# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Local Lodge 2552, International Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers v. Pusey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0771%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1007

## Text

. F LED
|
‘ 00 1254FEB 1 2008
No. 00- OFRIQE OF Te
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

LOCAL LODGE 2552, INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MACHINISTS AND AEROSPACE WORKERS, DISTRICT
LODGE 74, INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS, and H & H CONSOLIDATED
INC.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

FREDERICK A. PUSEY,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Virginia

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS LUCAS JEREMIAH A. COLLINS
McGuIRE, Woops, BATTLE Counsel of Record

& BOOTHE MARGO PAVE
9000 World Trade Center BREDHOFF & KAISER, P.L.L.C.
101 West Main Street 805 15th Street, N.W.
Norfolk, VA 23510 Suite 1000

Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 842-2600

JAMES J. VERGARA, JR.
VERGARA & ASSOCIATES
100 Main Street Plaza
Hopewell, VA 23860

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® SS» co

nN

—

* \

: oon -
. TS Naaianacensien june ‘ sessile OT

QUESTION PRESENTED

1. May a court declare a state regulatory statute to be
enforceable on an enclave over which the state has ceded
exclusive jurisdiction to the United States, on the ground that
the cession of jurisdiction was conditioned on the enclave’s
being used for a purpose the court deems to be different from
the use subsequently made of the enclave by the United
States, where both the federal government and the state
agency responsible for enforcement of the regulatory statute
in question maintain that the United States retains exclusive
jurisdiction, and the language conditioning the state’s cession
of jurisdiction is ambiguous?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
tt |: See i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..0...0.....cccccccccccocesecesecoeoeeee. iv
a AS ee I
SET IET Sac a Le I
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED.......... l
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .Q...0.......cccccccccsccsssecseseceses l
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................... 8
EE ae eee 18

(ili)

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Adams v. United States, 319 U.S. 312 (1943)........ 1]
Arlington Hotel Co. v. Fant, 278 U.S. 439

| _, RREE SRR RENN Se ion i eI RA AEE 11
Collins v. Yosemite Park Co., 304 U.S. 518

SE rea ai chinencasiaistniietaunsinsnjhaseniniehianelonibiaenamumiaiageee amanda 1]
Fort Leavenworth R.R. Co. v. Lowe, 114 U.S.

SN I kc ccieiditeitinitinssteansasibiedabamiapiah asian ceil elites 9,10
Humble Pipe Line Co. v. Waggonner, 375 U.S.

ee iindicivnbsnniiibiaiicsseabiiaetadaces 9, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18
James v. Dravo Contracting Co., 302 U.S. 134

EPUIEPE Bvcsstertictiiinpiadcsiidaiichaehaiiaticiiiadtatthid dub deaelaatinate 9, 10, 11
Kleppe v. New Mexico, 426 U.S. 529 (1976)......... 10
Marquez v. Screen Actors Guild, 525 U.S. 33

SSRI shssisisigatanitceenshiebasatacbai delet dts aerate ea 5
Osburn v. Morrison Knudsen Corp., 962 F.Supp.

Se ets Ss SUPT D vdaeniebitaticsinsitelenhindDinsestiutanisitinsens 17
Palmer v. Barrett, 162 U.S. 399 (1896)................. 10
Paul v. United States, 371 U.S. 245 (1963)......... 9,10, 11
S.R.A., Inc. v. Minnesota, 327 U.S. 558 (1946)..... 10
Silas Mason Co. v. Tax Comm'n, 302 U.S. 186

CIEE Picecencessntancinnnncinasstnniasbneieisieiiades adeas ioe. 9,11
United States v. Johnson, 994 F.2d 980 (2d Cir.

SP UUTIE T sichicicisiibbadetatcktineccoelinnabatiaachiceatindidecsdegiataichtieestl 8,9, 16, 17, 18
Wilson v. Cook, 327 U.S. 474 (1946)........ccccceeeeeeee 11

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
United States Constitution, Art. I, § 8, cl. 17......... 1,9 |
Be See Ee arin sndesnasinseicctilenaedannnalabisbdiaitinnabinis l |
ee ess ee Ci icintntisninctiadcntcetiuintiidasntacannds 5
A a Oe i eiedhicinibatiisteaicipincicatniatsinchatiicintarnansiiiiaiiate 11,12
Sa ee ae ehiieritasecseisctiscih cecipininiisicescabiciaeds wideinieniisaiaie 3
i Ee Py OF cA S antitnittninitiniticsteniedansnaniininiids 4
To ee I, Tr I alli cece tea anaies 5

