# Opposition Brief — McInnis v. Daniel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1504%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 1077

## Text

Supreme Court, US.
FILED

- APR 5 2002
No. 01-1290

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

—— ee’

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

¢
SAM MCINNIS AND TIM SHINGLETON,
Petitioners,
Vv.

PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL,
AS ADMINISTRATRIX OF THE
ESTATE OF JOE ED DANIEL,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supren.. Court Of Alabama -

*

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ¥

&
JoserH M. Brown, Jr. THomMasS R. DOLVEN
Davip G. Wirtes, JR. — Dewnirst & Weeks, LLP
Counsel of Record 950 South Cherry Street
Georcrt M. Dent, III Suite 600
CUNNINGHAM, Bounpbs, YANcE, Denver, Colorado 80246
CROWDER & BROWN (303) 757-0003

1601 Dauphin Street

P. O. Box_66705
Mobile, Alabama 36660
(251) 471-6191

Counsel for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6464
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Fi

Respondent disagrees with the “Questions Pre-
sented” in the Petition, as will be explained within.
Respondent asserts that the following are the questions
pertinent to a decision whether to grant the petition for
certiorari:

‘

Whether there is a final judgment below suffi-

cient to invoke review by this Court pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)?

If so, whether this Court should nevertheless
decline to exercise jurisdiction because of the pre-
liminary, fact-dependent, and undeveloped char-
acter of the presentation of and rulings on the
assertions regarding Petitioners’ contacts with
Alabama?

Was there error, much less error of constitutional
magnitude, in the Supreme Court of Alabama’s
holding that Petitioners did not present in their
mandamus petition an indisputable case for lack
of minimum contacts, given the applicable stan-
dards of review and the avowed non-finality of
the denial of their motions to dismiss and the
denial of their mandamus petition?

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Respondent Pamela Alice Little Daniel, as Adminis-
tratrix of the Estate of Joe Ed Daniel, will be referred to
herein as Mrs. Daniel or Plaintiff. She is the widow of Joe
Ed Daniel, whose death is the subject of the wrongful
death action against Petitioners and other defendants in
the Circuit Court of Baldwin County, Alabama. in the
years just preceding Mr. Daniel’s death, Petitioner Sam
McInnis (“McInnis”) was the Vice President of Sales and
then the Chief Executive Officer of the corporations that
produced and marketed the explosive, but deceptively
labeled as non-explosive, product known as “fix a flat”?
that killed Mr. Daniel. In the same time period Petitioner
Tim Shingleton (“Shingleton”) was a Regional Sales Man-
ager or Vice President of Sales and then President of
Operations of the two corporations that successively mar-
keted fix a flat just prior to Mr. Daniel’s death. From
September 1993 through March 1995, the relevant corpo-
ration was Snap Products, Inc. From April 1995 through
the time of Mr. Daniel’s death on June 4, 1997, and until
November 1997, the relevant corporation was Snap Auto-
motive Products, Inc. Michael Borka, whose petition for
mandamus the Supreme Court of Alabama granted, was
Chief Financial Officer of Snap Automotive Products,
Inc., from April 1995 through November 1997. (App. A to

1 The name of this product is written in various ways in
these proceedings. Photographic exhibits in the trial record
show the name without capital “F’s” or hyphens and with a

trademark symbol following “fix a flat.”

ili
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING - Continued

Petition, p. 10a.) McInnis and Shingleton were officers of
Snap Products, Inc., when they, together with Borka,
formed Snap Automotive Products, Inc., and caused it to
purchase Snap Products, Inc., in April 1995. (Id.; App. A
to this Brief, J 56.)

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
fog 8 yy 4 | 6 Se ene i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............5.0,.. ii
pe Fes ay) 8 obs |. ere ere Vv
ENE. SEE oh a re on vases don nras enna ane nae 1
oe gs PERCE EP PELE RET ETE TT eee 1
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SOE SEN WRIEN IEE 60 5c kos esinccanasszregiespvass 2
RAEN GOP BRO GO oo oases css andseatanns 2
7 ee eee eee 5
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 8

I. The Judgment Below Is Interlocutory, Not
Final, So This Court Does Not Have Jurisdic-
PERE CEE TEE EOC e CE ELT PUTT Oe TCET ETT y 8

II. Even If This Court May Have Jurisdiction, It
Should Decline To Exercise It............... 14

A. Even a Final Denial of An Extraordinary
Writ Does Not Require This Court to Take
Jurisdiction. ......... Prerrreror er rere Tr 14

B. The Better View of the In Personam Cases
is That This Court Should Grant Review
Only After a Final Judgment Against the

CORCRIN TOUUIRGEONE og gk os oh nce ee es 15

III. Petitioners Make No Showing Of A Due Pro-
ee er err er ey rere 23
Re MIEN os a. scores he iee viene ees 30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Asahi Metal Industry Company, Ltd. v. Superior
Court, 400 WS; 102 CUFF. 6 oss oiahe des csesee 16
Bandini Petroleum Co. v. Superior Court, 284 U.S. 8
(TRIED iss 25) ok eae 10, 14, 15

Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985). .passim

Cable/Home Communication Corp. v. Network Pro-

ductions, Inc., 902 F.2d 829 (11th Cir. 1990)........ 23
Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783 (1984)........... 17, 27, 28
Costarelli v. Massachusetts, 421 U.S. 193 (1975) nated 10

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975)
ddan avd ee kee Dae sake See eee eee 17, 18, 19, 21

Duke v. Young, 496 So.2d 37 (Ala. 1986)............. 24
Ex parte Sekeres, 640 So.2d 640 (Ala. 1994)........ 10, 11
Ex parte Shelton, [Ms. 1990366, Sept. 7, 2001; 2001

WL 1021585] __. So.2d ___ (Ala. 2001)....... 1, 9, 10
Fisher v. District Court, 424 U.S. 382 (1976) ...9, 10, 13, 14
Florida v. Thomas, 532 U.S. 774 (2001) ................ 9
Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958)........ id; Bis ae
Helicopteros Nacionales De Columbia, S.A. v. Hall,

O66 US. GOR Clos kak bok eece ee 16, 19
Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, Alabama, 522 U.S. 75

8 5 Se ee err rr ry eid passim
Keeton v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 770

Bi rr re een as Bere er an ruth y iet 28, 29

Kulko v. Superior Court, 436 U.S. 84 (1978)...15, 17, 21, 22

vi -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Madara v. Hall, 916 F.2d 1510 (11th Cir. 1990) ....... 24

Madruga v. Superior Court, 346 U.S. 556 (1954)....... 10
Market Street R. Co. v. Railroad Comm'n of Cal., 324

U.S. S4B (O00) oo ccnccvccesscuctsanssepecssvasenes 11

May v. Anderson, 345 U.S. 528 (1953)............. 17, 22

Mt. Vernon-Woodberry Cotton Duck Co. v. Alabama
Interstate Power Co., 240 U.S. 30 (1916).. 9, 10, 13, 14

Olson v. Snap Products, Inc., 29 F.Supp. 1027 (D.

biiom. 1906) sc sis assonnancsaas66e000 ben eeeseeiee 3, 4
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120

(1988) . ccvcccdcdctsawanesaeshusarseenss yee 11
Rescue Army v. Municipal Court, 331 U.S. 549

(1069) . < occcsksceasaeieeiene eee 10, 14, 15
Robinson v. Giamarco & Bill, P.C., 74 F.3d 253 (11th

Che. 2008) oc Se coxa taconkahenaekensaeeeeeeeee 23, 24
Rush v. Savchuk, 440 U.S. 320 (1980)................. 17

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977)..... 16, 17, 20, 21
Van Cauwenberghe v. Biard, 486 U.S. 517 (1988).. 12, 19, 20
Weston v. Charleston, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 449 (1829)...... 10
World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S.
ye eer bette eee ee eee eee ners aa, 37

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
LS. Comet. ant: TE, Oo OSs cance caus eeeeancessoceee 2

ee ee

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES
Pub. L. 100-352, §§ 3 and 5, June 27, 1988, 102 Stat.

ees Nas dad hades bh ew don EEG 555s soe kaa paunaaeen 14
Me is EE 6a F446 Sha shi b ci cehneoewcdsandnkaacke 17
St Seas ee SUE fob bs sdb svssanedeuseseraees 2, 11, 12
Me Seas eh hia ec hnced dco ecatesaeuce sca saden 22
RuLes
Se Das ban enc ces cevdecdndscrenveiadekeseteas 9
pe eS ee | OOTP eeeTTererererreee rer ee Tre >, 9
SS BS 2 64 a ob 505604500 ¥ ae cde sudan 11, 23
ae. es Eo ss car eawie eh oa vcuicune 3
Eo Sees NO, END BIN 6 bcc ksccasnccsceuvevaneaue 2

1
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO CERTIORARI

Mrs. Daniel respectfully submits that Petitioners
| McInnis and Shingleton have overstated the precedential
importance of the denial of mandamus by the Supreme
Court of Alabama and have ignored its lack of finality. In
the introductory paragraph of their Petition, McInnis and
Shingleton assert that their supposedly “very limited con-
tacts” with Alabama “have nothing to do with* Mrs. Dan-
iel’s cause of action. (Petition, p. 1.) On the contrary, their
tortious conduct resulted in the sale in Alabama of the
dangerous product that caused Mr. Daniel’s death. They
further erroneously state that the Supreme Court of Ala-
bama has “attribut[ed] to defendants the actions of other
parties,” id., when it is the personal actions of McInnis and
Shingleton that principally caused the production and sale
of the explosive and dangerously mislabeled fix a flat
product that caused Mr. Daniel’s death. Thus, even aside
from the jurisdictional and prudential concerns argued as
issues one and two below, this case presents no color of
merit that would justify granting the Petition.

OPINION BELOW

Because the opinion of the Supreme Court of Alabama
remains unpublished, Respondent will cite to the copy of
that opinion presented to the Court as “App. A to Peti-
tion.”

JURISDICTION

As a threshold matter, this Court lacks jurisdiction
because there is no final judgment below. The Supreme
Court of Alabama has expressly held that “ ‘[T]he denial
of relief by mandamus does not have res judicata effect.’ ”
Ex parte Shelton, [Ms. 1990366, Sept. 7, 2001; 2001 WL
1021585, p. **3] __ So.2d __, ___ (Ala. 2001) (alteration in
original; citations omitted). In the opinion now under
review, the Supreme Court of Alabama expressly noted
the interlocutory nature of a denial of a motion to dismiss

Di ee ee eel i

2

for lack of in personam jurisdiction, Ala.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(2),

and the non-final nature of the denial of mandamus.

(App. A to Petition, pp. 3a-4a, 18a.) Therefore, Petitioners

erroneously invoke this Court’s jurisdiction pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), which requires a “[f]inal judgment ]
. rendered by the highest court of a State.”

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

“(T]he Supreme Court shall have appellate Jurisdic-
tion, both as to Law and Fact, with such Exceptions, and
under such Regulations as the Congress shall make.” U.S.
Const. art. III, § 2, { 3. “Final judgments or decrees ren-
dered by the highest court of a State in which a decision
could be had, may be reviewed by the Supreme Court by
writ of certiorari . . . where any title, right, privilege, or
immunity is specially set up or claimed under the Consti-
tution or the treaties or statutes of . . . the United States.”
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Pursuant to Rule 15.2 of the Rules of this Court, Mrs.
Daniel will address the facts that bear on what issues
would be before the Court if certiorari were granted. The
Petition seriously understates the facts which support the
exercise of in personam jurisdiction over Petitioners. For
example, Petitioners attached as an appendix a drastically
edited version of the Amended Complaint that does not
present to this Court the many uncontested allegations of
fact supporting jurisdiction. Mrs. Daniel therefore attaches
as App. A to this Brief In Opposition the entire Amended
Complaint. The complete allegations of that complaint,
together with the affidavits filed by Petitioners, provide
the factual context in this case. The pertinent portions of
the affidavits are quoted in the opinion of the Supreme
Court of Alabama, App. A to the Petition, pp. 8a-10a.

