# Opposition Brief — Winterthur Reinsurance Corp. of America v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0029%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 509 U.S. 921

## Text

L/ - re

Nos. 91-1111, 1128, 1131, & 1146

, GEES

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1991

*

HARTFORD FIRE INSURANCE CO., et al.,

Petitioners,

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, et al.,

Respondents.

+

Petitions For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

°

RESPONDENTS’ CONSOLIDATED BRIEF IN
OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS FOR
WRITS OF CERTIORARI

+

J]. JoserH CURRAN, Jr.

Attorney General of Maryland

ELLEN S. CoorerR

Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

200 St. Paul Place, 19th Floor

Baltimore, Maryland 21202

(410) 576-6470

Counsel for Respondent the State of Maryland

(For Further Appearances See Signature Page)

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether allegations that insurers’ enlistment of
reinsurers and others in agreements not to trade, as a
means of compelling competitors to stop selling certain
insurance products to American consumers, are sufficient
to state a claim of “boycott, coercion or intimidation”
within the meaning of section 3(b) of the McCarran-
Ferguson Act.

2. Whether insurers’ participation in unregulated,
and, therefore, nonexempt, conspiratorial conduct even
qualifies for the antitrust exemption provided by section
2(b) of the McCarran-Ferguson Act.

3. Whether, under the state action doctrine,
approval of an insurance policy form developed by a
trade association results in antitrust immunity for
unauthorized and unsupervised marketplace activities to
compel competing insurers to use the form and stop
selling certain insurance products to American con-
sumers.

4. Whether foreign reinsurers’ self-regulation of
some aspects of their business should preclude a federal
court from exercising jurisdiction over the foreign rein-
surers’ anticompetitive conduct when (i) that conduct
was targeted at American markets; (ii) that conduct had
direct, substantial and foreseeable effects on American
commerce; and (iii) no relevant regulation, foreign or
domestic, compels or authorizes the anticompetitive con-
duct.

ii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

5. Whether American insurance consumers have
standing to sue for injunctive relief and damages under
the antitrust laws when they suffer antitrust injury to
business or property as a result of a restraint of trade in
the market in which they purchase insurance

aarew a

tr?

|

ili

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

The other petitions to which this consolidated oppo-
sition brief apply are styled:

Merrett Underwriting Agency Management
Limited, et al. v. State of California, et al., No.
91-1128;

Winterthur Reinsurance Corp. of America v.
State of California, et al, No. 91-1131; and

Unionamerica Insurance Co. Ltd., et al. v. State
of California, et al, No. 91-1146.

Governmental Plaintiffs (Respondents):

State of Alabama

State of Alaska

State of Arizona

State of California

State of Colorado

State of Connecticut

State of Louisiana

State of Maryland
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
State of Michigan

State of Minnesota

State of Montana

State of New Jersey

State of New York

State of Ohio

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
State of Washington

State of West Virginia

State of Wisconsin

Borough of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
City of Altoona, Pennsylvania

iv

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT - Continued

City of Baton Rouge, Louisiana

City of Birmingham, Alabama

City of Clay, West Virginia

City of Eunice, Louisiana

City of Lafayette, California

City of Mobile, Alabama

City of Nachitoches, Louisiana

City of New Orleans, Louisiana

City of San Francisco, California

City of Slidell, Louisiana

City of York, Pennsylvania

County of Cowlitz, Washington

County of Hancock, West Virginia

County of Hardin, Ohio

County of Mineral, West Virginia

County of San Benito, California

County of San Francisco, California

County of Schuylkill, Pennsylvania

County of Teton, Montana

County of Wirt, West Virginia

Roosevelt Island [New York] Operating
Authority, Inc.

Town of Hanover, Massachusetts

Town of Milford, Massachusetts

Township of Jackson, Ohio

Village of Lake Success, New York

Village of Groton, New York

Private Plaintiffs (Respondents):

Ace Check Cashing, Inc.
Acme Corrugated Box Company, Inc.
Anastasios Markos, t/a Municipal Exxon
Bay Harbor Park Homeowners’
Association, Inc.
Bensalem Township Authority

ia

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT - Continued

Big D Building Supply Corporation
Carlisle Day Care Center, Inc.
Carmella M. “Boots” Liberto,

t/a R.J. Liberto, Inc.
Durawood, Inc.
Environmental Aviation Sciences, Inc.
Glabman Paramount Furniture Mfg. Co., Inc.
Henry L. Rosenfeld, t/a Mobile Check Cash
Jerry Grant Chemical Associates, Inc.
Keyboard Communications, Inc.
Kirklington Park, Inc.
Les Ray Bobcat, Inc.
P & J Casting Corp.

Defendants (Petitioners):

Allstate Insurance Company

Aetna Casualty & Surety Company

CIGNA Corporation

Hartford Fire Insurance Company

Insurance Services Office, Inc.

Reinsurance Association of America

Constitution Reinsurance Corporation

General Reinsurance Corporation

Mercantile & General Reinsurance Company of
America

North American Reinsurance Company

Prudential Reinsurance Company

Winterthur Swiss Insurance Company

Thomas A. Greene & Company, Inc.

C.J.W. (Underwriting Agencies) Limited

D.P. Mann Underwriting Agency Limited

Edwards & Payne (Underwriting Agencies)
Limited

Janson Green Management Limited

vi

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
AND RULE 29.1 STATEMENT - Continued

Lambert Brothers (Underwriting Agencies)
Limited

Merrett Underwriting Agency Management
Limited

Murray Lawrence & Partners

Sturge Reinsurance Management Ltd.

Peter N. Miller

Robin A.G. Jackson

Three Quays Underwriting Management
Limited

R.K. Carvill & Company

Unionamerica Insurance Company Ltd.

Continental Reinsurance Corporation

(U.K.) Limited

CNA Re (U.K.) Ltd.

Kemper Reinsurance London, Ltd.

Excess Insurance Company, Ltd.

Terra Nova Insurance Company Limited

Ballantyne, McKean & Sullivan Limited

Private plaintiffs do not have any corporate parents
or subsidiaries within the meaning of Rule 29.1.

Vii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SpemeMnetee PRESEINIGD .... 1.1... cece eee e ee an es i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND RULE 239.1
RE errr iii
ND MEO cy cote canisndevewscnenosncs 1
ee yy 6 ou or isd nals eae ek bo 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............. 1
pemsememmeee Qh ifte CAGE. ...............0.0005. 1
MISSTATEMENTS IN THE PETITIONS............. 4
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 6

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS NO OPPORTUNITY TO
CLARIFY THE REACHES OF THE MCCAR-
ng SE a ee 7

A. Defendants’ petition for certiorari asks this
Court to reject the definition of boycott
expressed in St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance
Co. v. Barry, and used by this Court
eee 8

B. Defendants’ exemption forfeiture arguments
actually seek to expand the scope of the
limited antitrust exemption established by
the McCarran-Ferguson Act............... 12

Il. THE DECISION BELOW RESTS ON A CON-
VENTIONAL APPLICATION OF THE STATE
ms og fo | 16

Ill. THE DECISION TO EXERCISE JURISDICTION
IN THIS CASE PROPERLY APPLIES SETTLED
PRINCIPLES OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY.. 20

viii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

A. This Case Provides No Occasion to Refine
the General Principle Favoring the Exercise
of Jurisdiction Where American Effects Are
Direct, Substantial and Foreseeable ....... 20

B. No Genuine Conflict Exists Between United
States and United Kingdom Law.......... 24

IV. PLAINTIFFS HAVE STANDING AS CON-
SUMERS IN THE MARKET RESTRAINED BY

THE REINSURER BOYCOTTS. ...............- 25
A. Plaintiffs Meet This Court’s Test for Stand-
Pee Tere Tee TSE rere eT ere vere ree 26
B. This Case Does Not Challenge the Bound-
aries of Standing Doctrine ................ 27
C. Plaintiffs Suffered Distinct Injuries........ 29

ee ee re ree ee eee OCR Te Poe 30

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Abbott Laboratories v. Portland Retail Druggists
Pe ee A OI oa os whee owen heed ens 13
Arizona v. Shamrock Foods, 729 F.2d 1208 (9th
Cir.), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1252 (1984) ........... 29
Associated General Contractors of California, Inc.
v. California State Council of Carpenters, 459
Se ee Ee a a iinc ba Gelka uae. 26, 28, 29, 30
Beltz Travel Service v. International Air Transport
Assn., 620 F.2d 1360 (9th Cir. 1980)............... 12
Blue Shield of Virginia v. peresactes 457 U.S. 465
CG cn aig pe eae ry cn oN aT 26, 27, 30
California Liquor Dealers Assoc. v. Midcal Alumi-
num, inc., 445 US. 97 (1960) ........6.045. 16, 17, 18
California v. American Stores Co., Inc., 495 U.S.
og Ac. IRR TR Ie TS ate tier cae Ree eg apa indy ee 26
Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S.
ne ee a res ena coe 26, 28
City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising,
i he ee, Bo ROWED Gs ack wee ue ece sean 19
Connell Construction Co. v. Plumbers & Steamfit-
re ce See ee See. Se gas ee ec le eras 13
Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide, 370 U:S.
ee Pe es re os pre ee wie eres 21
Eastern States Retail Lumber Dealers’ Association
v. United States, 234 U.S. 600 (1914).............. 10

