# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cole v. Santa Barbara County

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1285%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 973

## Text

Suprewne
D swmmergue

011778 JN -5 2002

No. OPFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

JOSEPH L. COLE,
TRUSTEE OF THE STANFORD FARMS TRUST,
Petitioner,
V

COUNTY OF SANTA BARBARA ef al.,
Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the California Supreme Court

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THEODORE N. MILLER CARTER G. PHILLIPS*

ANNE MAYER TURK ; JOSEPH R. GUERRA

SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN & SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
WOOD LLP WOOD LLP

555 West Fifth Street 1501 K Street, N.W.

Suite 4000 Washington, D.C. 20005

Los Angeles, California 90013 (202) 736-8000
(213) 896-6641

Counsel for Petitioner
June 3, 2002 * Counsel of Record

POLE Rn ACUTE ARAN RONEN RI I NEAR I sR a
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

UB Px

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a county may take a permanent easement over
private property, and thereby deprive the owner of the right to
exclude, without satisfying either the nexus or proportionality
requirements of Nollan v. California Coastal Commission,
483 U.S. 825 (1987) or Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374
(1994), and without paying just compensation, solely because
two decades earlier the State was able to “extort” from a prior
| owner an offer to dedicate that easement as a condition of
obtaining a building permit?

(i)

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

In addition to the parties stated in the caption, the Board of
Supervisors of the County of Santa Barbara is a respondent in
this proceeding.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED .......

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SIONS INVOLVED ..................

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..............

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION |

I

IIL.

THE COUNTY’S ACCEPTANCE OF THE
OFFER TO DEDICATE WAS AN UNCON-
STITUTIONAL TAKING OF PROPERTY .........

. NO CHALLENGE TO A DEPRIVATION OF

THE TRUST’S RIGHT TO USE THE
PROPERTY AND TO EXCLUDE OTHERS
FROM IT WAS “RIPE” IN 1980....000000.00...00.0000...

UNLESS THIS COURT GRANTS REVIEW,
HUNDREDS OF OTHER UNCONSTITU-
TIONAL DEPRIVATIONS WILL ESCAPE
REY MEO oo ooicssceccsussson ie GS. | Ren eeenen eel mine 13
Danforth vy. United States, 308 U.S. 271 (1939).... 16
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994) ....... 5

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.
County of Los Angeles, Cal., 482 U.S. 304

TD is eintiaetataacastne Maine Cucladianstincopamnaantin 15, 17, 18
Grupe v. California Coastal Comm’n, 212 Cal.

Rptr. 578 (Cal. Ct. App. 1985)............ 3, 12, 13, 14, 15
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 US. 164

Le 5, EC ER ee ART TERT MCR oe 13
Nollan v. California Coastal Comm'n, 483 U.S.

DE: , RN CO OTD ee PE Ptr 2, 13
Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 US. 606

I i 8, 10, 15

Patrick Media Group, Inc. v. California Coastal
Comm'n, 11 Cal. Rptr. 2d 824 (Cal. Ct. App.

People v. Williams, 2 P. 393 (Cal. 1884)............... 12
Tahoe-Sierra Pres. Council, Inc. v. Tahoe Reg’l

Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith,
GO US. SES Ce ovens 1]

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page
Whalers’ Village Club v. California Coastal
Comm'n, 220 Cal. Rptr. 2 (Cal. Ct. App.
PD 5s ehstniothetsncccsibesadctabel one eae tee 3, 12, 14
Williamson County Reg'l Planning Comm'n v.
Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985)....000000....... 15
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
<7, CA COST re a l
WO titnaree e l
Te Slee: © Ss cient oe eee 6, 18
Cal. Pub. Res. Code § 3080200000000. 18
Serene 5
FU Spare hie eae 5

OTHER AUTHORITY

James Rainey, Faster Action by Agencies Is
Preserving Beach Access, L.A. Times, July 10,
FS PERT SED TET HR em ACP HG CAL 18

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Joseph L. Cole, Trustee of the Stanford Farms
Trust, respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of the Supreme Court of the State of California

OPINIONS BELOW

The California Supreme Court order denying the Petition
for Review and Publication request is not reported. Appendix
to the Petition of Certiorari (“Pet. App.”) 20a. The opinion of
the Court of Appeal for the State of California, Second
Appellate District, Division Six, affirming the judgment of
the Superior Court of the State of California for the County of
Santa Barbara is not reported, but can be found at 2001 WL
1613856. Pet. App. la-l6a. The opinion of the Superior
Court of the State of California for the County of Santa
Barbara sustaining respondent’s demurrer to petitioner’s
constitutional claims without leave to amend and granting
respondent’s motion to dismiss petitioner's claim under the
California Environmental Quality Act is not published. Pet
App. 17a-19a

