# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lee v. Dow Chemical Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1566%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 1073

## Text

oupreme Court, U.S.
FILED

0
911353 mR 3 202

OPFICE OF THE Coen

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

DIONNE LEE,

Petitioner,

AESTHETECH CORPORATION; BRISTOL-MYERS
SQUIBB COMPANY; FHE COOPER COMPANIES,
INC.; COOPER SURGICAL, INC.; CRONIN, THOMAS
D., M.D.; CV SUB 1987, INC.; THE DOW CHEMICAL
COMPANY; VIKI GALATI; GEROW, FRANK J., M.D.;
MEDICAL ENGINEERING CORPORATION,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

DIONNE LEE

Post Office Box 50215
Henderson, Nevada 89016
Telephone: (702) 894-5002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

_1. Whether the requirements of 28 U.S.C. § 1291 are
satisfied so as to give jurisdiction to the Court of Appeals
in a multiple claims and multiple parties case when the
District Court entered a final judgment, which adjudi-
cates less than all the claims and adjudicates less than all
the parties.

2. Whether Congress has provided guideposts for
determining what sorts of neglect will be considered
“excusable” to convey the notion that some types of
neglect - at a minimum focus on the reasons for the error
with emphasis in its effect. Federal Rules for Appellate
Procedure Rule 4(a)(5), 28 U.S.C.A.

3. Whether the Court’s Order granting Petitioner's
costs on appeal may be repelled and the mandate include
the Respondents’ costs after the Petitioner’s uncontested
motion for recovery of her costs was granted and entered
in the Court’s docket sheet and Petitioner timely filed the
Bill of Costs within the 14 day period as prescribed by the
Rule.

il

LIST OF PARTIES

Dionne Lee, f/k/a Dionne Lee Simons in the lower
court

Aesthetech Corporation

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company,
f/k/a Bristol-Myers Company

The Cooper Companies, Inc.,
f/k/a Coopervision, Inc.

Cooper Surgical, Inc.

Cronin, Thomas D., M.D.

CV SUB 1987, Inc.

The Dow Chemical Company
Viki Galati

Gerow, Frank J., M.D.

Medical Engineering Corporation

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ... 2.2 cccccsccccccccccecs i
BE GP PUMUEEUEED wees bgt senses taeccdswsnssvaves ii
pr 8 Ge Bee (yy) 5) errr TT Terre rere rere iii
TAME OP ALT IRCIEID 2c cess ccccscccccscsucnas iv
GIT GUEMIUE vc ccs scccenadescavcccesencdecesees 1
I MEI 66440 0 bb sna 00005005 5s06eesenuncacane 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS. 6.06 cccccsscccececcccees 1
ore ie fe | se Per re Perr er 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... +
Ce reer Ter rrrrrrerrerr rr Terre cre 5

I. Time For Appeal Does Not Run Against Party
Aggrieved By Dismissal Until The District Court
Enters A Final Judgment That Clearly Disposes
Of The Entire Civil Action. Federal Rules Of
Civil Procedure, Rule 54(b), 28 U.S.C.A ....... 5

II. The Courts Of Appeals Have Divided In Their
Interpretations Of “Excusable Neglect” Under
The Federal Rules Of Appellate Procedure Rule
EO CII vos cc eckncencavsncisdawveseea 6

III. The Mandate Issued By The Court Of Appeals Is
Insufficient And Different With The Spirit And
Terms Of The Court’s Order In Granting Peti-
tioner’s Costs On Appeal..................45. 9

EE cena ane inde dense esshavehosecacucs 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Benson v. Bearb, 807 F.2d 1228 (5th Cir. 1987)......... 6
Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S. 463, 98 S.Ct.

PEGS Tee eT Oe Lee Tee OTe PTT TT 6
Hanson v. First Bank of South Dakota, N.A., 828 F.2d

1310 (8th Cir. 1987)........ ye ye Sree 8
In re Analytical Systems, Inc., 933 F.2d 939 (11th Cir.

