# Amicus Curiae Brief — Riley, Interim District Director, Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement v. Radoncic

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1662%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2003
- **Citation:** 538 U.S. 1010

## Text

Nos. 01-1459

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

KENNETH J. ELWOOD, District Director,
Immigration and Naturalization Service,
Petitioner,
v.

SABRIJA RADONCIC,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AND
BRIEF OF WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION;
U.S. REPS. BOB BARR, JOE BARTON, GEORGE GEKAS,
WALTER JONES, LAMAR SMITH, JOHN SWEENEY, AND
DAVE WELDON; U.S. SENATOR JESSE HELMS;
AND ALLIED EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Daniel J. Popeo
Richard A. Samp
(Counsel of Record)

Washington Legal Foundation
2009 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 588-0302

Date: May 31, 2002

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

ls
oe
‘

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 01-1459

KENNETH J. ELWOOD, District Director,
Immigration and Naturalization Service,
Petitioner,
Vv.

SABRIJA RADONCIC,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
OF WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION;

U.S. REPS. BOB BARR, JOE BARTON,
GEORGE GEKAS, WALTER JONES, LAMAR SMITH,
JOHN SWEENEY, AND DAVE WELDON;

U.S. SENATOR JESSE HELMS;

AND ALLIED EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Pursuant to Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this Court, the
Washington Legal Foundation (WLF); U.S. Representatives
Bob Barr, Joe Barton, George Gekas, Walter Jones, Lamar
Smith, John Sweeney, and Dave Weldon; U.S. Senator Jesse
Helms; and the Allied Educational Foundation respectfully

2

move for leave to file the attached brief as amici curiae in
support of Petitioner. Petitioner has consented to the filing
of this brief. Counsel for Respondent -- although indicating
that he would consent to the filing of amicus curiae briefs on
the merits if the Court should grant the petition -- declined to
consent. Accordingly, this motion is necessary.

WLE is a non-profit public interest law and policy
center with supporters in all 50 states. While WLF engages
in litigation in a wide variety of areas, it devotes a substantial
portion of its resources to promoting America's national
security. To that end, WLF has appeared in this and
numerous other federal courts to ensure that aliens who

engage in terrorism or other criminal activity are not |

permitted to pursue their criminal goals while in this country.
See, e.g., Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678 (2001); Reno v.
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee, 525 U.S. 471
(1999); Al Najjar v. Ashcroft, 273 F.3d 1330 (11th Cir.
2001); Palestine Information Office v. Shultz, 853 F.2d 932
(D.C. Cir. 1988).-

The Honorable Jesse Helms is a United States Senator
from North Carolina. The Honorable Bob Barr, the
Honorable Joe Barton, the Honorable George Gekas, the
Honorable Walter Jones, the Honorable Lamar Smith, the
Honorable John E. Sweeney, and the Honorable Dave
Weldon are United States Representatives from, respectively,
Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Texas, New
York, and Florida. Rep. Gekas is Chairman of the
Immigration and Claims Subcommittee of the House
Judiciary Committee; Rep. Smith is the former Chairman of
the Subcommittee. All believe strongly that Congress and the
Executive Branch ought to be permitted to protect American
citizens by imposing finite periods of detention on those

° es Oe ae

3

removable aliens who have been adjudged guilty of
aggravated felonies. All are supporters of the mandatory
detention provisions of 8 U.S.C. § 1226(c) and believe that
it is fully consistent with the requirements of the U.S.
Constitution.

The Allied Educational Foundation (AEF) is a non-
profit charitable foundation based in Englewood, New Sersey.
Founded in 1964, AEF is dedicated to promoting education
in diverse areas of study, such as law and public policy, and
has appeared as amicus curiae in this Court on a number of
occasions.

Particularly in light of recent terrorist attacks in this
country, proposed amici believe that the political branches of
government must be afforded broad power to detain aliens
who are convicted of aggravated felonies. Where those
aliens admit they are here illegally but nonetheless are
fighting deportation based on efforts to win discretionary
adjustment of status, proposed amici believe that the
Immigration and Naturalization Service ("INS") ought to
detain such aliens during the time it takes to complete
deportation proceedings.

Amici are concerned that the decision below, if allowed
to stand, will result in an unwarranted abridgement of the
power of the political branches of government to control
immigration into this county, a power that historically has
been subject to only extremely limited judicial review. The
decisions below discuss at great length the alleged rights of
illegal aliens who are convicted felons, but do not seem to
have taken into account the rights of the federal government
to enforce its immigration laws or the rights of those who

-

Pre set ee enn an ee ace Renee ene a

- 4

may be threatened by Mr. Radoncic's continued presence in
American society.

For the foregoing reasons, the Washington Legal
Foundation; U.S. Representatives Bob Barr, Joe Barton,
George Gekas, Lamar Smith, and John Sweeney; U.S.
Senator Jesse Helms; and the Allied Educational Foundation
respectfully request that they be allowed to participate in this
case by filing the attached brief.