Fashion Originators Guild v. FTC, 312 U.S. 457
CRUE eee ec ee ee ee he eee heres 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

FMC v. Seatrain Lines, Inc., 411 U.S. 726 (1973)..... 13
Fontana Aviation v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 617 F.2d

re Sn Us sc va a aoe oc nana ue kaka cannes 29
Georgia v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 324 U.S. 439

Dt eivelt bot corr OLUee ta keuk webs Ab ceiees 26
Grant v. Erie Ins. Exchange, 542 F. Supp. 457 (M.D.
Pa. 1982) aff'd mem. 716 F. 2d 890 (3rd Cir.),

Cort. Gam, GHG Ua. Fae CUE os na weccecsnndeaccnds 11
Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co.,

ee Se ee a cue a cae ncaae eee eens 7, 13

Illinois Brick Co. v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 720 (1977) . .29, 30

Laker Airways, Ltd. v. Sabena, Belgian World Air-
lines, 731 F.2d 909 (D.C. Cir. 1964)............. 20, 21

Mannington Mills, Inc. v. Congoleum Corp., 595
Pe SE GR Os REF OE inc skin ak csves aa baeen tees 21

Mine Workers v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657 (1965) .13, 14
Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94 (1988) ................ 16

St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Co. v. Barry, 438
oS BS. ee rere [sas wee aes oe

Summit Health Ltd. v. Pinhas, 111 S.Ct. 1842
SC Sos Chae ba Care wee ewe eee eee Nae 1

Timberlane Lumber Co. v. Bank of America, 549
F.2d 597 (9th Cir.'1976) (Timberlane I), after
remand 749 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir. 1984) (Tim-
berlane II), cert. denied, 472 U.S. 1032 (1985)
te Ne rh, ests BP iyl be Sas Ae A on AD EEK, Se 20, 21,

nN
Nm
hN
nes

Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119
SURG. Ch Se ga ye eet ett i ie ea Atee e ee eae 13, 14

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

United States v. Aluminum Co. of America (Alcoa)

we Pia SIG Cle Cie. WOES qo. nw ccc cnc cccsccsces 21
United States v. McKesson & Robbins, Inc., 351

ns a re ee rhe a adel aie 13
United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S.

I a ate eve re ER a a on 14
United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters

a | | a rr 10
UNR Industries Inc. v. Continental Ins. Co., 607 F.

supp. 655 (N.D. TH. 1964)...............-. Circe ty 11
W.S. Kirkpatrick & Co. v. Environmental Tectonics

Re, See WD. SD CIGID qn woo ccc cee cccsses 20, 21
STATUTES, RULES AND TREATIES
FEDERAL
3 | Ripe Aree pag Ae Reo Seb ESP Se AGS ae 1
eee oe a ha ca a glee ak eae 1, 21
Se Es EN os aly owe Vr pe coe wenn Deeeb cn ees 1
re on. ts vate teagan Bins Cae 1
ee ee a ny OE a Rees nhac ceacae aa iis 1
er ence ae EE or ts nae 7, 14
See me EG ott SN eh is Se ee 7

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 12(b).........7
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 56............ 7

Re GS UE WOE hen cca kecnal'ciren ShaNGE EATS 4

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
STATE
Md. Ann. Code Art. 48A, § 220 (1986)............ 5, 17
N.j. Stat. Ann. 17:298-4(4) CI9GD). ... «0-5 cs cncnanss 5, 17
FOREIGN
I GR SE Ties sik c ke recs coticnauaesens 24
SURGE GE TOI, FAT Bee sin Ra eee Tw, 24
OTHER
9 E. Kintner & J. Bauer, Federal Antitrust Law 245
OE A iks kan cthh ve cans ew VESVAUANAMER Saba es eRh bat 11
Restatement (Third) of Foreign Relations 443,
CIS BO kn csc nview casctnsaceusaevene Wes 20
Thompson, Critical Issues of the Eighties: Hot
Trends in Reinsurance Will Affect Legal, Legis-
lative, and Regulatory Actions, 16 Forum 1038
ee er rete ee ree ere ee .. 16
P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law (1991
PES CNAs kK Aa aRAD NERA EKA TEN RNE Vee atv ee ueey ee

ee eer eres rer ree 9

RESPONDENTS’ CONSOLIDATED BRIEF
IN OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS
FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 938
F.2d 919 (UA App. A1-A35)! The opinion of the district
court is reported at 723 F.Supp. 464 (UA App. A36-A86).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 18, 1991. Timely petitions for rehearing were denied
on October 15, 1991. UA App. A87-A99. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutory provisions involved in these petitions
are sections 1 and 7 of the Sherman Antitrust Act, 15
U.S.C. §§ 1 & 6a (Merrett App. A93); the McCarran-
Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1011, et seq. (Hartford App.
98a- 99a); and sections 4 and 16 of the Clayton Antitrust
Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 15(a) & 26 (UA App. A100-A102).

STATEMENT

This case comes to this Court without the develop-
ment of a factual record, in a posture in which the allega-
tions of the plaintiffs’ complaints and the reasonable
inferences to be drawn from them must be taken as true.”

1 Of the four petitions filed with this Court, the appendix
to the petition filed in Unionamerica Insurance Co., Ltd., et al.,
No. 91-1146 is the most complete. Respondents’ Consolidated
Brief uses that appendix where possible, citing it as “UA App.”

2 Summit Health Ltd. v. Pinhas, 111 S.Ct. 1842, 1845 (1991).
Despite its appearance before this Court, this case remains in

(Continued .on following page)
1

2

Plaintiffs’ allegations are reviewed by the Court of
Appeals at 938 F.2d at 922-924 (UA App. A13-A18).

At its core, this case is about the enlistment of “rein-
surers to compel capitulation” to the demands of a hand-
ful of firms. 938 F.2d at 929, UA App. A26. The goal of
these firms was to limit the scope of insurance products
sold in the United States. Id. More specifically, the com-
plaints allege as follows.

In 1984, defendant primary insurers were dissatisfied
with the breadth of risks covered by commercial general
liability insurance policies.* They wanted to shrink the
coverage offered in the market, but could not unilaterally
cease offering the broader coverages without risking the
loss of market share to competitors who remained willing
to sell the broader coverage. See, e.g., Conn. Cmpt.
47 65-67, UA App. A175.

Consequently, the primary insurer defendants, and
the domestic and foreign reinsurers they enlisted, con-
spired to force unwilling competitors to stop insuring
certain risks.4 Collectively, they withdrew necessary
inputs required by competing primary insurers who
wanted to continue writing these risks. They agreed to
withhold reinsurance from U.S. primary insurers who

(Continued from previous page)

its infancy, having been confined by the trial court to motions
designed to test the legal sufficiency of the pleadings. Pre-Trial
Order No. 2, ¥ 3. The trial court allowed discovery “insofar as
necessary for these motions” (UA App. 38, n. 2), but expressly
limited that discovery to matters not likely to raise disputed
issues of fact. Pre-Trial Order No. 2, 4 5. As a result, no
discovery was conducted.

3 Commercial general liability (CGL) insurance provides

coverage against third party claims for businesses and state
and local governments.

4 For example, defendants sought to exclude all pollution
coverage.

3

were unwilling to comply with the conspirators’
demands. Without reinsurance, a critical input, the capac-
ity of primary companies to offer coverage to their cus-
tomers would be drastically eroded. Thereafter,
defendant Insurance Services Office, Inc. (ISO), the trade
association of primary insurers, withdrew statistical sup-
port for the risks.> See, e.g., Cal. Cmpt. 74 63-100, UA
App. A123-131.

To achieve the full goals of the conspiracy, defen-
dants also moved to limit excess and umbrella coverage
as well as property insurance coverage, to conform to
changes effectuated in CGL coverages. By these coordi-
nated steps, defendants were largely able to compel com-
peting insurers to stop selling insurance written on policy
forms that would have provided the broader coverage,
and to use exclusively the lesser forms which the conspir-
ators forced upon ISO.° See, e.g., Cal. Cmpt. 9] 101-110,
UA App. A131-133.

No state insurance regulator reviewed or approved
the coercive conduct that generated these lesser forms.
No state insurance regulator reviewed or approved the
conduct that forced the use of these forms in the mar-
ketplace. 938 F.2d at 931, UA App. A29.

As the complaints allege, the United States argued’,
and the court of appeals found, this case is about

> Statistical support provides information that insurers
need to price an insurance product.

