# Opposition Brief — Donner v. Appalachian Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0116%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 984

## Text

No.: 91-1227 | se |

OS
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THELUNTTED srarhik

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

MIRIAM DONNER,
Petitioner,
vs.

APPALACHIAN INSURANCE COMPANY, a Rhode
Island Corporation, CITY OF MIAMI, VERNON
HETHERINGTON, FOWLER, WHITE, BURNETT,
HURLEY, BANICK & KNIGHT, P.A. a/k/a FOWLER
WHITE, BURNETT, HURLEY, BANICK &
STRICKROOT, P.A., a Florida professional

association, PHILLIP W. KNIGHT, and
MICHAEL J. MURPHY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA,
THIRD DISTRICT

RESPONDENTS’, CITY OF MIAMI’S AND VERNON
HETHERINGTON’S, BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David Kleinberg, Esquire

Attorney for City of Miami

and Vernon Hetherington

GAEBE, MURPHY, MULLEN,
ANTONELLI & GERLIN

420 South Dixie Highway

Third Floor

Coral Gables, FL 33146

Telephone: (305) 667-0223

(Florida Bar No. 765260)

ioe

No.: 91-1227

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1991

MIRIAM DONNER,
Petitioner,
vs.

APPALACHIAN INSURANCE COMPANY, a Rhode
Island Corporation, CITY OF MIAMI, VERNON
HETHERINGTON, FOWLER, WHITE, BURNETT,
HURLEY, BANICK & KNIGHT, P.A. a/k/a FOWLER
WHITE, BURNETT, HURLEY, BANICK &
STRICKROOT, P.A., a Florida professional

association, PHILLIP W. KNIGHT, and
MICHAEL J. MURPHY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA,
THIRD DISTRICT

RESPONDENTS’, CITY OF MIAMI’S AND VERNON
HETHERINGTON’S, BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David Kleinberg, Esquire

Attorney for City of Miami

and Vernon Hetherington

GAEBE, MURPHY, MULLEN,
ANTONELLI & GERLIN

420 South Dixie Highway

Third Floor

Coral Gables, FL 33146

Telephone: (305) 667-0223

(Florida Bar No. 765260)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

i. Whether this Court is vested with
Certiorari jurisdiction under 28 U.S.c.
$1257(a) to review a state court decision
which is not final, does not draw into
question the validity of either a treaty
or statute of the United States or statute
of any state, and further does not pass on
any questions of federal law?

oe If so, whether this court should
exercise its discretion, in favor of
declining jurisdiction?

3. Assuming this Court exercises its
discretion in favor of accepting Certiorari
Jurisdiction, whether the Petitioner has,
in the four corners of the complaint, set
forth a federal cause of action sounding
under 42 U.S.C. §1983 and or under 18

U.S.C. §1964?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ...
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.
CONCISE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED .

CONCISE STATEMENT OF THE CASE
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT. .

I. THE CERTIORARI JURISDICTION
OF THIS COURT PURSUANT TO
28 U.S.C §1257 HAS NOT BEEN
SRVOREG 6° Se ewe oe ee

A. CERTIORARI JURISDICTION
OF THIS COURT

B. THE JUDGMENT IS NOT
FINAL WITHIN MEANING
OF 28 U.S.C. §1257 (a)

C. THE COMPLAINT DOES NOT
RAISE A FEDERAL ISSUE

D. THE STATE DECISION
DOES NOT TURN ON A
FEDERAL ISSUE

II. THIS COURT SHOULD EXERCISE
ITS DISCRETION IN FAVOR OF
DECLINING CERTIORARI
JURISDICTION

ii

iv

16

16

19

24

30

34

A. ACCESS TO THE COURT? .. . 38

B. Wee 68 ke ere ~*~ are a
Cc. PETITIONER HAS MADE

A MOCKERY OF THE

JUDICIAL SYSTEM ...... 42

III. THE PETITIONER'S COMPLAINT
BELOW DOES NOT SET FORTH A
FEDERAL CAUSE OF ACTION
SOUNDING UNDER 42 U.S.C §1983
FOR DENIAL OF ACCESS TO THE
oo) Ae a a ee a oe ee a ee

IV. PETITIONER'S COMPLAINT DOES
NOT SET FORTH A FEDERAL
CAUSE OF ACTION SOUNDING
UNDER 18 U.S.C. §1964 FOR
A FEDERAL RICO VIOLATION
IN THAT IT FAILS TO ALLEGE
SUFFICIENT CRIMINAL PREDICATE
ACTS, AND FAILS TO ALLEGE AN
INJURY RECOGNIZED BY RICO

EmAWEEe 6 6 & 4 6 «ce te x. eo BS
GCUNGIAIGEOMN «6 5s s+ + +e 6 th whl ltl lw tl le SR
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ........ 64
SPONGE 8 6 6 es st ee te tl eS

COMPLAINT
(Case No. 89-37625 CA 17) eo « « « » AL

PLAINTIFF'S MOTION
FOR REHEARING (Dated April 5,
Sy) Ok eee Se ee ke

ADDENDUM TO MOTION

FOR REHEARING sarerh sete April 6,
1990) ° 2 s «6 i * &+ = *&* «© © «= & moe

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

American Construction Company
v. Jacksonville T & KWR Company,
143 U.S. 372, 37 L.Ed. 486,
as BeGcs Foe (209) «2 « ts ee el tle RP

Auters-Price Oil Company v. Texas,
212 U.8. 86, 53 L.E4. 417,
>) ee Fo eee ES eee ee ee ea |

Bowe v. Scott,
233 U.S. 658, 58 L.Ed. 1141,
oe Bveesl Vee eee) 6 eee ek we 6 oe

Briscoe v. LaHue,
SG Mss See Aeeee)> aw ae eS. ww ws SS

Brown v. Atwell,
92 U.S. 327, 23 L.Ed. 511 (1876) . « Be

Buchanan v. Miami Herald
Publishing Company,
230 So.2d 9 (Fla. fn

Burns v. Reed,
eae GeOC. 2934 (1991) . «§ « « » 36, 50,52

Caldwell v. Texas,
137. U.S. 692, 34 L.Ed. 816,
am MeGes Bae (3001) «2 « we ee 25

Construction and General
Laborers’ Union v. Curry,
371 U.S. 542, 9 L. BA. 20 514,
Oe Bees Soe C2069) 6 « os se ew et ee ce

Crowell v. Randell,
35 U.S. 368, 9 L.Ed. 458 (1836) .. . 32

iv

Delmar Jockey Club v. Missouri,
210 U.S. 324, 52 L.Ed. 1080,
See @sGee Fea C2908) « « s es wo we ow ow os Be

DeSaussure v. Gaillard,
427 U.S. 216, 32 L.Ed. 125,
oe ee er.

Doe v. Schneider,
443 F.Supp. 780 (D.C. Kansas 1978) . 43

Donner v. Hetherington,
370 So.2d 1225 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979) .. 6

Donner v. Hetherington,
376 So.2da 404 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979) . 7

Donner v. Hetherington,
399 So.2d 1011 (Fla. 3d DCA 1981) .. 8

Flye v. Jeffords,
106 So.2d 228 (Fla. 1st DCA 1958) .. 52

Gotthilf v. Sills,
375 U.S. 79, 11 L.Ed. 2a 159,
Oe ues eee tees ck a ae ek ee be

Grogan v. Platt,
1835 F.2d 844 (llth Cir. 1988) .. . 62

Harrison v. Springdale
Water and Sewer Commission,
780 F.2d 1422 (8th Cir. 1986) . . 45,46

Heike v. United States,
217 U.S. 423, 54 L.Ed. 821,
ae @awes Baw Ceeaer +h 6 & bs we kh oe 7 ee

Honeyman v. Hanan,

300 U.S. 14, 81 L.Ed. 476,
57 S.Ct. 350 (1937)

Howlett v. Rose,

537 So.2d 706 (Fla.

Howlett v. Rose,

26

2d DCA 1989) ~ « 49

110 S.Ct. 2430 (1990)

Jacobi v. Alabama,

187 U.S. 133, 47 L.Ed. 106,

23 S.Ct. 48 (1902)

Kleiner v. First National Bank,

526 F. Supp. 1019 (M.D. Ga.

Mabson v. Christ,
96 Fla. 756, 759,
4i9 So. 131, 132,

Market S.R. Company

(1928)

V.

Railroad Com. of California,
324 U.S. 548, 89 L.Ed. 1171,
65 S.Ct. 770 (1945) a

Martinez v. California,

444 U.S. 277, 62 L.Ed.

100 S.Ct. 553 (1980)

McMurtry v. Brasfield,
654 F. Supp. 1222 (Ed. Va. 1987) 58,59

Meyers v. Hodges,

44 So. 357 (Fla. 1907)

New Orleans Waterworks Company v.

Louisiana Sugar Refining Co.,
185 U.S. 336, 46 L.Ed. 936,
22 S.Ct. 691 (1902) :

vi

2d 481,

50

28

oeei) .. 57

24

21

50

52

27,28

New Orleans v. New Orleans

Waterworks Company,
142 U.S. 79, 35 L.Ed. 943,
Be MeGee FOG TAORAD 6 ka we ek ee

North Dakota State Board of
Pharmacy v. Snyder’s Drug
Stores, Inc.,
414 U.S. 156, 38 L.Ed. 379,
OS BsGur. 407 £2979) « «a tw tt lt lt

Parker v. McLain,
237 U.S. 469, 59 L.Ed. a0Di,
35 &.Ct. 632 (1915) . . ... ss 28,30

Perl v. Omni Internationa]
Of Miami, Ltd.,
439 So.2d 316 (Fla. 3d DCA 1983) >

Ponzoli and Wassenberg v. Zuckerman,
945 So.2d 309 (Fla. 3d DCA 1989) 32,53

Regal Marble, Inc. v. Drexel
Investments, Inc.,
515 So.2d 1015 (Fla. 4th DCA 1987) . 52

Reich v. Freeport,
388 F.Supp. 953 (ND. Ill. prs) «2s + 25

Republic Natural Gas Company
V. Oklahoma,
334 U.S. 62, 92 L.Ed. agid,
668 S.Ct. 972 (1948) .- .. 2... 2. ee 22

Robertson v. Industrial
Insurance Company,
75 So.2d 198 (Fla. 1954) » « «= « 92,83

Ryland v. Shapiro,
708 F. 2d. 967 (5th Cir. 1983) 43,44,45

Sailboat Key, Inc. v. Gardner,
378 So.2d 47 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979) ... 52

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., Inc.,
B@e @.Ct. 3275 (1985) ...... 87,62

Splegel v. Continental Illinois
National Bank,
609 F. Supp. 1083 (D.C. Ill. 1985) - 58

Tripati v. Bemanan,
878 F. 2d 351 (10th Cir. 1989) e « « 48

U.S. v. Leyden,
842 F.2d 1026 (8th Cir. 1988) .... 61

U.S. v. Peters,
732 F.2d 1004, (1st Cir. 1984) . 59,60

U.S. Vaughn,
797 F.2d 1485 (9th Cir. 1986) .. 60,61

Union Mutual Life Insurance
Company v. Kirchoff,
169 U.S. 103, 42 L.Ed. 677,
emus. mee CAUPE) . « « ss 6 6 ew so cw 2D

