# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Collard, In re (No. 07-1077)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0644%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

Sure Op Us

O710770CT 1+ 20
No. ® GRRE OF THE CLERK

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

IN RE MARY LYNN COLLARD,
Defendant-Relator.

(from STATE OF TEXAS v. COLLARD)

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF MANDAMUS
TO THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF RECORD,
CITY OF RICHARDSON,

DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS

FIRST AMENDED
ORIGINAL PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF MANDAMUS

WITH APPENDIX A

MARY LYNN COLLARD
1615 UNIVERSITY DRIVE
RICHARDSON, TEXAS 75081

Questions Presented for Mandamus

STATUTORY CHALLENGES

Does RICHARDSON, § 1-8 violate Due Process?
Does RICHARDSON, § 6-327 violate Due Process?

yy

Does RICHARDSON, § 21-57 violate Due Process?
4. Does Art. 42.07 violate Due Process?

5. Are the relevant municipal ordinances
legislative enactments?

6. Does GOVT CODE § 25.0594(n) violate Separation
of Powers or Due Process?

7. Does Art. 45.019 foster a horrific conflict of
interest?

8. Does Art. 45.018(b) violate Due Process?

Examples of the Federal Questions to be protected

9. What meaningful Notice is due per Art.
45.018(b)?

10. Has Collard been denied a meaningful
opportunity to be heard?

11. Did CITY/STATE wait too long to serve these
“complaints?”

12. Did CITY/STATE wait too long to start trial?

13. Should the deferred disposition ever have been
revoked?

14. Is Collard a “class of one?”

15. Has CITY/STATE violated the ADA by depriving
Collard of her reading glasses?

16. Did NOAH ever have subject matter
jurisdiction?

Mandamus

17. Does mandamus apply?

18. Is KIERCE’s duty to prepare the Transcript for
the accelerated Bond appeal clear and non-
discretionary?

19. Is NOAH’s duty to dismiss clear and non-

discretionary?

20. May mandamus to the municipal court proceed
without a ruling from the county appellate
court?

Parties

The mandamus sought is directed to NOAH, with the
Municipal Court of Record, City of Richardson,
Texas, and/or to KIERCE, its Court Administrator,
in the trial matters where the parties are as follows:

Municipal Court of (public) Record

RAYMOND D. NOAH (“judge”)
KIMBERLY (KIM) KIERCE (Clerk, Court

Administrator)

Parties Plaintiff

STATE OF TEXAS
CITY OF RICHARDSON, TEXAS

PETER G. (“PETE”) SMITH,

JOE GORFIDA,

KAREN NELSON, '

with NICHOLS, JACKSON, DILLARD, HAGER &
SMITH, L.L.P. ”

Party Defendant

MARY LYNN COLLARD

1 NELSON participated in the Fifth Circuit appeal, No. 06-
10358, where (A) they obtained an extension of time by adding a
name that then made no appearance in the Brief, leaving the
Fifth Circuit out in the cold, and (B) they lost the Record on
appeal, supplying a non-clerk-certified PACER printout,
instead. Their Bricf is a humdinger, too.

* .
ill

Table of Contents

Questions Presented for Mandamus. ........................008 i
III indicus isnuasdsunttecucatesasiacnicudicnssnadukréozemnnseneminaites il
Tene OF Cited Arutiwities .....2..6..00..ccssccscessesessccssensses ix
Petition for a Writ of Mandamus .....................0.0.0..... 1
Citations to decisions below ..................cssccsccesscsscsscseee l
eee ca enduneees 1
Non-Argument Calendar Preferred ........................... 2
ROE Or SI CO isin enssicsspicn cn cnncnccincoicatensctnannsen 2
When Federal Questions Were Raised................. 2
When participation was first allowed.............. 2

In Removal by Next Friend..............00.......00..06 2
Additional details in the related cases ................. 2

Selective enforcement—5 issues; 2 years; 101
| _ eR RNP ITER SOME CSET FET AACE Ree ie mene one 2

State failed to give timely Notice—Art. 45.018(b) 3

Denial of access to the trial court ...................00008 3
No access to the Hecotd. ............2.0cs.ssscecssseeneses 3
No reading glasses—flagrant violation of ADA.

chains ACchdbit Neies& baa Ginlcbedig aad enka its cadena aaa aea 4
Progen ott OF pre-trial ooo... cicccsicctcessncnssasencvanss 4
Conscience-shocking invasion of work product.

sncmaiihecadhasubbskapaaaaedsateddabanmasonsacmaaien cadena tiler 4

De facto denial of preparation of any defense. 5

1V

Disenfranchisement—residents v. inhabitants.... 5
Undefined scope of Municipal Code—“citizen” .... 5

Flagrant conflict of interest—clerks as

I nc nidenicctancciccedaadetrncnersacamenvessas 5
RUIN 25s cesarean teesaeuaetanah abiaiancsuanasennaiane 5
Denial of ragnt to AMOCULC .............0..cccreseeeseressionces 6
Retaliation and denial of access to appellate

| FER a ee ee a ee Ei near 7

Deferred Disposition, appeal, retaliation,

I Sik cndcendin Pacman cubed teasatpiieaeyiaen 7

Accelerated Bond appeal never left muni.

WIN i Sinead eee pans Pecks vee eae ane 12
Denial of access is thematic ...................0...c.csss00. 12

Criminal enforcement of a purely commercial

NE ii asta eG aoe 12
Richardson embraces the Fourth Reich........ 12
This is a purely commercial matter ............. 13
... therefore, no municipal court has
TR og hicisnieds hited te cau clanatadesshaastninkicen 13
No evidence of any “prohibited” conduct....... 13
Collard jailed 18 days, and for what?............ 14

Post-judgment motion to dismiss and
accompanying motion for stay...................... 14

Mandamus/stay and the state appellate courts. 15
County appellate court refuses to file/open

Uy aici skcackdaashesenuvedscoeie anaes 15

State appellate court files/opens case, twice! 15

Vv

Court of criminal appeals files/opens case. ... 16

(Unsigned?) Warrant for arrest issued............... 16
I eae ash iad lia se ciatati ni ce caidboabndbaohonabechenes 16
STATUTORY CHALLENGES ..........................226- 16
1. Does RICHARDSON, § 1-8 violate Due Process? ... 16
2. Does RICHARDSON, § 6-327 violate Due Process? 16
3. Does RICHARDSON, § 21-57 violate Due Process? 16
4. Does Art. 42.07 violate Due Process’?.................. 17
5. Are the relevant municipal ordinances legislative

I ir auakevailaivasnaaneaea 18

ee me 18
i neanbalenen 18
Entire municipal legislative process is
SMI diahentcsdentuicnddephg Wosudasesccsaiestebliensansiaete 18
6. Does Gov't CODF § 25.0594(n) violate Separation
GE I OIE EIN FINE i vnnsn xc cencedestinsesecssncses,, 18
Depriving appellate court of inherent
REE tea aes Senor Olas hE 18
Another view—presumption of validity. ....... 19
Another view-——nature of the cases................ 19
7. Does Art. 45.019 foster a horrific conflict of

| RE RSA. ASS ONO AOR RRS Ri CaO eA 20
I en WII so. stcanoncesaenbannsimsmnieie 20
COTTE GG COMRIRRIINM-OU TD. oniocc cen cicscicccecasnscsccsnens 20

vl

8. Does Art. 45.018(b) violate Due Process? ........... 20
I a 20
Application of the statute. ...............0.......cccee. 21

Examples of the Federal Questions to be

I isacde dondtacinasdovkdcctbapidionianiamaudastonlabaldnee 22
9. What meaningful Notice is due per Art. 45.018(b)?
naiacisdinehdalcdislei dain aaa tata ddaaakadaadeacaiaead eae 22
Does the “complaint” have to be served?....... 22
Is an “arraignment” “any proceeding?” ......... 23
What constitutes waiver? .................c.cceeeeeeees 24
10.Has Collard been denied a meaningful
opportunity to be heard? ..................ccccsssecsscseceees 24
No access to the court--Boddie in berserk
Is cerca siiahredatussleseciacunadisndndpaasichactanebasahe 24
11.Did CITY/STATE wait too long to serve these
IEEE spinakicincieeniancncnatiacavacisiadasaddcesnenonkaaa 25

12.Did CITY/STATE wait too long to start trial? ... 25

13.Should the deferred disposition ever have been

AROS AEN LD Se RE AN SOBRE ON POLY eS 25
5 Oe 6 er ee 25

Equal Protection—Irrational governmental
No cisssndcecthwedcndccantnccad naaccavndantcusnemadbates 25

15.Has CITY/STATE violated the ADA by depriving
Collard of her reading glasses? ..............02....2e0000- 26

Vu

16. Did NOAH ever have subject matter jurisdiction?

sshictaisinsiaitaddedad dinars cclidteadeginiai asta 26
Failure in the institution of the prosecution. 26
Rencipaepnnt: Wi iia ios oscsansndecndeneeaenanens 26

IG issih sicvisiscconicsbataconcsaninnpnich sedasiateeacane 27
17. EGG TING CUIIG TE oa iciiinnessncesstnnnatenasrsccanincann 27
No alternative avenue of relief. ..................... 27
Clear and indieputable. ...............00..sc.scsesseseeee 27
Discretionary determination of
PGI iss iccssincisnian ncinaniscgncennicianes 28
18. Is KIERCE’s duty to prepare the Transcript for
the accelerated Bond appeal clear and non-
CORI, cs issnnrancicratiintannicastepnieganicaniaaiaionee 28

19. Is NOAH’s duty to dismiss clear and non-
CCRT ois Sic skes cintickiaecisimsbattatgaaiamates 28
Clean hands doctrine—abuse of discretion... 28
No crimes, thus no municipal! court
Sen, 5 c\ 5. ins a ten braver aeusente aoa 29
No evidence of “prohibited” conduct. ............. 29

20.May mandamus to the municipal court proceed
without a ruling from the county appellate court?.

PROTA REET re ‘tihnnannsagdliigns bekniasiiasenadiaceeteue aa
emhCO TICINO viii isteecicecesnssscidncnseee 30
VERN so iainsss sccsicnsvnspsacdsssasnnntide eee 32
Appendix A, Table of Contents......................::2.0eeee A-i

Vill

Table of Cited Authorities

Cases

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545 (1965). .............. 23

Bankers Life & Cas. Co. v. Holland, 346 U.S. 379
| se EE ee oe ome Cee ER 29

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971)............. 24
Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985).

i le een id eiiaat 17
Burns v. United States, 501 U.S. 129 (1991). .......... 23
Collard v. Texas. US. (cert. denied 16 Jan

i iT RED, oss s sescesenevnseastuensenessuseses 2
Dillehey v. Texas, 815 S.W.2d 623 (Tex. Crim. App.

ain lar elias Gunbeanaiinaliak 7
Dixon v. United States, US 126 S. Ct. 2437

I a ha | .... 26
Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964). ................ 17
Ex Parte Fahey. 332 U.S. 258 (1947)...................022.. 29

Felter v. Southern Pacific Co., 359 U.S. 326 (1959). 17

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972)...................... 23
Gonzalez v. Carhart, U.S. __ (No. 05-380) (Apr. 18,
Be 1) CCAP IGTE). occcccccccncccceccsescosees ae 13, 16, 18, 26

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972). . 13,
16, 18

Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004)................. 23
Harris v. Hardeman, 55 U.S. (14 How.) 334 (1852). 22
Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495 (1947)................. 24

LX

In re Collard, __ U.S. __ (mand. denied 2 Oct 2006)
is I Se ee 2

Intl Shoe Co. v. State of Washington, 326 U.S. 310,
322 (1945) (opinion by Black, J.)......................... 23

Jones v. Flowers, _ U.S. __, 125 S. Ct. 1708 (2006).
sinha elisa ia Ne ae a 23

Kerr v. United States Dist. Court for N. Dist. of Cal.,
CE GE ee i siiaicnntiddscntceatce ities satan 27

Lioyd v. Alexander, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 365 (18083).... 22
Milliken v. Meyer, 311 U.S. 457 (1940). ............. 22, 23

Mullane v. Cent. Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306
EAU iis csten cerssinienelettadbeesibmnssscmalininiagtteinitbadasidetaa nsdn incre iat iea 23

Murphy Bros., Inc. v. Michetti Pipe Stringing, Inc.,
ee ik ee rice csnncennniciindntidaiabaneidtcntinn 22

N. Ga. Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc., 419 U.S. 601
CBF ii eicicettacsinssinnsscitaninsiakenssbétitiadsemmpiamaaiieeae 23

Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Assn., 436 U.S. 447 (1978).
eiinbinchlaaiadaianeaeneaanall salaindintndbeébanaaaedudaiaicgaaaan aaa 24

Peralta v. Heights Med. Ctr., Inc., 485 U.S. 80 (1988).

