# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Day v. Moscow

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0722%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 821

## Text

91-1899

FILED
No. MAY 26 i999

QFriCE OF THE CLERK

Goprems Coon, UE |

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBeR TERM, 199]

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, PH.D..
Petitioner,
— against —
JOHN W. MOSCOW; JOSEPH B. MURRAY, Individually
and as Senior Court Officer of the State of New York; “JANE
DOE” MARSHALL, Individually and as Captain of the New
York City Department of Correction; JOHN DOE, 1-10,

Unknown named Officers of the New York City Police
Department and the New York City Department of Correction,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BERNARD FROMARTZ, Esq.
Attorney for Petitioner

188 Montague Street, Suite 600
Brooklyn, New York 11201
(718) 855-7675

|

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether established state rules
of accrual are to be applied in civil
rights actions brought under 42 U.S.c.
Section 1983, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 1988, or whether a "general federal

rule of accrual" is to be applied.

2. Whether the claim preclusion can
be applied to bar assertion of claims not
addressed by the Court of Appeals in a
prior decision in the same case, which
reversed in part and affirmed in part a
judgment of the District Court, or whether
the prior decision of the Court of Appeals
is the law of the case or collateral

estoppel.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .............

Zama OF AUTHORITIES ....cccccccs

PRED GEEEMOM wecececesecececces

WEEE eodeeseeveccecerseves

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT....

ARGUMENT

Ls

SECTION 1988 MANDATES

APPLICATION OF STATE RULES
OF ACCRUAL IN CIVIL RIGHTS
ACTIONS ..... Cee eeeececeres

A.

THIS COURT'S PRIOR
DECISIONS INTERPRET
42 U.S.C. 1988 WOULD
REQUIRE APPLICATION
OF STATE RULES OF
ACCRUAL IN CIVIL
RIGHTS ACTIONS ......

REFUSAL TO GIVE
DEFERENCE TO STATE
RULES OF ACCRUAL VIO-
LATES THE STATE'S CHO-
Be PWC Ecce ccccccecs

ii

iv

11

11

11

Ag

Cc.

ade

siz.

THERE IS NO GENERAL
FEDERAL RULE OF AC-
eee she Tree 15

THE 'FEDERAL RULE!
DOES NOT EXIST ....... 18

THE CIRCUIT couRT'sS
UNPRECEDENTED EXTENSION
OF THE DOCTRINE OF CLAIM
PRECLUSION TO PRIOR
DECISIONS OF A COURT
OF APPEALS REVERSING
IN PART AND AFFIRMING IN
PART VIOLATES ESTABLISHED
PRINCIPLES OF FINALITY .23

CONCLUSION ............ 30

OTM $4566 onde ian ck cs, A~1

A.

B.

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Bireline _v. Seagondollar, 567 F.2d 260
(4th Cir., 1977) 48, 21

Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478,
100 S. Ct. 1890, 64 L. Ed. 2d 440 (1980)

7, 42, 13, 38, 23

Braderman v. Pa. Housing Finance Agency,

620 F. Supp. 1069 (E.D. Pa., 1985) 9
Buford v. Tremayne, 747 F.2d 445 (8th
Cir., 1984) 8
Burnett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 2, 32 L. Ba.
2d 36, 104 S. Ct. 2924 (1984) 13
c j v. United es, 324 U.S. 229
(1945) 27

Chapman Vv. Houston Welfare Rights
Organization, 441 U.S. 600, 60 L. Ed. 2a
508, 99 S. Ct. 1905 (1979) 16

Chardon v. Fumero Soto, 462 U.S. 658, 77
L. Ed. 2d 74, 103 S. Ct. 2611 (1983)
co Pe &

Collins v., Miller, 212 U.S. 365 (1920)
28

Cowgill v. Raymark Industries, Inc., 832
F.2d 798 (3d Cir., 1987) 10, 25

Day_v. Morgenthau, 909 F.2d 75 (2d Cars.
1990) 2

iv

Day v. Moscow, 769 F. Supp. 972 (S.D.N.Y.,
1991) 2
Day v. Moscow, 955 F.2d 807 (2d Cir.,
1992) 2

Erie Railroad Co. wv. Tompkins, 304 7.8.

64, 82 L. Ed. 1188, 58 Ss. ct, 817 (1938)
15

Gaus v. City o Wells, 620 F. Supp. 1461
(N.D. ing., 1985) 9

Hardin v. Stray , 490 U.S. 536, 109 B. Ge.
1998, 104 L. Ed. 2d 582 (1989) 7, i2

International Union T.U.A. & A. W. v.
Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S. 696, 86

S. Ct. 1107, 16 L. Ed. 24 199 (1966)

19
Onnson vy, Llw ss Cy, 421
U.8. 454, 95 s, ce. 1716, 44 L, Ed. 2d 295
(1975) S, 11, 12
Kirwan v. State, 320 A.2q 837 (Super. a
Conn., 1974) 21
Madruga v, Superior Court of California,
346 U.S. 2a6, $8 ZL. Ed. 290, 74S. Ct. 298
(1958) 17
Milwaukee vy. [ inois, 451 U.S. 304, 68 L.
Ed. 2d 114, 101 s. Ct. 1784 (1981) 16
Monroe v. Ppa » 863 U.S. 267, 62 &. Crs
473, 5 L. Ed. 2d 492 (1961) 20
Quinton y. United States, 304 F.2q 234

(Sth Cir., 1962)
14,22

Vv

OOOO

Quitmeyer Vv. Southeast Pa. Transit
Authority, 740 F. Supp. 363 (E.D. Pa.,
1990) 10

Rawlings v. Ray, 312 U.S. 76, 61 8. Ct.
473, 85 L. Ed. 605 (1941) 18, 21

Raysor v. Port Authority of New York and
New Jersey, 768 F.2d 34 (2d Cir., 1985),
cert. den., 475 U.S. 1027, 106 S. Ct.
1227, 89 L. Ed. 2d 337 fee Cari, 1986)

20

Robertson v. Wegmann, 436 U.S. 584, 98 S.
Ct. 1991, 56 S. Ct. 554 (1972) 7, 20

Singleton v. New York, 632 F. 2d 185 (2d
Cir., 1980), cert. den., 450 U.S. 920

(1981) 18
sone vv. 2.2.6... Inc., 637 F.2d 154 (3d
Cir., 1980) a0, 23, 26
United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 15
L. Ed. 2d 404, 86 S. Ct. 500 (1966) 17
Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 69 S. ct...
1018, 93 L. Ed. 1282 (1949) 22
Wheeldin v, Wheeler, 373 U.S. 647, 10 L.
Ed. 2d 605, 83 S. Ct. 1441 (1963) 16
White v. Bloom, 621 F.2d 276 (8th Car...
1980), cert. den., 449 U.S. 995 8
Williams v. Dothan, 745 F.2d 1406 (11th
Cir., 1984) 9

Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 105 S. Ct.
1038, 85 L. Ed. 2d 254 (1985)

9, 12, 20

vi

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1) 2
42 U.S.C. Section 1983 a a
42 U.S.C. 1988 9, ad
F.R.C.P. 6
TREATISES
Am. Jur. 2d, False Imprisonment, Section
84 21
49 A.L.R. 2d 922 21

35 C.J.S., False Imprisonment, Section 49
21

54 C.J.S., Limitation of Actions, Section
175 21

Restatement, 2d, Judgments, Section 13
Say a6, at

Vll

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1991

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, Ph. D.,
Petitioner
- against -
JOHN W. MOSCOW, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner Christopher C. Day, Ph. D.
(Day) .respectfully petitions for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, entered in this case on

January 24, 1992.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals
(Day II) is reported at 955 F. 2d 807 (2d
Cir., 1992). The opinion of the District
Court for the Southern District of New
York is reported at 769 F. Supp. 972 (S.
D.N.Y., 1991). The prior opinion of the
Court of Appeals (Day I) is reported at

909 F. 2a 75 (2d Cir., 1990).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals
was entered on January 24, 1992. Petiti-
oner timely filed a petition for rehearing
with the Court of Appeals. The petition
was denied on February 25, 1992. This
Court has jurisdiction to review the judg-
ment of the Court of Appeals by writ of

certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section

1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

42 United States Code, Section 1988

(reproduced in full at Appendix, A-69).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition arises from the Second
Circuit's affirmance of a judgment of dis-

missal of petitioner's civil rights ac-

tion, brought under 42 U.S.C.

statute of limitations grounds.

1983,

on

The underlying facts as summarized by

the Court of Appeals are as follows:

At the pertinent times, Day was
serving as a paralegal for a New
York City law firm. Defendant
John W. Moscow was an Assistant
District Attorney for New York
County; defendant Joseph B.
Murray was a senior court offi-
cer in the criminal courts
building ("courthouse") at 111
Centre Street in New York Coun-
ty.

On December 11, 1985, Day accom-
panied one of the firm's attor-
neys to an area of the court-
house known as the "holding
pens," in which prisoners were
detained. Day waited outside
the holding pens while the at-
torney went inside to deliver a

message to a prisoner. On the
following day, December 12,
1985, while sitting in a

courtroom in the same court-
house, Day was arrested, without
a warrant, and charged with
criminal trespass in connection
with his presence outside the
holding pens the day before.
Murray arrested Day on the in-
struction of Moscow, and
searched Day's briefcase and

billfold. Day was incarcerated
for some 31 hours while awaiting

his arraignment. The charge
against him was. eventually
dismissed.

Plaintiff's pro se 1983 false airest
and malicious prosecution complaint was
filed December 13, 1988. In an Opinion
and Memorandum dated October 23, 1989, the
District Court for the Southern District
of New York, Duffy, J., dismissed the
action against Moscow on grounds of abso-
lute immunity and against Murray on the
grounds of failure to state a claim be-
cause there was no causal nexus between
damages alleged and the arrest/search
claims. Plaintiff moved to reargue and
for leave to amend, which was denied De-

cember 13, 1989.

In Day I, the Court of Appeals
reversed the dismissal of the arrest/

search and seizure claims against both

respondents, and affirmed the dismissal of
the malicious prosecution claims on abso-
lute immunity grounds. The Court also
ruled that as three year statute of limi-
tations applied, that under federal law
the arrest/search claims accrued at the
time of the arrest, but under FRCP 6 did
not begin to run until the next day, De-
cember 13, 1985. The Court reversed in
part, affirmed in part, granted leave to
replead, and remanded for further proceed-

ings consistent with the opinion.

Respondent Murray then filed a peti-
tion for rehearing and the Court amended
its opinion (see Day I at A-21) without
permitting petitioner to respond, rever-
Sing its ruling that FRCP 6 extended the
commencement of the limitations period and
affirming the dismissal of the arrest and

search and seizure claims against Murray.

On remand, on May 14, 1991, the Dis-
trict Court dismissed the amended conm-
plaint on statute of limitations grounds,
ruling that the false arrest and search
and seizure claims against Moscow were un-
timely since they accrued on the date of
arrest, under the "general federal rule of
accrual", and that no "tolling" provision

of New York law applied.

The District Court also ruled the
malicious prosecution claim against Murray
was barred because it was not addressed by
the Court of Appeals (although briefed by
Petitioner) the remand was limited to
granting petitioner leave to replead the
false arrest and search and seizure

claims.

On appeal, the Second Circuit af-

firmed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Court of Appeals, in finding
that the date of accrual of Plaintiff's
Section 1983 false arrest claim applied a
"general federal rule of accrual", ruling
that Plaintiff's Section 1983 claim for
false arrest accrued at the time of his
arrest and not at the time of his release,
contrary to New York rules of accrual for

false arrest claims.

In doing so, the Court of Appeals de-
cided an important question of federal law
in conflict with the holding of the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals in White v.

Bloon, 621 F. 2d 276, 281 (8th Cit.
1980), cert. den. 449 U.S. 995, and Buford
v. Tremayne, 747 F. 2d 445 (8th Cit...
1984)) in a way in conflict with the ‘ap-
plicable decisions of this Court in John-

son_v. Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S.

ee

454, 463, 95 S. Ct. 1716, 44 L. Ed. 2d 295

(1975); Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446

U.S. 478, 484-85, 100 S. Ct. 1890, 64 L.

