# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bishop v. United States (No. 07-911)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0494%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

an

Supreme
2 G3 p F | Cautt U.S.
No. 07-
07-911 JAN 4 - 2008
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
Sn Whe

Supreme Court of the United States

©

WINFORD KENT BISHOP,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES COuRT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WINFORD KENT BISHOP
Counsel of Record
1080 Old Roswell Road
Roswell, Georgia 30076

(770) 587-2857

December 31, 2007

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW '
1.

By conclusively presuming intentional ignoring of
unidentified mail slips in a shared post office box,
contrary to its own administrative factfinding, and
not requiring use of regular mail, did the GA
Supreme Court deny 14 Amdt. Due Process
under Jones v. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220 (2006), and
Luessenhop v. Clinton Co., N.Y., 466 F.3d 259 (2nd
Cir. 2006) 2 .

2.

In relying on a state conclusive presumption in
reciprocal atiorney disciplinary proceedings, did
the Fifth Circuit deny 5'n Amdt. Due Process under
Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46 (1917); Tu v. National
Transp. Safety Bd., 470 F.3d 941 (9! Cir. 2006), or
violate “principles of right and justice” under
Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278 (1957)2

KA

Did the Fifth Circuit abuse its discretion under
Rule 46(a), Fed.R.App.P., and principles of right
and justice applied in Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641
(1988), in not readmitting Petitioner to its Bar by
interposing “this court’s practice” (unpublished) of
requiring readmission to original, out-of-circuit
state court? But cf. Surick v. Killion, 449 F.3d 520
(3° Cir. 2006), and In re Fallin, 255 F.3d 195 (4'» Cir.
2001).

' Petitioner has at all material times been a member in
uninterrupted good standing of the Bar of the Supreme
Court of the United States (1978) and other courts which
were informed of GA action. Aff. to Jt.Pets., 152 & Ex.1.

“li-

LIST OF DEEMED PARTIES TO CASE
IN COURT OF APPEALS

Fifth Circuit judges: Edith H. Jones, Chief Judge;?
Carolyn Dineen King, Thomas M. Reaviey,? Will
Garwood, E. Grady Jolly, Patrick E. Higginbotham,
W. Eugene Davis, Jerry E. Smith,4 John M. Duhé Jr.,
Jacques L. Wiener, Jr., Rhesa H. Barksdale, Emilio
M. Garza,> Harold R. DeMoss, Jr., Fortunato P.
Benavides, Carl E. Stewart, James L. Dennis, Edith
Brown Clement,é Edward Charles Prado, Priscilla
Richman Owen, Circuit Judges. Fifth Circuit clerk:
Charles R. Fulbruge Ill.

eee eee eer ——

? Acting as sole judge. November 9, 2006, and panel
member, August 10, 2007, to reconsider own decision.

> Panel member, August 10, 2007.

4 Panel member, August 8, 2006, and Aucust 10, 2007.

> Panel member, August 8. 2006.

6 Panel member, August 8, 2006.

- ill -

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

LIST OF DEEMED PARTIES TO CASE IN COURT OF
APPEALS

INTRODUCTION
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION
CONSTITUTIONAL & STATUTORY PROVISIONS
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
GA PROCEEDINGS
GA Bar's Informal Notice of Grievance
GA Bar's Insufficient Formal Notice of Action
GA Discipline
FIFTH CIRCUIT PROCEEDINGS
1994 Disposition by Chief Judge
2006 Jones v. Flowers

2006 Disposition by First Panel

2006 Ruling by Chief Judge

2007 Disposition by Second Panel 15
REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED
1. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER THE GA SUPREME
COURT DENIED 14™ AMDT. DUE PROCESS UNDER
SELLING FACTOR ONE. 17
Supreme Court 18
Second Circuit 18
Third Circuit 20
Seventh Circuit 20
Ninth Circuit 20, 21
Eleventh Circuit 21
Application to Pre-Formal Complaint Stage ys
Application of Telephone Cases 22
Application to Bar's “Test Case” 23
Application to Lawyers 24
Application to Collateral Proceeding Because
Jones Expresses Old Rule With “New Wrinkle” 25

2. THERE IS CONFLICT ON THE NATURE AND
SIGNIFICANCE OF STATE DISCIPLINE UPON
RECIPROCAL FEDERAL ACTION UNDER

SELLING FACTOR TWO 26

3. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER INADEQUATE
STATE NOTICE SHOULD PREVENT RECIPROCAL
DISCIPLINE UNDER SELLING FACTOR THREE,
“GRAVE REASON” UNDER “PRINCIPLES OF
RIGHT AND JUSTICE,” ASIDE FROM

CONSTITUTIONAL CONSIDERATIONS. 27

4. THERE IS CONFLICT AS TO THE SCOPE OF

RULE 46(a), FED.R.APP.P. 28
Fourth Circuit 28
Third Circuit 29?

5. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER FEDERAL COURTS
CAN APPLY CONCLUSIVE PRESUMPTIONS
UTILIZED IN STATE PROCEEDINGS. 32

6. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER “THIS COURT'S
PRACTICE” IS DISGUISED RESIDENCY TEST

INVALID UNDER FRAZIER PRINCIPLES OF

RIGHT AND JUSTICE. 34

7. THERE IS CONFLICT REGARDING PROCEDURE
FOR CONDUCTING RECIPROCAL ATTORNEY
DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS. 34

CONCLUSION 34

o Wi -

APPENDIX

Decision of Three-Judge Panel, Fifth Circuit,
August 10, 2007 la

Order of Chief Judge, Fifth Circuit, Nov.9, 2006 5a

Decision of Three-Judge Panel, Fifth Circuit,

August 8, 2006 7a
Order of Chief Judge, Fifth Circuit,

July 15, 1994 10a
Order on Petitions for Rehearing,

October 12, 2007 lla
Order on Petitions for Rehearing,

October 4, 2006 13a
Letter of Clerk of Fifth Circuit on Rehearing,

August 4, 1994 15a
Email from Fifth Circuit Clerk, June 13, 2006 17a

Email from Fifth Circuit Clerk,
October 6, 2006 18a

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions 19a
Art. |, Sec. 8, Cl. 3 (“Commerce Clause”) 19a

Art. IV, Sec. | (“Full Faith and Credit
Clause") 19a

- Vil -

Art. IV, Sec. 2 (“Privileges and Immunities
Clause”)

Art. Vi, Par. 2 (“Supremacy Clause”)

Fifth Amat. (“Due Process Clause”)
Fourteenth Amat. (“Due Process Clause”)
28 U.S.C. §46(c)

28 U.S.C. §1738

28 U.S.C. §2077 (a)

Rules 27(c), Fed.R.App.P.

Rule 46(a), Fed.R.App.P.

Rule 47(b), Fed.R.App.P.

19a

19a

19a

20a

20a

20a

21a

2la

2la

2la

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Abba Gana v. Abba Gana, 251 Ga. 340,
304 S.E.2d 909 (1983) 12

Barnard v. Thorsten, 489 U.S. 546,
109 S.Ct. 1294, (1989) 34

Bishop v. United States Court of Appeals, Fifth
Circuit, Case No. 06-738, cert denied
127 S.Ct. 1357 (2007) 15, 34

Bishop v. United States District Court, NDGA,
Case No. 02-1598, cert. denied, 539 U.S. 943,
123 S.Ct. 2620 (2003) 2 %3

Castillo v. U.S. Atty. Gen., 181 Fed.Appx. 885
(11 Cir. 2006) 21

Chaidez v. Gonzales, 486 F.3d 1079
(9°" Cir. 2007) 20, 33

Chambers v. NASCO, Inc. 501 U.S. 32,
111 S.Ct. 2123 (1991) 30

Chambers v. Navarre, 231 Ga.App. 318,
498 S.E.2d 173 (1998) 33

Tu v. National Transp. Safety Bd.,
470 F.3d 941 (9'» Cir. 2006) i, 21-22

Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp..,
486 U.S. 800, 108 S.Ct. 2166 (1988) 1, 34

1X

Dominguez v. Unifed States Aft'y Gen.,
284 F.3d 1258 (1 1" Cir. 2002) 21

Dusenbery v. United States, 534 U.S. 161,
122 §.Ct. 694 (2002) 25

Ex parte Burr, 9 Wiheat. 529, 22 U.S. 168 (1824) 24
Ex parte Tillinghast, 4 Pet. 108, 29 U.S. 21 (1830) 26

Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. De la Cuesta.
458 U.S. 141, 102 S.Ct. 3014 (1982) 30

Foehl v. United States, 238 F.3d 474
(3°9 Cir. 2001) 22

Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 64},
107 S.Ct. 2607 (1987) i, 25-26, 30, 32-34

Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773.
95 S.Ct. 2004 (1975) 32

Hamilton v. Renewed Hope, Inc., 277 Ga. 465,
589 S.E.2d 81 (2003); 281 Ga. 393,
637 S.E.2d 412 (2006) 22

Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460
85 S.Ct. 1136 (1965) 32

Hess v. Pawloski, 274 U.S. 352,
47 S.Ct. 632 (1927) 25

In re Bishop, 264 Ga. 241, 442 S.E.2d 734
(1994), cert. denied 513 US. 987,
115 S.Ct. 483 (1994) i, 1. 9-10, 12-17, 22, 33

in re Bishop (5% Cir. July 14, 1994) 15

In re Bishop (1 1" Cir. Jan. 5, 1995), cert.
denied 516 US. 880, 116 S.Ct. 215 (1995) 15

In re Bishop (NDGA Feb. 26, 2002), aff'd
52 Fed.Appx. 493 (11'» Cir. 2002), cert.

denied, 539 U.S. 943, 123 S.Ct. 2620 (2003) 15
In re Calvo, 88 F.3d 962 (11 Cir. 1996) 24
in re Desilets, 291 F.3d 925 (6 Cir. 2002) 30
In re Ellison, 280 Ga. 303, 627 S.E.2d 25 (2006) 33
In re Fallin, 255 F.3d 195 (4 Cir. 1995) i, 28-29
In re Kandekore, 460 F.3d 276 (2° Cir. 2006) 24

In re Kandekore. 140 Fed.Appx. 848

(11% Cir. 2005) 24
Inre Morse, Ga., 265 Ga. 353.

