# Supplemental Brief — Bank of America, N. A. v. Abraham

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1400%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 1015

## Text

Supreme Court, U8.
FILED
> Nov 19 2002
No. 01-1179 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
BANK OF AMERICA, N.A.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JULIO ABRAHAM, et al.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF FOR THE
PETITIONER PURSUANT TO RULE 15.8

James B. Wright E. Edward Bruce
BUCHALTER, NEMER, Counsel of Record
FIELDS & YOUNGER Robert A. Long, Jr.

333 Market Street, 29th Floor Keith A. Noreika
San Francisco, CA 94105-2130 COVINGTON & BURLING

(415) 227-0900 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20004-2401
(202) 662-6000

November 2002 Counsel for Bank of America

peer

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
NOE TE wristisessrincicibiinnessiiciehiniarsensenneccsnitinsinn i
Fake CO Fea MRE Mi vin indictccciinvscissniinescsnisdoncssinetasieanten ii
PIT cisbatinhcisiniebietisceisennensinetertAihicticmaantctnsnictsbiiisadiiias 1
CEE Y saves sncdckctininisntiistestouininibiiseendensshivnsaianagesbeneth 10

a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Page(s)
Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202 (1985) ........... 5
Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987)........... 5,6
. Dudley Supermarket, Inc. v. Transamerica Life

Insurance & Annuity Co., 302 F.3d 1 (ist Cir.

SITU Dh cxicicsiniceeleiietiaiagceesamaapeaaiilaahliteintiessini 5, 6, 8, 9
Egelhoff v. Egelhoff, 532 U.S. 141 (2001) ...........ccseesesseeees 3
Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Association v. de la

Gaetan, SIE Us SET CRIBS) catectinsicencenictrctesnrnssancionnneneins 3
Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101

SER caiciescacssdsssiodsicabsasiedesibilpimiecsantaticestdbcupiasniaaiaiulissiahaanbeinsbain 2,5
Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers Vacation

BE FIED Tels Or vtcsictcnnsanelnbiitininimiiintenniasivianiintniion 4
Hull v. Fallon, 188 F.3d 939 (8th Cir. 1999) ..........cscesesseeees 3
Jass v. Prudential Health Care Plan, Inz., 88 F.3d

I ee EE iinccctecs sn sesnhensncininnieeracthiciialaiinnditicibiioses 6
Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107 (1994)...........sccssssseeseees 5
Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S.

I Me ihn iscsi eias cies enipececceicsiieisiiacdienceomierieeiniiabaia 3
Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41

ERE issccchins sssecsletidibiedehcha anathadieessilesbdudesatbuiimenniiibnatoces 2,7, 10
Smith v. Dunham-Bush, Inc., 959 F.2d 6 (2d Cir.

ITNT hs inseinsicssnnissiscinblichdesitiimsioniepaiiadcnphiaphapaseciebiaceseensiatartas 3,9
Smith v. Provident Bank, 170 F.3d 609 (6th Cir.

Pi aiscinsssticsuscampsipibsiladgbigleambiscmndiamaeabiepianiine 5, 6, 7,8

STATUTES AND REGULATION
ERISA § 404(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1) .... eect eeeeees 1
EEREBA, © SOR, 29 U.S.C. GUUS iacsiisscieciscserensiscrsscscadsanes 2,3,4
po TE BA. Bip doe Gt Seseehhmnmnieennree © Memranr asses 3
SOS SOO wicisicesepidip nnsikcidaicavininninertvchinliaaadas 2

“ike

MISCELLANEOUS

Restatement (Second) of Judgments §§ 18, 19, 24............... 4

- ill -

SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF FOR THE
PETITIONER PURSUANT TO RULE 15.8

Petitioner Bank of America, N.A., submits this
supplemental brief in response to the amicus curiae brief
filed by the Solicitor General.

