# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — King v. James

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0714%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 821

## Text

(\) Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED
9l-]
“1891 MAY 27 1999
OFFICE OF THE GLERK
CASE NO.: -
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

ELINOR S. KING
Petitioner

V >

L. FOSTER JAMES

STEPHEN A. FERRADINO

JOHN A. SIMONE, JR.

JAN H. PLUMADORE

JOHN AUSTIN

JOHN J. WARNER, JR.
Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Elinor S. King
Petitioner - Pro se
108 Brunswick Road
Troy, New York 12180
(518) 274-1418

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Do judges have judicial immunity for
their actions, when they deprive a person
of their property and place a personal
Obligation upon that person, knowing he
lacks personal jurisdiction over said
person and knowing he lacks subject
matter jurisdiction over the issues

efore him as the State Constitution
specifically deprives him of jurisdic-
tion? Does the statute of limitations
begin to run when the fraud is committed
or when the ame is discovered? Does
the Eleventh Amendment afford judges
immunity when the act in clear absence
of all jurisdiction? Are the Younger
doctrine and the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
applicable to cases where litigant is
being denied their civil rights to due

process and equal protection of the law?

(22

.

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

I certify that the following
comprise all interested persons

Known to Petitioner:

Elinor S. King - Petitioner pro se

Respondents

L. Foster James,
Stephen A. Ferradino,
John A. Simone, Jr.,
Judge Jan H. Plumadore,
Judge John Austin,

John J. Warner, Jr.,

Attorney: New York State Attorney
General Robert Abrams
Department of Law
The Capitol
Albany, New York 12224
(518) 486-4087

oe eo
Om “797 Le

Elinor S. King

/

Petitioner - Pro &

(ii)

‘cama iaalldiiacaiaia ieee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented p. i
For Review

List Of All Interested es -Sh
Parties

Table Of Contents p- iii
Table Of Authorities p.- iv
Official Court-Opinions D l
Statement of Jurisdiction p. 2
Constitutional Provisions p. 3

& Statutes

Statement Of The Case p. 10
Facts of Case p. 11
Arguments p. 22
Conclusion p. 65
Appendix p. 66

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Constitutional Provisions

Statutes & Rules

US.

CONST.

Section 2.

U.S.

28 U.
28 U.
42 U.

42 U.

United States Supreme Court

CONST.

CONST.

CONST.

CONST.

$.C.

S.C.

S.C.

S.C.

Aft. Vie

Amendment V
Amendment VI
Amendment XI
Amendment IVX
Section 1254 (1)
Section 1343
Section 1983

Section 1985

Stump v. Sparkman,

435 U.S. 349, (1978)

Bradley v. Fisher, ;

80 U.S. 13 (Wall) 335 (1872)
Kulko v. Superior Court

436 U.S. 84 (1978)

International Shoe Co. v.

Washington,

(iv)

(1945) 326 U.S.

26,

32,

10

53

41

27

»

McDonald v. McBee, (1917)

243 U.S.

90

Pennoyer v. Neff, (1898)

95 U.S.

714

Utah Junk Co. v. Porter,

3298 U.S.

39, (1946).

United States v. First City

National

Bank, 386 U.S. 361, (1967)

Argersinger v. Hamlin

407 U.S.

25 (1972)

In re Oliver

333 U.S.

257

Pointer v. Texas

380 U.S.

400

Washington v. Texas

388 U.S.

Holmberg
327 U.S.

Lynch v.
405 U.S.

Jones v.
392 U.S.

14

v. Armbrecht
392 (1946)

Household Finance Corp,
538 (1972)

Alfred H. Mayer Co,
409

Rooker-Feldman doctrine

Younger doctrine

p.

27

27

34

34

46

46

46

46

~ B

54

56

58

United States Court of Appeals

Rankin v. Howard, 633 F.2d p.

844 (1980), cert. denied
101 §.€t. 20620, 451 U.S. 939

Duba v. McIntyre, 501 F.2d
590, (1974) cert denied
96 S.Ct. 1480, 424 U.S. 975

Ryan v. Scoggin,
245 F.2d 54 (1957)

Gregory v. Thompson,
500 F.2d 63

Dykes v. Hoseman, p.

743 F.2d 1488, (1984)

Turner v. Raynes,
611 F.2d 92, (1980)

Baures v. Heisel,
361 F.2d 581, (1966)

United States v. State of
California, 504 F.2d 750, (1974)

Maestri v. Jutkofsky,
860 F.2d 50, (2nd Cir. 1988).

Dinwiddie v. Brown,
230 F.2d 465 (1956)

Briley v. State of Cal.,
564 F.2d 849 (1977)

Hilton v. Mumaw,
522 F.2d 588

(vi)

23,

26,

25
a8

23

23

26

a2

32

33

a3

41

54

49

50

Smith v. State of Kansas (1966) p. 60
356 F.2d 654, cert denied
88 S.Ct. 154, 389 U.S. 871

Jones v. Metzger (1972) S. 62
456 F.2d 854

Devil v. Sosbe (1972) p. 62
465 F.2d 169

Woods v. Wright (1964) p. 63
344 F.2d 369

United States District Court

Hofferber v. The First National Bb. Sa
Bank of Guyman , Oklahoma,
437 F.Supp. 788

Schorle v. City of Greenhills p. 60
524 F.Supp. 821 (1981)

Cochran v. Ensweller p. 62
372 F.Supp. 471 (1974)

Javits v. Stevens (D.C.N.Y.) p. 63
382 F.Supp. 131 (1974)

Law Review Journals

Junker, The right to Counsel in p. 47
Misdemeanor Cases. 43 Wash.L.Rev.
685, 705 (1968).

New York State Constitution

Article 6, Section l p. 34

(vii)

Article 6, Section 13 (a) p. 34

Article 6, Section 13 (b) o>. 34, 37
Article 6, Section 13 (c) p. 34, 37
Article 6, Section 19 (a) p. 64

New York State Statutes

Family Court Act Section 115 (b) >. 37

Family Court Act Section 447 Oo. 37
Family Court Act Section 461(a) p. 38
Civil Practice, Law p. 40

& Rules Section 2221

Family Court Act Section 174 p. 42
Family Court Act Section 421 p. 42
Judiciary Law Section 14 p. 43
Family Court Act § 433 (a) p. 46
Rules of Chief Administrator p. 44

of Courts, Part 100, Judicial
Conduct, § 100.3

New York State Court of Appeals

Bolatin v. Bolatin, Dp. 38, 39
22 N.Y.2d 794, (1968)..

(viii)

New York State Appellate Court

Carella v. Collins, p. 28
144 A.D.2d 78 (1989) _ ,

Roy v. Roy, | Ss es
109 A.D.2d 150 (1985)

Greene v. Greene, p.- 36
32 A.D.2d 523, (1969)

Harrington v. Harrington, Sb. 37, 39
60 A.D.2d 982 (1978)

Casterella v. Casterella, p. 43
65 A.D.2d 614 (1978)

Privitera v. Town of Phelps, p. 33
79 A.D.2d 1

New York Supplement

Cummings v. Christensen, p. 43
439 N.Y.S.2d 82

(ix)

OFFICIAL COURT OPINIONS

The United States District Court
issued its Decision and Order signed on
November 29, 1991 and entered on November
29, 1991, (91-CV-0952) determining the
judges had judicial immunity for their
actions and that Petitioner failed to
allege specific facts sufficient to indi-
cate a deprivation of rights has occurred.

The United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit affirmed the
District Court's Decision and Order

on May 8, 1992 (91-9317).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari is sought from a final
Order of the United States Court
of Appeals, Second Circuit, issued
May 8, 1992, (91-9317) and is
herein filed within the required
ninety (90) day period.

This court has jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

U.S. CONST. Art. VI, Section 2.

"This Constitution, and the Laws of
the United States which shall be made in
Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties made,
or which shall be made, under the
Authority of the United States, shall be
the supreme Law of the land; and the
Judges in every State shall be bound
thereby, any Thing in the Constitution
Or Laws of any State to the Contrary

notwithstanding."

U.S. CONST. Amendment Five

No person shall be held to answer
for a capital, or otherwise infamous
Crime, unless on a presentment or indict-
ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases
arising in the land or naval forces, or
im the Militia, when in actual service
in time of War or public danger; nor

(3)

shall any person be subject for the

same offense to be twice put in jeopardy
of life or limb; nor shall be compelled
in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of
life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor shall private
property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

U.S. CONST. Amendment Six.

"In all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy
trial by an impartial jury of the State
and district wherein the crime shall have
been previously ascertained by law, and
to be informed of the nature and cause of
the accusation; to be confronted with
witnesses against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of

(4)

Counsel for his defense.

U.S. CONST. Amendment Fourteen.

"All persons born or naturalized in
the United States, and subject to the
jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein
they reside. No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its juris-

diction the equal protection of the laws.

42 U.S.C. Section 1983.

Every person who, under color of any
statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or
usage, of any State or Territory, sub-
jects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other

(5S)

person within the jurisdiction thereof
to the deprivation of any rights, priv-
ileges, or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable
to the party injured in an action at
law, suit in equity, or other proper

proceeding for redress.

42 U.S.C. Section 1985.

Conspiracy to interfere with civil
rights.

(2) If two or more persons in any
state or Territory conspire to deter, by
force, intimidation, or threat, any party
Or witness in any court of the United
States from attending such court, or
from testifying to any matter pending
therein, freely, fully, and truthfully,
Or to injure such party or witness in
his person or property on account of

having so attended or testified, or to

(6)

influence the verdict, presentment, or
indictment of any grand or petit juror
in any such court, or to injure such
juror in his person or property on
account of any verdict, presentment, or
indictment lawfully assented to by him,
or cf his being or having been such
juror; or if two or more persons
conspire for the purpose of impeding,
hindering, obstructing, or defeating,
in any manner, the due course of justice
in any State or Territory, with intent
to deny to any citizen the equal protec-
tion of laws, or to injure him or his
property for lawfully enforcing or
attempting to enforce, the right of any
person, or class of persons, to equal
protection of the laws;

(3) If two or more persons in any
State or Territory conspire or go in
disguise on the highway or on the

(7)

premises of another, for the purpose of
depriving, either directly or indirectly,
any person or class of persons of the
equal protection of the laws, or of

equal privileges and immunities under

the laws; or for the purpose of prevent-
ing or hindering the constituted authori-
ties of any State or Territory from
giving or securing to all persons within
such State of Territory the equal pro-
tection of the laws; or if two or more
persons conspire to prevent by force,
intimidation, or threat any citizen who
is lawfully entitled to vote, from giving
his support or advocacy in a legal manner
toward or in favor of the election of any
lawfully qualified person as an elector
for President or Vice President, or as a
Member of Congress of the United States;
Or to injure any citizen in person or

property on account of such support or

(8)

advocacy; in any case of conspiracy set
forth in this section, of one or more
persons engage therein do, or cause to
be done, any act in furtherance of the
object of such conspiracy, whereby
another is injured in his person or
property, or deprived of having exer-
cising any right or privilege of a
citizen of the United States, the
party so injured or deprived may have
an action for the recovery of damages
occasioned by such injury or depriva-
tion, against any one or more of the

conspirators.