456 S.E.2d 52 (1995) 33
In re Mosher, 25 F.3d 397(6'" Cir.) 27
In re Palmisano, 70 F.3d 483 (7 Cir. 1995) 27

in re Perry, 280 Ga. 119, 622 S.E.2d 334 (2005) 33

x1

In re Poole, 222 F.3d 618 (9'* Cir. 2000) 30

In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544,
88 S.Ct. 1222 (1968) 24, 27-28

In re Smith, 100 FSupp.2d 412 (N.D.TX 2000) 27
In re Snyder, 472 U.S. 634, 105 S.Ct. 2874 (1985) 24

In re Surrick, 2001 WL 1823945 (EDPA 2001), aff'd

338 F.3d 224 (3 Cir. 2003) 29
Jones v. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220,

126 S.Ct. 1708 (2006) i, 14-15, 18-25
King v. Bishop (Ga. 1992) 8

Laborers’ Pension Fund v. Blackmore Sewer
Constr., Inc., 298 F.3d 600 (7 Cir. 2002) 22

Londoner v. City of Denver, 210 U.S. 373,
28 S. Ct. 708 (1908) 13

Luessenhop v. Clinton Co. N.Y., 466 F.3d 259
(2°¢ Cir. 2006) i, 18-20

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,
339 U.S. 306, 70 S$.Ct. 652 (1950) 23-25

Office of Disciplinary Counsel v. Marcone,
579 Pa. 1, 855 A.2d 654 (2004) 29

Office of Disciplinary Counsel v. Surick,
561 Pa. 167, 749 A.2d 441 (2000) 29

Xli

Peralta-Cabrera v. Gonzales, 501 F.3d 837

(7'» Cir. 2007) 20
Perez-Alevante v. Gonzales, 197 Fed.Appx. 191

(3°49 Cir. 2006) 20
Plemons v. Gale, 396 F.3d 569 (4th Cir. 2005) 22

RR Village Assoc. v. Denver Sewer Corp.,
826 F.2d 1197 (2°4 Cir. 1987) 13

Roland v. Shelton, 106 Ga.App. 581,
127 S.E.2d 497 (1962) 12

Saenz v. Roe, 526 U.S. 489, 119 S.Ct. 1518 (1999) 34

Sanders v. Bishop (Family Ct. Greenville
Co., SC 1992} 8

Sandstrom v. Montana, 442 U.S. 510,
99 S.Ct. 2450 (1979) on. ao

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners of NM,
353 U.S. 232, 77 S.Ct. 752 (1957) ae

Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46,
of S.Ct. 377 (1917) i, 16-17, 26-28, 30

Sperry v. Florida ex rel. Florida Bar,
373 U.S. 379, 83 S.Ct. 1322 (1963) 30

Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511,
87 S.Ct. 625 (1967) 24

Xili

Strickland v. Willingham, 49 Ga.App. 355,

175 S.E. 605 (1934) 12
Supreme Ct. of NH v. Piper, 470 U.S. 274,

105 $.Ct. 1272 (1985) 34
Supreme Ct. of VA v. Friedman, 487 US. 59,

108 S.Ct. 2260 (1988) 34
Surrick v. Killion, 449 F.3d 520 (3'¢ Cir. 2006) i, 29-32
Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278,

77 S.Ct. 1274 (1957) 25, 27-28, 30, 32
United States v. Hvass, 355 U.S. 570,

78 S.Ct. 501(1968) 3]
United States v. One Star Class Sloop Sailboat,

458 F.3d 16 (15 Cir. 2006) 25
Whorton v. Bockting, 127 S.Ct. 1173 (2007) ya

Willner v. Committee on Character & Fitness,
373 U.S. 96, 83 S.Ct. 1175 (1963) 24

Wuchter v. Pizzutti, 276 U.S. 13,
48 S.Ct. 259 (1928) y a"

United States Constitution
Art. |, Sec. 8, Cl. 3 (“Commerce Clause") 2, 32

Art. IV, Sec. 1 (“Full Faith and Credit Clause”) 1,2, 16

X1V
Art. IV, Sec. 2, Cl. 1 (“Privileges and Immunities
Clause) 2, 34
Art. Vi, Par. 2 (“Supremacy Clause”) 2, 30-31

5 Amendment (“Due Process
Clause”) I, 1, 2, 20-22, 24, 34

14th Amendment (“Due Process
Clause”) i, 2, 10, 12-14, 16-17, 23-24, 33

Federal Statutes

28 U.S.C. § 46(c} 2,14, 34
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) 2
28 U.S.C. § 1654 30
28 U.S.C. § 1738 1,16
28 U.S.C. § 2071(a) 30
28 U.S.C. § 2077(a) 2.15, 34
42 U.S.C. § 1983 29

Federal Rules
Fed.R.App.P.

Rule 27(c) 2, 14, 34

Rule 46 i, 2, 28, 34

XV

Rule 47(b)
Fed.R.Civ.P.

Rule 83
Local Rule 83.6.VII(I}, EDPA
Supreme Court Rules 11, 12.4
Georgia Constitution
Art. |, Sec. |, Par. | (“Due Process”)
Georgia Bar Rules
Old Bar Rules

Old Bar Rule 4-208. 1

Old Bar Rule 4-208.2

Old Bar Rule 4-208.3
New/Amended Bar Rules

New Bar Rule 1-207

New Bar Rule 4-208. 1 (b)

1S

30

29, 32

1,14

10-12

13

ie

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, a member in uninterrupted good
standing of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the
United States (since 1978), and other courts,!
petitions for Writ of Certiorari to review judgments
that deny Petition for Readmission to Fifth Circuit
Bar. The court admits that Petitioner is a member
of the Bar of “some other courts,” but denies them
Full Faith and Credit. Instead, it relies on “this
court's practice,” an unpublished circuit rule, to
deny readmission notwithstanding an underlying
state disciplinary decision that is unworthy of
federal reciprocal recognition under 5 Amdt.
Due Process or principles of right and justice.

OPINIONS BELOW

Opinions are dated Aug. 10, 2007 (la), Nov. 9,
2006 (5a}, Aug. 8, 2006 (7a), and July 15, 1994
(10a), and are so far unreporied. Material
communications from the clerk's office are dated
Aug. 4, 1994 (15a), June 13, 2006 (17a), and Oct.
6, 2006 (18a).

JURISDICTION

To the Aug. 10, 2007 (la) opinion Petitioner filed
petitions for panel and en banc rehearing that
were denied Oct. 12, 2007 (lla). This Court has
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1). Petitioner
invokes this Court's jurisdiction over previous Fifth
Circuit decisions pursuant to Sup.Ct.R.12.4 and
Christianson v. Colt Indus. Op. Corp., 486 U.S. 800,
818 (1988).

’ Aff.Jt.Pets. 752; ex.1, July 13, 2006.

iv

CONSTITUTIONAL & STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Art. |, IV, VE 5th, 14? Amadts., U.S. Const.; 28 U.S.C.

§§46(c), 2077(a); FRAP 27(c), 46(a), 47(b) in App.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner is actually innocent of any misconduct
(Aff.,J.E.Spence,Jr., former Assistant General Coun-
sel (“AGC”) of State Bar of GA (“Bar”)}. He wona
fee arbitration and reconsideration on the same
facts as later alleged in Bar complaints (T-95).2, No
complaint was sworn. And there is not in any
record any sworn evidence against Petitioner on
the merits of the grievances whatsoever.

GEORGIA PROCEEDINGS
GA Bar's Informal Notice of Grievance

Petitioner was admitted to the Bar in 1971, and
as required, furnished his address and telephone
number fo the Bar.

An ex-client filed an unsworn petition for fee
arbitration with the Bar in Jan. 1991, which
scheduled arbitration on July 12, 1991, and
notified Petitioner by regular mail. Petitioner filed
a response.?

May 1991, the ex-client hired a lawyer who filed
with the Bar an unsworn grievance against
Petitioner on the same subject matter as her

2 Transcript, Special Master's Hearing, May 20, 1993 (“T-"), at
331 (5-9) (“Special Master: *** Mr. Bishop came in and
vigorously opposed - well, defended himself in the fee
arbitration, won, won, won, won. | mean he certainly wasn't
running from a fight he couldn’t win because he won it.").
Victory caused Petitioner to think grievance maiter was
“dead, gone and over with.” T-98, T-331 (7-9).

3 Underlying facts are sketched in Cert. Petition (p.2-4), filed
May 5, 2003, in Case No. 02-1598, Bishop v. U.S. District Court,
NDGA.

=

client's arbitration petition. Petitioner was notified
by regular mail of the grievance on June 5, 1991,
and he filed a response with the Bar.

The day prior to the fee arbitration, July 11, 1991,
Bar employee Martha Winstead telephoned
Petitioner on his Bar-listed number to remind him of
fee arbitration being held the following day, July
12, 1991, at Bar headquarters (T-322).

From July 9, 1991 to Dec. 1993, Petitioner resided
in Dawson Co., GA. Throughout that period, the
Dawson Co. sheriff and postmaster knew that
Petitioner lived in Dawson Co., knew that
Petitioner lived with his parents in Dawson Co., and
knew where Petitioner and his parents lived in
Dawson Co. (1-347; 348; 349) (Affid. Padgett
(1994); Affid. Cofield (1994)).

July 12, 1991, prior to fee arbitration held that
day, Petitioner told AGC Paul Cohen in person at
Bar headquarters in Atlanta, GA, that he lived in
Dawson Co. (1-258; 264; 308; 322-323). Petitioner
extracted a promise from AGC Cohen to
telephone him before anything substantive
happened in the case, on which Petitioner relied
(T-98; 223; 308; Affid. Petitioner at 3 (Jan. 22, 1993);
Petitioner's Motion, Mar. 18, 1993, p.6).

Shortly after losing the fee arbitration and in July
1991, the ex-client filed with the Bar his own
grievance against Petitioner raising the same
issues. The Bar notified Petitioner by regular mail,
and Petitioner filed in July and Oct. 1991, with
Cohen or his secretary responses to the two
grievances.

AGC Cohen knew no later than Nov. 18, 1991,
that Petitioner was using a local mailing address,

me

Posi Office Box 11813, Atlanta, GA 30355 (“the
post office box address”) (T-7 (stipulation); D-1; D-
2) because on that date the AGC addressed a
letter to Petitioner at the post office box address,
mailed by regular mail, which Petitioner received.
Indeed there were telephone calls between AGC
Cohen & Petitioner during this period (1-259, 264).
At all relevant times, Gayle Baker was
Membership Coordinator for the Bar and kept the
Official membership list on computer (T-49; 271).
Prior to July 9, 1991, Petitioner's address on the
Official membership list was 305 Buckhead
Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30305 (“Buckhead, Fulton
Co. address”) (T-90). Petitioner moved from the
Buckhead, Fulton Co. address on July 9, 1991 (T-
30). Petitioner told Membership Coordinator Baker
on Oct. 4, 1991, that he lived in Dawson Co. (T-29;
218: 280; 309; 354). He did so in answer to her
question whether there should be a change of
address in the course of his paying his delinquent
1991 Bar dues. He procured from Ms. Baker in her
own handwriting a receipt for 1991 Bar dues
suggesting remission of a $50 penalty for late
payment, which she signed as “Office Manager”
(1-218; 280 (19-25)4; D-19). As Membership
Coordinator for the Bar, as a part of her normal
duties, Ms. Baker would take changes of address
verbally or by telephone (T-221; 282: 285). Ms.
Baker neglected to make any change to the Bar's

4 1-280 (19-25) (“Q [Petitioner] And why was [the receipt]
less? Why was it $50 less than what it should have been? A
{Gayle Baker] | don't remember. Q@ Was it because | would
have told you that ! was no longer at 305 Buckhead Avenue
and iived in Dawson County? A Yes. sir.").

A

record address on file for Petitioner (1-283; 351). At
all material times a GA lawyer could use an office
address, a residence address, or a post office box
address as his or her official address (T-276).

