# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering Committee, Inc. v. Continental Airlines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0945%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 864

## Text

| Supreme Court Us. |
FILED

™ JUL 9
‘ 1992
NO. 92 - | OFFICE OF THE Gunn |
= j
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1992

Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering
Committee, Inc.,

Petitioner,
Vv.
Continental Airlines, Inc.
Continental Pilots Merger Committee,

People Express Pilots Merger Committee,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

John A. McGuinn

Counsei of Record

Schmeltzer, Aptaker &
Shepard

2600 Virginia Avenue, NW
Suite 1000

Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 333-8800

Attorney for Petitioner

*

July 9, 1992

a

Questions Presented For Review

1. Whether the Court of Appeals
and the District Court invaded the juris-
diction accorded to arbitration in viola-
tion of the decisions of this Court and
other Courts of Appeal by ruling that the
federal judiciary -- rather than an
arbitrator -- should determine the effect
of a prior arbitration award on a subse-
quent arbitration proceeding in circum-
stances where:

-- The ruling denied the pilots of
one carrier (Frontier Airlines) involved
in a seniority integration arbitration
with a major U.S. airline (Continental
Airlines) and deregulation start up
airline (People Express Airlines) of the
fair and equitable seniority integration
mandated by the underlying arbitration

agreement, resulting in permanent career

damage to the Frontier pilots whose 1955-
68 hired captains were inserted on the
integrated list as a class far junior to
the 1980-83 hired People Express captains
despite their vastly greater length of
service and other superior pilot equi-
ties; and

== The arbitrator admitted that
but for the District Court's intrusion
into the arbitration process he would
have ruled in a manner far more favorable
to the former Frontier pilots insofar as
their placement on the integrated senior-
ity list.

YP Whether, in the same circunm-
stances, the District Court and Court of
Appeals abandoned their limited but
proper role in reviewing arbitration
awards by ignoring a gross’ violation of
the District Court's own order prohib-

iting ex parte contacts between the

ii

| 7"

arbitrator and a representative of one of
the parties which occurred at a critical

juncture in the decision making process.

iii

List of Parties to Proceeding
The parties to this proceeding are

the following:

1. People Express Merger Commit-
tee

- Continental Airlines}

3. Frontier Pilots Litigation

Steering Committee
4. Continental Pilots Merger Com-

mittee2

1 Texas Air Corporation was at the
time the action was filed the parent
company of Continental Airlines.

2 Frank Shanley, who appears’ in the
caption of the Third Circuit judg-
ment order, was replaced by the
Continental Pilots Merger Commit-
tee.

iv

ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented For
ag | ae eo anne

List of Parties to Proceeding..
Table of Contents.......-...cee-
Table of Authorities. ......csse-»
Opinions Below... c.cessescccsacs
PUPILOGISCIGM sc occ esctecssesens
Statute Involved.........ceceee
Statement of the Case..........

Reasons for Granting the
Writ OF COrtlOFari. sccscccanens

I. The Judicial Requirement
That A Subsequent
Arbitrator Be Bound By
The Decision Of A Prior
Arbitrator Is Contrary
To Decision Of This
Court, The Third Circuit
And Other Courts Of
Appeal And Such Intrusion
By The Judiciary In
Substantive Issues
Committed To The
Arbitration Process
Is A Recurring Problem
In The Labor Arbitration

- Process That This Court
Should Address And
COPPGCE +2 cee ei acceesenes

‘

II. To Protect The Integrity
Of The Arbitration
Process And The Parties
To It, This Court Should
Direct The Federal Courts
To Uphold Court Imposed
Bans On Ex Parte
Communications Between
Arbitrators And Parties
To Arbitrations And
Resolve A Conflict
Between The Third
Circuit And The Ninth
Circuit Court Of

ARDMORE. ccc cvvecussseee 48
CONGIUBLOR. ov cccceccweneseueas 56
ABOREEM «60606 kb act ee eh eS A la

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ses:

AT&T Technologies v. CWA,
475 U.S. 643 (1986) ..cccccce

Butler Armco Independent
Union v. Armco, Inc.,
701 F.2d 253 (3rd Cir.
SONS. Kecsdatseens

Connecticut Light & Power
Co. v. Local 420, IBEW,
718 F.2d 14 (2a Cir.

Ser

Federal Bearings Co., Inc.,

33 ksh. FRA (3084)...

Hotel Ass'n of Washington v.
Hotel & Restaurant Employees

Union,

F.2d (D.C. Cir.

yy, | ere

et

Local 103, IVE v. RCA Corp.,

516 F.2d 1336 (3rd Cir.

| rae ae

Local 504 v. Roadmaster Corp.,
916 F.2d 1161 (7th Cir.

eee

vii

22,23

34,35,42

39

37

42

36, 37

passim

40

e olita dison Co. v.
NLRB,
663 F.2d 478 (3rd Cir.
1981), aff'd 460 U.S. 693

ei &) PPP rTeTT Terre iaven'e -2aeae
arine & :
Vv ad
s e
868 F.2d 52 (3d Cir.
i PPT Tee ee TCL TTP eee 49,50

Pacific & Artic Ry. & Nav.
Co. v. United Transportation
Union,
952 F.2d 1144 (9th Cir.
Ne ae eS) wg 53,54

Riverboat Casino, Inc. v.

Joint Executive Bd.,
578 F.2d 250 (9th Cir.

a ee etree sy 6 64k bre 39

arine Tug & Barge
v. North Am. Towing,
607 F.2d 649 (5th Cir.
SGU s bac is rae cue ay Oe 49

Transit Mix Concrete Corp.
v. Local 282, :
809 F.2d 963 (2d Cir.

Sg SS Oe RGR A eae area 41,42

U.S. Lines v. Federal
Maritime Commission,
584 F.2d 519 (D.C. Cir.
SPT See ere Kiaeee eens Tine. ae

United Steelworkers of

America v. American Mfg. Co.,
363 U.S. 564 (1960)......... 42,22

viii

aise necs icin mrnnsiervninroani

United Mine Workers of
America v. Consolidation
Coal Co.,
666 F.2d 806 (3rd Cir.
eee eS ee Pere

Westinghouse Broadcasting
vy. Local 804

,
616 F.2d 97 (3rd Cir.
ie ek ever tr ek cek ces

Westi use Elevators Vv.

SIU de Puerto Rico,
583 F.2d 1184 (1st Cir.

ne ee OM RE ee

Other Authority:
The Washington Post, 7/5/92,

p. H1, “Labor Loses the
Strike as a Weapon".........

ix

NO. 92 -

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1992

Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering
Committee, Inc.,

Petitioner,
Vv.
Continental Airlines, Inc.
Continental Pilots Merger Committee,

People Express Pilots Merger Committee,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

The petitioner respectfully prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to review
a judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit.

CC

-2-

Opinions Below

The Order of the District Court
compelling arbitration inthis’ case is
not officially reported but is reprinted
in the Appendix at pp. la-15a.

The Order of the District Court
confirming the Ross arbitration award is
not officially reported, but is reprinted
in the Appendix at pp. i16a-57a.

The Order of the Court of Appeals
affirming the District Court's order is
not officially reported, but is reprinted
in the Appendix at pp. 58a-60a.

The Order of the Court of Appeals
denying rehearing and rehearing in banc
is not officially reported, but is re-
printed in the Appendix at pp. 61la-63a.

Jurisdiction
The judgment of the Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit was entered on

February 13, 1992. A timely petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in
banc was denied on April 10, 1992, and
this petition for certiorari is being
filed within 90 days of that date.

The Court's jurisdiction is being
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Statute Involved

The statute involved is The United
States Arbitration Act, 9 ae
16(a)(1)(D), which provides:

An appeal may be taken from --

(1) An order --

(D) Confirming or denying
confirmation of an award or
partial award.. ."

Statement of the Case

This cas arises from a lawsuit

_
.

initiated by the People Express Pilots
Merger Committee (PEX pilots) against

Continental Airlines (CAL) seeking, inter

ee

-4-

alia, an order compelling arbitration of
the issue of pilot seniority integration.
The issue arose because of a transaction
in late 1986 by which CAL acquired People
Express, Inc. As a part of that transac-
tion, CAL had filed a Labor Protection
Agreement (LPA) with the Department of
Transportation. The LPA was an agreement
between CAL and People Express, Inc.
providing for a fair and equitable pilot
seniority arbitration with respect to

pilots employed by CAL and pilots "of the

air carrier subsidiaries of" People

Express, Inc.?. At that time, the two
air carrier subsidiaries of People Ex-
press, Inc. were People Express Airlines
and Frontier Airlines.

As a condition precedent to the
acquisition by CAL of People Express,
ENC. CAL acquired Frontier Airlines
(FAL) and all of its common stock. In
connection with that transaction, CAL
required all FAL pilots to execute a

document called the Job Preservation

1 The exact terms of the LPA provided
that:

Following consummation of the
aforesaid Merger Agreement, in
the event of a future merger of
airline operations involving
any air carrier subsidiary of
People Express, Inc., provision
shall be made for fair and
equitable seniority, integra-
tion procedures ... which shall
include as a final step, if
necessary in the absence of
agreement, a final and binding
decision by a neutral mediator

-6-

Agreement (JPA). Side Letter 2 of the

JPA provided, inter alia, for a seniority

integration arbitration, and imposed
conditions to the effect that the arbi-
trator was to take special note of the
fact that Frontier was not operating at
the time of the acquisition and that the
arbitrator should recognize the promo-
tional expectations of Continental pilots
to aircraft on order or on firm option to
CAL as of September 15, 1986.

An arbitration took place pursuant
to the JPA before Arbitrator George
Nicolau who issued his decision on June
15, 1987. In that decision in which
Arbitrator Nicolau noted the JPA's "con-
Siderable and obvious tilt in favor of"
the CAL pilots, Arbitrator Nicolau placed

all FAL captains, regardless of their

“length of service junior to the most

junior CAL captain.? Later in 1987,
CAL unilaterally integrated the PEX
pilots into the Nicolau list and placed
the 1980-1983 hire PEX captains below (or
junior to) the 1955-1968 hire FAL cap-
tains.

Meanwhile, the PEX pilots' suit to
compel arbitration under the LPA went
forward, and on December 9, 1988, the
Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering
Committee (FAL pilots) was granted inter-
vention in order to protect their inter-
ests as one of the two air carrier
subsidiaries of People Express, Inc. who
were entitled to the protection of its

terms.

2 The- FAL pilots subsequently sought
unsuccessfully to vacate Arbitrator
Nicolau's Award under the tradition-
al grounds for vacating an arbitra-
tion award under the Federal
Arbitration Act.

With all relevant and needed parties

then before it, the District Court, after
a bench trial, issued an order on August
Te 1989 compelling arbitration. The
order compelling arbitration tracked the
provisions of the LPA and commanded
that:
The neutral shall consider any
factor relevant to a fair and
equitable integration of the
seniority lists of the People
Express, Frontier and Continen-
tal pilots. The parties are
free to urge the neutral to
consider any factor, and put in
evidence any support, that they
believe is relevant to this
standard.
(Appendix, pp. 8a-9a)
In an apparent contradiction to the
above-stated standard, the District
Court, over the vigorous objection of the

FAL pilots, inserted the following lan-

guage in its order compelling arbitra-

tion:

The Frontier Pilots Litigation
Steering Committee's participa-
tion in this arbitration shall
be circumscribed by the Final
Award of Arbitrator George
Nicolau, dated June 15, 1987.
FAL may not assert a position
inconsistent with that Arbitra-
tion Award but shall, for the
purposes of this arbitration,
be deemed bound by that Award.
The Award of Arbitrator Nicolau
is currently under appeal. In
the event, at any time prior to
the Final Arbitrator's Award in
this matter, the decision of
Arbitrator Nicolau shall be
reversed or modified, any party
may make application to this
Court, on short notice, to
consider the impact of that
determination upon this arbi-
tration proceeding.

