# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Boyd v. Ford Motor Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0145%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 939

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

P1258

No - FI't. ED

In The FEB 3 1992
Supreme Court of the Anited Bates gsc cuz

October Term, 199]

James Boyp and
ELIZABETH Boypb

Peti
\

ForD Moror Company
Rouce STEEL COMPAN)
THE Moror Vesse. M.S. HEeNrR’

On Appeal from the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ALVIN L. LEVINI

Levine, Benjamir

Bratt. Jerris & Steir

1411 South Woodward Av«
Bloomtield Hills, MI 48

January

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

In navigation

|. Whether the condition that a vessel be
1S irequisite factor in determining seaman status pursuant
to the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C S688. in light of this Court's

holding it) VUcDermott ! Wilande } [ 2 _

Ct. SO7T (199]

i] Whether the determinat yn that a vessel was “in may
( | tO} thie Purpose Ot

Jones Act \¢ il il Stilts ‘ 1 atiry\ question O17

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented tor Review
Fable of Contents

Fable of Authoritie

Reference to Opinions Below
Jurisdiction

16 | S .¢( JOA Phe Jouve Act

Court of Appe has decided an imy
question of I leral laa hich ta
hut hould be decided | is iirt
( ned
Append 4 Phe 6th Car t Cpu
Append Ki f 1) ( Mie
(opi

Vi ] yi, roiotft

Vee 8
()/ ore

ytty Con
om ty % €

PABLI

L of
199]
Wilan (
SO7 (1990
Ro
1Q59

Ol

{l

PHORTTIES

jn The
Supreme Court of the Cnited States

October Term. 199]

James Boyp and
EniZABETH Boyp

Pe littoner:

korD Moror Company
Roucr STEEL. COMPANY
THE Moror Vessel. M.S. Henry Forp I]

Re spondents

On Appeal from the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

REFERENCE TO OPINIONS BELOW

Phi opinion of the Court of Appeals below (Appendix \
infra, p. A-| is reported in 948 F2d 283 Phe memorandum
opinion of the District Court below Appr ndix B. infra »

B-1) was not reported

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked following thi
entry of an opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit on November 6, 1991, and pursuant to 25
U.S.C. $1254 (1), Petitioners seek this writ of certiorari

i

16 U.S.C. §688 — THE JONES ACT
S6SS. Recovery for Injury to or Death of Seaman

a) Application of Railway Employee Statutes:
Jurisdiction

]
Any seaman who shall suffer pe rsonal injut

thre course of his employment mav. at his election
mamta an action for damages it law. with thr
right of trial by jurv. andin such action all statute

of the United States moditving or the common

, ’
right or remedy in cases of personal MyuUury tO}
1] cy
Wal lovees sh all apply und in case of death of
I
. , iit . | |
iT} seaman as a result of any SUCT) Personal tyul
+ |

le pe rsonal re presentative ol such seaman n

unital i action for damages uu siaw Ww th t}

} 11

right of trial by yur and in such action. all statute

; ) . ] Pi
t the United States COnTerring rre¢gulating thre
|
right of ction tor ce ith, | thre Case OT TALTIW i\ CTLIP
1} 1 ! ]
( shall bse LP pil ity le | risc t t cl ict
, 1} } +} {4} } ; ; ;
i Le Lael ( urt ( i l I
1¢>T } Tt ¢ ] ) ? é
' I
+? ;

STATEMENT OF THE CASI

Petitioners JAMES and ELIZABETH BOYD apply for cer
tiorari following a decision by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

On March 28, 1990, Mr. and Mrs. BOYD filed a Com
plaint in the district court for the Eastern District of Mich
igan alleging personal injury to JAMES BOYD caused by
negligence on the part of the Respondents FORD MOTOR
COMPANY, ROUGE STEEL COMPANY. and THE MOTOR
VESSEL M.S. HENRY FORD I]

The BOYDS claimed remedies under the Jones Act, 46
Lo. » 688, contending that JAMES BOYD enjoved the

Jones Act’s requisite seaman status on February } 1]. |}9GS87
the date of his injury

Petitioners based their contention on these undispute d
facts: (1) that JAMES BOYD was well into his third decade as
i maritime employee of the Respondents, and (2) that for
thre past three years, Mr. BOYD had enjoved a permanent
issignment to the MOTOR VESSEI, MS HENRY FORD II
is “Chief Engineer AA” as well as “Chief Maintenance Enginee)

Both the district court and the Sixth ( ircuit court of Appe als

relied on the tollowing facts which are not 11) dispute

1) The [2-1] Sv] injury occurred during winter lay

Phare ship Was not sailis y and was in fact CCUTE(

vith special winter lines

The full crew w is not stationed aboard the ship
Only engineers and Persons engage din winter re pal

work were retained during the winter lay up

1) The plaintiff s classification had « hanged from Chiet
Engineer AA to Chief Maintenance Engineer. and his
normal sailing SC ASOT Classific ation had bye Cr) ¢ hanged
to temporary winter work classification

9) The pl untill was engaged in winter Lay Up me bean
] |

cal repair Work at the time of his injury, either prepal

ing the vessel for Winter o1 readying it for thr following

tSQOT)

6) The plaintiff did not sleep aboard the vessel during
the winter lay-up period

(7) The vessel's main engine had been completely “torn
down” and was not in operable condition at the time of

the incident

8S) The vessel had lost her classification with the U.S
Coast Guard, and could not regain it without an inspes

+
LlOT)

Boyd 1 Ford Motor Company, 945 2d 283, 286 (6th ¢
199]

On February 15, 1991, the district court granted sum
mary judgment tor the Defendants ruling that JAMES BOYD

was not a ‘seaman’ for Jones Act purposes

The lower court ruled that Respondent THE MOTOR VESSEI
M.S. HENRY FORD II was not “‘in navigation’ at the time of
Mr. BOYD’s injury, and therefore, he did not enjoy seaman
status. The lower court also ruled that respondent, THI
MOTOR VESSEL M.S. HENRY FORD II was not “in n

gation’ as a matter of law

i

On November 6. 1991. the United States Court of App

for the Sixth Circuit affirmed the lower court’s rulin

The court of appe als held that thre In tavigatiol
prong of the Seaman Status test was still oper ive i |
of its absence in McDermott v. Wilande US