1. On the key factual dispute in this case, the
Solicitor General agrees with Petitioners. The 44
Respondents who are participants in the ERISA plan filed
two lawsuits: one in federal court alleging that the defendants
had violated fiduciary duties owed to plan participants
imposed by ERISA in approving Norcal’s merger with
Envirocal, and another in state court alleging that this same
act by the same defendants violated additional fiduciary
duties owed to these 44 plan participants, as well as 103
others, in their capacity as former shareholder and current
noteholders. See U.S. Br. 3-4. The Solicitor General thus
disagrees with Respondents’ contention that their state-law

“claims do not arise from the same acts that would sae rise
to liability under ERISA.” Br. in Opp. 16.

2. The Solicitor General also agrees with Petitioners
on several other key points. First, ERISA imposes on
ERISA fiduciaries a duty to “act solely in the interest of plan
participants,” see U.S. Br. 4 (quoting ERISA § 404(a)(1), 29
U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1)) (emphasis added)' — something that a
fiduciary cannot do if compelled by state law to act in the
interest of former shareholders or noteholders. Second, the
Solicitor General agrees that “complete preemption” under
ERISA is not limited to claims for benefits under Section

' Later in his brief, the Solicitor General states that “an ERISA fiduciary
ordinarily is required to act solely in the interests of plan participants.”
U.S. Br. at 12 (emphasis added). The statutory text contains no such
qualification.

ee ee ee a Ee yee

502(a)(1)(B), but “applies to claims that fall within other
subsections of Section 502(a),” including claims for breach
of fiduciary duty. U.S. Br. at 8 & n3. Third, he
acknowledges (Br. 17 n.15) that ERISA creates a uniform
body of federal law to govern the duties of ERISA
fiduciaries, in order to allow fiduciaries to “predict the
legality of proposed actions without the necessity of
reference to varying state laws,” Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.
Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 56 (1987), and to avoid conflicts that
would arise if an ERISA fiduciary were subject to ERISA
fiduciary duties and state-law fiduciary duties with respect to
the same acts. See also Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v.
Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 110 (1989).

3. In addition, the Solicitor General appears to agree |
with Petitioners that at least some of Respondents’ state-law |
claims are preempted by ERISA: “The state-court complaint
may be read to allege that the committee members had a
state-law duty to act (at least in part) in the interest of all 147
respondent noteholders when deciding whether to approve
the Envirocal merger.” U.S. Br. 13 (citing complaint).
Moreover, the Solicitor General recognizes, “[a] state law
requiring an ERISA fiduciary, based on the interests of the
noteholders, to vote for or against a merger of a corporation
in which the plan owns stock would appear to conflict with
the specific requirement in Department of Labor regulations
that a fiduciary, in voting an ESOP’s shares, ‘consider those
factors that may affect the value of the plan’s investment and
not subordinate the interests of the participants and
beneficiaries in their retirement income to unrelated
objectives.” Jd. at 13-14 (quoting 29 C.F.R. § 2509.94-2)
(emphasis added). The Solicitor General acknowledges that
“such a conflict could lead to preemption of state-law claims

against the fiduciaries.” U.S. Br. 14 (citing Egelhoff v.
Egelhoff, 532 U.S. 141, 150 (2001)) (emphasis added).”

4. The Solicitor General nonetheless concludes that
“{wjhether the court of appeals erred in finding no
preemption under Section 514(a)” does not affect the court’s
conclusion that the case was not subject to removal under the
complete preemption doctrine, U.S. Br. 14, “[bJecause
respondents are not asserting rights they enjoy as participants
in or beneficiaries of an ERISA plan, [and] their claims do
not arise under Sections 502(a)(2) or (3),” U.S. Br. 9. This
“analysis” is fundamental to the Solicitor General’s position
and it is fundamentally wrong.

In ERISA preemption cases, plan participants
generally assert state-law claims in some capacity other than
that of a participant in an ERISA plan, for example, as an
employee, see, e.g., Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481
U.S. 58 (1987); a patient, see, e.g., Hull v. Falion, 188 F.3d
939 (8th Cir. 1999); or a party to a contract, see, e.g., Smith v.
Dunham-Bush, Inc., 959 F.2d 6 (2d Cir. 1992). Despite such
assertions, courts — including this Court did in Taylor and the
Second and Eighth Circuits in Smith and Hull — hold that the
plaintiffs’ state-law claims are completely preempted by
ERISA.

