# Opposition Brief — Christie v. Adkins (No. 07-538)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1614%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

“4,

ical a ee
rene
In The S08 see WF CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States?-!s.

o

ARTHUR P. CHRISTIE, ANTHONY L. ALFORD, DANIEL
E. DEIGHTON, FREDERICK W. JENNART, DAVID N.
HARVEY, M.D., MICHAEL A. HELLWEGE, M.D., F-.
HUNT SANDERS, M.D., RICHARD J. SULLIVAN, M.D.,
TITUS A. TAUBE, M.D., C. SCOTT EDENFIELD, M.D.,
RAHIL KAZI, M.D., RICHARD L. HEATON, M.D.,
BRITTON L. PILCHER, M.D., SANTANU DAS, M.D.,
THOMAS C. JOHNSON, M.D., RICHARD B. ELLIS, M.D.,
HOSPITAL AUTHORITY OF HOUSTON COUNTY
d/b/a/ HOUSTON MEDICAL CENTER,

Petitioners,
v.

RUSSELL E. ADKINS, M_D.,
Respondent.

*

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

¢

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

ALTHEA L. BUAFO (Counsel of Record)
Georgia Bar No. 092065

BERNADETTE C. CRUCILLA

Georgia Bar No. 199001

BUAFO & ASSOCIATES

201 Spring Street — P.O. Box 4012
Macon, Georgia 31208

(478) 743-8337

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether this Court should create a privilege
against the disclosure of confidential medical peer
review documents in the limited context of federal
civil rights actions which allege discrimination within
the peer review process, itself.

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
BWUBSTION PRESENTED .........cccoccccccsssccccsessesseees i
TERED GPE PAW) LEE ER LSD vce cscesesvsesccccccccsesoveveneees iil

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND COURSE OF
PROCEEDINGS BELOW. ............scccscssssssscsesssecees 1
EE 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ...............cceeeees 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION........ 5

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT CASES

Jaffee v. Redmond, 518 U.S. 1, 116 S.Ct. 1923
CGT sinnorecsncsinssintiinisliaiiiieliemacmmaia passim

University of Pennsylvania v. EEOC, 493 U.S.
pt Bek ce Me og Ch mercer mien passim

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT CASES

Christie, et al. v. Adkins, 488 F.3d 1324 (11th

CRE SU ee ovssnitastctiescdiidatieinle tdduneniabodseienddidaddamaniametiaied 1,4

DISTRICT COURT CASES FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
Azeez P. Adeduntan v. Hosp. Auth. Of Clarke

County, 2005 WL 2074248 (M.D.Ga.) ..c.cssesesseeeses 16
Blaubergs v. Bd. of Regents of Univ. System of
Georgia, 661 F.2d 426 (5th Cir. 1981)... 2i

Marshall v. Americus-Sumter County Hosp.
Authority, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 26822
CRF oiciiniticashscccivetseciseebidtiin +e diiedeaciiiinamaiaactuiataa 12

CIRCUIT/DISTRICT CASES

Anderson v. Marion County Sheriff’s Dept., 220
F.R.D. 555 (S.D. Ind. 2004)...........ccc000. siiabiiebidaatanuaes 14

Bell v. Woodward Governor Co., 2004 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS LOGS Char, BB, BOOED) a cvccsccccscecesnscesecesescsessess 14

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Braswell v. Haywood Regional Med. Ctr., 352
F. Supp.2d 639 (W.D.N.C. 2005)..............sscscccsssseess 16
Bredice v. Doctor’s Hospital, Inc., 50 F.R.D. 249
eta aa aiceaeiecsts calico scsi dtsacbaain in bush eiileetendaioes 20
EEOC v. Franklin & Marshall Coll., 775 F.2d
I: ie ia es ansenaneniies 12
Holland v. Muscatine Gen. Hosp., 971 F. Supp.
fs EE | SNR Re a 12
Johnson v. Nyack Hosp., 169 F.R.D. 550
I areal citi pnetaicaenscbatecneemcseanemoncsiines 13
Johnson v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 220
PRED. GBS CM. .FIR. DOOD) vc .cncecevccsseverececccosseess 13, 14
Lemasters v. Christ Hosp., 791 F.Supp. 188
SO IE BENE ciniiisninlintiidicesaeddanssinignscucoiedinnnsd 13, 16
Leon v. County of San Diego, 202 F.R.D. 631
Se ae en IE Rciiritas ctaddpoenaphaiitinwiendasuadenidabccsaparicte 14
Lizotte v. New York City Health And Hospitals
Corp., 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14114 (S.D.
es ie Ra iicieeatuaasitanlicaiisachceossaiclainddenctabndacbeseneteiane 14
Marshall v. Spectrum Med. Group, 198 F.R.D. 1
a is ah dnsadetncecalacicdiseasctihaniohictehhsiicdecisotaaianesdoinicasaie 12
Melendez v. Greiner, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
De CN Te, By cccetttcntctchcinentrnnesitininien eee 14
Memorial Hosp. for McHenry County ov.
Shadur, 664 F.2d 1058 (7th Cir. 1981).............. 3, 11