111 S.Ct 807 (1990) and Offshore Co. v. Robison. 266 |

i

(69. 779 (5th Cir. 1959) and that (2) whether a vessel

navigation” mav be properly decided as tL question Of ta

Petitioners JAMES and ELIZABETH BOYD argue that Wilancd:s
ind Robison both do away with the Inaavigation require
ment of the lones Act seaman status test Responde rit
tend that the test still require >that a vessel be “in navigation

Petitioners argue that even if the In navigation require

ment is still a prong in the Wilander/Robison test tor

}
Status, it is purely a jury question ind in the instant «

question of fact remains as to whether the vessel in question
was “in navigation” when the cause of action arose. Respon
dents contend that the In navigation requirement is either

a question of law or a mixed question of law and fact

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT
|. Courts of Appeals in conflict

The Sixth Circuit opinion below is inconsistent with the
Fitth Circuit's test for Jones Act “seaman status” in Offshore

Co v. Robison, 266 F.2d 769. 779 (5th Cir. 1959) which is

|) [I|f there is evidence that the injured workman was
assigned permanently to a vessel or performed a
substantial part of his work on the vessel: and (2) if the
capacity in which he was employed or the duties which
bie performed contributed to the function of the vesse]
or to the accomplishment of its mission, or to the ope!
ation or welfare of the vessel in terms of its mainte
nance during its movement or during anchorage for its
future trips. Robison, 266 F2d 769. 779 (35th Cir

os 1959
While the Fifth Circuit does not mention the “in naviga

tion requirement in the Robison test, the Sixth Circuit

11)

its Opinion below holds that this factor that a vessel be “in

navigation’ in order that an injured worker be a “‘seaman
1S dispositive and may be decided as a matter of law
Phe Sixth Cire uit notes that there IS little in Robison

to suggest an abandonment of the jin

|

navigation: require
ment

Hlowever. the facet that the Fifth Circuit did not include

the “in navigation prong af ll in its test strongly sugvvests
thacat sure I a requiremene ho longer eXISTS

| 1
Phe Jones Act, infamous for its lac

of clarity doe Ss hot

issistin getting at the definition of “seaman Plain logic and

Common sense do not provide ny further insight as to thre

relation hip ay tween vessel statu trict se urebcuny Stave

6

The conflict between the Fifth and the Sixth Circuit is
indicative of a lack of uniformity in understanding just what
seaman status entails.

2. Conflict with the U.S. Supreme Court in Wilander.

a) Is “in navigation” part of the seaman test?

In Wilander, this Court adopted the Fifth Circuit's test
for Jones Act “seaman status” as set forth in Robison, supra.
Wilander, US. 111 S.Ct. SO7, S17. The Sixth
Circuit, in its opinion below, reasoned that because this Court
in Wilander did not specifically handle the “in navigation”
issue, that the requirement is impliedly still a part of the
Jones Aci “seaman status” test. The Appeals Court reasoned,

The Supreme Court in Wilander considered only the
narrow question of whether a person must aid in the
navigation of a vessel of a vessel to be considered a
seaman under the Jones Act. It did not purport to define
a ‘vessel in navigation” or attempt any discussion of the
“in navigation” concept. However, its opinion implies
that the concept is still a viable component of the test
used to determine who is a seaman. Boyd v. Ford Motor
Company, 948 F.2d 283, 288 (6th Cir. 1991)

As noted above, this Court adopted the Robison test in
Wilander. That test for “seaman status” does not include an
“in navigation” prong, however, the Sixth Circuit holds in
the opinion below that Wilander implies such a require
ment.

b) Question of fact or law?

If the “in navigation” requirement does exist by implica-
tion in Wilander, as held by the lower Court of Appeals for
the 6th Circuit, the holdings of Wilander state that the fac-
tors going to determine “seaman status’ are mixed questions
of fact and law. Wilander, U.S. , VD S.Ct. S07,
SIS.

In the opinion from the court below, the “in navigation”

determination may be made as a question of law. The Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals holds that in certain instances, the
Judge may grant Summary Judgment where no reasonable
jury could find the vessel to be “in navigation”. 948 F2d
283, 285 (6th Cir. 1991)

In the absence of a statutory definition of “in navigation’.
there is no clear way of determining Jones Act seaman status.
Is a worker precluded from such status and its benefits merely
because an engine is “torn down” in the winter? A trier of
fact would also be made aware that engines are routinely
“torn down” all year round.

Is a worker precluded from Jones Act remedies merely
because the vessel on which he worked had less than a full
crew and no Coast Guard classification? A trier of fact would
know that the Great Lakes are transitable during the winter
months and that for many motor vessels, “winter lay-up”
means “ready to sail with twenty-four hours notice.”

3. Court of Appeals has decided an important ques-
tion of federal law which has not been, but
should be, decided by this Court.

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals has ruled that in order
for a person to enjoy Jones Act “seaman status’, the vessel
on which the cause of action arose must be “in navigation .
Boyd v. Ford, 948 F.2d 283, 288. In essence, the lower court
of Appeals has added another formal prong to the Robison
test.

This Court in Wilander recognized the importance of estab-
lishing uniformity in the area of maritime litigation. specil-
ically in response to the question, “who are seamen?” Wilander.
at S17. It is this Court, then, which is solely able to deter-
mine when and ifa third, “in navigation” requirement should
be part of the test for “seaman status’’.

This Court, in Wilander, held that the requisites for “seaman
status” are questions of fact. Wilander, at _ If, as the
6th Circuit has held in the opinion below, the “in naviga-
tion” prong is still viable, does this Court's decision in Wilander
indicate that such a requirement be determined at law or by
a jury?

CONCLUSION

Is the “in navigation” requirement still viable in the test
for Jones Act “seaman status”? The Sixth Circuit answers.
“ves.” while the Fifth Circuit and this Court rely on a test
which does not include an “in navigation” requirement.

Moreover, would “in navigation” be a question of law or
fact? The Sixth Circuit indicate that it is a mixed question of
law and fact. This Court has held that the two prongs of the
Robison test are to be determined as questions of fact.