The Solicitor General acknowledges, see U.S. Br. 4,
but then ignores the key fact in this case: 44 plaintiffs not
only could but actually did sue in their capacity as ERISA
plan participants. Their parallel action in federal court
asserted that the defendants had violated their fiduciary duty
under ERISA by engaging in the very same actions

? The “would appear” and “could . . . preempt” qualifications are
baseless. The conflict is clear and federal law clearly preempts
conflicting state law. See Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. de la
Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982).

Se

challenged in the state-court action. Obviously, this case
could not have been removed if the ERISA plan participants
had stayed out of the state-court action, because Section 502
“does not provide anyone other than participants,
beneficiaries, or fiduciaries with an express cause of action.”
Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust,
463 US. 1, 27 (1983). But the plan participants chose
instead to take two bites at the apple by suing for breach of
state-law fiduciary duties in state court and breach of ERISA
fiduciary duties in federal court.

Congress has provided that federal courts have
exclusive jurisdiction over claims of breach of a fiduciary
duty imposed by ERISA. See ERISA § 502(e)(1), 29 U.S.C.
§ 1132(e\1).2 Under the Solicitor General’s approach,
ERISA plan participants can bring separate actions in state
and federal court challenging the very same act of an ERISA
fiduciary as a violation of (1) fiduciary duties imposed by
ERISA and (2) additional fiduciary duties imposed by state
law — even if the plan participant’s state-law claims are
preempted by ERISA. Thus, for example, plan participants
could litigate their claim for breach of a state-law fiduciary
duty to noteholders in state court, and if they lost could
pursue their ERISA action in federal court.* This hardly
effectuates Congress’s intent to create a uniform body of

> In contrast, state and federal courts have concurrent jurisdiction over
claims for benefits. See id.

* In most cases, plaintiffs who split their cause of action between state
and federal courts will be precluded by the first action to come to

See Restatement (Second) of Judgments §§ 18, 19, 24
(preclusion of all claims that were brought or could have been brought
arising from the same transaction). However, the 44 ERISA plaintiffs
could seek to avoid preclusion on the ERISA claim because federal courts
have exclusive jurisdiction over such claims, ERISA § 502(e\1), 29
U.S.C. § 1132(e)(1), and thus the claim could not have been brought in
state court.

federal law governing the duties of ERISA fiduciaries, and to
centralize adjudication of fiduciary breach claims in the
federal courts.

The Solicitor General’s reliance on this Court’s
decision in Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386
(1987), is unwarranted. Caterpillar differs from this case in
at least two crucial respects. First, it concerned complete
preemption under Section 301 of the Labor Management
Relations Act (LMRA) rather than ERISA. Complete
preemption under Section 301 is limited to claims that
require the court to interpret a collective bargaining
agreement. See Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107, 122-24
(1994); Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 220
(1985). Applying this limitation, the Court held that
“Caterpillar’s basic error [was] its failure to recognize that a
plaintiff covered by a collective bargaining agreement is
permitted to assert rights independent of that agreement,
including state-law contract rights, so long as the contract
relied upon is not a _ collective-bargaining agreement.”
Caterpillar, 482 U.S. at 396 (emphasis in original). The
same is not true under ERISA.

“Unlike the LMRA, ERISA explicitly authorizes suits
against fiduciaries and plan administrators to remedy
statutory violations, including breaches of fiduciary duty.”
Firestone, 489 U.S. at 110. Consequently, an ERISA plan
participant’s breach of fiduciary duty claim may be
completely preempted, even if it does not require the court to
interpret the ERISA plan. See, e.g., Dudley Supermarket,
Inc. v. Transamerica Life Ins. & Annuity Co., 302 F.3d 1 (ist
Cir. 2002) (state-law breach of fiduciary duty claim
completely preempted even though it did not require
interpretation of ERISA plan); Smith v. Provident Bank, 170
F.3d 609 (6th Cir. 1999) (same).

Caterpillar also differs from this case in that the
plaintiffs “could have brought suit under § 301” but “they

~

chose not to do so.” 482 U.S. at 395. Here, as noted above,
the plaintiffs made the opposite choice: they brought suit
under ERISA alleging a breach of ERISA’s fiduciary duties.