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the California Supreme Court was entered
on March 13, 2002. This Court has jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

The federal constitutional provisions at issue in this matter
are the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution. The Fifth Amendment provides in part: “[NJor
shall private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.” The Fourteenth Amendment provides in part:

1 af oe a

2

“[N]or shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. At its core, this case poses a simple and important
question: can local governments evade the restrictions on
compelled dedication of public access easements that this
Court announced in WNollan vy. California Coastal
Commission, 483 U.S. 825 (1987), through the expedient of
taking private property in two discrete steps, neither of which
may be challenged as an unconstitutional taking? In Nollan,
this Court condemned as “‘an out-and-out plan of extortion”
a decision in which the California Coastal Commission
approved a building permit on the condition that the property
owner grant the public an easement that was wholly unrelated
to any adverse impacts caused by the proposed construction
project. /d at 837. This case arises from a 1980 Coastal
Commission permit decision that employed a slightly
different, and far more typical, form of extortion: as a
condition of approving a 570 square-foot addition, the Coastal
Commission required petitioner’s predecessor-in-interest not
to convey an access easement outright, but to record an offer
to dedicate a 77,000 square-foot easement — an offer that
would expire in 21 years unless accepted by another local
governmental entity.

In the decision below, the lower court ruled that the County
of Santa Barbara was free to accept this coerced offer to
dedicate without paying any compensation for the resulting
easement and without having to demonstrate any nexus
between any alleged adverse impacts caused by the owner’s
construction project and the easement she was required to
offer. According to the lower court, the prior property
owner's failure to bring a takings challenge to the 1980
permit decision — a decision that did not itself deprive the
prior property owner of any possessory interest in her
property, and did not compel such a deprivation at any time

3

thereafter — barred petitioner’s prompt challenge to the legally
distinct governmental action of the County, which accepted
the coerced offer to dedicate in 2000 and thereby first stripped
petitioner of the fundamental right to exclude others from the
Trust’s beachfront property. Unless this Court grants review
of the decision below, other local governments in California
will be free to accept literally hundreds of soon-to-expire
offers to dedicate easements, all of which were coerced in
blatant violation of the restrictions announced in Nollan, and
all of which can now be accepted, under the decision below,
without satisfying the commands of the Fifth Amendment.

2. In the late 1970s, the Coastal Commission
implemented a policy of refusing to issue building permits
unless coastal property owners recorded offers to dedicate
easements over their beachfront to the public. These offers
were temporary in nature; if not accepted by a local agency
within 21 years, they would expire. Conversely, acceptance
conveyed actual title to the public access easement to the
accepting agency in perpetuity.

Acceptance of such offers, however, was by no means
certain. An accepting entity had to ensure that it was able to
assume the often significant liabilities and maintenance costs
that attend ownership of public beach property. Whalers’ -
Village Club v. California Coastal Comm’n, 220 Cal. Rptr. 2,
14 (Cal. Ct. App. 1985). In addition, because local
governments would not accept an easement that the public
could not reach (and thus could not use), the acceptance of an
offer to dedicate often depended on whether the Coastal
Commission could extort offers to dedicate easements over
neighboring properties, an event that depended, in turn, on
whether the owners of such neighboring property would seek
construction permits from the Commission. See generally
Grupe v. California Coastal Comm'n, 212 Cal. Rptr. 578,
592, 601-02 (Cal. Ct. App. 1985).

In 1980, Francice Bushkin. applied for a _ coastal
development permit to build an addition to an existing

4

guesthouse on her a 25-acre parcel of property in Santa
Barbara. Pet. App. la. The proposed addition was to consist
of a 196-square-foot sunroom and a 374-square-foot deck, or
a total of 570 square feet. Jd Although these improvements
were to be built 920 feet inland from a 60-foot coastal bluff,
on property accessible only by a private road, the Coastal
Commission refused to grant Bushkin a permit unless she
agreed to record an offer to dedicate a 77,000 square-foot
public lateral easement across her beachfront property (i.e., an
easement running parallel to the ocean). See id. at la-2a.
The Commission made no finding that the proposed addition
had any impact on public access to the beach, nor could it
have done so: the modest 570 square-foot improvements to
the property were not visible from any public roadway or
from any beach.

Bushkin accepted the building permit, built the sunroom
and deck, and recorded an offer to dedicate the easement in
May 1982. The offer to dedicate was to expire unless it was
accepted by a public agency within 21 years of its
recordation. The Stanford Farms Trust acquired the Bushkin
property, subject to the offer to dedicate, in 1995, eight years
after this Court handed down its decision in Nollan.

