# Brief of the Petitioner — British-American Oil Producing Co. v. Board of Equalization of Mont.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0076%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief of the Petitioner
- **Published:** January 1, 1936
- **Citation:** 299 U.S. 159

## Text

_THE BRYTISH-AMERICAN OWL: PRODUCING
EDs POMP ANY, A CORPORATION, pas

; “SOBs }

THE BOARD OF BQUALIZATION of the ‘State of:

_ Montana, and JAMES H. STEWART, JOHN Jj.
GREENE, and SAM: D. GOZA, members: of the State’
Board of. Equalization of the State of Montana, ; en
ae "Respondents.
é * asthe. % ,

-

SUBJECT INDEX
Page
a Reference to Official Report of Case Below... 1
II. Statement of Grounds on which jurisdiction invoked... Oy
Ty NS OE CORON sumcnanmmamamedcni 2

(b) Specific claims advanced and rulings made in State Su-
preme Court relied upon as basis for Court's jurisdiction... 2
(c) Statutory provisions under which jurisdiction of this Court

SP CAPTION annsssceerenssorscsensnamsniontiienianliaisamsiniscaincse ct 3
(d) Cases believed to sustain PUTIN viniccsttntactiisstaii es 3
See I OT OD GG ssc nencinnistaniniiouumiianiee 4
IV. Specifications of Error... peadeinbasneabindaintiandinbiabbcciis 6
V. Summary of Petitionee’s I: sescteticnidaicig ae 7
Fhe IOI accssencccersmnetssstreerentsnenommnticinnanmneennnn 8
a 1 nme 8
B. Ownership of the Oil and Gas... 1l

C. Without the consent of the United States neither the oil nor
the production thereof CY WO SN cteittieeeeeie 12

D. The United States has not consented to the imposition of
SOO SONS BO TIO a cincnsimeenemiaincdcter eo 15

1. The Blackfeet Indian Reservation is a treaty and not an
executive order reservation 200... 16

2. The provisions of the Act of May 29th, 1924, 43 Stat.
244, tion 398, Title 25, U. S.C. A. are not applicable

MOD sacnecctaracessncscseetetnsonnenipinienntinsisnatenneainiieg re 20°

(a) Specific provisions for the leasing of lands on the
Biackfeet reservation have been made by statute... 21

(b) The lease and minerals here involved are not wn-
allotted lands within the provisions of Section 398

OO SEs TD eesti eae Pieddindntainleaiiancasiuuns 24
(c) The Department of the Interior has not construed
Section 398 as being IED seitniintelsitieciinee ears 27

TABLE OF CASES

Adams v. Henderson, 168 U. S. 573, 42 L. Ed. 584 oo 23
Adams v. Reed, 11 Utah 480, 40 Pac. EE SR Sestblininiailataiiin ail .. 23
Barnsdal! Refineries y. Commission, 171 Okla. 145, 41 Pac. (2d) 918... 14

' British-American Oil Prod. Co. vy. Board, 54 Pac. (2d) 129... 1
Burnet v. Coronado O. & G. Co., 285 U. S. 393, 76 L. Ed. pe 13
Byrne v. Fulton Oil Co., 85 Mont. 329, 278 Pac. 514.0... 10
Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U. S. 363, 74 L. Ed. 478 2. 3, 10, 13, 14, 15
Childers v. Beaver, 270 U. S. 555, 70 L. Ed. 730 sctinteisunetnsiesemineatietiatiibasiein . : Sn
Choate v. Trapp, 224 U. S. re Fed ot . t . _aMEEEReReRs: 15
Choctaw O. & G. R. Co. vy. Harrison, 235 U. S. 292, 59 L. Ed. 234 ....13, 14
City-of Great Falls y. Jeffries, 83 Mont. 111, 270 Pac. Peer, 14
Clairmont vy. United States, 225 U. S. 551, 56 L. Ed. re 19
Felix v. Yaksum, 77 Wash. et dh, , SRR aeoC 31
Ford v. City of Great Falls, 46 Mont. 292, 127 Pac. 1004... 14
Frazee v. Piper, 51 Wash. lg he Le, Reem nns 31
Frost y. Wenie, 157 U. S. + & £1: | RnR Re enANER 24
Gillespie v. Oklahoma, 257 U. S. 501, 66 L. Ed. 338 3, 13, 14
Gleason v. Wood, 224 U. S. eh Ie is tae aL oe 15
Group No. 1 Oil Corp. v. Bass, 283 U. S. 279, 75 L. Ed. 1032... 13

. Hawley v. Diller, 178 U.S i | Pee nee aon rE 28
' Hemmer vy. U. S., 204 Fed. TO ovcnstcecrcsansascinseaiiinicnithatbigassiiisies ion 24, 31

Homestake Exploration Co. v. Schoregge, 81 Mont. 604, 264 Pac. °
388

eed ite in to th a - Tat ae

a

Bee a ee

Page
Howard v. Gypsy Oil Co., 247 U. S. 503, 62 L. Ed. 1239 ...................... 13,14
Bedeca Of] Co. v. Board, 52 Pac. (3d) OBS ...............2....0:.22..2220....0000.0.0000-22 19
In re Crow Dog, 109 U. s. = gt enon 23
Indian Terr. Oil Co. v. Oklahoma, 240 U. S. 522, 60 L. Ed. 779 «........... 13
Jaybird Mining Co. v. Weir, 271 °U. S. 609, 70 L. Ed. 1112 ....0.0.......... 13, 14
eg OS en eT 25
Large Oil Co. v. Howard, 248 U.S. 549, 63 L. Ed. 416 2.000000... 13, 14
Larkin v. Paugh, 276 U. &. 431, 72 L. Ed. GOO .........2........22....20000000-.-nencceses 3
Longest v. Langford, 276 U. S. 69, 72 L. Ed. 470 .................ceeceeececcceseeeee 3
Longest v. Langford, 274 U.S. 499, 71 L. Ed. 1170 000...

3
Louisville & N. R. Co. v. United States, 282 U. S. 740, 75 L. Ed. 672....28, 30

Marlin v. Lewallen, 276 U. S. 58, 72 L. Ed. 467 2.000.000.0000 3
Metcalf & Eddy v. Mitchell, 268 U. &. 634, 96 LL. TA. SBS ...............-02-02.-. 13
Mid-Northern Oil Co. v. Walker, 65 Mont. 414, 211 Pac. 353 ll
Robinson v. Lundrigan, 227 U. S. 173, 57 L. Ed. 468 2000000000. poo 29
Santa Rita Oil & Gas Co. v. Board, 54 Pac. (2d) 117 ......................12, 17, 25
Spalding v. Chandler, 160 U. S. 394, 40 L. Ed. 469 220. 19
mens 0 Sip, SIO OI I lena eateeipieneeheemeimbtianeiions 23
RF SE RR ee 19