Smith v. Commercial Equip. Leasing Co., 678 S.W.2d
917 (Tex. 1984) (Commercial Equip.). ................ 22

Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp., 395 U.S. 337
Pe iiiiacsssiticdnnsinidsaiiutsionnnisssssditiniestateionthdiclaaasen aan 23

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) (Bass)... 18

Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562 (2000).
socsitiandaitbatankaichunbasetisaseaniaieadaialadsguaaeaamaael musta 25

x

Statutes

42 U.S.C.A. §§ 12101-12134, 12181-12182, 12188,
12201-12203 and 12209 (West 2005) (“ADA”).... 26

TEX. GOv’T CODE ANN. § 25.0003(a), (c) (West 2004).

scsi daleen siuivcanétetinainuiasdeinpiaanaacuaimailileaseiaenkite 19
TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. § 25.0004(a) (West 2004)..... 19
TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. § 25.0594(n) (West 2004). .. 18,

shsclisalememntiniidesa aapnat leaatinsak brisbdtastinienstiasaelsbiibaienaieaa Maiden cuales 19
TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. § 29.003 (West 2004)........... 13
TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. § 30.00005 (West 2004)....... 13
TEX. GOV’T CODE ANN. § 30.00014(c) (West 2004)..... 8
TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. § 30.00015(a) (West 2004)..... 8
TEX. GOv’T CODE ANN. § 30.00020-30.00022 (West

ia sidatericindehinndbnusnainnedpipunaiiasimanackadddudinsivanioaeine 10
UCC § 1-103 (generic) (undue influence)................. 17

Rules of Criminal Procedure

TEX. CRIM. PROC. CODE ANN. art. 17.151 (West Supp.

BOE-BOOG) COArt. Ps .ccccccesccccoccscascncssssncssnacsoness 25
Se IE thcthotiekcakassticincsuienennans shesnmuaatiied>ppewiatalancaaaane ee
SI Eck itcenddccndaccuintcseencsuninenive’ sehuiuainsed dsntceauios 5 Be
SNE II Ta atsliine cicadd oaths est sada enandceneaainaondiaaeiedanielaliane 8
ao pncanneehasibaseGadinamnenenlee 8
© TESS ne oar NCE a ae NT NE ERS OE Fe 8
a HII sasinsicasecndeienssieiiainast dap atiadanabiccancndutiedesamamoudasaeatds 21

XI

Se IIIS sure dcssadebiadss cablasaediouiansstebcndans 3, 21, 22, 23

Art. 46.019 ............ RAIDEN yey POLE Pree MARIE HP 20
EET Re SO Oe TC Re MRR ST Ae 2 20
I fincas tin Je ccaSeccles skisisitakalcduatcksanacsasdiebats 21
I i Sideral iin Sucicchaabebsanssedaaae 7

Rules of Appellate Procedure

i ed os such evancennnddaciasavicsauiocaenins 12
2 SS ce 2 SS RR ee et a na an oP we 12, 28
I sc suaiah eakachanaawidundiucees 15

Richardson Municipal Code

RICHARDSON, TEX., ORDINANCES § 1.01 (2007)

I To igs scayiisthinadanniaebealniaree a, 10
BE NG occ ccancnsantanckdsctanneseccenaganars 16
RII, Se BNO ia snc chen scenconsenaneinocaniadsnansed 16
Ree, We ERIN vi siink'ccsccccccddcdsccandsndacscescdcchaane 16
I OE nD breenwic asad sspadaecinsasspecnansietics 13
RP FE Fh BN oni no cccincevncnsndcnaveccnendscvabscaasous 8
I, TP RUIN, ica sinccntronecsnsciesnadvaneanasuapiudunse 8
BEICTIAMOIION, BF 1G). cise csnccncececsssvaceserstseccsnanssns 8
PERC TEAM, BTID, vivcscccsncnceacascciecccsscacestnenesesn 7
en 0, vu coidensdieunckueepumenenses 5, 18
I I ic sash rdeidincciusindicn esatbmtunniaibe matchens 13

PEEUUATEEIIE, Gee TD, ook nsec nossvenesndencinnceannecaienceans 16
RUPEE, hk ROWE Soca paca tecucdccaposesnuchasacccensscons 13, 17

‘Treatises

1 PAGE, THE LAW OF WILLS §§ 5.7, 15.11 (rev. 2003).
sp dnenuacadbadepaes celal nsusiviadasandadasabeie elude aateleameeiaie 17

GEORGE GLEASON BOGERT & GEORGE TAYLOR
BOGERT, THE LAW OF TRUSTS AND TRUSTEES §§ 42
at 434, 44 at 452 and n.16 (rev. 2d. ed. 1984). ... 17

X111

Petition for a Writ of Mandamus

Collard petitions for a writ of mandamus to the

Municipal Court of Record as follows:

Citations to decisions below

None

Jurisdiction
G) Date Orders Were Entered

Oo

Original order triggering mandamus:
“Collections” Show Cause entered 20 Sep 2007.
‘Ten-day extension of 16 October.

Supplemental Orders:

Municipal Court—

Post-judgment motion to dismiss denied 5 Nov.
Motion for stay denied 5 Nov.

County Criminal Court of Appeals—

Petition for mandamus submitted 6 & 7 Nov.;
case was never opened, or ruled on, by court.
Motion for stay submitted 6 & 7 Nov.; case never
opened, or ruled on, by court.

State appellate court—

Petition for mandamus to county appellate court
to open case; denied 19 Dec. and again 4 Jan.
State court of criminal appeals—

Petition for mandamus, as supplemented, to
county appellate court to open case; no ruling yet.

(ii) Extensions Yes, at least two.
Gul) Rule 12.5 N/A

(iv) Statutes, Jurisdiction

28 U.S.C. § 1651(a).

(v) Regarding notice of statutory challenge, Rule

29.4(b)
28 U.S.C. § 2403(b) may apply.

Non-Argument Calendar Preferred

Oral argument is not expected to aid in the
resolution of these issues.

Statement of the Case

When Federal Questions Were Raised

When participation was first allowed.

Collard wasn’t allowed access to the trial court
until the day of trial. So, the federal questions were
formally documented post-judgment.

In Removal by Next Friend.

Reference to several federal questions was made
at various times throughout the proceedings, in
particular during the time of Removal to federal
court. °

Additional details in the related cases
In re Collard (No. 05-1445) (mand. denied).
Collard v. Texas (No. 06-733) (cert. denied).

Selective enforcement—5 issues; 2 years; 101
“tickets”

City cited Collard 101 times during a two-year
period regarding five alleged problems. No
“complaints” were served; no case was taken to trial.
City simply wrote tickets. Collard knows of no other

3 STATE v. COLLARD, No. 3:06-CV-317-M (N.D. Tex. Dal.
Div.) Filed 21 February. Remanded 28 February. No. 06-10358
(5% Cir.), cert. denied, No. 06-733. Key item learned: a
pleading is not required.

2

case that even comes close to 101 “tickets.”

State failed to give timely Notice—Art.

45.018(b)

O 13 Feb 2006—traffic stop; arrest on warrants for
101 “housing code” “citations.”

QO 14 Feb—first “arraignment.”

This violated Art. 45.018(b) from the outset; the
“complaint” must be served at least one day before
“any proceeding.” Collard didn’t waive Notice or
plead.

QO 20 Feb—delivery of “magistrate warnings”
setting Bond.
O Same—second “arraignment.”
This also violated Art. 45.018(b). The “magistrate
warning’ and order setting Bond is not a “complaint.”
Collard didn’t waive Notice or plead.

Oo 23 Feb—hearing on something about “financial
status” as requested by State.
Nothing served. No waiver; no pleading.

QO 1 Mar—voir dire
Q Same—third “arraignment” and “trial.”
“Complaints” delivered to Collard at start of trial
proceeding. Third “arraignment” right there in front
of the advisory panel at the start of trial. Collard did
plead (Not Guilty) to all of the “citations.” Even if
such constitutes waiver for that proceeding, there are
still at least two prior “proceedings” conducted in
violation of Art. 45.018(b).

Denial of access to the trial court
No access to the Record.

QO 17 Feb (Fri.)—Collard asked for a copy of the
Record. The Clerk indicated they'd get started on
3

it. See No. 06-733, Mot. Contempt, R.31.

0 20 Feb (Mon.)—Collard asked again and was told
she’d get no copies of the public Record without
prior approval of State’s AG’s Office. Id. at 31-32.

Oo 27 Feb—Letter requesting guidance mailed to
Austin but faxed to one of the cc: recipients. Jd. at
41-43.

QO 1 Mar (day of trial)—State delivered
“complaints.”

No reading glasses—flagrant violation of ADA.
As is the case with many, Collard can’t read 12-

point print without her glasses. She was denied her
reading glasses during the entirety of her pre-trial
incarceration. Even if paperwork had been delivered
to her, meaningful participation was rendered
impossible. No. 06-733, R.58-59.

Frozen out of pre-trial.

Between having no glasses, or pens, or paper, or
anything but access to an exorbitantly priced phone
line and the court’s rocket-docket timing, Collard was
completely frozen out of any meaningful pre-trial
participation. No motions, no discovery, no
preparation time. The Notice of Removal was
activated using Next Friend capacity.

Conscience-shocking invasion of work product.

Since Collard’s entire pre-trial had been
prevented, under color, Collard’s husband prepared a
trial notebook for her. On the first effort to get that
to her, City’s attorney demanded access to it and full
disclosure of its contents, as did NOAH (the “judge’”).
Rather than disclose the trial strategy, the notebook
was not delivered to Collard. On the second effort,
NOAH prohibited Collard from having “work

4

product” (NOAH’s exact words). Both times, Collard
was not permitted to have her trial notebook.

De facto denial of preparation of any defense.

Where the judge has pre-decided the guilt of the
accused, the defendant doesn’t need lawful Notice,
access to the Record, glasses, meaningful
participation in pre-trial, or even a trial notebook.
That may work in Russia, China, or Nazi Germany,
but the law of this state hasn’t quite reached that
level of “enlightenment.” In the backwoods, barbaric
place known as America, the accused is still
supposed to have a meaningful opportunity to
prepare a defense.

Disenfranchisement—residents v. inhabitants

The inhabitants organized the entity.
RICHARDSON, § 1.01. But only residents may
participate. RICHARDSON, § 4.04 (officers, voters,
residents).

Undefined scope of Municipal Code—“citizen”
The term “citizen” is nowhere defined. Cf. U.S.
CONST. amend. 14.

