# Opposition Brief — Texas Water Conservation Ass'n v. Department of the Interior

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0747%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 823

## Text

| :

: @ | JUN 25 1992 ©

: No. 91-1927 ;

: was 91-1929(2) OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

Sabine River Authority and
Texas Water Conservation Association

Petitioners
Vv.

United States Department of Interior, et al.

Respondents

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT,
LITTLE SANDY HUNTING AND FISHING CLUB,
IN OPPOSITION

JOS. IRION WORSHAM
2001 Bryan Tower
Suite 3200

Dallas, TX 75201
(214)979-3000

Attorney for Respondent,

Little Sandy Hunting and Fishing Club
Counsel of Record

‘REST AVAILABLE COPY)

ees

sb 5 Saar gins Ee Si

,
Dene PR KIRIN 3

ee

No. 91-1927
No. 91-1929

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

Sabine River Authority and
Texas Water Conservation Association

Petitioners
Vv.
United States Department of Interior, et al.

Respondents

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit .

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT,
LITTLE SANDY HUNTING AND FISHING CLUB,
IN OPPOSITION

JOS. IRION WORSHAM
2001 Bryan Tower
Suite 3200

Dallas, TX 75201
(214)979-3000

Attorney for Respondent,
Little Sandy Hunting and Fishing Club
Counsel of Record

ihe, < «_—__——iiii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i. Whether federal action in accepting a
purely negative easement, which neither
causes nor permits any change in the
physical environment, is a major action
Significantly affecting the quality of the
human environment, requiring the

preparation of an Environmental Impact

Statement.

2. Whether the FWS Preservation Program is a
Proposal for major federal action (rather
than a general guide for future activity)
of such a nature as to require an

Environmental Impact Statement.

’

PARTIES

Although not included in the "Parties in
the Court Below" section in the Sabine River
Authority Petition, Little Sandy Hunting and
Fishing Club, correctly listed as an "Interested
Party" in the Texas Water Conservation
Association Petition, was a defendant in the
District Court, an appellee in the Court of
Appeals, and is a respondent here. It has

neither parent nor subsidiary.

oe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented .......

PareEee «-s «2s %

Table of Contents

Table of Authorities ....

Statement of the Case...

Reasons for Denying the Petitions

Argument

Conclusion

- 111 -

17

a a a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Lujan v. Natural Wildlife Federation, 2,9
497 U.S. , 420 8.Ce. 3277
(1990)
Metropolitan Edison Co. v. People a
Against Nuclear Energy,
460 U.S. 766 (1983)
National Environmental Policy Act, passim

42 U.S.C. Sec. 4321 et seq.

No. 91-1927
No. 91-1929

In The

Supreme Court of the Unitéd States

October Term, 1991

Sabine River Authority and
Texas Water Conservation Association

Petitioners
V e

United? States Department of Interior, et al.

Respondents

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT,
LITTLE SANDY HUNTING AND FISHING CLUB,
IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
In 1986 Little Sandy Hunting and Fishing
Club granted the United States of America a

perpetual non-development negative easement

|
'
'

covering 2800 acres in Wood County, Texas. The
only thrust of the easement was to preserve the
land in the character then existing. It
restricted the fee owner by prohibiting
alteration of typography or vegetative cover,
drainage of wetlands, any development, ranching
or cattle operations, timber cutting or
harvesting and unnecessary roads, trails or
fences. It granted the Fish and Wildlife
Service no affirmative rights. All FWS can do
is come on the land and see that’ the
restrictions are observed and _ conservation
practices continued. There is no right granted
to "use" the land for any purpose. The
acceptance of the easement came after the
preparation of an Environmental Assessment and
the issuance of a Finding of No Significant
Impact.

Sabine River Authority was concerned that
its proposed Waters Bluff Reservoir, designed to
meet water needs in the year 2030, could not be

built, although at this stage there had been no

st tas peneanemmaemauaniiae ie

final decision to proceed, no license or permits
obtained, and no funds were available. It
nevertheless filed suit, contending that under
NEPA an EIS was required in connection with the
acceptance of the easement.