Strawberry Valley Cattle Co. v. Chapman, 13 Utah 454, 45 Pac. 348 25

Taber v. Indian Terr. Oi] Co. (Okla.) 57 Pac. (2d) 1167 000000... 14
Three Foretops v. Ross, 73 Mont. 6, 235 Pac. 334 22200000. 14
United States v. Finnel, 185 U. S. 236, 46 L. Ed. 890 20000. 29
United States v. Johnson, 124 U. S. 197, 31 L. Ed. 389 0 28
United States v. Newton, 36 Fed. | ASeNs RISA Bers Be 24
United States-y. Nix, 189 U. 3S. 199, 47 L. Ed. 775 20-2000 24
United States 4Rickert, 188 U. §. 432, 2," a 13
United States v. Saunders, 96 Fed. RRR eae 31
White Bear v. Barth, 61 Mont. 322, 203 Pac. 517 0.000000... meh 25
Texts
Corpus Juris ss 2 ee emaiuledea 27
5 > eee 24
Kappler’s Indian Affairs . 3g ews 18
. 5 9 eee ‘cniulaiad 18
Lewis, Statutory Construction (2d Ed.), 526 .2020000.0..00.0.0ccccccccccccessesseceseeeee 24
STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Statutes at large
I is i a aed 17
oR UN ge Fe Fb ero en ene 18
Ff & FF’ F SG SS .) eae Ene Sars 18
18 Stat. 402 {Act of March 3, 1875) ........... I ACES MD ak PAS. MAID, 31
ee 31
Se eis es ME GR a icisconeasinmnnasemmnnl 21, 23
» fF SS Fe’ ye § FS Pee bo RAE .
Fo OR Fg RRR nee 18
25 Stat. 642 (Act of Jan. 4, 1889) 000000. STN AS 2 . 24
FF XR awl 8 gS ee 13
Ff PF Se. & S| en panne 21
26 Stat. 796 (Act of Feb. 28, 1891) ....................2000.0000.....00....... 21, 23, 27
29 Stat. 350 (Act of Sept. 26, 1895) ASD Ewes SN A 0A 21
, & FF ey FS See 19
§ FF FF 6 RE lL Cee eee 23
34 Stat. 539 (Act of Jume 28, 1906) 22 eee e 24
34 Stat. 1015 (Act of March 1, 1907) 0.0000 21
34 Stat. 1035 (Act of Merch 1, 1907) rehet Ole 19
41 Stat. 3-17 (Act of June 30, 1919) 00 7,8

-
Page
41 Stat. 17 (Act of June Se tgp hs Me
qndnaneansecetansaeshintnsesesenniesensnes ass » 6, 11, 22, 23, 24, 25; 26, 27, 29, 30, 31 é
41 Stat. 31 (Act of OD ci
41 Stat. 1225-12321 (Act of March 8 TT, 29
41 Stat. 1355 (Act of TE iil in ce en 24 §
42 Stat. 857 (Act of September 20, I Wb as 8, 22, 24, 27 ‘
43 Stat. 111 (Act of Apr. 28, MNENED svitiabiansedseneslasiauininidtecieesanocierecc ie ;
43 Stat. 244 (Act of May 29, 2} aera 6, 15, 20, 25
43 Stat. 376 (Act of June 2, REE 24
44 Stat. 1347 (Act of ND at 8, 15, 17
United States Codes Annotated—
dy a 29
Section 349 Snenensnedeneetecanenentestsieastanesenitstensseccusssishesinntnmasase:®,
Secvion 396 ssuseatenesnievtcnenaiessdnasallemnensuonnshtenctsasusanninanivassnannsscsss.. 25
TT entities ey 23, 25, 26, 27, 29, 30
Section 398 _.. 3, 6, 15, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30
Section 398 a, _ E Pearaaely ctaeieeneneneneatthnnatonmen’s 8, 15, 16
Ee SE erin 25, 26 f
EEE BE etatnntenincnsiinaccee 8, 30, 31
Title 28, Section i re ennenincteetetererne
Ee Be Brterencennnemrnc, 3
Montana Constitution and Statutes— |
Constitution, Ordinance No. Re UP icianaicnsctsindagae toast 13
Article XII, See. idl estethithntlscinetsininiianbacisiuee. 14
Revised Codes, 1921, Sections ,.,, Sey 4,8
' Secticns 2397-2406 —
Session Laws, 1923, Chap. Bie ON Dicteniisteee 10
ee SO BO 8, 10
ee ee ee 14
SEN OF irinieiiee 8, 9
eee °

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1936

No. 37

———____!

THE BRITISH-AMERICAN OIL PRODUCING
COMPANY, a Corporation,
4 Petitioner,
VS.

THE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION of the State of
Montana, and JAMES H. STEWART, JOHN J.
GREENE, and SAM D. GOZA, members of the Staie
Board of Equalization of the State of Montana, °

Respondents.

e

THE BLACKFEET INDIAN TRIBE,
Intervener.

BRIEF OF PETITIONER
a

Reference to Official Report of Case Below.

Tne case has not yet been officially reported. It will
be found reported in 54 Pac. (2d) 129.

-

II.

Statement of Grounds on Which Jurisdiction Invoked.
(a) Date of Judgment. |

The original judgment and decree of the Supreme Court
of Montana was entered on the 19th day of February,
1936 (R. 49) pursuant to the decision of said court en-
tered on the 22nd'day of January, 1936 (R. 25).

(b) Specific claims advanced and rulings made i
State Supreme Court relicd upon as basis ‘for Court's juris-
diction.

In the Supreme Court of Montana, petitioner claimed:

(1) The oil and gas in the land involved in the lease
here in question was and is the property. of the United
States (R. 1. 37).

(2) The taxes sought to be levied are taxes upon the
property of the United States and upon an instrumentality
of the United States (R. 3, 5, 40).

(3) No consent has been given by the United States
for the taxation of the oil and gas in or that is produced
from the lands embraced in the lease here involved (R.

3, 42).

(+) The assessment, levy and collection of the taxes
here inveilved is prohibited by the Federal Statutes, the
Montana Constitution and the Montana Statutes (R. 3,
37, 42).

With reference to the claims advanced by petitioner the
Supreme Court of Montana ruled:

(1). The oil and gas in the land involved in the leas*
was and is the property of the United States (R. 32, 35).

te le Vee NP teen I

= 3
(2) The taxes sought to be levied are taxes upon the

property of the United States and upon an instrumentality
of the United States (R. p. 31, 32).

(3) By the provisions of Sec. 398, Title 25 U. S. C. A.
(Act May 29, 1924) the United States consented to the
levying of the taxes here involved upon the oil and gas
produced from the lands embraced in the lease (R. 32, 33).

(4) The assessment, levy and collection of the taxes
here involved is not prohibited by Federal Statute, the
Montana Constitution or Montana Statute (R. 32, 33, 35,
36).

(c) Statutory provisions under which jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked.

The.decision of the Supreme Court of the State of Mon-
tana was rendered January 22, 1936 (R. 25) and its judg-
ment entered February 19, 1936 (R. 49). less than three
months prior to the date of the application for the writ of
certiorari herein (U. S. Code, Title 28, Sec. 350).

___ The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under the pro-
vitions of Section 237 of the Judicial Code, as amended by
the Act of February 13, 1925 (U. S. Code, Title 28, Sec-
tion 344) in that petitioner claims a right, privilege and
‘immunity under the Constitution and Statutes of the
United States.

(d) Cases belicved to sustain jurisdiction.

Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363, 74 L. Ed. 478:
Gillespie v. State of Oklahoma, 257 U.S. 501. 66 L.
Ed. 338;
Longest v. Langford, 276 U. S. 69, 72 1.. Ed. 471:
: Marlin v. Lewallen, 276 U.S. 58, 72 L. Ed. 467:
Larkin v. Paugh, 276 U.S. 431, 72 L. Ed. 640: :
Longest v. Langford, 274 U.S. 499, 71 L. Ed. 1170.

4
III,

Statement of the Case.

This proceeding was instituted originally in the Supreme
Court of Montana by petitioner (R. 1-6) to prevent the
assessinent, levy and collection of certain taxes by the
State of Montana based upon crude oil produced, under
an oil and gas lease (Rh. 6), from lands situated on the
Blackfeet Indian Reservation, allotted under trust patents
by the terms of. which the oil, gas and other minerals tn
and under such lands were reserved to the United States
for the benetit of the Blackfeet Indian Tribe, pursuant to
the provisions of the Act of June 30, 1919 (41 Stat. 17).
(R. 23). The oil and gas lease involved was executed by
che Superintendent of the Reservation on behalf of the
Tribe (RR. Me and was approved by the Secretary of the
Interior (R. 14). The Board of Equalization of Montana
seeks to assess, levy and collect certain taxes on crude oil
produced by petitioner under said lease during the years
1934 and 1935, as follows:

-(a) Gross Production Tax (a license or occupational
tax) provided for by Sees. 2397-2405, Revised Codes ot
Montana, 1921, as amended (R. 4, 5).

(b) Net Proceeds Tax on lessor’s and lessee’s inter-
est (a substitute for an ad valarem tax on the value of
the lease), provided for by Sees. 2088-2096, Revised
Codes of Montana, 1921, as amended (R. 4, 5).

The complaint alleges that on July 10, 1934, the United
States of America, for the benefit of the Blackfeet Tribe
Indians, was the owner of the oil, gas and other min-
erals in and under the land involved, and that on said
date such oil and gas were leased by the superintendent

5

of the Blackfeet Agency to petitioner's predecessor, (R.
1, 2); that during the years 1934 and 1935, petitioner
produced crude oil from wells drilled ‘on said premises
(R. 3); that the defendants are attempting to assess,
levy ang collect the above described taxes on such pro-
duction (R. 4, 5); that such taxes are based upon crude
oil produced by petitioner as an instrumentality and
agent of the United States not taxable by the State of
Montana (R. 5). Defendants’ demurrer admits the facts
alleged’ (R. 21). It was stipulated by counsel for both
parties that all of the lands embraced in the lease were
granted to individual Indians by trust patents under the
provisions of the Act of June 30, 1919 (41 Stat. 17)
19 form identical with the trust patent attached to such
stipulation (R. 23).

The complaint in intervention of the Blackfeet. Tribe
(R. 17-21) seeks to prevent. the levy, assessment and
collection of a net proceeds or royalty tax on the royalty
interest of the Tribe, as depriving the Tribe of prop-
crty without due process of law in violation of the pro-
visions of the Constitution of the United States, as im-
pairing the obligations of contracts, treaties, and agree
ments between the Tribe and the United States, and be-
tween the United States and the State of Montana, in
violation of the Constitution of the United States and
the State of Montana, and that such taxes would con-
stitute a direct burden upon property of the United
States.

The decision of the Supreme Court of Montana sus-
tained defendants’ demurrers to the complaint and com:
plaint in intervention and dismissed the complaint and
complaint in intervention on the merits (R. 25 and 30).

Motion for rehearing’ was denied (R. 49).

Oa

6

Judgment and decree is in accordance with the decision.
and sustained the defendants’ demurrers and dismissed
the complaint and complaint in intervention (R. 49-50).

IV.

Specifications of Errer.

1. The Supreme Court of Montana erred in sustaining
defendants’ demurrers to petitioner’s complaint and_ to
the complaint in intervention of the Blackfeet Tribe, and
dismissing said complaint and compiaint in intervention
in this, that its opinion and judgment disregarded the
leasing ‘provisions found in the ct of June 30, 1919
(41 Stat. 17), which specifically provide the manner in
which the minerals in the lands which were allotted pur-
suant to that Act shall be leased, that is, under such
terms and conditions as the Secretary of the Interior
-shall prescribe.

2: The Supreme Court of Montana erred in dismissing
petitioner's complaint and the complaint in intervention
of the Blackfeet Tribe in this, that by its opinion and
judgment said Court determined and held that the lands
embraced in the involved lease, so far as the oil, gas and
other minerals therein are concerned, are unallotted lands
in an Indian Reservation, and, therefore, that the lease
embracing the same was executed pursuant to the pro-
visions of the Act of May 29, 1924 (43 Stat. 244, Sec.
398, Title 25, U. S. C. A.), and accordingly that such oi!
and gas are taxable by the State of Montana by virtue
of the Congressional consent contained in that Act.

3. The Supreme Court of Montana erred in sustain-
ing respondents’ demurrers to petitioner's complaint and
the complaint in intervention of the Blackfeet Tribe, and

7

dismissing said complaints in this, that its opinion and
judgment permit taxation by the State of Montana of
property of the United States, and the taxing of an in-
strumentality of the United States.

V.

Summary of Petitioner’s Contentions.

1. The State of Montana, acting through respondents,
seeks to assess against, levy upon, and collect from peti-
tioner two separate taxes provided for by the laws of
Montana:

(a) A net proceeds, or ad valorem tax, based upon
the production -of oil and gas;

(b) A gross proceeds, or license tax, based upon
the production of oil and gas.

2. The oil and gas lease here involved embraces lands
situated within the Blackfeet Indian Reservation held
under an individual trust allotment, as to which the oil
and gas were reserved to the United ‘States for the bene-
fit of the Blackfeet Indian Tribe.

3. The oil and gas in and under the lands embraced
in the lease are the property of the United States and
the production thereof may not be taxed by the State of
Montana without the specitic consent of the United
States.

4..The oil and gas in and under the lands embraced
in the lease here involved was reserved to the United
States for the benefit of the Blackfeet Tribe under the
provisions of the Act of June 30, 1919, 41. Stat. 3-17,
which section, together with the Act of September 20,

“v eine

Pr et meyer
B PN yen err an ‘or

8

p .
1922, c. 347. 42 Stat. 857, provides for the leasing of
such lands for oil and gas production.

5. The Blackfeet Indian Reservation is a “tfeaty’’ and
not an “executive order’ reservation, and the consent to
taxation provided. for in +4 Stat. 1347, (U.S. GC. A.
Title 25, Sections 398 a, b, and ¢) does not apply to the
lands here involved.

6.- The land here involved is not unallotted land within
the provisions of the Act of May 29, 1924, 43 Stat. 244,
U. S. Cc. A. Title -25, Section 398, and the consent to
taxation therein contained does not apply to the lands
here involved.

.7. Neither the Act of June 30, 1919, (41 Stat. 3-17)
nor the Act of September 20, 1922, c. 347 (42 Stat. 857)
(U.S. C. A. Title 25, Section 400), which provide spe-
cifically for the leasing of allotted and unallotted lands,
on the Blackfeet Reservation contain any consent, to the
levy of taxes by the State., .