(Appendix, pp. 2a-3a)

Subsequent to the issuance of the
order, the FAL pilots requested reconsid-
eration of this provision of the order
based on the uniform line of cases in the
Third Circuit and others that it is for
the arbitrator, not the federal judicia-.-.

ry, to determine what weight, if any, is

to be accorded a prior arbitration award

in a subsequent arbitration proceeding.
When the District Court refused
reconsideration, the FAL pilots requested
that he certify this issue for interlocu-
tory appeal in order to avoid going

through a lengthy and costly proceeding

only to have it reversed on appeal. The
Court rejected this request. After,
nevertheless, appealing to the Third

Circuit, the FAL pilots agreed to with-
draw their appeal because of the lack of
finality of the District Court's order,
and the Clerk's office dismissed the
appeal on October 11, 1989.

Prior to the hearing before Arbitra-
tor Ross, CAL filed a "Motion in Limine"
in which it requested that Arbitrator
Ross formally rule that the FAL pilots
Should be bound by the Nicolau Award.

Arbitrator Ross granted CAL's motion over

pat ere.

Oe ae

-ll-

the objections of the FAL pilots. The
FAL pilots made one last request to the
District Court to change its ruling by

appealing the decision of Arbitrator Ross

granting CAL's motion in Limine. Once
again, the District Court adhered to its
ruling, and 73 days’ of hearings before

Arbitrator Ross commenced.

The several efforts of the FAL
pilots to reverse the District Court's
circumscription language before the
hearing were based on their fear (cor-
rectly founded, as it turned out) that
the Court of Appeals might -- if the
lengthy hearing went forward -- ignore
the relevant law and sweep the errors
under the rug onthe misguided belief
that the. matter should be concluded --

whatever the errors that occurred.

-12-

During the post-hearing but pre-
decision phase of the proceeding, Arbi-
trator Ross admitted (1) that the FAL
pilots were poorly treated in the Nicolau
Award; (2) that the FAL pilots had supe-
rior equities to the PEX pilots; (3) that
he did not apply the fair and equitable
standard in the LPA in comparing the
equities of the FAL and PEX pilots; (4)
that if he had compared such equities,
the FAL pilots would be moved up higher
on the integrated list; (5) that the
Nicolau "caveat" in the Court's order
compelling arbitration prevented him from
moving up the FAL pilots’ on the inte-
grated list; (6) that the FAL pilots
would have been better off if they had
never showed up to partdieiwatle in the
arbitration; and (7) that the FAL pilots

-- and only the FAL pilots -- had "really

taken gas" in his arbitration proceed-

ing.

Also during the post-hearing but
pre-decision phase of the proceeding
called the technical support committee
phase of the proceedings where all par-
ties except their counsel were present
and were discussing the heart of the case
-- how the lists would be integrated --
an admitted ex parte contact occurred
between the arbitrator and the chairman
of the PEX Pilots Merger Committee.

Paragraph II.8(c) of the District
Court order compelling arbitration stat-
ed:

Communication with Neutral.

Neither Continental nor the

committees may communicate with

the neutral, either formally or

informally, outside the pres-

ence of the other parties,

except in writing, with copies

to the other parties, provided,

however, that any party elect-
ing not to be present for a

-14-+

meeting or hearing date waives

any right to be present for

such communications.

(Appendix, p. 13a)

On July 12, 1991, two issues vitally
affecting the FAL pilots were being
discussed. First, whether the ratio of
PEX-CAL captains would be extended down
to the most junior FAL captain (more
favorable to the FAL pilots) or would end
prior to the most senior FAL captain,
thus making all FAL captains the junior
captains on the airline; and, second,
whether the ratio of PEX captains would
start at CAL pilot #1040 or at some point
above that.

On the same day, the PEX technical
support committee members cnventined to
withdraw from further participation in
the technical support process and Arbi-
trator Ross requested that committee to

reconsider.

Later that day, Arbitrator Ross and

PEX merger committee chairman Mackenzie
had a closed door, ex parte meeting
lasting between 15 and 30 minutes.

Immediately after the conclusion of
that ex parte meeting when all members of
the technical support committee met
together in joint session, Arbitrator
Ross informed the committee members that
he had reached a conclusion on the two
issues specified above vitally affecting
the interests of the FAL pilots and both
decisions favored the interests of the
PEX pilots and were detrimental to the
interests of the FAL pilots.

When these decisions favoring the
interests of the PEX pilots were an-
nounced, the PEX committee members did
not follow through on their threat to

boycott the technical support committee

a

meetings, and they attended all _= such
meetings that followed. .

The FAL pilots timely raised the
issue of the July 12, 1991 ex parte
communication in their letter to Arbitra-
tor Ross on July 14, 1991, and in their

_ request of August 12, 1991 that he recuse
himself.

On August 13, 1991, Arbitrator Ross
refused to recuse himself. His letter
did not deny that the ex parte contact
occurred, but claimed rather that no
issue under litigation was discussed.

On August 13, 1991, Arbitrator Ross
issued his decision. In his decision,
Arbitrator Ross completely inverted the
Company's alignment of PEX and FAL cap-
tains on the Company's list and placed
the 1980-1983 hire PEX captains as a
class not only above, but hundreds of

numbers above the 1955-1968 hire FAL

-17-

captains, thus making these veteran FAL
captains the most junior captains on the
entire CAL system, and thereby subjecting
them to the worst schedules and other
working conditions and making them the
first to be downgraded from captain to
first .officer in the event of a contrac-
tion in flying.

After the award issued, the PEX
pilots immediately sought confirmation of
the award in the District Court. The FAL
pilots moved that the award be rejected.

On November 22, 1991, the District
Court entered an order confirming the
Ross Award and followed it with a twenty-
three page letter opinion on November 26.
(Appendix, pp. 16a-57a)

Thereafter, the FAL pilots moved the
Third Circuit for a stay pending appeal
which was initially granted on December

5, 1991 after the Court had received the

opposition papers of Continental and the

PEX pilots. On the next day, Continental
filed an emergency petition for rehearing
and clarification of the stay order.
That petition was granted ex parte in an
oral order issued at approximately 8:30
p.m. on Friday night, December 6, 1991.
When the FAL pilots filed their opposi-
tion -- as the Court had directed -- at
3:55 p.m. on Monday, December 9, 1991,
the Court rejected the FAL pilots opposi-
tion and confirmed its Friday night oral
order by written order issued at 5:19
p.m. on December 9, 1991.

The appeal was nevertheless expe-
dited and oral argument was heard on
Monday, February 10, 1992. On Thursday,
February 13, 1992 the Third Circuit
entered a brief judgment order affirming

the judgment of the District Court.

(Appendix, pp. 58a-62a)

-19-

On April 10, 1992 the Third Circuit
denied the FAL pilots motion for rehear-
ing and/or for rehearing in banc. (Ap-
pendix, pp. 61a-63a)

Reasons for Granting the Writ of
Certiorari

This case presents the Court with a
unique opportunity to exercise its super-
visory powers to correct two unfortunate-
ly common departures from the accepted
and usual course of judicial and arbitral
proceedings which also are in conflict
with the decisions of this Court and the
other circuit courts of appeal.

The first departure is the activist
encroachment of the District Court, with
the approval of the Third Circuit, on
jurisdiction committed by this Court and
the Courts of Appeal to the realm of

arbitration. Specifically, the District

Court encroached onthis' area when its

-20-

order compelling arbitration required the
subsequent arbitrator to be "bound" by
the prior arbitration award of Arbitrator
Nicolau.

The second departure is the abject
failure of the District Court, with the
approval of the Court of Appeals, to
exercise its limited supervision over the
arbitration process to require that
arbitrator abide by court ordered prohi-
bitions against ex parte contacts. This
failure also placed the Third Circuit in
direct conflict with a recent decision of
the Ninth Circuit upholding bans on ex
parte contacts.

In short, we have a case here where
the Court first wrongfully intruded into
the arbitration process and, second,
failed to act when its own order against

ex parte contacts was blatantly defied.

-21i-

I.

The Judicial Requirement That A
Subsequent Arbitrator Be Bound By The
Decision Of A Prior Arbitrator
Is Contrary To Decision Of This Court,
The Third Circuit And Other Courts Of
Appeal And Such Intrusion By The
Judiciary In Substantive Issues
Committed To The Arbitration
Process Is A Recurring Problem In The
Labor Arbitration Process That This
Court Should Address And Correct

Over thirty years ago, this Court
defined the respective roles of the
federal judiciary and arbitrators in
labor arbitration and held that the role
of the federal judiciary was to be mini-
mal.

In United Steelworkers of America v.

ica . Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960),
this Court specifically rejected a claim
that federal courts could reject arbitra-
tion as ameans for settling a dispute
because the lower court had determined

that the provision involved was “beyond

-22-

dispute" as to its meaning (363 U.S. at
567). Instead, the Court held:

The courts, therefore, have no
business weighing the merits of
the grievance, considering
whether there is equity ina
particular claim, or deter-
mining whether there is partic-
ular language inthe written
instrument which will support
the claim.

363 U.S. at 568. And, finally:

When the judiciary undertakes
to determine the merits of a
grievance under the guise of
interpreting the grievance
procedure of collective bar-
gaining agreements, it usurps a
function which under that
regime is entrusted to the
arbitration tribunal.

363 U.S. at 569.
This principal was forcefully reit-

erated by this Court in AT&T Technologies

v. CWA, 475 U.S. 643, 649-650 (1986),
where the Court held:

The third principle de-
rived from our prior cases [the
Arbitration Trilogy) is that,
in deciding whether the parties
have agreed to submit a partic-
ular grievance to arbitration,

-23-

a court is not to rule on the
potential merits of the under-
lying claims. Whether "“argu-
able" or not, indeed even if it
appears to the court to be
frivolous, the union's claim
that the employer has violated
the collective-bargaining
agreement is to be decided, not
by the court asked to order
arbitration, but as the parties
have agreed, by the arbitrator.
"The courts, therefore, have no
business weighing the merits of
the grievance, considering
whether there is equity ina
particular claim, or determin-
ing whether there is particular
language in the written instru-
ment which will support the
claim. The agreement is to
submit all grievances to arbi-
tration, not merely those which
the court will deem meritori-

ous.* American Mfg. Co., 363
U.S. at 568 (footnote omit-
ted).

Ironically, the Third Circuit Court
- of Appeals has had a number of opportuni-
ties to apply the unequivocal language of
this Court in the Steelworkers Arbitra-
tion Trilogy to deny claims that the
judiciary should meddle in the arbitra-

tion process when a party states that a

current arbitration is, or should be,

governed in whole or in part by a previ-
ous arbitration award.

The leading case in the Third Cir-
cuit specifying the respective role of
the judiciary and the arbitrator in such

circumstances is Local 103, IUE v. RCA

Corp., 516 F.2d 1336 (3rd Cir. 1975).

| In that case, the arbitration provi-
sion actually provided that, "{i]Jn no
event .. . shall the same question [or
issue] be the subject of arbitration more
than once." Id. at 1338. A dispute
arose in 1971 concerning a job classifi-
cation decision.’ The Union claimed that
the 1971 issue had been previously decid-
ed in a 1946 arbitration award. The
Union then suspended its participation in
the 1974 arbitration regarding the 1971

grievance and sought to enjoin RCA's

-25-

further arbitration efforts. The dis-
trict court "held that the question or
issue presented and resolved in 1946 was.
not identical to the question or issue
presented in 1971," Id. at 1339, and
thus dismissed the suit. The Third
Circuit held:

Although we affirm the judgment

of the district court, we do so

for a different reason: It is

the function of the arbitrator,

not the court, to decide wheth-

er the "same question or issue"

had been the subject of arbi-

tration within the meaning of

the collective bargaining

agreement.
74. @& i2save

By so holding, the Court expressly
disassociated itself from the “strict
identity" test utilized by the District

Court and arguably found in prior deci-

sions of that Court.