Chapter 14, Virginia Act of Assembly 1940.......... passim

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY Page

Hearings on H.R. 7293 Before the House Comm.
on Buildings and Grounds, 76th Cong., Ist
OE, F CTI cnsersiinenittapaitheneninitinnstiniaauiittessiagals 1]

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The orders of the Supreme Court of Virginia refusing
Petitioners’ petitions for appeal and denying Petitioners’
petition for rehearing are unreported and are reprinted in the
Appendix to this Petition at App. la, 2a and 18a. The opinion
and order of the Circuit Court of Accomack County granting
Respondent’s motion for summary judgment with respect to
the question presented here are unreported and are reprinted
at App. 3a-lla and 12a-13a. The order of the Circuit Court
granting Respondent’s motion for summary judgment as to
liability is unreported and is reprinted at App. 14a-17a. The
order of the Circuit Court entering final judgment on behalf
of Respondent is unreported and is reprinted at App. 19a-23a.

JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Virginia refused Petitioners’
petitions for appeal on September 13, 2000, App. la and 2a,
and denied a timely petition for rehearing on November 3,
2000, App. 18a. This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1257.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

Article I, § 8, cl. 17 of the United States Constitution
provides in pertinent part that “Congress shall have Power .. .
to exercise exclusive Legislation . . . over all Places
purchased by the Consent of the Legislature of the State in
which the Same shall be, for the Erection of Forts,
Magazines, Arsenals, Dock-Yards, and other needful
Buildings.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. In 1940, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a
Statute providing that, “for the purpose of enabling the United
States of America to further the National Defense at Hampton

2

Roads Naval Operating Base, Norfolk, Virginia, and at or
near the Naval Proving Ground, Dahlgren, Virginia, the
Commonwealth hereby cedes to the United States of America
exclusive jurisdiction” over land near those sites. Chapter 14,
Act of Assembly 1940 (Ex. A)'. The statute further provided
that “the jurisdiction hereby ceded shall continue no longer
than the United States shall own such lands in fee simple and
they shall be used and occupied by the United States for naval
purposes.” /d.

The United States Government thereupon began acquiring
the specified land, which is situated in Accomack County,
Virginia. Title to the first two parcels of land was acquired
by the United States in 1942 (Exs. D2, E2), and title to a third
parcel was acquired in 1944. (Ex. F2). The Secretary of the
Navy accepted exclusive jurisdiction on behalf of the United
States over the first two parcels in 1943 and over the third in
1949, by letters stating that the Navy was accepting
jurisdiction “on behalf of the United States in the manner and
form granted and ceded by an Act of the General Assembly
of the Commonwealth of Virginia, approved February 7,
1940 (Chapter 14, Act of Assembly 1940).” (Exs. D3, E3,
F3). Virginia’s Governor acknowledged the United States’
acceptance of jurisdiction by signature on each of the letters.”

2. Both Virginia and the United States understood that the
“naval purposes” for which the land was to be used were
aviation-related activities. The Virginia statute noted that the
land as to which jurisdiction was being ceded was being
“acquired for use as auxiliary air fields.” Ch. 14, Act of

' We cite to the Joint Stipulated Exhibits filed in the Circuit Court of
Accomack County as “Ex. ‘5

? Title to a fourth parcel adjacent to the first three was acquired by the
United States in 1952. (Ex. G2). The parties have not located any
documents indicating that the United States formally acquired exclusive
jurisdiction over this parcel. The jurisdictional status of the fourth parcel
need not be determined in resolving the question presented in this case.

3

Assembly 1940. (Ex. A). The Navy built runways, aircraft
hangars, an operations tower and other aviation-related
facilities on the property, which the government named the
Wallops Flight Facility (“WFF’”). (Ex. C). The land is not
adjacent to nor does it have access to any deep water;
accordingly, there never was any contemplation that the land
would be used for a naval port.

3. Since the time these lands first were acquired by the
United States, title never has rested in any entity other than
the United States, which continues to own the property in fee
simple. In 1961, custody of the lands passed from one part of
the United States government to another, when the Navy
transferred custody to the National Aeronautics and Space
Administration (“NASA”). (Ex. H3). NASA is an agency of
the federal government, established pursuant to 42 U.S.C.
§ 2451.

