# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Boswell v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1736%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 813

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.s,
UF FILED

011536 apr 15 2002
No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

JAMES G. BOSWELL,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A Writ oF CERTIORARI TO
THE Unrrep States Court oF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mary Catherine Bonner, Esq.
Counsel of Record
“207 S.W. 12th Court
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33315
(954) 523-6225
Attorney for Petitioner

Curmey & TaYLor ¢ (202) 393-4141 6 wrres/

())
\)
r

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

I. The law is clear: all federal criminal prosecutions must
proceed by valid Grand Jury Indictment which places the
defendant on notice of the elements of the crime to which
he must answer. Any fact that increases the penalty for a
crime beyond the prescribed statutory maximum-in this case
quantity of drugs— is an element. All elements also must be
submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a reasonable doubt.
The trial court refused a request that the prosecutors disclose
drug quantity, yet Mr. Boswell’s life sentence was based on a
quantity of drugs twenty-four times that for which defendant
could have been reasonably on notice. These omissions
seriously affected the fairness, integrity, or public reputation
of the judicial process.

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

APPRENDI V. NEW JERSEY. 530 U.S. 466 (2000) ............++.
ARIZONA V. FULMINANTE, 499 U.S. 279 (1991) .........ccecsesseeseeses 12
BEEM V. MCKUNE, 278 F.3D 1108 (10TH Cir. 2002).............. 9, 10
IN RE WINSHIP, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970).........ccccccceeecereeeeneeenenees 9
JONES V. UNITED STATES, 526 U.S. 227 (1999)......-..++++. 12, 13, 14
RUSSELL V. UNITED STATES, 369 U.S. 749 (1962).........ccccccsesserees 8
STIRONE V. UNITED STATES, 361 U.S. 212 (1960)..........cccescesesees 8
UNITED STATES V. BENEHALEY, 281 F.3D 423 (4TH CIR.
TRE EET RES Sere 12
UNITED STATES V. COTTON, 255 F. 3D 150 (4TH CiR 2001)......... 8

UNITED STATES V. DOGGETT, 230 F.3D 160 (5TH Cl. 2000),
CERT DENIED, 531 U.S. 1177 (2001) .........cccsccsseseesenseeeeseenenees 5

UNITED STATES V. FIELDS, 242 F.3D 393 (D.C. CIR.)
CLARIFIED ON REH’G 251 F. 3D 1041 (D.C. CircurT 2001)...... 5

UNITED STATES V. GORE, 154 F.3D 34 (2ND CIR. 1998) ............ 14

UNITED STATES V. HISHAW, 235 F. 3D 565 (10TH CiR. 2000),
CERT DENIED 150 L.ED.2D 241, 121 S. CT. 2254 (2001) .......... 5

UNITED STATES V. OLANO, 507 U.S. 725 (1993) ...........0+0++: 14, 15

UNITED STATES V. PROMISE, 255 F.3D 150 (4™ Cir. 2001)(EN
| SiS LS RIS RE eee 5, 8, 10, 11, 12

UNITED STATES V. ROGERS, 228 F. 3p 1318 (11TH CIR 2000)... 5

UNITED STATES V. SANCHEZ, 269 F.3D 1250 (11TH CR.

ag NT 5
UNITED STATES V. STRAYHORN, 250 F.3D 462 (6TH CIR.

DD icersininnistsenlaisieiinchisihianieldaaiiicisc Be 5
UNITED STATES V. THOMAS, 274 F.3D 655 (2ND CIR.

BODE ON AI) a aacacesecnncncanscexsecssscseneeressenesssseeres......... 14, 15
STATUTES
ies hal RO ED RR ITY, 2
Ie II scsi sscinssnininssbinpasionsnsenheninicisdlsdetensese on. css 2
ORR SU iariesecicnistseniastslsserdesattadarsecnigee se 2
RI Re UID oinstcsnsbcheincninetacutpinsdcbcacnsie cats as 2
21 U.S.C. § B41(D)(1)(A) .eseescsssssssssssssssssssesssttesteeeeeeeeccccc.. 14, 15
21 U.S.C. § 841(D)(1)(B) ..sesssccsssssssssseeesesessesssttsstseeseseeeeseecesc 14
21 U.S.C. § BAU(D)(1)(C) .esesssseccsssssessessssssstssssestssseeseeeeeeccccc 12
a a eS 2
OI OR eciestiisieniiciaiiannicinaie a dae eo 2
aticcttt icc gO OT 1
Ae BM vssssirisncsirriasiiesiactemeeccecincensiieceaiccietl 2
RULES
NB i ssiisciiceritnsriceacthbcestacasrcneuneana ice ~

ay ce lovey eee

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
CEE, COORD. LI B cscceceesininnttiisinsnesisitenniinintnnnitininnssistnnisisiitaaaiian