Respectfully submitted,

Daniel J. Popeo
Richard A. Samp
(Counsel of Record)

Washington Legal Foundation
2009 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 588-0302

Date: May 31, 2002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Respondent's mandatory detention under 8
U.S.C. § 1226(c) violates the Due Process Clause of the
Fifth Amendment, where Respondent entered the United
States illegally and was convicted of an aggravated felony
while unlawfully present in the United States?

The case also raises the following antecedent question:

Whether a federal district court possesses jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. § 2241 to set aside the action of the
Attorney General in detaining a removable alien who entered
the United States illegally and was convicted of an aggravated
felony while unlawfully present in the United States, despite
8 U.S.C. § 1226(e)'s admonition that "[n]o court may set
aside any action or decision by the Attorney General" to
detain an alien under § 1226?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........22000.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .....

I. DEPORTABLE ALIENS CONVICTED OF
AGGRAVATED FELONIES HAVE NO DUE
PROCESS RIGHT TO REMAIN AT LIBERTY
WITHIN AMERICAN SOCIETY WHILE THEY
CONTEST THEIR REMOVAL ............

II. ZADVYDAS IN NO WAY LESSENS THE NEED
FOR THIS COURT TO RESOLVE THE CON-
FLICT AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS .

lil. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW IN
ORDER TO DETERMINE WHETHER LOWER
FEDERAL COURTS HAVE JURISDICTION TO
OVERTURN § _ 1226(c) DETENTION
DORE each ess eae eus ae tha enwn

oe | Peer Ter TT eee E eT eee eee

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
. Page

Cases:
Fiallo v. Bell,

ns Se PO go a 60 aa 6 ok kaa ees 9
Hampton v. Mow Sun Wong,

UE te ere re rere ere ee are S)
Harisiades v. Shaughnessy,

ee ee I 90 cs ol a aM ksn a he ke ee 10
Hoyte-Mesa v. Ashcroft,

Zia F.36 SOD Cre Git. BUO)) ow ccc ceees 17
INS v. Chadha,

ne oe oe 5 4th widiw ak WK Be 11
INS v. St. Cyr,

eo 8 Os Rye, 7) | a ere ere 14, 19, 20
Mathews v. Diaz,

ee ee I oo Go 8 a whe ed Ge es 10
Mathews v. Eldridge,

8 8 ae fe ee a er 7
Miller v. Albright,

oS Ata «wh aie ew ap a 9
Palko v. Connecticut,

Es SI oo nb 2S aw ae ok bee ee ee 8
Parra v. Perryman,

172 F.3a 95@Gith Car. 1999) ... zm. ee passim
Patel v. Zemski, |

275 F.3d 299 (3d Cir. 2001) ...... 5, 10, 13, 15, 19
Poe v. Ullman,

ey nc SE EE fo so e-book ke wk 9
Reno v. American-Arab Anti-Discrimination

Committee, 525 U.S. 471 (1999) .............. 19
Reno v. Flores,

- of 2 A 2. Rear errr 14

ee

Page

Rochin v. California,

ee 8
Shaughnessy v. United States ex rel. Mezei,

pe ere ee ae re 11
United States v. Salerno,

TS SE onc ang ky wn cw a eo 8 8k a 8
United States v. Valenzuela-Bernal,

nn 4 Fa ck ie Rae ww 9
Youngberg v. Romeo,

gS SE). ° 9
Zadvydas v. Davis,

ee te Pe ED cv os a ek tke ke eae passim
Statutes and Constitutional Provisions:
U.S. Const., art. i, § 9, cl. 2, Suspension Clause .... 20
U.S. Const., amend. v, Due Process Clause .... passim
8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(N) and (U) ........... 4, 20
fp R 8 a 6, 18, 19, 20
no os es eas Bs eke A passim
EPS ae By coos OFF, 2. BOD
S U.S.C. § 122 HaWAMANE) 00 wc cc eee 4
ae Sn gk bk kha lk Rw 16
td Oe Ee are ko kk A A ae a ks 3
a ee Bc | re <2
ras oa fa e's Gk de aw Oe 19
pS Fame Be 8 2
I oe eg ceca bw ve OW Pe .

rs ee ee 4 Oe ES 17

vi

Page
Miscellaneous:
Convention Against Torture, Article3 ............ 3
142 Cong. Rec. 7972 (1995) .......-. 2. eee, 12
oe TR ee eh) a re 13
Be Ge OD ok ee ee eke ea neeceweaes 17

Los Angeles County Wide Criminal Justice

Coordination Comm., "Impact of Repeat

Arrests of Deportable Aliens in Los

Anpetes Comity,” Daly 15, W996 2g ccc wesc 12

BRIEF OF WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION;
U.S. REPS. BOB BARR, JOE BARTON,
WALTER JONES, GEORGE GEKAS, LAMAR SMITH,
JOHN SWEENEY, AND DAVE WELDON;

U.S. SENATOR JESSE HELMS;

AND ALLIED EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The interests of amici curiae Washington Legal
Foundation, ef al., are set forth in the motion accompanying
this brief. '

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the interests of brevity, amici hereby incorporate by
reference the Statement contained in the Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari. In brief, Sabrija Radoncic is a 42-year-old
citizen of Serbia-Montenegro who entered the United States
illegally in March 1991 (prior to the onset of open warfare in
the former Yugoslavia) by sneaking across the border from
Mexico near San Diego; he has remained in this country ever
since. The record does not state how Mr. Radoncic has
supported himself since coming to this country, other than to
indicate that he has engaged repeatedly in alien smuggling.

