# Opposition Brief — Chamber of Commerce v. Vollor

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0772%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1058

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

Q@ FILER

No. 00-1255 APR 23 2001

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,
V.

HON. FRANK G. VOLLOR,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Mississippi

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Rosert B. McDurr

767 North Congress Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39202
(601) 969-0802

Counsel of Record for Respondent

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where the only decision of the state supreme court in
the case is a brief denial of a stay of a temporary restraining
order that does not address the merits of the TRO, and where
the questions presented by the petitioner in this Court go not to
the propriety of denying the stay but to the underlying merits
of the TRO, is there a “final judgment[]” on the merits of the
TRO sufficient to give this Court jurisdiction to grant the
petition under 28 U.S.C. § 1257?

2. Given that the TRO expired by its own terms after ten
days and was stayed by a Justice of this Court on the third day,
given that the election to which it related has come and gone,
given that the candidate supported by the petitioner was
victorious and will not be campaigning for re-election for
another eight years, given that the respondent will not be
running for election any time soon, given that the possibility of
a future injunction against the petitioner is quite speculative,
and given that the claims of the petitioner will be timely
resolved in the lower courts, is this case moot?

(Assuming jurisdiction to address the merits of the TRO,
the petition also raises the following questions:)

3. Are corporate television advertisements clearly
designed to persuade voters to cast ballots for a particular state
supreme court candidate, aired in the three weeks prior to the
election, immune from state campaign finance laws simply
because they do not tell the voters in exact words to “vote for”
or “elect” the candidate?

4. In the event the advertisements are subject to state
campaign finance laws and in the event the substantial
expenditures on them violate state law, was a TRO permissible
in the context of the unusual circumstances and timing in this
case?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENT? 6 oc.ssscvanscdeubaseects i
STATEMENT OF THB GAGs i acsncckscssssbannees 1
REASONS TO DENY THE WRIT .........ccccceee 4

I.

II.
Ill.

BECAUSE ANY FINAL JUDGMENT IN THE
MISSISSIPPI SUPREME COURT GOES ONLY
TO THE QUESTION OF A STAY AND NOT
TO THE MERITS OF THE TEMPORARY
RESTRAINING ORDER, AND BECAUSE THE
CHAMBER’S PETITION SEEKS REVIEW
ONLY OF THE MERITS, THERE IS NO
“FINAL JUDGEMENT” ON THE MERITS
GIVING THIS COURT JURISDICTION
UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1257 TO GRANT THE
eg Pere © . Pe rs I ee

EVEN IF THIS COURT HAS JURISDICTION
TO GRANT THE PETITION IN THIS CASE
AND REVIEW THE MERITS OF THE TEMPO-
RARY RESTRAINING ORDER, IT SHOULD

DECLINE TO GP ei sik xperndeawteee estou

CONCLUGAIN «0.5. 0iksenenen eee eeeeas

ee td

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S.

Se RIAU Ks We euu es ees seVibaeedbaceedas 14
Burrell v. Mississippi State Tax Comm'n, 536 So.2d

Ee Re Sa SES ar i a ae ea 12
Construction Laborers v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542 (1963) ..... 7
Golden v. Zwicker, 394 U.S. 103 (1969) ................ y
National Socialist Party v. Village of Skokie, 432 U.S.

Le Luis uy re ck Ke Rion es eae hie hed Gok cee 7
Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539 (1976)..... 7
Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart, 432 U.S. 1327 (1975) ..... 8
New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713

eae eee Seria aWiw aida ees Ouse ees 13
Norman v. Reed, 502 U.S. 279 (1992) ................. 10
Oil Workers Unions v. Missouri, 361 U.S. 363 (1960) ..... 9
Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S.

er eer a yd ah Gyet cues na harknw ee elwavekss 7
Village of Skokie v. National Socialist Party, 373

rn ek oS Tins cadsdew eas d wens cutevn’s 7
Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975)............ 10
Statutes, RULES AND REGULATIONS
re ei eh ace adie kheee se huwdvbes 4, 6
Miss. Code Ann. §§ 9-3-1, 23-15-991, 23-15-993 ..... 5, 9
rr Oe, Se On, igs cckeceeemetesences 5
ee Os ack sass ante bu ckteeee een 3

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Diies. BR. App. Pune, BAG BD. acs ccccccesccsaciccecsnes 3

Délse. Rh. Amp. Peot., TAD 2b «occ e seca cercssecsrssnass 3
LaAuRENCE H. Trise, AMERICAN CONSTITUTIONAL LAW

Se Ge Wes BI 6 ds 0 sd onan ha edaaeesanees 13

eras

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 2000

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,
¥;

HON. FRANK G. VOLLOR,
Respondent.

On Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Mississippi

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF
IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

As directed by the Court, the respondent, Hon. Frank G.
Vollor, submits this response to the petition for writ of certiorari
and urges that the petition be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case grows out of a highiy unlikely set of events
forged, because of unusual circumstances, in a compressed
time frame. It comes to this Court with no evidentiary record
save the uncontested factual allegations in affidavits from the
respondent and his attorney. There is no final judgment from

2

the appellate court below on the merits of the temporary
restraining order being challenged, and there is no written
opinion from that court save a brief order denying the motion
for stay.

The Chamber of Commerce (the petitioner here), an
incorporated entity, began running frequent television
advertisements in favor of certain Mississippi Supreme Court
candidates, including incumbent Justice Jim Smith, on October
17, 2000, three weeks before the election. Six days later, the
Chamber filed its declaratory judgment action against the State
of Mississippi and certain state officials in the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi. After an
expedited hearing requested by the Chamber, that Court’s
decision (described more fully in the Chamber’s petition for
certiorari) was issued on Thursday, November 2, five days
before the election. In that decision, the federal court held that
the Chamber’s advertisements were not immune on First
Amendment grounds from Mississippi’s campaign finance
laws.

