# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lewis v. Johnson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0760%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1065

## Text

No- 664941 JAN 3 0 2001

In The ORRQE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

SAMUEL LEWIS, former Director of the
Arizona Department of Corrections, in his official
and individual capacities; et al.,

Petitioners,
V.

DENNIS JOHNSON, et al.,
Respondents.

TERRY STEWART, Director of the Arizona

Department of Corrections, in his official
and individual capacities; et al.,

Petitioners,
We

LEROY BACA, et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit
*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

4

JANET NAPOLITANO
Arizona Attorney General

THomas J. DENNIs*
Bruce L. SKOLNIK
Assistant Attorneys General
1275 W. Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2926
(602) 542-3333
Counsel for the Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

740

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312 (1986), and
the deference it affords to decisions by prison officials,
applies not only to Eighth Amendment claims challeng-
ing actions by prison officials to end prison riots, but also
to claims challenging conditions of confinement caused
by extraordinary security measures in a riot’s immediate
aftermath, when prison officials believe such measures
are necessary to identify and segregate participants in
order to fully restore and maintain order.

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Lewis v. Johnson (hereinafter “the Johnson Lawsuit”) -
Petitioners are the following officials of the Arizona
Department of Corrections (“ADOC”): Samuel Lewis, for-
mer ADOC Director; Terry Stewart, current ADOC Direc-
tor; Deputy Warden Glenn Davis, Arizona State Prison
Complex (“ASPC”) — Safford; Deputy Warden John Foote,
ASPC - Safford; Captain John Abbl; Correctional Service
Officer (“CSO”) Nations; CSO Macias; CSO Flores; Ser-
-geant Hull; Lieutenant Blackie Hassenzeller; Joe
Hawkins; Matthew Proto; Mark Wiiey; Dennis Killa;
James Bahn; Dwayne Morman; Dennis Grogg; Robert
Stalder; and J. C. Keeney.

Respondents are the following eight present or for-
mer ADOC inmates who sued individually and on behalf
of all others similarly situated: Dennis Johnson, Lawrence
E. Cottle, Elias Gutierrez, Leonard Todek, John Pilafas,
Robb Steir, Rodney Warner, and Gary Elmore.

Stewart v. Baca (hereinafter “the Baca Lawsuit”) -
Petitioners are the following ADOC officials: Terry Stew-
art, ADOC Director; former Warden Bill Gotcher, ASPC -
Safford; Deputy Warden Frank Terry, ASPC — Safford,
Tonto Unit; CSO Ortiz; Captain John Abbl; CSO
Thompson; Sergeant Amarillas; Matthew Proto; Dennis
Grogg; CSO Darren McWhorter; Armando Amarillas; and
Dwayne Morman.

iii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW - Continued

Respondents are the following six present or former
ADOC inmates who sued individually and on behalf of
all others similarly situated: Leroy Patrick Baca, Eric
Baker, Victor Lawrence Farber, Jr., Troy Hamilton, Paul
Large, and Larry G. Harper.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CFUBSTION PRESENTED. o0.00cccccssntsccdcscecee i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW......... ii
ee regime et iv
pe ee Ps! is nr re v
Soe Ty SPO ah bs isanias io rekdeaei ea teceel 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION................... 1
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SNE SiN 5 ken sccdudeseesdduenieseauceasieciaen 1
SEAR MMOL OW TEM CAGE. noc icccvcsscccetoncs 2
Per EN oid docs cckecedcedes cto 2
@. Penoeetings Qolowe xc. 5occcc5o oss occ cccse 6
REASONS TO GRANT THE PETITION ............ 9

1. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Conflicts with
Prior Decisions of this Court on an Important
re ree ee 9

2. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Conflicts with the
Ninth Circuit’s Own Precedent, as well as Deci-
sions of Other Circuit Courts of Appeals..... 16

Prey rer ere ten nee eee 20

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CasEs
Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979) ...........0eeeeee 13
Campbell v. Grammer, 889 F.2d 797 (8th Cir. 1989) ...15, 19
Campbell v. Sikes, 169 F.3d 1353 (11th Cir. 1999) ..... 19
Duran v. Elrod, 760 F.2d 756 (7th Cir. 1985).......... 15
Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976) .......-...000- ae
Helling v. McKinney, 509 U.S. 25 (1993)...........46 10
Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460 (1983)................. 19
Hudson v. McMillian, 503 U.S. 1 (1992) .... 9, 10, 12, 14
Johnson v. Glick, 481 F.2d 1028 (2d Cir. 1973) ........ 11

LeMaire v. Maass, 12 F.3d 1444 (9th Cir. 1993) ....16, 17
Lunsford v. Bennett, 17 F.3d 1574 (7th Cir. 1994) ..17, 18

Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974)............ 15
Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981)........... 10, 11
Sims v. Mashburn, 25 F.3d 980 (11th Cir. 1994) .. 15, 18, 19
Stengel v. Ellis, 916 F.2d 423 (8th Cir. 1990).......... 19
Stewart v. Rhodes, 473 F.Supp. 1185 (S.D. Ohio

BOTT on iv nninca ds denne ndeencgeses eaweiea 15
Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401 (1989)............ 15
Turner 0. Safley, 462 US. 76 CGG7) i vic cide ccgeciicns 15
Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312 (1986)............ passim

Williams v. Burton, 943 F.2d 1572 (11th Cir. 1991)....15, 19
Wilson v. Setter, S01 US. 296 CA991) 6. csacccesccccss« 10

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
CONSTITUTION
EIGER AGRORGMRORE oo occ cccccccscesescscescceses passim
STATUTES
20 WBA. © TMG 0 6660506008006600005005000eeee 1
2D UDA, © Bene essiviesccticcsnssiesnseeeee 7
2B UGG. © ISBE . ccccccacdcscccccecesesewecourseae 6
GE UDA. © Ws os cécctccncnatssss5suase eee 1, 6

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 217
F.3d 726. Appendix (App.) at 1. The judgments of the
United States District Court for the District of Arizona
granting summary judgment in favor of Petitioners and
against Respondents in Johnson v. Lewis, App. at 23, and
Baca v. Stewart, App. at 34, are not reported.

+

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

On June 29, 2000, the court of appeals entered the
judgment from which review is sought. App. at 1. On
October 2, 2000, the court of appeals denied rehearing.
App. at 46. On December 26, 2000, Petitioners’ time to file
a petition for a writ of certiorari was extended to January
30, 2001. App. at 50. This Court has jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS

This matter involves the following constitutional and
statutory provisions:

The Eighth Amendment to the United States Consti-
tution provides as follows: “Excessive bail shall not be
required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel and
unusual punishments inflicted.”

42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides as follows:

Every person who, under color of any statute,
ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia,
subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of
the United States or other person within the
jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the
Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the
party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,
or other proper proceedings for redress.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The consolidated appeal below arose from two sepa-
rate class action lawsuits challenging the actions of
Petitioners (“ADOC Prison Officials”) during and imme-
diately after two riots that occurred at two separate units
of the Arizona State Prison Complex in Safford in 1995.
The factual background of each riot is discussed below.

A. Material Facts

1. The Johnson Lawsuit. On the evening of August
14, 1995, inmates dissatisfied with conditions at the 638
bed minimum security Graham Unit of the Arizona State
Prison Complex in Safford began a riot. They set fire to
tents where 100 of the inmates lived and to several modu-
lar structures in the unit, looted the unit’s store, and
destroyed windows, toilets, and other facilities. App. at
3-4, 23. The damages totaled in excess of one million
dollars. App. at 19.

The prison’s Tactical Support Unit responded to the
riot by first requesting over the public address system

Eee

that all non-participating inmates assemble at a desig-
nated area; only 21 inmates reported. App. at 4, 24. The
Tactical Support Unit then entered the burning unit at
8:30 p.m., exploding diversionary devices in the buildings
' before entering. App. at 24. The Tactical Support Unit
officers met little resistance from the prisoners in the
buildings, but encountered prisoners throwing rocks and
soda cans in the open yard. Id. When the inmates failed to
follow orders to stop throwing things, the Tactical Sup-
port Unit officers were forced to fire tear gas, knee
knockers, and stinger balls at the rioters. Id. By 11:15
p.m., the Tactical Support Unit had evacuated all of the
buildings, accounted for each inmate, and gathered all of
the inmates handcuffed, shackled, and lying face down,
on an open grassy area of the yard. App. at 4, 24.

Prison officials continued to hold the inmates in
handcuffs, though not shackled, for the next four days in
the prison yard while they investigated the disturbance.
Id. Specifically, the investigation included an exhaustive
search of the entire unit, including all living spaces and
personal lockers, for weapons and other contraband.
App. at 5. Additionally, eleven investigators “worked
around the clock to interview each inmate individually.”
Id. The investigation was necessary to identify and segre-
gate those inmates who participated in the riot while, at
the same time, holding all the inmates in the safest and
most secure area of what remained of the prison unit.
App. at 4. As the court of appeals’ opinion recognizes,
prison officials had limited options under these difficult
circumstances:

Placing inmates back inside the eight dormito-
ries would have fragmented staff and allowed

inmates access to objects, possibly including
shanks, that could be used to cause injury. No
single building was large enough to hold all of
the inmates except the Multi-Purpose Building,
which housed a basketball court and had only
one entrance. Although this building would
have provided shelter, prison officials consid-
ered it too dangerous to use under the circum-
stances because housing the entire inmate
population in a space of that size would have
created crowded conditions and thwarted their
need to maintain complete physical control over
the prisoners in the wake of the riot.

Id.

During the four_days that the inmates were detained
outside, they were exposed to afternoon high tempera-
tures of up to 94 degrees, nighttime low temperatures of
70 degrees, and one night of rain. App. at 5. Additionally,
during the hours immediately after the riot, ADOC
_ Prison Officials did not allow inmates to move from a
prone position for any reason, causing some of the
inmates to urinate and defecate into their clothing. Id.
Although prison staff brought two portable toilets onto
the yard early on the morning after the riot, inmates
alleged they were inadequate. Id. Some time later that
same day, the situation improved when some of the
prison unit’s indoor toilet facilities that were damaged by
inmates during the riot were repaired and made available
to them. App. at 5-6. Inmates also complained that they
were served spoiled sack lunches and, until the second
day after the riot, had no drinking water, and thereafter
only restricted access to drinking water. App. at 6.

At the conclusion of the investigation on the fourth
day after the riot, ADOC Prison Officials returned the
inmates to their living quarters, and reestablished “nor-
mal prison conditions.” Id.

2. The Baca Lawsuit. On December 28, 1995, at
approximately 5:50 p.m., widespread racially motivated
fighting erupted in the 369 bed Tonto Unit at the Arizona
State Prison Complex in Safford. App. at 6, 34. The
inmates involved in the rioting were fighting, throwing
rocks, and destroying property. Id.

Again, the prison’s Tactical Support Unit responded
to the riot, entering the unit at approximately 6:48 p.m.
and ordering the inmates to lie on the ground. App. at 34.
At 8:00 p.m., the Tactical Support Unit began the process
of clearing all buildings in the unit and escorting inmates
to an outdoor ballfield where they cuffed the inmates
with knee and wrist restraints and ordered them to lie on
the ground. App. at 6, 34. By 12:10 a.m., ADOC Prison
Officials had accounted for and secured all prisoners on
the ballfield. Id.

As before, ADOC Prison Officials kept the inmates
outdoors while an investigation ensued, including a
search of the buildings and an attempt to identify and
segregate those inmates who had participated in the riot.
App. at 6. This time, the investigation was completed
after 17 hours and officials began returning the inmates
to their dormitories at approximately 1:00 p.m. the day
after the riot. App. at 6-7.

During these winter hours, the overnight tempera-
ture fell to 22 degrees. App. at 7. If an inmate needed to
urinate, prison officials allowed him to crawl a short

distance from where he lay to relieve himself on the
ground, sometimes causing urine to run onto other
nearby inmates. Id. At approximately 5:00 a.m., prison
officials allowed the inmates to rise and stretch, but when
some inmates refused orders to return to the ground,
prison officials had to force compliance with tear gas,
stinger balls, and knee knockers. App. at 7, 35. After the
second disturbance had ended, prison officials assigned
some inmates to go into the dormitories to get blankets
for the rest. App. at 7.

