, not as a final
relinquishment of wastes). The Colorado Supreme Court may have con-
cluded that certification was unnecessary because Hecla provided the
panel with ample guidance once the panel recognized the reasonableness -
of the interpretation that leads to a finding of coverage. See Hecla,

811 P.2d at 1090.°

See also Sylvester Bros. Dev. Co. v. Great Cent. Ins. Co .

480 N.W'.2d 368, 373-74 (Minn. App. 1992) (seepage of wastes from a
landfill, not the initial deposit of wastes in a landfill. triggered the pollu-
tion exclusion clause); Pepper's Steel & Alloys, Inc. v. United States
Fidelity & Guar. Co., 668 F. Supp. 1541, 1549 (S.D. Fla. 1987)(insur-
er had duty to defend because even though insured intentionally caused

the dumping of oil, insured did not expect or intend the release of PCBs

‘The panel rejected Broderick’s request, made in the petition
for rehearing, to renew the certification request. Pet. App. at
17a. Thus, this Court is the court of last resort for Broderick --
the insured who did not select the federal forum -- to obtain a
ruling enforcing the pollution exclusion clause in accordance
with the controlling law.

13

er

from the oil into the aquifer); National Grange Mut. Ins. Co. v. Con-
tinental Cas. Ins. Co., 650 F. Supp. 1404, 1410-12 (S.D.N_Y. 1986)(in-
surer had duty to defend insured who had intentionally dumped ash on
site because subsequent release of chemicals into environment was
sudden and accidental).

b. Language Of The Clause. Broderick’s
interpretation finds ample support in the language of the pollution exclu
sion. While the panel limited its analysis to the words "discharge ...
into or upon land," the clause is not so limited. It refers to “discharge,
dispersal, release or escape of ... pollutants into or upon land, the
atmosphere, or any water course or body of water." When the full text
is considered, the clause can reasonably be read to refer to the seepage
of wastes from the ponds through the subsoil and into the groundwater.

The clause refers to a "discharge, dispersal, release or escape"
“Into or upon land ... or any body of water or water course." (Empha-
sis added.) The issue in this case is coverage for damage to ground-
water, not damage to land.* Thus, it is certainly reasonable to focus
the inquiry on the discharge into the groundwater, which is a "body of
water or water course."

In addition, the fact that "discharge" is used with "dispersal,
release or escape" makes reasonable the conclusion that "discharge" was
used in the sense that the other words convey, Le., a letting go, freeing
or releasing from confinement or storage, not a placement into confine-
ment or storage. See Webster's Third New International Dictionary
644, 653, 1917, 774 (1971)(defining "discharge", “dispersal”, "release",
and “escape”, respectively). See also Sylvester Bros.. 480 N.W.2d at
374. Accord Pet. App. at 25a-26a. For instance, in common parlance,
we refer to a "discharge" from military service. Similarly, under the
Clean Water Act, there is no "discharge of a pollutant" unless and unti!
the pollutant is released "from ... a point source" into a “water of the
United States." 33 U.S.C.A. § 1362(12)(1986)(emphasis added).

“The policy contains a separate exclusion, the "owned
Property” exclusion, which prevents recovery for damages to the
insured’s land, except where clean-up of the land is essential to
the clean-up of the groundwater. See Pet. App. at 34a.

14

The panel reasoned that if any one of the words "discharge. dis-
persal, release or escape’ leads to a finding of no coverage, then there
Is no coverage. Pet. App. at lla. However, Colorado law requires the
insurer to prove that its interpretation is the only reasonable one. See
Hecla, 811 P.2d at 1090; Johnson, 816 P.2d at 953. Thus. if any one
of the terms "discharge, dispersal, release or escape" results in cover-
age, then coverage should be found, even if one of the other terms
might lead to a finding of no coverage. “Release” and "escape" and
even dispersal” can be read to refer to the seepage of wastes from the
ponds. See, e.g., Pet. App. at 25a-26a; Webster's Third New Inter-
national Dictionary at 1917, 774, 653. Because the jury found that the
leakage of wastes was unexpected and unintended, these words lead to a
finding of coverage, and Hartford's interpretation is not the only
reasonable one.

$ Purpose Of Liability Insurance. Broderick’s in-
terpretation 1s most consistent with the basic purpose of the CGL policy
at Issue, further confirming its reasonableness. Liability insurance
Protects the insured against liability for injury to the person or property
of another. Thus, the policy should be construed by reference to the
third-party injury or damage that triggers the claim for coverage.

Here, the placement of wastes in the ponds did not cause an\
third-party damage or create any liability for Broderick. If the ponds
had worked as intended, they would have contained the wastes and pre-
vented any third-party damage. Only the failure of the ponds, an“ the
seepage of wastes from the ponds through the subsoil and into the
groundwater created liability and triggered the policy. See Sylvester
Bros., 480 N.W.2d at 373-74. By focusing on that event. Broderick’s
interpretation gives the exclusion meaning in the context in which it was
intended to apply. The panel's interpretation, by contrast. excludes
pollution before it even occurs -- surely an untenable result

aa The court of appeals erred in stating that Broderick’s
interpretation “attempts to graft an intent requirement related to damages
onto the unambiguous language of the policy's exclusion clause.” Pet
App. at 12a. The court's confusion relates to the distinction between
the insured’s intent to cause damage (which is pertinent to the threshold
requirement of an “occurrence” to trigger coverage) and the insured’s
State of mind concerning the “discharge. dispersal. release. or escape
(which is pertinent to the "sudden and accidental" exception to the pollu-

15

tion exclusion). Here, the jury was asked both whether Broderick
expected or intended the property damage and whether the release or
escape of pollutants was sudden and accidental (correctly defined by the
instructions as unexpected and unintended, see Hecla, 811 P.2d at
1092). Verdict, 4 1,2. The first question related to whether there had
been an occurrence. See Pet. App. at 7a-9a. The second question
related to application of the pollution exclusion clause. Broderick’s
argument rested on the jury's answer to the second question, not to the
Tirst.

Broderick’s intent with respect to the exit of wastes from the
ponds or plant equipment -- the "discharge, dispersal, release or
escape” -- was an issue separate and distinct from Broderick’s intent
with respect to the subsequent groundwater contamination -- the
“damage.” For example, an insured who knows his ponds are leaking
or who discharges directly into a stream, but honestly believes the
wastes are harmless, would establish an "occurrence" (did not expect
damage) tut not coverage (discharge was expected or intended, not
“sudden and accidental"). That was not this case or Broderick’s argu-
ment. In relying on the jury’s finding that the "release or escape of the
chemicals into the ground water" was unexpected and unintended. Ver-
dict { 2A(ii), Broderick was addressing the issue as it related to the
discharge and was not “attemp|ting] to graft an intent requirement
related to damages" onto the pollution exclusion. Pet. App. at 12a
(emphasis in original).*

*Broderick’s expectations and intent concerning, in the
panel's words, the "second discharge" or the “subsequent release
or escape”, Pet. App. at 12a, are pertinent to applying the
everyday meaning of “discharge, dispersal, release or escape. "
The jury's finding that the release or escape into the ground-
water was sudden and accidental shows that the ponds were used
to contain the wastes, supporting the conclusion that the place-
ment of wastes in the ponds was not a "discharge, dispersal,
release or escape" in the first place. See Sylvester Bros..

480 N.W.2d at 373.

16

Il. The Court Of Appeals Had No Power
To Direct Entry Of Judgment For
Hartford As To Coverage For The Ponds.