Nilvar v. Mercy Health Sys., 210 F.R.D. 597
GRRE, COE PE ei ickcedccnvnnsiibessacvnnncientonsntiients accion 13

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Robertson v. Neuromedical Ctr., 169 F.R.D. 80
See aie MUM vse cudicchacaatciusvintcnintivetieaavoievesuseeadesious 13
Sonnino v. Univ. of Kansas Hosp. Auth., 220
Fear Ue ae Es I iivccssnsticssincsckeiionenesiaviieies 14
Virmani v. Novant Health, Inc., 259 F.3d 284
PIER Res NE ssibatestndtlrmsimounicas 3, 11, 12
United States v. Harris Methodist Ft. Worth,

970 F206 94 (GtB Civ. 1902) ccccccccesccocscccssscsenens 3,9, 10
Wei v. Bodner, 127 F.R.D. 91 (D.N.J. 1989)........00..... 13
GEORGIA STATE CASES
DHR v. Hutchinson, 217 Ga. App. 70 (1995)............. 16
Eubanks v. Ferrier, 245 Ga. 763 (1980)... eeeeee 20
Hollowell v. Jove, 247 Ga. 678 (1981)........ cece eeeeeecoee 20

McCall v. Henry Med. Ctr., Inc., 250 Ga. App.
ra GEE Bids aceandcinasestaisbncsmecieiccemeein 17
CONSTITUTIONS
Cie Coe ea TF aii orescence 3,9, 10
FEDERAL STATUTES
ae IE Sicaginkeeicceasvedsessanizcinistninaaiastenean 11
a es SE iissinstvsinsicivinisneieaiennane 15, 22

ae re Oe OD, a ndciissireceitinnteteeennamea 10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
I ees ee OO, iiineiinescnenisivinseinnsaiinidbaddicamenl 15
Oe Urs We OE OO. i cienincitinvnininncvtceniniabetinitn 2,15
GEORGIA STATE STATUTES
nner IPI? ON incscisn icieinentotueneroledeseipbeiningabinmnceibnenaie 18
nes TIE ee ncacinciicsbictestichbeseeenkevedebdensanenditisiindubieasail 22
Ie i IPE i iitccnniovstacksncceowiersiacessasoeeneassaaduatan 16
OTHER STATE STATUTES
L.S.A.-R.S. 13.3715.3 (Louisiama)...........cccccccseceeseeees 18
BE.C.L, SB1.BOT CRIA) oa sesiceccnciineseresencvesvivenseninen 18
ARTICLES
Hutton, Lawrence R., Sham Peer Review: A
National Epidemic, Association of American
Physicians and Surgeons, Inc. (2006)................... 18

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
Be A, TE Semi FF viv carcdeiecdipactvinennicseiinsesensvenmelan 16

1

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND
COURSE OF PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The written opinion issued by the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, published
at Christie, et al. v. Adkins, 488 F.3d 1324 (11th Cir.
2007) and also located at Appendix (la) of the Peti-
tion For Writ of Certiorari filed by the Petitioners
held that the state-created medical peer review
privilege shall not be recognized in a federal civil
rights case alleging discrimination within the peer
review process, itself.

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals’ opinion
includes a comprehensive Statement of Facts And
Course of Proceedings Below with which this Respon-
dent agrees. To avoid redundancy herein, Respondent
respectfully refers the Court to that opinion and shall
not reiterate same herein.

+

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners present no “compelling reasons” for
their Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to be granted.
See Sup. Ct. R. 10. Specifically, Petitioners fail to
demonstrate that the Eleventh Circuit’s June 12,
2007 Opinion is in conflict with a decision of this
Court or another Circuit Court of Appeals, or that
the Eleventh Circuit has decided an important fed-
eral question which has not already been settled by
this Court. See Sup. Ct. R. 10(a)-(c). Nor have they

2

demonstr.«! that there is a conflict among the
decisions of this Court.