-26-

In an oft-quoted epilogue to the

Local 103, IVE case, the Court specifi-

cally answered all of the claims by the
respondents and the contention of the
District Court in this case that the FAL
pilots were attempting to "collaterally
attack" the Nicolau award and relitigate
the issues in that case in the _ Ross
arbitration.

The union evidences the fear
that prior decisions will be
relitigated ad infinitum pres-
aging a demise in finality and
opening the door to abuse. We
disagree. Open to the’ union,
before the arbitrator, is the
same contention it has. pres-
ented to the courts, i.e., that
the "same question or issue"
was previously "the subject of
arbitration." So viewed,
finality, consistent with the
provisions of the agreement,
will be preserved.

516 F.2d at 1341.
The situation here is even more

compelling than the Local 103, IUE case.

Here, unlike that case, the LPA contained

4
}
4
S
|
|
|

no provision that issues previously

settled in prior arbitrations should not

be the subject of arbitration more than

once. The LPA was totally devoid of any
language concerning prior arbitration
awards. To the contrary, the LPA specif-

ically applied to pilots of air carrier
subsidiaries of People Express, Inc. and
the District Court specifically found
that both PEX and FAL were such air
carriers. The scope and charter of the
LPA were broad. Absent agreement among
the parties, the issue of pilot seniority
integration was to be resolved in a "fair
and equitable" manner through arbitra-
tion. With the pilots of three carriers
involved in the LPA arbitration, it was
inevitable that one of the issues for the
arbitrator was the impact or effect, if
any, of the preceding Nicolau Award.

Nothing in the Nicolau Award or the LPA

-28-

purported expressly or by implication to
exclude from the arbitrator the issue of
the impact or effect of that Award.
There is, therefore, no evidence at all,
much less "forceful evidence" of an
intent to exclude the issue of the Nico-
lau Award from the Ross Arbitration.
Moreover, even if the "strict iden-
tity" of issues test were still in place,
the District Court's intrusion into the
arbitration process would still be unau-
thorized because the issues in the Nico-
lau Award (the integration of FAL and CAL

pilots ona single seniority list) were

admittedly different than the issues in

-29-

the Ross arbitration (the fair and equi-
table integration of the FAL, CAL and PEX
pilots) .3

The Third Circuit reiterated the

principles of the Local 103, IVE case,

supra, in Westinghouse Broadcasting v.

Local 804, 616 F.2d 97 (3rd Cir. 1980),

where the Court, after noting the rubric
that the issue of arbitrability is for
the Court, not the arbitrator, stated:

We did decide in Local 103 that
it is for the arbitrator, and
not the court, to decide wheth-
er the question or issue pres-~-
ented before an arbitrator in
1971 had previously been sub-
mitted before another arbitra-
tor in 1946.

Id. at 100.

3 On this much, the FAL pilots and the
District Court agree ("The question
or issue before Arbitrator Ross was
clearly not the same question or
issue which was the subject of the
Nicolau arbitration") (Appendix, Ppp.
49a-50a).

-30-

The next year, the Third Circuit
once again revisited this issue in United

Mine Workers of America v. Consolidation
Coal Co., 666 F.2d 806 (3rd Cir. 1981).

In that case, the union filed suit seek-
ing to avoid arbitration and to enforce a
prior "settlement agreement" between it
and the company regarding the contracting
out of repair and maintenance work. The
Court held that the issue of the status
of the prior settlement agreement was,
itself, a matter for the arbitrator to
rule upon, stating:

Federal courts are bound to
exercise the utmost restraint
to avoid intruding on the
bargained-for method of dispute
resolution and when enforcement
of an arbitration award or
settlement agreement is sought
under Section 301, the court
must be able to. say "with
positive assurance" that the
award or settlement was intend-
ed to cover the dispute. If
the court has any doubt, the
parties should be returned to

\iintadidna seh thie on itive A

their’ grievance procedure and
arbitration, for it is an
arbitrator, and not the court,
who is to decide whether the
same issue has already been
resolved in an earlier proceed-
ing.

Id. at 811 (footnotes and citations
omitted).

In other words, the heavy burden on
the respondents and the District Court
was to find "positive assurance" from the
Nicolau Award or the LPA that the Nicolau
Award was intended "to cover the dispute"
involved in the Ross arbitration. If the
Court had “any doubt" on this matter, the
issue of the effect of the prior Nicolau
Award on the subsequent Ross arbitration
should have been resolved by the arbitra-
tor, “for it is the arbitrator, and not
the court, who is to decide whether the
same issue has already been resolved in

an earlier proceeding."

The practical difficulty of conclud-

ing, as a matter of law, that a court has
"positive assurance" that a prior arbi-
tration award is binding upon a forthcon-
ing arbitration becomes an impossibility
when the Nicolau Award contains no refer-
ence to future arbitrations and the LPA
contains no reference to prior arbitra-
tions.

There is yet another line of cases
in the Third Circuit holding generally
that an arbitrator need not follow

previous arbitrations.4 In Metropoli-

tan Edison Co. v. NLRB, 663 F.2d 478 (3rd

4 Indeed, even Arbitrator Ross. noted
that “arbitration decisions general-
ly are reviewable by, and not bind-
ing on, other arbitrators."
Arbitrator Ross further found,
however, the District Court's order
in effect superceded this general
rule and required him to give bind-
ing effect to the Nicolau Award.

Cir.

-33-

1981), aff'd 460 U.S. 693 (1983),

this Court held:

The narrow issue before us is
whether we are bound by the
previous arbitrated interpreta-
tions. We hold that we are
not.

Normally an arbitrator
need not follow previous arbi-
trations construing the same
agreement. See New Orleans
Steamship Association Vv.
General Longshore Workers, 626
F.2d 455, 468 (5th Cir. 1980),
cert. granted sub nom. Jack-
sonville Bulk Terminals, Inc.
v. International Longshoremen's
Association, 450 U.S. 1029,
1013 & Ce. 1737, 68 L.Ed.2d
223 (1981); Riverboat Casino,
Inc. v. Local Joint Executive
Board, 578 F.2d 250, 251 (9th
Cir. 1978) (to require adher-
ence to previous arbitration
would reduce flexibility of the
arbitral process). It follows
that when this court is called
upon to construe a collective
bargaining agreement, it need
not follow a previous arbitral
interpretation. To bind this
court to a contractual inter-
pretation made ina _ previous
arbitral award would not be
consistent with what the par-
ties bargained for: arbitra-
tion as a dispute resolution

process for specific griev-

ances. See NLRB vy. Pincus
Brothers, Inc.-Maxwell, 620

F.2d 367, 374 (3rd Cir. 1980).
Id. at pp. 483-84.

Here, the general rule applies
because the arbitration agreement (the
LPA) “does not provide that one arbitra-
tion is to be bound by an earlier deci-
sion" (Ibid.).

The Third Circuit in Butler Armco

Independent Union v. Armco, Inc., 701

F.2d 253 (3rd Cir. 1983), brought togeth-

er the two strands of its Local 103, IUE

line of cases with the Metropolitan

Edison line of cases.

In that case, the union sought to
enjoin the Company's action in consoli-
dating seniority units based upon a prior
arbitration award allegedly prohibiting
such action and a provision in the griev-

ance/arbitration agreement prohibiting

fee Rebel Rot Coon GaP RA Pa ot Ke a te FS Fe

re-arbitrations of the same issue or

dispute. The Court held that:

Although not entirely free
from doubt, it appears that the
union relies on two theories.
First, it maintains that’ the
current dispute is not arbitra-
ble simply because the same
issue has been resolved ina
prior arbitration. This argu-
ment would appear to be fore-
closed, however, by our holding
in Metropolitan Edison v. NLRB,
663 F.2d 478 (3rd Cir. 1981),
cert. granted, 457 U.S. 1116,
102 S.Ct. 2926, 73 L.Ed.2d 1327
(1982), that, absent contractu-
al language to the contrary,
one arbitrator's interpretation
of a collective bargaining
agreement is not binding on a
subsequent arbitrator. Second,
the union urges that the rear-
bitration clause in the con-
tract renders the current
dispute not arbitrable.

Id. at p. 255.

The Court then held that the second

argument was foreclosed by the Local 103,

IUE case, noting that in that case the
arbitration agreement also contained "a

broad ban on re-arbitration" (Ibid.). As

-36-

noted above, the language of the arbitra-
tion agreement in this case contains no
language prohibiting re-arbitration of
prior arbitration awards. It is totally
Silent on this point.

The decisions of other circuit
courts of appeal have generally adopted
the same rule onthe effect of prior
arbitration awards on a subsequent arbi-

tration. For example, in Little Six

Corp. v. UMW, 701 F.2d 26, 29 (4th Cir.

1983), the Court held:

Not only do the Company's
authorities wilt under examina-
tion, but there is solid, well-
reasoned case law holding that
the preclusive effect of a
prior arbitral award is itself
a question for arbitration. In
addition to the Third Circuit
cases mentioned above, the
Fifth Circuit has stated that
"(wjhether [a prior] award can
be given an effect akin to res
judicata or state [sic] decisis
with regard to future disputes
-». neither the district court
nor this court should decide.
If the parties do not agree,

that issue itself is a proper
subject for arbitration." New
Orleans S.S. Ass'n v. General

Longshore Workers, 626 F.2d
455, 468 (5th Cir. 1980), aff'd

sub nom. Jacksonville Bulk
Terminals, Inc. Vv. Int'l.
Longshoremen's_ Ass'n., U.S.

__. 462 S.Ct. 2673, 73 L.Ed.2d

327 (1982). The First Circuit
also has endorsed this position
in a recent decision. See
Boston Shipping Ass'n v. Int'l.
Lonashoremen's Ass'n, 659 F.2d

1 (ist Cir. 1981). The dis-
trict court below in the pres-
ent case considered the

question and adopted the view
of the Third and Fifth (and now
First) Circuits. We agree.

In Westinghouse Elevators v. SIU de

Puerto Rico, 583 F.2d 1184 (lst Cir.
1978), the: First Circuit specifically
rejected an argument that a subsequent
arbitrator was bound by the decision of a
previous arbitrator. The rationale of
that court rested on a classic arbitra-

tion case? defining the difference

5 Federal Bearings Co., Inc., 22 L.A.
721, 725-727 (1954).

-38-

between arbitration awards and judicial
precedents:

Prior awards do not con-
stitute "judicial precedents"
in future cases, unless’ the
parties agree that they should.
The legal doctrine of "judicial
precedents" does not apply to
the arbitration process. It
prevails under the "common law"
judicial system. That legal
doctrine, in effect, cautions
the courts against declaring
wrongful that which custom and
usage has sanctioned and which
the weight of judicial authori-
ty has approved. Under that
doctrine, legal principles of
contract construction, which
have been distinctly enunci-
ated, have been given the force
of law. Court decisions and
judgments are thereby accorded
authoritative weight as "legal

precedents" in determining
Similar principles in future
cases.

Arbitrators' awards do not
have a corresponding authority
or force; they are not accorded
the weight of "judicial author-
ity* in determining future
controversies, even between the
same parties or over the same

issues. e e not u-
sive or binding upon an arbi-

trator in subsequent cases. In
arbitration, all questions of

BATT. SOPRA OOD Chm ~,

-39-

fact and law are deemed to be
referred to the arbitrator for
decision. Unless restricted by
the contract, or submission
agreement, or an applicable
state statute, the arbitrator
is not bound by the strict
rules of law or evidence. As .
long as the arbitrator keeps
within his jurisdiction, he can
decide the issues submitted to
him, notwithstanding any prior
awards between the parties,
unless the parties have agreed
otherwise.

583 F.2d at 1187 (emphasis added).

Accord, Connecticut Light & Power Co. v-

Local 420, IBEW, 718 F.2d 14, 20 (2d Cir.