(9)

STATEMENT OF CASE

This is an appeal from a final order
signed and filed by the Second Circuit
Court of Appeals on May 8, 1992 affirming
the decision and order of the District
Court signed and entered November 29,
1991 determining that the judges had
judicial immunity for their actions,
that Petitioner failed to specifically
state the deprivation of Constitutional
rights. District Court had jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1343.

(10)

FACTS

The family court judges knew
that they had no authority to place a
personal obligation upon Petitioner to
support her son, Mr Collins and his
former wife, Ms Carella, and to give
exclusive possession of Petitioner's
real property to Ms Carella.

The family court judges also knew
that they lacked jurisdiction over the
issues of custody, visitation and support
between Petitioner's son and Ms Carella
as there has never been a referral of the
issues to the family court from the
supreme court as required by the New York
State Constitution.

At an EBT held on April 19, 1989
Ms Carella, when asked, did not deny that
she was having ex parta communications
with Judge James concerning the family

court proceedings.

(11)

Petitioner's son, Charles E. Collins
III, and Ms Carella were married on June
28, 1975 and had three children of the
marriage. On October 3, 1980 they entered
into a Separation Agreement which gave Ms
Carella custody of the children and visi-
tation rights to Mr Collins as well as
providing for support of Ms Carella and
the children. On March 27, 1981 they
entered into an Amended Separation Agree-
ment concerning support. On July 27, 1981
Judge Amyot signed a New York State
Judgment of Divorce which was entered on
August 3, 1981 in Saratoga County which
incorporated but did not merge the agree-
ments. Said agreements were drawn up by
Ms Carella's attorney and Mr Collins was
not represented by counsel.

In 1984, Petitioner, her son and her
husband purchased a house in Saratoga
County with each owing a 1/3 interest

(12)

in the property and the deed was filed
on June 14, 1984.

May 7, 1985 Judge Ferradino modified
the Supreme Court Divorce Decree by
ordering Mr Collins to pay for the mort-
gage and utilites on the house for the
benefit of Ms Carella in addition to
the support ordered by the Supreme Court.

On April 22, 1986 Judge James gave
Ms Carella exclusive possession of the
property. Petitioner was not a party to
the proceeding and therefore Judge
James lacked personal jurisdiction over
her. Judge James is not authorized as
a family court judge, to determine
possession or title of real property.
Supreme Court Judge Plumadore specifi-
Cally so ruled on December 11, 1989.

On April 22, 1986, after awarding
Ms Carella exclusive possession of the

house, Judge James transferred the issue

(13)

of support to the Schenectady County
Hearing Examiner.

In November of 1986 Mr Collins sold
his 1/3 interest in the house to Peti-
tioner and received credit for monies
owed to her.

March 5, 1987 Hearing Examiner
Warner issued his decision and order
which changed the terms of the Supreme
Court Decree.

April 7, 1987 and April 8, 1987
Judge James held a trial to determine
if Mr Collins had violated the Family
Court support orders. As documented by
the transcripts, Mr Collins was not
informed of his rights as required by
both state and federal law including his
right to counsel, was not allowed to
cross-examine Ms Carella on her testi-
mony, waS allowed only to present evi-

dence and documentation for the period of

(14)

October 3, 1986 to April 7, 1987 while

Mr Morsillo and Judge James questioned

Mr Collins and Ms Carella covering the

period of 1981 to April 7, 1987, and

Mr Collins was not allowed to object to
the questions being asked of him, etc.

On April 15, 1987 Judge James sen-
tenced Mr Collins to jail.

September 17, 1987 Mr Warner issued
his Finding of Fact and recommended that
Mr Collins be sentenced to jail for vio-
lation of support. Testimony showed that
Mr Collins earned $400.00 per week with a
net of $293.00 or $1259.00 per month. He
was ordered to pay $725.00 mortgage,
$284.00 support, $60.00 arrears, $150.00
for utilities for a total of $1219.00
which does not include past due medical
bills, future medical bills, medical
insurance and past due electric bills
Mr Collins was ordered to pay. Mr Collins

(15)

Ve

was left with just $40.00 per month to
pay these added bills and to live on.

January 25, 1988 Surrogate Court
Judge Simone sentenced Mr Collins to jail
for violation of the family court support
orders.

January 26, 1989 the Appellate Court
ruled that Mr Collins could not afford to
pay the amount ordered by the family
court and that the family court could not
rely on Petitioner's assets in determin-
ing her son's support obligation.

July, 1989 Petitioner sued Mr
Collins and Ms Carella in Supreme Court
in order to gain possession of the real
property.

September 8, 1989 Judge James order-
ed Mr Collins to pay a flat $120.00 per
week and specifically stated that his
potential was $20,000.00 per year. Judge
James then made the order retroactive

(16)

back to December 1987 as required by FCA

§ 449 without giving Mr Collins fufl
credit for support paid as required.

This placed Mr Collins over $4,000.00 in
arrears when he should have had over a
$14,000.00 credit. This was in order to
prejudice the Supreme Court proceeding by
giving Ms Carella a reason to claim there
was a fraudulent conveyance between
Petitioner and Mr Collins.

In order to circumvent the Appellate
Court ruling concerning Mr Collins: sup-
port obligation Supreme Court Judge Plum-
adore on February 28, 1990 refused to
give Petitioner back her property relying
on Judge James' decision placing Mr
Collins over $4,000.00 in arrears knowing
that Judge James lacked jurisdiction and
Mr Collins did not receive full credit
for all support paid pursuant to court
order. Judge Plumadore ruled because of

(17)

EE

the arrears, Ms Carella was entitled to
claim a fraudulent conveyance. Yet, ig-
noring the fraud in Ms Carella receiving
exclusive possession of the house. With
out a hearing or a trial Judge Plumadore
ruled that Ms Carella could remain in the
house, holding Mrs King liable for Mr
Collins' support as she has to pay $850.
per month mortgage on the house. Judge
Plumadore has refused to hold a hearing
or to set a date for interrogatories to
be completed by and is refusing to allow
Petitioner or Mr Collins to claim the
money paid on the mortgage to be used >
against Mr Collins' support obligation.
From September 1989 to the present is 30
months. At $516.00 per month support is
$15,480.00 + $4,000.00 arrears equal
$19,480. Mortgage payment of $850.00 per
month is a total of $25,500.00 minus sup-
port of $19,480 leaves $6,020.00 that has

(18)

been over paid. Thereby, ruling Ms
Carella is entitled to live in the house
rent free and receive support.

April 30, 1990 Mr Collins filed a
violation of visitation petition anda
modification of support petition in the
family court naming Ms Carella and Judges
James and Ferradino as Respondents.

May 9, 1990 Judge James signs Judge
Austin's name to an Order to Show Cause
for violation of support, after he had
been removed from the case by an Adminis-
trative Order.

May 25, 1990 Mr Collins appeared
before Judge Austin for violation of sup-
port based upon Judge James' September 8,
1989 decision. Mr Collins was not inform-
ed of his rights including his right to
counsel. Judge Austin refused to open the
courtroom to the public in violation of
his 6th Amendment right as he faced six

(19)

months incarceration.

July 30, 1990 Judge Austin dismisses
all of Mr Collins' petitions leaving only
Ms Carella's violation petition. He again
fails to inform Mr Collins of his rights
and again refuses to open the court to
public.

August 16, 1991 Mr Collins sends a
letter to Judge Austin stating that he
lacked jurisdiction pursuant to the New
York State Constitution, the Family Court
Act and supporting case law.

August 20, 1991 Judge Austin replies
Stating Mr Collins' arguments are "with
Out merit" and refuses to state upon what
he based his jurisdiction as he had a
personal interest in determining he had
jurisdiction because of Mr Collins'
federal lawsuit which was filed on March
28, 1991.

Petitioner's Complaint was filed on

(20)

August 22, 1991 and Judge Austin was
served on August 29, 1991.

September 13, 1991 Judge Austin
issued a warrant for Mr Collins' arrest
because he refused to participate ina
trial over which Judge Austin knew he
lacked jurisdiction and had a personal
interest in seeing that Mr Collins would
not be able to argue his case before the
U.S. Court of Appeals and to take out
retribution against Petitioner for filing

this lawsuit against him.

(21)

ARGUMENTS

Petitioner respectfully requests
that this court grant a Writ of Certior-
ari in this case as the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
has decided a federal question in a way
that conflicts with applicable decisions
of this Court, other federal circuit
courts, the New York State Court of
Appeals as well as the Appellate Courts
of the State of New York.

The Second Circuit in entering its
decision relied upon the District Court's
decision that the judges had immunity

based on Stump v. Sparkman, 435 U.S. 349,

362-64 (1978) without addressing the

the issues Of whether the judges were
acting within the scope of their subject
matter jurisdiction and whether the
judges had personal jurisdiction over
Petitioner in order to place a personal

(22)

a

obligation upon her to support Mr Collins
and Ms Carella and when they gave
exclusive possession of Petitioner's
property to Ms Carella.

Rankin v. Howard, 633 F.2d 844 (9th

Cir. 1980) at 848, stated:

..-When the Supreme Court first
formulated the "clear absence"
standard, however, it stated that
the principal of immunity applied
when there was "jurisdiction of both
subject and person." Bradley v.
Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 335, 352
(1872). 20 L.Ed. 646.

Several courts have repeated this
language indicating in dicta that both
subject matter and personal jurisdiction
are necessary to confer judicial immun-

ity. See, Duba v. McIntyre, 501 F.2d 590,

592 (8th Cir.1974), cert denied, 424 U.S.
975, 96 S.Ct. 1480, 47 L.Ed2d 745 (1976)
("the judge must have both jurisdicticn
over the person and subject matter if he
is to be immune from suit."); Ryan v.

(23)

Scoggin, 245 F.2d 54, 58 (10th Cir. 1957)
(judge is immune for order or judgment
when "court has jurisdiction of the sub-
ject matter and of the parties").

The thrust of Appellant's Complaint
is that the family court judges lacked
both personal jurisdiction over Petition-
er and subject matter jurisdiction over
the issues before them. The family court
judges and hearing examiner placed a per-
sonal obligation on Petitioner to support
her son, Charles E. Collins, III and her
son's ex-wife Ms Carella. They have also
deprived her of her property. The supreme
court judge, after ruling that Ms Carella
has "no interest equivalent to or imping-
ing upon title", continves to deprive
Petitioner of possession of her property
by refusing to proceed with the case, in
Order for the family court judges to
sentence Mr Collins to jail so that Ms

(24)

Carella can be put in a superior bargain-
ing position. By refusing, for over two
years, to order due dates for discovery
to be completed by so that a trial can be
held in order for Judge Austin to sen-
tence Mr Collins to jail in a closed
courtroom based upon an order that the
family court judge had no authority to
issue in the first place is a denial of
due proces and equal protection of the
law and a deliberate attempt to impede
and hinder the due course of justice.