Flagrant conflict of interest—clerks as
complainants

The municipal court’s clerks serve both as (A)
sworn “complainants” and as (B) custodians of those
very same Records. No. 06-733, R.48-50. 4

Undue delay
The “complaints” were filed in 2004, 2005, but not

4 What was served on 20 February were not the actual
“complaints,” but only the “magistrate warnings” with the Bond
amounts. The “complaints” weren’t served until 1 March, the
day of trial.

lod

oO

served until the day of trial, 1 March 2006. That’s
too long. Art. 28.061.

Denial of right to allocute
o 2 Mar—denial of allocution
PROCEEDINGS [3]
(Tape 3-004-06, Side A)

> MS. COLLARD: -- go with the city of
Richardson. Many people in the community have
come forward --

THE COURT: Okay.

MS. COLLARD: -- to help, and that's who we wish
to deal with. &

THE COURT: Here's what we'll do then. I think
this will suffice.

For each of the citations that you have, your fine
is going to be $200, including --

MS. COLLARD: Excuse me.

THE COURT: Excuse me. Excuse me, ma'am.

MS. COLLARD: I want to allocute.

THE COURT: I'm sorry?

MS. COLLARD: | want to allocute.

THE COURT: You want to what?

MS. COLLARD: Allocute.

THE COURT: What's that?

MS. COLLARD: Allocution.

THE COURT: You want allocution?

MS. COLLARD: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: What is allocution, ma'am?

5 Line numbers are omitted. Bold emphasis is added.

6 Practically every segment of the “official” transcript starts
well after the proceeding was underway. The issue here is
whether City was going to compel agreements with City or
allow Collard to choose contractors.

6

[4]

MS. COLLARD: It's what everybody gets before
sentencing.

THE COURT: Everybody gets before what?

MS. COLLARD: Sentencing.

THE COURT: Well, we'll [we’re?] just going
to go forward. I don't know what allocution is.
If you don't mind, let me finish.

Your fine on this is --

MS. COLLARD: Are you giving me --

THE COURT: Excuse me, ma'am.

MS. COLLARD: Are you giving me sentencing
now?

THE COURT: Ma'am, do you want to be
cited?

MS. COLLARD: No.

THE COURT: Be quiet until I finish your —
your sentence. Okay? Just be quiet until I
deliver your sentence. ?

Your fine will be -- look at me, please. You leave
those people in the -- I'll clear the courtroom. Your
attention is to be here, not to somebody back there in
the audience. ...

Retaliation and denial of access to appellate
court(s)
Deferred Disposition, appeal, retaliation,
‘Sudgment.”
O 2 Mar—Deferred Disposition. No. 06-733, R.53.
This is appealable. Art. 102.071, et. seq.
(convicted for purposes of costs); RICHARDSON, § 2-
198(c)(3); Dillehey, 815 S.W.2d at 626 (regarding

? But cf. Art. 42.07. Collard challenges Art. 42.07 as too
restrictive.

7

deferred adjudication) (thus, see RICHARDSON, § 2-
198(c)(2) ).

The first step in the appellate process is the
Motion for New Trial. Gov’r CODE § 30.00014(c). It
must be filed within “10 days” (two calendar weeks)
after the judgment to be appealed is rendered. Id.;
RICHARDSON, § 2-189(c). Then, Bond is filed within
“10 days” after that motion is denied. GOV'T CODE
§ 30.00015(a); RICHARDSON, § 2-190(a). Where a
proposed Bond is disapproved, an updated Bond
needs to be filed as directed. See Arts. 44.15, 44.16. 8

There are three different lines of appeal, here: (1)
the deferred disposition, (2) the final judgment, and
(3) the Bond. Asa brief look ahead, none of these
appeals ever really started. Not one of them. Zero.
Nada. Goose egg.

QO 6 Mar—Collard’s Motion for New Trial and
Motions to Dismiss. No. 06-733, R.57-84.
Same—hearing set for 14 March.

13 Mar—Collard’s Analysis of the Charging
Instruments, Speedy Trial Violation Notice, and
Motion to Dismiss. No. 06-733, R.45-51.

QO 14 Mar—NOAH, not aware (?) of the 1991 rule
change (15 years prior) allowing appeal of
“deferred,” threatened to violate Collard: if she
wanted to appeal, he’d revoke the “deferred
disposition” and enter a “final judgment.” Sole
basis for revocation?—Collard’s Motion for New
Trial regarding “deferred.” Key, no ruling was

8 See also http://www. 1l4thcoa.courts.state.tx.us/Case/
Opinions/052500/990090f.PDF (unpublished dissent discusses
legislative history); Art. 44.07 (right to appeal shall not be
abridged).

8

entered on the Motion for New Trial. Not
knowing instantly how to respond to NOAH’s
shocking and monstrous criminal conduct from
the bench, Collard left to reflect on the options.

Oo Same—Collard filed formal DEMAND FOR
RULING regarding her motion. No. 06-733,
R.100-14. Formal assertion of criminal conduct
by NOAH, among others. Service of DEMAND on
law enforcement personnel.

QO Same—Clerk’s Notice of sua sponte extension to
file motions for new trial regarding the two traffic
cases. 9 No. 05-1445, App. A.

Qo 20 Mar—First Supplemental Motion for New
Trial and Motions to Dismiss regarding the two
“traffic ticket” cases (responsive to sua sponte
extension).

G 21 Mar—Letter Notice of Orders (A) denying
motion for new trial and (B) revoking deferred
disposition and entering Judgment, without
any cause, reason, or basis other than
Collard’s having activated the appellate
process for “deferred.” This letter refers to the
101 Ordinance matters, so it’s an error to say that
the related motion for new trial was filed on 20
March; that one was filed on 6 March and had the
hearing on the 14th. Cf. next Letters, referring to
20 March motions for the “traffic ticket” matters.
10 No. 05-1445, App. A.

Oo Same—Letter Notice of Order denying motion for

% Due date asserted, Fri., 24 March, counts 10 calendar days,
which is too short; proper is on or about Tues. 28 March.

10 Due date asserted, Fri., 31 March, counts 10 calendar days,
which is too short; proper is on or about Tues., 4 April.

9

new trial, filed 20 March, regarding one of the
“traffic ticket” matters. '! No. 05-1445, App. A.

OQ Same—Letter Notice of Order denying motion for
new trial, filed 20 March, regarding the other
“traffic ticket” matter. '? No. 05-1445, App. A.

OQ 24 Mar—Collard’s Confirmation of her Notice of
Appeal—*“Deferred Adjudication.”

Q Same—Collard’s Motion for New Trial Regarding
the Final Judgment(s) and Bond and her Motions
to Dismiss.

0 Same—Collard’s Confirmation of her Notice of
Appeal—“Final Judgment.”

0 Same—Collard’s Confirmation of her Notice of
Appeal—Bond.

O Same—Collard’s Section 2-191 Instructions
Regarding Appeal of the “Final Judgment.”

oO Same—Collard’s Section 2-191 Instructions
Regarding Appeal of Bond.

QO 10 Apr—Entry date of “order” signed 3 April that
effectively denies access to the appellate court. '’
No. 05-1445, App. A.

0 12 Apr—Collard’s Confirmation of the Appellate
Timetable (Subtitle: Even More Confirmation
That NOAH Should Have Self-Recused)

QO 18 Apr—Collard’s Appeal Bond, Versions 1
(Personal Recognizance) and 2 ($20,686) (both

11 Due date asserted, Fri., 31 March, counts 10 calendar days,
which is too short; proper is on or about Tues., 4 April

12 Due date asserted, Fri., 31 March, counts 10 calendar days,
which is too short; proper is on or about Tues., 4 April.

13 They may be mutually exclusive provisions, but denial of
the motion isn’t necessarily the last word. See GOV'T CODE
§§ 30.00020-30.00022.

10

designed to allow NOAH to renounce).

OQ 26 Apr—Collard’s Conditional Request for a
Certificate of Right to Appeal

Oo 26 May—DTPA Demand Letter sent to Fuller &
Assocs. for failure to produce the full consolidated
Record as contracted for. Tortious interference by
municipal court personnel regarding content of
Statement of Facts.

0 27 May—tTrial Record sent to county court of
appeals.

° 7 Jul—County court of appeals, without even
opening a case on appeal, reviewed the Record,
found no Bond that it considered suitable, and
returned the case to the municipal court. Where
there is not even a Case No., much less an order,
Collard has nothing to appeal up to a higher
court. The game that the municipal court was
playing was this. Collard paid the $25 fee for the
appeal, but the municipal court wanted $25 per
case number, or 103 x $25, or $2,575.
Therefore, the municipal court prepared only one
case for appeal, and there was no Bond submitted
for just one case. Bottom line, the county court of
appeals didn't want to touch it, which is
understand-able, but without even a Case No.,
much less an order, Collard could appeal no
farther. From one view, it’s just one more layer of
denial of access. From Collard’s view, it was
strong encouragement to renounce and to dismiss!

This is the sole mention of approval or
disapproval of any Bond. No Case No.; no order;
purely administrative.

GO 21 Jul (2006)—Collard’s Appeal Bond—Versions

1]

3 ($41,372) (detailed facts) and 4 ($41,372) (brief
facts).

0 20 Sep (2007)—NOAH’s Show Cause “order,”
saying (A) that all appeals have been denied, and
(B) that all fines for all offenses are now due and
payable.

Accelerated Bond appeal never left muni. court!

Collard appealed the Bond. It’s an accelerated
appeal. '* Tex. R. App. P. 31. It was already late
when No. 05-1445 was filed. The law doesn’t matter;
no one with that trial court had any intention of
preparing a consolidated Transcript.

Denial of access is thematic

Thus, Collard was denied access to the Record of
her own cases, a public Record, maintained in one of
State’s few and select municipal courts of (public)
Record, from start (Notice of Removal) to finish
(appeal of Bond).

Criminal enforcement of a purely commercial
matter

Richardson embraces the Fourth Reich.

As illustrated in the Appendix, City has no
problem with the idea of issuing dictatorial
mandates—‘“thou shalt’s.” City also has no problem
criminalizing the act of declining to kiss the
jackboots, i.e., of “disobeying” the “thou shalt’s.”
Since it’s safe to presume that City has heard of
Normandy (Omaha; Utah), it follows that City spits
on a LOT of graves!

‘4 The clerk must send the clerk's record and the court
reporter must send the reporter's record to the appellate court
within 15 days after the notice of appeal is filed (matures, takes
effect). TEX. R. APP. P. 31.1.

12

This is a purely commercial matter ...

A “thou shalt” might very well be or become part
of an enforceable commercial agreement.
Mandamus may exist. But criminalizing the act of
not complying with a “thou shalt,” outside the
context of a fiduciary obligation, rather screamingly
violates the entire point of the criminal system. So,
(A) where’s a valid trust agreement (no such thing
was offered into evidence)? or (B) where’s the
prohibited conduct (no such thing in these
ordinances)? Cf. Carhart (citing Grayned, 408 U.S.
at 108).

... therefore, no municipal court has jurisdiction.

Municipal courts (of (public) Record) have
jurisdiction over criminal matters only. GOVT CODE
§§ 29.003, 30.00005 (option to include civil);
RICHARDSON, § 2-180 (civil option not activated).

No evidence of any “prohibited” conduct.

Four of the five areas are “thou shalt” matters.
One, however, namely fence construction without a
permit, at least reads as a “thou shalt not.”
RICHARDSON, § 6-201. But, even if it were humanly
conceivable to criminalize putting up or working on
a fence on one’s own property, there’s still no
evidence that Collard, at any time, ever, in the
entirety of the relevant time period, or before that
time period, or even to this very day, did any fence
construction of any type, kind, or nature, with or
without any permit! !§6 Thus, that one is nothing but

'S Not here, though, due to adhesion. See RICHARDSON, § 21-
57.

