# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Duncan v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1013%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1066

## Text

001510 jan 25200

No. 00-
eiadeian a aeoadieenme tae

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

WILLIAM DUNCAN,
Petitioner,

v.
DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STEWART LEE KARLIN KENNETH J. KAVANAUGH P.A.
400 SE 8" Street Counsel of Record
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 400 SE 8" Street
(954) 462-1201 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316

(954) 462-5255

Attorneys for Petitioner

166160 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

l

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Eleventh Circuit applied the correct
standard under Rule 56(f) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure when ruling that the District Court did not abuse
its discretion when it made no finding regarding Petitioner’s
Rule 56(f) application and denying it as moot when it granted
respondent’s summary judgment motion.

Whether the Court erred when affirming the granting of
summary judgment when the reasons for the termination were
in dispute and when developed in the record were similar
incidents occurring which did not result in any discipline to
similarly situated employees.

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner W.lliam Duncan was employed at the
Respondent as a pilv‘ (Captain) at the Miami International
Airport. He was the plaintiff in the district court and appellant
in the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals.

Respondent Delta Airlines Inc. was the defendant in the

district court and appellee in the Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee ue wks ¢duem ee eee beet

Panes OP Gee PUOOONEED 0g ccc ccccccscccsccss

a es ee eas

es SOS gw ccc ee sccnbeccese

PE AUIOOD oo ccs cccsecsccsdéesdunece

i Sci tac Geeaewe ee see aeeees aves

Statement of Jurisdiction .....................

Statutory Provision Involved ..................

eden ueesawwee

Pee IE BEI kc cw ck cnecccncccncs

‘Reasons for Granting Writ ....................

I.

The Decision Of The Eleventh Circuit Court
Of Appeals Conflicts With The Decision Of
The Supreme Court And With Other Circuits

eeReae epeeae OB C6EO OC eOeEeE EDO GC Oe BACHE EO OOS. 46 OSC

A. The Rule 56(f) Motion Was Improperly
CE < veieh chee cab wee baad one

Page

il

Vill

tN

12

12

iv

Contents

Page

B. The Eleventh Circuit Failed to Follow
RE co habe wckh ced bae acces et 15

I]. The Questions Presented Are Important And
There Is A Conflict In The Circuits ....... 16

III. The Decision Of The Court Of Appeals Has

A Particularly Debilitating Effect On
IDG c.inc se 60 Caw hub asie ee ee ee 17

SN go eo a ae oe chelsea ree 18

Vv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970)

26 648 2 O44 D-DDA-D OS OOO 2S DT SE 24 2.4 6.8 2 4.4. O.2SG-SOR A CO

Atkinson v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV 00472 ........

Buchanan vy. Starships Inc., 744 F.2d 1070 (Sth Cir.
| OR RT OP ty ea roca

Carmical Bell Helicopter Textron Inc., 117 F.3d 490
be, fe 4 Be rr err ere rrr yr

Condon vy. Delta Airlines, 93 CIV 00670 ........

First National Bank of Arizona v. Cities Service Co.,
FOE Re. Be Ee bk Os Reb oe

Florida Power & Light v. Allis Chalmers Corp., 893
Page URES CLG Feo view eee canes

Hicks v. Delta Airlines, 91 CIV 1523 ...........

International Shortstop Inc. v. Rally Inc., 939 F.2d
beret Lo AE. | weer errr rr ey.)

Kassa v. Delta Airlines, 93 CIV 1910 ...........
Lee v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV 01056 ............

Miller v. Beneficial Management Corp., 977 F.2d
fk |) re ere hore rae

Page

12

18

12

17

18

12

17

18

13
18

18

13

vi
Cited Authorities
Page
Naumanchi v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV 00539 ..... 18
Prather v. Delta Airlines, 93 CIV 0231 .......... 18
Range v. Delta Airlines, 91 CIV 1673 ........... 18
Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products Inc., 120

SB. CR; Beet Gee ccc cscceeceeens EES ES 15
Sallas v. Delta Airlines, 94 CIV 1012 ........... 17
Schoembaum vy. Firstbrook, 405 F.2d 215 (2d Cir.

1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 906 (1968) ...... 13
Sommer v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV 00652 ........ 18
Sweat v. Miller Brewing Company, 708 F.2d 655

th) fe Bi er rer rrr rr 15
Thompson v. Delta Airlines, 93 CIV 00354 ...... 17,18
Visa Int'l Service Ass'n v. Bankcard Holders of

America, 784 F.2d 1472 (9th Cir. 1986) ....... 12
Statutes:

Flonda Civil Rights Act of 1992, Florida Statute 760,
GOR. oo cvesthandsaes4essa8 eae 2

Florida Civil Rights Act of 1992, Florida Statute

vil

Cited Authorities
Page
Rule:

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(f) ...........
ekbee abecnaeciyeleens 1, 1,9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17

vill

TABLE OF APPENDICES
Page

Appendix A — Per Curiam Opinion And Judgment
Of The United States Court Of Appeals For The
Eleventh Circuit Dated And Filed October 25,
MD 5s ovebsbnebo bse re ceee ees tintebadevn la

Appendix B — Order On Motion For Summary
Judgment And Final Summary Judgment Of The
United States District Court For The Southern
District Of Florida Dated May 4, 2000 ........ 12a

]

Petitioner respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Eleventh Circuit (App. A) is an unreported judgment
and opinion to wit William Duncan v. Delta Airlines Inc.,
Case No. 00-12939. The district court (App. B) opinion and
judgment is unreported to wit: William Duncan v. Delta
Airlines Inc., Case No. 99-6428-CIV-FERGUSON. |

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals
was entered on October 25, 2000.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

This case involves Rule 56(f) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure which states:

(f) When Affidavits are Unavailable. Should it
appear from the affidavits of a party opposing the
motion that the party cannot for reasons stated
present by affidavit facts essential to justify the
party’s opposition, the court may refuse the
application for judgment or may order a
continuance to be obtained or depositions to be
taken or discovery to be had or may make such
other orders as is just.

2

This case also involves the Florida Civil Rights Act of
1992, Florida Statute 760.10 (patterned after Title VII)

It shall be an unlawful for an employer

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge
any individual or otherwise to discriminate
against any individual with respect to the
compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of
employment, because of such individuals’s age
... handicap. .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was commenced by Petitioner Duncan
alleging that he was terminated due to his age, disability

and perceived disability. The complaint filed by the Petitioner |

alleged a cause of action for deprivation of employment
opportunities in violation of the Florida Civil Rights Act of
1992, Florida Statute 760, et seg. only. App. B at 15a. Captain
Duncan alleges that there was an age bias, particularly from
Chief Pilot Burnfeld who built a case of progressive
discipline against Captain Duncan which ultimately caused
his termination regarding an alleged improper taxing incident
App. B at 15a.

