# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Myers v. Louisiana

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0352%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 504 U.S. 912

## Text

=

Ween

Sle 1485 PILED
NO. Y | Jan 29 92 |

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

KERRY MYERS, PETITIONER
=,

STATE OF LOUISIANA, RESPONDENT

"

ON WAIT OF CERTIORAR/ TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

RALPH S. WHALEN, JR.
3170 Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

Bar Roll No. 8319

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163
(504) 582-2333

Counsel for Respondent

Satine “bs “ fay rN a Ciara er Ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the trial court’s reliance upon the incrimina-
ting statements of a non-testifying codefendant as substan-
tive evidence of the defendant’s guilt violate the defen-
dant’s rights under the Confrontation Clause?

2. Was the evidence introduced at the trial of this
petitioner sufficient as a matter of law to sustain the
conviction?

PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the State of
Louisiana as represented by the office of John Mamouli-
des, District Attorney for the Parish of Jefferson, State of
Louisiana, and the defendants, Kerry Myers and William
Fontanille.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pp le | lil

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............

CE a

iil

. Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Barger v. Page, 390 U.S. 719, 88 S.Ct. 1318 (1968) 15

Berger v. California, 393 U.S. 314, 315, 89 S.Ct. 540,
SRP GIN wa os Reh eS ee ees 15

California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 155, 90 S.Ct. 1930,
I 6 ka ae ewe ee ee ee 14

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 295, 93 S.Ct.
t,o) | mere a ae ee cota ote ot ae 15

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 24, 87 S.Ct. 824,
Ey, ee ee ee ee ee ee 16

Cruz v. New York, 481 U.S. 186, 190, 107 S.Ct. 1714,
RPET COREE 6k onl we See ee ee Oe 13

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 86, 91 S.Ct. 210, 218
iL, SRR 14

Francis v. Franklin, 471 U.S. 358, 90 S.Ct. 1068
(ee ee a 19

Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 99 S.Ct. 2781, 61
L.Ed.2d 560 (1979) .. 2... eee eee eee eee 19

Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530, 106 S.Ct. 2056.
EE fey ks Sees ee eee Oe ee 10, 15, 16

Mancusi v. Stubbs, 408 U.S. 204, 92 S.Ct. 2308

1) a a saree gree ey ee 15
Mattoz v. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 242-243, 15 S.Ct.
Sl, Se CEN ne 6 ee ARO 15
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65, 100 S.Ct. 2431, 2538
‘| rear ererarnr ar gee negro 14, 15
Pointer v. State of Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 400-401, 85
SOs. 1065, FRG CSG) ww cc ct ee heen es 13
Schneble v. Florida, 405 U.S. 427, 430, 92 S.Ct. 1056,
1058 31 L.BE.28 SOO CIGTS) ww ce tc ee cc tees 16
Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 107, 54 S.Ct. 330,
CUR er rer rao er erg a ar 15
State v. Claibon, 395 So.2d 77 (La. 1981) ...... 19

United States v. Guinan, 836 F.2d 350, 358 (7th Cir.
ORR. oe ew ee a ee eee 14

United States v. Keplinger, 776 F.2d 678, 695 (7th Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1183, 106 S.Ct. 2919
CE oe ee ee 14
AMENDMENTS AND ARTICLES

United States Constitution, Amendment VI ...... Vil

United States Constitution, Article III, Section 2 [2] . vi

V

OPINIONS OF OTHER COURTS

State v. Kerry Myers, 588 So. 2d 105 (La. 1991)
State v. Kerry Myers, 584 So. 2d 242 (La. App. Sth Cir.
1991)

V1

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

On November 1, 1991, the Louisiana Supreme Court
denied petitioner’s application for a writ of certiorari
and/or review. This Honorable Court has jurisdiction to
review the ruling of the Louisiana Supreme Court by
virtue of United States Constitution, Article III, Section 2

[2].

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment VI "In all crimi-
nal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a
speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State
and district wherein the crime shall have been committed,
which district shall have been previously ascertained by
law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the
accusations; to be confronted with the witnesses against
him; to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses
in his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his
defense."

Vill

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

KERRY MYERS, PETITIONER
V.

STATE OF LOUISIANA, RESPONDENT

ON WAIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Kerry Myers, his wife - Janet, and his son - Ryan were
all beaten with a baseball bat on February 24, 1984. Janet
died of her wounds, Ryan received severe head injuries
from which he recovered, and Kerry’s left arm was broken
in several places. Kerry was also stabbed and received
numerous lacerations. The weapon which inflicted most of
this damage was a baseball bat belonging to William

|

ee ee ee

Fontanille.

Kerry Myers reported to the police that he had been
attacked as he entered his home by William Fontanille and
that the two had fought off and on through periods of
exhaustion until Myers was finally able to stab Fontanille
and chase him out of the house. Kerry Myers then called
911 and summoned help. He found his wife fatally beaten
and his son severely injured.

Fontanille was later found at a hospital seeking
treatment for his wounds. There, when interrogated by
police officers, he attempted to place blame on Myers for
the murder by concocting a conspiracy, which he said
Kerry Myers would allege, in which the men would
murder both of their wives. This conspiracy was never
reported by Myers as Fontanille said it would be.

William Fontanille was arrested and attempted to lay
blame for the murder on Kerry Myers. Fontanille’s
defense throughout all proceedings was that Myers had
committed the murder. Myers was extensively inter-
viewed, forensic examinations of the crime scene were
conducted and, following a grand jury investigation,
William Fontanille was indicted for the murder of Janet
Myers.

Kerry Myers was the chief prosecution witness at the
trial of Fontanille. Fontanille’s defense was that Myers
had killed his wife. A mistrial was declared when the jury
was unable to reach a verdict.

Both Kerry Myers and William Fontanille were sub-
sequently charged with the crimes of Second Degree
Murder and Conspiracy to Commit Second Degree Mur-
der. It was the state’s theory that each had participated in
some unknown manner in murdering Janet Myers. The
State hoped to use hearsay statements of each defendant

3

against the other under a conspiracy theory. However, on
January 13, 1988, the trial court severed the conspiracy
charges from the murder charges and severed the defen-
dants as to the murder charges. The court further found
that the state had not proved a prima facie case of con-
spiracy.

In granting the motion for severance of defendants, the
trial court stated that the defendants’ cases were “com-
pletely diametrically opposed to one another." The court
further held that the defenses “could not be but antagonis-
tic to one another...." (Tr. 826). This was obviously so
since each defendant was attempting to place blame at the
feet of the other.

However, the same judge later came to the opposite
conclusion when he granted, over defense objections, a
Motion to Consolidate filed by the state to try the defen-
dants together. (Tr. 1017-1018) Nothing had changed
which would effect the nature of the case during the time
between the granting of the motion to sever and the
granting of the motion to consolidate.

A new judge, Ernest V. Richards, IV, assumed the
handling of the case for the original trial judge who was
suffering from severe effects of diabetes. Subsequent
motions for severance of the defendants were filed on
numerous occasions by both Kerry Myers and William
Fontanille, but were denied by the court. Kerry Myers’
attorney requested a continuance of the trial shortly before
it was to begin, testifying that he was not prepared to try
the case. In spite of repeated continuances granted to the
state, eleven over a period of years, the motion was
denied. Trial as to both defendants began on March 26,
1990.

Myers’ trial attorney waived a jury and elected trial by

4

the court. Fontanille was simultaneously tried by a jury.
The jury was excused during the taking of testimony which
was deemed to be inadmissible as to Fontanille.

No such precaution was available to the judge-tried
Myers. During the trial, the judge specifically ruled that
he was allowing into evidence, for purposes of his deci-
sion as to Kerry Myers’ guilt or innocence, incriminating
hearsay statements made by the non-testifying codefendant,
William Fontanille. These were the statements taken from
Fontanille by the police at the hospital where Fontanille
was being treated for his wounds. The statements were
about the conspiracy, which Fontanille claimed that Myers
would report, concerning a plan by Fontanille and Myers
to kill each others wives. No such plan ever existed, and
Fontanille’s statements were made in attempt to shift the
blame for the murder to Myers.

The officer, Officer Taylor, in describing the interview
of Fontanille by Officer Adams, testified as follows:

Q. ...[W]hat else did he [Fontanille] tell Deputy

Adams that you recall?

A. I believe the last thing he had said to him,

that he had been told by Myers that Myers was

going to tell the police that they had talked about
killing each other’s wife and that Myers told him,

I didn’t think you would go through with this.

MR. BEEVERS:

Objection Your Honor, we need to approach

the Bench.

(THE FOLLOWING IS A BENCH CON-

FERENCE)

MR. BEEVERS [Counsel for Kerry My-
ers]:
At this time, on behalf of my client, I am going

——ti‘(‘

to object to this coming in and I am going to ask you to
disregard it. . . (Transcript, p.2306)

Counsel for the defendant not only objected, but
specifically requested that the trial judge disregard that
portion of the statement that had already been testified to.
After an extended colloquy at the bench, the judge over-
ruled the objection of Myers counsel and allowed the
statement into evidence against Myers.