3

The Amended Complaint alleges that Petitioners per-
sonally participated in formulating, manufacturing, label-
ing, and distributing the fix a flat product dangerously
mislabeled as “non-explosive.” (App. A to this Brief, pas-
sim, esp. {J 4, 11, 13-14, 42-57, 75, 81, and 83.) Little
discovery took place between the filing of Plaintiff's origi-
nal Complaint on December 18, 1998, and the denial of the
motions to dismiss on June 23, 1999. (Respondent's brief,
Supreme Court of Alabama Docket #1990045, Ex. 1, Case
Action Summary.)? Mrs. Daniel offered in Opposition to
the motions to dismiss certain documents (“the Olson
materials”) from a similar action against some of these
defendants in Minnesota.? (Mrs. Daniel's cross-petition,
Supreme Court of Alabama docket #1990659, Exhibit 9.)
These materials were directed principally at the activities
of McInnis, because Shingleton was not named as a defen-
dant in Olson. Id. However, Shingleton has admitted in his
affidavit in this case that he was at the relevant times a
regional director of sales, a vice president of sales, and
then president of operations. (App. A to Petition, p- 10a.)
These facts, coupled with the facts established against

* The “record” on the petitions for mandamus consists only
of exhibits that the Petitioners and the Respondents submitted
to the Supreme Court of Alabama. Ala.R.App.P. 21. These
materials are somewhat voluminous and would be difficult to
duplicate, because they include handwritten notations,
letterheads, and other materials that would not be amenable to
typesetting. Because the points made regarding some of these
exhibits in this and the succeeding paragraph are incidental and
procedural, Mrs. Daniel is not appending them to this brief.
However, if the Court were to grant the Petition, Mrs. Daniel
would request that the exhibits referenced in these paragraphs
would be made part of any Joint Appendix or record before this
Court. Cf. Rule 12.7 of the Rules of this Court.

3 See Olson v. Snap Products, Inc., 29 F.Supp. 1027 (D. Minn.
1998).

4

McInnis personally in the Olson materials, support infer-
ences that Shingleton, as well as McInnis, personally par-
ticipated in the tortious marketing of the dangerous fix a
flat product in Alabama and other states that caused -
before Mr. Daniel’s death - injuries at least in Arizona,
Colorado, and Minnesota. (See also App. A to this Brief,
WI 12-38, 58-67.)

The trial court (the Circuit Court of Baldwin County,
Alabama) sustained Petitioners’ objection to Mrs. Daniel’s
offer of the Olson materials as evidence in opposition to
the motions to dismiss. (Respondent’s Brief, Supreme
Court of Alabama Docket #1990045, Ex. 1, Trial Court’s
Docket Entry of 7/15/99.) After Petitioners and Borka
filed their mandamus petition, Mrs. Daniel filed a cross-
petition for mandamus requesting that, if the Supreme
Court of Alabama deemed the order denying the motion
to dismiss to be infirm, the court would order further
evidentiary proceedings, including the allowance of the
Olson materials and the conduct of further discovery
regarding the contacts of McInnis, Shingleton, and Borka
with Alabama. (Petition for Writ of Mandamus, Supreme
Court of Alabama Docket #1990659, esp. pp. 10-11.) The
Supreme Court of Alabama denied relief on the cross-
petition, deeming it moot as to McInnis and Shingleton,
and not probative as to the contacts of Borka. (App. A to
Petition, p. 20a.)

Mrs. Daniel does not contest the grant of mandamus
relief in favor of Borka, who was the finance officer of
Snap Automotive Products, Inc., from the time of acquisi-
tion of Snap Products, Inc., in April 1995 until the sale of
that company to Pennzoil in 1997. McInnis and Shingleton
were directly involved in operations and sales of both
companies. Mrs. Daniel cannot at present make similar
allegations against Borka, and his affidavit does not bridge
the gap by admitting trips to Alabama on company busi-
ness or official responsibility for sales and/or operations.
(App. A to Petition, p. 10a.)

I. Factual Background

In April 1995, Petitioners and former Defendant Borka
formed Snap Automotive Products, Inc., and purchased
Snap Products, Inc. (App. A to this Brief, J 56.) Snap
Products, Inc., and then Snap Automotive Products, Inc.,
manufactured and sold an aerosol tire inflator product
(“fix a flat”) throughout the United States, including the
State of Alabama. (Id., J 11.) From September 1993 to
March 1995, McInnis was Vice-President of Sales, and
Shingleton was a Regional Sales Manager or Vice-Presi-
dent of Sales. From April 1995 to November 1997, McInnis
was Chief Executive Officer, and Shingleton was President
of Operations. (App. A to Petition, p. 10a.) As Regional
Sales Manager or Vice-President of Sales, Shingleton came
to Alabama to promote sales of Snap products on four
occasions that he admitted in his affidavits. (Id. at 8a-10a.)
McInnis, in his capacity as Vice-President of Sales, also
came to Alabama to promote the sales of Snap products in
1994 or 1995. (Id., pp. 9a-10a.)4

Thus, even before they became the owners of the
company, McInnis and Shingleton visited Alabama to pro-
mote the sales of Snap products. It can be inferred from
the fact that Shingleton visited Alabama four times while
he was a Regional Sales Manager that Alabama was within
his region. Because little discovery occurred before the
trial court proceeded to hear McInnis, Shingleton, and
Borka’s motions to dismiss, however, Plaintiffs have not
cross-examined them regarding their affidavits or other-
wise conducted discovery to determine what additional

4 Although their affidavits attempt to minimize the
importance of fix a flat as a Snap product and its relevance to
their Alabama trips, fix a flat was “the single largest revenue
generating product sold by Nationwide/Snap, and of
approximately 70 company products, sales of the ‘fix a flat’
product constitute[d] approximately half the company’s
revenue.” (App. A to this Brief, { 15.)

6

contacts they may have with Alabama beyond those
admitted in their affidavits.

Important allegations about the participation of
McInnis and, by inference, Shingleton in communications
with Snap customers are found at paragraphs 39 and 47-51
of the Amended Complaint:

39. During 1990-1993, while Nationwide/Snap

and Mr. Mcinnis were marketing their second

generation HCFC non-flammable propellant “fix

a flat” product, the company spent significant

sums of money educating the public, and the tire

inflator industry, as to the safety benefits of a

non-flammable propellant tire inflator product in

view of foreseeable rim welding and tire reaming
activity.

47. On or about April 25, 1994, Mr. McInnis,

along with “consultants” Montfort A. Johnsen

(“Johnsen”), and Paul Hughett (“Hughett”)

attended a meeting in Kansas City, Missouri,

with a customer (Western Auto Parts Company).

Johnsen and Hughett had helped design and

develop the third generation DME “fix a flat”

product.

48. At the meeting with Western Auto on or

about April 25, 1994, Mr. McInnis, with consul-

tants Hughett and Johnsen, tried to sell Western

Auto the DME “fix a flat” product. However,

Western Auto informed McInnis, Johnsen, and

Hughett that Western Auto’s testing of the “fix a

flat” revealed that the product was flammable/

explosive and Western Auto would not purchase
such a product.

49. In response to Western Auto’s concerns ~

regarding the flammability/explosivity of the

DME fix a flat product, Mr. McInnis informed

Western Auto that if any accidents occurred involv-

ing the DME fix a flat product Snap would fully

indemnify and reimburse Western Auto for any lia-

bility incurred under the provisions of Snap’s

castes aerate

7

$25,000,000 product liability insurance policy. West-

ern Auto decided not to do any business with

Snap.

50. On or about May 12, 1994, Snap and/or Mr.

McInnis had tire explosion testing performed. .. .

This testing revealed that certain mixtures of the “fix

a flat” DME product with air in a tire were explosive

and could propel the Ford Explorer tire and rim

assemblies as much as 252 feet into the air.

51. Despite test results ... in the Spring of 1994

indicating the DME fix a flat product was explosive,

[other defendants] and Snap conspired to selectively

omit tire explosion test sequences from testing reports

which were sent to Snap’s customers and the Con-

sumer Product Safety Commission. The selectively

edited testing reports created the illusion that the fix a

flat DME product was safe and non-explosive.
(App. A to this Brief, {J 39 and 47-51; emphasis added.)
Fix a flat was Snap’s flagship product and largest source of
revenue (Id., J 15.) As Vice-President of Sales at the time,
McInnis would have had responsibility for sending the
deceptively edited test sequences to Snap customers (id.,
{YT 50-51), including those in Alabama. As Regional Man-
ager or Vice-President of Sales, Shingleton would have had
similar responsibility. They do not deny in their affidavits
that they communicated with Snap customers in Alabama
as alleged in paragraphs 39 and 51, together with para-
graph 11 of the Amended Complaint. (Jd., {J 11, 39, 51.)
Of course, the responsibilities of McInnis and Shingleton
for marketing this dangerous product in Alabama would
have increased when they became, in April 1995, the
owners and, respectively, Snap’s Chief Executive Officer
and President of Operations. (Id., {| 56.)

~ Just a few months after Mr. Daniel’s death, McInnis,

Shingleton and Borka sold Snap at a handsome profit. (Id.,
{ 71.) The national marketing of Snap’s most important
product was vital to the Petitioners’ effort to sell the
company for a profit a mere two and a half years after its
purchase.

8

All that Petitioners deny in their affidavits is frequent
physical presence in Alabama. Their affidavits say nothing
about their marketing efforts directed toward Alabama, or
the number of Snap customers selling fix a flat in Ala-
bama, or anything else to contradict the allegations of the
Complaint that they personally directed a marketing cam-
paign of this product that they knew to be dangerous and
dangerously mislabeled. They do not deny that this mar-
keting campaign was directed at Alabama or that they
were personally responsible for it. They do not deny
knowing in the two years prior to Mr. Daniel’s death of at
least three explosions of the product in Arizona, Colorado,
and Minnesota.

Petitioners bore personal responsibility for the distri-
bution of Snap products, including fix a flat, into Alabama,
and they have all but admitted it. Certainly their mere
denials of frequent physical presence in Alabama do not
contradict the direct allegations and available inferences of
the Complaint that, as directors of sales and later as
owners and directors of the entire corporation, they pur-
posefully marketed and sold in Alabama a dangerous and
dangerously mislabeled product.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. The Judgment Below Is Interlocutory, Not Final, So
This Court Does Not Have Jurisdiction

In Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, Alabama, 522 U.S. 75
(1997), this Court dismissed the writ of certiorari for want
of jurisdiction, because “This case, still sub judice in Ala-
bama, was brought to this Court too soon.” Id. at 77. This
Court stated, in remarks directly pertinent here:

The decision we confront does not qualify as a

“final judgment” within the meaning of [28

U.S.C.] § 1257(a). The Supreme Court of Alabama

decided the federal-law issue on an interlocutory

certification from the trial court, then remanded

the cause for further proceedings on petitioners’

remaining state-law claims. The outcome of those

9

further proceedings could moot the federal ques-
tion we agreed to decide. If the federal question
does not become moot, petitioners will be free to
seek our review when the state-court proceed-
ings reach an end. We accordingly dismiss the
writ for want of a final judgment.

Id. at 77-78. See also Florida v. Thomas, 532 U.S. 774 (2001)
(Supreme Court of Florida upheld trial court’s interlocu-
tory order granting a motion to suppress evidence; this
Court dismissed its writ for want of jurisdiction.)

Exactly the same posture is presented by this Petition
for Certiorari, except that here, the Supreme Court of
Alabama decided the federal-law issue on a petition for
writ of mandamus pursuant to Ala.R.App.P. 21, whereas in
Jefferson, the Supreme Court of Alabama decided the fed-
eral-law issue on an interlocutory certification pursuant to
Ala.R.App.P. 5. That is a distinction without a difference,
because the Supreme Court of Alabama has held that a
denial of a petition for a writ of mandamus does not
operate as res judicata upon further proceedings in the
subject action. Ex parte Shelton, [Ms. 1990366, Sept. 7, 2001;
2001 WL 1021585], __ So.2d __ (Ala. 2001), and cases
cited therein. Moreover, the Supreme Court of Alabama
expressly recognized that its denial of mandamus here
did not end the question of in personam jurisdiction over
Petitioners (App. A to Petition, pp. 3a-4a, 18a), so its
decision “was avowedly interlocutory.” Jefferson, supra,
522 U.S. at 81.

- Petitioners cite Mt. Vernon-Woodberry Cotton Duck Co.
v. Alabama Interstate Power Co., 240 U.S. 30, 31 (1916), and
Fisher v. District Court, 424 U.S. 382, 385 n. 7 (1976), as
supporting the exercise of jurisdiction over this petition.
Mt. Vernon-Woodberry and Fisher, however, merely hold
that “[a] judgment that terminates original proceedings in
a state appellate court, in which the only issue decided
concerns the jurisdiction of a lower state court, is final
even if further proceedings are to be had in the lower

10

court.” Fisher, 424 U.S. at 385, n. 7 (citations omitted).°
This principle cannot apply if the state appellate court's
judgment terminating the original proceedings therein is,
by its own terms, not final as to the issue raised. As the
Supreme Court of Alabama said, “[w]hether the plaintiff
can prove her allegations against the defendants McInnis
and Shingleton and can thereby maintain personal juris-
diction at the stages of the litigation that require proof as
distinguished from pleadings remains to be seen.” (App.
A to Petition, p. 18a). The entire tenor of the opinion
below is consistent with the holding of Ex parte Shelton,
supra, and the cases cited therein. For example, the court
pointed out the heavy burden on a mandamus petitioner:

A writ of mandamus is an extraordinary remedy
which requires a showing of (a) clear legal right
in the petitioner to the order sought, (b) an
imperative duty on the respondent to perform,
accompanied by a refusal to do so, (c) the lack of
another adequate remedy, and (d) the properly
invoked jurisdiction of the court.