An Immigration Judge (IJ) found that Mr. Radoncic has
been arrested on three occasions for alien smuggling: in
1993 in Detroit; in July 1996 in Champlain, New York; and

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, amici state that no
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part; and that no
person or entity, other than amici and their counsel, contributed
monetarily to the preparation and submission of this brief.

2

in August 1996 in Vermont. Pet. App. 37a-38a. At least
one alien paid Mr. Radoncic $5,000 to smuggle him into the
country. /d. at 40a, 60a, 62a. The IJ found that Mr.
Radoncic was part of a "criminal enterprise": "a large scale
smuggling network." Jd. He characterized Mr. Radoncic's
behavior as that of a "seasoned," "experienced," and
"hardened" criminal. /d. at 61a, 62a.

The August 1996 arrest led to a January 1999 con-
viction in U.S. District Court for the District of Vermont for
smuggling aliens into the United States, in violation of 8
U.S.C. § 1324(a)(1)(A)(i), and for conspiring to smuggle
aliens into the United States, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371.
Id. at 2a-3a. Mr. Radoncic was sentenced to 18 months in
prison, a sentence he began serving in February 1999. Jd.

In November 1993, Mr. Radoncic and his wife, who are
Muslims, applied for asylum on the basis of religious
persecution. In March 1996, the ‘mmigration and Natural-
ization Service (INS) initiated deportation proceedings,
charging that Mr. Radoncic and his wife had entered the
country without inspection and were not entitled to remain.
At a subsequent hearing in July 1996, they conceded
deportability but requested asylum, withholding of removal,
and voluntary departure in the alternative. /d. at 2a. Mr.
Radoncic also sought withholding or deferral of removal
pursuant to Article 3 of the Convention Against Torture. /d.

Following a hearing, the IJ issued a decision on April
11, 2000, denying Mr. Radoncic's application for relief and
ordering his removal to Serbia-Montenegro. /d. at 22a-71a.
The IJ found that Mr. Radoncic had failed to meet his burden
of demonstrating that he would be subject to persecution if
returned to Serbia-Montenegro. /d. at 55a-57a. The IJ

3

determined that Mr. Radoncic's testimony regarding
persecution was not "credible," a persecution claim based
largely on "fraudulent" documents presented by Mr.
Radoncic that purported to show that he had faced criminal
charges in Serbia because of his opposition to the
government. /d. at 54a-57a. The IJ further determined that
because Mr. Radoncic had been convicted of "a particularly
serious crime" within the meaning of 8 U.S.C.
§ 1231(b)(3)(B)(ii), Mr. Radoncic was ineligible for with-
holding of removal (under either 8 U.S.C. § 1231(b)(3) or
Article 3 of the Convention Against Torture). Jd. at 57a-63a.
The IJ explicitly found that if allowed to remain in the
country, Mr. Radoncic was “at serious risk to resume his
illegal activities in the future," activity that "by its nature
poses a risk to the security of the United States." Jd. at 62a.

Mr. Radoncic appealed that decision to the Board of
Immigration Appeals (BIA). By order dated November 13,
2001, the BIA affirmed the IJ's finding that Mr. Radoncic
was ineligible for asylum and withholding of removal because
he had been convicted of a particularly serious crime. Jd. at
19a. The BIA also held that he had failed to demonstrate
eligibility for deferral of removal under the Convention -
Against Torture because he had failed to produce credible
evidence that he would face torture if returned to Serbia-
Montenegro. /d. at 19a-20a. Accordingly, the BIA dismissed
Mr. Radoncic's appeal. Jd. at21a. Mr. Radoncic has sought
review of that decision in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit and has also asked the BIA to reconsider its
decision. Pet. 10.

Mr. Radoncic completed his criminal sentence on May
19, 2000 and was taken into custody by the INS. The INS
viewed Mr. Radoncic's detention as mandatory under 8

4

U.S.C. § 1226(c) because his Vermont convictions consti-
tuted "aggravated felony" convictions within the meaning of
8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(N) and (U), and thus rendered him
deportable under 8 U.S.C. § 1227(a)(2)(A)(iii).

After an IJ denied his request for a bail hearing (on the
ground that detention was mandatory under § 1226(c)), Mr.
Radoncic filed a habeas corpus petition in U.S. District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. On November 8,
2000, the district court granted the petition. Pet. App. 7a-
17a. The court ordered Mr. Radoncic released from
detention unless the INS "commences an_ individual
evaluation, including an individual hearing and decision
within thirty days, to determine whether the continued
detention of Petitioner is necessary to prevent risk of flight or
danger to the community." Jd. at 16a. The court held that
§ 1226(c)'s mandatory detention provision violated the Fifth
Amendment's Due Process Clause, even as applied to aliens
(such as Mr. Radoncic) who had entered the country
illegally, because: (1) such aliens may not be detained in the
absence of evidence that they pose a risk of flight or a threat
to the community; and (2) they are entitled to an
"individualized evaluation" to determine whether they pose
a risk of flight or a threat to the community. /d. at 10a-16a.
Later that month, Mr. Radoncic posted a $5,000 bond and
was released from custody. /d. at 5a.