The questioning of Taylor continued in the following
manner:

Q. Would you please repeat that, that last state-

ment for us Officer Taylor?

A. Fontanille stated to Deputy Adams that he

had been told by Myers that Myers was going to

tell the police that they had talked about killing

each other’s wife, and that Myers could not believe

that Fontanille had gone through with the idea.
| (Transcript, p.2309)

The trial judge left no doubt that these statements,
which were objected to by Myers’ trial counsel, were
being admitted in Myers’ case. There is no doubt that

these statements were relied upon by the court in making
its determination that Kerry Myers was guilty. Fontanille
did not testify and no opportunity was ever had for Myers
to cross-examine Fontanille on these highly prejudicial
statements.

Neither defendant testified, but the previous testimony
and statements of each were admitted into evidence.
These statements were in direct conflict with each other as
each defendant’s statements attempted to place the blame

on the other defendant.

The only other evidence against Kerry Myers came
from Dr. Henry Lee, who was called in, several years

6

after the crime, to examine photos of the crime scene and
articles of evidence and to give his opinions. This evide-
nce was only remotely inculpatory of Kerry Myers.

Dr. Lee, an expert in blood spatter analysis and crime
scene reconstruction, testified that there were numerous
areas of blood on the clothing of William Fontanille, blood
that matched the type of Janet and Ryan Myers.

Only minute drops of Janet’s blood type were found on
Kerry Myers, some on his shoes and some on his pants
leg. The blood on the pants leg appeared to have been
transferred from some source other than the bleeding body
of the victim, most likely the bat or body of William
Fontanille.

The few tiny drops on the shoes of Kerry Myers could
easily have been flung there as Fontanille attacked Myers
with the bat still bloody from Fontanille’s beating of Janet.
No other significant evidence of Kerry Myers’s guilt was
presented.

The state attempted to prove at trial through the
testimony of Dr. Lee, that Kerry Myers must have at-
tempted to wash away incriminating blood stains. How-
ever, Myers was taken to the emergency room of West
Jefferson Hospital and treated by a Dr. LaMartina who
testified at the hearing on the motion for new trial that
Kerry Myers was washed down by hospital personnel on
two occasions while wearing his clothes.

Dr. LaMartina, an emergency room physician for ten
years, testified that he was very familiar with individuals
in highly emotional states and that he found Kerry Myers
to be "in anguish, mental agony, mental suffering." He
described Mr. Myers as being “out of control talking,
telling me the whole story, ‘sobbing,’ and then saying. .

.”

. ‘he said she was all right, he said they were all! right’".

bal CRB IT I

7

Dr. LaMartina also said Kerry Myers kept repeating over
and over that he hadn’t heard his wife and children. It
was the doctors opinion that ". . . no way he could have
been lying to me." (Tr. 2837).

On April 5, 1990, the jury found William Fontanille
guilty of Manslaughter and the trial court found Kerry
Myers guilty of Second Degree Murder. After denying
motions for a new trial and in arrest of judgment, the
court sentenced Kerry Myers to life imprisonment without
benefit of parole, pardon or probation. Fontanille was
sentenced to twenty-one years at nard labor.

On direct appeal to the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeal, the conviction of Kerry Myers was affirmed. The
Louisiana Supreme Court denied the defendant’s applica-
tion for writs of certiorari and/or review.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A trial court may not rely upon the hearsay statements
of a non-testifying codefendant as substantive evidence of
the guilt of a defendant. Such reliance violates the defen-
dant’s right to confrontation under the Sixth Amendment
to the United States Constitution. The confession of an
accomplice is presumptively unreliable, particularly where
it describes the acts of the defendant. Where the alleged
accomplice’s defense is that the defendant committed the
crime, the presumption of unreliability must be even
stronger. Where, as here, there are absolutely no other
“indicia of reliability" for the hearsay, convictions sup-
ported by evidence of such statements violate the constitu-
tional right of confrontation.

The trial court in this matter allowed into evidence,
and relied upon in determining the guilt of the defendant,
hearsay evidence of statements given by the codefendant,
William Fontanille, to investigating police officers. These
statements were highly incriminating of Myers, alleging
that Myers was going to fabricate and put forth a defense
implicating Fontanille in order to cover up Myers’ murder
of his wife. Fontanille clearly made the statements in his
own effort to shift the blame to his codefendant. There
were no "indicia of reliability" for the statements of Fon-
tanille, and Myers never made the allegations which
Fontanille claimed he would.

Fontanille did not testify and no opportunity was had
by the defendant to cross-examine his codefendant on these
statements. The use of these statements was a clear
violation of the Confrontation Clause.

Kerry Myers was convicted on evidence insufficient to
establish guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. No reasonable
trier of fact, interpreting the evidence in the light most

8

es

favorable to the prosecution, could have found such proof
in the trial of this matter. There was an astonishing
failure of proof on the part of the prosecution, and the
conviction was obtained in violation of the guarantees
afforded the defendant by the United States Constitution.

ARGUMENT

I. THE STATE COURT, IN CONTRAVENTION OF
THIS COURT’S RULING IN LEE V. ILLINOIS, AL-
LOWED INTO EVIDENCE, AND RELIED UPON FOR
PURPOSES OF DETERMINING THE GUILT OR
INNOCENCE OF THE DEFENDANT, THE _IN-
CRIMINATING HEARSAY STATEMENTS OF THE
NON-TESTIFYING CODEFENDANT.

In Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530, 106 S.Ct. 2056
(1986), this Court held that the trial court’s reliance in a
bench trial upon a codefendant’s confession as substantive
evidence against the defendant violated the defendant’s
Sixth Amendment right to confront her accusers. It was
further held that the codefendant’s confession, which was
given only after learning that the defendant had implicated
him, was presumptively unreliable. The Court held that
the statement of the codefendant lacked sufficient indicia
of reliability to overcome the presumption.

The Lee decision recognized that the unanimous
holding in Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415, 85 S.Ct.
1074 (1965) reversing a conviction because the confession
of the defendant’s accomplice was read to the jury, was
"premised on the basic understanding that when one person
accuses another of a crime under circumstances in which
the declarant stands to gain by inculpating another, the
accusation is presumptively suspect and must be subjected
to the scrutiny of cross-examination." Lee, at 539, 106
S.Ct. at 2062.

At the trial of the petitioner, the judge relied upon a
non-testifying codefendant’s statement under circumstances
which were more unreliable than those in Lee or Douglas.
This codefendant, William Fontanille was not an ac-
complice attempting to mitigate culpability, he was a

10

| ncaa ia

codefendant whose directly antagonistic defense to the
charge of murder of Janet Myers was his claim that
petitioner had murdered his wife. In his statements made
to investigating police officers, William Fontanille attempt-
ed to shift blame to the petitioner by telling the officers
that Kerry Myers had killed his wife and was going to
claim that Fontanille had done it as part of conspiracy to
kill the wife of the other.

When William Fontanille was interviewed by police
officers at Jo Ellen Smith Hospital shortly after the murder
of Janet Myers, he related a conspiracy that he claimed
Kerry Myers had threatened to allege had taken place
. between Myers and Fontanille. Fontanille stated that
Myers had made statements that he was going to relate to
the police an agreement between Myers and Fontanille to
kill each other’s wives. It was, in other words, Fon-
tanille’s statement to the police that Myers was going to
fabricate a conspiracy to commit murder in order to
protect himself from charges that he murdered his wife.
He was then going to claim, according to Fontanille, that
Myers had not thought that Fontanille would go through
with the killing. These statements were highly inculpatory
of Myers and were clearly part of Fontanille’s attempt to
shift the blame of murder from himself to Myers.

Prior to the introduction of the statements, trial counsel
for Myers objected to their admission. (Trial transcript
2306). Counsel for William Fontanille wanted the state-
ment admitted for the purposes of Fontanille’s defense,
although the testimony was being elicited by the prosecut-
or. The statement was admitted, as evidence against
Myers, over the objection of Mr. Myers’s trial counsel.
(Trial transcript 2309).

This Court held that, even in a bench trial, if the judge

ak ola tnt te ae oa

12

considers the inculpatory statement of a co-defendant in
determining the guilt of another defendant, the conviction
violates the defendant’s rights under the Confrontation
Clause. Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530, 106 S.Ct. 2056
(1986). Lee involved the joint trial of two defendant ina
murder case. The defendants agreed to a bench trial and
withdrew motions for severance upon assurance that the
court "would only consider the evidence proper to each
defendant.” Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. at 536, 106 S.Ct. at
2060.

