# Reply Brief — Rich v. Action S. A.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0305%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 1006

## Text

oupreme LOUM, V.o.

rita ££ DO
&
© APR 14 3999
No. 91-1435
ween nk
eeTe~s een oe arena canenettidipiil
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBerR TERM, 1991

MARC RICH,
Petitioner,
VS.
ACTION S.A. and DELTAMAR ESTABLISHMENT,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ANDREW L. DEUTSCH

Counsel of Record

Caro. M. FISCHER

Rosert A. MEISTER

MILGRIM THOMAJAN & LEE P.C.
53 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 858-5300

Attorneys for Petitioner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Court has Already Definitively
Construed 6 USC. S$U4GMe) 2... wc ccc ence. l

Terrazas and Richards Are Not
Distinguishable on Their Facts ................... 4

The Court Should Review the
"APE CMO COMOMRIOR www cc seces 6

EEE OAS FN POL ee, Ee 7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

American Hospital Ass'n v. N.L.RB.,
129 S. Cy OBS Ce nae ccs eee ee ee 3

Ardestani v. I.N.S.,
Lid S. Gh. SEF CD ooo 4 eee ees 2

Astoria Federal Savings and Loan Ass'n v. Solimino,
221 S. Ce. SOR CEP E) a cacdee eons ee rekeweansss 3

Bender v. Williamsport Area School Dist.,
473 US. SP0 CU 4 kc cep dk eae eee ss bbe tee we 5 6

Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico,
S50 US. 065 CUR vn kin be a ee ee kes 6

Dewsnup v. Timm,
eee So 7). eee ed eer arr 3

Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

603 US: SEI oie eee 3
Edsell v. Mark,
179 F. 292 (9th Cir. 1910)... 0.0... cece eee eee eee. 5

Federal Power Commission v. Sunray DX Oil Co.,
oP) Was OCR 65 cnee asco ese AACR he eee aes 6

Freytag v. CLR,
RUS Ge. Bee Cae ee 6 kk x cece wee ake ReGen ss 2

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Gainesville v. Brown-Crummer Investment Co.,

ols ova ey X04 a oo wale kh arto 6
Glidden Company v. Zdanok,

ee sad 6 5 6-6 4 wis sn ewne ve oe ees 6
Hilton v. South Carolina Public Railways Com’n,
eR rn eer 3
Holmes v. Securities Investor Protection Corp.,

60 U.S.L.W. 4225 (U.S. Mar. 24, 1992) ............... 2
Jenkins v. Georgia,

I ES sce ce bac na eee snceenseeeees 6
Kahane v. Schultz,

653 F. Supp. 1486 (E.D.N.Y. 1987) .................. 5
King v. St. Vincent’s Hospital,

a ok a bce eas eww eaessenene ne 2
Lake Country Estates, Inc. v.

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency,
a 6

Mansfield, C. & L. M. R. Co. v. Swan,
kk hn ee eee wenenesseccas 6

Murarka v. Bachrack Bros, Inc.,
Oe Wee ee CO Gs TUE) oc ccc ccecsccuca 3

lle

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Nishikawa v. Dulles,
356 US. 129 (1958) 0... cece e eee cree ee eee eee 2

Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,
491 USS. 164 (1989) ..... 6. ee eee eee eee eee eens 3

Philbrook v. Glodgett,
421 US. 707 (1975) .. 2.0 e wcrc cece cece eee cces 2

Raley v. Ohio,
a so. ca caw pote ssn enaeea cess 6

Richards v. Secretary of State,
752 F.2d 1413 (9th Cir. 1985) ........--- eee eee ee

Runyon v. McCrary,
427 US. 160 (1976)... 0 ccc cece cece eee eeeenes 3

Terrazas v. Haig,
653 F.2d 285 (7th Cir. 1981) .... 2.2.2 ee ee eee eee 1,4

Terrazas v. Vance,
577 F.2d 7 (7th Cir. 1978) .....- eee eee eee eens 4

Thurston Motor Lines, Inc. v.
Jordan K. Rand, Lid,
460 U.S. 533 (1983)... ccc ccc cee eee ee reces 2

Tiobb v. Radloff,
Se ee vik cure eh eek eee eee 2

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Vance v. Terrazas,
SOF UD, Be CAPO 6 sc evkcanrectsuuateneuews passim

Statutes, Codes and Regulations:

8 U.S.C. §1481(c) (1982) 2.0... eee eee ee eee. passim

Respondents avoid most of the arguments which
the Petition advances. Rather, through a series of
misstatements of the law and the record facts, they seek to
divert the Court’s attention from the untenable reasoning of
the court of appeals. Petitioner responds briefly to correct
those misstatements.