Wright v. Yurko,
446 So.2d 1162

ieee memo OOM 2984) . . 1. ss ss) 82,88
U. S. Const., Art. III s 2 » « « AG, 49,28
U. S. Const., Art. IV, §II were’ 68 eee
U. S. Const., amend. I Oe on oe er ae ee eee
Ms @s GCOMBt., OWGnd. V....s+s-ss 43
Ms @e COMNSt., amend. XIV ....4+.e.e 43
OME P TOM EOGE ¢ « 56 6 «0 6 6 6 @ 6 26,57

viii

1 U.8.6. §3068 6 td a SV ee eee
LO U.8.C. §1962 . «5 5 8 ws ss Bee
ae OvOsG.. G2PGs. s 2 0 © & *@ 2 oe ee eee
SS VUsGs0s GEOG6 « « = 11,16,37,55,56,62
26 U.S.C. §1257(@) ..:s «s « » « « PAROS
28 U.S.C. §1257 (1970) 2 oe ee oe ee ee
42 U.S.C. §1983 . «. « » « « «© «© « « PASSIN
sup. Ct. R. i0 > © 6) =e ee) *) 8: eee eee
Sup. Ct. R. 15.3 ee oe ee ee ee ee 49,55
wap. Gls Re 25ek BV alee ew eee
Sop. Ct. BR. BEE oe Se ee eee
pup. Ct. KR. 24:52. «wee es se eee
Sup. Ct. R. 29.2 ‘+e * « eo: & “eo eee
sup. Ce. Rs 33 x elec ee «wa ee ee eee

Freedom of Information Act
ee ts re ee rer a

Section 1 of Organized
Crime Control Act of 1970 ....... 40

ix

CONCISE JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Petitioner seeks to invoke’ the
certiorari jurisdiction of this Court under
28 U.S.C. §1257(a).

In 1988, 28 U.S.C. §1257 was amended
and the jurisdiction of this Court
thereunder limited. Congress did away with
the appeal of right and left. only
certiorari, which is not a matter of right,
but of judicial discretion. Certiorari
shall only be granted where there are
special and important reasons therefore.
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
States, Rule 10.

The Petitioner has failed to invoke
said certiorari jurisdiction, as the state
court judgment: (1) does not challenge the
validity of the Constitution, treaties,
laws or statutes of the United States, (2)
does not draw into question a state statute

as repugnant to the Constitution; (3) is

not final within the meaning of 28 U.S.C.

§1257(a); (4) does not turn on federal law;
as (5) no federal question was presented in
an appropriate forum, time and manner; and
thus, (6) turns solely on state law,
specifically state procedural law, as to
the appropriate forum, time and manner.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
INVOLVED

The Respondents herein assert that
there are no United States Constitutional
provisions or federal statutes involved, as
Same have not been properly brought forth
in the Complaint or throughout the judicial
proceedings below, and are mere frivolous
averment. Nonetheless, the constitutional
provisions and statutes set forth by the
Petitioner in the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari are fully set forth therein, and
pursuant to Rules of the Supreme Court of
the United States, Rule 24.1(f), need not

be set forth herein.

The only federal statute involved as a

practical matter is 28 U.S.C. §1257(a)
which states:

"Final judgments or decrees
rendered by the highest court of
a State in which a decision could
be had, may be reviewed by the
Supreme Court by writ of
certiorari where the validity of
a treaty or statute of the United
States is drawn in question or
where the validity of a statute
of any State is drawn in question
on the ground of its’ being
repugnant to the Constitution,
treaties, or laws of the United
States, or where any title,
right, privilege, or immunity is
specially set up or claimed under
the Constitution or the treaties
or statutes of, or any commission
held or authority exercised
under, the United States."

CONCISE STATEMENT OF THE CASE

To fully understand the posture of
this case, one must return to the
Metropolitan Justice Building (the criminal
courthouse) in Miami, Dade County, Florida,
in 1975. There, Petitioner, dressed in hot
pants, a halter top, high heeled shoes and
wearing a wig, was picketing and presenting

petitions to pedestrians. She was claiming

that a then State of Florida Circuit Court
Judge had denied her a fair trial ina
Civil lawsuit unrelated to the instant
actions, and that there was a conspiracy
against her.

As the crowd grew larger, VERNON
HETHERINGTON, then a City of Miami police
officer, requested that the Petitioner move
from the area in front of the front doors
and steps of the building to another area
in front of the building. The Petitioner
not only refused to move but instructed
Hetherington to arrest her. After several
requests, Officer Hetherington arrested the
Petitioner and charged her with breach of
the peace. Petitioner was then turned over
to the Metropolitan Dade County
Correctional Department, by whom she was
incarcerated.

In 1976, Petitioner filed the first of
several civil lawsuits. The complaint

filed therein, against the City of Miami,

Vernon Hetherington, Appalachian Insurance
Company’, Metropolitan Dade County? and
other Dade County Correctional Officers
arose out of the 1975 arrest and
incarceration.

In this 1976 civil litigation, Fowler,
White, Burnett, Hurley, Banick and Knight,
P.A., a/K/a Fowler, White, Burnett, Hurley,
Banick & Strickroot, P.A., a Florida
professional association, and attorneys
Phillip W. Knight® and Michael J. Murphy
(hereinafter collectively "THE ATTORNEYS")

were attorneys of record representing the

. Appalachian Insurance Company, a

Rhode Island corporation, was a liability
insurer for the City of Miami and police
officer Vernon Hetherington.

. Metropolitan Dade County
Department of Corrections and its officers
while not parties to this Petition for Writ
of Certiorari, nor to the state proceedings
below, were a party to the initial 1976
litigation filed by Petitioner.

. Now Honorable Judge Phillip wW.
Knight of the Eleventh Judicial Circuit in
and for Dade County, Florida.

2

City of Miami, police officer Vernon
Hetherington, and Appalachian Insurance
Company (hereafter collectively "INITIAL
DEFENDANTS") .

During the course of the 1976 lawsuit,
the INITIAL DEFENDANTS through THE
ATTORNEYS responded to various discovery,
including interrogatories, sent a letter to
the Petitioner, filed responses to three
separate Requests for Production which had
been propounded by the Petitioner, and
filed a response to the Petitioner's Motion
for Sanctions. All these actions were
taken in and relevant to the 1976
litigation.

In April, 1980, the action came to be

heard for jury trial‘ °. The trial court

‘ The case had previously been
disposed of by way of Summary Judgment,
however, it was appealed to the Third
District Court of Appeal of the State of
Florida, which reversed the Summary
Judgment and remanded for trial. Donner v.
Hetherington, 370 So.2d 1225 (Fla. 3rd DCA
1979).

directed a verdict in favor of the Initial
Defendants and allowed the jury to reach a
verdict against the remaining defendants,
Metropolitan Dade County and the Dade
County Correctional Officers. The jury
returned a verdict in favor of the
Petitioner, Miriam Donner, in the amount of
$15,000 against those defendants. °®

The Petitioner exercised her right to
appeal the directed verdict, and the
judgment entered thereon. Again, the Third

District Court of Appeals of the State of

o

. The action had also come to trial
once before, however, it was terminated and
dismissed by the judge due to the
obstreperous conduct of the petitioner
herein, Miriam Donner. That too was the
subject of an appeal. Donner v.
Hetherington, 376 So.2d 404 (Fla. 3d DCA
1979).

. The claim against the county
defendants was for post-arrest conduct
involving her confinement and treatment in
jail. The City of Miami, police officer
Vernon Hetherington, Appalachian Insurance
Company and THE ATTORNEYS, are not, either
in the 1976 litigation or in the instant
litigation, charged or chargeable for that
post-arrest conduct.

Florida reversed the directed verdict and
remanded the cause for a new jury trial
wherein the Petitioner could re-present all
of her evidence, to a jury, on the issues
of liability and damages against the
INITIAL DEFENDANTS.’

It must be pointed out that despite
the passage of nearly eleven (11) years
from the final remand for trial, the re-
trial of this 1976 litigation has not yet
occurred. Petitioner would have this court
believe that this is due to the
Respondent's conduct. However, it is due,
inter alia, to the Petitioner's multiple
Motions for Recusal of many different
Circuit Court Judges, and, Motions for
Continuance.

Instead, in 1981 the Petitioner filed
another lawsuit (hereinafter lawsuit No.

2), this time against: The City of Miami,

’ Donner v. Hetherington, 399 So.2d

1011 (Fla. 3d DCA 1981).

8

the Assistant City of Miami Attorney, Steve
Edelstein; and, Michael J. Murphy (one of
THE ATTORNEYS). She sought access to all
of the personal litigation files of THE
ATTORNEYS, which were created in connection
with defending the Petitioner's claims in
lawsuit No. 1. THE ATTORNEYS objected to
the request and refused to produce the
documents. The Petitioner asserted that
since the documents were created by THE
ATTORNEYS while acting on behalf of the
City, they were susceptible to discovery
under the Freedom of Information Act
(government in the sunshine).

This 1981 action proceeded to the
Florida Supreme Court, and, the documents
were ordered to be produced. Eventually,
on August 19, 1985, the requested records
were produced pursuant Court Order. The

Petitioner now has all of the records and

9

information which she has sought.®
Thereafter, on August 21, 1989, the

Petitioner filed yet another action, the

instant action, (hereinafter lawsuit No. 3)
naming as defendants not only the parties
to lawsuit No. 1, but also THE ATTORNEYS.
The Petitioner in the Complaint in lawsuit
No. 3, unartfully, unsuccessfully, and with
the delicate precision of a jackhammer
operator, attempts to state a cause of
action for fraud, based upon the conduct of
the INITIAL DEFENDANTS and THE ATTORNEYS in
the judicial proceedings related to lawsuit
No. 1 and lawsuit No. 2.

The City of Miami, and police officer
Vernon Hetherington, filed their Motion to

Dismiss, as did the other defendants,

’ The Freedom of Information Act,

F.S. §119 has subsequently been amended,
and the work product and attorney-client
privilege objection and defense asserted by
THE ATTORNEYS in the aforementioned action
was codified as an exception to the Freedom
Of Information Act. :

10

setting forth, inter alia, that the
Complaint failed to state a cause of action
upon which relief can be granted. The
motions, of the various parties, to dismiss
Petitioner's complaint, were heard before
the Court, having been duly noticed, and
the Court granted all motions to dismiss
the complaint with prejudice.

Petitioner moved for rehearing, which
was denied. In her motion, she raised for
the first time, albeit on a cryptic and
colorless basis, the notion that her
Complaint somehow involved, inter alia, 42
U.S.C. §1983 civil rights violations and,
18 U.S.C. §1964 RICO.

The Petitioner filed her appeal with
the Third District Court of Appeal for the
State of Florida. The issues asserted on
appeal by the Petitioner were briefed by
the parties and oral argument received by
the court.