In fact, Petitioners fail to give more than cursory
discussion of the fact that Congress has already
“spoken” on this issue by expressly exempting civil
rights cases from the Health Care Quality Improve-
ment Act, which provides immunity for participants
of peer review committees. See 42 U.S.C. §11111(a)(1).

Petitioners further fail to address the fact that
although state laws do recognize a medical peer
review privilege, many, if not all of the state laws
create an exception to the privilege where there is
bad faith participation within the peer review process
itself.

As illustrated in more detail below, Petitioners
have presented no viable reasons for this Court to
review the question presented at this time, thus their
Petition For Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

*

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Petitioners contend that there is a conflict in
two major decisions issued by this Court, to wit,
University of Pennsylvania v. EEOC, 493 U.S. 182
(1990) and Jaffee v. Redmond, 518 U.S. 1 (1996)
requiring resolution by this Court. This is incorrect.
In Univ. of Penn. an important privilege was not
recognized under federal law where the discrimina-
tion complained of occurred within the peer review

3

proceedings, themselves, 493 U.S. 182 (1990). Con-
versely, in Jaffee, plaintiff attempted to obtain psychi-
atric information about a police officer whom she was
suing for a separate state wrongful death claim. 518
U.S. 1. The two cases are thus not in conflict, are
distinguishable and present no reason for this Court’s
review.

Nor does the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in the
instant case conflict with Jaffee, as it is a limited
holding and gives clear guidance to when the privi-
lege will not be recognized.

Petitioners additionally strenuously argue that
there is a split in the Circuits created by United
States v. Harris Methodist Ft. Worth, 970 F.2d 94 (5th
Cir. 1992) which requires resolution by this Court.
However, that court specifically did not base its
decision on the peer review privilege and rather
decided the case based on the reasonableness of
administrative searches under the Fourth Amend-
ment. In fact, that court addressed the privilege only
in passing and based its holding on other grounds. It
thus has little, if anything, to do with the Court of
Appeals decisions which have addressed this issue
and which have all determined that the medical peer
review privilege must yield to civil rights claims
alleging discrimination within the process, itself. See
Virmani v. Novant Health, Inc., 259 F.3d 284 (4th Cir.
2001); Memorial Hosp. For McHenry County v.
Shadur, 664 F.2d 1058 (7th Cir. 1981) and the instant

4

case, Christie v. Adkins, et al., 488 F.3d 1324 (11th
Cir. 2007).

Petitioners contend all states recognize a medical
peer review privilege, thus this Court should acqui-
esce to the dictates of state law and likewise establish
an air-tight privilege under federal law. This argu-
ment ignores the fact that even state medical peer
review laws exempt from immunity those individuals
acting in bad faith or with malice within the process,
itself.

Petitioners also contend that due to the impor-
tance of confidential medical peer review proceedings,
failing to recognize a privilege within the context of
federal discrimination cases will eviscerate the public
health benefits provided by medical peer review.
While it cannot be disputed that medical peer review
provides an important public purpose, it also cannot
be denied that ferreting out invidious discrimination
is likewise, if not a more compelling public policy
issue. There are furthermore many quality of care
and public health benefits to be derived from ensur-
ing that competent minority physicians be protected
from hindrance to their medical practices by those
who are motivated by hatred and fear.

Further, an additional policy rationale for the
confidentiality of medical peer review documentation
is to protect it from being utilized by plaintiffs to
prove standard of care issues in state medical mal-
practice actions. Failing to recognize the privilege in
the limited context of federal discrimination claims

9)

within the peer review process itself will not eviscerate
such protections and those physicians acting in good
faith within the process have nothing to fear.

¢

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION
I.

There Is No Conflict Between Decisions
Rendered By This Court Requiring
This Court To Hear This Case

Petitioners argue that because there is a conflict
in two major decisions issued by this Court, to wit,
University of Pennsylvania v. EEOC, 493 U.S. 182
(1990) and Jaffee v. Redmond, 518 U.S. 1 (1996), this
Court should hear this matter in order to resolve
same. However, a reading of the two decisions reveals
that there is no true conflict.

