# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hansen v. Aerospace Defense Related Industry District Lodge 725

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1595%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 1078

## Text

01138 6 JAN 24 2002

No.
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

¢

ROBERT T. HANSEN and MARLA DES ERMIA,

Petitioners,

AEROSPACE DEFENSE RELATED INDUSTRY
DISTRICT LODGE 725 OF THE INTERNATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS AND
AEROSPACE WORKERS,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Superior Court Of California,
County Of Los Angeles

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

SANFORD L. Horn
Counsel of Record
Law OFFICES OF
SANFORD L. Horn
301 North Lake Avenue
Suite 320
Pasadena, California 91101-4108
(626) 795-7295

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO, (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

Soe?

athens

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Are there any circumstances in which an employee of
a labor union can prosecute an action for wrongful termi-
nation in violation of public policy under state law which
is not preempted under federal labor law? In the case of
Plaintiff Hansen, may an elected union official who is
discharged by the union for exposing union corruption to
the union membership prosecute a state action for wrong-
ful discharge in violation of public policy, or does the
policy of promoting union democracy as set forth in
Finnegan v. Leu, 456 U.S. 431, 103 S. Ct. 1867, 72 L. Ed. 2d
239 (1982) preempt such a claim under federal law? In the
case of Plaintiff Des Ermia, may an employee of a labor
union who is employed pursuant to a collective bargain-
ing agreement and who is discharged by the union in
retaliation for blowing the whistle on union officials’
theft of union funds prosecute a state action for wrongful
discharge in violation of public policy, or is such an
action preempted by federal labor law because of the
~ need for uniformity in interpreting collective bargaining
agreements?

li

LIST OF PARTIES

The Petitioners are Robert T. Hansen and Marla Des
Ermia.

The Respondent is Aerospace Defense Related Indus-
try District 725 of the International Association of Machi-
nists and aerospace Workers.

Calvin Duncan, Barbara Powley and Does 1-100,
inclusive, were dismissed from the case.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CPM ASEND POREIME EDD oo ccc ccc sccccccedsuceian i
EEE 5 6 50M 64055 656659 6k 6 perce endaens ii
OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW ................ 1
TT SUSGe Sale saddecbi ee ssss-06ecsseevec 1
STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVI-
i ct is inne eivandee éeceescsenes 1
EPUREEIE GO EEO GAN, cosas denescscsessccces 2
WHY REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED ........... 9
i PM osc neesbaencsadccccucecccecce 12

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Bloom v. General Truck Drivers, 783 F.2d 1356 (9th

Ck Se accucebn ss enkse hen eeesanaeenaesewsas sane 13
Finnegan v. Leu, 456 U.S 431, 103 S. Ct. 1867, 72

me Bf 2: perp perr rere 8, 12, 13, 14
Foley v. Interactive Data Corporation, 47 Cal. 3rd

i ee cs ee SU cd bes co cece bchse tas tadceaws 9
Lingle v. Norge Division, Magic Chef, 486 U.S. 399,

100 L. Ed. 2d 410, 108 S. Ct. 1877 (1988)....... 14, 16
Screen Extra’s Guild, Inc. v. Superior Court, 51 Cal.

3rd 1017, 275 Cal. Rptr. 395 (1990)................ 13
Sheet Metal Workers v. Lynn, 468 U.S. 347, 109 S. Ct.

xe ee ee rrr erry 14
U.S. v. Haverlick, 195 F. Supp. 331 (N.D.N.Y. 1961),

affirmed, 311 F.2d 229 (2d Cir. 1963)............... 11
STATUTES
ae EE Svan Nha hades de akee cake eae eerceaes 1
Te Ns og hee fhe S aN es 1
pee oe ee | PTT TT TTT rey eee Tee 1,9
et Re Te NE UA Sieuwae betes de Chabb cacuacareas 11
es OP Rs as bap Sha aw en kad eae ea esa oeadeneeh 1, 11
RULES
Rule 10(c) of the Rules of the United States

ND TUE ss oon es ccd hadenctescpnvewsanesusaces 1

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The jury verdicts and judgments thereon in the trial
court are set forth at Appendix 13-22. The Court of
Appeal decision is reported at 90 Cal. App. 4th 977, 109
C.R. 2d 667 and is set forth in the Appendix 1. The denial
of review by the California Supreme Court is set forth in
Appendix 23.

JURISDICTION

This Court’s jurisdiction is based on section 1257(3)
of the Judicial Code (28 U.S.C. § 1257(3)) and Rule 10(c) of
the Rules of the United States Supreme Court. It involves
an important question of federal law that has not been
decided by this Court and a decision by a State Court
which is inconsistent with the principles previously artic-
ulated by this Court. The Court of Appeals of the State of
California reversed a jury verdict in favor of Plaintiffs in
this case on the basis that the Plaintiffs’ causes of action
were preempted by the Labor Management and Report-
ing Act set forth at 29 U.S.C. § 401 et seq. and section 301
of the Labor Management Relations Act, set forth at 29
U.S.C. § 185.

.

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutes involved are sections 185, 401 and 524 of
Title 29 of the United States Code. These are set out at
Appendix 24.

|

tv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The International Association of Machinists and
Aerospace Workers is one of the largest labor unions in
the country. It consists of several divisions. There is an
International. Below the International are subordinate
units which are called districts. The districts are made up
of a number of local lodges. (R.T. p. 604)

The plaintiffs in this case were long-time employees
of the Machinist Union. Hansen was an elected business
agent of District 720, whose term of office was four years.
Des Ermia was an elected treasurer of District 727. In the '
early nineties the machinists union began to experience a
reduction in its membership that paralleled the reduction
in the aerospace industry. This reduction led to a reorgan-
ization of some of the districts and locals under the
auspices of the International. In January of 1994 the
defendant in this case, District 725 was created. It was
made up of a number of other districts in the southern
California area. Among those districts which became a
part of District 725 was District 720 and District 727. (R.T.
p. 606)

ee

When the districts which employed the plaintiffs
herein were merged into District 725 the plaintiffs’
employment was transferred to the new district. Plaintiff
Hansen continued to function as an elected business
agent. It was defendant's contention at the trial that at
this point Hansen was an appointed business agent.
Hansen contended that he was elected to a four-year term
by the membership and continued in that capacity. (R.T.
pp. 1290-1294, 613.) Des Ermia’s position as an elected
secretary-treasurer was eliminated. She was employed in

a

the new district as a clerical worker, and her new employ-
ment was subject to a collective bargaining agreement.
(The Machinist Union had a collective bargaining agree-
ment with the Office Workers Union that covered its
clerical employees.) There was no break in Des Ermia’s
employment. (R.T. pp. 616, 617)

Calvin Duncan became the president and directing
business agent of-the new District 725 by means of a new
method of selecting presidents. He was elected by dele-
gates who had been selected by the local lodges. He was
not elected by a vote of the membership. Previously the
district presidents had been directly elected by the union
membership. (R.T. p. 606)

Duncan terminated Hansen’s employment effective
May 31, 1996. He terminated Des Ermia’s employment
effective January 1, 1997. Duncan’s stated reasons for
terminating Hansen were his poor performance as a busi-
ness agent and his insubordination which was, in effect,
undermining Duncan's authority in his management of
District 725. He also stated Hansen’s termination was for
seconding a motion before the delegate body to have
business agents elected instead of appointed.