CES COCBRRE. RTIIII, © scrinninteinicinsinnsnctcannntnntiisisipneiusiiiiutaninnitshieiiiia

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JAMES G. BOSWELL

Petitioner,

VERSUS
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit filed November 30, 2001. An application for extension
of time in which to file the instant Petition was granted on
February 19, 2002. This Petition is to be filed no later than

April 15, 2002.
OPINION BELOW
The per curiam unpublished Opinion affirming the

conviction is attached as Appendix la and 2a. The Judgment
and Commitment Order is attached as Appendix 4a et seq.

JURISDICTION

The Order affirming the conviction and sentence was
filed on November 30, 2001. See Appendix 3a. This Court's
jurisdiction is invoked under Title 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit had jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 129]
and jurisdiction to consider errors in the application of
Guidelines pursuant to Title 18 U.S.C. Section 3742.

The United States District Court for the Northern
District of Florida had jurisdiction pursuant to Title 2] United
States Code Sections 841 and 846; Title 18 United States Code

Sections 924(c) and 2; and Title 18 United States Code
Section 853.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The question presented involves the Fifth Amendment
to the United States Constitution, which provides, in relevant
part that:

No person shall be held to answer for a
Capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless
on presentment of indictment of a Grand Jury
-. Nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property
without due process of law...

The question presented involves the Sixth
Amendment to the United States Constitution, which
provides, in relevant part that:

In all criminal prosecutions the accused shall
: . . be informed of the nature and cause of the
accusation . . . and to have the Assistance of
Counsel for his defense.

FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE INVOLVED

Rule 23. Trial by Jury or by the Court

(a) Trial by Jury. Cases required to be tried by jury
Shall be so tried unless the defendant waives a jury

trial in writing with the approval of the court and the
consent of the government.

3
Rule 52(b) Harmless Error and Plain Error

(b) Plain Error. Plain errors or defects affecting
substantial rights may be noticed although they were not
brought to the attention of the court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Proceedings Below
The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit, on November 30, 2001, entered its Judgment
affirming, per curiam, the judgment of the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Florida. Appendix
3a.

B. Statement of Relevant Facts

Mr. Boswell was charged in a “reverse sting” where
the Government was “selling” approximately 50 kilograms of
cocaine.

The trial court denied Mr. Boswell’s request that the
Government be required to provide the quantity of drugs at
issue, stating that an Indictment is meant to inform the
defendant of the charges and does so by listing the elements
of the offense. Mr. Boswell was left to “guess” at the amount
of drugs for which he could be held accountable during his
trial preparation.

Only imprecise estimates of drugs bought or sold
during a conspiratorial period of ten years’ time, were
presented at trial.

By instruction, the jury was excluded from the
process of determining whether these estimates were
established beyond a reasonable doubt, yet heard the
Government stress the “element” of quantity and how such
large amounts must of necessity be for the purpose of
distribution in its closing argument.

4

After conviction the PreSentence Report conceded
that there existed an “unknown number of drug transactions”

well as that the evidence of quantity was insufficient; that the

Mr. Boswell was sentenced to Life Imprisonment
(Appendix 4a et Seq) and timely appealed to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, urging that both
the trial and the Sentencing violated the principles enunciated
in Apprendi v. New Jersey. 530 U.S. 466 (2000). The Court
heard oral argument yet per curiam affirmed the conviction
and the sentence.

Additional facts relevant to the issue before this Court
are set out in the section of this presentation entitled
“Reasons for Granting the Writ.”

5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. NO CONSTITUTIONALLY VALID CONVICTION
CAN BE OBTAINED NOR SENTENCE IMPOSED WHEN
THE INDICTMENT FAILS TO ALLEGE THE QUANTITY OF
DRUGS FOR WHICH IT CALLS THE DEFENDANT TO
ANSWER; OR FAILS TO ESTABLISH THAT QUANTITY
BEFORE THE PETIT JURY BEYOND A REASONABLE
DOUBT.

INTRODUCTION

There was no substantive opinion entered by the
Court of Appeals, hence the reasoning and logic behind their
affirmance can only be surmised.