At a subsequent hearing, the Special Master
found as fact that Petitioner took reasonable steps
after July 9, 1991, to change his address with the
Bar and thought the Bar had his correct adaress.

July 11, 1991, Petitioner filed change of address
with the Postal Service from the Buckhead, Fulton
Co. address to the post office box address (T-102;
SB-C). Commencing on that date Petitioner
began sharing the post office box with his parents
with whom he resided in Dawson Co. His parenis
did business out of the post office box. Neither he
nor his parents ever saw any notice or slip for
Petitioner in the post office box in the relevant
months of Jan., Apr., July 1992 (T-332-335).

From July 1985 to Aug. 17, 1992, Petitioner's
telephone number was (404) 262-1110 (T-303; 344;
Affid. Petitioner Jan. 1993). As late as Mar. 9, 1993,
the Bar listed on its official membership _ list
Petitioner's said telephone number (T-286; D-20).
From July 15, 1991, to Aug. 17, 1992, at Petitioner's
request, Southern Bell Telephone forwarded
telephone calls on that telephone line to
Petitioner’s residence in Dawson Co. by “remote
call-forwarding" (1-310; 323). At no fime was
Petitioner's telephone out of service or
disconnected (T-303; 304; D-22; D-23; Affid. Pet-
itioner Jan. 1993). Petitioner “was never tele-
phoned by anybody with the State Bar or
anybody else that there was a pending notice of
investigation against [him] or a pending notice of

i

discipline against [him].” (1-323). At least one of
Petitioner's parents was at the Dawson Co.
residence where calls to Petitioner's telephone
number would ring who could answer the phone
(T-323; 349).

GA Bar’s Insufficient Formal Notice of Action

Jan. 3, 1992, his last day of employment, AGC
Cohen signed and directed his secretary Estelle
Jackson to mail a “notice of investigation” as to
each grievance to Petitioner without telephoning
Petitioner as Cohen had promised Petitioner five
months earlier. The Bar attempted certified-mail
service of the notices of investigation on Petitioner
at the Buckhead, Fulton Co. address. The certified
mail packages indicated that notices or slips had
been left for Petitioner. The post office returned
the notices of investigation to the Bar marked
“unclaimed” (T-54; SB-G & SB-H)}.

The slips or notices that the USPS was using in
Jan. to July 1992 to alert an addressee of certified
or registered mail did not have a blank for the
name of the sender of the mail piece, only a blank
for the zip code of origin (1-121; 123; 151; affid.
Giles (1993)).

At no point did the Bar send the notices of
investigation by regular mail.

Jan. 30, 1992, the Bar allegedly sent an
investigator to the Buckhead, Fulton Co. address.
AGC Jeffrey R. Davis (who had taken over the file
from Cohen) did not inform the investigator that
Petitioner was using a post office box address (T-
291). The investigator did not check with the
Postal Service, the Bar's Membership Coordinator
(Gayle Baker); nor did he check with the Fulton

x

Co. or Dawson Co. sheriffs (1-296; 297). By
hearsay, the investigator verbally informed Mr.
Davis that Petitioner had been evicted from the
Buckhead, Fulton Co. office (T-70).

At the Special Master's hearing, May 20, 1993,
the Bar stipulated that from and after Jan. 30, 1992,
it knew that Petitioner could not be found at the
Buckhead, Fulton Co. address (1-28-29; 80).
Nevertheless, the Bar continued to seek to serve
Petitioner at the Buckhead, Fulton Co. address but
did not post notices of investigation or discipline
on Petitioner's former premises. Thus, all actions by
the Bar after Jan. 30, 1992, were not steps that a
person would take who actually wanted to notiify
Petitioner of the disciplinary proceedings against
him. Rather the Bar chose to blindly follow boar
rules knowing that doing so was substantially
certain not to lead to actual knowledge by
Petitioner of bar proceedings.

Thereafter, the Bar's Investigative Panel directed
issuance of a “notice of discipline” against
Petitioner stating that the appropriate punishment
was disbarment which, if not rejected within 23
days, would become an automatic disbarment
under Bar rules. Petitioner had no prior disciplinary
record. There was no disciplinary rule establishing
“default.” Then Bar Rule 4-208.1 merely provided
that failure to respond to a notice of discipline
authorized disbarment, without any finding on the
merits.>

5 Rule 4-208.1. Notice of Discipline. In any case where the
Investigative Panel or a subcommittee of the Panel finds
probable cause. the Panel mcy issue G Notice of Discipline
imposing any leve! of public disciplinary sanctions authorized

x

June 3, 1992, the clerk of the GA Supreme Court
sent to Petitioner at his post office box address -
by regular mail that Petitioner received -- notice of
the docketing of an unrelated case entitled, King
v. Bishop, Case No. $92A1089 (Ga. 1992) (T-315; D-
25).

June 26, 1992, Petitioner received service of
process in Dawson Co. in an unrelated case filed
in the Family Court of Greenville Co., South
Carolina, entitled Sanders v. Bishop, Case No. 92-
DR-2662. Process was personally served on
Petitioner's father. Writ of Coram Nobis, June 27,
1994, exhibit.

July 1, 1992, the Bar mailed the notice of
discipline to Petitioner by registered mail to the
Buckhead, Fulton Co. address. Shortly after
mailing, AGC Davis telephoned the U.S. Post Office
(575 Pharr Road, Atlanta) where Petitioner was
sharing a post office box with his parents, for an
explanation why the AGC had not received the

by these rules. The Notice of Discipline shall be a final order
of disciplinary sanctions unless affirmatively rejected by the
respondent as provided in Rule 4-208.3. (emphasis added).

¢ Other contacts: Oct. 18, 1992, the Bar sent by regular mail
notice of delinquent reporting of continuing legal education
(“CLE”) to Petitioner at the post office box address that he
received (1-320: D-24). Nov. 26, 1992. the GA Supreme Court
sent by regular mail to Petitioner's post office box that
Petitioner ‘eceived an order notifying him that he would be
suspended if ne did not complete his CLE requirements by
year end 1992 (T-318). Dec. 17. 1992. Petitioner appeared
before o Bar employee and executed an affidavit that he
had completed CLE requirements. Because of Cohen's
promise, Petitioner had no contac? at this time with him or
the Office of General Counsel.

x

“unclaimed” envelope in which the notice of
discipline had been mailed to Petitioner by
registered mail (1-64). AGC Davis could have
simply telephoned Petitioner, or asked the
postmaster for the identity of the person(s) in
whose name the post office box was rented and
thereby would have received the particulars of
Petitioner and his parents’ address in Dawson Co.
Bar did not send notice/discipline by regular mail.

From Jan. 3, 1992 onward, the Bar took the
position that it was not required to telephone or
attempt to telephone Petitioner on the telephone
number required of a member and recorded on
its official membership list in order to facilitate
service of disciplinary notices (T-306; 309; 343-344;
SBG's Exceptions to Special Master's Report, June
16, 1993, p.2 (“Rule 4-208.2 does not require phone
calls.")).

Petitioner did not have actual knowledge of Bar
proceedings from Jan. 1, 1992 until Jan. 20, 1993.
Petitioner never saw any notices or slips for
certified mail or registered mail in the post office
box in Jan., Apr., or July 1992 (1-94; 96; 213; 302:
307-308). The Special Master stated at the May 20,
1993 hearing that he believed Petitioner when
Petitioner stated that he did not see any notices in
the post office box that he shared with his parents
(T-330).

However, | will also say that when Mr. Bishop tells

me he did not have any knowledge of this

proceeding, and that he didn't ever see any
slips in those boxes, I'll be totally candid with

you, | believe him. [T-330 (19-23)]

ott.

In his Report, the Special Master found as fact
that Petitioner did not know about the notices of
investigation, the notice of discipline, or his
disbarment until he read about same in a local
newspaper, Jan. 20, 1993. The Bar stipulated in
Exceptions to Special Master's Recommend-
ations, June 16, 1993, p.5: “As the Special Master
found, Respondent did not have actual notice of
the Notice of Discipline pending against him.”

GA Discipline

Jan. 8, 1993, the GA Supreme Court entered
perfunctory disbarment. Jan. 20, 1993, Petitioner
read about his disbarment in the Fulton Co. Daily
Report (1-94), while waiting to go to lunch with an
aitorney friend. The Special Master pointed out
that this was outside the ten-day period to seek
reconsideration under court rules (T-331}.

Jan. 22, 1993, Petitioner filed motion to vacate
with affidavits which was supplemented several
times. Initially, Petitioner offered two grounds for
relief: denial of Due Process of Law guaranteed by
the GA Const. {Art. |, Sec. |, Par. |) and the 14th
Amdt. to the U.S. Const. The Bar opposed vacatur.

Feb. 18, 1993, the GA Supreme Court entered an
order that stated in part:

The motion for reconsideration in the above

matter having been considered, it is ordered

that it be remanded to the Review Panel, and
that [a named person who later disqualified
herself] be appointed as Special Master to hear
evidence on the sole issue of whether

Respondent was properly served. (emphasis

added).

a

At a conference in the spring of 1993, with a
special prosecutor appointed by the president of
the Bar to represent the Bar in the proceedings
against Petitioner, Special Prosecutor Robert
Goldstucker told Petitioner that the Bar was willing
that his case be a “test case” in order fo “test” the
constitutionality of the Bar service rules (T-332, 336).

The Special Master held a hearing on May 20,
1993, and limited the scope of the hearing to the
sole issue of whether Petitioner was properly
served with the notices of investigation and the
notice of discipline under the Bar rules. The
Special Master explicitly refused to expand the
scope of the hearing to include the issue of
whether Petitioner was denied Due Process (1-3;
31; 39; 42; 77-78; 202; 252; 262-263; 300; 330; 341;
358).

In his Report dated June 4, 1993, the Special
Master found that the Bar had complied with Bar
rules on service of notices of investigation and
notice of discipline, but held that the Bar had
denied to Petitioner Due Process of Law and
recommended that the disbarment be set aside
and Petitioner be allowed an opportunity to
respond to the charges against him. His report
was the first time that the Special Master indicated
that he was considering the issue of Due Process of
Law, although Petitioner had raised the issue and
had tried, but had been rebuffed, in an effort to
persuade him to consider evidence thereon.

Aug. 25, 1993, the 20 plus members of the
Review Panel entered an unanimous Report
agreeing in all respects with the Special Master
holding that the Bar had denied Due Process of

~ ?

Law to Petitioner and recommended that the
disbarment be set aside and Petitioner be allowed
an opportunity to respond to the charges against
him.