The Tenth Circuit's choice of remedy plainly warrants this
Court’s review. The panel’s direction of entry of judgment for Hartford
on the issue of coverage for the containment ponds conflicts directly
with this Court’s precedent, and with that of the circuit courts.

l. The Seventh Amendment bars federal courts from re-
examining facts found by a jury except as permitted at common law.
U.S. Const. amend. VII. The procedure for seeking judgment n.o.v.,
codified in Rule 50(b), Fed.R.Civ.P., is constitutional because it is
consistent with the procedures established at common law. Montgomery
Ward & Co. v. Duncan, 311 U.S. 243, 250 (1940). See also Balti-
more & Carolina Line, Inc. v. Redman, 295 U.S. 654, 657-61 (1935):
Slocum v. New York Life Ins_Co., 228 U.S. 364, 377-400 (1913).
Those procedures require a party who seeks to overturn a jury verdict to
renew its motion for directed verdict at the close of all the evidence and
to file a timely motion for judgment n.o.v.° Absent these motions.
federal appellate courts have no power to direct the entry of judgment
for the party that loses a jury verdict. Bogk v. Gassert, 149 U.S. 17.
23 (1893); Alston v. Bowins, 733 F.2d 161, 163-64 (D.C. Cir.
1984)(renewal of motion for directed verdict). Cone v. West Virginia
Pulp & Paper Co., 330 U.S. 212, 217-18 (1947): Globe Liquor Co. \
San Roman, 332 U.S. 571, 573-74 (1948): Johnson v. New York, N.H
& H.R. Co., 344 U.S. 48, 54 (1952); Home Ins. Co. of New York \
Davila, 212 F.2d 731, 733 (1st Cir. 1954)(judgment n.o.v.)

Rule 50, Fed.R.Civ.P., was amended effective Decem-
ber 1, 1991. The amendment deleted references to a motion for
directed verdict and motion for judgment n.o.v., and adopted
instead the phrase "motion for judgment as a matter of law.”
Fed.R.Civ.P. 50 (effective Dec. 1, 1991). The amendment did
not alter the conceptual underpinnings of former Rule 50(b). in
part to avoid any Seventh Amendment issue. Fed.R.Civ.P. 50
advisory committee's note, 1991 amendment, Subdivision (b).
Because this case was tried in 1989, the terms "motion for
directed verdict" and "motion for judgment n.o.v." then found
in Rule 50(b) are applicable.

17

2. The court of appeals decision on rehearing concerning
the main pond was a wholly impermissible attempt to sidestep these
restrictions On its remedial powers. Apparently recognizing that it had
no power to assess the sufficiency of the evidence concerning the cement
lining in the main pond, the panel stated that it had not done so and that
it had accepted the evidence as true. Pet. App. at 16a. The panel then
held, without explanation, that "as a matter of law ---... when
[Broderick] placed waste into the main pond, it discharged waste ‘into
or upon the land.’" Pet. App. at 16a.

The court’s attempt to convert a factual issue (cement lining)
into a legal one (interpretation of the exclusion) does not withstand
scrutiny. If the court of appeals had accepted as true the evidence that
the main pond was lined with cement, then as a matter of fact. the
wastes were deposited "upon cement," not "upon land." This analysis
would lead, as Broderick argued in its petition for rehearing, to
affirmance, not reversal, of the verdict as to the main pond.’

Even if the panel was not persuaded that Broderick was entitled
to affirmance, the most that Hartford could receive was a new trial; the
panel had no power to direct entry of judgment for Hartford. Globe
Liquor, 332 U.S. at 574; Johnson, 344 U.S. at 54. Accord Fortier v.
Dona Anna Plaza Partners, 747 F.2d 1324, 1334 (10th Cir. 1984).

In sum, at a minimum, this Court should grant certiorari, re-
verse summarily the court of appeals direction of entry of judgment as
to the ponds, and remand with directions that the new trial should
include the issue of the application of the pollution exclusion to the
containment ponds.

In the petition for rehearing, Broderick noted that the court
had the power to affirm on any ground supported in the record
and argued that even if the panel's interpretation of the exclusion
were not changed, the panel should affirm the finding of cover-
age as to the main pond and the plant equipment. Although the
Tenth Circuit may not have been persuaded, that fact did not ex-
pand its remedial powers -- the most that it could grant Hartford
was a new trial; it could not direct entry of judgment in
Hartford’s favor.

18

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted

” Counsel of Record

July 10, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

Brooke Jackson®
Elizabeth A. Phelan

HOLLAND & HART
Suite 2900

555 17th Street

Post Office Box 8749
Denver, CO 80201-8749
Telephone: (303) 295-8000

Counsel for Petitioners

Broderick Investment Company,
The Colorado National Bank of
Denver, as trustee, and The First
Interstate Bank of Denver, N.A..
as trustee

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1992

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY. a partnership and
Successor to Broderick Wood Products. Inc.:
THE COLORADO NATIONAL BANK OF DENVER
as trustee; and THE FIRST INTERSTATE BANK
OF DENVER, N.A.., as trustee.

Petitioners

THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY
Respondent

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Brooke Jackson
Counsel of Record
Elizabeth A. Phelan

HOLLAND & HART
Suite 2900

555 17th Street

Post Office Box 8749
Denver. CO 80201-8749
Telephone: (303) 295-8000

Counsel for Petitioners

July 10, 1992

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Of The Tenth Circuit

A

Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,

January 8, 1992 (954 F.2d 601 (10th

- SS GAPS eee

Order on Rehearing by the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,
April 15, 1992 (954 F.2d 601 (10th Cir.
a

Judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,
he

Pertinent Orders And Rulings By The Courts Below

A.

Certification of Question of State

Law by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,

os Ga eee

Order of Court by the Colorado Supreme
Court, September 12, 1991 .........

Oral Ruling by the United States District
Court for the District of Colorado,
October 4, 1989 ...............-.

Constitutional, Statutory And Rule Provisions Involved

RE Ee ee:

ee ee ee ee

0 ee

Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(b) (1989) .........-.----:-

la

14a

18a

20a

31a

37a

37a

37a

38a

la

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY, _ )
a partnership and successor )
to Broderick Wood Products, )
Inc.; THE COLORADO NATIONAL )
BANK OF DENVER as trustee; )
and THE FIRST INTERSTATE )
BANK OF DENVER, N.A., as )
trustee, )
)
Plaintiffs-Appellees, )
)
v. )
) No. 90-1112

)

)

)

THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT &
INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO
(D.C. No. 86-Z-1033)

[Filed January 8, 1992]

Thomas L. Roberts (Susan T. Smith and Joanne M. Zboyan, of Pryor,
Carney & Johnson, P.C., Englewood, Colorado, with him on the
briefs), of Pryor, Carney & Johnson, P.C., Englewood, Colorado, for
the Defendant-Appelliant.

Brooke Jackson (Camron R. Kuelthau, of Holland & Hart, Denver,
Colorado, and Elizabeth A. Phelan, Dubofsky & Phelan, Boulder,
Colorado, with him on the briefs), of Holland & Hart, Denver,
Colorado, for the Plaintiffs-Appellees

Thomas W. Brunner, James M. Johnstone, and Daniel E. 1 roy, of
Wiley, Rein & Fielding, Washington, D.C., on the brief for Insurance
Environmental Litigation Association, amicus curiae

Gale A. Norton, Attorney General; Raymond T. Slaughter, Chief
Deputy Attorney General; Timothy M. Tymkovich, Solicitor General;
Patricia S. Bangert, Deputy Attorney General; Daniel S. Miller, First
Assistant Attorney General; and Charlotte Robinson, Assistant Attorney
General, Natural Resources Section, on the brief for the State of
Colorado, amicus curiae

William H. Allen and William F Greaney, of Covington & Burling,
Washington, D.C., on the brief for The American Fiber Manufacturers
Associauion, The American Petroleum Institute, The Chemical Manu-
facturers Association, The Cojorado Mining Association, Allied-Signal,
Inc., International Business Machines Corporation, and Olin
Corporation, amici curiae

Before TACHA and SETH, Circuit Judges, and BRATTON, District

Judge

TACHA, Circuit Judge

’ The Honorable Howard C. Bratton, Senior District Judge for the
United States District Court for the District of New Mexico, sitting by
designation

————————

3a

I. Introduction

This diversity action presents several questions concerning the
availability of coverage under the Comprehensive General Liability
(CGL) insurance policy for environmental response costs sought by the
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) pursuant to the Resource
Conservation Recovery Act (RCRA), 42 U.S.C. § 6901 et seg., and the
Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability
Act (CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seg.'