The most logical conclusion is that that court
recognized that there was error but refused to find that the
error affected the integrity or reputation of the judicial
process. (See Circuit analysis of such issues in, for instance,
United States v. Sanchez, 269 F.3d 1250 (11" Cir. 2001)(en
banc).

No matter the explanations given, the facts here speak
loudly: the Petitioner is serving a Life Sentence arrived at
only by virtue of violation of the Constitution. He implored
the Court to require the Government to tell him the quantity
of drugs involved in the accusation and what quantity of
those drugs it attributed to him. The Court’s reply clearly
held that quantity was not an element of the crime. The law

is now clear that drug quantity is an element of a Title 21
offense.’

'l. See, for instance, United States v. Thomas, 274 F.3d 655 (2™ Cir.
2001)(en banc), and the cases cited therein, including United States v.
Promise, 255 F.3d 150 (4" Cir. 2001)(en banc); United States v Strayhorn,
250 F.3d 462 (6” Cir. 2001); United States v. Fields, 242 F.3d 393 (D.C. Cir.)
Clarified on reh’g 251 F. 3d 1041 (D.C. Circuit 2001); United States v.
Hishaw, 235 F. 3d 565 (10” Cir. 2000), cert denied 150 LEd.2d 241; 121 S.
Ct. 2254 (2001); United States v. Doggett, 230 F.3d 160 (5" Cir. 2000), cert
denied, 531 U.S. 1177 (2001); United States v. Rogers, 228 F. 3d 1318 (11"
Cir 2000), abogated on other grounds by United States v. Sanchez, supra,

6

When Mr. Boswell first learned of the quantity which
the PreSentence Investigation Report was attributing to him,
he objected, asked the Court to disregard the Guidelines and
urged that a Life Sentence was cruel and unusual punishment
considering the insufficient nature of the evidence presented
at trial. In other words he asserted that he could not be
sentenced for a quantity of drugs for which he had no notice
and which was not established beyond a reasonable doubt
before the jury. The fact that he did not utilize a particular
formula to assert these objections does not speak to the fact
that the parties and the trial court were well aware of the
substance of the objections.

He could have done no more. If he were indicted
today, quantity would be included in the Indictment because
it ts an element of the crime. Yet, because the Government
failed in its duty to include an element in the Indictment; and
because the trial court traveled on an incorrect interpretation
of the law, Mr. Boswell is serving a sentence of natural life.

Mr. Boswell was convicted of a crime for which he
was not charged and was sentenced on no more than a guess
at estimated drug quantity. This is, at a minimum, plain error
which seriously affected the fairness, integrity or public
reputation of the judicial process.

A. Omission of an essential element of the crime

Apprendi, supra forbids the trial court from usurping
the role of a petit or a grand jury. The Constitution defines
those roles: the grand jury must find that the defendant
“probably” committed the crime only after measuring his
conduct against the statutory elements of the crime; and no
citizen may be convicted of a crime unless a jury has found
adversely to him on every element of the crime for which he
is accused. All Circuits which have addressed the issue have
found that, under Apprendi, quantity of a controlled
substance is an element of federal drug offenses.

and United States v. Nordby, 225 F. 3d 1053 (9” Cir. 2000).

a Lie REM ae,

7
1. Before the Grand Jury

The Government failed in its duty to advise the Grand

Jury of all elements of the crimes upon which it sought
indictment. This is not one of the “technicalities” so often
referred to by those unschooled in the law. It speaks to the
very safeguard of having a citizen panel stand between the

accuser and the accused to ascertain whether the charges
should be brought.

The Grand Jury process also serves another function
which cannot be overemphasized; that of providing notice of
the crime for which the defendant is called to answer. See

discussion infra.

Here the individuals arrested were, according to the
Government’s evidence, preparing to purchase fifty kilograms
of cocaine from the Government. Common sense would
dictate that the indictment returned would speak to these

fifty kilograms.

Mr. Boswell, however did not rest on this assumption,
but rather asked the trial court to require the Government to
disgorge its well-kept secret: what quantities of contraband
were they attributing to Mr. Boswell. This simple and logical
request was denied and Mr. Boswell was required to prepare
for trial without knowing that the Government would throw
its net far and wide and would not be satisfied even when the
quantity of 1215 kilograms was reached. The trial court
announced the law under which it was proceeding: An
indictment is merely meant to inform the defendant of the
charges . . . [and] satisfies the above standard by listing the
elements of the offense.

Now we are presented with the uncontroverted
proposition that quantity is an element of the offense yet the
conviction and sentence remain.