In finding the defendant Lee guilty of the murders, the
trial judge made reference to the confession of the co-
defendant, noting that Lee’s statements were "disputed by
the statement of her co-defendant." Lee v. Illinois, 476
U.S. at 538, 106 S.Ct. at 2061. The Supreme Court held
that the consideration of the co-defendant’s confession
against Lee violated her rights under the confrontation
clause.

Myers has suffered from the identical situation. Judge
Richards made it clear that he admitted the hearsay state-
ment of Fontanille, as reported by the police officers, for
the purpose of determining Kerry Myers’s guilt. As in
Lee v. Illinois, the trial judge was unable to compartmen-
talize the evidence, and spécifically admitted the statements
of Fontanille for the purpose of determining the guilt or
innocence of Kerry Myers.

When evidence of the hearsay was first offered,
counsel for Myers objected and a colloquy ensued at the
bench. That colloquy, reproduced in the statement of the
case, makes it unquestionable that Judge Richards con-
sidered the codefendant’s statements as substantive evid-
ence against Myers, in obvious violation of petitioner’s
right to confront his accusers.

5 ioncelenilimaaa aaa ia aii ia

13

The Sixth Amendment provides in part that "In all
criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right...
to be confronted with the witnesses against him...." See,
Pointer v. State of Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 400-401, 85
S.Ct. 1065, 1066 (1965). The Supreme Court has held that
this guarantee is extended to the states by the Fourteenth
Amendment and includes the right to cross examine
witnesses. See, Cruz v. New York, 481 U.S. 186, 190,
107 S.Ct. 1714, 1717 (1987); Pointer vy. Texas, 380 U.S.
at 404, 85 S.Ct. at 1068.

The Supreme Court has continually reinforced the Con-
frontation Clause in a long line of jurisprudence holding
that the right to confront is an essential element of the
American justice system and to deprive a defendant of the
right to confront his accusers would deny that defendant
due process of law. "The fact that this right appears in the
Sixth Amendment of our Bill of Rights reflects the belief
of the Framers of those liberties and safeguards that
confrontation was a fundamental right essential to a fair
trial in a criminal prosecution. Moreover, the decisions of
this Court and other courts throughout the years have
constantly emphasized the necessity for cross-examination
as a protection for defendants in criminal cases." Pointer
v. Texas, 380 U.S. at 404,°85 S.Ct. at 1068. '

ME MOTTE

\

‘ The courts continue to reassert this principal. As the
Second Circuit recently noted, "The right to confront and
cross examine witnesses at a trial has long been recognized
as essential to the determination of truth. These safeguar-
ds, guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment, are fundamental
to advancing our society’s goal of a criminal justice system
in which the reality as well as the perception of unfairness
prevails. " Reddy v. Coembe, 916 F.2d 47, 48 (2d Cir.
1987).

14

The Confrontation Clause is closely related to the rules
on hearsay. The hearsay rules and the Confrontation
Clause "stem from the same root" although the "two are
not equivalent." Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 86, 91
S.Ct. 210, 218 (1970); See also, United States v. Kepling-
er, 776 F.2d 678, 695 (7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476
U.S. 1183, 106 S.Ct. 2919 (1986). However, “hearsay
rules and the Confrontation Clause are generally designed
to protect similar values." California v. Green, 399 U.S.
149, 155, 90 S.Ct. 1930, 1933 (1970).

Although evidence may be admissible under the
hearsay exceptions, it may still be violative of the Sixth
Amendment. Furthermore, although hearsay evidence
does literally deny the defendant the right to confront the
declarant, the admission of such is not a per se violation
of the Confrontation Clause. See e.g., United States v.
Guinan, 836 F.2d 350, 358 (7th Cir. 1988). However,
the court must determine, in that instance, whether the
hearsay bears "sufficient indicia of reliability." Ohio v.
Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65, 100 S.Ct. 2431, 2538 (1986).

In California v. Green, the Supreme Court examined
the relationship between the Confrontation Clause and the
hearsay rules. California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 90
S.Ct. 1930. In this case, the Court noted that the reasons
for excluding hearsay assertions were (1) to insure that the
witness will make his assertions under oath, thus impres-
sing him with the seriousness of the matter and subjecting
untruths to a penalty for perjury; (2) to force the witness
to submit to cross examination, characterized as the
"greatest legal engine ever invented for the discovery of
truth; (3) to permit the jury, which decides the defendant's
fate to observe the demeanor of the witness in making his
statements, thus aiding the jury in assessing the witness’

15

credibility. Jd. at 158, 90 S.Ct. at 1935; See also,

Mattoz v. United States, 156 11.8. 237, 242-243, 15 S.Ct.
| 337, 339 (1895). This is seen as so important that the
absence of proper confrontation at trial has been noted as
calling "into question the ultimate integrity of the fact
finding process." See, Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. at 65,
100 S.Ct. at 2538; Chambers vy. Mississippi, 410 U.S.
284, 295, 93 S.Ct. 1038 (1973); Berger v. California, 393
U.S. 314, 315, 89 S.Ct. 540, 541 (1969).

The Confrontation Clause operates to restrict the
admission of hearsay. First, the prosecution must either
produce or demonstrate the unavailability of the declarant
whose statement is sought to be introduced against the
defendant. See, Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S.Ct.
2431 (1986); Mancusi v. Stubbs, 408 U.S. 204, 92 S.Ct.
2308 (1972); Barger v. Page, 390 U.S. 719, 88 S.Ct.
1318 (1968). Secondly, once a witness is shown to be
unavailable, only such hearsay marked with such trustwor-
thiness that "there is no material departure from the reason
of the general rule" is allowed. Snyder v. Massachusetts,
291 U.S. 97, 107, 54 S.Ct. 330, 333 (1934). In other
words, the evidence must be excluded, absent a showing
of particularized guarantees of trustworthiness. Ohio v.
Roberts, 448 U.S. at 67, 100 S.Ct at 2539.

However, a codefendant’s testimony is seen to be
“presumptively unreliable." Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530,
106 S.Ct. 2056 (1986). In Lee, the court noted that a co-
defendant’s confession is presumptively unreliable as to the
passages detailing the defendant’s conduct or culpability
because those passages may well be the product of the
codefendant’s desire to shift or spread blame, curry favor,
avenge himself, or divert attention to another. "Due to his
strong motivation to implicate the defendant and exonerate

16

himself, a codefendant’s statements about what the defen-
dant said or did are less credible that ordinary hearsay
evidence." Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. at 541 106 S.Ct. at
2062 (quoting Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 141,
88 S.Ct. 1620, 1630 (1968)(White, J. dissenting). The
admission of extrajudicial statement made by a co-defen-
dant that inculpate the other defendant violates the defen-
dant’s rights under the Sixth Amendment to the United
States Constitution. Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. at
142, 88 S.Ct. at 1631.

The statement of William Fontanille to the investigating
officers was absolutely without any indicia of reliability.
It would be difficult to imagine circumstances under which
the hearsay statement of an accomplice would be more
presumptively unreliable. Fontanille had just been stab-
bed by Kerry Myers, knew Myers was calling the police,
knew that Janet Myers had been murdered, and knew that
he would be a suspect. His need to shift the blame was
abvious, and the statements were clearly a product of that
need. Fontanille was not under oath and there is no
method for guaranteeing the veracity of his statements.

It is well established that not every Bruton violation
will lead to a reversal of a criminal conviction. Schneble
v. Florida, 405 U.S. 427, 430, 92 S.Ct. 1056, 1058 31
L.Ed.2d 340 (1972). Instead, a Bruton violation will not
result in a reversal where the independent, “properly
admitted evidence of [the defendant's] guilt is so over-
whelming, and the prejudicial effect of the co-defendant’s
admission so insignificant by comparison, that it is clear
beyond a reasonable doubt that the improper use of the
admission was harmless error." Jd., 405 U.S. at 430, 92
S.Ct. at 1059. The burden of proof that an error is
harmless rests squarely on the government. Chapman v.

|

17

California, 386 U.S. 18, 24, 87 S.Ct. 824, 828, (1967).’

In determining whether the erroneous admission of
evidence requires reversal of the defendant’s conviction,
the correct standard is whether there is a "reasonable"
possibility that the evidence might have contributed to the
verdict, and whether the reviewing court is prepared to
state beyond a reasonable doubt that it did not. Chapman
v. California, 386 U.S. at 26, 87 S.Ct. at 830.° Once a
Bruton error occurs, the statement must be suppressed.
The court must reverse unless there is finding that the
Confrontation Clause violation was harmless. Cruz v. New
York, 481 U.S. at 194, 107 S.Ct. at 1719.

In the instant case, the hearsay statements were of such
a prejudicial nature that they could not possibly be con-
sidered to be harmless. There is nothing, without the
hearsay statements of the codefendant, to implicate the
petitioner but the inconclusive testimony of a blood spatter
expert discussed below. Clearly, the court’s reliance on

* Justice Rehnquist in Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475
U.S. 673, 106 S.Ct. 1431 (1980) noted that "harmless
error" means “harmless beyond a reasonable doubt."