16 There are two ways to address this. One involves a Stay at
least long enough to allow State to respond (with silence, for

13

a malicious prosccution from the outset, as well.

Collard jailed 18 days, and for what?

Since the reason(s) for the arrest were the i101
“housing code” “citation” warrants, Collard wasn’t
merely threatened with criminal sanctions in City’s
effort to attempt to collect on a commercial matter.
She was kidnapped, held for ransom, extorted from
via use of the mail, maliciously prosecuted, denied
access to the courts, and violated in her rights of
property and lberty, generally, all by a “judge” that
never had the jurisdiction he thought he had.

Post-judgment motion to dismiss and
accompanying motion for stay

Collard filed her post-judgment motions to
dismiss and for stay on 29 Oct. in the municipal court
of (public) Record. The document containing both
motions consists of 22 Points and is 47 pages,
including Table of Contents and Table of Authorities.
Notice for hearing was dated 1 Nov. Hearing was
held on 5 Nov., and NOAH denied both motions.
Perhaps some people just read very quickly.

there is no evidence). That’s the time and cost efficient process.
Alternatively, where a full Statement of Facts may be needed in
order to verify this “no evidence” point, what Collard has is in
8.5x11, but booklet format can certainly be produced. Since
State, through its officers and agents, has gone to so much
trouble to prevent the review of this matter in the normal
course, Collard has no problem considering that, alone, as proof
of her “no evidence” position. In short, even if Notice 1s
somehow rendered irrelevant, and if denial of access, both at
trial and on appeal, is somehow rendered irrelevant, thus, that
jurisdiction existed in a municipal court for those “charges,”
those charges should be dismissed due to “no evidence.”

14

Mandamus/stay and the state appellate courts
County appellate court refuses to file/open case.
Collard submitted her petition for mandamus and

her motion for stay to the county criminal court of

appeals in person on 6 Nov. The clerk refused to file
it. Collard then mailed it that same day. Her
petition, verified on 4 Nov., consists of 25 Points and
is 68 pages, including Table of Contents, Index of

Authorities, and listing of the contents of the

Appendix. The Appendix consists of 20 documents,

including prior rulings and first pages of relevant

appellate time-table motions, and another document
containing the relevant statutes and ordinances of
focus, a total of 42 pages. The complete petition is

110 pages. The motion for stay is three pages.

Neither the mandamus nor the stay has even been

filed as of the date this supplement is being printed.

State appellate court files/opens case, twice!

The state appellate court (1) acted according to
law, TEX. R. APP. P. 52.1, but (2) hasn’t made the
county appellate (not trial) court do the same. On
the one hand, upon submission of the mandamus
petition, the state appellate court filed the petition
and opened a case. On the other, in No. 05-07-01613-
CV, they subtly suggest that this case raises an issue
of first impression. Even if that were basis to deny
this mandamus, they refused to address the issue!
Thus, it’s still an issue of first impression!

That was the first panel. The second panel
completely missed the boat by subtly suggesting that
Collard needed to present an order to be reviewed via
mandamus. See No. 05-07-01760-CV.

15

Court of criminal appeals files/opens case.
Compelled to do so, Collard filed a mandamus

with the court of criminal appeals. If 01613 is right,
there won’t be any mandamus to the county court; if
mandamus follows, a filing is still not a ruling!

(Unsigned?) Warrant for arrest issued

The municipal court now demands Collard pay
more than $28,000, immediately, or else go to jail.
But no warrant Notice delivered to Collard is signed.

Argument

STATUTORY CHALLENGES

1. Does RICHARDSON, § 1-8 violate Due
Process?

RICHARDSON, § 1-8(a)(1) looks to prohibitions.
This is consistent with Carhart (Grayned).

However §§ 1-8(a)(2) and (3) criminalize an
alleged failure to comply with the equivalent of a
legislative mandate. There is no definition of any
prohibited conduct. “Do what we tell you to do, or
go to jail!” This is flagrantly inconsistent with
Carhart.

2. Does RICHARDSON, § 6-327 violate Due
Process?

Since RICHARDSON, § 6-327(a) incorporates § 1-8,
§ 6-327 also violates Due Process. Carhart.

3. Does RICHARDSON, § 21-57 violate Due
Process?

The Statement of Facts includes voir dire about

16

“home owners associations.” There is no known
agreement signed by Collard regarding any such
association, and none was introduced into evidence.
Therefore, if that concept applies, at all, it’ll be
because someone thinks that participation in a
“home owners association” can be legislatively
mandated, 1.e., that RICHARDSON, § 21-57 is valid.

No compelled agreement is valid. Burger King,
471 U.S. at 486. Cf. Social Security cannot be
compelled; use of “funny money” cannot be
compelled; wills cannot be compelled; see 1 PAGE,
THE LAW OF WILLS §§ 5.7, 15.11; trusts cannot be
compelled; BOGERT & BOGERT, THE LAW OF TRUSTS
AND TRUSTEES §§ 42 at 434, 44 at 452 and n.16;
commercial agreements cannot be compelled; see
UCC, typically § 1-103 (regarding the defense of
undue influence). See also Felter (recognizing a
statutory right to be free from compelled consent
regarding an agreement). In sum, no evidence of any
type, kind, or nature, is relevant or competent where
there’s compelled consent. See Escobedo v. Illinois
and Miranda.

Thus, § 21-57 is facially void as violating public
policy.

4. Does Art. 42.07 violate Due Process?

The entire point of allocution is to raise all
reasons why sentencing should not proceed. The
instant all legal remedies have been exhausted, the
doors to equity fly wide open. To limit that discussion
at that time multiplies the proceeding by compelling
an appeal that might not otherwise be needed.

Thus, Art. 42.07 is unduly restrictive.

17

5. Are the relevant municipal ordinances
legislative enactments?

Where's the legislature?

See Bass, 404 U.S. at 347-48 (rule of lenity—(1)
common language (2) legislatively enacted). Since
there is no lawful legislative enactment, here, these
ordinances violate Equal Protection and Due Process.

Disenfranchisement.

ENTIRE MUNICIPAL LEGISLATIVE PROCESS IS

FLAWED.

The “incorporation” provisions in the Municipal
Code, City of Richardson, state that the inhabitants
comprise the body politic. See RICHARDSON, § 1.01.
However, only residents are allowed (1) to vote and
(2) to hold (legislative, etc.) office. See e.g.
RICHARDSON, § 4.04 (officers, voters, residents). This
instantly amounts to “taxation without
representation,” among other non-representation
problems, which renders the entire Municipal Code
for City of Richardson invalid on its face.

Where the inhabitants are facially excluded, as an
entire class, then, if the process, here, is legislative at
all, it is entirely defeated, meaning that there is not
one word of the Municipal Code, City of Richardson,
that provides Notice of any proscribed conduct. Cf.
Carhart (citing Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108).

6. Does GOv’T CODE § 25.0594(n) violate
Separation of Powers or Due Process?

Depriving appellate court of inherent authority.

In the event Texas is not the only jurisdiction
dealing with this, it may be valuable to address this
statute. GOv’T CODE § 25.0594(n) says this:

18

(n) Sections 25.0003(a) and (c) do not apply to a

county criminal court of appeals in Dallas County.
By depriving this appellate court, generally, of its
civil authority, this language appears to deprive the
court of its mandamus authority, in particular.

No legislature may deprive an appellate court of
that court’s inherent authority to protect its
appellate authority. Therefore, this statute appears
to violate Separation of Powers and Due Process.

Another view—presumption of validity.
Presuming the statute valid, and reading it in a
way that would render it valid, another way to read
this limitation comes from understanding that the
general language for county courts grants them both
civil and criminal jurisdiction. GOVT CODE
§ 25.0003(a), (c). Therefore, if the purpose of
§ 25.0594(n) is to distinguish civil from criminal,
then the statute, as so construed, accomplishes that
purpose, in a rather cryptic and confusing manner.
Gov't CODE § 25.0004(a) supports the conclusion
that, despite § 25.0594(n), the county criminal court
of appeals has mandamus authority.

Another view—nature of the cases.

Another way the statute might be just fine and
the county criminal appellate court still not have
jurisdiction to address mandamus is where the
underlying case is simply not a criminal case. The
one case originally prepped by the municipal court
for appeal was one of the housing code cases, namely
N101355A. The county court of appeals never
opened a case and simply returned the “Record” to
the municipal court, making reference to the Bond.

19

7. Does Art. 45.019 foster a horrific conflict of
interest?

Clerks as verify-ers.
Art. 45.019 allows the clerks to verify complaints.

(e) A complaint in municipal court may be sworn
to before:

(1) the municipal judge;

(2) the clerk of the court or a deputy clerk;

(3) the city secretary; or

(4) the city attorney or a deputy city attorney.

Art. 45.019(e)(2).

Clerks as complain-ers.

It does not authorize the clerks also to be a/the
hearsay complainant. There’s nothing about Art.
45.019 that even remotely contemplates that the
clerks will also serve as non-witness complainants.

Where the complainant is also a custodian of the
public Record, there arises a rather blatant conflict.
All cases in which clerks are both custodians of
Record and non-witness complainants should be
dismissed on their face. In the future, verifying and
complaining should be strictly separated, or screened
(as is done within large organizations to avoid
conflict/privilege issues). Otherwise, this statute
needs to be modified to prevent the temptation of
doing both the verifying and the complaining.

8. Does Art. 45.018(b) violate Due Process?
The statute, itself.
Art. 45.018. Complaint [Municipal Court}

(a) For purposes of this chapter, a complaint is a
sworn allegation charging the accused with the
20

commission of an offense.

(b) A defendant is entitled to notice of a
complaint against the defendant not later
than the day before the date of any
proceeding in the prosecution of the defendant
under the complaint. The defendant may waive
the right to notice granted by this subsection.

Art. 45.018 (emphasis added).

If read literally, this purports to dispense with
Notice altogether. How does anyone plead to a
“complaint” unless and until that “complaint” is both
filed and served? Obviously, a party may waive
Notice, at least the timing aspect. But, where the
party does not waive Notice, in any aspect, this
language appears to allow “no Notice,” anyway, at
least in terms of timing.

Application of the statute.

If the statute is not the problem, then the focus
becomes the application of it. Where there is no
waiver, and where the statute requires both filing
and serving timely the “complaint,” then the
widespread practice defies the statute. Key in the
application here is whether an “arraignment”
constitutes “any proceeding.” Per Art. 45.0215(a),
which deals with cases against minors, there’s no
question that the “arraignment” is a “proceeding” for
purposes of Art. 45.018(b). Thus, where there’s (A)
an “arraignment,” (B) no waiver of Notice, which
waiver surely has to be “of Record,” somehow, and
best is “in writing,” whether it’s a court “of Record” or
not, cf. TEX. R. Civ. Evib. 509 (physician-patient
privilege can’t be waived without signed writing), and
(C) no timely service of a filed “complaint” prior to

21

that “arraignment,” then there is no Notice, thus a
void judgment. Harris, 55 U.S. at 339 (cited in
Commercial Equip., 678 S.W.2d at 918; Milliken;
Peralta; Lloyd, 5 U.S. at 366 (“A citation not served is
as no citation.”).

Examples of the Federal Questions to be
protected

9. What meaningful Notice is due per Art.
45.018(b)?

Does the “complaint” have to be served?