By the late 1990s, the Commission had collected over
1,000 offers to dedicate public easements across private
coastal property, but very few, if any, had been accepted.
Realizing that hundreds of outstanding offers to dedicate
would soon expire, the Coastal Commission began urging
local governments to expedite the acceptance process for all
offers pending in their respective jurisdictions. On October 6,
1998, the County of Santa Barbara conducted a public hearing
to consider whether to accept 72 outstanding offers to
dedicate easements over coastal property located in the
County, including the offer to dedicate recorded by Bushkin.
The Trustee for the Stanford Farms Trust appeared at the
hearing and objected to the proposed acceptance of the offer
to dedicate an easement over the Trust’s property on the

5

grounds that acceptance would violate the requirement, set
forth in Nollan and in this Court’s subsequent decision in
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 391 (1994), that a
compelled easement must be roughly proportionate to the
nature and extent of any adverse impact caused by the
underlying construction project. The County decided to delay
action on 26 offers to dedicate, including the offer to dedicate
affecting the Trust’s property.

On October 16, 1998, the Trust recorded a Notice of
Revocation and/or Rescission of Offer to Dedicate Public
Access Easement with the Santa Barbara Recorder’s Office.
The Notice stated that the offer to dedicate was revoked and
rescinded on the basis of Nollan and Dolan. The Notice was
recorded to give effective legal notice to all interested parties
of the Trust’s claim that the offer to dedicate was invalid after
Nollan, and that the Trust therefore was entitled to rescind the
offer to dedicate. On October 16, 1998, the day the Notice
was recorded, the Trust’s attorneys sent the Notice to the
County, advising the County that the Trust had revoked the
offer. Pet. App. 3a.

On March 15, 1999, the Coastal Commission issued a
“cease and desist” order, directing the Trust to cancel the
Notice of Revocation and to refrain from engaging in any
further activities that would be inconsistent with the
previously issued permit. Pet. App. 3a. This order exposes
petitioner to civil penalties of up to $6,000 a day for failure to
comply. In addition, petitioner is exposed to civil penalties of
up to $15,000 a day for failure to comply with the original
permit condition. See Cal. Pub. Res. Code §§ 308216 &
30820(b). In April 1999, thie Trust filed a complaint against
the Commission, seeking declaratory relief, rescission of the
irrevocable offer to dedicate, and a writ of mandamus. Pet.
App. 3a.

6

While that action was pending,’ the County moved ahead
with its efforts to accept the offer to dedicate that the Coastal
Commission had extracted from Bushkin. On February 15,
2000, the County adopted a resolution accepting the lateral
easement across the entire beachfront of the Trust’s property.
In so doing, the County conducted a substantive review of the
proposal to accept the outstanding offers to dedicate within its
jurisdiction, but refused to consider whether acceptance
would violate the Trust’s constitutional rights in light of
Nollan and Dolan. The County made no effort to show that
its acquisition of the easement satisfied the nexus and
proportionality requirements of the Fifth Amendment, and
instead simply recorded its acceptance of the offer to dedicate
on March 23, 2000.

On April 17, 2000, fewer than 30 days after the County
accepted the offer to dedicate, petitioner filed this action
against the County. The complaint, as amended, included
claims for redress under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for violations of
substantive and procedural due process and equal protection,
and a request for a declaration under § 1983 and the
California Code of Civil Procedure that acceptance of the
offer to dedicate violated the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments of the United States Constitution.

'In January 2000, after petitioner's suit against the Coastal
Commission was transferred from Los Angeles County Superior Court,
the San Francisco County Superior Court sustained the Commission’s
demurrer to petitioner’s first two causes of action. Petitioner filed a writ
of mandate in the Court of Appeal seeking to set aside the order sustaining
the demurrer, but the writ was denied. Thereafter, he filed a motion
seeking to strike the Coastal Commission’s cross-complaint as a Strategic
Lawsuit Against Public Participation under the California Code of Civil
Procedure § 425.16, and that motion was denied, as was the subsequent
petition for wmit filed in the Court of Appeal. Petitioner’s lawsuit against
the Coastal Commission, which does not give rise to this petition, is still
pending in the San Francisco Superior Court.

7

The County filed a demurrer and a motion to dismiss.
Notably, the County did not contend that its acceptance of the
offer was lawful under Nollan and Dolan. Instead, the
County alleged that petitioner’s challenge was an untimely
and improper collateral attack on the original permit
condition and was thus barred by principles of res judicata
and waiver. Relying on § 30801 of the California Public
Resources Code, which governs judicial review of Coastal
Commission decisions, the County argued that the taking
challenge petitioner asserted could only have been brought
within 60 days of the Coastal Commission’s original permit
decision in 1980. The County further argued that the Trust
lacked standing as a subsequent owner that had purchased the
property after the easement had been irrevocably conveyed.