* The Second Circuit has interpreted Schneble v.
Florida, 405 U.S. 427, 92 S.Ct. 1056 (1972) as holding
| that "a trial error cannot be harmless is there is a reason-
able possibility that the improperly admitted evidence con-
tributed to the conviction." Holland v. Scully, 97 F.2d 57,
| 67 (2d Cir. 1986), citing Schneble v. Florida, 405 U.S. at
432, 92 S.Ct. at 1059. A constitutional error, such as a
violation of the Confrontation Clause can only be “harm-
less" if the other, proper, evidence against the defendant
has been “overwhelming.” Holland v. Scully, 797 F.2d
57, 67 (2d Cir. 1986); see also, Anderson v. Smith, 751
F.2d 96 (2d Cir. 1984).

18

the hearsay statement of the codefendant in determining the
guilt of the defendant was in violation of the defendants
rights under the Confrontation Clause, and the conviction
must be reversed.

=

Il. THE EVIDENCE ADDUCED AT THE TRIAL OF
THE DEFENDANT WAS INSUFFICIENT AS A MAT-
TER OF LAW TO SUSTAIN A CONVICTION

Kerry Myers moved for a judgment of acquittal and
requested a new trial on the grounds that the state intro-
duced insufficient evidence to sustain the defendant’s
conviction. When reviewing a Motion for Judgment of
Acquittal or a Motion for New Trial based on the grounds
there is insufficient evidence to support a conviction the
standard is that which is set forth in Jackson v. Virginia,
443 U.S. 307, 99 S.Ct. 2781, 61 L.Ed.2d 560 (1979).
The Jackson test asks whether any rational factfinder,
viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the
prosecution, could have found the essential elements of the
crime proved beyond a reasonable doubt. Jackson, 643
U.S. 307, 99 S.Ct. 2781. It is a fundamental due process

rule that the prosecution prove every element of the

: offense. See, Francis v. Franklin, 471 U.S. 358, 90 S.Ct.

1068 (1985).

This standard is applicable to judges as well as juries.

| In Jackson, the Supreme Court noted, "[A] properiy
instructed jury may occasionally convict even when it can
be said that no rational trier of fact could find guilt beyond
a reasonable doubt, and the same may be said of a trial
judge sitting as a jury. Jackson, 443 U.S. 307, 317, 99
Supreme Court 2781, 2788. (emphasis supplied). This
standard of appellate review has been adopted in Louisia-
na. State v. Claibon, 395 So.2d 77 (La. 1981).

The only change in the evidence between the trial
where Kerry Myers appeared as the state’s star witness
and the trial where he appeared as a defendant was the tes-
timony of Dr. Henry Lee. Dr. Lee testified that Kerry
Myers had blood of a type which matched Janet Myers and

19

eS

Ryan Myers (type A) on the edge of his tee shirt, the tip
of his shoe, and the left thigh of his pants. The blood on
the pants was the result of a secondary transfer from some
other area which had received blood. There is no reason
to doubt that this blood came from William Fontanille,
who Dr. Lee testified, was covered with areas of Type A
blood. The struggle with Fontanille would also account
for the traces of type A blood found on the tee shirt and
the shoes of Kerry Myers.

The state’s “smoking gun" was the testimony of Dr.
Lee that suggested that Kerry Myers had attempted to
wash blood off of his clothing. However, Dr. LaMartina,
at the hearing on the motion for new trial, completely
negated, as evidence of guilt, the presence of diluted blood
on Kerry Myers’ clothing. His testimony was that Kerry
had been washed down twice by emergency room per-
sonnel while still in his clothing.

The statements given by Kerry Myers following his
wife’s death are never refuted by any evidence offered by
the state. No evidence eliminates the reasonable hypoth-
esis of innocence set forth in those statements. Fon-
tanille’s statements, however, are consistently shown to be
lies. For example, a Dr. Kerstein established ihat William
Fontanille was injured somewhere between twelve and two
o’clock, as Kerry Myers testified. (Trial Transcript 2470-
2472). He further established that William Fontanille’s
statement that he was injured immediately upon entering
the home at approximately 4:00 p.m. was "absolutely not"
consistent with the medical findings.

The Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals can point
to very little in its opinion to support the conviction of
Kerry Myers. The totality of the evidence this court
points to as incriminating of Myers is found on page 11 of

eS

21

the Appendix. The court concludes from the testimony of
Dr. Lee that Kerry Myers had a medium velocity blood-
spatter containing type A blood, “thereby indicating that he
was near a type ‘A’ blood source and was splattered with
the blood as it escaped the body". The testimony of Dr.
Lee did not eliminate the possibility that Kerry Myers got
this minute quantity of blood on his shoe during the
Struggles with Fontanille. Nonetheless, the court leaps
from this finding to the conclusion that Kerry must have
been present when Janet was killed, holding the following:
"[T]he fact that both defendants were present when
the victim was murdered and both had splatter of
blood on their clothing which matched the victim’s
could allow a rational trier of fact to find that both
defendants were guilty, either by actually committ-
ing the offense or by acting as a principal to the
offense."
The court finds repeatedly that it is a fact that Kerry was
present at the time of the murder. This conclusion is
unsupported by the evidence and it is only on this con-
clusion that the Appellate Court based it finding that the
evidence was sufficient to support the conviction of first
degree murder of petitioner, Kerry Myers.

22
CONCLUSION

The Sixth Amendment right of this defendant to
confront and cross-examine his accusers was violated by
this conviction. He was further denied due process of law
when his conviction was obtained where the evidence
insufficient as a matter of law. The conviction of Kerry
Myers should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

RALPH S. WHALEN,JR.
3170 Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

Bar Roll No. 8319

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163
(504) 582-2333

Counsel for Respondent

APPENDIX

ai

State of Louisiana
V.
Kerry Myers and William Fontanille
No. 91-K-1791
Supreme Court of Louisiana
Nov. 1, 1991
In re Myers, Kerry;--Defendant(s); applying for writ of
certiorari and/or review; to the Court of Appeal, Fifth
Circuit, No. 90-KA- 0539; Parish of Jefferson, Twenty-
Fourth Judicial District Court, Div. "B", No. 87-3280.
Prior report: La.App., 584 So.2d 242. Denied.

LEMMON, J., would grant the writ.

State of Louisiana
v.
Kerry Myers and William Fontanille
No. 90-KA-539
Court of Appeal of Louisiana, Fifth Circuit
June 26, 1991
Writs Denied Nov. 1, 1991

Defendants were convicted in the 24th Judicial District
Court, Parish of Jefferson, E.V. Richards, IV, J., of
murder and manslaughter for the killing of one defen-
dant’s wife. Defendants appealed. The Court of Appeal,
Gothard, J., held that: (1) the trial court did not abuse its
discretion in refusing to sever the trials; (2) the evidence,
although circumstantial, supported the convictions; (3)
the delay between the arrest and the second trial after a
mistrial had been granted did not deny the defendants a
speedy trial; (4) admission of one defendant’s prior tes-
timony did not violate the confrontation clause after the
defendant invoked his Fifth Amendment privilege against
self- incrimination when he was called as a prosecution
witness; and (5) the denial of a motion for a new trial
was not an abuse of discretion. Affirmed.

Before GRISBAUM, DUFRESNE and GOTHARD, JJ.

GOTHARD, Judge.

On October 8, 1987 Kerry Myers and William Fontanille
were charged, by Grand Jury Indictment, with conspiracy
to murder their respective spouses and with second degree
murder in the beating death of Janet Myers, defendant
Kerry Myers’ wife. Myers and Fontanille pled not guilty
at arraignments on November 3, 1987 and November 17,
1987, respectively. Fontanille alone had been previously
indicted in connection with the murder of Janet Myers.
After a jury trial which resulted in a hung jury with six

2

jurors voting to convict and six voting to acquit, a mis-
trial was declared. Following that mistrial the aforemen-
tioned indictment of both defendants was filed. The
defendants filed numerous pre-trial motions including
motions to have the state lay the predicate for its intro-
duction of certain statements made by defendants before
using them in the trial for conspiracy. After a hearing on
the matter, the trial court ruled that the statements were
inadmissible since the state failed to present a prima facie
case of conspiracy. The state applied for writs in this
court which were denied.’ The Supreme Court granted
writs and in State v. Myers, 545 So.2d 981 (La.1989)
affirmed the trial court’s ruling.