Jaffee, 518 U.S. 1, 116 S.Ct. 1923, is simply not in
conflict with this Court’s ruling in Univ. of Penn. v.
EEOC, 493 U.S. 182, nor with the Eleventh Circuit’s
ruling in the instant case. See Appendix I(a). Jaffee
involved a police officer who was being sued under state
law for wrongful death due to her use of excessive force
in fatally shooting an individual. 518 U.S. at 5, 116
S.Ct. 1923. The plaintiffs there sought notes from a
psychotherapy counseling session that the police officer
had participated in. Jd. The psychotherapy sessions did
not, however, form the basis of the underlying claim of
excessive force. Jd. There was thus a compelling reason
to recognize the psychiatrist-patient privilege and the

6

Court found this privilege more important than
assisting that plaintiff in proving her wrongful death
case. This fact is a critical distinction.

In Univ. of Penn, 493 U.S. 182, 110 S.Ct. 577, on
the other hand, a professor alleged she was denied
tenure due to racial and sexual discrimination within
the University peer review process. The University
argued that the Court should recognize a peer review
privilege within the University process which, it
asserted, was “necessary to protect the integrity of
the peer review process, which in turn is central to
the proper functioning of many colleges and universi-
ties.” Id. at 189.

This Court rejected that argument and expressly
declined to extend the peer review privilege to that
discrimination case, as it found that the costs associ-
ated with discrimination far outweighed the costs
associated with the disclosure of peer review informa-
tion. Jd. at 193. Of particular import in that case was
this Court’s reasoning that because it was alleged
that the discrimination actually occurred within the
peer review process, itself, the discovery of same was
especially relevant. Id.

The two cases thus do not create a conflict. Had
they done so, this Court would have expressly over-
ruled Univ. of Penn., which it did not. This Court
aptly noted that where discrimination occurs within
the peer review process, itself, the privilege must fail.
In Jaffee, however, where the reason for seeking privi-
leged material does not occur within the privileged

7

process itself, the Courts must be guided by a laundry
list of factors before recognizing an important privi-
lege. 518 U.S. 1. This broader list takes into account
whether a privilege generally “promotes sufficiently
important interests to outweigh the need for proba-
tive evidence.” 518 U.S. at 9-10.

Petitioners suggest that the Eleventh Circuit
Court of Appeals’ decision in the instant matter
somehow conflicts with this Court’s reasoning in
Jaffee. 518 U.S. 1. Petitioners assert that Jaffee
expressly rejected a “case by case” analysis to deter-
mine the recognition of a state privilege under federal
law. The Eleventh Circuit did not, however, deviate
from the rule enunciated in Jaffee. 518 U.S. 1. Its
limited holding was simply that the peer review
privilege would not apply in a federal case based upon
discrimination within the peer review process, itself.
See Appendix 1(a). The Eleventh Circuit found, like in
Univ. of Penn., 493 U.S. 182, that eradicating dis-
crimination was a.more compelling reason to decline
recognition of the peer review privilege than the need
for confidentiality of documents. Thus, as required by
Jaffee, the Eleventh Circuit provided a “forward looking
test.” 518 U.S. at 13. Every participant will know
moving forward that the peer review privilege will not
be recognized in a federal discrimination case.

The mischief sought to be avoided in Jaffee was
the uncertainty created by a “case by case” analysis of
whether to recognize a privilege under federal law.
518 U.S. 1. The Eleventh Circuit did not create a rule
by which a case by case analysis will be conducted. It

8

merely held that in all cases of discrimination within
the peer review process itself, the peer review privi-
lege shall not be recognized. See Appendix 1(a). Nor
did the Eleventh Circuit suggest the peer review
privilege would never apply in another type of case,
such as where a party seeks peer review documenta-
tion to support an underlying case which does not
involve discrimination witl..n the process itself, which
was, in fact, the situation in Jaffee. 518 U.S. 1.

Likewise, as outlined in Univ. of Penn., where
discrimination occurs within the peer review process
itself, and where the interests to be weighed are
promoting healthcare or eradicating invidious dis-
crimination, the interests in eradicating discrimina-
tion must prevail. 493 U.S. 182. Further, supporting
minority physicians’ ability to practice medicine in
our countries’ hospitals is a benefit worth promoting
in order to assist in quality of healthcare to our
citizens,

Because there is no conflict between the Eleventh
Circuit’s decision or this Court’s cases, Petitioners
have not presented a sufficient reason for this Court
to hear this matter.

II.

There Does Not Exist A Split In Any Circuit
Regarding This Issue Thus Resolution Is
Not Required By This Court At This Time

Petitioners argue that there is a split in our
nations’ Circuit Courts which warrant this Court’s

9

consideration. They base this “split” solely upon the
decision in United States v. Harris Methodist Ft.
Worth, 970 F.2d 94 (5th Cir. 1992). However, that case
is not on point, creates no split in the Circuits and
was premised on a different issue than the medical
peer review privilege.