Courts have observed that “the term ‘complete
preemption’ is unfortunate, since the complete preemption
doctrine is not a preemption doctrine but rather a federal
jurisdiction doctrine.” Jass v. Prudential Health Care Plan,
Inc., 88 F.3d 1482, 1486-87 (7th Cir. 1996) (internal
quotation and citation omitted). “This jurisdictional doctrine
provides that to the extent that Congress has displaced a
plaintiffs state law claim, that intent informs the well-
pleaded complaint rule, and a plaintiffs attempt to utilize the
displaced state law is properly recharacterized as a complaint
arising under federal law.” Jd. at 1487 (internal quotations
and citations omitted). In this case, ERISA plan participants
challenged actions of ERISA fiduciaries that lie at the very
core of a fiduciary’s responsibilities under ERISA — voting
shares held by the plan for or against a proposed corporate
transaction. This is miles removed from the zoning law
decisions and other state or local law issues that ERISA
trustees confront on a daily basis. Compare U.S. Br. 12. The
plan participants argue that the ERISA fiduciaries owed plan
participants fiduciary duties under ERISA and owed them
additional fiduciary duties under state law. But Congress
intended ERISA to provide the sole source of fiduciary duties
with respect to such actions, and thus it completely
preempted this area of the law. See Smith v. Provident Bank,
170 F.3d at 613, 614; Dudley Supermarket, 302 F.3d at 3.

5. The Solicitor General asserts that the state-law
fiduciary duties at issue in this case pre-date, and are
independent of, Respondents’ nghts under ERISA as plan
participants. See U.S. Br. 11, 14, 17-20. This is inaccurate.
Respondents’ sale of stock to Norcal, the issuance of the
notes, and the creation of the ESOP, were all parts of a single
unified transaction. More generally, the Solicitor General
asserts that an ERISA fiduciary “may reasonably be held

sin

eee ——————— eee esis sie

liable for breach of both ERISA and state-law duties in at
least some circumstances, . . . and can generally take steps —
such as resigning from the ERISA role — to avoid conflicts.”
U.S. Br. 13.” The Solicitor General greatly underestimates
the difficulties of reconciling conflicting federal and state
fiduciary duties. If a corporate officer or director subject to a
fiduciary duty seeks to delegate her powers to someone else,
the person to whom the power is delegated may become
subject to the fiduciary duty. See Smith v. Provident Bank,
170 F.3d at 613. Thus, if fiduciaries such as the members of
the ESOP Administrative Committee were to resign and
appoint others to take their places, the newly-appointed
fiduciaries would still have responsibilities under ERISA,
and the Solicitor General offers no reason to believe they
would escape conflicting state-law fiduciary duties.

6. The Solicitor General does not dispute that so-
called “exempt” transactions by ESOPs remain heavily
regulated under ERISA. Although he concludes that the
Ninth Circuit did not base its decision on the exempt nature
of the transactions, in fact the court cited that factor
repeatedly in support of its decision. See Bank of America
Reply 3 (collecting multiple statements from Ninth Circuit’s
opinion). The Solicitor General mistakenly asserts that this

* See also id. at 14 (stating that “there may be more room for the
operation of state law” where ERISA fiduciaries are alleged to have
“breached a pre-existing state-law duty by putting themselves in a
position (as ERISA fiduciaries) where they could have to act in conflict
with their state-law duties”). The Solicitor General’s multiple
qualifications - ERISA fiduciaries “may” (or may not) be held liable “in
at least some [unspecified] circumstances” but not others, while ERISA
fiduciaries “generally” (but not always) can act consistently with both
sets of duties — ignore this Court’s recognition that ERISA fiduciaries
should be able to “predict the legality of proposed actions without the
necessity of reference to varying state laws.” Pilot Life Ins., 481 U.S. at
56.

aspect of the Ninth Circuit’s opinion was relevant only to its
holding on preemption, not complete preemption. The
structure of the Ninth Circuit’s opinion (the analysis of
preemption preceded and guided the analysis of complete
preemption) and the Ninth Circuit’s own statement, in its
discussion of the complete preemption issue, that “the
leveraged buyout is an exempted transaction” under ERISA,
Pet. 19a, both show that the Ninth Circuit’s misplaced.
reliance on the exempt nature of the transactions infected its
entire opinion, including the complete preemption ruling.