Duncan's stated reason for terminating Des Ermia
was that she was being laid off for lack of work. In the
case of each of the plaintiffs, the jury unanimously found
these reasons to be false and pretextual and adopted the
plaintiffs’ theory of the reasons for their termination.
(R.T. pp. 513-515, 520-522)

Each of the plaintiffs presented evidence from which
it could be reasonably inferred that they were terminated
because they were exposing corruption and thievery on

the part of their superiors and when warned about
reporting such conduct refused to remain silent and par-
ticipate in a cover up. The methods by which they
exposed this corruption were different.

Des Ermia discovered that her supervisor, Barbara |
Powley, was using the union credit card to make personal
purchases. She was purchasing such items as horse feed
and clothing and charging them to the union. Des Ermia
discovered five separate transactions involving personal
expenditures with union funds. (R.T. pp. 628, 634) The
supervisor was also converting monies from the union’s
petty cash fund. (R.T. p. 642)

When Des Ermia discovered this misuse of union
funds, she reported what she found to an auditor with
the International. (R.T. pp. 630-640) This precipitated an
investigation which in retrospect appeared to be part of
the cover up. The investigation was conducted by an
auditor from the International named Jay Borman. His
investigation was limited to inquiring of the suspected
thief if she had an explanation for her conduct. She
claimed everything was an innocent mistake and her
explanation was accepted. The auditor never questioned
Des Ermia concerning the misappropriation of union
funds, nor apparently anyone else. Nor did he attempt to
determine whether or not other credit card charges made
by the supervisor Powley were legitimate. (R.T. pp. 651
and 2163, 2174)

The evidence established that after making this
report Des Ermia was subjected to a course of conduct
that was calculated to make her resign. She was subjected
to numerous forms of harassment which included, among

ul

other things, falsely accusing her of misconduct in her job
performance. Her employment benefits, such as sick
leave and vacation time, were taken away from her and
later returned. She was subjected to extreme criticism and
ordered to engage in physical labor that was calculated to
and did, in fact, cause her physical injuries. (R.T. pp. 657,
684-687) When this tactic failed, she was terminated. The
stated reason for her termination was she was laid off for
lack of work. However, Des Ermia offered evidence that
there was an abundance of clerical work that remained
even several years after her termination. This was true
irrespective of the issue of seniority rights. There was a
backlog of work that would require at least five of six
months work when she was purportedly terminated for
lack of work. (R.T. p. 920)

Hansen’s method of exposing corruption within the
union was different. He spoke out to the membership
about the thefts revealed by Des Ermia and the fact that
his superiors condoned such conduct. He also spoke to
the membership concerning the handling of large
amounts of money by Duncan. At the time the new
district was created each of the old districts controlled
real estate and money belonging to the district through
what were known as building corps. The money and real
estate from these entities were supposed to be transferred
to the new district. Although Duncan had publicly stated
that he had transferred such funds from the old District
720, Hansen discovered that this was not true. Approxi-
mately $90,000 in such funds were not accounted for.
Hansen spoke out to the membership about Duncan’s
misrepresentations and his handling of these funds. (R.T.
p. 1524)

Hansen's reports to the membership occurred in the
following context. Hansen was an elected official of the
union and felt as a result his first responsibility was to
the membership. The situation he was confronted with
occurred as a result of anonymous flyers that began circu-
lating among the members which accused the union hier-
archy of condoning thefts by office manager Barbara
Powley and misrepresentations by president Calvin Dun-
can as to the handling of union funds. Members would
approach him as an officer of the union with inquiries as
to the validity of these charges. Hansen felt an obligation
as an officer of the union to respond to these inquiries
truthfully. His responses indicated that the anonymous
charges being circulated in the flyers were true. (R.T. pp.
1524, 1528-1530)

Hansen spoke out to the membership in this fashion
both before and after he was threatened with the loss of
his job if he did so. Calvin Duncan accused him of
authoring these flyers and stated that if he knew Hansen
was speaking out in this fashion he would be fired.
Hansen’s choice was to lie to the membership, remain
silent and conceal what he knew were improprieties in
the handling of union funds, or to inform the member-
ship of the true facts. He chose the latter course of action
and was fired as a result. (R.T. pp. 1522-1530)

This case was tried to a jury with each plaintiff
asserting a single cause of action for wrongful termina-
tion based on a violation of public policy. (Several of the
original causes of action were dismissed on preemption
grounds when the cases were removed to federal district
court, with that Court denying such motions as to the
wrongful termination in violation of public policy

claims.) Both plaintiffs asserted that they were harassed
and terminated for exposing the fact that union officials
were embezzling union funds and misrepresenting the
status and location of other union funds entrusted to
those officials. The defendant contended that one of the
plaintiffs, Hansen, was terminated because of policy dif-
ferences with management and poor work performance.
The defendant asserted that the other plaintiff, Des
Ermia, who was a clerical employee and employed pur-
suant to a collective bargaining agreement, was termi-
nated for lack of work.

The jury was instructed that they should find for the
defendant if the plaintiffs failed to prove that the defen-
dant’s stated reason for the terminations was false. (R.T.
pp. 495, 496) The jury returned a unanimous verdict
finding in the case of Hansen that his termination was not
because of policy differences with his union superior. In
specific interrogatories submitted to the jury they unani-
mously found that Hansen reported to union officials or
the membership that another employee committed theft
or embezzlement against the union; and that defendant’s
stated reason for terminating Hansen, (that is, policy
differences between him and management) was not a
“, .. true reason but a pretext to retaliate against Mr.
Hansen for responsibly reporting that another employee
committed theft or embezzlement against the union.”
(R.T. p. 533) -

With respect to Des Ermia, the jury was instructed to
find for the defendant if the plaintiff failed to prove that
the defendant’s stated reason for termination, that is,
because of a lack of work, was false. In answers to special
interrogatories submitted to the jury on Des Ermia’s

Xe

claim, the jury also unanimously found that the stated
reason for the termination was false and that “ ... the
defendant’s stated legitimate reason for terminating
Marla Des Ermia’s employment was not its true reason,
but a pretext to retaliate against Ms. Des Ermia for
responsibly reporting that another employee committed
theft or embezzlement against the union.”