8. Petitioner, as lessee of the oil and gas reserved by
the United States for the benefit of the Blackfeet Indian
Tribe, is an instrumentality of the United States in pro
ducing such oil and gas, and, as such, is not subject to
the taxes here sought to be assessed, levied and collected.

VI.

ARGUMENT.
A.

Taxes Involved.@

1. Net Proceeds Tax. (Secs. 2088-2096 Revised Codes,
Montana 1921, as amended by Laws 1935, Chap. 188.
and Laws 1925, Chap. 143):

1 te 9 gon camamacant

Laws 1935, Chap. 188:

“Sec. 5. On or before the fifteenth day of June
in each year, the State Board of Equalization shall
transmit to the county clerk of each county in which
such mines and mining claims are situated, the valu-
ation of the net proceeds of such mines and mining
claims for the purpose of taxation. as the same have
been determined and fixed by such State Board of
Equalization, and the county clerk shall immediately
enter the same upon an assessment roll.

“Sec. 6. At the time of transmitting net proceeds
assessments the State Board of Equalization shall P
also transmit the royalty lists or schedules to the
county clerk of each county in which such mines and
mining claims are located’ and thereupon the county
clerk shall prepare from such net proceeds and_ roy-
alty assessments a tax roll which shall be by jim
furnished to the county treasurer on‘or before the
twentieth day of August following, upon which date
said taxes shall be due and payable. The county
clerk shall enter such assessments in the personal
property assessments book under the name of the
operator of such mine or mines, and such assess-
ments wien entered shall have all the force and e/-
fect as if made in the names of the owners: of such
royalty individually as well as against the operator.
The county treasurer shall proceed to give full no-
tice thereof to such operator and to collect the same
in manner provided by law. The operator or pro-
. ducer shall be liable for the payment of said taxes,
and the same shall be payable by, and shall be col-
lected from, such operators as provided for the col.
lection of taxes upon net proceeds of mines; pro-
vided, however, that after payment of such tax such
operator may recover or withhold ne any pro-
ceeds of royalty interest, either in kindvor in money,
coming into his hands, the amount of any tax. paid
by him upon such royalty or royalty interest.”

10

Laws 19235, Chap. 143:

“The taxes on such net proceeds must be levied
as the levy of other taxes are provided for, and
every such tax is a lien upon the mine or mining
claim from which the ore or mineral products or de-
posits are mined or extracted, aad is a prior, lien
upon all personal property and improvements used
in the process of extracting such ore or minerai
products or deposits.”

This tax is upon the lessee’s interest and ‘the lessor’s
royalty, and is a substitute for an ad valorem tax on
the lease.

Byrne v. Fulton Oi! Co., 85 Mont. 329, 278 Pac. 514;

Thus it is, in effect, a tax on the realty, as under the

Montana rule, the oil and gas in place does not pass by
the execution of an oil and gas lease. :

Homestake Exploration Co. v. Schoregge, 81 Mont.
604, 264 Pac. 388;
Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U. 5. 363, 74+ L. Ed. 478;

2. Gross Proceeds Tax. (Sections 2397-2403, Revised
Codes, Montana, 1921, as aniended by Laws 1923, Chap.
67, Sec. 1): | |

“Every person engaging in or carrying on the
business of producing, within this state, petroleum,
or other mineral or crude oil, or engaving in or car-
rying on the business or owning, controlling, man
aging, leasing or operating within this state any weil
or wells from which any merchantable or market-
able petroleum or other mineral or crude oil 15 €X-
tracted or produced, sufficient in quantity to justify
the marketing of the same, must. for the year 1923,
and eath year thereafter, when engaged in or carty-
ing on any such business in this state, pay to tiie

4

1]

4
4
f.
4
»
.
SS aeee tise |

State treasurer, for the exclusive use and benefit of
the State of Montana, a license tax for engaging in
and carrying on such business in an amount eqilal
to two per centum of the total gross value of ali
petroleum and other mineral or crude oil produced
by such person within this state during such year.”

This is a license tax.

Mid-Northern Oil Co. v. Walker, 65 Mont. 414, 211
Pac. 353.

B.

Ownership of the Oil and Gas.

The trust allotment covering the lands here involved
contains the following provision, (R. 23):

“reserving, to the United States, in accordance witl:
the provisions of the Act of June 30, 1919, (41 Stat.
17), all minerals. including coal, oil and gas, for the
benefit of the Blackfeet Tribe of Indians until Con-
gress shall otherwise direct.”

The Act of June 30, 1919 (41 Stat. 17) provides:

“The Secretary of the Interior is authorized to
make allotments under existing laws within the said
Reservation to any Indians of said Blackfeet Tribe
not heretofore allotted * * * .

“Provided, That of the lands so allotted eighty
acres of each allotment shall be designated as a
homestead by the allottee and be evidenced by a
trust. patent and shall remain inalienable and = non-
taxable until Congress shall otherwise direct; * * *

“Provided, further, That any and all minerals, in-
cluding coal, oil and gas, are hereby reserved for
the benefits of the Blackfeet Tribe of Indians until
Congress shall otherwise direct, and patents here-
after issued shall contain a reservation accordingly,

: 12

Provided, That the land containing said minerals may
be leased under such rules and regulations and upon
such terms and conditions as the Secretary of the
Interior may prescribe.”

In connection with the mineral interest so reserved
the Supreme Court of Montana said in its decision (KR.
a2 k:

“As we view the situation, when the trust patents
were issued containing the reservation of the oil and
gas as well as other minerals. including ,coal, pur:
suant to 41 Stat. 17, a distinct estate was thereby
carved out or created consisting of the reserved min-
erals which the United States thereatter held in trust
for the benefit of the Blackfeet Tribe.”

At the time of the execution of the lease, therefore.
ownership of the oil and gas was in the United States
‘or the benefit of the Blackfeet Tribe. The execution
of the lease did not divest the title of the United States.

Homestake Exploration Co. v. Schoregge, 81 Mont.
604, 264 Pac. 388;

Cases based upon the Texas Rule that an oil and gas
lease constitutes a transfer of the oil in place are not,
in point.:

(.

Without the Consent of the United Siates Neither the
Oil Nor the Productien Thereof May Be Taxed.

This rule was recognized by the Supreme Court of
\ontana in its decision herein (R. 30, 31) and in its
decision in a companion Case.

Santa Rita Oil & Gas Co. v. Board, 54 Pac. (2d)
117 (not yet officially reported).

13

Tt is the rule adhered to by this Court.

Gillespie v. Oklahoma, 257 U. S. 501, 66 L. Ed. 338:
Burnet v. Coronado O. & G. Co., 285 U. S. 393, 76

L. Ed. 815;
Indian Terr. Oil Co. v. Oklahoma, 240 U. S. 522,
60 L. Ed. 779;
Choctaw O. & G. R. Co. v. Harrison, 235 U. S. 292,
59 L. Ed. 234:
Howard v. a ee Oil Co., 247 U. S. 503, 62 L. Ed.
1239;
Large Oil Co. v. Howard, 248 U. S. 549, 63 L. Ed.
416; |
Jaybird Mining Co. v. Weir, 271 U. S. 609, 70 L.
Ed. 1112;

Metcalf & Baily v. Mitchell, 269 U. S: 524, 70 L.
Ed. 384;

Group No. 1 Oil Corp. v. Bass, 283 U. S. 279, 75
:L. Ed. 1032;

United States v. Rickert, 188 U. S. 432, 47 L. Ed.
532:

Childers v. Beaver, 270 U. S. 555, 70 L. Ed. 730:
Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U. S. 363, 74 L. Ed. 478.