Respondents wrongly argue that this is a “fact-
intensive” case presenting no issue worthy of review. (Opp.
Br. 3).* In truth, the case presents purely legal questions of
broad applicability. The decision below conflicts with this
Court’s decision in Vance v. Terrazas, 444 U.S. 252 (1980)
("Terrazas") that Congress intended former 8 U.S.C. §1481(c)
only to prescribe the burden borne by the Government in
expatriation proceedings. The ruling conflicts equally sharply
with the rulings of the Seventh Circuit in Terrazas v. Haig,
653 F.2d 285 (7th Cir. 1981) and the Ninth Circuit in
Richards v. Secretary of State, 752 F.2d 1413 (9th Cir. 1985)
that an oath of renunciation, given at the time of an
expatriating act, establishes the "intent to expatriate"
requirement of Terrazas. These conflicts present compelling
reasons for review by this Court.

The Court has Already Definitively
Construed 8 U.S.C. §1481(c)

Respondents claim that the Court should not
review the Second Circuit’s application of §1481(c) to
diversity disputes. They argue that the ruling below was
justified under the "plain language" doctrine of statutory
interpretation. (Opp. Br. 7). Respondents entirely miss the
point. The purpose of this Court’s statutory interpretation is

Hs References to “Pet.” are to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.
References to “Opp. Br.” are to Respondents’ Brief in Opposition.
References to “A. ”* are to the Joint Appenda filed in the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

’

"to ascertain the congressional intent and give effect to the
legislative will" behind a statute. Philbrook v. Glodgett, 421
US. 707, 713 (1975). The plain language doctrine comes
into play only where this Court has never before interpreted
Congress’s intent in enacting a particular federal statute.
But the Court authoritatively determined the congressional
intent behind §1481(c) in Terrazas, more than a decade ago.
It found Congress’s "evident aim" in enacting §1481(c) to be
alteration of the holding in Nishikawa v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 129
(1958), that in expatriation proceedings the Government
bears the burden of proof by clear and convincing evidence.
444 US. at 264 n.8.

The Second Circuit ignored Terrazas’ clear
holding that $1481(c) was intended to affect only
expatriation proceedings. It extended the statute’s scope to a
field Congress did not intend to reach: diversity jurisdiction.
Thus, the guiding jurisprudential principle here is not "plain
language" but the obligation of lower federal courts to follow
this Court’s precedential interpretation of a federal statute.
See, e.g., Thurston Motor Lines, Inc. v. Jordan K. Rand, Ltd.,
460 U.S. 533, 535 (1983).*

“ Respondents also misstate the Court’s approach to Statutory
interpretation. Less than a month ago, the Court held that when it is
unlikely that Congress intended a statute to be applied literally, because
doing so would upset a long-established judicial principle, “the key to the
better interpretation” lies in reviewing the statute's legislative history.
Holmes v. Securities Investor Protection Corp., 60 U.S.L.W. 4225, 4227-8 (U.S.
Mar. 24, 1992). In Terrazas itself, the Court's interpretation of §1481(c)
rested on the clear statement of congressional intent contained in the House

Report.

As the Court recently explained in Ardestani v. ILN.S., 112 S. Ct. 515,
520 (1991), interpretation of a statute from "plain language” is rejected
“when a contrary legislative intent is clearly expressed,” as it is in this case.
Even in cases where the statutory language has been allegedly clear, this
Court has consulted legislative histories on numerous occasions to confirm
whether Congress in fact accurately reflected its intent in its words. Most
recently, see, ¢.g., King v. St. Vincent's Hospital, 112 S. Ct. 570, 575 n.14

(continued...)

