# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clark v. Haas Group, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0880%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 832

## Text

Court, &S.
FILED

91-2076

|

| dUR 26 39?
In the r

Supreme Court of the United Skies” OM

October Term 1991

SHIRLEY CLARK,
Petitioner,
v.
HAAS GROUP, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETTTION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Paul Alan Levy
(Counsel of Record)
Alan B. Morrison

Public Citizen Litigation Group
2000 P Street, N.W., Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 833-3000

Richard C. LaFond
Jay R. Khandke

1756 Gilpin Street
Denver, Colorado 80218
(303) 388-4551

June 26, 1992 Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED”

1. Do principles of res judicata require that, in every case
involving an employment relationship, each party must assert
every claim that is available against the other party, or be forever
barred from asserting it?

2. Where an employee sued her employer for failure to pay
her overtime, and then enters into a settlement agreement that a
releases her employer only from claims for “overtime and mini- “an
mum wages,” may a subsequent action for discriminatory dis- ~~
charge be dismissed as res judicata without considering proffered
evidence of the parties’ intent to limit the scope of the settlement? ~

* All parties below are listed in the caption. However, when the action was filed,
respondent was called Haas Publishing Company.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee a gS TOT EA ET i
SEES See ene em ee iv
I Sa ah 1
Jurisdiction ....... CE TEE AARP Ce Ee 2
ITT srcsaivinsbsonslis. sestieasiniedanetsrinsneaiiaiasnacaccaaaccesiiassd oak 2
II aieethaanenisiilibisacindinsnintisasastiicidaiahce ec eteiea ti 2

He —- MPRNOCIN I BRN oan nsecsnanescsanvesenconcecesncecasansecoscceees. 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT coccccccccccccccoseeccseeccs... 6

The Decision of the Court of Appeals Conflicts with
Decisions of Several Other Circuits, and Raises
Important Questions of the Law of Res Judicata as
Well as the Ability of Parties to Settle Cases on
Terms Agreeable to Themselves.

I eect nitaseleneh ine locostnicepsngscenissriantencecss capeeec a...

TT

.
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page:
Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co..,

a le ee iiaicniaicenarissisannnaeincantenninsinnmnneemineintaiinn 15

.

Bormann v. AT&T Communications,

eee ee I Gee ads ID casitcicnssintinininrenicnntsisianiiennincenamiansniion 14
Brantley v. Surles, ~

Ge SN Cs BOI D sertiinnscnsnsennininsnnecnaiionennetntinininss 38
Burlington Northern R. Co. v. Strong,

ee ee Fe Ce a BE iiiniinitntirnemnemnncnnntasntsicinavenionen 9,10
Calderon Rosado v. General Electric Circuit Breakers,

Re ee Be Ce rs POD eicescisiscnnininrnnssnccsensinnnines 13, 14
Car Carriers v. Ford Motor Co.,

Fe Fe CE COED inicinncnisnciinisenisinninniaenintasnniinnsin 6
Citibank, N.A. v. Data Lease Financial Corp.,

906 F.2d 1496 (112GR Car. 19DD) nnn. ncccrarcessecsssesercaseees 13, 15
Coventry v. U.S. Steel Corp.,

RS FE SOG COG, BOGE) issnnsecnsnvnsnnssnssensscissceterensinaniennnnsn 14
DelCostello v. Teamsters,

ek re ED eeteientttiresennenerenmennnennennessnneasinennmnnnnisinnin 17
EEOC v. First National Bank of Jackson,

ee N 10
Evans v. Jeff D..,

GEER Is. FE ID sentcgrenisicensennttsntrinnnneniitinsesanennnniantinnpinitainiile 17
Fleming v. Travenol Laboratories,

Fe ee Ee FED ierieictcicennriiennnsininianis ve)

Frank v. Bloomcraft Inc.,

52 FEP Cases 1742 (S.D.N.Y. i) Oe ETD 11
Giles v. Roadway Express,

529 F. Supp,37 ee | anne ee Ne 10
Imperial Construction Mgmt. Corp. v. Laborers,

729 F. Supp. 1199 (N.D. Il. HEE itasaedslauiedatuumuadans 14
Keith v. Aldridge,

900 F.2d 736 (4th Cir. 1990) ooo. eecccccccssscssssssssssescseseccseeeceesn. 13
Kirk v. Board of Education of Bremen School District,

811 F.2d 347 (7th Cir. 1987) ooo. cccceccscsscsssssssssseescseecosseeses.. 11
Kolta v. Tuck Industries,

11 FEP Cases 142 (S.D.NLY. ROTTED iessuinsikieaiubbadnolpaamicatae 11
Lewis v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co.,

758 F.2d 219 (7th Cir. Oe OER Se WaT: 12
Machinists National Pension Fund v. Industrial Gear
Manufacturing Co.,

723 F.2d 944 (D.C. Cir. 1983) o...ccecccsssssssssssssssssssescssoseesccsss., 5

Mahroom v. Hook,
563 F.2d 1369 (9th Cir. OE We citinketnlaceuteieaRutace mite reas 7

May v. Morganelli-Heumann & Associates,
618 F.2d 1363 (9th Cir. 1980) oooceeccceccccsscsscssssscssseccseeeecccccce. 8

May v. Parker-Abbott Transfer & Storage,
899 F.2d 1007 (10th Cir. 1990) oooieeecccccccccsssesscsssseeccsseseocee 4,5

Medina v. Wood River Pipeline Co.,
809 F.2d 531 (8th Cir. INTE cclttttatiananinsuickeeinlater eee 14

Meding v. Hurd,
607 F. Supp. 1088 (D. Del. PD erininiciesnsidicbediadeiala eas 7

Vi

Nemaizer v. Baker,

Fe Fe ae Ce CD, DOE) cisisiccsnremeiniscscctsineisinsionanianans 15
Nesbitt v. Bun Basket,

780 F. Supp. 1151 (W.D. Mich. 1991) .............cccsssssssssseees 12,
Nilsen v. City of Moss Point,

701 F.2d 556 (Sth Cir. 1983) (€7t DAN) .......ecesesesesesesesesesees 6
Petromanagement Corp. v. Acme-Thomas Joint Venture,

GS FBG EB CR Ce. BBD insetnsensiaasiniensnreninnlnmenninashcnnin 4
Poe v. John Deere Co.,

GEG FB TA CAG. CTD aceneceeniensssonsansensicineorntntinscnntsiatiin 6

Riley v. American Family Mutual Insurance Co.,
RE a Ee Cy DD withcinsintinnnsnictesnsintnsnnnesnnsiistannnts 15

Ruple v. City of Vermillion,
FE Fe i Ce Ge ND cieicseisantininctitnicesinsincnnnptinsesanti 9

Shaver v. F. W. Woolworth Co.,
OGD Fe SORE CHU Ge, TD ccecnestennisiicesinsennsicrsennintnennstsiete )

Torres v. Rebarchak,
SIE POE RIP CAA CI. NOPD vcccitsccdinnc cee

UMW v. Gibbs,
DES WIE. FES CRIGG) vcccencerercensnniensnsensteansienainisaniieintinnnttnanios 11

Wu v. Thomas,
DGS FOG 1543 (1 2ete Cole. BORG) aeeicecsncsienenssseenmninnisnnevinsicnatinas 7

Young-Henderson v. Spartanburg Area Mental Health Center,
94S FOG THO (Os CO. BODE) sescerieseienananconrnsrnsntinseilsiitsannini 13

arcana

Vii

STATUTES, LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS, AND RULES

Statutes
er DTA csckacssssvsntienascriiosdbaieaminonsiamnmloseinetaieca cin ea
PI TE iuitinsiclnps ancnicceisécuedee eee ae 3
Pn REE wicnnintnidaisncpibineealealege ae ae 3
ie rN RO hsbc Shalciap ia easel Ue 3
Be ar SONNE ielsersentcoutncnistuencaidnseddsaseun ns eee 11
cg kn, | na SESW Ne ser co herp 12
Fs MEE nities cisiedateedecca atc nee 12
Age Discrimination in Employment Act