(App. A to Petition, p. 4a; emphasis added.) The Supreme
Court of Alabama later tied this burden to the interlocu-
tory nature of the 12(b)(2) denial by quoting from a
special concurrence in Ex parte Sekeres, 640 So.2d

_ 5 Footnote 7 of Fisher cites three cases, Madruga v. Superior
Court, 346 U.S. 556, 557 n. 1 (1954); Rescue Army v. Municipal
Court, 331 U.S. 549, 565-568 (1947); Bandini Petroleum Co. v.
Superior Court, 284 U.S. 8, 14-15 (1931); and one additional case
with a “see” signal, Costarelli v. Massachusetts, 421 U.S. 193,
197-199 (1975), which is actually consistent with Mrs. Daniel’s
argument herein, id., at 196. Mt. Vernon cites an 1829 opinion by
Chief Justice Marshall, Weston v. Charleston, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 449,
464-65 (1829). These cases involved challenges to the subject
matter jurisdiction of the lower court, not in personam
jurisdiction. The denial of prohibition finally ended the matter,
because there were no further factual inquiries to be addressed
by the lower court after prohibition was denied.

|

11

640, 642 (Ala. 1994). There, Supreme Court of Alabama
Associate Justice Gorman Houston noted that, on the bare
record of a mandamus proceeding, it is difficult for a
reviewing court to Say that a trial court “clearly erred in
denying [a] motion to dismiss or that [a defendant] has a
clear and undisputable right to be dismissed from this
action.” Id., quoted at App. A to Petition, p. 18a.

The non-finality of the denial of mandamus is com-
pounded by the non-finality of a denial of a Rule 12(b)(2)
motion to dismiss. Again, the Supreme Court of Alabama
made this very point: “After such a denial, the continua-
tion of personal jurisdiction over a defendant who appro-
priately persists in challenging it in the defendant's
answer to the complaint and by motion for summary
judgment or at trial depends on the introduction of sub-
stantial evidence to prove the plaintiff’s jurisdictional
allegations in the plaintiff’s complaint.” (App. A to Peti-
tion, p. 4a; citations omitted.) Petitioners thus seek review
of a non-final judgment from the Supreme Court of Ala-
bama refusing to set aside a non-final order of the Circuit
Court of Baldwin County, Alabama.

As this Court stated in Jefferson v. City of Tarrant,
Alabama, supra:

This provision [§ 1257(a)] establishes a firm final
judgment rule. To be reviewable by this Court, a
state-court judgment must be final “in two
senses: it must be subject to no further review or
correction in any other state tribunal; it must
also be final as an effective determination of the
litigation and not of merely interlocutory or
intermediate steps therein. It must be the final
word of a final court.” Market Street R. Co. v.
Railroad Comm'n of Cal., 324 U.S. 548, 551 (1945).
As we have recognized, the finality rule “is not
one of those technicalities to be easily scorned.
It is an important factor in the smooth working
of our federal system.” Radio Station WOW, Inc.
v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 124 (1945).

12

-

Jefferson, 522 U.S. at 81. If the courts of Alabama continue
to assert personal jurisdiction over Petitioners, if a final
judgment on the merits is rendered against them and
affirmed on appeal, and “[e]ven if the Supreme Court of
Alabama adheres to its interlocutory ruling as ‘law of the
case,’ that determination will in no way limit [this
Court's] ability to review the issue on final judgment.” Id.
at 83.

The inconvenience to Petitioners of renewing their
objections to the exercise of jurisdiction over them pro-
vides no reason to ignore the mandate of Congress in 28
U.S.C. § 1257(a) or the principles of comity and federal-
ism that support Congress’ decision to grant this Court
jurisdiction to review state court judgments only after
they become final. Denial of interlocutory review neces-
sarily requires an allegedly aggrieved party to continue
litigating the question, so it is no answer for Petitioners to
complain that they would prefer to terminate this litiga-
tion against them sooner rather than later. Quite plainly,
Petitioners do not “enjoy a right not to stand trial... .
entailed in the mere assertion that the District Court lacks
personal jurisdiction.” Van Cauwenberghe v. Biard, 486 U.S.
517, 526-27 (1988). As this Court has stated:

In the context of due process restrictions on the
exercise of personal jurisdiction, this Court has
recognized that the individual interest protected
is in “not being subject to the binding judgments
of a forum with which [the defendant] has
established no meaningful ‘contacts, ties, or
relations.’ ” . Because the right not to be

subject to a binding judgment may be effectively
vindicated following final judgment, we have
held that the denial of a claim of lack of jurisdic-
tion is not an immediately appealable collateral
order.

13

Id. (brackets in original; citations omitted).* This principle
applies with great force to the present matter

Mt. Vernon-Woodberry and its progeny, including
Fisher, are further distinguishable. Both cases, as well as
those cited in footnote 7 of Fisher, involved petitions for a
writ of prohibition raising facial challenges to the exercise of
subject matter jurisdiction by inferior courts. In Mt. Vernon-
Woodberry, for example, the Court began its discussion by
saying that “Prohibition is a distinct suit and the judgment
finally disposing of it is a final judgment within the mean-
ing of the Judicial Code.” 240 U.S. at 31. A denial of
prohibition where the reviewing court finally decides the
question of whether an inferior court has subject-matter
jurisdiction under a statute is entirely different, for pur-
poses of finality analysis, from a denial of mandamus in
which the reviewing court expressly states that the ques-
tion presented remains open. The critical distinction lies in
the Mt. Vernon-Woodberry Court's notation that a “judg-
ment finally disposing of” a petition for prohibition is a
final judgment. The Supreme Court of Alabama has
expressly held that its denial of mandamus is not “final” in
any meaningful sense, a decision on a matter of state
procedure tha’ this Court should not controvert.

© See also World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S
286, 291 (1980):

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment liniits the power of a state court to
render a valid personal judgment against a non-
resident defendant. ... : A judgment rendered in
violation of due process is void in the rendering State
and is not entitled to full faith and credit elsewhere.

(Citations omitted; emphasis added.)

14

Il. Even If This Court May Have Jurisdiction, It Should
Decline To Exercise It

A. Even a Final Denial of An Extraordinary Writ
Does Not Require This Court to Take Jurisdic-
tion

Most of the Fisher/Mt. Vernon-Woodberry line of cases
involved the appellate jurisdiction of the Supreme Court
that was repealed in 1988. See former 28 U.S.C. § 1257,
before amendment by Pub. L. 100-352, §§ 3 and 5, June 27,
1988, 102 Stat. 662, 664. Even under its former appellate
jurisdiction, the Court exercised discretionary authority
and declined to exercise jurisdiction in Rescue Army, supra,
at n. 5, dismissing the appeal. The Rescue Army Court
discussed the rule from Bandini, supra, at n. 5, and earlier
cases that a denial of prohibition creates an appealable
final judgment, but concluded that “[wJhile therefore we
are unable to conclude that there is no jurisdiction in this
cause, nevertheless compelling reasons exist for not exer-
cising it.” 331 U.S. 549, 565-67. The Court then discussed
those “compelling reasons,” beginning with the “policy of
strict necessity in disposing of constitutional issues.” Id.
Significant in that discussion is footnote 34:

“If there is one doctrine more deeply rooted than
any other in the process of constitutional adjudi-
cation, it is that we ought not to pass on ques-
tions of constitutionality * * * unless such
adjudication is unavoidable.” . . . It has long been
the Court’s “considered practice not to decide
abstract, hypothetical or contingent questions
** * or to decide any constitutional question in
advance of the necessity for its decision... . ”

Id. at 570 n. 34 (citations omitted). The Court concluded
that “the shape in which the underlying constitutional
issues have reached this Court presents, we think, insuper-
able obstacles to any exercise of jurisdiction to determine
them, [including] obstacles of prematurity and compara-
tive abstractness.” Id. at 574. If these sorts of consider-
ations persuaded the Court to decline to exercise appellate

15

jurisdiction in Rescue Army, they provide even more com-
pelling persuasion that this Court should deny certiorari
where the question is undeveloped, abstract, and prema-
ture.

The Bandini Court held that it had jurisdiction over an
appeal from a denial of a writ of prohibition that “merely
dealt with the jurisdiction of the Superior Court of the suit
for injunction, and the only question before us is whether
the District Court of Appeal erred in deciding the federal
questions as to the validity of the statute upon which that
jurisdiction was based. Moreover, with all questions of fact

_ we are not concerned on this appeal.” Bandini, supra,
284 U.S. 8, 14 (emphasis added). In personam jurisdiction is
necessarily dependent upon the facts of the defendants’
contacts with the forum state, and this Court should “not
[be] concerned” with such factual questions when the
court below held only that the matters presented at a
preliminary stage did not demonstrate unequivocally that
Plaintiff could prove no facts supporting jurisdiction over
Petitioners. Only after those facts have been finally liti-
gated and a final judgment entered against Petitioners
based on a factual finding that they are subject to the
jurisdiction of Alabama would the question be ripe for this
Court’s review.

B. The Better View of the In Personam Cases is
That This Court Should Grant Review Only
After a Final Judgment Against the Objecting
Defendant

This Court’s landmark in personam decisions are dis-
cussed, infra, regarding their “minimum contacts” analy-
ses. For present purposes, Mrs. Daniel points out that
some of these cases arose after a denial of a motion to
dismiss, a trial, and a final judgment against the objecting
defendant, while other cases arose from pre-trial postures
with no discussion of the Court’s jurisdiction. The few
cases where the Court has discussed its jurisdiction to

16

entertain appeals or certiorari petitions in preliminary pos-
tures are either distinguishable (as in Shaffer v. Heitner,
infra) or based on questionable support (as in Kulko, infra).

In Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985),
the in personam issue was brought to this Court after a final
judgment. Burger King, a Florida corporation, brought suit
in Florida against two individual Michigan franchisees,
who entered special appearances and moved for dismissal.
The district court denied their motions. Id., at 469. They
then filed an answer and counterclaim. After a three-day
bench trial, the court again concluded that it had jurisdic-
tion over the parties. Id. The trial court entered a final
judgment against them and they appealed to the Eleventh
Circuit. That court reversed, holding that the defendants
did not have sufficient contacts with Florida to support the
district court’s exercise of jurisdiction over them. This
Court reversed, holding that the defendants had estab-
lished minimum contacts.

This Court also addressed in personam jurisdiction
after a trial on the merits in Helicopteros Nacionales De
Columbia, S.A. v. Hall, 466 U.S. 408 (1984). Four wrongful
death actions were filed in a Texas state court against a
Colombian corporation (Helicol) engaged in the business
of providing helicopter transportation for oil and construc-
tion companies in South America. Id., at 409. Helicol filed
special appearances and moved to dismiss the actions for
lack of in personam jurisdiction. The Texas court denied the
motion, held a jury trial, and entered a final judgment ona
verdict against Helicol. Helicol appealed to the Texas
Court of Civil Appeals, which reversed for lack of in
personam jurisdiction. The plaintiffs then appealed to the
Supreme Court of Texas, which reversed, holding that the
trial court had properly exercised jurisdiction. Id., at 412.
This Court reversed, holding that minimum contacts were
not shown.

In Asahi Metal Industry Company, Ltd. v. Superior Court,
480 U.S. 102 (1987), the in personam issue reached this
Court in a preliminary posture. After the trial court denied

PG ETL, AE CLL TLE DIET

DO Ra OPC HO AE So PO

17

a motion to quash summons on Asahi, a Japanese corpora-
tion, the intermediate appellate court “issued a peremp-
tory writ of mandamus commanding the [trial court] to
quash service of summons.” Id. at 107. The California
Supreme Court then reversed and discharged the writ
issued by the intermediate appellate court. Id. at 108. This
Court reached the merits with no discussion of whether
there was a final judgment that would support jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

In Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783 (1984), two Florida
defendants “caused special appearances to be entered [in
California] on their behalf, moving to quash the service of
process for lack of personal jurisdiction. The Superior
Court granted the motion,” id., at 784-85, the California
Court of Appeals reversed, id., at 785, and the California
Supreme Court denied a petition for hearing, id., at 787.
This Court, addressing the question of whether there was
a final judgment, stated:

Although there has not yet been a trial on the

merits in this case, the judgment of the California

appellate court “is plainly final on the federal
issue and is not subject to further review in the

state courts.” Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420

U.S. 469, 485 (1975). Accordingly, as in several

past cases presenting jurisdictional issues in this

posture, “we conclude that the judgment below

is final within the meaning of [28 U.S.C.} § 1257.”