When NASA took custody of WFF, the Fifth Naval
District advised NASA by letter that the United States had
exclusive jurisdiction over the three parcels of land. The
letter included a map identifying the date upon which each
parcel at WFF was acquired and the dates upon which
exclusive jurisdiction was obtained. (Ex. C). The map
reflects that the land was being used for aviation-related
purposes at the tinie custody was transferred: it shows an
airfield with multiple runways, fuel storage facilities, hangars,
aircraft parking areas, and an operations tower.

Under NASA’s stewardship, the property continued to be
used by the federal government for aviation activities on
behalf of the Navy and other branches of the armed forces.
NASA administered thousands of rocket and satellite
launches for the United States Navy, Army and Air Force
between 1960 and 1988. Launches for the Navy alone totaled
2,583, while launches conducted for the benefit of the
Army numbered 1,638, and for the Air Force, 574. (NASA

4

Response to FOIA Request # 1)°. While the actual launches
were from a nearby island, not from the mainland sites at
issue here, the facilities where the launches were
administered and controlled were located on the land at issue,
and most of the design and construction work for the launches
occurred on that land.

In 1987, the Navy located the AEGIS Combat System
Center at Wallops Island, expanding further the Navy’s
presence at WFF. (Ex. K).

4. The United States never has acted to relinquish its
exclusive jurisdiction over these lands, although the Virginia
Code sets forth a specific mechanism for doing so. Section
7.1-25.1 of the Virginia Code provides for notification to the
Governor by the United States that the federal government
“desires or is willing to relinquish to the Commonwealth”
jurisdiction over Virginia lands. If such notice is given and
accepted by the Governor, the notice of relinquishment is
filed with the Secretary of the Commonwealth and entered in
the deed book of the city or county in which the lands are
located. The United States has utilized this simple
notification procedure to relinquish exclusive jurisdiction
over other lands in Virginia (Ex. V1), but has not done so
with respect to the land at issue here.

In 1994, NASA notified the Virginia Attorney General that
“NASA has concluded that the Federal Government, as
represented by NASA, has exclusive Federal jurisdiction over
parcels | through 3.” (Ex. U1). The Virginia Department of
Labor and Industry had come to the same conclusion in 1990,
finding that the jurisdictional status of the lands “has not

* The responses Petitioners received to their Freedom of Information
Act (“FOIA”) request concerning this matter were filed with the Circuit
Court for Accomack County and were noted by that court in its second
summary judgment order. App. 15a.

5

changed and that the Federal government retains exclusive
jurisdiction over this land.” (Exs. O, Q)’.

5. Among the federal contractors working at WFF is
Petitioner H&H Consolidated, Inc., whose employees are
represented for collective bargaining purposes by Petitioners
Local Lodge 2552 and District Lodge 74, International
Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
(collectively “IAM”). The collective bargaining agreement
(“CBA”) between H&H and IAM includes a provision that
requires employees who do not choose to join IAM to pay an
agency fee to cover the costs of collective bargaining
representation. (Ex. T1).

Enforcement of agency fee agreements is permitted under
federal law, 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(3), see Marquez v. Screen
Actors Guild, 525 U.S. 33 (1998), but is forbidden by
Virginia’s “right-to-work” law, Va. Code Ann. § 40.1-62.
Petitioners negotiated and enforced the agency fee provision
on the basis of their belief that the H&H worksite is under
exclusive federal jurisdiction and therefore exempt from
Virginia’s “right-to-work” law. That belief was supported by

*A Virginia Deputy Attorney General, on the other hand, concluded in
1994 that the United States had lost exclusive jurisdiction as of 1961,
because “the land ceased to be controlled by the Navy, and the United
States no longer occupies it for naval purposes.” (Ex. U2). See infra
note 8.

It has been the policy of the Virginia state police not to patrol the lands
at WFF. (Ex. N5). Investigation of incidents occurring at WFF is the
responsibility of the WFF security chief, a NASA employee, who
investigates such incidents in conformance with the NASA security
handbook. /d. The Accomack County Sheriff's Department does not
enter WFF to serve process, but rather asks WFF security to bring
individuals to the main gate, where service is effected. Jd. The
Commonwealth Attorney for Accomack County, who has held his
position since 1985, never has prosecuted anyone for crimes occurring on
WFF land, id., but the United States Attorney’s office has successfully
brought charges under federal law for criminal acts on the property. (Exs.
W2, W3).