1983) ("Principles of stare decisis and
res judicata do not have the same doc~
trinal force in arbitration proceedings
as they do in judicial proceedings") ;

Riverboat Casino, Inc. v. Joint Executive

Bd., 578 F.2d 250, 251 (9th Cir. 1978)
("Absent a provision in the contract to
the contrary, the arbitrator could rea-

sonably conclude that strict adherence to

stare decisis would impair the flexibili-
ty of the arbitral process contemplated
by the parties").

In a more recent case, the Seventh

Circuit Court of Appeals in Local 504 v.

Roadmaster Corp., 916 F.2d 1161, 1162

(7th Cir. 1990), ruled that a company's
claim that it would not arbitrate a claim
because of the "res judicata" and "pre-
clusion by prior judgment" doctrines was
a “piffle." As that Court stated:
Arbitrators frequently inter-
pret the scope and binding

effect of earlier arbitral
decisions.

The fact that the Nicolau Award was,
in accordance with the agreement preced-
ing it, to be "final and binding" on the
parties to that award does not provide
"the most forceful evidence" that it

should have been given preclusive effect

by the district court in the Ross arbi-

tration. This same issue was presented
to the Second Circuit in Transit Mix

Concrete Corp. v. Local 282, $09 F.2d 963

(2a Cir. 1987). There the Court stated:

(S]ince the arbitration clause
encompasses the present dis-
pute, it follows that the
present dispute is arbitrable.
Since the arbitration clause
makes arbitrable any dispute
"Concerning the interpretation
[or] application" of the CBA,
it follows that questions as to
the applicability of the final-
ity clause -- in the sense of
whether the Lippman award
adjudicated the issues raised

in the present dispute -- or as
to its effect -- in the sense
of the res judicata effect of
the Lippman award -- are as-

signed, at least in the first
instance, to the Panel or the
impartial arbitrator. Under
these circumstances, we find it
neither necessary nor appropri-
ate for us to decide the ex-
tent, if any, to which the
Lippman award resolved the
issues in the present dispute.

-42-

Id. at p. 969-970 (footnotes and cita-
tions omitted).

The Court cited the Butler Armco
case, supra, as a "persuasive" precedent
for its holding. ®

The decision of the District Court
on this issue was as curious as it was
indefensible. After noting the holdings
of this Court in the Local 103, IVE and
Westinghouse Broadcasting cases, the
District Court stated:

The above Third Circuit cases

relied upon by Frontier are
clearly distinguishable from

this case. The question or

6 See also Hotel Ass' f Washington
Vv. Hotel & Restaurant Employees
Union, F.2d (>.¢. Car.

4/28/92) ("The ‘final and binding'
Clause does not so unequivocally
import the principle of precedent
into arbitral decisionmaking that
Arbitrator Cass was obliged express-
ly to consider it lest his decision
fail to draw its essence from the
contract").

(oe Ph at

tin Sct in ss

-43-

issue before Arbitrator Ross
was clearly not the same ques~
tion or issue which was’ the
subject of the Nicolau arbitra-
tion. The issue before Arbi-
trator Nicolau was the
integration of the FAL pilot
seniority list with the Conti-
nental pilot list after the
merger. The issue before
Arbitrator Ross was the inte-
gration of the PEX pilots with
the list of Continental and FAL
pilots comprised [sic] by
Arbitrator Nicolau.

(Appendix, pp. 49a-50a) The answer to
this observation is that to the extent
the dispute or issues in one arbitration
differ from those in a prior arbitration,
there should be less judicial meddling in
terms of binding a subsequent arbitrator
by the terms of prior arbitration than is
the case where there is an alleged
"strict identity" of issues between the
prior arbitration and the subsequent

arbitration.

-44-

The real thrust of Judge Politan's
decision in this respect was his determi-
nation that he would not allow the FAL
pilots to engage ina "collateral attack"
on the Nicolau Award. (Appendix, p.
51a)

But, as is evident from the line of
Courts of Appeals cases previously cited,
every party -- whether labor or manage-
ment -- who believes it has_ been the
recipient of a favorable prior arbitra-
tion award will seek the federal court's
help on the basis of avoiding "relitiga-
tion," or "collateral attacks" on the
prior favorable arbitration ruling. And
the consistent answer of the Courts of
Appeal has been to tell the parties that
they may argue the issue of collateral
attack or relitigation to the arbitrator,
but is is not for the court to decide.

If a party could involve the federal

Rill LINE OMIT tt Ae Sd TOMAR NS A A tt

judiciary in determining the effect of a

prior arbitration award on a subsequent
arbitration by invoking the accusation of
"Collateral attack" or "relitigation,"
the federal courts, contrary to consis-
tent rulings of the Courts of Appeal,
would be in the business of regularly
determining the effects of prior arbitra-
tion awards on subsequent arbitration
proceedings. This is a burden the feder-
al judiciary should not have to bear.

The error of law by the District
Court had a clear and dramatic effect on
the outcome of the Ross Award. In the
post-hearing but pre-decision meetings of
the technical support committee, Arbitra-
tor Ross made the following observa-
tions:

FAL pilots should have _ been

treated better by Nicolau. If

I were comparing equities, I

would have to come down on the
side of the FAL captains. No

-~46-

comparison, the FAL pilots have
higher equities. ... Were it
not for the restraints on us, I
{Ross} would have treated the
FAL pilots differently.

In other words, Bob [Williams],
you look at what the FAL guys
had, their length of service,
their turnkey operation, they
had as far as I'm concerned --
if I would have been George

Nicolau .. . they [FAL]
captains would have been treat-
ed better.

If I would be free to apply the
fair and equitable standard to
-you guys [FAL], you bet you ass
you'd be up higher, but they

won't let me move you. The
Court won't let me move _ you
up.

If one were to seek a textbook
example of a clear cut case of judicial
interference with the bottom line result
of a labor arbitration proceeding, it
would be hard to imagine a stronger case
than the present one.

As the quotes of Arbitrator Ross
demonstrate, the District Court's re-

quirement that the FAL pilots be bound by

the prior Nicolau Award resulted in the

FAL pilots being deprived of the only
orum in which their seniority equities
could be compared on a fair and equitable
basis with the seniority equities of the
PEX pilots. Far from seeking a “second
bite at the apple" the District Court
effectively prevented the FAL pilots from
their first and only bite at the apple of
FAL/PEX pilot equity comparison which the
FAL pilots were unequivocally promised
under the LPA as pilots of "an air carri-

er subsidiary at People Express, Inc.”

Ee
To Protect The Integrity Of The
Arbitration Process And The Parties
To It, This Court Should Direct The
Federal Courts To Uphold Court Imposed
Bans On Ex Parte Communications
Between Arbitrators And Parties To
Arbitrations And Resolve A Conflict
Between The Third Circuit And The Ninth
Circuit Court Of Appeals
As noted in the statement of the
case, the District Court ordered a spe-
cific prohibition on contacts between the
arbitrator andthe parties. The ban by
its terms did not apply to such contacts
only when they were shown to prejudice a
party. Such contacts were banned uncon-
ditionally.
This blanket prohibition of communi-

cations goes well beyond the admonitions

la steidigeaits,

aig Am bate BoC Nb BF Na A ON = Eh NA Cee De

-49-

contained in 9 U.S.C. § 10(c) where the
Arbitration Act provides for the vacation
of an arbitration award when the “arbi-
trators were guilty of ... any misbe-
havior by which the rights of the party
have been prejudiced." Under even this
obviously less rigorous statutory stan-
dard, Courts of Appeal have vacated
arbitration awards where the arbitrators

have engaged in ex parte communications.

Totem Marine Tug & Barge _ v. North Am.

Towing, 607 F.2d 649, 653 (Sth Cir.
1979). See also, U.S. Lines v. Federal

Maritime Commission, 584 F.2d 519, 539

(D.C. Cir. 1978).

In some 9 U.S.C. § 10(c) cases in
which communications have been involved,
the courts have required the party urging
rejection of the award to show that the

communication prejudiced them. See,

e.g., Mutual Fire, Marine & Inland Ins.

Co. v. Norad Reinsurance Co. Ltd., 868
F.2d 52 (3d Cir. 1989).

While we will demonstrate below that
the communication prejudiced the FAL
pilots, it should be clear from the
outset that the unequivocal order against
contacts in Para. II.8(c) of the District
Court's order did not require a showing
of prejudice. If it did, the order
should have contained a second proviso
stating words to the effect "and provided
further that any party may communicate
directly with the arbitrator so long as
no other party is prejudiced by such
communication."

In this background, the District
Court found during oral argument on the

cross motions to confirm and reject that

"In my judgment, the arbitrator -- seems
to me had an ex parte conversation." Yet

the District Court ignored its own order

banning ex parte contacts by citing the

self serving letter of the arbitrator and
the affidavit of the PEX pilot represen-
tative that their meeting related only to
the continued participation of the PEX
Committee in the arbitration process, and
that:

There is absolutely no evidence

before this court to indicate

that the conversation between

Captain Mackenzie and Arbitra-

tor Ross related to the sub-

stance of what transpired at

the Technical Advice Committee

meeting.
Appendix, p. 32a.

The undisputed evidence, as shown in
the statement of the case, disclosed that
immediately after the meeting the Arbi-
trator announced to the parties that he
had reached a conclusion on two issues
vitally affecting the Frontier pilots and

both decisions were detrimental to the

interests of the Frontier pilots and

favored the interests of the People

Express pilots who engaged in the con-
tact. The District Court simply ignored
this compelling evidence.

Finally, the District Court erred in
stating that "this conversation was in
full and open view of the other parties'
representatives" (Appendix p. 33a). Only
lay persons attended the technical sup-
port committee hearings. The evidence
was that Captain Mackenzie and Mr. Ross
conducted the meeting in a room by them-
selves with the door closed with no other
parties invited. To suggest that other
lay persons observing this conduct should
barge into the room where this private
conversation was going on is ludicrous.

The view of the District Court and
the Third Circuit that there must be
direct evidence that the neutral and the

party discussed issues under litigation

———EeEeEeEEeE~ —

-53-

is in sharp conflict with a recent deci-
sion of the Ninth Circuit rendered after
the decision of the District Court, but
before the decision of the Third Cir-
cuit.

In Pacific & Artic Ry. & Nav. CoO. Vv.

United Transportation Union, 952 F.2d

1144 (9th Cir. 1991), the Court dealt

with the issue of an xX parte contact

between the arbitrator and a representa-
tive of one of the parties. The Ninth
Circuit first noted:
As one would expect, no direct
proof exists that Levin [party
representative] talked to

Sempliner {arbitrator] about
the merits of the case.

952 F.2d at 1148. Notwithstanding the
foregoing, the Court nevertheless held
that:

Even if Levin and Sempliner did

not discuss the merits of the

case, their ex parte contacts
afforded Levin an opportunity

sccm iii

-54-

to probe Sempliner's mood and

general attitude and then to

prejudice Sempliner.
952 F.2d at 1149.

There is an obvious conflict between
the ex parte standard espoused by the
Ninth Circuit (no need for direct evi-
dence of discussion of merits) and that
adopted’ by the Third Circuit (direct
evidence required that merits of litiga-
tion were discussed).

The preferable standard is that
adopted by the Ninth Circuit. A ban on
ex parte contacts should be just that.
If this Court were to adopt the Ninth
Circuit's standard, it would avoid the
parties to the ex parte contact seeking

to excuse their prohibited behaviour on

the basis of self-serving affidavits and

7 The parties briefed the Pacific &
Artic Ry. case to the Third Cir-
cuit.

-55-

letters disclaiming discussions of the
merits of the litigation. As the Ninth
Circuit correctly noted, there is seldom
direct proof of what was discussed in an
ex parte meeting. The whole purpose of a
ban on ex parte contacts is to avoid
impropriety and the appearance of impro-
priety.

Since the existence of ex parte
contacts is a continuing issue in the
field of arbitration, it would be ex-
tremely helpful to the process if this
Court were to adopt the Ninth Circuit's
standard on ex parte contacts in labor
arbitration.