The jury returned unanimous verdicts for each of the
plaintiffs, finding that they were terminated in violation
of public policy because their termination was caused by
their exposure of corruption within the union. The Cali-
fornia Court of Appeal held, at 90 Cal. App. 4th 977, 109
Cal.Rptr.2d 482 that the cause of action asserted by plain-
tiff Hansen was preempted by the federal labor law :
because to permit such a cause of action would interfere
with the promotion of union democracy under the doc-
trine enunciated in Finnegan v. Leu, 456 U.S 431, 103 S. Ct.
1867, 72 L. Ed. 2d 239 (1982). The Court of Appeal further
held that the cause of action asserted by plaintiff Des
Ermia was preempted under the federal labor law
because permitting such a cause of action under the cir-
cumstances required an interpretation of a collective bar-
gaining agreement thereby jeopardizing uniformity in the
interpretation of collective bargaining agreements. A
Petition for Review was duly filed with the California
Supreme Court. Review was denied by the California
Supreme Court on October 31, 2001.

FLAY» eS Ps

¢

State law causes of action for wrongful termination of
employment in violation of public policy are well estab-
lished in the law. See Foley v. Interactive Data Corporation,
47 Cal. 3rd 654, 254 C.R. 211 (1988). In this case the public
policy being promoted is to encourage people to expose
and route out corruption in labor unions. The encourage-
ment of such conduct is forcefully expressed in the fed-
eral Labor Management and Reporting Act. Sections
401(a) 401(b) of Title 29 of the United States Code rather
eloquently describe the purpose of unions and the public
policy of protecting the integrity of unions. They provide

WHY REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED

as follows:

“§ 401. Congressional declaration of findings, purposes,

and policy

(a)

Standards for labor-management relations
The Congress finds that, in the public
interest, it continues to be the respon-
sibility of the Federal Government to pro-
tect employees’ rights to organize, choose
their own representatives, bargain collec-
tively, and otherwise engage in concerted
activities for their mutual aid or protec-
tion; that the relations between employers
and labor organizations and the millions
of workers they represent have a substan-
tial impact on the commerce of the Nation;
and that in order to accomplish the objec-
tive of a free flow of commerce it is essen-
tial that labor organizations, employers,
and their officials adhere to the highest
standards of responsibility and ethical
conduct in administering the affairs of

10

their organizations, particularly as they
affect labor-management relations.

(b) Protection of rights of employees and the
public The Congress further finds, from
recent investigations in the labor and
management fields, that there have been a
number of instances of breach of trust,
corruption, disregard of the rights of indi-
vidual employees, and other failures to
observe high standards of responsibility
and ethical conduct which require further
and supplementary legislation that will
afford necessary protection of the rights
and interests of employees and the public ;
generally as they relate to the activities of
labor organizations, employers, labor rela-
tions consultants, and their officers and
representatives.”

Some of the cases have further refined the public
policy set forth by these statutes. For example:

“Purpose of this chapter is to insure that full
information concerning financial and internal
administrative practices and procedures of
labor organization is available to union mem-
bers. U.S. v. Goad, 490 F.2d 1158 (C.A.8 (Mo.)
1974), cert. denied, 94 S. Ct. 3068, 417 U.S. 945,
41 L. Ed. 2d 665 (1974).”

Purpose of this chapter is to provide guaran-
ties of fair treatment to members of unions at
the hands of those with whom they deal,
including the labor organization itself. Wirtz v.
Teamsters Indus., 257 F.Supp. 784 (N.D. Ohio
1966).

11

These statutes do not contemplate that the goals to be
achieved be obtained solely by means of federal regula-
tion. Indeed, section 524 of Title 29 of the United States
Code expressly provides that these statutes are in no way
designed to diminish a state’s right to enforce its criminal
laws, particularly such laws directed at theft and em-
bezzlement. See also U.S. v. Haverlick, 195 F. Supp. 331
(N.D.N.Y. 1961), affirmed, 311 F.2d 229 (2d Cir. 1963),
which holds that 29 U.S.C. § 501c that sets forth the
penalties for embezzling union funds does not diminish
or impair a state’s right to enforce its criminal laws.

The decision of the Court of Appeal in this case
effectively forecloses the possibility of an employee who
is employed by a labor union from ever prosecuting an
action against his or her employer on the basis that the
termination was in violation of the public policy of the
state of California. It also dramatically limits the right of
any unionized employee who is employed pursuant to a
collective bargaining agreement to sue for wrongful ter-
mination in violation of public policy. Based on the Court
of Appeal decision if the employer asserts that there is a
need to interpret the collective bargaining agreement all
considerations of public policy are preempted. The Court
of Appeal’s opinion applies the doctrine of preemption
under the Labor Management and Reporting Act in such
a sweeping manner that all unionized employees in the
state of California have lost important rights and protec-
tions which are available to non-union employees. It has
eliminated any protection for employees of unions who
attempt to expose and root out corruption in their unions.
In addition to its expansion of the concept expressed in
Finnegan the Court of Appeal stated as follows with

12

respect to the goal of uniformity in interpretation of
collective bargaining agreements: “As far as Des Ermia,
the charge was that she was laid off in retaliation for her
reporting that her supervisor was misusing appellant's
funds. But because appellant asserted a legitimate reason
for her termination, interpretation of the CBA was
required. A state’s public policy, no matter how strongly
reflected by its statutes, is in itself an insufficient barrier
to preemption in the face of such a necessary interpreta-
tion.” In other words, the Court of Appeal’s ruling is if
the employer asserts a legitimate reason for the termina-
tion based on the collective bargaining agreement, even if
the trier of fact finds that such assertion is false, the
plaintiff’s cause of action is nevertheless preempted. The
Court should grant review to promote the policies under-
lying the Labor Management and Reporting Act and to
encourage and protect employees who come forward to
expose corruption in labor unions.

¢

LEGAL DISCUSSION

The Court of Appeal’s holding that Hansen’s claim is
preempted is based on its interpretation of the holding in
Finnegan v. Leu, 456 U.S. 431, 103 S. Ct. 1867, 72 L. Ed. 2d
239 (1982). In that case the Court held that a newly
elected union president could ‘fire an appointed business
agent who had campaigned for his opponent. The Court
held that the fired, appointed, business agent did not
have a cause of action for violation of his rights under the
LMRDA. The rationale of the court was that elected union
officials were entitled to select their own appointed staff
in order to carry out the policies for which they were

a a

13

elected thereby promoting union democracy. The Califor-
nia Supreme Court expanded on this ruling, holding a
state law cause of action for wrongful termination based
on breach of an implied contract not to terminate without
good cause was preempted for the same reason in Screen
Extra’s Guild, Inc. v. Superior Court, 51 Cal. 3rd 1017, 275
Cal. Rptr. 395 (1990).