Given a definitive federal court ruling that the Chamber
was not immune from those statutes, the Hon. Frank Vollor,
who is the respondent here and who was Justice Smith’s
opponent, sought the next day an injunction in the Chancery
Court of Hinds County, Mississippi, to prohibit the Chamber
from running further advertisements in violation of Mississippi
law.!

* Judge Vollor is a Circuit Court judge in Mississippi’s Ninth
Judicial Circuit, which encompasses Warren, Sharkey, and Issaquena
Counties. He has served in that position for over twelve years. The Circuit
Court is Mississippi’s trial level court of record in matters of law, as
distinguished from the Chancery Court, which is the trial level court of
record in matters of equity.

ues EEO

3

Faced with an uncontroverted allegation that the Chamber
had purchased advertising in amounts far exceeding the
corporate amounts permitted under Mississippi law, see petition
for certiorari (pet. cert.) at 6 n.3 and Miss. Code Ann. § 97-13-
15, and far exceeding those permitted in judicial elections under
Mississippi law, id. 23-15-1021, and faced with the fact that
Judge Vollor would be irreparably harmed if this massive
illegal advertising were to continue in the two weekend days
and one business day remaining before the election, the
Chancery Court issued the temporary restraining order.
Appendix to the petition for certiorari (pet. app.) 4a. The
Chamber filed that same day in the Missisippi Supreme Court
a petition for permissive interlocutory appeal under Rule 5,
Miss. R. App. Proc., or alternatively for a writ of prohibition or
mandamus under Rule 21, M.R.A.P., and simultaneously filed
a motion for stay of the Chancery Court order. Appendix to this
opposition (op. cert. app. 1a); pet. app. 49a. The Mississippi
Supreme Court denied the motion for stay later that afternoon.
Id. 1a. It is from that order that the Chamber has filed the
present petition for certiorari. The Chamber’s petition for
interlocutory appeal remains pending in the Mississippi
Supreme Court. The TRO was to expire by its own terms ten
days after issuance, id. 4a, and Justice Scalia stayed it on
Monday, November 6. /d. Sa.

Since that time, the Chamber has appealed the federal
district court’s decision to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit. Chamber of Commerce v. Moore, No. 00-
60779 (5" Cir.). After obtaining one extension of time, the
Chamber filed its brief in that court and the brief of the State
appellees is being filed on April 23. In addition, the Chamber
on December 4, 2000, took an appeal on the merits to the
Supreme Court of Mississippi in a separate case involving what
it calls in its petition for certiorari “TRO #3.” Pet. cert. 9. That
injunction was issued by the Chancery Court of Jones County,

4

Mississippi on November 5, 2001. It is reproduced at pet. app.
60a. It involved an election for a separate seat on the Supreme
Court, and like the TRO in the present case, it enjoined the
Chamber from running its advertisements in violation of
Mississippi law. The appeal is styled Chamber of Commerce
v. Landrum, No. 2000-CA-2048 (Miss.). The record has been
completed and the briefing schedule was issued on March 21,
2001, with the Chamber’s brief due 40 days thereafter.

REASONS TO DENY THE WRIT

This case comes to this Court on a_ negligible record
created in the exigencies of the unusual confluence of events
that occurred here, with no review in the Supreme Court of
Mississippi save for its denial of a stay. Indeed, the record does
not even include the transcripts, audio, or video of the
advertisements at issue. There is no final judgment in the trial
court or on appeal, and the Chamber’s petition for interlocutory
appeal from the TRO remains pending in the Mississippi
Supreme Court. To the extent there is any “final judgment” of
the Mississippi Supreme Court giving this Court jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257, it is only that Court’s decision denying
the stay. But the questions presented in the Chamber’s petition
for certiorari go not to the denial of the stay, but to the merits of
the TRO.

In contrast to the present case, the underlying federal court
decision which sparked these events, and upon the reasoning of
which rests the state court TRO, is now pending in the Fifth
Circuit upon a final judgment and a full record, including the
advertisements in question. In addition, as just noted, the
injunction similar to this one in the case of Chamber of
Commerce v. Landrum (the so-called TRO #3) is pending

5

before the Mississippi Supreme Court on the merits.” It is far
better for these questions to be first resolved in those courts by
full review with written opinions, and if necessary, upon
certiorari to this Court in those cases, than in the hurried
circumstances of this case.’

In its petition here, the Chamber asserts that it “expects to
engage in similar speech during future elections in Mississippi,”
pet. cert. 2, although it does not specify the elections in which
it expects to run advertisements. Justice Jim Smith, the
candidate in whose favor the Chamber ran the advertisements
at issue here, was elected to a full term, and therefore will not
be up for re-election for another eight years. Miss. Code Ann.
23-15-991. There are no scheduled state elections in
Mississippi until the fall of 2002, when one of the additional
seats on the Mississippi Supreme Court is up for election.
Miss. Code Ann. §§ 9-3-1, 23-15-991, 23-15-993. That allows
ample time for the Fifth Circuit in the federal case and the
Mississippi Supreme Court in the Landrum case to resolve these
issues with written opinions, and for the Chamber, if necessary,
to seek review in this Court. Moreover, the Chamber can seek
to expedite any of those proceedings if it believes time is of the
essence.