It must be pointed out that in the

11

rt CCC

— i

instant case, before the trial court, the
Petitioner herein was’ represented by
counsel, and certainly, at the Third
District Court of Appeal, she was
represented by counsel not only for the
purposes of authoring a brief, but also for
the purposes of presenting oral argument.

The Third District Court of Appeal
affirmed the Order dismissing the cause of
action, setting forth that the litigation
conduct complained of was afforded common
law immunity, and, inviting the Petitioner
to amend her complaint in the original 1976
litigation to seek’ redress for her
grievances in connection with the discovery
and other litigation conduct which took
place in that 1976 proceeding. ’°

The Petitioner filed a Motion for

Rehearing, Certification or Clarification

. The opinion of the Third District

Court of Appeals in this case is reproduced
in the Petitioner's Petition for Writ of
Certiorari as an Appendix on Page A-l.

12

a

and Rehearing En Banc, which was denied by
the Third District Court of Appeal.
(Petitioner's Petition for Writ of
Certiorari at Page A-1l).

Thereafter Petitioner sought’~ the
discretionary jurisdiction of the Florida
Supreme Court by petitioning for Writ of
Certiorari, which was, on October 29th,
1991, denied by the Florida Supreme Court.
(Petitioner's Petition for Writ of
Certiorari at A-10).

Thereafter, on January 24, 1992, the
Petitioner filed the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari in this Supreme Court of the
United States. Pursuant to United States
Supreme Court Rules, Rules 15.2, 24.2,
29.2, and Rule 33, this Brief in Opposition
to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari is

filed.’°

” Your undersigned counsel is not

an admitted member of the United States
Supreme Court Bar, however, has, on January
29, 1992, filed a Motion for Admission to

13

ee

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The discretionary jurisdiction of this
Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257(a) has
not been properly invoked. The state
court judgment does not challenge the
validity of a State statute or challenge
the validity of any provision of the
Constitution or ptatutes of the United
States of America.

The state judgment is not final within
the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §1257(a). There
has not been an effective termination of
the litigation, as more remains to be done
and decided. Review would be advisory and
create piecemeal litigation.

The federal claims, if any, of the
Petitioner herein, though not’ timely
addressed or raised, are not foreclosed by

the judgment and accordingly this matter is

the Bar, Oath of Admission, and supporting
application and affidavits, which Motion
remains pending at the time of filing this
Brief.

14

not ripe for adjudication by this Court.

The state court judgment decides only
issues of state law. It did not, has not,
and need not address any federal issues, as
same were not properly presented.

The procedural path chosen by the
Petitioner for the redress of her
grievances was improper. The state court
correctly dismissed the action and directed
the Petitioner to the appropriate
procedural course.

The Petitioner's complaint fails to
set forth a cause of action for denial of
access to courts. The complaint does not
allege conduct by the Respondents which
prevented the Petitioner from _ seeking
redress, otherwise punished her for doing
so, or had a chilling effect on her.

The Complaint fails to set forth that
Or any other federal cause of action
sounding under 42 U.S.C. §1983. However,

on the face of the complaint, the

15

Respondents are protected by the common law
immunity afforded in judicial proceedings.
42 U.S.C. §1983 does not abrogate the
absolute immunity existing at common law.

The complaint fails to set forth a
cause of action under 18 U.S.C. §1964. The
conduct complained of does not set forth a
Single act, much less a sufficient pattern
of racketeering activity, which is itself
subject to criminal sanctions or
traditionally criminal in nature sufficient
to constitute a predicate act under 18
U.S.C. §1964. Further, Petitioner fails to
allege an injury contemplated by the
statute.

ARGUMENT

I. THE CERTIORARI JURISDICTION OF THIS
COURT PURSUANT TO 28 U.S.C §1257 HAS NOT
BEEN INVOKED.

A. CERTIORARI JURISDICTION OF
THIS COURT.

The Supreme Court of the United

States, a creation of Article III of the

16

Constitution of the United States, is a
court of limited jurisdiction. The Supreme
Court can exercise no appellate
jurisdiction except in cases, and in the
manner and form defined and prescribed by
Congress. American Construction Company v.
Jacksonville T & KWR Company, 143 U.S. 372
(1893), 37 L.Ed. 486, 13 S.Ct. 758 (1893).
The appellate jurisdiction in the federal
system is purely statutory. Heike v.
United States, 217 U.S. 423, 54 L.Ed. 821,
30 S.Ct. 539 (1910).

United States Supreme Court Rule No.
10 states:

"A review on writ of certiorari

is not a matter of right, but of

judicial discretion. A petition

for a writ of certiorari will be

granted only when there are

special and important reasons

therefor."

The Petitioner herein has attempted to
invoke the jurisdiction of this court under

Statute 28 U.S.C. §1257(a), which statute

allows that the Supreme Court of the United

17

|

States “may” review “”final” judgments or
decrees rendered by the highest court of a
state in conformity with 28 U.S.C.
§1257(a).

Such jurisdiction of this Court is
improper in the instant action, in that the
state court judgment sought to be reviewed
is not final; does not challenge the
validity of a statute of the United States
of America; does not challenge the validity
of a statute of the State of Florida as
being repugnant to the Constitution; and
does not deny a federal right specially
claimed.

Rather, as will be set forth below,
the judgment of the state court is grounded
solely upon independent state grounds;
dismisses the Petitioner's cause as being
in the improper procedural posture under

State law, and in no way is decided upon

‘+ See page three above for full text.

18

federal grounds, as a federal cause of
action was not properly presented.

B. THE JUDGMENT IS NOT FINAL
WITHIN MEANING OF 28 U.S.C.
§1257 (a).

The first word in the jurisdictional
entitlement of 28 U.S.C. §1257(a) is the
word final. A plethora of decisions by
this Court turn on the issue of the
finality of a particular judgment in a
state court. The finality requirement of
28 U.S.C. §1257, limits the United States
Supreme Court's review of state court
judgments to "final judgments". It serves
to: (1) avoid piecemeal review by federal
courts of state court decisions, (2) avoid
giving of advisory opinions in cases where
there may be no real case or controversy in
the sense of Article III of the
Constitution and, (3) limit federal review
of state court determinations of federal
constitutional issues to leave at a minimum

federal intrusions in state affairs. North

19

Dakota State Board of Pharmacy v. Snyder’s
wEug Stores, Inc., 414 U.S. 156, 38 L.Ed.
373, 94 S.Ct. 407 (1973).

While recognizing that the
determination of finality under 28 U.S.C.
§1257 is a question of purely federal law
to be resolved by this United States
Supreme Court, said determination is to be
made by examination to the entire or whole
record. Gotthilf v. Sills, 375 U.S. 79, 11

L.Ed. 2d 159, 84

op)

.Ct. 187 (1963);
Construction and General Laborers’ Union v.
Curry, 371 U.S. 542, 9 L.Ed. 2d 514, 83
BeGes BIL (1963).

A state court judgment in order to be
final for the purposes of review by this
Supreme Court of the United States must be
the final word of the final court in the
sense that: (1) it must be subject to no
further review or correction in any state
tribunal and, (2) it must be effective

determination of litigation and not merely

20

7

interlocutory or intermediate steps
therein. Market S.R. Company v. Railroad
Com. Of California, 324 U.S. 548, 89 L.Ed.
1171, 65 S.Ct. 770 (1945).

The possibility that matters left open
by the state court's judgment may generate
additional constitutional questions
requires a finding that the finality
essential to the review of such judgment by
the Supreme Court of the United States does
not exist. Republic Natural Gas Company v.
Oklahoma, 334 U.S. 62, 92 L.Ed. i2izd, GF
S.Ct. 972 (1948).

The Third District Court of Appeal of
the State of Florida affirmed the trial
court's dismissal of the Petitioner's
complaint. The District Court also
directed the Petitioner to seek to amend
her complaint in the initial 1976 lawsuit
to attempt to include whatever claims she
may have. This is not a final order within

the purview of 28 U.S.C. §1257, and

as

a

accordingly the jurisdiction of this Court
is improper.

What remains to be done is for the
Petitioner to amend her complaint in the
1976 action, to attempt to state causes of
action under either state or federal law,
and allow the court in which the alleged
improper conduct took place to make a full
and final determination of the issues
presented therein. Until such amendment is
sought and/or made, there is no "case or
controversy" under Article III.

Even if this Court were to accept
jurisdiction in this case and render a
decision on whether Petitioner did, could,
or would state a federal cause of action,
nonetheless, the very same issues can and
will be presented by the Petitioner in the
initial 1976 litigation. Hence this Court
runs the very serious and practical risk of
condoning and participating in piecemeal

litigation. This court would be giving an

22

advisory opinion where the real "case or
controversy" is not properly before this
Court, but rather is awaiting the
Petitioner's amended complaint in the 1976
action. This would constitute more than a
minimum federal intrusion into the State of
Florida's procedural affairs in terms of
dictating when and where the cause of
action is properly brought under state
procedural law. ”

There is more than the mere
possibility that there are matters left
open by the state court's judgment which
may and will generate additional
constitutional questions, and that there is
something more of substance which remains
to be decided at the trial court level of
the Florida state courts.

Indeed, the District Court recognized
that the litigation was not over, when it
said:

"It has been well said that there

23

must be some point in every court
proceeding when the cause is
finally disposed of, its thread
cut, and parties out of
court...The public welfare
demands that there shall be some
definite end to litigation--a
point sometime, somewhere, when

every case is terminated. We
cannot afford to return to the
interminable and outrageous

practice similar to that depicted
in Dickens' case of Jarndyce v.
Jarndyce." Mabson v. Christ, 96
Fla. 756, 759, 119 So. 131, 132,
(1928). We trust that trial of
this cause will occur before the
litigation assumes such
Dickensian proportions."

Accordingly, the finality requirement
of 28 U.S.C. §1257 has not been met and the
jurisdiction of this Court thereunder does
not lie.

C. THE COMPLAINT DOES NOT RAISE
A_FEDERAL ISSUE.

Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to
review proceedings of the state courts is
not that of a general reviewing court in
error, but is limited to specific instances
of denials of federal rights, specially set

up in state court and denied by the rulings

24

|

and judgment of that court. Auters-Price
Oil Company v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86, 53 L.Ed.
417, 29 S.Ct. 220 (1909).

Such jurisdiction turns upon whether
the federal right was specially set up or
claimed in that court and denied by its
decision. 28 U.S.C. §1257(a); Parker v.
McLain, 237 U.S. 469, 59 L.Ed. avea, 35
S.Ct. 632 (1915).

Indeed, federal courts have no power
to review judgment of a state court except
where a substantial federal question is
involved. Reich v. Freeport, 388 F.Supp.
953 (N.D. Ill. 1974). Moreover, a real,
and not a fictitious federal question is
essential to the jurisdiction of the
Supreme Court of the United States to
review a judgment of a state court.
Caldwell v. Texas, 137 U.S. 692, 34 L.Ed.
816, 11 S.Ct. 224 (1891).