Until the current decision, the California courts have
not dealt with the issue of preemption where the fired
union employee was elected and the reason for the termi-
nation was the exposure of corruption by that employee
of superior officers of the union. However, this issue has
been dealt with by the federal appellate courts. The most
closely related case to the facts in the case of Plaintiff
Hansen is the case of Bloom v. General Truck Drivers, 783
F.2d 1356 (9th Cir. 1986). The Bloom case involved a
wrongful termination action wherein the discharged
employee claimed he was fired for refusing to falsify
minutes of a meeting. The falsification of the minutes
would have had the effect of covering up improper
expenditures of union funds. (One of the precise issues in
this case.) The Ninth Circuit held that such state wrongful
termination actions were not preempted, and that such
actions implicated important state interests and had no
impact on the goals of the LMRDA in promoting union
democracy. Given this situation, the reasoning in Fin-
negan which was calculated to promote union democracy
did not apply. ;

The Court of Appeal’s decision in this case does not
promote the goal of union democracy as expressed in the
Labor Management Reporting Act and by this Court in
the Finnegan case. It has the opposite effect. It ignores the

14

fact that Hansen was originally an elected official and by
union fiat was turned into an at-will appointed official
during the term of office for which he was elected by the
union membership. The fact that Hansen was elected is of
paramount importance in the context of federal labor law.
This Court has so held in Sheet Metal Workers v. Lynn, 468
U.S. 347, 109 S. Ct. 639, 102 L. Ed. 2d 307 (1988). In this
case an elected union official was terminated for express-
ing views related to the financial management of the local
that were contrary to that of the trustee who was running
the local. The local had been placed in trusteeship
because of financial difficulties after the election of the
business agent in question. The trustee was newly
installed and had been placed there by the International.
Arguably, the trusteeship created a new entity as is the
contention made by the union here. However, the fact
that the business agent was elected by the membership
was deemed a critical fact by this Court. This, of course,
is consistent with the reasoning of Finnegan that deemed
the promotion of union democracy to be the underlying
purpose of the Labor Management Reporting Act.

The Court of Appeal, in its decision in this case, held
that Des Ermia’s claim was preempted because it would
involve an interpretation of the collective bargaining
agreement. This Court has addressed the preemption
doctrine as it relates to the inter-relationship between a
state cause of action for wrongful termination in violation
of public policy and securing uniformity under federal
law in the administration of collective bargaining agree-
ments in Lingle v. Norge Division, Magic Chef, 486 U.S. 399,
100 L. Ed. 2d 410, 108 S. Ct. 1877 (1988). This case did not
involve an employee who was terminated for exposing

el

15

union corruption. It involved an employee whose
employment was governed by a collective bargaining
agreement who was terminated for allegedly filing a false
worker’s compensation claim. The union processed a
grievance on her behalf and was successful in having her
reinstated with back-pay. She then filed a tort action,
which was permitted under Illinois law, for retaliatory
discharge by an employer for asserting her rights under
the Workers Compensation laws. The Supreme Court
held that such a tort action was not preempted under
section 301 of the L.M.R.A. The Court held that preemp-
tion is only appropriate where resolution of the state
claim depended on interpreting the terms and conditions
of the collective bargaining agreement. The reason for
preemption is to avoid conflicting decisions from the
various state courts in interpreting the terms and condi-
tions of collective bargaining agreements. The Court held
this was true even though the tort action and the arbitra-
tion would involve an analysis of the same facts. In
discussing why state law claims for discriminatory
employment practices are not preempted the Court stated
as follows:
“12[b] A collective-bargaining agreement may,
of course, contain information such as rate of
pay and other economic benefits that might be
helpful in determining the damages to which a
worker prevailing in a state-law suit is enti-
tled. See Baldracchi v Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
Div., United Technologies Corp., 814 F2d, at 106.
Although federal law would govern the inter-
pretation of the agreement to determine the
proper damages, the underlying state-law
claim, not otherwise pre-empted would stand.
Thus, as a general proposition, a state-law

16

claim may depend for its resolution upon both
the interpretation of a collective-bargaining
agreement and a separate state-law analysis
that does not turn on the agreement. In such a
case, federal law would govern the inter-preta-
tion of the agreement, but the separate state-
law analysis would not be thereby preempted.
As we said in Allis-Chalmers Corp. v Lueck, 471
US, at 211, 85 L. Ed. 2d 206, 105 S. Ct. 1904, ‘not
every dispute .. . tangentially involving a pro-
vision of a collective-bargaining agreement, is
preempted by Section 301...’”.

The Court of Appeal in this case essentially rejected
the reasoning of Lingle. In doing so, it has undermined
the purposes of the policies which are expressed in the
Labor Management Reporting Act.

¢

CONCLUSION

The rights of union members and employees to
ensure that their unions are run democratically and hon-
estly has been seriously undermined by the ruling in this
case. This Court should grant the Petition and once again
promote the policies designed by federal labor law to
assure the citizens of California that their unions are run
honestly and democratically.

Respectfully submitted,

Law OFFICES OF
SANFORD L. Horn

SANFORD L. Horn
Attorney for Petitioners

———————

App. 1

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION FOUR

ROBERT HANSEN and |
MARLA DES ERMIA, |
Plaintiffs and Respondents, | wIIse

‘ | (Super. Ct. Nos.
| EC022470 and
AEROSPACE DEFENSE |
RELATED INDUSTRY |

|

|

DISTRICT LODGE 725, et al.,
Defendant and Appellant.

EC024833)

(Filed July 20, 2001)

APPEAL from judgments of the Superior Court of
‘Los Angeles County, Charles W. Stoll, Judge. Reversed.

Morrison & Foerster, Lisa Von Der Mehden and B.
Scott Silverman for Defendant and Appellant.

Sanford L. Horn for Plaintiffs and Respondents.

Allison Beck; Van Bourg, Weinberg, Roger & Rosen-
feld and David A. Rosenfeld for International Association
of Machinists & Aerospace Workers as Amicus Curiae on
behalf of Defendant and Appellant.

Appellant Aerospace Defense Related Industry Dis-
trict Lodge 725 of the International Association of Machi-
nists and Aerospace Workers (appellant) is a subordinate
unit of a labor union that represents aerospace workers.

App. 2

Respondents Robert Hansen and Marla Des Ermia are
two former employees of appellant who pursued wrong-
ful termination claims against it. Their cases were consol-
idated prior to trial. Hansen obtained a jury verdict in the
amount of $335,000 plus punitive damages of $17,782.
Des Ermia was awarded $368,000 plus punitive damages
in the amount of $17,782. Appellant appeals, We reverse
the judgments.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
Des Ermia

Des Ermia was a clerical employee in appellant’s
Burbank office. In January 1996, she called appellant's
regional office and reported that her office manager, Bar-
bara Powley, had made unauthorized purchases with her
union credit card. Appellant’s president, Calvin Duncan,
reported the matter to the union office and an indepen-
dent investigator was assigned to the matter. The investi-
gator subsequently concluded that Powley had not
intentionally misused the union credit card. Duncan,
however, suspended Powley for 30 days without pay.!