The defendants proceeded to trial on the second degree
murder charge on March 26, 1990. Although the defen-
dants were tried jointly, Myers waived trial by jury.
Consequently, Myers was tried by the bench and Fon-
tanille was tried by the jury. At the conclusion of the
trial on April 5, 1990, Myers was found guilty as charged
and Fontanille was convicted of manslaughter. Delays
were waived and on May 3, 1990, after various post-trial
motions were denied, the trial court sentenced Myers to
life imprisonment at hard labor without benefit of parole,
probation or suspension of sentence and Fontanille to the
maximum sentence of twenty-one years at hard labor.
FACTS

At about 1:40 a.m. on February 24, 1984 Kerry Myers
dialed 911 and told the emergency operator who answer-
ed, "Please, somebody broke in my house and tried to kill

' See State v. Myers, No. 88-K-778 (La.App. 5th
Cir. October 28, 1988).

itil

me. I just stabbed him." Emergency personnel including
police officers and medical professionals were dispatched
to the Myers home in Harvey. Officers DeWilde and
Thacker arrived at the scene at about 1:50 a.m. and were
met at the door by Kerry Myers. The interior of the
house was in darkness. Myers was armed with a shotgun.
His left arm was broken and he had several head lacera-
tions. While Myers was receiving the medical attention of
ambulance personnel at the scene, Officer DeWilde
entered the home, turning on lights as he entered the
rooms. He found Janet Myers’ body in the blood splat-
tered living room. It was later determined that she died
earlier of massive head injuries inflicted by a baseball bat.
Myers informed emergency medical technicians that there
were children in the home. That information was relayed
to police officers who then resumed their search of the
house. Subsequently, a six-week-old female was found,
unharmed, in one of the bedrooms. A two and one-half
year old boy was found in the master bedroom. The
toddler, Ryan Myers, had sustained severe head injuries
and was comatose. He was transported along with his
father, Kerry Myers, to West Jefferson Hospital for
treatment. Meanwhile, William Fontanille, a long time
friend of Kerry Myers, entered Jo Ellen Smith Hospital to
seek treatment for several stab wounds. He was ques-
tioned about the wounds by New Orleans police officer,
John Taylor. Fontanille told Officer Taylor that Myers
had killed his wife and child and intended to blame
Fontanille. Fontanille explained that he had gone to the
home of Kerry and Janet Myers at about 4:00 p.m. on
February 23, 1984 to retrieve a baseball bat he had left
there on the previous day. Fontanille claims that Kerry
Myers let him in the door, attacked him with a knife and

4

stabbed him several times. The two men fought intermit-
tently for the next nine and one-half hours, pausing
occasionally to watch television. He stated that Myers
kept him at bay with the knife and later the baseball bat,
and would not allow him to call an ambulance. He
contends that at one point, Myers gave in, stated that he
would call an ambulance and went into the kitchen to place
the call. Myers allowed Fontanille to go to the window
of the front bedroom on a_ few occasions to see if the
ambulance had arrived. When the amoulance did not
come, it became apparent that Myers had not actually
made the call. Later, Myers gave permission for Fon-
tanille to go to the bathroom, but as Fontanille walked
down the hall Myers attacked him from behind. They
wrestled for several hours, with neither person being able
to gain control of the knife. While they were in the hall,
each holding the knife, they began to discuss their domes-
tic problems. Fontanille told Myers that he hadn’t seen
his son since December and Myers promised to help
Fontanille get his son back. They made plans to go to
Fontanille’s wife’s parents’ home the next morning to
"scare them" and get Fontanille’s son. They stayed in the
hall for about two hours. Fontanille stated, "and we were
gonna wait in the hall, each of us holding the knife so we
couldn’t do any more damage to each other until it was
time for us to leave." Fontanille claims that eventually
Myers’ grip on the knife loosened and Fontanille was able
to flee from the house. Myers’ version of the events in
some aspects parallels Fontanille’s version. Myers agrees
that the two men fought, discussed their domestic prob-
lems, and watched television off and on for about ten
hours. He agrees that he stabbed Fontanille but he asserts
that it was Fontanille who began the attack on the after-

5

itiaiieiaaiiniilaiiiiiae iii

noon of February 23, 1984. Initially, during medical
treatment Myers indicated to medical personnel that he
came home from work and "found them together," indicat-
ing that Janet and Fontanille were alive when Myers first
came home. But in a statement to police a few weeks
after the murder Myers stated that he came home from
work at about 3:30 p.m., unlocked the door and walked
in the house. Fontanille immediately began beating him
with a baseball bat. He maintains that one of the initial
blows caused the broken arm and the head wounds. The
two men fought for a while but stopped to watch Magnum
P.I. and two other shows on television. Myers said it was
Fontanille who pretended to call the ambulance. Myers
also states the two were fighting in the hall for an ex-
tended period of time over a knife. In spite of his broken
left arm, Myers, who is left-handed, managed to take the
knife from Fontanille, stab him and chase him out of the
house. Myers immediately called police and reported the
incident. Both defendants asserted in their formal state-
ments that they did not see Janet or the children during the
ordeal, although both claim to have heard Janet Myers’
moans from the living room and the cries of the infant.
Neither defendant mentions any fighting which took place
in the master bedroom. However, evidence revealed that
room was in total disarray. A jewelry box was broken
and drawers to a desk were pulled out and thrown on the
floor. It was also in this room that Ryan was found.
Both defendants have appealed their convictions and
sentences. Each defendant has assigned six errors for our
review. Because we find no merit in any of those assign-
ments, we affirm the trial court’s action as to both defen-
dants.

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR

6

[1] Both defendants assert that the trial court erred in

granting the state’s motion to consolidate.’
The defendants, Myers and Fontanille, were jointly
indicted for second degree murder and conspiracy to
commit murder. Fontanille filed a motion to sever and
the trial court severed the murder charges as to the defen-
dants and the conspiracy charge from the murder charges.
Thereafter, the state filed a motion to consolidate and
later a motion to vacate judgment granting severance and
the trial court vacated its previous ruling as to the sever-
ance of the murder charges. Subsequently, Fontanille
filed a second motion to sever in which Myers joined.
The trial court denied the motion. Ultimately both
defendants were tried together on the murder charge,
Myers by the bench and Fontanille by the jury.

Myers argues that there is no authority in law for the
filing of a state motion to consolidate. Myers cites LSA-
C.Cr.P. art. 706 in support of his argument. That ar-
ticle provides:

Upon motion of a defendant, or of all defendants if
there are more than one, the court may order two or more
indictments consolidated for trial if the offenses and the
defendants, if there are more than one, could have been
joined in a single indictment. The procedure thereafter
shall be the same as if the prosecution were under a
single indictment. Myers asserts that it is only a defen-
dant who has a procedural right to file a motion to
consolidate. Defendant’s reliance on art. 706 is misplaced.
The comments to art. 706 notes that, although the article
does not permit consolidation upon motion of the state,

+
-

Fontanille’s assignment number two and Myers
assignment number one.

the state can accomplish the consolidation by dismissing
all charges and recharging in a consolidated form. Here,
the defendants were charged in one indictment; therefore,
the only recourse for the state to obtain a re-consolidation
would be by a motion to the trial court to reconsider its
previous ruling of severance, i.€., motion to consolidate.
Consequently, the state’s motion to consolidate was
procedurally proper.

[2]{3] Both defendants contend it was error to try them
jointly because their defenses were antagonistic. Jointly
indicted defendants shall be tried jointly unless the court
is satisfied that justice requires a severance. LSA- C.-
Cr.P. art. 704; State v. Webb, 424 So.2d 233 (La. 1982).
The accused is not entitled to a severance as a matter of
right, but the decision is one resting in the sound discre-
tion of the trial judge. A denial of a motion to sever will
not be overturned on appeal absent a clear abuse of
discretion. State v. Webb, supra. A severance is neces-
sary if the defenses of the co-defendants are mutually
antagonistic to the extent a co-defendant attempts to place
the blame on the other, causing each defendant to defend
against his co-defendant as well as the state. State v.
Prudholm, 446 So.2d 729 (La.1984). However, reversal
of a conviction for failure to sever where antagonism is
shown is not always mandated unless prejudice can be
shown. State v. McGraw, 366 So.2d 1278 (La.1978).

[4] The trial court’s reasons for the decision on this issue
are contained in the record. The court reasoned that,
since neither defendant indicated they saw Janet Myers
and claimed not to know what happened, their defenses
were not antagonistic. The court stated:

They don’t know that the other defendant committed the
offense, so I haven’t seen anything at this point that

8

——— i "

indicates that the defendants are in fact antagonistic.

The trial court also reasoned that because one defendant
was tried by the jury and one by the bench, as a practical
matter the defendants were severed. We find no abuse
of discretion in the trial court’s ruling. Each defendant
was tried by a separate trier of fact. The jury was ex-
cused at the appropriate times and heard only the evidence
applicable to Fontanille. Although the trial judge heard
the entire matter, he is learned in the law as well as the
rules of evidence and procedure and was competent to
decide the guilt or innocence of Myers by a consideration
of only the appropriate evidence. This assignment lacks
merit.

Both defendants assert that the evidence presented at trial
was insufficient to sustain their convictions.”