Ed. 2d 440 (1980); Wilson v. Garcia, 471

U.S. 261, 267, 105 S. Ct. 1038, 85 L. Ed.

2d 254 (1985) and Hardin v. Straub, 490

usS. $36, 109 8. Ct. 1998, 104 L. Ed. 2a
582 (1989); and the express mandate of 42

U.S.C. 1988.

The application of the "general fed-
eral rule of accrual" has also caused con-
siderable confusion among the lower fede-
ral courts, which have continued to apply
state rules of accrual to Section 1983
actions even in Circuits which have adop-
ted the "general federal rule of accrual."

See, e.g., Williams v. Dothan, 745 F. 2a

1406 (11th Cir., 1984); Braderman v. Pa.

Housing Finance Agency, 620 F. Supp. 1069

(E.D. Pa., 1985); Gaus v. City of Wells,

620 F. Supp. 1461 (N.D. Ind., 1985);

Quitmeyer v. Southeast Pa. Transit Author-

ity, 740 F. Supp. 363 (E.D. Pa., 1990).

2. In applying the doctrine of claim
preclusion to a prior decision of the
Court in the same case, reversing in part
and affirming in part a judgment of the
District Court, the Court of Appeals de-
cided an important issue of federal law in
conflict with the holding of the Third

Circuit Court in Todd v. S.E.c., ine... €37

F. 2d 154, 156 (3d Cir., 1980) and Cowgill

v. Raymark Industries, Inc., 832 F. 24d

798, 802 (3d Cir., 1987), and in going so
far as to apply claim preclusion to a
decision not final under traditional stan-
dards for appealability (Restatement of
the Law, Judgments, Sec. 13, Reporter's
Note to Comments (a) and (b)) when as an
authoritative commentator has stated
"there are few reasons to apply it there"

(Wright, Miller, Cooper, Federal Practice

10

and Procedure (1981 ed.), Jurisdiction and

Related Matters, Vol. 18, Sec. 4434), the
Court of Appeals so far departed from the
accepted course of judicial procee‘iings as
to call for the exercise of thi.: Court's

power of supervision.

ARGUMENT

I. SECTION 1988 MANDATES

APPLICATION OF STATE RULES
OF ACCRUAL IN CIVIL RIGHTS
ACTIONS

A. THIS COURT'S PRIOR DECISIONS INTERP-
RETING 42 U.S.C. 1988 WOULD REQUIRE AP-
PLICATION OF STATE RULES OF ACCRUAL

In Johnson v. Railway Express Agency,

Supra, this Court, in holding that state
statutes of limitations were applicable to

civil rights claims stated:
“ In virtually all statutes of
limitations, the chronological
length of the limitations period
is interrelated with provisions
regarding tolling, revival and
questions of application. In
borrowing a state period of lim-

11

itation for application to a
federal cause of action, a fed-
eral court is relying on the
state's wisdom in setting a lim-
it, and exceptions thereto, on
the prosecution of a Closely
analogous claim.

Id, at 463. See also, Board of Regents v.

Tomanio, supra, at 488.

This Court has since applied state
tolling rules even where a federal rule
existed in another area of federal law

(Chardon v. Fumero Soto, 462 U.S. 658, 77

L. Ed. 2d 74. 103 S. Ct. 2611 (1983)) ana
reversed a ruling of the Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals holding a state tolling
rule claimed during imprisonment not in-
consistent with federal policy (Hardin v.
Straub, 490 U.S. 536, 109 S. Ct. 1998, 104

L. Ed. 2d 582 (1989)).

In this Court's decision in Wilson v.

Garcia, Supra, the Court affirmed that not

only were the length of the limitations

12

period, but also "Closely related ques-

tions of tolling and application" to be

governed by state law.

It would be unreasonable and illogi-
cal to apply state tolling rules, but not
apply state rules of accrual for closely
analogous claims. The purpose of relying
on a state's rules of limitation and tol-
ling is to give force to the state's pol-

icies in adopting the rule. See, Board of

Regents v. Tomanio, supra, at 487; Bur-
nett v. Grattan, 468 U.S. 42, 82 L. Ed. 2d

36, 104 S. Ct. 2924 (1984) (Rehnquist, J.,
concurring), at 60.

B. REFUSAL TO GIVE DEFERENCE TO

TO STATE RULES OF ACCRUAL VIOLATES A
STATE'S CHOSEN POLICY

Although giving full force toc state
"tolling" rules, the lower court's deci-
Sion here arrived at a result at odds with

State "policy." Then-Chief Judge Tuttle

13

of the Fifth Circuit court of Appeals, in

Quinton v. United States, 304 F. 2a 234
(Sth Cir., 1962), rejected a hard and fast
distinction between "accrual" and "toll-
ing" rules for this very reason. Id, at

238.

Concluding that "either the entire
state scheme of limitations must be ap-
plied (..) or the scheme must be ignored
completely." Id., at 238, Judge Tuttle,
faced with a federal statute of limita-
tions, concluded that state law must be

disregarded completely.

Here, where this Court has affirmed
that Section 1988 requires application of
state statutes of limitations, the same
reasoning compels, not adoption of a part
of the state scheme -- the limitations
period and "coordinate tolling rules" --

but the entirety of a "complete limita-

14

Hi ciaciemenlemaieseaaalaa aii

tions policy." Board of Regents v. To-

manio, supra, at 488.

C. THERE IS NO GENERAL

FEDERAL RULE OF ACCRUAL
The lower court's reliance on "fe-
deral law" to establish a different time
of accrual for 1983 claims than for analo-
gous state law claims is erroneous. Under
Section 1988 a court should apply federal
common law, as part of the laws and sta-
tutes of the United States, if "adapted to
the object" of the civil rights laws. The
court should not, however, create it out
of thin air when there exists substantial

state law, based in common law tradition.

There is, of course, no general fe-

deral common law. Erie Railroad Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 78, 82 L.Ed. 1188,
58 S. Ct. 817 (1938). The instances where

courts recognized "in some limited areas"

15

the need to formulate "federal common law"

are “few and restricted." Milwaukee v.
Illinois, 451 U.S. 304, 312, 68 L. Ed. 2a
114, 101 S. Ct. 1784 (1981), quoting

Wheeldin v, Wheeler, 373 U.S. 647, 651, 10
L. Ed. 2d 605, 83 S. Ct. 1441 (1963).

Section 1983, as this Court has
affirmatively stated, is a federal sta-
tute, but it is only provides a remedy and
does not itself create any substantive
rights. Vv S We e Rights
Organization, 441 U.S. 600, 617-618, 60 L.

Ed. 2d 508, 99 S. Ct. 1905 (1979).

Nor do the civil rights acts provide
an instance where the uniquely federal in-
terests require protection or where con-
flicting rights of the states are in-

volved.

Typically, federal common law is de-

veloped with respect to federal programs

16

ei

and actions which by their nature must be
uniform throughout the nation. United
States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 15 L. Ed.
2d 404, 86 S. Ct. 500 (1966). Absence of

such a need is a ground for not fashioning

federal common law. Madruga _v. Superior
Court of California, 346 U.S. 556, 98 L.

Ed. 290, 74 S. Ct. 298 (1958). Howev-
er, Section 1988 itself precludes such a

need. See, Robertson v. Weqmann, 436 U.S.
S84, 98 S. Ct. 1991, 56 S. Ct. 554 (1972).

This Court has refused to import fed-
eral common law developed in another area
of federal law to areas in which Section
1988 applies. See, Chardon _v. Fumero
Soto, supra. If the purported source of
this federal law of accrual is not
"adapted to the object of the civil rights

laws" there is no reason to apply it here.

17

D. THE FEDERAL RULE
DOES NOT EXIST

Singleton v. New York, 632 F. 2a 185

(2d Cir., 1980), cert. den., 450 U.S. 920
(1981), cited as source by the District
Court (A-40) and relied upon by the Re-
spondents, seeks a source for a general
federal common law rule of accrual in two

cases, one decided by this Court -- Raw-

lings v. Ray, 312 U.S. 96, 61 S. Ct. 473,

85 L. Ed. 605 (1941) -- and one decided by
the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals --

Bireline v. Seagondollar, 567 F. 2d 260

(4th Cir., 1977).

The Second Circuit in Singleton re-
lies upon Rawlings for the proposition
that "the time of accrual is a federal
question", and a matter of "federal law".
However, the this does not require cre-
ation of federal law or even application

of federal law created in another area of

18

‘ee

law. There is no reason to reject the rule
that state law would impose unless that
rule is unreasonable or otherwise incon-
sistent with national policy. Interna-

tional Union I.U.A. &. A. W. v. Hoosier

Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S. 696, 706, 86 S.

Ct. 1107, 16 L. Ed. 2d 292 (1966).

The question addressed there was whe-
ther a state rule of accrual should apply
to a federal statute which, unlike 1983,
did create substantive rights. Interpre-
ting the Arkansas limitations statute the
Court ruled that the accrual

turn[ed] upon the construction

of the assessment and the autho-

rity of the Comptroller to make

it under the applicable federal

legislation.

Id, at 98.

The Court in Rawlings did not turn to
some ephemeral "general rule of accrual"

but to the federal statute which created

19

the liability.

In Rawlings, the Court turned to the
statute to determine when the Cause of
action was complete because it provided
the content of the remedial rule itself.
However, it is Clearly established by this

Court that state law provides the content.

Cf, Robertson v. Wegmann, supra.

As this Court noted in Wilson v. Gar-

cia, supra, at 277, state tort law has
been turned to establish the element of
causes of action under 1983 and to iden-
tify immunities. If the elements of the
cause of action are given by state tort
law of false arrest (Cf. Monroe v. Pape,
365 U.S. 167, 81S. ct. 473, 5 L. Ed. 2a

492 (1961); Raysor v. Port Authority of

New York and New Jersey, 768 F. 2a 34, 40

(2d Cir., 1985), cert. den., 475 U.S.

1027, 106 S. ct. 1227, 89 L. Ed. 2a 337

20

(2d Cir., 1986)), what reason is there for

refusing to follow state law in determin-
ing when the cause of action is "Ccom-

plete"?

Under the common law tort of false
arrest that the cause of action "accrues"
at the time of arrest, but is "not con-
plete" until the detention terminates. At
common law there was no right of action
until the detention had terminated. See,
32 Am. Jur. 2d, False Imprisonment, Sec-
tion 84; 54 C.J.S., Limitation of Actions,
Section 175, p. 145; note, 49 A.L.R. 2a
922; 35 C.J.S., False Imprisonment, Sec-

tion 49, p. 714. See also, Kirwan v.

State, 320 A. 2d 837, 840 (Super. Ce.,

Conn., 1974).

Reliance upon Bireline v. Seaqon-

dollar is equally erroneous. In Bireline,

supra, the Fourth Circuit, relying on Raw-

21

lings, supra, turned to federal court
decisions in other areas for a "rule of
accrual," and concluded, relying on this
Court's decision in Urie v. Thompson, 337
U.S. 163, 170, 69 S. ct. 1018, 93 L. Ed.
1282 (1949) that the "general federal"
rule was that any cause of action accrued
when the plaintiff knew or should have

known of the injury.

Urie v. Thompson is particularly
inappropriate where Section 1988 is appli-
cable for the very reasons stated in Quin-

ton v. United States, supra. In Urie v.

Thompson, this Court construed a Single
federal statute of limitations as in Quin-

ton. See, e.g., the discussion of Urie in

Quinton, supra, at 239.

Nor does Urie purport to establish a
general federal rule of accrual, but sim-

Ply to construe the meaning of "accrue"

22

Pie Oe,

for causes of action accruing under the
Federal Employers' Liability Act. Indeed,
the chief purpose of the rule of Urie --
uniformity has been rejected in civil
rights claims by the language of 1988

itself. See, Board of Regents v. Tomanio,

Supra, at 489.