These questions are important to all areas of maritime
commerce. Both maritime workers and their employers rely
upon uniformity in this area of law and commerce, and there
fore, this Honorable Court should grant a Writ of Certiorari
in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

ALVIN L. LEVINE (P16610)
Levine, Benjamin, Tushman,
Bratt, Jerris & Stein, PC.

1411 South Woodward Avenue
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302
Suite 200

(313) 334-1551

Counsel for Petitioners

Prepared by Alvin L. Levine & Adam G. Taub
January 30, 1992

A-1

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL TEXT PUBLICATION
Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 24

No. 91-1285

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

“«

JAMES BOYD and ELIZABETH
BoYD,
Plainsiffs-Appellants,

v. ON APPEAL from the
United States District

FORD MoTor ComPANyY; RouGe | Court for the Eastern

STEEL COMPANY; THE MOTOR District of Michigan

VesseL Ms. HENRY Foro II,
Defendants-Appeilees. |

Decided and Filed November 6, 1991

Before: MILBURN and SUHRHEINRICH, Circuit
Judges; and JORDAN, District Judge’.

MILBURN, Circuit Judge. Pursuant to a stipulation of
the parties which resulted in a voluntary dismissal of ail
remaining claims fotlowing the entry of a partial summary
judgment in favor of the defendants, the district court
entered a final judgment in the case below. Plaintiffs
James and Elizabeth Boyd appeal the partial summary

“Honorable Loon Jordan, United States District Judge for the
Eastern Disinict of Tennessee, sitting by desi gnatioa.

A-2
2 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

judgment in this personal injury action brought under 46
U.S.C. § 688 (“Jones Act") and general manitime law.
The pnincipal issue in this case is whether or not THE
MOTOR VESSEL MS. HENRY FORD II was a vessel in
navigation on February 11, 1987, thereby giving plaintiff
James Boyd the status of a seaman under the Jones Act
when he allegedly fell and injured himself aboard the
vessel. For the reasons that follow, we affirm.

I.
A.

On March 28, 1990, James Boyd and his wife,
a Boyd, filed a complaint in the district court
ing that James Boyd was injured on four occasions
ile employed as a seaman by the defendants, the Ford
saa Company, the Rouge Stee! Company, and THE
MOTOR VESSEL MS. HENRY FORD i n Count I of
their complaint, plaintiffs alleged negligence on the part
of the defendants and ~~. remedies under the Jones
Act. In Count II James Boyd asserted that his injuries
were caused by an unsafe dock and the unseaworthiness of
the defendant vessel. In Count III James Boyd asserted
claims for maintenance and cure with respect to each of
his injunes. Additionally, his wife, Elizabeth Boyd,
presented a claim for loss of consortium.

The first three of the four injures alleged by plaintiff
James Boyd occurred in 1982, 1984, and 1985. Because
these injuries occurred outside the applicable three-year
limitations period, the distnct court granted summary
judgment in favor of the defendants as to all the Jones Act
and unseaworthiness claims.

Plaintiff James Boyd's fourth injury was alleged to have
occurred on February 11, 1987, or within the three-year
limitations period for bringing claims under the Jones Act
and for unseaworthiness. However, upon determining
that the MS. HENRY FORD II was not “in navigation"
on February |1, 1987, the district court granted partial

ee

A-3
No. 91-1285 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. 3

summary judgment on all claims arising out of Mr.
Boyd's alleged injury on that date, including the claim for
maintenance and cure. With respect to the claims for
maintenance and cure based on the alleged injuries in
1982, 1984, and 1985, the district court denied
defendants’ motion for summary judgment but later
dismissed those claims, as earlier stated, on stipulation of
the parties and entered a final judgment.

Plainuffs have not chosen to raise a question concerning
the district court's ruling that the claims arising from
injuries allegedly sustained in 1982, 1984, and 1985 are
time-barred. Accordingly, any issues pertaining to that
ruling are considered abandoned on appeal and thus not
reviewable. See First State Bank v. City and County
Bank, 872 F.2d 707, 719 n.5 (6th Cir. 1989); McMurphy
v. City of Flushing, 802 F.2d 191, 198-99 (6th Cir.
1986). The only tuling of the district court which the
plainuffs have appealed is the granting of partial summary
judgment to the defendants on all claims arising from the
injunes plaintiff Mr. Boyd allegedly sustained on
February 11, 1987.

B.

The underlying facts in this case are not disputed.
Within a few days of Christmas, 1986, and before January
|, 1987, THE MOTOR VESSEL MS. HENRY FORD II,
a ship in navigation on the Great Lakes, entered port at
Dearbom, Michigan, to conclude its sailing season by
entering a phase known as “winter lay-up.” The vessel
was moored to its dock with its normal lines and with
additional “winter lines” designed to insure a stronger and
more permanent attachment to the dock. Shortly after the
ship was moored, the sailing crew, with certain
exceptions, was paid off and dismissed.

Plainuff Boyd, however, with other members of the
ship's engineering crew, remained with the vessel to
supervise the winter lay-up activities. As of January 8,
1987, plaintiff's employment classification was changed

A-4
4 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

from Chief Engineer AA to Chief Maintenance Engineer
AA, and his monthly salary was reduced from $5,406 per
month to $3,460.78 per month, changes reflecting his
transfer to “temporary winterwork classification." Rather
than sleeping aboard the vessel, plaintiff supervised lay-up
work during the day and retumed to his home each night.
During the five-day winter work week, non-crew
personne! came aboard the ship to perform various jobs.
The ship itself had lost her classification with the United
States Coast Guard and was not permitted to sail again
before passing a fit-out inspection. Moreover, the vessel's
main engine was disassembled and was not operable at the
time of plaintiff's alleged injury. During the period of
winter lay-up, only one navigating officer was deaies the
ship, and he was almost entirely engaged in supervising
repair work.

II.

Summary judgment is appropriate where “there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and .. . the moving
party is enuiled to a judgment as a matter of law." Fed.
R. Civ. P. 56. A district court's grant of summary
judgment is reviewed de novo. Pinney Dock and Transp.
Co. v. Penn Cent. Corp., 838 F.2d 1445, 1472 (6th Cir.),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 880 (1988). In its review, this
court views all facts and inferences drawn therefrom in
the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. 60 /vy
St. Corp. v. Alexander, 822 F.2d 1432, 1435 (6th Cir.
1987).