Any person charged with a crime by the United States
has an absolute right to be placed on notice of the crime and

8
its established elements in order to defend himself.

Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212 (1960) is
instructive. Stirone granted relief when proof at trial on an
essential element departed from the manner of the allegation.
Here we have a situation where an element of the crime is
knowingly kept from the grand and petit juries and then
“found” by the trial court. Furthermore, Russell v. United
States, 369 U.S. 749 (1962) teaches that we cannot assume
that the grand jury would have returned an indictment
charging the threshold drug quantity. “To allow the court to
make a subsequent guess as to what was in the minds of the
grand jury at the time they returned the indictment would
deprive the defendant of a basic protection which the
guaranty of the intervention of a grand jury was designed to
secure.” Promise, supra, citing to Russell at 770.

Before this Court currently is United States v. Cotton,
No. 01-687 which presents the issue of omission from an
Indictment of quantity of drugs. The Government concedes
as it must that after Apprendi its Indictments must charge
threshold drug quantities and must establish those quantities
beyond a reasonable doubt to a trial jury. See, cases gathered
on this proposition in the original appellate decision to be
found at United States v. Cotton, 255 F. 3d 150 (4” Cir 2001).

2. Before the trial jury.

It is clear that the Constitution as well as Rule 23 of
the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure require that all
federal crimes be tried by Indictment unless the defendant
waives such right; the trial court approves; and the
Government consents.

Here, Mr. Boswell was denied a jury trial on the
element of quantity of the controlled substances, hence his
conviction cannot stand for this reason alone.

It is clear that the Due Process Clause protects “the
accused against conviction except upon proof beyond a

9

reasonable doubt of every fact necessary to constitute the
crime... In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970).

Compliance with Winship protects a defendant's
interest in being free from unjustified loss of liberty; from the
stigmatization resulting from conviction; and it engenders
community confidence in the criminal law by giving
“concrete substance” to the presumption of innocence. Id.,
at 363-364.

It Constitutionally follows that the Government at trial
must establish each of the elements beyond a reasonable
doubt, and then, and only then, can a conviction or sentence
be based upon these findings.

Clearly the failure to submit an element to the jury
could be easily “overlooked” if the trial court had the ability
to substitute its own judgment for that of the jury. This
substitution of the court’s judgment for that of the grand and
petit juries is exactly what is proposed when courts look to
standards such as “no rational jury could fail to find” certain
quantities.

The Tenth Circuit recently held, in Beem v. McKune,
278 F.3d 1108 (10" Cir. 2002) that, despite the ease with
which the particular trial court could “fill in” the missing
element from “common knowledge,” taking judicial notice of
any element of a crime was prohibited.

The Tenth Circuit framed the issue as “whether [the
defendants] may be sentenced and imprisoned for crimes for
which they were not charged, tried or convicted.” Id., at 1109.
The two defendants in these separate cases were tried, inter
alia, for indecent liberties with a child and aggravated assault
as to Beem and rape as to Henson.

After success on appeal, the Kansas courts remanded
both Beem’s and Henson’s cases for resentencing on a
different crime—aggravated incest. The State argued that the
sentences were proper because the primary elements of due

Defendants did not proffer a defense regarding the missing
elements and their juries were not instructed as to all
elements . .. The only conceivable way we can permit [the
sentences] to stand is to take judicial notice of the essential
element of kinship—an impermissible endeavor.” Id., at 1112.

The instant case is analogous. Mr. Bosweil was tried
on a charge which the trial court ruled was complete. Now it
is apparent that an element was missing-that was not
submitted to the jury and decided by them. The court is not
now free to substitute its judgment for that of the jury.

It is respectfully Suggested that Mr. Boswell should
not be sentenced on this faulty Indictment. However, if
sentencing is appropriate, it must be to a period calculated on
what the jury actually found: a quantity of cocaine.

3. Failure to clearly delineate the elements of an offense-
notice—creates a substantial disincentive for the defendant
to explore the nuances of this “irrelevant” evidence.

Why is notice such an important component of
preparation of a defense? We may begin with the

contest waged on the amount of drugs. See, for instance,
Promise, supra.

Most importantly, at sentencing Promise did not contest the
quantity of drugs the presentence report recommended be
attributed to him, nor did he dispute the finding by the
district court ...

11

Finally, and critically, the record clearly demonstrates that
Promise’s decision not to dispute the finding of the specific
threshold drug quantity . . . was not the result of lack of
notice . . . . Prior to trial, the Government filed an information
contending that Promise was accountable for more than 50
kilograms ....