In one of several memorandum placed in Petitioner’s
personnel file without his knowledge, Chief Pilot Burnfield
stated that some crews preferred not to fly with Captain Duncan.
But when questioned at his deposition, he had no recollection
of which crews did not want to fly with him. Finally, the
memorandum dated April 16, 1996 by Burnfeld reflects an open
age bias when he states “HOPEFULLY THIS PROBLEM
WILL BE RESOLVED, BUT WE HAVE A DINOSAUR
ATTITUDE OF RESISTANCE TO CHANGE AND

3

FURTHER INCIDENTS WILL REQUIRE MORE
SUBSTANTIAL ACTION.” This memorandum was placed
in Petitioner’s file contrary to the agreement that was reached
that nothing was done wrong and that there would be nothing
placed in his personnel file and directly contrary to the
CBA and personnel rules and regulations of Delta since one is
suppose to receive a copy of any counseling and be signed
by the pilot before it goes in his file. App. A at 7a.

Delta, through Burnfield again seized on any opportunity
to discredit Captain Duncan in an attempt to set him up for
termination due to his age when a second officer complained
about Duncan. However, no credible investigation whatsoever
was done and apparently took the word of a second officer who
had almost no experience on a 727, who had recently returned
from furlough, and who felt that he was more qualified to make
critical decisions than himself or his experienced first officer.
Burnfield never took a detailed statement from Captain Duncan
nor first officer, Greg Knox. In fact, he never showed him a
copy of the complaint, nor did Burnfield advise him of the
specific allegations against him. Burnfield could not answer
why he did not interview the co-pilot who was also
accompanying Thompson and Duncan even though it is the
better practice to interview all significant witnesses when
suspending someone for thirty days on alleged serious safety
issues. He did not recall his conversation with Duncan but
concluded that Thompson’s complaint was accurate In fact,
when First Officer Knox was contacted by telephone and
indicated that nothing improper occurred, Delta decided not to
take a statement from Knox knowing that it would not support
a suspension. This was the first significant adverse employment
action (progressive discipline) taken in which Burnfeld was the
decision maker App. A at 3a.

4

The suspension which was baseless was not grieved since
he was. threatened with further pay loss and loss of health
insurance during the suspension and was intimated by a direct
threat of further financial hardship.

Delta once again suspended him for thirty days over
baseless charges and even went as far as instigating a
passenger to complain about him. The circumstances
regarding this incident which caused his suspension is as
follows. Captain Duncan was dead heading from Dallas to
Cincinnati aboard flight 1922. He did not have an altercation
with a passenger and in fact the passenger never complained
to anyone.

In a further attempt to build mountain out of a mole hill,
Delta took the unprecedented step of calling the passenger
to instigate a complaint since the passenger had never
complained. The only thing he did was move a small attache
case from the overhead compartment to an adjoining
compartment. The passenger asked Petitioner “what are you
doing” and he replied only trying to make room for my bag.
No other conversation took place between Captain Duncan
and the passenger. The only other thing that occurred on the
flight was when the flight attendant approached Captain
Duncan and a member of his crew and stated “they do not
have enough snacks for you” he replied in a joking manner
‘oh well, I guess we have to go by seniority”.) Subsequently,
the Captain Sultzbach (approximately 40 years old at the
time) of: the flight asked to speak to Captain Duncan and
approached him in an aggressive and threatening manner as
witnessed by members of his crew. Captain Duncan received
a suspension notice of thirty days over this incident which
is a shocking and grossly disproportionate penalty. It should
be noted that Captain Duncan instigated the investigation

yo

5

when he along with his crew went into see Captain Tutt and
prepared CIOR (crew irregularity operational report) in
connection with the unprofessional behavior exhibited by
the Captain of that flight. Delta seized the opportunity
to turn the situation around (and favor a Captain who
was approximately 40 years old) despite the unrebutted
statements made by members of his crew regarding the
- aggressive and threatening manor in which this substantially
younger Captain approached him. Nothing was done to
Captain Sultzbach but Captain Duncan was once again
singled out for discriminatory treatment due to his age over
a non existent incident and key witnesses which supported
Duncan were not contacted. Captain Duncan was advised
that Delta, through Shand Gause, System Manager, that he
would seek a sixty day suspension if he contested the validity
of the suspension. This would have been a substantial loss
of income without insurance and thus he decided that
he could not afford to grieve the thirty day suspension.
(App. A at 3a)

In connection with the final incident at La Guardia
Airport, (LGA), Captain Duncan departing from LGA
on March 21, 1998 at approximately 6:30 P.M. and the
weather conditions was overcast and drizzling. (R1-43-7-9)
The aircraft was in the process of being pushed back to an
area known as spot 29 which is approximately one hundred
yards from the gate. All pre-start check lists had been
completed anu .ne plane was cleared to start the number two
engine while the aircraft was in the process of being pushed
backward from the alley way to spot 29. By the time the
aircraft was positioned at spot 29 by the ground crew, the
number two engine was still in the process of being started.
At this point Captain Duncan was advised “brakes set” from
the ground crew. He replied, “brakes set, clear to disconnect”.

6

At this point, the ground person immediately pulled the
headset jack used for communication thereby making any
further oral communications impossible.

The ground crew personnel never advised Captain
Duncan to stand by for hand signals which is part of Delta’s
procedures before breaking off communications with him.
Captain Duncan then looked ninety degrees to his left and
saw the marshaling agent (who is one of the ground crew
personnel) with his wands at a forty-five degree position
meaning the aircraft was suppose to be in a stopped position
with the brakes set which the aircraft was at that point.
The proper procedure is that the agent should have been at
10:00 to 12:00 position and thus in plain view of both the
Captain and First Officer. Instead the agent positioned
himself at 9:00 or ninety degrees directly to the left of the
Captain making it impossible for anyone but the Captain to
see him. At that point, he finished monitoring the start of
the number two engine which had now come up to idle, the
start being completed.

He then called for the number one engine to be started
and looked to his left and observed a salute from the
marshaling agent, returned his salute and he then disappeared
from view as was the Delta procedure. Captain Duncan asked
the first officer, Doug Schalfer for taxi clearance and turned
the taxi lights on and started a very slow roll with just the
number two engine at idle power. (The number one engine
had just started rotation and was not close to being minimum
rotation speed to engage the fuel to start the engine.) At that
time, Captain Duncan observed the marshaling agent again
ninety degrees to his left waiving a stop and other unknown
signs with his wands. He immediately stopped the aircraft,
and called operations to find out the problem. Immediately

7

his first officer terminated the number one engine. Operations
advised Captain Duncan that ground crew personnel were not
clear of aircraft at the time he started to taxi.