The exemption is provided for in the Enabling Act
of the State of Montana (25 Stat. 677):
“And said Indian lands shall remain under the

' absolute jurisdiction and control of the Congress of
the United States.”

It is recognized by various Constitutional provisions
and Statutes of Montana:
Ordinance No. 1, Sec. 2:

“That no taxes shall be imposed by the State of
Montana on lands or property therein belonging to,

14

or which may jhereafter be purchased by the United
States or reserved for its use.” |
Constitution, Art. XII, Sec. 2:
“The property of the United States shall be ex-
empt from taxation.”
Laws of Montana. 1931, Chap. 98:
“The property of the United States (is) exempi
from taxation.”
See also:
Ford v. The City of Great Valls, 46.Mont. 292, 127
Pac. 1004; “Sy
City of Great Falls 7. Jeffries, 83 Mont. 111, 270
Pac. 638;
Three loretops v. Ross, 73 Mont. 6, 235 Pac. 334;
Barnsdall. Refineries 7. Cominission, 171 Okla. 145,

41 Pac. (2d) 918:
Taber v. Indian Terr. Oil Co., (Okla.) 357 Pac. (2d)
1167.

The exemption has been sustained as to income taxes,
(Gillespie v. Oklahoma, 237 U. >. 501): gross produc-
tion taxes. (Howard v. Gypsy Oil Co., 247 U.S. 303;
Large Oil Co. v. Howard, 248 U.S. 549; Choctaw O. & l
G. Ry. Co. v. Harrison, 233 U. S. 292); ad valorem
taxes, (Jaybird Mining Co. v. Weir, 271 U. 8. 609);
occupation or license taxes, (Choctaw O. & G. Ry. Co.
wv. Harrison, 235 U. S. 292); royalty tax, (Carpenter @.
Shaw, 280 U. S. 363, 74 L. Ed. 478).

Neither the state legislature nor the state court, by
giving a tax a particular name, or by the use of some
form of words. can take away the duty of this Court to
consider the real nature and effect of the tax.

Choctaw O. & G. Ry. Co. v. Harrison, 235 U. S.
292, 59 L. Ed. 234.

Ss

—"
a |

The United States Has Not Consented to the Imposi-
tion of the Taxes Here Involved.

In what has been said before, the Supreme Court of
Montana agreed with petitioney’s contentions. Unless,
therefore, there is statutory authority and consent for
the imposition of these taxeg, the decision of the State
Court was erroneous.

In the State Court counsel for respondents fook two
positions: (1) That the Blackfoot Reservation is an “ex-
ccutive order” reservation and that consent to the jm.
position of the taxes is found in Section 398, a. b, and ¢,
Title 25, U. S.C. A. (44 Stat. 1347): (2) That the
lands were unallotted lands within the provisions of Sec-
tion 398, Title 25, U. S.C. A., (43 Stat. 244), and that
the consent contained in that statute applied. \We shall
here take up these contentions seriatim.

At the outset it must be borne in mind that the ‘net
‘proceeds tax here sought to be levied affects not only
the lessee’s interest but also the rovalty interest of the
Blackfeet Indians. Thus. not only is an instrumental; ty
of the United States: sought to be taxed, but the inter-
est of the Indians is directly affected. In such case two
rules of construction must be applied: (1) the statutes
involved must receive a liberal construction in favor of
the Indians; and, (2) the presumption is against any
consent to taxation.

Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U. S. 363, 74 L. Ed. 4/8;

Gleason v. Wood, 224 U.S. 679, 56 L. Fd. O47 ;
Choate v. Trapp, 224 U.S. 665, 56 L. Ed. 941.

16

1. The Blackfeet Indian Reservation ts a “treaty” and

not an “executive order” reservation.

Sections 398, a, b and ¢. Title 25, U. S.7C. A, (4+
Stat. 1347), which counsel for respondents sought to
have applied in the State Court are as follows:

398 (a):

“Unallotted lands within the limits of any reser
vation or withdrawal created by executive order for
Indian purposes or for the use or occupancy of any
Indians or tribes may be leased for oil and gas min
ing purposes in accordance with the provisions con

‘ tained in Section 398 of this Title.”

3Y8 (b):

“The proceeds from rentals, royalties, or bonuses
of oil and gas leasesSupon lands. within executive
order Indian reservations or withdrawals shall be
deposited in the treasury of the United States to
the credit of the Tribe of Indians for whose bene
fit the reservation or withdrawal was created, or
who are using and occupying the land, and- shall
draw interest at the rate of + per centum per an
num and be available for appropriation by Congress
for expenses in connection with the supervision of
the development and operation of the oil and gas
industry and for the use and benefit of such In
dians: Provided, that such Indians, or their triba!
council, shall be consulted in regard to the expendi
ture of such money, but no per capita payment shall
be made except by Act of Coneress.”

398 (c):

“Taxes may be levied and collected by the State
or local authority, upon improvements, output of
mines or oil and gas wells or other rights, property
or assets of any lessee upon lands within executive
order .Indian reservations in the same manner as
such taxes are otherwise levied and collected, and

a

17 :
a
such taxes may be levied against the share obtained
tor the Indians as bonusys, rentals and royalties, and
the Secretary of the Interior is hereby authorized
and directed to cause such taxes to be paid out of
the tribal funds in the treasury; provided, that such
taxes shall not become a lien or charge of any kind
against the land or other property of such Indians.”

The Supreme Court of Montana, in its decision, held
that the Blackfeet Reservation Was a “treaty” and not an
“executive order” reservation, and that the above see

tions. had no application herein (R. 30). In reaching

this conclusion, it followed its decision in the companion
cause of Santa Rita Oil & Gas Company v. Board, 54
Pac. (2d) 117. The chronological history of the Black-
feet Reservation is substantially as follows:

On October 17th, 1855, 4 treaty was made and con-
cluded within what is now the State of Montana, then
in the Territory of Nebraska, between the conmmissioners
on the part of the United States and the Blackfeet Tribe
and other Tribes of Indians (11 Stat. 657). by Article
IV a tract of country was described which “shall be the
territory of the Blackfoot Nation, over which said Nation
shall exercise exclusive control, excepting as may be
otherwise provided in this treaty.” By Article VII it was
agreed that the citizens of the United States nught live
and pass unmolested through the countries occupied and
claimed by the Indian Tribe. By Article VIII consent
-Was given to the United States to constrtict roads, - lines
of telegraph and military posts, to build houses for
agencies, missions, schools, etc., and to occupy perma.
nently as mucli land as might be necessary for the Vvari-
OuS purposes enumerated, including the use of wood for
fuel and land for grazing; the navigation of all lakes and
streams was declared to be forever free to the citizens