Congress said nothing in the House Report in
any way suggesting that $1481(c) was intended to affect the
settled rule of Murarka v. Bachrack Bros, Inc., 215 F.2d 547
(2d Cir. 1954), under which an individual is deemed a citizen
of a foreign state for diversity purposes if so regarded by
that state. This failure to speak is most significant, for this
Court presumes that Congress does not intend a new statute
to change a long-standing rule of law if "the reports and
debates leading up to the [statute in question] contain not a
word of this concept. This silence is most eloquent, for such
reticence while contemplating an important and controversial
change in existing law is unlikely.". Edmonds v. Compagnie
Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256, 266-67 (1979). See
also Dewsnup v. Timm, 112 S. Ct. 773, 777 (1992) (where
nothing in legislative history indicated Congress intended a
change in prio: law, no such intention inferred); American
Hospital Ass'n v. N.L.R.B., 111 S. Ct. 1539, 1544 (1991)
(same). Respondents argue to the contrary (Opp. Br. 7-8),
but, not surprisingly, cite no authorities in support.

There should be no deviation from "the well-
settled principles of stare decisis applicable to this Court’s
construction of federal statutes," Runyon v. McCrary, 427
U.S. 160, 175 (1976); accord, Patterson v. McLean Credit
Union, 491 U.S. 164, 172-73 (1989) ("Considerations of stare
decisis have special force in the area of statutory
interpretation...."). See also Hilton v. South Carolina Public
Railways Com’n, 112 S.Ct. 560, 563-64 (1991). The Court
should thus review the decision beiow, which ignored both
Terrazas’ controlling interpretation of §1481(c) and the

*(...continued) |
(1991); Freytag v. CLR, 111 S. Ct. 2631, 2636 (1991); Tiobb v. Radloff, 111
S. Ct. 2197, 2200 (1991); Astoria Federal Savings and Loan Ass'n v. Solimino,
111 S. Ct. 2166, 2172 (1991).

principle that a statute will not be interpreted to repeal long-
standing rules of decision unless Congress makes clear its
intention to do so.

Terrazas and Richards Are Not
Distinguishable on Their Facts

The Court should also reach the purely legal
question of whether the Second Circuit’s opinion should
stand in light of the contrary rulings by the Seventh Circuit
in Terrazas v. Haig and the Ninth Circuit in Richards.
Respondents contend that Terrazas v. Haig and Richards are
factually distinguishable in that the individuals there did not
invoke a claim to United States citizenship after their
expatriating acts. (Opp. Br. 9-10). In fact, after Terrazas
swore an oath renouncing U.S. citizenship, he made two
statements that he did not intend to relinquish his rights as
an American citizen in taking Mexican nationality; these
assertions were given no weight in view of his explicit
renunciation of U.S. citizenship at the time of taking
Mexican nationality. See Terrazas v. Vance, 577 F.2d 7,9
(7th Cir. 1978); Terrazas, supra, 444 U.S. at 256
("[P]roceedings were instituted to determine whether
appellee had lost his citizenship by obtaining the certificate
of Mexican nationality. Appellee denied that he had....").
The Ninth Circuit also found that Richards’ oath of
renunciation of U.S. citizenship when he became a Canadian
citizen trumped his post hoc assertions that he did not have
the required specific intent. 752 F.2d at 1420-22.

Richards and Terrazas v. Haig undercut
respondents’ attempted fact distinction in another manner.
They emphasize that the relevant statements of renunciatory
intent are those made by the party at the time of his
expatriating acts. Richards, 752 F.2d 1413, 1420 n.5; Terrazas
v. Haig, supra, 653 F.2d at 288 (*[C]ircumstantial evidence