It should be noted that the first officer is also responsible
for making sure the aircraft is clear and if the Delta’s version is
believed that the marshaling agent was in front of the aircraft,
he would have been in plain view of the first officer, Doug
Schalfer. The first officer at that time was approximately
forty years old and did not even receive a suspension, or even a
counseling at the time for the incident which resulted in Captain
Duncan’s termination. It should be noted that Captain Duncan
has flown literally thousands of flights without incident as well
as his co-pilot who was a highly experienced and knowledgeable
pilot who would never taxi if he was not certain that the plane
was clear to do so. Subsequently, Captain Duncan was verbally
suspended with pay. (App. A at 3a) While Captain Duncan was
suspended, he decided to have his required FAA physical.
On April 7, 1998, he went to Dr. Perraud, his FAA examiner to
renew his first class medical certificate which is required every
six months. However, Captain Duncan was advised by
Dr. Perraud that he could not give him medical clearance
because he was now suffering from diabetes and high blood
pressure. As a result, he faxed a copy of the medical turn down
to Captain Columbia on April 8, 1998 who in turn faxed it to
Shand Gause. He was advised by Captain Columbia that Delta’s
position was that if he attempted to go out on medical disability
leave, that Delta would terminate him. Because of the severe
financial consequences resulting from a termination, he had no
choice and was forced to take an early retirement thus resulted
in a substantial financial loss of pension benefits. Problems
regarding the ground crews have reoccurred repeatedly.
The problem of taxing before getting the salute occurred in
New York. Captain Quiello stated that the pilots did not wait

8

for the marshaling agent’s salute before taxing which means
the area such as the tug etc. may not yet be clear and thus you
wait for the salute. It is the Captain’ responsibility to make sure
the salute is given by the marshaling agent prior to taxing.
At JFK, there were at least three incidents admitted (maybe
more) where the pilots did not obtain the salute from the
marshaling agent which resulted in having improper push backs.
(App. A at 3a) This argument was not addressed by either court
although developed in the record.

The exact same situation which occurred to Captain
Duncan. However, none of the pilots involved in these incidents
received any discipline. In fact, there was a safety bulletin on
this very point and a subsequent memorandum by Quiello
acknowledging this reoccurring problem in New York.
However, in an extraordinary memory lapse, Quiello could not
recollect the name of one person on one of the crew regarding
at least three occurrences (probably more) of the crew not
adhering to push back procedures. Further, none of the incidents
resulted in any formal counseling at all let alone a termination.
What is even more remarkable is that when an incident of this
nature has occurred a CIOR has to be prepared by the
flight crew and the ground crew. However, despite the requests
for information, Delta stated that it had no such documents
in its possession, although Captain Duncan and member of
his crew followed Delta procedures and prepared a CIOR.
(App. A at 3a) This argument was not addressed by either court
although developed in the record.

In addition, there was another accident at LGA involving a
727 push back with Captain Richard Knowski (approximately
forty years old) which took place in November or December,
1999. However, no disciplinary action whatsoever was taken
against this substantially younger pilot even though there was

9

substantial damage to the aircraft and no action taken against
the ground crew. Since the accident occurred in November,
1999, discovery concluded in December, 1999, and petitioner’s
56(f) application was denied, a deposition could not be obtained.

A. Proceeding Below

This action was commenced on March 16, 1999 in State
Court for age and disability discrimination in connection with
plaintiff's termination as a Delta pilot and was removed in April,
1999 to the United States District Court for the Southern District
of Florida. There was extensive motion practice early in the
case such as a motion to dismiss and a motion to remand. The
Court denied the motion to remand and granted the motion to
dismiss as to the individual defendant. Also, a pretrial status
conference was held in May, 1999 setting the discovery deadline
of November 22, 1999 which was extended to December 22,
1999 by order dated December 28, 1999. It should be noted
due to the vacation schedules and location of the witnesses and
difficulty in serving process since they are pilots frequently
traveling especially during Christmas, Petitioner-Duncan had
filed a Rule 56(f) motion and an extension motion requesting
that the discovery deadline be extended to January 22, 2000.
These motions were denied as moot when the District Court
below ruled on the summary judgment. (App. A at 5a)

The reason it was necessary for the extension was that
Plaintiff had served their initial discovery requests which have
been responded too. In addition, plaintiff's deposition was
conducted. Although the discovery has been responded to, the
adequacy of the responses by defendant were at issue. After
negotiations, it was settled that initially the crew irregularity
reports be produced for inspection. However, there were

10

approximately thirteen thousand crew irregularity report located
in Atlanta Georgia that was made available around November
15, 1999. The document production request was on July 14,
1999. Because of the volume of the crew irregularity reports,
plaintiff narrowed its request to only one category. In addition,
once the documents were inspected and copied, there would
have been several more depositions conducted regarding
similarly situated pilots. This information was critical since it
provided the comparatives to Captain Duncan. However, the
proposal to the narrow the request although made within the
discovery period fell on deaf ears.

In addition, the depositions of the witnesses was difficult
since most of the depositions were out of the state of Florida in
various States. Also, most of the witnesses are pilots and thus
are difficult to get a hold off and schedule since their job
obviously has them traveling particularly during December.
It should be noted that five depositions have been taken by
Duncan. Duncan had scheduled other depositions which had to
be continued since Petitioner’s counsel was actually engaged
in Court proceedings. But key witnesses agreed to the
subsequently appear but because of vacation schedules and their
work schedules, the depositions could not be conducted before
the discovery deadline. The case was far more complex than
Petitioner anticipated since the records and witnesses were |
located out of State and were voluminous. To obtain record |
regarding these types of incidents and similar incidents |
regarding pilot error is difficult since there are literally thousands
of pilots who are based out of Atlanta. Thus, this case was far
more complicated that originally contemplated at the initial
pretrial status conference. (App. at Sa) This argument although
developed in the record below was not addressed by either court
below.

Ey Oca ye a ee eae e

11

The Summary Judgment was granted due to Court ruling
that Petitioner failed to offer evidence which raises material
issues of fact giving rise to an inference of discrimination or
in the alternative that the legitimate reasons articulated by
defendant were not shown to be pre-textual in that there was
no evidence in the record that Petitioner was treated
disparately in connection with his termination. In addition,
the lower Court never ruled (it was denied as moot when the
court ruled on the summary judgment) upon plaintiff's 56(f)
motion, motion for an extension of discovery and motion
for a one week extension to submit opposition papers to the
summary judgment. (App. A at 10a)

The Court of Appeals adopted the district’s court’s
opinion and affirmed the district’s court judgment,
App. A at __, and also held that the District Court did not
abuse its discretion in denying plaintiff's Rule 56(f) motion
because plaintiff had failed to demonstrate how the additional
discovery would aid Duncan and that there was ample time
to complete discovery. (App. A at 10a)

12

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT
L.