B. Proceedings Below

On June 16, 1996, inmates filed two separate class
action complaints in the United States District Court for
the District of Arizona under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 on behalf of
the Graham and Tonto Unit inmates who were present
during the riots. Plaintiffs in each case asked the court to
declare that the actions of the ADOC Prison Officials
violated their rights under the Eighth Amendment to the
United States Constitution. In addition, Plaintiffs sought
an injunction against the future use of the alleged cruel
and unusual actions ascribed to the Defendants, as well
as compensatory and punitive damages. The district
court exercised jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

The district court granted summary judgment in
favor of the ADOC Prison Officials in each case. App. at
23, 34. In separate but similar rulings, the district court
applied the heightened standard of wantonness in
Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312, 320-21 (1986), which turns
on “whether force was applied in a good faith effort to

maintain or restore discipline or maliciously and sadis-
tically for the very purpose of causing harm,” to test the
actions of the ADOC Prison Officials in quelling the riots.
App. at 27-28, 38-40. The district court stated that it
would apply a Whitley-type standard to the post-riot
actions of the ADOC Prison Officials, because during
those periods there were “concerns of control and safety
that were more important than the typical concerns of
administering the prison.” App. at 41. Ultimately, how-
ever, because the district court ruled that the post-riot
claims were not objectively of sufficient seriousness to
constitute an Eighth Amendment violation, it did not
reach the question of the ADOC Prison Officials’ subjec-
tive intent. App. at 32-33, 44. Plaintiffs appealed to the
Ninth Circuit pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

A divided panel of the Ninth Circuit Court of
Appeals reversed the district court’s decision. First, the
majority found that the types of harm alleged created fact
questions precluding summary judgment on the issue of
whether they were objectively serious enough to satisfy
the first prong of the Eighth Amendment test. App. at
11-12. ADOC Prison Officials do not address this issue in
this Petition. Then, because the district court had indi-
cated its view that a variation of Whitley applied to the
second, subjective prong of the Eighth Amendment test,
the court of appeals addressed this issue. App. at 14. The
court agreed with the district court that the Whitley stan-
dard applied to the ADOC Prison Officials’ immediate
response to quell the prison riots. App. at 14-15. Nev-
ertheless, while acknowledging that prison officials had
limited options during the post-riot investigation periods,
App. at 4, the majority held that the ADOC Prison

Officials were not entitled to application of the height-
ened Whitley standard during these post-riot periods:

In our view, the exigent circumstances the
prison officials faced during the riots persisted
until the officials were able successfully to
remove the prisoners from the buildings and
secure them in the prison yard. . . . When the
inmates were in the yard, however, they were
handcuffed, prone, and under armed guard. In
these circumstances, the inmates presented no
further danger to prison staff, the public, or
each other, and prison officials were no longer
required to make split-second, life-and-death
decisions.

App. at 14-15. The court instead applied the “deliberate
indifference” standard applicable to normal prison “con-
ditions of confinement” cases. App. at 15.

Judge Sneed dissented, reasoning that the majority
ignored the constraints that the ADOC Prison Officials
faced during the post-riot sorting-out periods and that it
incorrectly presumed that conditions had returned to nor-
mal the moment the officials were able to secure the
inmates on the prison yards. App. at 22. Because in the
aftermath of the two riots, the ADOC Prison Officials
were confronted with constraints materially different
than those generally faced in prisons, Judge Sneed would
have applied the Whitley standard to the inmates’ post-
riot detention treatment. App. at 17-22.

Defendants petitioned the court of appeals for an en
banc rehearing. Senior Judge Sneed recommended grant-
ing the Petition and an active judge requested a vote on
whether to rehear the matter en banc. App. at 48. The

Petition was denied because it failed to receive a majority
of the votes of the active judges. Id.

,%
Vv

REASONS TO GRANT THE PETITION

The court of appeals erroneously determined that the
Whitley standard did not apply to the ADOC Prison Offi-
cials’ actions in the immediate aftermaths of the riots
even though the officials took those actions to restore
security to the prison and to maintain discipline until
instigators and participants could be identified and segre-
gated. This Court should grant the Petition to clarify
what was implicit both in Whitley and Hudson v.
McMillian, 503 U.S. 1 (1992) - that is, that the Whitley
standard applies not only to prison officials’ use of force
to quell a riot, but also to prison officials’ extraordinary
actions to restore and maintain discipline in the aftermath
of a serious prison disturbance. The Court's clarification
is critical to provide prison officials, who must maintain
security to protect their own lives and the lives of other
staff and inmates in extremely hostile and volatile envi-
ronments, with the leeway necessary to make difficult
and quick decisions when they must act without the
benefit of hindsight.

1. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Conflicts with
Prior Decisions of this Court on an Important
Federal Question.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals directed the dis-
trict court to apply deliberate indifference as the standard

10

to judge the decisions of the ADOC Prison Officials dur-
ing the difficult and potentially explosive post-riot situa-
tions with which they were confronted. This is contrary
to this Court’s clear guidance in Whitley and Hudson. In a
line of cases beginning with Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97
(1976), this Court has established and clarified the proper
standards for alleged violations of the Eighth Amend-
ment by prison officials. The test involves both objective
and subjective components. Under the objective compo-
nent, the injury actually inflicted must be sufficiently
serious to warrant Eighth Amendment protection. See-
Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294, 298 (1991); Rhodes v. Chap-
man, 452 U.S. 337, 347-49 (1981). The subjective compo-
nent of the Eighth Amendment test requires that the
plaintiff show that the defendant acted with “wanton-
ness.” Wilson, 501 U.S. at 298-99. The standard necessary
to establish wantonness varies with the context of the
alleged constitutional violation. Whitley, 475 U.S. at 320.

In Estelle, this Court held that prison officials who
fail to attend to serious medical needs may be liable
under the Eighth Amendment if they exhibit “deliberate
indifference” to the condition. 429 U.S. at 104. This stan-
dard is appropriate because providing inmates with med-
ical care ordinarily does not conflict with competing
administrative concerns. Hudson, 503 U.S. at 5-6 (citing
Whitley, 475 U.S. at 320). This deliberate indifference test
is generally used to test Eighth Amendment claims alleg-
ing unconstitutional conditions of confinement. See
Wilson, 501 U.S. at 299, 302-03; Helling v. McKinney, 509
U.S. 25, 29-30 (1993).

In Whitley, the Court established a different standard
for the subjective wantonness component of the Eighth

————————————E

11

Amendment test when prison officials are required to
apply force in the face of an inmate uprising. Whitley, 475
U.S. at 320-21. The test is stringent, and asks “whether
force was applied in a good faith effort to maintain or
restore discipline or maliciously and sadistically for the
very purpose of causing harm.” Id. (quoting Johnson v.
Glick, 481 F.2d 1028, 1033 (2d Cir. 1973)) (internal quota-
tions and citations omitted).

In making the determination a court should consider
“the need for the application of force, the relationship
between the need and the amount of force that was used,
[and] the extent of injury inflicted.” Id._at 321 (quoting
Johnson, 481 F.2d at 1033) (internal quotations omitted).
“[E]qually relevant are such factors as the extent of the
threat to the safety of staff and inmates, as reasonably
perceived by the responsible officials on the basis of the
facts known to them, and any efforts made to temper the
severity of a forceful response.” Id. From these consider-
ations, “inferences may be drawn as to whether the use of
force could plausibly have been thought necessary, or
instead evidenced such wantonness with respect to the
unjustified infliction of harm as is tantamount to a know-
ing willingness that it occur.” Id.

The foundation of the Whitley standard is this Court's
admonition to all federal courts that the utmost deference
be given to prison officials when “the ever present poten- —
tial for violent confrontation and conflagration . . . ripens
into actual unrest and conflict... .” Id. at 321 (internal
citations omitted). In such situations, “ ‘a prison’s inter-
nal security is peculiarly a matter normally left to the
discretion of prison administrators’ ” and “carries special
weight.” Id. (quoting Rhodes, 452 U.S. at 349 n. 14.) A

12

heightened standard is appropriate because prison offi-
cials “confronted with a prison disturbance must balance
the threat unrest poses to inmates, prison workers,
administrators, and visitors against the harm inmates
may suffer if guards use force.” Hudson, 503 U.S. at 6.

This Court further explained in Whitley that “defer-
ence extends to a prison security measure taken in
response to an actual confrontation with riotous inmates,
just as it does to prophylactic or preventive measures
intended to reduce the incidence of these or any other
breaches of prison discipline. . . . [I]t requires that neither
judge nor jury freely substitute their judgment for that of
officials who have made a considered choice.” 475 U.S. at
322.

Later, in Hudson, this Court held that the heightened
Whitley standard applies to all allegations of excessive
use of force by prison officials, even those outside the riot
situation presented in Whitley. 503 U.S. at 7. As the Court
explained:

Many of the concerns underlying our holding in
Whitley arise whenever guards use force to keep
order. Whether the prison disturbance is a riot
or a lesser disruption, corrections officers must
balance the need “to maintain or restore disci-
pline” through force against the risk of injury to
inmates. Both situations may require prison offi-
cials to act quickly and decisively. Likewise,
both implicate the principle that “ ‘[p]rison
administrators . . . should be accorded wide-
ranging deference in the adoption and execution
of policies and practices that in their judgment
are needed to preserve internal order and disci-
pline and to maintain institutional security.’ ”

13

[Whitley,] 475 U.S., at 321-22, 106 S.Ct., at 1085
(quoting Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 547, 99
S.Ct. 1861, 1878, 60 L.Ed.2d 447 (1979)).

Id. at 6.

In this case, the court of appeals recognized that the
ADOC Prison Officials were attempting to restore order
and maintain security in extremely difficult circum-
stances, but did not apply the Whitley standard. Under
the court of appeals’ view, prison officials are entitled to
only normal levels of deference after riotous inmates are
handcuffed, prone, and under armed guard. App. at 15.
Deliberate indifference, however, applies to normal
prison “conditions-of-confinement” cases, not to the
treatment of inmates who are strictly confined and
restrained immediately following a riot.

The court of appeals’ decision dangerously under-
mines a cornerstone principle of Eighth Amendment
jurisprudence —- that prison officials receive the utmost
deference in dealing with heightened security needs.
Rather than analyzing “the extent of the threat to the
safety of staff and inmates, as reasonably perceived by the
responsible officials on the basis of the facts known to them,”
Whitley, 475 U.S. at 321 (emphasis added), the Court
substituted its judgment for that of the ADOC Prison
Officials by deciding that no further danger existed that
justified application of the Whitley standard. App. at
14-15.

The Whitley standard should apply to test the actions
of the ADOC Prison Officials in the aftermaths of the
riots when they reasonably believed it necessary to hold
the inmates outside and bound in order to fully restore

“_

14

order and prevent further rioting while investigators
worked around the clock to identify and segregate the
instigators of the riots. See Hudson, 503 U.S. at 6-7 (the
Whitley standard applies whenever a prison official is
accused of using excessive force, not only during riotous
situations, but also during “lesser disruption[s]”). It is
undisputed here that normal prison conditions had been
seriously disrupted by the riots, a disruption that per-
sisted for as long as it took ADOC Prison Officials to
identify and segregate participants before the other
inmates could safely return to their living quarters. The
actions complained of involved the “forced” restraint and
detention of the inmates in secure outdoor areas during
post-riot investigations. Because normal prison life was
severely disrupted, Hudson requires that the Whitley stan-
dard apply.

Furthermore, the court of appeals erroneously deter-
mined that Whitley did not apply after the riots ended
because Whitley applies only to force used to regain order
against emergent active hostilities, where “split-second,
life and death decisions” are necessary. App. at 15. This is
belied by the Whitley test itself, which refers not only to
the restoration of discipline, but to its maintenance. 475
U.S. at 320-21. It is also contrary to the Court’s statement
that the type of deference applicable to riot situations
applies equally to the “prophylactic or preventive mea-
sures” intended to reduce the possibility that a riot or
other breaches of prison discipline might reoccur. Id. at
322.

Finally, the court of appeals’ decision fails to recog-
nize the need to defer to the expertise of prison officials
to deal with the circumstances that existed in these cases.