On appeal, appellants challenge the district court’s legal rulings
on the following issues: (1) the interpretation of the term “occurrence”
in the CGL policy; (2) the interpretation of the phrase "sudden and acci-
dental” in the pollution exclusion clause; (3) the applicability of the
pollution exclusion; (4) the interpretation of the term “damages”; (5) the
interpretation of the "owned property” exclusion; and (6) the award of
attorneys’ fees in favor of the insured.

We review the district court’s rulings on these questions of
Colorado contract and insurance law de novo. Salve Regina College v.
Russell, 111 S. Ct. 1217, 1221 (1991). We must interpret the insurance
contract as a Colorado court would. See Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304
U.S. 64 (1937).

II]. Factual Background

Broderick Wood Products, Inc. (BWP) was formed in 1946. Its
founder, William Broderick, placed the stock in trusts administered by
the Colorado National Bank of Denver and what is now the First Inter-
state Bank of Denver (collectively, the trustees). The company ceased
operations in 198] and was dissolved in 1982. Broderick Investment
Company (BIC), a limited partnership whose general partners are the
two bank trustees, succeeded to the company’s rights and obligations.

Between 1971 and 1986, virtually all insurance companies issued
an identical standard-form CGL insurance contract produced by the
National Bureau of Casualty Underwriters and the Mutual Insurance
Rating Bureau. Thus, the same contract language is at issue in nearly
all insurance litigation pertaining to the years 197! to 1986

4a

BWP’s business involved pressure-treating wood products such
as telephone poles and railroad ties with either creosote or penta-
chlorophenol; steam-cleaning the impregnated wood; and disposing of
the residue chemicals, oils, and water. BWP disposed of these waste
materials into what today would be considered unlined pits located on
the plant property. The waste materials were ninety-eight percent water,
which was expected to evaporate and leave a sludge on the pit bottom.

By mid-1983, it was conclusively determined that contaminants
from the pits were seeping into the soil and groundwater. The BWP
facility was eventually added to the National Priorities List of hazardous
waste sites under CERCLA. 49 Fed. Reg. 37070, 37085 (Sept. 21,
1984).

In April 1985, the EPA threatened to file a lawsuit against BIC
and the trustees under CERCLA and RCRA unless the parties could
agree to a consent decree. After several months of negotiations, the
EPA and BIC agreed to a partial consent decree whereby BIC would
pay for a study to investigate the contamination and possible solutions.
On February 28, 1986, the EPA filed suit against BIC and the trustees,
seeking recovery of environmental response costs incurred and to be
incurred in association with the cleanup of the BWP facility.’

CERCLA identifies the owner or operator of a facility as a party
potentially responsible for environmental response Costs associated with
the cleanup of that facility. 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(1). A facility's prior
Owner or Operator may also be held liable if hazardous substances were
disposed at the facility during that person's ownership or operation of
the facility. 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(2). The EPA therefore sought recov-
ery from BIC because it was both the current owner of the BWP facill-
ty and also the corporate successor to the facility’s prior owner, BWP.
See United States v. Carolina Transformer Co., Inc., 739 F. Supp
1030, 1039 (E.D.N.C. 1989) (successor corporation liable under
CERCLA if "substantial continuity" test satisfied).

CERCLA does not clearly define who may qualify as an owner
Or operator of a facility. See 42 U.S.C. § 9601(20)(A) (definition of
“owner or operator"). Courts have held that a derson who is directly
(continued...) -

eee

Sa

On June 6, 1986, one of the trustees’ general liability carriers,
United States Fidelity & Guaranty, filed this diversity action in the
United States District Court for the District of Colorado, seeking a
declaration that the CGL policies it had issued to the trustees provided
no coverage for response costs sought by the EPA. The named defen-
dants included BIC, the trustees, and other general liability carriers,
including Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company. Hartford provided
BWP with CGL policy coverage from 1976 until 1982 and insured BIC
from 1982 until 1984. BWP’S prior insurers were either insolvent or
unidentifiable. BIC cross-claimed against Hartford for coverage. Hart-
ford counterclaimed for a declaration of no coverage and cross-claimed
against the other carriers for contribution. BIC settled with the trustees’
insurers prior to trial. The court then realigned the parties, naming BIC
and the trustees as plaintiffs and Hartford as defendant.’

Prior to trial, the district court interpreted disputed terms of the
CGL policy after receiving briefs, argument, and short evidentiary
presentations concerning the intent of the policy drafters. The jury
instructions and special verdict form reflected these legal rulings. The
jury returned a verdict in favor of BIC based on the responses to the
questions in the special verdict form.

Following the trial, the court awarded BIC attorneys’ fees under
the policy provision stating the insurer would pay ‘reasonable expenses
incurred by the insured at the company’s request in assisting the com-
pany in the investigation or defense of any claim or suit." The court

*(...continued )

involved in the management of a facility may be liable as an owner or
operator. See, ¢.g., New York v. Shore Realty Corp., 759 F.2d 1032,
1052-53 (2d Cir. 1985). Based on this construction, the EPA sought
recovery against the trustees because they had served on BWP’s board
of directors, continually monitored BWP’s performance, and made or
reviewed the company’s management decisions. The issue of BIC’s
successor liability is not before us.

, For the sake of clarity, the plaintiffs-appellees shall be
collectively referred to as "BIC" throughout the remainder of this
opinion.

6a

also interpreted the 1983 policy to provide coverage of $3 million per
occurrence and the other policies to provide coverage of $1 million per
occurrence

The CGL policy provides coverage for legal liability for
damages imposed upon the insured as a result of an "occurrence." The
policy defines an occurrence as an “accident, including continuous or
repeated exposure to conditions, which results in bodily injury or
property damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of
the insured." Assuming the insured’s loss resulted from an occurrence.
the insurer may avoid paying out on the policy if the event falls within
the policy’s pollution exclusion. This provision excludes coverage for
damages “arising out of the discharge, dispersal, release or escape
of. . . pollutants into or upon land." Coverage is restored, however, if
“such discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden and accidental."

Because our decision necessarily would implicate unique matters
of Colorado law and because the Colorado Supreme Court was in the
process of addressing the CGL exclusion clause in a case before it. we
waited to decide our case until the Colorado Supreme Court announced
its decision. In Hecla Mining Co. v. New Hampshire Ins. Co.,

811 P.2d 1083 (Colo. 1991), the Colorado Supreme Court addressed the
meaning of the phrase “property damage neither expected nor intended
from the standpoint of the insured," which is part of the policy's defi-
nition of the term "occurrence." The court interpreted that phrase to
exclude only property damages that "the insured knew would flow
directly and immediately from its intentional act." Id. at 1088. The
Colorado Supreme Court then addressed the meaning of the phrase
“sudden and accidental." It construed "sudden and accidental" to mean
unexpected and unintended. Id. at 1092.

Although the Hecla decision resolved some issues before this
court, it left unresolved two critical issues that we must address --
namely, whether the placement of waste materials into containment
ponds constituted a “discharge, dispersal, release or escape" and, if so,
whether property damage could be said to arise out of this “discharge,
dispersal, release or escape." Realizing that the resolution of these
issues depended entirely on highly specific and complex matters of
contract interpretation under Colorado law, we certified the following
question to the Colorado Supreme Court:

7a

For purposes of interpreting a pollution ex-
clusion in a comprehensive general liability policy, does
the placement of industrial wastes into unlined storage
pits when the insured did not intend third party damage
to result constitute a "discharge, dispersal, release, or
escape" within the meaning of the exclusion such that
the damage can be said to “arise out of" the disposition
of wastes in the pits?

The Colorado Supreme Court refused to answer the question.