THE DECISION OF THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH THE
DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT AND
WITH OTHER CIRCUITS

A. The Rule 56(f) Motion Was Improperly Denied

In the case at bar, the court below committed reversible
error by not allowing Captain Duncan an opportunity to
complete discovery or at least supplement the record below.
In fact, the District Court below clearly abused its discretion
when it granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment
but denied as moot plaintiff's Rule 56(f) motion without
determining the merits of the 56(f) motion at all. A rule 56(f)
motion should be liberally construed unless the motion is
dilatory or lacking merit. First National Bank of Arizona v.
Cities Service Co., 391 U.S. 253 (1968); Buchanan vy.
Starships Inc., 744 F.2d 1070 (Sth Cir. 1984). In fact it is
considered an abuse of discretion if the record below is
incomplete. Visa Int'l Service Ass'n v. Bankcard Holders of
America, 784 F.2d 1472 (9th Cir. 1986). In short, Rule 56(f)
may be utilized by the opposing party to state reasons why
one has not had sufficient time in which to utilize discovery
procedures. If those reasons appear reasonable, then the
motion for summary judgment should be denied. Adickes v.
S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970). The Rule provides
an additional safeguard against an improvident or premature
grant of summary judgment. Courts have held that
continuances would be proper when the Court concluded that
the party opposing summary judgment had been diligent and

——

13

had acted in good faith. Miller vy. Beneficial Management
Corp., 977 F.2d 834 (3d Cir. 1992). Sufficient time for
discovery is especially important when the relevant facts are
exclusively in control of the Opposing party because only
one party has had an opportunity to present their side of the
case. Schoembaum vy. Firstbrook, 405 F.2d 215 (2d Cir.
1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 906 (1968). In addition, the
granting of continuances is more appropriate because
extracting information from an Opposing party who is the
sole source of that information may be a more difficult
process than obtaining information from an disinterested
source. In /nternational Shortstop Inc. vy. Rally Inc., 939 F.2d
1257 (Sth Cir. 1991), the court held that even though plaintiff
had several extensions of discovery, the delay was
attributable to defendant and thus the 56(f) application should
have been granted.

The case at bar which had been pending in State Court
(the action was a state claim only) first was removed in April,
1999. Motion practice ensued including a motion to dismiss
and motion for remand. The first status conference was held
in May, 1999 and the discovery deadline was set for
November 22, 1999. However, the case was far more
complex than originally contemplated due to the fact that
all of the witnesses and documents are located out of state.
In fact the witnesses are all pilots, were difficult to serve
since they are constantly traveling and due to their schedules
were extremely difficult to set Particularly from
Thanksgiving to the New Year. During the six to seven
months that discovery has been open, plaintiff has sent a
first set of interrogztories, a second set of interrogatories, a
first request for document production and a second request
for document production. In addition, plaintiff has taken the
deposition of five witnesses. Captain Duncan also has been

_

deposed and responded to interrogatories and document
production request. Thas, plaintiff has not sat idly by but a
great deal of activity had taken place.

Delta argues that Captain Duncan has not shown a need
for the additional discovery. However, the witnesses which
were identified are important. For example, Captain
Columbia was the union representative at the time of
plaintiff's termination and will verify that plaintiff was only
threatened with termination after they found about his
disability. Another witness, Richard Schaefler was plaintiff's
copilot at the time of the incident which led to his
termination. Moreover, the documents requested were also
critical since the documentation requested was for pilots who
reported the same incidents which led to plaintiff's
termination. Although the defendants, after negotiation made
available the crew irregularity reports in November, 1999
(the document production request was made on July 14, 1999;
thus taking four months before making the document
available) since there were well over thirteen thousand
reports, Captain Duncan narrowed his request to just one
category, improper taxing, but Captain Duncan did not
received a response back from Delta. Plaintiff has shown a

need for the additional discovery, and diligence in pursuing ~

the relevant information. Further to inspect thirteen thousand
documents which were located out of state (these documents
were incident reports of improper taxing and other crew
irregularities), and then subpoena the potential witnesses who
are pilots constantly traveling for deposition and out of state
within approximately a month was not possible.

eee Se

ener N en ere nr

15

B. The Eleventh Circuit Failed to Follow Reeves

In reviewing the granting of summary judgment, the
Court must view the evidence in a light most favorable to
the plaintiff. Sweat v. Miller Brewing Company, 708 F.2d
655 (11th Cir. 1983). A review of the record below reflects
that Delta built a case for his termination based upon
progressive disciplinary action. However, the three primary
incidents (two suspensions and the termination incident) are
in dispute as well as the minor incidents preceding
Petitioner’s suspensions and termination. As a result, if there
is a factual dispute in the record, the finder of fact can find
discrimination although it does not have to do so making
summary judgment inappropriate, Reeves v. Sanderson
Plumbing Products Inc., 120 S. Ct. 2097 (2000).

Also, developed in the record below was a statement by
a decision maker regarding the first suspension when in the
memorandum he reflected an open age bias against Duncan
when he stated:

HOPEFULLY THIS PROBLEM WILL BE
RESOLVED, BUT WE HAVE A DINOSAUR
ATTITUDE OF RESISTANCE TO CHANGE
AND FURTHER INCIDENTS WILL REQUIRE
MORE SUBSTANTIAL ACTION.

Problems regarding improper taxing by other pilots have
reoccurred repeatedly was developed in the record without
any discipline but entirely ignored by the courts below.

In addition, there was another accident at LGA involving a
727 push back with Captain Richard Knowski (approximately
forty years old) which took place in November or December,

16

1999. However, no disciplinary action was taken against this
substantially younger pilot even though there was substantial
damage to the aircraft. Because this occurred at the close of
discovery and Rule 56(f) Motion was denied, the deposition
of Captain Knowski could not be arranged.

In any event, Captain Duncan was suspended. While he

was suspended, Captain Duncan decided to have his required .

FAA physical. On April 7, 1998, he went to Dr. Perraud, his
FAA examiner to renew his first class medical certificate
which is required every six months. He was advised by
Dr. Perraud that he could not get his medical clearance
because he was now suffering from diabetes and high blood
pressure. As a result, he faxed a copy of the medical turn
down to Captain Columbia on April 8, 1998 who in turn
faxed it to Shand Gause. Captain Duncan was advised by
Captain Columbia that Delta’s position was that if he
attempted to go out on medical disability leave, that Delta
would terminate him. Captain Columbia’s deposition was
not taken because the Rule 56(f) was denied. This was
another error committed by the court below. (App. A at 10a)

Il.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE IMPORTANT
AND THERE IS A CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS

The questions presented are important. Further
clarification regarding the circumstances of when a Rule
56(f) motion should be granted would enable the courts
below to apply a uniform standard of when to allow a
continuance for additional discovery when a case dispositive
summary judgment motion is made. The Eleventh Circuit
appears to follow a very narrow standard, a substantial harm
standard to party moving for the continuance instead of

RETR ARES ITN ores pete - ‘

: 2
“a
i
C3
%

17

liberally construing Rule 56(f) to insure that the record is
complete as most other circuits do. Carmical Bell Helicopter
Textron Inc., 117 F.3d 490 (11th Cir. 1997); Florida Power
& Light v. Allis Chalmers Corp., 893 F.2d 1813 (11th Cir.
1990).