On January 4, 2002, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit affirmed. Jd. at la-6a. The appeals court
noted that, in a case decided the previous month, it had
invoked the Due Process Clause to strike down 8 U.S.C.
§ 1226(c) to the extent that it permitted the detention of
removable aliens who are still pursuing administrative
appeals, in the absence of an individualized finding that the

5

aliens pose a risk of flight or a danger to the community. /d.
- at 5a (citing Patel v. Zemski, 275 F.3d 299 (3d Cir: 2001)).
Although acknowledging that the facts in this case differed
"to some extent" from those in Patel (e.g., Mr. Radoncic has
never had any right to live in this country, while the alien in
Patel had been a permanent resident alien prior to being
convicted of an aggravated felony), the appeals court
concluded that "the legal issue is the same” and accordingly
affirmed the district court's holding on the basis of its Patel
decision. Jd. at 5a-6a. Neither the district court nor the
appeals court considered whether it possessed jurisdiction to
hear Mr. Radoncic's habeas petition.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

“f
Amici fully support the arguments put forth by Peti-
tioner (hereinafter, the "INS"). The Third Circuit has held
an Act of Congress unconstitutional; that alone warrants
review of the court of appeals decision. Moreover, the
appeals court's decision directly conflicts with a decision of
the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Amici write separately in order to emphasize several
points. First, the appeals court's decision is directly contrary
to numerous decisions of this Court. The Third Circuit failed
to accord the deference demanded by this Court to decisions
of Congress and the Executive Branch with respect to
immigration matters. That failure is particularly troubling in
light of overwhelming evidence that: (1) aliens released from
detention pending deportation after having been convicted of
aggravated felonies pose a serious public safety risk; (2) the
INS has no effective means of assuring the removal of alien
felons following the completion of administrative proceedings
unless it can detain them while those proceedings are

6

ongoing; and (3) in a very real sense, alien felons being
detained pending removal hold the keys to their jail cells
because they can win their freedom at any time so long as
they agree to leave the country while their administrative
appeals are pending.

Second, the Court's decision in Zadvydas v. Davis, 533
U.S. 678 (2001), in no way reduces the need to resolve the
conflict between the decision below and the Seventh Circuit's
decision in Parra v. Perryman, 172 F.3d 954 (7th Cir.
1999). Parra is fully consistent with this Court's Zadvydas
decision, and the Seventh Circuit has given no indication
since Zadvydas was decided in June 2001 that it is
considering abandoning its Parra decision.

Third, Congress has unambiguously decreed that the
federal courts are not to "set aside any action or decision" of
the INS taken pursuant to 8 U.S.C. § 1226 "regarding the
detention or release of any alien or the grant, revocation, or
denial of bond or parole." 8 U.S.C. § 1226(e). It is
undisputed that the INS acted pursuant to 8 U.S.C. § 1226 in
determining that Mr. Radoncic should be detained pending
removal. Accordingly, the Court should grant review in this
case to determine whether the lower courts possessed
jurisdiction to overturn the INS's decision to detain Mr.
Radoncic; § 1226(e) clearly suggests that they did not.

I. DEPORTABLE ALIENS CONVICTED OF
AGGRAVATED FELONIES HAVE NO DUE
PROCESS RIGHT TO REMAIN AT LIBERTY
WITHIN AMERICAN SOCIETY WHILE THEY
CONTEST THEIR REMOVAL

7

In denying Mr. Radoncic's petition for relief from
deportation, the IJ characterized Mr. Radoncic's behavior as
that of a "seasoned," "experienced," and "hardened"
criminal. Pet. App. 61a, 62a. The IJ ordered that Mr.
Radoncic be removed, and the BIA affirmed. Although he
has appealed that decision, Congress has decreed that those
in Mr. Radoncic's position "shall" be detained by the INS
pending removal. The Third Circuit nonetheless ruled that
Mr. Radoncic has a substantive due process right to be free
from detention while he contests the removal order, in the
absence of an "individualized" finding that he poses either a
risk of flight or a threat to the community.

In so holding, the Third Circuit did not merely dismiss
considered views to the contrary from both Congress and the
Seventh Circuit. Its decision is also in conflict with
numerous decisions of this Court that have emphasized the
need for the federal courts to defer to the views of the elected
branches of government in immigration-related matters. The
Court should grant review to resolve that conflict.

The Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment
provides that "No person shall . . . be deprived of life,
liberty, or property without due process of law." In general,
that clause has been understood to require procedural fairness
before the federal government may take an action depriving
a person of life, liberty, or property. See, e.g., Mathews v.
_ Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335 (1976).