Personal Jurisdiction

Rankin v. Howard, 633 F2d 848:

{5] An absence of personal jurisdic-
tion may be said to destroy "all
jurisdiction" because the require-
ments of subject matter and personal
jurisdiction are conjunctional. Both
must be met before a court has the
authority to adjudicate the rights
of parties to a dispute.

[6] If a court lacks jurisdiction
over a party, then it lacks “all
jurisdiction" to adjudicate that
party's rights, whether or not the

(25)

1497,

subject matter is properly before
it. See, e.g. Kulko v. Superior

Const, 436. 0.8..84, 91, 96. S.Ct.

1690, 1696, 56 L.Ed.2d 132 (1978)
("{ijt has long been the rule that

a valid judgment imposing a personal
obligation or duty in favor of the
plaintiff may be entered only by a
court having jurisdiction over the
person of the defendant")...;

[7] Because of the limits of person-
al jurisdiction constrain judicial
authority, acts taken in the absence
of personal jurisdiction do not fall
within the scope of legitimate
decisionmaking that judicial immun-
ity is designed to protect. See,
Gregory v. Thompson, 500 F.2d at 63.

We conclude that a judge who acts in
the clear and complete absence of
personal jurisdiction loses his
judicial immunity.

Dykes v. Hoseman, 743 F.2d 1488,

(llth Cir. 1984) held:

[13] We agree with the Rankin
court's analysis. We point out in
addition, that the rational for the
limitation on judicial immunity when
subject matter jurisdiction is lack-
ing applies with equal force when
personal jurisdiction is lacking. In
Bradley v. Fisher, the court stated
that where there is no jurisdiction
over the subject matter, any author-
ity exercised is a usurped author-
ity. 13 Wall. at 351, 20 L.Ed. 646.
Although the modern conception of

(26)

personal jurisdiction generally
refers to due process. see, e.g.
International Shoe Co. v. Washing-
ton, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct. 154, 90
L.Ed. 95 (1945), the foundation of
personal jurisdiction has always
been the court's power to act.
McDonald v. McBee, 243 U.S. 90, 37
S.Ct. 343, 61 L.Ed. 608 (1917);
Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U.S. 714, 24
..Ed. 565 (1898). When the court
acts without personal jurisdiction,
its authority is as much a usurped
authority as when the court acts
without subject matter jurisdiction.

The State argued p. 8-9 of brief:

..-King was not a party to these
proceedings, and -- with the possi-
ble exception of the orders regard-
ing Wooddale property -- no judg-
ments or orders ensuing from these
proceedings required or restrained
action by King.

Judge James in his April 15, 1987
decision sentencing Appellant's son to
jail for violation of of support stated:

...-that from November 1986 to the
present time there were no periods
when the Petitioner was without
income; that the Petitioner posses-
ses unused assets particularly the
ability to borrow, since his busi-
ness related debts are now sub-
stantially satisfied,....

(27)

Mr Collins had income but he did not
have sufficient income to pay what the
family court had ordered nor did Judge
James state what Mr Collins' assets were
or where he could obtain funds to pay his
support.

Judge Simone in his January 25, 1988
decision sentencing Petitioner's son to
jail stated:

..-The Court is convinced that the

respondent does have funds available

to him to comply with the oraer
and/or that he is capable of obtain-
ing such funds....

Judge Simone never stated what funds
were available to Mr Collins or where he
could obtain such funds.

The Appellate Court in its ruling

Carella v. Collins, 144 AD2d 78:

...-Family Court's emphasis on re-
spondent's alleged access to funds
is not well founded in this record.
There was much testimony concerning
the financial status of respondent's
mother from which the court could
have assumed that funds were avail-

(28)

able to him, including the fact that
respondent had resided with his
mother rent free from 1981 and that
she appears willing to offer finan-
cial assistance to him. However, the
mother's financial status cannot be
said to be respondent's status.

In the casse at bar, the record does
not demonstrate a failure to make
Support payments accompanied by an
absence of any attempt to modify the
order of support, nor does it demon-
strate the failure to use any part
of respondent's wages to make sup-
port payments while regularly
employed as to constitute prima
facia evidence of willfullness...

Had Petitioner been willing to make
funds available to Mr Collins he would
not have been sentenced to jail by Judge
James, Hearing Examiner Warner and Judge
Simone for violation of support.

The State has admitted that Judge
James did not have personal jurisdiction
over Petitioner, as she was not a party
to the family court proceeding, when he
gave Ms Carella exclusive possession of

her real property. The State has admitted

(29)

that Petitioner was not a party to the
family court proceedings and therefore
had no authority to use Petitioner's
assets to determine her son's support
obligation and then threaten her with the
incarceration of her son if she did not
loan him money to pay his support obliga-
tion. The judges in their decisions did
not use peettionnr’s name directly as
they knew they had no authority to place
a personal obligation upon her to support
Mr Collins and Ms Carella. So in order to
place the personal obligation upon her
without having the authority to do so,
they ordered her son to pay more in
support than he could afford and then
threatened her son with incarceration and
sentenced him to jail in order to force
and intimidate Petitioner into paying her
son's support obligation in order to keep

(30)

him out of jail.

Petitioner has clearly documented
that Family Court's intent was to place
a personal obligation upon her which they
did and the Appellate Division's January
26, 1989 order supports this contention
100%. Even the District Court, as docu-
mented in Petitioner's brief, found she
was aggrieved by these Family Court
decisions and orders. Not only did the
Family Court orders deprive her of pos-
session of her real property but they
have forced Petitioner to pay approxi-
mately $850.00 per month on the house or
loose the house to foreclosure and/or
taxes. These Family Court orders have
prevented Petitioner from selling the
house and has caused her great hardship
in the Supreme Court in trying to get
possession of her property back while

(31)

allowing Ms Carella to live in the house

rent free. As documented and not denied
by the state, Petitioner is being depriv-
ed of her right to a hearing and trial to
get her property back and the Family
Court is interfering with the Supreme
Court case by issuing orders to place Ms
Carella in a superior position in order
to force Petitioner to support Ms

Carella while knowing they lack jurisdic-
tion over the issues between Mr Collins
and Ms Carella.

Subject Matter Jurisdiction

Rankin v. Howard 633 F2d 849 held:

[10] But when a judge knows he lacks
jurisdiction, or acts on the face of
Clearly valid state statutes or case
law expressly depriving him of jur-
isdiction, judicial immunity is lost
See Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. (13
Wall) at 351 (" when want of juris-
diction is known to the judge, no
excuse is permissible"); Turner v.
Raynes, 611 F.2d 92, 95 (5th Cir.
1980) (Stump, is consistent with the
view that "a clearly inordinate

(32)

exercise of unconferred jurisdiction
by a judge - one so crass as to
establish that he embarked on it
either knowingly or recklessly -
subjects him to personal liability")

Dykes v. Hoseman, 743 F.2d 1488

(lith Cir. 1984) at 1495 held:

[11] It is clear that a judge who
acts in the absence of jurisdiction
may be held liable for his judicial
acts. Stump v. Sparkman, 435 U.S.
349, 98 S.Ct. 1099, (1978);

Bauers v. Heisel, 361 F.2d 581 (3rd.

Cir. 1966) at 591 held:

..-Because immunity is conferred on
an individual solely by virtue of
the office he holds, reason required
us to adopt a rule which does not
provide immunity for those acts
which are done clearly outside the
authority or jurisdiction of the
office.

United States v. State of Califor-

nia, 504 F.2d 750 (1974) at 754 held:

[3,4] ...Nevertheless the government
argues that this case can be brought
within the exceptions to Section

218. This contention must be consid-
ered in light of two important rules
of statutory construction: 1) juris-
dictional statutes are to be strict-

(33)

ly construed. "(I]n construing a
definite procedural provision we do
well to stick close to the text and
not import argumentative qualifica-
tions from broad, unexpressed claims
of policy". Utah Junk Co. v. Porter,
328 U.S. 39, 44, 66 S.Ct. 889, 892,
(1946); 2) exceptions to the general
provisions of a statute are also to
be strictly construed. See, United
States v. First City National Bank,
386 U.S. 361(1967)

N.Y.S. CONST., Art. 6, § 1, creates

the Family Court as part of the Unified
Court System of New York. Art. 6, § 13(a)
establishes the Family Court of the State
of New York. Article 6, § 13 (b) and (c)
state the jurisdiction:

b) The family court shall have jur-
isdiction over the following classes
of actions and proceedings which
shall be originated in such family
court in the manner provided by law:
...(2) the custody of minors except
for custody incidental to actions
and proceedings for marital separa-
tion, divorce, annulment of marriage
and dissolution of marriage; ...(4)
the support of dependants except for
support incidental to actions and
proceedings in this state for mari-
tal separation, divorce, annulment

(34)

of marriage or dissolution of
marriage; ....

c) The family court shall also have
jurisdiction to determine, with the
Same powers possessed by the supreme
court, the following matters when
referred to the family court from
the supreme court: habeas corpus
proceedings for the determination of
the custody of minors; and in action
and proceedings for marital separa-
tion, divorce, annulment of marriage
and dissolution of marriage, appli-
cations to fix temporary or perman-
ent support and custody, or applica-
tions to enforce judgments and
orders of support and of custody,

Or applications to modify judgments
and orders of support and of custody
which may be granted only upon the
showing to the family court that
there has been a subsequent change
of circumstances and that modifica-
tion is required.

The Family Court is a court of

limited jurisdiction and has power to

entertain only those applications which

are specifically enumerated in the state

constitution or in appropriate statute.

Roy v. Roy, 109 A.D.2d 150, (1985).

The State Constitution does not

(35)

authorize the family court to determine
either possession or title of property.
Therefore, Judge James had no authority
to give Ms Carella exclusive possession
of the real property owned in part by
Petitioner.

The State Constitution is specific
in stating that Family Court has no
authority to enforce or modify any court
order concerning custody, visitation or
Support that has not been referred to it
by the supreme court. It must also be
concluded that family court cannot even
enforce or modify its own orders as the
State Constitution refers to "court
Orders" and does not differentiate
between family court orders and supreme
court orders.

Greene v. Greene, 32 A.D.2d 523, 299

N.Y.S.2d 85 (lst Dep't. 1969) held:

(36)

982,

...The parties were divorced by
decree entered in New York Supreme
Court June 13, 1967. That decree
makes provision for custody of the
minor children and for the father's
(appellant herein) visitation rights

[1] The Family Court has jurisdic-
tion to determine custody of minors
only when such jurisdiction is
referred to it by the Supreme Court
(New York State Constitution,
Article VI, § 13, subds. b(2) and c;
Section 115, subdivision (b) of the
Family Court Act.)