Finally, if the federal judiciary
signals to parties to labor arbitration
that it will not enforce its own ban on
ex parte contacts, the "law" of arbitra-
tion will return to the law of the jungle

where anything goes, especially ex parte

communications, and the only "rule" will

be which party can out-ex parte the other
parties.

To protect the integrity of the
arbitration process and the parties who
agree to arbitration as the preferred
method of resolving labor disputes this
Court should adopt the standard of the
Ninth Circuit and enforce agreements and

orders against ex parte contacts.

Conclusion
Since this Court -declared over
thirty years ago that arbitration was the
favored method of resolving labor dis-
putes, and since strikes have largely
lost their efficacy,® arbitration has

increased as the alternative dispute

8 See, e.g., Washington Post, 7/5/92,
p. H1, article entitled, "Labor
Loses the Strike as a Weapon."

-57-

resolution process. Now that arbitration
has come of age and millions of workers
and their employers are bound by its
results, the time has come to settle two
recurring problem areas.

The many cases cited in this brief
amply demonstrate that the issue of the
"binding" effect of prior arbitration
awards on subsequent arbitrations has
been a recurring problem over the past
two decades and should be definitively
addressed by this Court in order to
terminate once and for all attempts to
involve the federal judiciary in the
merits of labor disputes by arguing that
subsequent arbitrators should be "bound"
by the results of prior arbitration
awards.

Equally important to the arbitration
process and to the millions of Americans

who are bound by its results is the

-58-

preservation of basic fairness in the
process by enforcement of court ordered

bans on ex parte contacts. Since the

Third and Ninth Circuits have different
standards for enforcing the ban on ex
parte contacts, this Court should resolve
the conflict by adopting the Ninth Cir-
cuit standard that the ban should be
enforced even if there is no direct proof

that the ex parte contact involved the

merits of the case. This will go a long
way toward restoring confidence in the
integrity of this increasingly used

method of resolving labor disputes.

-59°-

A petition for certiorari should

issue to review the judgment of the Third

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

John A. McGuinn

Counsel of Record

Schmeltzer, Aptaker &
Shepard

Suite 1000

2600 Virginia Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20037

Attorney for the
Petitioner,

The Frontier Pilots
Litigation Steering
Committee, Inc.

APPENDIX

-la-

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

PEOPLE EXPRESS PILOT
MERGER COMMITTEE, : CIVIL ACTION
¢ NO. 87-1155
Plaintiff,

Vv. : HON. NICHOLAS
H. POLITAN
TEXAS AIR CORP., et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER COMPELLING ARBITRATION OF
THE INTEGRATION OF PILOT SENIORITY LISTS
OF CONTINENTAL AIRLINES,
PEOPLE EXPRESS AIRLINES
AND FRONTIER AIRLINES PURSUANT TO
THE PROVISIONS OF
THE LABOR PROTECTION AGREEMENT

Le Introduction

These procedures will govern
the pilot seniority integration process
for the pilot work forces of Continental
Airlines ("Continental"), Peoples Express
Airlines ("PEX") and Frontier Airlines

("FAL") .

-2a-

II. Seniority Integration Procedures

is Section of Committees. Within
30 days of the date set forth below, the

People Express Pilot Merger Committee
shall select a seniority integration
committee of five members and one alter-
nate. The Continental Pilots Merger
Committee shall similarly select a conm-
mittee of five members and one alternate.
The Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering
Committee shall also select a committee
of five members and one alternate. The
alternates shall participate fully in all
aspects of the process set forth below to
enable a smooth andtimely transition
should a member become unable to continue
serving.

The Frontier Pilots Litigation
Steering Committee's participation in
this arbitration shall be circumscribed

by the Final Award of Arbitrator George

-3a-

Nicolau, dated June 15, 1987. FAL may
not assert a position inconsistent with
that Arbitration Award but shall, for the
purposes of tnis arbitration, be deemed
bound by that award. The Award of Arbi-
trator Nicolau is currently under appeal.
In the event, at any time prior to the
Final Arbitrator's Award in this matter,
the decision of Arbitrator Nicolau shall
be reversed or modified, any party may
make application to this Court, on short
notice, to consider the impact of that
determination upon this arbitration
proceeding.

ai Exchange of Data. Within 60

days of the date set forth below, the
committees together with Continental
shall meet at a mutually agreeable place
and time for the purpose of exchanging
seniority data. No later than that date,

Continental shall provide each committee

-4a-

seniority lists of all pilots as of
September 15, 1986, March 12, 1987 and
June 1, 1989, which include date of birth
and date of hire (that is, the date used
by the Continental, FAL and PEX pilots
for monthly and system bidding purposes)
of former PEX, FAL and Continental pi-
lots, including seniority lists with date
of hire of pilots at each base, and base
staffing lists showing each pilot's
aircraft and status as of September 15,
1986, March 12, 1987, and June 1, 1989.
By that date, Continental will also .
supply each committee with the W-2 earn-
ings and common stock or other securities
received as compensation for services for
each pilot on any of the foregoing lists
for the calendar years 1984, 1985, 1986,
1987 and 1988. By that date, Continental
shall also supply each committee with the

furlough and strike and leave of absence

|
;
|
5
5 |
3

-5Sa-

dates for each pilot on any of the fore-
going lists, together with his/her ad-
justed longevity date. By that date,
Continental shall also furnish the com-
mittees with a list of each Continental
pilot's status under the rulings regard-
ing Continental of the U.S. Bankruptcy
Court for the Southern District of Texas,
including rulings on appeals therefrom,
including whether he/she is an Option 1,
Option 2 or Option 3 pilot, as well as
any copies of any rulings of the Bank-
ruptcy Court, and rulings on appeal
therefrom, pertaining to him/her for
seniority purposes. If any committee has
any questions about the accuracy or
completeness of the lists, Continental
will promptly investigate and resolve
them. The Committee and Continental
shall meet to resolve any questions

regarding pilot employment data within 90

-6a-

days of the date set forth below. Any
committee may file with the Court a
motion on short notice if there remains
disagreement regarding the adequacy of
the information provided. For purposes
of seniority list integration only, the
neutral may resolve any employment data
issues as to which all parties cannot
agree. Continental is not required to
produce any information not within its
possession, custody or control.

3. itia e s. Within 100
days of the date set forth below, the
committees shall attempt to reach agree-
ment upon a fair and equitable integra-
tion of the seniority lists of the pilot
groups. Barring agreement by majority
vote of each committee within 130 days of
the date set forth below, the parties
shall attempt to reach agreement on a

neutral third party who shall serve as a

-J7a-

binding arbitrator. If the parties fail
to reach agreement, any committee may
petition the national office of the
American Arbitration Association ("AAA")
to furnish a list of seven arbitrators
who are members of the National Academy
of Arbitrators experienced in airline
labor relations to the committees. The
committees shall select an arbitrator
from said list by alternate striking (an
equal number of strikes for each commit-
tee) within five (5) days of receipt from
the AAA.

4. Hearing before Neutral. Within

160 days from the date set forth below or
as soon as the neutral is available, the
neutral shall preside over a hearing
during which each pilot group and Conti-
nental may present evidence and argument

in support of its proffered method of

-8a-

integration. The hearing shall be con-
ducted as expeditiously as possible with
all due dispatch. There shall be no
limit on the number of expert or other
witnesses any party may call so long as
they do not unduly burden the record.
The parties shall have the opportunity to
submit briefs following the hearing. The
proceeding shall be transcribed by a
certified court reporter, who shall
supply the original to the neutral and a
copy to each committee and Continental.
The cost of the original transcript and
copies shall be paid by Continental. The
arbitration hearing will be held in
“Washington, D.C. or in another loca-
tion(s) mutually acceptable to the com-
mittees and Continental.

5. Factors to be Considered by
Neutral; Information for Conferences/
Hearings. The neutral shall consider any

Re

-9a-

factor relevant to a fair and equitable
integration of the seniority lists of the
People Express, Frontier and Continental
pilots. The parties are free to urge the
neutral to consider any factor, and put
in evidence any support, that they be-
lieve is relevant to this standard. Upon
request by any committee or the neutral,
Continental will provide such information
as is reasonably available to it, and is
necessary to the process. However,
except for the information identified in
Paragraph II.2 above, Continental shall
not be required to provide any informa-
tion which is not a matter of public
record; provided, however, that prior to
the commencement of the arbitration, the
neutral shall conduct a prehearing con-
ference to resolve any outstanding proce-
dural or evidentiary disputes, . including

any outstanding requests for information.

-10a-

At this conference or during the hearing,
the neutral may also rule on requests for
information deemed confidential by Conti-
nental and motions by any party to have
such information, if deemed confidential
by the neutral, to be received under an
appropriate protective order issued by
the neutral and, if admitted into evi-
dence, admitted under seal. Continental
shall not provide information to one
pilot group unless:it provides the same
information to all committees in the same
form. The information identified in
Paragraph 2 shall be treated confiden-
tially.

6. Decision by Neutral. Within 45
days of the conclusion of the hearing,
the neutral shall resole all open issues
previously unresolved by the committees
and Continental, and will simultaneously

issue a written opinion explaining the

-lia-

basis for his/her decision. The decision
of the neutral shall be final and binding
on the committees, their respective pilot
groups, and Texas Air Corp., Continental
Airlines, Inc., People Express, Inc.,
‘People Express Airlines, Inc., and Fron-
tier Air Lines, Inc.

FP Conditions on Integrated List.

The integrated pilot systems’ seniority
list to be preduced under these proce~
dures shall be subject to the following
condition: the integrated list shall not
alter or vary Continental's employment
policy.
8. Miscellaneous.
a. Fees and Expenses of Nev-

tral. The party or parties who are to
bear the fees and expenses of the neutral

shall be determined by the Court after

the arbitration.

-12a-

b. Release from duty and
expenses of Committee Members. Continen-

tal shall approve all releases from
flight and other duty that are required
by the respective committee members and
alternates and witnesses in order that
they may perform their duties hereunder.
Said releases shall be approved for all
meetings and arbitration hearings refer-
red to hereinabove, as well as prepara-
tion related thereto. Continental shall
pay all flight pay loss of the respective
committee members and alternates result-
ing from participation in the seniority
integration process up to a maximum of 85
hours of flight pay plus $250 per month
per diem. Continental will provide the
committee members and alternates with
fee-waived PS-5 passes for travel re-
quired in connection with the seniority

integration. ‘

-13a-

c. Communication with Neutral.

Neither Continental nor the committees
may communicate with the neutral, either
formally or informally, outside the
presence of the other parties, except in
writing, with copies to the other par-
ties, provided, however, that any party
electing not to be present for a meeting
or hearing date waives any right to be
present for such communications.

da. Attendance at meetings and

hearings and exchange of documents.

Continental may send representatives to
all meetings and arbitration sessions.
In addition, Continental will be timely
furnished with copies of ail documents
exchanged between the committees. In no
event shall any final solution be reached

which is not acceptable to each committee

(by majority vote), unless such solution

-

-14a-

; is imposed by the Neutral provided for
herein. }
e. Financial Assistance.
Continental shall not either directly or
indirectly aid financially one pilot
group unless it agrees and does provide
the identical level of financial assis-
tance to all pilot groups; the pilot
seniority integration committees’ shall
not either directly or indirectly receive
any financial assistance from sources
outside the company, including ALPA, and
shall report to the Court any such funds
received after April 24, 1989, provided,
however that each committee may receive
contributions from the pilots whom it is
representing.

III. Retention of Jurisdiction.

The Court retains jurisdiction over

this matter, and within: 10 days of the

-13a-

arbitrator's written decision, the par-
ties shall submit it to this Court, and
any party may apply to the Court at that
time for affirmance, rejection, modifica-
tion or such other action as it deems
appropriate. At the same time, the
parties shall submit to the Court the
bill of the neutral for the Court to
determine who shall bear the costs of the

arbitration.

It is so ordered, at Newark, New Jersey,

this 7th day of August, 1989.