PART VIOLATES ESTABLISHED
NC OF FINALITY
It is well established that the rule
of res judicata applies only to a final
decision. Restatement, Judgments, Section
13. Here, however, the court below exten-
ded the doctrine to a decision that would
have been considered under prevailing law,
subject merely to the law of the case or,

at best, collateral estoppel (issue pre-

23

clusion).

The Circuit Court held that Day's ma-
licious prosecution claim against Murray,
which was raised in Day's proposed amended
complaint and in his Brief in Day I but
not ruled on in the Circuit Court's deci-
Sion in Day I could not be asserted on
remand by res judicata (claim preclusion),
because the decision in Day I, reversing a
judgment of dismissal in part and affirm-
ing it in part (the malicious prosecution
claim against Moscow, and-on rehearing the
false arrest and search and seizure claims
against Murray) and remanding for further
proceedings barred not only the claims
addressed in Day I "but any other claim
that Day could have asserted (against
Murray) arising out of the same events"

(Day II, Appendix at A-59).

The Third Circuit has held that when

24

an appellate court affirms in part and re-

verses in part, all issues necessarily
disposed of in the affirmance become the
law of the case when the case is remanded
for proceedings on other issues. Cowgill

v. Reynolds Industries, Inc., 832 F. 2a

798, 802 (3d Cir., 1987), citing Todd &

Co. v. S.E.C., 637 F. 2d 154, 156-57 (3d

Cir., 1980). Issues which are not ne-
cessarily disposed of are not subject to
either the law of the case or collateral

estoppel (issue preclusion).

As the Third Circuit stated in Todd,

Supra

a subsequent appellate panel
must determine whether the ar-
guments presented to it were not
considered or left open by the
prior panel; if the arguments
were not considered, it must
determine whether they were
fairly presented and thus pre-
served for later consideration.

Id, at 156-57. Here, the Second Circuit

applied a different rule to a decision

25

affirming in part and reversing in part,
inconsistent with the Third Circuit's
rulings in Todd and Cowgill and with es-

tablished law of res judicata.

The rules of res judicata are appli-

cable only to a final decision. Re-
statement of the Law, 2d, Judgments, Sec.
13. A decision of a Court of Appeals
affirming in part and reversing in part
and remanding for further proceedings,
even on other issues, is not 'final' in
this sense. Noting that some confusion
has been caused because of the liberties
taken with the concept of finality in the
context of appeal, the Restatement af-
firms: "A general working description of
finality in the field of former adjudi-
cation will (...) resemble the (...) tra-

ditional, strict formulation of the con-

cept for appellate review." id, Sec. 13,

Comment (b), p. 132.

26

Ve

The Reporter's Note to Comments (a)

and (b) of Section 13 clarifies that the
general formulation of finality for pur-
poses of res judicata set forth in Con-
ments (a) and (b) is the traditional de-
finition of finality in regard to appel-
late review which appears in such cases as
tlin v. ited St , 324 U.S. 229, 233

(1945), that it "ends the litigation

and leaves nothing for the court to do but
to execute the judgment." iG, P- 138.
This requirement, the Restatement tells
us, is to be "interpreted strictly", "as
indicated in Comment (a)," when bar (ap-
plied here by the Circuit Court) or merger
is at stake, since the effect is to "ex-
tinguish" a claim. id, Comment (g), Pp.

135-36.

The "strictness" of the definition of
finality for purposes of claim preclusion,

as distinct from issue preclusion, has not

27

only been emphasized by the Restatement
but by commentators, as well. Wright,

Miller, Cooper, Federal Practice and Pro-

cedure (1981 ed.), Jurisdiction and Relat-

ed Matters, Vol. 18, Sec. 4434).

Nor is there any basis in the tra-
ditional doctrine of appellate finality,
relied upon by the Restatement, for giving
a partial reversal -- remanding the case
for further proceedings even if on other

issues -- finality.

The Circuit Court, apparently consi-
dered their decision in Day I on rehearing
"final as to Murray" because it affirmed
the dismissal of other claims against him.
However, as this Court has emphasized

the rule requires that the judg-

ment, to be appealable, should

be final not only as to all the

parties, but as to the whole

subject matter and as to all the
causes of action involved.

Collins v., Miller, 212 U.S. 365, 370-71

28

(1920).

Had the Circuit Court applied the law
of the case or issue preclusion to its
decision in Day I, the malicious prosecu-
tion claim against Murray would have been
allowed. The Circuit Court clearly did
not believe it had ruled on the claim
explicitly or implicitly in Day I by its
very treatment of the claim as one which

"might have been litigated".

For the court below, by so few words,
to have extended the doctrine of claim
preclusion where no court has ventured Ga,
and where "there are few reasons to extend
it" (Wright, Miller, Cooper, Op. Cle.) in
conflict with the holdings of another
Court of Appeals, refusing to apply it,
cails for this Court's power of supervi-

sion.

29

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, Petitioner respectfully
requests that this Court grant certiorari
to review the judgment of the Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, entered

herein January 24, 1992.

Dated: May 26, 1992
Brooklyn, New York

BERNARD FROMARTZ
Attorney for
Petitioner

188 Montague Street
Suite 600

Brooklyn, NY 11201
(718) 855-7675

30

APPENDIX

Pe

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

= ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee xX
CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, 88 Civ. 8788
(KTD)
Plaintiff,
MEMORANDUM
& ORDER

-against-
ROBERT B. MORGENTHAU, in his
official capacity a District
Attorney for the County of
New York; JOHN W. MOSCOW,
individually and in his
official capacity as
Assistant District Attorney
for the County of
New York, et al.

Defendants.

eee eee eee >.<

APPEARANCES:

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY

Plaintiff Pro Se

145 West 55th Street, Suite 15A
New York, N.Y. i0019

HON. PETER L. ZIMROTH

Corporation Counsel

100 Church Street

New York, N.Y. 10007

9f Counsel: Elaine Rothenberg, Esq.
Assistant Corporation Counsel

HON. ROBERT ABRAMS
Attorney General of the State of New York
120 Broadway

New York, N.Y. 10271
Of Counsel: Stephen Mendelsohn, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General

HON. ROBERT MORGENTHAU
District Attorney

New York County

One Hogan Place

New York, N.Y. 10018

Of Counsel: Marc Frazier, Esq.

Howard L. Perzan, Esq.
Assistant District Attorneys

KEVIN THOMAS DUFFY, D.J.:

Piaintif£e, Christopher Day,
proceeding pro se brings this Section 1983
action for monetary and declaratory relief
against Robert Morgenthau, the District
Attorney for the County of New York; John
Moscow, an Assistant District Attorney for
the County of New York; Hon. Edward
McLaughlin, a Judge of the New York City
Criminal Court; Joseph Murray, a Senior
Court Officer; "Jane Doe" Marshall, an
employee of the Department of Corrections
(*DOC*) 3 and Richard Koehler, the

Commissioner of the New York City

A-2

Department of Corrections.’ Day is a
retired anthropology professor, who, at
least in 1986-87, worked for a law firm as
a paralegal. Day is suing all of the
above named defendants in their official
capacities and some of them individually
for various civil rights and
constitutional violations. All of the
named defendants move, pursuant to Fed. R.
Civ. P. 12(b) (6), to dismiss the

complaint.

FACTS

’ The Attorney General's office

requested that the motion to dismiss
brought by Defendant McLaughlin and Murray
be converted to a motion for summary
judgment because the plaintiff submitted
papers outside the pleadgins. This is not
necessary, however, because plaintiff's
response to the defendant's 12(b) (6)
motion will not be considered by the court
on this motion. Even in the event it was
considered, nothing of substance is added
to the complaint thereby.

A-3

Day claims that he was present and

authorized to wait outside some holding
pens at one of the state court buildings
for a reason which remains undisclosed in
his complaint, and that thereafter, he was
arrested, searched and charged with
criminal trespass in the third degree.
Complaint paragraphs 10-13. Day further
alleges that in addition to illegally
seizing documents, court personnel
detained him for 31 hours prior to being
arraigned. Complaint paragraph 14. Day
also contends that his sixth amendment
right to counsel was violated as a result
of the order of Hon. Edward McLaughlin,
New York Supreme Court, which "refused
without authority or justification to
permit Plaintiff's retained counsel access
to him." Complaint paragraph 16. But see

People v. Day, 499 N.Y.S. 24 1003 (Sup.

Ct. N.Y. Co. 1986). Additionally, Day
alleges a policy of discriminatory actions

A-4

on the part of court personnel and the
District Attorney's office. Finally, Day
alleges that false rumors’ about him
regarding the commission of uncharged
crimes were spread at the direction of
defendant Moscow, causing Day to be
segregated from the rest of the prison
population, in violation of his first
amendment rights to freely associate.

Complaint paragraph 17.

DISCUSSION
Affording Day the broadest reading of
his pleadings and assuming the allegations
as set forth in the complaint are true,
Day fails to state a claim upon which

relief may be granted.

A. The Prosecutor
The allegations against defendants
Morgenthau and Moscow involve actions

within their jurisdiction as prosecutors.

A-5

"A prosecutor enjoys absolute immunity

from Section 1983 suits for damages when
he acts within the scope of his

prosecutorial duties." Imbler v. Pachtman,

424 U.S. 409, 420 (1976). Absolute
immunity adheres even in cases of
malicious prosecution and false arrest, on
the basis that the community is better
served by prosecutors who are unhindered
in exercising their best judgment for fear
of recrimination and harassment. Id. at
427-29. Additionally, violation of the
right- to prompt arraignment does not
warrant dismissal of the underlying
criminal action where there has been no
exploitation of process or prejudice to

rights of the defendant. Garstein v.

Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975). Although Day
aiiudes to hardship and harassment
experienced during his detainment, he
himself never specifies in what way he
suffered undue hardship and prejudice.

A-6

;
4
:
~
#

Therefore, the actions taken by Morgenthau
and Moscow that resulted in Day's arrest
and detainment are protected under Imbler,
and the complaint must be dismissed as to

them.

B. The Judge

Likewise, the actions of Hon. Edward
McLaughlin about which Day complains are
absolutely protected by judicial immunity.
"The immunity of a judge for acts within
his jurisdiction has roots extending to
the earliest days of the common law."
Imbler, at 423, n.20. Furthermore, Judge
McLaughlin denial of Day's counsel of
choice was grounded on a basic conflict of
interest. Day's chosen counsel, a member
of the law firm where Day was a paralegal,
was herself a defendant in a criminal
proceeding for which Day's testimony was
being subpoenaed. In addition, the merits

of Day's claims against Judge McLaughlin
A-7

were fully and fairly litigated in state
court and Day is collaterally estopped
from asserting them anew here. See People
V. Day, 499 N.Y.S.2d 1003 (Sup. Ct. N.Y.
Co. 1986). Day's allegations thus fail to
state a claim upon which relief may be

granted against Judge McLaughlin.

C. The Other Defendants

Finally Day's allegations against
Murray, a senior court officer who
allegedly undertook an illegal search of
Day's briefcase, do not make out a case
for either damages or declaratory relief.
Day himself admits that the evidence
seized was suppressed and never used
against hin. Complaint paragraph 21.
Indeed, the only damages claimed by Day
deal with attorney's fees and mental
anguish oc sasioned by the four-month
defense of the charges brought against
him. It cannot be said that this damage

A-8

has any logical nexus with the search

conducted by Murray after Day's arrest.

Similarly, the allegations against
"Jane Doe" Marshall, the DOC officer who
Supposedly held Day in segregation during
his time in jail, do not rise to the level
of a constitutional tort or deprivation.
Thus, the complaint must be dismissed as

to her.

