# Reply Brief — Arpaio v. Doe (No. 07-839)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0429%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

m WY ‘eee

“ . | FILED
(2
3 FEB 24 2008
No. 07-839 | |
SUPREME COURT Ue

IN THE

Supreme Court of the CAnited States

JOSEPH ARPAIO,
MARICOPA COUNTY SHERIFF
IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY,
MARICOPA COUNTY,

Petitioners,

JANE DOE,
INDIVIDUALLY AND ON BEHALF
OF ALL OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

Daryl Manhart
(Counsel of Record)

Melissa Iyer
Burch & Cracchiolo, P.A.
702 E. Osborn
Suite 200
Phoenix, Arizona 85014
Phone: (602) 274-7611

Attorneys for Petitioners.

Weshington. OC © THIEL PRESS «+ (202) 328-3786

()

Page
TABLE OF CONTENTS
We Oe I oc oo i ac esse cn asces seus i
I. Federal Circuits Are Split on the Ques-
Eg ar eee 1
II. Casey and Turner Are Sequentiai, Not
NE I ge bo se er ko a-k o e e aO 3
es oe ekg hg ek ad MEE 6
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Monmouth County Corr. Institutional Inmates
v. Lanzaro, 834 F.3d 326 (3d Cir. 1987).......... 1
Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833
es er rms a sd atm ks 4 AG 3,4
Roe v. Crawford, ___ F.3d ___, 2008 WL
BG TOG (te GAP. FA ee on ok ce ce ee ee 1,2,4
Turner v. Safely, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ............ 3, 4

Victoria W v. Larpenter, 369 F.3d 475 (5th
Cir. 2004)

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

The points addressed in Respondents’ Brief in Oppo-
sition demonstrate why review should be granted.

I.
FEDERAL CIRCUITS ARE SPLIT ON THE QUESTIONS
PRESENTED.

Respondents argue in their Brief in Opposition (at
16-19) that the decisions in Monmouth County Corr.
Institutional Inmates v. Lanzaro, 834 F.2d 326 (3d Cir.
1987), and Victoria W v. Larpenter, 369 F.3d 475
(5th Cir. 2004), do not represent a split between those
circuits. Yet, respondents conclude (at 18) that Mon-
mouth and the courts which followed its reasoning
were correct that no-transport policies violated the
Fourteenth Amendment, while respondents (at 18-19)
characterize Victoria W as “‘premised on faulty reason-
ing” and as “wrongly decided.” If the two cases applied
the same, correct legal standards and departed only on
their facts, then respondents would have no need to dis-
agree with Victoria W’s legal analysis or outcome. Thus,
respondents are tacitly acknowledging that the Third
Circuit and Fifth Circuit are split.

That there is a split is only further buttressed by the
recent opinion in Roe v. Crawford, ___ F.3d , 2008
WL 187513 (8th Cir. 2008). The Eighth Circuit essen-
tially decided to straddle the line dividing Monmouth
and Victoria W by adopting certain portions of each.
Notably, the Eighth Circuit distinguished the policy at
issue in Victoria W from its own policy on the ground

i

2

that the court-order alternative was a valid means of
otherwise exercising the right, which implicitly recog-
nizes that Victoria W was correctly decided. Indeed,
the Eighth Circuit’s opinion even alludes to the fact
that the Policy at issue here (court ordered transport in
lieu of unappealable denial) would have been upheld
had it been before that Eighth Circuit panel. ‘‘Alter-
natively, the MDC could implement a policy similar
to that in Victoric W, requiring inmates to obtain a
court order authorizing the abortion.” Jd. at *6. Addi-
tionally, on the second Turner factor, the Eighth Circuit
expressly agreed with the Fifth Circuit’s Turner anal-
ysis that a court-order alternative gave pregnant pris-
oners wishing to terminate their pregnancies an adequate
vehicle by which to exercise the constitutional right
notwithstanding the policy prohibiting transport. ‘“The
[ Victoria W] policy was rationally related to these
goals, and there were alternatives available, because
the procedure was not onerous, and did not act as a com-
plete bar to elective abortion.” Jd. at *5. Thus, on each
element of Turner, the Eighth Circuit’s opinion sup-
ports the analysis used in Victoria W, not Monmouth.
In fact, the Eighth Circuit expressly disagrees with
Monmouth’s ruling on the Eighth Amendment and
certain critical aspects of its ruling on the Fourteenth
Amendment (e.g., the requirement that the jail actually
fund the abortion). Thus, at a minimum, the Eighth
Circuit’s opinion does exactly what the Petition for
Certiorari here expressed concern about - it muddies
the waters on this issue even more, which is why review
by this Court is so important.