15

Therefore, in a case where it acknowledged as an uncon-
troverted fact that prison officials had limited options in
the aftermaths of the uprisings, the court should have
recognized that it is the on-scene prison officials, and not
the courts, who have special expertise in prison matters.
See Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 84 (1987) (“courts are ill-
equipped to deal with the increasingly urgent problems
of prison administration and reform”) (quoting Procunier
v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396, 405 (1974), overruled on other
grounds, Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401 (1989)); Sims v.
Mashburn, 25 F.3d 980, 986 (11th Cir. 1994) (“The policy
itself reflects a well-developed and planned procedure in
a field where prison officials, not judges, are experts”);
Williams v. Burton, 943 F.2d 1572, 1576 (11th Cir. 1991)
(“ ‘[I]t is clear that federal courts must defer in many
matters to the expert judgment of these administrators,
particularly in matters of internal security and order’ ”)
(quoting Stewart v. Rhodes, 473 F.Supp. 1185, 1187 (S.D.
Ohio 1979), aff'd, 785 F.2d 310 (6th Cir. 1986)); Campbell v.
Grammer, 889 F.2d 797, 801 (8th Cir. 1989) (“Courts should
be especially reluctant to interpose their hindsight when
the challenged conduct occurred during a prison distur-
bance”); Duran v. Elrod, 760 F.2d 756, 759 (7th Cir. 1985)
(because federal judges know little about the manage-
ment of prisons “it is unseemly for federal courts to tell a
State . . . how to run its prison system”).

Certiorari should be granted to correct the court of
appeals’ misapplication of this Court’s prior rulings.

16

2. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Conflicts with the
Ninth Circuit’s Own Precedent, as well as Deci-
sions of Other Circuit Courts of Appeals.

In addition to straying from this Court’s governing
principles, the court of appeals’ decision conflicts with
decisions of other circuit courts of appeals holding that
the Whitley standard applies to heightened security mea-
sures taken by prison officials in response to prisoner
disruptions, other than ongoing riots. Indeed, the Ninth
Circuit’s opinion here stands in sharpest conflict with its
own earlier opinion in LeMaire v. Maass, 12 F.3d 1444 (9th
Cir. 1993), where another panel of the same court recog-
nized the need to apply the highest level of deference not
only to actions taken by prison officials to control a
dangerous in-progress prison disturbance, but also to
ensure that hostilities did not re-erupt after the initial
containment.

In LeMaire, Oregon prison officials forced highly
restrictive conditions upon an extremely dangerous and
disruptive inmate even when he was not misbehaving.
Those forced conditions included feeding the inmate Nut-
raloaf, restraining him in the shower and his cell, remov-
ing his clothing, and denying his outdoor exercise, etc. In
testing these limitations against the Eighth Amendment,
the Ninth Circuit quoted this Court’s language from
Whitley that official deference extends to “ ‘prophylactic or
preventive measures intended to reduce . . . breaches of prison
discipline’ ”. LeMaire, 12 F.3d at 1453 (quoting Whitley, 475
U.S. at 322) (emphasis in original).

The court then determined that the Whitley standard
applied because (1) “the kind of conduct against which

a

17

LeMaire lodge[d] his Eighth Amendment objections” was
“conduct designed by prison administrators to maintain
control over rebellious inmates;” (2) the security con-
straints confronting the defendant prison officials were
considerable; and (3) LeMaire’s complaints were “not so
much conditions of confinement or indifference to his
medical needs which do not clash with important govern-
mental responsibilities; instead, his complaint [was] lev-
eled at measured practices and sanctions either used in
exigent circumstances or imposed after considerable due
process and designed to alter LeMaire’s manifestly mur-
derous, dangerous, uncivilized, and unsanitary conduct.”
Id. at 1452-53. Significantly, the instant cases involved
only a few officers facing hundreds of disruptive inmates,
and not a single inmate as in LeMaire.

Like LeMaire, other circuits have used the Whitley
standard to judge prison officials’ actions to maintain
security and have not limited its application to the “split-
second, life and death decisions” that the court of appeals
found necessary to justify its application in this case. In
Lunsford v. Bennett, 17 F.3d 1574 (7th Cir. 1994), prison
officials were able to quickly quell an inmate flooding
disturbance. Rather than placing the inmates in any of
several habitable open detention units, the officials shack-
led the inmates to their cell doors standing ankle-deep in
the water as it was being cleaned up. As here, the plain-
tiff inmates challenged the conditions of their confine-
ment and claimed that they were denied basic hygiene
and served poorly-prepared food during their time of
forced restraint. In rejecting these claims, the court held:

Measuring prison officials’ conduct under [the
Whitley] standard applies in situations where

18

the prisoners have rioted, or when corrections
officers are merely attempting to maintain
order....

. . . Once the prisoners flooded the cell block,
the guards had to secure the prisoners so that
the trustees could mop up the water and pre-
vent physical damage to the prison facility. This
required that the prisoners be removed from the
cells and restrained appropriately. The guards
opened the cells and shackled each prisoner to
their cell. Being restrained in this manner for
three hours, although uncomfortable, does not
seem unreasonable given the circumstances.

17 F.3d at 1581-82 (footnote omitted).

The Eleventh Circuit dealt with a similar situation in
Sims v. Mashburn, 25 F.3d 980 (11th Cir. 1994). There, after
an inmate became disruptive, prison officials “stripped
down” his cell by removing his mattress, personal prop-
erty, blankets and all of his clothes except for his under-
shorts. His cell remained in this condition into the next
day, and he slept on the concrete floor. The court applied
the Whitley standard to the prison officials’ conduct, id. at
984, and reversed the district court’s finding in favor of
the inmate, reasoning as follows:

The question in this case boils down to a subjec-
tive judgment relative to when Sims had demon-
strated such a period of stable behavior and a
subjective judgment relative to the intervals at
which that question should be reevaluated.

Implicit in the actions of the officers in main-
taining the strip cell status is the judgment that
Sims did not sufficiently demonstrate a period
of stable behavior until sometime around 2:00

19

P.M. the following day. Giving these officials the
deference they are due requires that we accept
that judgment unless there is evidence justifying
its rejection. There is no such evidence in this
case. Similarly, a judgment that Sims should
have been reevaluated sooner finds no evidenti-
ary support in this record. A finding that some-
thing less than this 29 hour or so “cooling off”
period was sufficient fails to give the judgment
of these officials the deference they are due.

25 F.3d at 985. See also Campbell v. Sikes, 169 F.3d 1353,
1375-76 (11th Cir. 1999) (using the Whitley standard to test
the prolonged restraint of a disruptive inmate because
“the potential for a disturbance in the segregation unit
justified the continued use of the restraints and gag until
the officers were reasonably assured that the situation
had abated”); Williams v. Burton, 943 F.2d 1572, 1575-76
(11th Cir. 1991) (the court applied the Whitley standard to
the use of four-point restraints to a disruptive inmate
noting that “[o]nce restraints are initially justified, it
becomes somewhat problematic as to how long they are
necessary to meet the particular exigent circumstances,”
but deferred to prison officials on this issue because the
deference they were due extended to their “prophylactic
or preventive measures” under Whitley); Stengel v. Ellis,
916 F.2d 423, 426-27 (8th Cir. 1990) (court applied Whitley
and deferred to jail officials who restrained an inmate for
refusing to “show skin” while sleeping because it was
“not prepared to second-guess the jailers’ judgment given
the ‘broad administrative and discretionary authority’ the
federal courts accord prison authorities”) (quoting Hewitt
v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460, 467 (1983)); Campbell v. Grammer,
889 F.2d 797 (8th Cir. 1989) (court held that because

20

deference extends to post-riot “prophylactic or preven-
tive measures,” prison official’s failure to ensure that
inmates’ jumpsuits were returned following a disturbance
did not violate inmates’ rights).

Certiorari should be granted to resolve the conflict
between the court of appeals’ opinion in this case, and
the decisions of these other circuit courts.

a

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant the Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

JANET NAPOLITANO
Attorney General

THomasS J. DENNIs*

Bruce L. SKOLNIK

Assistant Attorneys General
1275 W. Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2926
(602) 542-3333

Counsel for the Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

January 30, 2001.

App. i

TABLE OF CONTENTS TO APPENDIX

Page
Opinion Reversing District Court Decision
Dated June 29, 2000 ........... eee seeeeeeeees App. 1
Order Granting Summary Judgment (Johnson)
Dated August 26, 1998..........---seeeeeeees App. 23
Order Granting Summary Judgment (Baca)
Dated August 26, 1998...........+-seeeeeeees App. 34

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and Deny-
ing Petition for Rehearing En Banc
Dated October 2, 2000 ..........0-seeeeeeeeee App. 46

Letter Granting Extension of Time to File Petition
for Writ of Certiorari
Dated December 26, 2000.........--++ee+ee App. 50

App. 1

217 F3d 726

Cal. Daily Op. Serv. 5309, 2000 Daily Journal
D.A.R. 7059

United States Court of Appeals,
Ninth Circuit.

Dennis N. JOHNSON; Leonard Todek, individually
and on behalf of all others similarly situated;
Lawrence E. Cottle; John Pilafas, individually and on
behalf of all others similarly situated; Robb Steir,
individually and on behalf of all others similarly
situated; Rodney Warner, individually and on behalf of
all others similarly situated; Gary Elmore, individually
and on behalf of all others similarly situated; Elias
Gutierrez, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

Samuel LEWIS, former director of the ADOC in his
individual capacity; Terry Stewart, Director of the
ADOC in his official and individual capacity; BILL
GOTCHER, former warden of the ASP at Safford in
his official and individual capacity; Glenn Davis,
Deputy Warden of ASP Safford in his official and
individual capacity; John Foote, Deputy Warden of the
ASP Safford in his official and individual capacity;
John Abbl, Captain DOC officer in his official and
individual capacity; CSO Nations, CSO Marcias, CSOII
Flores, SGT. Hull, DOC officers in their official and
individual capacities; Blackie Hassenzeller, Lieutenant,
a member of the ADOC Tactical Support Unit in his
official and individual capacity; John Doe 1-10, DOC
officers in their official and individual capacities; Joe
Hawkins; Matthew Proto; Mark Wiley; Dennis Killa; .
James Bahn; Dwayne Morman; Dennis Grogg; Robert
Stadler; J.C. Kenney, Defendants-Appellees.

Leroy Patrick BACA; Troy Hamilton, individually and
on behalf of all others similarly situated; Paul Large,

App. 2

individually and on behalf of all others similarly
situated; Eric Baker; Larry G. Harper, individually and
on behalf of all others similarly situated; Victor
Lawrence Farber, Jr., Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

Terry STEWART, Director of the ADOC in his official
and individual capacity; Bill Gotcher, former warden
of the ASP Safford in his individual and official
capacity; Frank Terry, deputy warden in charge of
Tonto Unit in his official and individual capacity; CSO
Ortiz, in his official and individual capacity; John
Abbl, Captain in his official and individual capacity;
CSO Thompson, in his official and individual capacity;
Amarillus, Sergeant in his official and individual
capacity; John Doe 1-10, CSOs in their official and
individual capacity; CSO Thompson; Matthew Proto;
Dennis Grogg; Darren McWhorter, CSOII; Armando
Amarillas; Dwayne Morman, Defendants-Appellees.

Nos. 98-16821, 98-16851.
Argued and Submitted Dec. 9, 1999
Filed June 29, 2000

Paul Gattone, Southern Arizona People’s Law Center,
Tucson, Arizona, for the plaintiffs-appellants.

Bruce L. Skolnik, Assistant Attorney General, Tucson,
Arizona, for the defendants-appellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
District of Arizona.

Before: SNEED, PREGERSON, and W. FLETCHER,
Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge W. FLETCHER; Dissent by Judge
SNEED.

W. FLETCHER, Circuit Judge:

App. 3

These class actions arose from two disturbances in
the Arizona State Prison in Safford, Arizona: one in
August 1995 and the other in December of the same year.
Although the district court resolved the cases separately,
we consolidate them because they are factually similar
and present identical legal issues. In each case, prison
officials quelled the disturbance and then held all of the
inmates in the affected unit out-of-doors while they
investigated the incident and searched the prison build-
ings. The appellants, two classes of plaintiffs consisting of
the inmates who were held outside, brought class actions
against Arizona prison officials under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
asserting that the conditions under which they were held
violated the Eighth Amendment's prohibition against —
cruel and unusual punishment. The district court granted
summary judgment for the defendant prison officials in
each case. We conclude that unresolved issues of fact
preclude summary judgment in both cases. We therefore
reverse and remand.

I

Because these cases were resolved at summary judg-
ment, we relate the facts in the light most favorable to the
prisoners as the non-moving parties. See Holmes v. Califor-
nia Army Nat'l Guard, 124 F.3d 1126, 1132 (9th Cir. 1997).

On August 14, 1995, the Graham Unit of the Arizona
State Prison in Safford, Arizona housed 638 inmates. One
hundred of these prisoners lived in tents; the rest were
housed in permanent dormitories. Dissatisfied with the
conditions in the tents, some of the inmates began setting
fire to the tents and nearby structures, throwing rocks

App. 4

and cans, and wielding other makeshift weapons shortly
after 7:00 p.m.