Il.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS
HAS A PARTICULARLY DEBILITATING
EFFECT ON EMPLOYEES

The Eleventh Circuit standard regarding a Rule 56(f)
motion has a particularly debilitating effect on employees
since the employer generally possesses exclusive knowledge
of the documents and is control of the witnesses. In sum, the -
respondent should not be able to wait four months tu produce
documents in a six month discovery period and then require
the plaintiff to inspect over thirteen thousand documents out
of state. (Duncan attempted to narrow his request but there
was no response by Delta) After Petitioner inspected and
copied the documents and further investigated any incidents
regarding improper taxing and he would then have to
schedule the depositions of pilots, all of whom are located
out of state within a one month time table during the busiest
time of the year for air travel is not reasonable and thus the
courts below erred in denying the Rule 56(f) motion.'

1. It should be noted that there has been at least 15 summary
judgment motions granted in favor of Delta which many were
subsequently affirmed by the Eleventh Circuit concerning
employment cases under Title VII, ADA and ADEA. Put simply,
not one summary judgment was reversed by the Eleventh Circuit.
See Sallas v. Delta Airlines, 94 CIV 1012; Thompson v. Delta

(Cont'd)

18

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set for above, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

STEWART LEE KARLIN KENNETH J. KAVANAUGH P.A.

400 SE 8" Street Counsel of Record
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 400 SE 8" Street
(954) 462-1201 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316

(954) 462-5255

Attorneys for Petitioner

(Cont'd) ,

Airlines, 93 CIV 00354; Hicks v. Delta Airlines, 91 CIV 1523; Range
v. Delta Airlines, 91 CIV 1673; Sommer v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV
00652; Prather v. Delta Airlines, 93 CIV 0231; Kassa v. Delta
Airlines, 93 CIV 1910; Naumanchi v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV 00539;
Lee v. Delta Airlines, 95 CIV 01056; Atkinson v. Delta Airlines,
95 CIV 00472; Condon v. Delta Airlines, 93 CIV 00670.

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A — PER CURIAM OPINION AND
: JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT DATED
AND FILED OCTOBER 25, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-12939
Non-Argument Calendar

D. C. Docket No. 99-06428-CV-WDF
WILLIAM DUNCAN,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida

(October 25, 2000)
Before CARNES, MARCUS and WILSON, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Plaintiff-Appellant appeals the granting of Defendant-
Appellee’s motion for summary judgment. Because the

2a

Appendix A

district court correctly found that there was no genuine issue
as to any material fact and that Defendant was entitled to
judgment as a matter of law, we affirm.

1. BACKGROUND

Northeast Airlines hired Plaintiff William Duncan
(Duncan) as a flight engineer in 1967. In 1972, Northeast
merged with Defendant Delta Air Lines, Inc. (Delta), and
Duncan progressed through Delta’s pilot ranks, eventually
attaining the position of captain in 1987.

In 1993, Duncan received a disciplinary letter for failing
to appear to fly a series of trips assigned to him. This letter
was the first of several disciplinary reprimands for violating
safety procedures and for unprofessional behavior that led
to Delta’s decision to terminate Duncan’s employment. In
1994, a Delta supervisor received a telephone call from
another pilot reporting that Duncan failed to operate his
aircraft in accordance with standard operating procedures
and that he acted unprofessionally towards other crew
members. In response to the call, Delta administered a “line
check” of a revenue flight Duncan commanded.'

In 1996, Duncan allegedly engaged in unprofessional
social conduct while on a layover. Duncan requested that a
van driver radio the hotel and order a round of drinks for the
crew, as the hotel bar closed before the crew normally
arrived. When the drinks were not available, Duncan became

1. A “line check” is an evaluation of a pilot’s flying skills,
normally administered to Delta captains bi-annually.

3a

Appendix A

irate in the hotel lobby while in uniform. Later that year,
another crew member registered a complaint against Duncan
concerning his failure to abide by Delta’s standard operating
procedure. Delta’s chief pilot, Captain Chuck Burnfield,
counseled Duncan regarding these incidents.

Later in 1996, Burnfield received a letter from Second
Officer Paul Thompson, detailing many of Duncan’s failures
to follow standard safety procedures and his unprofessional
behavior. After Delta investigated this report, it suspended
Duncan without pay and benefits for thirty days. Burnfield
warned Duncan that any failures to comply with Delta’s
operating procedures “may result in the termination of your
[Duncan’s] employment.” Duncan did not file a grievance.

In 1997, another complaint was lodged against Duncan
for unprofessional behavior. It was alleged that Duncan was
rude to a passenger and flight attendant while traveling as a
passenger dressed in uniform. Delta again suspended Duncan
for thirty days without pay and issued to Duncan a “final
warning” that “disregard of Company policies and procedures
will not be tolerated in the future.” Duncan asked his union
to intervene, but decided not to file a grievance after being
threatened with a sixty day suspension if he decided to fight
the charge.

On March 21, 1998, Duncan was cited for failure to
comply with Delta’s safety procedures. Allegedly, Duncan
began to taxi an L-1011 aircraft at LaGuardia Airport before
the ground crew had moved away from the aircraft and before
the ground crew gave him clearance to taxi. The incident
allegedly endangered the lives of the ground crew member.

4a

Appendix A

Based on this incident and Duncan’s past record, Delta
decided to terminate Duncan, and Chief Pilot Charles Tutt
informed Duncan’s union representative, Captain Richard
Columbia, of that decision on approximately April 1, 1998.
After discussing the matter with Duncan, Columbia requested
that Delta permit Duncan to voluntarily take early retirement
in lieu of being terminated. Delta agreed, and Duncan
submitted his signed request for early retirement on April 8,
1998.2 On that same day, Duncan received a letter from the
FAA informing him that his application for an airman
medical certificate had been denied.’ Duncan testified he
faxed this letter to his union several hours before faxing his
request for early retirement to Delta.

Six months after retiring, Duncan commenced this action
in a Florida court. He claimed that Delta violated the Florida
Civil Rights Act of 1992. See Fla. Stat. Ann. § 760.01
et seq. (West, 1997). Duncan alleged he “was subjected to
different terms, conditions and privileges of employment
which caused his termination due to his age, disability and
perceived disability.” Delta removed the case to the United
States District Court for the Southern District of Florida
based on diversity jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1441. The
district court set the initial discovery deadline at November
22, 1999. On December 6, 1999, the parties jointly moved
to extend the discovery period until December 22, 1999. The

2. Duncan was fifty-seven years old at the time. Mandatory
retirement age for airline pilots is sixty years old.

3. The letter from the FAA does not give the reasons for
denying the application. Duncan testified it was because he had high
blood sugar.