The inclusion of the defendant
Koehler or Commissioner of Corrections
seems at best posited on the theory of
respondeat superior for the actions of
"Jane Doe" Marshall. However, because her
actions do not amount to a constitutional
tort, no liability could thus’ accrue
against Koehler. In addition, respondeat
Superior standing alone is insufficient to
maintain an action such as this against a

municipal department chief. See Kentucky
A-9

Vv. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 168 (1985);

Accord, Monell et al. y. Department of

Social Services of the City of New York,

436 U.S. 658 (1978).

In conclusion, Day can prove no facts
sufficient to entitle him to relief. The
motion to dismiss is therefore granted and

the complaint is dismissed.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: New York, New York
October 23, 1989

KEVIN THOMAS DUFFY, U.S.D.J.

A-10

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

>

No. 1237—August Term, 1989

(Argued May 31, 1990 Decided July 19, 1990)

Docket No. 90-7040

>

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, Ph.D.,
Plaintiff-A ppellant,

—against—

ROBERT M. MORGENTHAU, in his official capacity as

District Attorney for the County of New York,
JOHN W. MOSCOW, Individually and in his official
capacity as Assistant District Attorney for
the County of New York, Hon. EDWARD
MCLAUGHLIN, Individually and in his official capac-
ity as Judge of the Criminal Court of the City of
New York, JOSEPH B. MURRAY, Individually and in
his official capacity as Senior Court Officer, ‘‘JANE
DOE’’ MARSHALL, individually and in her official
capacity as an officer of the New York City Depart-
ment of Correction, RICHARD KOEHLER, in his offi-
cial capacity as Commissioner of the New York City
Department of Correction,

Defendants-Appellees.

Before:

KAUFMAN, KEARSE and MINER,
Circuit Judges.

oe

Appeal from judgment and order of United States
District Court for the Southern District of New York
(Duffy, J.) dismissing civil rights complaint for failure
to state a claim and denying leave to file amended com-
plaint.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part and remanded.

_—______...

BERNARD FROMARTZ, Brooklyn, NY, for
Plaintiff-Appellant.

HOWARD L. PERZAN, Assistant District
Attorney, New York, NY (Robert M.
Morgenthau, District Attorney, Marc
Frazier Scholl, Assistant District Attor-
ney, New York, NY, of counsel), for
Defendants-A ppellees Morgenthau and
Moscow.

STEPHEN MENDELSOHN, Assistant Attorney
General, New York, NY (Robert
Abrams, Attorney General of the State
of New York, Lawrence S. Kahn, Dep-
uty Solicitor General, New York, NY,
of counsel), for Defendant-A ppellee
Murray.

A-12
5660

:
4
-

HELENA LEE, New York, NY (Victor A.
Kovner, Corporation Counsel, Stephen
J. McGrath, New York, NY, of coun-
sel), for Defendants-Appeliees Marshall
and Koehler.

to

MINER, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff-appellant Christopher C. Day appeals from a
judgment of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of New York (Duffy, J.) dated Octo-
ber 30, 1989, dismissing his complaint for failure to
state a claim upon which relief may be granted, see Fed.
R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), and from a December 13 order of
that court denying leave to file an amended complaint,
see Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a). Day alleged in his initial com-
plaint that defendants-appellees, acting under color of
State law, deprived him of his constitutional rights in
violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1982) when they arrested,
searched, detained and prosecuted him on a charge of
criminal trespass.

On appeal, Day contends that the district court erred
in dismissing the claims against defendants-appellees
John W. Moscow and Joseph B. Murray. He also con-
tends that the district court abused its discretion in
denying his post-judgment motion for leave to file an
amended complaint amplifying his claims against Mos-
cow and Murray. Day does not address the claims
pleaded against the other defendants, and we therefore
have no reason to do so. See Kletschka vy. Driver, 411
F.2d 436, 446-47 (2d Cir. 1969); Fed. R. App. P.

28(a)(4).

For the reasons that follow, we affirm the dismissal
of the claim of malicious Prosecution against Moscow,
reverse the dismissal of the claims of false arrest and
illegal search and seizure against Moscow and Murray,
and remand the case for further proceedings consistent
with this opinion.

BACKGROUND

Day made the following allegations in his complaint,
which we accept as true for Purposes of reviewing this
motion to dismiss. On December 11, 1985, Day and an
attorney for whom he worked as a paralegal went to the
ninth floor of the criminal courts building at 111 Centre
Street in Manhattan. After receiving verbal authority
from a Correction Officer, Day-waited outside the pris-
oner ‘‘holding pens’’ while the attorney went inside to
consult with a client. The following day, defendant-
appellee John W. Moscow, an Assistant District Attor-
ney for New York County, observed Day in a
courtroom gallery and ‘‘directed’’ defendant-appellee
Joseph B. Murray, a Senior Court Officer, to arrest
him. Murray arrested Day without a warrant on a
charge of criminal trespass in the third degree, alleging
that Day’s presence outside the “‘holding pens’’ the day
before was unauthorized. At the time of arrest, Murray
searched and seized the contents of Day’s briefcase.
Although initially informed that he would be released on
an ‘‘appearance ticket,’ Day was incarcerated for
thirty-one hours prior to his arraignment on the criminal
trespass charge because of Moscow’s intervention.

On April 13, 1986, Day’s motion to Suppress the con-
tents of his briefcase was granted by a judge of the New

York City Criminal Court. Following three adjourn-
A-14

5662

ments of trial at the prosecution’s request and the
expiration of the time for a speedy trial, the Criminal
Court dismissed the charge on the prosecution’s motion.
Day then commenced this action under section 1983 for
false arrest, illegal search and seizure, and malicious
prosecution.

The district court dismissed all claims against Moscow
on the ground that his actions were within the scope of
his prosecutorial duties and therefore protected by abso-
lute immunity. The court also dismissed the claim
against Murray for illegal search and seizure, because
the only damages alleged—attorney’s fees and mental
anguish caused by the four-month prosecution of the
charge against Day—had no causal nexus with the
search. The order dismissing the complaint was entered
on October 24, 1989, and final judgment was entered on
October 31.

On November 13, Day moved in the district court for
reconsideration and leave to file an amended complaint
pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 15(a),
59(a) and 60(b). In the proposed amended complaint,
Day alleged that Moscow ‘‘ordered’’ Murray to detain
and arrest him without a warrant or probable cause and
to have him incarcerated on a misdemeanor complaint.
He also alleged that Moscow ‘‘conspired with and
instructed’? Murray in both the search of Day’s brief-
case and the prosecution of the charge against him.
Finally, he alleged that Moscow instructed Murray not
to allow Day’s release on an ‘‘appearance ticket.’’ The
district court denied the motion for leave to file an
amended complaint on December 13. Day filed a timely
notice of appeal from the judgment and order on Janu-
ary 2, 1990. See Fed. R. App. P. 4(a)(4).

A-15
5663

DISCUSSION

Section 1983 provides a civil claim for damages and
injunctive relief against any person who acts under color
of state law to deprive another of a constitutional right.
42 U.S.C. § 1983. Allegations of facts constituting an
arrest without probable cause, an unreasonable search
and seizure, or malicious prosecution state Claims under
section 1983. See, e.g., Monroe vy. Pape, 365 U.S. 167,
171 (1961). When subjected to an illegal search and sei-
zure, special damages need not be alleged because ‘‘the
victim is harmed by the invasion of his zone of privacy,
whether or not the evidence unlawfully obtained is intro-
duced at trial.’’ Lee y. Willins, 617 F.2d 320, 322 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 861 (1980). The allegations
that Day was arrested, searched and prosecuted without
probable cause therefore set forth the essential elements
of a section 1983 claim.

Although section 1983 imposes liability upon “every
person’’ who deprives another of a constitutional right
under color of state law, the doctrines of absolute and
qualified immunity shield prosecutors and law enforce-
ment officers from liability related to their Official acts.
Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409, 417-19 (1976). Assis-
tant District Attorney Moscow is absolutely immune
from liability under section 1983 for acts ‘‘within the
scope of his duties in initiating and pursuing a criminal
Prosecution.’’ Jd. at 410. ‘The granting or denial of
absolute immunity depends more, however, on the func-
tion being performed than on the office of the defen-
dant, and the absolute immunity accorded a Prosecuting
attorney is extended only so far as is necessary to the
effective functioning of the judicial process.’ Robison
v. Via, 821 F.2d 913, 918 (2d Cir. 1987); see also Taylor

A-16

5664

v. Kavanagh, 640 F.2d 450, 452 (2d Cir. 1981). The test
is whether the prosecutor is engaged in activities that are
“intimately associated with the judicial phase of the
criminal process.’’ Imbler, 424 U.S. at 430; see, e.g.,
Barr v. Abrams, 810 F.2d 358, 362 (2d Cir. 1987) (filing
criminal information and obtaining arrest warrant); Tay-
lor, 640 F.2d at 453 (plea bargaining); Lee, 617 F.2d at
322 (alleged falsification of evidence and coercion of
perjured testimony). When a prosecutor is engaged in
administrative or investigative activities, he is entitled
only to qualified immunity, which requires a showing
that his acts were objectively reasonable. See, e.g.,
Robison, 821 F.2d at 920 (seizure of allegedly abused
child).

While there are no ‘“‘bright lines between quasi-
judicial absolutely immune conduct, on the one hand,
and investigative and administrative qualifiedly immune
behavior, on the other,’’ Powers v. Coe, 728 F.2d 97,
104 (2d Cir. 1984), the allegation that Moscow engaged
in malicious prosecution of the charge against Day is
clearly within the ‘‘judicial phase of the criminal pro-
cess,’’ Imbler, 424 U.S. at 430, and we therefore affirm
the dismissal of that claim on absolute immunity
grounds.

Arrests and searches, however, ‘‘are normally police
functions, and they do not become prosecutorial func-
tions merely because a prosecutor has chosen to partici-
pate.’” Robison, 821 F.2d at 918; see also Barr, 810
F.2d at 362 (recognizing a ‘‘meaningful’’ distinction
“between filing the criminal information and procuring
an arrest warrant, on the one hand, and executing the
arrest warrant, on the other’’). The origina! complaint
alleges that Moscow ‘‘directed’’ Murray to arrest Day

A-17
5665

without a warrant and without probable cause, while all
three men were in the same courtroom. Since this allega-
tion suggests that Moscow may have participated in
“executing the arrest,” it cannot be found “*beyond
doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in sup-
port of his claim which would entitle him to relief.’’
Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957).

Defendants-appellees assert that the claims of false
arrest and illegal search and seizure nevertheless are
barred by the doctrine of qualified immunity. Qualified
immunity will preclude a trial on Day’s claims if, based
on the facts known to Moscow, it was objectively rea-
sonable for Moscow to believe that probable cause
existed for the arrest. See Krause v. Bennett, 887 F.2d
362, 368 (2d Cir. 1989). Murray also may be entitled to
qualified immunity if it was objectively reasonable for
him to rely on the information he received from Mos-
cow. See Calamia v. City of New York, 879 F.2d 1025,
1033 (2d Cir. 1989); see also United States v. Ventresca,
380 U.S. 102, 110 (1965). The qualified immunity issue
cannot be resolved on the face of the present complaint,
however, because the complaint does not identify what
facts were known to Moscow and Murray at the time of
the arrest and search.

Murray also contends that the district court’s dis-
missal of the complaint may be affirmed on the ground
that Day’s claims are time barred. Day’s section 1983
claims are governed by the three-year statute of limita-
tions prescribed by New York law. See Owens v. Okure,
488 U.S. 235 (1989). Murray asserts that since the arrest
and search occurred on December 12, 1985, and the
action was commenced on December 13, 1988, the com-
plaint was filed one day late. However, ‘‘only the length

A-18
5666

of the limitation period is governed by state law.’’
Okure v. Owens, 816 F.2d 45, 47 (2d Cir. 1987) (citing
Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 269 (1985)), aff’d, 488
U.S. 235 (1989). Under federal law, “‘fi]Jn computing
any period of time prescribed or allowed by ... any
applicable statute, the day of the act, event, or default
from which the designated period of time begins to run
shall not be included.’’ Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(a). The result
is the same under New York law. See N.Y. Gen. Constr.
Law § 20 (McKinney Supp. 1990). Thus, the three-year
period prescribed by the applicable New York Statute
did not begin to run until the day after the arrest and
search. Day’s claims therefore are timely.