Apr. 18, 1994, the GA Supreme Court entered
disbarment with three dissents among seven
justices. In re Bishop, 443 S.E.2d 734 (Ga. 1994).
The court employed a Conclusive Presumption
that Petitioner saw but did not present unidentified
mail slips for certified and registered mail, despite
the Special Master's and the Review Panel's
findings of fact to the contrary. The only stated
basis for the disbarment was failure to respond to
slips or notices addressed to the Buckhead, Fulton
Co. address and forwarded to the post office
address buf returned “unclaimed.” The court
disagreed with the Special Master and Review
Panel that the Bar denied Due Process to
Petitioner, but the court did not clarify whether it
was determining Due Process under state or
federal constitutions and did not cite to a single
case from GA although there were several
supporting Petitioner's claim of Due Process
denial.’? Tne cour did not acknowledge that the
remand to the Review Panel and Special Master
was limited to “the sole issue of whether
Respondent was properly served” under the bar
rules, nor that both the Special Master and Review
Panel had limited consideration of Petitioner's
evidence _ thereto. Simultaneously — with

? Stnickland v. Willingham, 175 S.E. 605 (Ga.App. 1934) (invalid
purported substituted service on attorney, raised seven years
later}; Roland v. Shelton, 127 S.£.2d 497 (Ga.App. 1962]; see
Abba Gana v. Abba Gana, 304 S.£.2d 909 (Ga. 1983).

w-43-

disbarment, the court announced amendment of
Bar rules without prior notice to the Bar or Petitioner
and applied them to Petitioner sub silentio.®

June 27, 1994, Petitioner filed Motion for Writ of
Coram Nobis which included envelopes mailed by
regular and certified mail to “W. Kent Bishop, Daw-
son County, GA 30534” that had been received
by Petitioner at his residence in Dawson Co.

Sept. 16, 1994, the GA Supreme Court denied all
motions. Cert. denied.

FIFTH CIRCUIT PROCEEDINGS’?

8 According to internal court memoranda (discovered in
court file, June 30, 1994, submitted in July 1994 to Fifth
Circuit), the GA Supreme Court delayed its decision in
Petitioner's case until it could publish amended bar rules —
bypassing the Bar’s Board of Governors contrary to bar rules
(T-337) — in which the court changed the law to state (i) that
violation of just-amended Rule 1-207 {Change of Address}
could result in discipline, (ii) use of post-office box address
with the Bar forfeits any right to personal service of
disciplinary nolices, {ili} notice to any Bar employee other
than the Membership Department is not notice to the Bar.
Amended Rule 4-208.1(b) provided for default - for the first
time — by stating that default eliminates any right to an
evidentiary hearing. April 14, 1994, these rules were first
made known to the general membership of the Bar in the
advance sheets of GA Supreme Court opinions, which
Petitioner did not receive in the mail as part of his
subscription until April 23, 1994, or a week after disbarment.
The new rules “fixed” the problems that Petitioner's case
illustrated. It was a 14 Amat. Due Process violation to apply
new amended rules to disbar Petitioner and not to notify him
of their existence until after he was disbarred under them.
Cf. Londoner v. Denver, 210 U.S. 373 (1908): RR Village Assoc.
v. Denver Sewer Corp., 826 F.2d 1197 (2"¢ Cir. 1987).

9 See Cert. Petition 4-9, Bishop v. Fifth Circuit.

7

1994 Disposition by Chief Judge. Petitioner was
disbarred by Politz,CJ., July 15, 1994 (10a), who
prevented further review (15a).'° The order was
perfunctory and void. 28 U.S.C. §46(c) (20a); Rule
27(c) (21a), Fed.R.App.P. Id.n.9 at 10-15.
2006 Jones v. Flowers, 547 U.S. 220 (2006), suggests
GA violated 14 Amdt. Due Process. Fifth Circuit
records contain proof that each court had denied
full and fair opportunity to litigate federal due
process. Accordingly, Petitioner filed July 14, 2006,
Petition for Readmission to Fiftn Circuit Bar, Motion
to Incorporate Fifth Circuit Record from Previous
Proceedings, Affidavit, and Memorandum citing
to Jones, and other petitions.
2006 Disposition By First Panel of Smith, Garza,
Clement, JJ. was to deny petitions and motion,
Aug. 8, 2006 (7a), stating: “This court has no
‘appellate’ jurisdiction over proceedings
concerning admission to practice law before us.”
In his 2006 Cert. Petition, ultimately “prior to judg-
ment,” Petitioner acknowledged that the court
did not rule on his Jones Due Process claim (p.15).
2006 Ruling By Chief Judge was unexpected,
again denied readmission by certified Order
received Nov. 14, 2006 (5a), and held:

However, we have received no information that

Mr. Bishop has sought readmission to the

Georgia bar. Absent unusual circumstances, it

0 In 1966-1967, after graduation from Duke University (with
Distinction in Economics) in 1961 and Harvard Law School in
1966 with LL.B. degree (transformed in 1969 to J.D. degree).
Petitioner served as assistant law clerk to Honorable Griffin B.
Bell, Fifth Circuit Judge, at his chambers in Atlanta. Jt.Pets.
18: Aff. 950.

» 15<

is this court's practice to condition readmission
on the resumption of active status in good
standing with the bar of the original disciplining
court. Mr. Bishop's submissions do not make out
sufficient reasons for a departure from this
practice.... [emphasis added; 6a].
“This court's practice” had never been previously
published and thus violated 28 U.S.C. § 2077(a) &
Rule 47(b), Fed.R.App. P. (21a). Jones was
ignored. Weeks after Cert. Pet. was filed re Aug. 8,
2006 order, futile reconsideration was sought.!!
2007 Disposition By Second Panel of Jones,C.J.,
Reaviey, Smith.JJ. - while trivializing Petitioner's
several bar memberships — acknowledged the GA
Special Master's finding that “Bishop did not have
actual knowledge of the disciplinary proceedings”
(2a,n.1) and again denied readmission, stating:

'' Chief Judge's Order relied upon Eleventh Circuit (1995)
and NDGA (2002) reciprocal discipline entered pre-Jones
(2006}. Eleventh Circuit's discipline was perfunctory, and
NDGA's was purely derivative, as its committee observed: "It
stands to reason that if there was some injustice or wrong
visited upon [Petitioner] in the state proceedings, if would
have been picked up by one of the three other [federal]
courts.” To prove no moral fault, Petitioner submitted as
exhibits: NDGA 2001 transcript, Eleventh Circuit orders (1995),
and 2003 Cert. Petition (Case No. 02-1598) appending
decisions showing that conduct was never at issue.
Petitioner was deprived of full and far opportunity to litigate
moral fault. In NDGA he was not allowed to contest Final
Report of Disciplinary Committee (Oct. 31, 2001 letter from
Evans.DJ.), despite Vining.CDJ’s Jan. 7, 1999 ruling that GA
had not disbared for misconduct, which was slated to be
the subject of future evidentiary hearing (Aff.Ex.2) -- which
the NDGA and Eleventh Circuit eventually prevented.

» $60

The notices were nevertheless returned
unclaimed. The Georgia court determined that
the facts before it formed the basis for a
reasonable inference that Bishop did not
receive the notices because he deliberately
ignored the mail slips placed in the post office
box. *** We see no impediment under Selling v.
Radford to the Georgia court’s choosing to
disbar an attorney who failed to respond to such
notices. *** [Hjaving concluded that that
proceeding satisfied the tests required by
Selling, we do not find sufficient reason to
exercise our discretion to readmit Bishop when
he has not been readmitted by Georgia.
[emphasis added]
The 14% Amdt. Due Process issue re GA discipline is
examined de novo. There is no mention of laches
or res judicata -- probably because Petitioner
demonstrated that both GA and Fifth Circuit had
previously deprived him of full and fair opportunity
to litigate this issue. The panel ignores Jones. The
Court's reliance on state use of Conclusive Pre-
sumption produces 5° Amdt. Due Process enor
and violates principles of right and justice. While it
drops use of “this court’s practice,”!? the panel's

'2 The 2007 decision presents ironies: Besides the court's
attempt to recast “this court’s practice.” there are: (1) the
court’s deference to out-of-circuit GA and denigration of
out-of-circuit NY, to whose bar Petitioner has been a
member since 1968, thus implicating Full Faith and Credit
Clause of Art. IV, Sec. 1 (19a) and 28 U.S.C. § 1738 (20a), and
(2) the court’s ignoring of the fact that Petitioner has
diligently kept abreast of cevelopments in law since the GA
order was entered, has compieted all NY-required CLE
courses, and the NDGA Disciplinary Committee remarked:

a. PS

unreasonable reading of Selling permits the
inference that — despite appearances -- its ratio
decidendi was “this court’s practice.”

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED
1. THERE iS CONFLICT WHETHER THE GA SUPREME
COURT DENIED 14™ AMDT. DUE PROCESS UNDER
SELLING FACTOR ONE, namely, “the — state
procedure for want of notice or opportunity to be
heard was wanting in due process.” 243 U.S. at
51.15 There is conflict among the circuits on two

“Some of this testimony regarding [Petitioner's] legal talents
was particularly compelling.”
3 selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46 (1917) states 14h Amdt. Due
Process factors for the Supreme Court to apply to state
disciplinary order to determine if reciprocal federal discipline
should be administered to member of federal court bar, as
“conditions”: “[A federal court should recognize a state
court disbarment to disbar an attorney from practicing
before it - ]
unless, from an intrinsic consideration of the state record,
one or all of the following conditions should appear: 1.
That the state procedure for want of notice or opportunity
to be heard was wanting in due process; 2, that there was
such an infirmity of proof as to facts found to have
established the want of fair private and professional
character as to give rise to a clear conviction on [the
court's} part that [it] could not consistently with [its] duty
accept as final the conclusion on that subject; or 3, that
some other grave reason existed which should convince
[the court] that to allow the natural consequences of the
judgment to have their effect would conflict with the duty
which rests upon [the federal court] not to disbar except
upon the conviction that, under the principles of right and
justice, [the court] were constrained so to do.” [243 U.S.
at 51; emphasis added. ]
The GA disbarment satisfies these three conditions, and the
Fifth Circuit snould not have relied upon the GA judgment to
disbar him from federal court or to deny him readmission.