ZF US.C. $5 G1 68 200. ..naccseessscrvecsccsesesceeseseseseocsss...... Passim
Civil Rights Act of 1871,

Pie A MI dit i cictiaidacensbicterasconseanncslcsioes oe 8
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII

Section 706, 42 U.S.C. § 2000€-5 ooecceccccccceccccc... 11, 15, 17
Employee Retirement Income Security Act,

29 U.S.C. $§ 1001 et Sq. ..eeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssissssssseesseseeeeececccce., 5
Equal Pay Act,

SF Aan OID scrcrtnisenwenideancodnetncbinsiitaminddasdotinsil 3
Fair Labor Standards Act (“F LSA”),

29 U.S.C. §$§ 201 Ct 50. ceeseesssccssssessssssssssssssssssescsssseecccess, passim

SRN BO, PET DUG ainsscnctesssnccersnnssesscnsee, 17

Federal Employers Liability Act,
OP I G8 IID sicincsansessesisansntnasisraistnssantssensrcces 9, 12

Vili

Older Workers Protection Act,

ra ie NU INI saccades 15
RI hy, BO WE, GIES) ions secs scccncnscssesnnnvinrenientnte 15
Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

a ah 5

Nt a ed eo ee 7

tesa NE IE I es ee ee ee ee aE ee ORE i)

____ Eee ene nee nea tae oe eo mm 7
Legislative Materials

Senate Report No. 263, 101st Cong,
2d Sess. 31-35, 61-62 (1990), reprinted in

1990 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News 1509 ................ 15
MISCELLANEOUS
ee IE ID essctscccencecninincctinivonssaniiaviiznsepin 11

Restatement (Second) of Judgments (1982) ..........:0-+0+ 6, 9, 11, 13

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1991

No. 91-
SHIRLEY CLARK,
Petitioner,
v.
HAAS GROUP, INC.,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Shirley Clark petitions the Court to grant a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals in
this matter.

OPINIONS BELOW

The district court denied the motion of respondent Haas
Group for summary judgment based on res judicata in an unre-
ported opinion that is set forth at pages 11a to 13a of the Appendix
(“App. 11ato 13a”). The court of appeals reversed the jury verdict
in favor of petitioner, on grounds of res judicata, in an opinion that
is reported at 953 F.2d 1235, and that is set forth at App. 1a to 9a.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the court of appeals was
entered on January 15, 1992. App. 1a-9a. The court of appeals
denied a petition for rehearing on February 27, 1992. Jd. 10a. On
May 19, 1992, Justice White extended the time for filing a petition
for a writ of certiorari until June 26, 1992. The Court has
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT
A. Facts.

Petitioner Shirley Clark was employed by respondent Haas
Group, Inc., a publisher of apartment guides that it distributed in
approximately forty cities across the country. After she was hired
in January, 1984, Clark received glowing evaluations and rapid
promotions. She worked twelve hour days, and received seven
pay increases, bringing her annual salary to $20,500.

In 1986, Haas undertook to revamp both its organization and
its image in light of the company’s rapid growth. It promoted a
company slogan of “Haas Pizazz,” which, according to Clark’s evi-
dence that was apparently credited by the jury, placed an empha-
sis on youth. There were a number of other pieces of evidence that
also suggested that the company had a preference for younger
workers.

On October 31, 1986, petitioner was fired, at age 51, and her
duties were reassigned to a 30-year-old woman. Respondent gave
a number of reasons that would have justified her discharge, but
petitioner challenged them almost immediately by filing a charge
with, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, alleging
that respondent had discriminated against her because of her age
and gender.

While that claim was pending, in May, 1987, petitioner sued
respondent in the United States District Court for the District of
Colorado, seeking to recover unpaid overtime compensation
under the Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 201

et seq. Petitioner’s claim against respondent was based solely on
an alleged company-wide policy of refusing to pay overtime;
petitioner did not raise any claim regarding her discharge, nor
allege any type of discrimination. Eventually the parties agreed
to settle the suit, and respondent sent petitioner a broad stipula-
tion of dismissal that would have released any claims of any kind
that petitioner might have against respondent “from the begin-
ning of the world” to the date of her signature on the document.
Petitioner refused to settle on that basis, and instead agreed only
to release claims for unpaid overtime compensation or minimum
wages under the FLSA and any similar state law. Respondent
agreed to modify the settlement agreement accordingly. The
parties then signed the settlement agreement on J uly 18, 1988, and
the district court entered a stipulated order of dismissal, pursuant
to the settlement agreement. Meanwhile, on October 26, 1987,
after the FLSA claim was filed, but before it was resolved, the
EEOC issued its right to sue letter. App. 12a.

B. Proceedings Below.

On October 31, 1988, petitioner sued respondent in the Uni-
ted States District Court for the District of Colorado, under the
Age Discrimination in Employment Act (“ADEA”), 29 U.S.C. §§
601 etseq., alleging that she had been fired because of her age, and
under the Equal Pay Act, alleging that she had received less pay
than similarly situated men.! The Equal Pay Act claim was
voluntarily dismissed, and respondent moved for summary judg-
ment on the ground that the ADEA claim was barred by res
judicata. Respondent’s theory was that petitioner. could have
raised her discrimination claims against it in her previous action,
and that she could not split the claims arising out of her employ-
ment relationship with respondent into separate suits for over-
time pay and for discriminatory discharge. Petitioner quoted the
relevant language of the settlement agreement and provided an
affidavit from her counsel in the FLSA action, explaining the
negotiations that had produced that language. Based on that
history, she argued that the parties had limited their settlement to

| Phe district court had jurisdiction under 28 US.C. §§ 1331, 1337, and 1343.

eT

petitioner’s overtime claims, and that, in any event, the FLSA
action had not resolved her discrimination claims.2

The district court denied summary judgment, App. 1 1a-13a,
and the case proceeded to trial before a jury. The jury rendered
a verdict in favor of petitioner for back pay and front pay, and the
district court awarded petitioner her attorney fees. Respondent
appealed, raising a number of objections to the verdict, including
the amount of the verdict and whether front pay was a question for
the court or the jury. It also contended that the FLSA settlement
was res judicata of the discriminatory discharge claim. In this
regard, respondent relied on a previous decision of the Tenth
Circuit, Petromanagement Corp. v. Acme-Thomas Joint Venture,
835 F.2d 1329 (10th Cir. 1988), which had adopted the rule that all
claims arising out of a single contractual relationship must be
raised in a single action. In addition, respondent argued that,
because the ADEA provides for enforcement by the same proce-
dures as the FLSA, a settlement of overtime claims under the
FLSA necessarily includes ADEA claims as well.

Petitioner argued, however, that respondent had acquiesced
in the splitting of her claims, if indeed that was what had hap-
pened, when it agreed to eliminate the release of all claims “from
the beginning of the world” and substituted a narrow release of
overtime compensation and minimum wage claims. Because the
rule against claim splitting is intended to protect defendants
against being harassed by repetitive actions, a defendant should
not be heard to complain when it consents to the splitting. And,

_ in any event, petitioner argued that she had not split her claims
_ because not ail claims arising out of a single employment relation-
_ ship were part of the same transaction for purposes of res judicata.

The court of appeals reversed on res judicata grounds, thus
finding it unnecessary to reach the remaining grounds for respon-
dent’s appeal. It invoked its own decision in May v. Parker-Abbott
Transfer & Storage, 899 F.2d 1007 (10th Cir. 1990), which had

2 The settlement agreement was not introduced in the district court because it
contained a non-disclosure provision that respondent refused to waive.

extended Petromanagement to hold that the resolution of a claim
under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (“ERISA”),
which sought to enforce provisions in a pension trust agreement
requiring an employer to make certain contributions, barred a
subsequent ERISA action to enforce another provision of the
trust agreement requiring an audit of employer records to evalu-
ate the adequacy of those contributions. Thus, actions arising
under the same contract were barred, even if the second action
arose under a statute rather than the common law. In adopting
the rule of May, the Tenth Circuit had acknowledged, 899 F.2d at
1010, that its decision conflicted with the decision of the D.C.
Circuit in Machinists National Pension Fund v. Industrial Gear
Mfg. Co., 723 F.2d 944 (1983).

