# Amicus Curiae Brief — Daniel Measurement Measurement Services Services, Inc. v. Eagle Research Research Research Corp. (No. 07-384)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1485%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

i eg

MOTION FILED
OCT 22 2007 Ez)
No. 07-384
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

DANIEL MEASUREMENT SERVICES, INC.,

Petitioner,
v.

EAGLE RESEARCH CORP.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To the Circuit Court
Of Putnam County, West Virginia

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AND BRIEF OF
AMICI CURIAE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS, CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, AMERICAN
TORT REFORM ASSOCIATION, AND AMERICAN
CHEMISTRY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Victor E. Schwartz

Cary Silverman

(Counsel of Record)

Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P.
600 14% Street, N.W., Suite 800
Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 783-8400

Attorneys for Curiae

Additicaial Counsel Listed on Inside Cover

Of Counsel

Jan S. Amundson

Quentin Riegel

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-3055

Robin S. Conrad

NATIONAL CHAMBER LITIGATION CENTER, INC.
1615 H Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20062

(202) 463-5337

Sherman Joyce

AMERICAN TORT REFORM ASSOCIATION
1850 M Street, N.W.

Suite 1095

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 682-1163

Donald D. Evans

AMERICAN CHEMISTRY COUNCIL
1300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22209
(703) 741-5000

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

- No. 07-384

DANIEL MEASUREMENT SERVICES, INC.,

Petitioner,
v.

EAGLE RESEARCH CORP.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To the Circuit Court
Of Putnam County, West Virginia

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF AMICI
CURIAE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS, CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
AMERICAN TORT REFORM ASSOCIATION, AND
AMERICAN CHEMISTRY COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules of this Court,
amici curiae request leave to file the accompanying
brief in support of the Petition for a Writ of Certio-
rari.}

Respondents’ counsel did not consent to the filing of an
amici curiae brief in this action. Counsel of record for all par-

The National Association of Manufacturers
(“NAM”) is the nation’s largest industrial trade asso-
ciation, representing small and large manufacturers
in every industrial sector and in all 50 states. NAM’s
mission is to enhance the competitiveness of manu-
facturers and improve American living standards by
shaping a legislative and regulatory environment
conducive to U.S. economic growth and to increase
understanding among policymakers, the media, and
the general public about the importance of manufac-
turing to America’s economic strength.

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States
of America (“the Chamber”) is the world’s largest
business federation, representing an underlying
membeship of more than three million companies
and professional organizations of all sizes and in all
industries. The Chamber advocates the interests of
its members in matters before the courts, Congress,
and the Executive Branch. To that end, the Cham-
ber regularly files amicus briefs in cases that raise
issues of vital concern to the nation’s business com-
munity.

Founded in 1986, the American Tort Reform As-
sociation (“ATRA”) is a broad-based coalition of more
than 300 businesses, corporations, municipalities,
associations, and professional firms that have pooled
their resources to promote reform of the civil justice
system with the goal of ensuring fairness, balance,

ties received notice at least ten days prior to the due date of
amici curiae’s intention to file this brief. In accordance with
Rule 37.6, amici curiae state that no counsel for a party has
authored this brief in whole or in part, and that no person or
entity, other than the amici, its members, or its counsel have
made a monetary contribution to its preparation or submission.

and predictability in civil litigation. For more than a
decade, ATRA has filed amicus curiae briefs in cases
before federal and state courts that have addressed
important liability issues.

The American Chemistry Council (“ACC”) repre-
sents the leading companies engaged in the business
of chemistry. The business of chemistry is a key
element of the nation’s economy, accounting for ten
cents out of every dollar in U.S. exports. Chemistry
companies invest more in research and development
than any other business sector.

Amici seek leave to file a brief in this case be-
cause the issue of whether procedures employed by a
court to sustain a compensatory damage award meet
the minimum requirements of the Due Process
Clause is of importance to each and every business in
this country. If state courts are permitted to enter
awards that are completely unsupported by the evi-
dence, then businesses will be placed at substantial
risk of arbitrary deprivations of their property. This
risk is magnified, where, as here, summary judgment
is routinely denied, post-trial review is nominal at
best, and appellate review is unavailable.