In opposition, petitioner noted that the complaint did not
challenge the actions of the Coastal Commission or the
original permit condition, but instead challenged the County’s
wholly separate and legally distinct action of accepting the
coerced offer to dedicate. Petitioner noted that this challenge
to the County’s actions was timely under section 30802 of the
Public Resources Code, which provides for judicial review of
decisions and actions of local governments implementing
certified local coastal programs, because the County did not
take final action to acquire the easement until March 2000.
Petitioner also argued that his challenge was timely under 42
U.S.C. § 1983. Nevertheless, on December 13, 2000, the
Superior Court sustained the demurrer without leave to
amend.”

3. The Court of Appeal affirmed that judgment in an
unpublished opinion filed on December 17, 2001. The Court
of Appeal did not dispute petitioner’s showing that, after the

* The Superior Court also granted the County’s motion to dismiss
petitioner’s claim under the California Environmental Quality Act.
Although petitioner pursued that claim in his appeals below, his state law
claim is not subject to review in this Court.

8

Coastal Commission’s 1980 permit decision, the Trust had
retained valuable property rights in the portion of the land
subject to the offer to dedicate, and that those rights were not
extinguished until the County accepted the offer in 2000.
Instead, the court adopted the County’s argument that any
challenge to the County’s acceptance of the offer to dedicate
was an impermissible collateral attack on the 1980 permit
itself. Noting that Bushkin had failed to challenge the permit
decision by filing a petition for a writ of administrative
mandate under Public Resources Code § 30801, Pet. App. 7a,
the court concluded that the Commission’s permit decision,
and the offer to dedicate that it compelled, were “immune
from collateral attack and that the causes of action set forth in
the trustee’s amended complaint are barred by the doctrines
of res judicata and waiver.” /d at lla. The court reasoned
that “[t]he validity of the permit condition underlies all of the
causes of action alleged in the trustee’s amended complaint,”
and that petitioner’s claims “are derived from and dependent
upon the original permit condition the predecessor in interest
failed to timely challenge.” /d. at 12a. The court concluded
that “[t]o allow the instant challenge to the permit condition
would circumvent the system of review provided under Code
of Civil Procedure section 1094.5.” Jd The court did not
address petitioner’s contentions that the challenge was timely
under both California Public Resource Code § 30802 and 42
U.S.C. § 1983.

The court also dismissed petitioner’s contention that a
takings claim seeking compensation for the loss of the right to
exclude others was not ripe until the County accepted the
offer to dedicate. Petitioner, citing Palazzolo v. Rhode
Island, 533 U.S. 606 (2001), argued that no governmental
entity had reached a final decision as to the disposition of the
Trust’s property until the County chose to accept the offer to
dedicate. In addition, petitioner noted that the County itself
had admitted that no easement was created by the offer to
dedicate — an admission that was wholly inconsistent with any

9

contention that the Trust’s taking claim was ripe in 1980.
Finally, petitioner noted that the County’s ripeness theory
would lead to undeserved windfalls: an original property
owner would be entitled to recover compensation for the full
value of a property loss that might never come to pass if the
offer to dedicate expired without acceptance, or, as actually
happened here, might be suffered only by a subsequent
property owner. Failing to address these arguments, the court
below dismissed the Trust’s ripeness arguments on the ground
that Palazzolo “does not address the situation... where the
predecessor in interest acquiesced in the restriction and
accepted the benefits.” Pet. App. 14a.

Petitioner filed a Petition for Review in the Supreme Court
of the State of California on January 25, 2002. On March 13,
2002, the California Supreme Court denied the Petition for
Review.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

In the decision below, the court of appeal adopted a
procedural bar that shields from review, and _ thereby
effectively sanctions, flagrant evasions of the constitutional
restrictions this Court has placed on the use of local zoning
powers to take private property. That procedural bar allowed
the County of Santa Barbara to take a 77,000 square-foot
easement that, in plain contravention of this Court’s holdings,
is wildly disproportionate to the construction project to which
the easement is tied, and for which the County will never pay
a penny in compensation. The California Coastal
Commission, moreover, has made clear its determination to
preserve, by whatever means necessary, “the vitality of the
many unaccepted offers of dedication” that it has previously
coerced, and to encourage other local governmental bodies to
accept as many of these soon-to-expire offers as possible.
Amicus Curiae Brief of California Coastal Commission in
Support of Respondent County of Santa Barbara at 2, Cole v.
County of Santa Barbara, No. B147339 (Cal. Ct. App. Dec.