Finally, we turn briefly to the district court’s order
denying Day’s motion to amend his complaint. Under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15(a), ‘‘leave [to
amend] shall be freely given when justice so requires.”’
See Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 182 (1962); Ronzani
v. Sanofi S.A., 899 F.2d 195, 198 (2d Cir. 1990). While
the district court is vested with discretion to deny leave
to amend, “‘outright refusal to grant the leave without
any justifying reason appearing for the denial is not an
exercise of discretion.’’ Ronzani, 899 F.2d at 198 (quot-
ing Foman, 371 U.S. at 182). Since it is apparent that
Day cannot allege any facts to state a claim for mali-
cious prosecution, allowing leave to amend the com-
plaint as to that claim would serve no purpose. See id.
However, Day has stated claims for false arrest and ille-
gal search and seizure against Moscow and Murray.
Accordingly, we direct the district court on remand to
permit Day to file an amended complaint amplifying
those claims.

A-19
5667

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court is affirmed insofar
as it dismissed the claim for malicious prosecution. The
portion of the judgment dismissing the claims for false
arrest and illegal search and seizure against Moscow and
Murray is reversed, and the case is remanded for further
Proceedings consistent with this Opinion.

A-20
5668

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 1237 - August Tern,

On Petition for Rehearing
Decided August 29, 1990

Docket No. 90-7040

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, Ph.D.,
Plaintiff-Appellant
-against-

ROBERT M. MORGENTHAU, in his
official capacity as District

1989

Attorney for the County of New York,
JOHN W. MOSCOW, Individually and

in his official capacity as

Assistant District Attorney for

the County of New York, Hon.

EDWARD MCLAUGHLIN, Individually
and in his official capacity as

Judge of the Criminal Court of
the City of New York, JOSEPH
B. MURRAY, Individually and in
his official capacity as
Senior Court Officer, "JANE

DOE" MARSHALL, individually and

in her official capacity as an
officer of the New York City

Department of Correction, RICHARD
KOEHLER, in his official capacity
as Commissioner of the New York

City Department of Correction.

Defendant-Appellees

Before: KAUFMAN, KEARSE and MINER,

A-21

Circuit Judges.
Petition for rehearing of appeal
following decision filed July 19, 1990.

Petition granted and opinion amended.

MINER, Circuit Judge:

Defendant-appellee Joseph 8B. Murray
petitions for rehearing of this appeal
following our decision filed on July 19,
1990. The petition is granted and we now
affirm the dismissal of the complaint
against Murray on the ground that the
claims pleaded therein are time barred.
It follows that leave to replead the
claims asserted against Murray also must
be denied. We deem our prior opinion
amended accordingly.

Murray allegedly conducted an
unlawful arrest and search of plaintiff-
appellant Christopher c. Day on December
12, 1985. December 12 was the day of

accrual of Day's claims, contrary to his
A-22

Fe one oars

contention that his claims accrued on
December 13, 1985, the day of his
arraignment. We determined that Day's
claims, pleaded under 42 U.S.C. Section
1983 (1982), were subject to a three-year

statute of limitations, see Owens v.

Okure, 488 U.S. 235 (1989); N.Y. Civ.
Prac. L. & R. 214(5) (McKinney 1990), and
that the first day of that three-year
period was December 13, 1985, the day
following the date the claims accrued, see
Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(a). This much of our
prior opinion rested on well-settled law,
but our determination that the three-year
period ended on December 13, 1988 involved
a more muddled area of the law, compare
Bledsoe v. Department of Housing and Urban
Development, 398 F. Supp. 315, 318-21

(E.D. Pa. 1975) and Rodriquez v. United
States, 382 F. Supp. 1, 2 (D.P.R. 1974)

with Morton v. City of Little Rock, 728 F.

Supp. 543, 546 (E.D. Ark. 1989) and Murray

A-23

v. United States Postal Serv., 569 F.

Supp. 794, 796 (N.D.N.Y. 1983), and the
one that never has been addressed directly
by this court, cf. United States v.
Guerro, 694 F.2d 898, 903 (2d Cir. 1982)
(day of offense is excluded when
calculating statute of limitations for
violation of 18 U.S.C. Section 371), cert.
denied, 459 U.S. 1222 (1983).

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 6(a)
provides that "the day of the act ... from
which the designated period of time begins
to run shall not be included" in
calculating the statute of limitations.
On rehearing, we are persuaded that this
rule should have the same result as New
York General Construction Law Section 20,
which also provides that the first day to
be counted in this reckoning is the day
after the date of accrual. The New York
provision has been interpreted to mean

that "[w]jhen the applicable limitations
A-24

— =

mA lle

period is measured in years, ... the
anniversary date [of the date of accrual
is] the last day for instituting an
action." vans ev awker-Siddele

Aviation, Ltd., 482 F. Supp. 547, 550
(S.D.N.¥. 1979); see also D. Siegel, New

York Practice Section 34 (1978).

Day's complaint was not filed until
December 13, 1988, one day after the third
anniversary date of the date of accrual,

and is therefore time barred.

CONCLUSION
The petition is granted and the
opinion is amended to affirm the district
court's judgment dismissing the complaint
against defendant-appellee Murray and the
order denying leave to amend the complaint
against hin. The opinion otherwise is

unchanged.
A-25

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, Ph.D.,
88 Civ. 8788 (KTD)

Plaintiff,

MEMORANDUM
: & ORDER

-against-

JOHN W. MOSCOW; JOSEPH B. MURRAY,
individually and as Senior Court
Officer.of the State of New York;
"JANE DOE" MARSHALL, individually and
as Captain of the New York City
Department of Correction; JOHN DOES
1-10, unknown named officers of the
New York City Police Department and
the New York City Department of
Correction.

Defendants.

APPEARANCES:

BERNARD FROMARTZ, ESQ.

Attorney for Plaintiff

188 Montague Street - Suite 600
Brooklyn, NY 11201

A-26

HON. ROBERT ABRAMS
Attorney General of the
State of New York
Attorney for Defendant Joseph B. Murray
120 Broadway
New York, NY 10271
Of Counsel: Stephen Mendelsohn, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General

HON. ROBERT M. MORGENTHAU

District Attorney, New York County
Attorney for Defendant John W. Moscow
One Hogan Place

New York, Ny 10013

Of Counsel: Thomas B. Litsky, Esq.

Marc Frazier Scholl, Esq.
Assistant District Attorneys

KEVIN THOMAS DUFFY, D.J.;

Plaintiff, Christopher C. Day, Ph.D.,
proceeding pro se, commenced this action
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 1983,
seeking a declaratory judgment and money
damages against defendants Robert M.
Morgenthau, District Attorney for New York
County, John W. Moscow, Assistant District
Attorney, Joseph B. Murray, a= court

officer who purportedly arrested Day, and

other individuals.
A-27

On March 29, 1989, Moscow moved
pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) to
dismiss the complaint, which I granted on
October 23, 1989, dismissing all claims
against Moscow, on prosecutorial immunity
grounds. In addition, the complaint was
dismissed against all remaining defendants
for various reasons. A final judgment was
entered on October 24, 1989. On November
13, ~989, Day moved for reconsideration
and leave to file an amended complaint.
This request was denied on December 13,
1989. Day thereafter appealed the
decision a against defendants Moscow and
Joseph B. Murray, a court officer who
purportedly arrested Day.

on August 2°, 1990, the Second
Circuit affirmed the dismissal of the
complaint, concluding that the malicious
prosecution claim against Moscow was

barred by principles of prosecutorial

A-28

immunity. With regard to Day's false
arrest and illegal search and seizure
claims, the Court held that Day should be
permitted an opportunity to file an
amended complaint. The panel rejected
Murray's argument that false arrest and
illegal search and seizure were barred by
the statute of limitations. See Day v.

Morgenthau, 909 F.2d 75, 77-78 (2d Cir.,
1990).

Murray petitioned the Second Circuit
for rehearing of the appeal, which was
granted on August 29, 1990. After
reconsidering Murray's application, the
Second Circuit reversed its prior decision
and affirmed my dismissal of the complaint
against Murray, stating that unlawful
arrest and search claims as to Murray were
barred because the complaint was untimely.

Day _v. Morgenthau, 909 F.2d at 78. On

November 19, 1990, Day filed an amended
A-29

complaint against Moscow, Murray and other
individuals pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Sections
1983 and 1985(2), seeking equitable relief
as well as compensatory and punitive
damages. It alleges numerous’ claims
including conspiracy to: (1) prevent Day
from testifying in court; (2) injure him
for attempting to enforce a Black person's
right to equal protection of the laws;
(3) chill Day's first amendment rights;
(4) arrest Day unlawfully; (5) conduct an
illegal search and seizure; and (6)
prosecute maliciously. In addition, Day
claims that he was not timely arraigned,
nor was his post-arrest fingerprint cards,
photographs, and property seized returned
to him. Murray now moves pursuant to Fed.
R. Civ. P. 12(f) to strike the Amended
Complaint as against him. Additionally,
Moscow moves pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.
12(b) (6) for failure to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted.
A-30

FACTS
On December 11, 1985, Day, with

written authorization from the New York
City Department of Correction (*"DOC*) ,
accompanied an attorney to the 9th floor
at a New York State Courthouse located at
111 Centre Street in the borough of
Manhattan. Amended Complaint paragraphs
18-19. They were "delivering a message to
a prisoner, a Black man, regarding legal
counsel Ses ” Amended Complaint
paragraph 18. Almost twenty four hours
later, Day returned to that same courtroom
"taking notes on the arraignment of the
aforesaid prisoner, a Black person, at
which [sic] Defendant MOSCOW was the

prosecutor." Amended Complaint paragraph

20.

While observing and waiting in the
gallery of the courtroon, Day was
arrested. The arrest, apparently

A-31

undertaken by Murray on Moscow's
direction, was warrantless and not in
response to a misdemeanor’ complaint.

Following the arrest, Murray searched a

briefcase and billfold in Day's
possession. Amended Complaint paragraph
22. After various papers were removed

from Day's briefcase, Moscow allegedly
instructed Murray to swear out a complaint
for Criminal Trespass in the Third Degree.
Amended Complaint paragraphs 26, 37.

Day was then handcuffed and removed to
the Fifth Precinct. At the precinct
house, Day was allegedly given a desk
"appearance ticket," released and told to
return at a future time. Amended
Complaint paragraph 23. Instead, Dayu
alleges that he was held at Central
Booking, photographed, and twice
fingerprinted. Amended Complaint
paragraphs 24, 25. Moscow then swore out

a criminal complaint against Day,

A-32

a i i i a

aaa

initiating a case for Criminal Trespass in
the Third Degree. Amended Complaint
paragraph 26. On December 13, 1985,
thirty one hours after Day's arrest, he
was arraigned and bail was set,' Amended
Complaint paragraph 28. The prosecution
against Day was dismissed on May 14, 1986.
Amended Complaint paragraph 36. After
prosecution was terminated, Day demanded
that his photographs and fingerprints be
returned to hin. Amended Complaint

paragraph 41.

DISCUSSION
Murray maintains that an amended
complaint was filed against him in an
attempt to have a second bit at the apple,

despite the Second Circuit's opinion of

1 Day asserts that his rights were
violated when he was not timely arraigned.
However, failure to arraign a defendant
within 72 hours does not state a federal
cause of action for a fourth amendment
violation.

A-33

rehearing. Thus, Murray claims
entitlement to an order striking the
amended complaint as against hin. I
agree, he is so entitled to have the
amended complaint stricken. In moving to
dismiss the original complaint, Murray
alleged that it failed to state a claim
upon which relief may be granted and that
in any event it was barred by the
applicable three year statute of
limitations. See Owens v. Okure, 488 U.S.
235 (1989) (three year statute of
limitations applies as to false arrest
Claims as prescribed by New York law.) I
held that the complaint alleged only two
claims against Murray -- false arrest and
unlawful search and seizure -- and that
Day failed to state sufficient elements

for any cognizable Section 1983 clains.