2On March 2, 2001, that Court denied the motion of the appellee
in that case, Hon. Billy Joe Landrum, a losing candidate for one of the other
Supreme Court seats, to dismiss the Chamber’s appeal. Thus, the briefing
is going forward and it appears the Court will decide, on the merits, the
propriety of the injunction. Apparently, the Court is holding the petition for
interlocutory appeal in the present case in abeyance until it resolves the
merits in Landrum.

3There also are other cases that provide better vehicles than this
one. For example, as noted in the brief of amici curiae Alliance for
Democracy and Common Cause/Ohio, the existing situation in Ohio
presents the express advocacy issue -- the second issue here -- more squarely
than both the present case and the federal case now pending in the Fifth
Circuit.

6

I. BECAUSE ANY FINAL JUDGMENT IN THE
MISSISSIPPI SUPREME COURT GOES ONLY TO
THE QUESTION OF A STAY AND NOT TO THE
MERITS OF THE TEMPORARY RESTRAINING
ORDER, AND BECAUSE THE CHAMBER’S
PETITION SEEKS REVIEW ONLY OF THE
MERITS, THERE IS NO “FINAL JUDGEMENT” ON
THE MERITS GIVING THIS COURT
JURISDICTION UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1257 TO
GRANT THE PETITION.

The Mississippi Supreme Court’s action in the present case
is not a “[f]inal judgment[] or decree[]” sufficient to confer
jurisdiction on this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1257, and it
certainly is not a “final judgment” with respect to the merits of
the TRO, which is what the Chamber is asking this Court to
review. At present, the case is before this Court solely on the
state supreme court’s denial of a stay of a temporary and
preliminary injunction. The merits of the injunction itself were
not addressed by the Mississippi Supreme Court. There has
been no further ruling from the Mississippi Supreme Court
concerning the propriety of injunctive relief in this context,
either on state or federal grounds. Justice Scalia has granted
the stay that the Mississippi Supreme Court denied. Any
request for further relief from this Court by way of certiorari is
premature.

The Chamber’s petition for interlocutory appeal, op. cert.
app. la, remains pending in the Mississippi Supreme Court,
where it apparently is being held in abeyance until that Court
rules on the merits in Landrum. The Chamber’s merits appeal
in Landrum and its interlocutory appeal in the present case raise
not simply the question of whether preliminary injunctive relief
of this type should be stayed, but whether, on the merits, it is
valid at all. Only after a ruling in Landrum, or in response to

7

the state court petition for interlocutory appeal in this case, will
there be a final judgment of the Mississippi Supreme Court on
the validity of an injunction in this unique election-eve context.

On selected occasions in the past, this Court has granted
certiorari and reviewed the merits of state court injunctions, but
has done so in situations where the propriety of the injunction
already has been adjudicated on the merits by the state appellate
courts. Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539, 544-545
& n.2 (1976), Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402
U.S. 415, 417-418 & n. (1971), Construction Laborers v.
Curry, 371 U.S. 542, 545-546 (1963). Even in those situations,
the Court has said the matter of jurisdiction is difficult. For
example, in Keefe, where the temporary injunction had been in
effect for over three years and had been affirmed on the merits
by the state appellate courts, this Court said the finality question
was “not entirely free from doubt.” 402 U.S. at 418 n.

But in cases where the state appellate courts have done
nothing more than deny stays, this Court has limited itself to
deciding whether a stay should issue to stop an ongoing
injunction. In National Socialist Party v. Village of Skokie, 432
U.S. 43 (1977), this Court -- acting on an application for stay
submitted to Justice Stevens and referred to the full Court -- did
not review the merits of the ongoing injunction. It simply held
that the state supreme court’s denial of a stay was a “final
judgment” under § 1257. The Court reversed the denial of the
stay, which had the effect of staying the injunction. The case
was remanded to the state supreme court, which later reversed
the injunction on the merits. Village of Skokie v. National
Socialist Party, 373 N.E.2d 21 (Ill. 1978). But this Court never
said that there was a “final judgment” with respect to the merits
of the injunction.

—_—_

8

Similarly, in Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 423 U.S.
1327 (1975) (Blackmun, J., in chambers), Justice Blackmun
held only that there was a final judgment regarding the state
supreme court’s failure to stay the ongoing injunction, never }
stating that there was a final judgment on the merits. 423 U.S.
at 1329-1330. While granting the stay, he made clear the
Court’s preference that the matter “should be decided in the first
instance by the Supreme Court of Nebraska.” 423 U.S. at 1328.
This Court later reviewed the merits of the injunction, but only
after the state supreme court had done so (subsequent to Justice
Blackmun’s stay) and had affirmed the injunction (as modified)
on the merits. Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. at 544.4

These few cases in which the Court has taken action on
temporary state court injunctions stand for the proposition that,
at most, the Court has jurisdiction to review the merits of the
injunction under § 1257 only if there is a “final judgment” of
the state appellate courts disposing of the merits. Where the
only action taken by the state appellate courts is to deny a stay,
any jurisdiction of this Court under § 1257 is limited to
reviewing that denial and issuing a stay of an ongoing
injunction if appropriate. That is what Justice Scalia did here
when the TRO was in operation. Any post-stay adjudication of
the merits must first occur, as both in Skokie and Nebraska
Press Ass'n, in the state appellate courts.