The prison’s Tactical Support Unit (TSU) responded
to the disturbance. Officials used the public address sys-
tem to order all non-participating inmates to assemble at
a designated location, but only 21 inmates reported. The
TSU entered the prison yard at 8:30 p.m. Over the next
several hours, it was able to restore order and regain
control of the facility using non-lethal weapons. By 11:15
p-m., the TSU had evacuated all of the remaining build-
ings, had accounted for each of the 638 inmates, and was
holding them handcuffed, shackled, and lying face-down
on the ground in a central location in the prison yard.

Prison officials continued to hold the inmates hand-
cuffed and prone, though no longer shackled, in the
prison yard while they conducted an investigation of the
disturbance. Until the riot participants could be identi-
fied, officials considered holding the inmates in the easily
secured prison yard to be the safest alternative. Placing
inmates back inside the eight dormitories would have
fragmented staff and allowed inmates access to objects,
possibly including shanks, that could be used to cause
injury. No single building was large enough to hold all of
the inmates except the Multi-Purpose Building, which
housed a basketball court and had only one entrance.
Although this building would have provided shelter,
prison officials considered it too dangerous to use under
the circumstances because housing the entire inmate pop-
ulation in a space of that size would have created
crowded conditions and thwarted their need to maintain
complete physical control over the prisoners in the wake
of the riot.

App. 5

While the prisoners waited in the yard, eleven inves-
tigators worked around the clock to interview each
inmate individually. Other officials conducted an exhaus-
tive search of the entire unit, including all of the living
spaces and each prisoner’s personal locker, for weapons
and other contraband. The investigation lasted four days.

During those four days, the prisoners in the yard
were exposed to the elements. The weather was humid,
and the peak afternoon temperatures ranged up to 94
degrees, with nighttime lows around 70 degrees. Prison
officials responded to the heat by “misting” the inmates
with fire hoses. On the third day, officials distributed 36
bottles of sunscreen among the more than 600 inmates.
Nonetheless, during one three-hour period on August 17,
thirteen inmates required treatment for heat-related med-
ical problems. The inmates were not provided with blan-
kets or other coverings during the night. It rained during
the night of August 16, but the inmates were given no
means of shelter.

During some of the inmates’ time in the yard, prison
officials provided no foilet facilities. For the first night,
inmates were not allowed to move from a prone position
for any reason, even to relieve themselves. Sometime
during the morning of August 15, two portable toilets
were brought onto the yard. By then, some of the inmates
had urinated or defecated into their clothing, which they
would wear for the rest of the time in the yard. According
to the inmates, the two portable toilets could not meet the
demand of so many prisoners and were often unusable,
despite periodic servicing. Sometime later on August 15,
the situation improved when a few of the institution’s

App. 6

indoor toilet facilities that had been damaged during the
riot were repaired and made available to the inmates.

For each meal, the inmates received sack lunches
consisting of bologna sandwiches, milk, and an orange,
but, according to the plaintiffs’ deposition testimony,
these lunches were routinely left in the sun for several
hours before they were distributed, spoiling the meat and
making much of the meal inedible. The inmates also
claim that they received no drinking water until well into
the second day, and that their access to drinking water
was restricted thereafter. At the conclusion of the four-
day riot investigation, the inmates were returned to their
living quarters, and normal prison conditions were rees-
tablished.

Several months later, on the evening of December 28,
1995, another disturbance erupted in a different unit of
the Safford prison. Shortly before 6:00 p.m., between 70
and 80 of the 369 inmates in the Tonto Unit began fight-
ing, throwing rocks, and destroying property. Again the
TSU was successfully deployed, and it quickly regained
control of the Unit. At 8:00 p.m., the TSU began evacuat-
ing the buildings of inmates and bringing them outdoors
to the ballfield, where they were made to lie on the
ground in handcuffs and ankle restraints. By midnight,
all 369 inmates were lying prone on the ground. As they
had in the aftermath of the Graham Unit disturbance,
prison officials left the prisoners outdoors while they
searched the buildings and tried to identify those inmates
who had participated in the riot. This time, the officials’
investigation lasted 17 hours.

App. 7

During the hours the inmates spent outside, the tem-
perature fell to 22 degrees. They were forced to lie on the
ground in whatever clothing they had been wearing
when the TSU cleared their buildings. When the inmates
needed to urinate, the guards allowed them to get to their
knees, crawl a few feet from where they lay, and relieve
themselves on the ground. Because of their close prox-
imity to each other, inmates sometimes urinated on their
neighbors; even when they did not, the urine sometimes
pooled and ran onto other inmates. At around 5:00 a.m.,
the guards briefly allowed the inmates to get to their feet
to try to restore circulation and to relieve the pain and
cramping they were experiencing in the cold. A few
minutes later, the guards ordered the inmates to get back
on the ground. When some of the prisoners refused, the
guards forced compliance with tear gas, stinger balls, and
knee knockers. Once the inmates were again on the
ground, the guards assigned a few of them to enter the
dormitories and get blankets for the rest.

By midday on December 29, the prison officials had
concluded their investigation and identified the instiga-
tors of the disturbance. Officials began returning the
inmates to their dormitories around 1:00 p.m.

The 638 inmates incarcerated in the Graham Unit
during the August 1995 riot and its aftermath filed a class
action against Arizona prison officials in federal district
court under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Inmate Dennis Johnson is
the lead plaintiff for the Graham Unit class. The 369
Tonto Unit inmates involved in the December 1995 inci-
dent filed a similar class action, for which inmate Leroy
Baca is the lead plaintiff. Each complaint alleges that the

App. 8

defendant prison officials subjected the plaintiff class to
unconstitutional conditions in the prison yard.

On August 26, 1998, the district court entered orders
granting summary judgment for the defendants in each
action. The district court concluded that, because prison
officials had provided some food, drinking water, sanita-
tion, medical care, and protection from the elements dur-
ing the four days that the Graham Unit prisoners were
held outdoors, the Johnson class had failed to provide
evidence of sufficient harm to trigger the protections of
the Eighth Amendment. Similarly, the court held that,
because some of the Tonto Unit prisoners were dressed in
jackets, hats, and gloves; because all of the inmates even-
tually received blankets; and because the inmates were
subjected to cold temperatures for only one night, the
Baca class also had failed to demonstrate sufficient harm
to violate the Eighth Amendment.

Timely appeals were taken. We have jurisdiction to
review the judgments of the district court under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1291, and we reverse.

II

The Eighth Amendment prohibits cruel and unusual
punishment of a person convicted of a crime. U.S. Const.
amend. VIII. The Amendment has not been restricted to
cases challenging the length of a sentence or the nature of
a punishment. Where the conditions of confinement are
challenged rather than the confinement itself, a plaintiff
must make two showings. First, the plaintiff must make

App. 9

an “objective” showing that the deprivation was “suffi-
ciently serious” to form the basis for an Eighth Amend-
ment violation. Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294, 298, 111 S.Ct.
2321, 115 L.Ed.2d 271 (1991). Second, the plaintiff must
make a “subjective” showing that the prison official acted
“with a sufficiently culpable state of mind.” Id. The dis-
trict court in these cases did not reach the question of the
second required showing because, in its view, the depri-
vations alleged by the plaintiff classes were not suffi-
ciently serious to violate the Eighth Amendment.

Although the routine discomfort inherent in the
prison setting is inadequate to satisfy the objective prong
of an Eighth Amendment inquiry, “those deprivations
denying ‘the minimal civilized measure of life’s necessi-
ties’ are sufficiently grave to form the basis of an Eighth
Amendment violation.” Id. (quoting Rhodes v. Chapman,
452 U.S. 337, 347, 101 S.Ct. 2392, 69 L.Ed.2d 59 (1981)).
Prison officials have a duty to ensure that prisoners are
provided adequate shelter, food, clothing, sanitation,
medical care, and personal safety. See Farmer v. Brennan,
511 U.S. 825, 832, 114 S.Ct. 1970, 128 L.Ed.2d 811 (1994);
Keenan v. Hall, 83 F.3d 1083, 1089 (9th Cir. 1996); Hoptowit
v. Ray, 682 F.2d 1237, 1246 (9th Cir. 1982).

The circumstances, nature, and duration of a depriva-
tion of these necessities must be considered in determin-
ing whether a constitutional violation has occurred. “The
more basic the need, the shorter the time it can be with-
held.” Hoptowit, 682 F.2d at 1259; see also Anderson v.
County of Kern, 45 F.3d 1310, 1314, as amended, 75 F.3d 448
(9th Cir. 1995) (“[A] lack of sanitation that is severe or
prolonged can constitute an infliction of pain within the
meaning of the Eighth Amendment.”). For example, the

App. 10

Eighth Circuit found that the Eighth Amendment had
been violated where prison officials required inmates to
remain outdoors in subfreezing temperatures for less
than two hours, even though the inmates were provided
with hip-length, lined denim coats and allowed to move
freely. See Gordon v. Faber, 973 F.2d 686, 687 (8th Cir. 1992).
Similarly, we have suggested that depriving an inmate of
a jacket could violate the Eighth Amendment under some
weather conditions. See Walker v. Sumner, 14 F.3d 1415,
1421 (9th Cir. 1994). More modest deprivations can also
form the objective basis of a violation, but only if such
deprivations are lengthy or ongoing. See Keenan, 83 F.3d
at 1090-91.

The relatively brief amounts of time the members of
the plaintiff classes spent in the prison yard in these cases
preclude them from stating Eighth Amendment claims for
minor deprivations. These plaintiffs, however, provide
evidence of substantial deprivations of shelter, food,
drinking water, and sanitation. This evidence, if believed,
shows harm of sufficient magnitude to satisfy the objec-
tive prong of an Eighth Amendment violation.

The Johnson plaintiffs provide sworn deposition testi-
mony and affidavits that they did not receive protection
from the elements sufficient to ward off heat-related ill-
nesses. They testified that they received inedible food
and inadequate drinking water for four days. They also
testified that they did not receive adequate access to
toilets to avoid soiling themselves, and they were not
allowed to clean themselves thereafter. If believed, this
evidence would establish deprivations sufficiently
serious to satisfy the objective component of an Eighth
Amendment claim.

App. 11

The state has provided videotape evidence demon-
strating that, repeatedly during the four days, some of
the Johnson plaintiffs did receive food, drinking water,
sunscreen, “misting,” and access to toilets. This videotape
evidence is important and may eventually be dispositive
in favor of the state. At this stage of the litigation, how-
ever, it does not overcome the plaintiffs’ evidence. Estab-
lishing that some needs of some plaintiffs were met at
some times during the four days does not establish that
the plaintiffs received adequate edible food and adequate
amounts of drinking water, that the sunscreen or “mist-
ing” provided sufficient protection from the sun and heat,
or that the sanitation was adequate. Drawing all reason-
able inferences from the evidence in favor of the non-
moving parties, as we must, see Wong v. Regents of the
Univ. of Cal., 192 F.3d 807, 817 (9th Cir. 1999), we conclude
that the videotape falls short of negating the prisoners’
claims. See Nissan Fire & Marine Ins. Co., Ltd. v. Fritz Cos.,
Inc., 210 F.3d 1099, 1106 (9th Cir. 2000). The actual condi-
tions to which the Johnson plaintiffs were subjected on the
prison yard are therefore disputed questions of material
fact that cannot be resolved at summary judgment. See
Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c).

The Baca plaintiffs also provide sufficient evidence of
substantial deprivations of basic human needs to with-
stand summary judgment. They testify principally to
exposure to subfreezing temperatures and the lack of
access to toilets. As in Johnson, the state supplied a video-
tape of the inmates on the prison yard. The videotape
shows some prisoners wearing jackets and gloves.
Viewed in the light most favorable to the plaintiffs, how-
ever, the videotape establishes no more than that some,

App. 12

but not all, members of the plaintiff class were wearing
winter clothing. The state also maintains that providing
the prisoners with blankets in the early morning ade-
quately protected them from the cold, but it is undis-
puted that the blankets were not distributed until the
inmates had been lying motionless in the dirt in subfreez-
ing temperatures for five to nine hours. The extent and
adequacy of the protection the inmates received from the
cold is therefore a disputed question of fact. Moreover,
although we have no doubt that toilets can be unavailable
for some period of time without violating the Eighth
Amendment, the plaintiffs in this case testify that the
state imposed conditions inescapably resulting in pris-
oners wetting each other with urine. This evidence, if
believed, would allow a fact-finder to conclude that the
plaintiffs suffered a sufficiently serious deprivation to
violate the Eighth Amendment.