_ 2

different levels: treatment of lawyers versus lay
persons; and treatment of lawyers versus aliens. In
both cases lawyers are treated worse. Cert. would
permit equal justice to lawyers — long overdue.
The Supreme Court in Jones v. Flowers held:
We hold that when mailed notice of a tax sale is
returned unclaimed, the State must take
additional reasonable steps to atiempt to
provide notice to the property owner before
selling his property, if it is practicable to do so.
Under the circumstances presented here,
additional reasonable steps were available to
the State. [547 U.S. 220, 225.]
This holding focuses on state action to effect
service of process after having initially attempted,
but failed, to consummate service. Of application
to the instant case, Jones requires gov't to
consider unique facts and circumstances
obtained by gov't prior to its initiation of formal
proceedings to determine constitutional service.
Id. 230. Recent cases in the Second Circuit and
Ninth Circuit emphasize facts known prior to formal
proceedings. These cases show that the Fifth
Circuit, Eleventh Circuit, NDGA are out of step.
Second Circuit. Luessenhop v. Clinton Co., N.Y.,
466 F.3d 259, 270-272 (2°¢ Cir. 2006), analyzes
unique facts and circumstances in 4 consolidated
cases. In Luessenhop, property was located in
Clinton County. its owner resided in DC and
occasionally London; certified mail to the county
address went unclaimed; and the court observed:
In Luessenhop's case, if would not have been
a terrible burden for the County to take at least
one of the steps suggested in Jones: viz..

|

sending a first-class letter to Luessenhop's
Washington, D.C. address. Accordingly, the
County’s effort to provide notice to Luessenhop
was insufficient to satisfy due process. [Ild. 270;
emphasis added.]

in Baechle, the Second Circuit elaborated:

On remand, the district court should consider
the following matters. First, the precise
mechanism Mendon [Vermont] employed to
contact [Baechie] initially. Second, the record
says nothing about what steps, if any, Mendon
took to notify Baechie of the impending tax sale
after Mendon was notified that Baechle did not
receive the letters. On remand, the district
court should determine what, if anything,
Mendon did to ascertain Baechle’s correct
address. *** If the court is satisfied that Mendon
did make further attempts to find Baechle, it
should assess the adequacy of those measures.
Finally, the court should determine whether it
was practicable for the government to have
taken any additional step to inform Baechle of
the impending sale of his property. *** When
considering the availability of reasonable
additional steps, the court should consider
whether Baechle’s suggestions of consultation
with the Rutland Department of Public Works or
the condominium owners’ association are
reasonable under Jones. [id. 271; emphasized.]
In Tupaze, the Second Circuit observed:

[The question that Jones tells us to ask is
whether the County fhought that the Tupazes
had received notice. *** But the court never
made a specific finding regarding whether the

—.

County thought the Tupazes received the letter.
This is a subtle but important distinction. ***
Accordingly, the ... decision ... is vacated and
... remanded...."'4 [Ild. 272; emphasis added.]

14 ALIENS. Fifth Amdt. Due Process (19a) notice to aliens
faced with deportation has received substantial, recent,
circuit attention. In each of the following cases, aliens
received more due process protection than did a lawyer in
the Fifth Circuit, Eleventh Circuit, NDGA, and GA. Cert. in
Bishop would place lawyers on equal plane with aliens.

Third Circuit. Perez-Alevante v. Gonzales, 197 Fed.Appx. 191
(3° Cir. 2006) (judgment denying motion to reopen removal
proceedings was reversed on appeal) (permanent resident
had signed nofice that he could be removed if he did not
kept INS informed of his address; attomey made
appearance for movant: thereafter movant failed to
appear at hearing after notice sent to old address. The
court stated (p.195): “Similarly, the fact that Perez-Alevante
did not comply with his statutory responsibility to provide a
current address did not necessarily mean that the
immigration court was entirely relieved of its obligation to
provide him with notice that met the requirements of the Due
Process Clause [of the 5° Amdt.].”

The court stated (p.196): “This additional step [notice to his
counsel] requires de minimus effort by the government, and
is balanced against the significant interest an alien facing
removal has in being able to continue his professional and
familial life in this country. *** Although Jones found a due
process violation in the fact that the State took no additional
steps to give notice after becoming aware that its initial
attempt had been unsuccessful, the immigration court here
had the contact information for Perez-Alevante'’s counsel
from the outset.”

Seventh Circuit. Peralfta-Cabrera v. Gonzales, 501 F.3d 837,
843 (7 Cir. 2007) (“in most instances, it is the government's
responsibility to ensure that notice by mail is successfully
delivered, see, e.g., Jones v. Flowers...."’).

Ninth Cir. Chaidez v. Gonzales, 486 F.3d 1079 (9 Cir. 2007).

- 21.

Ninth Circuit. Tu v. NTSB, 470 F.3d 941 (9 Cir.

2006), framed the 5'* Amdt. Due Process issue as:
We today decide whether [a federal] agency
can effect notice of its ruling, so to start the
running of time in which to appeal, by certified
mail, when it has reason to know certified mail
would not reach petitioner, whereas first-class
mail would. [id. 942; emphasis added.]

After describing the facts in Jones v. Flowers,'> the

court suggests that Jones should be read broadly:
A fortiori, the FAA provided constitutionally
defective notice in this case. The March 28 and
April 8, 2003 suspension orders the FAA sent by
certified mail were not “reasonably calculated
to reach the intended recipient when sent. Id.
The FAA knew certified mail sent to Tu had
previously been returned on two separate
occasions as “refused” or “unclaimed.” What is
more, knowing that certified mail was
ineffective to reach Tu, the FAA had sent
correspondence leading up to the suspension
order by first class mail. First class mail worked.
Tu responded to [it] in a timely manner.
Nevertheless, tne FAA sent the orders
suspending Tu's license — triggering the 20-day
appeal deadline - by certified mail alone.
Unsurprisingly, these orders sent by certified mail

Eleventh Circuit. Coming to the opposite result (judgment
for the gov't) are Dominguez v. U.S. Atty. Gen'l, 284 F.3d
1258 (11 Cir. 2002) (alien's failure to submit second affidavit
doomed him to deportation). and Castillo v. U.S. Atty. Gen..
18] Fed.Appx. 885 {11 Cir. 2006).

IS In Tu, Ninth Circuit noted that Jones was decided after
case was briefed on appeal. but the court would apply
Jones anyway. Id. 942-43.

o 22 «

were returned to the FAA as unclaimed. [id. 946;

fn.om.; emphasis added.]

Held: purported notice of suspension of pilot's
license violated the 5't Amdt. Due Process Clause.
Application to Pre-Formal Complaint Stage.

In Bishop, while the GA court mentioned some

unique facts preceding the bar's initiation of
formal proceedings, the GA opinion omits those
facts concerning pre-formal proceedings that
pertain to the Bar's numerous successful contacts
with Petitioner by regular mail to his post office box
address and by telephone at the number
Petitioner was required to list, and did list, with the
bar. The GA court equated compliance with Bar
service rules to compliance with due process
standards. Parochial? Yes; but error just the same:
“In prior cases, we have required the government
to consider unique information about an intended
recipient regardless of whether a statutory scheme
is reasonably calculated to provide notice in the
ordinary case." Jones, 547 U.S. at 230 (emphasis
added).
Application of Telephone Cases. Numerous cases
require gov't to utilize the telephone to notify of
gov't action when initial efforts to serve a party
are unsuccessful. These cases are from the Third
Circuit (Foeh! v. United States, 238 F.3d 474 (3 Cir.
2001)): Fourth Circuit (Plemons v. Gale, 396 F.3d
569 (4 Cir. 2005)); Seventh Circuit (Laborers’
Pension Fund v. Blackmore Sewer Constr., Inc.. 298
F.3d 600 (7 Cir. 2002)); and GA (Hamilton v.
Renewed Hope, Inc., 589 $.E.2d 81 (Ga. 2003), 637
$.E.2d 412 (Ga. 2006).

2.

The Jones court does not require AR to use the
telephone directory to seek Jones among
numerous people bearing the very common
surname, “Jones.” 547 US. at 235-36. Buf
Petitioner's case is very different because the Bar
required Petitioner to register his telephone
number with the Bar; he did so; and it was readily
available to the Bar and GA court. Cerf. would
clarify that in such cases a process server must use
the telephone as a last resort to effect service.
Application to Bar's “Test Case”. At the May 1993
hearing, the Special Master questioned Bar
counse! about testimony that the Bar was pursuing
Petitioner as a test of the constitutionality of the
bar rules. Bar counsel admitted the charge was
correct.'6 Unvarnished, the Bar was willing to
disbar Petitioner — without a prior record -- to test
its notion that it did not need to send notice by
regular mail or post notice on the door of his
former law office or telephone him with notice.

This admission by the Bar betrays a fundamental
misunderstanding of 14 Amdt. Due Process as
developed in Jones: “The Courts of Appeal and
State Supreme Courts have addressed this
question on frequent occasions, and most have
decided that when the government learns its
attempt at notice nas failed, due process requires
the government to do something more before real
property may be sold in a tax sale.” Id. 227
(fn.om). “In Mullane, we stated that ‘when notice
is Q person's due ... [t]he means employed must
be such as one desirous of actually informing tne

16 T-332, 336; Aff.Jt.Pet. 133.

. 24 -

absentee might reasonably adopt to accomplish
R, aa Wa, AR OS... 70 SAN. O52... i BaF:
emphasis added. In other words, to pursue a “test
case” where the stakes are significant, individual
property loss or professional license termination is
to turn Due Process on its head. GA, Fifth Circuit,
Eleventh Circuit badly need direction on this issue.
Application to Lawyers. Black letter law teaches
that lawyers are not second class citizens.
Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511, 516 (1967). A
license to practice law in a State is a property
interest protected by the 14th Amdt. Due Frocess
Clause. Willner v. Committee on Charecter &
Fitness, 373 US. 96, 102 (1963). A licesse to
practice law in federal court is protected by the
5 Amdt., In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544 (1968), and by
principles of right and justice, In re Snyder, 472 U.S.
634 (1985). A law license is as valuable to an
attorney as a house is to a lay person. Cf. Ex parte
Burr, 9 Wheat. 529 (1824). Nevertheless, lawyers
involved in “adversary proceedings of a quasi-
criminal nature” (Ruffalo, 390 U.S. at 551) lack full
constitutional protections. In re Calvo, 88 F.3d 962,
967 (11'* Cir. 1996) (“due process is limited to
‘want of notice or opportunity to be heard.”
(emphasis added)).'7 This crimped reading of
Selling should be rejected!

17 In re Kankekore, 140 Fed.Appx. 848 (11! Cir. 2005), and In
re Kankekore, 460 F.3d 276 (2"4 Cir. 2006), are distinguishable
because Kandekore did not contend that his NY Bar
disbarment was void due to absence of Due Process. To
repeat, Petitioner's case is different because he proves that
GA denied 14 Amdt. Due Process and prominent
jurisdictions support this position by retaining him as a
member of their Bar.

+. oe

Application To Collateral Proceeding Because
Jones Expresses Old Rule With “New Wrinkle”.

Consistently with Whorton v. Bockting, 127 S.Ct.
1173 (2007), Jones makes clear that it reflects an
old rule:

But we have never addressed whether due

process entails further responsibility when the

government becomes aware prior to the taking

that its attempt at notice has failed. That is a

new wrinkle, and we have explained that the

“notice required will vary with circumstances

and conditions.” [ld. 227.]

The dissent forcefully articulates some basic

principles about constitutionally required notice,

principles from which we have no intention to
depart. In particular, we disclaim any “new

rule” that is “contrary to Dusenbery and a

significant departure from Mullane.” {id. 238;

emphasis added.]

Cf. United States v. One Star Class Sloop
Sailboat, 458 F.3d 16 (1% Cir. 2006); Hess v.
Pawloski, 274 U.S. 352, 356 (1927) (dictum):
Wuchtfer v. Pizzufti, 276 U.S. 13, 19 (1928).

Certiorari snould be granted because the Fifth
Circuit and Eleventh Circuit are not robustly
examining the constitutionality of underlying state
attorney disciplinary proceedings during federal
reciprocal proceedings. Both circuits share a
history of harsh treatment of lawyers:'8 and there
has been no appellate review in the instant case.