In the decision below, the Tenth Circuit extended the rule in
May still further, holding that all claims -- whether or not they are
based on an employment contract -- that arise out of the same
employment relationship, necessarily arise out of a single trans-
action, and thus must be raised in a single action, or are barred.
App. 8a. This is true even when, as here, there were two legally
distinct claims with no overlap in the facts. Jd. 4a. After all, the
court reasoned, under Rule 8 of the Federal Rules, petitioner
could have included both claims in the same complaint against
respondent, id. 8a, and “res judicata precludes parties from
‘relitigating issues that were or could have been raised in the prior
action.’” Jd. 9a. The court ignored the limiting language of the
settlement agreement, in effect holding that parties may not agree
between themselves to limit the preclusive effect of a settlement.

Petitioner sought rehearing and rehearing en banc, which
were both denied.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Decision of the Court of Appeals
Conflicts with Decisions of Several Other Circuits,
and Raises Important Questions of the Law of
Res Judicata as Well as the Ability of Parties
to Settle Cases on Terms Agreeable to Themselves.

Under section 24 of the Restatement (Second) of Judgments,
which several lower federal courts, including the Tenth Circuit,
have adopted, a judgment precludes litigation of all claims am,
out of the same transaction or series of connected transactions.
Whether a factual grouping constitutes a single transaction or
series of transactions is, in turn, to be determined pragmatically,
considering whether they are related in time, space, origin or
motivation, whether they form a convenient trial unit, and whether
their treatment as a unit corresponds to the parties’ expectations
or business usages.

The decision below holds that, whenever an employee brings
a single claim against her employer, all claims arising out of the
employment relationship must be raised at the same time because
employment is a single transaction. That holding conflicts with
several different lines of authority from the other circuits. Infra,
7-12. The Tenth Circuit’s refusal to consider the parties’ intent in
applying their consent dismissal disregards both the holdings of
other circuits, and the important statutory policy regarding res
judicata generally, that waivers of rights under the ADEA --
including waivers through the settlement of litigation -- must be
voluntary and knowing. Infra, 13-15. And in both respects, the
decision below disregards both the limiting language of the Re-
statement, and the practical dangers that are posed to a continu-
ing employment relationship if, once the parties choose to air a
limited dispute, they must air or surrender all their grievances
against each other at the same time. Infra, 15-18.

3 E.g., Car Carriers v. Ford Motor Co., 789 F.2d 589, 593, 594 (7th Cir. 1986); Nilsen
v. City of Moss Point, 701 F.2d 556, 560 and n.4 (Sth Cir. 1983) (en banc); Poe v.John
Deere Co., 695 F.2d 1103, 1106 (8th Cir. 1982).

a e

It would force an employee, faced with the short limitations
period that is provided for many kinds of employment claims, to
include in her complaint every possible claim, despite the need for
careful investigation before filing as required by Rule 11; simi-
larly, because compulsory counterclaims under Rule 13(a) are
also determined based on the “same transaction,” it would force
employers to bring or waive any counterclaims arising out of the
employment relationship within the same short timeframe. And,
even worse, the parties could not decide to limit their dispute by
entering into settlement agreements that were intended to be
limited to one aspect of the employment relationship. Thus, once
a single lawsuit were initiated between an employer and em-
ployee, both sides would have to be committed to total war against
the other, in which every conceivable claim would have to be
joined and litigated.

Given these consequences, it is not surprising that no other
circuit has adopted the sweeping approach of the Tenth Circuit to
the application of res judicata to claims of employers and employ-
ees. Because of the conflict among the circuits, as well as the
dangers posed both to employment relations and to sensible
litigation of employment cases, the Court should grant certiorari.

1. The decision below is squarely contrary to the holdings of
other circuits that permit employees to raise claims arising out of
different aspects of the same employment relationship in succes-
sive actions. For example, in Wu v. Thomas, 863 F.2d 1543 (11th
Cir. 1989), a professor filed an action under various civil rights
statutes claiming that her university had discriminated against her
because of her gender in matters related to promotions and pay.
After these claims were lost at trial, she filed an action claiming
that she and her husband had been subjected to retaliation
because she claimed discrimination in the first place. The district
court held that the first action precluded the second, on the
ground that the claims in the second action could have been
included in the prior one, but the Eleventh Circuit reversed. It
noted that there was no indication that Wu had raised retaliation
claims in the gender discrimination action, and that res judicata
did not bar the prosecution of a second action against her em-
ployer based on this different claim. See also Meding v. Hurd, 607

F. Supp. 1088, 1097 (D. Del. 1985) (as originally pleaded, state suit
for unlawfully withheld benefits arose from different transaction
than improper termination alleged in federal suit under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983, but amendment of state complaint to include claims over
termination made its disposition res judicata of part of federal
suit); Mahroom v. Hook, 563 F.2d 1369, 1377 (9th Cir. 1977)
(administrative dismissal of federal employee’s claim over al-
leged discrimination in 1971 promotion did not bar claim over
1973 promotion, because latter claim was new cause of action).

Similarly, in May v. Morganelli-Heumann & Associates, 618
F.2d 1363 (9th Cir. 1980), an architect sued a developer for failing
to make the payments required by a contract whereby the archi-
tect had been hired to design a project. After that action was
settled, May sued both the developer’s estate and a second
architect for having used his drawings in violation of the copyright
laws. The district court granted summary judgment on the ground
that the settlement of the first action precluded the second, but the
. Ninth Circuit reversed, holding that two separate claims could be
brought based on two separate causes of action involving the same
project.

And in Brantley v. Surles, 718 F.2d 1354 (Sth Cir. 1983), an
employee of a school district sued the district in state court for
having fired her for placing her son in a private, segregated school,
in violation of a state statute forbidding public schools from
requiring teachers to place their children in the same school
system in which the parent is employed. The state courts dis-
missed the action on the ground that the failure to attend the same
public school was not the sole reason for her discharge. The
employee then sued under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, alleging that, by
forcing her to choose between educating her child in the manner
she desired and her public employment, the school district had
invaded her constitutional right of family privacy. The Fifth
Circuit reversed the trial court’s grant of summary judgment on
res judicata grounds, holding that the two different claims arose
from two separate rights and involved determination of different
sets of facts, and thus the second action was not precluded by the
first. 718 F.2d at 1360.

Petitioner acknowledges that, when an employee who has
been discharged seeks judicial redress, other circuits have held
that any claims that employee had based on the same discharge
must be brought in a single action, despite the fact that they are
brought under different federal statutes, e.g., Fleming v. Travenol
Laboratories, 707 F.2d 829, 833-834 (Sth Cir. 1983), or even state
and federal laws. E.g., Shaver v. F. W. Woolworth Co., 840 F.2d
1361 (7th Cir. 1988); Ruple v. City of Vermillion, 714 F.2d 860 (8th
Cir. 1983). But all of these cases have treated the discharge as the
transaction that is involved in both cases. None has suggested that
the entire employment relationship is the transaction out of which
all the claims arose, and indeed we are aware of no other circuit
that has adopted the Tenth Circuit’s view that an employee must
bring all claims related to her employment relationship in the
same action. Indeed, one of the illustrations to the Restatement
(Second) of Judgments assumes that separate claims may be
brought pertaining to the same employment relationship. Jd. § 24,
Comment d and Illustration 8, at 201-202 (1982).