The moving party carries the burden in showing that no
genuine issue of material fact exists. /d. Yet, in the face
of a summary judgment motion, the nonmoving part
cannot rest on its pleadings, but must come forward with
some probative evidence to support its claim and make it
necessary to resolve the differences at trial. Celotex Corp
v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986). “By its very terms,
this standard provides that the mere existence of some
alleged factual dispute between the parties will not defeat
an otherwise properly supported motion for summary

a

A-5
No. 91-1285 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. 5

judgment; the requirement is that there be no genuine
issue of material fact." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
477 U.S. 242, 247-48 (1986). The dispute must be
genuine, and the facts must be such that, if they were
proven at trial, a reasonable jury could retum a verdict for
the nonmoving party. 60 Ivy St. Corp., 822 F.2d at
1435. If the disputed evidence “is merely colorable, or is
not significantly probative, summary ey may be
granted.“ Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249-50 (citations
omitted).

The district court granted summary judgment in favor
of defendants because, based on the undisputed facts, it
found that “no reasonable jury could find that the SS
Henry Ford II (sic) was ‘in navigation’ on February 11,
1987." The “in navigation” requirement comes from this
court's definition of a seaman.

Although the [Jones] Act does not define the term
‘seaman’, the Sixth Circuit has stated that in
determining whether a particular employee is a
‘seaman’ the following test shall be applied: (1)
Is the vessel in navigation, (2) does the employee
have a more or less permanent connection with the
vessei, and (3) was the employee on board the
vessel primarily in aid of navigation?"

Searcy v. E.T. Slider, Inc., 679 F.2d 614, 616 (6th Cir.
1982). Under this court's test, a person must be more or
less permanently connected with a vessel in navigation in
order to fit the definition of a seaman within the Jones
Act.

As earlier indicated, the district court found the
following undisputed facts:

'The third element in the definition of a seaman was rejected in
McDermou Int'l, Inc. v. Wilander, U.S. , LLi S. Ct. 807
(1991). Seo infra.

A-6
6 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

(1) The [2-11-87] injury occurred during winter
lay-up;

(2) The ship was not sailing and was in fact
secured with special “winter lines";

(3) The full crew was not stationed aboard the
ship. Only engineers and persons engaged in
winter repair work were retained during the winter

lay-up;

(4) The plaintiff's classification had changed from
Chief Engineer AA to Chief Maintenance
Engineer, and his normal sailing season
classification had been changed to “temporary
winter work classification.”

(5) The plaintiff was engaged in winter lay-up
mechanical repair work at the time of his injury,
either preparing the vessel for winter or readying it
for the following season;

(6) The plaintiff did not sleep aboard the vessel
during the winter lay-up penod;

(7) The vessel's main engine had been completely
“tom down” and was not in operable condition at
the time of the incident;

(8) The vessel had lost her classification with the
U.S. Coast Guard, and could not regain it without
an inspection.

From these undisputed facts, the district court concluded
that there were no genuine issues of material fact in this
case, and it determined that the ship was not in navigation
at the time of plaintiff's alleged injury on February 11,
1987. Accordingly, it held that plainuff Boyd was not a
seaman within the meaning of the Jones Act.

The district court relied prmanly on Antus vy.

ae

A-7
No. 91-1285 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. 7

Interocean S.S. Co., 108 F.2d 185 (6th Cir. 1939), and
Nelson v. Greene Line Steamers, 255 F.2d 31 (6th Cir.),
cert. denied, 358 U.S. 867 (1958). In Antus, a case
factually similar to this case, the ship in question

had been withdrawn from navigation. All of the
navigating officers and deck crew of the vessel had
departed for the winter excepting certain members
of the engineer's department, including appellant.
All of these men had formerly been members of
the crew, but had been paid off after the last trip
and had remained on board, in accord with the
general practice on the lakes, for the purpose of
laying up the vessel. During the navigation season
they been paid on a monthly basis, but in the
laying-up work they were paid by the hour, the
rate of compensation, however being the same.

Antus, 108 F.2d at 186. The district court had dismissed
the plainuff’s action under the Jones Act, and this court
affirmed for the reason that,

{[wjhile the work done had direct relation to
Navigation, it neither was performed during the
navigasion season, nor was it even preparatory to
navigation. Appellant was laying up the engine
and packing the pumps and seacocks so that they
would not freeze. He was taking bolts out of the
piston-heads, an operation which was never done
during navigation. It would have taken from four
to eight hours to put the engines together again to
operate. The vessel, while not consigned to a
ship's graveyard, was tied up to the piles. Instead
of doing this work in preparation for navigation,
the men were preparing the vessel for winter
quarters. Appellant was not subjected to any
manume hazards.

Id. at 187 (emphasis added).

In Desper v. Starved Rock Ferry Co., 342 U.S. 187

A-8
8 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

(1952), the Supreme Court followed Antus and held that a
crew member, reemployed as a laborer for the winter to
perform seasonal repair work, was not a seaman within
the meaning of the Jones Act because all the vessels upon
which he had served had been “laid up for the winter” at
the time of his accident. /d., 342 U.S. at 191. The Court
cited Antus for the proposition that “one who had been a
member of a ship's crew and was injured while preparing
it for winter quarters could not maintain a Jones Act suit
for his injuries... ." Jd. Although neither Ansus nor
Desper concentrated on the “in navigation” requirement,
both courts emphasized the fact that no vessel was
engaged in navigation when the injumes occurred because
the vessels had been laid up for the winter. Thus,
although both cases actually focused on the kind of work
being performed by the plaintiff at the time of his injury
or death, Antus and Desper established that a crew
member who is specially reemployed to perform winter
lay-up services on a vessel is not a seaman for Jones Act

purposes.

This view was reenforced in Nelson v. Greene Line
Steamers, 255 F.2d 31 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 358 U.S.
867 (1958), a case in which this court affirmed a distnct
court's findings that the Delta Queen had been tied up for
the winter at a wharf in Cincinnati, Ohio, and was not
engaged in navigation at the time of the plaintiff's
intestate's death. Plaintiff had been a crew member
during the preceding sailing season, but he was
rig during the winter as a laborer to make

SS a to the ship for the following season.
Surias this lay-up period, the full crew was not aboard,
and such crewmen as were working were not required to
sleep on the ship. This court refused to find clearly
erroneous the district court's findings that the Delta Queen
was not in navigation and that the plaintiff, therefore, was
not a seaman.