Nicholas H. Politan
United States District Judge

16a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District of New Jersey

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

November 26, 1991

LETTER OPINION AND ORDER
ORIGINAL ON FILE WITH CLERK OF THE COURT

Andrew T. Berry, Esq.
MC CARTER & ENGLISH
100 Mulberry Street
Four Gateway Center
Newark, NJ 07102

D.F. Moore Craig, Esq.
1129 Bloomfield Avenue
West Caldwell, NJ 07006

Jesse H. Strauss, Esq.

REITMAN, PARSONNET,
MAISEL & DUGGAN

744 Broad Street

Suite 1807

Newark, NJ 07102

Michael J. Madigan, Esq.
AKIN, GUMP, STRAUSS,
HAUER & FELD
1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.
Suite 801
Washington, D.C. 20036

Dennis F. Gordon, Esq.
Frank Petramola, Jr., Esq.
GORDON & BARNETT

1133 21st Street, N.W.
Suite 450

Washington, D.C. 20036

17a

William H. Sudell, Jr., Esq.
MORRIS, NICHOLS, ARSHT
& TUNNELL
1201 N. Market Street
P O Box 1347
Wilmington, Delaware 19899

Jonathan D. Forstot, Esq.
Christopher Graham, Esq.
THACHER, PROFFITT & WOOD
Two World Trade Center
New York, NY 10048

John A. McGuinn, Esq.

SCHMELTZER, APTAKER & SHEPARD, P.C.
The Watergate

2600 Virginia Ave., Northwest
Suite 1000

Washington, DC 20037

Re: Peoples Express Merger
Committee, etc. v. Texas Air
Corporation, et al
Civil Action No. 87-1155

Dear Counsel:

This matter comes before the court
on plaintiff Peoples Express Pilot Merger
Committees ' ("PEX Pilots") motion to
affirm and enforce the August 13, 1991
arbitration award issued by Arbitrator
Jerome Ross. Defendant-Intervenor Fron-

tier Pilots Merger Committee ("Frontier")

~

18a
. has cross-moved to reject the arbitration
award. In response to the cross-motions

filed by the PEX Pilots and the Frontier
Pilots to affirm/reiject the arbitration
award, defendant Continental Airlines,
Inc. ("Continental") takes the position
that this court should affirm and enforce
the arbitration award. In addition, the
Continental Pilots Merger Committee has
filed an application for an order direct-
. ing Continental to bear all fees and
expenses which have been billed by Arbi-
trator Jerome H. Ross in connection with

the arbitration conductee pursuant to the

19a

August 7, 1989 order.1 I heard oral
argument on November 18, 1991 and re-
served decision. For the reasons out-
lined herein, the PEX Pilots' motion is
GRANTED and the arbitration award is
AFFIRMED.

In an Order dated August 7, 1989, I
compelled arbitration of the integration
of the Pilot Seniority Lists of People
Express Airlines, Continental Airlines,
and Frontier Airlines pursuant to the
provisions of the Labor Protection Agree-
ment (the "LPA"). The relevant provi-
sions of the LPA provide as follows:

[I}]n the event of a future

merger of airline operations
involving any air carrier

1 On October 2, 1991, the U.S. Bank-
ruptcy Court for the District of Delaware
issued an order lifting the automatic
stay provision of 11 U.S.C. § 362 for
purposes of permitting this court to act
upon applications filed pursuant to 3
of the August 7, 1989 Order, including

- applications regarding responsibility for

«the Arbitrator's fees and expenses.

CO

20a

subsidiary of People Express,
Inc., provision shall be made
for fair and equitable seniori-
ty integration procedures for
affected employees in each
craft or class, which shall
include as a final step, if
necessary in the absence of
agreement, a final and binding
decision by a Neutral Mediator
who shall be a member of the
National Academy of Arbitra-
tors.

Pursuant to my Order compelling
arbitration, hearings commenced before
Arbitrator Ross on May 7, 1990. Arbitra-
tor Ross conducted 72 days of hearings
and he reviewed extensive briefs and
reply briefs submitted by the parties.
The hearings were conclubed and the
record was closed with oral arguments on
April 29, 1991. On August 13, 1991,
Arbitrator Ross rendered a 135 pege
Opinion and Award integrating the Pilot
Seniority List of People Express Air-

lines, Continental Airlines, and Frontier

Airlines. ‘

21a

I retained jurisdiction over this
action pursuant to ¢ 3 of my Order com-

pelling arbitration as follows:

Be Retention of Jurisdiction

The court retains juris-
diction over this matter, _and
within ten (10) days of the
Arbitrator's written decision,
the parties shall submit it to
this court, and any party may
apply to the court at that time
for affirmance, rejection,
modification or such other
action as it deems appropriate.
At the same time, the party
shall submit to the court the
bill of the neutral for the
court to determine who shall
bear the costs of the arbitra-
tion.

Pursuant to this provision, the PEX Pilot
Merger Committee now moves to affirm and
-enforce Arbitrator Ross' Award.

The Frontier Pilots seek to reject
the arbitration award based on 5 grounds.
First, Frontier contends that Arbitrator
Ross' Award discloses a manifest disre-

gard of the Labor Protection Agreement

22a

and the Order of this court enforcing
that agreement. Specifically, Frontier
submits that the Award is not the product
of a fair and equitable seniority inte-
gration procedure which the LPA man-
dates.

Second, Frontier maintains that the
Award must be rejected because of an ex-
parte communication between the Arbitra-
tor and the Chairman of the PEX Pilot
Merger Committee which constituted a
Clear and direct violation of § 2.8(c) of
this court's Order compelling arbitra-
tion.

Third, Frontier argues that the
continuation of the hearing through the
technical support committee violated the
provisions of 4 2.4 of my order which
required a transcript of the proceedings

by a certified court reporter, and that

23a

such hearings denied the assistance of
counsel to the parties.

Fourth, counsel for Frontier con-
tends that Arbitrator Ross deprived the
FAL pilots of counsel of their choice
when he refused to adjourn certain hear-
ing dates over the objection of FAL's
counsel.

Fifth, Frontier submits that the
restriction placed by this court on the
FAL pilots' participation in the Ross
arbitration was contrary to the decisions
of the Supreme Court and the Third Cir-
cuit that District Courts should leave to
arbitrators the issue of the effect of a
prior arbitration award.

The standards governing the court's
review of a labor arbitration award are
well known and extremely narrow. A court
must enforce any arbitration award that

“draws its essence from the collective

24a

bargaining agreement". United Steelwork-

Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 597 (1960).

This standard reflects the policy in the
federal courts of elevating labor arbi-
trators to "an exalted status". Ludwig
fe) eS Vv. etcher, 405 F.2d
1123, 1126 (3d Cir. 1969).

Consequently, in reviewing an award,
the court must begin its analysis’ by
recognizing that the parties bargained
for the arbitrator's construction of the
agreement. See Enterprise Wheel, 363
U.S. at°599. A court may not, therefore,
overrule an arbitrator simply because it
disagrees with the arbitrator's construc-
tion of the contract, see id., or because

it believes its interpretation of . the

contract is better than that of the

arbitrator. See W.R. Grace & Co. v.
Local 759, International Union of the

25a

ite ubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 764
(1983). The Supreme Court has held that
as long as the arbitrator has arguably
construed or applied the contract, the
award must be enforced, regardless of the
fact that a court is convinced that the
arbitrator has committed a serious error.

See United Paperworkers International

Union v. Misco, 484 U.S. 29, 36 (1987).

The Third Circuit has elaborated
upon this standard of review finding
that, in order to upset an arbitrator's
award, there "must be absolutely no
support at all in the’ record justifying
the arbitrator's determinations for a
court to deny enforcement of an award."
News America Publications v. Newark

Typographical Union, 918 F.2d 21, 24 (3d
Cir. 1990) citing, N_F & M Corp. _v-

United Steelworkers of America, 524 F.2d

756, 760 (3d Cir. 1975)). Thus, only

26a

where there is a "'manifest disregard of
the agreement, totally unsupported by
principles of contract construction and
the law of the shop, may a reviewing
court disturb the award.'" Id. at 759

(quoting, Ludwig Honold Mfg. Co. Vv.

Fletcher, 405 F.2d 1123, 1128 (3d Cir.

1969)). In this regard, a court may not
review the merits of the arbitral deci-

sion. See Misco, 484 U.S. at 36. A

court does not review the award to ascer-
tain whether the arbitrator has applied
the correct principles of law. See
Enterprise Wheel, 363 U.S. at 598. An

arbitration award may not’ be overturned

for factual error, see Misco, 484 U.S. at

38, or because the court disagrees with
the arbitrator's assessment of the credi-
bility of witnesses, or the weight the

arbitrator has given to testimony. See N

F & M Corp., 524 F.2d 759. The test for

27a

reviewing an arbitration award is, there-
fore, "a singularly undemanding one."
ewa ographical, 918 F.2d at 24.

The court now turns’ to Frontier's
first argument in opposition to the
enforcement of the Arbitration Award,
namely, that the award reflects a mani-
fest disregard of the provisions of the
Labor Protection. Agreement. Pursuant to
the provisions of the Labor Protection
Agreement, Arbitrator Ross was bound to
apply a "fair and equitable" standard in
rendering the award which integrated the
Pilot Seniority Lists of Continental
Airlines, People Express Airlines, and
Frontier Airlines. Frontier contends
that Arbitrator Ross failed to balance
the equities of all three pilot groups by
his own admission when he stated:

The critical differences. be-

tween the arbitral charters of

the [Job Preservation Agree-
ment} and the LPA require my

EE

28a

analysis to focus primarily on

the relative equities of the:

[Continental Airlines] and PEX

pilots.

(Arbitration Opinion at p. 117).

Frontier submits that, instead of
weighing the comparative equities of all
three pilot groups on a fair and equita-
ble basis, Arbitrator Ross "tilted the
playing field" by stating that the "pri-
mary" comparison would be between the
Continental and PEX pilots. As_ such,
Frontier maintains that Arbitrator Ross
relegated the FAL pilots to a secondary
role in this arbitration because of the
Job Preservation Agreement and the Nico-
lau Award which I previously held would
be binding on the FAL Committee for
purposes of the Ross arbitration.

I find that Arbitrator Ross' award

meets the "Singularly undemanding" stan-

dard set forth by the Third Circuit Court

29a

of Appeals in News America. The arbitra-
tion award simply does not reflect a
"manifest disregard of the agreement,
totally unsupported by principles of
contract construction and the law of the

shop .. . ." Ludwig Honold Mfg. Co. v.

Fletcher, 405 F.2d 1123, 1128 (3d Cir.
1969). To the contrary, 4a thorough
review of Arbitrator Ross' opinion and
award reveals that there is much support
in the record justifying his determina-
tions. A review of the record below
discloses that Arbitrator Ross weighed a
myriad of considerations bearing on the
construction of a fair and equitable
merged seniority list, including but not
limited to, the economic viability of the
respective carriers, the non-operating
status of FAL and the limited employment
prospects for the FAL pilots resulting

therefrom, together with the protection

EE

30a

afforded the CAL pilots by virtue of
their promotional expectations for air-
craft on firm order or option to CAL as
of September 15, 1986. (See Ross Opinion
and Award at pp. 116-121.) The parties
to this action bargained for Arbitration
Ross' construction of what is "fair and
equitable" under the circumstances. I
cannot overrule the Ross Award simply
because FAL disagrees with Arbitrator
Ross' construction of the contract, or
because FAL believes its interpretation
of the contract is better than that of

the Arbitrator. See W.R. Grace & Co. v.

Local 759, International Union of the
United Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 764
(1983). See also United Steelworkers of
America v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp.,

363 U.S. 593, 597 (1960). Accordingly,

Arbitrator Ross' Award must be affirmed.