Thus, to the extent there is a “final judgment” of the
Mississippi Supreme Court here, it does not go to the merits of
the TRO. The only question raised for this Court by that

*Of course, in deciding whether to grant the stay, Justice Blackum

examined the First Amendment questions. But he did so only to determine
whether a stay should issue, and he did not purport to review the merits of
the state supreme court’s decision. The same is true for this Court’s decision
in Skokie.

eM

9

judgment is whether the Mississippi Supreme Court should
have issued a stay. But the questions presented by the
Chamber’s petition for certiorari go solely to the merits.
Accordingly, this Court does not have jurisdiction under § 1257
to grant the Chamber’s petition, and it must be denied.’

Il. THIS CASE IS MOOT.

Given the stay and expiration of the TRO, the passing of
the election, and the victory by Justice Smith, who was the
candidate supported by the Chamber, this case is moot. The
Chamber’s claim that it “expects to engage in similar speech”
in unspecified future elections, and that it will therefore
encounter an injunction like the one here, is “wholly
conjectural.” Golden v. Zwicker, 394 U.S. 103, 109 (1969).
See also, Oil Workers Unions v. Missouri, 361 U.S. 363, 368-
369, 371 (1960) (where an allegedly unconstitutional injunction
against a labor strike had expired by its own terms, the case was
moot despite the possibility of future injunctions against the
labor unions that were involved). Justice Smith will not be
running for re-election for another eight years, and Judge Vollor
will not be seeking an injunction any time soon. The
Mississippi courts, aware of Justice Scalia’s stay, will be

°Of course, had the Chamber raised the propriety of the denial of

the stay in its petition, it would make little sense for this Court to grant
certiorari. Justice Scalia already has issued a stay, and there is no need for
the members of this Court to hold a referendum on that action.

Even if inclined to run again, Judge Vollor will not be eligible as

a candidate for the Supreme Court until 2004 at the earliest. Mississippi’s
nine-member court is elected by staggered eight-year terms from three
separate geographic districts in the stat’, with each district electing three
justices. None of the three seats in Judge Vollor’s district will be up for
election prior to 2004. See, Miss. Code Ann. §§ 9-3-1, 23-15-991, 23-15-
993.

10

unlikely to grant similar TROs in the future, and if they do, the
Mississippi Supreme Court will entertain any motions for stay
with an awareness of Justice Scalia’s action here.’ As a
practical matter, there is “no reasonable expectation that the
same complaining party [will] be subjected to the same action
again,” Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147, 149 (1975), and
certainly not at the hands of the respondent here. Compare,
Norman v. Reed, 502 U.S. 279, 288 (1992) (“There would be
every reason to expect the same parties to generate a similar,
future controversy subject to identical time constraints if we
should fail to resolve the constitutional issues that arose in
1990.”) (emphasis added).

And even if the unusual scenario here is capable of
repetition, it will not evade review. The similar injunction
involving the Chamber is pending on the merits before the
Mississippi Supreme Court in the Landrum case, and the
underlying First Amendment question of whether these
advertisements constitute express advocacy or issue advocacy
is pending before the Fifth Circuit. The Chamber’s petition for
interlocutory appeal in the present case, op. cert. app. 1a,
remains pending in the Mississippi Supreme Court, apparently

?The Chamber refers to another TRO issued later in the morning

of November 6 after Justice Scalia issued his stay earlier that morning in this
case. Pet. cert. 10-11. While unfortunate, there is nothing to suggest this
will be repeated in the future, or that the Mississippi Supreme Court would
not have stayed that TRO itself (in light of Justice Scalia’s stay) had it been
asked. (In the interest of time, the Chamber simply supplemented its stay
application to Justice Scalia rather than asking the Mississippi Supreme
Court to stay the later TRO). At least one other Mississippi chancery judge,
when asked to enjoin the Chamber advertisements after Justice Scalia’s stay,
refused to do so. Diaz v. Chamber of Commerce, No. C2402-00-0106
(Chancery Ct., Harrison Cty., Miss., Nov. 6, 2000) (denying motion for
preliminary injunction). Thus, despite the Chamber’s contrary suggestion,
there is not much of a chance that history will be repeated here.

NOR CREE SSNS EDON Eze rERCPYDORERERERRRELt RSP NE
PO ic TT CRG ela TET A Pe FIN 9

11

being held in abeyance until Landrum is decided. Thus, the
questions presented by the Chamber likely will be decided in
the lower courts in a timely manner without the need for further
intervention by this Court at this time.

III. EVEN IF THIS COURT HAS JURISDICTION TO
GRANT THE PETITION IN THIS CASE AND
REVIEW THE MERITS OF THE TEMPORARY
RESTRAINING ORDER, IT SHOULD DECLINE TO
DO SO.

Even if this Court has jurisdiction, it should decline the
Chamber’s invitation to take this case and instead should
reserve these issues for a different case on a better record. The
Chamber claims that the world cannot wait, that these
injunctions are part of “‘a growing and disturbing practice,” id.
12, and that absent swift action from this Court, future election
advertising will be subject to a “proliferation of . . . prior
restraints. ” Pet. cert. 11. But despite these alarms, there is no
brush fire of injunctions sweeping the nation. Indeed, in its
canvass of the law, the Chamber has uncovered only two
injunctions outside of the recent Mississippi election, one from
1994 and one from 1996. Jd. 11, 14. Of course, the TROs
from the Mississippi election were triggered by the federal
district court’s expedited ruling in the Chamber’s own
declaratory judgment action, all coming shortly before the
election of four seats to the Mississippi Supreme Court. This
unusual timing and chain of events is unlikely to repeat itself.