The proposed amici curiae brief does not repeat
the Petitioner’s arguments. Rather, the brief begins
by considering the public policy underlying the his-
tory and development this Court’s due process juris-
prudence and the principle that this tradition does
not permit arbitrary compensatory damage awards.
The brief then considers other instances in which
this Court and others have, on the basis of proce-
dural due process, found that a state cannot deprive
an individual of life, liberty, or property in absence of
supporting evidence. Finally, the brief addresses

and seeks to alleviate any potential concern of this
Court that its intervention in this case could disturb
the basic judicial structure of states that lack an in-
termediate appellate court or appellate review as a
matter of right. The brief also explains why granting
certiorari in this case will not place this Court in the
position of acting as a court of last resort for every
alleged excessive compensatory damage award.

Accordingly, amici request that the Court grant
this motion.

Respectfully submitted,

Victor E. Schwartz

Cary Silverman

(Counsel of Record)

SHOOK, HARDY & BACON L.L.P.
600 14 Street, N.W., Suite 800
Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 783-8400

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Jan S. Amundson

Quentin Riegel

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS

1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-3055

Robin S. Conrad

NATIONAL CHAMBER LITIGATION
CENTER, INC.

1615 H Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20062

(202) 463-5337

Sherman Joyce

AMERICAN TORT REFORM
ASSOCIATION

1850 M Street, N.W.

Suite 1095

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 682-1163

Donald D. Evans

AMERICAN CHEMISTRY COUNCIL
1300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22209
(703) 741-5000

Of Counsel

Dated: October 22, 2007

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES..................cesesseseseeees iv
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE .................0s0e0000s 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............ccccccccsseeeeeees 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............cceseeseeees 2
SITE cis vcintvksotnaciiindencehesenntinicinietpnsinteneteays 6

I. THIS COURT'S DUE PROCESS
JURISPRUDENCE REQUIRES SOME
MINIMUM LEVEL OF PRE- AND POST-TRIAL
REVIEW, AND EVIDENTIARY SUPPORT,

TO SUSTAIN A DAMAGE AWARD ............... 6

A. History and Development of Due Process.. 6

B. Procedural Due Process Does Not
Permit Unsupported Compensatory
cian reiasenstuensianede 11

II. ADAMAGE AWARD WITHOUT
EVIDENTIARY FOUNDATION IS
INCONSISTENT WITH DUE PROCESSG....... 14

III.WHAT DECIDING THIS CASE WILL AND
NE BE aidlsenniscrtiniperakaspanstinetesebeniviicetars 17

A. This Case Presents the Opportunity to
Clarify and Reaffirm That Due Process
Does Not Permit Arbitrary Awards. ........... 17

il

B. This Case Will Not Unduly Interfere With
State Judicial Sovereignty or Make This
Court a Final Arbiter of Every Excessive
Compensatory Damage Award................... 18

COIN a ae esti tain ei rrettccserevesesevseevecevecasseeee 20

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)
CASES
Biggs v. Village of Dupo,

892 F.2d 1298 (7th Cir. 1990).................... 15
Brown v. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278 (1936)..... 17
Burnham v. Superior Court of Cal.,

Marin County, 495 U.S. 604 (1990)........... 10
Carey v. Pipus, 435 U.S. 247 (1978)................ 15
Cooper Indus., Inc., v. Leatherman Tool

Group, Inc., 582 U.S. 424 (2001) ............... 13
Crookston v. Fire Ins. Exchange,

GL7 F.BG TOD CURR TBST) .ccocceccccccescosceveses 12

Ducker v. Wood, 99 Eng. Rep. 1092 (K.B. 1786) 11
Douglas v. Buder, 412 U.S. 430 (1973)........... 15
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968)..... 7

Federal Trade Comm’n v. Kuykendall,
312 F.3d 1329 (10th Cir. 2002), vacated on

reh’g en banc, 371 F.3d 745 (2004)........... 16
Gasperini v. Center for Humanities,

i) Bis M2. | Eee oe nnn 12
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)........... i)

Hetzel v. County of Prince William,
89 F.3d 169 (4th Cir. 1996)..........0000000000. 15

iV

Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg,

GIS US. 415 CIGGS) 2..0ccecccoceccceseses 5, 10, 11,17
Hurtado v. California, 110 U.S. 516 (1884).... 8
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955)............. 2
In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257 (1948) ..............e. 17
In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970)................ 17,18
Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964) ................ 8
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ..... 9
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972)....... 9