® No state’s approval of the conspirators’ new policy
forms constituted disapproval of older forms. Absent the con-
spiracy, all forms would have remained available for use in the
marketplace.

? The United States filed a brief as amicus curiae in the
court of appeals. In its brief, the United States argued that (i)

(Continued on following page)

4

agreements by a few primary insurers and reinsurers to
replace existing insurance products with a lesser quality
product, and the enforcement acts taken by defendants to
compel the market success of the lesser product. Defen-
dants’ enforcement acts, most notably the withholding of
necessary reinsurance and statistical support services, are
central to this case. Defendants used these economic
weapons to force unwilling firms to stop offering higher
quality insurance products to American consumers.

MISSTATEMENTS IN THE PETITIONS.

The petitions contain numerous contradictions and
misstatements of fact. In compliance with Supreme Court
Rule 15.1, plaintiffs note the following major misstate-
ments in the petitions:

1. The Hartford petition describes this case as
involving “nothing more” than “agreements among”
insurers and reinsurers “over coverage risks they were
willing to accept”. Hartford Ptn. 2. This case, however,
involves “much more.” 938 F.2d at 929, UA App. A25. The
complaints expressly allege that primary insurer defen-
dants met with reinsurers to formulate and set in a
motion a joint strategy to eliminate specific coverages
from the market. See, e.g., Conn. Cmpt. 7] 68, 69, 73, UA
App. A175-A177. The complaints also allege that, in fur-
therance of this goal, reinsurers “threaten[ed] to withhold

(Continued from previous page)

the complaints allege conduct constituting boycott, coercion or
intimidation under the McCarran-Ferguson Act; (ii) the state
action doctrine does not prohibit antitrust scrutiny of the
alleged boycotts; and (iii) principles of international comity do
not preclude judicial review of these cases. The decision of the
Court of Appeals is in accord with these arguments.

MO ——

5

reinsurance from the market for primary companies” that
persisted in offering this coverage (Cal. Cmpt. 7 71, UA
App. A124); reinsurers “threatened a boycott of North
American CGL risks unless” the coverages were elimi-
nated (Cai. Cmpt. ¥ 74, UA App. A125); reinsurers collec-
tively refused to cover certain risks (Cal. Cmpt. 7] 95 &
108, UA App. A130 & A133); and ISO withdrew support
services for coverages that included these risks. Conn.
Cmpt. | 103, UA App. A183-A184; See also Conn. Cmpt.
q 116-117, VA App. A186-A187; 938 F.2d at 929, UA App.
A25. The Winterthur petition even concedes that plain-
tiffs alleged that primary insurers “induced defendant
reinsurers to refuse to provide reinsurance to insurers
writing CGL policies on existing ISO forms.” Winterthur
Ptn. 3.

2. The Hartford petition asserts that states sanc-
tioned the defendants’ activities because “state law
authorized collective forms development”. Hartford Ptn.
27. States, however specifically prohibit boycotts, which
is the conduct at issue in these cases. See e.g., Md. Ann.
Code Art. 48A, § 220 (1986); N.J. Stat. Ann. i17:29B-4(4)
(1985); See also UA App. A61. As the Ninth Circuit found,
the challenged conduct “was neither a reasonable nor
necessary consequence of the conduct regulated and
approved by the state.” 938 F.2d at 931, UA App. A30.

3. The Hartford petition asserts that “state agencies
made substantive determinations of conformity with state
policy.” Hartford Ptn. 28. The regulators reviewed forms,
not market conduct. As the court of appeals found, noth-
ing in the evidence shows that the relevant states super-
vised or approved the boycotts used to produce
agreement on the content or use of the forms. 938 F.2d at
931, UA App. A29.

4. The Hartford petition asserts that insurance and
reinsurance markets are so intimately entwined that state
regulation of primary insurers is de facto regulation of

6

reinsurers. Hartford Ptn. 15. The Winterthur petition, on
the other hand, states that it “strains credulity” to suggest
that activities in one market, including boycotts, affect
any other market. Winterthur Ptn. 19-20.

5. The Merrett and Unionamerica petitions state
that the Ninth Circuit “dismissed” the global conspiracy
claim in the Connecticut-style complaints. Merrett Ptn. 4,
n. 2; Unionamerica Ptn. 6-7, n. 6. The Ninth Circuit found
this count “consistent” with its opinion and mandated
that “[o]n remand to the district court, plaintiffs should
be afforded the opportunity to amend” to cure a technical
pleading defect. 938 F.2d at 931, UA App. A30.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The court of appeals decision does not warrant
review. Defendants’ real challenge is not to the legal
standards applied by the court of appeals. Rather, defen-
dants contest the court of appeals’ construction of the
facts of these cases as alleged in plaintiffs’ complaints.
Still seeking to mischaracterize those allegations, defen-
dants seek certiorari on questions not presented by this
case.

In resolving the questions actually presented by
plaintiffs’ allegations, the decision below is faithful to
this Court’s prior interpretations of the McCarran-Fer-
guson Act and the state action doctrine. The decision also
accords with this Court’s articulated principles of inter-
national comity and standing. It accords as well with the
decisions of other circuits.

In no respect does the case present questions of
exceptional legal and practical importance. Defendants
cannot seriously contend that the egregious conduct
described in plaintiffs’ complaints must be countenanced
to assure the survival of the insurance industry. No basis
for certiorari has been presented.

7

The decision below concerned motions brought
under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 12(b) and 56 to
“test the validity of . . . critical allegations in the com-
plaint[s].” RT at 21 (June 23, 1988). No discovery was
conducted in advance of these motions. Nevertheless, at
this early stage of the litigation, defendants continue to
press a view of the case that differs categorically from the
view of plaintiffs. Disputes over case characterization
provide no basis for certiorari. Defendants have stated no
reasonable basis for review of the decision of the court of
appeals and, on the limited factual record before this
Court, there is no basis for review.

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS NO OPPORTUNITY TO
CLARIFY THE REACHES OF THE MCCARRAN-
FERGUSON ACT.

The McCarran-Ferguson Act “embod[ies] a legisla-
tive rejection of the concept that the insurance industry is
outside the scope of the antitrust laws.” Group Life &
Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co., 440 U.S. 205, 220 (1979).
In striking a balance between competition and regulation,
the Act exempts from antitrust scrutiny conduct that is
the business of insurance and is regulated by the state. 15
U.S.C. § 1012 (b). Otherwise qualified conduct is denied
this exemption, however, if it constitutes an agreement or
act of boycott, coercion or intimidation. 15 U.S.C. § 1013
(b). These cases allege boycott, coercion and intimidation.
Further, these cases allege participation by domestic
insurers in unregulated foreign reinsurance activity —
conduct that does not even qualify for the McCarran
exemption in the first instance. Delicate questions of bal-
ance do not arise. The antitrust laws apply.

The court of appeals’ holdings on the McCarran-
Ferguson Act defenses are unsuited to review by this
Court. They present numerous issues, each of which this

8

Court would need to resolve in defendants’ favor before
the outcome of these cases would change. Defendants
have asked this Court to reject the court of appeals’
reading of the complaints; to reverse the court of appeals’
opinion that the challenged conduct is a boycott under
the McCarran Act; and to reverse the court of appeals’
conclusion that the McCarran Act does not shield con-
spirators’ participation in nonexempt’' conduct. These
issues are fact-bound. Moreover, each was resolved below
based on conventional applications of legal principles
established by this Court.

A. Defendants’ petition for certiorari asks this
Court to reject the definition of boycott
expressed in St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance
Co. v. Barry, and used by this Court throughout
its history.

The court of appeals observed the clear line between
conduct constituting an actionable boycott and conduct
constituting permissible joint activity. It correctly found,
938 F.2d 929; UA App. A27, as the United States had
urged in its amicus curiae brief at 16, that the conduct
alleged in this case falls well on the boycott side of the
distinguishing line.

The court of appeals’ decision rested squarely on St.
Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Co. v. Barry, 438 U.S. 531
(1978), this Court’s explanation of the boycott exception
in the McCarran-Ferguson Act. In Barry, this Court sur-
veyed the long line of Supreme Court precedent giving
rise to a “common understanding” of the term boycott.
Barry, 438 U.S. at 541-45. The court of appeals found that
the plaintiffs’ allegations fit “exactly” within this com-
mon understanding. 938 F.2d at 929, UA App. A26. In its
brief amicus curiae, the United States had urged that
result, commenting that

9

the combination of primary insurers and
reinsurers alleged by plaintiffs falls well within
the ‘common understanding’ (Barry, 438 U.S. at
552) of boycott, coercion or intimidation.
Indeed, it is precisely the kind of conduct char-
acterized as a boycott, coercion and intimidation
in the Sherman Act case that led to the passage
of the McCarran-Ferguson Act and with which
Congress was specifically concerned when it
included [the boycott exclusion in the McCar-
ran-Ferguson Act].