Exatenenernentn

18

of the United States. This treaty was ratified by the
Senate of the United States on April 15, 1856, (11 Stat.
662), and on April 25, President Franklin Pierce ac
cepted, ratified and confirmed the treaty. On July 5,
1873, President Grant, by executive order, on the recom-
mendation of the Department of the Interior, withheld
from entry and settlement as public lands all o1 tliat
portion of the State of (then Territory of} Montana
lying west of the Territory of Dakota, north of the Mis-
souri River and the Sun River. and east of the Con-
tinental Divide, and ordered that the same be set apart,
as a reservation for the Blackfeet Tribe and other Tribes,
therein enumerated. Aappler’s Indian -Iffairs, Vol. 1,
P. 854. :

Congress, by the \ct of April 15, 1874 (18 Stat. 28)
provided that a described tract of country in tue Terri-
tory of Montana “be, and the same is hereby, set apar:
for the use and occupation of the” Blackfeet Tribe, and
other Tribes therein enumerated. This tract was some-
what less than, but within the area described by President
Grant, in his executive order of July 3, 1873. President
Grant, by executive order on August 19, 1874, directed
that the tract included in his. executive order of July 5,
1873, and not embraced within the tract set-apart by the
Act of Congress of April 15, 1874, be set apart for the
use and occupation of the Blackfeet Tribe and other
Tribes. President Hayes, by executive order on July 13,
1880, added certain additional territory to the Blackfeet
Reservation. Aappler’s Indian <lffairs, Vol. 1, P. 8506.
Congress, by the Act of May 1, 1888, approved an Agrce-
ment theretofore made between the commissioners on
che part of the United States and the Blackfeet, whereby
the Blackfeet Reservation was distinctly described (25
Stat. 129), and in consideration of which they relin-

19

quished their claim to much of the land theretofore in-
cluded within their reservation. Another and later Agree-
ment with the Blackfeet, approved by Act of Congress
on June 10, 1896 (29 Stat. 353), still further reduced
the reservation. By Article V of the Agreement it was
expressly provided that there should be no allotment in
severalty of the land, but that the whole reservation
should continue to be held by these Indians as a com-
munal grazing tract. By the Act of. March 1st, 1907
(34 Stat. 1035) it was provided: “That as soon as all
the lands embraced within the said Blackfeet Indian Res-
ervation shall have been surveyed, the Commissioner of
Indian Affairs shall cause allotments of the same to be
made under the provisions of the allotment laws of the
United States to all persons having tribal rights or hold.
ing tribal relations and who may rightfully belong ou
Said reservation. That there shall be allotted to each
member forty acres of irrigable land and two hundred
and eighty acres of additional land valuable - only for
grazing purposes; or, at the option of the allottee, the
entire three hundred and twenty acres may be taken jn
land valuable only for grazing purposes.

The Blackfeet Reservation was created by treaty, and
this Court will take judicial notice of that fact.

Hudson Oil Co. v. Board, Wyo.
(2d) 683 (Shoshone Reservation).

, 92 Pac.

See also:
Clairmont v. United States, 225 U. S. 551, 56 L.
Ed. 1201 (Flathead Reservation) ;
Spalding v. Chandler, 160 U. S. $94, 40 L. Ed. 460:
State v. Big Sheep, 75 Mont. 219 (Crow Reserva-
tion).

C; 20
The decision of the State Court with respect to the
inapplicability of Sections 398 a, b, and ¢ was correct.

2. The provisions of the Act of May 29, 1924, 43 Stat.
244, (Section 398, Title 25, U. S.C. el.) are not app”
cable here.

The Act of May 29, 1924, (43 Stat. 244) is as fol-
Jows:

“An Act to authorize the leasing for oil and gas
mining purposes “of unallotted lands on Indian Kes-
eryations affected by the proviso to Section 3 ot
the Act of February 28, 1891.

“That unallotted land on Indian reservations other
than lands of the five civilized tribes and the Osage
Reservation, subject to lease Jor mining purposes
for a period of ten years under the proviso to Sec:
tion 3 of the Act of February ’28, 1891 (Twenty-
sixth Statutes at Large, Page 795), may be leased
at public auction by the Secretary of the Interior,
with the consent of the council speaking for such
Indians, for oil and gas mining purposes for a period
of not to exceed ten years, and as mucia_ longer
thereafter as oif or gas shall be found in paying
quantities. and the terms of any existing oil and gas
mining lease may in like manner be amended by ex-
tending the term thereo# for as long as oil or gas
shall be found in paving quantities: Provided, That
the production of oil and gas and other minerals
on such lands may be taxed by the State in which
said lands are located in all respects the same as
production on unrestricted lands, and the Secretary
of the Interior is hereby authorized and directed to
cause to be paid the tax so assessed against the roy-
alty interests on said lands? Provided, however, that
such tax shall not become a lien or charge of any
kind or character against the land or the property
of the Indian owner.” '

The proviso to Section 3 of the Act of February 28,

LL

21

1891, (26 Stat. 795) to which Section 398 refers, ap-
pears as Section 397, Title 25, U. S. C. A. It provides:

“Where lands are occupied by Indians who have
bought and paid for the same, and which lands are
not needed for farming or agricultural purposes,
and are not desired for individual allotments, the
same may be leased by authority of the Council
speaking for such Indians, for a period not to ex-
ceed * * * ten vears for. mining purpose * * *,”

Petitioner contends that the above sections do not ap-
ply for the following reasons:

(a) Specific provisions for the leasing of lands on
the Blackfeet Reservation have been made by statute.

A review of the legislation of the Congress discloses
a clear intention to deal specifically and individually with
the Blackfeet Indian Reservation with respect to allot-
nients and leases.

The general allotment. Act (24 Stat. 388) became ef-
fective February 8th, 1887. Such Act purports to pro-
vide fot the allotment of lands upon all reservations.
Yet on February 11, 1887, a treaty was entered into
with the Blackfeet covering, among other things, the
allotment of lands on that reservation. This treaty was
ratified by the Congress on Ray 1, 1888 (25 Stat. 113).
The general allotment Act (24+ Stat. 388) was amended
February 28, 1891, (26 Stat. 794). On September 26,
1895 (29 Stat. 350), however, a treaty with the Black-
feet was ratified providing, among other things, that
no allotments in severalty should be made upon the Black-
feet Reservation until requested in writing by a majority
of the adult male members of the Tribe.

This was followed by the Act of March 1, 1907 (34
Stat, 1015-1035) specifically providing for the allotment

22

of lands on the Blackfeet Reservation. This latter .\ct
was amended by the Act of June 30, 1919 (41) Sta’.
17), which again deals specifically with the Blacktect
Reservation, both with respect to the allotment of lanc
and with respect to the leasing of lands containing min-
@als. 5 .

On September 20, 1922, (42 Stat. 837) the Conzress
again specifically provided for the leasing of land on the
Blackfeet Reservation for mining purposes.

The oil and gas here under consideration were reserved
to the United States under the provisions of the Act o:
June 30, 1919 (41 Stat. 17) which provides:

“The Secretary of the Iierior is authorized to
make allotments under existing laws within the said
Reservation to any Indians. of said blackieet Tribe

‘not theretofore allotted. * * *

“Provided, that of the lands so allotted eighty
acres of each allotment shall be designated as a
homestead by the allottee and be evidenced by a trusc
patent and shall remain inalienable and non-taxable
until Congress shall otherwise direct; * * *

“Provided, further, That any and all minerals, in-
cluding coal, oil and gas are hereby reserved for tne
benefit of the Blackfeet Tribe of Indians until Con-
gress shall otherwise direct, and patents hereaiter
‘ssued shall contain a reservation accordingly; Pro-
vided, that the land containing said minerals may be
leased under such rules and regulations and upen
such terms and conditions as the Secretary of the
Interior may prescribe.”