SDSS dA ALES URC hs evs eSde Fae naee a keneeuseres 8
In re Davis, 936 F.2d 771 (4th Cir. 1991)..7........... 8
In re Danielson, 981 F.2d 296 (7th Cir. 1992) .......... 8
Kansas City Southern Ry. Co. v. Guardian Trust Co.,

Ot Gt, aoe Uk ©, Fe BS. BG Cee os cia ccdecsstas 9
Lorenzen v. Employees Retirement Plan of Sperry-

Hutchinson Co., 896 F.2d 228 (7th Cir. 1990)........ 8
Mosley v. Cozby, 813 F.2d 659 (5th Cir. 1987)........ 4,5
Nelson v. Toti, 707 F.2d 170 (5th Cir. 1983).......... 4,6
Pioneer Investment Services Company v. Brunswick

Aasaciakes, 11S SAU TORS CUGGS) occa cc aca scccccesss 8
Pratt v. McCarthy, 850 F.2d 590 (9th Cir. 1988)........ 8
Scarpa v. Murphy, 782 F.2d 300 (1st Cir. 1986) ........ 9
Sears, Roebuck and Co. v. Mackey, 76 S.Ct. 895 (1956) ..... 6
650 Park Ave. Corp. v. McRae, 836 F.2d 764 (2nd Cir.

PTET EIT Pe rT Per eee Ley er rete nee 8
Thomas v. Basham, 931 F.2d 521 (8th Cir. 1991)........ 9

;
i
;
M

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Thompson v. Betts, 754 F.2d 1243 (5th Cir. 1985)....... 6
Witherspoon v. White, 111 F.3d 399 (5th Cir. 1997)..... 6
STATUTES
y BR Lome D>” 2) rr rerr rey r rrr rrr rrr TT ey re 1
- Bit Tae BY. Peeprerrrrr rr err err re errr 1, 4,5, 6
y: Bik tae SB! ot rrr nT pre ey rer ey rrr ese 2
ae USA... § ZIGMG) cciccvicsxens Oe ere ree eer Ty ere er 1
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 4(a)...... 7

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 4(a)(1) ...5, 6
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule

eT : PIED SCRE retaar ey enna ae 5
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule

pF \ eerrr eres rer ere rr er rrr te eer 7
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule

GE 58520508 as eke Ras Se oe 6, 7, 8
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 39(a)..... +

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, 5th Cir. R.
fh, rer Tr ere rng e . reer. Ure Ply roe +

fh Frere err arr er err ye rere Sry *

Federal Rules of Bankruptcy, Procedure, Rule
bs PPP ee eeC TTT re ere terre rr rer yr 8

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 54(b) ....5, 6, 7

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 77(d)......... 7

7 >? ~ 47°, - a ‘
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Pp >
i ave
Supreme Court Rule 10(c 4
upreme Court Rule 13(1 ]

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari
issue to review the opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit filed December 12, 2001.

+

OPINION BELOW

Dionne Lee v. Aesthetech Corporation; Bristol-Myers
Squibb Company, f/k/a/ Bristol-Myers Company; The
Cooper Companies, Inc., f/k/a/ Coopervision, Inc.; Coo-
per Surgical, Inc.; Cronin, Thomas D., M.D.; CV SUB
1987, Inc.; The Dow Chemical Company; Vicki [sic] Gal-
ati; Gerow, Frank J., M.D.; Medical Engineering Corpora-
tion, Unpublished Opinion, United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, filed December 12, 2001,
reprinted in the Appendix A.

+

JURISDICTION .

The judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit were filed December 12, 2001. This
Petition for Writ of Certiorari followed within 90 days. 28
U.S.C. § 2101(c); Supreme Court Rule 13(1) and (4). This
court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS
28 U.S.C. § 1291 provides in pertinent part:

The courts of appeals (other than the United
States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit)

tN

shall have jurisdiction of appeals from all final
decisions of the district courts of the United
States. ..