In Harris, the Department of Health and Human
Services (“HHS”), a governmental agency, attempted
to conduct a Title VI compliance review of a hospital
chosen at random. 970 F.2d at 96. In attempting to
conduct said review, HHS requested peer review
materials on every physician at the hospital. Jd. HHS
argued that it was permitted to conduct an “adminis-
trative search” under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act
as the hospital received federal funds. Jd. It further
argued that because the hospital had executed com-
pliance assurance documents, it had consented to the
administrative search. Id.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals held that
whether or not the administrative search could be
conducted (and whether there was consent to same)
was based on the objective reasonableness standard
outlined by the Fourth Amendment. Jd. at 100. Thus,
only if the search was “reasonable” would it be per-
missible under Title VI. Id.

The Court found because the particular hospital
was selected arbitrarily, without any guidelines and
that the decision was made by a field officer with
unreviewed discretion, that it was an unreasonable
search under the Fourth Amendment. Jd. at 101-02.

10

The Court thus declined to permit HHS to conduct
the requested administrative search and found that
any “consent” to the search did not trump the unrea-
sonableness standard. Id.

The only portion of the Harris decision which
dealt with the medical peer review privilege aspect of
the case, expressly held that “HHS cannot adminis-
tratively override the goal of Congress in enacting the
Health Care Quality Improvement Act, 42 U.S.C.
§§11101, 11137(b).” Jd. at 103. The Court went on to
hold that “because we affirm the district court’s
determination that the proposed search exceeded
bounds of reasonableness, we need not define the
scope of any applicable privilege.” Jd.

Thus, because Harris analyzed an administrative
search under Title VI and under the Fourth Amend-
ment, and because it expressly failed to reach a
decision regarding the medical peer review privilege,
it simply creates no split in any Circuit in the United
States dealing with this issue. The court in Harris
addressed the privilege only in passing and based its
holding on other grounds. /d.

Contrarily, of all of the Circuit Courts of Appeals
which have decided whether or not the medical peer
review privilege is applicable in a civil. rights action
alleging discrimination (within the peer review
process itself) the decisions are unanimous. Each
Circuit reviewing this issue has found that the privi-
lege must fail in these types of cases.

11

For example, in Virmani v. Novant Health, Inc.,
259 F.3d 284 (4th Cir. 2001) the Fourth Circuit indi-
cated that “in contrast to a discrimination case, in
which the plaintiff’s claim arises out of the peer
review proceedings, a plaintiff’s claim in a medical
malpractice case arises from actions that occurred
independently of the review preceedings.” The Fourth
Circuit indicated that there is no evidence that state
legislatures considered the potential impact on dis-
crimination cases of a privilege for medical peer
review proceedings. Thus, the state’s policy decisions
reflected different concerns than those implicated in a
discrimination case. Jd. This is particularly salient
since discrimination claims pursuant to Title VII and
42 U.S.C. §1983 are peculiar to the federal arena and
are not typically adjudicated in state courts.

Likewise, in Memorial Hosp. for McHenry County
v. Shadur, 664 F.2d 1058 (7th Cir. 1981), the Seventh
Circuit failed to recognize a medical peer review
privilege in an antitrust action which alleged a physi-
cian was discriminated within the peer review proc-
ess itself. The Court held that unlike in “the context
of a medical malpractice claim [failing to recognize a
privilege] will have little impact on the plaintiff’s
ability to prove a meritorious claim. For the crucial
issue in that type of case is not what occurred at the
review proceeding but whether the defendant was in
fact negligent in his care and treatment of the plain-
tiff.” Jd. at 1061.

In the Eleventh Circuit below, the privilege was
also denied on the same rationale utilized in Univ. of

12

Penn., 493 U.S. at 193 and the Fourth Circuit’s analy-
sis in Virmani, 259 F.3d at 289. See Appendix I(a).

In fact, even before the instant case was decided,
the district court in the Middle District of Georgia
declined to recognize a medical peer review privilege
in a discrimination claim requiring peer review
documents to be turned over to a plaintiff-physician
who alleged he had been discriminated against by the
peer review committee. See Marshall v. Americus-
Sumter County Hosp. Authority, 2002 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 26822 (S.D.G.A.).

It is thus clear that there are three (3) Circuit
Courts of Appeals that have decided this issue, all of
which declined to recognize the medical peer review
privilege within the context of a discrimination claim
arising from discrimination within the peer review
process itself.