The Act of September 20, 1922 (42 Stat. 857), See-
tion 400, Title 25, U. S. C. A., also specifically reters
to the Blackfeet Reservation as follows:

*“T ands reserved for school and azency purposes.
and all other unailotted lands on the Fort Peck and

23

Blackfeet Indian Reservations, in the State of Mon-
tana, reserved from allotments or other disposition
May be leased for mining purposes under regula-
tions prescribed by the Secretary of the Interior.”
We find, then, a clear intention on the part of the
Congress to deal with the Blackfeet Reservation outside
of the general allotment and leasing statutes applicable
to Indian Tribes and reservations in general. Thus,
clearly, the general allotment statutes do not apply, for
if they do the provisions therein contained, (24 Stat
389, 31 Stat. 1085), that the land shall be held in trust
“for the sole use and benefit of the Indian to whom such
allotment shall have been made,” and that at the expira-
tion of the trust period the land shall be conveyed to the
Indian “free and clear of all charge or incumbraitce what-
soever,’ are violated by the reservation of the oil and
gas to the United States.

Adams v. Henderson, 168 U. S. 573, 42 L. Ed. 584:
Adams v. Reed, 11 Utah 480, 40 Pac. 720;
Stambaugh v. Smith, 23 Ohio St. 584.

Their place is taken by 41 Stat. 17, under which the
oil here involved was reserved. In an equal degree, Sec-
tions 397 (26 Stat. 795) and 398 (43 Stat. 244) are gen-
eral in their nature and do not change or repeal the spe-
cific statutes relating to the Blackfeet Reservation. [1:
neither 397 nor 398 does there appear any intent, either
expressed or’ implied, that the course pursued by the
Congress in dealing specifically with the Blackfeet is to
be altered in any respect. The intent, clearly, is ofher-
wise. In neither 397 nor 398 do we find any express
words repealing or amending 41 Stat. 17. The presump-
tion is that no implied repeal was intended.

In re Crow Dog, 109 U. S. 556, 27 L. Ed. 1030:

ere |
4

24

United States v. Newton, 36 Fed. (2d) 425.

It is a rule of universal application that, under such
circumstances, the statute dealing specifically with the
subject matter must be applied.

Frost v. Wenie, 157 U. S. 46, 39 L. Ed. 614;
United States v. Nix, 189 U. S. 199;
Henmer v. United States, 204 Fed. 898;
Lewis Statutory Construction (2nd Ed.) 526;
59 C. J. 1056.

Applying the above rules of construction. and having
in mind the intention of the Congress as expressed over
a long period of years, it is clear that the provisions of
41 Stat. 17 must govern with respect to the leasing of
the lands here involved. Neither 41 Stat. 17 nor 42 Stat.
$57 contains a consent to the levying of taxes by the
State. Without such consent the conclusion of ihe State
Court was erroneous. ~

In closing this portion of our argument we may poini
out that the action of the Congress in dealing specifically
with the Blackfeet is not unusual.

See:
43 Stat. 111 (Kaw Reservation—specifically con-
senting to taxation) ;
34 Stat..539 (Osage Allotment Act) ;
43 Stat. 376 (Eastern Cherokees) ;
41 Stat. 1355 (Gros. Ventre) ; °
25 Stat. 642 (Chippewa).

(b) The lease and minerals here involved are not “un- -
alotted” lands within the provisions of Section 398 (43
Stat. 244).

25

The land from which the oil has been produced was
allotted August 11, 1922, to an individual Indian (R. 23,
24) under the provisions of 4] Stat. 17 (R. 28). By its
plain provisions and title, Section 398 (43 Stat. 244)
refers only to “unallotted” lands on Indian reservations

ruary 28, 1891. This Proviso, which, as we have seen,
appears as Section 397,. Title 25, relates only éo0 lands
“not desired for individual allotments.” In other words,
both 397 and 398 relate to unallotted tribal lands and
not to lands allotted to individual Indians as is the situa-
tion here. rie
Strawberry Valley Cattle Co. v. Chapman, 13 Utah
454, 45 Pac. 348 -
Kirby v. United States, 273 Fed. 391;
White Bear v. Barth, 61 Mont. 322, 203 Pac. 517.

We are confirmed in our conclusion that Sections 397

and 398 do not apply by an analysis of the various Stat-
utes dealing with lands on the reservation.

On the Blackfeet Reservation there are four classes of
land ownership, viz.: (1) Tribal lands; (2) lands al-
lotted in trust without reservation of minerals; (3) lands
allotted in trust with reservation of minerals; and (4) .
lands patented in fee. Lands patented in fee and the
production of oil therefrom are taxable (Section 349),
Lands allotted in trust without reservation are not tax-
able (Section 396) because. no consent to such taxation
is given.

_ Santa Rita Oil & Gas Co. v. Board, 54 Pac. (2d)
117.

Tyibal lands and oil produced therefrom are taxable
under Sections 397, 398 and 399.

affected by the Proviso to Section 3 of the Act of Feb- - —

26

But tands allotted in trust with respect ta which the
4ninerals have been reserved under 41 Stat. 17 are not
taxable for the reason that there is no statutory provi-
sion allowing such taxation.

This classification of lands and the statutes applicable
thereto is proper and logical. If such classification is not
made, and respondents’ contention that Section 398 ap-
plies, accepted, this Court is compelled to assume con- .
trary to the plain intent of the Congress and contrary
to the general rules of construction, that (1) the gen-
eral provisions of Section 398 impliedly repeal or amend
the specific provisions of 41 Stat. 17; (2) that lands
allotted to individual Indians with minerals reserved to
the United States are unallotted lands within. the meaning
of Section 398; and (3) that lands allotted to individual
Indians with minerals reserved to the United States under
the provisions of 41 Stat. 17 are lands “not desired for
individual allotments” under the provisions of Section
397. |

To merely state the necessary results of respondents’
contentions would seem to demonstrate the fallacies -
therein.

Sections 397 and 398 provide for the leasing of “‘un-
allotted lands’—of lands ‘‘not desired for individual al-

lotments.” On the other hand, 41 Stat. 17 specifically
' provides for an allotment of lands on the Blackfeet Res-
ervation, and further provides ‘that the land containing
~ said minerals may be leased under such rules and regula-
tions and upon such terms and conditions as the Secre-
tary of the Interior may prescribe.” In other words, 41
Stat. 17 while providing eXpressly for an allotment, al-
lows a mineral lease by the Secretary. Sections 397, 393
and 399 assume that‘no allotment has been made, and
that the land is not desired for individual allotments.