Therefore, we now must proceed to resolve these
two unique and dispositive questions of state law as we
believe the Colorado Supreme Court would. We
exercise jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and
reverse.

III. The Interpretation of the Term "Occurrence"
in the CGL Policy

Before addressing issues related to the pollution exclusion
clause, we first examine the district court’s jury instructions regarding
whether there was an “occurrence.” When reviewing a challenge to
jury instructions, "we review the record as a whole to determine
whether the instructions ‘state the law which governs and provided the
jury with an ample understanding of the issues and the standards
applicable.’" Big Horn Coal Co. v. Commonwealth Edison Co., 852
F.2d 1259, 1271 (10th Cir. 1988) (quoting Ramsey v. Culpepper, 738
F.2d 1092, 1098 (10th Cir. 1984)). The CGL policy provides coverage
for legal liability for damages imposed upon the insured as a result of an
"occurrence." The policy defines "occurrence" as an "accident,
including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, which results in
bodily injury or property damage neither expected nor intended from the
standpoint of the insured."

To determine whether BIC is entitled to coverage for response
costs, the jury was required to first determine-whether there had been an
occurrence. The district judge instructed the jury in the following
manner:

8a

In order to establish that there is no coverage under its
policies, defendant has the burden of proving by a
preponderance of the evidence that plaintiffs expected
or intended property damage, i.e. that plaintiffs
expected or intended to contaminate groundwater or
adjoining property. For purposes of this determination,
it does not matter what another person might have
expected or intended in similar circumstances. You
must decide what plaintiffs actually expected or
intended.

One cannot, however, avoid the consequences of
conduct from being expected or intended merely by
choosing to ignore that which is obvious.

Based on the evidence at trial, the jury determined that BIC did not
expect or intend the resulting contamination when it deposited the waste
materials in the pits. It concluded there had been an occurrence within
the meaning of the policy.

The instruction directing the jury to apply a subjective standard
in determining whether BIC expected or intended the contamination
resulting from its disposal practices is consistent with the Colorado
Supreme Court's recent ruling in Hecla. In Hecla, the State of
Colorado filed suit under CERCLA against Asarco, Inc., Resurrection
Mining Company, and the Res-Asarco Joint Venture for response costs
associated with damages resulting from the contamination of the
California Gulch. This contamination occurred when Asarco employees
removed shoring timbers and accumulated debris from a drainage
tunnel, causing a surge of contaminated water. Id. at 1085.

The defendants filed a third-party complaint against Hecla
Mining Company, a prior owner of a one-third interest in Resurrection.
Hecla asked its insurance carriers to provide a defense. The insurance
companies filed a declaratory judgment action and claimed they had no
duty to defend or indemnify Hecla. They contended the contamination
was a reasonably foreseeable result of the use of the drainage tunnel and
therefore was not an "occurrence" under the terms of the CGL policy.
Id. at 1087.

9a

The Colorado Supreme Court rejected this argument. The court
held that "the phrase ‘neither expected nor intended’ should be read only
to exclude those damages that the insured knew would flow directly and
immediately from its intentional act." Id. at 1088 (emphasis added)
(citing City of Johnstown y. Bankers Standard Ins. Co., 877 F.2d 1146,
1150 (2d Cir. 1989)); see also Brooklyn Law Sch. v. Aetna Casualty &
Sur, Co., 849 F.2d 788, 789 (2d Cir. 1988)). Because there was no
evidence Hecla actually knew impounding water in the drainage tunnel
would cause environmental damage, the court concluded the contamina-
tion "must be deemed an occurrence under the terms of the CGL

policies.” Id.

Based on this holding, we reject Hartford's argument that the
district court erred in instructing the jury to apply a purely subjective
standard in determining whether BIC expected or intended the contami-
nation resulting from its disposal practices. Under Colorado law,
environmental contamination constitutes an occurrence unless the
evidence proves the insured in fact knew at the time that its practices
would result in such damage. The district court properly assigned
Hartford the burden of proving BIC knew its disposal practices would
cause environmental damage. Because the district court properly
instructed the jury, we do not disturb the jurv’s determination that there
was an "occurrence."

IV. The Applicability of the Pollution Exclusion Clause

We must follow Colorado law when interpreting the CGL policy
at issue in this case. See Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64
(1937); City of Aurora v. Bechtel, 599 F.2d 382, 386 (10th Cir. 1979).
Under Colorado law, the plain language of the contract controls, and a
court cannot torture the plain language in order to create ambiguities.

Chacon v, American Family Mut. Ins. Co., 788 P.2d 748 (Colo. 1990);
Northern Ins. Co. v. Ekstrom, 784 P.2d 320, 322 (Colo. 1989). The

Colorado Supreme Court has held that "[a] provision in a policy is
ambiguous when it is reasonably susceptible to more than one meaning."
Ekstrom, 784 P.2¢ at 323. Any ambiguities in a policy must be con-
Strued against the insurer. Further, when there are two or more
reasonable interpretations of a clause, a court must adopt an inter-
pretation that provides coverage. Chacon, 788 P.2d at 750; Republic
Ins. Co. v. Jernigan, 753 P.2d 229, 232 (Colo. 1988). In summary,

10a

"[t]o benefit from an exclusionary provision in a particular cortract of
insurance the insurer must establish that the exemption claimed applies
in the particular case and that the exclusions are not subject to any other
reasonable interpretations." American Family Mut. Ins. Co. v. John-
son, 816 P.2d 952, 953 (Colo. 1991) (citing Hecla, 811 P.2d at 1090).

On appeal, we must determine whether the pollution exclusion
clause contained in the CGL policy relieves Hartford of its coverage
obligations. The exclusion provision states,

This insurance does not apply . . . to bodily injury or
property damage arising out of the discharge, dispersal,
release or escape of smoke, vapors, soot, fumes, acids,
alkalis, toxic chemicals, liquids or gases, waste
materials or other irritants, contaminants or pollutants
into or upon land, the atmosphere or any water course
or body of water; but this exclusion does not apply if
such discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden
and accidental.

On October 4, 1990, the district court ruled that the phrase "discharge,
dispersal, release or escape” applied only to the seepage of chemicals
from the holding pond into the groundwater, and not to the placement of
wastes into the holding pond. Further, the jury instructions --
immediately after quoting the language of the exclusion -- provided that
"[y]ou are instructed that the phrase ‘discharge, dispersal, release or
escape’ applies to the entry of the chemicals into the groundwater."
Finally, the jury verdict form focused only on the seepage of the toxic
chemicals from the holding ponds into the groundwater.

We must determine whether the district court committed reversi-
ble error by instructing the jury to focus on the seepage from the
holding ponds into the groundwater and by holding that the exclusion
clause found in the CGL policy did not apply to the initial discharge.

To make this determination, we must decide whether the initial place-
ment of toxic chemicals into the holding ponds constituted a "discharge,
dispersal, release or escape" into the land. Under Colorado law, we
must construe these words according to their plain and ordinary mean-
ing. “When determining the plain and ordinary meaning of words, defi-

lla

nitions in a recognized dictionary may be considered." Hecla, 811 P.2d
at 1091.

Relying on dictionary definitions, BIC contends tuat these four
words generally imply liberation or freedom from confinement or re-
straint. BIC then argues that it intended to contain the wastes in the
containment ponds, not to allow the wastes to seep into the ground-
water. Because the pollution exclusion clause utilizes the word “or” to
connect these four words, the exclusion is triggered if even one of the
four words unambiguously describes BIC’s placement of waste into the
ponds. We conclude that, applying any reasonable interpretation, the
phrase “discharge . . . into or upon the land" describes BIC’s placement
of waste into the ponds.