2. The Tenth Circuit’s decision is also contrary to the
consistent view of the other circuits that, for the purpose of
compulsory counterclaims, an employer’s employment-related
claims against an employee do not necessarily arise out of the
same transaction as the employee’s employment claims against
the employer. The question has repeatedly arisen under Rule 13
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, which requires a defen-
dant to bring as a counterclaim all claims against the plaintiff that
arise out of the same transaction or series of transactions as the
plaintiff's claims. If all employment-related claims necessarily
arose out of the same transaction, then the compulsory counter-
claim rule, which is the mirror image of the Restatement’s rule on
res judicata, would obviously require employers to bring any
possible set-off, unfair competition, breach of loyalty, and similar
claims against the employee once the employee initiated litiga-
tion over any employment-related claim.

Yet the lower courts have repeatedly refused to do that. For
example, in Burlington Norther R. Co. v. Strong, 907 F.2d 707 (7th
Cir. 1990), an employee sued his employer under the Federal
Employers Liability Act (“FELA”) for injuries occurring during

10

his employment, and the employer tried, but failed, to have the
consequent judgment reduced by the amount of supplemental
sickness benefits that it had paid to the employee on account of
the injury. Rather than appealing the district court’s refusal to
allow a set-off, the employer sued the employee under the
collective bargaining agreement to recover the benefits, and the
employee argued that the claim was res judicata, because it arose
out of the same transaction as his employment-related injury
claim, and thus had to be pleaded as a compulsory counterclaim.
The Seventh Circuit rejected this argument, 907 F.2d at 710-712,
holding that the two claims did not arise out of the same transac-
tion, that they raised different legal and factual issues, and that
judicial economy would not be served by joining both claims in the
same action.4

Similarly, in EEOC v. First National Bank of Jackson, 614
F.2d 1004 (Sth Cir. 1980), the Commission sued an employer on
behalf of its black employees, alleging that it had discriminated
against them on the basis of their race, and the employer counter-
claimed for a set-off against those employees under the state tort
of “recoupment,” which was based on the allegation that the
EEOC’s proceedings were a conspiracy with the employee who
had brought the charge. The federal court, however, would have
had jurisdiction over the counterclaim, only if it was a compulsory
counterclaim because it arose out of the same transaction or
occurrence as the claim set forth in the complaint. The Fifth
Circuit held that the two claims did not arise out of the same
transaction. 614 F.2d at 1008. Subsequent to First National Bank,
the courts in the Fifth Circuit and elsewhere have generally held
that counterclaims do not arise out of the same transaction simply
because they arise out of the same employment relationship. E.g.,
Giles v. Roadway Express, 529 F. Supp. 37 (S.D. Miss. 1981)
(counterclaim for excess wages paid to employee who sued for
employment discrimination was not compulsory); Frank v.

4 The court also held, in the alternative, that the second claim did not exist until
the first one was resolved, and thus that res judicata was barred by the exception
for later maturing claims. Id., 907 F.2d at 712. The first holding, however,
consumed most of the court’s attention, and is squarely contrary to the Tenth
Circuit’s holding here.

|

11

Bloomcraft Inc., 52 FEP Cases 1742 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) (counter-
| claim for employee’s misconduct in tape-recording conversation
: not compulsory in ADEA action); see also Kirk v. Board of Educ.
) of Bremen School District, 811 F.2d 347, 352-355 (7th Cir. 1987)
) (teachers not precluded from suing under Title VII because of
) failure to raise counterclaim to earlier state action against them
by employer to enforce arbitrator’s decision); Kolta v. Tuck
Industries, 11 FEP Cases 142, 144 (S.D.N.Y. 1975) (counterclaim
that employee worked poorly did not arise out of same transaction
as discriminatory treatment claim).

3. The Tenth Circuit’s position that all employment-related
claims between an employer and employee arise out of the same
transaction flatly contradicts the analysis of other lower courts in
yet another area of the law, relating to the removal of pendent
state law claims where the complaint raises claims under both
state and federal law. Under 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c), ifa separate and
independent federal claim is joined with an otherwise non-
removable state claim, the federal courts have discretion either to
exercise pendent jurisdiction over all the claims, or to remand the
state claim to state court; the courts have broad discretion to
remand the separate and independent claim. But if the plaintiff
seeks recovery for a single wrong under various legal theories, the
two sets of claims are not separate and independent, and the court
will ordinarily hear both claims, especially if the federal claim goes
to trial. The question of whether the two claims are separate and
independent depends on whether they “derive from a common
nucleus of operative fact. ... [I]f... a plaintiff's claims are such
that he would ordinarily be expected to try them all in one judicial
proceeding,” then the federal courts will ordinarily try the state
law claims along with the federal ones. UMW v. Gibbs, 383 U.S.
715, 725 (1966). :

Although this is not precisely the same question as whether
one claim would be res judicata of the other, the courts have
tended to decide the question of jurisdiction under Gibbs by
deciding whether the two sets of claims arise out of the same
transaction. See 1B Moore’s Federal Practice 9 0.410, at 361 n.26

| (1992) (treating Restatement definition and Gibbs standard as
comparable, and citing Restatement (Second) of Judgments, Re-

12

porter’s Comment on § 24, Comment a, at 207 (1982)). In that
regard, the lower courts have consistently refused to treat all em-
ployment-related claims between the same employee and em-
ployer as necessarily arising out of the same transaction. For
example, in Lewis v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co., 758 F.2d219 (7th
Cir. 1985), an employee sued his employer in state court under the
FELA for injuries incurred during his employment, and amended
his complaint the following year to allege that the employer had
retaliated against him, in violation of state law, for pursuing his
FELA rights. The state court ultimately dismissed the FELA
claims, at which point the employer removed the remaining state
law claim to federal court, based on diversity jurisdiction. The
plaintiff moved to remand to state court, arguing that, under the
thirty-day limit of 28 U.S.C. § 1446(b), the employer had to
remove, if at all, as soon as the retaliation count was added to the
complaint. The employer argued that it could not have removed
at that time because the retaliation claim arose out of the same
facts and transactions as the FELA claims, which, under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1445(a), were not removable. The district court denied the
motion to remand, but the Seventh Circuit reversed. It expressly
disagreed with the employer’s argument that the retaliation claim
arose out of the same transaction as the injury claims, holding
rather that it alleged a different wrong and a different set of facts.
Therefore, the retaliation claim was separate and independent
from the FELA claim, and thus the failure to remove it within
thirty days of its inclusion in the complaint barred a later removal.
758 F.2d at 221-222.

Other lower courts have reached similar results involving
claims arising from the same employment relationship. For
example, in Nesbitt v. Bun Basket, 780 F. Supp. 1151 (W.D. Mich.
1991), an employee sued his employer in state court, alleging both
that it had fajled to pay him overtime, in violation of the FLSA,
and that he had been terminated without cause in violation of a
state law employment contract. The court held that the twoclaims
were separate and independent and that there was no need to try
them together. Accordingly, it retained jurisdiction over the
FLSA claim but remanded the state claim to state court. 780 F.
Supp. at 1153.

13

4. The decision below conflicts with the holdings of other
lower federal courts in yet another way. The court of appeals
refused to consider the evidence offered by petitioner regarding
the intent of the parties under the settlement agreement dismiss-
ing the FLSA complaint. Petitioner offered to show that the
parties intended to limit the effect of the dismissal to overtime and
minimum wage claims, and did not intend it to preclude claims
based on discriminatory discharge, but the Tenth Circuit ignored
this evidence in reversing the district court’s denial of summary
judgment on res judicata grounds. This refusal to consider the
Parties’ intent is consistent with Citibank, N.A. v. Data Lease
Financial Corp., 904 F.2d 1498, 1504-1505 (11th Cir. 1990), but
contrary to the holdings of most other lower courts.

Thus, under the Restatement (Second) of Judgments, § 26(1)(a),
ordinarily a stipulated dismissal is res judicata over other claims
.fising out of the same transaction, and thus precludes the
splitting of claims just as a litigated judgment does. However,
under the Restatement, the parties are free to agree to a splitting
of claims if that is what it takes to reach a settlement. This
Proposition logically follows from the fact that a consent judgment
is essentially a contract between the parties, whose intent governs
the interpretation of the judgment’s effect.