Promise, supra, at 164.

The defendant has the right and defense counsel has the
duty to contest the Government's case. One of the finest
mechanisms for ascertaining the truth of a witness’ testimony
is cross examination.

Here the defense was given a disincentive to cross
examine on quantity of drugs in spite of the fact that in many
cases the memories of the witnesses about these quantities
were so outlandish as to defy believability. However, defense
counsel was offered no meaningful choice. His request for the
particular amount of drugs was denied and the trial court
made it clear that quantity was its purview not something
with which the jury should or could be concerned. In other
words quantity was declared irrelevant.

If quantity is an element, it must be tested for truth just
as are all other relevant factual assertions. If quantity is
something for only the judge’s consideration, utilizing a
standard other than reasonable doubt, then testing the factual
assertions of these Government witnesses is an irrelevant
exercise in futility-one which can only harm the defendant.

It is unquestioned that cross examination of
Government informant witnesses about quantity was a losing
proposition for defense attorneys because of the state of the
law. It was irresponsible-perhaps malpractice— for a trial
attorney to “haggle” with an informant, for instance, about
whether there were two or three kilograms of cocaine in the
box. By doing so he or she would be “admitting” that there
were at least two kilograms thus “admitting” to the crime and
leaving the certainty of harsh punishment to the Guidelines.

12

B. Omission of an essential element of the crime divests the
sentencing court of jurisdiction to impose a sentence except
under the lowest non-designated amount or in the
alternative creates structural error.

1. Absence of jurisdiction

Although Courts of Appeal who have considered this
issue have taken the position that failure to submit quantity
to a grand or petit jury is error, they have not found it to be
structural error. They rather analyze the concepts of
preserved and plain error.

However, Mr. Boswell would submit that the failure to
include quantity in the Superceding Indictment-even after
Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227 (1999), can only be
explained by a realization that the Government knew that it
could not prove quantity beyond a reasonable doubt but
rather knew that it would stand a better chance of garnering
a life sentence under the lower standard utilized by a
sentencing judge.

We are guided by this Court’s decision in Arizona v.
Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1991). It teaches that if the error
affects the very framework in which a trial proceeds, reversal
is automatic.

In a recent discussion in the dissent to United States
v. Benehaley, 281 F.3d 423 (4" Cir. 2002), Judge Luttig
reasoned that the reasoning of Promise, supra, “leads
inexorably to the conclusion that the actual convictions
under section 841, and not merely the sentences imposed .. .
are invalid, whenever merely ‘a quantity’ of controlled
substance is charged in the underlying indictment. Jd., at 426

Judge Luttig continues that utilizing Title 21 U.S.C.
Section 841(b)(1)(C) as a catch all is incorrect. “...it follows
that an indictment that alleges only ‘a quantity’ of the drug in
question does not charge a section 841 offense at all.” Jd.

13

C. Even if structural error is not found, the instant error
was preserved and should be analyzed thusly.

Since this Court’s decisions in Jones and Apprendi
at least 2354 decisions have been rendered by the various
federal court of the land in some way referencing this
watershed change in the law.

There remains no question that drug quantity is an
element of a drug trafficking crime. If quantity were removed
from the matrix of Mr. Boswell’s sentencing, he could receive
no greater than a twenty year guideline sentence. This
Apprendi error increases his guideline sentence by
increasing this twenty year term to a term of natural death.

1. Quantity objection was preserved.

It is clear that the defense did all that it could in
preserving the quantity error: it asked that the Government
be required to quantify the amounts of cocaine and advise
each defendant as to the quantity which he would be held
liable; it objected to the PreSentence Investigation Report’s
haphazard conclusion as to quantity; and further argued that
the Eighth Amendment was violated when a person was
sentenced based on inaccurate drug quantity. The
Government, even after Jones, argued at sentencing that

approximation of drug quantities was sufficient for —

sentencing purposes.

2 Plain error is patent and seriously affects the
fairness, integrity, or public reputation of this judicial
proceeding.

In the event that the defense objections as to the
missing element are found to be insufficient, plain error
exists. i

A three-plus step analysis is necessary to determine
plain error. “...there must be (1) error, (2) that is plain, and
(3) that affects substantial rights.” Once plain error is
established, as it clearly is in Mr. Boswell’s case, a court will ©

14

then exercise discretion to notice such omission if “(4) the
error seriously affects the fairness, integrity, or public
reputation of judicial proceedings.” United States v. Olano,
507 U.S. 725 (1993). Fed. R. Crim. Pro. 52(b).

discretion, factually supported by trial testimony. He
received a sentence at the bottom of his guidelines of 292-365
months.