Brief for the United States as amicus curiae, filed below, at
16.8

Defendants, however, attempt to manufacture a con-
troversy from the colloquy between the majority and
dissent in Barry. Yet, the majority and dissent in Barry
would agree that the facts presented here constitute a

8 The legislative history of the McCarran-Ferguson Act
demonstrates that Congress carefully distinguished voluntary
agreements among insurers on policy terms —- which could
claim antitrust immunity if regulated by the state —- from com-
binations designed to force unwilling competitors to adhere to
terms through the concerted denial of necessary trade relation-
ships — which were expressly denied immunity. Barry, 438 U.S.
at 547-50. Indeed, the Act recognizes that “the vice in the
industry was not that there were rating bureaus, but that there
was in the industry a system of private government which had
been built up by a small group of insurance companies.” Barry,
438 U.S. at 548, quoting Senator O’Mahoney. Senator
O’Mahoney describes as “absolutely” unprotected “any
attempt by a small group of insurance companies to enter into
an agreement by which they would penalize any person or any
business which is attempting to do business in the insurance
field in any way that was disapproved by them... .” 91 Cong.
Rec. 1480 (1945) (Statement of Senator O’Mahoney). The cen-
tral allegations of the complaints concern these kinds of pro-
hibited agreements.

10

boycott. The majority in Barry described a boycott as
“(t]he enlistment of third parties in an agreement not to
trade, as a means of compelling capitulation of the boy-
cotted group... .” Barry, 438 U.S. at 544-45. The dissent
in Barry chose different words, but approved the same
concept, concluding that McCarran boycotts concern
“attempts by members of the insurance business to force
other members to follow the industry’s private rules and
practices.” Barry, 438 U.S. at 565.

Thus, the Barry majority and minority agree on a
bright line test. Whatever else a McCarran boycott may
be, it indisputably includes what is alleged here: agree-
ments and acts to withhold an essential input from other
insurers as means of forcing their acquiescence. The court
of appeals’ application of Barry was conventional and
correct.

Grasping at straws, defendants claim that a McCar-
ran-Ferguson boycott does not exist unless “competing.
insurance companies [are] absolutely excluded from the
market” or there is a “total refusal to deal on any terms”.
Hartford Ptn. 24. This Court has never required such a
finding. Indeed, the case that served as the model for the
boycott exception in the McCarran-Ferguson Act, United
States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Assn., 322 U.S. 533,
535 (1944), involved neither situation.

South-Eastern Underwriters involved a conditional
refusal to deal.? The facts of South-Eastern Underwriters
are markedly similar to those involved here. Both cases

9 So-called “conditional” refusals are classic boycotts. E.g.,
Fashion Originators Guild v. FTC, 312 U.S. 457 (1941); Eastern
States Retail Lumber Dealers’ Association v. United States, 234 U.S.
600 (1914). These boycotts are not designed to drive competi-
tors from the market. Rather, they are designed to force unwill-
ing competitors to adhere to particular terms of trade.

11

concern conspirators who refused to deal in order to force
unwilling competitors to acquiesce to their terms. In both,
reinsurance was withdrawn as the means of forcing
acquiescence. Both allege conduct falling well within the
common understanding of boycott.

Defendants refer to a “debate” in which some lower
courts attempt to distinguish between refusals to deal on
any terms (absolute refusals) and refusals to deal on some
terms (partial refusals). They would classify only the
former as a boycott. This debate is not pertinent here
because it only concerns consumer boycotts.!° The pre-
sent case does not allege consumer boycotts. It alleges
concerted refusals to deal to force competitors to adopt
conspirators’ trade restrictions.!!

Some lower courts may seek to confirm that a partic-
ular consumer boycott is coercive by inquiring into the
absolute or partial nature of the refusal to deal. However,
a boycott to force a competitor to adhere to trade terms
dictated by conspirators is by definition coercive.'? Thus,

10 The cases cited by defendants as holding that an abso-
lute refusal to deal is essential are consumer boycott cases. See
Grant v. Erie Ins. Exchange, 542 F. Supp. 457 (M.D. Pa. 1982),
aff'd mem., 716 F. 2d 890 (3d Cir.), cert. den., 464 U.S. 938 (1983)
and UNR Industries Inc. v. Continental Ins. Co., 607 F. Supp. 855
(N.D. Ill. 1984).

11 Defendants’ citation to 9 E. Kintner & J. Bauer, Federal
Antitrust Law 245 (1989) is, thus, curious. Kintner & Bauer
distinguish consumer boycott cases from those where “a par-
tial or conditional refusal to deal . . . is designed to coerce the
target to conform to certain conduct.” In the latter situation,
Kintner & Bauer note the lack of conflict among lower courts,
citing the overwhelming majority of cases holding that an
absolute refusal to deal is not required. Id. at 245-46.

12 Contrary to defendants’ assertions, this case is not
about ordinary course-of-business arrangements against which

(Continued on following page)

12

courts confronting boycotts against competitors have not
used, and need not use, the elusive distinction between
partial and absolute refusals to deal to corroborate coer-
cion.

Decided well within the contours of the “common
understanding” of boycott, this case simply presents no
opportunity for this Court to test the reaches of its defini-
tion of boycott under the McCarran-Ferguson Act.

B. Defendants’ exemption forfeiture arguments
actually seek to expand the scope of the limited
antitrust exemption established by the McCar-
ran-Ferguson Act.

As an additional and independent ground for deny-
ing McCarran-Ferguson protection to the defendants’
conduct, the court of appeals held that the Act’s protec-
tion did not extend to the domestic defendants’ participa-
tion in unregulated agreements with the foreign
defendants.'? Relying on Beltz Travel Service v. Interna-
tional Air Transport Assn., 620 F.2d 1360 (9th Cir. 1980), the

(Continued from previous page)

other insurers found it difficult or expensive to compete. This
case is about one group of competitors (defendant primary
insurers) seeking to discipline another group of competitors
(the unwilling primary insurers) by inducing suppliers (rein-
surers and ISO) not to provide necessary supplies (reinsurance
and statistical support) unless the unwilling primary insurers
acceded to the trade terms of the defendant primary insurers.
Thus, there is no necessity in this case to distinguish between
“economic exigencies” that flow from the need to respond to
protected horizontal agreements and “coercion.” The facts as
alleged are well within the traditional concept of a boycott.

13 Petitioners do not challenge the court of appeals’ hold-
ing that the conduct of the foreign reinsurers fails to qualify for
the McCarran exemption because it is not regulated by the
states.

13

court of appeals found an “exemption forfeiture” as a
result of domestic insurers’ joining in the unregulated
(and therefore non-exempt) conduct of foreign reinsurers.

In its holding, the court of appeals applied well-
accepted principles. First, “[i]t is well settled that exemp-
tions from the antitrust laws are to be narrowly con-
strued.” Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co., 440
U.S. 205, 231 (1979).14 Second, there is nothing novel
about holding an otherwise exempt entity liable when it
conspires in non-exempt conduct. For example, in the
labor exemption context, this Court has stated:

A union may make wage agreements with a
multi-employer bargaining unit and may in pur-
suance of its own union interests seek to obtain
the same terms from other employers. . . . But
we think a union forfeits its exemption from the
antitrust laws when it is clearly shown that it
had agreed with one set of employers to impose
a certain wage scale on other bargaining units.
One group of employers may not conspire to
eliminate competitors from the industry and the
union is liable with the employers if it becomes a
party to the conspiracy.

Mine Workers v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657, 665-66 (1965)

quoted in Royal Drug, 440 U.S. at 232, n.39 (emphasis
added).'5

14 See, e.g., Abbott Laboratories v. Portland Retail Druggists
Assn., 425 U.S. 1, 11-12 (1976); Connell Construction Co. v.
Plumbers & Steamfitters, 421 U.S. 616, 622 (1975); FMC Corp. v.
Seatrain Lines, Inc., 411 U.S. 726, 733 (1973); United States v.
McKesson & Robbins, Inc., 351 U.S. 305, 316 (1956).

15 Defendants claim that the court of appeals exemption
forfeiture decision is contrary to Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v.
Pireno, 458 U.S. 119 (1982). Hartford Ptn. 16. However, there is

“(Continued on following page)

14

The record as it currently stands provides no basis
for a reconsideration of these long-standing principles.
The line between exempt and non-exempt conduct can
best be drawn on a well developed factual record, and
not on the bare allegations of even a well-pleaded com-
plaint.

Moreover, defendants’ exemption forfeiture argu-
ment would expand the limited exemption established by
the McCarran-Ferguson Act. There is no legal justification
for doing so.