7. The Solicitor General concludes that no other
court of appeals has addressed “whether ERISA completely
preempts state-law claims by ERISA participants based on _
alleged violations of pre-existing and independent state-law
duties.” U.S. Br. 17. As noted above, however, the Solicitor
General is simply wrong. Petitioners’ fiduciary duties to
former shareholders and current noteholders arose out of the
very same transaction that gave rise to their fiduciary duties
under ERISA. These state-law fiduciary duties are no more
“pre-existing” or “independent” of ERISA fiduciary duties
than the state-law duties at issue in decisions of other courts
of appeals that have found complete preemption.

In Smith v. Provident Bank, 170 F.3d at 612, for
example, the plaintiff, in advancing a state-law claim for
breach of fiduciary duty in a securities transaction, was not
asserting rights as a participant in an ERISA plan, but instead
was asserting rights under state law as a brokerage customer.
The state-law fiduciary duties applied to all brokerage
accounts, not just ERISA accounts. If similar state-law
claims had been asserted solely by plaintiffs who were not
ERISA participants or beneficiaries, the case could not have
been removed. Nonetheless, the Sixth Circuit held that “(a]
claim for breach of fiduciary duty against the fiduciary of an
ERISA plan necessarily presents a federal question.” 170
F.3d at 614. See also Dudley Supermarket, Inc., 302 F.3d at
3 (“There can be no doubt that if appellants’ purported state

oe.

law claims in fact charged [the defendant] with breach of
fiduciary duty while acting as an ERISA fiduciary, ERISA
would preempt completely their claims which would thus
have to be asserted, if at all, under ERISA.”); id. at 5 (where
the defendant “is on the fiduciary side of the line . . . we are
dealing with complete preemption”).

Similarly, in Smith v. Dunham Bush, Inc., 959 F.2d at
7, the plaintiff sued as a party to a contract and an employee;
he could have advanced the same state-law claim even if he
had not been a participant in the employer’s ERISA plan (or
if the employer had no U.S. pension plan at all). The Second
Circuit nevertheless held that the plaintiff was, in essence,
claiming pension benefits and therefore his state-law claim
was completely preempted. Jd. at 11.

8. Finally, the Solicitor General suggests that review
is not warranted because all the defendants, except Bank of
America, settled with the plaintiffs prior to the Ninth
Circuit’s ruling. U.S. Br. 15. Petitioners retain a vital
interest in this case, however, because Bank of America
prevailed after a lengthy trial in district court and thereby
resolved more than $20 million of liability claims against it.
That victory was erased by the Ninth Circuit’s ruling that that
the federal court lacked jurisdiction, thus subjecting both
Bank of America and the ESOP to potential liability.®

Apart from its effects on the parties to this case, the
Ninth Circuit’s ruling creates great uncertainty for ERISA
plan fiduciaries, who now must be concerned that they are
subject to fiduciary duties under the law of one or more
States, as well as under ERISA, whenever a plaintiff elects to
sue them in a capacity other than that of a plan participant or

* Although the Norcal ESOP has settled with the Respondents, it may be
liable to the Bank in the event that the Bank is held liable to the
Respondents.

beneficiary. The brief of the United States actually increases
this uncertainty. Review by this Court is warranted to
resolve the conflict between the Ninth and other Circuits and
to provide ERISA fiduciaries with renewed assurance that
they can “predict the legality of proposed actions without the
necessity of reference to varying state laws.” Pilot Life Ins., .
481 U.S. at 56.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

James B. Wright E. Edward Bruce
BUCHALTER, NEMER, Counsel of Record
FIELDS & YOUNGER Robert A. Long, Jr.

333 Market Street, 29th Floor Keith A. Noreika

San Francisco, CA 94105 COVINGTON & BURLING

(415) 227-0900 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20004-2401
(202) 662-6000

Counsel for Bank of America

November 2002

-10-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1400%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