With respect to the underlying issue raised in that federal
case, the Chamber contends that action from this Court is
required because any future ruling in its favor by the Fifth
Circuit will not bind the Mississippi courts. Pet. cert. 20-21
n.13. But the entire state court process in this case was
occasioned by the federal district court’s ruling that the

12

Chamber’s advertisements were not immune from Mississippi
campaign finance laws on First Amendment grounds. The
Chancery Court specifically relied on the federal ruling in
issuing the TRO in this case. Pet. app. 4a. Having relied upon
the federal district court’s ruling, it is hard to believe that the
Mississippi courts will later turn a blind eye should the Fifth
Circuit reverse the district court and hold that these
advertisements are immune from state regulation. See, Burrell
v. Mississippi State Tax Comm'n, 536 So.2d 848, 864 (Miss.
1988) (“When Mississippi courts are enforcing rights created
under federal law, the Mississippi courts must follow the
interpretations of those rights provided by federal courts.”’) ®

At any rate, it is clear that the record of the present case,
which does not include the Chamber’s advertisements, is not
the record upon which the important First Amendment question
of express advocacy should be resolved. Neither is it the case
in which the prior restraint issue should be resolved. Indeed, if
the Court chooses (as we suggest) not to resolve the express
advocacy question here, it could only resolve the separate

® Of course, it is the Chamber that chose to pursue its declaratory

judgment action in federal court rather than state court. It could have filed
such an action in state court and indeed still can. However, there is no need
now, particularly given that all of these issues are raised in the Chamber’s
appeal to the Mississippi Supreme Court in Landrum.

The Chamber makes the unfortunate suggestion that Mississippi
judges may have been biased in favor of fellow judges who requested the
TROs and against the Chamber, which “was from out-of-state and perhaps
represented disfavored views.” Pet. cert. 13. Of course, the fellow judges
who requested the TROs were in election contests against other fellow
judges and there is nothing to indicate that the Chancery Judge in this case,
for example, was biased in favor of Judge Vollor and against Justice Smith.
Furthermore, there is absolutely no basis for the Chamber’s suggestion that
the Mississippi courts are prejudiced against out-of-state litigants or against
the Chamber because of its purported “disfavored views.”

13

question of the validity of the TRO by assuming that the
advertisements are express advocacy and are subject to state
regulation. While the Chamber indicates that this question is
easily answered by speaking in the ominous terms of “prior
restraint,” the matter is not so simple.

If it is assumed that the federal district court is correct, and
if the spending limits in Mississippi law were far exceeded by
the Chamber to the detriment of Judge Vollor (a proposition the
Chamber has not disputed in this Court), an injunction against
further illegal advertisements was the only means by which the
election process could be protected. Without an injunction, the
candidate whose supporters abide by the law is at a distinct
disadvantage to the candidate whose supporters flaunt the law
with only the risk of an after-the-fact civil or criminal fine.

Unlike cases where, for example, a determination of
prejudice stemming from the pretrial reporting of a defendants’
confessions “was of necessity speculative,” Nebraska Press
Assocation vy. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539, 563 (1976), or even where
a claim of harm from publication of national security
documents was subject to question, New York Times Co. v.
United States, 403 U.S. 713, 726-727 (1971) (Brennan, J.,
concurring), the illegality here and the ensuing harm are clear.
Again, ifthe federal court is correct, a determination of whether
the monetary limits have been violated is simply a matter of
numbers -- particularly where, as here, the amounts far exceed
the law’s limits. ?

*Unlike the types of speculation involved in many prior restraint
cases, “relative certainty can ordinarily be obtained in the context of
prepublication restraints on the publication of obscene material or
commercial advertisements. . . . A court’s determination that material is
obscene or an advertisement false is thus as plausible before as after the
communication’s publication.” | LAURENCE H. TRIBE, AMERICAN
CONSTITUTIONAL LAW § 12-36 (2 Ed. 1988). The same can be said for
transgressions, particularly substantial ones, of the monetary limits in
campaign finance laws.

Bis a:

Certainly it seems that a state, if it chose, could pass
campaign finance laws limiting, say, corporate expenditures for
express campaign advocacy, see, Austin v. Michigan Chamber
of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652, 664-665 (1990), and provide that
if the monetary limits contained in those laws are exceeded in
mid-campaign, and if the violation is proved by clear and
convincing evidence, further advertising in violation of the
limits could be enjoined. The State could do this, it would
seem, to insure that the process is not corrupted by those willing
to ignore the law and spend massive amounts of corporate
money. And if the First Amendment does not prohibit a state
from taking such action, then it cannot be said -- as the
Chamber suggests here -- that injunctions against express
advocacy are per se unconstitutional. This is a complicated
question, as is the question of the circumstances under which a
state can rightfully enjoin massive violations of its campaign
finance statutes. These matters should not be resolved in the
present case, which involves an unlikely factual scenario. And
if they are to be resolved in this scenario, they should be
addressed first in a case like Landrum, where the Mississippi
Supreme Court will have an opportunity to fully consider the
merits of an injunction like this one and the Chamber’s
contentions regarding it.'°

‘°Indeed, in the present case, in both the trial court and in the

pending petition for interlocutory appeal to the Mississippi Supreme Court,
op. cert. app. 7a-8a, lla-13a, the Chamber has contended that the
injunctions violate not only the First Amendment, but also are contrary to
Mississippi law in a number of respects. Presumably, the Chamber will
argue the same thing before the Mississippi Supreme Court in Landrum. If
the Mississippi Supreme Court agrees with any of the Chamber’s state law
contentions after full review on the merits, there will be no need to resolve
the federal constitutional question.

|
}
|

15

CONCLUSION

There is no “final judgment or decree” under § 1257
going to the merits of the TRO being challenged by the
Chamber, and this case is moot. But even if this Court does
have jurisdiction to grant the Chamber’s petition, the Court
should decline to exercise it for all of the reasons listed in this
brief. This case stems from an unusual set of events unlikely
to be repeated. The Chamber’s federal lawsuit and the
eleventh hour federal ruling resulted in hurried state court
proceedings that led to a negligible record, no evidentiary
hearing, no final judgment, and no opportunity for considered
reflection or a written opinion from the state’s highest court.
This case has not been decided on the merits. The questions it
raises should first be resolved elsewhere.