BIC urges that the term “discharge” may be interpreted reason-
ably to mean "to let go," “release from confinement" or “to give outlet
to."* The term "discharge" does not stand alone in the policy and must
be read in the context of the remainder of the language of the clause;
most significantly, the term "discharge" precedes the phrase "into or
upon the land." Even when we employ BIC’s definitions in place of the
word "discharge," we conclude that BIC discharged -- or "let go" or
“released from confinement" -- the waste "into or upon the land."*

4

We note that, among many possible definitions, “discharge” may
also be interpreted to mean "to send forth" or “to emit." See Compact
Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary 740-41 (1985). These two
definitions also support our interpretation of the exclusion clause.

: On appeal, BIC indirectly suggests that the phrase “into or on
the land" does not describe their disposition of waste because one of the
three containment ponds might have been lined with raw cement. As
characterized by BIC, the evidence at trial indicated the following: that
the pits were dug down to a natural clay layer; that the first pond was
lined with two inches of raw cement; that although no one could testify
with certainty that cement was placed in the bottom of the first pit,
Forrest Dean testified that "he encountered a hard, impenetrable
material on the bottom that was as hard as cement"; and that two of the
three ponds were not lined with cement. BIC admitted that the pond
(continued...)

Because the containment ponds are land. any other interpretation of the
phrase "discharge . . . into or upon the land" runs counter to common
sense, plain meaning, and ordinary usage.

BIC argues that it intended to contain the waste in the ponds and
that the subsequent release or escape that contaminated the groundwater
was not intended or expected. With this argument, BIC tries to shift the
focus to the second discharge and attempts to graft an intent requirement
related to damages onto the unambiguous language of the policy’s exclu-
sion Clause. However, whether BIC intended the waste to seep into
groundwater and cause damage after the initial discharges into the land
is not relevant. "[T]he pollution exclusion clause focuses on whether
the discharge of pollution was unexpected and unintended." Hecla, 811
P.2d at 1088 n.7 (emphasis added). We cannot torture the unambiguous
language of the exclusion provision in order to Create an intent re-
quirement that applies to the damage caused by the pollutants.

Because we conclude that BIC discharged its waste into the land.
we must decide whether the Property damage arose out of that dis-
charge. In Azar v. Employers Casualty Co., 495 P.2d 554, 555 (Colo.
1972), the Colorado Supreme Court defined "arising out of" to mean
“originate from," "grow out of” or "flow from." The Colorado
Supreme Court has stated that “[w]e see no reason to give ‘arising out
of’ a different meaning in the context of a policy exclusion." Northern
Ins. Co. v. Ekstrom, 784 P.2d 320, 323 (Colo. 1989). Whether the
phrase “arising out of" in an insurance exclusion clause bars coverage is
determined under a “but for" analysis. See Titan Constr. Co. v. Nolf,
S15 P.2d 1123, 1126 (Colo. 1973). Given the facts in this case, we
conclude that the contamination of the groundwater could not have
occurred but for BIC’s discharge into the holding ponds. Without the
discharge into the holding ponds, the resulting groundwater contamina-

*(...continued)

was unlined as measured by today’s EPA standards. In its supplemental!
brief, BIC asserted that "[t}he main pond was at best partially, and
probably entirely, lined with raw cement." Even when we view the evi-
dence in a light most favorable to BIC and adopt BIC’s characterizations
as true, we nevertheless conclude that the disposition of the waste was
"into or upon the land."

13a

tion simply would not have developed. Thus, the property damage
originated from, grew out of, and flowed from BIC’s discharge of toxic
chemicals into the holding ponds.

Under the exclusion clause, coverage is restored if the discharge
was "sudden and accidental." The Colorado Supreme Court recently
stated that the term "sudden and accidental" is ambiguous and must be
construed in favor of the insured to mean "unexpected and unintended."
See Hecla, 811 P.2d at 1092. Employing this construction, we conclude
that the record shows that the initial discharge into the ponds was not
"sudden and accidental." BIC admits that it intended to discharge the
toxic chemicals into the ponds and that such a discharge was not unex-
pected. Therefore, we conclude that the pollution exclusion clause
applies and the property damage arising out of BIC’s discharge into the
land is not covered under the unambiguous terms of the CGL policy.
This conclusion makes it unnecessary for us to reach the remainder of
Hartford's contentions on appeal.

In making this determination, we emphasize that our reasoning
and interpretation are governed by Colorado law. We can only analyze
the CGL policy as we think the Colorado Supreme Court would have
done had they accepted our certification. The parties and the amicus
curiae briefs raise extremely important policy concerns regarding the
interpretation of the CGL exclusion clause. However, under Colorado
law, we must confine our analysis of the exclusion clause to the plain
language of the contract. We conclude that the language is clear and
unambiguous.

Accordingly, we REVERSE the judgment of the district court
and REMAND to the district court with the direction that judgment be
entered in favor of Hartford.

l4a

PUBLISH
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY,
a partnership and successor

to Broderick Wood Products.

Inc.; THE COLORADO NATIONAL
BANK OF DENVER as trustee:

and THE FIRST INTERSTATE

BANK OF DENVER, N.A.. as

trustee,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
V )
) No. 90-1112
THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT & )
INDEMNITY COMPANY. )
)
)

Defendant-Appellant.

ORDER ON REHEARING

[Filed April 15, 1992)

Before TACHA and SETH, Circuit Judges, and BRATTON, District
Judge.*

. The Honorable Howard C. Bratton. Senior District Judge for the
United States District Court for the District of New Mexico, sitting by
designation.

15a

Plaintiffs-Appellees’ petition for rehearing is granted by the

panel of judges who decided this appeal on the merits. On rehearing,
we consider only the issue of whether Broderick Investment Company
(BIC) is entitled to coverage for two sources of pollution, the "main
pond" and the "plant equipment." In its petition for rehearing, BIC
contends that "[t]he proper course -- if the panel’s opinion is not
otherwise modified -- is to affirm the finding of coverage as to those
two sources and remand for a determination of this allocation" (footnote
omitted). We disagree.

With regard to the "main pond," we stated in footnote five of

Our opinion that:

BIC indirectly suggests that the phrase "into or upon the
land” does not describe their disposition of waste be-
cause one of the three containment ponds might have
been lined with raw cement. As characterized by BIC,
the evidence at trial indicated the following: that the
pits were dug down to a natural clay layer; that the first
pond was lined with two inches of raw cement; that
although no one could testify with certainty that cement
was placed in the bottom of the first pit, Forrest Dean
testified that "he encountered a hard, impenetrable
material on the bottom that was as hard as cement"; and
that two of the three ponds were not lined with cement.
BIC admitted that the pond was unlined as measured by
today’s EPA standards. In its supplemental brief, BIC
asserted that "[t]he main pond was at best partially, and

-

The Honorable Howard C. Bratton, Senior District Judge for the

United States District Court for the District of New Mexico, sitting by
designation.

l6a

probably entirely, lined with raw cement."* Even when
we view the evidence in a light most favorable to BIC
and adopt BIC’s characterizations as true, we neverthe-
less conclude that the disposition of the waste was "into
or upon the land."

BIC contends that when we made this statement, we were reviewing the
“sufficiency of the evidence concerning the cement lining of the main
pond." This simply is incorrect. We reemphasize that we adopted all
of BIC’s characterizations of the evidence as true. We then concluded
~- as a matter of law -- that when BIC placed waste into the main pond,
it discharged waste "into or upon the land." We recognize that BIC
argues that it intended to contain the waste in the pond. This argument
misses the point: BIC still intended to contain the waste in the land.
Thus, BIC discharged waste into the land and is not entitled to coverage
for any damage that emanated from its discharge of waste into the main
pond or any of the other ponds.

Turning to whether BIC is entitled to coverage for the "plant
equipment,” we begin by examining the district court's instruction
regarding the exclusion clause. After quoting the exclusion clause, the
district court's instruction stated that "[yJou are instructed that the
phrase ‘discharge, dispersal, release or escape’ applies to the entry of
the chemicals into the groundwater." The jury verdict form also
incorrectly focused on the release of toxic chemicals into the ground-
water. As we concluded in our earlier opinion, the instruction and the
Jury verdict form were improper. We cannot accept the Jury's finding
of coverage with regard to the "plant equipment.” Instead, we must
remand to the district court for a new trial to determine whether
coverage exists for the contamination caused by waste that emanated
from the "plant equipment" and for further proceedings consistent with
this opinion.

