# Respondents Brief — Smith v. Hall

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0179%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1937
- **Citation:** 301 U.S. 216

## Text

SO TAA ae OE DE RO Se re PO Fa PoE

—_* pod oo SS ah ie

nie hve

td

\s
3

FILE COPY -
CHARLES ELMORE CROPLEY

FILm

APR 3 1937.

gs ete RK

| In the Supreme Court of the United States

*
OCTOBER TERM, 1936.

No. 36.

>. -
+

SAMUEL B. SMITH,

Petitioner,

V8y t ~

~

JAMES MANUFACTURING COMPANY and
ELMIRA HATCHERIES, INC,

Responds nts,

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF ON REARGUMENT.

H. A. TouLmin,
'H. A. Toutmin, JR.,

Counsel for Respondents.

THE GaTtss LEGAL PUBLISHING Co, CLEVELAND, OHIO

SUBJECT INDEX.

The Reasons for this Brief.......................

Point +

Point II:

‘Point III:

Point IV:

Point V:

Point VI:

Point VII:

Point VIII:
Point IX:
Point xX:

Point XI:

Petitioner's Diverse Position as to the
Scope of Its Patent...... eeyrrrr yr errs

No Court has Construed the Smith Patent

as Broadly as this Court Construed It... .

Reason Why Earlier Decisions Distin-
guished Smith Patent from Hastings: The
Earlier Decisions Limited Construction of
the Smith Patent to Details.............

Petitioner's Inconsistency of Position on
Infringement and Anticipation...._.. -

Error by Petitioner as to When Respond-
ents Started Separate Hatching..........

James.Incubator Cannot Hatch .....

Error of Petitioner as to Hastings’ Air
Speed Being Different from Smith's Air
ES tC CUE 36 seb as 4ces abba ca ma

DCaveersaserecdeoncdasbadeadeness

Construction and Operation of Hastings’
Muskogee Incubator Proven by Petition-
er’s Own Witnesses and Exhibit.........

Smith and Hastings Both Use Slides to
Control Air Volume Through the Stacks of
cc veuktees anes éee seeds aes

Stage Incubation at Muskogee Confirmed

‘by Contemporaneous Statements in the

Hastings File Wrapper.................

The Authenticity of the Hastings Blower
- Confirmed by Petitioner’s Own Witnesses
cccxgdeconsk tas eascceccahas

28

37

Authenticity of Hastings Blower..... 41

Point XII: Record Refutes Petitioner’s Reply Brief
as to Hastings’ Success and Operation.... 46
Point XIII: Reply to Petitioner’s Objection to ‘‘The
RNS os p75 05 0450505404640 4005.05 59
Point XIV: Reply to the Petitioner as to the Davis
i Ulster oekeiouaaheweuiwanes 66

Point XV: Title: Exclusive Licensee, The Buckeye
Incubator Company, a Necessary Party,
_ is Absent: Smith Has No Title to Sue in
the Exclusive Field of the Licensee-As-
signee, in which Field Respondents Oper-
PPP RPP PCT TTT CUT Cer CTT TTI Te rere 70

so pce dcuubexaeeedes 78

Alcohol v. Canfield, 11 F. (2d) 214, 216 (C. C. A. 2).... 78
Boomer v. Umted Power Press Co., 13 Blatch. 107,
8 a rote i re rer ne rr rere 76
Buckeye v. Blum, 17 F. (2d) 459 (ta hs eee 6
Buckeye v. Cooley, 17 F. (2d) 453 (C. C. A. 3)...... ,
EST Ter Pe eT eee TE re OP rr rer re rrr 3, 4, 6, 7,.8, 12
Buckeye v. Cooley (Judge Bodine) Pet.’s Ex. - rere
PEST Tere ree Trey Tere er Tee +... 11, 12, 30, 32
Buckeye v..Hulpot, 22 F. (2d) 855, 857. ............... 6, 8
Buckeye v. Hulpot, 24 F. (2d) 341 (C. ©. A.3)........
PO SPC. et ne Err Pr Perey 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Buckeye v. Petersime, 19 F. (2d) 721 (C. C. A. 6)...... 6
Buckeye v. Wolf, 291 F. 253............00c.c0eceee 5, 6,7
Corona v. Dovan, 276 U. S. 358, 374. ................. 67
Corpus Juris, Vol. 48, Sec. 541, p. 338................ 77

TL Be I aM Ws noc cs te cceense 72, 74, 75, 76, 77

Electric Smelting & Aluminum Co. v. Carborundum, 102

F. 618 (C. C. A. 3)
Gayler v. Wilder, 10 How. 477
Goodyear v. Davis, 102 U. S. 222, 230

Gordon v. Anthony, 16 Blatch. 234, 10 Fed. Cas. 773,
No. 5605

Gould v. Rees, 15 Wall. 187, 194

Green v. Le Clair, 24 F. (2d) 74, 77-(C. C. A. 7)
Independent-v. Radio, 269 U.S. 459... 22. oe... 72, 74, 77
Kaiser v. General Phonograph Supply Co., 171 F. 432-3 76
Moore v. Marsh, 7 Wall. 515, 520... .. 2... cee eee
Patterson v. Kentucky, 97 U.S. 501

Potere v. Bates, F006 U. GB. BOB. oc oc cc cnc ccccesane 72,
Radio v. Hohenstein, 289 F. 757, 759 (C. C. A.2)......
Root v. Radway, 105 U.S. 189

Royer v. Coupe, 146 U. S. 524

Shields v. Barrow, 17 How. 130, 141-2
Siz Wheel Corp. v. Sterling, 50 F. (2d) 568 (C. C. A. 9)
Smith v. James, 83 F. (2) 217 |

Smith v. Snow, 294 U. S. 1
.2, 3, 4, 6, 12, 15, 16, 17, 19, 52, 60, 63, 73, 78

Stone Case, Pet.’s Ex. 2 .. .28, 34, 42, 78
Tyler v. Tuel, 6 Cranch 324

United States v. Loughrey, 172 U.S. 206 lear

Walker on Patents (6th Ed.) Vol. 1, Sec. 218, pp. 291-2 67
Walker on Patents (6th Ed.), Vol. 1, p. 545, Sec. 450... 78
Waterman v. MacKenzie, 138 U. S. 252, 255

Washam v. Smith, 294 U. S. 20

Westinghouse v. Boyden, 170 U. S. 537, 569

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1936.

No. 36.

SAMUEL B. SMITH,
Petitioner,
vs.

JAMES MANUFACTURING COMPANY and
ELMIRA HATCHERIES, INC.

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF ON REARGUMENT.

The Reasons for this Brief.

Respondents take this opportunity to correct errors
in petitioner’s reply brief and argument. We also confirm
and amplify through this additional opportunity answers
to the Court’s questions to counsel at the previous hearing.
We likewise suggest the question of title that was raised
in the Courts below. The decisions of the Court of Ap
peals in these cases are reported in 83 F. (2d) 217 and
221.

We propose to demonstrate and prove from peti-
tioner’s own witnesses and own -exhibit the nature of the
Hastings prior use, its method of operation and its con-
struction. (Vol. II, R. 766-94, Ex. B.) _We propose to show
the identity between such proof gf petitioner and the draw-
ings of respondents of the Hastings prior use so that peti-
tioner can have no complaint about the nature and quality
of the proof as to the-Hastings prior use. (Res. Exs. 22

»)

and 22a.) We take it the petitioner cannot impeach his
own witnesses and his own exhibit showimg the Hastings
prior use, which, alone, is ample to show complete antici-
pation. :

POINT I.
PETITIONER'S DIVERSE POSITION AS TO THE
SCOPE OF ITS PATENT.

Petitioner’s reply brief and argument before this
Court emphasize that he claims in effect two different pat-
ents at different times:

(1) a narrower patent than this Court construed the
Smith patent when petitioner is considering the
Hastings prior use.

(2) a broader patent than this Court construed the
Smith patent when petitioner is considering the
James infringement. é;

We emphasize the fact that on infringement petitioner
finds it necessary to go beyond even the broad construction
of the Smith patent accorded to him in the Snow case, and
to ask this Court to find that his patent covers a method of
incudation where less than all eggs of all stages are in a
cabinet and where the air does not travel in a defined cir-
euit. Indeed, in petitioner’s own brief at one place he con-
fines his patent to a single cabinet in which all eggs of all
ages must be in the cabinet and in a single compartment
at that, in his effort to avoid the Hastings prior use, {p.
15, Main Brief) while in another part of the brief the
broadest interpretation is resorted to when infringement
is to be discussed. (p. 23, Reply Brief.)

Petitioner in the trade vigorously distinguished his
patented method from separate hatching, such as prac-
ticed by the respondent. He circularized the trade with
screaming broadsides that separate hatching was markedly
different from the Smith process and condemned separate -

he Answer
to the separate

Hatcher question is ——>

All sorts of rumors have been floating around the hatchery industry concerning
our attitude toward a separate hatcher. Some have stated that we proposed bringing
on the market such a machine. We have no intention whatever of bringing a separate
hatcher on the market. We have definite reasons supported by scientific research
for taking this stand. We are thoroughly convinced that the hatcheryman is better
off from any standpoint without a separate hatcher. The majority of hatcherymen
see no sound reason for a separate hatcher. They have not asked for it, and do not
want it.