'8 Theard v. United States, 228 F.2d 617 (5 Cir. 1956), rev'd
354 US. 278 (1957): Frazier v. Heebe, 788 F.2d 1049 (S'" Cir.
1986) (Politz.J.), rev'd 482 U.S. 641 (1987).

e..

A Frazier type of supervisory certioran is imperative.

See 482 U.S. at 647, n.7.'9

2. THERE IS CONFLICT ON THE NATURE AND

SIGNIFICANCE OF STATE DISCIPLINE UPON

RECIPROCAL FEDERAL ACTION UNDER SELLING.

FACTOR TWO (proof of misconduct), to wit:
[A]lthough [membership in a state bar], after
admission here, might be lost by change of
domicil from one state to another, if so
provided by the state law or rule of court, or by
any other cause not involving unworthiness,
such loss would be wholly negligible upon the
right to continue to be a member of the Bar of
this court. [243 U.S. at 49.]
[We] do not in the slightest degree call in
question the ruling in Ex parte Tillinghast, 4 Pet.
108, 7 L. ed. 798, that a mere punishment for
contempt by an inferior Federal court was not a
sufficient ground for preventing admission to the

'? “Rules that discriminate against nonresident attorneys are
even more difficult to justify in the context of federal-court
practice than they are in the area of state-coun practice,
where laws and procedures may differ substantially from
State to State. There is a growing body of specialized
federal iaw and a more mobile federal bar, accompanied
by an increased demand for specialized legal services
regardiess of state boundaries. The Court's supervisory
powe! over federal courts allows the Court to intervene to
protect the integrity of the federal system, while its authority
over stafe-court boars is limited to enforcing federal
constitutional requirements. Because of these differences,
the Court has repeatedly emphasized, for example, that
disqualification from membership from a state bar does not
necessarily iead to disqualification from a federal bar.” [482
U.S. at 647-48; emphasis added; cits.om.]

Re

Bar of this court, there being nothing to indicate
that the action of the inferior court was based
upon the doing of acts which inherently and
necessarily deprived the applicant of the fair
private and professional character essential to
admission. [ld 51; emphasis added.)

The only abscribed reasons for not readmitting
Petitioner to Fifth Circuit Bar are (a) conclusively
presumed past failure to present unidentified slips
for certified/registered mail in a shared post office
box and (b) lack of membership in GA Bar. The
Fifth Circuit did not describe or imply that these
reasons are evidence of misconduct. Excluding a
lawyer from a federal bar for reasons not
connected with misconduct is contrary to Selling
Factor Two, In re Ruffalo, 390 US. 544 (1968);
Schware v. Board of Exam., 353 U.S. 232 (1957); In
re Mosher, 25 F.3d 397 (6 Cir. 1994); In re
Palmisano, 70 F.3d 483, 487 (7? Cir. 1995) (dictum):
In re Smith, 100 F.Supp.2d 412 n.1 (N.D.TX 2000)
(dictum).

Cert. would afford opportunity to clarify Selling

and harmonize bar (re)admissions and disciplinary
standards throughout the country.
3. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER INADEQUATE STATE
NOTICE SHOULD PREVENT RECIPROCAL DISCIPLINE
UNDER SELLING FACTOR THREE, “GRAVE REASON”
UNDER “PRINCIPLES OF RIGHT AND JUSTICE,” ASIDE
FROM CONSTITUTIONAL CONSIDERATIONS.
Drawing upon principles of right and justice cited
in Theard, Harlan,J., In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 552
(1968), preferred them over Due Process as a basis
for decision:

9%.

| see no need to decide whether the notice
given [Ruffalo] of the charge that formed the
basis of his subsequent federal disbarment [a
13" charge was added after Ruffalo and his
railroad investigator Orlando had testified at the
former's state disciplinary hearing] was
adequate to afford him constitutional due
process in the state proceedings. For | think that
Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278, leaves us
free to hold, as | would, that such notice should
not be accepted as adequate for the purposes
of disbarment from a federal court. On that
basis, | concur in the judgment of the Court.
Procedural irregularity in state notice would consti-
tute a “grave reason" under Theard (and Selling)
not to disbar, but to readmit, even if constitutional.
4. THERE IS CONFLICT AS TO THE SCOPE OF RULE
46(a), FED.R.APP.P. (21a). Fifth Circuit would
require Petitioner to be readmitted in GA before
being readmitted there. Other circuits would
disagree.
Fourth Circuit. In re Fallin, 255 F.3d 195, 197 (4th Cir.
2001), concerned disbarment proceedings in the
Fourth Circuit against an attorney who had been
indefinitely suspended from the practice of law by
MD. The court observed: “Mr. Fallin’'s admission to
practice law before this Court is predicated in part
on his status as a member of the Maryland Bar.
See Fed.R.App.P 46(a)(1).". The Fourth Circuit
suspended Fallin from federal practice in imposing
reciprocal discipline, but stated in connection with
future reinstatement (p.198):
We note, however, that our suspension order
does not preclude Mr. Fallin from applying for

oe

readmission to practice in this Court if his
membership in the Maryland Bar is reinstated, or

if he otherwise complies with the provisions of
Fed.R.App.P. 46(a)(1). (emphasis added)

As Petitioner is member of USSC Bar, he would be
readmitted to Fourth Circuit Bar under Fallin (if not
already member).

Third Circuit: Surrick was suspended from the
practice of law for five years by the PA Supreme
Court. Office of Discip. Co. v. Surick, 749 A.2d 441
(Pa. 2000). In reciprocal proceedings, EDPA
imposed a lesser suspension of 30 months. In re
Sumick, 2001 WL 1823945 (EDPA 2001), aff'd 338
F.3d 224 (3 Cir. 2003). Under Local Rule 83.6 VI
(1), Surrick could maintain a law office in PA to
practice in federal court.” But in the meantime,
the state court ruled in Office of Discip. Co. v.
Marcone, 855 A.2d 654 (Pa. 2004), that while
suspended from state law practice, Marcone
could not open a law office in PA to practice law
in the EDPA. Fearing similar treatment, Surrick filed
suit against PA Bar under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in EDPA.
The district court permitted Surrick to open a law
office in the district to practice in the district. The
ruling was affirmed. Surrick v. Killion, 449 F.3d 520
(3° Cir. 2006).

20 Local Rule Rule 83.6.VIi(I} of EDPA Rules of Civ.P. stated:
Any attorney who is reinstated may practice before the
coun notwitnstanding the refusal or failure of any state
court to reinstate scid attorney to practice. However,
reinstatement to practice before this court does not
authorize an attorney to practice in any other jurisdiction,
and an attorney shall not hold out himself or herself as
authorized to practice law in any jurisdiction in which the
attorney is not admitted. [449 F.3d at 531.]

. 30.

The Third Circuit relied on Frazier v. Heebe, 482
U.S. 641, 647 n.7 (1987) (“disqualification from
membership from a state bar does not necessarily
lead to disqualification from a federal bar.”);
Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278, 282 (1957);
Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46, 49 (1917); Chambers
v. NASCO, Inc. 501 U.S. 32, 43 (1991); In re Poole,
222 F.3d 618, 622 (9! Cir. 2000) (“[A]s nearly a
century of Supreme Court precedent makes clear,
practice before federal courts is not governed by
state court rules."). “This power is rooted in both
statute, see 28 U.S.C. § 2071(a} ...; 28 U.S.C. § 1654

Rule 83 [Fed.R.Civ.P.], and the inherent
authority of the federal courts [citing Chambers].”
449 F.3d at 531.

The Third Circuit (p.530) held that the case
indisputably involved “conflict preemption” [under
the Supremacy Clause, 19a] “which arises when
‘state law stands as an obstacle to the
accomplishment and execution of the _ full
purposes and objectives of Congress.’ Fid. Fed.
Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. De la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141,
152, 153 ... {1982)”" (cit. om.). The court cited
Sperry v. Flonda ex rel. Florida Bar, 373 U.S. 379
(1963), and In re Desilets, 291 F.3d 925, 930 (6'» Cir.
2002) (“When state licensing laws purport to
prohibit lawyers from doing that which federal law
entitles them to do, the state law must give
way.”).2!

2! Court added this note:
See In re Desilets, 291 F.3d at 329 (observing that although
the enabling Congressional statute in Sperry expressly
authorized federal authorities to determine who may
practice law and 28 U.S.C. §§ 1654 & 2071 do not, this is a

94s

More broadly, the Surrick court stated (p.532):

Federal law preempts not only state laws that
expressly prohibit the very act the federal law
allows, but those that “stand as an obstacle to
the accomplishment of the full purposes and
objective” of federal law. Thus, federal and
state law need not be contradictory on their
faces for preemption to apply. It is sufficient

that the state law “impose[s] ... additional
conditions” not contemplated by Congress.
[cits.om.]

The reasons for the broad construction of the
Supremacy Clause are plain. If preemption only
applied to state laws that directly contradict
federal laws, federal laws could be effectively
nullified by state laws prohibiting those acts that
are incident to, but not specifically authorized
by, federal law. Under such a regime, state
officials would have a “virtual power of review”
over federal laws.

The Sumick court wisely observed § (p.534):
“{[P]reemption analysis does not involve a
balancing of state and federal! interests.” The
court continued (p.535):

Although consistency between state and
federal courts is desirable in that it promotes
respect for the law and prevents litigants from

‘distinction without a difference’); cf. United States v.
Hvass, 355 U.S. 570, 575 (1968) (holding that rules and
regulations promulgated by a district court that have
been lawfully authorized and have a clear legislative
base qualify as 'a law of the United States’ ....). [449 F.3d
at 532.]

.

forum-shopping, there is nothing inherently
offensive about two sovereigns reaching
different legal conclusions. Indeed, such results
were contemplated by our federal system, and
neither sovereign is required to, nor expected
to, yield to the other.

The Third Circuit noted (p.535): “While this case
was pending, the [EDPA] adopted [a new local
rule] which requires federal reinstatement to be
held in abeyance until reinstatement to state
practice has been decided.” In a domain where
federal interest should be high (membership in its
own bar), a federal court bowed to state pressure.
Cf. Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965). It did not
act like a representative of an independent
sovereign. Cf. Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278
(1957).

The Fifth Circuit did essentially the same thing
below. “This court's practice"22 is nothing but a
repudiation of Theard and Frazier, both of which
reversed the Fifth Circuit; and they demand
supervisory certiorari to condemn creeping
federal homogenization of federal and state
attorney disciplinary proceedings.

5. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER FEDERAL COURTS
CAN APPLY CONCLUSIVE PRESUMPTIONS UTILIZED
IN STATE PROCEEDINGS. In Sandstrom v. Montana,

22 “This court's practice,” as identified in the Order and
implicit in the 2007 opinion, constitutes the regulation of
commerce among the several states. But this responsibility is
confined to Congress, not to the federal courts, and the Fifth
Circuit's “practice” violates the Commerce Clause of Art. |,
Sec. 8, Cl. 3 (19a). Cf. Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S.
773, 785-86 (1975).

atone
HP

ie

442 U.S. 510 (1979), the Court held unconstitutional
this Conclusive Presumption: the law presumes a
person intends the ordinary consequences of his
voluntary acts. Recently, in Chaidez v. Gonzales,
486 F.3d 1079, 1085 (9'F Cir. 2007}, the court voided
another conclusive presumption: the U.S. Postal
Service properly discharges its duties in serving
process on aliens. In Frazier v. Heebe, this Court
held that a conclusive presumption that MS-
resident lawyers are not qualified to be members
of EDLA bar infringed principles of right and justice.