31a

~~

The court now addresses Frontier's
second argument, namely that the Arbitra-
tion Award must be rejected because of an
ex parte communication between the Arbi-
trator and the Chairman of the PEX Pilot
Merger Committee. Frontier essentially
asks this court to upset an Arbitration
Award which resulted from 72 days of
hearings based on a half hour conversa~
tion between Arbitrator Ross and Captain
Mac Kenzie, the PEX Committee Chairman.
The only sworn testimony that the court
has before it concerning what occurred
during this half hour conversation is the
affidavit of Captain Mac Kenzie and
Arbitrator Ross' letter, which both
attest to the fact that the conversation

related to the continued participation of

32a °

the People Express Committee in the
Subcommittee meetings. 2

There is absolutely no evidence
before this court to indicate that the
conversation between Captain Mac Kenzie
and Arbitrator Ross related to the sub-
stance of what transpired at the Techni-
cal Advice Committee meetings. It is
important to note that the arbitration
hearings were concluded and the record
was closed with oral arguments’ on April
29, 1991, while the conversation between

Arbitrator Ross and Captain Mac Kenzie

2 In a letter dated August 13, 1991,
Arbitrator Ross indicated that his dis-
cussion with Jim Mac Kenzie "was limited
to requesting that the People Express
Committee continue participation in the
SubCommittee meetings in the interest of
promoting insight into the construction
of the list, which in turn would lead to
harmony among the pilot groups." Arbi-
trator Ross further indicated that at no
time did he "discuss the People Express
Captain ratio in relation to the Frontier
Pilots."

33a

occurred on July 12, 1991. The conversa~
tion between Ross and Mac Kenzie took
place during a break in the Technical
Committee sessions, shortly after the
People Express representatives on the
Technical Committee distributed a letter
declining to participate further in the
Technical Committee meetings. Moreover,
this conversation was in full and open
view of the other parties' representa-
tives. After 72 days of full and fair
hearings conducted by Arbitrator Ross and
the submission of some 17,000 pages of
documents, it is baseless for Frontier to
suggest that the Arbitration Award should
be overturned because of this half hour
conversation between Captain Mac Kenzie
and Arbitrator Ross. The brief and
limited discussion between Captain Mac
‘Kenzie and Arbitrator Ross clearly did

not prejudice the Frontier Pilots so as

34a

to deprive them of "a fundamentally fair

hearing". See National Post Office

Mailhandlers v. U.S. Postal Service, 751
F.2d 834, 841 (6th Cir. 1985).

Frontier's third argument, that the
arbitration award should be vacated based
on the continuation of the hearings
through the Technical Support Committee,
must be rejected outright. Frontier
argues that the continuation of support
hearings violated the provisions of § 2.4
of this court's Order Compelling Arbitra-
tion. G 2.4 of my arbitration order
provides as follows:

The proceedings shall be tran-

scribed by a certified court

reporter, who shall supply the

original to the neutral and a

copy to each committee and

Continental.

An issue apparently arose on March

2, 1991 concerning how Arbitrator Ross

would handle the proceedings after he had

35a

studied the briefs and decided the mat-
ter. One of the parties suggested that,
after arriving at a tentative decision,
Arbitrator Ross should convene the par-
ties to announce his’ proposed decision
and to solicit the views of the parties
and their respective counsel concerning
his tentative award before it became
final. Counsel for the FAL pilots op-
posed this suggestion and, instead, urged
Arbitrator Ross to form a committee of
his choosing of the group of pilots "to
flesh out any computer runs [he] would
like to have done . . . after the award."
(See transcript of arbitration proceed-
ings at p. 16,689).

The idea of "a technical support
committee" arose from this debate.
Arbitrator Ross voiced his desire fora
committee of pilots ("other than coun-

sel") "to look at a list that [he] put

35a

together and to assist [him) in the
technical aspects of drafting that list
so that what finally comes out makes
clear what it is that [he] want[s] done."
Arbitrator Ross then emphasized that this
process would take place after he had
made his basic decision. (See transcript
of arbitration proceedings at pp. 16,704-
705). Counsel for the PEX pilots agreed
to participate in a technical support
committee but advised against "a tenta-
tive award program" with Arbitrator Ross
announcing a proposed decision and solic-
iting views from the parties as to that
decision. (See transcript of arbitration
proceedings at p. 16,706).

In an effort to explain his inten-
tions concerning the formation of a
technical support committee, Arbitrator

Ross clarified his position as follows:

37a

I [am not] proposing any tenta-

tive award. What I [am) pro-

posing [is] me meeting with

some technical people not for

the purpose of arguing anything

but simply for the purpose of

translating into words what it

is that I see as my decision

sone I am not talking about

giving anybody a chance to

change it (the decision] after

we get involved in a committee

action after that.

(See transcript of arbitration proceed-
ings at pp. 16,707-16, 718).

Arbitrator Ross further stated that
the "tentative award/pilot advisory
committee" concept was "such a signifi-
cant deviation from what was contemplated
by [this court's) order that the only way
that [he] would feel comfortable doing it
would be if [there was] unanimous agree-
ment that it made some sense." (See
transcript of arbitration proceedings at
“pp. 90-95). Frontier contends that,
despite the statements of Arbitrator

Ross, the "technical support committee"

sa

38a

turned into a "de facto pilot advisory
board" and the entire process was trans-
formed de facto into a tentative award
process. I disagree.

Arbitrator Ross' utilization of a
technical committee consisting of pilots
representing each of the four parties in
no way denied the Frontier pilots a
fundamentally fair hearing. I note at
the outset that Frontier did participate

in the technical support committee meet-

ings. In fact, all of the parties par-
ticipated in the technical committee's
post-hearing business, without objection,
until the PEX participants forwarded a
letter to Arbitrator Ross on July 12,
1991, announcing their withdrawal from
the process. It was not until after the
delivery of the PEX letter that the
Frontier pilots first voiced an objection

to the technical committee process. On

39a

August 12, 1991, Frontier complained
about the continuance of the technical
support committee meetings, as well as
the ex parte contact in a letter to
Arbitrator Ross. Nonetheless, Frontier
continued to participate in the technical
support committee meetings up through and
including the final stages.

As previously stated, Frontier
argued that the continuation of support
hearings violated the provisions of 7 2.4
of this court's Order Compelling Arbitra-
tion. However, Frontier did not come
before this court at such time to assert
that this action violated my previous
order. At oral argument, Mr. McGuinn,
counsel for Frontier, suggested that he
was reluctant to seek relief from this
court at that time because he thought his
efforts would prove unsuccessful. This

argument is without merit. Moreover,

40a

counsel for Frontier should refrain from
forecasting what this court would decide
as to any particular issue not yet before
it and should do what he or she is’ sup-
posed to do to protect his or her cli-
ent.

Furthermore, Arbitrator Ross' utili-
zation of the technical committee process
proved to be both essential and effi-
cient. For example, Arbitrator Ross used
the technical committee process to re-
solve the truly technical matters which
had arisen during the post-hearing pro-
ceedings, such as the question of how to
deal with the 29 pilots who appeared on
both the Continental and People Express
Pilot Seniority Lists, but who returned
to Continental prior to March 12, 1987,

PL when Continental imposed its merged list.
In the few technical sessions which

occurred during the July 13-15 and August

4la

7-9 periods, the technical -support com-
mittee assisted the Arbitrator in addres-
sing this and other matters and helped
devise the conditions and restrictions
which became a part of the award. As the
Frontier pilots themselves concede,
counsel representing all four parties met
with the Arbitrator on August 9, 1991 in
an effort to discuss the legal implica-
tions of the Frontier pilots' proposed
pay protection and longevity credit
conditions. (See Affidavit of John A.
McGuinn, counsel for Frontier, dated
August 21, 1991, at p. 3).

Frontier contends that Arbitrator
Ross arrived at the first meeting of the
"technical support committee" with a
tentative award that would have started
.the PEX captain ratio with the top New
York air captain, Charlie Bare, and would

have matched the top 162 PEX downgraded

42a

captains ina 1-for-1 ratio with the CAL
pilots just junior to the most junior FAL
captain. Frontier submits that, in the
end, Arbitrator Ross changed his final
award from his initial tentative award on
June 14, 1991 in significant ways at
different times during the technical
committee process. Frontier argues that,
instead of starting the first PEX captain
at the first New York air captain, Char-
lie Bare, Ross dropped the start of the
PEX captain ratio with CAL captains
several hundred numbers below Captain
Bare, and instead of ratioing the down-
graded 162 PEX pilots on a 1-for-1 basis
with the CAL pilots just below the junior
FAL captains, Ross “arbitrarily" selected
a point about 150 numbers’ junior to the
CAL pilot immediately junior to the most

junior FAL captain-to start his ratio of

43a

PEX downgraded captains and first offi-
cers with the CAL first officers. (See
Frontier's brief in support of its motion
to reject the arbitration award at p.
29).

It is significant to note that the
Arbitrator's modifications of his ini-
tially announced also adversely affected
the senior 295 People Express captains,
who dropped “several hundred numbers
below Captain Bare" (the number 1 New
York air pilot), but all 295 of these
People Express captains started out and
ended up senior to all Frontier pilots.
-Clearly, the Arbitrator's change of
position on this point during the techni-
cal committee phase had no impact whatso-
ever on any of the Frontier pilots. In
addition, the parties could have not
expected Arbitrator Ross to single-hand-

edly manage the actual construction of a

44a

merged seniority list containing more
than 4,000 pilots from four different
airlines. The technical support which
Arbitrator Ross sought from the parties
and their computers was both appropriate
and necessary under the circumstances.
The parties willingly agreed to provide
such support and Frontier's eleventh hour
objections are meritless. Accordingly,
the continuation of the hearing through
the technical support committee does not
suffice as a reason for me to set aside
Arbitrator Ross' award.

The court now turns’ to Frontier's
fourth argument, namely, that Arbitrator
Ross deprived the FAL pilots of counsel
of their choice when he refused to ad-
journ a portion of the hearings. On
September 21, 1990, counsel for the FAL
pilots requested this court to order

Arbitrator Ross to cancel certain hearing

45a

dates when counsel for the FAL pilots
could not be available. Specifically,
counsel for FAL requested this court to
postpone the arbitration hearings until
May 1, 1991. I refused to intervene in
an ongoing arbitration process and de-
clined to grant the interlocutory relief
requested at that time by an Order dated
October 4, 1990. Although I have already
ruled against the Frontier pilots on this
point, I must emphasize that Arbitrator
Ross permitted counsel for the Frontier
pilots to cross-examine any and all
witnesses he desired who had testified
during his absence. Moreover, there is
no merit in the Frontier pilot's argument
that adding hearing days after May l,
1991, as they requested, “would have

prejudiced no one". The parties consumed

46a

several months in briefing and arguing
the case after the hearings were con-
cluded. If the conclusion of the eviden-
tiary hearings was delayed until May,
then the issuance of the Award would have
been delayed for several months. This
result would run contrary to the proposi-
tion that arbitration proceedings provide
for a prompt and efficient resolution of
disputes. Accordingly, I will not over-
turn the Arbitration Award on the basis
of this argument.

I now turn to Frontier's fifth
argument, namely, that the restriction
placed by this court on the FAL pilots'
participation in the Ross Arbitration was
contrary to Supreme Court precedent and
Third Circuit decisions that District
Courts should leave to arbitrators the

issue of the effect of a prior arbitra-

tion. Over the objection of the FAL

. 47a

pilots, I entered an Order, dated August
7, 1989, compelling arbitration which
contained the following limitation on the
FAL pilots:

The Frontier Pilots Litigation
Steering Committee's participa-
tion in this arbitration shall
be circumscribed by the Final
Award of Arbitrator George
Nicolau, dated June 15, 1987.
FAL may not assert a position
inconsistent with that Arbitra-
tion Award but shall, for the
purposes of this arbitration,
be deemed bound by that award.
The Award of Arbitrator Nicolau
is currently under appeal. In
the event, at any time prior to
the Final Arbitrator's Award in
this matter, the decision of
Arbitrator Nicolau shall be
reversed or modified, any party
may make application to this
court, on short notice, to
consider the impact of that
determination upon this arbi-
tration proceeding.