Texas Water Conservation Association was
allowed to intervene and raised a new issue not
introduced (but now adopted) by Sabine River
Authority, namely that FWS's Concept Plan,
pertaining to future acquisition of wildlife
refuge sites, was major federal action requiring

an EIS.

|

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITIONS

There is no express contention that there
is conflict between the decision below of the
Fifth Circuit and a decision of another United
States Court of Appeals, nor that the court
below has so far departed from the accepted and
usual course of judicial proceedings as to call
for an exercise of this Court's power of
supervision.

Furthermore, the decision below is clearly
correct in that it tracks leading decisions of

this Court, namely:

1) Metropolitan Edison v. People against
Nuclear Energy, 460 U.S. 766 (1983), in holding

that federal action having no effect on the

physical environment requires no EIS; and

2) Lujan v. National Wildlife Federation,

497 U.S. -- 110 S. Ct. 3177, 111 L.Ed.2d 695

(1990), in holding that Bureau of Land
Management's land withdrawal review program did

not require an EIS.

|

ARGUMENT’
I. THE ACCEPTANCE OF THE LITTLE SANDY

EASEMENT DID NOT REQUIRE THE PREPARATION

OF AN EIS

The question at the heart of this case is
whether the acceptance of the Little Sandy
easement was " . . . major Federal action
significantly affecting the quality of the human
environment... "

Aside from whether the action was "major"
or "significant," did it affect the human
environment? It gave FWS no affirmative rights
to do anything; it put serious restrictions on
Little Sandy. The FWS goal was to maintain
everything, as far as it possibly could, as it
existed -- change nothing.

Could such an easement "significantly

affect the quality of the human environment?"

That depends on what Congress meant by "human

‘Since both Petitions present the same
two issues, they will be addressed jointly
in this brief.

environment."

How expansive is that concept?

Supreme Court in Metropolitan Edison v.
People Against Nuclear Energy, 460 U.S.

came to grips with this question and gave a

clear answer. It said:

"If we were to seize the word
"environment" out of its context and
give it the broadest possible
definition, the words "adverse
environmental effects" might embrace
virtually any consequences of a
governmental action that someone
thought "adverse." But we think the
context of the statute shows that
Congress was talking about’ the
physical environment -- the world
around us, so to speak. NEPA was
designed to promote the human welfare
by alerting governmental actors to
the effect of their proposed actions
on the physical environment." 460
U.S. at p. 772.

and again:

"Thus, although NEPA states its goals
in sweeping terms of human health and
welfare, these goals are ends that
Congress has chosen to pursue by
means of protecting the physical
environment, 460 U.S. at p. 773,
(emphasis by the Court)."

So, does the acceptance of this easement,

that is designed to continue in perpetuity the

character of this land, within the framework of

4

the easement provisions, adversely affect the

! physical environment? To ask the question is to

answer it. So far as FWS is concerned, there
will be no- changes whatsoever in the
environment. The land and waters conserved by
the easement will continue, peaceful, serene,
and undisturbed, as they have for decades. Even
as to the fee owner, Little Sandy, there are
serious restrictions on what it can do that
might alter the condition or use of the land.
And there is no change of any nature because
none of the prohibited uses is going on now. In
no way does the granting of the easement
produce, cause, or result in a change or
invasion of the environment. Literally, nothing
happens or comes to pass as a consequence of the
easement. The threshold requirement of a
primary impact on the physical environment is
missing.

The Authority and Texas Water Conservation
Association (TWCA) have recognized, as they

must, that an adverse effect upon the physical

Ne

environment is necessary to generate a
requirement for an EIS, but they immediately
shift the talk to human environment and decry
the consequences that will ensue if a scarcity
of water develops (meaning Waters Bluff is not
built) and the economy and the people suffer
from the scarcity of water.