— <<

Sa

Appendix A

district court granted that motion. Delta moved for summary
judgment on January 5, 2000. In response, Duncan moved
- to the court to stay or deny Delta’s motion for summary
judgment so Duncan could take additional discovery pursuant
to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(f). The district court
granted Delta’s summary judgment motion on May 4, 2000.
In granting the motion, the district court denied all pending
motions as moot. Duncan appeals the district court’s grant
of summary judgment and its denial of his Rule 56(f) motion.

II. DISCUSSION

This court reviews a district court’s decision to grant
summary judgment de novo, “construing all evidence in the
light most favorable to the non-moving party.” See Leigh v.
Warner Bros., Inc., 212 F.3d 1210, 1214 (11th Cir. 2000).
“Summary judgment is only:proper when there are no
genuine issues of material fact.” Jd. “An issue of fact is
material and genuine if a rational factfinder could find for
the nonmoving party on a fact necessary to establish an
element of the claim under applicable substantive law.” Ross
Neely Sys., Inc. v. Occidental Fire & Cas. Co. of N.C., 196
F.3d 1347, 1350 (11th Cir. 1999) (citing Anderson v. Liberty
Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986)). The movant bears
the initial burden of showing the absence of a genuine issue
as to any material fact. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477
U.S. 317, 323 (1986).

Duncan alleged that Delta discharged him because of
his age. In order to establish unlawful age discrimination
under the Florida Civil Rights Act of 1992, the plaintiff must
establish a prima facie case of discrimination. The employer

.

6a

Appendix A

must then respond with a legitimate, nondiscriminatory
reason for its actions. If the employer does produce a
legitimate response, the plaintiff must establish that the
employer’s offered reason was a pretext to mask unlawful
discrimination. See Walker v. NationsBank of Florida N.A.,
53 F.3d 1548, 1556 (11th Cir. 1995).4

In proving an age discrimination claim, the plaintiff may
establish a prima facie case either through direct evidence
of discrimination or through a variation of a four-part test
for circumstantial evidence. See Damon v. Fleming
Supermarkets of Florida, Inc., 196 F.3d 1354, 1358 (11th
Cir. 1999), cert. denied, U.S. __, 120 S.Ct. 1962 (2000).
A plaintiff can satisfy the four-part prima facie requirement
if he demonstrates: “(1) that [he] was a member of the
protective group of persons between the ages of forty and
seventy; (2) that [he] was subject to adverse employment
action; (3) that a substantially younger person filled the
position that she sought or from which [he] was discharged;
and (4) that [he] was qualified to do the job for which she
was rejected.” Jd. at 1359.

Duncan argues that a statement Chief Pilot Burnfield
made in a memo summarizing an investigation into one of
the complaints against Duncan 1s direct evidence of
discrimination. Burnfield stated that Duncan had “a dinosaur —

4. Because the Florida Civil Rights Act is patterned after Title
VII, federal caselaw dealing with Title VII claims also applies to
cases construing the Florida Civil Rights Act. See Harper v.
Blockbuster Entertainment Corp., 139 F.3d 1385, 1387 (11th Cir.)
(citing Ranger Ins. Co. v. Bal Harbour Club, Inc., 549 So.2d 1005,
1009 (Fla. 1989)), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1000 (1998).

7a

Appendix A

attitude of resistance to change ....” Burnfield explained
that he was referring to Duncan’s attitude, and not his age.
Even if Burnfield were referring to Duncan’s age, Burnfield
was not Chief Pilot when Delta decided to terminate Duncan,
Charles Tutt was. Burnfield, therefore was not a decision
maker in Delta’s decision to terminate Duncan. This Court
has held that age-related statements by non-decision makers
are not probative of a discriminatory intent behind a -
termination. See Standard v. A.B.E.L. Servs., Inc., 161 F.3d
1318, 1329-30 (11th Cir. 1998). Because Burnfield was not
a decision maker, we do not find his comment probative of
any age-related bias behind Duncan’s termination.

Even if we assume, without deciding, that Duncan could
establish a prima facie case under the four part test outlined
in Damon, he would still have the burden to prove that Delta’s
offered non-discriminatory explanation was pretext to mask
unlawful discrimination. See EEOC v. Joe’s Stone Crab, Inc.,
220 F.3d 1263, 1286 (11th Cir. 2000); Walker, 53 F.3d at
1556. Delta’s non-discriminatory explanation for its decision
to terminate Duncan was that his repeated failures to follow
standard procedures and the incident at LaGuardia led Delta
to conclude that Duncan could no longer be trusted to safely
operate a Delta aircraft. Duncan offered no evidence, and
the record does not disclose any evidence that Delta’s
explanation was pretext to mask unlawful discrimination.
Because there is no genuine issue of material fact relating to
the age discrimination claim, the district court correctly
granted summary judgment, as Delta was entitled to
judgment as a matter of law.

8a

Appendix A

To establish a prima facie case under the Americans with
Disabilities Act, and therefore, under the Florida Civil Rights
Act of 1992,° a plaintiff must show: “(1) [he] has a disability;
(2) [he] is a qualified individual; and (3) [he] was
discriminated against because of [his] disability.” Harris v.
H&W Contracting Co., 102 F.3d 516, 519 (11th Cir. 1997).
We assume, without deciding, that Duncan’s diabetes is a
disability and that he is a qualified individual. Duncan’s
claim fails because he failed to show any facts that he was
discriminated against because of his disability. The evidence
contained in the record shows that Duncan found out he had
diabetes on April 7 or April 8, 1998, and that he transmitted
the denial of his application for an airman medical certificate
to his union the same day he received it. In any event, Delta
made its decision to terminate Duncan before it could have
found out Duncan had diabetes. This Court has indicated
that an employer cannot take an adverse action because of
an employee’s disability when the evidence shows the
employer was not aware of the disability. See Morisky v.
Broward County, 80 F.3d 445, 448-49 (11th Cir. 1996).
Because Duncan can not show Delta knew of Duncan’s
alleged disability, Duncan can not show Delta discriminated
against him because of his disability. Therefore, Duncan can
not establish a prima facie case under the Florida Civil Rights
Act and Delta is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

“This court reviews a district court’s ruling on a Rule
56(f) motion for abuse of discretion, and will not overturn
such an order unless it is shown that the district court’s ruling
resulted in substantial harm to appellant’s case.” Carmical

5. See supra note 4.

é
*
y
>
%
:
9
is
+
£
sf
s
i
'

ELLIE ALT AAS NAR ia ea LORRI SPER NT had ‘i

ikcinuad SHEN eRe ZAP PRIMI RIS te feb NR DONMe Litera Sh i i al eae

9a
/ Appendix A

v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc., 117 F.3d 490, 493 (11th
Cir. 1997) (footnote omitted). A district court need not wait
for the completion of discovery before ruling on a motion
for summary judgment, but [bJefore entering summary
judgment the district court must ensure that the parties have
an adequate opportunity for discovery.” Florida Power &
Light Co. v. Allis Chalmers Corp., 893 F.2d 1313, 1316 (11th
Cir. 1990). In making a Rule 56(f) motion, a party “must
specifically demonstrate how postponement of a ruling on
the motion [for summary judgment] will enable him, by
discovery or other means, to rebut the movant’s showing of
the absence of a genuine issue of fact.” Wallace v. Brownell
Pontiac-GMC Co., Inc., 703 F.2d 525, 527 (11th Cir. 1983)
(internal quotation marks omitted).