6

both state and federal administrative decisions. As noted, the
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, the agency
charged with enforcing the state’s “right-to work” law,
determined in 1990 that the federal government had exclusive
jurisdiction over WFF and that the “right-to-work” law did
not apply there. In an arbitration involving another federal
contractor at WFF whose workers are represented by IAM
under a contract containing an agency fee clause, the
arbitrator similarly concluded that the United States
maintained exclusive jurisdiction over WFF and that the
agency fee clause therefore was binding. (Ex. S). And in this
very matter, the National Labor Relations Board (“NLRB”)
dismissed an unfair labor practice charge brought against
IAM for enforcing the agency fee clause, finding the clause
permissible because WFF is a federal enclave subject to
exclusive federal jurisdiction. (Ex. T6).

6. In 1995, Respondent Frederick Pusey, an H & H
employee who had been discharged for refusing to pay the
required agency fee, sued IAM and H&H in the Circuit Court
of Accomack County, contending that enforcement of the
agency fee clause violated Virginia’s “right-to-work” law.
The action was removed to the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Virginia, but that court remanded it
back to the state court.

Notwithstanding the determinations by, inter alia, NASA,
the NLRB, and the Virginia Department of Labor and
Industry that the United States holds exclusive jurisdiction
over the lands at issue, the Circuit Court for the County of
Accomack ruled that jurisdiction had returned to Virginia
some forty years ago. App. 10a, 12a-13a. Declaring that
{t]he question [to be decided] is... whether the exclusive
jurisdiction of the United States in the three parcels reverted
to the Commonwealth of Virginia for failure of the Navy to
use and occupy the property for Naval purposes,” App. 7a,
the court held that such “reverter” occurred when the Navy
transferred custody of the facility to NASA in 1961, at which

7

time “a flag belonging to NASA was raised- [and] [aJll Navy
personnel departed,” id. Asserting that “the central factual
issue in this case [is] whether the property ceased to be used
and occupied by the Navy,” App. 10a, the court stated that,
upon the transfer of custody to NASA, “the U.S.
Navy . . . ceased to use and occupy the three parcels for Naval
purposes,” and “[t]herefore, concurrent jurisdiction reverted
to the Commonwealth of Virginia,” id. Although the court
noted that, since 1987, the Navy again has had a continuous
presence at WFF, the court declared that, once the Navy had
transferred use of the property to NASA, “{t]here is no law
that provides that exclusive Federal jurisdiction could spring
up again at the much later time when the Navy again was
permitted by NASA to use some of its property for some
Naval purposes.” /d.

The court deemed it immaterial that the United States had
never surrendered its exclusive jurisdiction and that Virginia
had not formally asserted jurisdiction over the land at issue,
because “[t]he language in the [1940] Virginia Act of the
cession of jurisdiction is similar to language, in real property
law, of the possibility of reverter and not similar to the
language of a right of entry for condition broken.” App. 6a.
Because a common law “possibility of reverter” (unlike a
“right of entry for condition broken’) results in “automatic”
reverter when the specified conditions no longer exist, id., the
court declared that the United States automatically and
permanently lost its exclusive jurisdiction over this land when
the Navy transferred custody to NASA.

After granting partial summary judgment to Respondent
Pusey on February 2, 1998 on the question of state
jurisdiction, App. 12a-13a, the Circuit Court on November
17, 1999, granted him partial summary judgment as to
liability and ordered a trial on damages. App. 14a-17a.
Following trial, the court entered judgment in favor of Pusey
in the amount of $135,000.00 with interest. App. 19a-23a.

a

8

The Supreme Court of Virginia refused Petitioners’ petitions
for appeal on September 13, 2000, App. la and 2a, and that
Court denied Petitioners’ timely petition for rehearing on
November 3, 2000. App. 18a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Many federal enclaves are used today in ways that differ
markedly from the particular uses that were anticipated
decades ago when states initially ceded jurisdiction over such
lands to the United States. This case presents an opportunity
for the Court to determine whether, by “a rigid interpretation
of antiquated deeds [or statutes] that failed fully to anticipate
the complex development of [federal government] opera-
tions,” United States v. Johnson, 994 F.2d 980, 986 (2d Cir.
1993), a state court may declare, contrary to the position of
the relevant federal agencies (and here, contrary as well to the
position of the relevant state regulatory agency) that a state
regulatory statute has become enforceable against activities
on a federal enclave merely because, in the state court’s view,
the activities conducted by the United States on the enclave
do not sufficiently match those that were anticipated by the
State statute that set out the basis on which the state was
ceding jurisdiction.