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 195-196, n. 12

(1977). See also Rush v. Savchuk, 440 U.S. 320

(1980); World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson,

444 U.S. 286 (1980); Kulko v. Superior Court, 436

U.S. 84 (1978).

Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. at 788, n. 8.7 However, the quoted
language from Cox Broadcasting cannot govern the present

7 The Court exercised jurisdiction in Rush, World-Wide
Volkswagen, and Kulko, but did not engage in any discussion of
how and why it had jurisdiction. See Rush, 444 U.S. at 324-25,
and 433 U.S. 902 (1977), noting probable jurisdiction without
further comment; World-Wide, 444 U.S. at 289-291; and Kulko,

18

case, because the Supreme Court of Alabama expressly
held that its judgment is not final on the federal issue and
is subject to further review in the state courts.

In Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 485-86
(1975), a Georgia trial court granted summary judgment
for the plaintiff on liability in his invasion of privacy
action and ordered a trial on damages. The defendants
claimed that their broadcasts were privileged under the
First and Fourteenth Amendments. Id., at 474. The Georgia
Supreme Court affirmed the interlocutory liability judg-
ment, holding that a Georgia statute making it unlawful to
disseminate the name of a rape victim was constitutional
as against the defendant’s invocation of the First Amend-
ment. Id., at 475. This Court addressed the question of
jurisdiction, sorting its prior decisions into “four catego-
ries of . . . cases in which the Court has treated the
decision on the federal issue as a final judgment” even
though there “are further proceedings in the lower state
courts to come.” Id., at 477. The first category applies
where “the federal issue is conclusive or the outcome of
further proceedings preordained.” Id., at 478. There is
nothing “conclusive or . . . preordained” about further
state court proceedings in the present matter. To the con-
trary, Petitioners can point only to a tentative refusal to set
aside a preliminary denial of a weakly supported assertion
of a lack of minimum contacts.

The second Cox Broadcasting category comprises cases
“in which the federal issue, finally decided by the highest
court in the State, will survive and require a decision
regardless of the outcome of future state-court proceed-
ings.” Id., at 480 (emphasis added). There is nothing
“finally decided by” the Supreme Court of Alabama, and
the federal issue may very we!! not survive for any

436 U.S. at 90, finding no jurisdiction by appeal, but treating the
papers as a petition for certiorari pursuant to Hanson v. Denckla
and May v. Anderson, infra, and explaining in footnote 4 why
appellate jurisdiction does not lie but not explaining why
certiorari jurisdiction does lie.

ARLE SACI OTR are nes PS Be

19

number of reasons. For example, after discovery, Peti-
tioners’ contacts with Alabama may prove overwhelming,
and they may concede jurisdiction. Alternatively, if their
contacts prove to be no more than they have admitted in
their affidavits, and their commercial activities prove not
to have resulted in colorable contacts with Alabama in the
sale and marketing of fix a flat, the state trial court
remains free to hold that contacts have not been estab-
lished as a factual matter. Moreover, just as in Jefferson v.
City of Tarrant, supra, “[rlesolution of the state-law claims
could effectively moot the federal-law question raised
here.” 522 U.S. 75, at 82.

The third category includes cases “where the federal
claim has been finally decided, with further proceedings on
the merits in the state courts to come, but in which later
review of the federal issue cannot be had, whatever the
ultimate outcome of the case.” Id., at 481 (emphasis
added). a category is not implicated here because, as
stated in Van Cauwenberghe, supra, Petitioners have no right
to avoid a trial, and as can be seen from Burger King and
Helicopteros. supra, they can raise their due process argu-
ment after a trial.

Cox Broadcasting described the fourth category as fol-
lows:

Lastly, there are those situations where the
federal issue has been finally decided in the state
courts with further proceedings pending in
which the party seeking review here might pre-
vail on the merits on non-federal grounds, thus
rendering unnecessary review of the federal
issue by this Court, and where reversal of the
state court on the federal issue would be preclu-
sive of any further litigation on the relevant
cause of action rather than merely controlling the
nature and character of, or determining the
admissibility of evidence in, the state proceed-
ings still to come. In these circumstances, if a
refusal to immediately review the state court
decision might seriously erode federal policy, the
Court has entertained and decided the federal

ee LU

20

issue, which itself has been finally determined by the
state courts for purposes of the state litigation.

Id., at 482-83 (emphasis added). Again, the issue has not
been “finally determined.” Moreover, requiring Petitioners
to continue defending these claims against them, condi-
tioned upon substantiation of the allegations contained in
the Amended Complaint, can hardly be said to “seriously
erode federal policy.”

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 195-96, n. 12 (1977),
cited the Cox Broadcasting analysis in the context of a
jurisdictional challenge arising before trial. The circum-
stances of Shaffer, however, differ greatly from those here.
The Delaware law at issue in Shaffer required defendants
to “enter a general appearance, thus subjecting themselves
to in personam liability, before they [could] defend on the
merits.” Id. Quite the contrary is true here. Even if, after
further proceedings in the trial court, the trial court con-
tinues to assert jurisdiction over Petitioners, they will still
be able to raise their due process argument in any appeal
from a judgment against them on the merits. Shaffer
quoted Cox Broadcasting as follows:

“The (Delaware) Supreme Court’s judgment is

plainly final on the federal issue and is not subject to

further review in the state courts. Appellants will be
liable for damages if the elements of the state
cause of action are proved. They may prevail at
trial on non-federal grounds, it is true, but if the

(Delaware) court erroneously upheld the statute, there

should be no trial at all.”

Id. (alteration in Shaffer; citation omitted; emphasis added).
A facial challenge to a statute is not fact-dependent and its
rejection on appeal finally resolves the question. Those
factors provide this Court’s jurisdiction, not the exhorta-
tion that “there should be no trial at all.” The present case,
unlike Shaffer, involves only a non-final rejection of a
threshold claim that a factual showing cannot be made.

Moreover, the rule of Van Cauwenberghe, supra, that the
Fourteenth Amendment protects against a final judgment
without due process, not against an erroneous holding of a

fsa ha CAIs Me DH OV

Pent RI Like ihe

21

trial, further distinguishes this case from Shaffer and Cox
Broadcasting. Petitioners cannot be heard at this stage to
say that “there should be no trial at all,” because the
Supreme Court of Alabama has expressly preserved their
right to renew and substantiate their challenge to the
jurisdiction of the Alabama courts over them. Little or no
judicial economy could be gained by addressing Peti-
tioners’ arguments now, because a holding in their favor
would not avoid the need for a trial. There will be a trial in
any event against at least the remaining defendants. If this
Petition is denied, if the state trial court holds a trial and
enters a judgment against all the defendants, if Petitioners
appeal from that judgment, and if the Supreme Court of
Alabama holds that the trial court erred in continuing to
exercise jurisdiction over them, a reversal of the judgment
against Petitioners would not require a reversal of the
judgment against the other defendants. Thus, an erroneous
assertion of jurisdiction over Petitioners through a trial on
the merits would not require a retrial as to other defen-
dants. In short, as the Court said in Jefferson v. Tarrant City,
supra, Petitioners have simply come here “too soon.” 522
io. Ot 7.

Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958), did not present
any question of finality. The procedural holding that was
alluded to in Kulko, supra, at n. 7, was stated in the
following paragraph:

The question of our jurisdiction was postponed

until the hearing of the merits. The appeal is

predicated upon the contention that as applied to

the facts of this case the Florida statute providing

for constructive service is contrary to the Federal

Constitution. 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2). But in the state

court appellants (the “beneficiaries”) did not

object that the statute was invalid as applied, but
rather that the effect of the state court’s exercise

of jurisdiction in the circumstances of this case

deprived them of a right under the Federal Con-

stitution. Accordingly, we are without jurisdic-
tion of the appeal and it must be dismissed.

. . . Treating the papers whereon appeal was

22

taken as a petition for certiorari, 28 U.S.C. § 2103,

certiorari is granted.
357 U.S. at 244 (footnote and citations omitted). Thus, the
only issue depended on differences between appellate
jurisdiction and certiorari jurisdiction and the Hanson
Court in no way implied that certiorari will lie to review a
non-final ruling from a state court. The Florida decree at
issue in Hanson declared that the beneficiaries took the
disputed property under the will; the Delaware decree
declared that the appointees under the power of appoint-
ment in the trust took the property. There is no indication
that either decree suffered any lack of finality. The only
question was whether the Florida decree was void for lack
of in rem jurisdiction over the corpus of the Delaware trust
or in personam jurisdiction over the Delaware trustee.
Thus, the citation to Hanson in Kulko, 436 U.S. 84, at 90, n.
4, does not support the exercise of jurisdiction in Kulko
over a non-final judgment.

Nor does May v. Anderson, 345 U.S. 528 (1953), involve
any question as to finality of the judgment below. An Ohio
probate court, “proceeding to the merits of the case ,” id.,
at 529, granted a father’s petition for a writ of habeas
corpus and ordered the mother to give up custody of the
couple’s children, rejecting the mother’s argument that the
ex parte Wisconsin divorce decree obtained by the father
was void for lack of in personam jurisdiction over her. The
intermediate appellate court of Ohio affirmed, and the
Supreme Court of Ohio denied review. Id., at 529-530. As
in Hanson, the Court “treated the appeal as a petition for a
writ of certiorari.” Id., at 530. The attempt to invoke appel-
late jurisdiction was based on an Ohio statute upon which
“neither the Court of Appeals nor the Supreme Court of
Ohio relied.” Id. This again provides no support for the
apparent conclusion in Kulko that certiorari jurisdiction
will lie to review a non-final judgment even though appel-
late jurisdiction will not lie.

Close study of the pertinent cases along the lines
suggested above supports at least a prudential decision
not to entertain certiorari in this case. Thus, even if this

23

Court disagrees with the argument in Part I above that the
opinion below is not final so as to support review, the fact
that in a number of these cases the issue came up only
after a trial on the merits suggests that this Court should
decline to exercise jurisdiction. The correctness of that
conclusion will be even more evident after the Court con-
siders the arguments in the following section of this brief.

III]. Petitioners Make No Showing Of A Due Process
Violation

Even if the foregoing jurisdictional and prudential
concerns did not exist, there would be no issue here wor-
thy of issuing a writ of certiorari. The decision of the
Supreme Court of Alabama is consistent with this Court’s
precedents, and there is no need for this Court to engage
in academic, abstract rumination about potential tests for
“arising out of” or “related to,” as the Petition asks the
Court to do.

The posture of this matter affects its merits as well as
the Court’s jurisdiction. There was no evidentiary hearing;
the circuit judge simply heard oral arguments of counsel
on this motion and others at a motion docket. Petitioners
and Borka had recently submitted affidavits that did little
more than deny frequent physical presence in Alabama,
and Plaintiff had not conducted discovery on this question
prior to the hearing. The trial court denied the motions to
dismiss, apparently agreeing with Plaintiff’s position that
the affidavits insufficiently denied contacts with Alabama
and that the uncontradicted allegations of the Complaint
were sufficient to support the exercise of personal jurisdic-
tion, at least in the posture then presented.

The Supreme Court of Alabama agreed, applying the
following standard of review:

In considering a Rule 12(b)(2), Ala.R.Civ.P.,
motion to dismiss for want of personal jurisdic-
tion, a court must consider as true the allegations
of the plaintiff’s complaint not controverted by

the defendant's affidavits, Robinson v. Giamarco &
Bill, P.C., 74 F.3d 253 (11th Cir. 1996), and Cable/

i

o Be ae ced DE Sea MC oe

24

Home Communication Corp. v. Network Productions,
Inc., 902 F.2d 829 (11th Cir. 1990), and “where the
plaintiff’s complaint and the defendant's affi-
davits conflict, the court must construe all rea-
sonable inferences in favor of the plaintiff.”
Robinson, 74 F.3d at 255 (quoting Madara v. Hall,
916 F.2d 1510, 1514 (11th Cir. 1990). “For pur-
poses of this appeal [on the issue of in personam
jurisdiction] the facts as alleged by the. .
plaintiff will be considered in a light most favor-
able to him [or her].” Duke v. Young, 496 So.2d 37,
38 (Ala. 1986).

(App. A to Petition, p. 3a.) Thus, the question becomes
whether Petitioners can show constitutional error despite
the “allegations of the plaintiff’s complaint not contro-
verted by the defendants’ affidavits, . . . constru[ing] all
reasonable inferences in favor of the plaintiff.” Id.

Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, supra, provides ample
support for the conclusion that in personam jurisdiction
exists here. The following paragraph from Burger King is
especially pertinent:

We have noted several reasons why a forum
legitimately may exercise personal jurisdiction
over a nonresident who “purposefully directs”
his activities toward forum residents. A State
generally has a “manifest interest” in providing
its residents with a convenient forum for redress-
ing injuries inflicted by out-of-state actors.
. . . Moreover, where individuals “purposefully
derive benefit” from their interstate activ-
ities, . . . it may well be unfair to allow them to
escape having to account in other States for con-
sequences that arise proximately from such activ-
ities; the Due Process Clause may not readily be
wielded as a territorial shield to avoid interstate
obligations that have been voluntarily assumed.
And because “modern transportation and com-
munications have made it much less burdensome
for a party sued to defend himself in a State

pees erty Set Sees ee nee

25

where he engages in economic activity,” it usu-

ally will not be unfair to subject him to the

burdens of litigating in another forum for dis-

putes relating to such activity.
471 US. at 473-74 (citations omitted). Given the uncon-
tested allegations of the Amended Complaint in this case,
the foregoing passage from Burger King provides more
than enough authority for a finding that the Supreme
Court of Alabama was absolutely correct to deny Peti-
tioners’ writ of mandamus.

But there is more support in Burger King for the
Supreme Court of Alabama’s decision. There the Court
held that the reasonableness of jurisdiction may be estab-
lished “upon a lesser showing of minimum contacts than
would otherwise be required”:

Thus courts in “appropriate case[s]” may evalu-

ate “the burden on the defendant,” “the forum

State’s interest in adjudicating the dispute,” “the

plaintiff's interest in obtaining convenient and

effective relief,” “the interstate judicial system's
interest in obtaining the most efficient resolution

of controversies,” and the “shared interest of the

several States in furthering fundamental substan-

tive social policies.” . . . These considerations

sometimes serve to establish the reasonableness

of jurisdiction upon a lesser showing of mini-

mum contacts than would otherwise be required.
Burger King, 471 U.S. at 476-77 (citations omitted). These
principles refute Petitioners’ argument that the Supreme
Court of Alabama erred in considering the reprehensibility
of their alleged conduct in determining whether “a lesser
showing of minimum contacts than would otherwise be
required” properly supported the Alabama court’s asser-
tion of in personam jurisdiction over them. Alabama has an
interest in adjudicating the dispute as a means of protect-
ing its citizens against a defendant from a nearby state
whose highly culpable wrongdoing has caused death in
Alabama. “The interstate judicial system’s interest in
obtaining the most efficient resolution of controversies,”
id., applies because Alabama has jurisdiction over

26

numerous other joint tortfeasors. These interests “establish
the reasonableness of jurisdiction upon a lesser showing of
minimum contacts than would otherwise be required.” Id.
The Supreme Court of Alabama has therefore properly
relied on the principles established by this Court, and
Petitioners’ assertion that “the Supreme Court of Alabama
has taken an extreme position” (Petition, p. 1) is simply
wrong.

In Burger King, this Court upheld the district court’s
assertion of jurisdiction over defendants Rudzewicz and
MacShara despite their having few or no physical ties to
Florida. Noting that MacShara had been there for a single
brief training course, but “for all that appears from the
record, [Rudzewicz] has never even visited there,” id., at
479, the Court rejected the Eleventh Circuit’s categorical
holding that MacShara’s trip to Florida on Burger King
business could not be attributed to Rudzewicz:

We have previously noted that when commercial

activities are “carried on in behalf of” an out-of-

state party those activities may sometimes be

ascribed to the party, . . . at least where he is a

‘primary participan(t]’ in the enterprise and has

acted purposefully in directing those activ-

ities. . . . Because MacShara’s matriculation at

Burger King University is not pivotal to the dis-

position of this case, we need not resolve the

permissible bounds of such attribution. -
Id., at 480 n. 22 (citations omitted). Here, McInnis was Vice
President of Sales, and Shingleton was Regional Director
of Sales. Shingleton’s four trips to Alabama to sell Snap
products could thus arguably be attributed to McInnis.
However, because physical presence in Alabama is not
required to hold these two perpetrators liable for their acts
directed toward Alabama, the Court “need not resolve the
permissible bounds of such attribution.” It suffices that the
Complaint and Petitioners’ affidavits permit an inference
that they directed sales efforts toward Alabama, that the
fix a flat that killed Mr. Daniel was sold in Alabama, and
that the sale was related to Defendants’ sales efforts. It
follows that the Supreme Court of Alabama was quite

Pos

oneee ett ee

27

correct to conclude that the assertion of in personam juris-
diction over McInnis and Shingleton was proper.®

Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783 (1984), also supports the
Supreme Court of Alabama’s decision, as it affirmed asser-
tions of jurisdiction in California over an editor and a
reporter of the National Enquirer who were residents of
Florida. Shirley Jones sued them and the Enquirer in Cali-
fornia, alleging they had libeled her. Petitioner South, the
reporter, traveled to California frequently, but denied by
affidavit that he visited California to research the relevant
article. Id., at 785, n. 4. The Court expressly did not rely for
its holding on the alleged visit. Id. Petitioner Calder was
also a Florida resident, but had been to California only
twice - once on a pleasure trip before the publication of
the article and once afterwards to testify in an unrelated
matter. Id., at 786. He had “no other relevant contacts with

8 The immateriality of Petitioners’ affidavits is highlighted
by the following holding from Burger King:

Jurisdiction in these circumstances may not be
avoided merely because the defendant did not
physically enter the forum State. . . . [I]t is an
inescapable fact of modern commercial life that a
substantial amount of business is transacted solely by
mail and wire communications across state lines, thus
obviating the need for physical presence within a
State in which business is conducted. So long as a
commercial actor’s efforts are “purposefully
directed” toward residents of another State, we have
consistently rejected the notion that an absence of
physical contacts can defeat personal jurisdiction
there.

Burger King, 471 U.S. at 476 (citations omitted; emphasis in
original). As “commercial actor[s],” id., Petitioners’ efforts to
market their most profitable product to the residents of
numerous states, including Alabama, surely amount to
purposeful availment sufficient to confer personal jurisdiction
on Alabama courts.

28

California.” Id. The California Court of Appeal nonethe-
less:

concluded that a valid basis for jurisdiction exis-

ted on the theory that petitioners intended to,

and did, cause tortious injury to respondent in

California. The fact that the actions causing the

effects in California were performed outside the

State did not prevent the State from asserting

jurisdiction over a cause of action arising out of

those effects.
Id., at 787. This Court approved “of the ‘effects’ tests
employed by the California court.” Id., at 787, n. 6. The
fact that Petitioners’ actions causing an effect in Alabama
may have occurred outside Alabama do not prevent Ala-
bama from asserting jurisdiction over a cause of action
arising out of that effect.

In Keeton v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 770 (1984),
the Court held: “Respondent's regular circulation of mag-
azines in the forum State is sufficient to support an
assertion of jurisdiction in a libel action based on the
contents of the magazine.” Id., at 773-74. The same is true
of Snap and its principals, whose regular sales of fix a flat
in Alabama suffice to support an assertion of jurisdiction
in a wrongful death action based on the explosion of the
contents of fix a flat, for “[rjegular monthly sales of
thousands of [products] cannot by any stretch of the
imagination be characterized as random, isolated, or for-
tuitous.” Id., at 774. It can be inferred from the allegation
that fix a flat constituted fifty percent of the revenue of
Snap that substantial numbers of sales occurred in Ala-
bama at the relevant times. Petitioners, as the persons
individually responsible for the creation and sale of this
dangerous product, cannot be said to have established
only “random, isolated, or fortuitous” contacts with Ala-
bama.

In any event, “it is ‘fair’ to compel respondent to
defend a multi-state lawsuit in New Hampshire seeking

ee ht SE BABI Nei Ae Met ae le Me Bat

PE AAA a CRG FTI AL tO

nm thay, Otte Gey -

29

nationwide damages for all copies of the five issues in
question, even though only a small portion of those copies
were distributed in New Hampshire.” Id., at 775. Thus, even
if only a small percentage of the sales of fix a flat
occurred in Alabama, Keeton supports a holding that
efforts to promote those sales support the exercise of in
personam jurisdiction over Petitioners. This holds true
even if only part of their sales efforts were directed at
Alabama: “But respondent is carrying on a ‘part of its
general business’ in New Hampshire, and that is suffi-
cient to support jurisdiction when the cause of action
arises out of the very activity being conducted, in part, in
New Hampshire.” Id., at 779-80. Petitioners have not
denied making any efforts to sell fix a flat in Alabama;
they have only denied repeated trips to Alabama that
directly resulted in sales of fix a flat in Alabama. (App. A
to Petition, pp. 8a-10a.) By negative inference, it can be
concluded that they made efforts directed toward cus-
tomers in Alabama, even if only from their offices in
North Carolina, which directly or indirectly resulted in
sales in Alabama. Thus, the record supports a conclusion
that Petitioners have conducted, in part, their tortious
activity in, or at least directed toward, Alabama.

In footnote 13, the Keeton Court held that the inquiry
would remain “open upon remand” as to whether “Larry
Flynt, the publisher, editor and owner of the magazine,”
was subject to jurisdiction in New Hampshire. Keeton, 465
U.S. at 781, n. 13. Because the Court of Appeals found no
jurisdiction over the corporation, “it did not inquire into
the propriety of jurisdiction over” Flynt. Id. The allega-
tions against Petitioners here of personal tortious
involvement in knowingly directing this dangerous prod-
uct at the national market and Alabama in particular help
establish “the propriety of jurisdiction.” Id.

30
CONCLUSION

Petitioners could have said to themselves, “we better
not sell fix a flat in Alabama because if we kill someone
there, we might get sued.” They could have prevented
Snap from marketing fix a flat in Alabama. Instead, Peti-
tioners took affirmative action toward selling fix a flat in
Alabama. They have admitted personal presence in Ala-
bama to conduct sales efforts for the corporations for
which they were sales executives and later chief execu-
tives. They have not denied conducting other sales efforts
directed toward Alabama. This record would not support
a conclusion by this Court that the trial court and the
Supreme Court of Alabama manifestly erred in holding
that McInnis and Shingleton had not shown an absence of
sufficient contacts with Alabama. In any event, there is no
final judgment presented for review, so this Court cannot,
or < least should not, exercise jurisdiction over this Peti-
tion.

Respectfully submitted,

JoserpH M. Brown, Jr. THomaSs R. DOLVEN

Davip G. WirtEs, JR. — Dewuirst & Weeks, LLP
Counsel of Record 950 South Cherry Street

Georce M. Dent, III Suite 600

CUNNINGHAM, Bounps, YANCE, Denver, Colorado 80246
CROWDER & BROWN (303) 757-0003

1601 Dauphin Street

P. O. Box 66705
Mobile, Alabama 36660
(251) 471-6191

Counsel for Respondent
April 5, 2002

App. 1

APPENDIX A

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA

PAMELA ALICE LITTLE
DANIEL, Administratrix of the
Estate of JOE ED DANIEL,

Deceased,

Plaintiff,
VS: CIVIL ACTION
PANDORA MANUFACTURING, AMENDED
INC., formerly known as SNAP COMPLAINT

PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS,
INC.; HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES,
INC.; PAUL HUGHETT;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND
ASSOCIATES, LTD.; MONTFORT
A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY
CONSULTING ENGINEERS,
INC.; JAMES C. DAHN;
PENNZOIL QUAKER STATE
COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL
PRODUCTS COMPANY);
NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES,
INC.; SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL
BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON;
AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.;
SWEAT TIRE COMPANY
INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E
and/or F, the person, firm or
corporation who formulated,
manufactured, sold, labeled,

NO:CV-98-1113 =
(Filed Jun. 2, 1999)

* * #* #& # @ & © & &@ H—cMH_ He RF RR Re He He HR Re RBRQHRhmLMHMDUDUULUHDUO HR SE He HB HR HB SB

App. 2

packaged, supplied and/or
distributed the Fix-A-Flat Non-
Explosive Formua aerosol tire
sealant/inflator involved in the
accident made the basis of this
suit; G, H, I, J, K and/or L, the
person, firm or corporation who
packaged the Fix-a-Flat Non-
Explosive Formula aerosol tire
sealant/inflator involved in the
accident made the basis of this
suit; M, N, O, P, QO and/or R,
the person, firm or corporation
who modified, converted and/or
altered the tire and rim
assembly involved in the
accident made the basis of this
suit: all of whose true names
and legal identities are otherwise
unknown to the Plaintiff at this
time, but will be substituted by
amendment when ascertained,
individually and jointly,

e @ 2° 6 @ ¢ 2S? BS 2S BSB EB BD SB BS. SB So - 2 ES

Defendants.

GENERAL ALLEGATIONS

1. Plaintiff is a resident of the State of Alabama.

2. Defendant Nationwide Industries, Inc. is the cor-
porate predecessor to defendant Snap Products, Inc.
which is the corporate predecessor to defendant Pandora
Manufacturing, Inc. These defendants are, or have been,
residents of the state of North Carolina, with a principal
place of business located as 4117 North Roxboro Road,
Suite 201, Durham, North Carolina.