[5] The defendants were jointly charged with second
degree murder. The trial court found Myers guilty as
charged, while the jury returned the legislatively respon-
sive verdict of manslaughter against Fontanille. LSA-
C.Cr.P. art. 814 A.3. A jury may return a legislatively
provided responsive verdict, whether or not the evidence
supports the verdict, as long as the evidence was sufficient
to support a conviction of the charged offense absent a
contemporary objection. State ex rel Elaire v. Black-
burn, 424 So.2d 246 (La.1982), cert. denied, Elaire v.
Blackburn, 46] U.S. 959, 103 S.Ct. 2432, 77 L.Ed.2d
1318 (1983); State v. Schrader, 518 So.2d 1024 (La.198-
8); State v. Weiland, 562 So.2d 950 (La.App. Sth
Cir.1990). Here, Fontanille did not object to the in-
clusion of manslaughter as a responsive verdict. [6][7]

> Fontanille’s assignment number six and Myers

assignment number three.

a

Second degree murder is the killing of a human being
when the offender has a specific intent to kill or to inflict
great bodily harm. LSA- R.S. 14:30.1. Specific criminal
intent exists when the circumstances indicate that the
defendant actively desired the prescribed criminal conse-
quences to follow his act. LSA-R.S. 14:10(1). Man-
slaughter includes homicides which would be either first
or second degree murder but the offense is committed in
sudden passion or heat of blood or without intent to cause
death or great bodily harm. Furthermore, all persons
concerned in the commission of a crime whether present
or absent, and whether they directly commit the act
constituting the offense, aid or abet in its commission, or
directly or indirectly counsel or procure another to
commit the crime are principals. LSA- R.S. 14:24.

[8] In evaluating the sufficiency of the evidence, the
standard to be used by the appellate court is whether
viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the
prosecution, any rational trier of fact could have found the
defendant guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of every
element of the crime charged. Jackson v. Virginia, 443
U.S. 307, 99 S.Ct. 2781, 61 L.Ed.2d 560 (1979); State
v. Mussall, 523 So.2d 1305 (La.1988); State v. DiLosa,
529 So.2d 14 (La.App. Sth Cir. 1988), writ denied, 538
So.2d 1010 (La.1989). When circumstantial evidence is
used to prove the commission of an offense LSA-R.S.
15:438 provides: “The rule as to circumstantial evidence
is: assuming every fact to be proved that the evidence
tends to prove, in order to convict, it must exclude every
reasonable hypothesis of innocence." This is not a purely
separate test from the Jackson standard to be applied
instead of a sufficiency of the evidence test whenever
circumstantial evidence forms the basis for the con-

10

|

viction. State v. Porretto, 468 So.2d 1142 (La.1985).
LSA-R.S. 15:438 may not establish a stricter standard of
review than the more general reasonable juror reasonab-
le doubt formula, but emphasized the need for careful
observance of the usual standard and provides a helpful
methodology for its implementation in cases which hinge
on the evaluation of circumstantial evidence. State v.
Captville, 448 So.2d 676 (La.1984). Ultimately, all
evidence both direct and circumstantial must be sufficient
under Jackson to satisfy a rational trier of fact that the
defendant is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. State v.
Porretto, supra.

Both defendants contend that the evidence did not
exclude every reasonable hypothesis of innocence.
Fontanille further contends that there was no evidence to
suggest that he had the requisite specific intent to kill Janet
Myers.

[9] The evidence adduced at trial established that Janet
Myers’ body was discovered in the living room of 2232
Litchwood Lane, Harvey, Louisiana, the Myers’ resi-
dence, at approximately 1:50 a.m. on February 24, 1984
when the ambulance service and the police arrived in
response to Kerry Myers’ call. At that time there were
indications of rigor mortis, a sign of death. The cause of
death was lacerations’ from a blunt force injury inflicted
on the night and early morning of February 23-24, 1984.
A baseball bat encrusted with blood was discovered in the
residence. Both defendants were at the residence on the
night of the murder and at times Fontanille was in posses-
sion of the bat. Also, Fontanille had parked his car down

* Janet received eight or more head injuries.

1]

ee ew eee

the block.

Carol Weed, an expert in the fields of forensic biology
and blood typing, testified that Janet Myers and Ryan
Myers were type "A", Fontanille was type "B", and
Kerry Myers was type "O". Dr. Lee, an expert in the
fields of serology, bloodspatter analysis, crime scene
reconstruction and forensic science, testified that Fon-
tanille’s clothes had medium velocity bloodspatter’ con-
taining type "A" blood thereby indicating that he was near
a type "A" blood source and Fontanille’s sweater had two
head hairs with microscopic characteristics similar to Janet
Myers’ head hairs. He explained the difference between
bloodspatter which results from blood escaping a body
and blood transfer spots which may come from simple
contact with previously spilled blood. He further testified
that Myers’ pants and shoes were spotted with type "A"
blood and his left shoe had medium velocity bloodspatter
containing type "A" blood thereby indicating that he was
near a type "A" blood source and was splattered with the
blood as it escaped the body.

[10]{11] The severity of the attack on Janet Myers, in
which she was_ bludgeoned to death with a baseball bat,
indicates that the defendant had the specific intent to kill or
to inflict great bodily harm when he struck her. See State
v. Richard, 525 So.2d 1097 (La.App. Sth Cir.1988), writ

$s

Bloodspatter results when blood escapes from the
body and is deposited on the surroundings. The bloods-
patter does not travel horizontally unless an external force
"is supplied into the blood". This force would then cause
an impact spatter. The rate of the velocity of the impact
spatter i.e., low, medium or high, would depend on the
amount of the force supplied into the blood.

12

denied, 538 So.2d 609 (La.1989). Further, the fact that
both defendants were present when the victim was mur-
dered and both had splatters of blood on their clothing
which matched the victim’s could allow a rational trier of
fact to find that both defendants were guilty, either by
actually committing the offense or by acting as a principal
to the offense. The appellate court’s primary function is
not to redetermine a defendant’s guilt or innocence in
accordance with its appreciation of the facts and credibil-
ity of the witnesses. Rather, its function is to review the
evidence in the light most favorable to the prosecution
and determine whether there is sufficient evidence to
support the verdict. State v. Burrew, 565 So.2d 972,
977 (La.App. Sth Cir.1990). From the totality of the
evidence submitted by the prosecution, a rational trier of
fact could have found that each defendant was either
guilty of second degree murder or a principal to it.
These assignments lack merit.
FONTANILLE’S ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR
[12] By his first assignment of error Fontanille asserts
—_ that the trial court erred when it failed to quash the
second degree murder indictment. Fontanille argues that
the state failed to bring him to trial timely. His argument
is twofold. Initially, he argues that the time limitations
for commencement of trial had expired pursuant to LSA-
C.Cr.P. art. 578. That issue was presented to this court
previously in State v. Myers, 89-K-719 (La.App. 5th
Cir.1989); writ den. 556 So.2d 1277 (La.1990). It was
determined at that time that the trial court was not in
error in its denial of the motion to quash. In accordance
with State v. Fontenot, 550 So.2d 179 (La.1989) we have
again considered the merits and find nothing in the record
to justify reaching a different conclusion.

13

[13][14][15] Fontanille also contends that he was denied
his constitutional right to a speedy trial. The right to a
Speedy trial is guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment to the
United States Constitution and by Article 1 Section 16 of
the Louisiana Constitution. The right attaches when an
individual becomes an accused by formal indictment or by
bill of information, or by arrest and actual restraint.
United States v. Marion, 404 U.S. 307, 92 S.Ct. 455, 30
L.Ed.2d 468 (1971); State v. Sweeney, 443 So.2d 522,
526 (La.1983). Four factors must be considered in
determining whether a defendant has been deprived of his
right to a speedy trial: (1) the length of the delay; (2)
the reason for the delay; (3) the defendant’s assertion of
his right; and (4) prejudice to the defendant. Barker v.
Wingo, 407 U.S. 514, 92 S.Ct. 2182, 33 L.Ed.2d 101
(1972). The initial inquiry is into the length of the delay;
if the delay is presumptively prejudicial, there will be an
inquiry into the other factors. The length of the delay
that will provoke such an inquiry is dependent upon the
peculiar circumstances of the case. State v. Sweeney,
supra, at 526.