surrounding the commission of a voluntary act of
expatriation may establish the requisite intent to relinquish
citizenship"). See also Kahane v. Schultz, 653 F. Supp. 1486,
1493 (E.D.N.Y. 1987) (relevant evidence of intent is "the
conduct closest in time to the act"). In contrast -- and
further showing a true conflict between circuits -- the Second
Circuit ignored Mr. Rich’s unambiguous sworn declaration,
contemporaneous with his Spanish naturalization, that he
was renouncing his "USA nationality" (Pet. 76a), and
credited only evidence allegedly arising from nine months to
more than two years after his naturalization.*

ns Respondents’ brief grossly mischaracterizes much of the “evidence” of
petitioner’s intent in the record. There was no finding or evidence that Mr.
Rich took Spanish citizenship in 1982 to facilitiate flight from an anticipated
indictment. Cf Opp. Br. 6. The district court flatly refused to draw such an
inference from the facts when respondents’ counsel requested it. (A. 1489-
90). The argument is, moreover, irrelevant: “an alleged expatriate’s ‘specific
intent’ to renounce his citizenship does not turn on his motivation.”
Richards, supra, 7S2 F.2d at 1422.

Respondents’ claim that “Rich held himself out to the business
community in Switzerland by listing himself as such in the Commercial
Register of Zug” (Opp. Br. 6) conflicts with the district court’s conclusion
that Mr. Rich himself had no role in entering or updating entries in the
Register and that the Register was therefore not significant evidence on the
question of his intent to expatriate. (Pet. 23a).

The assertion that Rich claimed to be a United States citizen in Swiss
litigation in May 1983 (Opp. Br. 6-7) — while having no bearing on his intent
in August 1982, the important date — again distorts the record. Mr. Rich's
Swiss lawyer gave sworn evidence that Ae drafted the statement in reliance
on the entry in the Zug Commercial Register, and did not review the
representation with Mr. Rich before filing the complaint. (A. 1188).
Respondents never contradicted this evidence.

Finally, respondents’ assertion that Mr. Rich “claimed US. citizenship”
by alleged use of a U.S. passport (Opp. Br. 6-7) is simply wrong. Ar the
relevant time, issuance of a passport by the Department of State was not
evidence that the bearer was a citizen of the United States, Edsel! v. Mark,
179 F. 292, 293 (%h Cir. 1910). By the same token, travelling on a US.
passport was not then equivalent to a “claim” of US. atizenship.

a

The Court Should Review the "Dual Citizenship" Question

Respondents do not address the remaining legal
question -- how is a dual citizen to be treated in diversity
disputes -- except to argue that this Court should not decide
it because it was allegedly not raised below by petitioner.
(Opp. Br. 8-9). But that question was unequivocally reached
and decided by the court of appeals. (Pet. 5a-6a). Thus,
regardless of whether petitioner advanced the argument
below, that question is properly before this Court for review.
Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico, 490 U.S. 163, 176 n.11
(1989); Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153, 157 (1974); Federal
Power Commission v. Sunray DX Oil Co., 391 U.S. 9, 49 n.45
(1968); Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423, 436 (1959).

Assuming arguendo that the court of appeals had
never ruled on this issue, it would still be properly raised on
this appeal due to the fundamental importance of federal
subject matter jurisdiction. As this Court has held,
"[w)hether diversity of citizenship exists may be questioned in
direct review for the first time in this Court." Glidden
Company v. Zdanok, 370 U.S. 530, 537 (1962). See also
Gainesville v. Brown-Crummer Investment Co., 277 U.S. 54, 59
(1928); Mansfield, C. & L. M. R. Co. v. Swan, 111 US. 379,
382 (1884). In fact, questions concerning the lack of subject
matter jurisdiction are so important that they may be raised
by the Court itself even if none of the parties below has
previously raised the issue. Bender v. Williamsport Area
School Dist., 475 U.S. 534, 541 (1986); Lake Country Estates,
Inc. v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 440 U.S. 391, 399
(1979).

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above and in the Petition,
a writ of certiorari should issue to review the judgment of
the court of appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW L. DEUTSCH
53 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005
(212) 858-5300

Counsel of Record and

Attomey for Petitioner
Marc Rich

Of Counsel:

MILGRIM THOMAJAN & LEE P.C.
Carol M. Fischer
Robert A. Meister

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0305%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