App. 3

3. Defendant Pennzoil - Quaker State Company (f/
k/a Pennzoil Products Company) is a resident of the state
of Texas which owns, and is a corporate successor to,
defendants Nationwide Industries, Inc.; Snap Products,
Inc.; Snap Automotive Products, Inc.; and Pandora Manu-
facturing, Inc.

4. Defendants Sam McInnis (“McInnis”), Michael
Borka (“Borka”), and Tim Shingleton (“Shingileton”)
were, at all times relevant hereto, residents of the state of
North Carolina and were either employed in managerial
capacities, or were owners and/or officers of defendants
Nationwide Industries, Inc.; and/or Snap Products, Inc.;
and/or Snap Automotive Products, Inc.; and/or Pandora
Manufacturing, Inc. and in such capacities acted as agents
for the companies.

5. Defendant Snap Automotive Products, Inc. is 4
Delaware corporation with its principal residence located
in North Carolina.

6. Defendant Hughtone Industries, Inc.
(“Hughtone”) is a Florida corporation and defendant
Paul Hughett (“Hughett”) is an owner/ officer of the com-
pany who at all relevant times acted as an agent for
Hughtone.

7. Defendant Montfort A. Johnsen and Associates,
Ltd. (“Johnsen & Assoc.”) is an Illinois corporation and
defendant Montfort A. Johnsen (“Johnsen”) is an owner
and/or officer of the company who at all relevant times
acted as an agent for Johnsen & Assoc.

8. Defendant Safety Consulting Engineers, Inc.
(“SCE”) is an Illinois corporation and defendant James C.

App. 4

Dahn (“Dahn”) is an owner and/or officer and/or
employee of SCE who at all relevant times acted as an
agent for SCE.

9. Defendant Sweat Tire Company, Inc. is a resident
of the state of Alabama.

10. Defendant Aerofil Technologies, Inc. is a resi-
dent of the state of Missouri and at all relevant times
hereto filled, packaged, and/or distributed the “fix a flat
NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” tire inflator product.

11. Atall times relevant hereto, defendants Pandora
Manufacturing, Inc., formerly known as Snap Products,
Inc.; Snap Products, Inc.; Snap Automotive Products, Inc.;
Pennzoil - Quaker State Company; and Nationwide
Industries, Inc. were engaged in the business of manufac-
turing and marketing an aerosol tire inflator product (“fix
a flat”) throughout the United States, including the state
of Alabama.

12. Since at least 1979, up until 1993, defendant
Nationwide Industries, Inc. (“Nationwide”) marketed
and sold the aerosol tire inflator product labeled “Snap
fix a flat.” In June 1993, Nationwide was sold and the
name of the company was changed to Snap Products, Inc.
(“Snap”).

13. Defendant Sam McInnis (“McInnis”) was first
employed with Nationwide in March, 1990 and he contin-
ued with the company through the 1993 change to Snap
Products, Inc.

14. Mr. McInnis became familiar with the “fix a flat”
aerosol tire inflator product when he started with Nation-
wide in 1990 as sales manager. Mr. McInnis was put in

App. 5

charge of everyday operations for Snap in the summer of
1994, and he and defendants Borka and Shingleton even-
tually bought the company in April 1995 by forming
defendant Snap Automotive Products, Inc.

15. The “fix a flat” aerosol tire inflator product is,
and has been, the single largest revenue generating prod-
uct sold by Nationwide/Snap, and of approximately 70
company products, sales of the “fix a flat” product consti-
tute approximately half the company’s revenue.

16. As of 1990, when Mr. McInnis became director
of marketing for Nationwide, the “fix a flat” aerosol tire
inflator product was the major product Nationwide was
marketing.

17. During the 1980s, Nationwide marketed the
“Snap fix a flat” aerosol tire inflator product which then
contained flammable propane/butane propellants. The
propellant in a tire inflator serves to inflate the tire when
the product is transferred into a tire. The sealant material
in the tire inflator is intended to be transferred into a tire
to plug a hole.

18. The propane/butane propelled “fix a flat” prod-
uct (first generation product) was sold through 1989.

19. The first generation “fix a flat” tire inflator with
the propane/butane propellants was implicated in
numerous tire explosion accidents where claims were
made that the flammable propellants from the product
ignited when subjected to tire rim welding activity per-
formed on a tire rim with a tire attached that contained
the flammable gas from the “fix a flat” product.

App. 6

20. Tire explosion accident claims also implicated
the first generation “fix a flat” product in connection with
tire plug repairs involving a tire reamer, or file, which
created friction and/or sparks that ignited the flammable
gas from the “fix a flat” product.

21. In response to the first generation “fix a flat”
tire explosion accidents involving rim welding and tire
reaming activity, Nationwide took action in 1989-1990 to
(1) properly label the existing first generation propane/
butane “fix a flat” product with graphic transferable
warning labels advising the product user to transfer a
warning sticker from the can to the tire to inform anyone
coming in contact with the tire that it contained a flam-
mable/explosive gas; (2) move toward designing out the
flammable/explosive risk with a flammable propellant
tire inflator product by developing a second generation
non-flammable propellant hydrochlorofluorocarbon
(“HCFC”) product; and (3) disseminate safety bulletins
nationwide to tire repair personnel to inform them of the
flammable/explosive risks associated with flammable
propellant aerosol tire inflator products.

22. The transferable tire explosion warning labels
for the “fix a flat” product were utilized during the last
year of the first generation product’s marketing and sale
in 1989.

23. The late first generation “fix a flat” product
labeling advised the consumer that the product was
“Extremely Flammable” and contained propane/butane
explosive gases which could cause severe personal injury
if tire reaming or rim welding occurred on tires or rims
with the “fix a flat” product contained in the tires. The

\

App. 7

warnings also stated the need to remove the tire from the
rim, before performing any repairs, to avoid the explo-
sion risks associated with the flammable tire inflator.

24. At the time Nationwide was first marketing its
second generation HCFC non-flammable propellant “fix a
flat” tire inflator product in the 1990-1991 time frame, the
United States government was considering banning com-
petitor flammable propellant tire inflator products,
regardless of the warnings labeling on the products,
because of tire explosion risks. Nationwide’s position at
that time was that the flammable propellant tire inflator
products should be banned because the second genera-
tion “fix a flat” non-flammable HCFC propellant technol-
ogy designed out the explosive risks normally associated
with flammable propellant tire inflator products.

25. In 1990-1991 when the second generation “fix a
flat” HCFC non-flammable propellant tire inflator prod-
uct was first marketed, Mr. McInnis, as sales manager
and “president” of Nationwide, used the non-flamma-
bility characteristics of the second generation “fix a flat”
product as a competitive marketing advantage in differ-
entiating the non-flammable second generation “fix a
flat” product from the flammable propellant competitor
tire inflator products.

26. As of 1991, Mr. McInnis became successful in
convincing retail customers not to purchase the flamma-
| ble propellant competitor tire inflator products that had
graphic tire explosion warning stickers attached to the
front of the cans.

27. On December 18, 1991, while Mr. McInnis was
touting the safety aspects of the second generation non-

i

App. 8

flammable HCFC propellant “fix a flat” product, Mr.
McInnis tested a competitor tire inflator product manu-
factured by “STP.” In testing the STP product, Mr.
McInnis coneluded that the STP product was flammable
and was comparable to the propane/butane propellant
tire inflator products.

28. On March 5, 1992, Nationwide and Mr. McInnis
determined that the “STP” tire inflator product, which
was labeled as a “non-explosive formula” product, uti-
lized flammable/explosive dimethyl ether (“DME”) as
the propellant.

29. On March 5, 1992, Nationwide and Mr. McInnis
acknowledged that DME is a highly flammable chemical
that poses a dangerous fire and explosion hazard. Nation-
wide and Mr. McInnis also acknowledged that STP was
compounding the explosion hazard associated with the
STP DME tire inflator by labeling the product as a “non-
explosive formula” because such labeling may lead some
mechanics to disregard a need to remove the tire from the
rim before performing repairs.

30. As of March 1992, Nationwide and Mr. McInnis
understood that the “fix a flat” HCFC non-flammable
second generation product was superior, with regard to
safety, to the STP DME product as the “fix a flat” second
generation product would not combust with any level of
dilution with air inside a tire, unlike the STP DME prod--
uct.

31. By at least 1992, the graphic and ostensible tire
explosion transferable warning labels became the custom
and standard in the aerosol tire inflator business for

flammable propellant tire inflator products. The warnings

App. 9

labeling existed because of the foreseeability that welding
on a tire rim, with an attached tire containing a flamma-
ble gas tire inflator product, could ignite the flammable
gas and cause a tire explosion.

32. As of 1992, Nationwide and Mr. McInnis under-
stood that major retail customers preferred to purchase a
non-flammable tire inflator product, as opposed to a
flammable propellant product that could explode a tire.

33. As of 1993, Nationwide/Snap, and Mr. McInnis,
felt very strongly about the safety aspects associated with
the non-flammable HCFC second generation “fix a flat”
product. In 1993, Nationwide/Snap and Mr. McInnis
opined that manufacturers of flammable propellant tire
inflators were irresponsible, and deceitful, regardless of
warnings labeling utilized, and were sacrificing public
safety in the interest of corporate profits by ignoring a
serious public safety risk associated with flammable pro-
pellant tire inflator products.

34. In 1993, the United States government, under
the Clean Air Act, Title 42 U.S.C. Section 7671i(d)(1)(A)
notified Nationwide/Snap that the HCFC second genera-
tion “fix a flat” propellant was being phased out because
it depleted the atmospheric ozone layer. The govern-
mental order banning use of HCFC propellants for prod-
ucts such as tire inflators was to take effect at the end of
1993.

35. Because of the impending governmental ban on
the second generation “fix a flat” HCFC non-flammable
propellant, Nationwide/Snap, and Mr. McInnis, in July of
1993 evaluated potential propellants for a replacement

App. 10

(third generation) “fix a flat” product to be sold starting
in 1994.

36. In July of 1993, Mr. McInnis considered use of a
propellant known as “134A” for the third generation “fix
a flat” product which was to be sold starting in 1994.
134A is a non-flammable and non-explosive propellant
which could be used in a tire inflator product. However,
Mr. McInnis ruled out 134A for use in the upcoming third
generation “fix a flat” tire inflator because of 134A’s cost.

37. As of July 1993, Mr. McInnis advocated, and
chose, use of DME for the upcoming third generation “fix
a flat” product, to be sold starting in 1994, because DME
was significantly less expensive than non-flammable
134A.

38. The third generation “fix a flat” tire inflator
product, with the DME propellant, was first marketed
and sold in early 1994. The product was labeled: “NEW
fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA.” It was Mr.
Mcinnis’ decision to put the “NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA” label on the front of the third generation “fix a
flat” DME product.

39. During 1990-1993, while Nationwide/Snap and
Mr. McInnis were marketing their second generation
HCFC non-flammable propellant “fix a flat” product, the
company spent significant sums of money educating the
public, and the tire inflator industry, as to the safety
benefits of a non-flammable propellant tire inflator prod-
uct in view of foreseeable rim welding and tire reaming
activity.

Bitte 6:2 saree

a eer

Oe tate heter age ute Pe a

App. 11

40. Despite the fact that the third generation “fix a
flat” product contained the flammable/explosive DME
propellant, the product was labeled as a “NON-EXPLO-
SIVE FORMULA” because it was important for Snap’s
sales/marketing activities to continue projecting the
product as “safe,” “non-flammable,” and “non-explosive”
the same way the truly non-explosive second generation
HCFC “fix a flat” had been marketed.

41. At the time the third generation “fix a flat” DME
propellant tire inflator product was first marketed in
early 1994, the STP DME tire inflator Nationwide/Snap
previously tested in 1991 and 1992 (labeled as a “non-
explosive formula”) had been recalled from the market
because of safety issues associated with tire explosion

accidents

#2. On March 22, 1994, shortly after the third gener-

mn DME “fix a flat” product was first marketed, one of

Snaps principal competitors, Radiator Specialty Com-

pany | KSC") communicated to Snap, and Mr. McInnis,

at the third generation “fix a flat” DME product was

explosive and was mislabeled as a “NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA.”

43. On March 31, 1994, Mr. McInnis, at the invita-
tion of RSC, visited RSC to meet with their representa-

tives to discuss flammability/explosivity issues
associated with the “fix a flat” DME product. At the
meeting with RSC personnel on March 31, 1994, Mr.
McInnis acknowledged to RSC that the DME “fix a flat”
product was, in fact, explosive and may have to be re-
called, which could cost millions of dollars, could cost
Mr. McInnis his job, or could put Snap out of business.