1. Our Research Department says “NO”

When the separate hatcher was first announced, and desiring to maintain our place of leadership
irvall phases of hatchery practice, we immediately proceeded to investigate its merits and the attitude
of hatcherymen toward it. We tried out various types of hatchers. We built in our own plant, the
best separate hatchers ever made. We tested them thoroughly. We studied them from the stand-
point of quality of chicks produced—percentage of hatch—from the standpoint of production costs
and from every standpoint of hatchery operation. In every case we found every type of separate
hatcher a hindrance of a help. Our Research Department today is unalterably opposed to
@ separate hatcher y type so far conceived by man.

2. Our Field Men say “NO”

In order to make a double check on the separate hatcher question we sent our-field men to
call on users of separate hatchers and others in the hatchery field. We found an overwhelming senti-
ment against the separate hatcher.. It adds to the cost of producing chicks end lays greater financial!
burden on the hatcheryman who is already heavily laden with iterns of expense. We have yet to find
a single hatcheryman who can demonstrate that chicks produced in « separate hatcher are any
better than, if as good as, those produced in a Smith machine.

3. Our Sales Department says “NO”

The Smith Incubator Company has consistently introduced improvements in both mechanical
equipment and methods of operation. Each change, however, has been made after most careful
scientific testing and nothing has been offered the industry until it has stood most rigorous trials.
Our Sales Department is not in favor of bringing something on the market sirmply to have another
item to sell. Our equipment must be of benefit to the purchaser for we realize, that unless « pur-
chaser makes money with the equipment, the sale will prove to be a boormerang in the long run
For that reason, our Sales Department has said that they do not want to offer a separate hatcher.
They do not believe it has any place in the economical production of baby chicks.

BRT a Se —

The Separate Hate
in the Hatc

Our tests have conclusive
adds to the labor cost becau
handled more frequently. Sepac.
exposing the chicks to damaging
We have not found any separe
quality of chick produced---nor
cent of hatch.

We believe a Smith mach

can be produced with any other
it at a lower cost per chick.

r eee a
hery industry concerning
that we proposed bringing

ever of bringing a separate
rted by scientific research

the hatcheryman is better
majority of hatcherymen
ot asked for it, and donot

says “NO” *

tain our place of leadership

We ol ou om plat. th The Separate Hatcher Has No Place

standpoint of production costs
found every type of separate

ay ocala opps in the Hatchery Industry

Our tests — conclusively shown that a separate hatcher

ee ee ee adds to the labor cost because the chicks and eggs must be
ean een aed handled more frequently. Separate hatchers add to the chances for

in a seperate hatcher are any

exposing the chicks to damaging temperature and humidity changes.
We have not found any separate hatcher which will add to the

MNO" quality of chick produced---nor will it produce any greater per
cent of hatch.

pvernents in both mechanical

conde paver Amandhpwrwrn We believe a Smith machine produces a better chick than

we realize that uel Po | can be produced with any other type of equipment, and produces

t to offer a separate hatcher. it at a lower cost per chick.

gbeby chicks.

3

hatching roundly as something different and completely
apart from his patent. (Pet. Exs. 16 and 38, Broadside Ad-
vertising.) In one of these circulars he said to the pub-
lie: |
‘*We have no intention whatever of bringing a sepa-

rate hatcher on.the market.’’

By contrast in this Court petitioner claims that sepa-
rate hatching is fully within the purview of his patent and
is just a mino?t variation of his main idea.

POINT, IL
NO COURT HAS CONSTRUED THE SMITH PATENT AS
BROADLY AS THIS COURT CONSTRUED IT.
At the hearing one of the Justices of this Court asked
a queation, which, we believe, was to this general effect:
In what suit was the Smith patent first interpreted
as broadly as it was interpreted by this Court?
Counsel for petitiener who closed petitioner's case re-
plied that in the Third Circuit the patent was construed as
broadly as it was.by this Court in the Snow and Warham
cases. This is not correct; the correct answer is: ‘‘No
court ever construed this patent as broadly as this Court.’’
Let us look at the record on this point.°

In the Cooley case invention was attributed to Smith
for directing the air through a central corridor between
partitions to the floor, where it mushroomed and spread
beneath the tiers of eggs, ascended through the egg trays
and escaped through definitely arranged air outlets.

The Court said in distinguishing Smith from Hastings:

‘‘Hastings and Smith, the patentee, no doubt saw
the same incubating problems, but Smith pursued a

_ © We should add that petitioner in an effort to prove in-
fringement asks this Court to still further expand the Smith
patent.

7s

4

solution directly opposite that of Hastings. He, too,
set eggs in trays arranged in tiers and enclosed them
in a chamber and he also provided artificially heated
air by a motor driven fan positioned at the top of the
chamber, but he established an air current and regu-
lated its direction by arranging the tiers of trays in
two columns parallel with and separated from each
other so as to form between them a central corridor
and placed partitions ar curtains from the top to a
short distance from the bottom of the tiers ang di-
rected the air current downwardly not through the
eggs but through the corridor where it mushroomed
on the floor, spread beneath the tiers, ascendeW
through the egg trays and escaped through definitely
arranged air outlets. By so controlling the current of
heated air Smith claims, and we think correctly, that
he is enabled to attain uniformity of temperature in

its movement, first, through the old heat radiating |

eggs, and next; as it ascends, to the newer heat absorb-
ing eggs, tt being necessary that the temperature of
the former should be maintained at a point not higher
than 105° and that of the latter at a point not below

170°.’ (Buckeye v. Cooley, 17 F. (2d) 453, 455, C. C..

A. 3.)

This limitation of the patent to partitions to direct

the current was rejected by this Court when it said:

‘‘But neither the arrangement nor the means of
guiding the current of air are requisite to the appli-
cation of the principle which Smith discovered and
claimed.’’ (Smith v. Snow, 294 U. S. 1, 11; p. 8, Opin-
ion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2:)_ |

‘“‘The specifications and claim both contemplate a
continuous circulation of the current of heated air
through the chamber, which, regardless of its direc-
tion, would continuously operate, by repeated contacts
with the eggs in all stages, to equalize the temperature
throughout the chamber by carrying heat units from
the warmer to the cooler eggs.’’ (Smith v. Snow, pp.
8, 9, Opinion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 294 U.S. 12.)

7

*

4)

This proves that the broader interpretation was by
this Court, contrary to petitioner’s answer to the Court.:

In Buckeye v. Wolf, 291 F. 253, decided by. Judge
Westenhaver, no oral testimony was produced as to the
Hastings prior uses. (p. 257.) In speaking of the Hastings
description in ‘‘Poultry Culture’’ not having the feature
of Smith te which Judge Westenhaver limited Smith, he
said: -

‘‘Something is said about driving the air from top
to bottom by a centrifugal fan, but the postition and
location of the fan with respect to the eggs and the
direction of the drafts are not defined, much less is
any provision disclosed for driving the air currents in
a defined channel or for removing the foul air and
supplying fresh air.’’ (p. 258.)

As to the Hastings application, Judge Westenhaver
said:

‘*No well-defined channels for the circulation of the
air are provided.’’ (p. 259.)

In describing Smith’s method, Judge Westenhaver
said :

‘“‘The principle of operation and the hatching
method for which this apparatus is designed consist in
forcing mechanically a draft of heated air downwardly
through the central corridor, where it passes below the
bottom of the partition or -curtains and ascends
through the column of egg trays to the exit at the top
of the respective egg chambers ° ° °. A specified num-
ber of the trays of eggs is placed in the stationary egg
racks at the top of the egg chambers, and after a pre-
determined time are removed.and placed in the tilting
egg rack * * *. The trays are again, after a predeter-
mined time, transferred to the next lower tier, and the
operation thus repeated until the eggs have reached
the bottom of the tilting rack and are then ready to
hatch. They are then transferred to. the stationary
hatching trays at the bottom of the incubator. It is

4

solution directly opposite that of Hastings. He, too,
set eggs in trays arranged in twis and enclosed them
in a chamber and he also provided artificially heated
air by a motor driven fan positioned at the top of the
chamber, but e established an air current and regu-
lated its direction by arranging the tiers of trays in
two columns ge and separated from each
other so as to form between them a central corridor
and placed partitions or curtains from the top to a
short distance from the bottom of the tiers and di-
rected the air current downwardly not through the
eggs but through the corridor where it mushroomed
on the floor, spread beneath the tiers, ascended
through the egg trays and escaped through definitely
arranged air outlets. By so controlling the current of
heated air Smith claims, and we think correctly, that
he is enabled to attain uniformity of temperature in —
its movement, first, through the old heat radiating
eggs, and next, as it ascends, to the newer heat absorh-
ing eggs, it being necessary that the temperature of
the former should be maintained at a point not higher
than 105° and that of the latter at a point not below
100°.”’ (Buckeye v. Cooley, 17 F. (2d) 453, 455, C. C.
A. 3.) ;

This limitation of the patent to partitions to direct

the current was rejected by this Court when it said:

‘*But neither thé arrangement nor the means of
guiding the current of air are requisite to the appli-
cation of the principle which Smith discovered and
claimed.’’ (Smith v. Snow, 294 U. S. 1, 11; p. 8, Opin-
ion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2.)

‘‘The specifications and claim both contemplate a
continuous circulation of the current of heated air
through the chamber, which, regardless of its direc-
tion, would continuously operate, by repeated contacts
with the eggs in all stages, to equalize the temperature
throughout the chamber by carrying heat units from
the warmer to the cooler eggs.’’ (Smith v. Snow, pp.
8, 9, Opinion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 294 U. S. 12.)