Together the foregoing cases we be considered to have
established a special status in which a vessel is laid up for

refitting durng the winter months. In Bodden vy.

A-9
No. 91-1285 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. 9

Coordinated Caribbean Transp., Inc., 369 F.2d 273, 275
(Sth Cir. 1966), the Fifth Circuit recognized winter
quarters as such a special status in which a ship would not
be considered to be in navigation.

On the other hand, where a vessel is laid up for the
winter, the crew having been discharged, and the
boat is being secured by workmen paid at an
hourly rate and living ashore, the ship is no longer
in navigation. The same is true where the vessel is
tied up for the winter with only a maintenance
crew, and claimant, a crew member during the
season, is retained as a laborer on an hourly basis
and is not required to live aboard the vessel.

Id. (citation omitted) (citing Nelson and Annus).

Although plaintiff James Boyd does not dispute the
underlying facts and, moreover, concedes in his brief that
the vessel, during winter lay-up, “did not have a pre-
scheduled itine of necessary sailing missions,” Brief
of Appellant at 10-11, he contends that the vessel was in
navigation at the time of his injury and that the district
court took too narrow a view of the “in navigation”
component of the definition of a seaman. He argues that
courts should give a liberal interpretation to remedial
legislation such as the Jones Act, Luckert v. Continental
— Co., 649 F.2d 441, 443-44 (6th Cir. 1981),
and contends that because our case, Noack v. American
Steamship Co., 491 F.2d 937, 939 (6th Cir. 1974), holds
that “the question of ‘in navigation’ is properly one of fact
... , the distnct court should not have granted
summary judgment.

The facts in Noack are similar to the facts in this case.
In Noack, the plaintiff had been a crewman of the vessel
in question for twenty-five years and during the sailing
seasons was employed as “a wiper”; i.¢., one who wipes
up grease and oi! from the decks of a vessel. He was
injured while helping to clean the bilges during winter
lay-up, and a jury awarded him a substantial verdict after

A-10
10 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

finding by special interrogatory that the vessel in question
was in navigation. This court upheld the jury verdict in
Noack stating:

It is of course true that in the strict sense the lay-
up of this Great Lakes vessel effectively took the
vessel out of navigation. However, it is also true
that the routine of lay-up had been established
because the vessels d not operate in the ice and
cold. Barring. such weather obstacles to a year-
round sailing season, it appears that many tasks
typically accomplished dumng the lay-up period
could well be accomplished at sea without
interruption to regular scheduling for major

irs. Thus under the circumstances it seems
clear that the lay-up and fit-out activities are
complete parts of the total Great Lakes sailing
season. Crew members perform the lay-up and fit-
Out tasks under the same labor contract that applies
during the sailing season. The same discipline and
functional management also applies. In view of
these facts, we cannot say that there was clear
error in the District Court's finding. . .

Id. at 940 (emphasis added).

In reaching this conclusion, this court found Busler v.
Whiteman, 356 U.S. 271 (1958), to be controlling. In
Butler, a brief per curiam, the Supreme Court reversed
and remanded a case after finding that the “evidence
presented an evidentiary basis for jury findings as to (1)
whether or not the tug G.W. Whiteman was in navigation
....”" Id. The majority did not mention the facts of the
case or explain its reasoning, but the dissent recited that
the tug on which the injury occurred was inoperable, that
it had been withdrawn from navigation, that it was
moored up, that it had neither captain nor crew, that it
was undergoing rehabilitation pale crear to a Coast
Guard inspection, and that the decedent in the case was
employed as a laborer doing odd jobs around the wharf
where the tug was moored. Busler thus seems to hold that

A-1]
No. 91-1285 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. II

there are virtually no circumstances under which a tnal
court would be justified in directing a verdict on the
question of whether or not a vessel was in navigation. It
is not surprising, therefore, that this court in Noack,
confronted with Butler and with a standing jury verdict
based on special interrogatories, held that there was no
Clear error in the trial despite the fact that “in the strict
sense the ... vessel [was] out of navigation.” Noack,
491 F.2d at 940.

In the present case we are not faced with the same
situation that was before this court in Noack. First, the
case comes to this court on appeal from the granting of
defendants’ motion for summary judgment, not from a
jury verdict in favor of the plaintiffs. Second, a recent
decision of the Supreme Court has weakened Butler, and
thus Noack, which followed Butler.

In McDermon Int'l, Inc. v. Wilander, ___ U.S.

, LIL S. Ct. 807 (1991), the Court reviewsd a

1 ircuit case and affirmed that circuit in its view that

one need not aid in the navigation of a vessel in order to

qualify as a seaman under the Jones Act. The Supreme

Court has thus rejected the third factor of the test used in

Searcy v. E.T. Slider, Inc., 679 F.2d 614, 616 (6th Cir.

1982), and has approved the Fifth Circuit's test from

Offshore Co. v. Robison, 266 F.2d 769, 779 (Sth Cir.
1959), a test which asks two questions:

(1) [I]f there is evidence that the injured workman
was assigned permanently to a vessel ... or
performed a substantial part of his work on the
vessel; and (2) if the capacity in which he was
employed or the duties which he performed
contnbuted to the function of the vessel or to the
accomplishment of its mission, or to the operation
or welfare of the vessel in terms of its maintenance
during iis movement or during anchorage for its

future trips.

(Emphasis added).

A-12
12 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

The Supreme Court in McDermott considered only the
narrow question of whether a person must aid in the
navigation of a vessel to be considered a seaman under the
Jones Act. It did not purport to define a “vessel in
navigation” or attempt any discussion of the “in
navigation” concept. However, its opinion implies that
the concept is still a viable component of the test used to
determine who is a seaman.

We believe the better rule is to define ‘master
or member of a crew’ under the LHWCA, and
therefore ‘seaman’ under the Jones Act, solely in
terms of the employee's connection to a vessel in
navigation.

The key to seaman status is employment-related
connecuion to a vessel in navigation.