Thus, the next issue with respect to

this Court's jurisdiction is whether the

25

Petitioner has raised a real and
substantial federal question.

It is recognized that the
determination of whether a federal question
is presented is itself a federal question.
Honeyman v. Hanan, 300 U.S. 14, 81 L.Ed.
476, 57 S.Ct. 350 (1937).

A plain reading of the complaint”’
fails to disclose the presentment of a
claim for the denial of the federal right
of access to the courts; fails to disclose
a cause of action for Racketeer Influenced
and Corrupt Organization violation (RICO);
and fails to disclose any other cause of
action for denial of the privileges and
immunities afforded under the Constitution
or its amendments. What one sees when
reviewing the complaint is merely an

attempted cause of action for fraud based

12 The complaint is reproduced in full

in the Appendix to this Brief in
Opposition.

26

upon alleged discovery violations in the
1976 lawsuit.

Although the words "under color of
state law" appears several times throughout
the complaint, they are primarily addressed
to the conduct which gave rise to the
initial litigation. When these words are
used to refer to the conduct which gives
rise to the alleged cause of action in the
instant case, they are insufficient to
properly set forth a real and substantial
federal question. Delmar Jockey Club v.
Missouri, 210 U.S. 324, 52 L.Ed. 1080, 28
S.Ct. 732 (1908). No real and substantial
federal right was specially set up.

The assertions by the Petitioner in
her motion rehearing’’ at the trial court
level are untimely and insufficient. New

Orleans Waterworks Company v. Louisiana

1S The motion for rehearing, and the

addendum to motion for rehearing are
reproduced in the Appendix to this Brief in
Opposition.

27

Sugar Refining Co., 185 U.S. 336, 46 L.Ed.
936, 22 S.Ct. 691 (1902). They lack all
color or merit, and have no substance or
foundation. The mere fact that the words
are raised is not sufficient to invoke the
Supreme Court jurisdiction. Louisiana
Sugar Refining Co., supra.

The manner of raising the federal
question is a significant consideration in
determining whether jurisdiction will lie.
A federal question must have been set up at
the proper time and in the proper way.
Jacobi v. Alabama, 187 U.S. 133, 47 L.Ed.
106, 23 S.Ct. 48 (1902).

The jurisdiction of the United States
Supreme Court to review a judgment of the
state court cannot be invoked on the ground
of denial of a title or right claimed under
the Constitution or statute of the United
States, unless it is specially set up or
Claimed at a proper time and in a proper

way; and such claim cannot be a matter of

28

——————— ———

mere inference, but requires averment so

distinct and positive as to place it beyond

the doubt that it was intended to assert a

federal right. Union Mutual Life Insurance

Company v. Kirchoff, 169 U.S. 103, 42 L.Ed.
677, 18 S.Ct. 260 (1898).

The mere averment of a _ possible
federal guestion in the motion for
rehearing and in the Petitioner's briefs,
without color or grounds therefore, is
insufficient to sustain the jurisdiction of
the Supreme Court. Bowe v. Scott, 233 U.S.
658, 58 L.Ed. 1141, 34 S.Ct. 769 (1914).

In the instant case, the first mention
of any indication that a federal right was
possibly being raised was in the
Petitioner's motion for rehearing of the
Respondent's motion to dismiss. Even
there, it was a hollow one line averment
that the complaint set forth a cause of
action under the RICO statutes. Shortly

thereafter, a supplement to the motion for

29

rehearing was filed containing a mere
averment, colorless and unsubstantial, that
the complaint set forth a cause of action
under 42 U.S.C. §1983. These untimely,
meritless, colorless, frivolous and
unsubstantial mere averments of a federal
question are insufficient to present a
federal issue.

D. THE STATE DECISION DOES NOT
TURN ON A FEDERAL ISSUE.

A federal right must be both specially
set forth and denied. Parker, supra.
Where a state court bases its judgment on
grounds other than law arising under a
federal question, the United States Supreme
Court will not take jurisdiction.
DeSaussure v. Gaillard, 127 U.S. 2i6, 32
L.Ed. 125, 8 S.Ct. 1053 (1888). The
jurisdiction by ia United States Supreme
Court cannot be sustained where’ the

decision of the state court appealed from

was made upon rules of general

30

jurisprudence, or other grounds, broad
enough in themselves to sustain’ the
judgment without considering the federal
question appearing in the case but not
necessarily involved. New Orleans v. New
Orleans Waterworks Company, 142 U.S. 79, 35
L.Ed. 943, 12 S.Ct. 142 (1891).

Assuming, arguendo, that a federal
right was specially set up, it certainly
was not denied by the decision to be

appealed herein. The state court judgment

does not deny any federal rights
whatsoever.
Rather, it makes a determination,

under state law and applicable to state law
claims** that: (1) the complaint fails to
state a cause of action upon which relief
can be granted; (2) an immunity exists;

and, (3) if, the Petitioner does or may

14

Only state law claims are alleged
in the complaint. See I. C., supra, and
III and IV, infra.

31

have a cause of action, state or federal,
that it is properly brought in the initial
1976 litigation where the alleged
misconduct occurred.

It is not sufficient to give the
Supreme Court jurisdiction that a federal
question might have been raised or might
have been decided and involved in the case.
It must appear, either in direct terms, or
by necessary intendment, that it was in
fact brought to the notice of the court and
decided by it. Crowell v. Randell, 35 U.S.
368, 9 L.Ed. 458 (1836). It must also
appear that the decision of a federal
question was necessary to the determination
of the cause and that it was actually
decided or that the judgment as rendered
could not have been given without deciding
it. Brown v. Atwell, 92 U.S. 327, 23 L.Ed.
911 (1876).

The Third District Court of Appeal of

the State of Florida did not decide federal

32

questions, nor was it necessary for any
federal question to have been decided.
Rather, the District Court must have
determined that any federal question, if
one existed, was not properly brought
procedurally. Said causes of action, if
any, must be brought in the 1976 litigation
by way of an amended complaint.

In the instant case, the District
Court rendered its ruling on state law
common law immunity and on the improper
procedural posture of the case before the
court. Indeed the District Court rendered
its judgment on grounds of general
jurisprudence and other grounds relating to
the abuses of the judicial process which
have resulted at the hands of the
Petitioner throughout the course of this
seventeen (17) year morass.

In conclusion, the jurisdiction of
this Court under 28 U.S.C. §1257(a) does

not lie in the instant action as a federal

33

issue was not timely presented herein in a
procedural posture so as to allow the state
courts to decide it, was not decided by the
state court, and the judgment rendered by
“the state court, lacks the requisite
finality.

II. THIS COURT SHOULD EXERCISE ITS

DISCRETION IN FAVOR OF DECLINING
CERTIORARI JURISDICTION.

Assuming, arguendo, that the
jurisdiction of this court is’ properly
invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257(a), such
jurisdiction is merely discretionary; it is
not as of right. The presence of the
phrase "may be reviewed" clearly sets forth
the discretionary, as opposed to mandatory
nature of the jurisdiction. Congress has
limited this Court to discretionary
jurisdiction through its 1988 amendment of
this statute, which disposed of the appeal
of right found in subparagraphs 1 and 2 of
former 28 U.S.C. §1257 (1970).

Indeed Rule 10 of the United States

34

ell

Supreme Court Rules_ sets forth the
proposition that certiorari is not a matter
right but of judicial discretion. It goes
on to set forth some general considerations
governing the court's exercise of its
discretion.

Subparagraph (a) of Rule 10 dealing
with actions of Federal Circuit Courts is
unquestionably inapplicable to the instant
case. Subparagraph (b) deals with a state
court’s decision which is in conflict with
the decision of another state court or of
United States Court of Appeal.

The instant decision is in no way in
conflict with decisions of another state
court or United States Circuit Court of
Appeal on any Sedarni question. Rather, no
federal question was decided, and the court
invited the Petitioner to seek to raise the
federal question in the appropriate

procedural forum.

Petitioner attempts to convince this

35

court that the decision sought to be
reviewed is in conflict by alleging certain
federal cases which discuss the existence
or non-existence of common law immunities
under federal causes of action. Without
fully addressing same herein?it is clear
that Congress' enactment of 42 U.S.C. §1983
did not intend to abrogate or eliminate
traditional common law immunities. Burns
v. Reed, 111 S.Ct. 1934 (1991).
Subparagraph (c) of the United States
Supreme Court Rule 10 discusses the
consideration given in an instance where a

state court has decided an important

question of federal law which has not been
decided by the Supreme Court, but should
be. This is simply not the case in the
instant action as again the state court did
not decide a federal question, much less an

important federal question. Additionally,

° This will be done in Section III

below.

36

this Court has rendered its opinions on the
existence or non-existence of immunities
and on the elements of a cause of action
sounding under 42 U.S.C. 1983 and 18 U.S.C.
1964.

However looking beyond the technical
statutes of jurisdictional entitlement, and
rules of judicial discretion, one must
merely resort to common sense to determine
whether or not this Court should exercise
its discretion in favor of declining
jurisdiction.

Notwithstanding the discussions of the
appropriate elements of a RICO action, or
§1983 action*®, it seems incredulous that
the Congress of these United States of
America intended for’ these federally
created causes of action to apply to cases
such as the instant one.

II(a). ACCESS TO THE COURT?

16

and IV.

Discussed, infra, at Sections III

a

——

~

Our Founding Fathers' creation of the

Constitution and the Bill of Rights
certainly could not have intended to
include the facts in this case _ when
creating the undeniable right of access to
the courts. The Petitioner has not been
denied access to the courts in any way,
shape, or form as was contemplated by the
creation of either the Constitution, its
amendments, or 42 U.S.C. §1983.

Ms. Donner has been involved in the
initial lawsuit which gave rise to the
picketing occurrence; picketed on the steps
of the courthouse; filed a lawsuit against
the city, the police officer, and her
jailors; sought and received access of the
courts in the writ of mandamus proceedings,
seeking access to the personal litigation
files of the city and city attorneys; filed
yet another action in state court suing the
INITIAL DEFENDANTS together with THE

ATTORNEYS; and in each one of these cases

38

exercised her right of appeal, and rights
to seek discretionary review of every layer
of court in the State of Florida (eight (8)
times); and, now seeks access to this
United States Supreme Court.

It is not possible that the Founding
Fathers in the creation of the
Constitution, nor Congress, through its
enactment of the statutes and amendments,
nor this Court, in its formulation of
federal remedies for federal wrongs, could
have possibly intended to create a federal
cause of action for denial of access to the
courts in favor of a loosing party in a
lawsuit who alleges that the other party
lied or was untruthful in some way and that
that was a possible reason for the loss.

II(b). RICO?