The present record fails to indicate in anyway that
the insurance industry will become less efficient if this
Court fails to expand the McCarran exemption to include
insurer conspiracies involving unregulated foreign rein-
surance activity. The unavailability of the McCarran

(Continued from previous page)

nothing in Pireno that is inconsistent with the decision below.
In Pireno, this Court considered the factors for determining
what is the “business of insurance” under the McCarran Act,
and noted that involvement of non-insurance companies in
challenged conduct does not necessarily disqualify conduct
from being characterized as the “business of insurance.” This
discussion is not relevant to the present cases, however,
because the exemption forfeiture analysis of the court of
appeals rested on the “state regulation” prong of the McCarran
Act, and not on “the business of insurance” requirement. In
short, the court of appeals’ unchalienged finding is that the
foreign reinsurers’ conduct fails to qualify for the McCarran
exemption because it is not state regulated. 15 U.S.C. § 1012(b).
In finding that the domestic insurers also had no McCarran
exemption, the court of appeals below followed this Court’s
precedent making all conspirators liable for the unlawful acts
of their co-conspirators. See, e.g., Mine Workers v. Pennington,
381 U.S. at 665-66; United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310

'. U.S. 150, 253-54 (1948).

15

exemption does not automatically impose antitrust lia-
bility on insurers for joint conduct with foreign rein-
surers. If an insurer has no exemption with respect to
certain conduct, that conduct simply becomes subject to
antitrust scrutiny, not necessarily antitrust liability.'®

Moreover, most companies have no trouble discern-
ing the difference between lawful agreements regarding
the supply of important inputs and unlawful agreements
to deny competitors such inputs unless the competitors
accept particular terms of doing business. The court of
appeals’ decision leaves insurers free to purchase rein-
surance but properly warns them against using such
arrangements as exclusionary devices directed against
competitors.

The insurance industry ought not be surprised or
confused by the court of appeals’ ruling. Reinsurers have
long regarded themselves as being without antitrust
exemption, and have generally conducted their business
accordingly.!7 Certainly, primary insurers cannot claim to

16 Agreements between insurers and reinsurers are akin to
purchase and sale agreements between vertically related firms
in any other industry. Reinsurance is an input into insurance,
the finished product. An insurer purchasing reinsurance is like
Chrysler purchasing steel. Both transactions secure inputs into
the finished product. Neither transaction is ordinarily an anti-
trust violation.

17 N. David Thompson, president and chief executive offi-
cer of Defendant North American Re, expressed this view in
Forum, a publication of the American Bar Association:

Reinsurers have generally conducted their opera-
tions free from the type of regulation to which pri-
mary insurers are subject in most jurisdictions.
Reinsurance rates are not approved or filed. Rein-
surance treaty provisions are not governed by stat-
ute or regulation, except for special matters such as

(Continued on following page)

16

be hamstrung in their ordinary operations because the
court in this case followed settled law and refused to
expand an antitrust exemption to include the egregious
conduct alleged in the complaints. The McCarran-Fer-
guson Act has never protected the conduct challenged in
these complaints.

II. THE DECISION BELOW RESTS ON A CONVEN-
TIONAL APPLICATION OF THE STATE ACTION
DOCTRINE.

This Court has repeatedly held that the state action
doctrine immunizes the conduct of private persons from
antitrust scrutiny only when that conduct is: (1) under-
taken pursuant to a clearly articulated and affirmatively
expressed state policy; and (2) actively supervised by the
State. California Liquor Dealers Assoc. v. Midcal Aluminum,
Inc., 445 U.S. 97, 105 (1980) (“Midcal”). This two-pronged
test assures that the challenged anticompetitive conduct
is that of the State itself. Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94
(1988). Contrary to defendants’ assertion that the court of
appeals did not apply “the Midcal criteria,” Hartford Ptn.
9, the court faithfully applied these criteria. Defendants
simply failed to meet the requirement of either prong of
the test.

(Continued from previous page)

the nearly universal insolvency clause. . . . Thus,
r.insurers have been outside the protection of the
McCarran Act and so, at least, since the decision in
the South Eastern Underwriters case, they are fully
exposed to the enforcement of the antitrust laws,
state as well as federal. (Footnote omitted.)

N. David Thompson, Critical Issues of the Eighties: How Trends in
Reinsurance Will Affect Legal, Legislative, and Regulatory Actions,
16 Forum 1038, 1055 (1980-1981).

17

First, defendants’ conduct was not authorized by any
state policy. Indeed, state unfair insurance practices laws
expressly prohibit boycotts. See, e.g., Md. Ann. Code Art.
48A, § 220 (1986). N.J. Stat. Ann. 17:29B-4(4) (1985). Sec-
ond, as the court of appeals found, there is nothing in the
record to demonstrate that states supervised or approved
the boycotts alleged. 938 F2d at 931, UA App. A29.
Moreover, because some of the anticompetitive acts
occurred after the approval of policy forms, supervision
was impossible.'® This case presents no issue as to either
prong of Midcal, and, therefore, no basis for certiorari.

Defendants argue that if states have a clearly articu-
lated policy of permitting joint forms development, then
they implicitly have a clearly articulated policy permit-
ting ali behind-the-scenes coercive activity that might
conceivably be related to the creation and use of a partic-
ular form. This argument would expand the state action
doctrine to immunize agreements denying competitors
access to essential inputs, and the boycotts implementing
those agreements, even absent any evidence of public
authorization, approval or supervision of the agreements
and boycotts. Such an expansion of the state action doc-
trine would be completely at odds with the decisions of
this Court.

In St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Co. v. Barry, 438
U.S. 531 (1978), this Court summarily rejected the defen-
dants’ approach. There, four medical malpractice insur-
ance companies agreed that three would not sell
insurance to doctors in Rhode Island in order to force

_18 For example, a key boycott allegation of the complaints
is the withdrawal of support for competing ISO forms. Conn.
Cmpt. 7] 101-104, UA App. A183-A184; See also Cal. Cmpt.
W171 97-100, UA App. A131. As defendants admit, this was not
accomplished until “more than a year after the approved 1986
forms had become effective.” Hartford Ptn. 6.

qusE> qa Eww eee

18

them to accept new coverage terms set by St. Paul, the
fourth insurer. There, as here, defendants had filed forms
with state insurance regulators related to the boycotted
coverages. Nevertheless, this Court found no suggestion
that the State had authorized the concerted refusals to
deal with St. Paul’s policyholders. Barry, 438 U.S. at 554,
n. 26.

The court of appeals adopted the same reasonable
distinction in the present case. Approval of policy forms
is not approval of market boycotts. The conduct of defen-
dants in these cases “was neither a reasonable nor neces-
sary consequence of the conduct regulated by the state.”
938 F.2d at 931, UA App. A30. Defendants simply fail to
meet either prong of the Midcal test. No further review is
warranted.

Because the facts of this case are so unaccommodat-
ing, defendants seek to recast them as mere forms devel-
opment. Operating within this distorted construct,
defendants focus on the process by which ISO drafts and
obtains approval for insurance forms. But, contrary to
defendants’ characterization, this case alleges mar-
ketplace activities directed at an insurers’ individual
decision what coverage to offer.

Review is also inappropriate on the present unde-
veloped record. in support of their summary judgment
motion, defendants relied upon the affidavit of Carole
Banfield.'? The Banfield affidavit merely asserts that rein-
surers expressed their views cn proposed coverages.?°

19 Defendants also submitted an appendix of state insur-
ance statutes.

20 At its most forceful, the affidavit states:

ISO and the insurance regulators also discussed
the proposed new forms with other interested par-
ties, including insurers, agents, brokers, domestic

(Continued on following page)

19

Nothing in this affidavit, or anywhere else in the record,
suggests that the various agreements and their attendant
boycotts were ever submitted for regulatory review and
approval in any of the states subject to the state action
motion. 938 F.2d at 931, UA App. A29. Nothing in this
affidavit or anywhere else in the record supports a find-
ing that any state regulator actively supervised these
activities.

Contrary to defendants’ hyperbole, the decision of
the court of appeals will not create a crisis in federalism.
Nowhere do the complaints attack or even question the
regulatory acts of state officials. Accordingly, defendants’
invocation of this Court’s recent decision in City of Colum-
bia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., 111 S.Ct. 1344 (1991),
is misplaced.

What plaintiffs do challenge are back-room deals,
unknown and unapproved by regulators, to force unwill-
ing companies to toe a line drawn by a handful of power-
ful firms. Open comment and debate are not at issue in
these cases. If these boycotts are immune from antitrust
scrutiny simply because state regulators see some public
manifestation of the boycott, private regulation of the
insurance industry by a few firms will supplant public
regulation. By deterring these boycotts and forcing full
and fair use of state regulatory processes, the court of
appeals acted to strengthen state regulation, not to sup-
plant it.

a

(Continued from previous page)

and foreign reinsurers, and corporate risk managers.
The discussions were sometimes heated and the
industry-wide scrutiny was intense. Banfield Afft.
{ 9 at 5.

20

Ill. THE DECISION TO EXERCISE JURISDICTION
IN THIS CASE PROPERLY APPLIES SETTLED
PRINCIPLES OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY.