But the Court has recognized that the Due Process
Clause also includes a categorical prohibition against certain
extreme forms of government conduct that result in
deprivation of life, liberty, or property. This categorical
prohibition, generally referred to as "substantive due pro-

8

cess," "prevents the government from engaging in conduct
that ‘shocks the conscience’ . . . or interferes with rights
‘implicit in the concept of ordered liberty.'" United States v.
Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 746 (1987) (quoting Rochin v.
California, 342 U.S. 165, 172 (1952), and Palko v. Con-
necticut, 302 U.S. 319, 325-326 (1937)). Amici submit that
there is nothing "shock[ing to] the conscience" about a
federal law that mandates detention of removable aliens who
have been convicted of aggravated felonies and who wish to
remain in the United States while they contest their removal,
particularly where detention is limited to the relatively brief
period necessary for all removal proceedings to be
completed.

Government detention of individuals -- even those
present in this country illegally -- unquestionably implicates
the Due Process Clause's prohibition against unwarranted
deprivations of "liberty." As the Court has made clear,
"Freedom from imprisonment -- from government custody,
detention, or other forms of physical restraint -- lies at the
heart of the liberty that Clause protects." Zadvydas, 121 S.
Ct. 2491, 2498 (2001). But the federal government will
often have legitimate reasons to impinge on personal liberty,
and any claim that abridgement of personal freedom "shocks
the conscience" must be judged in light of the government's
justifications for its actions:

2 Although the Third Circuit was not altogether clear on this
point, amici do not understand the appeals court to have held that the
INS violated Mr. Radoncic's rights to procedural due process. The
appeals court indicated that the Constitution prohibited Mr. Radoncic's
detention in the absence of individualized findings that he presented a
flight risk or a threat to safety, without regard to how much process the
INS afforded him before taking him into custody. Pet. App. 5a-6a.

9

In determining whether a substantive right protected by
the Due Process Clause has been violated, it is neces-
sary to balance "the liberty of the individual" and the
"demands of organized society." Poe v. Ullman, 367
U.S. 497, 542 (1961)(Harlan, J., dissenting). In seek-
ing this balance in other cases, the Court has weighed
the individual's interest in liberty against the State's
asserted reasons for restraining individual liberty.

Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307, 320 (1982).

When that balancing process is undertaken within the
context of immigration matters, the balance tilts decidedly in
favor of upholding federal restraints on the liberty of
noncitizens imposed by Congress and the Executive Branch
in the name of national security and safety. In fact, the law
is quite clear that when it comes to matters of immigration
policy, the judicial branch has a very limited role to play.
"The power to regulate immigration -- an attribute of
sovereignty essential to the preservation of any nation -- has
been entrusted by the Constitution to the political branches of
the Federal Government." United States v. Valenzuela-
Bernal, 458 U.S. 858, 864 (1982). As a result, the Court
has "underscore[d] the limited scope of judicial inquiry" into
immigration-related matters. Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. 787,
792 (1977). "The power over aliens is of a political
character and therefore subject only to narrow judicial
review." Hampton v. Mow Sun Wong, 426 U.S. 88, 101
n.21 (1976). Accord, Miller v. Albright, 523 U.S. 420, 455
(1998) (Scalia, J., concurring) ("Judicial power over
immigration and naturalization is extremely limited.").

As the Court has explained:

10

"{A]ny policy toward aliens is vitally and intricately
interwoven with contemporaneous policies in regard to
the conduct of foreign relations, the war power, and the
maintenance of a republican form of government. Such
matters are so exclusively entrusted to the political
branches of government as to be largely immune from
judicial inquiry or interference."

Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67, 81 n.17 (1976) (quoting
Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 U.S. 580, 588-89 (1952)).

In conflict with this Court's case law, the Third Circuit
declined to defer to Congress's judgment that sound immi-
gration policy requires the detention of deportable aliens who
have been convicted of aggravated felonies. Patel, 275 F.3d
299, 308, 314 (3d Cir. 2001).° In support of its refusal to
defer to Congress, the Third Circuit argued:

The Supreme Court recently addressed this issue [of
deference] in Zadvydas and distinguished between the
deference that must be afforded to immigration policies
and the more searching review of the procedures used
to implement those policies. 121 S. Ct. at 2501-502.
The issue in the present case implicates the latter, the
means by which Congress effects its determinations
regarding who should be deported and on what basis,

> Patel was argued on the same day as this case, in front of the
same three-judge panel. The panel issued a lengthy opinion in Patel in
December 2001. When the panel issued its decision in this case two
weeks later, it provided an extremely truncated version of its due
process findings and instead relied on Patel, asserting, "[{T}he legal
issue [in the two cases] is the same." Pet. App. 5a. Accordingly, in
setting forth the Third Circuit's rationale in this case, amici cite
extensively to the Patel decision.

11

not the actual criteria for deportation. . . [A]s noted
above, the Supreme Court in Zadvydas made clear that
Congress’ authority over the means of implementing its
policies is limited by the Constitution and need not be
accorded deference. 121 S. Ct. at 2501.

Id. at 308, 314.