Congress created the Racketeer
Influenced and Corrupt Organizations
Statutes (RICO) for the purposes of doing

away with organized crime, the mob. One

39

must look no further than Section 1 of

Organized Crime Control Act of 1970 which

sets

forth the purpose of said act

follows:

"The Congress finds that (1)
organized crime in the United
States is a highly sophisticated
common and diversified and
widespread activity that annually
drains billions of dollars from
America's economy for unlawful
conduct in illegal use of force,
fraud and corruption; (2)
organized crime derives a major
portion of its power through
money obtained from such illegal
endeavors as syndicated gambling,
loansharking, theft and fencing
of property, imploration and
distribution of narcotics and
other dangerous drugs and other
forms of social exploitation; (3)
this money and power are
increasingly used to infiltrate
and corrupt legitimate business
and labor unions and to subvert
and corrupt our democratic
process; (4) Organized crime
activities in the United States
weaken the stability of the
nation's economic system, harm
innocent investors and competing
organizations, interfere with
free competition, seriously
burden interstate and foreign
commerce, threaten the domestic
security and undermine the
general welfare of the nation and
its citizens; and (5) organized

40

as

crime continues to grow because
of defects in the’ evidence
gathering process of the law
inhibiting the development of the
legally admissible evidence
necessary to bring criminal and
other sanctions or remedies to
bear on the unlawful activities
to those engaged in organized
crime and because of the
Sanctions or remedies available
to the government are
unnecessarily limited in scope
and impact.

It is the purpose of this act to
seek the eradication of organized
crime in the United States by
strengthening the legal tools in
the evidence gathering process by
establishing new penal
prohibitions and by providing
enhanced sanctions and new
remedies to deal with the
unlawful activities of those
engaged in organized crime."

There is a no set of facts alleged in

the Complaint, various briefs on appeal, or
in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
filed in this Court which do, or could
possibly, allege conduct which Congress
intended to eradicate, control and/or
penalize under the Racketeer Influenced and

Corrupt Organizations Statutes.

41

II(c). PETITIONER HAS MADE A
MOCKERY OF THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM

The Petitioner has attempted to (a)
prolong the costly nuisance of these
various interminable and harassing lawsuits
arising out of a 1975 arrest, and, (b)
burden this Court with frivolously asserted
non-existent federal issues.

This Court should not lend credence
to, or in any way justify these efforts.
Accordingly, this court should exercise its
discretion in favor of declining
Jurisdiction over this frivolous’ and
vexatious lawsuit.

IItl. THE PETITIONER’S COMPLAINT DOES NOT
SET FORTH A FEDERAL CAUSE OF ACTION

SOUNDING UNDER 42 U.S.C. §1983 FOR DENIAL
OF ACCESS TO THE COURTS.

Petitioner argues that she stated a
cause of action under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for
denial of her rights of access to the
courts. The complaint, however, fails to
set forth such a cause of action. Rather,

the record demonstrates a colorful, yet

42

disturbing history of Petitioner's abuse of
the court system over some seventeen eke
years.

Certainly, the Constitution, and its
amendments, provide a right of access to
the Courts. United States Constitution
Article IV Section II; Amendments zs WV
XIV. However, the Constitutional right of
access to the Court refers only to the
right to petition the court for redress of
grievances; it does not encompass any right
to obtain information to substantiate such
a claim. Doe v. Schneider, 443 F.Supp. 780
(D.C. Kansas 1978). The cases cited by the
litigant are inapplicable to the instant
case and fail to set forth the denial of
her right to access to the courts, as does
her complaint fail to set forth a cause of
action for same.

In Ryland v. Shapiro, 708 F. 2d. 967
(Sth Cir. 1983), the conduct complained of

is the destruction of, and/or lack of

43

effort to investigate, evidence prior to
any litigation. In that case, the
plaintiff was prevented, through’ such
destruction or lack of effort from even
knowing that a cause of action existed.
Due to the information dispersed by the
police department, the plaintiff in Ryland
believed that her daughter had committed
suicide. She did not know that her
daughter was murdered, due to the failure
of the police department to. properly
investigate, and due to their withholding
of information with respect to the shooting
incident.

Believing that her daughter's death
was the result of a suicide rather than
murder, the plaintiff in Ryland did not
bring any cause of action for wrongful
death whatsoever and such a cause of action
would have been available to her had the
state actors properly investigated and

delivered evidence. Thus, she was

44

prevented from filing an action, and the
court determined that such was a
impingement upon her federal right of
access to the courts. Ryland, supra.

In Harrison v. Springdale Water and
Sewer Commission, 780 F.2d 1422 (8th Cir.
1986), a land owner sufficiently stated a
cause of action under §1983 for
infringement of their constitutional rights
of access to the courts. The plaintiffs,
Harrisons, filed a cause of action against
the city for an alleged pollution of their
property by the city. The city filed a
frivolous condemnation counterclaim "as a
tactical move to put pressure on the
Harrisons to settle their damages claim
against the city". The allegations in the
complaint were such that the city had no
Plan for using the property, that the
conduct was purely vexatious and harassing
and was totally without legal basis. This

conduct, (much like denying certain basic

45

privileges to prisoners who file habeas
corpus actions) constitutes a denial of
access to the courts.

The court reasoned that the conduct

has a chilling effect on the particular

litigant in question, as weli as other
litigants who may choose to file an action.
Harrison essentially is a federal cause of
action for malicious prosecution, and/or
for what happens to habeas corpus prisoners
(i.e. penalizing, chilling, and otherwise
preventing persons from seeking redress of
grievances in the court systen.)

The instant case is factually
distinguishable from tthe Harrison v.
Springdale Water and Sewer Comaission,
Supra, case as well. Here, the actions by
the INITIAL DEFENDANTS could not possibly
constitute an affirmative claim or
frivolous or vexatious claim against the

Petitioner. The conduct of the INITIAL

DEFENDANTS cannot constitute conduct

46

designed to, or having the effect of,
punishing the Petitioner for her attempt to
access the courts for redress of grievances
or having a chilling effect on her or other
persons similarly situated such that they
could not or would not access the courts.

Further, the complaint does not allege
that the conduct was taken in retaliation
for the Petitioner having exercised her
constitutional rights to seek judicial
relief. Nor did the complaint allege that
the actions have had such a chilling
effect. Rather, the only thing that the
complaint alleges is that the INITIAL
DEFENDANTS and THE ATTORNEYS ' answered
interrogatories and requests for production
SRA, Seer the Petitioner alleges were
untrue, and hindered her ability to win her
case.

It is somewhat surprising that Ms.

Donner could be possibly be heard to

complain that her federally guaranteed

47

right of access to the courts has been
hampered. She has now filed three (3)
lawsuits and in each has exercised her
right to appeal (eight (8)) at all levels
of the state courts. Indeed she now seeks
and has access to this Court to redress her
grievances.?’

It must be pointed out that though
there is a constitutional right to access
the courts:

"The right of access to the

courts is neither absolute nor

unconditional, and there is no
constitutional right of access to

the courts to prosecute an action

that is frivolous or malicious.

No one, rich or poor, is entitled

to abuse the judicial process.

Tripati v. Bemanan, 878 F. 2d 351

(10th Cir. 1989)." (Citations

omitted. ) os

Based upon her complaint, briefs and

Petition, no federal rights, privileges or

immunities were deprived by the alleged

’ Of course, the Respondents assert

that this Court either lacks jurisdiction,
or should not accept it.

48

conduct, other than the Petitioner's
federal right of access to the courts.

One need not look at the immunity
issue presented by the Petitioner as she
has failed to state a cause of action for
denial of access to the courts
notwithstanding any potential defenses.

However, in that the Petitioner does,
at great length, discuss the issue of
immunity in her Petition, same will be
addressed herein under United States
Supreme Court Rule 15.1.

The Petitioner's reliance on Howlett
v. Rose, 537 So.2d 706 (Fla. 2d DCA 1989),
is most inapplicable. In Howlett, the
state court determined that a arm of the
state, a county school board, was entitled
to an absolute sovereign immunity in an
action brought by a minor under 42 U.S.C.

§1983. The state court determined that the

question of whether sovereign immunity

exists is a question of state law and not

49

federal law.

This Court in Howlett v. Rose, 110
S.Ct. 2430 (1990) correctly ruled that the
state court as a court of general
jurisdiction was compelled to hear federal
based causes of action, and that the state
statutory assertion of sovereign immunity
waS not applicable to federally based
causes of action. This Court reaffirmed
its holding in Martinez v. California, 444
U.S. 277 (100 S.Ct. 553), 62 L.Ed. 2d 481
(1980). There, it was held that a state
Cannot immunize an official from liability
for injuries compensable under federal law.
That point is not argued herein.

Rather, the position of the
Respondents is that there are long standing
common law immunities which apply to cases
brought under 42 U.S.c. $1983, as they do
to other actions. Burns, supra; Briscoe v.
LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1983). Those common

law immunities which existed prior to the

50

enactment of 42 U.S.c. §1983 have not been
abrogated by its creation. Burns, supra.
There has long since been an immunity
afforded to litigants for litigation
related conduct. Such common law is well
established in the various Florida cases
cited by these Respondents in their
previous briefs, and indeed by the Third
District Court of Appeal decision. These
common law immunities have long since stood
and are not abrogated by the creation of
the federal cause of action. Burns, supra.

The Petitioner's complaint fails to
set forth a cause of action for denial of
access to the courts and further, assuming
arguendo that the complaint does set forth
denial of that or some other federal right,
the absolute immunity afforded to the
litigants bars such an action. Robertson
Vv. Industrial Insurance Company, 75 So.2a
198 (Fla. 1954); Meyers v. Hodges, 44 So.

357 (Fla. 1907); Ponzolji and Wassenberg v.

51

Zuckerman, 545 So.24 309 (Fla. 3d pca

1989); Perl v. Omni International of Miami,
Ltd., 439 So.2da 316 (Fla. 3d DCA 1983);
Sailboat Key, Inc. v. Gardner, 378 So.2qa 47
(Fla. 3d DCA 1979); Regal Marble, Inc. y.
Drexel Investments, Inc., 515 S0.2a4 1015
(Fla. 4th DCA 1987); Wright v. Yurko, 446
SO.2d 1162 (Fla. 5th DCA 1984). Those
privileges anda immunities appear on the
face of the complaint anda accordingly the
complaint fails to set forth a cause of
action upon which relief can be granted.
Flye v. Jeffords, 106 So.2q 228 (Fla. lst
DCA 1958).

The reasoning of these rules of law
are both sound and well established. The
courts have stated:

"The policy reasons for the

privilege have often been

repeated:
'In fulfilling their
obligations to the
clients and to the

court, it is essential
that lawyers, Subject

52

only to the control by
the trial court and
the bar, should be
free to act on their
own best judgment in
prosecuting or
defending a lawsuit
without fear of later
having to defend a

civil action for
defamation for
something said or

written during the
ewes t.on. * *
Ponzoli, supra at 310.
(Citations omitted. )

The common law of immunity extends to

actions sounding not only in defamation but

in fraud and as stated in Perl, citing

Robertson, by reasoning:

"The grounds upon which the rule
of absolute privilege is
sustained as to judicial
proceedings is that all persons
connected with the proceedings
should be free from fear of being
called upon to defend suits
arising as a result of derogatory
disclosures and that to permit
such suits would result in a
circuitry of actions by which the
same issues tried in the judicial
proceedings could be retried."
Perl, supra, at 318. (Citations
omitted. )

That is exactly was is going on here.