On appeal, the Second Circuit agreed

that those were the only two claims as

A-34

ener rein cine ee a cee Coie neu ar ee

against Murray, and on rehearing the court
determined that the false arrest and
search and seizure claims were time-barred
as against Murray. Affirming my dismissal
of the complaint against Murray, the court
stated: "The petition is granted and we
now affirm the dismissal of the complaint
against Murray on the ground that the
Claims pleaded therein are time barred
-++- [i]t follows that leave to replead
the claims asserted against Murray also
must be denied." In light of the Second
Circuit's mandate denying the plaintiff
leave to amend. Day has not succeeded in
convincing me that he has pleaded any non-
time-barred cognizable claims sufficient

to withstand Murray's motion to strike.

Claims brought against Assistant
District Attorney Moscow for false arrest

and illegal search and seizure were deemed

viable and the Second Circuit has allowed
A-35

Day to replead only those claims. The
implication being that Moscow’ acted
outside his prosecutorial function,
choosing to involve himself in extra-
judicial, law-enforcement activities.
However, Day's first complaint, which
asserted claims for malicious prosecution,
was dismissed outright by me and later
unequivocally affirmed. See Day Vv.

Morgenthau, 909 F.2d 75, 77 (2d Cir.

1990). ("While there are no 'bright lines

between quasi-judicial absolutely immune
conduct, on the one hand, and
investigative and administrative qualified
immune behavior on the other,' Powers v.
Coe, 728 F.2d 97, 104 (2d Cir. 1984), the
allegations that Moscow engaged in
malicious prosecution of the’ charge
against Day is clearly within’ the

‘judicial phase of the criminal process, '

Imbler, 424 U.S. at 430, and we therefore

affirm [its] dismissal.") The Second
A-36

Circuit allowed Day to amplify only the
two surviving claims by amended complaint.
Thus, any claims arising from allegedly
malicious prosecution, or conspiracy to do

the same, must be rejected outright.

The Second Circuit was clear in
limiting Day's amended complaint to
"amplifying" only those claims for false
arrest and illegal search and seizure.
Day, however, "amplifies" his pleading by
reasserting claims for inter alia,
malicious prosecution. By asserting that
a conspiracy arising out of the false
arrest and illegal search, he attempts to
revive the false arrest and illegal
search, he attempts to revive the
malicious prosecution clain. Alleging a
conspiracy at this juncture does not serve
to resurrect dead claims. I further

disagree with Day's assertion that any

matters left open by the Second Circuit's
A-37

mandate are thus fair ground and
appropriate to explored in an amended
complaint. This remand does not give Day
the unfettered right to file a wholly new
complaint reasserting claims already
dismissed on appeal, in the name of
amplifying the very harrow claims which
survive. All claims that do not
constitute or arise from the alleged
unlawful arrest or the search and seizure
are improper and cannot withstand this
motion for dismiss. Likewise, all claims
asserted against persons other than Moscow
also must fall.

Regarding Day's claims for unlawful
arrest and search, Moscow asserts that
these claims are time barred. Day averts
that on December 12, 1985, Moscow ordered
Murray to arrest Day without a warrant or
probable cause. Amended Complaint

paragraph 4. Furthermore Day, asserts

A-38

that Moscow "instructed Defendant Murray

ees to search f[his] briefcase and
billfold, from which various papers were
removed under Moscow's supervision without
{a] warrant or probable Cause to believe
that such contained evidence with regard
to the charge alleged." Amended Complaint
paragraph 22. Moscow maintains that these
false arrest and illegal search Claims are
time barred in that the action was
commenced one day beyond the three year

statute of limitations. See Day v.

Morgenthau, 909 F.2q 75, 78 (2d Cir.
1990); Owens Vv. Okure, 488 U.S. 235

(1989).

As the Second Circuit concluded on
rehearing, Day's challenge to Murray's
arrest and search of him was untimely. If
untimely as to Murray, it necessarily
follows that these claims were untimely as

to Moscow. The accrual date was December
A-39

12, 1985, the date that the "decisive

events," namely the arrest and search,
occurred and the date on which Day gained
knowledge of the wrong. This is so
especially in light of the allegation that
Moscow called for and authorized Day's

arrest on December 12, 1990. See

Singleton v. New York, 632 F.2d 185, 191
(2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 920
(1981) (federal law which governs the date
of accrual of federal claims such as those
asserted under 42 U.S.C. Sections 1983 and
1985(2), "“‘establishes as the time of
accrual that point in time when he
plaintiff knows or has reason to know of
the injury which is the basis of his
action. '") (quoting Bireline Vv.
Seagondollar, 567 F.2d 260, 263 (4th Cir.

1977). As determined on rehearing, in
order for Day to have met the three year
statute of limitations, the complaint had
to have been filed on December 12, 1988.

A-40

ee

It was not.

Day, however, asserts that certain
events tolled the accrual of the statute.
Specifically, he contends that the
unlawful arrest and search Claims are not
time-barred because: (1) Moscow waived
his affirmative defense of statute of
limitations; (2) his actions were part of
a conspiracy and the Statute accrued at
the time of the last Over act in
furtherance thereof; (3) his actions are
part of a continuing violation of Day's
first amendment rights; (4) Day was under
duress, thus tolling the statute; and (5)
Moscow should be estopped from raising the
limitations defense by virtue of New
York's General Municipal Law Section 50

(McKinney 1986).

Day's assertion that Moscow waived

the statute of limitations defense with
A-41

respect to unlawful arrest, search and
seizure claims (because it was not
asserted in his first pre-answer motion to
dismiss the first complaint) is without
merit. The statute of limitations defense
need not be raised in a pre-answer motion.
Santos v. District Council of New York
City and Vicinity of United Brotherhood of
Carpenters and Joiners, 619 F.2d 963, 967

(28. Gie., 2900). Moreover, it is

incongruous to deny Moscow the chance to
raise a viable defense when Day is
afforded the opportunity amend . his
complaint, thus getting a second bite at
the apple. There was neither excessive
delay on Moscow's part in raising the
defense, nor substantial prejudice
suffered by Day thereby. That Day may
lose the motion does not’ constitute
prejudice. Indeed, had Day sought to

bring analogous claims of false arrest and

unlawful search in a New York State Court,
A-42

the claims would have been time barred
under the state's lesser one year statute
Of limitations. see N.Y. Civ. Prac. L. R.

Section 215(3) (McKinney 1990).

Similarly, any contention that the
complaint is not time barred because Day
is the victim of a purported comprehensive
conspiracy is frivolous and must be
rejected out of hand. There is nothing in
the pleadings to Suggest surreptitious or
covert actions by Moscow after Dayu's
arrest that would justify tolling the
statute. The complaint wholly fails to
Plead adequate, non-illusory allegations
to make out a conspiracy claim. Indeed,
allegations of conspiracy are newly raised
in the amended complaint apparently in
order disguise that the case is otherwise
Clearly time-barred. Under the

circumstances, allegations of conspiracy

are inadequate to initiate a toll of the
A-43

statute of limitations sufficient to
withstand motions to dismiss. Likewise,
any claims for false arrest and unlawful
search and seizure bootstrapped to the

purported conspiracy must fall as well.

Moreover, merely alleging a series of
interlocking violative events is not
enough to constitute a conspiracy
sufficient to postpone accrual of claims.
Si v. New York, 632 F.2d 185, 192
(2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S.
920 (1981) ("crucial time for accrual
purposes is when the plaintiff becomes
aware that he is suffering from a wrong
for which damages may be recovered in a
Civil action"). The operative date for
accrual of Day's claims is December 12,
1985, the day that he was arrested. Day
failed to file suit within three years

from that date. None of the post-arrest

events elevate Day's claims to a
A-44

conspiracy. Although Day alleges
subsequent "interlocking" violative
events, no viable conspiracy can be

gleaned therefron.

Day, however, attempts to circumvent
the rule, as delineated in Singleton, by
asserting the "continuing violation"
doctrine. This doctrine is usually
employed in connection with employment
discrimination suits and functions to toll
the time to file an action "(wjhere the
defendant has engaged in a continuous

policy of discrimination." Association

CS Aliihteh- tn aes is

Vv. Bridgeport, 647 F.2d 256, 274 (2a Cir.)
cert. denied, 455 U.S. 256 (1981). In

order to show a continuing violation,

plaintiff must show "a series of related

acts, one or more of which falls within

the limitations period." La Beach v.
Nestle Co., 658 F. Supp. 676, 687

A-45

(S.D.N.Y. 1987). Day has wholly failed to
allege facts sufficient to give rise to a
reasonable inference of a continuous

"policy of discrimination."

Specifically, Day claims that the
unlawful prosecution against his squelched
his first amendment rights, hindering him
from lawfully conversing with and helping
a black prisoner. At the outset, a case
involving false arrest/unlawful search
charges do not present a situation where
the continuing violation doctrine appears
applicable or appropriate. Even if Day,
as he avers, was unlawfully arrested and
prosecuted, thereby chilling his first
amendment rights, this is insufficient to
warrant application of the doctrine. The
continuing violation doctrine may not be

based on the continuing effects of earlier

unlawful conduct. elaw ege
v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 257 (1980). As
A-46

a

Such, Day's use of this doctrine is no
more than a ploy to resurrect his time-
barred claims. Furthermore, any reliance
on duress in order to affect a toll of the
Statute is misplaced. Any purported
duress experienced by Day did not alter
the limitations period here. See Cullen
Vv: Margiotta, 811 F.2q 698, 722 (2a Civ},
cert. denied, 483 U.s. 1021 (1987) (only

where duress is "part" of the Cause of
actio itself, or an element thereof, does

it have any possible tolling impact. )

Day next asserts that Moscow "is
equitably estopped from raising the
defense of statute of limitations in
virtue [sic] of another tolling provision
of New York State law." Plaintiff's
Memorandum at re Apparently, Day is
Suggesting that New York's General

Municipal Law constitutes a tolling

Provision. It does not. Section 50-i is
A-47

no more than a condition precedent that
must be met, regarding the filing of a
notice of claim before commencing an
action against a municipality. Rapf v.

Suffolk County of New York, 755 F.2d 282,

288 (2d Cir. 1985) (discussing Gen.

’

Munic. L. Sections 50-3 and 50-i).

Finally, Day's amended complaint
raises an additional two claims pursuant
to 42 -U.S.C. Sections 1985(2), which were
never asserted in his first complaint.
The first Section 1985(2) claim asserts
that Moscow and Murray "both or either of
them conspired with others" to deter Day
"by force, intimidation and threat" rom
attending a federal proceeding . and
testifying in The Law Firm of Daniel P.
Foster, P.c. et al. v. John Does 1-200, et
al., 84 Civ. 1337 (CES). Amended
Compiaint Paragraphs 9, 15. The second

section 1985(2) claim asserts that during
A-48

ee

the same time period Moscow "conspired
with others for the purpose of impeding,
hindering, obstructing or defeating the
due course of justice in the State of New
York" as a result of being "arrested and
prosecuted because [Day] assisted a Black
prisoner with his equal right to counsel."
Amended Complaint paragraph 10;

Plaintiff's Memorandum at 8.

Although the amended complaint fails
to set forth with any reasonable certainty
facts showing what Moscow did to carry the
conspiracy into effect, Day apparently
ties the purported misconduct to his own
criminal prosecution. Indeed, these
Claims cannot fairly be viewed as a
foreseeable outgrowth of the original
complaint. Additionally, Day concedes
that the prosecution ended on May 14,
1986. Thus, if Day was intimidated as a

result of that prosecution from testifying

' A-49

in federal court or from assisting a Black
prisoner in a separate state prosecution,
any intimidation clearly ended after
Dayu's prosecution was dismissed on May
14, 1986. Accordingly, Day had three
years to amend the original complaint
incorporating his Section 1985(2) claims.
Since these claims were not part of the
original complaint, and raised for the
first time on November 15, 1990 in the
amended complaint, both Section 1985(2)
claims are time barred under’ the
applicable statute of limitations period.
Indeed, all claims asserted in the amended
complaint apparently arise from the same
basic events, dating from the arrest and
search, thus all other claims, in addition
to those appended to the Section 1983 and

1985(2) must fall as well.
A-50

For the foregoing reasons, motions to
strike and dismiss brought by defendants
Murray and Moscow are granted in whole ana
Day's amended complaint is dismissed in
its entirety as against all defendants.
This decision close this case and
hopefully will write "FINIS" to the entire
matter.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: New York, New York
May 14, 1991

KEVIN THOMAS DUFFY, U.S.D.d.