Ill

In addition to a sufficiently serious objective harm,
an Eighth Amendment violation requires a showing that
the subjective state of mind of the prison officials was
culpable. See Wilson, 501 U.S. at 298-99, 111 S.Ct. 2321.
The state-of-mind requirement is not constant, but
instead varies with the circumstances of the claim.

In Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 97 S.Ct. 285, 50
L.Ed.2d 251 (1976), the Supreme Court determined that
“deliberate indifference” to prisoners’ serious medical
needs violates the Eighth Amendment. Id. at 105, 97 S.Ct.
285. The deliberate indifference standard requires the

App. 13

plaintiff to prove that “the official knows of and disre-
gards an excessive risk to inmate health or safety... .”
Farmer v. Brennan, 511 U.S. 825, 837, 114 S.Ct. 1970, 128
L.Ed.2d 811 (1994).

Ten years later, when confronted with materially dif-
ferent circumstances, the Court departed from the “delib-
erate indifference” standard it had established in Estelle.
In Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312, 106 S.Ct. 1078, 89
L.Ed.2d 251 (1986), the Court refused to find a violation
of the Eighth Amendment where prison officials had shot
an inmate while they tried to rescue a guard held hostage
during a riot, despite the fact that prison officials had
clearly shown deliberate indifference to that inmate’s
safety. Explaining that the state-of-mind requirement is
context-dependent, the Court held:

Where a prison security measure is undertaken
to resolve a disturbance, such as occurred in this
case, that indisputably poses significant risks to
the safety of inmates and prison staff, we think
the question whether the measure taken inflic-
ted unnecessary and wanton pain and suffering
ultimately turns on whether the force was
applied in a good faith effort to maintain or
restore discipline or maliciously and sadistically
for the very purpose of causing harm.

Id. at 320-21, 106 S.Ct. 1078 (internal citations omit-
ted). In emergency circumstances, such as those that exist
during a prison uprising, where prison officials must
weigh the competing institutional interests of ensuring
the safety of staff, visitors, and inmates, and where life-
and-death decisions must be made quickly, the Court
found that the deliberate indifference standard does not

Aecstchi fins

App. 14

“adequately capture the importance of such competing
obligations, or convey the appropriate hesitancy to cri-
tique in hindsight decisions necessarily made in haste,
under pressure, and frequently without the luxury of a
second chance.” Id. at 320, 106 S.Ct. 1078.

In contrast, where inmates challenge the conditions
of confinement, the Court has applied the deliberate
indifference standard rather than the heightened Whitley
standard. See Wilson, 501 U.S. at 303, 111 S.Ct. 2321. The
Court in Wilson reasoned that the emergency circum-
stances facing prison officials while quelling a distur-
bance would, as a general matter, be absent when officials
decided such matters as what sort of food to supply, the
temperature at which to keep the prison cells, and the
kind of clothing to issue. See id.

In the cases now before us, the district court did not
resolve the question of the prison officials’ mental state
because it incorrectly held that the prisoners could not
prove a sufficiently serious objective harm. But the dis-
trict court did explain its view, in reliance on Whitley,
“that a heightened standard of deference applies to the
post-riot actions taken by the prison officials immediately
after the riot, although it may be less than the standard
applied in the face of immediately exigent circum-
stances.”

In our view, the exigent circumstances the prison
officials faced during the riots persisted until the officials
were able successfully to remove the prisoners from the
buildings and secure them in the prison yard. The prison
officials’ actions and accompanying state of mind should
therefore be measured against the Whitley standard for an

App. 15

Eighth Amendment violation until that point. Under the
Whitley standard, those actions did not violate the Eighth
Amendment because the officials were motivated by the
sorts of penological and safety concerns which are com-
mitted to the discretion of prison officials and to which
we give considerable deference.

When the inmates were in the yard, however, they
were handcuffed, prone, and under armed guard. In
these circumstances, the inmates presented no further
danger to prison staff, the public, or each other, and
prison officials were no longer required to make split-
second, life-and-death decisions. Once the inmates were
thus secured in the yard, the state-of-mind requirement
that sufficed to show an Eighth Amendment violation
was deliberate indifference.

In Farmer, the Supreme Court held that to act with
deliberate indifference, an official must have actual
knowledge of an excessive risk to inmate health or safety
and must deliberately disregard that risk. See 511 U.S. at
837, 114 S.Ct. 1970. In these cases, the plaintiffs must
show that the defendant officials had actual knowledge of
the plaintiffs’ basic human needs and deliberately refused
to meet those needs. Whether an official possessed such
knowledge “is a question of fact subject to demonstration
in the usual ways, including inference from circumstan-
tial evidence. ...” Id. at 842, 114 S.Ct. 1970.

In the cases before us, a fact-finder could conclude,
based on the evidence presented by the plaintiffs seen in
its most favorable light, that the defendant prison offi-
cials had actual knowledge of the inmates’ exposure to
the elements and need for sanitation, edible food, and

App. 16

adequate drinking water, and that they intentionally dis-
regarded these conditions. In the Johnson case, inmate
Johnson testified in his deposition that he heard defen-
dant Sam Lewis, the Director of the Department of Cor-
rections, say, “Keep them down for four days at least.”
He also heard guards saying “Let’s keep them down, let’s
hurt them.” In his deposition, then-Deputy Warden Glen
Davis admitted that officials determined on the night of
the riot - before they could know how long the investiga-
tion would take - to keep the inmates outdoors for at
least three days. Davis also wrote a post-incident report
in which he noted that the inmates now “have a clear
understanding from this incident that type of behavior
will not be tolerated. Life was not good for these inmates.
They are now clear on who is administering the Institu-
tion, the consequences forthcoming from their actions
and the absolute power of our Tactical Support Units.”
From this evidence, a finder of fact could conclude that
the defendants deliberately ignored, perhaps even inten-
tionally imposed, the sorts of conditions the Johnson
plaintiffs claim to have experienced during their four
days in the prison yard.

The Baca plaintiffs present similar evidence. Inmate
Victor Farber provides an affidavit in which he relates
that the inmates were so cold by the time of the renewed
disturbance at 5:00 a.m. that some of them asked to be
shot, and “Officer Ortiz laughed at the inmates [and]
said, ‘If we shoot you with these guns you wont [sic] get
to go to the hospital - you'll just lay there in pain.’ ”
Inmate Larry Harper relates hearing a guard say that “he
thought we deserved the treatment we received, if a few
people cause a disturbance everyone will suffer, that he

App. 17

received a lot of overtime and that we should have been
left out there for two weeks.” Inmate Baca testifies that
Deputy Warden Terry threatened to keep the inmates
sutside for seven days if there were any more distur-
dances. Inmate Large testified in his deposition that he
remembered a guard telling him that the prisoners “could
zo to the bathroom in [their] pants and [they] could
freeze.”

IV

The Eighth Amendment does not tolerate prison offi-
cials’ deliberate indifference, in the absence of exigent
circumstances, to substantial deprivations of adequate
shelter, food, drinking water, and sanitation. Because the
olaintiff classes present evidence that, if believed by a
fact-finder, would demonstrate that the defendant prison
officials deliberately failed to rectify severe deprivations
of basic human necessities of which they had actual
knowledge, summary judgment for defendants was
improperly granted.

We REVERSE and REMAND these cases for further
oroceedings consistent with this opinion.

SNEED, Circuit Judge, Dissenting:

“{O)nly the unnecessary and wanton infliction of
pain . . . constitutes cruel and unusual punishment for-
didden by the Eighth Amendment.” Whitley v. Albers, 475
U.S. 312, 319, 106 S.Ct. 1078, 89 L.Ed.2d 251 (1986). In
these cases, the deprivations of shelter were necessary
and the alleged deprivations of adequate food, water and
sanitation were not wanton. I therefore dissent.

App. 18

Shelter

It is well-settled that “[p]rison officials should be
accorded wide-ranging deference in the adoption and
execution of policies and practices that in their judgment
are needed to preserve internal order and discipline to
maintain institutional security.” Whitley, 475 U.S. at 322,
106 S.Ct. 1078 (citing Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 547, 99
S.Ct. 1861, 60 L.Ed.2d 447 (1979)) (emphasis added).
Indeed, we have held that “prison officials have a right
and a duty to take the necessary steps to reestablish order
in a prison when such order is lost.” Hoptowit v. Ray, 682
F.2d 1237, 1259 (9th Cir. 1982) (emphasis added). The
deference accorded to prison officials “extends to a
prison security measure taken in response to an actual
confrontation with riotous inmates, just as it does to
prophylactic or preventive measures intended to reduce
the incidence of these or any other breaches of prison
discipline.” Whitley, 475 U.S. at 322, 106 S.Ct. 1078. “It
does not insulate from review actions taken in bad faith
and for no legitimate purpose, but it requires that neither
judge nor jury freely substitute their judgment for that of
officials who have made a considered choice.” Id.

The prison officials made considered choices that
penological and safety concerns mandated that inmates
be kept outdoors during the investigations of the riots.
The decisions were necessary steps to reestablish order in
the prisons where order had been lost. The prisoners in
both of these cases rioted and caused significant damage
to the prison facilities. In Johnson, the rioters set fires to
their own dwellings, including tents and dormitories, and
various buildings that housed offices and other facilities,
including records, mail and property, security, programs,

App. 19

education, the law library, and the church. The tents and
buildings were destroyed in their entirety. In all, the
rioting inmates destroyed State property worth over one
million dollars. Similarly in Baca, a group of 70-80
inmates engaged in widespread fighting, throwing rocks,
and breaking fire extinguishers and windows.

In both cases, the prison officials believed it neces-
sary to keep the inmates together until the riot partici-
pants could be segregated from the non-participants. The
officials properly chose to keep the inmates outdoors in a
large unobstructed field. No safe indoor facilities were
available; the ability of prisoners to obtain potential
weapons was greatly reduced; and it enabled the officers
to guard the inmates from a safe distance. These objec-
tives were neither illegitimate nor does the evidence sug-
gest that their decisions were made in bad faith.
Therefore, these decisions are entitled to extensive defer-
ence. We should not at this distance freely substitute our
judgment for theirs.

Our deference of course has limits. A line must be
drawn somewhere. For example, bad faith might be pre-
sumed in the absence of extraordinary circumstances if
prison officials asserted that inmates needed to be main-
tained in this position for months. Four days, however, is
relatively brief and not an unreasonable length of time to
restore order to a prison following a riot. Cf. Hoptowit, 682
F.2d at 1259 (lockdown after riot lasted at least three
weeks). Thus, in these cases, the deprivations of shelter
were for reasonable periods of time, during which the
prison officials made considered choices consistent with
sound penological and safety concerns.

App. 20

Food, Water and Sanitation

The alleged deprivation of adequate food, water and
shelter was not wanton. Whether conduct can be charac-
terized as ” ‘wanton’ depends upon the constraints facing
the official.” Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294, 303, 111 S.Ct.
2321, 115 L.Ed.2d 271 (1991). The general rule is that a
prison official acts wantonly with respect to supplying
inadequate food, water and shelter if he has actual
knowledge of an excessive risk to inmate health or safety
and deliberately disregards that risk. See Farmer v. Bren-
nan, 511 U.S. 825, 837, 114 S.Ct. 1970, 128 L.Ed.2d 811
(1994) (articulating the “deliberate indifference” stan-
dard). There is an “emergency exception” to the general
rule that applies to these cases. It provides that when
prison officials are confronted with constraints “mate-
rially different” than those they generally face, wanton-
ness consists of acting “maliciously and sadistically for
the very purpose of causing harm.” Wilson, 501 U.S. at
302-03, 111 S.Ct. 2321. Here, during the time that the
inmates were being held outdoors the prison officials
were faced with constraints “materially different” than
those they generally face. The proper inquiry, therefore, is
whether the alleged deprivations were done maliciously
and sadistically for the very purpose of causing harm.
They were not.

The exhaustive videotape evidence shows that,
despite the unusual situation confronting the prison offi-
cials, they attempted to provide the inmates with ade-
quate food, water and sanitation during the entire time
the inmates were being held outside. For example, two
portable toilets were brought into the yard the morning

App. 21

after the riots in Johnson. The complaint alleges that this
was too late because some inmates had already urinated
or defecated into their clothing by that time. The officials
were quite aware that it was necessary to acquire portable
toilets that evening and were able to get them on-site the
very next day. They did not act maliciously and sadis-
tically for the very purpose of causing harm. Rather,
because of the rioting, they were reacting to a situation
materially different than what they would normally
encounter on a day to day basis.