A. This Case Provides No Occasion to Refine the
General Principle Favoring the Exercise of
Jurisdiction Where American Effects are
Direct, Substantial and Foreseeable.

As a general principle, “[c]ourts in the United States
have the power, and ordinarily the obligation, to decide
cases and controversies properly presented to them.”
W.S. Kirkpatrick & Co. v. Environmental Tectonics Corp., 493
U.S. 400, 409 (1990).21 This strong presumption in favor of
the exercise of jurisdiction may nonetheless be overcome
and principles of comity may come into play where the
interests of, and links to, the United States are attenuated.
Timberlane I, 549 F.2d 613. See also, Laker Airways, Ltd. v.
Sabena, Belgian World Airlines, 731 F.2d 909, 949 (D.C. Cir.
1984). Such is not the case here. The anticompetitive
effects of the defendants’ conduct in the United States

21 Although Kirkpatrick is an act of state case, its powerful
logic applies to this case as well. Moreover, its analysis stems
from the same roots as the comity doctrine. Compare Restate-
ment (Third) of Foreign Relations 443, comment a [The act of
state doctrine has two policy bases: “deference to the executive
branch and avoid[ing] disrespect for foreign states”] with Tim-
berlane Lumber Co. v. Bank of America, 549 F.2d 597, 612 (9th Ci:.
1976) (Timberlane I), after remand, 749 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir. 1984)
(Timberlane II), cert. denied, 472 U.S. 1032 (1985) {[“Only respect
for the role of the executive and for international notions of
comity and fairness limit [the] constitutional grant” of power
that enables American courts to protect Americans from for-
eign actions that have anticompetitive effects in the United
States].

23

were direct, substantial and foreseeable22; the action of
the foreign government creates no true conflict with
American antitrust laws.

The lower courts have had occasion to articulate
when principles of international comity require absten-
tion from the exercise of jurisdiction.23 Timberlane, supra;
Laker Airways, Ltd., supra; Mannington Mills, Inc. v. Con-
goleum Corp., 595 F.2d 1287 (3d Cir. 1979). These articula-
tions derive from the venerable Alcoa “effects” test.
United States v. Aluminum Co. of America (Alcoa), 148 F.2d
416 (2d Cir. 1945) (sitting by certification of this Court).24
The minor variations in these articulations are of no
moment in the present case.?5 To the contrary, a court

*2 As both courts below found, the complaints explicitly
allege conduct with a “direct, substantial and reasonably fore-
seeable” impact on American commerce. 723 F.Supp. at 486,
UA App. A73; 938 F.2d at 932, 1'A App. A31.

23 Kirkpatrick cautions against treating such principles as
“doctrines unto themselves” and thereby “expanding judicial
incapacities.” 493 U.S. at 409.

*4 Under Alcoa, “a state may impose liabilities, even upon
persons not within its allegiance, for conduct outside its bor-
ders that has consequences within its borders which the state
reprehends.” Alcoa, 148 F.2d at 443. The conduct should, how-
ever, “significantly” or “directly” affect the United States com-
merce or be intended to have that effect. This Court cited Alcoa
with approval in Continental Ore Co. v. Union Carbide, 370 U.S.
690, 705 (1962).

23 Defendants argue that the court of appeals’ Timberlane
analysis was wrongly “constrained” by reference to the For-
eign Trade Antitrust Improvements Act of 1982 (FTAIA), 15
U.S.C. § 6a. This misstates the use to which the court of
appeals put the FTAIA. Indeed, ii simply concluded that its
Timberlane analysis should be informed, but not superseded, by
the “direct, substantial and foreseeable effect” standard articu-
lated in the FTAIA. 938 F.2d at 932; UA App. A31. Thus, the

(Continued on following page)

ll ll... LG

22

would exercise jurisdiction over the facts of this case
under any recognized comity test.?¢

The conduct challenged in this case has its principal
effects in the United States. The complaints allege a com-
plex and overlapping pattern of conspiratorial activity
engaged in by both foreign and domestic actors that
targeted United States markets. Initially conceived by the
American domestic primary insurer defendants, the con-
spiratorial scheme sought to limit the number of insur-
ance products offered to insurance consumers in the
United States. Foreign and domestic réinsurers were
recruited as parties necessary to guarantee that unwilling
American competitors would comply with the scheme.

The integral involvement of domestic companies in
the scheme to withhold reinsurance belies any notion that
such activity was “wholly foreign.” 938 F.2d at 932, UA
App. A33. Only by ignoring the overarching American
focus of the complaints can defendants represent that
their motion to dismiss on comity grounds involves
solely British actors in British markets. Merrett Ptn. 3-4.27

(Continued from previous page)

court of appeais concluded: “as the [FTAIA] does not eliminate
comity, a court should look to see if the case before it is one in
which comity still has a role to play.” Id., VA App. A32. This is
precisely what the court of appeals did here.

26 The Timberlane balancing test employed by the court of
appeals is the one most favorable to defendants. Defendants,
notably, do not claim that any other circuit court of appeals
would have reached a different result.

27 The so-called “global claim” for relief in the complaints
of many plaintiffs explicitly alleges that all defendants partici-
pated in a single, overarching conspiracy. Conn. Cmpt.
{7 115-119, UA App. A188-A190. While the court of appeals

(Continued on following page)

23

Moreover, the complaints expressly allege that foreign
and domestic reinsurers entered into a written agreement
to use their “best endeavors to ensure that all U.S.A. and
Canadian exposed insurance/reinsurance business
attaching on or after 1st January, 1987, will only be writ-
ten where the original business includes a seepage and
pollution exclusion wherever legal and applicable.”
Conn. Cmpt. J 112, UA App. A185-A186; Cal. Cmpt.
{@ 108, UA App. A133. This clear focus on American
commerce justifies the decision of the court of appeals to
exercise jurisdiction.28

At the very most, defendants have only raised factual
disputes as to whether the conspirators were exclusively
foreign nationals and whether the relevant anticompeti-
tive conduct occurred exclusively abroad.29 Jurisdiction

(Continued from previous page)

recognized that the trial court had properly dismissed that
claim on a narrow technicality of pleading, it directed the trial
court on remand to allow plaintiffs an opportunity to cure that
deficiency by amendment. 938 F.2d at 931, UA App. A30.
Defendants’ claim that those allegations were simply dis-
missed, Merrett Ptn. 4, n. 2, is misleading.

28 Urging that jurisdiction be exercised, the United States
as amicus curiae below commented that “[i]nternational comity
principles do not mandate automatic deference to the domestic
law or jurisdiction objections of foreign states . . . where the
conduct challenged has its competitive effects principally in
the United States.” Brief for the United States of America as
Amicus Curiae, at 27. In fact, the United States contended that
the district court “failed to accord adequate weight to the fact
that the competitive effects of the alleged conspiracy were felt
primarily within the United States or to the resulting interest of
the United States in enforcing its law.” Id.

29 No discovery preceded this Rule 12(b)(1) motion and
there is no factual record beyond the face of the complaints

(Continued on following page)

24

should not be denied on the mere assertion of these
factual disputes.

B. No Genuine Conflict Exists Between United
States and United Kingdom Law. ~

In an attempt to counterbalance the compelling rea-
sons for the exercise of jurisdiction, defendants claim that
the British “tradition of self-regulation” creates an inter-
national conflict of sufficient scope to warrant denying
jurisdiction in these cases. Defendants do not suggest that
British law requires the foreign defendants to take actions
forbidden by American law, that British law forbids what
American law requires, nor even that compliance with
American antitrust law would substantially interfere with
the foreign defendants’ mode of conducting business at
home and within the European economic community.
Merrett Ptn. 6, n. 4. They point to no inconsistency
between American antitrust law and the United King-
dom’s Competition Act of 1980 or Article 85(1) of the
Treaty of Rome, governing competitive practices in the
EEC.30

The supposed conflict is in reality nothing more
than a dispute about the propriety of subjecting British
subjects to the jurisdiction of American courts and

(Continued from previous page)

that can be evaluated to conduct comity analysis. See Tim-
berlane I and Timberlane II, supra (decided only after substantial
discovery and on a full factual record).

30 Defendants do not here, nor did they below, cite any
statute, regulation or court decision to show that English law
requires, Or even acquiesces in, the conduct challenged by
plaintiffs.

25

interfering with a British tradition of self regulation.?!
The conflict asserted is manifestly insufficient to over-
come the interest of the United States in enforcing its own
law.