For the foregoing reasons, and on the basis of the
authorities cited, the petition for writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully Submitted,

ROBERT B. MCDUFF
767 North Congress Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39202
(601) 969-0802

Counsel for Respondent

la

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

NO. 2000-M-1839

IN RE: CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA PETITIONER

PETITION FOR INTERLOCUTORY APPEAL
BY PERMISSION OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE,
FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS OR PROHIBITION

(Filed Nov. 3, 2000)

MICHAEL B. WALLACE (MB #6904)
CHRISTOPHER R. GREEN

(MB #99593)
PHELPS DUNBAR, L.L.P.
Suite 500, SkyTel Centré
200 South Lamar Street
Post Office Box 23066
Jackson, Mississippi 39225-3066
Telephone: (601) 352-2300
Telecopier: (601) 360-9777

2a

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

NO.

IN RE: CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA PETITIONER

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSONS

The undersigned counsel of record certifies that the
following listed persons have an interest in the outcome
of this case. These representations are made for the Jus-
tices of this Court to evaluate possible disqualifications or
recusal.

1. United States Chamber of Commerce, defendant-
appellant.

2. Michael B. Wallace, Christopher R. Green and
Phelps Dunbar, L.L.P., attorneys for appellant United
States Chamber of Commerce.

3. Circuit Judge Frank G. Vollor, plaintiff-appellee.

4. Paul Kelly Loyacono, Vicksburg, Mississippi,
attorney plaintiff-appellee Frank G. Vollor.

5. Because this matter concerns advertisements con-
cerning candidates for election to this Court, it is possible
that certain Justices may consider themselves interested
even though not a party to this action.

/s/ Michael B. Wallace

MICHAEL B. WALLACE

aaa ee ——

3a

INTRODUCTION

The Chancery Court of the First Judicial District of
Hinds County has ordered the Chamber of Commerce of
the United States of America (“U.S. Chamber”) and eight
local television stations to cease running certain adver-
tisements concerning plaintiff Frank G. Vollor and Justice
Jim Smith, both of whom are candidates for election to
this Court in the general election scheduled for Tuesday,
November 7. This order followed by a day a federal
opinion holding that the First Amendment does not
shield the U.S. Chamber from reporting requirements
under Mississippi state law regarding four of those
advertisements. See Chamber of Commerce v. Moore, No.
3:00-CV-778WS (S.D.Miss. Nov. 2, 2000). During that fed-
eral litigation, the Attorney General repeatedly and
explicitly disclaimed any intention of seeking to enjoin
the advertisements.

The U.S. Chamber respectfully requests this Court to
grant an interlocutory appeal, or, in the alternative, to
issue its writ of mandamus or prohibition, so as to vacate
the Circuit Court’s order. Such an order will “[mJaterially
advance the termination of the litigation and avoid excep-
tional expense to the parties” and will also “protect a
party from substantial and irreparable injury.” M.R.A.P.
5(a)(1) and (2).

FACTS NECESSARY TO AN UNDERSTANDING
OF THE ISSUES

This fall, the U.S. Chamber has independently spon-
sored a series of television advertisements concerning
candidates for judicial office in several states. As a part of

4a

that effort, on October 17, 2000, the U.S. Chamber began
airing television advertisements in Mississippi to inform
the public about the experience of certain candidates for
the Mississippi Supreme Court regarding particular
issues of public importance, such as the administration of
criminal law.

The Attorney general and Secretary of State believed
that these expenditures subjected the U.S. Chamber to the
reporting requirements of Miss. Code Ann. § 23-15-801 et
seq. The U.S. Chamber disagreed and filed suit in federal
court seeking a declaration that four of the advertise-
ments were not “express advocacy” under Buckley v.
Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), and therefore were not subject to
state regulation. Following an expedited hearing, Judge
Wingate of the Southern District of Mississippi disagreed.
He held that the four advertisements at issue were
express advocacy, and so were outside Buckley’s protec-
tions from state regulation. See Chamber of Commerce v.
Moore, supra, memorandum opinion at 27.

On November 3, Judge Frank G. Vollor obtained the
present temporary restraining order forbidding the
broadcast of the U.S. Chamber’s advertisements concern-
ing him or his opponent, Justice Jim Smith. His applica-
tion to the Chancellor is attached as Exhibit A. The
Chancellor’s temporary restraining order is attached as
Exhibit B. The U.S. Chamber’s petition for permission for
interlocutory appeal and stay pending appeal is attached
as Exhibit C. Judge Singletary has left for the weekend
without ruling on that petition.

ceme t E R OONT aane Wl reat

ee - - myetennenesns

Sa

STATEMENT OF ISSUES. AND RELIEF REQUESTED

Petitioner seeks certification on interlocutory appeal,
pursuant to M.R.A.P. 5, regarding the following issues:
Whether Judge Vollor has proven a violation of Missis-
sippi’s campaign laws, and, if so, whether such proof can
support, consistent with the First Amendment of the fed-
eral Constitution, an injunction against political speech.
Alternatively, the U.S. Chamber seeks a writ of prohibi-
tion or mandamus pursuant to M.R.A.P. 21 instructing the
Chancery Court to vacate its TRO.