The complaint properly alleges that the two portable
toilets could not meet the demand of so many prisoners
and were often unusable despite periodic servicing. How-
ever, sanitation was so limited for only one morning. By
the afternoon after the riot, the prison officials had
repaired and made available some of the indoor toilets
that had been damaged during the riots. The prison offi-
cials did not act maliciously and sadistically by providing
only two portable toilets during the morning after the riot
while the permanent facilities were rapidly being
repaired.

The inmates alleged that the food was inadequate
because it was left in the sun for several hours prior to

-distribution. This, at best, is doubtful. Several hours in

the sun usually does not render a sack lunch inedible.
Nevertheless, even were it true that the lunches were
“inedible” due to a delay, the delay was partially a conse-
quence of being forced to pass out sack lunches to over
600 inmates while maintaining security. Moreover, it
should be irrefutable that one who has substantially dis-
rupted a restaurant should not complain about the ser-
vice being slow.

App. 22

The inmates also claimed, despite videotape evidence
showing water routinely being provided to the inmates
throughout their time in the yard, that they did not have
adequate access to water. The majority simply dismisses
the videotape evidence by saying that it merely shows
that many inmates, but not necessarily all, received water.
No doubt some inmates got water before others. Also, it
is likely that the water service was slow. Nonetheless,
there is no showing that the distribution of water dis-
criminated between the participants and the non-partici-
pants in the riots.

In sum, the complaints do not show that the prison
officials acted maliciously or sadistically for the very
purpose of causing harm. At most the evidence shows
that the temporary conditions following the riots was not
perfect. How could it have been otherwise? The majority
simply ignores the constraints the prison officials were
faced with and presumes that conditions should have
been normal the moment the officials “were able suc-
cessfully to remove the prisoners from the buildings and
secure them in the prison yard.” Maj. Op. 734. This
approach is unrealistic because it improperly holds the
prison officials to a standard of conduct that will be
difficult for them to meet. Accordingly, I dissent.

App. 23

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

DENNIS JOHNSON, CIV No.
et al., 96-463-TUC-FRZ
Plaintiffs, ORDER

vs. (Filed Aug. 26, 1998)

)
)
)
)
)
SAMUEL LEWIS, former
director of the Arizona )
Department of Corrections, )
in his official and )
individual capacity, et al.,
)

Defendants.

I. Facruat BACKGROUND

Defendants allege that at approximately 7:13 p.m. in
the evening of August 14, 1995, prisoners in the minimum
security Graham Unit of the Arizona State Prison Com-
plex in Safford, Arizona, began to set fire to the tents
where they were housed as well as to other modular
structures in the unit (mail and property room, church,
offices, law library, programs, and education buildings).
The inmates looted the unit’s store, and destroyed win-
dows, toilets and other facilities. At the time, 638 inmates
were housed in the Graham Unit and of these, 100 lived
in ten (10) army tents. This was apparently not a riot
where one group was fighting another, but a sort of
protest precipitated by dissatisfaction with conditions in
the unit (the heat in the tents and the fact that inmates
were locked out of the tent area during the working day).

App. 24

The prison officials responded to the riot by deploy-
ing the Tactical Support Unit (TSU) to perform a clock-
wise sweep of the unit and gather all the residents into
one outside area. Before the TSU entered the yard,
announcements were made over the public address sys-
tem inviting all non-participating inmates to assemble
outside of the Education Building. Twenty-one inmates
responded as non-participants. The TSU then entered the
burning Graham Unit at 8:30 p.m., exploding diversion-
ary devices in the buildings before they entered them.
TSU officers met little resistance from the prisoners in the
buildings, but found prisoners throwing rocks and soda
cans in the yard. Inmates in the yard were ordered to stop
throwing things, and when they failed to do so, TSU
officers fired tear gas, knee knockers and stinger balls at
the rioters. Prisoners were moved to a grassy area in the
unit, handcuffed behind their backs and ordered to lay on
their stomachs. By 11:15 p.m., all prisoners in the Graham
Unit were accounted for and under guard.

The prisoners were held in the outside area for four
days until the investigation of the riot (which began late
on the night of the riot) was completed. Defendants
allege that this was necessary for a number of reasons
including the length of time needed to investigate, the
need to control the population, and the safety of the
prisoners. Plaintiffs allege violations of the Fourteenth
and Eighth Amendments and 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Plaintiffs
accuse the prison officials of employing excessive force,
denying them access to toilets, denying them food and
water, denying them medical care, and forcing them to sit
in the heat with no covering during extreme summer
temperatures. Defendants’ Exhibit B, a videotape of some

App. 25

of the incident and events following, shows water, toilets,
medical care, food, sunscreen and other relief being pro-
vided to the inmates.! Pending before the Court is Defen-
dants’ Motion for Summary Judgment. A hearing was
held on July 13, 1998.

II. Summary JUDGMENT

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
provides that a court may grant summary judgment if
“the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,
and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if
any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any mate-
rial fact and that the moving party is entitled to judgment
as a matter of law.” The Supreme Court’s 1986 trilogy of
cases, Celotex Corp. v. Caltrett, [sic] 477 U.S. 317 (1986);
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S 242, 255 (1986); and
Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475
U.S. 574 (1986), requires that a party seeking summary
judgment identify those parts of the record that indicate
the absence of a genuine issue of material fact (Brinson v.
Linda Rose Joint Venture, 53 F.3d 1044, 1047 (9th Cir. 1995)).
Once the moving party has made this showing, the non-
moving party must designate which specific facts show
that there is an issue for trial. Celotex, 477 U.S at 324
quoting Fep.R.C1.P. 56(e). The moving party is held to a

1 Plaintiffs’ videotape exhibit features the prison officials
repeatedly addressing their wards with foul and derogatory
language. (Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 10). While such behavior does not
necessarily rise to a Constitutional offense, see Keenan v. Hall, 83
F.3d 1083, 1092 (9th Cir. 1996), it certainly reflects poorly on the
officials and falls far short of the expectations of professional
conduct most citizens have regarding law enforcement officers.

App. 26

strict standard and any doubts as to the existence of a
genuine issue of material fact will be resolved against
him. Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs., Inc., 504
U.S. 451, 456 (1992); Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 255. How-
ever, when a movant has supported a motion for sum-
mary judgment with affidavits or other fact, the non-
movant may not merely rest upon the pleadings but must
demonstrate that the facts are actually in issue. Mat-
sushita, 475 U.S. at 586. If the evidence is merely colorable
or is not significantly probative, summary judgment may
be granted. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 249-50 (citations
omitted).

III. ANAtysis

The Eighth Amendment's Cruel and Unusual Punish-
ment Clause has been interpreted to proscribe certain
intentionally imposed conditions of confinement as well
as deliberate indifference to serious medical needs of
prisoners whether or not there was an express intent to
inflict pain. See generally, Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651
(1977); Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976); Rhodes v.
Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981). Plaintiffs argue that the
actions of prison officials in response to and following the
summer riot constituted cruel and unusual punishment.
The analysis in Whitley v. Albers 475 U.S. 312 (1986),
governs this case.? In that case, the Supreme Court, in
reviewing a judgment on the pleadings, wrote:,

2 Whitley dealt with a trial court’s granting of directed
verdict (judgment as a matter of law) under Rule 50,
Fep.R.C1.P., for the prison officials. On a motion for judgment
as a matter of law, the Court is required to resolve all inferences
in favor of the non-movant. On a motion for summary

App. 27

Where a prison security measure is undertaken
to resolve a disturbance, such as occurred in this
case, that indisputably poses significant risks to
the safety of inmates and prison staff, we think
the question whether the measure taken inflic-
ted unnecessary and wanton pain and suffering
ultimately turns on “whether force was applied
in a good faith effort to maintain or restore
discipline or maliciously and sadistically for the
very purpose of causing harm.” . . . [S]uch fac-
tors as the need for application of force, the
relationship between the need and the amount
of force that was used, [and] the extent of injury
inflicted are relevant to that determination.
From such considerations inferences may be
drawn as to whether the use of force could
plausibly have been thought necessary, or
instead evinced such wantonness with respect to
the unjustified infliction of harm as is tanta-
mount to a knowing willingness that it
occur. .

When the “ever-present potential for violent
confrontation and conflagration” erupts into
actual unrest and conflict, the admonition that
“a prison’s internal security is peculiarly a mat-
ter normally left to the discretion of prison
administrators” carries special weight . . . That

judgment, the Court treats the facts in a light most favorable to
the non-movant but is not required to assume the truth of those
facts and may reject certain facts which can not be supported or
are not susceptible to any inference in favor of the non-movant.
Whitley can therefore be applied to summary judgment cases
with no apparent prejudice to the non-movant, since the
analysis there is based on a standard essentially the same as on
summary judgment.

App. 28

deference extends to a prison security measure
taken in response to an actual confrontation
with riotous inmates, just as it does to pro-
phylactic or preventive measures intended to
reduce the incidence of these or any other
breaches of prison discipline . . . it requires that
neither judge nor jury freely substitute their
judgment for that of officials who have made a
considered choice.

* * *

Unless it appears that the evidence, viewed in

the light most favorable to the plaintiff, will

support a reliable inference of wantonness in

the infliction of pain under the standard we

have described, the case should not go to the

jury.
Whitley, 475 U.S at 320-22 (citations omitted). At the hear-
ing, Defendants argued that where Whitley does not con-
trol the analysis, a standard of “deliberate indifference” is
applied under Estelle v. Gamble. Defendants argue that
even under the deliberate indifference standard, the facts
do not support a claim of cruel and unusual punishment
because the prison officials took great pains to attend to
the basic needs of the prisoners and provided comfort |
measures such as sun screen lotion and “misting” with
hoses.

The Court concludes that Whitley is dispositive of the
Plaintiffs’ claim that the prison officials used excessive
force in responding to the riot. Under these exigent cir-
cumstances, the prison officials’ use of crowd control
devices and non-lethal weapons was appropriate and
justified and the Court will not substitute its own opinion
for the informed judgment of the prison officials in this

App. 29

area. The Court also concludes that a heightened stan-
dard of deference applies to the post-riot actions taken by
the prison officials during the four days immediately
after the riot, although it may be less than the standard
applied in the face of immediately exigent circumstances.
The Supreme Court wrote:

The general requirement that an Eighth Amend-
ment claimant allege and prove the unnecessary
and wanton infliction of pain should also be
applied with due regard for differences in the
kind of conduct against which an Eighth
Amendment objection is lodged. The deliberate
indifference standard articulated in Estelle was
appropriate in the context presented in that case
because the State’s responsibility to attend to
the medical needs of prisoners does not ordi-
narily clash with other equally important gov-
ernmental responsibilities. Consequently,
“deliberate indifference to a prisoner’s serious
illness or injury” can typically be established or
disproved without the necessity of balancing
competing institutional concerns for the safety

of prison staff or other inmates.

Whitley, 475 U.S. at 320. In the wake of the riot, there
were apparent concerns of control and safety that were
not “emergency” concerns but which were more impor-
tant than the typical concerns of administering the
prison. The choices being made by the prison officials
were not related to routine prison operations and the
prison officials were clearly doing what they could to
balance “competing institutional concerns.” Id. Under
these circumstances, they are entitled to a wider range of

App. 30

deference than in the normal situation, but to less defer-
ence than they would be in the heat of a riot or emer-

gency.

For any kind of Eighth Amendment analysis, Plain-
tiffs must show that there was unnecessary and wanton
infliction of pain. The video exhibits shows no purposeful
infliction of pain on the inmates in the video. On the
other hand, a heat stroke is a very serious injury and the
prison officials would be courting disaster to pur-
posefully expose the inmates to such a risk if they had
better alternatives readily available.

Nonetheless, the Defendants have given various jus-
tifications for holding the prisoners outdoors, all of
which appear rational and do not suggest either deliber-
ate indifference or a malicious motivation. Prison admin-
istrators are accorded “wide-ranging deference in the
adoption and execution of policies and practices that in
their judgment are needed to preserve internal order and
discipline and to maintain institutional security.” Bell v.
Wolfish, 441 U.S. at 547. Defendants were required to
interview approximately 600 inmates, none of whom
admitted involvement in the arson, but who continued to
implicate other participants until the interviews were
finished. The process took four days and the participating
inmates could not be segregated until they were identi-
fied. For their part, Plaintiffs argue that the actions had
no penalogical justification and that they are prepared to
offer expert opinion on this point. Plaintiffs argue that the
procedure violated the Eighth Amendment because it
violated basic standards of human decency. See Troppe v.
Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958).