The Petitioner believes that She has been
wronged during the 1976 litigation
discovery process. Any wrongs, and their
remedies, be they under state, or federal
law, should be addressed in the original
1976 litigation to avoid Circuitousness
and, a multiplicity of Suits, and to ensure
the correct procedural forum.

The repercussions of the conduct of
THE ATTORNEYS and the INITIAL DEFENDANTS
Should be left to the discretion of that
court wherein the alleged conduct has
occurred; be that either by a state or
federal cause of action Or remedy; through
contempt proceedings; sanctions; and/or
through admonishment by the state bar.
Buchanan Vv. Miami Herald Publishing
Company, 237 So.2da 9 (Fla. 1969); Wright,
Supra, at 1164.
Iv. PETITIONER’S COMPLAINT DOES NOT SET
FORTH A FEDERAL CAUSE OF ACTION SOUNDING

UNDER 18 U.S.C. 1964 FOR A FEDERAL RICO
VIOLATION IN THAT IT FAILS TO ALLEGE

54

SUFFICIENT CRIMINAL PREDICATE ACTS, AND
FAILS TO ALLEGE AN INJURY RECOGNIZED BY
RICO STATUTES.

The RICO statutes were not designed to
encompass this case’® even assuming each
and every allegation of the Petitioner as
being true and taking each and every
inference therefrom in favor of the
Petitioner. This simply isn't what RICO
stands for.

However, to the extent that RICO is
thoroughly discussed by Petitioner, counter
argument shall be presented herein pursuant
to United States Supreme Court Rule 15.1.

The complaint fails to state a cause
of action for a civil remedy under the
Federal RICO Statutes, 18 U.S.C. §1961-1964
and was appropriately dismissed. The
Petitioner's complaint does not allege any
criminal predicate acts to qualify for

RICO. The Petitioner attempts to allege a

18 See II(b).

55

pattern of mail fraud by claiming the
INITIAL DEFENDANTS, through THE ATTORNEYS
made written misrepresentations to her,
during litigation, which were sent through
the United States mail. [See Appendix A-1
through A-21, Subparagraphs 8(a) through
(h), 22, 23, 24, and 29.}] The issue is not
whether there were misrepresentations in
the discovery. The issue is solely whether
the mailing of such discovery is mail fraud
as defined in 18 U.S.c. §1341. The answer
is no. As there was no mail fraud the
complaint fails to allege predicate acts
and, therefore, the complaint was
appropriately dismissed.

The act of sending even false answers
to interrogatories and responses to request
for production through the mail does not
violate the Federal Mail Fraud Statute. 18
U.S.C. §1964 allows a civil] remedy for any

person injured in his business or property

by reason of a violation of 18 U.S.C. §1962

(RICO). 18 U.S.C. §1962 prohibits, among

other things, "patterns of racketeering
activity" as ",..any act which is
indictable under...18 Psu, §1341
(relating to mail fraud)". Pursuant to 18

U.S.C. §1961, the predicate act complained
of (mail fraud) must be indictable under
the appropriate statute (18 U.S.C. §1341,
mail fraud). The "racketeering activity"
must be an act in itself subject to
criminal sanctions. It must be an act or
practice which is treated, traditionally,
as criminal in nature. Sedima, S.P.R.L. vy.
Imrex Co., Inc., 105 S.Ct. 3275 (1985);
Kleiner v. First National Bank, 526 F.
Supp. 1019 (M.D. Ga. 1981). Sending
responses to discovery, whether false or
not, through the mail, is an action which
is not indictable, not Subject to criminal
Sanctions and has not been treated
traditionally as Criminal in nature.

Courts have Specifically held an

~¥

attorney's (or party's) action of sending
even false statements through the mail
during litigation is not punishable under
the Mail Fraud Statute. To allow such
action would chill the ability of attorneys
(Or parties) to adequately and zealously
represent their clients interests in
litigation, McMurtry v. Brasfield, 654 F.,
Supp. 1222 (E.D. Ba. 1987). In Spiegel v.
Continental Illinois National Bank, 609 F.
Supp. 1083 (D.c. I1l. 1985) where the RICO
Claim involved a predicate act of an
attorney sending a false statement to
another attorney through the mail during
litigation, the court stated:

"In the view of the court, false

Statements made between attorneys

in the context Of pending

litigation are outside the scope

of the Mail Fraud Statute. No

fiduciary duty exists and the

parties are dealing at arms

length. The appropriate remedy

in such a case would be to lodge

@ Complaint with the appropriate

disciplinary body or apply to the

court for assistance. A RICO
action for treble damages is

58

hardly an appropriate solution."
McMurtry, at supra.

In discussing the same issue, the
Court in McMurtry stated that subjecting
such correspondence to a Mail Fraud Statute
would chill an attorney's effort and duty
to represent his client during the course
of pending litigation, and, as in the case
at bar, give birth to collateral suits.
Therefore, as the predicate acts alleged in
the complaint are not indictable under the
Mail Fraud Statute, the complaint failed to
state a claim for civil RICO and was
appropriately dismissed.

Petitioner cites U.S. v. Peters, 732
F.2d 1004, (lst Cir. 1984), in support of
her position that mailing of interrogatory
answers gives rise to a RICO violation.
That case involves two defendants who were
charged with the criminal RICO violations
for committing arson of their warehouse and

attempting to collect on the insurance

29

policies. They mailed sworn statements of
loss in furtherance of their
arson/insurance fraud conspiracy. The
defendants therein, the Court held, knew
that as a furtherance of their initial
criminal conspiracy, "their attorneys would
send the insurance claims forms and
interrogatory answers through the mail or
that the Defendants knew these mailings
would follow in the ordinary course of
business." Arson and insurance fraud are
acts traditionally considered criminal in
nature. Peters is inapplicable to the
instant case.

Petitioner also cites U.S. v. Vaughn,
797 F.2d 1485 (9th Cir. 1986) as supporting
her contention that an attorney is
susceptible to a mail fraud conviction for
a petition and follow up letters he knew to
be false. There, the attorney was charged
with conspiracy to import marijuana, aiding

and abetting importation of marijuana and

60

making a false statement to a government
agency together with the four counts of
mail fraud. The attorney was involved with

the conspiracy to import marijuana and in

furtherance of the conspiracy to import

marijuana (traditionally a criminal act)
the attorney submitted petitions and false

documents to federal agencies to obtain the

aircraft used to smuggle the drugs. Vaughn

is inapplicable to the instant case.

Finally, Petitioner sets forth the

case of U.S. v. Leyden, 842 F.2d 1026 (8th

Cir. 1988). Leyden does not hold that
mailing of a pleading can serve as the

basis for a mail fraud prosecution.

Rather, in Leyden, the mailing of the

insurer's responsive pleading was held not

to serve as a basis for a mail fraud

prosecution.

Even still, Leyden also dealt
with a criminal prosecution arising under a
predicate act of arson for the purposes of

insurance fraud.

The Petitioner's complaint also fails
to state a cause of action as the injury
claimed is not one recognized under the
RICO Statutes. 18 U.S.C. §1964(c) provides
that a person may sue who is injured in his
"business or property" by reason of a
violation _of §1962. Congress did not
intend for victims of predicate acts to

recover for all types of injuries suffered.

Therefore, the limitation. Sedima, supra;

Grogan v. Platt, 1835 F.2d 844 (11th Cir.
1988). Personal injury claims are not
injuries to business or property and are
precluded. Sedima, supra; Grogan, supra.
The Petitioner's complaint alleges
damages in the 1976 civil complaint, out of
which this action arises, solely for
personal injuries. The complaint alleges
that damages for the personal injury claim
would have been more had it not been for
the alleged misrepresentations. Therefore,

the damages are claimed for _ personal

injuries. As the complaint fails to state
a cause of action for civil RICO, it was
appropriately dismissed.

CONCLUSION

The Petitioner has failed to, and
cannot properly invoke the jurisdiction of
this Court under 28 U.S.C. 6§1257(a).
Indeed, even if said jurisdiction could be

invoked, this Court should exercise its

discretion in favor of declining

Jurisdiction over this frivolous,
vexatious, colorless and meritless lawsuit.
Nothing presented by the Petitioner in any
way sets forth a real federal cause of
action, much less one which is substantial
Or important. The Founding Fathers and
Congress in no way intended the federal
Constitution, statutes and remedies to
apply to this Petitioner or to the conduct
complained of in this case.

Wherefore, the Respondents herein

respectfully request that this Court
dismiss the petition for want of
jurisdiction, and/or in the alternative
exercise its discretion and decline its
jurisdiction over this matter.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and
correct copy of the foregoing was mailed
this 24th day of February, 1992, to: E.s.
CORLETT, e > eS ESQUIRE, 116 West Flagler
Street, Miami, FL 33130; and to MIRIAM
DONNER, Post Office Box 1232, Hallandale,

FL 33008-1232.

Respectfully Submitted,

David Kleinberg, Esquire
GAEBE, MURPHY, MULLEN
ANTONELLI & GERLIN

420 South Dixie Highway
Third Floor |

Coral Gables, FL 33146
Tel.: (305) 667-9223

64

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
THE 11TH JUDICIAL
CIRCUIT IN AND FOR DADE
COUNTY FLORIDA

GENERAL JURISDICTION
DIVISION

CASE NO.: 89-37625 CA 17
MIRIAM DONNER,
Plaintiff,

Vv. COMPLAINT

APPALACHIAN INSURANCE
COMPANY, a Rhode
Island corporation,
CITY OF MIAMI, VERNON
HETHERINGTON, FOWLER,
WHITE, BURNETT, HURLEY,
BANICK & KNIGHT, P.A.,
a/k/a FOWLER, WHITE,
BURNETT, HURLEY, BANICK
& STRICKROOT, P.A., a
Florida professional
association, PHILLIP

W. KNIGHT, and MICHAEL
J. MURPHY,

Defendants.

/

Plaintiff Miriam Donner sues Defendants
Appalachian Insurance Company, a Rhode
Island corporation (hereinafter referred to
as Appalachian), City of Miami (hereinafter

referred to as the City), Vernon

A-1

Hetherington (hereinafter referred to as
Hetherington) Fowler, White Burnett, Hurley,
Banick & Knight, P.A. a/k/a Fowler, White,
Hurley, Banick & Strickroot, P.A., a Florida
professional association (hereinafter
referred to as the P.A.), Phillip W. Knight
(hereinafter referred to as Knight) and
Michael J. Murphy (hereinafter referred to
as Murphy) and alleges:

- (a) This is an action for damages
in excess of $5,000, exclusive of interest,
attorney's fees and costs.

(b) Appalachian is an insurance
company authorized to do business in the
state of Florida.

2. In Case No. 76-8301 filed in the
above-styled Court, Plaintiff Miriam Donner

sued Defendants City of Miami Police Officer

Hetherington, the City, Appalachian,
Metropolitan Dade County (hereinafter
referred to as Dade County), certain Dade

County correctional officers, et al.