McDermon, 111 S. Ct. at 817 (emphasis added).

Although the Supreme Court adopted the test set out by
the Fifth Circuit in Robdison, this does not aid the
ogee in obtaining a reversal in this court because, as

been pointed out, the Supreme Court did not abandon

the “in navigation" requirement. Moreover, there is little
in Robison to suggest abandonment of the requirement,
First, the “in navigation" requirement was not discussed
in the case. The language “during its movement or during
anchorage for its future trips” does not distinguish
between a vessel temporarily anchored while on a voyage
and a ship, such as the MS. HENRY FORD II, without
crew, without sailing certificates, without operable
engines, and without a sailing itinerary or current sailing
mission. Thus, neither Robison nor McDermoit supports
lainuiffs’ contentions that the “in navigation® requirement
been weakened or abandoned. Because the district
court's resolution of this case tumed only on the issue of
the ship's status at the time of plainuff's injury, and
because this issue is independent of the issues discussed in

A-13

No. 91-1285 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. 13

Robison and McDermout -- whether or not plaintiffs were
members of a crew -- this court need not decide in this
case whether to replace entirely Searcy's definition of
seaman under the Jones Act.

McDermott also provides important guidance for the
resolution of this case insofar as it specifically approves
the use of summary judgment in Jones Act cases and
therefore relaxes what seemed to be a rigid rule in Butler,
a case that had been read to hold that jury determinations
were required in all aspects of Jones Act cases. Noting
that some of its older cases had said that seaman status
under the Jones“Act was a question of fact for the jury,
the Court in McDermorr stated that the question of who is
a seaman is best characterized as a mixed question of law
and fact and that, because seaman is a statutory term, its
definition is a question of law. It went on to state:

The jury finds the facts and, in these cases, applies
the legal standard, but the court must not abdicate
its duty to determine if there is a reasonable basis
to support the jury's conclusion .... The inqui
into seaman status is of necessity fact-specific; it
will depend on the nature of the vessel, and the
employee's precise relation to it. Nonetheless,
summary judgment or a directed verdict is
mandated where the facts and the law will
reasonably support only one conclusion.

Id. at 818 (citations omitted) (emphasis added).

In this case, the facts pertinent to the determination of
whether the MS. HENRY FORD II was in navigation
were undisputed, and the question of whether the ship was
in navigation was therefore appropriate for summary
judgment, especially so after the Supreme Court's trilogy
in 1986 dealing with summary judgments. This court's
cases, as the district court correctly noted, have held that
a ship in winter lay-up without its regular crew, without
Coast Guard cortiietion to sail, and without its engines
in Operating condition, is not in navigation. The cases

A-1l4
14 Boyd v. Ford Motor Company, et al. No. 91-1285

cited by plaintiffs provide no reason for this court to
change its view that a winter lay-up of the kind described
in this case takes a vessel out of navigation and renders
those employed upon her ineligible as non-seamen to
proceed under the Jones Act.

Ul.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district
court is AFFIRMED.

RECEIVED JAN. 4, 199]
LEVINE, BENJAMIN

UNTEPFED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN
SOUTHERN DIVISION

James Boyp and
Biizanperun Boyp
Plaintiffs
Civil Action No
9O0-CV-7TOS47-D]

VS

Tre Forp Moron Company

Tur Roucr Sreet Company and
THe Moron Vesser. MS Henry
Forp I

Hox. Bernarp A. Freep:

Defendants

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER
GRANTING IN PART AND DENYING IN PART
DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

This matter is presently before the court on defendants
motion for summary judgment, filed November |. 1990
Plaintiffs have filed a response and defendants have filed
reply. Pursuant to Local Rule 17(1)(2) of the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan. the court
shall decide this motion without an oral hearing. Accord
ingly, the January 31, 1991, hearing date indicated on defen
dants’ re-notice of hearing dated November 21. 1990. is

cancelled

Background

The complaint alleges that plaintiff James Bovd was injured

on four occasions while working for defendants. The first

B-2

injury allegedly occurred on June 16, 1982, when plaintiff
tell on pellets “which had been spilled on the dock ~ At
that time, plaintiff “was emploved by the defendants as a
first assistant engineer [and] was returning to the vessel”
when he fell. Plaintiffialleges that on this occasion he injured

his hip, knee and right hand. Complaint, para. 7. See also id
)

para. 233.

Plaintiff was injured a second time on December 16, 19S 4,
when he again fell on pellets on a dock. At that time, plain
tiff was “continuing his employment with the defendants.

and performing his duties leaving the vessel ~*~ On this
occasion plaintiff allegedly “re-injured his hip. back, neck.
both knees, and) right shoulder. Id. para. 9. See also

id. para. 24.

The third injury occurred on June 5, 1985, when plaintiff
“while working in the crankcase of the main engine of the

defendant, THE MOTOR VESSEL MS HENRY FORD II, fell
in the crankcase In this fall plaintiff “re-injurled] his
hip. shoulder, back, neck, both knees. and). right ear and
head “Id. para. 11. See also id. para. 25.

On February 11, 1987, plaintiff was injured a fourth time

when “while inspecting a cargo-hold, plaintiff. —— fell on fine
coal dust.” In this incident plaintiff “re-injured his hip, back.
neck, right knee and right shoulder “Td. para. 13. See

also para. 26.

Plaintiff James Bovd alleges that each of these injuries was
proximately caused by defendants negligent failure to prop
erly maintain the vessel and surrounding area. He seeks dam
ages for lost earnings, medical expenses, and pain and suffering
His wife. plaintiff Elizabeth Bovd, asserts a claim for loss of
consortium. The negligence claims presented in Court bare
brought under the Jones Act. 46 U.S.C.) 6SS. Count TI
asserts claims of cl nnsate dock and mnscaworthy vessel
County TH asserts a claim for failure to provide maintenance

ind Cua?

ae

Summary Judgment Standard
Under Fed. R. Civ. P56 (c). summary judgment is appro-
priate if

the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories.
and admissions on file, together with the affidavits. if
any, Show that there is no genuine issue as to any mate-
rial fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judg-
ment as a matter of law.