4)

This proves that the broader interpretation was by
this Court, contrary to petitioner’s answer to the Court.

In Buckeye v. Wolf, 291 F. 253, decided by Judge
Westenhaver, no oral testimeny was produced as to the
Hastings prior uses. (p. 257.) In speaking of the Hastings
description in ‘‘ Poultry Culture’’ not having the feature
of Smith to which Judge Westenhaver limited Smith, he
said :

‘*‘Something is said about driving the air from top
to bottem by a centrifugal fan, but the position and
location of the fan with respect to the eggs and the
direction of the drafts are not defined, much less is
any provision disclosed for driving the air currents in
a defirted channel or for removing the foul air and
supplying fresh air.’’ (p. 258.)

As to the Hastings application, Judge Westenhaver
said: *

‘*No well-defined channels for the circulation of the
air are provided.’’ (p. 259.)

In describing Smith’s method, Judge Wieder
said:

‘‘The principle of operation and the hatching
method for which this apparatus is designed consist in
forcing mechanically a draft of heated air downwardly
through the central corridor, where it passes below the
bottom of the partition or curtains and ascends
through the column of egg trays to the exit at the top
of the respective egg chambers * * *. A specified num-
ber of the trays of eggs is placed in the stationary egg
racks at the top of the egg chambers, and after a pre-
determined time are removed and placed i in the tilting
egg rack * * *. The trays are again, after a predeter-
mined time, transferred to the next lower tier, and the
operation thus repeated until the eggs have reached
the bottom of the tilting rack and are then ready. to
hatch. They are then transferred to the stationary
hatching trays at the bottom of the incubator. It is

6

also claimed that the forced draft circulation of air
carries off the heat and foul air from the eggs in the
advanced stage of incubation at the bottom of the egg
rack, reducing their temperature and delivering the
heat to the eggs in the less advanced stages, thereby
aiding the incubating process and obtaining a uniform

temperature in the egg chamber.’’ (pp. 255-6.)

Later Judge Westenhaver in the Blum case found, as
did Judge Hickenlooper in the Petersime case, that am-open
box without partitions did not infringe. Both were affirmed
by the 6th C. ©. A: This shows that Judge Westenhaver
in rejecting Hastings did so because he did not show the
specific details of the Smith patent to which Judge Westen-
haver confined Smith, contra to the holding of this Court
in the Snow case.

In Buckeye - Hillpot, 22 F. (2d) 855, 857, Judge
Bodine limited the patent to passing air through the older
eggs first. He said:

‘*The Cireuit Court of Appeals, in 17 F. (2d) 453,
held that the patent disclosed air currents passing first
through the eggs in advanced stages of incubation to

those in less advanced stages ba incubation. This.
Hillpot does not do.’’

Judge Bodine held there was no infringement for this
reason and was affirmed by the 3rd C. C. A. On appeal
in the Hulpot case, 24 F. (2d) 341, the Third Circuit Court
of Appeals limited the Smith invention to one in which
there is:

‘‘a ‘corridor’ between tray tiers, and a corridor of a
kind defined by its purpose.’’ (p. 344.)

‘‘With such an arrangement the air, confined in
a corridor partitioned from the tray tiers by curtains,
will move in a current or column to the point of outlet
which usually is at the bottom of the corridor, when,
after mushrooming, it will pass below the tiers and
ascend through the egg trays in a current or column

7

because it is confined there by the same curtains that
first prevented its escape from the corridor. The es-
sence of the invention therefore is forced circulation
of heated air in predetermined direction, or stated dif-
ferently, forced circulation of columns of heated air
through columns of eggs.’’ (p. 344.)

The Courts which thus construed Hastings (Wolf, -

Cooley and Hulpot cases) had no need to give Smith a
broad interpretation to make out infringement because
they found that the proof of Hastings was not sufficient to
meet the details of the Smith patent: when there was a de-
parture from the Smith construction by omitting particu-
lars, as in the Hulpot case, the Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit found no infringement.

In the Wolf case the infringement was literal; there

was no necessity to give a broad interpretation to the pat-

ent.

Judge Westenhaver said:

‘*No question of invention or infringement turns on
a close construction of all or any of the claims.’’ (p.
256.)

‘‘In the matter of infringement, no difficulty is pre-
sented. Infringement is not only plainly shown, ‘but ~
the defendant’s conduct, it seems to me, is and has
been inexcusable.’’ (p. 264.) .

‘‘His [defendant Wolf}..usual method of operation
is that of the patent, although he asserts that he has
experimentally hatched eggs by shifting the trays
about indiscriminately instead of successively . from
upper to lower levels.’’ (pp. 264-5.)

Cooley Case.

In the Cooley case, Judge Bodine said there was no

question of infringement or patent interpretation:

‘‘The defendant, Cooley, knew about the litigation
in Ohio. He procured, after that suit, a Buckeye in-

»

8

cubator (no. 7), called in local carpenters and me-
chanics and built similar units. These units were all
operated during the seasons of 1923 to 1925 inclusive.
Infringement seems clear.’’ (Petitioner’s Ex. 2, Buck-
eye v. Cooley, p. 4, Opinion.) [Note Buckeye has: the
exclusive right to make, use and sell Smith incubators
up to.16,500 egg capacity—Petitioner’s Exhibits 33, 34,
Vol. II, Ree. 716-23. }

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals said in affirming

Judge Bodine:

‘‘It will avail nothing to repeat the testimony on the
issue of infringement. , It will be enough to say that on
that issue we find against the defendant.’’ Buckeye v.
Cooley, 17 F. (2d) 453, 455, p. 4, Opiniori in Petitioner's
Ex. 2.

Hillpot Case.

By contrast, when Judge Bodine had occasion to con-
strue the scope of the Smith patent to see if it went beyond
‘the mere details of its drawings, he found non-infringe-
ment because of the absence of partitions in the Hillpot
machine. It was then that he said:

‘‘Rolla Lawry probably completely anticipated

Smith, but his anticipation need not now be considered.

In the last analysis, Smith describes his method of

hatching to be by maintaining a temperature through-

out of 106° and 105° F. No successful operation is
possible at such temperatures. His catalogues and the
evidence show that the temperature must never exceed
99° F. So the patent does not disclose a successful
method of operation.’’ (p. 3, Opinion in Petitioner’s

Ex. 2, 22 F. (2d) 855, 857.)

Petitioner in his main brief says the Lawry and Hast-
ings prior uses are in the same class. (pp. 20-21.)

In the same case of Buckeye v. Hulpot the Third Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals approved Judge Bodine finding non-
infringement, saying:

~

~*~

9

‘In the Cooley case infringement was so plam there
was no occasion to construe the claims. In the present
case, however, the alleged infringements are of a
character that call for their construction. Hence the
scope of the claims and how they read, as construed, on
the practices of the respondent are the only issues with
which we have to deal under the Smith patent.’’ (p. 2,
Opinion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 24 F. (2d) 341, 342.)

‘*But the issue of infringement in this case does not
turn in law on such an interpretation of the claims
alone, or in fact on what, as thus far stated, seems a
mere reversal of the steps of the patented methods.
It turns on another fact, until now purposely omitted,
and on its consequent air movement. Looking for the
invention by reading the claims in the light of the
specification and the file wrapper history of the patent
prosecution, one fixed and definite thing is disclosed,
first with reference to its presence in the apparatus
and next with reference to its use in the methods. That
is a ‘corridor’ between tray tiers, and a corridor of a
kind defined by its purpose.’’ (pp. 4-5, Opinion in Peti-
tioner’s Ex. 2, 24 F. (2d) 341, 344.)

‘‘The essence of the invention therefore is forced .
circulation of heated air in predetermined direction,
or, stated differently, forced circulation of ‘columns of
heated air through columns of eggs. * ° *’’ (p. 5, Opin-
ion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 24 F. (2d) 341, 344.)

‘‘Turning to the specifications for light upon the
claims, we find nothing there suggested in respect to
air movement except by currents in predetermined di-
rections. With all thes before him what did Hillpot
do? He simply omitted curtains. He thus transformed
the corridor of Smith into the passageway of the old
art. Will this passageway without curtains sustain
and direct the air current as it comes from the fan?
Hillpot says it will not, and, what is important, Smith
does not say it wil. With the Smith central idea of
means and function for maintaining and directing an
air current out of the Hillpot structures, Smith main-

10

tains that the true meaning of the ‘current of heated
air’ as employed in the patent claims is merely a cur-
rent ‘created ° * *° with sufficient velocfty to circulate,
diffuse and maintain the air throughout the chamber’
and urges that with the curtains off, the air in Hillpot
is so diffused, generally and laterally, that it strikes
each of the eggs again and again, and, in doing so, it
picks up some of the heat units from the warm eggs
and carries them to the cool eggs, thereby effecting
the desired uniformity of temperature. (It may be ob-
served that it also carries them to other warm eggs.)
In a word, he says that air ‘agitation’ is the essence
of his invention, yet nowhere in the file wrapper,
specification-or claims of the patent do we find any
reference to air agitation. This silence, we surmise, is
due to the fact that air agitation in the sense of in-
definite circulation, diffusion, or churning was prior
art. On circulation by defined currents alone Smith
was awarded the patent. We cannot find circulation
of that kind in any of the Hillpot structures. With
curtains Off, the tiers of trays present comb fronts to
the passageway. When the warm air leaves the fan .
there is for a moment and for a short distance a cur-
rent, but as the force weakens the current fades, and
the body of heated air does not go to the opposite wall
and mushroom but wanders in between each of the
scores of trays and goes where it pleases. Instead of
one strong current moving in one direction in trunk
farm, Hillpot has a trunk current only on leaving the
fan; then it divides into a multitude of branches which
follow no defined courses but only courses made by the
least resistance. We are constrained to find that Hill-
pot did not infringe the claims of the Smith patent in
suit.’’ (pp. 5-6, Opinion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 24 F.
(2d) 341, 344-5.)