A-51

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

—

No. 539—August Term, 1991
(Argued: November 21, 1991 Decided: January 24, 1992)
Docket No. 91-7536

>

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, PH.D.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

—

JOHN W. MOSCOW and JOSEPH B. MURRAY, individually
and as Senior Court Officer of the State of New York,
JANE DOE MARSHALL, individually and as Captain of
the New York City Department of Correction and
JOHN DOE, 1-10, unknown named officers of the New
York City Police Department and the New York City
Department of Correction,

Defendants-Appellees.

Before:

OAKES, Chief Judge,
and MESKILL and KEARSE, Circuit Judges.

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District
Court for the Southern District of New York, Kevin
Thomas Duffy, Judge, dismissing amended complaint
brought under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983 and 1985(2) as barred
by prior proceedings and by the statute of limitations.

Affirmed.

a

BERNARD FROMARTZ, Brooklyn, New York,

for Plaintiff-Appellant.

THOMAS B. LITSky, Assistant District Attor-

ney, New York County, New York, New
York (Robert M. Morgenthau, District
Attorney, New York County, Marc Fra-
zier Scholl, Assistant District Attorney,
New York, New York, on the brief), for
Defendant-Appellee John W. Moscow.

STEPHEN MENDELSOHN, Assistant Attorney

General of the State of New York, New
York, New York (Robert Abrams, Attor-
ney General of the State of New York,
New York, New York, on the brief), for
Defendant-Appellee Joseph B. Murray.

>

KEARSE, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff Christopher C. Day appeals from a final judg-
ment of the United States District Court for the Southern
District of New York, Kevin Thomas Duffy, Judge,
entered after proceedings on remand from our prior deci-

A-53
1374

sion, Day v. Morgenthau, 909 F.2d 75 (2d Cir. 1990)
(“Day I’), dismissing his post-remand amended complaint
brought under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983 and 1985(2) (1988) for
damages in connection with claims of, inter alia, false
arrest, unlawful search and seizure, malicious prosecu-
tion, and conspiracy. The district court dismissed the com-
plaint pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) and 12(f) on the
grounds that the claims asserted were barred by Day /
and/or by the 3-year statute of limitations. On appeal, Day
contends principally (1) that his new claims were not
foreclosed by the prior proceedings, and (2) that the
statute Of limitations had been tolled. For the reasons
below, we reject these contentions and affirm the judg-
ment of dismissal.

I. BACKGROUND

The events leading to this litigation, as alleged in the
complaint and reiterated in the amended complaint, are set
forth in Day /, familiarity with which is assumed, and will
be but briefly summarized here. At the pertinent times,
Day was serving as a paralegal for a New York City law
firm. Defendant John W. Moscow was an Assistant Dis-
trict Attorney for New York County; defendant Joseph B.
Murray was a senior court officer in the criminal courts
building (“courthouse”) at 111 Centre Street in New York
County.

On December 11, 1985, Day accompanied one of the
firm’s attorneys to an area of the courthouse known as the
“holding pens,” in which prisoners were detained. Day
waited outside the holding pens while the attorney went
inside to deliver a message “9 a prisoner. On the follow-
ing day, December 12, 1985, while sitting in a courtroom
in the same courthouse, Day was arrested, without a war-

A-54

1375

rant, and charged with criminal trespass in connection
with his presence outside the holding pens the day before.
Murray arrested Day on the instruction of Moscow, and
searched Day’s briefcase and billfold. Day was incarcer-
ated for some 31 hours while awaiting his arraignment.
The charge against him was eventually dismissed.

A. The Dismissal of the Complaint and the Decision in
Day I

On December 13, 1988, Day commenced the present
action against Moscow, Murray, “Jane Doe” Marshall, and
several other defendants under § 1983, seeking $500,000
in compensatory damages and $1 million in punitive dam-
ages. Day asserted various claims, including claims
against Moscow and Murray for false arrest and unlawful
search and seizure (sometimes referred here to as the
“arrest/search” claims), and against Moscow for malicious
Prosecution as well. All defendants moved to dismiss the
complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6). Moscow argued that
he was entitled to prosecutorial immunity; Murray argued
that the complaint failed to state a claim against him and
that, in any event, the claims asserted against him were
barred by the statute of limitations.

In a Memorandum and Order dated October 23, 1989,
the district court dismissed the complaint in its entirety.
To the extent pertinent here, the court dismissed the
claims asserted against Moscow on the ground that his
actions were within the scope of his prosecutorial duties
and that he therefore enjoyed absolute immunity from
Day’s claims. The court dismissed the complaint against
Murray on the ground that it failed to state a claim against
him on which relief could be granted. Day moved for
leave to file an amended complaint elaborating on his

A-55

1376

claims against Moscow and Murray. The district court
denied the motion, and Day appealed.

In Day I, this Court vacated the dismissal of the
arrest/search claims against Moscow, remanding for the
filing of an amended complaint containing those claims,
and in all other respects we affirmed the judgment. Since
Day did not present any argument as to the dismissals of
the defendants other than Moscow and Murray, we dis-
cussed only the claims against those two defendants.

With respect to Murray, who argued that the complaint
failed to state a claim against him and, alternatively, that
the statute of limitations had run, we affirmed the dis-
missal on the latter ground. Ruling that the three-year lim-
itations period provided by N.Y. Civ. Prac. L. & R.
(“CPLR”) § 214(5) (McKinney 1990), governed the
action, and ruling on reargument that the action had been
commenced three years and one day after the claims’
accrual, we concluded that the action against Murray was
time-barred. With respect to the claims against Murray,
we also affirmed the district court’s denial of leave to
amend. Day /, 909 F.2d at 79.

With respect to Moscow, we agreed with the district
court that Moscow enjoyed absolute immunity from the
claim of malicious prosecution. We ruled that the
arrest/search claims, however, alleged acts that are not
normally considered prosecutorial functions. As to those
claims, therefore, Moscow could claim only qualified, not
absolute, immunity. Since his entitlement to qualified
immunity could not be determined from the face of Day’s
complaint, we vacated the dismissal of the arrest/search
claims. We remanded and directed the district court “to
permit Day to file an amended complaint amplifying those
claims.” /d. at 78.

A_56

1377

B. The Proceedings on Remand

On remand, Day filed an amended complaint that not
only amplified his arrest/search claims against Moscow
but also repleaded other claims that had been dismissed
and asserted new claims under § 1983 and under 42
U.S.C. § 1985(2) against Murray, Moscow, and “Jane
Doe” Marshall, and against 10 “John Doe” defendants
who had not been named in the Original complaint. The
amended complaint, demanding $1 million in compen-
Satory damages and $3 million in Punitive damages,
asserted, inter alia, claims against Murray and Moscow
for false arrest, search and seizure, malicious prosecution,
unlawful delay of Day’s arraignment, and conspiracy to
prevent Day from testifying in a court proceeding.

Murray moved pursuant to Rule 12(f) to strike the
amended complaint as to him on the ground that the dis-
missal of the original complaint against him, without
leave to replead, had been affirmed on appeal. Moscow
moved pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) to dismiss most of the
Claims against himself on similar grounds, i.e., that all
Claims other than the arrest/search claims had been dis-
missed without leave to replead, that the dismissal had
been affirmed on appeal, and that this Court had ordered
that Day be allowed to file an amended complaint only
with respect to the arrest/search claims. He moved to dis-
miss the arrest/search claims on the ground that they were
barred by the statute of limitations. ;

In a Memorandum and Order dated May 14, 199]
(“May 199] Order”), the district court granted Murray’s
motion to strike the amended complaint as against him.
Noting that this Court had affirmed the dismissal of the
Original complaint as against Murray on the ground that

the claims were barred by the statute of limitations, the
A-57

1378

district court concluded that the claims Day attempted to
assert against Murray in the amended complaint were
likewise barred.

As to Moscow, the district court concluded that this
Court’s remand to permit Day to replead had been limited
to the arrest/search claims and that Day’s new claims were
thus improperly asserted. As to the arrest/search claims,
the court concluded that they were barred by the statute of
limitations. The district court noted that this Court had
found those claims untimely as to Murray, and it con-
cluded that, “[i]f untimely as to Murray, it necessarily fol-
lows that these claims were untimely as to Moscow.” /d.
at 9. Though Day contended that the statute of limitations
had been tolled for a number of reasons, the court rejected
all of his arguments.

As to the “John Doe” defendants, the district court
ruled that this Court’s limited grant of leave to replead
against Moscow did not allow Day to bring in new par-
ties, and it apparently concluded that the claims against
these parties, which arose from the same series of events,
were barred by the statute of limitations.

Accordingly, the court dismissed the amended com-
plaint in its entirety. This appeal followed.

II. DISCUSSION

On appeal, Day argues principally (1) that the mandate
in Day / did not foreclose his assertion of any claims, and
(2) that his arrest/search claims against Moscow are not
time-barred because the running of the statute of limita-
tions had been tolled. For the reasons below, we conclude
that most of Day’s new claims were foreclosed by Day /,
that the statute of limitations on Day’s arrest/search

A-58
1379

Claims against Moscow was not tolled, and that the com-
plaint was therefore properly dismissed.

A. Day’s Claims Against Defendants Other Than
Moscow

Day’s challenges to the district court’s dismissal of the
amended complaint’s claims against defendants other than
Moscow do not require lengthy discussion. Most of those
claims are foreclosed by our decision in Day /.

1. Murray

As against Murray, the original complaint asserted only
claims of false arrest and unlawful search and seizure.
The district court dismissed the complaint against him and
denied Day’s request for permission to file an amended
complaint. This Court affirmed the dismissal and affirmed
the denial of leave to replead against Murray. Accord-
ingly, Day J confirmed the entry of a final judgment in
Murray’s favor.

Principles of res judicata bar Day’s attempt to relitigate
not Only the arrest/search claims that had already been
asserted against Murray, the dismissal of which became
final in Day J, but also any other claim that Day could
have asserted against him arising out of the same series of
events. See, e.g., Commissioner v. Sunnen, 333 U.S. 591,
597 (1948); Balderman v. United States Veterans Admin-
istration, 870°F.2d 57, 62 (2d Cir. 1989); Tucker v. Arthur
Andersen &-Co., 646 F.2d 721, 727 (2d Cir. 1981);
Restatement (Second) of Judgments § 24 (1982). Gener-
ally res judicata is an affirmative defense to be pleaded in
the defendant’s answer. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(c). However,
when all relevant facts are shown by the court’s own
records, of which the court takes notice, the defense may

A-59
1380

be upheld on a Rule 12(6)(6) motion without requiring an
answer. See, e.g., W.E. Hedger Transp. Corp. v. Ira S.
Bushey & Sons, 186 F.2d 236, 237 (2d Cir. 1951). Thus,
though Rule 12(f), which permits the court to strike from
a pleading any matter that constitutes an “insufficient
defense” or that is “redundant, immaterial, impertinent, or
scandalous,” Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(f), was not the appropri-
ate procedural vehicle for Murray’s motion, see 5A C.
Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure
§ 1380, at 644 (1990) (Rule 12(f) designed for excision of
material from a pleading, not for dismissal of claims in
their entirety), dismissal of the amended complaint
against Murray was plainly proper. ;

2. “Jane Doe” Marshall

The original complaint asserted claims against several
individuals other than Murray and Moscow. All such
claims were dismissed, and, as stated above, the claims
against those other defendants were not pursued on Day’s
first appeal. Consequently, the dismissals as to defendants
other than Murray and Moscow were not disturbed in Day
] and became final as to them. Thus, as to those defen-
dants, as with respect to Murray, principles of res judicata
foreclosed any further assertion by Day of claims with
respect to the events described in the original complaint.