App. 31

The danger emphasized by Plaintiffs is that the State
can easily offer plausible justifications which are in fact
pretextual and use tactics such as leaving prisoners
exposed to the heat or the cold as punishment without
affording due process, and arguably offending substan-
tive due process and the Eighth Amendment. Plaintiffs
state that they were, in fact, subjected to cruel and
unusual punishment and that this raises a question of
intent, which is a subjective inquiry of fact and which
therefore precludes summary judgment. As evidence that
there was an intent to inflict pain, Plaintiffs point to the
Summarization of Disturbance prepared by Deputy War-
den Glenn Davis in which he observed under the caption
“lessons learned” that “life was not good” for the pris-
oners after the riot. (Plaintiff’s Exhibit 4). Normally, a
question of intent may not be disposed of on summary
judgment. Alexander v. City of San Francisco, 29 F.3d 1355,
1364 (9th Cir. 1994). However, without showing either
pain or denial of basic needs, Plaintiffs cannot show an
Eighth Amendment violation.

Plaintiffs admit that some of their basic needs were
met. See Touissant v. McCarthy, 801 F.2d 1080, 1107 (9th
Cir. 1986) (holding that prison officials must provide
prisoners with adequate “food, clothing, shelter, sanita-
tion, medical care and personal safety.”). Because the
basics were provided, Plaintiffs’ argument is reduced to a
wish list of items which could have been provided (air
conditioning, pillows, blankets, change of clothes,
showers). This kind of hindsight criticism of prison offi-
cials has been rejected as a basis for an Eighth Amend-
ment claim. Whitley, 475 U.S. 322. Defendants argue that
the pragmatic concerns of the situation (safety, control,

App. 32

logistics) precluded allowing prisoners to change their
clothes or take showers. When considering conditions of
confinement claims, a court should consider the amount
of time to which a prisoner was subjected to the condi-
tion. Hoptowit v. Ray, 682 F.2d 1237, 1258 (9th Cir. 1982).
In this case, Plaintiffs were not subjected to the condi-
tions in question longer than four days.

Whitley requires the Court to view the actions of the
prison officials with some deference. The Court concludes
that the exigent circumstances in this case require their
actions to be reviewed with deference, that the actions of
the prison officials were based on legitimate penalogical
concerns, that the basic needs of the prisoners were
attended to, that the hardships lasted for a short time,
and that there is therefore no basis on which to find an
Eighth Amendment violation. At the hearing, Plaintiffs
argued that the fact the prison officials provided some of
the basic necessities in no way obviates the callousness
and wantonness of their actions. However, the order of
the Court’s inquiry is exactly the opposite. Without first
finding a harm, it is not necessary for the Court to inquire
as to intent.

A second question raised here is whether the
restraints were necessary for a period of four days. The
deprivation of liberty effected by physical restraint or
isolation may be permissible for a short duration of time,
even without the extenuating circumstances the prison
allegedly encountered in the aftermath of the riot. See,
_e.g., Anderson v. County of Kern, 45 F.3d 1310, 1314 (9th Cir.
1994) (finding a safety cell used to control violent inmates
for short periods of time was constitutionally justifiable).

App. 33

The Court thus concludes that Plaintiffs were not sub-
jected to cruel and unusual punishment here, where the
restraint was necessary to ensure safety and control after
a riot and lasted for a short time.

IV. CONCLUSION

In sum, the Court views the actions taken by the
prison officials with special deference towards those
actions taken in the midst of the riot which were related
to regaining control and with somewhat less deference
following that point when control was acquired. Viewing
the actions with this deference, the Court then takes the
facts alleged in a light favorable to the non-movants.
However, those facts which cannot be disputed are not
material issues of fact. The video exhibits put many facts
beyond dispute. Additionally, because Plaintiffs admit
that their most basic needs were met and because the
hardships they suffered have been explained by legiti-
mate penalogical concerns which are entitled to deference
under Whitley, and because the hardships lasted for only
a short time, the Court concludes that the Defendants are
entitled to summary judgment.

IT IS ORDERED that Defendants’ Motion for Summary
Judgment is GRANTED and that this case is hereby
DISMISSED.

DATED this 24th day of AUGUST, 1998.

/s/ Frank R. Zapata
FRANK R. ZAPATA
UNITED STATES DISTRICT

_ JUDGE

App. 34

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

LEROY BACA, et al., CIV No.
Plaintiffs, 96-464-TUC-FRZ
ORDER

Vs.

TERRY STEWART, Director
of the Arizona Department
of Corrections, in his
official and individual
capacity, et al.,

(Filed Aug. 26 1998)

Defendants.

me mee ee ee eee ee ee ee”

I. Facruat BACKGROUND

At approximately 5:50 p.m. in the afternoon of
December 28, 1995, widespread fighting along racial lines
erupted among the prisoners in the Tonto Unit of the
Arizona State Prison at Safford. Inmates were allegedly
throwing rocks, swinging socks full of rocks, and break-
ing fire extinguishers and windows. Orders were given
over the public address system for all non-participants to
go to the ballfield and lay down. At 6:48 p.m., the
prison’s Tactical Support Unit (TSU) entered the yard and
ordered inmates to lay on the ground. A tear gas cannis-
ter[sic] was fired at a group which defied the order, after
which, all of the prisoners complied. At 8:00 p.m., the
TSU began clearing all buildings in the unit and escorting
the prisoners to the ballfield where they were cuffed with
knee and wrist restraints. By 12:10 a.m., all prisoners
were accounted for.

App. 35

Force was used again at 5:17 a.m. in the morning of
December 29, 1995 in response to a large group of
inmates who defied direct orders to lay down on the

_ ground. After giving warnings, the TSU officers fired a
tear gas cannister, a diversionary device, a set of knee
knockers, and three sting ball devices (one of which did
not detonate).

The Tonto Unit housed 369 inmates who were inter-
viewed by four investigators beginning the night of the
riot. The process was completed by midday on December
29, 1995 and the riot participants were segregated and the
remaining inmates returned to their indoor housing.
Plaintiffs allege violations of the Fourteenth and Eighth
Amendments and 42 U.S.C. § 1983. The crux of Plaintiff’s
complaint is that:

Despite the availability of housing at the unit,
for over 36 hours all the prisoners were kept .
outdoors and handcuffed in the near freezing
December weather without sufficient and neces-
sary food, water, blankets or sanitary facilities.

Arizona Department of Corrections . . . created
this scenario to teach all the prisoners a “les-
son.”

Defendants’ actions were inconsistent with
all norms of human decency and a civilized
society and served no legitimate purpose. They
were cruel and unusual and deliberately indif-
ferent to the health and safety of Plaintiffs.

(Second Amended Complaint at pp. 1-2). Plaintiffs allege
that they were forced to endure bitterly cold tempera-
tures during the time they were held outside (approxi-
mately 8:00 p.m. on December 28, 1995 to 6:00 p.m. on

App. 36

December 29, 1995), that they were denied adequate
clothing for the cold, and were given blankets which
were “insufficient.” They also allege that they were
forced to urinate and defecate in their clothing or on the
ground while handcuffed on their knees. They further
allege that they were denied medical care while exposed
to the extfeme temperatures. Plaintiffs allege that the
above actions of the prison caused an unreasonable risk
of substantial harm to them, humiliation to all, and injury
to some. They further contend that the prison is likely to
repeat this type of behavior.

Defendants allege that the inmates were permitted to
urinate “outdoors” immediately after they were brought
on the ballfield, and that later in the morning, officers
escorted inmates to the bathroom facilities as needed.
(Motion for Summary Judgment at 8). They also demon-
strate with affidavits that the ankle cuffs were removed
from inmates to allow them to urinate in front of them-
selves “or further away.” (Plaintiff’s Exhibit E at 35,
43-44, Exhibit F at 45). Defendants support their conten-
tion that medical treatment was provided for those who
availed themselves of it with exhibits including a video.
(Defendants’ Exhibit C). The video also demonstrates that
most of the inmates were wearing cold weather clothing,
jackets and gloves. Blankets were distributed to the
inmates at 5:00 a.m. in the morning. Pending before the
Court is Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment. A
hearing was held July 13, 1998.

App. 37

II. Summary JUDGMENT

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
provides that a court may grant summary judgment if
“the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,
and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if
any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any mate-
rial fact and that the moving party is entitled to judgment
as a matter of law.” The Supreme Court’s 1986 trilogy of
cases, Celotex Corp. v. Caltrett, [sic] 477 U.S. 317 (1986);
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255 (1986);
and Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,
475 U.S 574 (1986), requires that a party seeking summary
judgment identify those parts of the record that indicate
the absence of a genuine issue of material fact (Brinson v.
Linda Rose Joint Venture, 53 F.3d 1044, 1047 (9th Cir. 1995)).
Once the moving party has made this showing, the non-
moving party must designate which specific facts show
that there is an issue for trial. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324,
quoting Frp.R.C1v.P. 56(e). The moving party is held to a
strict standard and any doubts as to the existence of a
genuine issue of material fact will be resolved against
him. Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs., Inc., 504
U.S. 451, 456 (1992); Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 255. How-
ever, when a movant has supported a motion for sum-
mary judgment with affidavits or other fact, the non-
movant may not merely rest upon the pleadings but must
demonstrate that the facts are actually in issue. Mat-
sushita, 475 U.S. at 586, 106 S.Ct. at 1356. If the evidence is
merely colorable or is not significantly probative, sum-
mary judgment may be granted. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at
249-50, 106 S.Ct. at 2511 (citations omitted).

App. 38

III. ANALysis

The Eighth Amendment’s Cruel and Unusual Punish-
ment Clause has been interpreted to proscribe certain
intentionally imposed conditions of confinement as well
as deliberate indifference to serious medical needs of
prisoners whether or not there was an express intent to
inflict pain. See generally, Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651
(1977); Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976); Rhodes v.
Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981). Plaintiffs argue that the
actions of prison officials in response to and following the
riot constituted cruel and unusual punishment. The anal-
ysis in Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312 (1986), governs this
case.1 In that case, the Supreme Court, in reviewing a
judgment on the pleadings, wrote:

Where a prison security measure is undertaken
to resolve a disturbance, such as occurred in this
case, that indisputably poses significant risks to
the safety of inmates and prison staff, we think
the question whether the measure taken inflic-
ted unnecessary and wanton pain and suffering
ultimately turns on “whether force was applied

1 Whitley dealt with a trial court’s granting of directed
verdict (judgment as a matter of law) under Rule 50,
Fep.R.Civ.P., for the prison officials. On a motion for judgment
as a matter of law, the Court is required to resolve all inferences
in favor of the non-movant. On a motion for summary
judgment, the Court treats the facts in a light most favorable to
the non-movant but is not required to assume the truth of those
facts and may reject certain facts which cannot be supported or
are not susceptible to any inference in favor of the non-movant.
Whitley can therefore be applied to summary judgment cases
with no apparent prejudice to the non-movant, since the
analysis there is based on a standard essentially the same as on
summary judgment.

%
#e
3
¢
*
iS
3
s
a
Ny
.
&
£
ee
3
%

ee SEINE LNG DNL LL DIE I ALA Sind

SE IY ER em

App. 39

in a good faith effort to maintain or restore
discipline or maliciously and sadistically for the
very purpose of causing harm.” . . . [S]uch fac-
tors as the need for application of force, the
relationship between the need and the amount
of force that was used, [and] the extent of injury
inflicted are relevant to that determination.
From such considerations inferences may be
drawn as to whether the use of force could
plausibly have been thought necessary,: or
instead evinced such wantonness with respect to
the unjustified infliction of harm as is tanta-
mount to a knowing willingness that it
CORRE. < SRBC

When the “ever-present potential for violent
confrontation and conflagration” erupts into
actual unrest and conflict, the admonition that
“a prison’s internal security is peculiarly a mat-
ter normally left to the discretion of prison
administrators” carries special weight . . . That
deference extends to a prison security measure
taken in response to an actual confrontation
with riotous inmates, just as it does to pro-
phylactic or preventive measures intended to
reduce the incidence of these or any other
breaches of prison discipline . . . it requires that
neither judge nor jury freely substitute their
judgment for that of officials who have made a
considered choice.