11

POINT III.

REASON WHY EARLIER DECISIONS DISTINGUISHED

PATENT FROM HASTINGS: THE EARLIER DE-

CISIONS LIMITED CONSTRUCTION OF THE SMITH
PATENT TO DETAILS.

The answer to this proposition is‘as follows:

(a) Because the patent was construed narrowly by
previous Courts due to the fact that‘infringement in ear)
case was literal and there was no need to do otherwise.
Therefore, the Courts found that the incomplete proof of
Hastings was insufficient to prove anticipation of the de-
tails of the Smith patent when it was so limited to those
details ; for instance the Courts in these earlier cases found

that Smith was limited to arranging the eggs in a column
an nradatorminad ardor unth the eves vrawine hotter

Since this Brief was printed we have been advised of
the decision of the Supreme Court in Canada in the case
of His Majesty the King, on the information of the Attor-
ney General of Canada v. The Smith Incubator Company
and The Buckeye Incubator Company, dealing with the
validity of the Smith Canadian patent, which is a sub-
stantial duplicate of the Smith American patent now at
bar here. We are submitting with this Brief a ‘certified
copy of that opinion as the five Justices of that Court
concurred in holding the Smith patent invalid in view of
the Hastings prior use. The Canadian Supreme. Court
adopted the interpretation of the Smith patent which this
Court has given to it. It has concurred with the opinion
of the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit as to the
Hastings prior use anticipating the Smith patent.

12

Bodine and the Third Circuit Court of Appeals in the
Cooley case. This Court found that Smith could set his
eggs of different ages in any way in any order. It found
that the direction of the defined current or the location of
the fan for driving this defined current was immaterial and
‘ that the Smith patent covered either the air going up or
down or horizontally so long as there was a defined cur-
‘rent, contrary to the Courts of Appeals of the Sixth and
Eighth Circuits and the Third Circuit in the Cooley case.
This Court found that partitions or curtains were unneces-
sary and that a corridor between the tray stacks was not
an essential element, contra to the foregoing Circuits. In
short, this Court found that the Smith patent covered
broadly a box without partitions in which eggs of all stages
of incubation were treated with a defined air current pass-
ing over the hot eggs and thence to the cool eggs in a cir-
cuit over and over again so as to transmit the heat of the
hot eggs to the cool eggs no matter how the eggs were ar-

ranged and irrespective of the direction of the current.
This Court said:

*“The drawings and specifications show the eggs ar-
ranged in tiers on either side of the chamber, with an
open space or corridor between, at the top of which a
revolving fan forces the air downward in the open
space of the corridor. ® * * The specifications and
claim both contemplate a continuous circulation of the
current of heated air through the chamber, which, re-
gardless of its direction, would continuously operate,
by repeated contacts with the eggs in all stages, to
equalize the temperature throughout the chamber by
carrying heat units from the warmer to the cooler
eggs.’’ (pp. 6-8, Smith v. Snow, Opinion in Petition-
er’s Ex. 2, 294 U. S. 10-12.)

When Smith is thus construed; as by this Court, the
Hastings prior use as now proved is completely anticipa-
tory. We believe it anticipatory even of the details. which

13

were not fully proved in the Hastings use in previous cases,
but that is a moot question now because this patent has
been construed by this Court. The only theoretical dif-
ference that Smith in his reply brief now advances to dis-
tinguish Hastings from Smith is this immaterial claim:
that Hastings sometimes set his eggs in several columns
of different ages and that as the eggs grew older and hot-
ter, he moved them from one column to the next column
sidewise instead of vertically, as in Smith, and that the
temperature in the horizontal columns was different. Un-
der the interpretation of this patent by this Court, even if
this were true, which we deny, it would make no difference.
The common fan in the Hastings machine blew the air
downwardly through each column and thence out of the
bottom of each column where the independent streams
were reconsolidated and mixed again in the fan for re-.
delivery so that the heat of the hotter eggs would be con-
veyed back to the cooler eggs.

As this Court has said, it makes no difference in what
order the eggs are placed or in what arrangement or posi-
tion, so long as the eggs of all stages of incubation and
heat are subjected to the forced draft that is continuously
passed over them in a defined course. Smith’s patent
teaches a variation in temperature of five degrees. In
practice he has a greater variation. Smith claims that
Hastings had a variation in temperature between the col-
umns of eggs as high as ten degrees. As the Smith patent
is not limited in its claims to any particular degree in tem-
perature, we would say this quibbling over the Hastings
temperature is immaterial. In Smith’s application as
originally filed he called for a variation of eight degrees,
namely, from 98° to 106°. (Vol. II, Rec. 799.)

Smith’s claim that Hastings is not an anticipation is
refuted by Smith’s position as to the James infringement.
If this Court will merely reverse the situation and assume

14

that Hastings was an infringer and James the anticipation,
~ it will see exactly what we mean. Smith says Hastings is
not an anticipation because, while eggs of all stages are in
the same compartment and are in the path of the same air
stream in a single box with that same air stream passing
over all eggs repeatedly yet James is an infringer because
eggs which are not in all stages are in a box in which the
-air cannot reach the hottest eggs in the latter stages that
are in a separate hatcher. ;

We fail to see how James can be an infringer when
less than all stages of eggs are in the cabinet if it is so
material on anticipation that eggs of al] stages in the same
cabinet are arranged in columns according to age, even
though the eggs are engaged by the same air stream to
convey the heat from the hottest eggs to the coldest.
Smith’s position is fatally inconsistent. Either Hastings
is anticipation or James does not infringe, if Smith’s
theory of his patent is consistent. We direct your atten-
tion to page 15 of Smith’s main brief where he disclaims
in effect the James infringement by saying that Smith only
covers the stages of all eggs in a single box; as James does
not have the eggs of the last three days this definition
would exclude the James machine from infringement.

| POINT IV.
PETITIONER'S INCONSISTENCY OF POSITION ON
INFRINGEMENT AND ANTICIPATION.

Petitioner’s reply brief emphasizes the inconsistency
which exists between the claim of infringement by a sepa-
rate hatching machine in which all eggs are not located in
a single cabinet and the claim of no anticipation by a ma-
chine where eggs of all stages are in the same cabinet. This
Court need go no further on infringement than to go back
to page 15 of petitioner’s main brief and observe the new
interpretation of the Smith patent, put upon it by peti-

15

tioner in an effort to avoid the Hastings prior use which
clearly eliminates infringement by the separate hatcher
- machine.

Let us first compare these statements as to the nature
of the Smith invention with the position of the petitioner
before this Court in the Snow case, as found by this Court
in its opinion. Petitioner says now in its main brief:

“The eggs must be set in staged ineubation * which

is defined as a successive setting of eggs within the
cabinet at brief intervals.’’ (p. 15.)

This Court has found this to be old. Smith v, Snow,
294 U..S.°16, 17.

Again petitioner says:

‘“‘The eggs in staged incubation must be set tm one
room ® in order for the heat interchange to function,’’

ete. (p. 15.)

But in separate hatching the eggs are not all set in one
room, but in two rooms, so that the heat interchange of the
hotter eggs during the last three days, during which they
supply 180 per cent of the total heat supplied by the eggs
prior to the last three days, cannot function to warm the
cooler eggs in the incubator.

Again petitioner says:

‘‘The air must be circulated about all of the eggs *
in this single room,”’ ete. (p. 15.)

Note the emphasis ‘‘about all of the eggs’’ in the
single room. In the separate hatcher only a part of the
eggs is in the incubator and the eggs are not all in the sin-
gle room but in two separate rooms.

‘Again petitioner’s brief says:

‘‘The current of air must move with a sufficiently
high velocity to maintain the air at the same tempera-

* Emphasis is that of petitioner. |

Cd

16

ture about all of the eggs, thus breaking down any
tendency for the formation of hot or cold spots about
any group of eggs, * * *° Smith mounted his fans di-
rectly within the chamber and vigorously recirculated
substantially the same body of air over and over again
through the eggs so that the temperature of the air
was the same at all points, and all of the eggs, whether
. new or old, were subjected to the same air tempera-
ture.’” (p. 16.)

In the separate hatcher the eggs in the hatcher are of

a different temperature from those in the incubator by as
much as 34% degrees. (Vol. I, R. 255.)

Let us turn to this Court’s interpretation of the Smith

patent in the Snow case. This Court said:

‘*It was. possible to carry on the process of incu- -
bation continuously by placing fresh eggs in the incu-
bator at intervals, as those of the most advanced stage
hatched and the new-born chicks were removed. It
was possible to apply heated air to the eggs at a con-
stant temperature, thus avoiding the necessity of vary-
ing by nice adjustments the temperature of the ap-
plied-air, so as to conform to the varying temperatures
of the eggs as they passed through successive stages
of incubation.’’ (p. 4, Opinion in Petitioner’s Ex. 2, 294
U. S. 6, 7.)