IV. PLAINTIFFS HAVE STANDING AS CONSUMERS
IN THE MARKET RESTRAINED BY THE REIN-
SURER BOYCOTTS.

Reinsurers have filed two separate petitions? argu-
ing that plaintiffs lack standing to pursue certain claims
against them. Both petitions are based upon a fundamen-
tal mischaracterization of plaintiffs’ complaints. To
obscure plaintiffs’ unquestionable standing as consumers
in the market restrained by reinsurer boycotts, the peti-
tions focus attention on activities in the reinsurance mar-
ket. Plaintiffs’ complaints plainly allege, however, that
the reinsurers’ boycotts restrained the primary insurance
market in which the plaintiffs are consumers. Cal. Cmpt.
WY 112, 117, 122 & 127, UA App. A134, A136, A137, A139:
Conn. Cmpt. 7] 116 & 121, UA App. A186 & A188. The

31 Defendants have effectively asked this Court to show
greater deference to the supposed regulatory interests of the
United Kingdom than to the regulatory interests of one of the
states of this country. If the two-pronged Midcal test were
applied to the conduct of foreign defendants, no immunity
would attach. The boycott conduct at issue here is neither
permitted by British law, Pet. at 6, n.4, nor actively supervised
by the British government.

32 These are: 1. Docket No. 91-1131 (Winterthur Rein-
surance Corp of America); and 2. Docket No. 91-1146 (Union-
america Insurance Co. Ltd. et al.).

26

plaintiffs, thus, have standing as consumers that have
been injured by the elimination of competing insurance
products in this market.*%

A. Plaintiffs Meet This Court's Test for Standing.

These petitions do not warrant review by this Court
because the court of appeals decided the standing issues
in these cases strictly in accordance with this Court's
decisions in Associated General Contractors of California,
Inc. v. California State Council of Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519
(1983) (AGC); and Blue Shield of Virginia v. McCready, 457
U.S. 465 (1982).

AGC involved a boycott allegedly organized by
building contractors to coerce prospective developers to
use nonunion contractors instead of union contractors.
This Court acknowledged that both the developers and
the union contractors would have had standing to chal-
lenge the boycott because “their injuries would be
direct.” 459 U.S. at 541.%4

Thus, AGC established that those upon whom the
immediate pressure of a boycott falls (developers) agd

33 Regardless of their standing as insurance purchasers,
the state plaintiffs also have standing to seek injunctive relief
as common law parens patriae on behalf of their respective
citizens. Georgia v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 324 U.S. 439
(1944). Because citizens in each state have suffered antitrust
injury, even as defined by defendants in their standing peti-
tions, nothing in this Court's opinion in Cargill, Inc. v. Monfort
of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104 (1986), would limit the states’
parens authority in these cases. See California v. American Stores
Co., Inc., 495 U.S. 271 (1990).

34 However, the mere employees of these victims (or the
union which represents them, the plaintiff in AGC) would not
have standing.

27

their suppliers (union contractors) whose goods or ser-
vices have been diminished in value because of the boy
cott each have standing to recover antitrust damages

This principle is fully consistent with the Court's
prior decision in McCready. There, both the psychologists
who felt the immediate pressure of a boycott and the
patients who purchased the boycotted product, psycho-
logical services, had standing to sue. McCready, 457 U.S.
at 469 n.4, 478-81. In McCready, the patient was consid-
ered “the direct victim of unlawful coercion.” AGC, 459
U.S. at 540, n.44. Indeed, to the extent that there might be
a difference between suppliers to the direct boycott vic-
tim (the union contractors in AGC) and purchasers from
the direct boycott victim (the patient in McCready), the
courts have tended to favor the latter. See P. Areeda & H.
Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law 9 340.1d (1991 Supp.).

In the instant case the initial victims of the boycott
are non-defendant primary insurers who were coerced by
reinsurer and primary insurer defendants. Plaintiffs are
purchasers of the diminished insurance products sold by
the defendant primary insurers and their victims, com-
peting, non-defendant primary insurers. Plaintiffs, thus,
are in the same position as the patient in McCready and
are in an analogous position to the union contractors in

AGC.

B. This Case Does Not Challenge the Boundaries
of Standing Doctrine.

In AGC this Court established a multi-factor test for
standing.*> As to the claims for damages, each petition

35 The AGC factors are: the intent of the conspirators (459
U.S. at 537); the causal connection between the violation
alleged and harm claimed (id.); the nature of plaintiffs’ injury,

(Continued on following page)

28

advocates a different formulation of that test. Review is
not warranted, however, because plaintiffs have standing
under either formulation for both damages and injunctive
relief.36

The Winterthur petition argues that plaintiffs must
satisfy all of the AGC factors to have standing. The deci-
sion below correctly holds that plaintiffs satisfy each
factor for all claims. The court of appeals noted that the
“character-of-damages” factor as applied to the reinsurer-
only claims presented some problems of damage alloca-
tion tending against standing for these claims. However,
even as to that factor the court of appeals held that, on
balance, the factor “is in favor of standing.” 938 F.2d at
926, UA App. A20.

Furthermore, the global conspiracy claim?’ over-
comes any “character-of-damages” concerns. Under the

(Continued from previous page)

i.e., antitrust injury (id. at 538); the directness or indirectness of
the claimed injury in the chain of causation (id. at 540-541);
existence of a better class of plaintiffs (id. at 542); and whether
the damages claimed are either speculative in terms of causa-
tion or duplicative (id. at 542-545).

36 Cargill recognizes important differences between dam-
ages and injunctive remedies and holds that “some” AGC
factors “are not relevant under § 16,” i.e. factors addressing
multiple lawsuits and duplicative recoveries. Cargill, 479 U.S.
at 111 n.6.

37 The Unionamerica petition does not challenge plaintiffs’
standing under the global conspiracy claim, but misleadingly
refers to it as “dismissed.” UA Ptn. 6-7, n.6. The court of
appeals granted plaintiffs leave to amend that claim to cure
technical problems. See n.27, supra. The Winterthur petition
concedes the continued vitality of the claim, but apparently
contends that the Court should ignore direct purchases from
coconspirators and deny standing. Winterthur Ptn. 20 n.8.

29

global claim, the reinsurers are coconspirators of the
defendant primary insurers from which plaintiffs made
direct purchases. See Arizona v. Shamrock Foods, 729 F.2d
1208 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1252 (1984); Fontana
Aviation v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 617 F.2d 478 (7th Cir. 1980).
When a plaintiff purchases directly from a named cocon-
spirator of an antitrust violator, none of the policy con-
cerns of Illinois Brick?® are implicated. P. Areeda & H.
Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law § 337.2e (1991 Supp.). Any
issues of duplicative liability and allocation can be
resolved because all potentially conflicting claimants are
joined in the litigation. In light of plaintiffs’ standing to
sue defendants under the global claim, a fragmented
review of the reinsurance-only claims would be prema-
ture and potentially futile.

The Unionamerica petition argues that “directness”
and “the nature of the injury” are separate and indepen-
dent limitations on standing. Because the court of appeals
correctly held that plaintiffs satisfied both requirements,
consideration of this question should await a case in
which one of the two elements, and, therefore, the out-
come of the case, is in doubt.

C. Plaintiffs Suffered Distinct Injuries.

Defendants’ suggestion that the damages sought by
the plaintiffs in these cases are either speculative or
duplicative is simply without merit. The speculativeness
referred to in AGC only relates to causation of injury and
not to its quantification. AGC, 459 U.S. at 542 (“the

38 Illinois Brick Co. v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 720 (1977).

ee

30

alleged effects on the Union may have been produced by
independent factors”).

The danger of duplicative recoveries does not exist
here. This is not a passing-on case where there will be
“conflicting claims to a common fund,” id. at 544, that
might give rise to concerns similar to those in Illinois
Brick Co. v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 720 (1977). The boycotts in
these cases give rise to two types of injury that are
suffered by distinct and different classes of potential
plaintiffs. The plaintiffs currently before the Court were
injured by the product output restrictions and the over-
charges that flowed from the violation. The competing,
non-defendant primary insurers were injured by the
enforcement effects of defendants’ cartel. Each class of
potential plaintiffs suffered distinct and separable inju-
ries. Indeed, this Court’s decisions in both AGC and
McCready expressly recognized the separate standing of
different classes of plaintiffs for each of these types of
injuries.

No court has ever held that it would be duplicative to
allow standing for the victims of violations which also
cause actionable injury to defendants’ competitors. Such
a holding would limit standing to competitors in a wide
variety of cases. Such a holding would, for example, deny
standing to consumers who pay the overcharges imposed
by a monopolist that unlawfully excludes competitors
from the market.

Defendants have not offered this Court any princi-
pled basis for denying standing to the consumers of
cartellized insurance products in this case. Thus, they

have not provided any basis for review of the decision of
the court of appeals.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitions for writs of
certiorari should be denied.