There is simply no split in the Circuits arising
which makes the resolution of this matter ripe for
this Court at this time.

Of further note is the fact that the majority of
district courts have likewise ruled against recognition
of the medical peer review privilege. See, e.g., EEOC
v. Franklin & Marshall Coll., 775 F.2d 110, 116 (3rd
Cir. 1985) (peer review subject to discovery when
discrimination alleged within the process); Marshall
uv. Spectrum Med. Group, 198 F.R.D. 1, 5 (D. Me.
2000) (declining to recognize privilege in discrimina-
tion suit brought pursuant to Americans with Dis-
abilities Act); Holland v. Muscatine Gen. Hosp., 971

13

F. Supp. 385, 390 (S.D. Iowa 1997) (declining to
recognize privilege in Title VII claim); Johnson v.
Nyack Hosp., 169 F.R.D. 550, 561 (S.D.N.Y. 1996);
Robertson v. Neuromedical Ctr., 169 F.R.D. 80, 83-84
(M.D. La. 1996); Lemasters v. Christ Hosp., 791
F. Supp. 188, 191 (S.D. Ohio 1991); Wei v. Bodner, 127
F.R.D. 91, 101 (D.N.J. 1989).

Some districts refer to the peer review privilege
as the “self critical analysis privilege” or the “self
analytical privilege” however it remains the same in
substance. A majority of these district courts have
likewise refused to honor it in discrimination cases
such as the instant matter. See, e.g., Johnson uv.
United Parcel Service, Inc., 220 F.R.D. 686 (M.D. Fla.
2002). Indeed, the U.S. District Court for the South-
ern District of Ohio indicated that

while some cases discuss a “self-critical
analysis” privilege, and others discuss a
“peer review privilege” the two concepts stem
from the same trunk. Some courts note a dis-
tinction between the two, others do not. The
“self-critical analysis” is merely a way of de-
scribing, for example, a hospital’s regular re-
view, or evaluation, of its own in-house
practices, and the work of its care-givers. It
is, in other words, a more broadly focused, or
generalized variant of peer review, which it-
self tends to be case-specific.

Nilvar v. Mercy Health Sys., 210 F.R.D. 597, 604, n.12
(S.D. Ohio 2002).

14

Regardless of the term utilized, the basic privi-
lege and the analysis regarding its application to
federal discrimination cases remains the same. See,
e.g., Bell v. Woodward Governor Co., 2004 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 1052 (N.D. Ill., Jan. 26, 2004), Melendez v.
Greiner, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 19084 (2nd Cir. Oct.
22, 2003); Johnson, 220 F.R.D. 686 (M.D. Fla. 2002);
Leon v. County of San Diego, 202 F.R.D. 631 (S.D.
Cal. 2001); Lizotte v. New York City Health And
Hospitals Corp., 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14114 (S.D.
N.Y. 1989); Anderson v. Marion County Sheriff’s
Dept., 220 F.R.D. 555, 561 (S.D. Ind. 2004) (holding
“the deliberative process privilege is unavailable
where, as here, the plaintiff alleges discrimination
under 42 U.S.C. §1983”); Sonnino v. Univ. of Kansas
Hosp. Auth., 220 F.R.D. 633, 644-645 (D. Kan. 2004)
(holding “neither the Supreme Court nor the Tenth
Circuit has recognized a medical peer review or medi-
cal risk management privilege under federal common
law ... nearly all of the cases that have weighed the
state-law medical peer review privilege against the
interests advanced by the federal anti-discrimination
laws have concluded that the privilege does not pre-
clude discovery of peer review materials”).

In sum, cases emanating either from the district
trial courts or the Circuit Courts of Appeals from the
First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh,
Eighth, Ninth, Tenth, and now Eleventh Circuits
have all declined to recognize a medical peer review
privilege in the context of a federal discrimination
claim.

15

This Court thus need not hear this matter at this
time, as an overwhelming majority of district courts
and all three (3) of the Circuit Courts of Appeals
hearing the issue are not in conflict.

III.

Congress Has Already Addressed
this Issue by Way of the Health Care
Quality Improvement Act

In 1986 (as revised in 1989) Congress enacted the
Health Care Quality Improvement Act (“HCQIA”) in
order to provide immunity from damages to individu-
als participating in professional review committees
provided certain conditions are met. 42 U.S.C. §11111
et seq. An important exception to that act is relevant
herein.