This Court referred to the most advanced eggs as

those during the last three days, in the same sense that the
patent claims refer to the eggs as the more advanced. It -

‘‘They [drawings and specifications] indicate also
that as the eggs most advanced are hatched, they are
to be replaced by moving downward the trays con-
taining the several successive settings of eggs which
are in earlier stages of incubation. * * * So much of
the air as was introduced through the intake would
thus reach the more advanced eggs first. ° * °

‘*Here the specifications showed an arrangement of
the eggs and a means of guiding the current of air so

17

that it would reach the most advanced eggs first. But
neither the’ arrangement nor the means of guiding the
current of air are requisite to the application of the
principle which Smith discovered and claimed. * * °
The specifications and claim both contemplate a con-
tinous circulation of the current of heated air through
the chamber, which, regardless of its direction, would
continuously operate, by repeated contacts with the
eggs in all stages, to equalize the temperature through-
out the chamber by carrying heat units from the
warmer to the cooler eggs.’’ (pp. 7-9, Opinion in Peti-
tioner’s Ex. 2, 294 U. S. 10-12.)

As pointed out by this Court in its reference to the
hotter eggs, these eggs are the ones most advanced in incu-
bation, namely, the eggs during the last three days, which
are the hatching eggs in the lower stationary frays of the
Smith patent. The principle thus found sy this Court in
the Smith invention was the combination of the eggs of all
stages with a stream of air being continuously moved over
all of the eggs in a single room.

The Court said in Smith v. Snow, supra:

‘*It is enough that there is a.movement of air in
current form following substantially defined paths
through the tiers of egg trays, sufficient to effect the
desired transfer of heat units.’’ (p. 14, Opinion, Peti-
tioner’s Ex. 2, 294 U. S. 20.)

Heretofore, in this Court and below, the petitioner has
said eggs can be placed of any age anywhere in any order.
The Court so found.

But now petitioner says:

‘‘In order to secure the benefits of the invention,
intelligent use must be made of staged incubation so
as to secure an approximate balance between the en-
dothermic and exothermic eggs.’’ (p. 15, Main Brief.)

This new limitation was an effort to avoid the Hast-
ings prior use. Before discussing this, let us again point

18

out that the James machine does not have all the eggs in
the same cabinet. The eggs in the more advanced stage, or

; this Court said, in the most advanced stage, that is the
last three days, are’in a separate hatcher where there is
no churning of the air and no air movement created arti-
ficially. There fs no chance for the heat of those last three
’ days-reaching the earlier eggs. The incubator and hatcher
are entirely separate machines, having separate charac-
teristics, with different temperatures and different mois-
ture conditions. The air is not circulated about all of the
eggs at all stages of incubation. The temperature of the

different groups of eggs in James, that is those that are ~

incubating and those that are hatching, is different. In the
incubator the temperature is 100% degrees; in the hatcher
ite is 102 to 104 degrees. Humidity, which is a factor of
the temperature, is also different, being 82-85 degrees in
the incubator and unlimited moisture in the hatcher.

Now why did Smith virtually disclaim infringement
- by James in this Court on page 15 of his main brief? It
was because of his effort to avoid the Hastings prior use
by trying to claim that the Hastings prior use consisted
of a number of separate compartments in each of which
the eggs were of different ages and different temperatures.
By attempting to limit the Smith patent to a single com-
partment with uniform temperature, Smith hoped to avoid
anticipation by Hastings on the theory that Hastings had
multiple compartments. Unfortunately for Smith this was
not the whole story as to Hastings. The separate compart-
ments of Hastings, even if the eggs were so heated, were
all in air communication with a common air stream being
supplied to all compartments and returned from all com-
partments with a common fan, so that the heat of all eggs
in a single cabinet was conveyed to the cooler eggs in the
same cabinet as these independent compartments were
housed in a single cabinet or box. This Court said that it

Or

19

makes no difference as to the order of the eggs as long as
the heated air is recirculated among the eggs. scant v.
Snow, 294 U. S. 12.)

Thus the fallacy of these attempted baitations of the
Smith patent to avoid the Hastings prior use is apparent.
Of course, in urging these limitations that certainly exist
in this Smith patent, there can be no infringement by the
James incubator and separate hatcher. It was not until
this case came back to this Court, based upon the Court
of Appeals of the Second Circuit sustaining the Hastings
prior use, that Smith has taken the position in this case
that his patént is so limited. Heretofore in this case his
position has always been that his patent was broadly for
mechanically stirring air over eggs of different ages, that
is, if an egg were cold on the ninth day and there was an-
other egg that was warm because it was ten days old, and
you stirred the air over those two eggs, you would have
the Smith invention. It was only on that theory that in-
fringement by James could be made out.

POINT V.
ERROR BY PETITIONER AS TO WHEN RESPONDENTS
STARTED SEPARATE HATCHING.

In the opening argument for petitioner a very grave
misstatement was made by counsel to the effect, as we re-
call the statement, that respondent started separate hatch-
ing but recently and only for the purpose of giving a color-
ful argument to non-infringement, after this Court had
sustained the Smith patent for the purpose of trying to
avoid this Court’s decision. The record refutes this state-
ment.* Here are the facts, which are especially important

¢
* When we so replied at the argument and called this Court’s
attention to this error there was no denial that this was a misstate-
ment.

as. showing the fundamental reason why Respendent’s
method is basically different from that of the Smith patent:

In: 1921 Respondent started its poultry division by
securing the services of Professor Dann of Cornell Univer-
sity to investigate incubators. Simultaneously their re-
search engineer, Mr.-Shodron, was assigned to the engi-
neering design. Irn 1923 a sectional machine was put on
the market. The growth of bacillary white diarrhea from
1923 to 1925 resulted in recommendation by the American
Veterinary Medical Association and the Kansas City State
Agricultural College in 1926, that foreed draft cabinet ma-
chines in which eggs of all ages were incubated and hatched
resulted in an increased spread of the disease to other
ehicks in the same machine. (Vol. I, R. 295, Res. Ex. 66,
Vol. IT, Ree. 1222-25.)

The American Veterinary Medical Association re-
ported:

‘*A large number of inquiries concerning incuba-
tors, as a possible means of disseminating bacillary
white diarrhea infection pf chicks, led us to study this

eee .

problem.

‘‘The continual circulation of chick-down in the
foreed-air-draught type of, machine, at the time of
hatching, suggested a possible means of dissemination.

‘*We made a qualitative study of the bacferiology
of three forced-air-draught type incubators and one
sectional type. We then made quantitative studies,
and the resuits of these studies will be published in an-
other paper. We found that after each hatch there
was a direct relationship between the time of incuba-
tion and the number of organisms (in a machine of the
forced-air-draught type). After thoroughly cleaning
and disinfecting the incubator, we obtained very few

_organisms. However, as soon as the chicks began to
hatch, the number of organisms greatly increased un-
til thé chicks were removed. This was not true of the

21

sectional type of machine, where the number remained
approximately the same throughout the period of in-
cubation, although at the time of hatching the flora
changed to the same as that observed in the forced-
air-draught type of machines. * * °
‘*1, That bacillary white diarrhea was disseminated
by artificially infected chick-down, placed in a forced-
air-draught type incubator.’’ (Vol. II, R. 1222, 1223,
1225.) |
In Respondents’ Exhibit 67 On Spread of B. W. D.
Infection, the bulletin of the Agricultural Experiment Sta-
tion, Kansas State Agricultural College, Manhattan,
Kansas, said:
‘*Bacillary White Diarrhea
‘‘in Fowl
‘*Summary

‘*The Incubator as a Source of Infection

‘*A large number of inquiries concerning incubators
as a possible means of spreading bacillary white diar-
rhea, led the writers to study this problem. The com-
plete report of the experiments on such dissemination
has been published (Hinshaw, Upp, and Moore, 1926.)

‘‘In a study of the bacteriology of. various-types of
incubators, it was found that the bacterial content of
the air in the forced-air-draft type of incubator in-
creased very markedly at hatching time.’’ (Vol. II,
Rec. 1227.) ;
There is no doubt but that fecal organisms spread
throughout the incubators of the forced-air-draft type;
and since it has been proved that the infected drop-
pings are one of the chief sources of infection, tt ts
logical to assume that S. pullorum can be transmitted
throughout the machine by the atr current. This may
also be true with other types of machines.’’ (Voi.
II, Ree. 1229.)

22 .
And again in Respondents’ Exhibit 66, the (February,
1926) Journal of the American Veterinary Medical As-
* sociation said:
’ “The continual circulation of chick-down in the
forced-air-draught type of machine, at the time of
hatching, suggested 4 possible means of dissemina-

tion.’
‘*Bacteriology of Incubators

‘*We made a qualitative study of the bacteriology
of three forced-air-draught type incubators and one
sectional type.’’ (Vol. II, R. 1222.

: ‘*Conclusion
‘*In conclusion we wish to state:
‘*1. That bacillary white diarrhea was disseminated

by artificially infected chick-down, placed in a forced-
air-draught type incubator.

‘*2. That chicks hatching in the compartment op-
posite to the one in which infected down was spread
did not suffer as high a per cent mortality as chicks
hatching in the infected compartment.

‘3. That similar results were obtained by infecting
the down of hatching chicks and’ exposing healthy
chicks to the down which might be carried from the in-
fected chicks to the non-infected.’’ (Vol. II, R. 1225.)