Des Ermia was laid off in January 1997. The stated
reason given by appellant was that the Burbank office
was being closed and her position had been eliminated.
Des Ermia filed this lawsuit in January 1998, alleging that
she had been wrongfully terminated because of the Pow-
ley incident. She initially filed her suit in state court,
alleging causes of action for violation of public policy and

1 The circumstances surrounding Powley’s suspension
shall hereinafter be referred to as “the Powley incident.”

a

App. 3

intentional infliction of emotional distress. It was
removed to federal court. The United States District
Judge dismissed the emotional distress claim, finding it
to be preempted by the Labor Management Relations Act,
29 United States Code section 151, et seq. (LMRA), and
declined to exercise supplemental jurisdiction of the pub-
lic policy claim. Des Ermia’s First Amended Complaint,
refiled in state court on September 15, 1998, alleged only
a single cause of action for violation of public policy.

Hansen

Hansen was the Business Representative for appel-
lant. In or around February 1996, a one page leaflet was
distributed to union members criticizing the way in
which the Powley incident had been handled. The
authors of the leaflet identified themselves only as “the
Over-the-Hill Gang.” Approximately one month later,
another leaflet written by “the Over-the-Hill Gang” was
distributed, criticizing president Duncan about union
financial matters.

Hansen made comments regarding the leaflets to cer-
tain rank and file union members, essentially agreeing
with the accusations made in the leaflets, but he denied
writing the leaflets.

In May 1996, President Duncan terminated Hansen’s
employment, giving the reason that Hansen had made
disparaging remarks about appellant’s leadership and
had attempted to undermine Duncan’s authority.

Hansen filed his lawsuit on May 27, 1997, for wrong-
ful termination in violation of public policy. The com-
plaint was initially filed in state court, alleging causes of

App. 4

action for (1) discharge in violation of public policy; (2)
breach of employment agreement; (3) breach of the
implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing and (4)
intentional infliction of emotional distress.

The case was removed to United States District
Court. The District Court judge dismissed the claims for
breach of employment agreement and breach of the
implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, finding
these claims were preempted by the Labor Management
Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, 29 United States
Code sections 401-531 (LMRDA). Upon remand to state
court, the emotional distress claim was dismissed on
summary judgment. Only the public policy cause of
action proceeded to trial.

Des Ermia’s case was consolidated with Hansen’s for
trial in October 1999. |

DISCUSSION
1. Preemption

Appellant contends, among other things, that both
Hansen’s and Des Ermia’s claims are preempted by fed-
eral law.

a. Hansen

The LMRDA guarantees to every member of a labor
organization the rights of equal voting, free speech and
assembly. (29 U.S.C. § 411.) It also makes it unlawful for a
union to “fine, suspend, expel, or otherwise discipline”
any of its members for exercising those rights (29 U.S.C.

App. 5

§ 529), and allows any person whose rights have been
violated to bring a lawsuit in federal district court. (29
U.S.C. § 412.) Appellant contends, therefore, that
Hansen’s claims against it are preempted by the LMRDA.
In support of its argument for preemption, appellant
relies primarily on Finnegan v. Leu (1982) 456 U.S. 431.

In Finneagan, supra, 456 U.S. 431, a union president
discharged his appointed business agents. The agents
filed suit, claiming a violation of the LMRDA. In holding
that the LMRDA did not protect the discharged agents,
the Supreme Court held that: “[T]he [LMRDA]’s overrid-
ing objective was to ensure that unions would be demo-
cratically governed, and responsive to the will of the
union membership as expressed in open, periodic elec-
tions. [Citation.] Far from being inconsistent with this
purpose, the ability of an elected union president to select
his own administrators is an integral part of ensuring a
union administration’s responsiveness to the mandate of
the union election. [J] . . . Nothing in the [LMRDA]
evinces a congressional intent to alter the traditional pat-
tern which would permit a union president under these
circumstances to appoint agents of his choice to carry out ©
his policies. [{] . . . in enacting Title I of the [LMRDA],
Congress simply was not concerned with perpetuating
appointed union employees in office at the expense of an
elected president’s freedom to choose his own staff.
Rather, its concerns were with promoting union democ-
racy, and protecting the rights of union members from
arbitrary action by the union or its officers.” (Id. at pp.
441-442.)

In Screen Extras Guild, Inc. v. Superior Court (1990) 51
Cal.3d 1017, a business agent appointed by the union was

——

App. 6

discharged and brought an action in state court against
the union for wrongful discharge, defamation and negli-
gent and intentional inflection of emotional distress. The
Supreme Court held that the action was preempted by the |
LMRDA, stating that: “Elected union officials must neces-
sarily rely on their appointed representatives to carry out
their programs and policies. As a result, courts have
recognized that the ability of elected union officials to
select their own administrators is an integral part of
ensuring that union administrations are responsive to the
‘will of union members. [Citations.]” (Id. at pp.
1024-1025.) The Court also noted: “[W]hile the Court of
Appeal through it important for the purposes of preemp-
tion analysis to distinguish between claims against a
union that relate to the purposes of the LMRDA and
claims that are routine disputes between an employer and
employee, the reverse is actually the case. It is important
not to base a preemption rule on such a subjective distinc-
tion. To do so would permit wrongful discharge claims
against unions by business agents that would inhibit the
ability of elected union officials to freely choose their
staffs and would thus impermissibly frustrate full realiza-
tion of the goals of the LMRDA. [Citation.]” (Id. at p.

1028.)

In Sheet Metal Workers v. Lynn (1989) 488 U.S. 347,
another discharged business agent brought a lawsuit
against a local union, claiming a violation of the LMRDA.

The Supreme Court held that Finnegan did not control
because the business agent was an elected, rather than an
appointed official. It stated: “The consequences of the
removal of an elected official are much different. To begin
with, when an elected official . . . is removed from his

App. 7

post, the union members are denied the representative of
their choice.” (Sheet Metal Workers, supra, at p. 355.) The
agent was therefore allowed to maintain his cause of
action under section 102 of the LMRDA.

Respondents argue that Lynn, not Finnegan or Screen
Extras, controls because Hansen became a business agent
pursuant to an election and was performing the same
duties for which he was elected when he was discharged.
This reasoning masks the true facts, however. Hansen
was initially elected to the post of business agent for
District 720 in 1993. In January 1994, the union was
reorganized and District 720 and a few other districts
were merged into District 725, the appellant in this
action. Calvin Duncan became the president of the new
District, and pursuant to its new by-laws, appointed
Hansen as its business representative.

The stated reasons given for Hansen’s termination
were his poor performance, and his insubordination in
criticizing the management of the District. Duncan had
the right to have an appointed business agent who sup-
ported his agenda. Accordingly, Hansen’s claim for
wrongful discharge was preempted by the LMRDA.
(Screen Extras, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 1032.)

b. Des Ermia

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act
(LMRA), 29 United States Code section 185, preempts

2 Section 301(a) states: “Suits for violation of contracts
between an employer and a labor organization representing

App. 8

state law claims that are based directly on a collective
bargaining agreement or are substantially dependent on
an interpretation of a collective bargaining agreement.
(Wooddell v. Electrical Workers (1991) 502 U.S. 93, 101-102;
Aguilera v. Pirelli Armstrong Tire Corp. (9th Cir. 2000) 223
F.3d 1010, 1014.)