In his amended complaint, Day attempted to assert such
claims against “Jane Doe” Marshall. Since “Jane Doe”
Marshall was an original defendant as to whom the judg-
ment dismissing the complaint had become final, the dis-
trict court properly dismissed the amended complaint
against her since those claims are barred by res judicata.

A-60
1381

3. The “John Doe” Defendants

Day’s amended complaint also brought in ten new
defendants, denominated “John Doe[s] 1-10” and
described as officers of the New York City Police Depart-
ment or Department of Correction. The arrest of Day at
the courthouse on December 12, 1985, and the ensuing
treatment of him were alleged to be the result of a con-
spiracy in which the “John Doe[s]” were alleged to have
Participated. .

The district court apparently dismissed these claims on
the ground that our limited remand permitting amendment
of two claims against Moscow foreclosed the introduction
of claims against any new defendants and that such claims
_ were barred by the statute of limitations. Day has not
explicitly challenged the dismissal of the “John Doe[s]”
on this appeal, but we note that to the extent that his
request for relief envisions reinstatement of his claims
against these parties, it lacks merit. Though our prior
decision did not purport to foreclose the commencement
of a new action against any persons other than those who
were then parties to the action, it established that the
three-year statute of limitations provided in CPLR
§ 214(5) governs Day’s claims, Day I, 909 F.2d at 78-79.
Dismissal of the asserted claims against the new defen-
dants thus was correct on statute of limitations grounds.

B. The Claims Against Moscow

The claims asserted by Day in the amended complaint
against Moscow may be divided into two groups: his
arrest/search claims, all other claims. Assertion of the lat-
ter group was barred by Day J; assertion of the
arrest/search claims was barred by the statute of limita-
tions. We discuss them in reverse order.

A-61
1382

a

spirator of Moscow, or (3) because CPLR § 204(a) (Mc-
Kinney 1990) provides for tolling in connection with
Day’s filing of a notice of claim under New York’s munic-
ipal administrative claim procedure. We note that these
issues were not addressed by this Court in Day / because
in response to Murray’s statute-of-limitations argument
(Moscow had not then asserted such a defense), Day made
no argument as to tolling. Though it is well established
that when a federal court looks to state law to determine
the appropriate statute of limitations governing a claim
brought under § 1983, it must also refer to the state's
coordinate tolling rules unless they are inconsistent with

o federal law, Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478,
484-86 (1980), we conclude that none of Day’s present
contentions has merit, and only the third requires
extended discussion.

We reject Day’s first contention, i.e., that the statute of
limitations was tolled by duress, because under New York
law duress will toll the running of a statute of limitations
only if duress against the plaintiff is an element of the
cause of action asserted. See, e.g., Cullen v. Margiotta,
811 F.2d 698, 722 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1021
(1987); Baratta v. Kozlowski, 94 A.D.2d 454, 458-59, 464
N.Y.S.2d 803, 806 (2d Dep’t 1983). Duress is not an ele-
ment of a cause of action for false arrest, see generally
Broughton v. New York, 37 N.Y.2d 451, 456-57, 373
N.Y.S.2d 87, 93-94, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 929 (1975), or
a claim of unlawful search and seizure. We reject Day’s
second contention, i.e., that the statute was tolled by
timely service of process on a coconspirator, because,
inter alia, the original complaint did not allege a con-
spiracy, Day | did not permit Day to introduce a con-
spiracy claim, and in any event, as the district court aptly

A-62
1384

1. The Claims of Malicious Prosecution, Conspiracy,
etc.

Where issues have been “explicitly or implicitly
decided on appeal,” United States y. Uccio, 940 F.2d 753,
758 (2d Cir. 1991), the law-of-the-case doctrine obliges
the district court on remand to follow the decision of the
court of appeals, see, e.g., id. at 757: Soto-Lopez v. New
York City Civil Service Commission, 840 F.2d 162, 167
(2d Cir. 1988); United States v. Fernandez, 506 F.2d 1200,
1202 (2d Cir. 1974); 18 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper,
Federal Practice and Procedure § 4478, at 792-93 (1981).
In Day I, we explicitly affirmed the dismissal of the claim
against Moscow for malicious Prosecution on the ground
of absolute immunity. The dismissal of that claim thus
was final. Further, since in vacating the dismissal of the
arrest/search claims we stated that Day should be allowed
to “file an amended complaint amplifying those claims,”
Day 1, 909 F.2d at 78 (emphasis added), we implicitly, if
not explicitly, ruled that any amended complaint was to be
limited to those claims.

Accordingly, the district court properly ruled that the
amended complaint, insofar as it sought to assert against
Moscow claims other than claims for false arrest and
unlawful search and seizure, was foreclosed by Day /.

2. The Arrest/Search Claims Against Moscow

The remaining question is whether the arrest/search
claims against Moscow were properly dismissed on
Statute-of-limitations grounds. Day contends that the dis-
trict court should have ruled his claims against Moscow
timely on the ground that the statute of limitations was
tolled either (1) because Day was under duress, or (2)
because he timely served process on an alleged cocon-

A-63
1383

found, Day’s present allegation “of a purported compre-
hensive conspiracy is frivolous.” May 1991 Order at 10.

Day’s final contention, i.e., that the statute of limita-
tions was tolled by CPLR § 204(a), has some superficial
appeal but ultimately does not withstand analysis. The
foundation for this argument is the interplay between
CPLR § 204(a) and the state administrative provisions
affecting claims against municipalities.

When the alleged events occurred, New York law pro-
vided that a suit against a municipality or its employees
must be preceded by the filing of a notice of claim with
the municipality. See N.Y. Gen. Mun. Law § 50-e (Mc-
Kinney 1986 & Supp. 1991); bur see Felder v. Casey, 487
U.S. 131 (1988) (ruling that states may not establish such
a notice of claim as a precondition to suit in state court
under § 1983). The New York statutory scheme also pro-
vided that whenever a notice of claim was filed, the
municipality had the right to demand an examination of
the claimant, and that “[w]here [such] a demand has been
served . . . no action shall be commenced against the
[municipality] unless the claimant has duly complied with
such demand for examination.” N.Y. Gen. Mun. Law
§ 50-h(5) (McKinney 1986 & Supp. 1991).

CPLR § 204(a) provides that “[w]here the commence-
ment of an action has been stayed by a court or by statu-
tory prohibition, the duration of the stay is not a part of
the time within which the action must be commenced.”
Under New York law, the prohibition found in § 50-h(5),
forbidding commencement of an action until the demand
for an examination has been honored, triggers § 204(a)’s
tolling provision. See Hauptman v. New York City Health
and Hospitals Corporation, 162 A.D.2d 588, 589, 556
N.Y.S.2d 929 (2d Dep’t 1990).

A-64
1385

In his amended complaint, Day alleged that “[{ojn
November 3, 1986, the Office of the Comptroller served
a Demand for Plaintiff’s examination, which'was held on
June 8, 1987.” (Amended Complaint q 2.) Thus, he argues
that from November 3, 1986, to June 8, 1987, § 50-h(5)
prevented him from commencing his suit and that CPLR
§ 204(a) tolled the statute of limitations for that seven-
month and five-day period. When this additional time is
added to the limitations period, Day’s arrest/search claims
were timely filed. Ws

The flaw in this argument is that, though New York’s
notice-of-claim requirements were, prior to Felder vy.
Casey, 487 U.S. 131, applicable to § 1983 suits brought in
State court, they were not applicable to § 1983 suits
brought in federal court. See, e.g., Brandon v. Board of
Education, 635 F.2d 971, 973 n.2 (2d Cir. 1980), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 1123 (1981); Courtemanche vy. Enlarged
City School District, 686 F. Supp. 1025, 1032 (S.D.N.Y.
1988); Burroughs v. Holiday Inn, 621 F. Supp. 351, 353-
55 (W.D.N.Y. 1985); Williams v. Allen, 616 F. Supp. 653,
656-59 (E.D.N.Y. 1985); Paschall v. Mayone, 454 F.
Supp. 1289, 1298 (S.D.N.Y. 1978). Thus, Felder v. Casey
noted that although the Supreme Court itself “ha[d] never
passed on the question, the lower federal courts have all,
with but one exception, concluded that notice-of-claim
Provisions are inapplicable to § 1983 actions brought in
federal court.” 487 U.S. at 140. The lone exception
referred to in Felder was Cardo v. Lakeland Central
School District, 592 F. Supp. 765, 772-73 (S.D.N.Y.
1984), which was not authoritative, since it was contrary
to the principle stated by this Court in Brandon v. Board
of Education, 635 F.2d at 973 n.2, upholding a ruling that
compliance with the state’s notice-of claim provision was
not a precondition to the district court action. Since the

A-65
1386

filing of a notice of claim was not a prerequisite to the
federal-court suit, a municipality perforce could not
require a delay of the commencement of a federal-court
Suit pending an examination based on such a notice. Thus,
there was no point during the three-year period provided
by CPLR § 214(5) at which Day was barred from com-
mencing the present suit in federal court. Since there was
no statutory prohibition against a suit such as the present
one in federal court, we conclude that under state law, the
tolling provision in § 204(a) would not be deemed appli-
cable to an action in federal court.

A statute of limitations is a statute of repose, “consid-
ered indispensable to any scheme of justice.” Felder v.
Casey, 487 U.S. at 140. The purpose of a tolling provision
is to assure that the claimant has the full period of time
provided by a statute of limitations in which to bring his
suit. In the present case, no valid purpose would be served
by enlarging the prescribed period to “compensate” for a
disability that did not exist.

CONCLUSION

We have considered all of Day’s arguments on this
appeal and have found them to be without merit. The
judgment dismissing the amended complaint is affirmed.

1387

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States

the City of New York, on the day
of
on thousand nine hundred and

Present:
Hon. J.L. OAKES
Hon. T.J. MESKILL

Hon. A.L. KEARSE

CIRCUIT JUDGES

CHRISTOPHER C. DAY, Ph.D.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Document No.
91-7536

Vv.

JOHN W. MOSCOW and JOSEPH B. MURRAY,
Individually and as Senior Court
Officer of the State of New York,
JANE DOE MARSHALL, Individually and
as Captain of the New York City
Department of Correction and

JOHN DOE 1-10, Unknown named
Officers of the New York City
Police Department and the New York

A-67

City Department of Correction.
Defendants~-Appellees.

A petition for rehearing, having been
filed herein by Plaintiff-Appellant,
Christopher C. Day, Ph.D.

Upon consideration, thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition be and it
hereby is DENIED.

SO ORDERED:
FOR THE COURT,
Elaine B. Goldsmith, Clerk

By: Kathy Brouwer, Operations Mgr.
Date: 2-25-92

A-68

APPENDIX: A.

STATUTES INVOLVED

42 United States Code Section 1988

provides in pertinent part:

Proceedings in Vindication of Civil
Rights

The jurisdiction in civil ana
criminal matters conferred on
the district courts by the pro-
visions of this Title, and of
Title "CIVIL RIGHTS", and of
Title "CRIMES," for the prote-
ction of all persons in the U-
nited States in their civil
rights, and for their vindica-
tion, shall be exercised and
enforced in conformity with the
laws of the United States, so
far as such laws are Suitable to
carry the same into effect; but
in all cases where they are not
adapted to the object, or are
deficient in the provisions nec-
essary to furnish suitable reme-
dies and punish offenses against
the law, the common law, as mod-
ified and changed by the consti-
tution and statutes of the State
wherein the court having juris-
diction of such civil or crimi-
nal cause is held, so far as the
Same is not inconsistent with
the Constitution and laws of the
United States, shall be extended
to and govern the said courts in

A-69

the trial and disposition of the
cause, and, if it is of a crimi-
nal nature, in the infliction of
punishment on the party found
guilty. [...]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0722%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