The Third Circuit's rationale for refusing to defer to
Congress is a clear misreading of Zadvydas. Nowhere did
Zadvydas attempt to distinguish between immigration policies
and immigration procedures and to limit deference to issues
addressing the former. Rather, the Court stated:

The Government also looks for support to cases holding
that Congress has "plenary power" to create
immigration law, and that the judicial branch must defer
to executive and legislative branch decisionmaking in
this area. . . But that power is subject to important
limitations. See INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 941-942
(1983) (Congress must choose "a constitutionally
permissible means of implementing" that power). . . In
these cases, we focus upon those limitations. .. The
question before us is not one of "'confer[ring] on those
admitted the right to remain against the national! will'"
or "'sufferance of aliens'" who should be removed.
Post, at 2505-2506 (SCALIA, J., dissenting) (quoting
[Shaughnessy v. United States ex rel.| Mezei, 345 U.S.
[206,] 222-223 [(1953)] (Jackson, J., dissenting)).
Rather, the issue we address is whether aliens that the
Government finds itself unable to remove are to be
condemned to an indefinite term of imprisonment within
the United States.

12

Zadvydas, 121 S. Ct. 2502-03. In other words, contrary to
the Third Circuit's belief, Zadvydas did not create a category
of immigration law (i.e., laws that establish "procedures" for
carrying out immigration policy) for which judicial deference
is unwarranted. Rather, the Court made clear that all
immigration law is entitled to substantial deference, but that
the Court in extraordinary cases will step in -- as where
detention of an alien whom the government is unable to
remove effectively results in a life sentence.

In adopting § 1226(c), Congress determined that release
of alien felons pending removal would entail such an
extraordinarily high risk of flight and of danger to the
community that detention of all such aliens (pending
completion of removal proceedings) was mandated. In
conflict with numerous decisions of this Court, the appeals
court refused to defer to Congress's assessment of the risks
involved. Congress had good reason to fear that release of
alien felons pending removal posed a significant risk to public
safety. For example, a General Accounting Office report
cited during floor debates by a House sponsor of 1996
immigration reform legislation found that "77 percent of
noncitizens convicted of felonies are arrested at least one
more time" before being deported. 142 Cong. Rec. 7972
(1995). A major study of criminal aliens conducted by Los
Angeles County reached a similar conclusion. Los Angeles
County Wide Criminal Justice Coordination Committee,
"Impact of Repeat Arrests of Deportable Aliens in Los
Angeles County" [hereinafter, "Impaci"], July 15, 1992.
The study traced the activity of 1,875 inmates released from
Los Angeles County jail in May 1990 who had been
identified by the INS as "deportabie aliens." Of those 1,875,
772 had been rearrested within one year, and those 772 had
sbeen arrested a total of 1,522 times. Impact at iv.

13

The INS introduced substantial evidence in this case that
alien felons released on bond pending removal also pose a
significant risk of flight. For example, the INS cited a study
indicating that 90% of criminal aliens not detained during
removal proceedings end up fleeing. Patel, 275 F.3d at
312.* The Third Circuit nonetheless refused to defer to Con-
gress's judgment that this evidence justified detention of all
alien felons, asserting that substantive due process prohibited
the INS from detaining any alien felon unless it could
demonstrate that that alien would flee: "[E]ven if the ninety
percent figure were correct, [§ 1226(c)] requires the
imprisonment of the ten percent of aliens who would dutifully
report to proceedings." /d.

In refusing to defer to Congress's considered judgment
on this issue, the Third Circuit appeared to assume that an
individual felon's propensity to flee or to commit additional
crimes could be determined as a factual matter. That
assumption is without foundation; there is never any means
by which government officials can predict future behavior of
any given individual with 100% accuracy. All Congress can
be expected to do is to use available information to predict
how a class of individuals is likely to behave if released from
detention. It has determined that any alien in Mr. Radoncic's
position is much more likely than not, if released from
detention while removal proceedings continue, either to flee
or to commit additional crimes. The Third Circuit's refusal
to accept that determination is in conflict with the numerous
decisions of this Court thai have counseled judicial deference
to the political branches of government on immigration mat-

* The Seventh Circuit relied in part on this study in rejecting a
due process challenge to § 1226(c)'s mandatory detention provision.
Parra, 275 F.3d at 956 (citing 62 Fed. Reg. 10,312, 10,323 (1997)).

14

ters. See, e.g., INS v. St. Cyr, 121 S. Ct. 2271, 2287 n.38
(2001) ("the scope of review on habeas [in immigration
cases] is considerably more limited than on APA-style
review").