App. 12

44. Mr. McInnis also stated to RSC representatives
on March 31, 1994, that Snap carried a $25,000,000 insur-
ance policy covering the company for product liability
risks.

45. On April 11, 1994, Mr. McInnis acknowledged to
other Snap personnel that he agreed with the RSC find-
ings that the DME “fix a flat” product was flammable and
explosive. However, Mr. McInnis, also on April 11, 1994,
had at least one attorney write to RSC threatening RSC
with a lawsuit for allegedly falsely claiming that the “fix
a flat” DME product was flammable/explosive.

46. In response to the RSC claims that the “fix a
flat” DME product was mislabeled as a “NON-EXPLO-
SIVE FORMULA,” Mr. McInnis sought to have the prod-
uct selectively tested. On April 21, 1994, an engineering
firm known as “Dustech” evaluated the “fix a flat” prod-
uct at Mr. McInnis’ request and concluded that use of the
DME propellant in the “fix a flat” product was concep-
tually similar to the use of propane regarding fire/explo-
sion considerations. Dustech, through chemist William
Cruice, confirmed that the third generation DME “fix a
flat” “NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” was, in fact, explo-
sive and the test results were given to Mr. McInnis.

47. On or about April 25, 1994, Mr. McInnis, along
with “consultlants” Montfort A. Johnsen (“Johnsen”), and
Paul Hughett (“Hughett”) attended a meeting in [Kansas
City, Missouri, with a customer (Western Auto Parts
Company). Johnsen and Hughett had helped design and
develop the third generation DME “fix a flat” product.

48. At the meeting with Western Auto on or about
April 25, 1994, Mr. McInnis, with consultants Hughett

App. 13

and Johnsen, tried to sell Western Auto the DME “fix a
flat” product. However, Western Auto informed McInnis,
Johnsen, and Hughett that Western Auto’s testing of the
“fix a flat” revealed that the product was flammable/
explosive and Western Auto would not purchase such a
product.

49. In response to Western Auto’s concerns regard-
ing the flammability /explosivity of the DME fix a flat
product. Mr. McInnis informed Western Auto that if any
accidents occurred involving the DME fix a flat product
Snap would fully indemnify and reimburse Western Auto
for any liability incurred under the provisions of Snap’s
$25,000,000 product liability insurance policy. Western
Auto decided not to do any business with Snap.

50. On or about May 12, 1994, Snap and/or Mr.
McInnis had tire explosion testing performed by defen-
dants Hughtone, SCE, Hughett, and Dahn on the “fix a
flat” DME product. On or about May 12, 1994, various
mixtures of the “fix a flat” DME tire inflator product were
inserted into Ford Explorer tire and rim assemblies to be
ignited by a remote control spark plug igniter. This test-
ing revealed that certain mixtures of the “fix a flat” DME
product with air in a tire were explosive and could propel
the Ford Explorer tire and rim assemblies as much as 252
feet into the air.

51. Despite test results by Hughtone and SCE in the
spring of 1994 indicating the DME “fix a flat” product
was explosive, Hughtone, SCE, Johnsen & Assoc.,
Hughett, Dahn, Johnsen, and Snap conspired to selec-
tively omit tire explosion test sequences from testing
reports which were sent to Snap’s customers and the

App. 14

Consumer Product Safety Commission. The selectively
edited testing reports created the illusion that the “fix a
flat” DME product was safe and non-explosive.

52. On October 5, 1994, Mr. McInnis hired a chemi-
cal engineer, Reese Howle, to perform additional remote
control tire explosion tests on various mixtures of the “fix
a flat” DME product with air inside tires. This testing was
performed to simulate rim welding activity to determine
whether mixtures of the “fix a flat” product with air
inside a tire could explode tires.

53. On October 7, 1994, Reese Howle performed
remote control tire explosion tests which confirmed that
the “fix a flat” DME product could violently explode a
tire. Mr. Howle then reported the test results to Mr.
McInnis on this same day.

54. Despite Snap’s knowledge of the explosive char-
acteristics of the third generation DME “fix a flat” prod-
uct, Snap and its “consultants” (Hughett, Johnsen, and
Dahn) told concerned retail customers in 1994 that the
“fix a flat” DME product had been thoroughly tested for
safety, and that the product could not explode tires.

55. Because Snap utilized the less expensive DME
propellant for the third generation “fix a flat” product (as
opposed to the more costly 134A non-flammable pro-
pellant), and because Snap labeled their DME tire inflator
as a “NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA,” Snap was able to
enjoy a competitive cost marketing advantage over com-
petitors who utilized the non-flammable 134a propellant.

56. In April 1995, defendants McInnis, Borka, and
Shingleton formed Snap Automotive Products, Inc., and

Se

App. 15 a

purchased Snap Products, Inc. from the then owners of
the company, the “Bishop Estate” in Hawaii.

57. At the time defendants McInnis, Borka, and
Shingleton formed Snap Automotive Products, Inc., and
bought Snap Products, Inc. from the “Bishop Estate,”
_these defendants knew the DME “fix a flat” product-was
explosive and they had no intention to recall, or relabel,
the product regarding flammability/explosivity risks.

58. On November 21, 1995, James Bergey-Lyon
injected Snap’s “NEW fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA” tire inflator product into a partially deflated
tubeless tire.

59. Subsequent to injecting the-Snap “fix a flat
NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” tire inflator product into
a partially deflated tire, Mr. Lyon was misled by Snap’s
label of non-explosiveness to believe that he did not need
to remove the tire from the rim before he welded on the
rim.

60. On November 21, 1995, James Bergey-Lyon was
seriously injured in a tire explosion accident resulting
from welding activity on a tire rim which ignited the
DME flammable gas from the “NEW fix a flat NON-
EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” product.

61. Snap, McInnis, Shingleton, and Borka subse-
quently learned of Mr. Lyon’s accident in the spring or
summer of 1996, but chose not to relabel or recall the “fix
a flat” product labeled as containing a “NON-EXPLO-
SIVE FORMULA.” These defendants also received infor-
mation from Mr. Lyon’s expert witness’ reports further

App. 16

confirming that the “fix a flat” DME product was explo-
sive and mislabeled.

62. On April 12, 1996, a second injurious rim-weld-
ing tire explosion accident occurred in Arizona involving
an individual named Mark Malinkovich when Mr. Mal-
inkovich was misled by the “NON-EXPLOSIVE” label on
the “fix a flat” DME tire inflator product and his welding
activity ignited the explosive propellant.

63. After learning of the additional tire explosion
accident in Arizona, Snap and its principals, McInnis,
Borka, and Shingleton, chose not to recall or relabel the
third generation “fix a flat” DME product labeled as a
“NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA.”

64. On October 1, 1996, an individual named Gary
Olson sustained serious injuries in a rim welding tire
explosion accident in Sandstone, Minnesota, when he
welded on a tire rim with a tire attached that contained a
flammable mixture of Snap’s “fix a flat” NON-EXPLO-
SIVE FORMULA” DME tire inflator product.

65. At the time of Mr. Olson’s accident on October
1, 1996, Mr. Olson was misled by defendants’ labeling of
the “fix a flat” product into believing that he did not
otherwise need to remove the tire from the rim before
commencing rim welding activity.

66. As a result of learning of Mr. Olson’s accident,
defendants Snap, McInnis, Borka, and Shingleton made
no effort to recall the dangerous DME “fix a flat,” or to
place any information on the product that it contained an
explosive gas.

App. 17

67. On or about June 4, 1997, Joe Ed Daniel,
attempted to affix a small metal block, or lug, to a motor
grader rim with a tire attached which had been previ-
ously inflated with two cans of the DME “fix a flat NON-
EXPLOSIVE FORMULA’ tire inflator product.

68. Mr. Daniel, while performing a brief tacking
repair to affix the metal block to the motor grader tire
rim, was killed when the flammable DME propellant
from the “fix a flat” product ignited and propelled the
tire and/or components of the rim assembly into him
thereby resulting in his being decapitated.

69. Mr. Daniel, and the individuals who previously
purchased and injected the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA’ tire inflator product into the subject motor
grader tire, were disarmed by the product's labeling into
believing the motor grader tire did not have to be
removed from the rim before the tacking procedure was
performed.

70. Less than two weeks prior to Mr. Daniel's acci-
dent, the subject motor grader tire had been converted
from a “tube type” tire to a “tubeless” tire by defendant
Sweat Tire Company, Inc.

71. In November 1997, McInnis, Shingleton, and
Borka sold Snap Products, Inc. to Pennzoil Products Com-
pany, n.k.a. Pennzoil - Quaker State Company.

72. In February 1999, Pennzoil - Quaker State Com-
pany announced a $25,000,000 nationwide recall of the
explosive DME “fix a flat” product and reformulated the
product by using the non-flammable 134A propellant
instead of explosive DME.

App. 18

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

Plaintiff, PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL, Admin-
istratrix of the Estate of JOE ED DANIEL, Deceased,
alleges against the Defendants PANDORA MANUFAC-
TURING, INC., formerly known as SNAP PRODUCTS,
INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE
PRODUCTS, INC.; HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.;
PAUL HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND
ASSOCIATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY
CONSULTING ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN;
PENNZOIL —- QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENN-
ZOIL PRODUCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUS-
TRIES, INC.; SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM
SHINGLETON; AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT
TIRE COMPANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H,
I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, and R, as follows:

73. Plaintiff realleges all of the allegations contained
in paragraphs 1 through 72 of the GENERAL ALLEGA-
TIONS as if set forth fully herein.

74. This action is brought pursuant to the Alabama
Extended Manufacturers Liability Doctrine.

75. The “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
part number S455K, DOT 2Q involved in the accident
made the basis of this suit was formulated, manufac-
tured, labeled, packaged, sold, supplied and/or distrib-
uted by the Defendants, PANDORA MANUFACTURING,
INC., formerly known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS,
INC.; HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL

App. 19

HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCI-
ATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CON-
SULTING ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENN-
ZOIL — QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL
PRODUCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES,
INC.; SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHIN-
GLETON; AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE
COMPANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, L, J,
K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, and R.

76. Prior to June 4, 1997, the Defendants PANDORA
MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly known as SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.; HUGHTONE INDUS-
TRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHN-
SEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A.
JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING ENGINEERS, INC.;
JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL - QUAKER STATE COM-
PANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PRODUCTS COMPANY);
NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.; SAM McINNIS;
MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON; AEROFIL
TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COMPANY INCOR-
PORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, L J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q,
and R, either formulated, manufactured, labeled, pack-
aged, sold, supplied and/or distributed the “fix a flat
NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” tire inflator/sealant
involved in the accident made the basis of this suit.

77. At the time of the accident made the basis of this
suit, the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” tire
inflator/sealant was in substantially the same condition
as it was when it originally left the control of the Defen-
dants, PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly
known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS,

App. 20

INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.;
HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING
ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL -
QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PROD-
UCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.;
SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON;
AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COM-
PANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, |, J, K, L,
M, N, O, P, QO, and R.

78. At the time the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” involved in the accident made the basis of
this suit was formulated, manufactured, labeled, pack-
aged, sold, supplied and/or distributed, it was in a defec-
tive and unreasonably dangerous condition and was not
reasonably safe for its intended uses.