[2] Concededly the Supreme Court did
not refer the issue of visitation to
the Family Court. It is therefore
Clear that it did not have jurisdic-
tion to change the father's visita-
tion rights. The proper and only
forum to petition for such a change,
if warranted, is the Supreme Court.

Harrington v. Harrington, 60 A.D.2d

401 N.Y.S.2d 342, at 343 (1978):

Under section 447, subdivision (a)
of the Family Court Act family court
is granted power to make an order of
custody or visitation but only "[iJn
the absence of an order of custody
Or visitation entered by the supreme
court". The restriction of the power
to instances where there is no order
of the supreme court compels the
conclusions that where there is such

(37) |

an order of supreme court, family
court may not modify it in the
absence of express permission.

Inasmuch as family court lacked au-
thority to entertain the proceeding
to modify the custody and visitation
provisions of the divorce decree,
the order is reversed and the peti-
tion dismissed without prejudice to
commencement of an appropriate pro-
ceeding in supreme court. The pro-
visions for child support and coun-
sel fees may not stand because both
are predicated on the court having
jurisdiction to modify the custody
and visitation provisions of the
decree.

The Court of Appeals has specifical-

ly so ruled in Bolatin v. Bolatin, 22

N.Y.2d 794, affg. 29 A.D.2d 534 concern-
ing Family Court Act § 447.

Section 46l(a) of the Family Court
Act concerning support states:

A separation agreement, a decree of
separation, and a final decree or
judgment terminating a marriage
relationship does not eliminate or
diminish either parent's duty to
support a child of the marriage
under section four hundred thirteen
of this article. In the absence of
an order of the supreme court or of

(38)

another court of competent jurisdic-
tion requiring support of the child,
the family court may entertain a
petition and make an order for its
support.

As in Bolatin, supra and Harrington,

supra, it must be concluded that where
there is an order of support by the
Supreme court, family court does not have
jurisdiction to make an order.

As Mr Collins' New York State
Supreme Court Divorce Decree provided
for custody, visitation and support and
the issues of custody, visitation and
Support have never been referred to the
Family Court by the Supreme Court the
Family Court has acted in complete
absence of all jurisdiction.

The family court judges and hearing
examiner clearly knew the jurisdiction of
the Family Court as defined by the State

Constitution, concurring state statutes

(39)

1 ne

and supporting case law. Therefore, they
have no excuse for violating the juris-
diction vested in the Family Court by

the State Constitution.

CPLR 2221 states: Motion affecting

prior order:

(a) A motion for leave to renew or
to reargue a prior motion, for leave
to appeal from, or to stay, vacate
or modify an order shall be made, on
notice to the judge who signed the
order, unless he is for ay reason
unable to hear it, excep. that:

1. if order was made upon
default such motion may be
made, on notice, to any judge
of the court; and

2. if the order was made with-
out notice such motion may be
made, without notice, to the
judge who signed it, or, on
notice, to any other judge of
the court.

A motion made to other than a proper
judge under this rule shall be
transferred to the proper judge.

As Mr Collins had a Supreme Court

order concerning custody, visitation and

(40)

Support, under CPLR 2221 the family court

had no authority to modify the Supreme

Court Decree and should have transferred

any petitions to modify the Decree to the

judge who signed the Supreme Court order

or to another judge of the Supreme Court.

{2nd

1132,

Maestri v. Jutkofsky, 860 F.2d 50,

Cir. 1988), cert. denied 109 S.Ct.
103 L.Ed2d 193 (1989) held at 52:

[1] ...When a judge clearly lacks
jurisdiction over the subject
matter, "any authority exercised

is a usurped authority". Bradley v.

Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wall) 335 (1871)

[3] ...Finally, Jutkofsky has not
cited, nor have we found, any case
in which a judge who had exercised
authority outside the territory
properly within his jurisdiction

was nevertheless held to be entitled
to judicial immunity.

[4] For a judge to assume authority
outside the geographic bounds of his
office is the kind of clear judicial
usurpation which cannot be condoned
by any grant of immunity. No public
policy would be served by granting
immunity for such arrogant excesses
of authority.

(41)

Petitioner has alleged that Hearing
Examiner Warner exceeded the geographical
bounds of his authority.

Schenectady County Hearing Examiner
Warner's appointment authorized him to
hear only Schenectady County Family Court
matters while this was a Saratoga County
Family Court matter.

Family Court Act § 174 states:

The family court in a county may for

good cause transfer a proceeding to

a family court in any other county

where the proceeding might have been

originated and shall transfer a pro-
ceeding laying venue in the wrong
county to a family court in any
county where the proceeding might
have been originated.

The applicable venue provision,
Family Court Act § 421, did not authorize
the proceeding to be transferred to
Schenectady County as neither Mr Collins
or Ms Carella resided in Schenectady

County.

Judge Simone is a Surrogate Court

(42)

Judge whose subject matter jurisdiction

is to hear and determine matters concern-
ing adoption and estates. Here, Judge
Simone held a trial for violation of a
Family Court support order and sentenced
Mr Collins to jail. Even if he had been
assigned to the family court he would
still have been without jurisdiction as
family court has no authority to enforce
a support order without a referral from
the supreme court.

New York State Judiciary Law Section
14: Disqualification of judge by reason
of interest or consanguinity

A judge shall not sit as such in, or

take part in the decision or, an

action, claim, matter, motion or

proceeding to which he is a party,

Or in which he has been attorney or

counsel or in which he is interes-
ted...

Casterella v. Casterella, 1978, 65

A.D.2d 614, 409 N.Y.S.2d 548 held:

(43)

2. Statute requiring disqualifica-
tion of judges on basis of interest
or bias is jurisdictional. Judiciary
Law § 14.

Cummings v. Christensen, 1981, 109

Misc.2d 255, 439 N.Y.S.2d 825 held:

2. Statutes requiring disqualifica-

tion on the basis of interest or

bias are jurisdictional in nature,
and the parties may not consent that

a judge sit as such on a case when

the judge is disqualified by opera-

tion of a statute

RULES OF CHIEF ADMINISTRATOR OF THE
COURTS: PART 100: JUDICIAL CONDUCT

§ 100.3(c) Disqualification (1) A

judge shall disqualify himself or

herself in a proceeding in which
his or her impartiality might
reasonably be questioned,

Here Judge Austin is facing federal
lawsuits by both Petitioner and her son,
Mr Collins. Judge Austin has closed the
court to the public, lacks subject matter
jurisdiction pursuant to New York State
Constitution and supporting state sta-

tutes and case law, etc.

(44)

The State has not denied that Judge
Austin had a personal interest in issuing
a warrant for Petitioner's son's arrest
for failure to appear before him because
of Mr Collins' refusal to participate in
a trial in which he faces 6 months incar-
ceration in a closed courtroom and over
which Judge Austin knows he has no
authority over any of the issues between
Mr Collins and Ms Carella concerning
Support, custody and visitation as there
has never been a referral of the issues
to the family court from the supreme
court as required by the New York State
Constitution as well as supporting state
Statutes and case law.

Judge Austin had a direct interest
in the outcome of the family court pro-
ceeding because of the lawsuits filed
against him and the other family court

judges for issuing court orders that the

(45)

State Constitution and state statute
specifically deprives them of jurisdic-
tion to issue.

Had Mr Collins shown up to court he
faced six months in jail for violating
the family court order for support. This
trail was to be held behind closed doors
as Family Court Act § 433 (a) states that
"the court may exclude the public from
the courtroom in a proper case". This is

unconstitutional pursuant to the United

States Supreme Court. Argersinger Vv.
Hamlin, 92 S.Ct. 2006 (1972) at 2008:

[1] ..., provides specified stand-
ards for "all criminal prosecutions"

One is the requirement of a "public
trial". In re Oliver, supra, held
that the right to a "public trial"
was applicable to a state proceeding
even though only a 60 day sentence
was involved. 33 U.S., at 272, 68
$.Ct., at $07.

Another guarantee is the right to be
informed of the nature and cause of
the accusation. Still another, the
right of confrontation. Pointer v.

(46)

Texas, Supra. And another, compul-
sory process for obtaining witnesses
in one's favor. Washington v. Texas,
Supra. We have never limited these
rights to felonies or to lesser but
serious offences.

In Washington v. Texas, supra, we
said, We have held that due process
requires that the accused have the
assistance of counsel for his de-
fence, that he be confronted with
witnesses against him, and that he
have the right to a speedy and
public trial." 388 U.S., at 18, 87
S.Ct. at 1922. Respecting the right
to a speedy and public trial, the
right to be informed of the nature
and cause of the accusation, the
right to confront and cross-examine
witnesses, the right to compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses, it
was recently stated, “It is simply
not arguable, nor has any court ever
held, that the trial of a petty
offense may be held in secret, or
without notice to the accused of the
charges, or that such cases the
defendant has no right to confront
his accusers or to compel the atten-
ance of witnesses in his own behalf"
Junker, The Right to Counsel in
Misdemeanor Cases, 43 Wash.L.Rev.
685, 705 (1968).

Petitioner has clearly demonstrated
throughout the Complaint that her son's
Sixth Amendment Rights have been consis-

(47)

tently violated by the New York State

Judiciary in order to threaten and/or
force and/or intimidate Petitioner into
supporting Mr Collins and Ms Carella.
Under the law, Mr Collins is enti-
tled to a court of proper jurisdiction,
which is being denied as the family court
has no authority to enforce or modify any
court order concerning support, custody
and visitation withovt a referral from
the supreme court; right to assistance of
counsel which means effective counsel who
will protect his rights and as documented
Mr Collins cannot even find out why he
cannot see his children nor has counsel
taken any action to have the court open
to the public; right to call witnesses
to testify which the attorney appointed
by Judge Austin is refusing to do and
the transcripts from the previous trials
clearly show that Mr Collins has been

(48)

denied his right to cross-examine wit-
nesses on their testimony, denied his
right to object to questions being asked
and these other trials were also held
behind closed doors when Mr Collins was
previously sentenced to jail.

Mr Collins has clearly argued
this in his Petition for Writ of Certi-
Oorari to the U.S. Supreme Court under
Docket No. 91-1552 filed on March 27,
1992. The State did not deny that Mr
Collins' rights are being violated nor
has the State denied that the family
court judges were not authorized to
determine the issues between Mr Collins
and Ms Carella pursuant to the New York
State Constitution.

This Complaint is not barred by New
York's three year statute of limitations.

Briley v. State of Cal., 564 F.2d

849 (1977) at 850, 855.