* * *

Unless it appears that the evidence, viewed in
the light most favorable to the plaintiff, will
support a reliable inference of wantonness in
the infliction of pain under the standard we
have described, the case should not go to the

jury.

App. 40

Whitley, 475 U.S. at 320-22 (citations omitted). At the
hearing, Defendants argued that where Whitley does not
control the analysis, a standard of “deliberate indif-
ference” is applied under Estelle v. Gamble. Defendants
argue that even under the deliberate indifference stan-
dard, the facts do not support a claim of cruel and
unusual punishment.

Plaintiffs emphasize 1) the excessive application of
force, 2) the exposure to cold, and 3) unnecessary
restraint and related hygiene issues. The Court concludes
that Whitley is dispositive of the Plaintiffs’ claim that the
prison officials used excessive force in responding to the
riot. Under these exigent circumstances, the prison offi-
cials’ use of crowd control devices and non-lethal
weapons was appropriate and justified and the Court will
not substitute its own opinion for the informed judgment
of the prison officials in this area. Prison administrators
are accorded “wide-ranging deference in the adoption
and execution of policies and practices that in their judg-
ment are needed to preserve internal order and discipline
and to maintain institutional security.” Bell v. Wolfish, 441
U.S. at 547.

The Court also concludes that a heightened standard
of deference applies to the post-riot actions taken by the
prison officials immediately after the riot, although it
may be less than the standard applied in the face of
immediately exigent circumstances. The Supreme Court
wrote:

The general requirement that an Eighth Amend-
ment claimant allege and prove the unnecessary
and wanton infliction of pain should also be
applied with due regard for differences in the

NEE RAT M hh teat ear. TRE Ow.

et SLA Cr gag Saas

App. 41

kind of conduct against which an Eighth
Amendment objection is lodged. The deliberate
indifference standard articulated in Estelle was
appropriate in the context presented in that case
because the State’s responsibility to attend to
the medical needs of prisoners does not ordi-
narily clash with other equally important gov-
ernmental responsibilities. Consequently,
“deliberate indifference to a prisoner’s serious
illness or injury” can typically be established or
disproved without the necessity of balancing
competing institutional concerns for the safety

of prison staff or other inmates.

Whitley, 475 U.S. at 320. In the wake of the riot, there
were concerns of control and safety that were more
important than the typical concerns of administering the
prison. The choices being made by the prison officials
were not related to routine prison operations and the
prison officials were clearly doing what they could to
balance “competing institutional concerns.” Id. Under
these circumstances, they are entitled to a wider range of
deference than in the normal situation.

To prevail on their Eighth Amendment claim, Plain-
tiffs must show that there was unnecessary and wanton
infliction of pain. The Court takes the allegation of expo-
sure to cold as a very serious allegation. See Keenan v.
Hall, 83 F.3d 1083, 1091 (9th Cir. 1996) (“The Eighth
Amendment guarantees adequate heating.”). Plaintiffs
cite Gordon v. Faber, 973 F.2d 686 (Eighth Cir. 1992), where
a district court held that the plaintiff prisoners’ Eighth
Amendment rights were violated when they were held
outside in freezing temperatures for one hour without
proper protection. In this case, the video tape shows that

App. 42

the prisoners were dressed in cold weather clothing
(jackets, hats, gloves) and received blankets. Accordingly,
there is scant evidence that the actions of the prison
officials resulted in the infliction of pain. Moreover, the
period that the prisoners were subjected to cold tempera-
tures was short - less than 24 hours. When considering
conditions of confinement claims, a court should consider
the amount of time to which a prisoner was subjected to
the condition. Hoptowit v. Ray, 682 F.2d 1237, 1258 (9th
Cir. 1982). In short, the exposure to cold temperatures for
this short of time, and in light of the legitimate penalogi-
cal justifications related to the riot, does not rise to the
level of an Eighth Amendment violation.

As to the ciaim of cruel and unusual punishment
through unnecessary restraint, the Court finds that the
penalogical concerns warranted the actions taken, that
the prison officials paid adequate concern to the medical
and other needs of the prisoners, and that any suffering
was for a short duration and did not amount to an Eighth
Amendment violation. Quoting Whitley once more: “The
infliction of pain in the course of a prison security mea-
sure, therefore, does not amount to cruel and unusual
punishment simply because it may appear in retrospect
that the degree of force authorized or applied for security
purposes was unreasonable, and hence unnecessary in
the strictest sense.” 475 U.S. at 319. Accordingly, the
Court finds that the knee restraints and wrist restraints
were not cruel and unusual punishment in this context.
Similarly, although hygiene could have been better, the
~ concerns of control created by the riot weigh against a
finding of cruel and unusual punishment in this context.
See Anderson v. County of Kern, 45 F.3d 1310, 1314 (9th Cir.

iii

App. 43

1995) (Holding that “[S]ubjection of a prisoner to lack of
sanitation that is severe or prolonged can constitute an
infliction of pain within the meaning of the Eighth
Amendment.”). The pzisoners were not subjected to
unsanitary conditions for a prolonged period in this case.

In analyzing the second application of force in Baca,
when the prisoners refused to return to the ground on the
morning of December 29th, the Court applies a factoral
analysis. This kind of analy~is is what the district court in
Albers v. Whitley, 546 F.Supp. 726, 733 (D.Or. 1982), was
describing in referring to “such factors as the need for
application of force that was used, [and] the extent of
injury inflicted.” As the Supreme Court stated “[f]rom
such considerations inferences may be drawn as to
whether the use of force could plausibly have been
thought necessary, or instead evinced such wantonness
with respect to the unjustified infliction of harm as is
tantamount to a knowing willingness that it occur.”
Whitley, 475 U.S. at 321.

The morning of December 29th followed a night
where the temperature had dropped down to 22 degrees.
The prisoners were allowed to stand up and move around
to warm themselves and understandably were reluctant
to return to the ground when ordered to do so. Although
they were repeatedly ordered to get down, a large group
of the inmates remained standing. Under these circum-
stances, the actions of the prison officials are entitled to
deference. Moreover, Whitley forecloses this Court from
second-guessing whether the official’s use of force in
response to the perceived threat of renewed insurrection
was the best choice among possible alternatives. The
“after the fact opinion that danger was not imminent in

App. 44

no way establishes that there was no danger, or that a
conclusion by the officers that it was imminent would
have been wholly unreasonable.” Whitley, 475 U.S. at 323.
The use of non-deadly force to restore order was not
inappropriate and was clearly related to legitimate
penalogical concerns. The Court rejects Plaintiffs’ sugges-
tion, made at the hearing, that the use of non-discrimi-
nate weapons, such as tear gas, worked a Constitutional
violation for those on the ground. Far worse would have
been the use of discriminating, and deadly, weapons on
those who remained standing.

In sum, the Court will grant summary judgment to
Defendants as to the claims of constitutional violations
based on restraint and hygiene concerns. ‘The Court also
concludes that there was no objectively serious injury
caused by the exposure to the cold, that the procedure of
holding the prisoners outdoors was reasonably related to
legitimate penalogical concerns, that the prison officials
are entitled to deference in this area, and that therefore
summary judgment should be granted on that claim.
Finally, with regards to the December 29, 1995 application
of force, the Court finds that the facts, taken in a light
most favorable to the non-movant, clearly support a find-
ing of exigency that requires deference to the prison
officials. The Court therefore will grant summary judg-
ment to Defendants under Whitley.

——-s ee ee ee

App. 45

IT IS ORDERED that Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss is
GRANTED and this case is hereby DISMISSED.

DATED this 24th day of AUGUST, 1998.

/s/ Frank R. Zapata
FRANK R. ZAPATA
UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

|
|

App. 46

NOT FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DENNIS N. JOHNSON; LEONARD _ |

TODEK, individually and on behalf hive 98-16821
of all others similarly situated; ae
LAWRENCE E. COTTLE; JOHN | ptt
PILAFAS, individually and on behalf

of all others similarly situated; ROBB (Filed
STEIR, individually and on behalf of | Oct. 2, 2000)
all others similarly situated;
RODNEY WARNER, individually and
on behalf of all others similarly
situated; GARY ELMORE,
individually and on behalf of all
others similarly situated; ELIAS
GUTIERREZ;,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.

SAMUEL LEWIS, former director of
the ADOC in his individual capacity;
TERRY STEWART, Director of the
ADOC in his official and individual
capacity; BILL GOTCHER, former
warden of the ASP at Safford in his
official and individual capacity;
GLENN DAVIS, Deputy Warden of
ASP Safford in his official and
individual capacity; JOHN FOOTE,
Deputy Warden of the ASP Safford
in his official and individual
capacity; JOHN ABBL, Captain DOC
officer in his official and individual

iii

App. 47

individual capacity; CSO NATIONS,
CSO MARCIAS, CSOII FLORES, SGT.
HULL, DOC officers in their official
and individual capacities; BLACKIE
HASSENZELLER, Lieutenant, a
member of the ADOC Tactical
Support Unit in his official and
individual capacity; JOHN DOE 1-10,
DOC officers in their official and
individual capacities; JOE HAWKINS;
MATTHEW PROTO; MARK WILEY:
DENNIS KILLA; JAMES BAHN;
DWAYNE MORMAN; DENNIS
GROGG; ROBERT STADLER; J.C.
KENNEY;,

A A SAS sos

Defendants-Appellees.

LEROY PATRICK BACA; TROY |
HAMILTON, individually and on | No. 98-16851 -
behalf of all others similarly situated; |

PAUL LARGE, individually and on | | DC# CV'96
behalf of all others similarly situated;
ERIC BAKER; LARRY G. HARPER, ORDER

individualiy and on behalf of all
others similarly situated; VICTOR
LAWRENCE FARBER, Jr.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v. |

TERRY STEWART, Director of the
ADOC in his official and individual
capacity; BILL GOTCHER, former
warden of the ASP Safford in his
individual and official capacity;

App. 48

FRANK TERRY, deputy warden in
charge of Tonto Unit in his official |
and individual capacity; CSO ORTIZ, |
in his official and individual |
capacity; JOHN ABBL, Captain in his |
official and individual capacity; CSO |
THOMPSON, in his official and |
individual capacity; AMARILLUS, |
Sergeant in his official and |
individual capacity; JOHN DOE 1-10, |
CSOs in their official and individual |
capacity; CSO THOMPSON; |
MATTHEW PROTO; DENNIS |
GROGG; DARREN MCWHORTER, |
CSOI; ARMANDO AMARILLAS; |
DWAYNE MORMAN, |
|
|

Defendants-Appellees.

Before: Circuit Judges SNEED, PREGERSON, W.
FLETCHER

Judges Pregerson and W. Fletcher have voted to deny
appellees’ petition for rehearing and petition for
rehearing en banc. Judge Sneed has voted to grant the
petition for rehearing and recommends granting the
petition for rehearing en banc.

The full court was advised of the suggestion for
rehearing en banc. An active judge requested a vote on
whether to rehear the matter en banc. The matter failed to
receive a majority of the votes of the nonrecused active
judges in favor of en banc consideration. Fed. R. App. P.
35(b).

App. 49

The petition for rehearing is DENIED and the
petition for rehearing en banc is DENIED.

App. 50

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
WASHINGTON, DC 20543-0001

WILLIAM K. SUTER AREA CODE 202
CLERK OF THE COURT 479-3011

December 26, 2000

Mr. Thomas Dennis
Assistant Attorney General
1275 W. Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2926

RE: Samuel Lewis, et al.
v. Dennis Johnson, et al.
Application No. 00A561

Dear Mr. Dennis:

The application for an extension of time within which
to file a petition for a writ of certiorari in the above-
entitled case has been presented to Justice O’Connor, who
on December 26, 2000, extended the time to and including
January 30, 2001.

This letter has been sent to those designated on the
attached notification list.

Sincerely,

WILLIAM K. SUTER, Clerk

By /s/ Gail B. Johnson
Gail B. Johnson
Assistant Clerk

App. 51

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
WASHINGTON, DC 20543-0001

WILLIAM K. SUTER AREA CODE 202
CLERK OF THE COURT 479-3011

NOTIFICATION LIST

Mr. Thomas Dennis
Assistant Attorney General
1275 W. Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2926

Mr. Paul Gattone

Southern AZ People’s Law Ctr.
611 North 4th Avenue

Tucson, AZ 85701-8449

Clerk

United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit

P.O. Box 193939

San Francisco, CA 94119-3939

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0760%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