At this point, I note that the Nicolau
Award which integrated the FAL pilots
with the Continental pilots was ultimate-
ly affirmed by the Colorado~* Supreme

Court.

48a

This argument for the rejection of
the Ross Award is essentially a repeti-
tion of the argument made before this
court by the FAL pilots on May 11, 1989.
Frontier relies on Local 103, IVE v. RCA
Corp., 516 F.2d 1336 (3d Cir. 1975) as
the leading case in support of its posi-
tion that this court improperly restrict-
ed the role of the FAL pilots in the Ross
arbitration proceedings. In Local 103, a
grievance challenging the company's right
to institute new job classifications was
premised upon a 1946 arbitration decision
which required the company to first
establish a job description. The union
sought to enjoin the arbitration and
specifically the company's right to
contest the underlying merits. The Third
Circuit addressed the issue of finality
in arbitration awards with the following

langvage:

49a

The union evidences the fear
that prior decisions will be
litigated ad infinitum pres-
aging a demise in finality and
opening the door to abuse. We
disagree. Open to the union,
before the arbitrator, is the
same contention it has pres-
ented to the courts, i.e., that
the ‘same question or issue’
was previously 'the subject of
arbitration'. So viewed,
finality, consistent with the
provisions of the agreement,
will be preserved.

516 F.2d at 1341.

Subsequently, in Westinghouse Broad-~-

casting Co., Inc. v. Local 804, 616 F.2d

97, 100, the Third Circuit stated, "we

did decide in Local 103 [v. RCA] that it

is for the arbitrator, and not the court,
to decide whether the question or issue
presented before an arbitrator in 1971
had previously been submitted before
another arbitrator in 1946." The above
‘Third Circuit cases relied upon by Fron-

tier are clearly distinguishable from

this case. The question or issue before

OO

50a

Arbitrator Ross was clearly not the same
question or issue which was’ the subject
of the Nicolau arbitration. The issue
before Arbitrator Nicolau was’ the inte-
gration of the FAL pilot seniority list
with the Continental pilot list after the
merger. The issue before Arbitrator Ross
was the integration of the PEX pilots
with the list of Continental and FAL
pilots comprised by Arbitrator Nicolau.
In my view, to the extent that
Arbitrator Nicolau integrated the FAL
pilots with the Continental pilots, the
FAL and the Continental pilots became one
body. Essentially, they had the’ same
interests to protect. They each had a
position ona pilot seniority list which
they had attained as a result of the
Nicolau Arbitration Award. I refused to
allow the FAL pilots to argue for a

change of their position on the seniority

5la

list vis-a-vis the Continental pilots in
the arbitration proceedings before Arbi-
trator Ross. If I permitted such con-
duct, then I would be encouraging a
collateral attack on the award issued by
Arbitrator Nicolau before the Colorado
Supreme Court could issue a final deter-
mination on that award.

However, I permitted the FAL pilots
to participate in the Ross arbitration in
an effort to allow them to protect what-
ever position they had attained as a
result of the Nicolau Award vis-a-vis the
People Express pilots who were to be
integrated by virtue of Arbitrator Ross!
Award. Moreover, my order dated August
7, 1989, provided that any party may make
application to this court, on short
notice, to consider the impact, if any,

of a reversal or modification of the

ooo

52a

Nicolau Award issued prior to the comple-
tion of the Ross arbitration proceedings.
Since the Colorado Supreme Court has
already affirmed the Nicolau Award, I
refuse to change my position and collat-
erally overrule the Nicolau Award.
Accordingly, I will not overturn the Ross
Award on the basis of this argument.
Counsel for FAL advanced two addi-
tional arguments for the rejection of the
Ross Arbitration Award at oral argument.
First, the FAL pilots suggested that
because they did not participate in the
interim fee arrangement, Arbitrator Ross
decided not to treat the FAL pilots
fairly and equitably and that he became
biased as to their position. This argu-
ment is clearly without merit. My Order
Compelling Arbitration, dated August 7,
1989, made no provision for payment of

the fees and expenses of the arbitrator

53a

on an interim basis. However, pursuant
to 4 3 of that Order, I provided that:
(Wjithin 10 days of the arbi-
trator's written decision, '
the parties shall submit to the
Court the bill of the neutral
for the Court to determine who
Shall bear the costs of the
arbitration.
Since I could impose the costs of arbi-
tration on any one party or on all par-
ties equally, I find it extremely
difficult to believe that Arbitrator Ross
would be partial or biased against FAL
because it did not contribute to his
interim fees. For FAL to suggest that
Arbitrator Ross would link their destiny
to the fact that they did not contribute
to his interim fee structure is ridicu-
lous and completely without merit.
Secondly, FAL seizes upon one con-
ment made by Arbitrator Ross during the

course of over 72 days of hearings and

Support Committee meetings in an effort

bi |

54a

to overturn the Opinion and Award.
Specifically, FAL contends that Arbitra-
tor Ross stated that "the FAL pilots
would have been better off if they had
stayed home". FAL apparently asks this
court to focus on one off-handed comment
made during the course of 72 days of
heated and vigorously contested arbitra-
tion hearings to conclude that Arbitrator
Ross was partial and biased in his find-
ings. I refuse to accept this conten-
tion. The record speaks for itself and
indicates that Arbitrator Ross rendered a

fair and impartial decision. Accord-

ingly, the Award must be AFFIRMED.

THE ARBITRATOR'S FEES AND EXPENSES

As previously stated, pursuant to §
3 of my Order Compelling Arbitration,

dated August 7, 1989, I reserved the

right to determine which parties would

55a

bear the costs of arbitration. Continen-
tal initially volunteered to bear all
costs of arbitration. At such time,
counsel for the PEX pilots indicated that
Such an arrangement would lead to the
appearance of impropriety. In an effort
to preserve the integrity of the arbitra-
tion process and to maintain the appear-
ance of impartiality, I declined to
impose all costs on Continental.

I note that the relevant provisions
of the Labor Protection Agreement con-
cerning mergers provides as follows:

In the event of a future merger
of airline operations involving
any air carrier Subsidiary of
People Express, Inc., provision
Shall be made for fair and
equitable seniority integration
procedures, for affected em-
ployees in each craft or class,
which shall include as a final
step, if necessary in the
absence of agreement, a final
and binding decision by a
Neutral Mediator who shall be a
member of the National Academy
of Arbitrators.

56a

Now that the arbitration proceedings have
been concluded and a fair and just Award
has been rendered, I find that the fees
for arbitration should be borne by Conti-
nental as part of the costs of the merg-
er.

Accordingly, Continental will be
responsible for Arbitrator Ross' fees and
expenses in connection with the arbitra-
tion as well as reimbursement of all
interim fees and costs which have been

expended to date by PEX or FAL.

APPLICATION FOR A STAY PENDING APPEAL

On November 25, 1991, FAL submitted
an application, on short notice, for a
stay pending appeal. If I were to grant
a stay pending appeal from my Order
Compelling Arbitration, it "would fly in

the face of the strong federal policy in

favor of arbitrating disputes in general

ee

57a

and labor disputes in particular." See,

e.g-, United Steelworkers v. Warrior &

Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574, 582-83

(1960). "Arbitration is supposed to be

Swift." See Graphic Communications Union

Vv. Chicago Tribune Co., 779 F.2a ee

(7th Cir. 1985). These observations are

equally applicable here. Accordingly,

FAL'S application for a Stay pending

appeal is hereby DENIED.

SO ORDERED:

NICHOLAS H. POLITAN

U.S.D.J.

58a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 91-5975

PEOPLE EXPRESS PILOT MERGER COMMITTEE
Vv.

TEXAS AIR CORP.; CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.;
PEOPLE EXPRESS, INC.; PEOPLE EXPRESS
AIRLINES, INC. ;

and

FRANK T. SHANLEY; DAVID ROSS; H. F. MARONEY;
A. G. SINIBALDI; GARY ARMENTROUT;

BILL AUTREY; ANDY CASHETTA; H. A. COOPER;
STAN CHALLGREN; BRIAN CRAVEN; JOHN GAYLORD;
DON GENTRY; JOHN GIACCHI; DAVID HEEKEN;
CHARLIE HIGDON; CHARLIE HUFF,

DARRELL JOHNSTON; ALAN KING; NEIL MILLER;
JIM NORTHINGTON; STEVE OLSEN; LARRY GREEN;
JACK STICE; JIM SKELTON; JOHN CAMPBELL;

KEN R. QUICK; R. S. BROADWATER;

C. A. SCHEPACARTER; C. P. CONRADY;

JOHN F. PAINTER; TOM E. STEVENS, as
representatives of a class consisting of all

Continental pilots;

FRONTIER PILOTS LITIGATION STEERING COMMITTEE

(Intervenor-Defendant)

Neen ee

59a

NEIL A. MILLER
(Intervenor)

Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering
Committee,

Appellant

On Appeal from the United States District
Court for the District of New Jersey
(D.C. Civil No. 87-1155)

District Judge: Honorable Nicholas H. Politan

Argued February 10, 1992

BEFORE: GREENBERG and COWEN, Circuit Judges,
and GREEN, District Judgqe«

* Honorable Clifford Scott Green, United
States District Judge for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania, sitting by
designation.

JUDGMENT ORDER

After consideration of all contentions
raised by the appellant, it is

ADJUDGED and ORDERED that the judgment of

the district court be and is hereby affirmed.

60a

Costs taxed against appellant.

BY THE COURT

Circuit Judge

ATTEST:

Sally Mrvos, Clerk

DATED: February 13, 1992 |

6la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 91-5975

PEOPLE EXPRESS PILOT MERGER COMMITTEE
Vv.

TEXAS AIR CORP.; CONTINENTAL AIRLINES INC.
PEOPLE EXPRESS INC, ; PEOPLE EXPRESS AIRLINES,
INC.

and

FRANK T. SHANLEY; DAVID ROSS; H. F. MARONEY;
A. G.- SINIBALDI; - GARY ARMENTROUT;

BILL AUTREY; ANDY CASHETTA; H. A. COOPER;
STAN CHALLGREN; BRIAN CRAVEN; JOHN GAYLORD;
DON GENTRY; JOHN GIACCHI; DAVID HEEKEN;

CHARLIE HIGDON; CHARLIE HUFF;

DARRELL JOHNSTON; ALAN KING; NEIL MILLER;
JIM NORTHINGTON; STEVE OLSEN; LARRY GREEN;
JACK STICE; JIM SKELTON; JOHN CAMPBELL;

KEN R. QUICK; R. S. BROADWATER;

C.A. SCHEPACARTER; C. P. CONRADY;

JOHN F. PAINTER; TOM E. STEPHENS,
as representatives of a class consisting of
all Continental pilots;

FRONTIER PILOTS LITIGATION STEERING COMMITTEE

(Intervenor-Defendant)

62a

NEIL A. MILLER
(Intervenor)

Frontier Pilots Litigation Steering
Committee,’

Appellant

On Appeal from the United States District
Court for the District of New Jersey
(D.C. Civil No. 87-1155)

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

PRESENT: SLOVITER, Chief Judge, and BECKER,
STAPLETON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG, SCIRICA,
COWEN, NYGAARD, ALITO, and ROTH, Circuit
Judges, and GREEN, District Judge*

The petition for rehearing filed by the
appellant in the above captioned matter having
been submitted to the judges who participated
in the decision of this court and to all the
other available circuit judges of the court in
regular active service, and the court having

ordered the appellees to file an answer to the

petition and the court having considered the

63a

petition and the answer and no judge who
concurred in the decision having asked for

rehearing, and a majority of the circuit

judges of the circuit in regular active ser-
vice not having voted for rehearing by the
court in banc, the petition for rehearing is
denied.

BY THE COURT,

Circuit Judge
DATED: April 10, 1992

*Honorable Clifford Scott Green, United
States District Judge for the Eastern Dis-
trict of Pennsylvania, sitting by designa-
tion.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0945%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