(49)

7. Where civil rights plaintiff has
been injured by fraud or concealment
and remains ignorant of it without
any fault or want of diligence on
his part the statutory limitations
period does not begin to run until
the discovery of the injury. 42
B.8.C.A. 9.1983

ag icche ia

The established rule, which we apply
in this case is that, where a plain-
tiff has been injured by fraud or
concealment and remains in ignorance
of it without any fault or want of
diligence on his part, the statutory
period does not begin to run until
the discovery of the injury. Holm-
berg, supra, 327 U.S. at 397, 66
S.Ct. 582; Hilton, supra, 522 F.2d
at 602;

The fraud in this case is the fact
that the judges have acted in complete
absence of all jurisdiction as the New
York State Constitution, state statute
and case law specifically deprived them
of subject matter jurisdiction and the
fact that they lacked personal juris-
diction over Petitioner in order to

deprive her of her property and to place

(50)

a personal obligation upon her to sup-
port Mr Collins and Ms Carella.

Petitioner did not discover that
Family Court was without jurisdiction to
enforce or modify the supreme court order
pursuant to the State Constitution, the
Family Court Act and case law until 1991.

Petitioner did not discover until
1991 that the court also needed personal
jurisdiction over her in order to deprive
her of her property and to place a per-
sonal obligation upon her to support Mr
Collins and Ms Carella.

It can also be argued that Petition-
er did not have any tangible proof that
the family court judges were relying on
her assets in determining Mr Collins
Support obligation until the Appellate
Court ruling dated January 26, 1989
which “is within the three year statute
of limitations. Even with this decision

(51)

Petitioner was not aware that the judges

were acting without jurisdiction which
deprives them of their immunity.

Judge James awarded Ms Carella pos-
session of the real property on April 22,
1986. It was not until September 13, 1989
when Mr Carola filed his Answering Motion
to Ms Carella's Motion to Dismiss tke
Supreme Court complaint that Petitioner
found out that Judge James had no author-
ity to award Ms Carella possession of the
property.

Judge Simone sentenced Mr Collins to
jail on January 25, 1988. It was never
argued in the appeal that Judge Simone,
as a Surrogate Court judge, had no au-
thority to hear a family court matter. It
wasn't until Mr Collins started his fe-
deral action in 1991 that Petitioner
found out.

Judge James and Judge Austin's

(52)

et aah al

actions in hindering, obstructing and
prejudicing Petitioner's case in the
state supreme court are all within the
three year statute of limitations as

well as Judge Plumadore's actions in
allowing them to interfere with the
proceeding by issuing orders to put Ms
Carella in a superior position without
having jurisdiction to issue said orders.

Hofferber v. The First National Bank

of Guyman, Oklahoma, 437 F.Supp. 788:

It is beyond doubt that property
rights are protected by the Four-
teenth Amendment and violations
thereof can be redressed by suit
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Lynch v.
Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S.
938, 92 S.Ct. 1113, 31 L.Ed@.2d 424
(1972);

Acquisition, enjoyment and aliena-
tion of property are among those basic
constitutional rights protected by Civil
Rights Act of 1871. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983.

Privitera v. Town of Phelps, 79 A.D.2d

(33)

1
%
i
4
:

1, 435 N.Y.S.2d 402. Jones Vv. Alfred H.

Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409, 432, 88 S.Ct.

2186, 2199.

When Judge James awarded Ms Carella
exclusive possession of Petitioner's
real property while lacking both personal
and subject matter jurisdiction she was
denied due process under the Fourteenth
Amendment. Petitioner was also denied due
process when the judges placed a personal
obligation upon her to support Mr Collins
and Ms Carella or face the loss of her
property to foreclosure and/or taxes or
face her son going to jail if she did
not pay her son's support obligation.

Petitioner has also demonstrated
that she has been denied equal protection
of the laws in both the family court
proceedings and in the state supreme
court proceeding.

Dinwiddie v. Brown, C.A.Tex.1956,

(54)

230 F2d 465, certiorari denied 76 S.Ct.
1041, 351 U.S. 971, holds where state
officers conspire with private individu-
als to defeat or prejudice litigant's
rights in state court, litigant is there-
by denied equal protection of laws by
persons acting under color of state law,
and cause of action is created cognizable
by federal courts under this section.
Petitioner has documented that the
family court orders issued by Judge James
and Judge Austin were designed to defeat
and prejudice Petitioner's supreme court
proceeding to gain possession of her
property. Because of these family court
orders Petitioner has been unable to
remove Ms Carella from the premises in
order to sell the property. It has been
almost three years since Petitioner
Started the proceeding in order to gain

possession of her property.

(55)

The District Court and the Court of

Appeals relied on the Rooker~Feldman

doctrine, that the district court lacks
jurisdiction to review state court decis-
ions. Petitioner is not asking the feder-
al district court to sit in review of the
state court proceedings. The basis of
Petitioner's Complaint is that the family
court judges lacked both personal juris-
diction over Petitioner as well as sub-
ject matter jurisdiction over the issues
before them that gave Ms Carrella exclu-
sive possession of Petitioner's real
property and placed a personal obligation
upon her to support Mr Collins and Ms
Carella. As the judges issued their
orders in complete absence of ali juris-
diction those orders are null and void.
Whether or not Petitioner did appeal or
did not appeal the family court rulings

as one "aggrieved" by the decisions is

(56)

not relevant to the case. The question is
did the family court judges have both
personal jurisdiction and subject matter
jurisdiction to render their deicisions
in the first place. The answer is an
emphatic: NO! Therefore, they are liable
under 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983 for the viola-
tion of Petitioner's Constitutional
rights to due process and equal protec-
tion of the law. Therefore, the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine is not applicable.

The Eleventh Amendment is also not
applicable to this case. This amendment
barres claims for monetary damages
against state officials who are acting
within their "official" capacities. The
family court judges in this case were not
acting within the scope of their juris-
diction or their "official" capacities
as they lacked both personal jurisdiction
as well as subject matter jurisdiction.

(57)

sane 0D Ss GSA cd Pile 7s dale alan asides cede

im A pao Vek

|

The federal district court and the
Court of Appeals also relied upon the
Younger doctrine as there is a pending
state court proceeding. First, the vio-
lation of Petitioner's constitutional
rights by defendants in this action
Camct be vindicated in the state court
proceeding. The defendants in this action
are not parties to the state court pro-
ceeding, therefore, the damages that they
have caused Petitioner by their actions
in clear absence of all jurisdiction
is not before the state court.

Second, the only important state
issue that seems to be implicated is the
State wanting to cover up the illegal
actions taken by its employees against
Petitioner. The State has already admit-
ted that the family court lacked personal
jurisdiction over Petitioner as she was
not a party to the family court proceed-

(58)

ings when Judge James gave Ms Curwa Xa
"exclusive" possession of Petitioner's
property. She was also not a party to the
family court proceedings that used her >
assets in determining her son's support
obligation and then sentenced her son to
jail when she refused to come up with the
money to pay for her son's support obli-
gation.

Third, Petitioner does not have an
avenue open for review of her claims
against the judges in the state court
proceeding. As documented in the Com-
plaint, the New York State judiciary is
covering up and allowing the family court
judges to continue to issue orders that
have a direct effect upon the state court
proceeding while knowing that these
judges lack subject matter jurisdiction

over the issues upon which they are

ruling.

ha 4 ROE RAI 0 oh Pree

RM ks

ee

Fourth, Petitioner is relying upon

the state laws which the State Judicial
System wants to ignore and is refusing to
enforce thereby, depriving Petitioner of
due process and equal protection of the
law as required by the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the U.S. Constitution.

Federal Courts have a duty to enter-
tain solid claim of unconstitutional
restraint by state under color of its
law, and jurisdiction of federal court
is not defeated by anything which may

occur in state proceedings. Smith v.

State of Kansas, C.A.Kan.1966 356 F.2d

654, certiorari denied 88 S.Ct. 154,
389 U.S. 871.

Schorle v. City of Greenhills, 524

F.Supp. 821, 826, 828 (1981) held:

[4] ...It is asserted that any
individual charged with a criminal
offense has a right to be fairly
appraised of his constitutional
protections and has a right to have

(60)

the matter heard in a court of prop-
er jurisdiction. The only relief
available to such an individual
arises under the Civil Rights Act.

..-The thrust of plaintiff complaint
is that he was repeatedly deprived
of certain fundamental rights by the
concerted actions of the officials
and employees of the City of Green-
hills and by a judge of a court that
had no jurisdiction to hear the
matter. The continuum of incidents
inextricably entwined, which culmin-
ated in the plaintiff's conviction
in the Greenhills' Mayor's Court,
demonstrates not that he was falsely
accused or that he was falsely
arrested or imprisoned but rather
that he suffered injury to his
rights guaranteed under the consti-
tution - his rights to counsel, to
be advised of his right to a jury
trial, to have the matter heard in a
court of proper jurisdiction, and
not to be sentenced in excess of the
permitted penalty. It is not for
this court to break plaintiff's com-
plaint down into isolated incidents
which would, if taken separately,
bear some token resemblance to
various state common law torts. This
is because it is the series of
events, the totality of acts done
under color of state law, which have
allegedly deprived plaintiff of his
rights under the constitution. And,
it is this continuum of events, for
which there is no adequate state
relief, that comprises a cause of
action under § 1983 that is broader

(61)

;
3

than a common law tort. Indeed,
Title 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is only one
example of sweeping legislation
enacted by Congress to provide
relief for citizens for whom the
state cannot or will not provide
adequate relief.

Where fundamental civil rights are
at issue, federal court should hesitate

to abstain Jones v. Metzger, C.A.Ohio

1972, 456 F.2d 854. While the exercise
of abstention is discretionary, federal
courts have a special duty to exercise
jurisdiction in civil rights cases. Coch-

ran v.Ensweller, D.C.Ind.1974, 372

F.Supp. 471. Devil v. Sosbe, C.A.1972,

465 F.2d 169 held the use of abstention
in cases involving civil rights is not
to be encouraged.

Petitioner also asked for an injunc-
tion against tne state court judges from
taking further action against her in vio-
lation of her rights. This was in part

based upon the fact that Ms Carella has

(62)

filed a suit against her, her husband and
Mr Collins for the violation of her
rights because Petitioner is trying to
remove her from the house. The state
judge is refusing to dismiss the com-
plaint even though he knowingly lacks
subject matter jurisdiction over the
issues raised in the complaint. pursuant
to the N.Y.S. Const. and state statute.
When there is deprivation of consti-
tionally guaranteed right, duty of feder-
al court to use injunctive power to in-
terfere with conduct of state officers

cannot be avoided. Woods v. Wright, C.A.

Ala.1964, 344 F.2d 369.

Javits v. Stevens, D.C.N.Y.1974, 382

F.Supp. 131 held:

[5] ...Our Court of Appeals has held
that:

"(N]o sound reason exists for hold-
ing that federal courts should not

have the power to issue injunctive
relief against commission of act in

(63)

nah te AO rane EO Mis aaa:

a as ie any:

violation of plaintiff's civil

rights by state judges acting in

their official capacity.

Petitioner has clearly demonstrated
that the family court judges lack juris-
to issue any order to prejudice or defeat
her case in supreme court thereby being
deprived of due process.