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner filed a Silicone Gel Breast Implant lawsuit
on July 31, 1992, in the 55th Judicial District Court, Harris
County Texas (the “Consolidated Harris County Silicone
Gel Breast Implant Litigation”). The suit was filed in state
court against the Respondents and others for Strict Lia-
bility, Negligence, Gross Negligence, Fraud, Breach of
Warranty, Res Ipsa Loquiter, Intentional and Negligent
Infliction of Emotional Distress and Damages. On May
15, 1995, Dow Corning Corporation filed a voluntary
petition for relief under chapter 11 of title 11 of the
United States Code in the United States Bankruptcy Court
for the Eastern District of Michigan, Northern Division.
On May 24, 1995, The Dow Chemical Company filed a
cross action in this instant case. On August 8, 1995, The
Dow Chemical Company and Corning Incorporated filed
a Joint Notice of Removal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1452(a),
removing the entire Civil Action and all of the claims and
causes of action asserted, including without limitation all
of the claims asserted against the Removing Defendants
and other Defendants and any cross-claims or other
claims asserted against any such parties. The Civil Action
was removed to the United States Federal District Court
for the Southern District of Texas - Houston Division.
Within three months thereafter, the Civil Action was
transferred to the United States Federal District Court for
the Northern District of Alabama - Southern Division,

nee RPE meat om

ONT ao

|
;

absent of seven parties. The transfer was via the Multi-
District Litigation. The Original Petition was amended to
include the left off parties. The Dow Chemical Company
was severed and transferred to Michigan. In 1999, the
Civil Action was remanded to the transferor court.
(USDC - Houston). On August 18, 2000, Surgitek, Inc;
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, formerly known as Bris-
tol-Myers Company; Cooper Surgical, Inc.; The Cooper
Companies, formerly known as Coopervision, Inc.; CV
SUB 1987, Inc.; Aesthetech Corporation; Medical Engi-
neering Corporation; CVI Merger Corporation; and Viki
Galati filed a motion to strike plaintiff’s experts and a
motion for summary judgment. After timely responses
were filed, on December 7, 2000 the District Court
granted the motions. (Appendix D); (Appendix E). On
December 7, 2000, the District Court entered a Final Judg-
ment (Appendix C). The Petitioner appealed to the Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. The notice of appeal was
dispatched with pre-paid postage and Certificate of Ser-
vice to the U.S. Postal Service, overnight delivery to the
Clerk, United States District Court for the Southern Dis-
trict of Texas — Houston Division, 515 Rusk Street,
Houston, Texas 77002. The postal service guaranteed
delivery by 3:00 p.m. Monday, January 8, 2001. An
inquiry was made regarding the status of the appeal and
the Petitioner was referred to the Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit. The Fifth Circuit, quoting language to
the effect that the appeal was going through the normal
jurisdictional review. By letter dated March 13, 2001, the
Fifth Circuit docketed the appeal and enclosed a briefing
notice directing the parties to include among other issues
to be briefed the following: Whether the Notice of Appeal

filed on January 9, 2001 is timely from the final judgment
entered on December 7, 2000. After briefs and motions
were filed, the Fifth Circuit entered an Order on August
14, 2001, quoting to the effect that the Appellant’s motion
for Costs and Expenses on this appeal is granted (Appen-
dix B). Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure 39(a). The
entry was made on the docket sheet on August 14, 2001.
On December 12, 2001, the Fifth Circuit filed the judg-
ment and opinion; thereafter, the Petitioner filed the Bill
of Costs that was entered on the Court’s docket sheet on
December 26, 2001. The Court relied on Mosley v. Cozby,
813 F.2d 659, 660 (5th Cir. 1987), and Nelson v. Toti, 707
F.2d 170, 171-72 (5th Cir. 1983). In the Fifth Circuit’s
December 12, 2001 opinion, quoting to the effect that the
appeal is untimely; thus the appeal is dismissed and all
outstanding motions are denied (Appendix A). The Court
determined that the opinion shouid not be published and
is not precedent except under the limited circumstances
set forth in the 5th CIR. R. 47.5; 5th CIR. R. 47.5.4. For
some unexplained reason, the U.S. Postal Service deliv-
ered the notice of appeal to the Clerk on January 9, 2001,
one day late.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