Thomas preserved his objection to quantity by, inter
alia, contesting the quantity of drugs as one which should
have been submitted to the jury under Jones v. United States,
526 U.S. 227 (1999), although his position was rejected.
Boswell with equal force, objected to the calculation of
quantity based on no more than vague trial testimony and
argued that a life sentence based on this conviction was a
violation of the Eighth Amendment.

The Thomas court quickly disposed of the first three
Olano categories of error. Because the sentence was based
on the factual findings by the trial court of quantity of drugs,
and because that finding placed the defendant outside the

The Thomas court stated that it could find error
which affected Thomas’ substantial rights in two ways: either

15

the defendant was sentenced to a greater penalty than
authorized by Congress or the defendant was improperly
convicted. After discussing both potential errors, the Court
found that the third Olano prong was met under either
theory-the error adversely affected the defendant's
substantial rights.

In Mr. Boswell's trial, although quantity of drugs was
a primary theme of the trial, no amounts of drugs were
alleged nor was quantity submitted to the jury, nor was there
sufficient testimony to establish beyond a reasonable doubt
any judicial “estimates.” The sentence received by Mr.
Boswell reflects a quantity of drugs twenty-four times that at
issue in the “negotiations” between the Government and co-
defendant Merold. The prejudice is patent.

After the first three prongs of plain error are met, as
they clearly are here and were in Thomas, the Court must
decide whether it will notice the plain error. Olano teaches
that such error should be noticed only where the error
“seriously affects the fairness, integrity or public reputation
of judicial proceedings.” Thomas at 671 (internal citations
omitted).

Thomas, like Boswell, did not stipulate to quantity of
drugs thereby removing him from the line of cases where the
fact improperly found is “essentially uncontroverted.” Jd.
Both Boswell and Thomas squarely placed the fairness of
utilizing quantity in the proposed way into controversy, thus
the plain error seriously affe ted the fairness of the judicial
proceedings. Id.

The Thomas court also found that the error affected
the public reputation of the judicial proceedings whether one
analyzed the problem as an error in sentencing or an error in
the conviction.

It is respectfully submitted that fair minded members
of the public would conclude that Mr. Boswell’s trial was not
conducted with the fairness which should be associated with

16

an accusation which can remove a man from his home and
hearth for the rest of his life; that this lack of fairness affected
the integrity required of this solemn process and that if such
case were to stand, this judicial proceeding would be
impugned in the eyes of the citizenry.

3. A class of individuals is being created who must
unjustly suffer the consequences of the Government's failure
to allege and the Court’s duty to properly instruct on the
law.

It is without question that the uniform practice, now
seen as Constitutionally mandated by Apprendi, is to include
quantity as an element of the offense in an Indictment and to
prove quantity beyond a reasonable doubt in a jury trial.

However, the fact that Courts of Appeal are finding
that this error is plain but are finding-after the fact and
without benefit of jury input-that no prejudice flows
therefrom is creating a separate class of citizens: those who
were convicted pre-Apprendi absent proof of all essential
elements of the crime alleged whose convictions remain vital
solely because the court has supplanted the jury process with
its own conclusions. This clearly violates a citizen's rights
protected by the Sixth Amendment.

Had Boswell been awaiting trial in 2002, his
Indictment would have been precise; the witnesses who
testified against him would have been vigorously cross-
examined on “weight” and their “recollections” of “about”
thus and such would easily have been rejected by a rational

jury. He should not suffer due to the failure of the accusation
and trial processes.

17
CONCLUSION

THEREFORE, Petitioner JAMES G. BOSWELL,
requests of this Court that it GRANT its Petition for Writ of
Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

MARY CATHERINE BONNER, ESQ.
Counsel of Record
207 S.W. 12th Court
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33315
(954) 523-6225
Attorney for Petitioner

la
(Any footnotes trail end of each document)

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAL
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 99-13818
D.C. Docket No. 99-00015 CR-1-MMP

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JAMES G. BOSWELL, TERRY GLASSCOCKk,
Defendants-Appellants.

No. 00-11482
D.C. Docket No. 99-00015-CR-1-MMP

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JAMES G. BOSWELL, TERRY GLASSCOCK,
Defendants-Appellants.