10

17, 2001). The lower court’s failure to prevent such open
flouting of this Court’s rulings is a compelling ground, in and
of itself, to justify review of the decision below

But a blatant disregard for this Court’s precedents is not all
that justifies plenary review of the decision below The
procedural bar the court of appeal adopted rests on two
related errors of constitutional law, each of which warrants
review by this Court. First, the lower court failed to
recognize the legally distinct property deprivation that the
County's conduct caused. Notwithstanding the Coastal
Commission’s exaction of an offer to dedicate an easement,
the Trust continued to enjoy the fundamental rights to use its
property and to exclude others from that property It was the
County’s acceptance of the offer to dedicate that stripped the
Trust of these fundamental rights. By failing to recognize the
separate deprivation that the County’s conduct caused, the
lower court allowed the County to violate the Trust’s
constitutional rights with impunity.

Second, the lower court’s procedural rule rests on a clearly
mistaken understanding of ripeness principles in the takings
context. Because the Coastal Commission’s permit decision
neither stripped the Trust of its right to exclude others nor
necessarily compelled such a deprivation, no takings claim
seeking compensation for the loss of this right could have
been brought in a 1980 challenge to the Commission’s
decision. Plainly, any challenge to County conduct that did
not occur until 2000, and that might never have occurred, was
in no sense “ripe” in 1980.

As a direct result of these errors, the County escaped its
“categorical duty” to pay compensation for an appropriation
of property that “dispossesse[d] the owner [of its] right to
exclude others,” 7ahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v.
Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, No. 00-1167, slip op. at 18,
20 n.19 (U.S. Apr. 23, 2002), available at 2002 WL 654431,
and the Coastal Commission was improperly allowed “to put
an expiration date on the Takings Clause.” Palazzolo, 533

1]

US. at 627. Absent review by this Court, moreover, these
constitutional violations will by no means be isolated. The
decision below clears the way for acceptance of literally
hundreds of other coerced offers to dedicate easements that
are due to expire in the next few years — offers that the
Coastal Commission is making every effort to ensure are
accepted In addition, the decision below provides a clear
roadmap that other States may use to escape the commands of
Nollan and Dolan and to appropriate beachfront and other
valuable easements without paying any compensation

I. THE COUNTY’S ACCEPTANCE OF THE OFFER
TO DEDICATE WAS AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL
TAKING OF PROPERTY.

The decision below raises a fundamental question of
constitutional law. when one governmental agency coerces a
property owner to record an offer to dedicate a public access
easement that does not satisfy the substantial nexus
requirement announced in Nollan and Dolan, and a separate
governmental entity later accepts that offer, does the latter
decision work a legally distinct deprivation of property
without just compensation? The court of appeal concluded
that it does not, and that any constitutional injury the property
owner suffers flows from the initial decision to compel the
offer. That conclusion, which is one of the central predicates
underiying the lower courts procedural bar, is demonstrably
wrong.

Although state law defines the property interests that the
Takings Clause protects, see Webb's Fabulous Pharmacies,
Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 161 (1980), whether and
when a compensable taking has occurred are questions of
federal law. In this case, the Coastal Commission did not
require the original property owner, Ms. Bushkin, to convey
title to the easement outright. Rather, it demanded that she
record only an offer to dedicate an easement. By its terms,
this offer to dedicate was made irrevocable for a period of 21

12

years; if it was not accepted during that period, the offer
would expire.

Under California law, it is well-established that, when an
offer to dedicate an easement is made, the public does not
thereby “acquire any right to the easement.” People v.
Williams, 2 P. 393, 396 (Cal. 1884). Rather, an unconditional
acceptance is required to complete a dedication. Baldwin v.
City of Los Angeles, 83 Cal. Rptr. 2d 178, 187 (Cal. Ct. App. :
1999). “A dedication without acceptance is, in law, merely
an offer to dedicate, and such offer does not impose any
burdens nor confer any rights,” unless there is an acceptance.
City of Santa Clara v. Ivancovich, 118 P.2d 303, 307 (Cal. Ct.
App. 1941) (emphasis added); see also Grupe, 212 Cal. Rptr.
at 592 (an offer to dedicate “will become effective only if
accepted by a public agency”).

The corollary to this rule, of course, is that an offer to
dedicate does not itself divest the property owner of the right
to use the subject property or to exclude others from that
property. To the contrary, Ms. Bushkin retained the essential
bundle of rights that attach to ownership of property. Indeed,
in Grupe, the court explained that an offer to dedicate like the
one at issue here created “no easement and respondent can
exclude the public from the privately owned portion of his
beach until such time as a public agency . . . agrees to accept
the offer and the concomitant responsibility to police the
beach.” 212 Cal. Rptr. at 592. See also Whalers’ Village
Club, 220 Cal. Rptr. at 15 (Commission abused its discretion

- in denying a landowner the right to exclude the public from
property prior to acceptance of an offer to dedicate, because
such a denial improperly “turns the offer to dedicate public
access into an immediate easement”).