The burden is on the party opposing summary judgment to
“set forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue
for trial.’ Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e), [T]he mere existence of
same alleged factual dispute between the parties will not
defeat an otherwise properly supported motion for sum-
mary judgment; the requirement is that there be no genuine
dispute as to any material fact.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby.
Inc, ATT US. 242, 247-48 (1986) (emphasis in original).
Viewing the evidence “in the light most favorable to the
opposing party,” Adickes v. SH. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144.
lov (1970), summary judgment should be entered only if
the evidence is so one-sided that a reasonable fact-finder
could not find for the opposing party. See, e.g. Anderson tv
Liberty Lobby, Inc., ATT U.S. 242. 248-50 (1986). Street 1

J] © Bradford & Co.. 886 F2d 1472, 1478-80 (6th Cir.
1989).

Defendants’ Summary Judgment Motion
Mc

In their summary judgment motion, defendants first argue
that the statute of limitations has run with respect to the first
three incidents (6-16-82, 12-16-84 and 6-5-5). The Jones
Act claims are subject to a three-year limitations period. See
MeAllister v. Magnolia Petroleum Co.. 357 U.S. 22 1, 225 n.6
(1955) (noting that the Jones Act incorporates the three
vear limitations period of the Federal Employers Liability
Act, 45 U.S.C. 8 56): Albertson tv. T | Stevenson & Co.. Inc

749 F2d 223, 228 (Sth Cir. 1984). Unseaworthiness claims
are governed by the three-vear limitations period of 46 U.S.C.
Y 763a. See Cooper v. Diamond M Co., 799 F2d 176, 178

(5th Cir. 1986), cert. denied 107 S. Ct. 2177 ( ut (applying
the dae -vear limitations “i ‘riod of 46 U.S.C. § 763Ba to a
steward’s unseaworthiness claim): M. Norris, The tes of Sea
men § 27:22, p. 248 (1985).

Claims for maintenance and cure are not subject to the
three-year limitations period of the Jones Act or 46 U.S.C.
) 763a, but are limited by the doctrine of latches. See Clauson t
Smith, 8523 F.2d 660, 661 n.1 (1st Cir. 1987); Reed v Amer
ican Steamship Co., 682 F. Supp. 333, 335-38 (B.D. Mich.
19588); Norris, The Law of Seamen § 26:43, pp. 117-15.

The complaint in this matter was filed on March 28, 1990.
This filing took place four years, nine months after the 6-5-85
injury: five years, three months after the 12-16-54 injury:
and seven years, nine months after the 6-16-82 injury
substanti lly beyond the three-year limitations period in each
instance. Since plaintiffs have made no showing! as to why
the statute of limitations should be deemed tolled or other
wise inapplicable, the court shall grant summary judgment
for defendant on the Jones Act and unseaworthiness claims
arising from these incidents.

The court expresses no opinion as to whether the doctrine
of latches bars the maintenance and cure claims arising from
these first three incidents. In their summary judgment motion
defendants argue that maintenance and cure Claims are sub
ject to the three-year limitations period of the Jones Act or
16 U.S.C.) 763a. The court disagrees with defendants’ posi
tion and adopts, instead, the conclusion reached by Judge

Pe note ae FR Fed R. Cis. P56 (e) requires plaintiffs to “set forth
specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial” Tn thei
response to defendants’ motion plaintiffs do not address the statute of

limitations arguments at all. Phamtiffs have therefore failed to meet thei

burden under Rule 36(e)

Freeman in Reed v. American Steamship Co.. supra, that main
tenance and cure claims are limited by the doctrine of latches.
not by a statutory limitations period.

Defendants have not argued. and the court mav not at this
point assume, that the doctrine of latches bars plaintiffs’
maintenance and cure claims. Accordingly, the court shall
deny defendants’ motion insofar as it seeks summary judg
ment as to these claims. Defendants are free. of course. to
file another motion (prior to the motion cutoff date) seeking
summary judgment based on latches.

B.

Defendants next argue that plaintiffs’ claims arising from
the February 11, 1987, incident are barred because at that
time the MS Henry Ford If was not “‘in navigation” and.
therefore, plaintiff James Boyd was not a “seaman.” Plaintif{
concedes that these claims are barred if at the time of his
injury he was not a “seaman” within the meaning of 46
US.C. 9 455° but he maintains that he so qualifies

The Sixth Circuit has stated:

In an action by an injured employee to recover dam
ages under the Jones Act, the test to be applied in deter
mining whether the emplovee is a “seaman” within the
meaning of the Act is (1) that the vessel be in haviga
tion, (2) that there be more or less permanent connec
tion with the vessel, and (3) that the worker be aboard
primarily to aid in navigation.

Nelson v. Greene Line Steamers, 255 F.2d 31. 33-34 (6th Cir

1958), cert. denied 358 U.S. 867 (1958). This three part test
was reaffirmed in Noack v. American Steamship Co.. 491 F.2d
937, 938-39 (6th Cir. 1974). and, more recently, in Searcy
t_ EF. T Slider, Inc., 679 F2d 614, 616 (6th Cir. 1982)

Phe Jones Act. 465 US CG. § 68S permits “lalny seaman who shall sutter

personal injury in the course of his employe nt ito Panta an action

for damages it bans Einphasis idded

B-6

Defendants argue that the ship on which plaintiff was
working, the MS Henry Ford II, was not “in navigation” on
February 11, 1987. Defendants’ recitation of the following
facts is not disputed by plaintiff:

1) The [2-11-87] injury occurred during winter lay-up;

2) The ship was not sailing and was in fact secured with
special “winter lines”:

3) The full crew was not stationed aboard the ship.
Only engineers and persons engaged in winter repair work
were retained during the winter lay-up:

1) The plaintiff's classification had changed from Chief
Engineer AA to Chief Maintenance Engineer, and his nor-
mal sailing season classification had been changed to “‘tem-
porary winter work classification.” . . .

5) The plaintiff was engaged in winter lay-up mechan-
ical repair work at the time of his injury, either preparing
the vessel for winter or readying it for the following season:

6) The plaintiff did not sleep aboard the vessel during
the winter lay-up period:

7) The vessel's main engine had been completely “torn
down” and was not in operable condition at the time of
the incident; }

8) The vessel had lost her classification with the U.S.
Coast Guard, and could not regain it without an inspection.