No. 00-12169

D.C. Docket No. 99-0001-CR-1-MMP

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

eicceccinnteecmnsiilimngchictlpteicaas i cai a aE is a SPS go ition ig
EE SRN SY ERA REY eS

2a

JAMES G. BOSWELL, TERRY GLASSCOCK,
Defendants-Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Florida

(November 30, 2001)

Before ANDERSON, Chief Judge, BLACK, Circuit Judge, and
MORENO,, District J udge.

PER CURIAM:

AFFIRMED. See Circuit Rule 36-1.

Footnotes

‘Honorable Federico A. Moreno, U.S. District Judge for the
Southern District of Florida, sitting by designation.

3a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAL
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 99-13818

D.C. Docket No. 99-00015 CR-1-MMP

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JAMES G. BOSWELL, TERRY GLASSCOCK,
Defendants-Appellants.

‘ No. 00-11482
D.C. Docket No. 99-00015-CR-1-MMP

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JAMES G. BOSWELL, TERRY GLASSCOCK,
Defendants-Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

JUDGMENT
It is hereby ordered, adjudged, and decreed that the

attached opinion included herein by reference, is entered as
_. the judgment of this Court.

Entered: November 30, 2001
For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn, Clerk
By: McCombs, Elaine

4a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA AT GAINESVILLE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
v.
JAMES BOSWELL

JUDGMENT LJ A CRIMINAL CASE
(For Offenses Committed On or After November 1, 1987)

Case Number: 1:99CR00015-001(S)

John Harralson, Louisville, Kentucky
Defendant’s Attorney

Filed September 23, 1999
THE DEFENDANT:

x was found guilty on count(s) One, Two and Three
(06/21/99) after a plea of not guilty.

Date
Title & Offense Count

Section NatureofOffense Concluded Number(s)

21 U.S.C. § Conspiracy to
841 and Possess with Intent to
846 Distribute Cocaine 03/11/1999 One
18 U.S.C. § Carrying a Firearm
924(c) During and in
Relation to a Drug
Trafficking Crime 03/11/1999 Two
21 U.S.C.
853 Criminal Forfeiture 03/11/1999 Three

The defendant is sentenced as provided in pages 2 through 8
of this judgment. The sentence is imposed pursuant to the
Sentencing Reform Act of 1984.

Tae CUA aval MAE og Rk ES bau) astaithanaser tae anata Oakes Seda

5a

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the defendant shall notify
the United States Attorney for this district within 30 days of
any change of name, residence, or mailing address until all
fines, restitution, costs, and special assessments imposed by

this judgment are fully paid.
Defendant's 09/17/1999
Soc. Sec. No.: 404-04-9234 Date of Imposition

of Judgment
Defendant’s Date of Birth: . 01/13/1967
Defendant's USM No.: 06988-033
i Defendant's Residence Address.
115 Three Pines Road
Lebanon KY 40033

x WR ng ateaswes batasbulhenasec le nnas a on Lile fede aa aarAC APRON Te athe Se aan a

i Defendant's Mailing Address:
115 Three Pines Road
KY 40033

Honorable Maurice M. Paul
Senior U.S. District Judge

IMPRISONMENT
The defendant is hereby committed to the custody of the
United States Bureau of Prisons to be imprisoned for a total
term of Life.

As to Count One and Sixty (60) months imprisonment as to
Count Two to run consecutive to each other.

».4 The defendant is remanded to the custody of the
United States Marshal.

SUPERVISED RELEASE

Upon release from imprisonment, the defendant shall be on
supervised release for a term of 5 year(s).

3
5
x
s
;
=

6a

As to Count One and 3 years as to Count Two, to be served
concurrently to each other.

The defendant shall report to the probation office in the
district to which the defendant is released within 72 hours of
release from the custody of the Bureau of Prisons.

The defendant shall not commit another federal, state, or
local crime.

The defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled
substance.

For offenses committed on or after September 13, 1994:

The defendant shall refrain from any unlawful use of a
controlled substance. The defendant shall submit to one drug
test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and at least
two periodic drug tests thereafter, as directed by the
probation officer.

4 The defendant shall not possess a firearm as defined
in 18 U.S.C. § 921. (Check, if applicable.)

If this judgment imposes a fine or a restitution
obligation, it shall be a condition of supervised
release that the defendant pay any such fine or
restitution that remains unpaid at the
commencement of the term of supervised
release in accordance with the Schedule of
Payments set forth in the Criminal Monetary
Penalties sheet of this judgment.

The defendant shall comply with the standard conditions that
have been adopted by this court (set forth below). The
defendant shall also comply with the additional Conditions
on the attached page (if indicated below).