79. The injuries and subsequent death of Joe Ed
Daniel were the direct and proximate result of the defec-
tive condition of the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA’” tire inflator/sealant.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff PAMELA ALICE LITTLE
DANIEL, Administratrix of the Estate of JOE ED DAN-
IEL, Deceased, demands judgment against the Defen-
dants PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly
known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS,
INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.;
HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING
ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL -

App. 21

QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PROD-
UCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.;
SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON;
AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COM-
PANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F,G, H, L, J, K, L,
M, N, O, P, Q, and R, separately and severally, for puni-
tive damages, for the wrongful death of the said Joe Ed
Daniel, plus interest and costs in excess of the jurisdic-
tional limits of this Court.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL, Administratrix of
the Estate of JOE ED DANIEL, Deceased, alleges against
the Defendants PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC.,
formerly known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS,
INC.; HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL
HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCI-
ATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CON-
SULTING ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENN-
ZOIL - QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL
PRODUCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES,
INC.; SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHIN-
GLETON; AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE
COMPANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H,L, J,
K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, and R, as follows:

80. Plaintiff realleges all of the allegations contained
in paragraphs 1 through 79 of the GENERAL ALLEGA-
TIONS and FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION as if fully set out

herein and further states as follows:

App. 22

81. Plaintiff further alleges that the injuries and
subsequent death of Joe Ed Daniel was proximately
caused by the negligence of the Defendants PANDORA
MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly known as SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.; HUGHTONE INDUS-
TRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHN-
SEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A.
JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING ENGINEERS, INC.;
JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL - QUAKER STATE COM-
PANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PRODUCTS COMPANY);
NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.; SAM McINNIS;
MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON; AEROFIL
TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COMPANY INCOR-
PORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q,
and R, in one or more of the following respects:

a. Negligently formulating and/or manufac-
turing the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” involved in the accident made
the basis of this suit;

b. Negligently selling, supplying and/or dis-
tributing the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” made the basis of this suit
when the Defendants knew or in the exer-
cise of reasonable care, should have known
that said product referred to above was ina
defective and unreasonably dangerous con-
dition;

c. Negligently selling, supplying and/or dis-
tributing a flammable and explosive product
when other non-flammable and non-explo-
sive formulations were available in the mar-
ketplace for the purpose of providing
emergency and/or temporary tire repairs;

App. 23

Negligently failing to provide adequate
warnings to the decedent and others sim-
ilarly situated as to inherent dangers associ-
ated with the use of “fix a flat NON-
EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” of which the
Defendants were aware;

Negligently failing to warn the decedent
and others similarly situated of the dan-
gerous, flammable and explosive propen-
sities of the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” made the basis of this suit;

Negligently labeling and/or packaging the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

Negligently failing to adequately test the
explosiveness and/or flammability of the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

Negligently failing to adequately test the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
to determine that it was safe for its intended
uses and purposes;

Negligently misrepresenting that the “fix a
flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” made
the basis of this suit was a Non-explosive
Formula, when the Defendants knew or
should have known of its dangerous flam-
mable and/or explosive characteristics;

Negligently continuing to manufacture, sell,
supply and/or distribute “fix a flat NON-
EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” after said product
was known by the Defendants to be flamma-
ble, explosive and unreasonably dangerous
for its intended uses;

App. 24

k. Negligently continuing to manufacture, sell,
supply and/or distribute “fix a flat NON-
EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” which was

extremely flammable and explosive after a
safe formulation was available;

l. Negligently failing to take appropriate mea-
sures to remedy the defective nature of the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

m. Negligently failing to remove and/or recall
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
from the marketplace after becoming aware
of the flammable, explosive and unreason-
ably dangerous propensities of the product.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff PAMELA ALICE LITTLE
DANIEL, Administratrix of the Estate of JOE ED DAN-
IEL, Deceased, demands judgment against the Defen-
dants PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly
known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS,
INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, FNC.;
HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING
ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL -
QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PROD-
UCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.;
SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON;
AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COM-
PANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, L, J, K, L,
M, N, O, P, Q, and R, separately and severally, for puni-
tive damages, for the wrongful death of the said Joe Ed
Daniel, plus interest and costs in excess of the jurisdic-
tional limits of this Court.

App. 25

THIRD CAUSE OF ACTION

Plaintiff PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL, Adminis-
tratrix of the Estate of JOE ED DANIEL, Deceased, alleges
against the Defendants PANDORA MANUFACTURING,
INC., formerly known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS,
INC.; HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL
HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCI-
ATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CON-
SULTING ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENN-
ZOIL —- QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL
PRODUCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES,
INC.; SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHIN-
GLETON; AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE
COMPANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, L, J,
K, L, M, N, O, P. QO, and R, as follows:

82. Plaintiff realleges all of the allegations contained
in paragraphs 1 through 81 of the GENERAL ALLEGA-
TIONS and FIRST AND SECOND CAUSES OF ACTION
as if set forth fully herein.

~

83. Plaintiff further alleges that the injuries and
subsequent death of the said Joe Ed Daniel was prox-
imately caused by the wanton conduct of the Defendants
PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly known
as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.;
SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.; HUGHTONE
INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT; MONTFORT A.
JOHNSEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A.
JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING ENGINEERS, INC.;
JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL - QUAKER STATE COM-
PANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PRODUCTS COMPANY);

App. 26 7

NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.; SAM McINNIS;
MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON; AEROFIL
TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COMPANY INCOR-
PORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q,
and R, in one or more of the following respects:

a. Wantonly formulating and/or manufactur-
ing the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA” involved in the accident made the
basis of this suit;

b. Wantonly selling, supplying and/or distrib-
uting the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” made the basis of this suit
when the Defendants knew or in the exer-
cise of reasonable care, should have known
that said product referred to above was in a
defective and unreasonably dangerous con-
dition;

c. Wantonly selling, supplying and/or distrib-
uting a flammable and explosive product
when other non-flammable and non-explo-
sive formulations were available in the mar-
ketplace for the purpose of providing
emergency and/or temporary tire repairs;

d. Wantonly failing to provide adequate warn-
ings to the decedent and others similarly
situated as to inherent dangers associated
with the use of “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” of which the Defendants were
aware;

e. Wantonly failing to warn the decedent and
others similarly situated of the dangerous,
flammable and explosive propensities of the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

ee

App. 27

Wantonly labeling and/or packaging the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

Wantonly failing to adequately test the
explosiveness and/or flammability of the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

Wantonly failing to adequately test the “fix
a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” to
determine that it was safe for its intended
uses and purposes;

Wantonly misrepresenting that the “Fix-
A-Flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit was a Non-explo-
sive Formula, when the Defendants knew or
should have known of its dangerous flam-
mable and/or explosive characteristics;

Wantonly continuing to manufacture, sell,
supply and/or distribute “fix a flat” as a
“NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” after said
product was known by the Defendants to be
flammable, explosive and unreasonably dan-
gerous for its intended uses;

Wantonly continuing to manufacture, sell,
supply and/or distribute “fix a flat NON-
EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” which was
extremely flammable and explosive after a
safe formulation was available;

Wantonly failing to take appropriate mea-
sures to remedy the defective nature of the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
made the basis of this suit;

. Wantonly failing to remove and/or recall
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”

App. 28

from the marketplace after beconiing aware
of the flammable, explosive and unreason-
ably dangerous propensities of the product.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff PAMELA ALICE LITTLE
DANIEL, Administratrix of the Estate of JOE ED DAN-
IEL, Deceased, demands judgment against the Defen-
dants PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC, formerly
known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS,
INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.;
HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING
ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL -
QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PROD-
UCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.;
SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON;
AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COM-
PANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L,
M, N, O, P, Q, and R, separately and severally, for puni-
tive damages, for the wrongful death of the said Joe Ed
Daniel, plus interest and costs in excess of the jurisdic-
tional limits of this Court.

FOURTH CAUSE OF ACTION

PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL, Administratrix of
the Estate of JOE ED DANIEL, Deceased, alleges against
the Defendants SWEAT TIRE COMPANY INCORPO-
RATED, M, N, O, P, Q, and R, as follows:

App. 29

84. Plaintiff realleges all of the allegations contained
in paragraphs 1-83 of the GENERAL ALLEGATIONS and
FIRST, SECOND, and THIRD CAUSES OF ACTION as if
fully set out herein. i.

85. Plaintiff further alleges that the injuries and
subsequent death of the said Joe Ed Daniel was prox-
imately caused by the negligence of the Defendants
SWEAT TIRE COMPANY, INCORPORATED, M, N, O, P,
Q and/or R, as follows:

a. Negligently altering the configuration of the
tire and rim assembly involved in the acci-
dent made the basis of this suit;

b. Negligently converting the tire and rim
assembly involved in the accident made the
basis of this suit from a “tube-type” assem-
bly to a “tubeless” assembly.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff PAMELA ALICE LITTLE
DANIEL, Administratrix of the Estate of JOE ED DAN-
IEL, deceased, demands judgment against the Defendants
SWEAT TIRE COMPANY, INCORPORATED, M, N, O, P,
Q and R, separately and severally, for punitive damages,
for the wrongful death of the said Joe Ed Daniel, plus
interest and costs in excess of the jurisdictional limits of
this Court.

FIFTH CAUSE OF ACTION

PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL, Administratrix of
the Estate of JOE ED DANIEL, Deceased, alleges against
the Defendants SWEAT TIRE COMPANY, INCORPO-
RATED, M,N, O, P, Q and R, as follows:

App. 30

86. Plaintiff realleges all of the allegations contained
in paragraphs 1 through 85 of the GENERAL ALLEGA-
TIONS and FIRST, SECOND, THIRD, AND FOURTH
CAUSES OF ACTION as if fully set out herein and fur-
ther states as follows:

87. Plaintiff further alleges that the injuries and
subsequent death of the said Joe Ed Daniel was prox-
imately caused by the wanton conduct of the Defendants
SWEAT TIRE COMPANY, INCORPORATED, M, N, O, P,
Q and/or R, as follows:

a. Wantonly altering the configuration of the
tire and rim assembly involved in the acci-
dent made the basis of this suit;

b. Wantonly converting the tire and rim assem-
bly involved in the accident made the basis
of this suit from a “tube-type” assembly to a
“tubeless” assembly. ”

SIXTH CAUSE OF ACTION

PAMELA ALICE LITTLE DANIEL, Administratrix of
the Estate of JOE ED DANIEL, Deceased, alleges against
Defendants PANDORA MANUFACTURING, INC., for-
merly known as SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PROD-
UCTS, INC.; SNAP AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.;
HUGHTONE INDUSTRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.;
MONTFORT A. JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING
ENGINEERS, INC.; JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL -
QUAKER STATE COMPANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PROD-
UCTS COMPANY); NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.;
SAM McINNIS; MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON;

App. 31

AEROFIL TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COM-
PANY INCORPORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L,
M, N, O, P, Q, and R, as follows:

88. Plaintiff realleges all of the allegations contained
in paragraphs 1 through 87 of the GENERAL ALLEGA-
TIONS and FIRST, SECOND, AND THIRD CAUSES OF
ACTION as if fully set out herein and further states as
follows:

89. Plaintiff further alleges that the injuries and
subsequent death of Joe Ed Daniel was proximately
caused by a civil conspiracy among two or more defen-
dants combining to exercise wanton reckless indifference
to the safety of members of the public, including plain-
tiff’s decedent, as follows:

a. Wantonly formulating and/or manufactur-
ing the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA” involved in the accident made the
basis of this suit;

b. Wantonly combining to misrepresent that
the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA” made the basis of this suit was a
“non-explosive formula,” when the defen-
dants knew or should have known of its
dangerous flammable and/or explosive
characteristics;

c. Wantonly combining to selectively edit and/
or alter test results confirming the explosive-
ness of the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” tire inflator to create the false
impression that the product was not flam-
mable or explosive;

App. 32

Wantonly combining to ignore test results
from credible sources indicating the “fix a
flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” tire
inflator product was, in fact, explosive;

Wantonly combining to fail to recall the “fix
a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA” tire
inflator product when confronted with sub-
stantial information indicating the product
posed a dangerous fire/explosion risk;

Wantonly combining to contrive testing pro-
cedures to give a false impression that the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
tire inflator product was somehow “safe,”
“non-flammable,” or “non-explosive”;

Wantonly combining to tout testing proto-
cols for the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” tire inflator product which
defendants knew were “largely irrelevant,”
“invalid,” and not applicable to tire inflator
products in order to create a false impres-
sion that the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE
FORMULA” tire inflator made the basis of
this suit was somehow “safe,” “non-flamma-
ble,” or “non-explosive”;

Wantonly combining to visit concerned
retail customers to falsely convey that the
“fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FORMULA”
tire inflator product could not explode tires
when defendants knew otherwise;

Wantonly failing to remove and/or recall
the “fix a flat NON-EXPLOSIVE FOR-
MULA” from the marketplace after becom-
ing aware of the flammable, explosive and
unreasonably dangerous propensities of the
product.

App. 33

WHEREFORE, plaintiff Pamela Alice Little Daniel,
Administratrix of the Estate of Joe Ed Daniel, deceased,
demands judgment against the defendants PANDORA
MANUFACTURING, INC., formerly known as SNAP
PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP PRODUCTS, INC.; SNAP
AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.; HUGHTONE INDUS-
TRIES, INC.; PAUL HUGHETT; MONTFORT A. JOHN-
SEN AND ASSOCIATES, LTD.; MONTFORT A.
JOHNSEN; SAFETY CONSULTING ENGINEERS, INC.;
JAMES C. DAHN; PENNZOIL - QUAKER STATE COM-
PANY (f/k/a PENNZOIL PRODUCTS COMPANY);
NATIONWIDE INDUSTRIES, INC.; SAM McINNIS;
MICHAEL BORKA; TIM SHINGLETON; AEROFIL
TECHNOLOGY, INC.; SWEAT TIRE COMPANY INCOR-
PORATED; A, B, C, D, E, F,G,H,1, J, K, L, M,N, 0, P, Q,
and R, separately and severally, for punitive damages, for
the wrongful death of the said Joe Ed Daniel, plus interest
and costs in excess of the jurisdictional limits of this
Court.

Dated this 28th day of May, 1999.

* + +

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1504%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