The foregoing establishes (a) the communication of.
the disease B. W. D. im forced draft incubators, such ‘as
Smith’s; (b) establishes, by improved practice the hatcher
should be a separate apparatus, separately used, from the
incubator, where the infection or communication of such
disease is to be avoided; and (c) that, therefore, a separate
hatcher, such as involved in this suit, is of prime impor-
tance and economic value. The cabinet machine referred —
to was of the Smith type. This led to Respondent develop-
ing the idea of a separate hatcher machine. In the spring
of 1926, Respondent built its first experimental separate
incubator, using its sectional machine as the separate
hatcher, which it still uses. Experimental work continued

. 23
until 1930 when the first commercial] machine was mar-

keted. Thirty-five thousand dollars ($35,000) was spent

upon this experimental work. The executive of Repondent
in charge of this work said:

‘‘To my personal knowledge our company has never,
at any time, had a Smith incubator in our shop or in
our development department. To my knowledge our
men in the engineering or development or shop use
have not operated the Smith incubator during the peri-
od of our experimental work. So far as my knowledge
is concerned, the Smith machine has had no connection
with the development of our machine.

‘‘We were the pioneers in the incubating business
in providing a machine for incubation and another ma-
chine for hatching, such as I have described. In addi-
tion to what I have said, this disease question was
mainly the principal motive in having these two sepa-
rate machines. At the same time, we wanted to pro-
duce a quality chick.’’ (Vol. I, Ree. 298.)

Again he said:

‘We still use the hatcher on our sectional machine
as an incubator hatcher. In the-development of the in-
cubator hatcher, our developing department had in
min« the desirability of using the sections of the so-
called sectional machines as the hatching section for
the incubator hatcher and those sections are still used
in that manner.”’ (Vol. I, R. 299. ) .

This suit was started July 11, 1930. As Respondent’s
apparatus was completely developed and: put on the market
some years before 1930, and many years before this Court’s
decision, the statement of counsel for Petitioner that sepa-

rate hatching was a recent excuse has no foundation in
fact. | 4

James incubator cannot hatch.

.The Smith claims 1, 2 and 3 are devoted to a method of
hatching. Smith is claiming that James’ incubator is the
only infringing machine and disclaims the James separate

22
And again in Respondents’ Exhibit 66, the (February,
1926) Journal of the American Veterinary Medical As-
sociation said:
‘‘The continual circulation of chick-down in the
forced-air-draught type of machine, at the time of
hatching, emgueeiee a possible means of dissemina-

tion.’
‘* Bacteriology of Incubators

‘*We made a qualitative study of the bacteridlogy
of three forced-air-draught type incubators and one
sectional type.”’ (Vol. II, R. 1222.

‘*Conclusion
‘*In conclusion we wish to state:
‘*1. That bacillary white diarrhea was disseminated

by artificially infected chick-down, placed in a forced.
air-draught type incubator.

‘*2. That chicks hatching in the compartment op-
posite to the one in which infected down was spread
did not suffer as high a per cent mortality as chicks
hatching i in the infected compartment.

«3 That similar results were obtained by infecting
the down of hatching chicks and exposing healthy
chicks to the down which might be carried from the in-
fected chicks to the non-infected.’’ (Vol. II, R. 1225.)

The foregoing establishes (a) the communication of
the disease B. W. D. in forced draft wmcubators, such as
Smith’s; (b) establishes by improved practice the hatcher
should be a separate apparatus, separately used, from the
incubator, where the infection or communication of such
disease is to be avoided; and (c) that, therefore, a separate
hatcher, such as involved in this suit, is of prime impar-
tance and economic value. The cabinet machine referred
to was of the Smith type. This led to Respondent develop-
ing the idea of a separate hatcher machine. In the spring
of 1926, Respondent built its first -experimental separate
incubator, using its sectional machine as the separate
hatcher, which it still uses. Experimental work continued

23

until 1930 when the first commercial machine was mar-
keted. Thirty-five thousand dollars ($35,000) was spent
upon this experimental work. The executive of Repondent
in charge of this work said:

‘*To my personal knowledge our company has never,
at any time, had a Smith incubator in our shop or in
our development department. To my knowledge our
men in the engineering or development or, shop use
have not operated the Smith incubator during the peri-
od of our experimental work. So far as my knowledge
is concerned, the Smith machine has had no connection
with the development of our machine. —

‘‘We were the pioneers in the incubating business
in providing a machine for incubation and another ma-
chine for hatching, such as I have described. In addi-
tion to what I have said, this disease question was
mainly the principal motive in having these two sepa-
rate machines. At the same time, we wanted to pro-
duce a quality chick.’’ (Vol. I, Rec. 298.)

Again he said:

‘We still use the hatcher on our sectional machine
as an incubator hatcher. In the development of the in-
cubator hatcher, our developing department had in
mind the desirability of using the sections of the so-
called sectional machines as the hatching section for
the incubator hatcher and those sections are still used
in that manner.”’ (Vol. I, R. 299.)

This suit was started July 11, 1930. As Respondent’s
apparatus was completely developed and put on the market
some years before 1930, and many years before this Court’s
decision, the statement of counsel for Petitioner that sepa-
rate hatching was a recent excuse has no foundation in
fact.

James incubator cannot hatch.

The Smith claims 1, 2 and 3 are devoted to a method of
hatching. Smith is claiming that James’ incubator is the
only infringing machine and disclaims the James separate

24

hatcher as being within the purview of this litigation.
Therefore it is pertinent to inquire whether the result
specified by the Smith claims of the Smith patent can be

produced by the James incubator. The answer is ‘‘No.’’ -

The incubator does not hatch. The temperature and mois-
ture conditions are not suitable. If you tried to hatch in
the James incubator there would not be space enough be-
tween the trays for the chicks; and even if there were space
enough, the chicks would fall out of the trays into the
rapidly revolving stirrers on the bottom of the incubator
where they would be killed. The machine is not adapted
for hatching and Smith does not claim that it has ever been
so used. A machine or a method or both, which do not pro-
duce the same result are not infringements.

Goodyear v. Davis, 102 U. S. 222, 230;
Gould v. Rees, 15 Wall. 187, 194;

Royer v. Coupe, 146 U. S. 524, 530, 531;
Westinghouse v. Boyden, 170 U. S. 537, 569.

POINT VI.

ERROR OF PETITIONER AS TO HASTINGS’ AIR SPEED
BEING DIFFERENT FROM SMITH'S AIR SPEED. °
Petitioner’s counsel in argument said that Hastings

air speed was too slow to be of any moment because it was
only thirty feet a minute. He stated that this was so slow
that you could hardly walk that slowly.

What Hastings testified to was that the air was
changed in his incubator completely every thirty seconds.
‘‘In the practical plant the entire volume of air passes
through the fan every thirty seconds.’’ (Vol. IH, R, 756.) His
later statement as to the thirty feet per minute is evidently
in error, as he was referring to the thirty second change of
all of the air. But even if it was thirty feet per minute, as
there is no denial that thousands of chicks were success-
fully hatched by Hastings, it does not seem to be material

the F eee

CORNELL BULLETIN SHOWS CRITICAL PERIOD

Wuy Somes Ects Do Nor Harcu 9

It has been observed that during incubation embryus are injured more
requently in certain periods of development than in others. Many
being naturally weak, die at these particular periods, which

called critical periods.
least two critical periods in the life of the chick embryo.
invariably on the fourth and nineteenth days of incubation.

2

TNX
J

; } crete Periods

”"
So
nm
~
2
=
a
—
_ es
> ad
_
a
7
r
°o
=

| F

rl ocr

Days of Incubation

Ficuss 3. DISTRIBUTION OF EMBRYONIC MORTALITY IN ARTIFICIAL

ms a ee os + tg ©:
Furthermore, the embryonic mortality is found to be much greater at
the second critical period than at the first. Under ordinary conditions
of artificial incubation, an average of about 3 embryos per 100 die at the
first critical period, about 15 at the second, and about 7 during the rest
of the incubation period (figure 3). Under exceptional conditions, the

7

ON A:M:B 4:46:00) 'ASHOWING 40 . ALB 34:
MINUTE IN THE SMITH MACHINE.

SMITH INCUBATOR

S Sections) view across machine through fan.

Peehens anes eeaeek Shoetnian.0t she emeetne. Air whieh passes (roe corriéer under lower
. Bumbers eS eee a a = eurrems as — 2 thy os. A Ray gh Be;

by enencaster (Biren) a @ trays a very small
seaaenes 20 ions tae teage were tehen cite wer sent of air vhlen Me cos ghd
enenpesters in tne trays ; pevaten oF St gees up the air eclums betveen

the trays.

Tee long arroes seeeping across sides of
teelve trays show currents between tray eolumse.

Fens were rotating 1600 te 1680 &. ?. &.

-_

. a ie eb CC Ral gi wet OEE hip ety Cove 1 Re en ee eee one

29

because the Smith claims are not limited to any particular
speed per minute nor does the specification state the limita-
tions of air speed in the Smith machine. So long as the air
travels fast enough to maintain a substantially even tem-
perature, that is sufficient. That, Hastings had, as shown
by the results that he got.