See Art. 45.018(b). See also Murphy Bros., Inc.;
Lloyd, 5 U.S. at 366 (“A citation not served is as no
citation.”). All that was served on Collard was
“notice” that a “complaint” existed. That came via
the “magistrate warning” that included a setting of
(pre-trial) Bond.

That is one way to read Art. 45.018(b). But,
where “notice of a complaint” doesn’t mean “the
actual complaint, itself,” then where’s the Notice?
Not one of the “magistrate warnings” even identifies
a statute allegedly violated, much less how.
{Hypothetically:] “A criminal charge has been filed
against you. How do you plead?” “Io what?” “l'o the
criminal charge?” “What is the charge?” “Do you
want to be charged with contempt, too?” “No.”
“Then, how do you plead?” “To what?” “OK! You’re
now cited for contempt! You sit in jail until you
decide how you’re going to plead!”

If “complaints” don’t ever have to be served, then
why did State even bother delivering them on the
day of trial? If the “ticket” is sufficient, or if the
“magistrate warning” is sufficient, then why ever
serve the “complaint?”

22

In other words, the system cannot willfully and
blatantly run roughshod over its own rules in
manifest bad faith. Therefore, since it’s clear that
the “complaint” must be served, the focus is simply a
matter of timing.

a> 4

Is an “arraignment” “any proceeding?”
Why serve the “complaint?” Meaningful Notice;

meaningful opportunity to be heard. Milliken (Notice,
opportunity to be heard, fair play, substantial
justice); Int? Shoe (Notice, opportunity to be heard);
Mullane (Notice, opportunity to be heard);
Armstrong, 380 U.S. at 552 (Notice, meaningful time,
meaningful manner); Sniadach (Notice, opportunity
to be heard); Fuentes v. Shevin (Notice, meaningful
time); N. Gu. Finishing (Notice, opportunity to be
heard, even for corporations (i.e., the shareholders));
Burns (Notice, opportunity to be heard, on upward
departure); Hamdi (denial of access and of
opportunity to be heard); Jones (Notice, opportunity
to be heard).

Where the “complaint” has to be served, not a
“ticket,” not a “magistrate warning,” but the
“complaint,” itself, then it’s impossible to say that
State ever gave Collard Notice of anything at least
“the day before” any relevant proceeding.

Since the “complaints” weren’t served until the
day of trial, NOAH’s first “arraignment,” NOAH’s
second “arraignment,” and even NOAH’s third
“arraignment,” right there in front of the panel, were
all conducted in violation of Art. 45.018(b). Collard
received copies of the “complaints,” some of which
had been filed two years prior, at trial.

So, State willfully never complhed with Art.
45.018(b).

23

What constitutes waiver?

Obviously, Notice may be waived. Entering a plea
without demanding delivery of the “complaint”
reasonably constitutes waiver. Entering a plea
without demanding timely delivery of the
“complaint” might also.

NOAH conducted two “arraignments” during
Collard’s 17-day (pre-trial) incarceration. Is that
excused where Collard enters pleas at trial, i.e., at
the third “arraignment,” and not to any “complaints
but only to the “citations?” Did Collard waive Notice
nunc pro tunc by pleading at that third
“arraignment?” How many swings at the pinata does
a court get? Cf. Ohralik (limiting “in person”
solicitation; thus, limiting duress, coercion, and
undue influence as engaged in by the legal
profession). Does that horse really go back into that
barn? Is there no “bank robbery” where the “money”
is returned?

”

10. Has Collard been denied a meaningful
opportunity to be heard?

No access to the court—Boddie in berserk
extreme.

Boddie (denial of access to the court). No glasses.
No pre-trial motions or discovery. No Record for
trial. No trial notebook—horrific, conscience-
shocking violation of Hickman v. Taylor. Total
prevention of preparation of any defense. No
allocution allowed, under threat of “citation”
(“contempt”). Retaliation for appealing the “deferred
disposition,” via revocation of “deferred” without one
ounce of justification and entering “final judgment.”
No Record for any of the three lines of appeal,

24

especially the accelerated Bond appeal. Then, the
county court of appeals never even opened a case or
entered any ruling but just made an oblique
reference to Bond in a letter and sent it all back to
the municipal court.

11. Did CITY/STATE wait too long to serve
these “complaints?”

What process is due? The complaints were filed
in 2004, 2005, but not served until the day of trial, 1
March 2006. That’s too long. Art. 28.061.

12. Did CITY/STATE wait too long to start
trial?

What process is due? CITY/STATE arrested
Collard on 13 Feb., but didn’t start trial until
1 March. Art. 17.151 § 1(4) allows only five days
(effectively one calendar week) between the arrest
and the trial where the accused is incarcerated the
entire time. Thus, 17 days is too long.

13. Should the deferred disposition ever have
been revoked?

What process is due? The sole reason NOAH
revoked the deferred disposition was Collard’s appeal
of that ruling. Retaliation is not a lawful reason to
revoke “deferred” or to enter “judgment.”

sp

14. is Collard a “class of one?

Equal Protection—Irrational governmental
activity.

See Village of Willowbrook (“class of one” fully
recognized where intentional, irrational, reproducible
governmental action is involved).

25

15. Has CITY/STATE violated the ADA by
depriving Collard of her reading glasses?

As is the case with many, Collard can see just
fine, but can’t read without her glasses. NOAH never
allowed her to have them until trial. In addition to
denial of access, this may violate the ADA.

16. Did NOAH ever have subject matter
jurisdiction?

Failure in the institution of the prosecution.

Highly selective enforcement. No Notice. No
opportunity to be heard. Denial of access. Malicious
prosecution.

Incompetent statutes.

All of the statutes address what is, at best, a
purely commercial matter. City’s “complaints” may
be filed in a court of civil jurisdiction, not of
“criminal only” jurisdiction.

The one statute that even pretends to prohibit
something (no fence construction without a permit)
has no evidence to support the charge. But, even if
the evidence existed, it’s difficult to see the
commercial nexus justifying a criminal charge. So,
even if the analysis survived the failure in the
institution of the prosecution, this one would still be
a jurisdictional question, not merely a matter of
proving a defense, see Dixon, which NOAH totally
prevented Collard from doing.

The other statutes prohibit nothing, which
renders them void for purposes of criminal
enforcement. Cf. Carhart.

Mandamus
17. Does mandamus apply?

No alternative avenue of relief.

Reviewing Kerr, 426 U.S. at 403, Collard is
satisfied that no other alternative exists. By reciting
that “All appeals have been denied,” knowing full
good and well that they never got out of the starting
gate, NOAH confirms his intent to prevent all
appeals. To be sure, it’s not that Collard hasn’t bent
over backwards, double, fourteen ways from Sunday,
to activate the appellate process. Thus, :«’s not that
the appellate process isn’t theoretically available.
It’s that she’s been thwarted, opposed, even violated,
at every turn. Thus, it’s manifest misstaisment of
fact to say, “All appeals have been denied.” What’s
true and correct is that all Collard’s “efforts at
appeal” have been denied and rejected and even
abused.

So, this isn’t a substitute for appeal. It’s the
blasting cap for it. If appeal is even still available,
it’s going to take a mandamus lv serve as the super-
hydraulics-driven, diamond-tipped, down-hole drill
bit to crack the granite encasement in which NOAH
has buried this entire appellate effort, “with a little
help from his friends,” of course.

Clear and indisputable.

It’s interesting that it’s easier to obtain an arrest
warrant than a mandamus! Maybe it should be that
way, but it is a fascinating contrast in this fact
pattern. Collard was arrested because someone
thought some wood needed some paint, but to
convince an appellate Court to exercise mandamus
requires Collard to establish a “clear and

ei

indisputable” position. Seems backwards, somehow,
but here we are.

Collard is satisfied that the verified facts in this
petition and in all the available Records, all of which
are subject to Judicial Notice, more than satisfy the
“clear and indisputable” element. State’s silence in
response will more than confirm this, as well.

Discretionary determination of appropriateness.

If this is a “blood pressure” test or a “smell” test,
Collard is confident that the facts in this case more
than suffice.

18. Is KIERCE’s duty to prepare the Transcript
for the accelerated Bond appeal clear and
non-discretionary?

Collard sure reads it that way! See TEx. R. APP.
P. 31.1. Resolution of the Bond amount issue would
substantially encourage NOAH at least to address
the Bond issue, if not also assuage the county court
of appeal’s concerns.

19. Is NOAH’s duty to dismiss clear and non-
discretionary?

Clean hands doctrine—abuse of discretion.

As a place to start, regardless of the validity of
the issues for the appeal, while Collard isn’t trying to
promote dismissal out of the trial court as a
substitute for the appeal, where the trial court goes
to so much trouble to prevent the appeal, mandated
dismissal seems fully in order. Per a “clean hands”
doctrine analogy, City/State cannot be heard to
benefit from its manifest bad faith and lawlessness
in the matter. If this is the example of how State

28

encourages its agents to treat people, State should be
dismissed out in every case of this type that.exists.
Cf. Ex Parte Fahey (mandamus is reserved for the
extreme cases); Will, 389 U.S. at 95 (mandamus
appropriate to address “usurpation of power’);
Bankers Life, 346 U.S. at 383 (mandamus
appropriate to address “clear abuse of discretion”).

Fundamentally, per the statutory analysis alone,
NOAH should have dismissed this one out before it
ever got started. Instead, he drooled over getting to
sign all those “magistrate warnings” with the Bond
(money, money, money) amounts.

No crimes, thus no municipal court jurisdiction.
Either these matters are criminal or they aren’t.

A “home owners’ association” dispute, if that’s what
this is, is a commercial, not a criminal, matter. Such
matters have no business being filed in a court of
“criminal case only” jurisdiction. Thus, dismissal
here is non-discretionary.

No evidence of “prohibited” conduct.

There is no evidence of any violation of the only
statute that even comes close to defining a
prohibition. Therefore, dismissal] is non-
discretionary.

20.May mandamus to the municipal court
proceed without a ruling from the county
appellate court?

Where the county appellate court refuses to act,
what else can a frozen-out party do?

Remedies Requested

Collard requests

Ms

That this Court assert its supervisory authority in
aid of its appellate jurisdiction, and, if time is
needed for complete review, issue a Stay of any
and all further proceedings in the Municipal
Court of Record regarding these 103 matters, in
particular the “hearing” set for 16 October (two
weeks hence);

That this Court issue a writ of certiorari to the
Municipal Court of Record in the event that
confirmation of what is and what is not of Record,
e.g., for the “no evidence” point, need be
established in that manner;

. That this Court allow her to submit any

additional information or documents that the
Court finds necessary;

That this Court give City/State and all interested
parties the opportunity to respond to this verified
petition, so that the shame of their silence may be
heard from sea to shining sea;

. That this Court supply supervisory guidance, and

if necessary, issue a writ of mandamus;

. That the guidance or mandamus encourage

dismissal, or, if that’s jumping too far ahead, then
encourage preparation of the accelerated Bond
appeal;

As much discussion on the issues presented and
necessarily included as this case may allow;

. The opportunity to brief any additional issues the

Court may identify;
30

9. The non-argument calendar. Oral argument is
not expected to aid in the resolution of these
issues;

10.That costs be taxed to NOAH, and then perhaps
also to City and State, jointly and severally; and

11.Any and all other relief at law, in equity or sui
generis to which she may show herself justly
entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Mary Lynn Collard
Mary Lynn Collard

I reserve all my rights
1615 University Drive
Richardson, Texas 75081

31

Verification

Per 28 U.S.C. § 1746, under the penalty of
perjury, I, Mary Lynn Collard, depose and declare (or
certify, verify or state), that I am at least 21 years of
age, that I am competent to make this Affidavit, that
I have personal knowledge of these facts, and that
these facts are true and correct.