For example, the Fourth Circuit held in Keith v. Aldridge, 900
F.2d 736, 740 (1990), that “the preclusive effect of [a consent]
judgment is determined by the intent of the parties,” although it
then rejected the plaintiff's contention that the parties had in-
tended to carve out his second claim from the settlement of an
earlier claim. In Young-Henderson v. Spartanburg Area Mental
Health Center, 945 F.2d 770, 774-775 (4th Cir. 1991), the same
" court, while expressing doubt that an action based on a discharge
would be precluded by the settlement of an earlier action over the
failure to promote, and the subsequent suspension of, the same
employee, found it unnecessary to reach the issue because the
Parties did not intend to bar later claims, as evidenced, in part, by
the fact that the parties had not taken the later claims into account
in negotiating the consent order.

Similarly, in Calderon Rosado v. General Electric Circuit

14

Breakers, 805 F.2d 1085, 1087 (ist Cir. 1986), plaintiff brought
claims in state court for unpaid overtime compensation and for
“unjustified” discharge in violation of the law of Puerto Rico; the
state court granted summary judgment for defendant on the
overtime claim but, with the agreement of both sides, granted a
motion for voluntary dismissal of the discharge claim with preju-
dice so that the legality of the discharge could be litigated in
federal court under the ADEA, which had not been raised in the
state court. Once the ADEA action was filed, however, the
employer contended that the consent dismissal with prejudice on
the state law discharge claim was res judicata. The district court
agreed, but the First Circuit reversed, holding that, because the
rule against claim splitting is intended primarily to protect a
defendant against multiple litigation, the protection could be and
had been waived when the defendant failed to object, before entry
of the first judgment, to the plaintiff's expressed intention to
litigate an ADEA claim in a later suit. See also Torres v. Re-
barchak, 814 F.2d 1219, 1226 (7th Cir. 1987); Medina v. Wood
River Pipeline Co., 809 F.2d 531, 533-534 and n.1 (8th Cir. 1987);
Imperial Constr. Mgmt. Corp. v. Laborers, 729 F. Supp. 1199, 1205-
1206 (N.D. Ill. 1990).°

There is another body of law that also conflicts with the lower
court’s refusal to consider the parties’ intent. Under respondent’s
theory, adopted by the court of appeals, petitioner, in essence,
waived her ADEA claim when she settled her FLSA suit. But the
courts have been quite uniform in allowing waivers of ADEA
rights only when, based on a totality of the circumstances, it is
clear that the individual actually intended to release ADEA
claims and understood that he was accomplishing that goal by
entering into the agreement. E.g., Bormann v. AT&T Communi-
cations, 875 F.2d 399, 401-403 (2d Cir. 1989); Coventry v. U.S. Steel
Corp. 856 F.2d 514, 522-523 (3d Cir. 1988). In adopting this rule

5 Although the issue does not appear to have been raised in Calderon Rosado, we
note that there was no suggestion that the dismissal of the overtime claim
precluded litigation of the age discrimination claim; rather, only the dismissal of
the state law discharge claim, which sought substantially the same relief as the
ADEA claim, was said to have a preclusive effect on the ADEA claim. 805 F.2d
at 1086.

15

for the ADEA, the lower courts have reasoned that it follows from
this Court’s statement in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415
U.S. 36, 52 n.15 (1974), that Title VII rights may be waived only
if “the employee’s consent to the settlement was voluntary and
knowing.” The Seventh Circuit has expressly applied the “know-
ing and voluntary” standard to determine whether the settlement
of a previous lawsuit included a waiver of rights under Title VII.
Riley v. American Family Mut. Ins. Co., 881 F.2d 368, 373-374
(1989). The Tenth Circuit’s refusal even to consider the parties’
intent in deciding whether petitioner surrendered her rights
under the ADEA thus conflicts with the analysis of this Seventh
Circuit decision as well.

In this case, although petitioner argued that the language
and circumstances of the settlement agreement showed that the
parties recognized that only minimum wage and overtime claims
were being resolved by the stipulated dismissal of the first action,
the Tenth Circuit declined to address her evidence of intent and
ruled solely on the fact that both actions involved the same em-
ployment relationship. Because its refusal to consider any evi-
dence bearing on the parties’ intent conflicts with the holdings of
most other federal courts, the Court should grant certiorari on
this issue as well. Although the Tenth Circuit did not expressly
address the issue, but simply ignored petitioner’s central argu-
ment below, the Eleventh Circuit has expressly disregarded the
parties’ intent in a reported opinion. Citibank, supra, 904 F.2d at
1504-1505, citing Nemaizer v. Baker, 793 F.2d 58 (2d Cir. 1986).
This case squarely presents the issue of the relevance of evidence
of the parties’ intent in dismissing the first action, on which there
is disagreement among the lower federal courts.

5. In addition to the foregoing conflicts among the circuits
that require this Court’s resolution, the decision below also
warrants review because of the damaging effect that the Tenth

© The Older Workers Protection Act amended the ADEA in 1990 to incorporate
the principle that waivers must be knowing and voluntary. 29 U.S.C. § 626(f);
see Senate Report No. 263, 101st Cong, 2d Sess. 31-35, 61-62 (1990), reprinted in
1990 U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News 1509, 1537-1540, 1566-1567 (discussing
cases).

16

Circuit’s approach to res judicata will have on employment
. relationships and employment litigation. Although it is no doubt
harmful to the relationship between an employer and an em-
ployee to have to resolve any of their differences in court, rather
than by negotiation, there is a substantial difference between, on
the one hand, accusing the employer of maintaining an improper
policy on overtime compensation, based on a good-faith disagree-
ment about whether a particular position is managerial, and, on
the other, accusing the employer and individual supervisors of
racism, sexism, suborning perjury by punishing employees who
refuse to commit it, and the like. Similarly, there is a world of
difference between simply defending a claim over the proper
calculation of pay, and raising a counterclaim accusing the em-
ployee of running the business into the ground or stealing trade
secrets. It is scarcely conducive to good employment relations to
compel employers and employees who may have a discrete dis-
agreement that can be resolved through the courts, without ir-
reparably damaging their relationship, to include, or lose, every
possible claim that they may have against each other.

And yet, according to the Tenth Circuit, once an employee
brings a lawsuit against her employer on any claim relating to their
employment relationship, both sides are obligated to escalate the
litigation by asserting each and every one of the employment-
related claims that they have against each other. Indeed, they
must not only litigate those claims of which they are aware, and for
which they have sufficient factual basis, but they must think long
and hard about any claims they may only vaguely suspect that they
have, and for which they may be able to develop a factual basis
during the course of the litigation. And they must consider, not
only whether it would be unduly destructive of the course of the
employment relationship to bring all possible claims into the
action, but also whether they might eventually change their minds
about the desirability of preserving a civil relationship and come
to regret having waived the most egregious claim or counterclaim
by the failure to raise it at the outset.

Moreover, the employer and employee will have to raise all
of these claims even though the statute of limitations would
otherwise give them the option of waiting. Many employment-

17

related claims have a statute of limitations of only six months, e.g.,
DelCostello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983); see also 42 U.S.C. §
2000e-5 (180 days to file claim with EEOC, and 90 days to sue after
receiving right to sue letter from EEOC). Other claims may be
brought three years or more after the cause of action accrues. E.g.,
29 U.S.C. § 216 (willful violations of the FLSA). If an employee
sues on any employment-related cause of action within the first
few months of its accrual, he must include all claims immediately
or risk a finding of res judicata.