It is respectfully submitted that this case meets the
standard of the Supreme Court Rule 10(c). The Fifth
Circuit decided what is characterized as a jurisdictional
question under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and costs under the
principles, rules, and practice of equity under 28
U.S.C.A. Because of the importance of the issues deter-
mining appellate jurisdiction, equity costs, and conflicts

ene oe ene ene

ALLL OE Le ALR RENATO re tem.

fn al

in judicial views on the subjects and because of the con-
flict in the Courts of Appeals over the meaning of “excus-
able neglect”, it should be settled by this Court. For the
reasons hereafter stated, the Fifth Circuit’s judgment and
opinion are erroneous and should not be allowed to stand
on these important questions.

+

ARGUMENT

E,

Time For Appeal Does Not Run Against Party
Aggrieved By Dismissal Until The District Court Enters
A Final Judgment That Clearly Disposes Of The Entire
Civil Action. Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule
54(b), 28 U.S.C.A.

The Fifth Circuit failed to address jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. § 1291 and relied on Mosley v. Cozby, 813 F.2d
659, 660 (5th Cir. 1987). The issue in that case was
whether the document filed “clearly evinced the party’s
intent to appeal” and an examination of the case dis-
closed no effect notice of appeal. The appeal was dis-
missed for lack of jurisdiction. Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure Rule 4(a)(1), 28 U.S.C.A.

This is not a case where the Petitioner failed to
clearly evince intent to appeal under Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure Rule 4(a)(1), 28
U.S.C.A.

The Petitioner’s document entitled “Notice of
Appeal” was clearly evidence of the Petitioner’s intent to
appeal. The certificate of service attached to the notice of
appeal clearly indicated that all parties were put on

notice. The Fifth Circuit lacked jurisdiction under Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 54(b), where the District
Court failed to enter a final judgment. This was that
Court’s error, therefore the Fifth Circuit should have
taken a different view to claim “lack of Jurisdiction”.
Benson v. Bearb, 807 F.2d 1228 (5th Cir. 1987); Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 54(b), 28 U.S.C.A.; Wither-
spoon v. White, 111 F.3d 399 (5th Cir. 1997); 28 U.S.C.
§ 1291; Thompson v. Betts, 754 F.2d 1243, 1245 (5th Cir.
1985). Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 54(b); Fed-
eral Rules of Appellate Procedure Rule 4(a)(1). This is the
error of the Fifth Circuit and negates the notion that the
Fifth Circuit lacks jurisdiction under Federal Rules of
Appellate Procedure Rule 4(a)(1)(A). The time to appeal
in this instant case has not begun to run. Sears, Roebuck
and Co. v. Mackey, 76 S.Ct. 895 (1956); Coopers & Lybrand v.
Livesay, 437 U.S. 463, 467, 98 S.Ct. 2454, 2457, 57 L.Ed.2d
351 (1978).

II.

The Court Of Appeals Have Divided In Their Inter-
pretations Of “Excusable Neglect” Under The Federal
Rules Of Appellate Procedure Rule 4(a)(5), 28 U.S.C.A.