A-2

3. In that suit, plaintiff alleged
inter alia that

(a) While she was exercising her First
Amendment rights to picket and gather
Signatures upon a petition, she was falsely
arrested on a criminal charge of breach of
peace, imprisoned by Hetherington, acting
within the course’ and scope of his
employment as a City Police Officer, and
deprived of her civil rights under color of
state law;

(b) as a result of that arrest, she was
imprisoned in the Dade County Women's Annex
as a pretrial detainee for five days;

(Cc) while so imprisoned, the personnel
of. that Annex, acting within the course and
Scope of their employment as employees of
Dade County and under color of state law,
Physically assaulted her, stripped her
naked, and left her penned in a cold
solitary cell (all in full view of male

prison personnel) without Clothing,

A-3

blankets, towels, linen, medical attention,
exercise facilities, soap, toilet paper,
running water, other elements or personal
hygiene or operable toilet for about four
days;

(d) after hearing the testimony of
arresting Officer Hetherington, the court
granted Donner's motion to dismiss the
criminal charges lodged by Hetherington
against her and dismissed those charges;

(e) as a result of the foregoing, she
suffered mental anguish, humiliation,
disgrace, physical pain and embarrassment,
for which she sought damages, (compensatory
damages against all defendants and
additional punitive damages against the
individual defendants).

3. Since Appalachian had issued a
liability insurance policy to the City and
its police officers for the policy period
including the dates of the incidents alleged

in the complaint, Appalachian was joined as

A-4

a defendant in that suit in its capacity as
liability insurer of the city and of
Hetherington in regard to the Claims
asserted,

4. Knight, Murphy, Fred Ober, and Greg
Gaebe respectively were attorneys employed
by the P.A., a professional association
engaged in the practice of law. Knight was
at all relevant times a partner in the P.A.
until his separation from the P.A. in 1979.
Murphy became a partner in the P.A. before
his separation in 1985 but the date of
inception of his partnership position is
unknown.

5. Appalachian retained, maintained,
and supervised the legal services of the
P.A. to represent Appalachian, the City and
Hetherington in regard to the claims
asserted in Case No 76-8301.

6. (a) In particular, the P.A. did
appear in that case in behalf of those

defendants through attorneys Knight, Murphy,

A=-5

Fred Ober, and Greg Gaebe.

(b) Moreover, Knight and the P.a~.
appeared in that case in behalf Of Dade
County and the Dade County correctional
officers.

7+ The City, Hetherington, and
Appalachian asserted in their answers
various defenses.

8. In the course of pretrial discovery
proceedings in that case and under color of
state law, the City, Hetherington,
Appalachian, the a and Knight,in
conspiracy with one another, engaged in a
scheme and pattern of fraudulent
misrepresentation to plaintiff and to the
Court through service by mail of papers
through the U. S. Postal Service, including
inter alia the following:

(a) the City's April 12, 1976 answers
to interrogatories nos. 4,6, and 7 (served
with the complaint) served upon plaintiff by

P.A. through Knight (representing that

A-6

witnesses to the arrest incident were
"unknown" and that insurance coverage is
"unknown" ) ;

(b) Hetherington's May 25, 1977 answers
to interrogatories nos. 5, 5c, and 7 served
upon the plaintiff by the P.A, through
Knight (representing as the only insurer
Appalachian and representing that the only
statement given by Hetherington concerning
the incident was a July 1, 1975 statement to
Officer P.F. Kumalae) ;

(C) March 20, 1978 letter from Knight
and the P.A. in behalf of the City to the
Court (representing that the City had only
two statements of its officers with regard
to that incident _ anda that all such
statements were being supplied to the Court
pursuant to its discovery order) ;

(d) service upon Plaintiff of the March
21, 1978 response of the City through its
attorneys, the P.A., and Knight, to

Plaintiff's request for production nos. 3

A-7

and 9 (representing that al] records
requested in those requests and ordered to
be produced in the aforementioned discovery
Order had been produced) ;

(e) their March 31, 1978 reservice upon
plaintiff and refiling of the said March re
1978 response;

(f) service upon plaintiff of the May
8, 1978 response of the City through its
attorneys, the Pes and Knight, to
Plaintiff's request for production (again
representing that all of the records ordered
to be produced in that discovery order had
been produced) ;

(g) service upon plaintiff of
Hetherington's and the City's 1978 response

to plaintiff's motion for Sanctions (again

repeating the aforementioned
representation) ;
(h) service upon plaintiff of

Hetherington's and the City's July 21, 1978

response to plaintiff's request for

A-8

production (representing the limits of
insurance coverage).

9. Those representations were false.
Among the false aspects of those
representations were the following:

(a) (i) the names ana addresses of
witnesses to the arrest incident (i. e. John
McBride and Bill Urbiza) were known to the
defendants, to the P.A., and to Knight ever
Since 1975;

(ii) those witnesses were no longer
available to provide testimony when finally
Plaintiff was able through other means to
learn their names;

(b) (i) in addition to the Single July
1, 1975 statement of Hetherington and Single
June 23, 1975 statement of Officer Parker
that were produced and disclosed, other
Statements were at all relevant times known
to, and in the custody and control of, the
defendants; included inter alia among those

concealed statenents were the following:

A-9

Hetherington and Officer Parker, on May 6
and May 7, 1975 respectively, executed
written statements to Sargeant Chapek abcut
the arrest incident, supplied to the P.A.,
to Knight, to Appalachian, and to the City,
that were concealed in Hetherington's
aforementioned answers to interrogatories
and in the City's and Hetherington's
aforementioned responses;

(ii) while the June 23, 1975 and
July 1, 1975 statements that were produced
both contained an allegation that plaintiff
Stated she wanted to be arrested, the
earlier statements that were withheld
omitted any such allegation; moreover, the
withheld May 6, 1975 Statement served to
confirm the time of arrival of Hetherington
on the scene of the arrest;

(iii) Hetherington stated under
oath that the June 23, 1975 and July 1, 1975

Statements that the City produced were not

authentic;

(Cc) two liability policies issued by
Columbia and California Union Insurance
Company affording $1,000,000 limits and a
$5,000,000 limit policy issued by Houston
General Insurance Company to the City and to
its police officers covering the period
during which the arrest of Plaintiff took
place and covering the claim was concealed;

10. Those representations were known by
the respective defendants to be false when
made or alternatively were made without
knowledge of whether they were true or
false.

11. Those representations- were made
with the intention that Plaintiff should
rely upon them as true.

12. Those representations were material
to the preparation and presentation of
plaintiff's case for trial, not only against
these defendants, but also against Dade
County and the Dade County correctional

officers joined as defendants.

A~ii

13. Plaintiff relied upon the truth of
those representations in preparing and
presenting their case for trial to her
detriment.

14. If defendants would have truthfully
disclosed the that aforementioned withheld
statements existed and were in the custody
and control of the City, Appalachian,
Hetherington, the P.A. and Knight, plaintiff
could have effectively argued to the Court
that discovery sanctions, including the
entry of default, should be imposed upon the
City and Hetherington for their violation of
the prior discovery order requiring the
production of those statements.

15. At the April, 1980 trial of that
case, the P.A., Ober, and Murphy (and the
office of the Dade County Attorney) appeared
in behalf of the defendants.

16. (1) At that trial, Hetherington
testified that plaintiff told him at the

time of arrest that she wanted to be

A-12

arrested and sought to cast doubt upon
Plaintiff's evidence of his time of arrival
on the scene of the arrest.

(ii) A central element in
Plaintiff's proofs was that Hetherington's
time of arrival was at "1420", the same time
as the arrest.

(iii) Hetherington haa testified
that in his mind Plaintiff's conduct when he
first observed her was in a gray area, not
enough to form the basis for an arrest but
contrary to the notations on the arrest
report and on his worksheet he variously
testified at trial that he did not then
arrest her or that he arrived earlier on the
scene.

(iv) Plaintiff alone was able to
testify on the other hand that Hetherington
arrested her immediately without any

probable cause and that She did not state

that she wanted to be arrested;

(v) If plaintiff would have had
access to the records withheld as a result
of the foregoing misrepresentations and if
defendants would not have falsely
represented under oath that the remaining
Statements were not cuthentic, plaintiff
could have conducted further pretrial
discovery to uncover evidence that plaintiff
could have introduced at trial to impeach
and contradict Hetherington's testimony and
plaintiff could have produced evidence
impeaching and contradicting that testimony.

(vi) Although the P.A., Ober and
Murphy were fully cognizant of the prior
scheme or pattern of fraudulent
misrepresentations, in furtherance of that
scheme, under color of State law, and in
conspiracy with one another and with the
other defendants, they continued to conceal
from plaintiff the truth and to avail their

clients at trial of the advantage thereby

gained.

17. (a) At that trial, the Court
directed a verdict in favor of the City,
Hetherington and Appalachian and entered
judgment on that verdict in favor of those
defendants.

(b) If defendants would not have
committed the aforementioned fraudulent
misrepresentations, plaintiff could have
presented additional evidence at trial that
would have avoided the entry of that
directed verdict and the necessity, expense,
and mental anguish of the appeal that was
thereby necessitated.

18. That verdict and the ensuing
judgment in favor of those defendants was
reversed on appeal.

19. At that trial, after the verdict
was directed, plaintiff's claims against
Dade County and the Dade County correctional
officers were submitted to the jury.

20. In closing argument to the jury,

the Dade County Attorney generally attacked

A=-15

Plaintiff's credibility and specifically
pointed out to the jury Hetherington's
testimony that plaintiff allegedly stated
she wanted to be arrested and he argued to
the jury that since she wanted to be
arrested she was not entitled to any
Substantial damages for the conditions of
her incarceration.

21. The jury returned a verdict in
favor of plaintiff and against the remaining
defendants but, as a result of those
fraudulent misrepresentations, only in the
sum of Fifteen Thousand Dollars.

22. (a) In furtherance of the
aforementioned scheme or pattern of
fraudulent misrepresentations, with
knowledge of the fraudulent character of
those representations, and in conspiracy
with one another and with the other
defendants, Murphy and the P.A., acting in
behalf of Hetherington, Appalachian and the

City, under color of State law, falsely

A-16

represented to plaintiff and to the Court at
an October 23, 1981 hearing that defendants
are not trying to hide anything and are not
Claiming any privilege that plaintiff can
have any records she wants So long as the
request is channeled through Murphy.

(b) On October 28, 1981, plaintiff
made a public records demand upon the City
of Miami Attorney and upon the P. A. and
Murphy to produce their respective case
files relating to the claims asserted in
Case No. 76-8301.

23. Included in those case files were
all of the aforementioned statements,
records referring to those statements,
records confirming defendants' knowledge at
all relevant times of the existence of those
records and of the existence of the
aforementioned withheld names and addresses
of witnesses and of the existence of the

aforementioned withheld liability insurance

policies.