The danger may be even worse from the perspective of an
employer-defendant. After all, the defendant has only twenty
days within which to file its answer and any compulsory counter-
claims, or it too risks waiver. If the Tenth Circuit is correct in
holding that the employment relationship is itself a single “trans-
action,” the employer must try to imagine all possible employ-
ment-related claims that it may eventually want to bring against
the employee, whether or not they relate to the specific claim in
the complaint, and decide whether to sue on them, all within this
brief period of time.

The adverse effects of the Tenth Circuit’s construction of the
“transaction” rule are magnified manyfold by the fact that the
parties cannot, at least in the Tenth and Eleventh Circuits, control
the preclusive effects of their own settlements. Rather, once the
lawsuit has begun, and the parties have been forced to level all of
their guns at one another, they must keep blasting away to a final
conclusion on every conceivable claim, because, even if they
intend to limit a settlement to a particular issue, while reserving
the right to disagree on the other issues, the courts will not honor
the parties’ expressed intentions, but will insist on deciding
whether there is res judicata based solely on the relationship
between the two actions. Like a rule that removes the subject of
attorney fees from bargaining, a rule that in effect forces all
possible claims into the bargaining, and makes it more difficult for
parties to negotiate limited settlements if that is the only matter
on which they can agree, runs counter to the important federal
policy encouraging negotiated settlements. See Evans v. Jeff D.,
475 US. 717, 733-738 (1986).

18

The doctrine of res judicata is intended te protect defen-
dants against excessive litigation and to reduce to workload of the
courts. It is hard to believe that a doctrine that pushes employees
and employers to bring more claims against each other, and then
prevents them from settling less than all of their disagreements,
will accomplish either of those objectives. Indeed, employment
law is one of the fastest growing legal specialties, in light of both
the increase in state and federal causes of action and the height-
ened public attention given to various issues of discrimination.
The Court should grant review now to consider the desirability of
an approach to res judicata that is likely to generate more
employment-related litigation and the animosity that inevitably
results from it.

The scope of claim preclusion, and the ability to limit the
effect of res judicata through the negotiation of a settlement
agreement, are questions on which all parties need to know the
answers in advance of their litigation and settlement decisions,
rather than learning in hindsight after the legal questions have
percolated among the lower courts. This is an area in which the
parties, at least to the extent that they are conscious of their
possible claims, can protect themselves by taking the proper steps.
Because the decision below threatens to frustrate the objectives
of the law of res judicata, as well as because of the specific conflicts
among the lower federal courts that are raised in this petition, the
Court should grant certiorari.

CONCLUSION

The writ of certiorari should be granted.

19

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Alan Levy
(Counsel of Record)
Alan B. Morrison

Public Citizen Litigation Group

Suite 700
2000 P Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 833-3000

Richard C. LaFond
Jay R. Khandke

1756 Gilpin Street

Denver, Colorado 80218

(303) 388-4551

June 26, 1992 Attorneys for Petitioner”

* Counsel acknowledge the invaluable assistance of Jon Romberg, then a student
at the Northeastern University School of Law, in preparing this petition.

la

PUBLISH
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

SHIRLEY CLARK, )

)

Plaintiff-Appellee, )

)
v. ) No. 90-1353
) No. 90-1362

HAAS GROUP, INC., )

)

Defendant-Appellant. )

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO
(D.C. No. 88-Z-1789)

SUBMITTED ON THE BRIEFS.

Richard C. LaFond and Jay R. Khandke of Denver, Colorado,
attorneys for Plaintiff-Appellee.

James J. Thomas, II and David L. Balser of Long, Aldridge &
Norman, Atlanta, Georgia, attorneys for Defendant-Appellant.

Before McKAY, Chief J udge, BARRETT and BRORBY,
Circuit Judges.

BARRETT, Senior Circuit J udge.

2a

Hass Group, Inc. (HGI) appeals from the judgmententered
in favor of Shirley Clark (Clark) and two orders of the district
court denying its motions for summary judgment and for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict, a new trial, or remittitur.

HGI is in the business of publishing and distributing apart-
ment guides in approximately forty cities. HGI sells advertising
in its guides to various apartment owners. The guides are
distributed free of charge to the public by placing them in various
retail outlets including supermarkets and convenience stores.

Clark, then age 49, was employed with HGI on January 11,
1984. She worked for HGI until October 31, 1986. During her
employment with HGI, Clark worked as a distribution co-man-
ager, distribution manager, and assistant regional distribution
supervisor. Clark’s work included, but was not limited to, delivery
of the guides, promotion of the guides, overseeing and imple-
menting all areas of distribution of the guides, and coordinating
with the home office.

HGI fired Clark, then fifty-one years of age, on October 31,
1986, citing nonperformance of job duties, refusal to do assigned
work, neglect in turning in travel reports, and failure to follow up
on correspondence with King Soopers, nearly resulting in the loss
of the account. Several months later, Clark went into the maga-
zine distribution business as self-employed until June, 1988.

Clark sued HGI in the federal district court for the District
of Colorado on May 18, 1987, under the Fair Labor Standards Act,
29 U.S.C. § 216(b), to recover unpaid overtime compensation,
liquidated damages, and attorney’s fees and costs. The parties
subsequently filed a stipulated motion to dismiss Clark’s action
with prejudice. On July 27, 1988, the court entered an order
dismissing the action with prejudice, directing the parties to bear
their own costs.

In July, 1988, Clark went to work as an assistant distribution
manager for HGI’S only competitor in Denver, Colorado, at a
salary of $18,000.00 per year. On November 1, 1988, Clark was
promoted to distribution manager at a salary of $25,000.00 per
year. She was terminated three and one-half months later.

On October 31, 1988, Clark filed the instant suit against HGI
in the same federal district court in which she had filed her first
suit. Her complaint was identical to her complaint in the first suit
insofar as it was predicated exclusively on her employment at HGI

3a

from January 11, 1984, through October 31, 1986. Clark asserted
two claims, i.e., (1) that HGI had deprived her of equal pay under
the Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d), and (2) that HGI had
discriminated against her because of her age in violation of the
Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C. §§
621-634. She sought damages in the form of back pay, front pay,
liquidated damages, attorney fees and costs.

Within her complaint, Clark alleged that HGI had paid her
“at a rate less than the rate [HGI] paid males for work perform-
ance requiring equal skill, effort, and responsibility, and per-
formed under similar working conditions,” (Addendum, Part
One, Tab 4 at p. 6), and that HGI’s “acts, conduct, and practices

.. constituted age-based discrimination against [her] with respect

to her compensation, terms, conditions and/or privileges or
employment in violation of [ADEA].” Id. at p. 10.

HGI moved for summary judgment, alleging that the doc-
trine of res judicata barred Clark’s suit. In denying HGI’s motion,
the court found:

The doctrine of res judicata prohibits a party from
asserting in a second lawsuit any matter that might have
been asserted in the first lawsuit. Prospero Associates
v. Burroughs Corp., 714’ F.2d 1022, 1025 (10th Cir.
1983). In order for the doctrine to apply, three ele-
ments must be present: (1) the first suit must have
proceeded to a final judgment on the merits; (2) the
parties must be identical or in privity; and (3) the suits
must be based on the same cause of action.

Here the first two elements are present .... The
court concludes, however, that the two suits are not
based on the same cause of action.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in Petroman-
agement Corp. v. Acme-Thomas Joint Venture, 835
F.2d 1329 (10th Cir. 1988) adopted the transactional
approach, advocated by the Restatement (Second) of
Judgments § 24 (1982), to the third element. This
pragmatic approach requires the Court to take into
account three factors: ‘whether the facts are related in

4a

time, space, origin, or motivation, whether they form a
convenient trial unit, and whether their treatment as a
unit conforms to the parties’ expectations or business
understanding or usage,’ Restatement § 24(2). In
determining trial convenience, the court shall examine
to what extent the witnesses or proofs in the second
action tend to overlap the witnesses or proofs in the
first action. Restatement § 24, comment b.