For example, the Act specifically exempts from
its provisions “damages under any law of the United
States or any State relating to the civil rights of
any person or persons, including the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e, et seg. and the Civil
Rights Acts, 42 U.S.C. §1981 et seg.” See 42 U.S.C.
§11111(a)(1)(D).

It is thus clear that Congress specifically consid-
ered discrimination actions brought within the con-
text of the peer review process itself and decided to
expressly exempt them from the Act’s purview. It is a
basic rule of statutory construction that if something
is expressly mentioned, the inference is stronger that
those portions omitted were intended as such, than if

16

nothing at all was mentioned. See O.C.G.A. 50-21-20;
DHR v. Hutchinson, 217 Ga. App. 70, 456 S.E.2d 642
(1995).

Although Petitioner argues that the HCQIA
merely immunizes a peer review participant from
damages, but does not speak to whether or not confi-
dential documents are discoverable, this argument is
displaced. For example, it has been held that the
HCQIA did not apply, and could not be construed as
limiting discovery of peer review documentation
in civil rights cases. See Lemasters v. Christ Hosp.,
791 FSupp. 188 (S.D. Ohio 1991); Braswell v.
Haywood Regional Medical Center, 352 F. Supp.2d
639 (W.D.N.C. 2005); Azeez P. Adeduntan v. Hosp.
Auth. Of Clarke County, 2005 WL 204248 (M.D.G.A.)
(holding HCQIA does not bar peer review from disclo-
sure in those cases where the peer review process
itself is at issue.).

Petitioners argue that Representative Waxman
(a sponsor of the House Bill) specifically addressed
discovery of peer review documentation by stating, “I
understand there are a number of State shield laws
that restrict the type of evidence that may be intro-
duced in lawsuits challenging a disciplinary action in
the context of peer review. Nothing in this bill is
intended to preempt or override any such State shield
law.” See 132 Cong. Rec. 33,177.

Although it cannot be determined that the neces-
sary votes in both the House and the Senate agreed
with such commentary, Representative Waxman was

17

expressly referring to the State shield laws which
restrict discovery in malpractice actions against
physicians and not the type of situation presented
here. Had he been referring to same, there would not,
of course, be a clear exemption for Civil Rights cases
contained in the statute itself.

To that end, as Congress has already spoken on
the issue, there is no need for this Court to review
this claim unless and until Congress amends the Act.

IV.

State Peer Review Laws Create An
Exception For Immunity Where
Participants Act With Malice Or Bad Faith

Petitioners argue that effective (and confidential)
medical peer review is essential to providing the
public with quality healthcare. Certainly, it cannot be
denied that peer review serves an important function
in our society. It promotes effective supervision of
healthcare professionals and treatment of those
physicians in need of instruction or rehabilitation in
terms of their practice performance.

However, medical peer review committees are a
creation of statute and must be strictly construed and
not extended beyond their spirit and “precisely stated
limits.” McCall v. Henry Medical Center, 250 Ga. App.
679, 551 S.E.2d 739 (2001).

18

Although virtually every state has enacted
statutes providing for either immunity from lawsuits
to peer review participants and/or confidentiality of
the peer review documents, most of those same
statutes provide an exception for participants who act
with malice, fraud or bad faith within the process,
itself, See, e.g., O.C.G.A. §31-7-133 (Georgia); M.C.L.
331.531 (Michigan); LSA-R.S. 13.3715.3 (Louisiana)
and similar statutes in Pennsylvania, Maryland,
Texas, New York, New Jersey, Oklahoma, California,
Missouri and Tennessee, to name a few.

It is thus apparent that even within the state
peer review confidentiality statutes, it is recognized
that actions taken with malice towards a physician
will exempt the participant from immunity. Certainly,
there can be no greater malicious act than invidious
discrimination, whether it be based upon race, na-
tional origin or gender. This is especially so when
minority physicians of all sorts have consistently
assisted our healthcare systems in valuable ways.

In fact, it is a recognized fact that “sham” peer
review processes have begun in our country where
the confidentiality and privileges associated with peer
review are utilized to rid hospitals of physicians for the
hospitals’ improper motives. See Hutton, Lawrence R.,
Sham Peer Review: A National Epidemic, Association of
American Physicians and Surgeons, Inc. (2006).

Thus, Petitioner’s argument that because all
states recognize a peer review privilege under state
law that this Court must likewise do so is simply not

19

a basis for this Court’s review. As nearly all states
have carved out an exception for malicious behavior
within the process, itself, the Eleventh Circuit’s
opinion is thus in accordance with the states’ policies.