24. In response to that request, in
order to conceal that scheme or pattern of
fraudulent misrepresentations, and in order
to deprive plaintiff of her claims asserted
in Case No. 76-8301, the City and the P. A.
and Murphy, acting in conspiracy with one
another and with the other defendants and
acting in behalf of and in concert with the
City and under color of state law, responded
that the demanded records would be produced
only when donkeys fly.

25. As a result, plaintiff as Relator
was forced in 1981 to initiate a mandamus
proceeding (Case No. 81-369 EX later
renumbered as Case No. 83-9287 CA 26)
against Respondents Assistant City Attorney
Steve Edelstein, Murphy, the P. A., and the
City to gain access to those records.

26. That proceeding was litigated at
all levels of the Florida court system over

a period of four years and finally resulted

od
!

18

in the issuance of a writ of mandamus
requiring those Respondents to produce the
demanded public records.

27. For the first time, on August 19,
1985, plaintiff received notice of the entry
of that writ and on that date Respondents
produced to plaintiff for inspection certain
of the demanded records.

28. During the pendency of the public
records mandamus preceeding, Case No. 76-
8301 was stayed.

29. In furtherance of that scheme or
pattern of fraudulent misrepresentations and
of the said conspiracy, Appalachian financed
the P. A.'s and Murphy's defense of the
mandamus proceeding.

30. As a further result of that scheme
or pattern of fraudulent misrepresentation,
the said conspiracy and the aforementioned

efforts to conceal them and the resulting

delays and litigation,

(a) plaintiff has incurred
emotional stress, mental anguish, and
aggravation of a prior physical condition,
to-wit, headaches;

(b) relevant evidence useful to
plaintiff in the prosecution of her claims
(including claims for violations of her
Civil rights) has been lost;

(Cc) the memories of material
witnesses useful to Plaintiff in the
prosecution of ner claims (including claims
for violations of her civil rights) have
prejudicially faded;

(d) plaintiff devoted substantial
time to the prosecution of the said
discovery efforts and to the public records
proceeding.

Wherefore, plaintiff demands judgment
against defendants for triple compensatory

damages, for punitive damages, for any

attorney's fees that may be incurred in the

prosecution of this action, and for her

costs.

MIRIAM DONNER, Plaintiff
P. O. Box 1232
Hallandale, Florida 33009

|
|

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE ELEVENTH
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA IN AND FOR
DADE COUNTY FLORIDA

GENERAL JURISDICTION DIVISION
CASE NO. 89-37625 CA 17
Miriam Donner,
Plaintiff,
vs.

APPALACHIAN INSURANCE
COMPANY, a Rhode
Island corporation,
CITY OF MIAMI, VERNON
HETHERINGTON, FOWLER,
WHITE, BURNETT, HURLEY,
BANICK & KNIGHT, P.A.,
a/k/a FOWLER, WHITE,
BURNETT, HURLEY, BANICK
& STRICKROOT, P.A., a
Florida professional
association, PHILLIP

W. KNIGHT, and MICHAEL
J. MURPHY,

Defendants.

ee eee EEE EEE EEE ED DD

PLAINTIFF'S MOTION FOR REHEARING

Plaintiff Miriam Donner moves the Court
to rehear its order entered March 27, 1990
and upon rehearing to set. aside or

alternatively amend that order in accordance

with the following grounds.

A-22

PLAINTIFF'S OBJECTION TO PURPORTED
VERIFICATION OF MOTION

In entering that order, the Court may
have overlooked Plaintiff's March 5, 1990
"Objection" to defense counsel's purported
"verification" of Defendants City of Miami's
and Hetherington's motion to dismiss. That
verification was not stated to be on
personal knowledge and no facts were alleged
that showed it to be on personal knowledge.
Moreover, that motion contains merely legal
conclusions and no factual assertions. Nor
was that motion Supported by any
documentation.

In entering that order, the Court may
also have overlooked that, in any event, one
may not look beyond the four corners of the
allegations of the complaint to determine
whether the complaint states a cause of
action. Any alleged res judicata, collateral
estoppel, limitations, or waiver is a matter

in avoidance that must be pleaded as an

A-23

affirmative defense; such an affirmative
defense may sate be interposed in a motion to
dismiss unless’ the allegations of the
complaint are alone sufficient to
affirmatively establish that defense. The
allegations of the instant complaint do not
establish any such defenses.

In entering that order, the Court may
have overlooked that, with regard to the
statute of limitations, paragraph 17 of the
complaint clearly sets out that the date
when certain allegedly concealed records
were made available to plaintiff anda
therefore the date when first the alleged
fraud could have been discovered was not
before August 19, 1985, just four years
before the date of commencement of suit
(Monday August 21, 1989). A plaintiff is
under no obligation to anticipate the
defense of the statute of limitations by
alleging the "date of discovery" in the

complaint.

In entering the order, the Court may
have overlooked that, with regard to the
claim of res judicata or collateral
estoppel, the only judgments alleged in the
complaint are (a) plaintiff's money judgment
against Dade County in Case No. 76-8301 and
(b) the writ of mandamus issued against the
City of Miami, Murphy, Fowler, White, and
Assistant City of Miami Attorney Edelstein
in the public records proceeding, Case No.
83-9287. The allegations of the complaint do
not affirmatively demonstrate that there is
any "privity" between Dade County and the
City, City of Miami Police officer
Hetherington, the C2tr"s insurer
Appalachian, Fowler, White, Knight, or
Murphy that would in any manner entitle
defendants to set that judgment up as
collateral estoppel or res judicata in the
case at bar. Moreover, any collateral
estoppel effect of the peremptory writ of
mandamus in Case No. 83-9287 would

A-25

necessarily reinforce plaintiff's claims in

the case at bar that she was entitled to
access to the records held to be public
records that were allegedly concealed from
her in Case No. 76-8301. No aspect of that
writ in any way detracts from plaintiff's
instant cause of action. The complaint does
not disclose that the instant claims for
damages could have been joined in that
mandamus proceeding, first because of the
nature of that proceeding and second because
defendants' alleged conduct complained of in
the complaint is not alleged to have been
discovered when that proceeding was
commenced. No evidence outside the four
corners of the complaint can be considered
on a motion to dismiss in support of
defendants' claim that the action is barred
by res judicata or estoppel by judgment.

In entering that order, the Court may

have overlooked that, in Wilson v. Wahl, 383

So. 2d 311 (Fla. 2d DCA 1980), the Second

A-26

District reversed an order of dismissal,
aptly holding:

It appears that the order of
dismissal was entered because
there was another action pending
between the parties in another
division of the same court
involving questions of law and
fact common to those raised by the
complaint in the case at bar.
Under these circumstances, we
think that administration of
justice is best served by an order

which averts the piece-meal
handling of the claims between the
parties. An order which

consolidates the actions, rather

than the order which dismissed the

instant action will effect that

desired result.

..-Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.270. (Emphasis

added)

That decision recognizes the
inappropriateness of dismissal just because
it is alleged that another already-pending
action involves common or overlapping
questions of law or fact.

In entering their order, the Court may
have overlooked that the allegations of the
instant complaint clearly state claims upon

which relief may be granted. Among the

A-27

causes of action stated are

(a) common-law fraud; all the elements
of such an action are fully alleged [see
allegation in paragraphs 8(a)-(h), 9(a)-(c),
a0, 22, 28, S23, 29) 20, 26, B27, 26, 39c 20%
21, and 30 of complaint];

(b) common-law conspiracy (see
paragraphs 4, 5, 6, 8, 16(vi), 24, and 29 of
complaint) ;

(c) an action modeled after Bondu's
action against Cedars of Lebanon Hospital

approved in Bondu _v. Gurvich, 473 So.2d

1307, 1312-1313 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984), rev.
denied, 484 So.2d 7 (Fla. 1986) (patient may
sue hospital for hospital's loss of records
statutorily required to be maintained by the
hospital where that loss allegedly resulted
in the summary judgment in favor of doctor
in patient's medical malpractice suit
against that doctor); all of the elements of

A-28

a Bondu-type? Suit are alleged {see
Paragraphs 8(c), (d), and (f), 9(b) (i) ana
fear «. S86, 16(v), and 17(b), and 26 of
complaint; Sec. 119.01, 119.041, and 119.07,
Pia. Stat. (1975). See also Sec. 119.01,
119.041, 119.07, Fla. Stat. (1975); and

Edelstein v. Donner, 471 So.2d 26 (Fla.

1985) );

(d) an action under 18 U.S.C. Sec.
1964(c) (Civil RICO), based upon defendants!
alleged use of the mails in furtherance of

their alleged pattern of conduct, Tafflin v.

Levitt, wv. Ss. ____ (Case No. 88-1650,
Opinion filed January 22, 1990) (state
courts have jurisdiction over federal civil
RICO actions; "many RICO cases involve
asserted violations of state law, such as
state fraud Claims") (see paragraphs 8,
8(a)-(h), 22, 23, 24, and 29 of complaint).

In entering its order, the Court may

1 Bondu_v. Gurvich, 473 So.2d 1307.

A-29

a

also have overlooked that, contrary to the
arguments advanced in paragraphs 9 and 10 of
the City's motion to dismiss, the doctrine
of sovereign immunity does not insulate the
City from a federal civil RICO action and
therefore Sec. 768.28, and its limitations
have no bearing upon the City's liability.
The Supremacy Clause of the U. S.
Constitution gives priority to the federal,

not the state, statute. See Felder v. Casey,

108 S. Ct. 2302 (1988).
If the order was’ based upon a

determination that the complaint was somehow

deficient in setting out a cause of action,

the Court may have also overlooked the fact
that plaintiff was entitled to at least one
opportunity to amend and that the said order
erroneously failed to grant leave to amend.

Finally, the said order, as worded, is

inconsistent.

For all of the foregoing reasons,
rehearing should be granted and on rehearing

A-30

the said order should be set aside or
modified to comport with the foregoing
Principles of law.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that true copies of
the foregoing were mailed to David
Kleinberg, Gaebe, Murphy, Mullen &
Antonelli, 4601 Ponce de Leon Blvd. Ste. 100
Coral Gables, Fla 33146 and to E. S. Corlett
III 116 W. Flagler St. Miami, Fla 33130 this

Sth day of April, 1990.

P. O. Box 1232
Hallandale, Florida
33008-1232

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
THE 11TH JUDICIAL
CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA IN
AND FOR DADE COUNTY
FLORIDA

GENERAL JURISDICTION
DIVISION

CASE NO.: 89-37625 CA 17
MIRIAM DONNER,
Plaintiff,

Vv. ADDENDUM TO MOTION
FOR _ REHEARING

APPALACHIAN INS.
CO., et al.
Defendants

/

Plaintiff Miriam Donner files as an
amendatory addendum to her motion for
rehearing the additional grounds that the
complaint also states a cause of action
under 42 U. S. C. Sec. 1983.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that true copies of
the foregoing were mailed to David Kleinberg
4601 Ponce de Leon Boulevard Suite 100 Coral

Gables, Florida 33146 and to FE. S. Corlett

III 116 W. Flagler Street Miami, Florida

33130 this 6th day of April, 1990.

P. O. Box 1232
Hallandale, Florida
33008-1232

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0116%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