But how is not building a reservoir an
adverse effect upon the physical environment?
It may be something else -- it may have other
consequences, but it is not a physical change in
the environment. |

There is no doubt as to what Congress had
in mind. Two principal sponsors of NEPA
explained:

"What is involved [in NEPA} is a

congressional declaration that we do not

intend, as a government or as a people, to

initiate actions which endanger’- the
continued existence or the health of

mankind: that we will not intentionally
initiate actions which do irreparable

damage _to the air, land and water which
support life on earth." 115 Cong Rec 40416
(remarks of Sen. Jackson) (emphasis
supplied).

"(Wje can now move forward to

preserve and enhance our _air,

Vv

. » . to carry out the policies and
goals set forth in the bill to
provide each citizen of this great
country a healthful environment."
Id. at 40924 (remarks of Rep.
Dingell) (emphasis supplied).

", . . irreparable damage to air, land, and

water... " How is the air -- or the land --
or water -- damaged by the acceptance of the
easement?

Petitioners recognize that they must deal
with Metropolitan Edison and manfully attempt to
do so, but they constantly encounter the problem
of identifying the change in physical
environment, resulting from federal action, that
is necessary. No matter how they twist and
turn, they cannot avoid the fact that Congress,
i enacting NEPA, chose to protect the human
environment by monitoring the effects of changes
in the physical environment.

What Petitioners seek is a different
statute -- an enhanced NEPA -- a statute that

Congress could have enacted but did not -- a

: statute that says that any federal action that

may have an effect on the human environment
(even though no effect on the _ physical
environment) requires an EIS.

Petitioners say the courts below preferred
"preservation actions" to water supply. These
courts did nothing of the sort. They merely
followed the clear decision of this Court -- to
involve NEPA, federal action must change or lead
to a change in the physical environment.

It is a one-two-three analysis -- First, a
federal action that, secondly, changes’ the
physical environment, producing, thirdly, an
effect on the human environment that should be
evaluated.

Here the second criterion is missing.
There is simply no effect on the physical
environment from the acceptance of the easement.

It is this second essential that
Petitioners ignore or glide over.

To give just one example -- the Authority

says in its Petition (page 11):

- 10 -

"The ruling below wholly excludes
from NEPA, preservation actions which
themselves cause no immediate changes
in the physical environment. This is
so, even where such actions preclude
human intervention necessary to

protect other important environmental

interests -- such as, in this case, a

plentiful clean water supply for

human consumption."

The Authority sets forth the first
criterion -- federal action, jumps over the "no
change" requirement, and emphasizes the adverse
effect on human health and welfare.

Suppose, for instance, that FWS had owned
the land in question, in fee simple, from time
immemorial, and the Authority sought to buy the
land to build Waters Bluff/Reservoir. Would FWS
have to prepare an EIS in order to decline to
sell? Obviously not, yet such action would have

all the dire consequences that the Petitioners

say will result from acceptance of the easement.

On the other hand, if FWS: decided to sell to
allow the building of the lake, it probably
would have to prepare an EIS, to evaluate the
consequences. One of the judges commented on
this point in the course of the Argument before

- ll -

* the Fifth Circuit panel and the Court in its

opinion stated:

"Of course, when the government

conveys property to, or exchanges

land with, a private party that plans

to develop the land, an EIS is

necessary because the conveyance of

property is precipitating a change in

the physical complexion of the land."

(SRA Appendix A, p.21la) (emphasis by

the Court).

The Authority attempts to support its
position by invoking the "risk" section in
Metropolitan Edison. It points to the
situations where leases, licenses, etc. from the
federal government become subject to NEPA
because they create a "risk" that subsequent
action may damage the physical environment.
Exactly so. Such licenses, etc. lead to
constructing dams, building airports, dredging
wetlands, etc. The one-two-three step is
satisfied: federal action -- environmental
change -- damage to air, land, or water (the

human environment). That can never happen in

the instant case. There can be no "risk" of

- 12 -

later action affecting adversely the environment

because the easement permits no action.