V.

An Exception To The Peer Review Privilege
Will Have No Substantial Effect On
Those Participants Acting In Good Faith
And Failing To Discriminate

Admittedly, it is important to the quality of
health care to keep peer review documentation and
discussions confidential. However, there is a distinc-
tion which Petitioners fail to address regarding the
quality of care benefits derived from the existence of
medical peer review, itself, and one of the compelling
reasons for requiring actual peer review documents
be completely privileged from disclosure. The distinc-
tion is between medical peer review and the medical
peer review privilege.

Medical peer review committees themselves were
created in order to provide peer-to-peer teaching
mechanisms and to ferret out physicians who failed to
meet proper standards of care. However, the confi-
dential nature of said proceedings and privilege from
disclosure of all documents/communications therein
were created, in large part, to allow participants to
speak candidly about another’s performance and to
prevent a potential state medical malpractice plaintiff
from obtaining the documentation in order to prove a

20

breach of the standard of care. See Eubanks v. Fer-
rier, 245 Ga. 763, 267 S.E.2d 230 (1980). In that case
it was held that denying a malpractice patient access
to the records was not a violation of either due proc-
ess or equal protection. Jd. See also Hollowell v. Jove,
247 Ga. 678, 680, 279 S.E.2d 430, 432-33 (1981)
(“(t]he statute legislatively approves the view that
[clonstructive criticism cannot occur in an atmos-
phere of apprehension that one doctor’s suggestion
will be used as a denunciation of a colleague’s conduct
in a malpractice suit” citing Bredice v. Doctor’s Hospi-
tal, Inc., 50 F.R.D. 249, 250 (D.C. 1970).

Petitioners argue that by failing to recognize a
medical peer review privilege in the limited context of
civil rights claims alleging discrimination within the
peer review process itself will “eviscerate” the public
health benefits provided by such peer review. They
argue that physicians will not participate in peer
review if they know that their comments and/or
documents are discoverable. In support of this argu-
ment they point to one small, rural county in western
Georgia. Petitioners miss the point, however. If
physicians do not act with discriminatory animus in
the peer review proceedings, they have nothing to
worry about. The exception carved out is a narrow
one indeed and will not subject disclosure of docu-
mentation which can be used by the public to support
malpractice actions to which the physicians must be
concerned. All they need do is to refrain from dis-
crimination.

21

As aptly noted in Blaubergs v. Board of Regents
of the University System of Georgia, 661 F.2d 426 (5th
Cir. Unit B 1981)

Persons occupying positions of responsibility
... often must make difficult decisions. The
consequence of such responsibility is that oc-
casionally the decision-maker will be called
upon to explain his actions. In such a case,
he must have the courage to stand up and
publicly account for his decision. If that
means that a few weak-willed individuais
will be deterred from serving in positions of
public trust, so be it; society is better off
without their services. If the decisionmaker
has acted for legitimate reasons, he has
nothing to fear. We find nothing heroic or no-
ble about the appellant’s position, we see
only an attempt to avoid responsibility for
his actions.

Id. at 482.

Likewise here, so long as the decision-makers do
not act with discriminatory animus, then they should
not object if their decisions or discussions are ques-
tioned in a federal civil rights lawsuit. In fact, such
documentation would most likely support their ar-
gument that no such discrimination occurred. To that
end, physicians will not realistically be “chilled” from
participating in medical peer review committees.

22

In fact, pursuant to Georgia Statuies, O.C.G.A.
§37-5-1, the appointment of peer review groups and
compliance therewith is required for the granting or
renewing of a hospital’s license. Thus, physicians
will be required to continue to serve on committees,
and like all public agencies, will be subject to anti-
discrimination requirements.

Failing to exempt the privilege in federal dis-
crimination cases will only have a chilling effect on
“closed-door” discrimination sessions. If this occurs, it
is certainly a chilling effect worth promoting and one
that comports with over 40 years of federal jurispru-
dential efforts to eradicate invidious discrimination.
See Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C.
§2000(e) et seq.

Certainly, then, Petitioners’ “parade of horribles”
that the entire system of quality health care in our
country will be chilled is not realistic and does not
serve as a compelling reason for this Court to review
this case.

23

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ALTHEA L. BUAFO
Counsel of Record

BERNADETTE C, CRUCILLA

BuAFO & ASSOCIATES
P.O. Box 4012

201 Spring Street
Macon, Georgia 31208
(478) 743-8337

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1614%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