[16] The first trial was held in October and November of
1986 and resulted in a hung jury. Following the mistrial
defendant was charged with second degree murder on Oc-
tober 8, 1987 and trial commenced on March 26, 1990.
The delay between defendant’s second indictment and trial
was approximately twenty-nine months. Because we
consider the overall delay between the time of defendant’s
arrest to the second trial to be presumptively prejudicial,
we will conduct an inquiry into the other factors men-
tioned above. [17] It is true that the defendant has
continuously asserted his right to a speedy trial in that he
began filing motions after the original indictment and has

14

never sought a continuance. But, the reason for the initial
delay is that a mistrial was declared in the first trial
thereby necessitating a second trial. Since the second
indictment defendant has filed numerous pre-trial motions
in addition to the motions filed by co-defendant. Also
defendant’s writ application in this Court from the denial
of the motion to quash upset the November 6, 1989 trial
date thus causing further delay. The final factor to
consider is whether the delay resulted in prejudice to
defendant. Barker notes that prejudice to the defendant
must be considered in light of the interest the speedy trial
right was designed to protect: (1) to prevent oppressive
pre-trial incarceration; (2) to minimize anxiety and
concern of the accused; and (3) to limit the possibility
that the defense will be impaired. Barker v. Wingo,
supra, 407 U.S. at 532, 92 S.Ct. at 2193. Here, the
defendant may argue that he was prejudiced to some extent
by living under a cloud of suspicion and anxiety; how-
ever, there was no evidence of oppressive pre-trial
incarceration and defendant’s ability to adequately prepare
his defense was not impaired. It cannot be precisely
determined when the right has been violated. Barker v.
Wingo, supra; State v. Foat, 442 So.2d 1146 (La.App.
Sth Cir.1983). Any inquiry into a speedy trial claim
necessitates a functional analysis of the right in the
particular context of the case. Barker v. Wingo, supra;
State v. Foat, supra.

The principles to be considered in an analysis of the
speedy trial right were quoted by this court in State v.
Foat, supra at 1149: In the first place, "[t]he amorphous
quality of the right ... leads to the unsatisfactorily severe
remedy of dismissal of the indictment when the right has
been deprived. This is indeed a serious consequence

15

because it means that a defendant who may be guilty of
a serious crime will go free, without having been tried."
Barker, 407 U.S. 514, 522, 92 S.Ct. 2182, 2188, 33
L.Ed.2d 101; State v. Alfred, 337 So.2d 1049, 1057
(La. 1976). Moreover, overzealous application of this
remedy would infringe "the society’s interest in trying
people accused of crime rather than granting them im-
munization because of legal error...." State v. Alfred, 337
So.2d 1049, 1057 (La.1976), quoting United States v.
Ewell, 383 U.S. 116, 121, 86 S.Ct. 773, 777, 15 L.Ed.-
2d 627 (1966).

After full consideration of all of the relevant factors and
principles as they relate to the circumstances of this case
we find no violation of defendant’s right to a speedy trial.

[18] By his third assignment Fontanille asserts the trial
court erred when it denied his motion to exclude the 911
statement made by Kerry Myers. During the trial the
court admitted into evidence a recording and a transcript
of the emergency telephone call made by Kerry Myers on
the evening of the murder. In admitting the evidence the
court ruled that it was part of the "res gestae." Defen-
dant contends that the "911 statement” is hearsay and does
not fall within the definition of "res gestae" in that the
statement is a narration of events which occurred as much
as ten hours before the call. We disagree. The concept
of “res gestae” has been codified in LSA-C.E. art. 801(D)-
(4) which provides as follows:

D. Statements which are not hearsay. A statement is
not hearsay if: . ; (4) Things said or
done. The statements are events speaking for themselves
under the immediate pressure of the occurrence, through
the instructive, impulsive and spontaneous words and acts
of the participants, and not the words of the participants

16

when narrating the events, and which are necessary
incidents of the criminal act, or immediate concomitants of
it, or form in conjunction with it one continuous transac-
tion. In the instant case Kerry Myers made the call
immediately after Fontanille left his residence. Although
he did disclose details of the evening including implicating
Fontanille as the person who had beaten Janet Myers, this
was in response to the operator’s questions and was more
spontaneous than narrative. Consequently, the emergency
call was part of the "res gestae" and therefore admissible.
See State v. Martin, 562 So.2d 468 (La.App. Sth Cir.
1990) writ den. 566 So.2d 987 (La. 1990).

This assignment lacks merit.

Fontanille’s fourth assignment of error asserts that the
trial court erred when it allowed the prosecutor to elicit
exculpatory material from two fact witnesses who had not
previously been disclosed to the defendant. The de-
fendant argues that two witnesses, Patricia Murphy and
Ernest Barrow, gave testimony which implicated Myers
and was favorable to Fontanille. He further contends that
this evidence was material, exculpatory evidence not
disclosed to Fontanille prior to their taking the stand.
The first witness, Patricia Murphy, an emergency medical
technician who treated Ryan Myers at the scene, testified
that defendant, Kerry Myers, inquired about the child’s
condition and commented "Damn him ... they did this to
my child." Later while in the emergency room at West
Jefferson Hospital Ms. Murphy heard Myers say, "Damn
him and her I found my neighbor and my wife in bed
together." However, on cross-examination Ms. Murphy
clarified her previous testimony by stating that Kerry
Myers said that he "came home and found them
together."

17

At trial the defense argued that this testimony indicated
someone other than Fontanille and Myers, some
"neighbor," was at the scene when Kerry Myers came
home. The judge allowed Fontanille’s defense counsel to
cross-examine Ms. Murphy in the presence of the jury.
During that examination the witness read her previous
testimony concerning the neighbor to the jury and clarif-
ied her testimony.

The second witness, Ernest Barrow, an attorney, testified
that he met with Janet Myers approximately two months
before her murder. The victim sought Mr. Barrow’s
advice and counsel on the legal consequences of separation
such as child support, alimony and community property.
[19][20}][21] Upon a defense request, the state must dis-
close evidence that is favorable to the defendant when it
is material to guilt or punishment. Brady v. Maryland,
373 U.S. 83, 83 S.Ct. 1194, 10 L.Ed.2d 215 (1963).
Evidence favorable to the defendant includes both
exculpatory and impeachment evidence. United States v.
Bagley, 473 U.S. 667, 105 S.Ct. 3375, 87 L.Ed.2d 481
(1985). Neutral evidence does not fall into this category.
State v. Heath, 513 So.2d 493 (La.App. 2nd Cir.1987);
writ den. 519 So.2d 141 (La.1988). The standard for
determination of the materiality of evidence was set forth
in United States v. Bagley, supra, as follows:

The evidence is material only if there is a reasonable
probability that, had the evidence been disclosed to the
defense, the result of the proceeding would have been
different. A “reasonable probability" is a probability
sufficient to undermine confidence in the outcome. 105
S.Ct. at 3383. The mere possibility that evidence
undisclosed prior to trial may have been helpful to the
defense does not establish "materiality;" the reasonable

18

probability of a different outcome is required. United
States v. Bagley, supra; State v. Dietrich, 567 So.2d 623
(La.App. Ist Cir.1990). [22] It is clear that evidence
offered by Mr. Barrow that Janet Myers sought legal
advice about child support, alimony and community
property is neutral evidence not included in the state’s
responsibility of disclosure. [23] Ms. Murphy’s original
testimony regarding Kerry Myers’ statement that he found
a "neighbor" with his wife could have been exculpatory to
Fontanille. However, because the jury heard that
testimony and the cross-examination, we do_ not believe
the defendant was prejudiced by this lack of disclosure.
Even if this testimony was exculpatory and material in a
constitutional sense, the failure of the state to disclose it
will not constitute reversible error absent actual prejudice
to the defendant. State v. Booth, 448 So.2d 1363 (La.
App. 2nd Cir.1984); State v. Heath, supra.

This assignment is without merit.

In his fifth assignment of error Fontanille contends the
trial court erred when it failed to exclude the prior
testimony of Kerry Myers. At the trial of this matter
Kerry Myers was called as a witness for the prosecution
against Fontanille. Myers invoked his Fifth Amendment
privilege against self- incrimination and refused to testify.
The state sought to introduce a transcript of Myers’
testimony against Fontanille at the first trial in which Fon-
tanille was the only defendant and Myers was the main
Prosecution witness. After finding Myers “unavailable” as
a witness the trial court admitted the testimony.

Fontanille contends that was error since it denied him the
right to cross- examine a witness against him. Fontanille
complains that he was unable to cross-examine Myers on
new physical and scientific evidence developed since the

19

first trial and on testimony elicited from witnesses at the
present trial.

[24][25}][26] A defendant has a constitutional right to
confront witnesses offering testimony against him. An
admission of an out of court statement by an unavailable
witness does not offend confrontation rights if a good faith
effort to produce the witness was made and the statements
to be admitted have sufficient indicia of reliability. Ohio
v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S.Ct. 2531, 65 L.Ed.2d
597 (1980). If the evidence falls within a firmly rooted
hearsay exception, reliability can be inferred. Ohio v.
Roberts, supra. Article 804 A(1) of the Code of Evidence
provides that a witness who "is exempted by ruling of the
court on the ground of privilege from testifying concern-
ing the subject matter of his statement" is unavailable as a
witness for purposes of hearsay exceptions. We recognize
that in criminal matters hearsay evidence offered against
an accused by an "unavailable" witness raises constitu-
tional issues not contained in civil matters. Nonetheless,
we find that the interpretation of Article 804 A(1) to
include witnesses who invoke the Fifth Amendment
privilege against self-incrimination is consistent with
Louisiana jurisprudence. See State v. Dotch, 298 So.2d
742 (La. 1974), cert. denied, Dotch v. Louisiana, 420
U.S. 976, 95 S.Ct. 1401, 43 L.Ed.2d 657 (1975). We
find no error in the triai court’s determination that Kerry
Myers was unavailable to testify.