Applying these cases, GA factfinders were the
Special Master and Review Panel, not the GA
Supreme Court. Recognizing itself as a
constitutional court only, the GA court has
repeatedly held that factfinding is concluded
once the Review Panel determines the facts based
on the Special Master's report. in re Morse, 456
S.E.2d 52 (Ga. 1995); In re Perry, 622 S.E.2d 334 (Ga.
2005); In re Ellison, 627 S.E.2d 25 (Ga. 2006); cf.
Chambers v. Navarre, 498 S.E.2d 173 (Ga.App.
1998) (appellate factual inference contrary to
uncontradicted record evidence is outside court's
junsdiction under GA Const.). The GA Supreme
Court employed a Conclusive Presumption (of
deliberate ignoring of unidentified mail slips in a
shared post office box) to overwhelm the contrary
unanimous findings of fact of the Special Master
and Review Panel. This violated Sandstrom's
notion of 14 Amdt. Due Process. In federal court
this would abridge principles of right and justice
under Frazier v. Heebe. Certiorari would disabuse
federal courts that federal law is defined by a
state's notion of 14'? Amat. Due Process.

a

6. THERE IS CONFLICT WHETHER “THIS COURT'S
PRACTICE” IS DISGUISED RESIDENCY TEST INVALID
UNDER FRAZIER PRINCIPLES OF RIGHT AND JUSTICE.
A citizen has an Art. IV, Sec. 2 (19a) “privilege and
immunity” to travel from one state to another.
Saenz v. Roe, 526 U.S. 489 (1999). Petitioner's son’s
recent hospitalization in CA (Aff.March 30, 2007)
means that Petitioner must be free to travel to
another state to earn sufficient income to support
his son. An obvious target state would be NY
where Petitioner is licensed to practice law.
Requiring Petitioner to become readmitted in GA
and pay dues while resuming the practice of law
in NY would unduly burden Petitioner from
relocating to NY. “This court’s practice”
impermissibly dilutes the privilege and immunity to
travel freely from one state to another. In
essence, the Fifth Circuit is imposing a Bar
residency requirement on Petitioner -- which
device was struck down under principles of right
and justice in Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641(1987).
Cf. Barnard v. Thorsten, 489 US. 546 (1989):
Supreme Ct. of NH v. Piper, 470 U.S. 274 (1985);
Supreme Ct. of VA v. Friedman, 487 U.S. 59 (1988).
7. THERE IS CONFLICT REGARDING PROCEDURE FOR
CONDUCTING RECIPROCAL PROCEEDINGS under
5h Amadt., 28 U.S.C. §§46(c}, 2077(a), Rules 27(c},
46, Fed.R.App.P. (20a-21la). See cases cited in
cert. petition, 10-15, 17-25, No. 06-738 (Sup.Ct.U.S.
Nov. 22, 2006). Christianson, 486 U.S. at 818.
CONCLUSION: Please grant certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,
Winford Kent Bishop

la

Filed: August 10, 2007
Charles R. Fulbruge, Ill, Clerk

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-29

IN RE WINFORD KENT BISHOP

August 9, 2007

Before JONES, Chief Judge, and REAVLEY and
SMITH, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam:

In 1994, after being disbarred by the Supreme
Court of Georgia, Winford Kent Bishop was
removed from the roll of attorneys licensed to
practice in this court by an order of the Chief
Judge imposing reciprocal discipline.

In 2006, Bishop filed a petition for readmission. This
petition, which had been incorporated in a
petition for writs of mandamus and prohibition,
and for other relief, was denied by an order of the
Chief Judge dated November 9, 2006. Bishop

2a

now asks the court to reconsider the denial of his
petition for readmission.

Bishop asserts that he shouid never have been
reciprocally disciplined in the first place, and that
he should be readmitted now, because he was
not provided notice of the Georgia state
proceedings in G@ manner consistent with due
process. Bishop was disbared by the Supreme
Court of Georgia after failing to respond to notices
of investigation sent by certified mail, and failing
to respond to a notice of discipline sent by
registered mail, to his office address of record.!
The Supreme Court of Georgia concluded that
while the address to which the notices had been
sent was no longer Bishop's correct mailing
address, the notices had been forwarded to a
post office box actually used by Bishop for the
receipt of mail. The notices were nevertheless
retuned unclaimed. The Georgia court
determined that the facts before it formed the

' Bishop learned about the disbarment from the newspaper,
and objected arguing lock of notice. The court vacated the
disoarment order ond refered the motter to a special
master to investigate the adequacy of notice. The special
master conducted a hearing, at which post office
employees testified regarding mail slips being placed in
Bishop's post office box. The special master found that the
bar complied with notice requirements, but recommended
that the disbarment be set aside and that Bishop be allowed
to address the underlying charges against him because
Bishop did not have actual knowledge of the disciplinary
proceedings. The review panel agreed. but the Supreme
Court of Georgia rejected this recommendation. Matter of
Bishop, 264 Ga. 241, 242, 442 S.E.2d 734. 735 (Ga. 1994), cert.
denied, 513 U.S. 987, 115 S.Ct. 483 (1994).

3a

basis for a reasonabie inference that Bishop did
not receive the notices because he deliberately
ignored the mail slips placed in the post office
box. Matter of Bishop, 264 Ga. at 242, 442 $.E.2d
at 735. We see no impediment under Selling v.
Radford to the Georgia court's choosing to disbar
an attorney who failed to respond to such
notices.?

Our conclusion that Bishop's disbarment by
Georgia allowed us, consistently with Selling, to
impose reciprocal! discipline, is supported by
Bishop's history in the federal courts in Georgia.
He was reciprocally disbarred by the Eleventh
Circuit, and certiorari was denied by the Supreme
Court. In re Bishop, 11 Cir. No. 94-1133, January
5, 1995 (unpublished), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 880,
116 S.Ct. 215 (1995).

In 1998 the Eleventh Circuit remanded to the
Northern District of Georgia the district court's
reciproca! disbarment proceeding because it had
not engaged in a Selling analysis. After a
disciplinary committee investigation and an
evidentiary hearing. the Northern _ District

2 When considering reciprocal discipline based on a state
court discipline order, the Supreme Court has held that a
federal court should recognize. and give effect to. the
“condition created by the judgment of the state cour
unless, from an intrinsic consideration of the state record.” it
appears that the state proceedings was wanting in due
process, that the evidence of misconduct was insufficient, or
that other grave reason exists not to impose reciprocal
discipline. Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46, 51, 37 S.Ct. 377
(1917).

4a

considered, pursuant to Selling, the same due
process issues raised by Bishop before this court,
and imposed reciprocal discipline. The Eleventh
Circuit affirmed. In re Bishop, 11 Cir. No. Q2-
12061, October 2, 2002 (unpublished), cert.
denied, 539 U.S. 943, 123 S.Ct. 2620 (2003).

Bishop also argues that the fact that he remained
a member in good standing of some other courts
(i.e., that these other cours did not impose
reciprocal discipline) supports his position that he is
eligible for readmission now. Membership in good
standing in the bars of other jurisdictions does not
prevent the imposition of reciprocal discipline nor
require readmission after reciprocal discipline has
been imposed. Bishop's arguments are directed
principally at the propriety of his original
disbarment by the Supreme Court of Georgia,
and, having concluded that that proceeding
satisfied the tests required by Selling, we do not
find sufficient reason to exercise our discretion to
readmit Bishop when he has not been readmitted
by Georgia.

The petition is DENIED.

Sa

Filed: November 9, 2006
Received: Nov. 14, 2006
Charles R. Fulbruge, Ill, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

ORDER

On April 18, 1994 the Supreme Court of Georgia
entered an order disbarring Winford Kent Bishop. !
The Fifth Circuit issued Mr. Bishop an order to show
cause why reciprocal discipline should not be
imposed, and after considering Mr. Bishop's
response, entered an order disbarring him. Mr.
Bishop’s subsequent petition to vacate the
disbarment and to assign the proceeding to a
three-judge panel for rehearing was denied.2

Mr. Bishop now moves for readmission to the bar
of this court.3 However, we have received no

‘in re: W. Kent Bishop, 264 Ga. 241, 442 $.£.2d 734 (Ga. 1994),
cert. denied, 513 U.S. 987, 115 S.Ct. 483 (1994), reh'g denied,

513 U.S. 1105, 115 S.Ct. 786 (1995).

2 The Eleventh Circuit imposed reciprocal! discipline, and Mr.
Bishop's petition for certiorari was denied. Bishop v. State Bar
of Georgia, 516 U.S. 880, 116 S.Ct. 215 (1995), reh'g denied,
516 U.S. 1003, 116 S.Ct. 554 (1995). The Eleventh Circuit also
affirmed reciprocal discipline imposed by the district court
for the Northem District of Georgia. In re Bishop, 52
Fed.Appx. 493 (11' Cir. 2002) (unpublished), cert. denied,
§39 U.S. 943, 123 S.Ct. 2620 (2003).

3 Mr. Bishop's Petition for Readmission was joined with
Petitions for Writ of Mandamus and for Writ of Prohibition,
which were denied by the court in a per curiam opinion. In

6a

information that Mr. Bishop has sought readmission
to the Georgia bar. Absent — unusual
circumstances, it is this court's practice to
condition readmission on the resumption of active
status in good standing with the bar of the original
disciplining court. Mr. Bishop’s submissions do not
make out sufficient reasons for a departure from
this practice, and therefore

IT IS ORDERED that Winford Kent Bishop's Petition
for Readmission is DENIED.

Done this 4" day of November, 2006.

s/ Edith H. Jones
EDITH H. JONES
CHIEFJUDGE

Re: Winford Kent Bishop, 5'* Cir. No. 06-00029 (August 8,
2006). In this document, Mr. Bishop asked that the court
“schedule oral argument on this petition.” To the extent that
Mr. Bishop sought oral argument on his petition for
readmission, this request is denied.

7a

Filed: August 8, 2006
Charles R. Fulbruge, Ill, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-00029

IN RE: WINFORD KENT BISHOP,

Petitioner.

Petition for Writs of Mandamus and Prohibition
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Judicial Circuit
and Petition for Readmission to the Fifth Circuit Bar

Before SMITH, GARZA, and CLEMENT, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Winford Kent Bishop has filed in this court a pro
se petition for a writ of mandamus, a writ of
prohibition, and a petition for readmission to the
Fifth Circuit Bar. Bishop, an attorney, argues that
his 1994 disbarment in Georgia was
unconstitutionally contrived and that this court

8a

also unconstitutionally disbarred him from practice
before us in 1994. He argues that then-Chief
Judge Henry A. Politz could not act unilaterally in
disbarring him from the Fifth Circuit, that he was
entitled to an explanation, and that his disbarment
was impermissibly based on the flawed Georgia
disbarment.