In contrast to the government's strong interest in
detaining him, Mr. Radoncic has at most a minimal "liberty"
interest in being allowed to roam freely in American society.
Indeed, Mr. Radoncic's detention was not solely or even
primarily the INS's doing. In a very real sense, Mr.
Radoncic at all times held the keys to his cell. He was free
to leave detention provided only that he agree to leave the
country. A choice between detention or leaving the country
could be viewed as a Hobson's Choice for citizens and
permanent resident aliens who have reasonable expectations
of being permitted to remain in the United States. But self-
confessed illegal aliens, such as Mr. Radoncic, who have
never had any legitimate expectation of being permitted to
remain on a permanent basis have, at most, only minimal
"liberty" Mterests in living freely in this country. This Court
has never suggested that aliens who are here illegally are
entitled to the same level of constitutional protection as
citizens or permanent resident aliens. See, e.g., Reno v.
Flores, 507 U.S. 292, 306 (1993) ("Congress has the
authority to detain aliens suspected of entering the country
illegally pending their deportation hearings.") Accordingly,
when such removable aliens choose incarceration as the price
for remaining in this country, their claims that incarceration
is depriving them of Fifth Amendment "liberty" ring hollow.

In sum, review is warranted of the Third Circuit's
determination that Mr. Radoncic's "liberty" interest in being
released into American society outweighs the government's
interest in detaining, pending removal, all illegal aliens who

15

have been convicted of aggravated felonies, as a means of
preventing flight and protecting public safety.

II. ZADVYDAS IN NO WAY LESSENS THE NEED
FOR THIS COURT TO RESOLVE THE
CONFLICT AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS

The Third Circuit acknowledged that its decision
striking down § 1226(c) was in conflict with the Seventh
Circuit's Parra decision. Patel, 275 F.3d at 313. The Third
Circuit suggested, however, that any conflict was unlikely to
persist because Parra had been superseded by Zadvydas:

However, Parra was decided before Zadvydas and thus
the Seventh Circuit did not have the benefit of the
Supreme Court's analysis of the constitutional concerns
presented by mandatory detention of aliens.

Id.

The Third Circuit's suggestion is misguided; there is no
inconsistency between Parra and Zadvydas. This Court
made clear in Zadvydas that the detention of those who once
were Classified as permanent resident aliens -- even
permanent resident aliens who have been convicted of
aggravated felonies -- implicates the Due Process Clause.
But the Seventh Circuit in Parra did not hold otherwise; it
merely held that the minimal "liberty" interests of the alien
felon being detained in that case were insufficient to
overcome the INS's strong interests in detaining him. Parra,
172 F.3d at 958. That holding is in direct conflict with the
Third Circuit's holding in this case: the Third Circuit found
that the due process balance tilted in favor of the alien felon,
even though Mr. Radoncic (as an illegal alien who never had

16

had any right to live in this country) had an even weaker
"liberty" interest than Mr. Parra, who prior to his conviction
had been a permanent resident alien. ,

Zadvydas involved an entirely different balancing
process. That case involved permanent resident aliens from
Lithuania and Cambodia who, although subject to final
removal orders, could not be sent anywhere in the
foreseeable future because no country was willing to accept
them. The Court concluded:

[T]he issue we address is whether aliens that the
Government finds itself unable to remove are to be
condemned to an indefinite term of imprisonment within
the United States. . . An alien's liberty interest is, at
the least, strong enough to raise a serious question as to
whether, irrespective of the procedures used, . . . the
Constitution permits detention that is indefinite and
potentially permanent.

Zadvydas, 121 S. Ct. at 2502.°

In sharp contrast, this case and Parra both involved
alien felons whose removal proceedings were ongoing.
Unlike in Zadvydas, neither Mr. Radoncic nor Mr. Parra
faced "indefinite and potentially permanent" detention
(because removal proceedings would be completed within a
relatively short period of time). Moreover, because there is

° The Court did not answer that "serious question." Rather, it
invoked the doctrine of constitutional doubt to interpret 8 U.S.C.
§ 1231(a)(6) as prohibiting detention of such aliens for more than six
months after completion of the deportation process, if "there is no
significant likelihood of removal in the reasonably foreseeable future."
Zadvycas, 121 S. Ct. at 2505.

17

no evidence that Serbia-Montenegro is unwilling to accept
Mr. Radoncic or that Mexico was unwilling to accept Mr.
Parra, both were free to end their detention at any time by
leaving the country. Accordingly, nothing in this Court's
Zadvydas decision is likely to cause the Seventh Circuit to
reassess its conclusion that § 1226(c) passes constitutional
muster,° and the conflict between the Third and Seventh
Circuits is likely to persist until resolved by this Court.

Il. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW IN
ORDER TO DETERMINE WHETHER LOWER
FEDERAL COURTS HAVE JURISDICTION TO
OVERTURN § 1226(c) DETENTION DECISIONS

The Court should also grant review to consider an issue
not raised in the petition: whether lower federal courts have
jurisdiction to overturn § 1226(c) detention decisions. It is
always appropriate, of course, for a court sua sponte to raise
the issue of its own jurisdiction, and the jurisdictional issue
is a "subsidiary question fairly included" within the question
presented by Petitioner. Sup. CT. R. 14.1(a).

The district court and Third Circuit asserted jurisdiction
over this case under the federal habeas corpus statute, 28
U.S.C. § 2241. However, 8 U.S.C. § 1226(e) Clearly sug-
gests that no such jurisdiction exists in the lower federal

courts:

° The Seventh Circuit has been called upon to apply Zadvydas in
several recent cases. Although none of those cases addressed
§ 1226(c), none of the opinions contains language suggesting that
Parra's continued vitality is subject to question. See, e.g., Hoyte-Mesa
v. Ashcroft, 272 F.3d 989 (7th Cir. 2001).