Des Ermia contends that her lawsuit only periph-
erally involves the collective bargaining agreement and
therefore should not be preempted for that reason. She
argues that interpretation of the collective bargaining
agreement was not necessary to a [sic] resolve the dis-
pute; the jury was not asked to analyze the contractual
terms of the agreement.

Des Ermia was initially an elected officer of the
union’s District Lodge 727. That Lodge and others were
merged to form District Lodge 725 (appellant) in January
1994 and Des Ermia lost her position. After the merger,
the appellant’s Office Manager offered Des Ermia work as
a clerical employee. As a clerical worker for appellant,
the terms and conditions of Des Ermia’s employment
were governed by a collective bargaining agreement
(CBA) between appellant, and a local branch of the Office
and Professional Employees International Union. The
CBA provided that in “all cases involving . . . layoffs,
seniority based on continuous service with the employer

employees in an industry affecting commerce as defined in [the
LMRA], or between any such labor organizations, may be
brought in any district court of the United States having
jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to the amount in
controversy or without regard to the citizenship of the parties.”
(29 U.S.C. § 185, subd. (a).)

App. 9

shall govern.” The CBA also provided that seniority
would be by regional “Area.” When Des Ermia was ter-
minated, she was told that it was due to the lack of work
resulting from the closure of the Burbank office.

Des Ermia’s claim is that she was terminated for
pretextual reasons - that interpretation of the CBA was
only necessary to determine evidence relating to motive
and calculation of the proper measure of damages, citing
Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc. (1988) 486 U.S.
399. In Lingle, a worker who filed a workers compensa-
tion claim was terminated because the employer felt the
claim was false. The worker’s union filed a grievance
which was sent to arbitration pursuant to the collective
bargaining agreement. An arbitrator ruled in the
worker’s favor and ordered her reinstated. She then filed
a wrongful discharge suit which was removed to federal
court. The employer filed a motion to dismiss on preemp-
tion grounds. The United States Supreme Court held that
although the dispute involved a factual inquiry into the
conduct and motivation of the employer, it did not
require the court to interpret the collective bargaining
agreement and held that there was no preemption. (Id. at
pp. 409-410.)

One of Des Ermia’s main allegations was that appel-
lant violated the CBA by laying her off before other, less
senior, employees. Des Ermia argued that her “seniority
date” under Article 16 of the CBA was January 1, 1994,
the date which she became Secretary-Treasurer for Dis-
trict Lodge 727. Appellant argued that her seniority date
was March 1994, the date that she became a clerical
employee for the Burbank office. Des Ermia also argued

|

App. 10

that the District violated the CBA by denying her a posi-
tion in another area office, by failing to recall her after
her layoff when another clerical employee quit and that
she was wrongfully denied vacation and sick leave pay.

In order to find there was a pretext for laying her off,
the jury necessarily had to find that she was laid off out
of seniority order, or that appellant violated the provi-
sions of the CBA. Interpretation of the CBA was therefore
a prerequisite to resolution of her claim. As a result, her
claim was preempted by the LMRA.

c. Effect of District Court’s Prior Ruling

Both Hansen and Des Ermia argue that because the
United States District Court only dismissed certain causes
of action and remanded the remainder of each case back
to state court, the remanded causes of action cannot now
be deemed federal causes of action. The fact that the
federal court did not retain each case at the pleading case,
however, does not constitute a pronouncement that the
remaining causes of action were state court causes of
action. “When a federal court grants a motion for remand
[to the state court], it does nothing more than determine
the complaint fails, either directly or by operation of the
‘artful- pleading’ doctrine, to state a question arising
under federal law. It does not determine whether a pre-
emption defense can be successfully offered in state court

when the entire case is considered.” (Moreau v. San Diego
Transit Corp. (1989) 210 Cal.App.3d 614, 621.)

‘laa ke ag

App. 11

2. Violation of Public Policy

Respondents contend that because their claims
involve alleged violation of public policy, the preemption
doctrine does not apply. With respect to Hansen, they
argue that there is a substantial state interest in ensuring
that employees are not discharged because they voice
their opposition to management policy. In Hansen’s case,
however, he was employed as a business agent, and
therefore was a representative of union management. It
was therefore clearly within the president's rights to dis-
charge him for voicing his contrary views.

Hansen relies on Bloom v. General Truck Drivers (9th
Cir. 1986) 783 F.2d 1356, claiming that one of the reasons
he was discharged was because he refused to conceal the
facts surrounding Powley’s embezzlement of union
funds. This allegation was contained in his complaint;
however Hansen did not establish at trial that he had
reported criminal behavior or that he refused to aid and
abet any criminal acts. In addition, Hansen alleged that
Powley had not been bonded. However, any evidence on
this issue was excluded at trial. All Hansen was able to
prove at trial was that he was discharged because of his
remarks criticizing Duncan’s performance. For this rea-
son, Bloom is inapposite. "

As far as Des Ermia, the charge was that she was laid
off in retaliation for her reporting that her supervisor was
misusing appellant’s funds. But because appellant
asserted a legitimate reason for her termination, inter-
pretation of the CBA was required. “A state’s public
policy, no matter how strongly reflected by its statutes, is
in itself an insufficient barrier to preemption in the face

App. 12

of such a necessary interpretation. [Citation.]” (Moreau v.
San Diego Transit Corp., supra, 210 Cal.App.3d at p. 627.)

DISPOSITION

The judgments are reversed. The matter is remanded
to the superior courts with instructions to dismiss the two
lawsuits. (Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck (1985) 471 U.S. 202,
220.) The parties are to bear their own costs.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

HASTINGS, J.
We concur:
VOGEL (C5S.), PJ.
EPSTEIN, J.

TE ee ee a ee Pee

Sa

SPB AAP OENE I DFO HOGS OO

App. 13

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA,
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

ROBERT T. HANSEN,

Plaintiff, EC 22470

vs

AEROSPACE DEFENSE
RELATED, INDUSTRY
DISTRICT LODGE 725

OF THE INTERNATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF
MACHINISTS AND
AEROSPACE WORKERS, et al

Defendant.

JUDGMENT ON
VERDICT

(Filed June 10, 1999)

Nee ee eae eee ee ae OOS

This action came on regularly for trial on May 26, 1999; in
Department NCD of the Superior Court, the Honorable
Charles W. Stoll Judge Presiding: the plaintiff appearing
by attorneys, SANFORD L. HORN; and the defendant
appearing by attorneys MORRISON & FOERSTER by: B.
Scott Silverman and Lisa Von Der Mehden.