6

BIC subsequently corrected this sentence to read "[t]he main
pond was at least partially, and probably entirely, lined with raw
cement.” This change in no way affects our analysis because, for pur-
poses of resolving this appeal, we accepted BIC’s version of the evi-
dence as true.

17a

Therefore, we now vacate the last sentence of our earlier
opinion and substitute the following: "Accordingly, we REVERSE the
judgment of the district court and REMAND for further proceedings
consistent with this opinion."

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing en banc was transmitted to all of
the judges of the court who are in regular active service. No member
of the panel and no judge in regular active service on the court having
requested that the court be polled on rehearing en banc, Rule 35,
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing en
banc 1s denied.

BIC’s motion for recertification to the Colorado Supreme Court
also 1s denied

ENTERED FOR THE COURT

Deanell Reece Tacha
Circuit Judge

18a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY, a
partnership and successor to

Broderick Wood Products, Inc.:

FIRST INTERSTATE BANK N.A..,

as trustee,

COLORADO NATIONAL BANK.

as trustee

Plaintiffs - Appellees,

No. 90-1112
(D.C. No. 86-Z-1033)

v..

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY
COMPANY,

Defendant - Appellant,

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
INSURANCE ENVIRONMENTAL )
LITIGATION )
ASSOCIATION; STATE OF COLORADO: _ )
AMERICAN FIBER MANUFACTURERS )
ASSOCIATION; AMERICAN PETROLEUM )
INSTITUTE; THE CHEMICAL )
MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION: )
COLORADO MINING ASSOCIATION: )
ALLIED-SIGNAL, INC.: )
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MACHINES )
CORPORATION; OLIN CORPORATION, _ )
)
)

Amici Curiae.

JUDGMENT
Entered January 8, 1992

Before TACHA and SETH, Circuit Judges, and BRATTON™%, District
Judge.

*The Honorable Howard C. Bratton, Senior District Judge for the
United States District Court for the District of New Mexico, sitting by
designation.

This cause came on to be heard on the record on appeal from
the United States District Court for the District of Colorado, and was
argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the judgment of
that court is reversed. The case is remanded to the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Colorado for further proceedings in
accordance with the opinion of this court.

Entered for the Court
ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

By:
Patrick Fisher
Chief Deputy Clerk

20a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY, _)
a partnership and successor )
to Broderick Wood Products. )
Inc.; THE COLORADO NATIONAL
BANK OF DENVER, as trustee:
and THE FIRST INTERSTATE BANK
OF DENVER, N.A.., as trustee. )

)

)

Plaintiffs-Appellees,
No. 90-1112

¥.

)
)
THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT &
INDEMNITY COMPANY.
)

)

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO
(D.C. No. 86-Z-1033)

[Filed August 13, 1991]

Before TACHA and SETH, Circuit Judges. and BRATTON, District
Judge.*

CERTIFICATION OF QUESTION OF STATE LAW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.
pursuant to Colo. App. R. 21.1, hereby certifies to the Supreme Court

of the State of Colorado the following question of Colorado law which
may be determinative of the above-captioned matter now pending before
the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals but does not appear to be answered
in the decisions of the Supreme Court of Colorado:

For purposes of interpreting a pollution exclusion in a com-
prehensive general liability policy, does the placement of industrial
wastes into unlined storage pits when the insured did not intend third
party damage to result constitute a "discharge, dispersal, release, or
escape" within the meaning of the exclusion such that the damage can be
said to “arise out of” the disposition of wastes in the pits?

I. Factual Background

Broderick Wood Products, Inc. (BIC) was formed in 1946. Its
founder, William Broderick, placed the company’s stock in trusts
administered by the Colorado National Bank of Denver and what is now
the First Interstate Bank of Denver (collectively, the Trustees). BIC’s
business involved pressure-treating wood products such as telephone
poles and railroad ties with either creosote or pentachlorophenol;
steam-cleaning the impregnated wood; and disposing of the residue
chemicals, oils, and water. BIC disposed of these waste materials into
what would today be considered unlined pits located on the plant
property. The waste materials were ninety-eight percent water, which
was expected to evaporate, leaving a sludge on the pit bottom.

The company ceased operations in 1981 and was dissolved in
1982. Broderick Investment Company (BIC), a limited partnership
whose general partners are the two bank Trustees, immediately
succeeded to the company’s rights and obligations.

By mid-1983, it was conclusively determined that contaminants
from the pits were seeping into the soil and groundwater. The BIC
facility eventually was added to the National Priorities List of hazardous
waste sites. 49 Fed. Reg. 3707u, 37085 (Sept. 21, 1984). In April
1985, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) threatened to file a

. Howard C. Bratton, Senior District Judge of the United States
District Court for the District of New Mexico, sitting by designation.

22a

lawsuit against BIC and the Trustees under the Comprehensive Environ-
mental Response Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA), 42
U.S.C. §§ 9601 et seg., and the Resource Conservation Recovery Act
(RCRA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 6901 et Seq., unless the parties could agree to a
consent decree. After several months of negotiations, the EPA, BIC,
and the Trustees agreed to a partial consent decree whereby BIC and the
Trustees would pay for a Study to investigate the contamination and
possible solutions. On February 28, 1986, the EPA filed suit against
BIC and the Trustees, seeking recovery of environmental response costs
incurred and to be incurred in association with the BIC facility.

On June 6, 1986, one of the Trustees’ general liability carriers,
United States Fidelity & Guaranty, filed this diversity action in the
United States District Court for the District of Colorado, seeking a
declaration that the Comprehensive General Liability (CGL) policies it
had issued to the Trustees provided no coverage for response costs
sought by the EPA. The named defendants included BIC, the Trustees,
and other general liability carriers, including Hartford Accident &
Indemnity Company. Hartford provided BIC with CGL policy coverage
from 1976 until 1982 and insured BIC from 1982 until 1984. BIC’s
prior insurers were either insolvent or unidentifiable. BIC cross-claimed
against Hartford for coverage. Hartford counterclaimed for a declara-
tion of no coverage and cross-claimed against the other carriers for
contribution. The Trustees’ insurers settled prior to trial. The court
then realigned the parties, naming BIC and the Trustees as plaintiffs and
Hartford as defendant.’

Prior to trial, the district court interpreted disputed terms of the
CGL policy after receiving briefs, argument, and short evidentiary
presentations concerning the intent of the policy drafters. The jury
instructions and special verdict form reflected these legal rulings. The
jury returned a verdict in favor of BIC based on the responses to the
questions in the special verdict form.

7

For the sake of clarity, the plaintiffs-appellants and BIC shall be
collectively referred to as "BIC" throughout the remainder of this certifi-
Cation.

23a

Hartford filed a timely notice of appeal with the Tenth Circuit
Court of Appeals challenging several legal rulings by the district court,
including: (1) the interpretation of the term "occurrence" in the CGL
policy, (2) the interpretation of the phrase “sudden and accidental" in
the pollution exclusion clause, (3) the applicability of the pollution
exclusion Clause, (4) the interpretation of the term "damages," (5) the
interpretation of the "owned property" exclusion, and (6) the award of
attorneys’ fees. We are unable to discern from Colorado law the proper
resolution of the question whether the pollution exclusion clause
precludes coverage. Controlling decisions of the Colorado courts on
related questions do not provide sufficient guidance.