The facts stated in this First Amended Petition
for a Writ of Mandamus are true and correct.

Further, Declarant sayeth not.

_ 4 the |
Executed on this the ¥ —— of February, 2008

/s/ Mary Lynn Collard
Mary Lynn Collard, Declarant

Appendix A
Table of Contents

Rule 14.1(i)(i)—Appellate Opinion ......................... A-1
Original appellate effort—None..................0....5 A-1
2006 July 7 Letter (appeal not even filed) ....... A-1
Current mandamus effort—None..................0065 A-2

Rule 14.1(4)(1i)—Additional Orders......................... A-3
I NN ig cise iad os sc esac paeeen amends A-3

2007 Sep 20—“Collections” Show Cause
PUI cia archers ta ah latch intetti Seatac anghal clas A-3
2007 Oct 16—Extension, with threat of arrest .
REAR ae OMEN IER ARE eR DIONE ena ARE HM ROR A-5
2006 Mar 2—Deferred Disposition .............. A-6
2006 Mar 2—Extension Agreement (one traffic
I circa tac sckea intel eres teaakaciainacnmaiainn cece A-6
2006 Mar 2——Application for Driver Safety
Course (the other traffic case)................. A-6
2006 Mar 14—Extensions of Time regarding
I ae iueectadedad A-7
2006 Mar 20 and 21—Rulingg...................... A-7

2006 Apr 10—Ruling denying mandamus... A-7

2007 Dec 18 State appellate court didn’t order

county appellate court to file/open case............. A-7
OI NS anti AY SOE RTI A-7
RI oh hci eras Core chiia a Weleda tancieaed A-9

A-l

2008 Jan 4 Second state appellate panel’s ruling

Rh A I i seins eicsscesatacccinteniesaepaierinee A-10
RI detiicrashixsskesNanesdaaacdeaeatcenicaetaasanenal A-10
BIE 5 ct eeicaiccsctiaamtadeceneen ee A-11

2007 Dec 28 State court of criminal appeals files
BOUIEION, GRINS GIOD. kisiiscdccdinccsinmnnnaedsdas A-13
Postcard Notice of filing/opening case ..A-13

Rule 14.1()(iii)—Rehearing, or other extension ..A-14

Most recent-—-14 December ...................cecceceeees A-14
Rule 14.1(0)(iv)—Judgment of different date........ A-14
Judgment(s) of 2006 Mar 20 and 21................ A-14
Rule 14.1()(v)—Statutes and Rules .............0....... A-14
Richardson Municipal Code.......................22000 A-14
Nowhere defined——“citizen.” ..............000.02... A-14
Sec. 1-9. Severability of parts of Code........ A-14

Sec. 1-8. General penalty; continuing
| aS RTD ARTE NoPE OCR MEO A-15
Re A I rise dsnssckcce ncn A-16
ete. a1 Ei BI aie ics on dca nccenssccccenen A-17
Sec. 6-356. Responsibilities of occupant.....A-17
Sec. 6-367. Structural standards................ A-18
Sec. 6-201. Permit required. ....................08. A-19

Sec. 6-202. Inspection and maintenance.... A-19

A-il

TEX. CRIM. PROC. CODE. ANN................ccceeeceees A-24
Art. 42.07. [773] [860-861] Reasons to Prevent

RE Ee oe Sete Pen OOM EAS A-24

Art. 45.018. Complaint [Municipal Court]. A-25

Art. 45.0215. Plea by Minor and Appearance of

ha a a A-26

Art. 17.151. RELEASE BECAUSE OF
I ene oe eo A-26
I CI, CD soci cvvckecn dakcdndecnacackecetes A-28
RN ARIE INA oO DoS res A-28

Rule 14.1(i)(vi)—Additional Essential Materials. A-29
Case Nos. for the 103 complaints.................... A-29

Example of the “magistrate warning” and pre-
oii tins d Concladnmicusgnd sasuubieonniesaneubheniens A-29

A-11

Appendix A
Rule 14.1(i)(i}—Appellate Opinion

Original appellate effort—None

No appellate case number; no order. Just the letter.

2006 July 7 Letter (appeal not even filed)

(SEAL OF THE COUNTY OF DALLAS STATE OF
TEXAS)

DALLAS COUNTY

County Clerk

Cynthia Figueroa Calhoun

July 7, 2006

Richardson Municipal Court
P.O. Box 830978
Richardson, TX 75083-0978

RE: State of Texas vs. MARY LYNN COLLARD
Cause No. N101355A
FAILURE TO MAINTAIN BUILDING

Enclosed you will find a case that was sent to County
Criminal Court of Appeals No. 1 to file as an appeal
on a Court of Records case.

This case is unable to be filed because there isn’t a
correct appeal bond in the file.

If you have any questions, please contact me at (214)
653-5702.

SINCERELY,
A-1

/s/ Tania Robinson
TANIA ROBINSON
CHIEF CLERK
COUNTY CRIMINAL COURT OF APPEALS NO. 1

ce: Mary Lynn Collard

Frank Crowley Courts Building 133 N. Industrial
Blvd. Dallas Texas 75207-4313 (214) 653-5700

Current mandamus effort—None

A-2

Rule 14.1(i)(ii}—Additional Orders

Municipal Court
2007 Sep 20—“Collections” Show Cause “order”

CAUSE NO. (See Attachment A) '
THE STATE OF TEXAS §_ IN THE
§ MUNICIPAL COURT
VS. § FORTHE CITY OF
§ RICHARDSON
MARY LYNN COLLARD§ DALLAS COUNTY,
TEXAS

NOTICE TO APPEAR

You, the Defendant named above, are hereby notified
to personally appear before the Richardson
Municipal Court located at 2100 East Campbell
Road, Richardson, Texas 75081 for an Indigency and
Show Cause Hearing on:

OCTOBER 16, 2007 at 8:00 A.M.

before said court regarding two (2) traffic violations
and the City Ordinance Violations at 1615 University
Dr as setout in Exhibit A attached hereto.

You are hereby notified that

1. All appeals have been denied,

2. All fine(s) for all offenses are now due
and payable,

3. You must personally appear for the Hearing
stated above,

4. At the Hearing set forth above, Judgment
entered in your cases and time served credit
will be reviewed as well as indigency status,

1 See No. 05-1445, App. A. Additional Essential Materials
A-3

and

5. Failure to Appear for the Hearing will result
in the issuance of a Capias Pro Fine Warrant
for your arrest thereby incurring additional
warrant fee per case.

ANY AND ALL MOTIONS must be filed in writing
at least ten (10) days prior to the scheduled court
date for consideration by the Municipal Judge.

WITNESS my official signature, this September 20,
2007

/s/ RD Noah
Presiding Judge, Richardson Municipal Court
City of Richardson, Dallas County, Texas

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
This document was served on the Defendant by
mailing to Defendant's last known address on
September 20, 2007.

/s/ Kim D Kierce
Court Clerk, Municipal Court
City of Richardson, Dallas County, Texas

(SEAL MUNICIPAL COURT RICHARDSON
TEXAS)

Mary L Collard
1615 University Dr
Richardson, 75081 *

¢ As such 1n the original.

A-4

2007 Oct 16—Extension, with threat of arrest

CAUSE NO. (See Attachment A) 2
THE STATE OF TEXAS § IN THE MUNICIPAL

COURT
VS. § FOR THE CITY OF
RICHARDSON
MARY L COLLARD § DALLAS COUNTY,
TEXAS
ORDER

The Defendant in the above numbered and entitled
cause(s), having been FOUND GUILTY at Jury Trial
for the offense of: See Attachment A is hereby
ordered to pay the Judgment rendered in this matter
as set forth below.

Total Fine and Cost Assessed $20,686
Payment Due Date October 26, 2007

Defendant is hereby advised that, pursuant to Sec.
51.921, Government Code, an additional $25.00 time-
payment fee (per ease) will be added if the fine and
cost assessed is not paid by the due date stated
above.

Failure to pay the total amount stated above by the
due date will result in additional fees and the
issuance of a Capias Pro Fine WARRANT for the
Defendant's arrest.

3 See No. 05-1445, App. A. Additional Essential Materials.
The difference here is that each item has a judgment amount of
$200.00, except for the “traffic” tickets, which are $283.00, each,
for the total of $20,686, in this “order.”

A-5

10-16-07 _._/s/ RD Noah
Presiding Judge
Richardson Municipal Court

A true and correct copy of this Order was served on
the Defendant by:

[_] Mailing to Defendant's last known address
[{X] In person/hand delivery
[_] Mailing to Defendant's attorney of record [ ]

WITNESS my official signature, this 10-16-07

/s/ Kim D Kierce
Court Clerk, Municipal Court
City of Richardson, Dallas County, Texas

Richardson Municipal Court (www.cor.net) P.O. Box
830978 Richardson, TX 75083-0978 phone: (972) 744-
4500 fax: (972) 744-5800

2006 Mar 2—Deferred Disposition
See No. 05-1445, App. A.

2006 Mar 2—Extension Agreement (one traffic
case)

See No. 05-1445, App. A.

2006 Mar 2—Application for Driver Safety
Course (the other traffic case)

See No. 05-1445, App. A.

A-6

2006 Mar 14—Extensions of Time regarding
traffic cases

See No. 05-1445, App. A.

2006 Mar 20 and 21—Rulings
See No. 05-1445, App. A. (“Housing Code” (101);
Traffic (one); Traffic (the other)).

2006 Apr 10—Ruling denying mandamus
See No. 05-1445, App. A.

2007 Dec 18 State appellate court didn’t order
county appellate court to file/open case.

Order
Order issued December 18, 2007

(Seal of THE STATE OF TEXAS)

In the
Court of Appeals
Fifth District of Texas at Dallas

No. 05-07-01613-CV

IN RE MARY LYNN COLLARD,
Relator

Original Proceeding from the
County Court of Criminal Appeals‘ No. 1 5
Dallas County, Texas

ORDER

Before Justices Whittington, FitzGerald,
and Lang-Miers

Based on the Court's opinion of this date, we
DENY relator's petition for writ of mandamus. We
ORDER that relator Mary Lynn Collard bear the
costs of this original proceeding

/s/ Mark Whittington
MARK WHITTINGTON
JUSTICE

4(1N.B. But see TEX. GOV’T CODE ANN. § 25.0591(c)(1) (County
Criminal Court of Appeals, not County Court of Criminal
Appeals). MLC]

°{N.B. Nosuch court. TEX. GOV’T CODE § 25.0591(c)(1)
creates “County Criminal Court of Appeals of Dallas County;”
§ 25.0591(c)(2), “County Criminal Court of Appeals No. 2 of
Dallas County.” (emphasis added). But, there is no County
Court of Criminal Appeals of Dallas County of any “No.,” and
there is no County Criminal Court of Appeals No. 1 of Dallas
County. See, infra, p.A-31. MLC]

A-8

Opinion

Writ of Mandamus Denied; Opinion Issued
December 18, 2007

(Seal of THE STATE OF TEXAS)

In the
Court of Appeals
Fifth District of Texas at Dallas

No. 05-07-01613-CV

IN RE MARY LYNN COLLARD,
Relator

Original Proceeding from the
County Court of Criminal Appeals No. 1
Dallas County, Texas

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Betore Justices Whittington, FitzGerald,
and Lang-Miers
Opinion by Justice Whittington

Relator complains the trial judge ® has not taken
action on her mandamus petition or ruled on her
“motion for stay.” Based on the record presented,
relator has not shown that she is entitled to relief.