Accordingly, even after the Coastal Commission required
Ms. Bushkin to execute an offer to dedicate a lateral
easement, she retained full use and possession of the property
in question, including “one of the most essential sticks in the
bundle of rights that are commonly characterized as

13

property — the right to exclude others.” Kaiser Aetna v.
United States, 444 U.S. 164, 176 (1979). Nor did the
Commission’s permit decision render the loss of these rights
inevitable. In fact, the likelihood that the easement would be
accepted was quite minimal. See Grupe, 212 Cal. Rptr. at
592, 601-02. And of course, if no public agency formally
accepted the offer to dedicate within 21 years of recordation,
the offer would expire by it terms and the owner of the
property would retain title completely unburdened by the
offer. See id. at 602.

It is thus clear that it was the County’s acceptance of the
offer to dedicate in March 2000, and not the Coastal
Commission’s 1980 permit decision, that deprived the Trust
of the right to use the 77,000 square feet of property and to
exclude others from that property. As a result of the County’s
acceptance, the Trust is forced to bear what amounts to a
permanent physical occupation’” of its property, by virtue
of the public’s unfettered right to use the land “to pass to and
fro,” Nollan, 483 U.S. at 832, and petitioner’s right to exclude
others has been permanently extinguished. See Copeland v.
City of Oakland, 23 Cal. Rptr. 2d 719, 723 (Cal. Ct. App.
1993) (upon acceptance of an offer to dedicate, “‘the property
is thereafter held in trust for public use’” and is “‘no longer
subject to private control’”’), As a matter of federal
constitutional law, the County’s acceptance of the offer to
dedicate worked a legally distinct deprivation of property for
which the County either must pay compensation or
demonstrate that the nexus and proportionality requirements
of Nollan and Dolan have been satisfied.

cee

In concluding otherwise, the court of appeal reasoned that
“[t]he validity of the permit condition underlies all of the
causes of action alleged in the trustee’s amended complaint,”
and that petitioner’s claims “are derived from and dependent
upon the original permit condition the predecessor in interest
failed to timely challenge.” Pet. App. 12a. Although the
Coastal Commission’s decision to impose the unconstitutional

14

condition was plainly a necessary predicate for the County’s
later decision to accept the offer to dedicate, the two decisions
are logically and legally distinct. In accepting the offer to
dedicate, the County made a purely discretionary decision
that was not compelled by the original permit condition. See
Grupe, 212 Cal. Rptr. at 592 (noting that it was unlikely that a
public agency would actually accept the offer to dedicate at
issue in that case). In making this decision, moreover, the
County had an independent duty to respect the constitutional
rights of property owners. Its decision to accept an easement
that was patently inconsistent with the requirements of Nollan
and Dolan, therefore, is a legally separate governmental act
that caused an injury that the original permit decision made
possible but did not, by itself, cause. See Whalers’ Village
Club, 220 Cal. Rptr. at 14-15.°

In short, although the same constitutional flaw infects both
the Coastal Commission’s action and that of the County, the
County’s acceptance of the offer to dedicate resulted in a
constitutional injury that the Commission’s permit decision
alone did not cause. This Court should grant review in order
to make clear that the dictates of the Takings Clause cannot
be circumvented by state efforts to appropriate private
property in two steps rather than one.

* Under the contrary, and misguided, reasoning of the lower court, a
local government would today be free to accept an offer to dedicate an
easement for a “whites only” beach that a permitting body coerced when
de jure racial segregation practices were under legal attack but had not yet
been deemed unconstitutional or proscribed by any federal statute.
Although the same equal protection violation would inhere in both the
permit and the subsequent acceptance decision, it is perfectly clear that a
decision to accept such an unlawful offer gives rise to a separate
constitutional wrong by a separate state entity bound to respect
constitutional rights.

15

Il. NO CHALLENGE TO A DEPRIVATION OF THE
TRUST’S RIGHT TO USE THE PROPERTY AND
TO EXCLUDE OTHERS FROM IT WAS “RIPE”

IN 1980.
The decision below also rests on a _ fundamental
misapprehension of federal ripeness principles. That

misapprehension led the lower court to adopt a procedural
rule that barred judicial review of a valid takings claim, and
thereby impermissibly “relieve[d] [the State] of the duty to
provide compensation.” First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. County of Los Angeles, Cal., 482 U.S. 304, 321
(1987). As it did in First English, this Court should grant
review to correct this constitutional error and to make clear
that perceived notions of administrative efficiency cannot
trump the requirements of the Takings Clause.