In the first lawsuit, plaintiff sued only for unpaid
overtime compensation, However, in the case at bar,
the wrongasserted is the alleged discrimination against
plaintiff. In applying the factors of the Restatement, it
appears that the first factor is not met, since the facts
needed to prove a charge of discrimination are very
different in motivation and origin from the facts needed
to prove the overtime compensation charge. Further-
more, the second factor is not present. The proof, if not
the witnesses, in the second lawsuit will be quite difter-
ent from that in the first lawsuit. Plaintiff will have to
go through the more complex methods of proving sex
and age discrimination.

(Addendum, Part One, Tab 5 at pp. 2-3).

Prior to trial, the parties filed a stipulated motion to dismiss
Clark’s Equal Pay Act claim. The district court subsequently
entered an order dismissing the claim with prejudice, thereafter,
Clark’s case proceeded to trial solely on her ADEA claim. The
jury returned a verdict awarding Clark $65,533.00 in back pay and
$598,226.00 in front pay. The district court also awarded Clark
attorney fees of $33,019.50. HGI’s motions for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict, a new trial, or remittitur were denied.

On appeal, HGI contends that the court erred in: deciding
that Clark’s claim was not barred by res judicata; deciding that
front pay could be awarded even though Clark had obtained a
replacement job at a higher salary prior to trial; allowing the jury
to determine the amount of front pay to be awarded; instructing
the jury with respect to front pay.

HGI also contends that the amount of the jury’s front pay

Sa

award was not supported by the evidence; the jury’s back pay
award was not supported by the evidence; the court erred in
admitting Clark’s written calculations of purported lost wages; the
court erred in denying its motion for a new trial, or, in the
alternative, remittur; and the award of attorney fees should be
reversed. Because of its dispositive nature, our discussion will be
limited to HGI’s contention that Clark’s instant action was barred
by res judicata.

As set forth, supra, the district court denied HGI’s motion
for summary judgment based on res judicata after: finding that
“the two suits are not based on the same cause of action” and “the
facts needed to prove a charge of discrimination are very different
in motivation and origin from the facts needed to prove the
overtime compensation charge.”

In reviewing a grant of summary judgment we utilize the
me standard that the district court employs. Metro Oil v. Sun

Refining & Marketing Company 936 F.2d 501, 503 (10th Cir.
1991). We view the evidence most favorably to the nonmoving
party to ascertain whether a genuine issue of fact exists; we review
legal questions de novo. Merrick v. Northern Natural Gas Co.,
911 F.2d 426, 429 (10th Cir. 1990). We also review de novo a
district court’s order denying a motion for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict, applying the same standard applied by the
district court. Heyen v. United States, 945 F.2d 359, 362 (10th Cir.
1991). A district court’s conclusions as to res judicata are
conclusions of law and reviewable de novo. N.A.A.C.P. v. Hunt,
891 F.2d 1555, 1560 (11th Cir. 1990).

Res judicata generally applies where there is an identity of
parties and of claims and a final judgment on the merits. Sjl-Flo,
Inc. v. SFHC, Inc., 917 F.2d 1507, 1520 (10th Cir. 1990). It is
designed to ensure the finality of judicial decisions. Brown v.
Felsen, 442 U,S. 127, 131 (1979). Under the doctrine of res
judicata, a final judgment on the merits of an action precludes the
parties or their privies from relitigating issues that were or could
have been raised in that action. Federated Department Stores,
Inc. v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394, 398 (1981); Allenv. McCurry, 449 U.S.
90, 94 (1980); Northern Natural Gas Company v. Grounds, 931
F.2d 678, 681 (10th Cir. 1991) (Under res judicata, or claim
preclusion, a final judgment on the merits of an action precludes
the parties or their privies from relitigating issues that were or

6a

could have been raised in the prior action); Sil-Flo, Inc. v. SFHC
Inc., supra. “Stated alternatively”, under the doctrine of res
judicata, a final judgment on the merits bars further claims by
parties or their privies based on the same cause of action. Mayv.

Parker-Abbott Transfer and Storage, Inc., 899 F.2d 1007, 1009
(10th Cir. 1990), quoting, Petromanagement Corp. v. Acme-
Thomas Joint Venture, 835 F.2d 1329, 1335 (10th Cir. 1988),
quoting, Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127, 131 (1979).

Here, there was an identity of parties; Clark and HGI were
the same, and only, parties in both suits. Moreover, the stipulated,
voluntary dismissal of Clark’s first suit, approved by the court with

prejudice, was a judgment on the merits. Brooks v. Barbour
Energy Corporation, 804 F.2d 1144, 1146 (10th Cir. 1986). Under

such circumstances, res judicata barred Clark’s instant suit to the
degree that it was based on the same cause of action as her first
suit.

Determining what constitutes a single cause of action has
long been a troublesome question. Petromanagement v. Acme-
Thomas Joint Venture, 935 F.2d at 1335. In Mayv. Parker-Abbott

Transfer and Storage, Inc., supra, we stated:

In order to determine what constitutes a single
‘cause of action’ in any given case, this circuit applies

the transactional approach of the Restatement (Sec-
ond) of Judgments § 24 (1982):

(1) When a valid and final judgment rendered in
an action extinguishes the plaintiff's claim pursuant to
the rules of merger or bar (see §§ 18, 19), the claim
extinguished includes all rights of the plaintiff to reme-
dies against the defendant with respect to ail or any part
of the transaction, or series of connected transactions,
out of which the action arose.

(2) What factual grouping constitutes a ‘transac-
tion’, and what groupings constitute a ‘series’, are to be
determined pragmatically, giving weight to such con-
siderations as to whether the facts are related in time,
space, origin or motivation, whether they form a con-
venient trial unit, and whether their treatment as a unit

oc date § Ria whe a . “

AOI ag oa >>

OPN SEAMEN Pe OR OA. en La EP. rE

Ta

conforms to the parties’ expectations or business under-
standing or usage. ,

... Under this approach, this circuit also recog-
nizes that ‘a “contract” is generally considered to be a
“transaction,” so that all claims of contractual breach
not brought in an original action would be subject to bar
of claim preclusion, so long as the breaches antedated
the original action’. . . .

899 F.2d at 1009-10.

In May v. Parker-Abbott Transfer and Storage, Inc., supra,
we applied res judicata to bar a second suit, holding that “[h]ere,
appellant has brought one suit to force the payment of delinquent
monthly contributions (late delivery), and now brings another
seeking an audit to ensure the accurate calculation of those
contributions ....” 899 F.2d at 1010.

Inasmuch as the doctrine of res judicata precludes parties
from relitigating issues that were or could have been raised,
parties cannot defeat its application by simply alleging new legal
theories. See: Bill’ 7 j iliti
887 F.2d 242 (10th Cir. 1989) (inasmuch as coal buyer had a full
opportunity to litigate its antitrust claims in earlier case involving
breach of contracts, res judicata barred subsequent suit attacking
termination clause as being unduly restrictive of competition
among coal suppliers); ing v. Ci V
Colorado, 790 F.2d 67 (10th Cir. 1986) (res judicata barred
plaintiff's 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983 claims for wrongful termi-
nation because of sex and race where plaintiff failed to raise sex
and race discrimination in prior state action when she challenged
her employment termination based upon charges that she did not
perform her duties satisfactorily or follow supervision);

y. Travenol Laboratories. Inc., 707 F.2d 829, 833 (Sth Cir., 1983)
(quoting Nilsen v. City of Moss Point, 701 F.2d 556, 559 (Sth Cir.