In this case, Duncan’s memorandum in support of his
Rule 56(f) motion stated that he needed additional time to
depose witnesses, and to see if — after narrowing his request
for certain crew irregularity report documents — it was
necessary to go to Atlanta to inspect those documents.
Duncan offered no explanation of why he needed to depose
the witnesses or what the requested documents might show.
Thus, Duncan failed to specifically demonstrate how a
postponement of a ruling on Delta’s motion and his proposed
additional discovery would allow him to rebut Delta’s
showing of a lack of a genuine issue of material fact, and he
failed to meet his burden in making a Rule 56(f) motion under
Wallace. Furthermore, when the district court entered its
scheduling order on May 11, 1999, Duncan had six months
to conduct his discovery. This period was lengthened to seven
months where the district court granted the parties’ joint
motion to extend discovery. It appears, therefore, that the

10a

Appendix A

district court-ensured the parties “had an adequate
opportunity for discovery” before it entered its order granting
Delta’s motion for summary judgment. Florida Power &
Light Co., 893 F.2d at 1316. We do not find any abuse of
discretion in the district court’s decision to deny Duncan’s
Rule 56(f) motion.

III. CONCLUSION

Duncan failed to establish a prima facie case for either
his age discrimination or disability-based discrimination
claims. We agree with the district court’s decision to grant
Delta’s motion for summary judgment on those claims. The
district court did not abuse its discretion in denying Duncan’s
Rule 56(f) motion. For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the
decision of the district court.

AFFIRMED.

lla

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-12939

District Court Docket No.
99-06428-CV-WDF

WILLIAM DUNCAN,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,
Defendant-Appellee,
RICHARD COLBY,
Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida

JUDGMENT

It is hereby ordered, adjudged, and decreed that the
attached opinion, included herein by reference, is entered as
the judgment of this Court.

Entered: October 25, 2000

For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn,
Clerk

By: McCombs, Elaine

12a

APPENDIX B — ORDER ON MOTION FOR
SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND FINAL SUMMARY
JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF
FLORIDA DATED MAY 4, 2000

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 99-6428-CIV-FERGUSON
WILLIAM DUNCAN,
| Plaintiff,
VS.
DELTA AIRLINES, INC. and RICHARD COLBY,
Defendants.

ORDER ON MOTION FOR
SUMMARY JUDGMENT

THIS CAUSE is before the Court on the Defendant Delta
Air Lines, Inc.’s Motion for Summary Judgment [D.E.37].

Factual Background

Plaintiff William Duncan (“Duncan”) was hired by
Northeast Airlines as a DC-6 flight engineer on January 3,
1967. Northeast Airlines and defendant Delta Airlines Inc.
(“Delta”) merged in August of 1972. Duncan progressed
through Delta’s ranks as a pilot and was promoted to L1011
captain in 1987.

13a

Appendix B

In October 1993 Duncan was given a disciplinary letter
for “failing to appear to fly a series of trips assigned to him.”
He did not file a grievance. Subsequently he received a series
of disciplinary reprimands for violating safety procedures
and for unprofessional behavior which led to Delta’s decision
to terminate his employment. Those violations are set out in
the following paragraphs.

In June 1994 Delta received a complaint from a first
officer who reported that Duncan was not operating the
aircraft in accordance with standard operating procedures.
Duncan, who was represented by his union, was counseled
by his chief pilot. He did not file a grievance. In February
1996 Duncan allegedly engaged in unprofessional social
conduct while on a layover. As charged he became irate and
caused a disruption when a round of drinks ordered by him
were not served. He was again counseled and did not file a
grievance. In April of the same year Delta received another
complaint from a different first officer concerning Duncan’s
failure to abide by the employer’s standard operating
procedure. During a final approach the first officer “thought
there was a chance of a conflict with another aircraft.” After
an investigation by the chief pilot, the matter was resolved
by “referring it to human factors.”

Just two months later, in June 1996, Delta received yet
another safety procedure complaint against Duncan: failure
to wear his head set; arriving late at the aircraft; operating
the aircraft above the recommended altitude; deliberately
flying into a thunderstorm; not setting an altimeter bug; and
failing to comply with special departure profiles. Based on
this last incident Delta suspended Duncan for thirty days

l4a

Appendix B

without pay and advised him that any further deviations from
Delta’s procedures, or any further findings of unprofessional
behavior or violation of Delta’s regulations, would result in
more severe disciplinary action up to and including
termination of his employment. He did not file a grievance.

Less than a year later in 1997 a complaint was lodged
against Duncan for unprofessional behavior. It was alleged
that Duncan was rude to a passenger and a flight attendant
while traveling as a passenger dressed in uniform. Duncan
was given a second thirty day suspension. He was informed
that this was his final warning and that any further complaints
would result in termination. Duncan testified that “I was not
guilty of what they accused me of and I refused to lay down
for it.” He asked his union to intervene but decided not to
file a grievance after being threatened with a sixty day
suspension if he fought the charge.

On March 21, 1998, Duncan was again cited for failure
to comply with Delta’s safety procedures. Allegedly he
endangered the life of the ground crew during departure from
LaGuardia airport. Delta investigated the incident concluding
“that plaintiff could no longer be trusted to safely operate
Delta aircraft.” Delta informed Duncan that he would be
terminated. Instead of filing a grievance Duncan’s union
representative advised him: to resign. An agreement was
reached with the employer to forgo termination proceedings
and instead allow Duncan to voluntarily retire. On April 8,
1998, Duncan’s retirement forms were signed.

By a form letter from the Federal Aviation Administration
[“FAA”] dated April 8, 1998, Duncan was informed that his

15a

Appendix B

application for an airman medical certificate had been denied.
The letter did not give a specific reason for the denial.'
Duncan testified that the denial of his application for an
airman medical certificate was faxed to the Airline Pilots
Association several hours before his voluntary retirement
form was sent to Delta. Duncan testified that he had no
knowledge whether Delta was aware of his disability. He
also testified that the results of his physical examination was
not a factor in his decision to retire.

Duncan commenced this action six months after retiring,
at age 58, alleging in his complaint that he was treated
differently from younger and non-disabled employees and
that Delta’s reason for removing him from service was
pretextual. .

Issues

Two issues are presented: (1) whether there is an adverse
employment action as an element of a cause of action for
employment discrimination where an empioyee requests
permission to and does voluntarily resign and retire with
benefits as an alternative to termination; and (2) whether
Delta was aware of Duncan’s disability and discriminated
against him on that basis.