This Court has consistently ruled that a property owner may
not pursue a takings challenge until there has been a final
government decision. See Williamson County Reg'] Planning
Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 186 (1985); see
also Palazzolo, 533 U.S. at 620 (property owner cannot
establish a takings challenge “before a land-use authority has
the opportunity, using its own reasonable procedures, to
decide and explain the reach of a challenged regulation”).
Under California law, it is clear that no state agency made a
final decision to divest the Trust of its right to use and
exclude others from the beachfront property until the County
finally accepted the offer to dedicate in March 2000. Thus,
any claim the original property owner could have brought
seeking redress for a physical taking would have been entirely
premature in 1980; at that time, and for nearly 20 years
thereafter, no one knew whether, or when, a public agency
might decide to accept the offer to dedicate. See Grupe, 212
Cal. Rptr. at 602 (“the Commission cannot know with
certainty whether future events will occur that as a practical
matter are essential to implementation of [an offer to
dedicate]”).

16

The court of appeal’s conclusion that petitioner’s claims
were barred by Bushkin’s failure to file a petition for a writ of
administrative mandamus within 60 days of the
Commission’s 1980 permit decision is flatly inconsistent with
these ripeness principles. Under this Court’s precedents, it is
clear that any challenge to the taking caused by the County’s
acceptance of the offer to dedicate was not “ripe” when the
offer to dedicate was recorded, and that Bushkin could not
have brought (and thus could not have waived) any challenge
to that taking in 1980. Indeed, the court of appeal’s flawed
reasoning would allow a recording landowner to obtain an
undeserved windfall — she would be entitled to compensation
for the full value of a property loss that might never come to
pass, or, as happened in the present case, that might be
suffered by a subsequent property owner. See Danforth v.
United States, 308 U.S. 271, 284 (1939) (“compensation is
due at the time of taking, [and] the owner at that time, not the
owner at an earlier or later date, receives the payment”).

None of the policies the court of appeal cited below,
moreover, supports its procedural bar. The court noted that:

“[o]nce aware of a challenge from whatever source, an
agency can cancel, change, or stay enforcement of a
challenged action, or otherwise mitigate damages. On
the other hand, if persons affected by adverse
administrative actions — be they landowners, permit
applicants, or others — were permitted to refrain from
challenging such actions until mitigation of damages by
the government becomes impossible through the passage
of time or events, and then present monetary claims, the
financial burden on government could become
overwhelming.”

Pet. App. lla (quoting Patrick Media Group, Inc. v.
California Coastal Comm'n, 11 Cal. Rptr. 2d 824, 836-37
(Cal. Ct. App. 1992)). Petitioner asserted his taking claim,
however, in a manner that is fully consistent with the policies
the court of appeal relied on to justify preclusion of that

17

claim. He afforded the-County — the state entity that actually
deprived the Trust of its fundamental property rights — ample
warning and opportunity to avoid exposure for takings
damages, by repeatedly urging the County not to accept an
easement that bore no substantial nexus or rough
proportionality to the construction project to which the
easement was tied. Petitioner then brought suit within 30
days of the County’s acceptance of the offer to dedicate, not
“three or five years later... [when] meaningful governmental
fiscal planning . . . [became] impossible,” Patrick Media
Group, Inc. v. California Coastal Commission, \1 Cal. Rptr.
2d 824, 836 (Cal. Ct. App. 1992); indeed, petitioner claims
that the taking dates only from March 2000, not May 1980,
when the Commission imposed the original permit condition.

In all events, this Court has made clear that the type of
policy considerations that the court of appeal cited cannot
justify a procedural scheme that forecloses judicial review of
valid takings claims. In First English, this Court addressed a
procedural scheme that prohibited landowners from
challenging a “regulatory” taking in an action for inverse
condemnation, and thus effectively barred compensation for
temporary takings. Citing the “need for preserving a degree
of freedom in the land-use planning function, and the
inhibiting financial force which inheres in the inverse
condemnation remedy,” the California Supreme Court had
held, in Agins v. Tiburon, 598 P.2d 25 (Cal. 1979), aff'd on
other grounds, 447 U.S. 255 (1980), that a landowner must
first establish that a regulation is excessive in an action for
declaratory relief or for a writ of mandamus, and thus cannot
recover damages for any “temporary” taking that occurs prior
to the government’s decision to withdraw the regulation in
response to a court finding of excessiveness. /d. at 29-31.
Although this Court acknowledged the validity of the policies
that led to the adoption of this procedural scheme, First
English, 482 U.S. at 317, it heid that a State may not adopt a
review scheme that “relieve[s] it of the duty to provide

18

compensation for the period during which the taking was
effective.” /d. at 321.