1983) (en banc) (adverse judgment on the merits in a Title VII
action barred successive § 1983 claim where primary right and
duty asserted and the primary wrong complained of are the same
in each action); In Re Air Crash at Dallas/Fort Worth Airport,
861 F.2d 814, 816 (Sth Cir. 1988) (a legal theory or claim is part of

8a

the same cause of action asa prior claim if it arises from “the same

operative nucleus of fact’’); Smith v. City of Chicago, 820 F.2d 916,
918 (7th Cir. 1987), quoting Car Carriers, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co.,
789 F.2d 589, 593 (7th Cir. 1986 (even though one group of facts

may give rise to different claims for relief upon different theories
of recovery, there remains but a single cause of action); Mills v.
Des Arc Convalescent Home, 872 F.2d 823, 826-827 (8th Cir.
1989) (prior judgment in Title VII suit barred § 1981 suit based on
same transaction); Cemer v. Marathon, 583 F.2d 830 (6th Cir.
1978) (Where plaintiff, following his employment discharge, first
filed suit alleging that his termination violated the ADEA and that
action was dismissed, constituting a final adjudication on the
merits, plaintiff's subsequent suit in different court alleging a
breach of employment contract was barred by res judicata; both
suits sought to remedy a single alleged wrong - the plaintiff's
discharge).

Here, the “transaction” was Clark’s employment with HGI,
_ and her claims of breach of employment duties asserted against
HGI, in totality (the two lawsuits) involved (a) unpaid overtime,
(b) back pay and front pay damages under the ADEA, (c)
damages under the Equal Pay Act, and (d) attorney fees and costs.
Had each of these claims been asserted by Clark in her complaint
filed in the first suit, they would have been heard and determined.

There is no provision in the federal rules of civil procedure
requiring that a complaint state a “cause of action” or allege
“facts.” Rather, Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a) provides that a pleading must
set forth certain criteria in order to constitute a “claim” for relief.
The code permits a plaintiff to plead alternatively and the court
is authorized to award the plaintiff such relief as the evidence
entitles. Thus, Rule 8(a) eliminates the “cause of action” concept,
and Rule 8(e)(2) permits a party to set forth two or more
statements of ““claim” alternatively or hypothetically. See also
Rule 8 (a)(3) (relief may be demanded in the alterative); Rule
18(a) (a party asserting in original claim may join as many claims,
legal, equitable, or maritime, as he has against an opposing party).

We hold that the district court erred in denying HGI’s
motion for summary judgment based on res judicata. As set forth,
supra, Clark filed the instant suit in the same federal district court
where she had filed her first suit, some eighteen months before.
The parties were identical. There was a single “transaction” in

9a

that the “claims” in each case were predicated on Clark’s employ-
ment with HGI from January il, 1984 through October 31, 1986,
The only distinction in the two suits involved the legal theories
Clark advanced. However, res judicata precludes parties from
“relitigating issues that were or could have been raised in the prior
action.” Northern Natural Gas Company v. Grounds, Supra, at
681.

Notwithstanding the district court’s finding to the contrary,
we must hold that the two actions were “related in time, space,
origin, or motivation.” e d d § 24
(1982), supra. Furthermore, the “claims” asserted in the two
cases formed a convenient trial unit,” id., particularly in that the
various “claims” and legal theories were predicated exclusively on
Clark’s employment relationship with HGI. By remitting the
instant case to proceed, the district court allowed “precisely the
sort of Piecemeal litigation, unnecessary expense, and waste of
judicial resources that the doctrine of res judicata is designed to
prevent.” May v. Parker- a d Stora c., 499
F.2d at 1010.

REVERSED AND REMANDED for further proceedings
consistent herewith.

10a
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT
SHIRLEY CLARK,
Plaintitt - Appellee,

Nos. 90-1353
90-1362

\

HAAS GROUP, INC.,

ld dd

Defendant - Appellant.

ORDER
Entered February 27, 1992

Before McKAY, Chief Judge, BARRETT, HOLLOWAY,
LOGAN, SEYMOUR, MOORE, ANDERSON, TACHA,
BALDOCK, BRORBY, and EBEL, Circuit Judges.

This matter comes on for consideration of appellee’s amended
motion to supplement the record and appellee’s petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Upon consideration whereof, the motion to supplement the
record is denied. The petition for rehearing is denied by the panel
that rendered the decision.

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing en banc was transmitted
to all of the judges of the court who are in regular active service.
No member of the panel and no judge in regular active service on
the court having requested that the court be polled on rehearing
en banc, Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the
suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied.

Entered for the Court
/s/
ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 88-Z-1789
SHIRLEY J. CLARK,
Plaintiff,
v.
HAAS PUBLISHING COMPANY,

Defendant.

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on defendant’s Combined
Motion And Brief To Dismiss Or In The Alternative Motion And
Brief For Summary Judgment. Because the motion considers
matters outside the pleadings, the Court will consider the Motion
For Summary Judgment.

The Complaint asserts claims for relief under the Equal Pay
Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d), and the Age Discrimination And Employ-
ment Act of 1967, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621-639. This Court has jurisdic-
tion under 29 U.S.C. §§ 206(d), 216(b), 626(c)(1), and 633(a) and
28 U.S.C. § 1331, 1337, and 1343. The Court has read the briefs
and reviewed the applicable case law, and is fully informed. A
hearing would not materially assist the Court in deciding this
matter.

Defendant argues that the doctrine of res judicata, or claim
preclusion, bars this lawsuit. The Court disagrees and denies the
defendant’s Motion For Summary Judgment.

Defendant employed plaintiff in its business from January
1984 through late October 1986, when plaintiff was discharged. In
May 1987 plaintiff filed a Complaint in the United States District
Court for the District of Colorado, Civil Action No. 87-F-722,

l2a

alleging a cause of action for unpaid overtime compensation
under § 16(b) of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §216(b).
That lawsuit was dismissed with prejedice pursuant to a settle-
mentagreement and stipulated motion to dismiss on July 27, 1988.

Plaintiff also filed two complaints with the Equal Employ-
ment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) in late 1986 alleging that
defendant discriminated against plaintiff on the basis of her sex
and/or her age. EEOC issued its right to sue letter on October 26,
1987, and this Complaint was filed on October 31, 1988.

The doctrine of res judicata prohibits a party from asserting
inasecond lawsuit any matter that might have been asserted in the
first lawsuit. Prospero Associates v. Burroughs Corp., 714 F.2d
1022, 1025 (10th Cir. 1983). In order for the doctrine to apply
three elements must be rpesent: (1) the first suit must have
proceeded to a final judgment on the merits; (2) the parties must
be identical or in privacy; and (3) the suits msut be based on the
Same cause of action.

Here the first two elements are present. The parties in the
two lawsuits are identical, and the first suit, a dismissal with
prejedice, is a final judgment on the merits. See e.g. Lawlor v.
National Screen Service Corp., 349 U.S. 322 (1955). The Court
concludes, however, that the two suits are not based on the same
cause of action.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in Petromanagement
Corp. v. Acme-Thomas Joint Venture, 835 F.2d 1329 (10th Cir.
1988), adopted the transactional approach, advocated by the
Restatement (Second) of Judgments § 24 (1982), to the third
element. This pragmatic approach requires the Court to take into
account three factors: “whether the facts are related in time,
space, origin, or motivation, whether they form a convenient trial
unit, and whether their treatment as a unit conforms to the
parties’ expectations or business understanding or usage.”
Restatement § 24(2). In determining trial convenience, the court
shall examine to what extent the witnesses or proofs in the second
action tend to overlap the witnesses or proofs in the first action.
Restatement § 24, comment b.

In the first lawsuit, plaintiff sued only for unpaid overtime
compensation. However, in the case at bar, the wrong asserted is
the alleged discrimination against plaintiff. In applying the
factors of the Restatement, it appears that the first factor is not

13a

met, since three facts needed to prove a charge of discrimination
are very different in motivation and origin from the facts needed
to prove the overtime compensation charge. Furthermore, the
second factor is not present. The proof, if not the witnesses, in the
second lawsuit will be quite different from that in the first lawsuit.
Plaintiff will have to go through the more complex mehods of
proving sex and age discrimination. Accordingly, it is

ORDERED that defendant’s Motion For Summary Judg-
ment is denied.

DATED at Denver, Colorado, this 12th day of December,
1989.

BY THE COURT:

/s/
ZITA L. WEINSHIENCK, Judge
United States District Court

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0880%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