See TEX. R. App. P. 52.8 (a): State ex rel. Hill v. Court

6 [N.B. trial judge? Cf. e.g, nn.1, 2, supra. MLC]
A-9

of Appeals for Fifth Dist., 34 S.W.3d 924, 927 (Tex.
Crim. App. 2001). 7 Accordingly, relator's petition for
mandamus is DENIED.

/s/ Mark Whittington
MARK WHITTINGTON
JUSTICE

071613F.P05

2008 Jan 4 Second state appellate panel’s ruling
on same petition.

Order
Order issued January 4 , 2008

(Seal of THE STATE OF TEXAS)

In the
Court of Appeals
Fifth District of Texas at Dallas

No. 05-07-01760-CV

IN RE MARY LYNN COLLARD,

Relator

‘(N.B. This suggests that Collard has raised an issue of first
impression. So, while mandamus may not follow, this ruling
leaves the issue of first impression totally unresolved. MLC]

A-10

Original Proceeding from the
County Court of Criminal Appeals ® No. 1 °
Dallas County, Texas

ORDER
Before Justices Wright, O'Neill, and Lang

Based on the Court's opinion of this date, we
DENY relator's petition for writ of mandamus. We

ORDER that relator Mary Lynn Collard bear the
costs of this original proceeding.

/s/ Carolyn Wright
CAROLYN WRIGHT
JUSTICE

Opinion

Writ of Mandamus Denied; Opinion Issued
January 4, 2008

(Seal of THE STATE OF TEXAS)

In the
Court of Appeals
Fifth District of Texas at Dallas

8(N.B. Seen.1, supra. MLC]
9(N.B. See n.2, supra. MLC]
A-11

No. 05-07-01760-CV

IN RE MARY LYNN COLLARD,
Relator

Original Proceeding from the
County Court of Criminal Appeals No. 1
Dallas County, Texas

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Before Justices Wright, O'Neill, and Lang
Opinion by Justice Wright

Relator complains the county court judge has not
taken action on her mandamus or ruled on her
motion for stay. Relator has failed to comply with
the requirements for filing a petition for writ of
mandamus. See TEX. R. APP. P. 52.3 and 52.7(a). '°
Accordingly, relator's petition for writ of mandamus
is DENIED. See TEx. R. App. P. 52.8 (a).

10(N.B. This suggests that Collard has to have an order from
the county appellate court for the state appellate court to
review, see ‘TEX. R. APP. P. 52.3G)(1){A), in order that Collard
seek relief for the county appellate court’s refusal to abide by
TEX. R. APP. P. 52.1. Thus, the first panel at least addressed
the Point raised, while remarkably leaving open what they
consider to be an issue of first impression. However, this
second panel even more remarkably doesn’t even come close to
addressing the Point raised. MLC]

A-12

/s/ Carolyn Wright
CAROLYN WRIGHT
JUSTICE

2007 Dec 28 State court of criminal appeals
files petition, opens case.

Postcard Notice of filing/opening case

OFFICIAL NOTICE FROM COURT OF CRIMINAL
APPEALS OF TEXAS
P.O. BOX 12308, CAPITOL STATION, AUSTIN,
TEXAS 78711

RE: Writ No. WR-64,490-02
STYLE: COLLARD, MARY LYNN
TRIAL CT NO: {blank in original]
12/28/2007
I have this day received and presented to the
Court the original application for writ of mandamus.

Louise Pearson, Clerk

MARY LYNN COLLARD
1615 UNIVERSITY DR.
Richardson, TX 75081

Pitney Bowes meter information:
0004236449 JAN 04 2008
MAILED FROM ZIP CODE 78701

Oo S

A-13

Rule 14.1(i)(iii)—Rehearing, or other extension

Most recent—14 December

o, “>

Rule 14.1(i)(iv)—Judgment of different date

Judgment(s) of 2006 Mar 20 and 21
See No. 05-1445, App. A.

> >

Rule 14.1(i)(v)—Statutes and Rules

Richardson Municipal Code

All bold emphasis is added. Jtalics are in the
original.

Nowhere defined—“citizen.”

As was finally conspicuous around the time of the
“14th Amendment,” it matters that the term “citizen”
be defined. This code doesn’t define “citizen.”

Sec. 1-9. Severability of parts of Code.

It is hereby declared to be the intention of the city
council that the sections, paragraphs, sentences,
clauses and phrases of this Code are severable and, if
any phrase, clause, sentence, paragraph or section of
this Code shall be declared unconstitutional by the

A-14

valid judgment or decree of any court of competent
jurisdiction, such unconstitutionality shall not affect
any of the remaining phrases, clauses, sentences,
paragraphs and sections of this Code, since the same
would have been enacted by the city council without
the incorporation in this Code of any such
unconstitutional phrase, clause, sentence, paragraph
or section.

(Code 1966, § 1-6)

Sec. 1-8. General penalty; continuing violations.

(a) In this section "violation of this Code" means:

(1) Doing an act that is prohibited or made or
declared unlawful, an offense or a misdemeanor by
ordinance or by rule or regulation authorized by
ordinance;

(2) Failure to perform an act that is
required to be performed by ordinance or by
rule or regulation authorized by ordinance; or

(3) Failure to perform an act if the failure
is declared a misdemeanor or an offense or
unlawful by ordinance or by rule or regulation
authorized by ordinance.

(b) In this section "violation of this Code" does not
include the failure of a city officer or city employee to
perform an official duty unless it is provided that
failure to perform the duty is to be punished as
provided in this section.

(c) Except as otherwise provided, a person convicted
of a violation of this Code shall be punished by a fine
not exceeding $500.00, except that a fine not
exceeding $2,000.00 shall be imposed for violation of
provisions that govern fire safety, zoning, or public

A-15

health and sanitation, including dumping of refuse.
The penalty imposed for a violation of this Code shall
not exceed or be less than the penalty prescribed by
state law for the same offense under state law. With
respect to violations of this Code that are continuous
with respect to time, each day the violation continues
is a separate offense.

(d) The imposition of a penalty does not prevent
revocation or suspension of a license, permit or
franchise.

(e) Violations of this Code that are continuous with
respect to time may be abated by injunctive or other
equitable relief. The imposition of a penalty does not
prevent equitable relief or civil or quasi-judicial
enforcement of a violation of this Code.

(Code 1966, § 1-5)

State law references: Penalties for ordinance
violations, V.T.C.A., Local Government Code § 54.001
et seq.

Sec. 6-327. Penalty.

(a) Except as stated otherwise, violations of this
article are punishable as provided in section 1-8.

(b) In addition to im,osing a criminal penalty
described in subsection (a) of this section, the city
may, in accordance with V.T.C.A., Local Government
Code ch. 54, subch. B [§ 54.011 et seq.], bring a civil
action against a person violating a provision of this
article. The civil action may include, but is not
limited to, a suit to recover a civil penalty not to
exceed $1,000.00 for each day or portion of a day
during which the violation is continued or committed.

(c) The penalties provided for in subsections (a) and

A-16

(b) of this section are in addition to any other
enforcement remedies that the city may have under
city ordinances and state law.

(Code 1966, § 5-129)

See also Sec. 6-326 (talks about “search warrants,”
thus the policy and intent to engage the criminal
process).

Sec. 6-311. Definitions.

Occupant means any individual living or sleeping in
a building, or having possession of a space within a
building. (emphasis in original).

Owner means a person claiming, or in whom is
vested, the ownership of, dominion over or title to

real property, including but not limited to:
(1) A holder of fee simple title.

(2) The holder of a life estate.

(3) The holder of a leaschold estate for an initial
term of five years or more.

(4) The buyer in a contract for deed.

(5) The mortgagee, receiver, executor or trustee in
control of real property; but not including the holder
of a leasehold estate or tenancy for initial term of
less than five years.

(emphasis in original).

Sec. 6-356. Responsibilities of occupant.

An occupant shall be responsible for the following: ...
(9) Dispose of all his garbage and any other

A-17

organic waste which might provide food for
rodents and all rubbish in a clean and sanitary
manner by placing it in the garbage disposal
facilities or garbage or rubbish storage
containers.

(Code 1966, § 5-135)

Sec. 6-367. Structural standards.

An owner shall:

(1) Protect the exterior surfaces of a structure
which are subject to decay by application of
paint or other coating.

(18) Provide every exterior wall be free of holes,
breaks, loose or rotting boards or timbers, and any
other conditions which might admit rain, or
dampness to the interior portions of the walls or to
the occupied spaces of the building. All siding
material shall be kept in repair.

(20) Provide and maintain all portions, additions or
sections of a roof including, but not limited to: fascia,
eaves, soffit, sheathing, rafter tails, barge rafter,
vent screening, gutters, downspouts, roof jacks and
lead or metal flashing. They shall be complete with
all trim strips, moldings, brackets, braces and
supports in accordance with common building
practices. No item shall display signs of
deterioration, abuse or improper installation that
could be construed to affect the purpose of that item
or cause damage to the immediate area or roof
structure, that could allow dampness or admit rain to
the interior of that building.

(32) Provide that all exterior wood surfaces, other

A-18

than decay resistant woods, be protected from the
elements and decay by painting or other protective
covering or treatment. All siding shall be weather
resistant and watertight. All masonry joints shall be
sufficiently tuck pointed to insure water and air
tightness.

(33) Provide and maintain garages, storage
buildings and all other accessory structures in good
repair and sound structural condition.

Sec. 6-201. Permit required.

It shall be unlawful for any person to construct a
fence over 2 1/2 feet in height on any lot without
having first obtained a fence permit therefor from the
building inspection department. Adequate plans and
specifications, as determined by the chief building
official, must accompany each application for a
permit.

(Code 1966, § 5-49)

Sec. 6-202. Inspection and maintenance.

When any fence is completed, it must be inspected.
The building inspection department shall be notified
upon completion of the fence. The chief building
official will issue a card of acceptance if the fence
complies with the provisions of this article, or it will
be rejected. All fences constructed under the
provisions of this article shall be maintained so
as to comply with the requirements of this
article at all times. Fences shall be maintained
‘by the owner or person in charge of the

A-19

property in as near as possible the condition of
such fence when installed and accepted as
provided herein, and shall be maintained as
follows:

(1) Such fence shall not be out of vertical
alignment more than 20 percent.

(2) All damaged, removed or missing portions
of such fence shall be replaced or repaired with
comparable materials of a comparable color to
the remaining portion of such fence.

(Code 1966, § 5-58; Ord. No. 3285-A, § 1, 5-8-00)

Sec. 21-57. Mandatory property owners'
association.

(a) When a subdivision contains streets, sewers,
sewage treatment facilities, water supply systems,
drainage systems or structures, parks, landscaping
systems or features, irrigation systems, screening
walls, living screens, buffering systems, subdivision
entryway features (including monuments or other
signage), or other physical facilities or grounds held
in common that are not to be maintained by the city,
the city may require the establishment and creation
of a mandatory property owners' association to
assume and be responsible for the continuous and
perpetual operation, maintenance and supervision of
such facilities or grounds.

(b) The city is not responsible for enforcing any
private deed restrictions or for the supervision of any
property owners’ association.

(c) A property owners' association shall be
established and created to assume and be responsible

A-20

for the continuous and perpetual operation,
maintenance and supervision of landscape systems,
features or elements located in parkways, common
areas between screening walls or living screens and
adjacent curbs or street pavement edges, areas
adjacent to drainage ways or drainage structures or
at subdivision entryways, open space, common areas
or properties including but not limited to: landscape
features and irrigation systems, subdivision
entryway features and monuments, private amenity
center, playgrounds, pavilions, ponds, detention
ponds, off-street parking for a private amenity
center, swimming pool, exercise trail, private
neighborhood park and related amenities.
Subdivision entryway treatments or features shall
not be allowed unless a mandatory property owners’
association as required herein is established and
created.