Defendants’ Brief, pp. 18-19. As plaintiffs do not dispute

these facts, the court may take them as established.
Similar circumstances were present in Antus v. Interocean

S. S. Co., 108 F2d 185 (6th Cir. 1939). In Antus, plaintiff

At page 19 of this deposition, plaintiff testified that he did not know

whether the main engine was operable on February LL. LOST. At pages
>] 29

however, he indicated that the Coast Guard would not have per
mitted the ship to sail on that date because, among other things. the
‘Imlain engine would not run

B-7

was injured while cleaning the bilges ofa Great Lakes steame
At the time of the injury, the ship was in winter layup.

—

All of the navigating officers and deck crew of the ves-
sel had departed for the winter excepting certain mem-
bers of the engineer's department, including appellant.

° o °

At the time of the accident appellant's work consisted
of overhauling the engines, removing bolts from cylinder-
heads and chests, cleaning bilges, and performing sim-
ilar operations, all of which the District Court held had
a direct relation to navigation and commerce.

105 F2d at 156. The district court found that plaintiff was
not a “seanvan” and dismissed his Jones Act complaint. Id. In
affirming, the Sixth Circuit stated:

[T]he question is whether at the time of the accident he
was engaged in maritime work, and the test is the nature
of his employment at the time. While the work done
had direct relation to navigation, it neither was per-
formed during the navigation season. nor was it even
preparatory to navigation. Appellant was laying up the
engine and packing the pumps and seacocks so that
they would not freeze. He was taking bolts out of the
piston-heads, an operation which was never done dur-
ing navigation. Tt would have taken from four to eight
hours to put the engines together again to operate. |

The vessel, while not consigned to a ship's graveyard
was tied up to the piles. Instead of doing this work in
preparation for navigation, the men were preparing the
vessel for winter quarters. Appellant was not subjected
to any maritime hazards. The fact that he had been, o1
expected in the future to be, a seaman does not render
' At pages 1S—19 of his deposition, plaintiff testified that the main engine
Which had been “torn down” could be made operational within 12 to 24

hours after being reassembled

maritime work which was not maritime in its nature
The finding of the District Court upon this point was
correct, and appellant was not at the time of his injury

ad SC anal.
LOS F2d at 187

The same result was reached in Nelson vo Greene Line
Steamers, Inc., 255 F.2d 31 (6th Cir. 1958. In Nelson, plain
tiffs decedent was a deck hand on a Mississippi excursion
steamer. The vessel made its last excursion of the vear in
early November, following which “it was tied up for the
winter "255 F2d at 32. Plaintiff's decedent, who lived
onthe vessel during the sailing season, was employed during
the winter as a “‘laborer| | for the purpose of making neces
sary repairs to the vessel and getting her ready for the fol
lowing season.” Id. at 33 Additionally

After the boat was tied up the appellee only had on the
bout such persons AS could be used to ready thre ship for
the use the following spring. The full crew was not
retained. The pilots were not on board, nor the stew
ard’s crew or maids, nor all of the deck hands, cooks
chefs or pantry men. The engineers and their helpers
Were On board making repairs On the Pri hinery ana
boilers

Id. Plaintiff’?s decedent fell overboard while working on the
paddle wheel and drowned. The Sixth Circuit affirmed the
district court’s determination, on a motion to dismiss. that
the vessel was notin navigation and that plaintiff 's decedent
was not a seaman withip the meaning of the Jones Act. LOS
F2d at 35

Antus was later cited with ippro al boy thre Supreme Court in De

purt
Starved Rock kerry Co it ae | S ik, | | O54 Ii De per thre care
suggested that a hips is not imnmavigation bits do winter bay up la
also \1 irtin Thi Lau of Seamen \ » » ! oe | let) Citing Cases for thy

proposition that iship i notin mavigation when she bra been laid up tor
+}

e Winter

B-Y

The question of seaman status within the meaning of the
Jones Act is generally a question of fact to be decided by the
jury. Searcy v. BE. T Slider, Inc. 679 F.2d 614. 616 (6th Ci
1982). citing Luckett v. ( ontinental kngineering Co..649 F2d
Hl, 443 (6th Cir. 1951). Where. however. the material
facts are not disputed, the court may make this determina
tion on summary judgment. See. eg. Antiust Interocean SS

Co and Nelson v Greene Line Steamers. Inc supra

Based on the undisputed facts in this case the court believes
no reasonable jury could find that the SS Henry Ford IL was
In navigation on February 11. 19ST. As noted above. the
parties agree that the vessel was in winter lay up at threat
time. At pages 7—S of his deposition, plaintiff testified that
the ship had been in this state since approximately Chirist
mas 1L9OS6. Although the ship was inthe water. it was secured
to the dock with winter lines. Id) at 14. Phaintiff testified
that the main engine was completely torn down” during
the lay up period. Id) at 1S. Plaintiff also testified that he
was not living on thre ship during the winter lay up. but
commuted to work from Trenton. Mic higan. Id) at 15-16
Plaintiff indicated that the vessel could not have sailed on
February 11, 1987, because there was no crew aboard. th
lite Sav Ing equipment was not out and thre man engine would
not run. Id at 21-22

Plaintiff has not cited a single case from this circuit whict
would permit a jury to find that a vessel in this condition is
Ih navigation within thie meaning of thre Jouve Ss Act. Based
on the cases cited above the court believes th it no reason
thle jury could make such a finding. Ac ordingly. the court
Shall grant Summary judgment for def ndants with re spect

to the February Ll. L9S7 iyur

Conclusion
Kor the re asons Stated above

Ml IS ORDERED that defendants motion for Stummary

jidgment is granted as to thre Jones Act and unseaworthines

Claims arising from the injuries plaintiff fares Bovd sustaines

B-10

on June 16, 1982: December 16, 1954 and June 5, 1985
Defendants’ motion is denied without prejudice as to the

; “a '
maintenance and cure claims arising from these injuries

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that defendants’ motion for
summary judgment is granted as to all claims arising from
the injuries plaintiff James Boyd sustained on February 11
LOST

SO ORDERED

BeRNARD A. FRIEDMAN
Bernard A. Friedman
United States District Judge

Dated Jan. O03, 199]
Detroit Michigan

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0145%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