The Fifth Circuit took no view on the appropriate
standard to extend time. The Court relied on Nelson v.
Toti, 707 F.2d 170, 171-72 (5th Cir. 1983). The issue in that
case was whether Nelson’s lack of notice of judgment by
the Clerk should relieve the requirement of the late filing
of the notice of appeal. In Nelson, the filing of the notice
of appeal was delayed for 138 days. It was further stated,
a party may move the District Court to excuse the delay

a an eee ee

in filing a timely notice of appeal and a motion to excuse
the delay is made no more than 30 days after the expira-
tion of the 30-day period prescribed for filing the notice
of appeal. The court dismissed the appeal where the
filing of the notice of appeal was delayed for 138 days.
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure Rule 4(a), 28
U.S.C.A.; Federal Rules for Civil Procedure Rule 77(d), 28
U.S.C.A.

This is not a case where the Petitioner attempted
to fite a notice of appeal after the initial 30-day
period. This issue is where the Petitioner acted
in good faith to perfect the appeal, and relied on
the U.S. Postal Service for a timely delivery of
the notice of appeal. Not only did the postal
service fail to complete the task timely, there
was no explanation for the delay in the delivery.

The Fifth Circuit’s December 12, 2001 opinion indi-
cated that the appeal was dismissed and all outstanding
motions are denied. (Appendix A). The Court, quoting
language to the effect that no motion was filed that
would affect the running of the 30-day period. Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure 4(a)(4)(A). Her appeal is
untimely; we lack jurisdiction.

This is the Fifth Circuit’s error. If the notice of appeal
was timely filed within the 30-day period after the entry
of the final judgment, the appeal would be premature.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 54(b), 28 U.S.C.A.
Therefore, any motions to extend time to file the notice of
appeal before or after the prescribed 30-day period would
be moot; thus there was no mistake or neglect by the
Petitioner, excusable or otherwise. If the District Court
had properly entered a final judgment and Rule 4(a)(5)

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure was an issue, the
Court must determine the appropriate standard for an
extension of time to file the notice of appeal.

The Courts of Appeals are divided in their interpreta-
tions of “excusable neglect” as found in Rule 4(a)(5).
Some Courts require a showing that the movant'’s failure
to meet the deadline was beyond its control. 650 Park Ave.
Corp. v. McRae, 836 F.2d 764, 767 (2d Cir. 1988); Pratt v.
McCarthy, 850 F.2d 590, 592 (9th Cir. 1988). Others
adopted a more flexible approach. Lorenzen v. Employees
Retirement Plan of Sperry-Hutchinson Co., 896 F.2d 228,
232-233 (7th Cir. 1990). The Courts of Appeals have been
similarly divided in their interpretations of “excusable
neglect” under Rule 9006(b)(1), Federal Rules of Bank-
ruptcy Procedure, 11 U.S.C.A. Several Courts of Appeals
have taken a narrow view of “excusable neglect” requir-
ing a showing that the delay was caused by circum-
stances beyond the movant’s control. In re Davis, 936 F.2d
771, 774 (4th Cir. 1991); In re Danielson, 981 F.2d 296, 298
(7th Cir. 1992); Hanson v. First Bank of Southern Dakota,
N.A., 828 F.2d 1310, 1314-1315 (8th Cir. 1987); In re Analyt-
ical Systems, Inc., 933 F.2d 939, 942 (11th Cir. 1991). When
Courts depart from the language of a congressional com-
mand, they often create unintended difficulties in the
process. If Congress had intended to depart from the
accepted meaning of excusable neglect — supplementing
its exclusive focus on the reason for the error with
emphasis on its effect - surely it would have indicated. At
the threshold there is but one question on which to focus:
the reason the deadline was missed. Pioneer Investment
Services Company v. Brunswick Associates, 113 S.Ct. 1489,
1505 (1993).

—

When a deadline is missed, as in this instant case, for
some unexplained reason, there was no mistake by the
Petitioner, excusable or otherwise; rather there was inex-
cusable neglect by the U.S. Postal Service for failure to
transmit an adequately addressed envelope to the District
Court on time. Scarpa v. Murphy, 782 F.2d 300 (1st Cir.
1986), reversed.