In this case, the state court divested the United States of its
exclusive jurisdiction over the Wallops Flight Facility, and
subjected Petitioners to liability under a state labor law that
NASA, the NLRB and the Virginia Department of Labor and
Industry all consider to be inapplicable at WFF by virtue of
exclusive federal jurisdiction. The state court did so on the
ground that the 1940 Virginia statute ceding jurisdiction over
this land to the United States stated that exclusive federal
jurisdiction would continue only as long as the property was
“used and occupied by the United States for naval
purposes”—a phrase which the court construed as requiring
that the facility be occupied by, and used by (rather than for)
the United States Navy (rather than NASA). The court below

9

reached that result, which in no way is compelled by the
statutory language, by approaching this case as if it involved
a routine state-law dispute as to property rights, rather than a
question of federal regulatory authority over an enclave that
concededly is owned by the United States.

The decision below divesting the United States of its
exclusive jurisdiction on this basis is contrary to the teaching
of this Court’s decision in Humble Pipe Line Co. v.
Waggonner, 376 U.S. 366 (1964), and the decision below
conflicts in principle with the Second Circuit’s decision in
United States v. Johnson, supra. Certiorari should be granted
to correct this ill-considered judicial interference with
exclusive federal jurisdiction at an important federal enclave,
and to provide needed guidance to the lower courts respecting
the analysis to be applied when it is claimed that the federal
government’s changing use of an enclave has triggered a loss
of exclusive federal jurisdiction.

1. It long has been settled that the federal government has
broad power to acquire land for governmental use with or
without the consent of the state in which the property is
situated, but such acquisition does not, without more, oust the
state of jurisdiction to enforce its laws on the acquired
property. See Paul v. United States, 371 U.S. 245, 264
(1963); Silas Mason Co. v. Tax Comm'n, 302 U.S. 186, 197
(1937); James v. Dravo Contracting Co., 302 U.S. 134, 141,
147-149 (1937); Fort Leavenworth R.R. Co. v. Lowe, 114
U.S. 525, 530-531 (1885). The question whether, in addition
to ownership, jurisdiction to establish and enforce the law in
a federal enclave has been transferred from a state to the
federal government is governed by the Enclave Clause of the
Constitution, Art. I, § 8, cl. 17, which grants Congress the
“Power . . . to exercise exclusive Legislation” over all
property acquired “by the Consent of . . . the State in which
the same shall be.” See Paul, 371 U.S. at 264; Silas Mason
Co., 302 U.S. at 197; Dravo Contracting Co., 302 U.S. at
147; Fort Leavenworth R.R. Co., 114 U.S. at 531.

al,

10

The Enclave Clause has been understood to require the
consent of the state, either through a statute of cession or
through some form of agreement, before the United States
may assume legislative jurisdiction over land it has acquired.
Where such consent has been given, state laws cease to
operate in the federal enclave: “the grant of ‘exclusive’
legislative power to Congress over enclaves that meet the
requirements of Art. 1, § 8, cl. 17, by its own weight, bars
state regulation without specific congressional action.” Paul,
371 US. at 263.

The accession of federal legislative authority over property
under the Enclave Clause thus depends on the consent of the
state’; and this Court has held that a state “may qualify
its cession by reservations not inconsistent with the
governmental uses” to which the United States intends to put
the property. Dravo Contracting Co., 302 U.S. at 141, 147;
Paul, 371 U.S. at 264-265. A state thus may include a
“requirement in the act of cession for return of sovereignty to
the State when the ceded territory [i]s no longer used for
federal purposes,” §.R.A., Inc. v. Minnesota, 327 U.S. 558,
563 (1946), or where the property is not used for “the public
purposes for which the property was acquired,” Fort
Leavenworth R.R. Co., 114 U.S. at 542. See Palmer v.
Barrett, 162 U.S. 399 (1896) (jurisdiction over land ceded for
military purposes reverted to the state when the land was
leased by the Navy to Brooklyn to be used as a marketplace).

So much is settled law. And it is settled as well that, even
though the existence and scope of federal jurisdiction over
acquired land depends on the consent of the state as expressed

> Of course, Congress may assert regulatory authority over certain
activities conducted in federal enclaves by virtue of sources of power
other than the Enclave Clause. See, e.g., Kleppe v. New Mexico, 426 U.S.
529, 541-546 (1976) (Property Clause gives Congress authority to
regulate activities on federal land even if the state has not ceded
jurisdiction pursuant to the Enclave Clause).