Murray’s Lessee, v. Hoboken Land &
Improvement Co., 59 U.S. 272 (1855)........ 7

Pacific Mut. Life. Ins. Co. v. Haslip,
RETR an cED 0 tO ee ONE 10, 13

Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1937),
overruled by Benton v. Maryland,
RE, SID sh cisncnsnvevovncscenssesescnasenvives 8

Price v. City of Charlotte,
93 F.3d 1241 (4th Cir. 1996)................00000 15

Ramsey v. American Air Filter Co.,
772 F.2d 1303 (7th Cir. 1985).................... 15

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners of the State
of New Mexico, 353 U.S. 232 (1957)........... 14

Snyder v. Commonwealth of Massachusetts,
291 U.S. 97 (1934), overruled on other grounds,
Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964)........... 8

Spence v. Board of Educ. of Christina Sch. Dist.,
806 F.2d 1198 (3d Cir. 1986)..............cccc0 15

Sun Oil Co. v. Wortman, 486 U.S. 717 (1988) 10

Superintendent, Massachusetts Correctional
Institution, Walpole v. Hill,

ee rae RN cavsbavinndccteveconcnsestncnprsiine 15
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ............... 17
TXO Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources

Corp., 509 U.S. 443 (1993) ........ccscceeees 11, 13-14
United States v. Betsy, 8 U.S. 443 (1808) ....... 7-8

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS

Bee EP MRI. W evnnensnenassscsicccedarstecsosesosens 6
Bree SE, TAIT, TEE oD conecercoccccssevecensscese 6
Magna Carta ch. 39 (Eng. 1215)..................... 7
Be Be Oe wikeisccnterspeesenscassatenrscevsane 7

OTHER REFERENCES AND AUTHORITIES

Paul DeCamp, Beyond State Farm:
Due Process Constraints on Noneconomic

Compensatory Damages,
27 Harv. J. L. & Pub. Pol’y 231 (2003)...... 13

vi

Edward J. Eberle, Procedural Due Process:
The Original Understanding,
4 Const. Comment. 339 (1987)................... 6

Robert Riggs, Constitutionalizing Punitive
Damages: The Limits of Due Process,
52 Ohio St. L.J. 859 (1991)............ sees 13

Edward L. Rubin, Due Process and the
Administrative State,
72 Cal. L. Rev. 1044 (1984)..............cccseeeee 6

Stephen Williams, ‘Liberty’ In the Due Process
Clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments: The Framers’ Intentions,

53 U. Colo. L. Rev. 117 (1981) ..............0+0+. 7

National Center for State Courts, State Court
Caseload Statistics, 2005: State Court Structure
Charts (2006), available at
http://www.ncsconline.org/D_Research/csp/2005_fi
les/State%20Court%20Caseload%20Statistics%20
IE kcieicnctniaicncociuasiccenilanvdbimnedildiimbbasames 18-19

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

The National Association of Manufacturers
(“NAM”) is the nation’s largest industrial trade
association, representing small and _ large
manufacturers in every industrial sector and in all
50 states. NAM’s mission is to enhance the
competitiveness of manufacturers and improve
American living standards by shaping a legislative
and regulatory environment conducive to US.
economic growth and to increase understanding
among policymakers, the media, and the general
public about the importance of manufacturing to
America’s economic strength.

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States
of America (“the Chamber”) is the world’s largest
business federation, representing an underlying
membership of more than three million companies
and professional organizations of all sizes and in all
industries. The Chamber advocates the interests of
its members in matters before the courts, Congress,
and the Executive Branch. To that end, the Cham-
ber regularly files amicus briefs in cases that raise
issues of vital concern to the nation’s business com-
munity.

Founded in 1986, the American Tort Reform
Association (“ATRA”) is a broad-based coalition of

; Respondents’ counsel did not consent to the filing of an
amici curiae brief in this action. Counsel of record for all par-
ties received notice at least ten days prior to the due date of
amici curiae’s intention to file this brief. In accordance with
Rule 37.6, amici curiae state that no counsel for a party has
authored this brief in whole or in part, and that no person or
entity, other than the amici, its members, or its counsel have
made a monetary contribution to its preparation or submission.

more than 300 __—i businesses, corporations,
municipalities, associations, and professional firms
that have pooled their resources to promote reform of
the civil justice system with the goal of ensuring
fairness, balance, and predictability in civil
litigation. For more than a decade, ATRA has filed
amicus curiae briefs in cases before federal and state
courts that have addressed important liability issues.