In deciding this case, the District Court
went into an extensive review of the record
which had been compiled in this case. The Fifth
Circuit on appeal, because the case had been
decided on summary judgment motions, reviewed
the record (SRA Appendix A, pp. 18a-19a) and
affirmed. Now Petitioners, presenting an
Appendix D of 154 pages of affidavits,
interrogatory excerpts and letters ask this
Court to conduct a third review of factual
matter. We urge the Court to decline this
request.

II. THE FWS PRESERVATION PROGRAM DOES NOT RISE
TO THE STATURE OF MAJOR FEDERAL ACTION
REQUIRING AN EIS
The record in this respect is very

extensive and complex. Petitioners point to

certain circumstances as indicating the
development of plans, analysis of alternatives,
and establishment of goals to such a degree as

to culminate in a proposal for action that would

- 13-

require NEPA review. They ignore the fact the

Plan was a preliminary study, which refused to
specify sites to acquire, and left open a wide
avenue of approaches to accomplish its goal of
preserving bottomland habitat. It refers to the
infancy of the program and the _ future
preparation of a detailed preservation plan.

Furthermore, the very nature of the Program
assumes that acquisition of conservation
easements and titles will not lead te changes in
the environment and thus involve NEPA. TWCA in
its brief (p. 19) refers to the Program as
", . . a program of Federal acquisition for
perpetual nondevelopment of water resource areas

." (emphasis supplied).

Finally, we deal here with a situation
where the district judge has carefully reviewed
the extensive record and concluded that ".
the Court finds the Preservation Program is not
a 'proposal' for major federal action under
NEPA." (SRA Appendix A, p. 50a).

The Court of Appeals has affirmed, saying:

- 14 -

eC en en ea

ery ae ee

"the district court correctly
dismissed the claims brought by the
Sabine River Authority and the Texas
Water Conservation Association and we
are hard-pressed to improve upon its
scholarly work." (SRA Appendix A, Pp.
3a).

The holding below on the factual analysis

of the situation brings us within the ambit of

this Court's recent opinion in Lujan v. National
W e derat , 497 U.S. . There the

question was whether a land withdrawal review
program was “agency action" within the meaning

of the Act. The court said (111 L.Ed.2d at p.

717):

"It is impossible that the affidavits
would suffice, as the Court of
Appeals held, to enable respondent to
challenge the entirety of
petitioners' so-called "land
withdrawal review program." This is
not an “agency action" within the
meaning of §702, much less a “final
agency action" within the meaning of
§704. The term "land withdrawal
review program" (which as far as we
know is not derived from _= any
authoritative text) does not refer to
a single BLM order or regulation, or
even to a completed universe of
particular BLM orders and
regulations. It is simply the name
by which petitioners have
occasionally referred to the
continuing (and thus’~ constantly

- 15 -

EIS consideration.

changing) operations of the BLM in
reviewing withdrawal revocation
applications and the classifications
of public lands and developing land
use plans as required by the FLPMA.
It is no more an identifiable "agency
action" -- much less a "final agency
action" -- than a "weapons
procurement program" of the
Department of Defense or a "drug
interdiction program" of the Drug
Enforcement Administration. As the
District Court explained, the "land
withdrawal review program" extends
to, currently at least, "1250 or so
individual classification
terminations and withdrawal
revocations. 699 F.Supp., at 332."

In brief, the Program is not ripe for NEPA-

decline the opportunity to examine a factually

complex record, already fully reviewed below.

- 16 -

Again, we urge the Court to

3
x
'
:
|

For the reasons stated, we urge denial of

the Petitions.

CONCLUSION

Respectfully submitted,

JOs. IRION WORSHAM
2001 Bryan Tower
Suite 3200

Dallas, TX 75201
(214)979-3000

Attorney for Respondent,
Little Sandy Hunting
and Fishing Club
Counsel of Record

» i7 «

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0747%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