11

in state laws, “[t]hat question . . ., involving the extent of the
jurisdiction of the United States, is necessarily a federal
question.” Silas Mason Co., 302 U.S. at 197. See also Paul,
371 U.S. at 267; Wilson v. Cook, 327 U.S. 474, 486 (1946).

2. It has proved easier to state those substantive rules than
to formulate principles of construction for determining
whether a particular exercise of jurisdiction over a federal
enclave involves a matter that has been ceded to the federal
government, on the one hand, or reserved by the state, on the
other.

In an earlier period of our history, when many federal
enclaves had only recently been acquired, the question
frequently arose whether, in the first instance, the United
States had assumed, and the affected states had ceded,
exclusive jurisdiction over particular property. This Court
was called upon to resolve many such disputes. See, e.g.,
Silas Mason Co.; Dravo Contracting Co.; Fort Leavenworth
R.R. Co.; Collins v. Yosemite Park Co., 304 U.S. 518 (1938);
Arlington Hotel Co. v. Fant, 278 U.S. 439 (1929).

Such questions rarely have come before the Court in more
recent years, largely because of the enactment in 1940 of a
Statute, codified at 40 U.S.C. 255, which “created a definite
method of acceptance of jurisdiction so that all persons could
know whether the government had obtained ‘no jurisdiction
at all, or partial jurisdiction, or exclusive jurisdiction’.”
Adams v. United States, 319 U.S. 312, 314 (1943) (quoting
Hearings on H.R. 7293 before the House Committee on

Buildings and Grounds, 76th Cong., Ist Sess. 7 (1939))°.

° The statute provides in pertinent part as follows:

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the obtaining of
exclusive jurisdiction in the United States over lands or interests
therein which have been or shall hereafter be acquired by it shall not
be required, but the head or other authorized officer of any
department or independent establishment or agency of the

Pn ae ee

12

The statute does not, however, speak to the Enclave Clause
problem that is of principal concern in the post-1940 era. In
many instances there have been major changes in the
activities conducted by the federal government on enclaves
acquired decades ago, and therefore courts must struggle with
the question whether the current use of a federal enclave is so
different from the use that was contemplated when the state
initially ceded jurisdiction that the cession no longer should
be considered operative. 40 U.S.C. § 255 does not specify
any standards that should be applied in resolving such a
question.

3. The court below assumed that the matter should be
approached as if it were a routine question of land ownership
governed by state real property law. Thus, the fact that the
United States views its present jurisdiction over WFF as
exclusive,’ and the fact that Virginia never has asserted a
right to reassume jurisdiction,” were accorded no signi-

Government may, in such cases and at such times as he may deem
desirable, accept or secure from the State in which any lands or
interests therein under his immediate jurisdiction, custody, or
control are situated, consent to or cession of such jurisdiction,
exclusive or partial, not theretofore obtained, over any such lands or
interests as he may deem desirable and indicate acceptance of such
jurisdiction on behalf of the United States by filing a notice of such
acceptance with the Governor of such State or in such manner as
may be prescribed by the laws of the State where such lands are
situated. Unless and until the United States has accepted
jurisdiction over lands hereafter to be acquired as aforesaid, it shall
be conclusively presumed that no such jurisdiction has been
accepted.

” See supra at 4, 6.

* The Virginia agency responsible for enforcing the state “right-to-
work” statute on which Respondent Pusey relies has determined that
Virginia cannot enforce that law against contractors working at WFF
because federal jurisdiction is exclusive. Exs. O, Q. On the other hand, a
Virginia Deputy Attorney General has expressed the view that “the United
States no longer enjoys exclusive jurisdiction over that territory.” Ex. U2.

13

ficance, because, “in real property law,” those considerations
would be relevant only in the case of “a right of entry for
condition broken” rather than a “possibility of reverter,” App.
7a, and the court below viewed the terms of the Virginia
cession statute as “similar to” the latter rather than the former,
id.

In construing the “possibility of reverter” contained in the
cession statute—which, as noted, provides that “the
jurisdiction hereby ceded shall continue no longer than the
United States shall own [the] lands in fee simple and they
shall be used and occupied by the United States for naval
purposes,” see supra at 2—the Circuit Court did not pause to
consider why the state and federal governments might have
agreed to that particular provision. Instead, the court
construed the words without any reference to the context in
which they were used, and pronounced that the language
referring to “naval purposes” should be construed as
providing for federal jurisdiction only so long as the property
was “used and occupied by the Navy.” App. 10a. The court
therefore deemed it conclusive that, upon transfer of custody
to NASA, “the U.S. Navy . . . ceased to use and occupy the
three parcels for Naval purposes.” Jd. To the Circuit Court,
this necessarily meant that, as of 1961, “concurrent
jurisdiction reverted to the Commonwealth of Virginia.” /d.