18

The Attorney General's discretionary judgment regard-
ing the application of this section shall not be subject to
review. No court may set aside any action or decision
by the Attorney General under this section regarding the
detention or release of any alien or the grant, revo-
cation, or denial of bond or parole. (Emphasis added.)

There is no question that following Mr. Radoncic's re-
lease from federal prison in May 2000, the INS detained him
"under this section," 7.e., under 8 U.S.C. § 1226. Accord-
ingly, the only plausible reading of § 1226(e) is that Congress
intended to prohibit federal courts from "set[ting] aside" the
INS's decision to detain Mr. Radoncic and other similarly
situated criminal aliens.

Although each of the appeals courts to consider the issue
has held that § 1226(e) is not a bar to habeas corpus claims
such as Mr. Radoncic's, those courts have arrived at their
decisions by simply ignoring the plain statutory language.
The Seventh Circuit evaded the jurisdictional bar in Parra by
claiming that § 1226(e) prohibits only "[t}wo particular
avenues of attack" on detention decisions: (1) an argument
that the Attorney General erred in applying § 1226 to an
alien; and (2) an argument that he erred in deeming the alien
statutorily ineligible for bail. Parra, 172 F.3d at 957. The
court held that "[a] person who has different legal arguments
may present them," including an argument that detention is
improper because § 1226(c) is unconstitutional. /d. That
interpretation of § 1226(e) is not plausible. The second
sentence of § 1226(e) does not state that certain types of
detention decisions or certain types of legal challenges to
detention are barred; rather, it states categorically that "[n]o

19

court may set aside" an INS decision to detain an alien felon
pursuant to § 1226.’

The Third Circuit in Patel likewise held that § 1226(e)
does not bar judicial review of a habeas corpus challenge to
INS detention of an alien felon under § 1226. But it did so
without any real analysis; it simply cited to Parra and stated
in conclusory fashion: "[§ 1226(e)], which restricts judicial
review of INS decisions made under this section [1226], does
not restrict judicial review of its constitutionality.". Patel,
275 F.3d at 302.

Amici recognize that there is "a strong presumption in
favor of judicial review of administrative action," and that the
Court has a "rule requiring a clear statement of congressional
intent to repeal habeas jurisdiction." INS v. St. Cyr, 121 S.
Ct. 2271 (2001). Nonetheless, there is no plausible
interpretation of § 1226(e) other than that Congress intended

’ The Seventh Circuit attempted to draw support from this
Court's interpretation of another jurisdiction-limiting statute in Reno v.
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee, 525 U.S. 471 (1999).
The comparison was not well-taken. The statute at issue in American-
Arab, 8 U.S.C. § 1252(g), sharply limits judicial review of claims by
an alien “arising from the decision or action by the Attorney General
to commence proceedings, adjudicate cases, or execute removal orders
against an alien under this Act." The Court concluded that § 1252(g)
imposed limits on judicial review only when the plaintiffs'- claims
addressed one of the three types of "decision[s] or action{s]"
enumerated in § 1252(g); but the Court made clear that § 1252(g)
applied regardless of the grounds raised by the alien to challenge the
Attorney General's decisions or actions in these three areas. American-
Arab, 525 U.S. at 482-83. Similarly, 8 U.S.C. § 1226(e) prohibits a
court from "set{ting] aside" a decision by the Attorney General to
detain an alien felon pursuant to § 1226, regardless of the basis for
challenging detention.

20

to preclude all lower-court review of an INS decision to
detain an alien felon pursuant to § 1226.° The Court should
grant the petition to consider whether the Third Circuit erred
in asserting jurisdiction over Mr. Radoncic's claim.

The only plausible basis for upholding the Third
Circuit's assertion of jurisdiction is a finding that § 1226(e)
is void as a violation of the Suspension Clause of the
Constitution. In light of St. Cyr, any effort to deny judicial
review of INS detention decisions raises a "serious question"
under the Suspension Clause, Nonetheless, amici note that
the Court has never invoked the Suspension Clause to strike
down a federal statute. Moreover, given the strong pre-
sumption of constitutionality of federal legislation, the Court
should not permit federal courts to assert jurisdiction over a
claim in violation of a federal statute without first granting
review to determine whether the statute is constitutional.

CONCLUSION

Amici curiae respectfully request that the Court grant
the Petition.

® Section 1226(e) could plausibly be read as not barring claims
that the detainee is not actually an alien or has not actually been
convicted of an aggravated felony. Detention in such circumstances
arguably is not detention “under this section," thereby rendering the
statutory bar inapplicable. However, Mr. Radoncic does not contest
that he is an alien who entered this country illegally, nor does he
contest that the crimes of which he stands convicted are “aggravated
felonies" within the meaning of 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43)(N) and (U).

Date: May 31, 2002

Respectfully submitted,

Daniel J. Popeo
Richard A. Samp

(Counsel of Record)
Washington Legal Foundation
2009 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20036

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1662%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