Judge Plumadore's actions in his
failure to protect Mr Collins rights as
he has the authority to do so pursuant
to N.Y.S. Const. Art 6, § 19(a) and
his part in the conspiracy to allow
Judges James and Austin to issue orders
in clear absence of all jurisdiction and
then to rely upon these decisions for the
basis of his decisions. Also, Judge Plum-
adore's deliberate action in stalling the
Supreme court proceeding until Judge Aus-
tin can try and sentence Mr .Ccollins to
jail in a closed courtroom is a denial of

equal protection of the law.

(64)

CONCLUSIONS

The Petitioner has amply demonstrated
the violations of her Constitutional
Rights under Civil Rights §§ 1983 and
1985 enacted pursuant to constitutional
mandate and in light of the clear rulings
of the Supreme Court regarding judicial
immunity and the other issues raised by
Petitioner.

Petitioner, Elinor S. King,
prays this court to grant certiorari,
reverse the decision holding the Respon-
dent Judges have immunity for their
actions and finding that Petitioner's
Constitutional rights have been violated
by those acting under color of state
law.

Respectfully submitted,

~ ; .
ELINOR S. KING ~ "4
Petitioner - Pro ge
108 Brunswick Road

Troy, New York 12180
(518) 274-1418

(65)

APPENDIX

ee ee ea A eer re ee

Exhibit 1 U.S. Court of Appeals
Second Circuit, Order
(91-9317) Signed 5/08/92
Entered 5/08/92
Exhibit 2 U.S. District Court
Order Signed 11/29/9lr
(91-CV-0952) Filed 11/29/91

(66)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit, held at the United States Court-
house in the City of New York, on the
8th day of May, one thousand nine hundred
and ninety-two.

Present:

Hon. James L. Oakes,
Chief Judge,

Hon. J. Edward Lumbard,

Hon. John M. Walker,
Circuit Judges.

ELINOR S. KING

)
Plaintiff-Appellant ) 91-9317
)
Vv. )
) Filed
L. Foster James, et al., ) 5/8/92
)

Defendants-Appellees.

ORDER
Elinor S. King, pro se, appeals from
an order of the United States District
Court for the Northern District of New

York, Neal P. McCurn, Chief Judge, which

dismissed King's action brought pursuant
to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1988). For reasons

Exhibit 1 - Page l

stated by the district court, we affirm.
It is hereby Ordered, Adjudged, and
: Decreed that the order of the district

court be and it hereby is affirmed.

Exhibit 1 - Page 2

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

ELINOR S. KING )
Plaintiff )

Vv.

JUDGE L. FOSTER JAMES )
STEPHEN A. FERRADINO ) 91-CV-0952
JOHN A. SIMONE, JR. )
JAN H. PLUMADORE ) Filed 11/29/92
JOHN AUSTIN )
JOHN J. WARNER, JR. )

)

Defendants
MEMORANDUM-DECISION AND ORDER

Introduction

Plaintiff Elinor King is proceeding
pro se. In her 78 page complaint, with
attached exhibits totalling approximately
200 additional pages, plaintiff alleges

29 causes of action(l) and is seeking

(1) Many of those so-called “causes
of action" clearly are not; they are sim-
ply statements of the alleged facts. For
example, in her "third cause of action,"
plaintiff recites from selected portions
of her son's separation agreement and
divorce decree. Complaint at 5, 4% 21 and
23. Plaintiff then goes on to property.
Id. at 4@ 24-25. Those are the only

Exhibit 2 - Page l

allegations in the purported "cause of
action." Plaintiff does not even attempt
to assert any legal claim based upon any
of those factual allegations.

$175,000.000.00 in damages against six

ee

defendants. During the relevant time
frame, five of those defendants were
judges in the New York State court system
and one was a family court hearing
examiner. It is extremely difficult, if
not impossible, to discern the exact
nature of these numerous claims. The
complaint does expressly state, however,
that plaintiff is claiming a violation
of her due process and equal protection
rights. Complaint at 4 14. In addition,
although not explicitly stated, it cer-
tainly may be inferred that plaintiff is
alleging a conspiracy to deprive her of

her property under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. See

Id. at @ 13.

Before answering, defendants have

Exhibit 2 - Page 2

moved to dismiss the complaint on five
separate grounds: (1) lack of subject
matter jurisdiction; (2) failure to state
a Claim; (3) statute of limitations; (4)
eleventh amendment immunity; and (5)
absolute inmunity. In addition, defen-
dants contend that the court shouid
abstain due to én ongoing state court
proceecing. Lastly, defendants are seek-
ing sanctions, attorneys' fees and costs.
As will be seen, plaintiff's complaint is
subject to dismissal on any number of
these various alternate theories.

Background (2)

(2) Defendants' recitation of the
facts was rather terse and of little
assistance to the court. The complaint
itself is not heijipful in outlining the
relevant facts. So, the court was left
with the task of reconstructing the
factual background and procedural history
cf this case from the numerous exhibits
attached to the complaint. Those exhibits
consist of, for the most part, copies of
crders and portions of transcripts in

Exhibit 2 - Page 3

various state court proceedings.

This lawsuit has its origins in the
divorce of plaintiff's son, Charles E.
Collins, III, from Arlene Carella.
Divorce proceedings began some time in
1980 when Mr. Ccllins and Ms. Carella
entered into a separation agreement. Mr.
Collins and Ms Carella were legally
divorced on August 3, 1981. Thereafter,
Mr. Collins and Ms Carella were involved
in a number of state court proceedings,
resulting in a host of orders, decisions,
and judgments. For example, Mr. Collins
brought an action to modify the judgment
of divorce, seeking custcdy of their
three children. In addition, over the
years Ms. Carella brought several
violation petitions against Mr. Collins
for his failure to comply with court

ordered support obligations.

Exhibit 2 - Page 4

Although the specifics of those
various proceedings are not necessary to
an understanding of this case, one crder
is of particular significance. Several
years after the divorce was final, in
1984, with the help of plaintiff and her
husband, Mr Collins bought a house in
Saratoga County and turned possession
over to his ex-wife to reside in with
their three children. Complaint, Ex. 27
thereto at 4. Ms. Carella and the chil-
dren have continued to reside there since
that time. On April 22, 1986, defendant
James, a New York State Family Court
Judge, granted Ms. Carella “exclusive
possessicn" of that prcperty. Id., Ex. 12
thereto at 5, 4 1. Thereafter on November
6, 1°€6, Mr. Collins transferred his
interest in the subject property to
plaintiff. Id.., Ex. 6 thereto. As a2
result of that transfer, plaintiff and

Exhibit 2 - Page 5

— ,

her husband became the sole owners or
tke subject property. The gist of plain-
tiff's complaint herein sems to te that
the effect of that order by defendant
James was to ceprive plaintiff of her
property without due process of law.

On approximately July 13, 1989,
plaintiff anc ker husband commenced a
real property proceeding in state court,
essentially seeking tc evict Ms. Carella
from the house. Id., Ex. 40 thereto.
That acticn has been proceeding alcng,
albeit slowly. In February, 1990,
defendant Plumadore, a New York State
Supreme Court Justice, denied the motion
by plaintiff and her husband for surmary
judgment therein. Id., Ex. 47 thereto.
The record before this court does not
establish what has transpired since
then, except that on January 23, 1991,

the court ncted that based upon his

Exhibit 2 - Page 6

answer, Mr. Collins was no longer a party
to that action. Id., Ex. 55 thereto.
What is clear, however, is that the state
court action is still pending.

Plaintiff and her family are no
strangers to litigation. In fact, ir
1990, plaintiff's son attempted to remove
the family court proceeding to federal
court. Mr. Collins was unsuccessful in
that effort; Judge Howard G. Munscn
remanded the matter back to state court.
Mr. Collins then eventually conmenced
three actions in feceral ccurt, all
assigned to Jucge Thomas McAvoy. Jucge
McAvoy dismissed all three actions énd
awarced sanctions against Mr. Collins in
one cf the suits, finding that he had
"engaged in vexatious lanc baseless
litigation fully aware that his claims
are destined to fail." Affidavit of
Mary Ellen Clerkin (September 19, 1991),

Exhibit 2 - Page 7

Ex. A thereto at 4. As previously
menticned, plaintiff is a party to the
real property state court action, but she
was not a party to any of the previous
federal court cases.

Discussion

a Subject Matter Jurisdiction

Although not the first argument raised by
defendants, the court will address lack
of subject matter jurisdiction at the
outset, because if defendants are correct
in that regard, the court need not
consider the other reasons for dismissal
advanced by them.

The complaint is very difficult to
understand, but it appears that plaintiff
is challenging a number of prior orders
and decisions, made in various state
court proceedings, all os which pertain
to the divorce of her son. Defendants

contend, under what has come to be known

Exhibit 2 - Page 8

as the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, that this

court lacks jurisdiction to review those

state court decisions. In Rooker v.

Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413, 415-16,

44 S.Ct. 149, 150, 68 L.Ed. 362 (1923),
the Supreme Court held that an appeal
through the state courts to the Supreme
Court of the United States constituted
the exclusive procedure by which the
challenged state court judgment might be
reviewed for constitutional error. The
Court then explained that under the

predecessor to 28 U.S.C. § 1257:(3)

(3) That statute provides, in rele-
vant part:

Final judgments or decrees
rendered by the highest court
of a State in which a decision
could be had, may be reviewed
by the Supreme Court by writ of
certioari. « <« +

28 U.S.C. §1257 (a) (West Supp. 1991).

Exhibit 2 - Page 9

Se

If the constitutional questions
Stated in the bill actually arose

in the cause, it was the province
and duty of the state courts to
decide them; and their decision,
whether right or wrong, was an
exercise of jurisdiction. If the
decision was wrong, that did not
make the judgment void, but merely
left it open to reversal or modifi-
cation in an appropriate and timely
appellate proceeding. .. Under the
legislation of Congress, no court of
the United Stated other than this
court could entertain a proceeding
to reverse or modify the judgment
for errors of that character.

To do so would be an exercise of
appellate jurisdiction.

id. at 415-16, 44 S.Ct. at 150. In

Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Brotherhood

of Locomotive Engineers, 398 U.S. 281, 90

S.Ct. 1739, 26 L.Ed2d 234 (1970), the
Supreme Court reaffirmed the Rooker
doctrine, stating:

Again, lower federal courts possess
no power whatever to sit in direct
review of state court decisions. If
(the party seeking the injunction]
was adversely affected by the state
court's decision, it was free to
seek vindication of its federal
right in the [state] appellate
courts and ultimately, if necessary,

Exhibit 2 - Page 10

in this court.

d. at 296, 90 S.CT. at 1748. And more

recently, in District of Columbia Court

of Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 103

S.Ct. 1303, 75 L.Ed.2d 206 (1983), the
Court recognized the continuing validity

of Rooker:

The District of Columbia Circuit
properly acknowledged that the
United States District Court is
without authority to review final
determinations of the District of
Columbia Court of Appeals in judi-
cial proceedings. Review of such
determinations can be obtained
only in this court.