Taking its reading a step further, the court declared that the
transfer of custody from the Navy to NASA in 1961 so
irrevocably terminated Virginia’s cession of jurisdiction that
the United States cannot assert exclusive jurisdiction today,
even though “the Navy again [i]s permitted by NASA to use
some of its property for some Naval purposes.” App. 10a.

However, Virginia has taken no official position on the question, and the
Deputy Attorney General's letter concludes with the recommendation that
the matter “should, if at all possible, be settled with certainty between the
Federa! government and the States” by clarifying the matter through
further statutory language. /d.

14

4. The state court’s decision is unfounded. On its face, the
reference in Virginia’s cession statute to “naval purposes” is
not confined to activities conducted directly by the United
States Navy.” And the statute does not provide that exclusive
federal jurisdiction may be exercised over WFF only as long
as the Navy occupies the property; rather, the statute provides
for exclusive jurisdiction as long as “the United States shail
own such lands in fee simple and they shall be used and
occupied by the United States for naval purposes.” NASA is
as much an agency of the United States as is the Navy; and
even during the period when the Navy did not occupy any of
the land, NASA continued to conduct aerospace activities
relevant to the national defense, including launching more
than 2500 rockets and satellites for the Navy. See supra
at 3-4.

If the Virginia court’s error were confined to a misreading
of the state cession statute, this case might be a candidate
only for summary reversal rather than for full briefing and
argument. But the error of the Virginia court’s analysis runs
deeper.

In Humble Pipe Line Co. v. Waggonner, 375 U.S. 369
(1964), as in this case, the question presented was whether the
United States had lost exclusive jurisdiction because it had
ceased to use certain property for the particular military
purpose—an air base—for which the land had been donated
by the state. The United States (acting through the
Department of the Interior rather than through the Air Force,
see id, at 373 n.4) had leased to a private party the right to
exploit parts of the land for oil and gas and for an oil pipeline.
Louisiana contended “that the Federal Government ha[d]
thereby lost its power to exercise exclusive jurisdiction over

* Although the Circuit Court characterized the Virginia statute as
allowing exclusive federal jurisdiction only for “Naval purposes,” App.
7a, 10a (emphasis added), the statute actually refers to “naval purposes,”
with a lower case “n”.

—

15

those parts of the area.” Jd. at 372. This Court rejected that
contention out of hand. “[RJecogniz[ing] the responsibility of
the Executive Department of the Government to determine
what land it will acquire and hold for military purposes,” id.
at 373, the Court declared that, even though the federal
government was not presently using portions of the land for
military purposes, “[t]here is no evidence here which would
justify a court in deciding that the government does not need
to keep all of this tract intact, ready for use when needed for
the highly important military purposes to which it has been
dedicated,” id.

Humble Pipe Line stands for the proposition that, where the
United States has not purported to relinquish the exclusive
jurisdiction it has been granted over an enclave, courts should
not be quick to conclude that changes in the federal
government’s use of the property are such as to require a
forfeit of exclusive jurisdiction. That proposition is
supported by a least two considerations.

First, there is little to be said for a regime under which
regulatory authority may ebb and flow between the federal
government and a state on the basis of nothing more than a
particular court’s narrow construction of the purposes for
which the state originally ceded jurisdiction. Here Petitioners
were subjected to substantial retroactive liability for
complying with federal agency fee law rather than state law,
even though NASA, the NLRB and the Virginia Department
of Labor and Industry all were of the view (as were the local
law enforcement agencies, see supra note 4) that exclusive
jurisdiction lay with the United States. This liability has been
imposed, to the detriment of NASA’s claim to exclusive
jurisdiction, merely because the Virginia court chose,
according to its own lights, to read the words “naval
purposes” as confined to activities carried out by, rather than
for, the United States Navy.

16

Second, as a general matter, construing a state cession
statute broadly is more likely to give proper effect to the
intent of both the state and federal governments than is a |
crabbed construction such as the court below adopted. Why,
after all, would the Virginia legislature wish—as to land
concededly owned by the United States—to cede exclusive
jurisdiction if WWF is used by the Navy for an airfield, but
not if it is used by NASA to support rocket launches for the
Navy?