As relief, Bishop asks that we direct the Clerk of
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals to assign Bishop’s
disbarment proceeding to a regular three-judge
pane! and to send Bishop a copy of our non-
public court policies. He asks that we direct the
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals to vacate his July 15,
1994, disbarment, [page 2] prohibit the chief
judge from adjudicating the proceeding as a one-
judge matter, readmit him to the Bar of the Fifth
Circuit, and schedule oral argument on. this
mandamus petition.

The All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651(a), sets out the
limits of our mandamus authority: “The Supreme
Court and ail courts established by Act of
Congress may issue all writs necessary or
appropriate in aid of their respective jurisdictions
and agreeable to the usages and principles of
law." The writ of mandamus “has traditionally
been used in the federal courts only to confine an
inferior court to a lawful exercise of its prescribed
jurisdiction or to compel it to exercise its authonty
when it is its duty to do so." Allied Chemical Corp.
v. Daiflon, Inc., 449 U.S. 33, 35 (1980) (citations and
internal quotation marks omitted). “As the
jurisdiction of the circuit court of appeals is

9a

exclusively appellate, its authority to issue writs of
mandamus is restricted by statute to those cases
in which the writ is in aid of that jurisdiction.”
Roche v. Evaporated Milk Ass'n, 319 U.S. 21, 25
(1943).

This court has no “appellate” jurisdiction over
proceedings concerning admission to practice
law before us. Accordingly, we lack jurisdiction to
entertain Bishop's requested relief. Bishop's
motion to incorporate the record’ from
proceedings in 1993 and 1994 is denied as moot.

PETITIONS DENIED; MOTION DENIED AS MOOT.

10a

Filed: July 15, 1994
Charles R. Fulbruge, Ill, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

ORDER

W. Kent Bishop has filed a pleading entitled
“Respondent's Showing of Good Cause Why
Disbarment Should Not Be Ordered; Request For
Oral Argument, Evidentiary Hearing, and
Expedited Treatment”, in answer to this Court's
May 25, 1994 Show Cause Order. After review of
the response and extensive supporting materials,
the Requests for Oral Argument and an Evidentiary
Hearing are DENIED; the Request for Expedited
Treatment is DENIED as moot, and it is HEREBY
ORDERED that W. Kent Bishop be disbarred from
practice before this court, effective this 11th day of
July, 1994.

s/ Henry A. Politz
Henry A. Politz

Chief Judge

United States Coun of
Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit

lla

Filed: October 12, 2007
Charles R. Fulbruge, Ill, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-00029

In Re: WINFORD KENT BISHOP
Petitioner

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND REHEARING EN
BANC

Before JONES, Chief Judge, and REAVLEY and
SMITH, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(X) Tne Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no
member of this panel nor judge in regular active
service on the court having requested that the
court be polled on Rehearing En Banc,
(Fed.R.App.P. and 5' Cir. R. 35) the Petition for
Rehearing En Banc is also DENIED.

12a

( ) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and the
court having been polled at the request of one of
the members of the court and a majority of the
judges who are in regular active service and not
disqualified not having voted in favor, (Fed.R.
App.P. and 5' Cir. R. 35) the Petition for Rehearing
En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) Amember of the court in active service
having requested a poll on the reconsideration of
this cause en banc, and a majority of the judges in
active service and not disqualified not having
voted in favor, Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ Edith H. Jones
United States Circuit Judge

REHG-4A

13a

Filed: October 4, 2006
Charles R. Fulbruge, Ill, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-00029

WINFORD KENT BISHOP

Petitioner

--<-e8f ewe weeenwaneneenenener ee ee we ewww nn ne ei ee ewww wenn er ew ew oe

Petition for Writs of Mandamus and Prohibition
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Judicial Circuit
and Petition for Readmission to the Fifth Circuit Bar

--—-— — @— wwe www wn Wnnn nn wn ew ww wnnnnwn nnn ewe eww er =

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND REHEARING EN
BANC

(Opinion 08/08/06, 5 Cir.. , F.3d

—

Before SMITH, GARZA, and CLEMENT, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:
(X) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no
member of this pane! nor judge in regular active

14a

service on the court having requested that the
court be polled on Rehearing En Banc,
(Fed.R.App.P. and 5'F Cir. R. 35) the Petition for
Rehearing En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and the
court having been polled at the request of one of
the members of the court and a majority of the
judges who are in regular active service and not
disqualified not having voted in favor, (Fed.R.
App.P. and 5 Cir. R. 35) the Petition for Rehearing
En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) Amember of the court in active service
having requested a poll on the reconsideration of
this cause en banc, and a majority of the judges in
active service and not disqualified not having
voted in favor, Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ Jerry Smith
United States Circuit Judge

REHG-4A

l5a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FIFTH CIRCUIT
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
CHARLES R. FULBRUGE III TEL. 504-589-6514
CLERK 600 CAMP STREET

NEW ORLEANS, LA. 70130
August 4, 1994

Mr. W. Kent Bishop
Attorney at Law

P.O. Box 11813
Atlanta, Georgia 30355

Dear Mr. Bishop:

| forwarded your “Petition to Vacate Void,
Single-Judge Order Coram Non _ Judice, To
Appeal/Assign Proceedings to Established Three-
Judge Panel, for (Re)nearing, and Suggestion for
(Re)hearing en banc" to the Cour.

| have been directed to advise you that this
matter will not be referred to a three-judge panel,
nor heard en banc, nor will a special master be
appointed.

When the Eleventh Circuit concludes its action
on your case, piease advise us of the results. Until
that time, your name will remain removed from
the rolls of attorneys permitted to practice before
this Court, and the Order entered July 15, 1994
remains intact.

16a

Sincerely,

s/ Charles R. Fulbruge ili
Charles R. Fulbruge Ill

17a

Email dated June 13, 2006, from Fifth Circuit
Deputy Clerk Saltzman
(Shelley_Saltzman@ca5.uscourts.gov) to Petitioner
(wkentbishop@hotmail.com):

Dear Mr. Bishop:

Further to your telephone inquiry this morning,
please be advised that this court follows the
procedures set out in FRAP 46 governing
attorney admissions and attorney discipline.
With regard to your question about the
delegation of such matters to the chief judge
(rather than a three-judge panel as happens
in other circuits), please be advised further
that this court's internal policies provide that
the chief judge, or a designee, shall handle all
suspensions, removals from the court's roll, and
other disciplinary matters. These policies were
most recently affirmed in January 2006.

The court's internal policies are not for public
distribution and | am, therefore, unable to
provide you with a copy.

Yours sincerely,

Shelley E. Saltzman

Deputy Clerk

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
600 S. Maestri Place

New Orleans, LA 70130

Tel: 504-310-7700

18a

Email dated October 6, 2006, from Fifth Circuit
Deputy Clerk Lopez
{Allison_Lopez@ca5.uscourts.gov) to Petitioner
(wkentbishop@hotmail.com):

You may serve the Clerk of Court with a courtesy
copy of your petition filed with the Supreme
Court.

Email dated October 6, 2006, from Petitioner to
Ms. Lopez:

October 6, 2006
Ms. Lopez:

| have a present intention to seek in the Supreme
Court of the United States a writ of certiorari to
the Fifth Circuit.

| presume that this email will fulfill any duty to
give notice.

Whom should | list in the Proof of Service of the
Petition — the Court itself, the Clerk of Court, or
the individual judges?

Thank you, Kent Bishop

19a

CONSTITUTIONAL & STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED IN THIS PETITION

Art. |, Sec. 8, Ci. 3 (“The Commerce Clause”):
“The Congress shall have Power ... To regulate
Commerce with foreign Nations, and among the
several States, and with the Indian Tribes....”

Art. IV, Sec. 1 (“The Full Faith and Credit
Clause”): “Full Faith and Credit shall be given in
each State to the public Acts, Records, and
judicial Proceedings of every other State. And the
Congress may by general Laws prescribe the
Manner in which such Acts, Records and
Proceedings shall be proved, and the Effect
thereof.

Art. IV, Sec. 2, Cl. 1 (“The Privileges and
Immunities Clause"): “The Citizens of each State
shall be entitled to all Privileges and Immunities of
Citizens in the several States.”

Ari. Vi Par. Il (“The Supremacy Clause”): “This
Constitution, and the Laws of the United States
which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and alll
Treaties made, or which shall be made, under the
Authority of the United States, shall be the
supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every
State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the
Constitution or Laws cf any State to the Contrary
notwithstanding.”

The Fifth Amendment to the United States
Constitution states, in relevant part: “No person
Shall ... be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law ....”

20a

The Fourteenth Amendment states, in relevant
part: “No State shall ... deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.”

Section 46(c) of Title 28 U.S.C. provides in part

that:
"Cases and controversies shall be heard and
determined by a court or panel of not more than
three judges ..., unless a hearing or rehearing
before the court in banc is ordered by a majority
of the circuit judges of the circuit who are in
regular active service. ***" (emphasis added).

Section 1738 of Title 28 U.S.C. (“State and
Territorial statutes and judicial proceedings; full
faith and credit”): The Acts of the legislature of
any State, Territory, or Possession of the United
States, or copies thereof, shall be authenticated
by affixing the seal of such State, Territory or
Possession thereto.

The records and judicial proceedings of any
court of any such State, Territory or Possession, or
copies thereof, shall be proved or admitted in
other cours within the United States and its
Territories and Possessions by the attestation of the
clerk and seal of the court annexed, if a seal exists,
together with a certificate of a judge of the court
that the said attestation Is in proper form.

Such Acts, records and judicial proceedings or
copies therof, so authenticated, shall have the
same full faith and credit in every court within the
United States and ifs Territories and Possessions as
they have by law or usage in the courts of such

2la

State, Territory or Possession from which they are
taken.

Section 2077(a) of Title 28 U.S.C. provides that:
“The rules for the conduct of the business of each
court of appeals, including the operating
procedures of such court, shall be published.”
(emphasis added).

Rule 27(c) of Fed.R.App.P. provides that: “(c)
Power of Single Judge to Entertain Motions. In
addition to the authority expressly conferred by
these rules or by law, a single judge of a court of
appeals may entertain and may grant or deny
any request for relief which under these rules may
properly be sought by motion, except that a
single judge may not dismiss or otherwise
determine an appeal or other proceeding, and
except that a court of appeals may provide by
order or rule that any motion or class of motions
must be acted upon by the cour. The action of a
single judge may be reviewed by the court.”
(emphasis added).

Rule 46(a) of Fed.R.App.P. provides that: “(a) An
attorney is eligible for admission to the bar of a
[federal] court of appeals if that attorney is of
good moral and professional character and is
admitted to practice before ... the highest court
of a state [.]”

Rule 47(b) of Fed.R.App.P. provides that: “(b) No
sanction or other disadvantage may be imposed
for noncompliance with any requirement not in
federal law, federal rules, or the local circuit rules
unless the alleged violator has been furnished in
the particular case with actual notice of the
requrement."

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0494%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