1)

2)

10)

11)

12)

13)

7a
STANDARD CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

the defendant shall not leave the judicial district
without the permission of the court or probation
officer;

the defendant shall report to the probation officer and
shall submit a truthful and complete written report
within the first five days of each month;

the defendant shall answer truthfully all inquiries by
the probation officer and follow the instructions of
the probation officer,

the defendant shall support his or her dependents and
meet other family responsibilities; -

the defendant shall work regularly at a lawful
occupation unless excused by the probation officer
for schooling, training, or other acceptable reasons;
the defendant shall notify the probation officer ten
days prior to any change in residence or employment;
the defendant shall refrain from excessive use of
alcohol;

the defendant shall not frequent places where
controlled substances are illegally sold, used,
distributed, or administered;

the defendant shall not associate with any persons
engaged in criminal activity, and shall not associate
with any person convicted of a felony unless granted
permission to do so by the probation officer;

the defendant shall permit a probation officer to visit
him or her at any time at home or elsewhere and shall
permit confiscation of any contraband observed in
plain view of the probation officer;

the defendant shall notify the probation officer within
seventy-two hours of being arrested or questioned by
a law enforcement officer;

the defendant shall not enter into any agreement to
act as an informer or a special agent of a law
enforcement agency without the permission of the
court;

as directed by the probation officer, the defendant
shall notify third parties of risks that may be

8a

occasioned by the defendant's criminal record or
personal history or characteristics, and shall permit
the probation officer to make such notifications and
to confirm the defendant’s compliance with such
notification requirement.

SPECIAL CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

The defendant shall not own or possess a firearm, dangerous
weapon or other destructive device.

The defendant shall participate in drug and alcohol

counseling, testing, treatment and screening, as deemed
appropriate by the probation officer.

The defendant shall provide the probation officer access to
all required financial information and documents as long as
any portion of the defendant’s fine is unpaid.

The defendant shall support his dependant children and meet
other family responsibilities. In the absence of an existing
court order setting an amount of support, the defendant shall
contribute 25% of his net income to the support of his minor
child.

The defendant shall not own or be employed at any business
licensed to sell alcoholic or other intoxicating beverages.

CRIMINAL MONETARY PENALTIES
The defendant shall pay the following total criminal monetary

penalties in accordance with the schedule of payments set
forth on Sheet 5, Part B.

Assessment Fine Restitution
Totals $200.00 $4,000,000.00

The above tine includes costs of incarceration and/or
supervision in the amount of $

9a

The defendant shall pay interest on any fine of more than
$2,500, unless the fine is paid in full before the fifteenth day
after the date of judgment, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3612(f). All
of the payment options on Sheet 5, Part B may be subject to
penalties for default and delinquency pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §
3612(g).

SCHEDULE OF PAYMENTS

Payments shall be applied in the following order: (1)
assessment; (2) restitution: (3) fine principal; (4) cost of
prosecution; (5) interest; (6) penalties.

Payment of the total fine and other criminal monetary -
penalties shall be due as follows:

D4 in full immediately or
ADDITIONAL FORFEITED PROPERTY

(h) A 1.77 acre tract, being on Mays Chapel Road, located
in Marion County, Kentucky.

(c) Tracts “A”, XVI, and XIX, of the Lanham Property
Division of record in Plat Cabinet 1, Slide 159, in the Marion
County Court Clerks Office,

(d) 33.97 acres, more or less, located in Marion County,
Kentucky.

(f) Bank account at Farmer’s National Bank, 136 West
Main Street, Lebanon, in the name G. Boswell, Account
Number 0001078704.

(g) | Abank account at the Campbellsville National Bank,
1405 East Broadway, Campbellsville, Kentucky, 4271c, in the
name of James C. Boswell, Account Number 360728-3.

(h) A bank account in Springfield State Bank, 125 East
Main Street, Springfield, Kentucky, 40069, in the name of

10a
James G. Boswell, Account Number 493201.

STATEMENT OF REASONS

The court adopts the factual findings and guideline
application in the presentence report.

Guideline Range Determined by the Court:

Total Offense Level: 44

Criminal History Category: III

Imprisonment Range: Life Imprisonment
Supervised Release Range: 3 to5 years

Fine Range: $25,000.00 to $4,000,000.00

4 The sentence is within the guideline range, that range
does not exceed 24 months, and the court finds no
reason to depart from the sentence called for by the
application of the guidelines.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1736%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