Id. at 476, 103 S.Ct. at 1311.

In Texaco Inc. v. Pennzoil Co., 784.

F.2d 1133 (2d Cir. 1986), rev'd on other
grounds, 481 U.S. 1, 107 S.Ct. 1519, 95
L.Ed.2d 1 (1987), the Second Circuit
offered the following summary of the

Rooker-Feldman doctrine:

In short, an inferior federal court
established by Congress pursuant to

Exhibit 2 - Page 11l

Art. III, § 1, of the Constitution
may not act as an appellate tribunal
for the purpose of Overruling a
State court judgment, even though
the judgment may rest on an errone-
Ous resolution of constitutional or
federal law issues. The exclusive
procedure for federal review is that
specified by 28 U.S.c. § 1257.

Id. at 1142. It should be noted that
there is no requirement that a state
court judgment be fully appealed through
the state system as a condition precedent

to the application of the Rooker-Feldman

doctrine. See Texaco, 784 F2q at 1142-43.

The Rooker-Feldman doctrine general-

ly arises in a situation where a plain-
tiff seeks to collaterally attack, in a
federal action, an adverse judgment ren-
dered against him or her in state court.-:

In other words, the plaintiff is usually

attempting to convert the appeal of a
State court judgment into a federal
action under 42 U.S.c. § 1983. At first

glance, this does not seem to be the

Exhibit 2 - Page 12

—

situation here, because, with the excep-
tion of the real property proceeding,
which will be fully discussed herein,
plaintiff King was not a party to any of
the state court proceedings which she now
seems to be challenging. And, therefore,
arguably, sne is not trying to convert
the appeal of a state court judgment into
a § 1983 action.

Closer analysis reveals, however,

that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine is

applicable here. That is so because even
though plaintiff was not a party to those
various state court proceedings, she did
have standing to appeal as one"aggrieved"
by the judgments which affected her
property interest. The general rule under
New York law is that only an "aggrieved
party" may appeal. See N.Y. Civ. Prac. L.

& R. § 5511 (McKinney 1978). That statute

has been expansively interpreted by the

Exhibit 2 - Page 13

New York courts, however, and under

§ 5511 a nonparty may appeal when that
party may be bound by a judgment if he or
she does not take affirmative action in
the litigation to protect his or her

rights. Auerbach v. Bennett, 64 A.D.2d

98, 408 N.Y.S. 2d 83 (2a Dep't 1978),

mod'd on other grounds, 47 NY2d 619, For

example, in People v. Dobbs Ferry Medical

avillion, 40 A.D.2d 324, 340 N.Y.S.2d

—_—_—_———

U

108 (2d Dep't), aff'd, 33 N.Y.2d 584, 347
N.Y¥.S.2d 452 (1973), the court held that
nonparty doctors had Standing yo appeal
from an injunction barring the performing
of abortions at certain premises, because
that injuncticn, by its terms, extended
to all persons having Knowledge thereof.
ID. at 325, 340 N.Y¥.S.2d at 110. Similar-

ly, in Triangle Pacific Bldg. Products

N.¥.S.2d 121 (2nd Dep't 1978), the court

Exhibit 2 - Page 14

held that where a turnover order would
consume an entire bank account, the
person who claimed an interest in the
account and who was presumptive owner of
one-half of the account proceeds was
"aggrieved" by the order and had standing
to appeal therefrom, even though she was
not named in the special proceeding. ld.
at __, 404 N.Y.S.2d at 122.

Surely, plaintiff King was aggrieved
by the state court decisions pertaining
to the residence in which she has partial
ownership interest. Plaintiff King was
particularly aggrieved by the order
granting Ms. Carella "exclusive posses-
sion" of property in which she [Ms. King]
has a partial ownership interest. Thus,
as one aggrieved by such an adverse
order, Ms. King could have appealed. She

did not. Therefore, the Rooker-Feldman

doctrine precludes plaintiff from now

Exhibit 2 - Page 15

coming into this federal court and seanh-
tially seeking review of state court
judgments, decisions and/or orders, which
she could have appealed through the state
system, and, if necessary, to the Supreme
Court of the United States. Consequently,
defendants' motion to dientas for lack of
subject matter jurisdiction must be
Granted insofar as the complaint is based
prior state court decisions, judgments,
and/or orders, by which this plaintiff
was aggrieved.

The Court makes one final observa-
tion. It does not appear to the court
that plaintiff King is also seeking to
attack any orders or decisions already
rendered in the state court real property
proceeding, to which she is a party. To
the extent that she may be however, the

Rooker~Feldman doctrine would clearly

preclude’ the exercise of this court's

Exhibit 2 - Page 16

jurisdiction in that regard as well.

ee Abstention

With respect to any claims arising
out of plaintiff's pending state court
proceeding, defendants argue that the

court should abstain under Younger v.

Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 91 S.Ct. 746, 27
L’.Ed.2a@ 669 (1971). While recognizing
that abstention from the exercise of a
federal court's jurisdiction is rare,

Colorado River Water Conservation

istrict v. United States, 424 U.S. 800,

—

96 S.Ct. 1236, 47 LEd/2d 483 (1976),

nonetheless, this court concludes that

Younger abstention is proper here.(4) As

(4) Although Younger involved an
ongoing state criminal proceeding,
application of the principles enun-
ciated therein have been extended

to state civil proceedings and state
administrative proceeding where
there is a means available to review
constitutional claims. See New
Orleans Public Service, Inc. v.

Exhibit 2 - Page 17

Council of New Orleans, 491 U.S.

350, __ , 109 S.Ct. 2506, 2516, 105
L.Ed.2d 298 (1989); Ohio Civil
Rights Com. v. Dayton Christian
Schools, Inc., 477 U.S. 619, 626-28,
106 S.Ct. 2718, 2722-23, 91 L.Ed.2a
512 (1986); Middlesex County Ethics
Comm. v. Garden State Bar Ass'n.,
457 U.S. 423, 432, 102 S.ct. 42438,
2521, 73 L.Ed.2d 116 (1982); Huffman
v._ Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592, 95
S.Ct. 1200, 43 L.Ed.2d 482 (1975).

the Second Circuit explained in Cecos

Int'l, Inc. v. Jorling, 895 F2d 66 (24

Cir. 1990):

Abstention under Younger is fueled
by the notion that courts of equity
should not intervene where a party
has an adequate remedy at law,

-, and by concerns of comity and
federalism express in 'the belief
that the National Government will
fare better is the states and their
institutions are left free to per-
form their separate functions in
their separate ways.’

Id. at 70 (quoting Younger, 401 U.S. at
44, 91 S.Ct. at 750). More recently, in

Temple of Lost Sheep Inc. vy. Abrams, 930

F.2d 178. 183 (2d Cir. 1991), quoting

Exhibit 2 - Page 18

from Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452,

460-61, 94 S.Ct. 1209, 1216, 39 L.Ed2d
505 (1974), the Second Circuit explained
the underlying purpose of Younger absten-
tion as follows:

[t]hat a pending state proceeding,
in all but unusual cases, would
provide the federal plaintiff with
the necessary vehicle for vindica-
ting his constitutional rights, and,
in that circumstance, the restrain-
ing of in ongoing [state proceeding ]
would entail an unseemly failure to
give effec to the principle that
state courts have the solemn respon-
sibility, equally with the federal
courts to guard, enforce, and pro-
tect every right granted or secured
by the constitution or the United
States.

Id. at 183. Younger abstention, involving
as it does two pending proceedings, gives
rise to conflicting jurisdictional duties
between the state and federal tribunals,
"(w]Jith the attendant possibilities that
maintenance of the federal action will
either result in duplicative legal pro-
ceedings or a disruption of the state

Exhibit 2 - Page 19

proceedings." Id. at 182. Thus, Younger

abstention "'contemplates the outright

dismissal of the federal suit, and the

presentation of all claims, both state
and federal, to the state courts.'" Id.
(emphasis added) (quoting Gibson v.
Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564, 577, 93 S.Ct.
1689, 1697, 36 L.Ed.2d 488 (1973).

It is well settled that a determina-
tion of whether to refuse to assume jur-
isdiction under Younger depends upon a
finding that (1) there is an ongoing
state proceeding; (2) an important state
interest is implicated; and (3) the
plaintiff has an avenue open for review
of his or her constitutional claims in
the state court. CECOS, 895 F.2d at 70

(citing Middlesex County Ethics Comm. v.

Garden State Bar Ass'n., 457 U.S. 423,

432, 102 S.Ct. 2515, 73 L.Ed.2@a 1I}II

(1982)). See also Christ the King

Exhibit 2 - Page 20

Regional High School v. Culvert, 815 F.2d

219,224 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S.
830, 108 S/Ct. 102, 98 L.Ed.2a’!lI3 (1987).
The court will consider each of those

elements in turn.

Clearly there is an ongoing state

proceeding here. It is undisputed that

plaintiff's real property proceeding is
still pending in state court. The second
requirement for the proper invocation of
Younger abstention is also present here;
that is important, vital state interests
are implicated in the state proceeding.
The area of domestic relations law, which
is part of the state court real property
proceeding by virtue of the fact that the
current occupant of the premises is there
based upon a court order entered ina
family court matter, is certainly an area

of important state interest. See, Fay v.

South Colonie Cent. School Dist., 802

Exhibit 2 - Page 21

em

F.2d 21, 32 (2d Cir. 1986) (domestic
relations law matter of important state
interest). Likewise, it is difficult to
conceive of an area in which the state
has a more substantial, legitimate inter-
est in regulation, than in the area of
state real property law. Accord, New

Orleans Public Serv. v. Council of New

Orleans, 491 U.S. at aes 109 S.Ct. at
2516-17 (Focus of inquiry in determining
whether state had a Substantial, legiti-
mate interest in pending proceeding for
purposes of Younger abstention, is
whether state had Substantial, legitimate
interest in regulating certain activity).
Finally, there is an avenue Open for
review Of plaintiff Kings' constitutional
Claims in the state court real property
proceeding. There is nothing in the real
Property law indicating that such a
proceeding is not the appropriate means

Exhibit 2 - Page 22

by which to raise a constitutional claim

relative to such property.(5) And, as the

(5) Indeed, the scope of the state
court action has already widely
broadened peyond that of a simple
eviction proceeding. Ms. Carella is
asserting that the 1986 conveyance
by Mr. Collins to his mother was
fraudulent. In addition, Ms. Carella
is seeking to impose a constructive
trust.