A jury of 12 persons was regularly impaneled and sworn
and agreed to try the cause. Witnesses were sworn and
testified. After hearing the evidence and argument of
counsel, the jury was duly instructed by the Court and
the cause was submitted to the jury with directions to
return a verdict on special issues. The jury deliberated
and thereafter returned into court with its verdicts consis-
ting of the special issues submitted to the jury and the
answers given thereto by the jury, which said verdict was
in words as follows, to wit:

App. 14

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

ROBERT T. HANSEN, |

Plaintiff, Case No. EC 022470
Vv.
AEROSPACE DEFENSE SPECIAL VERDICT
RELATED INDUSTRY FORM AS TO
DISTRICT LODGE 725 OF | PLAINTIFF MARLA
THE INTERNATIONAL DES ERMIA

ASSOCIATION OF
MACHINISTS AND
AEROSPACE WORKERS;
CALVIN DUNCAN;
BARBARA POWLEY; and
DOES 1-100 inclusive,

Defendants.

(Filed June 10, 1999)

AND CONSOLIDATED
CASE

We, the jury in the above-entitled action, find the
following Special Verdict on the questions submitted to us:

WRONGFUL TERMINATION IN VIOLATION OF PUB-
LIC POLICY: PLAINTIFF MARLA DES ERMIA

QUESTION NO. 1:

Did Plaintiff Marla Des Ermia have a reasonable and
good faith belief that another employee committed theft
or embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

App. 15

If you answered Question No. 1 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 2. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 2:

Did Marla Des Ermia responsibly report to union
officials or the membership that another employee com-
mitted theft or embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes Xx No

If you answered Question No. 2 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 3. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 3:

Did Calvin Duncan, in making the decision to lay off
Marla Des Ermia, know or believe that Ms. Des Ermia
had reported that another employee committed theft or
embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 3 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 4. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 4:

Was the defendant's stated legitimate reason for ter-
minating Marla Des Ermia’s employment not its true
reason, but a pretext to retaliate against Ms. Des Ermia

App. 16

for responsibly reporting that another employee commit-
ted theft or embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 4 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 5. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 5:

Did District Lodge 725’s conduct in terminating Ms.
Des Ermia’s employment cause her damages?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 5 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 6. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 6:

If you are answering this question, you have found
District Lodge 725 liable for wrongful termination in
violation of public policy as to Marla Des Ermia. Taking
into account Ms. Des Ermia’s obligation to make reason-
able efforts to find comparable employment, what is the ~
total amount of economic and non-economic damages, if
any, caused by District Lodge 725 in terminating Ms. Des
Ermia’s employment?

ANSWER: (a) Economic $ 68,000.00
(b) Non-economic §$ 300,000.00

App. 17

QUESTION NO. 7:

Did Plaintiff Marla Des Ermia prove by clear and
convincing evidence that District Lodge 725, by the con-
duct of an officer, director, or managing agent, acted with
oppression or malice towards her in terminating her
employment?

ANSWER: Yes X No
Sign, date, and return this verdict form.
Dated: 6/10/99

/s/ David E. Rush
Signature of Jury Foreperson

App. 18

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

ROBERT T. HANSEN,
Case No. EC 022470

Plaintiff,
V.
AEROSPACE DEFENSE SPECIAL VERDICT
RELATED INDUSTRY FORM AS TO
DISTRICT LODGE 725 OF | PLAINTIFF ROBERT
THE INTERNATIONAL HANSEN

ASSOCIATION OF
MACHINISTS AND .
AEROSPACE WORKERS; (Filed June 10, 1999)
CALVIN DUNCAN:
BARBARA POWLEY: and
DOES 1-100 inclusive,

Defendants.

AND CONSOLIDATED
CASE

We, the jury in the above-entitled action, find the
following Special Verdict on the questions submitted to us:

WRONGFUL TERMINATION IN VIOLATION OF PUB-
LIC POLICY: PLAINTIFF ROBERT HANSEN

QUESTION NO. 1:

Did Plaintiff Robert Hansen have a reasonable and
good faith belief that another employee committed theft
or embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

App. 19

If you answered Question No. 1 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 2. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 2:

Did Robert Hansen responsibly report to union offi-
cials or the membership that another employee commit-
ted theft or embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 2 “yes,” answer Ques-
~ tion No. 3. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 3:

Did Calvin Duncan, in making the decision to termi-
nate Plaintiff Robert Hansen’s employment, know or
believe that Mr. Hansen had reported that another
employee committed theft or embezziement against the
union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 3 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 4. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 4:

Was the defendant’s stated legitimate reason for ter-
minating Robert Hansen’s employment not its true rea-
son, but a pretext to retaliate against Mr. Hansen for

App. 20

responsibly reporting that another employee committed
theft or embezzlement against the union?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 4 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 5. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 5:

Did District Lodge 725’s conduct in terminating Mr.
Hansen cause him damages?

ANSWER: Yes X No

If you answered Question No. 5 “yes,” answer Ques-
tion No. 6. If you answered “no,” please sign, date, and
return this form.

QUESTION NO. 6:

If you are answering this question, you have found
District Lodge 725 liable for wrongful termination in
violation of public policy as to Robert Hansen. Taking
into account Mr. Hansen’s obligation to mitigate his dam-
ages, what is the total amount of economic and non-
economic damages, if any, caused by District Lodge 725
in terminating Mr. Hansen’s employment?

ANSWER: (a) Economic $ 185,000.00
(b) Non-economic $ 150,000.00

App. 21

QUESTION NO. 7:

Did Plaintiff Robert Hansen prove by clear and con-
vincing evidence that District Lodge 725, by the conduct
of an officer, director, or managing agent, acted with
oppression or malice towards her in terminating her
employment?

ANSWER: Yes X No

Sign, date, and return this verdict form.

Dated: 6/10/99

/s/ David E. Rush
Signature of Jury Foreperson

It appearing by reason of said verdict that plaintiff,
Robert T. Hansen, is entitled to judgment against Defen-
dant, Aerospace Defense Related Industry District Lodge
725 of the International Association of Machinists and
Aerospace Workers.

Now, therefore, it is ordered adjudged and decreed that
plaintiff, Robert T. Hansen, shall have and recover by
way of his Complaint against defendant, Aerospace
Defense Related Industry District Lodge 725 of the Inter-
national Association of Machinists and Aerospace
Workers the sum of $185,000.00 as Economic damages
and $150,000.00 as Non-economic damages plus
$17,782.00 as Punitive damages for a total of $352,782.00
and further, plaintiff, Robert T. Hansen, is entitled to
recover costs and disbursements amounting to the sum of
$ 7,712.56

It appearing by reason of said verdict that plaintiff, Marla
Des Ermia, is entitled to judgment against Defendant,
Aerospace Defense Related Industry District Lodge 725 of

App. 22

the International Association of Machinists and Aero-
space Workers.