Respondents acknowledge that the reasoning in Roe
presents a problem for their position insofar as it sup-
ports the validity of the court-order alternative provided

3

in the Policy at issue here (at 18, n.17), but nevertheless
discount this analysis as “dicta” to downplay its signifi-
cance. Respondents’ efforts to brush aside Roe’s reas-
oning on these points further demonstrates the inherent
flaw in their argument that no conflict among the fed-
eral courts exists on the issues presented. Were there any
question regarding whether a conflict between Mon-
mouth and Victoria W existed before, Roe dispels the
notion that no conflict is present by highlighting the
points on which those two cases diverge. Moreover,
because the reasoning in Roe correctly observes that a
court-order alternative is a permissible regulation on a
prisoner’s abortion rights, it further supports the ulti-
mate reversal of the Arizona courts’ erroneous decision
to invalidate the Maricopa County Jail Policy, which
does contain the court-order alternative that was missing
in the Missouri Department of Corrections’ policy that
the Eighth Circuit considered in Roe. Respondents’
efforts to dissuade this Court from considering the
impact Roe has on the existing and conflicting state of
the law in the federal courts is unavailing. Review of
this issue is warranted.

II.
CASEY AND TURNER ARE SEQUENTIAL, NOT ALTER-
NATIVE, TESTS.

Respondents’ Brief in Opposition (at 6) states that the
test of Turner v. Safely, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987), is more
deferential than that of Planned Parenthood v. Casey,
505 U.S. 833, 873 (1992).! Respondents then conclude

1 Turner recognizes the deference to which prison adminis-
trators are entitled. Respondents’ Brief in Opposition (at 7-8) mis-
construes the Policy to shift to courts the decision as to whether
inmates should be transported. To the contrary, the professional

[footnote continued ]

4

; é ;
that if a prison rule fails Turner, it must necessarily fail
Casey, as well. This is clear error.

The test of Turner v. Safely applies only “when a
prison regulation impinges on inmates’ constitutional
rights.” 482 U.S. at 89. Where is the determination that
the Policy at issue “impinges on inmates’ constitutional
rights”? The Arizona Superior Court (trial court) applied
an ipso facto test that “‘any delay” in obtaining a re-
quested abortion is an “undue burden,” although Planned
Parenthood v. Casey disapproved any ipso facto test.
505 U.S. at 873. The Arizona Court of Appeals abro-
gated any review of whether the Policy impinged on con-
stitutional rights and applied Turner without conducting
a Casey analysis. As Respondents’ Brief in Opposition
(at 5) concedes: “In affirming, the Arizona Court of

judgment of the prison administrators (the County defendants)
is that transport is undesirable for any purpose. Transport for a
medical procedure that is necessary to save the life of an inmate
is as subject to security, safety, and economic concerns as trans-
port for non-medically necessary procedures. Why is no court
order required for those transports? None is required because the
Eighth Amendment intervenes. For non-therapeutic medical pro-
cedures, the Eighth Amendment does not mandate transport.
The prison administrators are free to apply their expertise and
exercise their judgment that transport for such elective procedures
should be avoided, or at least minimized. The Policy accomplishes
that, but yields to the possibility that a court might be persuaded
by an inmate that the specific circumstances of the particular
inmate, or the particular medical procedure the inmate seeks,
warrants an order overriding the Policy and directing that trans-
port be provided in that instance. That is not an abdication
of responsibility to the courts; that is providing the inmate with
a reasonable alternative to the rationally based Policy against pro-
viding transport for non-therapeutic medical procedures. See
Roe v. Crawford.

9)

Appeals first held that the Policy should be tested solely
under Turner, not Casey.”””

The predicate to any Turner analysis is that there is a
prison regulation infringing a constitutional right. In the
case of a regulation impacting the abortion decision, that
invokes a determination whether the regulation imposes
an “undue burden” pursuant to Casey. Hence, they are
sequential tests, not alternatives between which a court
may select at its discretion. Since there has been no
appellate determination that the subject Policy imposes
an “undue burden”’ pursuant to Casey, the predicate to
conducting a Turner analysis did not exist.

*The Arizona Court of Appeals extended the application
of Turner to apply to any challenged policy, even if the under-
lying policy did not infringe a constitutional right. That is an
extension by the state court which is not warranted by Turner
or any other opinion of this Court and further demonstrates why
review is warranted.

6

CONCLUSION

The Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Daryl Manhart
(Counsel of Record)
Melissa lyer
Burch & Cracchiolo, P.A.
702 E. Osborn Road
Suite 200
Phoenix, Arizona 85014
(602) 274-7611
Fax: (602) 234-0341

Attorneys for Petitioners.

February 29, 2008

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0429%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