Ill.

The Mandate Issued By The Court Of Appeals Is Insuf-
ficient And Different With The Spirit And Terms Of
The Court’s Order In Granting Petitioner’s Costs On
Appeal.

The leading case on this issue is Kansas City Southern
Ry. Co. v. Guardian Trust Co., et al., 281 U.S. 1, 50 S.Ct. 194
(1930). It holds that equity costs not otherwise governed
by statute are given or withheld in the Court’s sound
discretion. 281 U.S. at 194. The Court goes on to state the
following:

Equity costs are given or withheld in the sound
discretion of the court according to the facts and
circumstances of the case.

The District Court entered a final judgment that was
not final, therefore not appealable. The District Court
entered a final judgment that failed to address the issue
of The Dow Chemical Company’s cross-action. Thomas v.
Basham, 931 F.2d 521 (8th Cir. 1991). The Fifth Circuit
granted and entered on the Court’s docket sheet the
Petitioner’s uncontested motion for her recovery of costs
and expenses on the appeal (Appendix B). The Petitioner
filed the Bill of Costs within the 14-day period prescribed

10

by the Rule. On December 26, 2001, it was entered on the
Fifth Circuit’s docket sheet. The Petitioner’s recovery for
costs on appeal is granted then repelled by the Fifth
Circuit. All of these factors taken together place a person
such as Petitioner under a life-time cloud.

+

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner Lee respectfully
prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue in this case.

Dated: March 8, 2002
Respectfully submitted,

DIONNE LEE

App. 1

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 01-20060

Conference Calendar

DIONNE LEE, formerly known as Dionne Lee
Simons,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY ET AL.,
Defendants,

THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY; THOMAS
D. CRONIN, M.D.; FRANK J. GEROW, M.D.;_ —
AESTHETECH; BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB,

INC.; THE COOPER COMPANIES;
COOPERSURGICAL;: CV SUB 1987;

VICKI [sic] GALATI: MEC,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas
USDC No. H-95-CV-9401

(Filed Dec. 12, 2001)

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, BARKSDALE, and STEWART,
Circuit Judges.

App. 2

PER CURIAM:*

Dionne Lee seeks to appeal the summary-judgment
dismissal of her lawsuit. This court must examine the
basis of its jurisdiction on its own motion if necessary.
Mosley v. Cozby, 813 F.2d 659, 660 (5th Cir. 1987). Lee’s
notice of appeal was filed more than 30 days after the
entry of the judgment she seeks to appeal. Fed. R. App. P.
4(a)(1)(A). Lee filed no motion that would affect the
running of the 30-day pericd. Fed. R. App. P. 4(a)(4)(A).
Consequently, her appeal is untimely and we do not have
appellate jurisdiction. See Nelson v. Foti, 707 F.2d 170,
171-72 (5h Cir. 1983). Because we lack jurisdiction, Lee’s
appeal is DISMISSED and all outstanding motions are
DENIED.

* Pursuant to 57TH Cir. R. 47.5, the court has determined that
this opinion should not be published and is not precedent
except under the limited circumstances set forth in 5TH Cr. R.
47.5.4.

App. 3

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 01-20060

DIONNE LEE, formerly known as Dionne Lee
Simons

Plaintiff-Appellant
V.

THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY;
CORNING INC; THOMAS D CRONIN, MD;
FRANK J GEROW, MD.; AESTHETECH;
BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB INC; THE COOPER
COMPANIES; COOPERSURGICAL; CV SUB
1987; VICKI [sic] GALATI; MEC

Defendants-Appellees

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas, Houston

(Filed Aug. 14, 2001)

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, WEINER, and BARKSDALE,
Circuit Judges.

BY THE COURT:

IT IS ORDERED that Appellant’s motion for sum-
mary reversal is denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Appellant’s motion
for remand is denied.