1. During a routine physical examination Duncan learned that
he was suffering from diabetes and hypertension. In his deposition
he was not certain whether the physical examination was
administered on the 7th or 8th of April 1998. But he stated that he
faxed the FAA letter to the Airline Pilots Association and his
retirement forms to Delta on the same day.

l6a

Appendix B

Standard for Summary Judgment

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c) provides that
summary judgment shall be granted if the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on
file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is
no genuine issue as to any material fact and the moving party
is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P.
_56(c). A factual dispute is “genuine” if the evidence is such
that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the
non-movant. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,
248 (1986). Similarly, a fact is “material” if it might affect
the outcome of the suit under the governing substantive law,
Anderson, 477 U.S. at 247.

In considering this motion for summary judgment, the
Court must examine “whether the evidence presents a
sufficient disagreement to require submission to a jury or
whether it is so one-sided that the defendant should prevail
as a matter of law.” Jd. at 243. The movant bears the initial
burden of showing the absence of a genuine issue as to any
material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323
(1986). In deciding whether the movant has met this burden,
the Court must view the evidence and all factual inferences
in the light most favorable to the non-movant. Miranda v.
B & B Cash Grocery Store, Inc., 975 F.2d 1518, 1532 (11th
Cir. 1992). “If reasonable minds could differ on the
inferences arising from undisputed facts, summary judgment
should be denied.” Jd. at 1534.

Once the initial burden is met, the non-movant must
come forward with specific facts showing that there is-a

17a

Appendix B

genuine issue for trial that precludes summary judgment.
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475
U.S. 574, 587 (1986). The evidence presented cannot consist
of conclusory allegations, legal conclusions or evidence
which would be inadmissable at trial. Avirgan v. Hull, 932
F.2d 1572, 1577 (11th Cir. 1991). Likewise, “a mere scintilla
of evidence supporting a position will not suffice; there must
be enough of a showing that the jury could reasonably find
for the [non-movant].” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 252. Failure
to make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of
any essential element of a claim is fatal and requires the
entry of summary judgment. Celotex Corp., 477 U.S. at
322-323.

Discussion
ADEA Claim

To establish unlawful discrimination under the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, (“ADEA”),
29 U.S.C. § 623(a), the plaintiff, initially, must establish a
prima facie case of discrimination. The employer must then
respond with a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for its
actions. In order to prevail, the plaintiff must establ.sh that
the employer’s articulated legitimate, nondiscriminatory
reason was a pretext to mask unlawful discrimination. Walker
v. NationsBank of Fla. N.A., 53 F.3d 1548, 1556 (11th Cir.
1995).

In an ADEA case involving discharge, demotion, or
failure to hire, a plaintiff may establish a prima facie case
by showing: (1) that he was a member of the protected group

18a

Appendix B

of persoris between the ages of forty and seventy; (2) that he
was subject to adverse employment action; (3) that a
substantially younger person filled the position that he sought
or from which he was discharged; and (4) that he was
qualified to do the job for which he was rejected. Turlington
v. Atlanta Gas Light Co., 135 F.3d 1428, 1432 (11" Cir.
1998).

First there is no prima facie case since there was no
adverse action by the employer; Duncan voluntarily retired.
Further there is no showing that a similarly situated younger
pilot was treated differently.

There may be cases where an employee’s resignation
may be an adverse employment action, as where the
employee is forced to choose between resignation and
termination. That is not the case here. Duncan sought the
advice of his union representative who, after examining the
employer’s evidence, concluded that exhaustion of grievance
procedures was not in his best interests. It was by request of
Duncan and his union that the employer permitted him to
retire with benefits rather than proceed on its termination
decision. An adverse employment action, which is an element
of a prima facie case, was thereby averted. Even if a prima
facie case could be presented Duncan has not shown that the
reasons advanced by the employer as a basis for termination
were not legitimate and discriminatory. After the series of
uncontested violations which reflected on the pilot’s ability
to safely operate a passenger aircraft, the employer could
have been found derelict in its responsibilities to the flying
public by not acting to remove him from the cockpit.

19a

Appendix B

Although Duncan’s counsel, in response to Delta’s
summary judgment, names two younger employees who
allegedly were treated differently, by deposition Duncan
testified that he did not know of any younger pilots charged
with the same type of violations who were treated differently.
Duncan cannot by an unsworn pleading contradict his
previous deposition testimony so as to raise a factual question
and thereby avoid summary judgement. See Van T. Junkins
& Assoc., Inc. v. U.S. Indus. Inc., 736 F.2d 656, 658 (11"
Cir. 1984) (holding that the District Court may find an
affidavit which contradicts testimony on deposition a sham
when the party merely contradicts the deposition testimony
without any valid explanation).

ADA Claim

Delta contends that the ADA claim is frivolous. The
Court agrees.

To establish a prima facie case under the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990 (“ADA”), 42 U.S.C.A. § 12132,
¢taimant must show that: (1) he has a disability, (2) he is a
qualified individual, and (3) he was discriminated against
because of the disability. Morisky v. Broward County, 80
F.3d 445, 448 (11 Cir. 1996); Klein v. Florida Dept. of
Children and Family Serv., 34 F. Supp.2d 1367, 1371 (S.D.
Fla. 1998).

Duncan’s argument that Delta, aware of his disability,
discriminated against him on that basis and forced him into
retirement is without a factual basis. Duncan admittedly did
not communicate to Delta management his disability; Delta

20a
_ Appendix B

decided to terminate Duncan before he took the physical and
Duncan, on the advice of his union, elected voluntary
retirement before failing the physical. The FAA letter
denying Duncan’s application for an airman medical
certificate was not sent to Delta prior to the formal retirement
forms. It cannot be said that the employer took an adverse
action because of the employee’s disability. where the
evidence shows that the employer was unaware of a
disability. Morisky, 80 F.3d at 448; Klein, 34 F. Supp.2d at
1372.

Accordingly, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the motion [D.E.37]
is GRANTED.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Ft. Lauderdale,
Florida, this 4th day of May, 2000.

s/ Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr.

WILKIE D. FERGUSON, JR.
UNITED STATES DISTRICT
JUDGE

2la

Appendix B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 99-6428-CIV-FERGUSON
WILLIAM DUNCAN,
Plaintiff,
VS.
DELTA AIRLINES, INC. and RICHARD COLBY,
Defendants.
FINAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

IN ACCORDANCE with the Order granting defendant’s
summary judgment [D.E.37], it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that final judgment is
hereby entered in favor of the defendant. The plaintiff shall
take nothing in this case. Any pending motions not ruled
upon are rendered moot by this final summary judgment.
This case is closed.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Ft. Lauderdale,
Florida, this 4th day of May, 2000.

s/ Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr.
WILKIE D. FERGUSON, JR.
UNITED STATES DISTRICT
JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_1013%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