Now, therefore, it is ordered adjudged and decreed that
plaintiff, Marla Des Ermia, shall have and recover by way
of his [sic] Complaint against defendant, Aerospace
_ Defense Related Industry District Lodge 725 of the Inter-
national Association of Machinists and Aerospace
Workers the sum of $68,000.00 as Economic damages and
$300,000.00 as Non-economic damages plus $17,782.00 as
Punitive damages for a total of $385,782.00 and further,
plaintiff, Marla Des Ermia, is entitled to recover costs and
disbursements amounting to the sum of $

Dated: 6-10-99 /s/ Charles W. Stoll
CHARLES W. STOLL
SUPERIOR COURT JUDGE

App. 23

Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District,
Division Four - No. B135132
$100223
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

En Banc
(Filed Oct. 31, 2001)

MARLA DES ERMIA et al., Plaintiffs and Respondents,
i Vv.

AEROSPACE DEFENSE RELATED INDUSTRY
DISTRICT LODGE 725,
Defendant and Appellant.

Petition for review DENIED.

/s/ GEORGE
Chief Justice

App. 24

29 U.S.C. § 185. Suits by and against labor organiza-
tions

(a) Venue, amount, and citizenship

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer
and a labor organization representing employees in an
industry affecting commerce as defined in this chapter, or
between any such labor organizations, may be brought in
any district court of the United States having jurisdiction
of the parties, without respect to the amount in contro-
versy or without regard to the citizenship of the parties.

(b) Responsibility for acts of agent; entity for pur-
poses of suit; enforcement of money judgments

Any labor organization which represents employees
in an industry affecting commerce as defined in this
chapter and any employer whose activities affect com-
merce as defined in this chapter shall be bound by the
acts of its agents. Any such labor organization may sue or
be sued as an entity and in behalf of the employees whom
it represents in the courts of the United States. Any
money judgment against a labor organization in a district
court of the United States shall be enforceable only
against the organization as an entity and against its
assets, and shall not be enforceable against any individ-
ual member or his assets.

(c) Jurisdiction

For the purposes of actions and proceedings by or
against labor organizations in the district courts of the
United States, district courts shall be deemed to have

App. 25

jurisdiction of a labor organization (1) in the district in
which such organization maintains its principal office, or
(2) in any district in which its duly authorized officers or
agents are engaged in representing or acting for
employee members.

(d) Service of process

The service of summons, subpena, [sic] or other legal
process of any court of the United States upon an officer
or agent of a labor organization, in his capacity as such,
shall constitute service upon the labor organization.

(e) Determination of question of agency

For the purposes of this section, in determining
whether any person is acting as an “agent” of another
- person so as to make such other person responsible for
his acts, the question of whether the specific acts per-
formed were actually authorized or subsequently ratified
shall not be controlling.

(June 23, 1947, c. 120, Title III, § 301, 61 Stat. 156.)

29 U.S.C. § 401. Congressional declaration of findings,
purposes, and policy

(a) Standards for labor-management relations

The Congress finds that, in the public interest, it
continues to be the responsibility of the Federal Govern-
ment to protect employees’ rights to organize, choose

App. 26

their own representatives, bargain collectively, and other-
wise engage in concerted activities for their mutual aid or
protection; that the relations between employers and
labor organizations and the millions of workers they
represent have a substantial impact on the commerce of
the Nation; and that in order to accomplish the objective
of a free flow of commerce it is essential that labor
organizations, employers, and their officials adhere to the
highest standards of responsibility and ethical conduct in
administering the affairs of their organizations, partic-
ularly as they affect labor-management relations.

(b) Protection of rights of employees and the public

The Congress further finds, from recent investiga-
tions in the labor and management fields, that there have
been a number of instances of breach of trust, corruption,
disregard of the rights of individual employees, and other
failures to observe high standards of responsibility and
ethical conduct which require further/and supplemen-
tary legislation that will afford necessary protection of
the rights and interests of employees and the public
generally as they relate to the activities of labor organiza-
tions, employers, labor relations consultants, and their
officers and representatives.

(c) Necessity to eliminate or prevent improper prac-
tices

The Congress, therefore, further finds and declares
that the enactment of this chapter is necessary to elimi-
nate or prevent improper practices on the part of labor
organizations, employers, labor relations consultants, and

PS fee ne eeaee F

App. 27

their officers and representatives which distort and defeat
the policies of the Labor Management Relations Act, 1947,
as amended [29 U.S.C.A. § 141 et seq.], and the Railway
Labor Act, as amended [45 U.S.C.A. § 151 et seq.], and
have the tendency or necessary effect of burdening or
obstructing commerce by (1) impairing the efficiency,
safety, or operation of the instrumentalities of commerce;
(2) occurring in the current of commerce; (3) materially
affecting, restraining, or controlling the flow of raw mate-
rials or manufactured or processed goods into or from the
channels of commerce, or the prices of such materials or
goods in commerce; or (4) causing diminution of employ-
ment and wages in such volume as substantially to
impair or disrupt the market for goods flowing into or
from the channels of commerce.

—_

29 U.S.C. § 524. Effect on State laws

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to impair
or diminish the authority of any State to enact and
enforce general criminal laws with respect to robbery,
bribery, extortion, embezzlement, grand larceny, burglary,
arson, violation of narcotics laws, murder, rape, assault
with intent to kill, or assault which inflicts grievous
bodily injury, or conspiracy to commit any of such crimes.

App. 28

LAW OFFICES OF SANFORD L. HORN
SANFORD L. HORN, ESQ., SBN 39686
301 North Lake Avenue, Suite 320
Pasadena, CA 91101

Telephone: (626) 795-7295

Attorneys for Plaintiff

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

ROBERT T. HANSEN,

Plaintiff, CASE NO. EC 022470

VS.

AEROSPACE DEFENSE
RELATED INDUSTRY

DISTRICT LODGE 725
OF THE

)

)

)

)

) NOTICE OF ENTRY OF

)

)

)
INTERNATIONAL (Filed June 15, 1999)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

JUDGMENT

ASSOCIATION OF
MACHINISTS AND
AEROSPACE WORKERS,

Defendants.

AND CONSOLIDATED
CASE

TO AEROSPACE DEFENSE RELATED INDUSTRY
DISTRICT LODGE 725, etc., et al., defendants, and to
their attorney of record:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that on June 10, 1999,
judgment was entered in the above-entitled action in
favor of plaintiffs ROBERT T. HANSEN and MARLA DES

App. 29

ERMIA against AEROSPACE DEFENSE RELATED
INDUSTRY DISTRICT LODGE 725 OF THE INTERNA-
TIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS AND AERO-
SPACE WORKERS.

Dated: June 14, 1999

LAW OFFICES OF
SANFORD L. HORN

by /s/ Sanford L. Horn
SANFORD L. HORN

Attorney for Plaintiffs

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1595%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