App. 4

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Appellant’s motion
for instruction to the District Court to impose sanctions
and disciplinary actions upon Bristol-Meyers [sic] Com-
pany, its counsel, and counsel for the “other appellees”,
Doctors Gerow and Cronin is denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Appellant’s motion
tor cost and expenses on this appeal is granted.

App. 5

APPENDIX C
[LOGO]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

DIONNE LEE, §
PLAINTIFF, §
; §
a § CIVIL ACTION NO.
SURGITEK, INC., et at. § H-95-9401
DEFENDANTS. §

FINAL JUDGMENT

Pursuant to the orders striking the plaintiff's experts
and entering summary judgment, the plaintiff shall take
nothing by her suit.

This is a Final Judgment.

Signed this 7th day of December, 2000.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt
KENNETH M. HOYT
United States District Judge

App. 6

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

DIONNE LEE
VS.
SURGITEK, INC.; ET AL. §

§
§ C.A. NO. H-95-9401

Fs 2)

ORDER

ON THE 7th day of December, 2000, came on to be
heard Defendants, SURGITEK, INC, BRISTOL-MYERS
SQUIBB COMPANY, formerly known as BRISTOL-
MYERS COMPANY, COOPER SURGICAL, INC., THE
COOPER COMPANIES, INC., formerly known as COO-
PERVISION, INC., CV SUB 1987, INC., AESTHETECH
CORPORATION, MEDICAL ENGINEERING CORPORA-
TION, CVI MERGER CORPORATION, and VIKI GAL- |
ATI’S, Motion to Strike Plaintiff’s Experts. The Court
having considered said motion, heard argument of coun-
sel and reviewed the record in its entirety, is of the
opinion that said motion should be granted. It is, there- .
fore,

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that based
on the failure by Plaintiff to comply with Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 26 (2), and because Plaintiff’s experts do
not meet the requirements of Daubert, Defendants’
Motion to Strike Plaintiff’s Experts is granted. It is further

ADJUDGED AND DECREED that Plaintiff shall not
be allowed to offer at the time of trial any testimony, by

teil mati

App. 7

records or live appearance, from any of the aforemen-

tioned experts. :

SIGNED this 7th day of December, 2000.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt
JUDGE PRESIDING

App. 8

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

DIONNE LEE §
ys. C.A. NO. H-95-9401
SURGITEK, INC.; ET AL g
ORDER
ON THE day of , 2000, came on to

be heard Defendants, SURGITEK, INC. BRISTOL-MYERS
SQUIBB COMPANY, formerly known as BRISTOL-
MYERS COMPANY, COOPER SURGICAL, INC, THE
COOPER COMPANIES, INC., formerly known as COO-
PERVISION, INC., CV SUB 1987, INC., AESTHETECH
CORPORATION, MEDICAL ENGINEERING CORPORA-
TION, CVI MERGER CORPORATION, and VIKI GAL-
ATI’S, Motion for Summary Judgment. The Court having
considered said motion, heard argument of counsel and
reviewed the record in is entirety is of the opinion that
said motion should be granted. It is, therefore,

ORDERED that Defendants, SURGITEK, INC, BRIS-
TOL-MYERS, SQUIBB COMPANY, formerly known as
BRISTOL-MYERS COMPANY, COOPER SURGICAL, INC,
THE COOPER COMPANIES, INC., formerly known
as COOPERVISION, INC., CV SUB 1987, INC.,
AESTHETECH CORPORATION, MEDICAL ENGINEER-
ING CORPORATION, CVI MERGER CORPORATION,
and VIKI GALATI, shall have judgment rendered in its

App. 9

favor and shall stand fully released, discharged and
acquitted of any and all claims of the Plaintiff made the
basis of this suit. Costs of court are taxed against Plaintiff.
All relief not expressly granted herein is expressly
denied.

SIGNED this 7th day of December, 2000.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt
JUDGE PRESIDING

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1566%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