(d) All open space and common properties or areas,
facilities, structures, improvements, systems, or
other property that are to be operated, maintained
and/or supervised by the property owners’ association
shall be dedicated by easement or deeded in fee
simple ownership interest to the property owners
association after construction and installation as
applicable by the owner and shall be clearly
identified on the record final plat of the property.

(e) A copy of the agreements, covenants and
restrictions establishing and creating the property
owners' association must be approved by the city
attorney prior to the approval of the final plat of the
subdivision and must be filed of record with said
final plat in the plat records of the county. The plat.
shall clearly identify all common areas or grounds
A-21

that are to be operated, maintained and/or
supervised by the property owners' association.

(f) Ata minimum, the agreements, covenants and
restrictions establishing and creating the property
owners' association required herein shall contain
and/or provide for the following:

(1) Definitions of terms contained therein;

(2) Provisions acceptable to the city attorney for
the establishment and organization of the mandatory
property owners’ association and the adoption of
bylaws for said property owners' association,
including provisions requiring that the owner(s) of
any lot or lots within the applicable subdivision and
any successive purchaser(s) shall automatically and
mandatorily become a member of the property
owners’ association;

(3) The initial term of the agreement, covenants
and restrictions establishing and creating the
property owners' association shall be for a 25-year
period and shall automatically renew for successive
ten-year periods, and the property owners’
association may not be dissolved without the prior
written consent of the city;

(4) Provisions acceptable to the city attorney to
ensure the continuous and perpetual use, operation,
maintenance and/or supervision of all facilities,
structures, improvements, systems, open space or
common areas that are the responsibility of the
property owners' association and to establish a
reserve fund for such purposes;

(5) Provisions prohibiting the amendment of any
portion of the property owners' association's
agreements, covenants or restrictions pertaining to

A-22

the use, operation, maintenance and/or supervision
of any facilities, structures, improvements, systems,
area or grounds that are the responsibility of the
property owners’ association without the prior
written consent of the city;

(6) The nght and ability of the city or its lawful
agents, after due notice to the property owners'
association, to maintain the common areas, to
remove any landscape systems, features or elements
that cease to be maintained by the property owners’
association; to perform the responsibilities of the
property owners’ association and its board of
directors if the property owners' association fails to
do so in compliance with any provisions of the
agreements, covenants or restrictions of the property
owners' association or of any applicable city codes or
regulations; to assess the property owners'
association for all costs incurred by the city in
performing said responsibilities if the property
owners’ association fails to do so; and/or to avail itself
of any other enforcement actions available to the city
pursuant to state law or city codes or regulations;
and

(7) Provisions indemnifying and holding the city
harmless from any and all costs, expenses, suits,
demands, liabilities or damages including attorney
fees and costs of suit, incurred or resulting from the
city's maintenance of the common areas and/or
removal of any landscape systems, features or
elements that cease to be maintained by the property
owners’ association.

(g) Builders are required to post notice in a
prominent place in all model homes and sales offices

A-23

stating that a property owners’ association has been
established and membership is mandatory for all
property owners. The notice shall state ata
minimum that the builder shall provide any person
upon their request the association documents and a
five-year projection of dues, income and association
expenses.

(h) Prior to the transfer of the control of the
property owners’ association to the lot owners, the
developer must provide a reserve fund equivalent to
two months' dues based on full property owners'
association membership.

G) Concurrent with the transfer of the property
owners’ association, the developer must transfer to
the property owners’ association control over all
utilities related to property and amenities to be
owned by the property owners' association. The
developer must also disclose to the property owners'
association the total cost to date related to the
operation and maintenance of common property and
amenities.

(Ord. No. 3599, § 1, 3-26-07)

TEX. CRIM. PROC. CODE. ANN.

Art. 42.07. [773] [860-861] Reasons to Prevent
Sentence.

Before pronouncing sentence, the defendant shall be
asked whether he has anything to say why the
sentence should not be pronounced against him. The
only reasons which can be shown, on account
of which sentence cannot be pronounced, are:

A-24

1. That the defendant has received a pardon from
the proper authority, on the presentation of which,
legally authenticated, he shall be discharged.

2. That the defendant is incompetent to stand
trial; and if evidence be shown to support a finding
of incompetency to stand trial, no sentence shall be
pronounced, and the court shall proceed under
Chapter 46B; and

3. When a person who has been convicted escapes
after conviction and before sentence and an
individual supposed to be the same has been arrested
he may before sentence is pronounced, deny that he
is the person convicted, and an issue be accordingly
tried before a jury, or before the court if a jury is
waived, as to his identity.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722.
Amended by Acts 1975, 64th Leg., p. 1102, ch. 415,
Sec. 3, eff. June 19, 1975. Amended by Acts 1981,
67th Leg., p. 810, ch. 291, Sec. 115, eff. Sept. 1, 1981;
Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 35, Sec. 3, eff. Jan. 1, 2004.

Art. 42.07 (West 2005) (emphasis added).

Art. 45.018. Complaint [Municipal Court]

(a) For purposes of this chapter, a complaint is a
sworn allegation charging the accused with the
commission of an offense.

(b) A defendant is entitled to notice ofa
complaint against the defendant not later than
the day before the date of any proceeding in the

prosecution of the defendant under the complaint.
A-25

The defendant may waive the right to notice granted
by this subsection.

Art. 45.018 (West Supp. 2004-2005).

Art. 45.0215. Plea by Minor and Appearance of
Parent

(a) If a defendant is younger than 17 years of age and
has not had the disabilities of minority removed, the
judge or justice:

(1) must take the defendant’s plea in open court;
and

(2) shall issue a summons to compel the
defendant’s parent, guardian, or managing
conservator to be present during:

(A) the taking of the defendant’s plea; and

(B) all other proceedings relating to the
case.

Art. 45.0215(a) (West Supp. 2004-2005) (emphasis
added) (not directly applicable, here, but this clearly
illustrates and confirms the fact that the

“arraignment” is a “proceeding” for purposes of Art.
45.018(b)).

Art. 17.151. RELEASE BECAUSE OF DELAY.

Sec. 1. A defendant who is detained in jail pending
trial of an accusation against him must be released
either on personal bond or by reducing the amount of
bail required, if the state is not ready for trial of the
criminal action for which he is being detained within:

A-26

(1) 96 days from the commencement of his
detention if he is accused of a felony;

(2) 30 days from the commencement of his
detention if he is accused of a misdemeanor
punishable by a sentence of imprisonment in jail for
more than 180 days;

(3) 15 days from the commencement of his
detention if he is accused of a misdemeanor
punishable by a sentence of imprisonment for 180
days or less; or

(4) five days from the commencement of his
detention if he is accused of a misdemeanor
punishable by a fine only.

Sec. 2. The provisions of this article do not apply to a
defendant who is:

(1) serving a sentence of imprisonment for
another offense while the defendant is serving that
sentence;

(2) being detained pending trial of another
accusation against the defendant as to which the
applicable period has not yet elapsed;

(3) incompetent to stand trial, during the period
of the defendant's incompetence; or

(4) being detained for a violation of the conditions
of a previous release related to the safety of a victim
of the alleged offense or to the safety of the
community under this article.

Sec. 3. Repealed by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., ch. 110,
Sec. 2.

Added by Acts 1977, 65th Leg., p. 1972, ch. 787, Sec.
2, eff. July 1, 1978.

A-27

Sec. 2 amended by Acts 2005, 79th Leg., ch. 110, Sec.
1, eff. Sept. 1, 2005; Sec. 3 repealed by Acts 2005,
79th Leg., ch. 110, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 2005.

Texas Government Code
§ 25.0591

(c) Dallas County has the following county criminal
courts of appeals:

(1) County Criminal Court of Appeals of Dailas
County, Texas; and

(2) County Criminal Court of Appeals No. 2 of
Dallas County, Texas.

O Oo

Rule 14.1(i)(vi}—Additional Essential Materials

Case Nos. for the 103 complaints
See No. 05-1445, App. A.

Example of the “magistrate warning” and pre-
trial Bond.

02/14/2006 11:08 FAX 9727445833 MC JUDGE
- RFD JAIL ARRAIGN [p] 001/024

S.0.P.4.04.24-001

2/06

SERVICE# 06-103854
ID# 221995

STATE OF TEXAS
ARRESTING OFFICER 00798
COUNTY OF DALLAS
DATE OF ARREST 02/13/2006

I, the undersigned, a judge of the Municipal Court of
the City of Richardson, sitting as a magistrate, do
hereby certify that:

(NAME) COLLARD MARY LYNN
(RACE) W (SEX) F (AGE) 66 (DATE OF BIRTH)
02/03/1940
(ADDRESS) 1615 UNVERSITY "' DR.
RICHARDSON (STATE) TX

appeared before me 1000 (AM) '? (PM) on the
14th_ day of February _ ,2006

1! As such in the original.
12 This is circled in the original. Bold emphasis used as a
substitute.

A-29

at the Richardson Police Department, 140 N.
Greenville, at the Richardson Municipal Court, 2100
East Campbell Rd., Richardson, Dallas County,
Texas, and at the time I warned the above named
person of the following accusation against him, to
wit:

BUILDING VIOLATION - EXTERIOR
PROTECTIVE COAT - CITY — 8200 - MC
wRt # NIO1355A
and of the affidavit filed in support thereof and gave
the following warning:

"YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO RETAIN LEGAL
COUNSEL AND TO HAVE LEGAL COUNSEL
PRESENT AND WITH YOU DURING ANY
INTERVIEW WITH A PEACE OFFICER OR
ATTORNEY REPRESENTING THE STATE. YOU
HAVE RIGHT (sic) TO HAVE LEGAL COUNCEL ®
APPOINTED IF YOU ARE AN INDIGENT PERSON
UNABLE TO AFFORD LEGAL COUNSEL AND
YOUR OFFENSE IS GREATER THAN A CLASS C
MISDEMEANOR. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO
REMAIN SILENT, (sic) YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED
TO MAKE A STATEMENT. ANY STATEMENT
MADE BY YOU CAN BE USED AGAINST YOU IN
COURT. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO STOP AN
INTERVIEW OR QUESTIONING AT ANY TIME.
IF YOUR OFFENSE IS A FELONY, YOU HAVE
THE RIGHT TO AN EXAMINIG " TRAIL. © IF
YOU ARE A NON-CITIZEN, A CONVICTION OF

13 As such in the original.
14 As such in the original.
15 As such in the original.

A-30

THIS OFFENSE COULD RESULT IN THE
INTERVENTION OF AND YOUR POSSIBLE
DEPORTATION BY THE U.S. CITIZENSHIP AND
IMMIGRATION SERVICES. * IF YOU AREA
NON-CITIZEN, YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO
CONTACT YOUR CONSULAR OFFICIAL - A
PROCEDURE FOR THAT PURPOSE WILL BE
MADE AVAILABLE TO YOU AT THE
CONCLUSION OF THIS ARRAIGNMENT
PROCESS."

After being by me duly warned, the above named
person is remanded to the custody of the Richardson
Police Department and bond set at

$ 600 250-00 100.00
In witness whereof, | hereto subscribed my name:

/s/ RD Noah

Judge of the Municipal C Court
City of Richardson, Texas

Magistrate
Plea NG __ Servedat$ —_ per 12 hours served:
Fine Amt. $ __ Commencing on ___ ,20 |

16 [N.B. “Citizenship and Immigration” used to be just
Canadian. Formerly the INS, under DOJ, “Citizenship and
Immigration” is a new department under “Homeland Security.”

MLC|

A-31

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0644%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