27

It is the theory of petitioner that the lease here under

consideration is a lease upon allotted lands specifically
provided for by 41 Stat. 17. If, however, we assume that
the lands, so far as concern the minerals thereunder, are
unallotted, as contended for by respondents and deter-
mined by the State Court (R. 32),. then Clearly the Act
of September 20, 1922 (42 Stat. 857) applies, for therein —
we find specific provision for the leasing of unallotted -
lands on the Blackfeet Indian Reservation “reserved from
allotment or other disposition.” Respondents contended
and the State Court held that the minerals were “unal-
lotted lands’ because they were reserved from allotment,
a decision bringing the situation exactly within the pro-
visions of 42 Stat. 857, and eliminating Section 398 from
further consideration. |

In the State Court it was suggested by caunsel ‘for
respondents that from the last Proviso contained in Sec-
tion 398 it might be concluded that the land or property
of an individual allottee was intended, But there can be
no individual owner of unallotted land (31 C. J. 491);
the proviso simply protects the Tribal land against any
lien provided for in the State Statute.

(c). The Department of the Interior has not construed
Section 398 as being applicable:

The lease here involved states that it is made “under
and in” pursuance of Section 3 of the Act provided
February 28, 1891 (26 Stat. L. 795), as amended by the
Act approved May 29, 1924 (Public No. 158, 68th Con-
gress) (R. 7).

Section 3 of the Act of February 28, 1891 (26 Stat.
795) is Section 397 and the Act of May 29, 1924,” is

Section 398, both discussed in the next preceding section
of this: Brief, . _

28

:

From the above reference in the lease counsel for re-
spondent argued and the Supreme Court of Montana
concluded that Section 398 had been construed by tlie °
parties and the Department of the Interior to be ap-
plicable (R. 32).

The lease is upon a printed form, furnished by the In-
terior Department (Regulations, Department of Interior,
July 23, 1924). As to its provisions the lessee had no
choice. Upon its face it purports to be a lease of “Tribal
Indian Land” (P. 6). It contains no provision protecting
the Indian allottee or his property, save a general pro-
vision requiring that the lessee commit no waste. It-ap-
parently contemplates the erection-of buildings and per-
manent-improvements upon the surfate (R. 9). It pro-
vides that if “usable watef’’ is developed, it shall be
turned over to the “reservation” (R. 9), and not the
owner of the surfaee, as would naturally follow with
respect to the condition here presented. Under such cir-
cumstances, it is not clear whether the mere use of: a
printed form containing inapplicable and erroneous ref-
erences and provifions may be considered as a construc-
tion by the Department of the Interior. While it is doubt-
less true that a construction by the executive depart-
ment is entitled to consideration,

Hawley v. Diller, 178 U. S. 476, 44 L. Ed. 1157;
United States v. Johnson, 124 U. S. 197, 31 L.
Ed. 389, _

yet the application of such rule to a given case assumes
(1) -a uniform construction for an appreciable length of |
time,
Louisville & N. R. Co. v. United States 282 U. S.
740, 75 L. Ed. 672,

and (2) a construction that is not clearly erroneous,

do

United States v. Finnei, 185 U. S. 236, 46 L. Ed.
890, | |
and (3) a construction that ‘is reasonable,
Robinson v. Lundrigan, 227 U. S. 173, 57 L. Ed.
468.

The supposed construction here contended for’ satisfies
none of these requirements.

The lease form, which is -a part of the government's

regulations, was prepared with-“tinaflotted tribal lands
not needed for farming or agricultural purposes” in mind.

~~ (Regulations approved July 23, 1924.) Such regulations

and lease form relate only to leases given under the pro-
viso to Section 3 of the Act of February 28, 1891 (26
Stat. 795); the Act of May 29, 1924 (Sec. 398); and
Section 26 of Act of June 30, 1919 (41 Stat. 31) as
amended by 41 Stat. 1225-1231.

Since an allotment to an individual Indian presupposes
that the land may be utilized for agricultural. purposes
(Sec. 331, Title 25), it can hardly be urged that the
regulations here are a construction that leases of lands

under 41 Stat. 17 are within the provisions of Sections
397 and 398.

Doubtless, the true situation is expressed in a state-
ment by the First Assistant Secretary in a letter to the
Attorney General: '

“Before any oil and gas mining leases were con-

summated on Blackfeet lands allotted under the Act -

of June 30, 1919, consideration was given to the
matter of drafting regulations and a lease form. The
conclusion was reached that the tribal regulations.
promulgated under the provisions of Section 3 of the
Act of February 28, 1891, and the. lease form pre-
scribed thereunder would be satisfactory for use in

30

“

leasing these Jands. It was merely an oversight in
this case not to strike out tlie reference in the lease
form to Section 3 of the Act of February 28, 1891,
as amended by the Act approved May 29, 1924, and
insert in- lieu a reference to the Act of June 30,

1919.” ;

See also the construction by the Commissioner of In
dian Affairs (R: 43, 44).

Under such circumstances: it ¢an not be contended
that we have a uniform construction that Section 398
applies. If anything, the reverse is true.

In other words, the lease form here used is a part of
the regulations promulgated by the Secretary expressly
under ro provisions of Sections 397 and 398, and wi :
have Mothing whatever to do with leases specifically p¥0-
vided for under 41 Stat. 17 and Section 400.

But assuming that there is such a uniform construc-
tion as is contended for by the .respondents, such con-
struction is clearly erroneous and unreasgnable.

Long continued practice and the approval of adminis-
trative authorities may be persuasive in the interpreta-
tion of doubtful provisions of a Statute, but“*annot alter
- provisions that are clear and explicit when related tc the
facts disclosed. .

Louisville & N. R. Co. v. United States, 282 U. S.
740, 75 L. Ed. 672.

9
Situations somewhat similar, with respect’ to executive
construction concerning the applicability of certain Stat-
utes have heretofore arisen. In’ this connection the
‘Court’s .attention is directed to a line of cases involving
the issuance of patents to Indians who made homestead

31

entries on public lands under the Act of March 3, 1875
(18 Stat. L. 402) which provides that title to the lands
should be inalienable for a period of five years from the
date of issuance of the patent. In many of: the cases
where entries were :made by Indians under the above
cited Act, the patent was issued under the provisions of
. the Act of January 18, i188] (21 Stat. L. 315) which
‘declared that the land should be inalienable for a: period
of twenty years. It was an error on the part of the
General Land Office to issue such patents, as the provi-
sions of the Act of January 18, 1881, supra, concerning
the issuance of patents, apply only to Winnebago Indians
in Wisconsin. It has been uniformly held that such pat-
ents. were erroneously issued and that there should be
read into these patentts the provisions of the Act under
which the homestead was taken.

See:

Hemmer v. United States, 204 Fed. 898 (affirmed
241 U. S. 380) ; ™

United States v. Saunders, 96 Fed. 268 ;

Frazee v. Piper, 5:1 Wash. 278, 98 Pac. 760;

Feliz v. Yaksum, 77 Wash 919, 137 Pac. 1037.

From what has beem said in the previous Sections of
this Brief, it clearly appears that the lease was not, and
could not have been giwen under the provisions of Section
398. Just as clear is it that the lease must have been
executed under either 41 Stat. 17, or Section 400. In
either case there was, and is no consent to taxation, and
4 supposed erroneous construction by the Interior De-
partment cannot create such a consent and so divest
either the Blackfeet Tribe or petitioner of their right to -
‘immunity from taxation. |

32

It is respectfully submitted that the decree of the
Supreme Court of Montana should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

E. K. CHEADLE, JR.,
E. J. McCase, .
H. C. HALL,
Counsel for Petitioners.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386010_0076%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