So too here, policies supporting prompt review of
administrative action cannot compel the bringing of takings
claims that, under this Court’s precedents, are plainly unripe,
particularly where, as here, a “failure” to bring such an unripe
claim then forms the basis for precluding all judicial review
of an unquestionably meritorious takings claim. The
California legislature itself has explicitly recognized that local
governments play a role, separate and unique from that of the
Coastal Commission, in implementing coastal programs and
has provided a separate remedy for any injuries that local
governments cause through such implementation. See Cal.
Pub. Res. Code § 30802 (“[a]ny person . . . aggrieved by the
decision or action of a local government that is implementing
a certified local coastal program . . . ha[s] a right to judicial
review of such decision or action”). The decision below
improperly forecloses this avenue of redress, as well as that
provided under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, for an unconstitutional
taking bas ' on a_ procedural waiver rule that is
irreconciliable with governing ripeness doctrine. This Court
should grant the petition to confirm that preclusion of such
valid takings claims is impermissible, and cannot be justified
by claims of administrative efficiency.

lil. UNLESS THIS COURT GRANTS REVIEW,
HUNDREDS OF OTHER UNCONSTITUTIONAL
DEPRIVATIONS WILL ESCAPE JUDICIAL
REVIEW.

Unless this Court grants review, the unconstitutional taking
of coastal property that occurred in this case will not be an
isolated incident. First, literally hundreds of other offers to
dedicate easements that the Coastal Commission coerced
before this Court’s decision in Nollan are due to expire soon,
and the Commission has made clear its intention to secure
acceptance of as many of these easements as possible. See
James Rainey, Faster Action by Agencies Is Preserving Beach

19

Access, L.A. Times, July 10, 2000, at A3, available at 2000
WL 2258956. If this Court declines to review the decision
below, local governments throughout California will
understand that they are free to accept these outstanding
offers to dedicate without fear of incurring takings liability.

Indeed, absent review by this Court, it is unlikely that many
other property owners will even attempt to challenge such
acceptance decisions. In its zeal to obtain acceptance of
hundreds of outstanding offers to dedicate easements, the
Coastal Commission took the extraordinary step of enjoining
petitioner from resisting such efforts, and is threatening him
personally (not as trustee) with fines amounting, at this point,
to potentially tens of millions of dollars for challenging an
offer to dedicate an easement that does not comply with the
requirements set forth in Nollan and Dolan. Should this
Court deny review in this case, few litigants will have either
the financial wherewithal or the resolve to withstand such
administrative intimidation in the future. This Court
condemned the Coastal Commission’s strong-arm tactics in
Nollan, it should not blink at them now when the effect will
be precisely the same, viz., uncompensated takings of
property.

Second, the decision below provides a clear roadmap that
other States can use to escape the Court's holdings in Nollan
and Dolan. Rather than employ direct extortion as in Nollan,
government entities can use the “offer to dedicate” scheme to
avoid paying for their takings. Most landowners will have
little incentive to mount a takings challenge to a permit
condition that coerces an offer to dedicate given (1) the
remote likelihood that such an offer will ever affect the
current landowner, and (2) the reality that any such challenge
is unripe. Thus, the government can compel such offers with
impunity, then wait years to implement the actual taking, and
resist subsequent compensation claims based on the waiver
and res judicata principles endorsed below. The resulting
procedural whipsaw thus prevents the truly injured landowner

20

from challenging the real taking because no one acted in
response to the largely trivial action taken earlier.

Finally, this case presents a particularly good vehicle for
resolving an important issue affecting hundreds of coastal
property owners. Petitioner’s challenge to the unconstitu-
tional taking committed by the County of Santa Baroara has
been clearly and squarely presented from the outset of this
litigation, and he has exhausted his state court remedies. This
Court should grant the petition in order to ensure that the
procedural bar adopted below does not render the promise of
Nolian and Dolan completely illusory.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, this Court should grant the
petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE N. MILLER CARTER G. PHILLIPS*

ANNE MAYER TURK JOSEPH R. GUERRA

SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN & SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &
WOOD LLP WOOD LLP

555 West Fifth Street 1501 K Street, N.W.

Suite 4000 Washington, D.C. 20005

Los Angeles, California 90013 (202) 736-8000
(213) 896-6641

Counsel for Petitioner
June 3, 2002 * Counsel of Record

ries ‘ . as eee, PRT Eee S ee ee ee Le eee . . = a ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1285%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