REASONS FOR GRANTING RELIEF

1. The TRO is an improper prior restraint on First
Amendment rights.

In the leading case, the United States Supreme Court
refused to condone an injunction against The New York
Times’ publication of the so-called “Pentagon Papers,”
even though the documents had apparently been
obtained illegally and their publication threatened
national security. The Court held: “Any system of prior
restraints of expression comes to this Court bearing a
heavy presumption against its constitutional validity. The
Government thus carries a heavy burden of showing
justification for the imposition of such a restraint.” New
York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713, 714 (1971)
(citations and quotation marks omitted). Similarly, in
Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697, 702, 722-23 (1931), the
Supreme Court struck down a statute that permitted
injunctive relief against “malicious” or “defamatory”
newspaper articles, and in Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart,
427 U.S. 539, 541, 570 (1976), the Supreme Court held that

6a

a restraint against news media reports on a criminal
defendant’s confessions or admissions failed to meet the
heavy burden of presumption against prior restraints.

More recently, the Fifth Circuit refused to allow
restrictions on speech between litigants and potential
members of a class, reasoning: “Prior restraints fall on
speech with a brutality and a finality all their own. Even
if they are ultimately lifted they cause irremediable loss -
a loss in the immediacy, the impact, of speech.” Bernard v.
Gulf Oil Co., 619 F.2d 459, 469 (Sth Cir. 1980) (en banc)
(citations and quotations omitted). The court explained
“(t]he justification for drawing a distinction based on
th[e] difference [between prior restraint and post publica-
tion enforcement] is that a free society prefers to punish
the few who abuse rights of speech after they break the
law than to throttle them and all others beforehand.” Id.
at 468. The effect of enjoining speech, instead of seeking
to punish the alleged improper activity through proceed-
ings which safeguard an accused’s rights and defenses, is
clear:

“[A] prior restraint may be distinguished from a

statute prohibiting publication in that the for-

mer has an immediate and irreversible sanction.

If it can be said that a threat of criminal or civil
sanctions after publication ‘chills’ speech, prior

restraint ‘freezes’ it at least for the time.” Id. at

469 (quotation omitted).

See also Jeffries v. Mississippi, 724 So.2d 897 (Miss. 1998)
(rejecting prior restraint prohibiting a reporter from pub-
lishing information discussed in open court).

A case that is precisely on point is Republican Party of
Florida v. Florida Elections Commission, 658 So.2d 653 (Fla.

em SP NTT eT en

7a

App. 1995). In that case, just weeks prior to an election,
the plaintiffs alleged that certain advertisements by the
Republican Party of Florida (“RPF”) constituted illegal
campaign contributions under Florida law, and obtained
an injunction from the trial court against the airing of
those advertisements. Id. at 654-55. In no uncertain terms
the Court of Appeal reversed the injunction, holding that
the injunction was an improper prior restraint of the
RPF’s First Amendment rights, even if the advertisements
constituted illegal contributions. Id. at 655, 657. The Court
found that the State’s interest in enforcing its election
laws is adequately protected through the agency’s pro-
cedures and not the extraordinary remedy of prior
restraint of free speech rights. Id. at 657. “[P]rior
restraints on speech and publication are the most serious
and least tolerable infringement on First Amendment
rights.” Id. (quotation omitted).

The Florida Court of Appeal reiterated the longstand-
ing view that prior restraint is impermissible, especially if
the statutory or regulatory scheme provides a different
remedy. In Near, the United States Supreme Court traced
this precept back to Blackstone’s Commentaries, noting
that every person has a right, as here, to “lay what
sentiments he pleases before the public,” and then take
the consequences afterwards if he violates the law. 283
U.S. at 714 (quoting 4 Bl. Com. 151, 152).

2. The TRO is not authorized by Mississippi law.

The Mississippi Election Code provides ample
remedies for violation of the statute. See Miss. Code Ann.

8a

§ 23-15-813 (civil penalties); id. § 23-15-811 (other sanc-
tions). Implicitly recognizing the prior restraint doctrine,
the statute does not grant authority to seek an injunction
against violations.

Of the utmost importance is the fact that § 23-15-13
vests initial enforcement authority in the Secretary of
State. Neither the Secretary of State nor the Attorney
General, who has principal responsibility for enforcement
of the State’s laws, was joined as a party in the Chancery
Court proceedings; although both Secretary Clark and
General Moore are parties to the federal proceeding, they
have not sought any relief against the Chamber. The
detailed remedial scheme provided by the statute makes
no allowance for an enforcement action brought by candi-
date or other private citizen.

Nor is enforcement authorized under general princi-
ples of Mississippi equity. “Courts of equity concern
themselves only with matters of property and with the
maintenance of civil rights, and do not interfere with
issues that are purely personal, or political, or with
crimes....” V. Griffith, Mississippi Chancery Practice § 435
(2d ed. 1950). In light of the political nature of this action,
and the criminal penalties provided by § 23-15-811, the
Chancery Court had no power under Mississippi law to
enjoin the broadcast of these advertisements.

9a

CONCLUSION

This Court should summarily vacate the Chancellor’s
order, pursuant to M.R.A.P. 21. Alternatively interlocu-
tory appeal should be granted and the matter set for
briefing and argument, pursuant to M.R.A.P. 5.