Il. Applicability Of the Pollution Exclusion Clause

The CGL policy provides coverage for legal liability for
damages imposed upon the insured as a result of an “occurrence.” The
policy defines an occurrence as an “accident, including continuous or
repeated exposure to conditions, which results in bodily injury or
property damage neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of
the insured." Assuming the insured’s loss resulted from an occurrence,
the insurer may avoid paying out on the policy if the event falls within
the policy's pollution exclusion. This provision excludes coverage for
damages “arising out of the discharge, dispersal, release or escape of
smoke, vapors, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, toxic chemicals, liquids or
gases, waste materials or other irritants, contaminants or poliutants into
or upon land, the atmosphere or any water course or body of water.”
Coverage is available, however, "if such discharge, dispersal, release or
escape is sudden and accidental."

There are two events in this case to which the “arising out of”
phrase in the exclusion might apply: the initial, intentional placement of
wastes into the pits and the later, unexpected and unintended seepage of
wastes into the groundwater. If the damage arose out of the initial
placement, the pollution exclusion bars coverage for such intentional
acts. If the damage arose from the seepage, however, the exclusion
would not bar coverage because the seepage was sudden and accidental
and therefore falls within the exclusion’s exception. In the present case,
the district court ruled the pollution exclusion applied to the seepage of
wastes.

24a

Hartford contends the property damage arose out of BIC’s initial
placement of wastes. This argument is supported by a line of Colorado
Supreme Court decisions construing the phrase "arising out of" in a
policy exclusion to mean "originate from," "grow out of," or "flow
from." See, e.g., Northern Ins. Co. v. Ekstrom, 784 P.2d 320 (Colo.
1989): Titan Constr. Co. v. Nolf, 515 P.2d 1123 (Colo. 1973). The
test for whether damages arose out of an incident asks whether the loss
would have occurred but for that incident. Ekstrom, 784 P.2d at 323.
In Titan, the court explained this "but for" test does not contain a strict
concept of proximate causation. 515 P.2d at 1126. Rather, the court
held “the sufficiency of the causative relationship must be . . .
[determined] on an ad hoc basis." Id.

Neither Titan nor Ekstrom provide adequate factual analogs to
guide our determination of whether the damages arose out of the initial
placement of wastes into the pits or the later seepage. In Titan, the
driver of a truck who was offloading wet grout into a hopper injured an
insured. Because the capacity of the hopper was substantially less than
that of the truck, the driver had to wait until the hopper was empty and
then refill it. 515 P.2d at 1124. While waiting for the hopper to
empty, the driver dislodged a brick that fell and struck the insured. The
policy covered injuries arising out of the use, including loading and
unloading, of any automobile. Id. The court decided the unloading was
ongoing, though intermittent, and that the accident arose out of the
unloading. Id. at 1125. In this context. the court held the injury was
covered because it would not have occurred but for the unloading.

In Ekstrom, the court held a CGL policy exclusion for injuries
arising Out of use or ownership of an automobile barred coverage for
injuries due to negligent entrustment of a truck. 784 P.2d at 323. The
plaintiff claimed the truck’s owner was responsible for injuries sustained
when the driver, an employee of the owner, struck her vehicle. She
argued both the negligent operation and negligent entrustment of the
truck caused her injuries, and that the negligence of the owner was a
separate and independent cause of her injuries not excluded by the poli-
cy. Id. The court held that "[w]here multiple causes of injury are
alleged, a claim is barred by the automobile exclusion unless it arises
from non-automobile related conduct and is independent of any owner-
ship, operation, or use of an automobile." Id. The court found that
negligent entrustment of an automobile entails Ownership, operation, or

25a

use of an automobile, so there was no coverage under the CGL policy.
Id. at 324.

Hartford argues that but for BIC’s placement of wastes in the
containment pits, the contamination would not have occurred. Hartford’s
position would have us analogize the initial placement to the negligent
entrustment in Ekstrom and the later seepage to the negligent driving.
Relying on Titan to support its argument, Hartford would have us
discount the proximate cause of seepage from the pits and look to the
disposal in the pits as the ultimate cause of damage. Because the
damage can be traced to this intentional act, Hartford argues, there is no
coverage.

BIC argues the damage arose out of the seepage. BIC apparent-
ly would distinguish its disposal practices from the negligent entrustment
of the vehicle in Ekstrom and have us hold the initial placement in no
sense caused third party damage. BIC asserts only the seepage can
unambiguously be characterized as the type of "discharge, dispersal,
release or escape" barred by the pollution exclusion. If the pollution
exclusion reference to a “discharge, dispersal, release or escape" does
not unambiguously describe BIC’s placement of wastes into the pits, the
pollution exclusion arguably would not bar coverage. See, e.g., Lister
v. American United Life Ins. Co., 797 P.2d 832, 733 (Colo. App.
1990) (ambiguities in limitations of coverage must be construed in favor
of coverage); State Compensation Ins. Fund v. Wangerin, 736 P.2d
1246, 1248 (Colo. App. 1986) (same).

The jury found BIC did not intend any property damage when it
placed its wastes in the pits.* The jury’s finding implicitly supports
BIC’s contention that BIC did not intend the wastes to migrate. This, in
turn, indicates BIC’s intentional placement of wastes into the pit was not
necessarily the activity contemplated by the pollution exclusion. That
clause speaks of a “discharge” in the context of a “dispersal, release, or

, We recognize this finding is distinct from the question whether

the pollution exclusion analysis should focus on BIC’s placement of the
wastes into the ponds or the waste’s later seepage from the ponds. See
Hecla Mining Co. v. New Hampshire Ins. Co., No. 89SC646, slip op.
at 13 n.7 (Colo. May 13, 1991) (en banc).

26a

escape,” thus reasonably signifying a final relinquishment of the wastes.
Cf. Ekstrom, 784 P.2d at 323 ("A Provision in a policy is ambiguous
when it is reasonably susceptible to more than one meaning."). The
record adequately supports the jury's implicit finding that BIC did not
view its disposal practices as this sort of final relinquishment or
abandonment of responsibility for the wastes, but rather as storage.
Hence, BIC may reasonably have expected the disposal/storage method
was not a “discharge, dispersal, release. or escape" for purposes of the
pollution exclusion. BIC insists Colorado law prescribes coverage in

this situation.’ See, e.g., Chacon y. American Family Mut. Ins. Co..
788 P.2d 748, 750 (Colo. 1990) (any ambiguities in policy must be

construed against insurer; when two reasonable interpretations of
Provision possible, court must adopt interpretation that provides
coverage), Republic ‘Ins. Co. vy. Jernigan, 753 P.2d 229, 232 (Colo
1988) (same).

III. Certification

Because Colorado case law does not indicate the proper inter-
pretation of the phrases “arising out of” and "discharge, dispersal,
release or escape" in the pollution exclusion of the CGL policy and
because of the importance of this issue, we respectfully request the
Colorado Supreme Court to address the aforementioned question of
Colorado law.

The clerk of this court will transmit copies of this certification
order to counsel for all parties to the Proceedings in this court. The
clerk will also submit to the Supreme Court of the State of Colorado a
certified copy of this order. together with copies of the briefs filed with
this court and either the Original or a copy of the district court record

~

The jury's finding of no intent to harm third party property also
indicates the seepage was an unexpected and unintended "discharge, dis-
persal, release or escape." In addressing the meaning of the phrase
“sudden and accidental" in the pollution exclusion, the Colorado
Supreme Court has held damages from such pollution is not barred from
coverage. Hecla, No. 89SC646. slip op. at 21.

27a

filed with this court. Pursuant to Colo. App. R. 21.i(e), the fees and
costs of this certification shall be divided equally among the parties.

Dated this 13th day of August, 1991
/s/ Deanell Reece Tacha

Deanell Reece Tacha
Circuit Judge

28a

SUPREME COURT, STATE OF COLORADO

CASE NO. 91SA314

CERTIFICATION OF QUESTION OF LAW

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT NO. 90-
1112

ORDER OF COURT

BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY. a partnership and successor
to Broderick Wood Products, Inc.: THE COLORADO NATIONAL
BANK OF DENVER, as trustee: and THE FIRST INTERSTATE
BANK OF DENVER, N.A., as trustee.