State property law concepts, such as the doctrine of
“possibility of reverter” on which the Court below relied, see
supra at 7, 12-13, simply are not designed to address the
question whether regulatory authority over a federal enciave
rests with Congress, the state legislature, or both. As Humble
Pipe Line indicates, a court faced with that question must take
into account the value of allowing the federal government
leeway to alter its use of an enclave without risking a finding
that it has forfeited exclusive jurisdiction merely because a
particular court chooses to give a narrow construction to a
State cession statute.

5. The Second Circuit recognized as much in United States
v. Johnson, 994 F.2d 980 (2d Cir. 1993). There, New York
ceded land to the United States “for use in connection with
the expansion of the Brooklyn Navy Yard,” and the United
States was to have jurisdiction only for so long as the land
was used “for the purposes of the cession.” 994 F.2d at 986.
The government eventually ceased using the property for
“traditional navy yard work” (i.e., shipbuilding), id., and the
contention was advanced that jurisdiction had reverted to the
state as a result.

The Second Circuit rejected that contention, declaring that
“Johnson’s interpretation of the grant of jurisdiction is too
Strict, and does not allow for the evolution of the Navy’s |
needs.” /d. Emphasizing that “[t]he federal government must
be given some leeway in making use of ceded property,” id.,
and citing Waggonner, the court concluded that “jurisdiction

—————

17

ceded to the United States should not revert to the state
merely because the function of ceded property evolves over
time,” id.

The Johnson court acknowledged that “it is conceivable
that some evolution [of the use made of a federal enclave]
might exceed the conditions of a grant of land so severely as
to terminate the cession and cause a reversion of jurisdiction.”
Id. at 986 (emphasis added). By that language, however, the
Second Circuit recognized, as this Court had indicated in
Waggoner, that a court should not read a state cession statute
in a manner that destroys the United States’ exclusive
jurisdiction over a federal enclave unless the federal
government's current use of the enclave is clearly outside the
purposes for which the state ceded jurisdiction. “[A] rigid
interpretation of antiquated deeds [or statutes] that failed fully
to anticipate the complex development of naval operations,”
Johnson, 994 F.2d at 986, is not a proper basis for curtailing
federal jurisdiction over federal property.”

The Virginia court failed to heed these principles when it
pronounced a “reverter” of jurisdiction from the United States
to Virginia. It cannot plausibly be argued that the meaning of
the “naval purposes” proviso in the 1940 Virginia statute is so
clear as to compel the conclusion reached by the court below.

'° Also inconsistent with the decision of the Virginia court is Osburn v.
Morrison Knudsen Corp., 962 F.Supp. 1206 (E.D. Mo. 1997). In Osburn,
Missouri statutes transferred to the United States land “required for
military purposes,” and ceded exclusive jurisdiction so long as “the
United States owns the land and uses the same for th[ose] purposes.” /d.
at 1208. The court held that exclusive jurisdiction was not lost when the
Army ceased using the site altogether and transferred control to the
Department of Energy to be decontaminated, even though there was no
indication as to what use might be made of the site in the future. The
court deemed it sufficient that the contaminated condition of the site was
due to its past military use, and decontamination activities by the
Department of Energy were not “inconsistent with military use.” I/d. at
1208-09 (emphasis added).

18

Rather, that court proceeded as if this were an ordinary
dispute over private property, in which a court might be free
to adopt any reading of the governing documents that is
within the bounds of reasonableness, without regard to any
particular federal interests. Waggoner and Johnson teach that
that is no way to proceed where what is at stake is the
exclusive jurisdiction of the United States over a federal
enclave.

Certiorari should be granted to correct the Virginia court’s
improper encroachment on the exclusive federal jurisdiction
that properly applies in this case, and to provide needed
guidance to the lower courts respecting the analysis to be
followed when it is claimed that the exclusive jurisdiction
exercised by the United States over a federal enclave has been
divested by virtue of the government’s changing use of its
property.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Certiorari should
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
THOMAS LUCAS JEREMIAH A. COLLINS
McGUIRE, Woops, BATTLE Counsel of Record
& BOOTHE MARGO PAVE
9000 World Trade Center BREDHOFF & KAISER, P.L.L.C.
101 West Main Street 805 15th Street, N.W.
Suite 1000

Norfolk, VA 23510 Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 842-2600

JAMES J. VERGARA, JR.
VERGARA & ASSOCIATES
100 Main Street Plaza
Hopewell, VA 23860

mts 2 (4 pride evbset,
IT Main RA oan SRST

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0771%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