[27] Furthermore, since there was an adequate
opportunity to cross-examine Myers at the previous trial
and defense counsel availed himself of that opportunity by
conducting an extensive cross-examination, the testimony
bore -sufficient "indicia of reliability" and afforded the
trier of fact a satisfactory basis for evaluating the truth

20

of the prior testimony. Therefore, defendant’s rights to
confrontation and cross-examination were not violated by
the admission of the prior testimony. This assignment
lacks merit.

MYERS’ ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR

In his second assignment of error Myers contends the
trial court erred in admitting statements inculpatory to him
which were made by his co-defendant, Fontanille.

At trial Officer Taylor testified that he was present when
Officer Adams took an oral statement from Fontanille in
the emergency room of Jo Ellen Smith Hospital. During
the statement Fontanille stated that Myers revealed that he
was going to tell the police that they had talked about
killing each other’s wives, but Myers did not think Fon-
tanille would go through with it. Defense counsel ob-
jected to the testimony because "that portion of the
statement that [sic] has been ruled to be inadmissible as
part of the conspiracy," but the trial court overruled the
objection after noting that it would be inadmissible if
there were conspiracy charges. [28] Defendant contends
that the oral statement of Fontanille was admitted contrary
to Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct. 1620,
20 L.Ed.2d 476 (1968). In Bruton the United States
Supreme Court held that the admission of a statement of
a co-defendant which implicates the other co-defendant
violates the implicated co-defendant’s right of
confrontation, where the co- defendant making the
statement does not take the stand. However, the Bruton
rule does not apply in a bench trial because it is presumed
that the judge is capable of applying the rule of limited
admissibility and will consider the proffered statement
with respect to the confessor’s guilt alone. State v. Ruiz,
437 So.2d 330 (La.App. 2nd Cir.1983) writ denied 440

21

~~

So.2d 763 (La.1983).

Myers concedes the point that Bruton is inapplicable in
a bench trial, but argues that in this matter the trial judge
admitted the evidence against Myers and was unable to
compartmentalize the evidence presented by the state. We
have reviewed the record and do not find that argument
persuasive. [29] In his fourth assignment of error Myers
asserts the trial court erred in denying his motion for new
trial. At a hearing on the motion for new trial Dr.
LaMartina testified that he treated Kerry Myers upon his
arrival at the emergency room of West Jefferson Hospital.
Myers had a broken forearm and some lacerations of his
head. The blood was cleaned off of Myers with a large
wet towel before and after the wounds were repaired
while his clothes were on thereby accounting for the
water in his head and shoulders area. He attended to
Myers for approximately thirty minutes. Myers, who was
in a state of severe mental suffering and agony, was
relating what had happened. On cross-examination Dr.
LaMartina admitted he had no independent recollection of
Myers being cleaned up. But it was normal procedure for
someone, probably an aide, to clean the patient up before
treatment. He further testified that because Myers was not
in control of his emotional state "there’s no way he could
have been lying to me." Although his name was on the
emergency record, Dr. LaMartina was not contacted by
Myers’ counsel. It was Dr. LaMartina who contacted
Myers’ attorney after the trial. Defendant contends that
this testimony negates the prosecution’s claims that he
attempted to conceal his involvement in the murder by
cleaning his shirt and that his statement was conceived by
Myers and Fontanille after they murdered Janet.

LSA-C.Cr.P. art. 851 provides, in pertinent part: The

oy)
a

motion for a new trial is based on the supposition that
injustice has been done the defendant, and, unless such is
shown to have been the case the motion shall be denied,
no matter upon what allegations it is grounded. The
court, on motion of the defendant, shall grant a new trial
whenever. a

(3) New and material evidence that, notwithstanding the
exercise of reasonable diligence by the defendant, was not
discovered before or during the trial, is available, and if
the evidence had been introduced at the trial it would
probably have changed the verdict or judgment of guilty;
LSA-C.Cr.P. art. 851 contains four generally recognized
requisites for a new trial motion based on newly
discovered evidence: (1) the evidence must have been
discovered since the trial; (2) failure to learn of the
evidence at the time of trial must not be due to
defendant’s lack of diligence; (3) it must be material to
the issues at the trial; and (4) it must be of such a nature
that it would probably produce an acquittal in the event of
retrial. State v. Prudholm, 446 So.2d 729 (La. 1984);
State v. Talbot, 408 So.2d 861 (La.1981) (on rehearing).

The trial judge’s application of these precepts to newly
discovered evidence is entitled to great weight, and his
denial of a motion will not be disturbed on appeal absent
a clear abuse of that discretion, State v. Prudholm, supra;
State v. Clayton, 427 So.2d 827 (La.1982): (on
rehearing); State v. Talbot, supra.

In denying the motion for new trial the court stated the
following reasons: Well the Court finds first, that the
defendant has failed to make a showing that the evidence
that was introduced today could not have been obtained
with diligent effort prior to, or during the trial. This is
a doctor who was the emergency room treating physician.

23

The statements that were made to him were made by Mr.
Myers. He certainly knew of the existence of those
statements that he made to the doctor. The doctor has
been in the same place since 1980. His name is on the
medical records. His name was available to the defendant,
the defendant knew of the character of the statements that
he had made, and he could have had the doctor here to
testify at trial if he had so desired. | The Court further
finds that the testimony probably would not have changed
the judgment of guilt, and so for that reason the Motion
for a New Trial is denied.

[30] We find no abuse of the trial court’s discretion in
the denial of Myers’ motion for new trial. A treating
physician whose name appears on the emergency room
record is a witness who could have been found with due
diligence. Even assuming arguendo that the evidence
could not have been discovered by due diligence, the new
testimony would not have changed the verdict. It does not
refute the fact that Myers was at the residence at the time
of the murder and was splattered with blood that matched
the victim’s. This assignment lacks merit.

In his fifth assignment of error the defendant argues that
the trial court erred in denying his motion to continue the
trial. [31] Trial counsel for Myers filed a motion to
continue the trial asserting that he was involved in
litigation concerning his wife and was unprepared to go to
trial. Myers contends he was prejudiced by the denial of
the motion to continue in several ways. Specifically, his
trial counsel failed to call Dr. LaMartina as a defense
witness; he stipulated to the admissibility of Fontanille’s
statements, which were inculpatory to Myers; he failed to
object to the failure to sever; failed to timely move for
a mistrial when Myers was called to the stand, and;

24

failed to move for an acquittal after the co- defendant
presented his case.

The granting or denying of a motion for a continuance is
discretionary. LSA- C.Cr.P. art. 712. A denial of a
motion for continuance is not grounds for reversal absent
an abuse of discretion and a showing of specific prejudice.
State v. Benoit, 440 So.2d 129 (La.1983). Most of these
issues were assigned as errors in this appeal, were
considered on their merit, and found lacking.

Furthermore, defense counsel had ample time to prepare
for trial. The defendant had retained defense counsel
since December 1987 and counsel filed numerous pre-
trial motions. The trial was originally set for November
6, 1989; however, a stay order issued November 3, 1989
by this Court prevented the trial from proceeding as
scheduled. The trial was subsequently set for March 26,
1990; therefore, defense counsel had an additional five
months to prepare for the trial.

Considering that the defendant was not prejudiced by the
denial and that the defendant had adequate time to
prepare, the trial court did not abuse its discretion.

This assignment lacks merit.

[32] Myers’ final assignment of error asserts the trial
court erred in admitting hearsay statements, reportedly
made by the victim, introduced to prove motive.

At trial the state called Ernest Barrow, an attorney, who
testified that Janet met with him approximately two
months before her murder and sought advice regarding
child support, alimony and community property. Defense
counsel objected to the testimony on the basis that it
would violate the attorney- client privilege. On appeal
defendant contends that the testimony was hearsay
evidence of motive and therefore inadmissible under the

jurisprudence. It is well established that a defendant is
limited to the grounds for objection articulated at trial; a
new basis for objection, albeit meritorious, cannot be
raised for the first time on appeal. LSA-C.Cr.P. art. 841;
State v. Clayton, supra (on rehearing), State v. Guidroz,
498 So.2d 108 (La.App. 5th Cir.1986). Consequently,
the defendant cannot now on appeal complain about
hearsay evidence of motive since he failed to urge that
ground for his objection at trial.

This assignment lacks merit.

The convictions and sentences of both defendants are
affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

26

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0352%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