Fourth Circuit so articulately stated in

inema Blue of Charlotte, Inc. v. Gil-

christ , 887 F.2d 49 (4th Cir. i989),

cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 1479, 108 L.Ed2d
616 (1990):

In this, as in such matters general-
ly, we indulge the assumption that
the state courts are willing and
able to vindicate federal constitu-
tional rights. The abstention condi-
tion is merely that there be a pend-
ing state proceeding in which an
opportunity to raise the constitu-
tional challenge will be available
to the federal plaintiff... .
Though we may not be sure exactly
what procedural mechanism for doing
so will be most appropriate, it is

Exhibit 2 - Page 23

not necessary that we be. It suffi-
ces to be confident that it can be
raised in some appropriate way, and
that we are.
id. at 54 (citation omitted). In short,
based upon the foregoing, this court must
decline to exercise its Jerisdiesion over
plaintiff's constitutional claims because
the pending state court proceeding pro-
vides this plaintiff with the necessary
vehicle for vindication of her constitu-
tional rights. Thus, the court must also
grant defendants' motion to dismiss
plaintiff's complaint, with respect to
any claims arising out of the Ongoing

State court proceeding, on the basis of

Younger abstention.

Tit. Failure to State a Claim

In light of the foregoing, plain-
tiff's only remaining claim is a con-
Spiracy under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. That
Claim too cannot be allowed to stand. As

Exhibit 2 - Page 24

this court recently stated in Upper

Hudson Planned Parenthooa, Inc. v. Doe,

1991 U.S. Dist. LEXES 130635 (N.D.N.Y.

September 12, 1991):

i a

The Second Circuit "[h]Jas recog-
nized that certain claims are so
easily made and can precipitate

such protracted proceedings with
such disruption of governmental
functions that, despite the general
rule of Conley _v. Gopson, 355 U.S.
41 (1957), detailed fact pleading

is required to withstand a motion to
dismiss." .. . . Thus, the Second
Circuit has consistently held that
complaints containing only "conclu-
sory," "vague," or "general allega-
tions" of a conspiracy to deprive a
person of constitutional rights will
be dismissed. Ostrer v. Aronwald,
567 F.2d 551, 553 (2d Cir. 1977) and
cases cited therein). In Ostrer the
Second Circuit further explained
that "[dJiffuse and expansive alle-
gations [of a conspiracy] are insuf-
ficient, unless amplified by specif-
ic instances of misconduct." Id.
(citing Build of Buffalo, Inc. v.
Sedita, 441 F.2d 284. 288 (2d Cir.
1971). Thus, in Ostrer the Court
held: [a]ppellants' unsupported
allegations, which fail to specify
in detail the factual basis neces-
sary to enable appellees intelli-
gently to prepare their defense,
will not suffice to sustain a claim
of governmental conspiracy to de-

Exhibit 2 - Page 25

Prive appellants of their constitu-
tional rights. Id. (citations omit-
ted). x

Id. at *33 - *34 (citation omitted)
(footnote Omitted).
Applying those standards to the

present case, it is clear that Plaintiff

~ has not adequately pled a conspiracy to

déprive her of her constitutional) rights.
In her complaint, plaintiff makes only
the vague, conclusional allegation that:
Judges James, Ferradion, Simone,
Austin, Plumadore and Hearing
Examiner Warner had an agreement
with each other and with Ms Carella
and her attorneys, .. . to rule
favorably on Ms Carella's petitions,
to deprive Plaintiff of her proper-
ty, to force Plaintiff to Support
Ms Carella and to frustrate any
action kby Plaintitf and her son,...
Complaint at 4 13 (emphasis added). She
does not Specifically plead any overt
acts; nor does she provide a basis in
fact for this claim. Apart from that one

allegation, there are no Other allega-

Exhibit 2 - Page 26

tions in the complaint pertaining to this
alleged conspiracy. Indeed, there are not
even any allegations from which it can be
inferred that such a conspiracy existed.
Thus, without more, plaintiff's conspir-
acy Claim cannot be allowed to stand. See

Polur v. Raffe, 912 F.2d 52, 56 (2d Cir.

1990) ("vague, prolix allegations of a
conspiracy without pleading any overt
acts or providing a basis in fact" insuf-
ficient to state a conspiracy cause of

action); Rigby v. Coughlin, 730 F.Supp.

1196, 1200 (N.D.N.Y. 1990) (dismissing

conspiracy claim were plaintiffs "simply
allege[d] that the defendants ‘conspired
together', and ‘knowingly acted in collu-

sion'. .. ."“).(6) Defendants' motion to

(6) See also Sommer v. Dixon, 709
F.2d 173, 175 (2a Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 464 U.S. 857, 104 S.Ct. 177,
71 L.Ed.2d 158 (1983) (affirming
dismissal of complaint where "alle-

Exhibit 2 - Page 27

gations as to a conspiracy [werej

- vague and unsupported by
description of particular overt
acts."); Powell v. Workmen's Compen-
Sation Bd., 327 F.2d AZik, 37 (2e
Cir. 1964) (affirming dismissal of
complaint where plaintiff failed to
"[aJllege with at least some degree
Of particularity overt acts which
defendants engaged in which were
reasonably related to the promotion
of the claimed conspiracy.")

dismiss the complaint, insofar as it
alleges a conspiracy claim, therefore is

also granted.

IV. Other Bases for Dismissal

Because the court has determined
that dismissal of the complaint is appro-
priate for the reasons just discussed, it

is not essential that the court consider

the other grounds offered by defendants

as a basis for dismissal. Primarily for

the benefit of plaintiff, however who is
proceeding without counsel, the court

will briefly address those other grounds.

Exhibit 2 - Page 28

First, with respect to the statute
of limitations, defendants are correct
that a § 1983 action is governed by the
three year residual or general personal

injury statute of limitations. See Owens

v. Okure, 488 U.S. 235, 109 SCt. 573, 102

L.Ed.2d 594 (1989). In the present case,
plaintiff filed her complaint on August
22, 1991. Therefore clearly insofar as
her complaint states claims based upon
events which happened prior to that three
year time frame, such claims are time
barred.

Second, defendants rightly contend
that any claim for monetary damages
against the defendants in their official
capacities is barred by the eleventh

amendment. See Tekkno Laboratories, Inc.

v. Perales, 933 F2d 1093, 1097 (24. Cir.

1991) (citing Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S.

651, 94 S.Ct. 1347, 39 L.Ed.2d 662

Exhibit 2 - Page 29

(1974)). Nowhere in her complaint did
plaintiff specifically state whether she
is suing defendants in their official or
in their personal capacities. Presumably
it is the former because all of the
allegations against these defendants
pertain solely to acts performed by them
in their capacity as judicial officers.
Thus, the eleventh amendment is a bar to
all of plaintiff's claims for monetary
damages against these defendants in their
official capacities. It should be noted
that plaintiff is only seeking to recover
monetary relief; she is not seeking
injunctive relief of any kind. See
Complaint at 44 163-166.

Third, in a similar vein, defendants
argue that they are absolutely immune
from liability here because the allega-
tions against them arise out of events
which occurred while they were acting as

Exhibit 2 - Page 30

judicial officers. In determining whether

a judge is absolutely immune from civil
liability, the focus is on the nature of
the act performed. The Second Circuit in

Maestri v. Jutkofsky, 860 F/2d 50 (2d

Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 101II,

109 S.Ct. 1132, 10!| L.Ed.2d 193 (1989),
held that "[a] judge who performs a
judicial act in excess of his or her
jurisdiction is immune to civil suit; a
judge who acts in the clear absence of
jurisdiction is not." Id. at 52. The
Court in Maestri explained that a
"({jJudge will be denied immunity only
where it appears, first, that the judge
acted in the clear absence of jurisdic-
tion, and second, that the judge must
have known that he or she was acting in
the clear absence of jurisdiction." Id.
at 53. This test, as articulated by the
Second Circuit, is thus comprised of two

Exhibit 2 - Page 3l

elements - one objective, that is "[t]hat
jurisdiction is clearly absent, i.e.,
that no reasonable judge would have
thought jurisdiction proper, ...;" and
the second subjective, that is [t]Jhat the
judge whose actions are questioned actu-
ally knew or must have known of the jur-
isdictional defect . .. ." Id. Applica-
tion of that test in Maestri resulted in
a finding that the judge was not entitled
to immunity because he knowlingly acted
in the clear absence of territorial jur-
isdiction, when he signed arrest warrants
resulting in the incarceration of two
individuals.

In the present case, at oral argu-
ment plaintiff stressed that defendant
James acted in the clear absence of jur-
isdiction in awarding Ms. Carella exclu-
Sive possession of the subject property.
It is clear from her complaint, however,

Exhibit 2 - Page 32

that plaintiff is also making that argu-

ment with respect to defendants James,
Ferradino, Simone, Austin and Warner. See

Complaint at 3, 4 11.(7) To support her

(7) Given the fact that plaintiff
did not allege that defendant Pluma-
dore acted in the absence of juris-
diction, the court assumes that
plaintiff is not challenging his
jurisdiction. Therefore defendant
Plumadore is clearly enitled to
absolute immunity in that the
allegatgions against him relate only
to judicial acts performed by him.

argument, plaintiff is apparently relying
upon a letter by Justice Plumadore in
which it is stated that, "[FJamily Court
has no jurisdiction over title, marital
or otherwise; .. .- -." Complaint, Ex. 45
thereto at 2 (emphasis in original).
Assuming arquendo that plaintiff is
correct (that the defendants other than

defendant Plumadore acted in the clear

Exhibit 2 - Page 33

absence of jurisdiction), and accepting
as true, as the court must on this
motion, the allegations that defendants
knew they were sc acting, the court is
nonetheless convinced that the complaint
against these defendants is properly
dismissed, based upon the other grounds
for dismissal discussed herein. Thus in
conclusion, defendants' motion to dismiss
is hereby granted and plaintiff's

complaint is dismissed.

V. Sanctions

While defendants' frustration with
this litigation is certainly understand-
abie, sanctions are not appropriate for
two reasons. The first is that defendants
seem to be basing their request, at least
in part, on the fact that there have been
other federal actions arising out of

these facts. Yet defendants are ignoring

Exhibit 2 - Page 34

the obvious: this plaintiff was not a
party to those other actions. She shoulda
not be punished for her son's apparent
abuse of the judicial process. Moreover,
plaintiff's claims herein are different
from those asserted by her son and deemed
"baseless" by Judge McAvoy.

Secondly, plaintiff is appearing pro
se, and while that in and of itself would
not excuse an abuse of the judicial
process, it does not appear, at least
that this point, that she has engaged in
sanctionable conduct. Plaintiff's com-
plaint has been dismissed in part, based
upon legal principles, whicn even for
lawyers are not always easy to understand
and apply. It would be unduly harsh to
sanction a layperson under these circun-
stances. The motion for sanctions ky the
defendants is therefore denied.

Exhibit 2 - Page 35

VI. Cross-Motion for Preliminary

Injunction

Obviously, plaintiff's cross-motion
for a preliminary injunction has been
rendered moot by the dismissal of the
complaint.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: November 29, 1991
Syracuse, New York

[s/
Neal P. McCurn
Chief, U.S. District Judge

Exhibit 2 - Page 36

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0714%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