Respectfully submitted,

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

By: /s/ Michael B. Wallace

MICHAEL B. WALLACE
(MSB #6904)

CHRISTOPHER R. GREEN
(MSB #99593)

PHELPS DUNBAR, L.L.P.

Suite 500 - SkyTel Centré North

200 S. Lamar Street

Post Office Box 23066

Jackson, MS 39225-3066

Telephone: (601) 352-2300

[Certificate Of Service Omitted In Printing]

10a

IN THE CHANCERY COURT OF THE
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT

OF HINDS COUNTY, MISSISSIPPI

FRANK G. VOLLOR PLAINTIFF
VS. NO. G2000-2128 S/2

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; WABG-TV,
GREENVILLE, MS; WXVT-TV, GREENVILLE,

MS; WAPT-TV, JACKSON, MS; WJTV-TV,

JACKSON, MS; WLBT-TV, JACKSON, MS;

WDBD-TV, JACKSON, MS; WTOK-TV,

MERIDIAN, MS; AND WCBI-TV,

COLUMBUS, MS DEFENDANTS

5b ee Ee Ee a EE 2

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS HELD IN THE ABOVE
STYLED AND NUMBERED CAUSE BEFORE THE HON-
ORABLE WILLIAM H. SINGLETARY, CHANCELLOR,
ON THE 3RD DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2000.

EE EE 2 a

APPEARANCES:

Present and Representing the Plaintiff:

PAUL KELLY LOYACONO, ESQ.
Attorney at Law

1025 Jackson Street

Vicksburg, Mississippi

Present and Representing the Defendants:

MICHAEL B. WALLACE, ESQ.
Phelps Dunbar, L.L.P.
Post Office Box 23066
Jackson, Mississippi 39225-3066

lla

[16] [MR. WALLACE] Nevertheless, Your Honor,
they have come to this Court asking to enjoin the broad-
cast of these advertisements. In addition to their failure to
establish personal jurisdiction over the Chamber, they
have failed to allege or establish the jurisdiction of this
Court. There is not a single allegation anywhere in this
application that suggests why the chancery court has
jurisdiction over this matter. Indeed, it is not even clear -
as a matter of fact, it is clear to the contrary that no action
is pending before this Court. As the Court knows, Rule 3
says that an action commences with the filing of a com-
plaint, and Rule 65, 65(b), on TRO presupposes a com-
plaint, because it says you may proceed on your verified
complaint. No complaint has been served on me. We have
simply an application for a TRO in an action which has
not been commenced in a court, the jurisdiction of which
has not been established. They suggest that this court is
entitled to enjoin these advertisements, presumably on
the theory that they are illegal.

[17] Your Honor, under any theory of illegality, the
statute itself sets up an enforcement scheme. The enforce-
ment scheme for the reporting statutes and independent
expenditure is a criminal enforcement scheme. Under
Section 23-15-811(a), “Any candidate or any other person
who shall willfully and deliberately . . . violate the provi-
sions and prohibitions of this article shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor. . . . ” Now, again, they’ve not explained
how we have violated the article. But if we have, we have
committed a crime. Now, I’ve not been able to get in the
library, but I did pick up my Griffith’s on the way over
here. And Section 435 of the second edition of Griffith

12a

states, “The courts of equity concern themselves only
with matters of property and with the maintenance of
civil rights and do not interfere with issues that are
purely personal or political or with crimes.” Now, this
case falls in at least two of those categories, Your Honor.
It is political and, according to the allegations of the
application, it is criminal. This Court has no jurisdiction
whatsoever to enjoin the commission of a crime and no
TRO may enter here on these allegations.

Indeed, this statutory scheme puts full enforcement
power in the hands of the attorney general and the secre-
tary of state. There is no provision whatsoever for
enforcement of the statute [18] by private attorney gen-
eral. The most that may be possibly available in the way
of private enforcement is further down in Section
23-15-811. It says, in addition to the criminal penalties,
anyone who fails to file a report “may be compelled to
file such statement or report by an action in the nature of
a mandamus.” If we have failed to follow the reporting
statutes, which we deny, Your Honor, the remedy is for a
mandamus to be brought against us. Because this is a
public statute, the attorney general would have to file
that mandamus. I imagine the Court is familiar with the
cases that suggest when you call on the attorney general
to bring a mandamus and he does not do so, in some
circumstances the private party may bring a mandamus.
None of that is done here. To the extent that there can be
any remedy under the statutory scheme for private par-
ties, that remedy can only be a mandamus after the
attorney general has failed to file it, and the mandamus
goes only to the report. It does not take the ads off the air.

de nin hae A al

Pace Wee SSL AMB LENE or. Dat A

13a

There is one other item. In addition to the fact this
Court has no jurisdiction, no authority to issue an injunc-
tion, this matter remains within the - fully within the
jurisdiction of another court. Judge Wingate has issued an
opinion. He has not issued a judgment as of half an hour
ago when I called over there. The matter [19] is still
before Judge Wingate. The State of Mississippi is repre-
sented in that action by its attorney general and its secre-
tary of state, the officers who are given authority to
enforce this statute. To the extent Judge Vollor claims to
have authority to enforce the statute as a private attorney
general, he is clearly in privity with the public attorney
general, who is presently litigating this matter. And this
matter, then, should be dismissed or abated as long as
jurisdiction over this whole dispute is in another court.
And if Judge Vollor believes that the attorney general is
not properly representing him and he wants to appear as
a private attorney general, the case is still pending, and
he’s welcome to go over there and file his motion to
intervene and his application for relief over there. That’s
where he ought to be.

* * *

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0772%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