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Upon consideration of the Certification of Question of State
Law filed in the above cause, and now being sufficiently advised in the
premises,

The Supreme Court DECLINES to answer the Question
BY THE COURT, EN BANC, SEPTEMBER 12. 199}

CC:
Cameron R. Kuelthau
Anne C. Stark
Brooke Jackson
HOLLAND & HART
555 17th St., #2900
P. O. Box 8749
Denver, CO 80201

29a

JoAnne M. Zboyan
Thomas L. Roberts
Susan T. Smith

PRYOR, CARNEY & JOHNSON

6200 S. Syracuse Way, #400
P. O. Box 6559
Englewood, CO 80155-6559

Honorable Deanel!l Reece Tacha

Circuit Judge

U.S. Court of Appeals
Tenth Circuit

1929 Stout Street
Denver, CO 80294

Robert L. Hoecker

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals
Tenth Circuit

1929 Stout Street

Denver, CO 80294

Thomas W. Brunner

James M. Johnstone

Daniel E. Troy

WILEY, REIN & FIELDING
1776 K Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20006

Gale A. Norton
Attorney General

Charlotte R. Robinson
1525 Sherman St., 3rd Floor
Denver, CO 80203

30a

William Francis Greaney
William H. Allen
COVINGTON & BURLING
1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W
P.O. Box 7566

Washington, D.C. 20044

31a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 86-Z-1033
BRODERICK INVESTMENT COMPANY, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
VS.
THE HARTFORD ACCIDENT AND INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Defendant.

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT
(Motions Hearing: Bench Ruling)

Proceedings before the HONORABLE ZITA L. WEINSHIENK.
Judge, United States District Court for the District of Colorado.
commencing at 4:50 p.m., on the 4th day of October, 1989, in
Courtroom C-502, United States Courthouse, Denver, Colorado.

APPEARANCES

HOLLAND AND HART, by R. BROOKE JACKSON and ANNE
STARK, Attorneys at Law, Suite 2900, 555 17th Street, Denver,
Colorado, 80202, and EUGENE ANDERSON and NICHOLAS K.
ZOOGMAN, Anderson, Kill, Olick, Oshinsky, 666 3d Avenue, New

York, New York, 10017, appearing for the plaintiffs

32a

PRYOR, CARNEY AND JOHNSON, by THOMAS L. ROBERTS,
SUSAN T. SMITH, AND JOANNE M. ZBOYAN; Attorneys at Law.
6200 South Proceedings Recorded by Mechanical Stenography,
Transcription Produced via Computer by Paul Zuckerman, 1929 Stout
Street, P.O. Box 3563, Denver. Colorado 80294, (303) 629-9285
Syracuse Way, Suite 400. Englewood, Colorado, 80111. appearing for
the defendant.

(The following Proceedings were had and entered of record after the
Court heard evidence and the arguments of Counsel on October 2. 3.
and 4, 1989:)

RULING

THE COURT: Actually, I think the pollution exclusion issue for
me is one of the easiest things to do decide (sic) at this point, so let me
take that first.

Yes, it is ambiguous. Yes, it must be resolved for the insured.

Yes, there are lots of statements at the time that really didn’t change
anything, and that was because as Stated in the letter just referred to, the

drafters were saying that most pollution wasn’t covered because most

33a

pollution was intended or expected and thus was not covered under the
occurrence paragraph.

It is clear that the word "sudden" has different meanings besides
quick or besides a temporal meaning; and the meanings that have been
evident in these various documents and in letters and briefs and
depositions and in the dictionary are meanings such as unforeseen,
unexpected, unprepared for, without prior warning: the unexpected,
unintended, unforeseen sort of trilogy. And if the exclusion provision
must be interpreted and is ambiguous, as | think it Clearly is, and must
be interpreted favorably for the insured, then it will not be given its
temporal meaning. It will be given the broader meaning of unintended,
unexpected, unforeseen, without warning, the various things that we've
seen in the documents, which also goes along with the documents that
indicate to West Virginia and New York and some of the other
jurisdictions that this was no great change in the policy; that really this
was just making clear what was previously stated by way of intent, and
that was that expected and intended pollution would not be covered
under the occurrence clause.

So my ruling on pollution exclusion, on the exception, is now much

more specific then just denying a motion for Summary judgment and

34a

Saying that there is--are factual issues My ruling is that because the
clause is ambiguous, because it must be construed and resolved for the
insured, that it will be interpreted in the broader way for the jury; and
that is that it was not meant to be a whole new ballgame but it was
meant to cover discharge, dispersal, release. escape which is sudden and
accidental, meaning unintended. unforeseen, unexpected discharge. And
we're talking about the discharge from the holding pond into the ground
water. We're talking about the discharge from the plant, if there was
some, into the ground water, which would affect third parties, which
would affect the ground water. wildlife, and other third parties on other
property.

And indeed, this leads us into the Owned property exclusion. It’s
very clear if it’s necessary to cleari up the owner's property in order to
protect others and protect the ground water and protect the wildlife. then
that latter protection is primary and the fact that you have to clean up
the owner's property in order to protect others--that's sorts of a
byproduct or secondary. And indeed, if it is necessary clean up of the
Owner's property which has nothing to do with protection of others,
with protection of other property Owners or ground water or wildlife.

then that is not covered. And if the facts show that there is some of that

35a

in the case, that certainly is not within the policy and the Court is not
going to-I think that could probably be ruled on an a matter of law,

unless there is a factual dispute and the fact-finder has to decide that.

MR. ROBERTS: I just wanted to ask for a clarification,

Judge, on the second part of your pollution exclusion ruling. I think
I got the sense of it, but it was a little unclear to me when you Stated it
about the release or the discharge.

THE COURT: Well, I think that’s just a question of looking at the
words in the contract. We are talking about discharge, dispersal,
release, Or escape to third parties in this case. We're not talking about
dispersal into a pond. We're talking about whether dispersal or escape
from the pond-or I think someone for the plaintiff, maybe Mr. Jackson,
Said it came from the plant, too. | really wasn’t aware of that--to third
parties through ground water or through damage to wildlife or through
injury to other people, maybe neighbors--whether that dispersal, release,
escape, is sudden and accidental. That’s what we're talking about.

MR. ROBERTS: Okay.

36a

THE COURT: SoI’m agreeing with the plaintiff on what we’re
talking about when you mean discharge, dispersal, release or escape. It

has to be that.

MR. ROBERTS: That's what | thought you said but I just wanted

to be clear.

THE COURT: Okay I think that’s the only

logical way to go.

37a

U.S. Const. amend. VII

In Suits at common law, where the value in controversy
shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury
shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury, shall be
otherwise reexamined in any Court of the United States,
than according to the rules of the common law.

U.S. Const. amend. X

The powers not delegated to the United States by the
Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are
reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.

28 U.S.C.A. § 1652 (1966)

The laws of the several states, except where the Con-
stitution or treaties of the United States or Acts of
Congress otherwise require or provide, shall be regarded
as rules of decision in civil actions in the courts of the
United States, in cases where they apply.

er

38a

Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(b) (1989)

Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict.
Whenever a motion for a directed verdict made at the
close of all the evidence is denied or for any reason is
not granted, the court is deemed to have submitted the
action to the jury subject to a later determination of the
legal questions raised by the motion. Not later than 10
days after entry of judgment, a party who has moved for
a directed verdict may move to have the verdict and any
judgment entered thereon set aside and to have judgment
entered in accordance with the party's motion for a
directed verdict; or if a verdict was not returned such
party, within 10 days after the jury has been discharged,
may move for judgment in accordance with the party's
motion for a directed verdict. A motion for a new trial
may be joined with this motion, or a new trial may be
prayed for in the alternative. If a verdict was returned
the court may allow the judgment to stand or may
reopen the judgment and either order a new trial or
direct the entry of judgment as if the requested verdict
had been directed. If no verdict was returned the court
may direct the entry of judgment as if the requested
verdict had been directed or may order a new trial.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0970%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