Furthermore, in the Smith machine the speed is as low
as 40 feet per minute, (Pet. Exs. 11, lla) and in the James
machine, claimed to be an infringement, the speed of air
where the eggs are located, in many places, as shown by
petitioner’s test in Exhibit 24, rangés from 0 to 30 feet
per minute. If thirty feet per minute air speed is a ground
for lack of anticipation by Hastings, then the presence of
thirty feet per minute in the James machine is a ground
for non-infringement. The only limitation this Court put -
upon Smith’s air speed was that it should be in a defined
circuit and should be forced draft as distinguished from
natural draft by hot lamps and the like.

Best of all, let us look at petitioner’s own exhibit lla,
based upon petitioner’s own ez parte tests of its own
machine. Its own’ air speeds are as low as forty feet
& minute. We find the physical embodiment of the Smith
incubator, offered by petitioner, tested by petitioner and
_ proved by petitioner, as having speeds practically the same.
as that of the Hastings machine.

POINT VII.
SEPARATE HATCHING PUBLICLY DISCLAIMED BY SMITH.

The highest chick mortality occurs about the 17th to
18th day. This is the reason for adjusting the conditions
of temperature and moisture exactly during this period
with great care, which can only be done by moving the eggs
from the incubator to a separate hatcher. This high mor-
tality period is shown in the circular of the petitioner re-
produced herewith. (Vol. II, R. 1138,-Res. Ex. 38.) In
this exhibit Smith says:

26

‘‘This 1s particularly tmportant on the 18th and
19th days of incubation when the greatest death loss in
the shell occurs. At this critical period, the eggs are
two to three degrees warmer than the incubator tem-
perature and naturally are cooled by the air which
moves around them. They are so sensitive to tempera-
ture changes that air’ gaps or holes in the egg forma-
tion in the trays have a definite bearing on the hatch-
ability of otherwise good eggs. Doesn’t this careful,
scientific research prove to you that any method of
hatching which involves the moving or disturbance of
eggs during the critical period means a decrease in
hatching percentages? We think you will agree that
it does.*’ (Vol. II, R. 1135.)

Smith has publicly disclaimed in the trade and to the.
public separate hatching from coming within his invention.
His publications to the trade and recommendations to
hatcherymen are directly contrary to his position in this
case that separate hatching comes within his patent. In
Ex. 38, Smith’s broadside circular, he says:

‘‘Smith hatches best. Because eggs are never dts-
turbed during critical period. 18th day to pipptng
time. Another scientific reason why Smith research
-has continually advised against separate hatchers and
all other methods where retraying on the 18th day is
necessary.’’ (Vol. II, Rec. 1135.)

In explaining why separate hatching does not come
within his method, Smith says in this same circular:

‘On the eighteenth day of incubation, important
changes are taking place in- the development of the
chick. Up to this time it has lived.on the albumen or
white of the egg, but now begins to assimilate the
yolk. We all know how a change of feed affects chicks
when thgy are in the brooder and can understand how
a similar change would affect the chick while it is still |
in the shell. The heat curve in Figure 4 illustrates ;
how this new food retards the heat development. Fig-
ure 3 shows’that under normal incubation 60 per cent 4

Because E
During Critical Period — .

Another Scientific Reason Why Smith Re
Has Continually Advised Against Ser

Hatchers and all other methods where re
on the 18th day is necessary

for granted. A conclusion is never accepted hurried-

Smith Hatches Best

eggs are two to three degrees wa

You cannot dodge facts. You cannot rely on

SMITH GIANT
65,000 Egg Capacity

The Smith Incubator—from the smallest to largest—represents
equipment which a hatcheryman may have installed by factory
experts to place him tn a position whereby he may lake full advantage

of the suggestions and service of the Smith Organization. However,
the discoveries made by the Smith Research Department are offered
freely to the whole hatchery industry. As time goes on, competition
will lay its heavy hand on the inefficient hatcheryman. He must get
up-to-date as to methods and equipment or pass out of the picture.

. We offer our services to all who are progressive. anxious to learn and
get ahead.

j

theory:
safely. These emphatic statements should be of
more than passing interest to hatcherymen who
are all- without a single exception—in the very
midst of changing conditions which have no

parallel in the entire history of the industry.

The facts about better hatching—-even if they
do uproot old ideas—are given to the industry by
Smith Research only after the most careful and

painstaking scientific study. .Vothing ts ever laken

Doesn't Your Better Business
the Advantages of a Smith Incubator ai

the Smith Org a
Constantly Helping ‘You With Your Pro

Advisability of

You cannot follow unproven methods _ ly.

That is why we maintain our Research Depart-

ment and study hatchery problems year after year.
On warm days, you enjoy a breeze so long as
that breeze is not too strong or téo cool.
In the Smith, the eggs are comfortable—the

temperature and the air movements are designed
to keep them comfortable.

This is particularly important on the 18th and
19th days of incubation when the greatest death
loss in the shell occurs. At this critical period, the

Having

bator temperature and naturall
air which moves around them.
to temperature changes that
the egg formation in the tra
bearing on the hatchability of ¢

Doesn't this careful, scienti
you that any method of hatch
the moving ‘or disturbance a
crilical period means a de
percentages? We think you wi

Judgment. iS

emperature and the air movements are designed Doesn't this canehal. eend
to keep them comfortable. you that any method of . dct

This is particularly important on the 18th and the moving or disturbanet ¢
19th days of incubation when the greatest death critical period means @

The facts about better hatching—even if they
do uproot old ideas—are giverr to the industry by
Smith Research only after the most careful and

yainstaking scientific study. Nothing ts ever taken loss in the shell occurs. At this critical period, the rce ? We think you wil
g ' | pe pe

Doesn't Your Better Business Judgment S$
the Advantages of a Smith Incubator a
Advisability of Having. the Smith Organi
Constantly Helping You With Your Prob
This Letter Tells

The Smith Incubator—from the. smallest to largest—represents
equipment which a hatcheryman may have installed by factory
experts to place him ina posilion whereby he may take full advantage

of -the suggestions and service of the Smith Organization. However,
the discoveries made by the Smith Research Department are offered
freely to the whole hatchery industry. As time goes on, competition
will lay its heavy hand on the inefficient hatcheryman. He must get
up-to-date as to methods and equipment or pass out of the picture.
We offer our services to all who are progressive. anxious to learm and
get ahead. |

Today the uppermost thought in the
hatcheryman is to lessen labor and
hatch. Every iota of information leadi
more quality chicks at no increase im
attention of men and women everywhere

There is a Smith Model
to Suit Every Need

Buying an incubator involves the careful consideration of hous-

Let Smith Protect You on

Possible Price Increases

There is a powerful lever lifting com-
modity prices today. The rise is being
felt in every branch of industry, and
incubators are no exception to the rule.

quirements, and stand ready and willing
to protect you on possible price increases
if you get in touch with us at once.

. 4
We will help you save money as well

The price trend is upward.

as make money.

However, we have anticipated our re-

Liberal Terms

Lack of considerable ready cash need not stand between you and a
new Smith Incubator. You may buy on the basis of extremely liberal
terms if you so desire. The first payment is small, and you are allowed
three years to pay the balance. In addition we will make a wortb
while trade-in allowance for your old equipment. Smith leaves no stone
unturned to enable a hatcheryman to enjoy the benefits and advan-
tages of Smith Incubators. We will go a long way to put you out in
front in this profitable business.

ing, cost of operation and the company behind the machine
you buy. The Smith takes less floor space per egg capacity

. than any other machine on the market. Operation of Smith

Machines has brought many expressions of enthusiastic praise
dué to its low cost of current consumption and labor required

Smith Pays the Freight
and Installs ||

' Smith Service, too, has been highly endorsed because of its

quick response to ary and all demands. Smith pays the freight,
and all installations are made by factory-experts without charge.
No other incubator manufacturer does this.

Pere isn't a single, solitary reason why you shouldn't have
a S@ith. There is a capacity to suit every requirement:

Smith Junior .-. . 30,000 Eggs
Smith Intermediate . 39,000 Eggs
-Smith Old Reliable 52,000 Eggs
Smith Giant 65,000 Eggs

SMITH

This announcement, therefore, com
time. It not only serves to impress th
stant and careful research that is bein
by The Smith Incubator Company, bu
this company does not hesitate to
practices when such a course will open
for the hatcheryman who uses Smith

Every hatcheryman who operates
Jails to enthusiastically endorse Smi
that a Smith Incubator is only a
more profit for the man or woman
hatching chicks. This chick business i
of problems— subject to constant

No one realizes these facts more k
cubator Company, and this realizatic
to the whole hatching industry when <
says: “‘Hands Off on the Eighteenth D

INCUBATOR COMPA

CLEVELAND “OHIO

sas...

Because Eggs are NEVER Distur

| Scientific Reason Why Smith Research
ontinually Advised Against Separate
rs and all other methods where retraying

acts. You cannot rely on
follow unproven methods
statements should be of
erest to hatcherymen who
gle exception—in the very
onditions which have no
\istory of the industry.

‘ter hatching—even if they
ihe given to the industry by

ter the most careful. and
-Gidy. Nothing is ever laken

for granted. A conclusion is never accepted hurried-
ly. That is why we maintain our Research Depart-

ment and study hatchery problems year after year.

On warm days, you enjoy a breeze so long as

that breeze is not too strong or too cool.

In the Smith, the eggs are comfortable—the
temperature and the air movements are designed
to keep them comfortable.