DATED this 14th day of February, 1992

31

Respectfully submitted,
For the Plaintiff States:

J. JoserH CurRRAN, Jr.,

Attorney General

of the State of Maryland
Rosert N. McDona tp,

Assistant Attorney General

Chief, Antitrust Division
ELLEN S. Cooper

Assistant Attorney General

Deputy Chief, Antitrust Division
200 St. Paul Place, 19th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Telephone: (410) 576-6470

James H. Evans,

Attorney General

of the State of Alabama
Marc GIVHAN
Chief, Antitrust Division
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130
Telephone: (205) 242-7300

CuHares E. Cote,

Attorney General

of the State of Alaska
RON ZOBEL
Assistant Attorney General
Department of Law
1031 W. Fourth Avenue, Suite 200
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Telephone: (907) 269-5100

32

GRANT Woops,

Attorney General

of the State of Arizona
SUZANNE M. DALLIMORE

Antitrust Unit Chief
Jer! K. AUTHER

Assistant Attorney General
Consumer Protection &
Antitrust Section
1275 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-3702

DanieL E. LUNGREN,

Attorney General

of the State of California
Roperick E. WALSTON,

Chief Assistant

Attorney General
SANFORD N. GRUSKIN

Assistant Attorney General
THOMAS GREENE,

Supervising Deputy

Attorney General
Administrative Liaison Counsel

for the States
KATHLEEN E. FOOTE
Jesse W. MARKHAM, Jr.

Deputy Attorneys General
455 Golden Gate Avenue,
Room 6200
San Francisco, California 94102
Telephone: (415) 703-2131

ee

33

Gace A. Norton,

Attorney General

of the State of Colorado
James R. Lewis,

Assistant Attorney

General, Antitrust Unit
110 Sixteenth Street - 10th Floor
Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: (303) 620-4590

RICHARD BLUMENTHAL,
Attorney General
of the State of Connecticut
RosBert M. LANGER
WiLuiAM M. RuBENSTEIN
Assistant Attorneys General
110 Sherman Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06105
Telephone: (203) 566-5374

RICHARD T. IEYous,
Attorney General
of the State of Louisiana
JoserH ErwIN Kopsa
CLiFFTON O. BINGHAM
Assistant Attorneys General
Louisiana Department of Justice
P.O. Box 94095
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
70804-9095
Telephone: (504) 342-8495

34

Scott HARSHBARGER,
Attorney General
of the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts
GEORGE K. WEBER
Assistant Attorney General
Chief, Antitrust Division
THomas M. ALPERT
Assistant Attorney General
Antitrust Division
Public Advocacy Bureau
One Ashburton Place, Room 1902
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
Telephone: (617) 727-2200

FRANK J. KELLEY,
Attorney General
of the State of Michigan
Harry C. Iwasko, Jr.
FREDERICK H. HoIFFECKER
Rospert C. WARD, Jr.
Assistant Attorneys General
740 Law Building
525 W. Ottawa
Lansing, Michigan 48913
Telephone: (517) 373-7117

35

Husert H. Humpnrtry, III
Attorney General
of the State of Minnesota
THomas F. Purse,
Deputy Attorney General
Lisa TIEGEL,
Special Assistant
Attorney General
520 Lafayette Road
Suite 200
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155
Telephone: (612) 297-8753

Marc Racicor,

Attorney General

of the State of Montana
PAUL JOHNSON

Assistant Attorney General
Justice Building
215 North Sanders
Helena, Montana 59620-1401
Telephone: (406) 444-2026

Rosert J. Det Turo,

Attorney General

of the State of New Jersey
LAUREL A. PRICE

Deputy Attorney General
Division of Criminal Justice
Antitrust Section
25 Market Street - CN085
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
Telephone: (609) 984-5683

36

Ropert ABRAMS

Attorney General

of the State of New York
GEORGE SAMPSON

Chief, Antitrust Bureau
RicHARD L. SCHWARTZ

Assistant Attorney General
120 Broadway, Suite 2601
New York, New York 10271
Telephone: (212) 341-2277

Lee FISHER,
Attorney General
of the State of Ohio

DorrREEN C. JOHNSON

Marc B. BANDMAN
Assistant Attorneys General
65 East State Street, Suite 708
Columbus, Ohio 43266-0590
Telephone: (614) 466-4328

ErNest D. PREATE, Jr.
Attorney General of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
THomas L. WELCH
Davip R. Wey
Deputy Attorneys General
1435 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
Telephone: (717) 787-4530

37

KENNETH O. EIKENBERRY
Attorney General of the
State of Washington

JOHN R. E us,

Deputy Attorney General

James M. BEAULAURIER

Tina E. Konno |
Assistant Attorneys General

Office of the Attorney General

900 Fourth Avenue

Suite 2000

Seattle, Washington 98164

Telephone: (206) 464-6432

Mario J. PaLumso,
Attorney General of the
State of West Virginia
Donatp L. Daruinc
Deputy Attorney General
DONNA S. QUESENBERRY
Senior Assistant Attorney
General
812 Quarrier Street, Sixth Floor
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
Telephone: (304) 348-8986

James E. Doyte,
Attorney General of the
State of Wisconsin
Kevin J. O’CoNNoR
Assistant Attorney General
Post Office Box 7857
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857
Telephone: (608) 266-8986

38
For the private plaintiffs:

H. Lappie Montacug, Esq.

ALAN M. SANDALS, Esa.

BERGER & MONTAGUE

1622 Locust Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103
(215) 875-3000

Attorneys for

Henry L. Rosenfield

JERRY S. COHEN, Esq.

COHEN, Mitstein & HaAusre_p
1401 New York Avenue, N.W.
Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 628-3500

Attorneys for Anastasios

Markos T/A Municipal Exxon and
Carlisle Day Care Center, Inc.

NicHotas E. Cuimictes, Esq.
KATHY MEARMANS, Esq.
GREENFIELD & CHIMICLES

One Haverford Center

361 Lancaster Avenue
Haverford, Pennsylvania 19041
(215) 641-8500

Attorneys for

Big D Building

Supply Corporation

39

Guipo Savert, Esq.

SAVERI & Saveri

111 Sutter St., Suite 2140
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 391-3000

Liaison Counsel

JONaTHAN W. Cuneo, Esq.
Law OFFICES OF

JONATHAN W. CuNEO
1300 I Street, N.W.
Suite 480-E
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 962-3860
Attorney for
Anastasios Markos T/A
Municipal Exxon

JEREMIAH F. HALtusey, Esq.
Hauuisey & JOHNSON

300 Montgomery St., Suite 538
San Francisco, CA 94104

(415) 433-5300

Attorneys for

Day Harbor Park Homeowner's
Association, Inc.

STANLEY Nemser, Esq.

Roy L. Jacoss, Esq.

Wotr, Poprrer, Ross,
Wo tr & JONES

845 Third Avenue

New York, N.Y. 10022

(212) 759-6400

Attorneys for

Ace Check Cashing, Inc.

40

HowarpD J. CRESKOFF
Law OFFICES OF

HowarpD J. CRESKOFF

200 Lippincott Building
227 South Sixth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 922-5056

JEFFREY KL Laster, Esq.

BERNSTEIN, Litow!Tz, BERCER &
GROSSMAN

1285 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10019

(212) 554-1400

Attorneys for

Jerry Grant Chemical Associates, Inc.

ARNOLD LeEviIN, Esq.

Levin, FisHBEIN, SEDRAN &
BERMAN

320 Walnut Street

Suite 600

Philadelphia, PA 19106

(215) 592-1500

Attorneys for

Carlisle Day Care Center, Inc.

WarREN RuBin, Esq.
Gross & METZGER

1500 Walnut St.

4th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 561-3600

Attorneys for

Acme Corrugated Box, Inc.

CC

41

Rosert M. RoseMAN, Esq.

Mark S. GoLpMAN, Esq.

RUDOLPH, SEIDNER, GOLDSTEIN,
RocuHestig & SALMON

300 Lewis Tower Building

225 South 15th Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

(215) 735-5858

Attorneys for

Bensalem Township Authority, et al.

Louis M. Tarasi, JR., Esq

Tarasi & JOHNSON

510 Third Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

(412) 391-7135

Attorneys for

Carmelia M. “Boots” Liberto Trading
as R. J. Liberto, Inc.

J. Dante Sacarin, Esq.
Hurwitz & SAGARIN

147 North Broad Street
P.O. Box 112

Milford, CT 06460-0112
(203) 877-6071
Attorneys for

Durawood, Inc.

Mark W. Gareney, Esq.
KAPLAN, KILSHEIMER & FoLey
122 East 42nd Street

New York, NY 10168

(212) 687-1980

Attorneys for

Environmental Aviation
Sciences, Inc.

42

CHarRies R. VAN De WALLE, Esq.

MArTIN, VAN De WALLE,
GUARINO & DONOHUE

17 Barstow Road

Room 206

Great Neck, NY 11021

(516) 482-6100

Attorneys for

Keyboard Communications, Inc.

LAWRENCE WALNER, Esq.

LAWRENCE WALNER & ASSOCIATES, INC.

321 North Clark Street
Suite 3150

Chicago, IL 60610
(312) 527-9494
Attorneys for

P & J] Casting Corp.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_0029%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