This is particularly important on the 18th and
19th days of incubation when the greatest death
loss in the Shell occurs. At this critical period, the

on the 18th day is necessary

eggs are two to three degrees warmer than the incu-
bator temperature and naturally are cooled by the

air which moves around them. They are so sensitive

to temperature changes that air gaps or holes in «

the egg formation in the trays have a definite

Bearing on the hatchability of otherwise good eggs.
o

Doesn't this careful, scientific research prove to
you thal any method of hatching which involves
the moving or disturbance of eggs during the
critical period means a decrease in hatching
percentages? We think you will agree that it does.

- Your Better Business Judgment Suggest
vantages of a Smith Incubator and the

bility of Having the Smith Organization

a a

) ‘
x
=

riod . . 18th Day to Pipping Time

SMITH OLD RELIABLE
52,000 Egg Capacity

We have stated repeatedly—and say so again—that we do not

consider a Smith Incubator merely as so much wood, metal and
wiring. We look at it rather as a modern, scientific. achievement for
the production of the greatest number of saleable chicks at the lowest
cost. Such an achievement could not possibly be represented in terms
of materials. It must-——and is—represented by the findings we have
made—the facts we have discovered—which are gladly and freely

passed along for the betterment of the hatchery industry.

ae

74

ment, properly speaking, and vests in the assignee a

title in so much of the patent itself, with a right to sue

infringers;:in the second case, jointly with the as-
signor; inthe first and third cases, in the name of the

assignee alone. * ® °.’’ (p. 259.)

The rights of an absent person, such as The Buckeye
Incubator Company, cannot be disposed of without it being
present. In Shields v. Barvow, 17 How. 130, this Court
said: | :

‘It remains true, notwithstanding the act of Con-
gress and the 47th rule, that a circuit court can make
no decree affecting the rights of an absent person, and
ean make no decree between the parties before it,
which so far involves or depends upon the rights of an
absent person that complete and final justice cannot be
done between the parties to the suit without affecting
those rights.’’ (pp. 141-142.)

Mr. Chief Justice Taft said, in Independent v. Radio,
269 U. S. 459: -

‘‘Indeed both the owner and the exclusive licensee
are generally necessary parties in the action in

-equity.’’ (p. 466.)

Respondent reties upon the doctrine established by
this Court in Crown v. Nye, 261 U. S. 24, where there was
a separation between a right to sue and the legal title. This
Court held that both interests must be joined in a common
suit. If this were. not the rule, we would have endless
abuses from speculative lawsuits authorizing rights to sue
apart from the ownership of patents, which implies inter-
ests to be protected legitimately by the patent.

The evil of permitting a separa#eon of legal title and
the right to sue is amply demonstrated in this case. Smith
has been conducting a ‘‘¢dampaign’’ of litigation.* Of

* Since the court sustained the patent, some 358 additional
cases have been brought by him. (Official Gazette.)

75

course, the vast majority of defendants were using the
/smaller incubators. Smith was not being injured competi-
tively, but his profit was in litigation. His contract pro-
vided for no share of this return to be turned over to Buck-~
eye. As Mr. Chief Justice Taft said in the above case:

‘These cases do npt present the same facts as the
one before us; but they indicate clearly what view the
courts deciding them would have taken of an effort
like that im the case at bar to divide up the monopoly
of patext property so that the patentee retains the
right to ‘make, use and vend, but gives to many differ-
ent individuats the right to sue certain named infring-
ers, respectively, and that with the sole motive of
harassing them such as is avowed in the recitals of
the instrument before us, If held legal, it would give
the patentee an opportunity without expense to him-
self to stir up litigation by third persons that is cer-
tainly contrary to the purpose and spirit of the statu-
tory provisions for the assigning of patents.

‘*Nor do we think that the principle of Patterson v.
Kentucky, 97 U.S. 501, or ike instance of a patent for
an improvement on a machine, patent for which is held
by another, involves anything inconsistent with our
conciusion that the right to exclude others conferred
in a patent ean only be conferred upon one who has
the common law right to use, make and vend.”’ (pp.
38-39, Crown v. Nye, 261.U. S. 24.) .

The Court then concludes:

‘If the owner of the patent when the infringements
took place has assigned his patent to one, and his claims
for damages for infringement to another, then the lat-

fer can not sue at law at all but must compel his as-
signor of the claims to sue for him. In equity both
such assignor and the assignee who is the real party in
interest must join as plaintiffs.’’ (p. 44.)

Recently, this Court, in Peters v. Bates et al., 295 U. S.

392, affirmed this view that you could not maintain a suit
on & patent based upon a contractual right to recover profits

a

> 76

and damages where the plaintiff did not own that portion
of the patent invaded. Ih this case, the Court held_that a
sale by a patentee of all his interest in a pending suit. to
enjoin infringement and for an accounting, but passing no
right in, the patent, gives the purchaser no right to an in-
junction, and hence, no right to intervene, saying :—

‘‘Harriet E. Cole, the purchasér at the receiver’s
sale, has asked leave to intervene in this Court, byt
as she has not acquired through her purchase the.title
to, or an interest in, the patést; she is not entitled
to seek an injunction to restrain a oe age Crown
Die d Tool Co. v. Nye Tool Works, 261 U.S. 24, 38, 39;
Boomer v. United Power Press Co., 13 Blatch. 107, 112,
113; Kaiser v. General Phonograph Supply Co., 171
Fed. 432, 433. The right to such an injunction under-
lies the equitable jurisdiction here invoked. Root v.
Railway Co., 105 U. S. 189. The motion for leave to
intervene is denied.

‘*By order of the state court, the receiver, as such,
succeeded to the patent right and to the cause of action
here involved. But the receiver, while retaining the
patent, has disposed, with the approval of ‘the state
court, of his entire interest in the present suit against
respondent. As the petitioner in these circumstances
is not in a position to maintain this suit, the Court is
of the opinion fhat the writ of certiorari should be
Dismissed.’’ (p. 394.)

This Court in Crown v. Nye, supra, cited with approval
Mr. Justice Blatchford’s opinion in a case involving similar
facts.avhen he was sitting on Circuit in the case of Gordon
v. Anthony, 16 Blatch. 234, 10 Fed. Cas. 773, No. 5605, where
he said: :

‘**A claim to recover profits or damages for past
infringement cannot be severed from the title by as-
signment or grant, so as to give a right of action for
such claim, in disregard of the statute. The profits or
damages for infringement cannot be sued for except on
the basis of title as patentee, or as such assignee or

77
grantee, to the whole or a part of the patent, and not
on the basis’ merely of-the assignment of a right to a
claim for profits and damages, severed from such title.’’
(Crown v. Nye, 261 U.S. 24, 42.)
“In Radio v. Hohenstein, 289 F. 757, 759, (C. C. A. 2),

the Court said:
; *
‘“Thene can be no assignment by the owner of a pat-

ent of the remedy to which the patent entitled him,
unless he also assigns the patent itself, out of which
the remedy grows.’’ (page 759.)
In Moore v. Marsh, 7 Wall. 515, 520, this court said;

‘se * * but where the assignment is of an undivided
part of the patent, the action should be brought for
every infringement committed subsequent to the as- .
signment, in the joint names of the patentee and as--
signee, as representing the entire interest.’’ (Page
220.) | , . -
Tyler, et al. v. Tuel, 6 Cranch 324; Moore v. Marsh, 7

Wall. 515, 520; Gayler v. Wilder, 16 How. 477; United
States v. Loughrey, 172 U. S. 206; Independent Wireless
Telégraph Company v. Radio Corporation, 269 U. S. 459;
Six Wheel Corporation v. Sterling, 50 F, (2d) 568 (C. C. A.
9); Radio v. Hohenstein, 289 F. 757 (C. C. A. 2); Green v.
Le Clair, 24 F. (2d) 74, 77 (C. C. A. 7); 48 Corpus Juris,
Sec. 541, page 338.

The case in the Seventh Circuit of Green v. Le Clair,
supra, involved facts that are closely parallel te the present
facts. The court followed this Court in Crown v. Nye,
supra.

In this case, Smith does not own the undivided part
of this patent which corresponds to the right of reeovery
for the invasion here, if any, which is in connection with
0,000-egg incubators, as the Buckeye Incubator Company
had the exclusive rights up to 16,500 egg capacities.

78

While this question can be raised at any time, it was
raised in the Distret Court and in the Court of Appeals
for the py Sony in this case. Alcohol v. Canfield, 11
F. (2d) 214, HGUC. G. A. 2d); Walker on Patents, Vol. 1,
page 545, Sec. 450, 6th Fd. ,

We, therefore, say that Smith has no place in this
Court as the sole party plaintiff. Indeed, we do not think
that Smith has any right here at all.

POINT XVI.
CONCLUSION.

Petitioner is asking here a broader construction of
his patent than was accorded to him by this Court. in the
Snow case. This is necessary to petitioner to make out
even a prima facie case of infringement. In contrast with
this position, petitioner is asking for a much narrower con-
struction of his patent when the Hastings prior use is being
considered in order to try to avoid that prior use by limit-
ing the Smith patent.

Respondents are content with this Court’s interpreta-
tion of the patent in the Snow and Warham cases. With
such an’ interpretation and using petitioner's own wit-
nesses and Exhibit B introduced by petitioner from the
Stone case as to the Hastings prior use, anticipation of the
Smith patent is clearly demonstrated. We say this because —
petitioner can certainly have no complaint about the ac-
curacy of his own witnesses and his own exhibit drawing.

Respectfully submitted,

H. A. Tovucmin,
H. A. Tov.tmin, Jr,

Counsel for Respondents.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0179%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