The American Chemistry Council (“ACC”) repre-
sents the leading companies engaged in the business
of chemistry. The business of chemistry is a key
element of the nation’s economy, accounting for ten
cents out of every dollar in U.S. exports. Chemistry
companies invest more in research and development
than any other business sector.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Amici adopt and incorporate Petitioner’s state-
ment of the case.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case presents an important constitutional is-
sue of procedural due process: whether a court may
deprive a defendant of property by allowing a com-
pensatory damage award that has no basis in the
evidence to stand with no more than cursory pre- and
post-trial procedures and no appellate review.

“A fair trial in a fair tribunal is a basic require-
ment of due process.” In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133,
136 (1955). Here, the trial court’s actions and inac-
tion exemplify the complete lack of the most basic,
fundamental procedures to ensure due process. Two
statements of the trial court judge demonstrate how
a jury reached a multimillion dollar compensatory
damage award, without evidence that the plaintiff

experienced an actual loss, for an alleged breach of
an oral contract and disclosure of trade secrets, and
why that award was permitted to stand.

Early in the case, the trial court took a troubling
approach in deciding a defendant’s motion for sum-

mary judgment:

[If} you’ve done your homework on me and
you'll know what my reversal rate is. And I
will tell you in the field of civil law, civil liti-
gation, the only time I’ve been reversed in
14 years is when I grant summary judgment.
There’s one thing I have learned in the State
of West Virginia the hard way, this ain’t
Texas, this ain’t Kansas, this is West Vir-
ginia, and we don’t give summary judgment.
Every time I do, I get reversed. Not every
time literally, but that’s where it is. Our
system favors taking it to ajury. And I’m go-
ing to allow all of these to go to ajury. Plain
and simple. All of your’s, all of the plain-
tiffs. Even the individual one against Mr.
Butch. I don’t know how you are going to ar-
gue all of this and present it to a jury. That
will be your problem.

App. at 47a. In other words, the trial court ex-
pressed a blanket policy against summary judgment,
even when it had concern that the facts accepted in
the light most favorably to the plaintiff might not
support a claim.

The court continued this hands-off approach fol-
lowing the trial in deciding whether to order a new
trial on damages. Although the court noted that it
was “most troubled” by and “struggling with” the

measure of damages in the case, the court concluded
that “I'm not going to reduce it, though I am con-
cerned with it.” App. at 10a, 12a. The court ex-
pressed bewilderment at the $10.5 million in conse-
quential damages for breach of a confidentiality
agreement, noting that “I did not instruct the jury
that they could take [the defendants] profits away
from them. Maybe that was what the law allowed,
maybe that was a proper way, but I didn’t instruct
the jury that way.” App. at 12a-13a. The court went
on to conclude:

And [ll be frank with you, I cannot recall now
whether the plaintiffs at that time said
“Judge, this is a wrong instruction, you ought
to be instructing the jury that they can base
the measure of damages on the lost — based on
taking away profits.” I don’t have a memory of
that. I don’t think you did, I’m not sure. I
can’t wade through them all at this stage, and
so I’m going to leave that as it is. I’m going to
deny the defense motion in regard to that as
well.

App. at 13a. This type of lackadaisical deliberation
and abrogation of responsibility, at both the pre- and
post-trial phases, raises serious questions under the
Due Process Clause for the consideration of this
Court. The combined import of these two actions
posed an unacceptable risk of a standardless depri-
vation of property.

Moreover, both the trial court’s approach to sum-
mary judgment and the damage award seemed prem-
ised on the availability of appellate review. Yet,
West Virginia has a single appellate court in which
review is discretionary. Indeed, the West Virginia

Supreme Court of Appeals denied the defendant’s pe-
tition for appeal in this case. App. at 27a-28a. This
further underscores the need for adequate procedural
safeguards at the trial court level to comport with
the minimum requirements of the Due Process
Clause.

The line of jurisprudence that formed the under-
lying basis of this Court’s conclusion in Honda Motor
Co. v. Oberg that procedural due process requires the
amount of a punitive damages award to be subject to
“meaningful and adequate” post-verdict or appellate
review was not confined to punitive damage awards.
512 U.S. 415, 442 (1993) (invalidating an Oregon law
that precluded judicial review of the amount of puni-
tive damage awards). In fact, this Court specifically
recognized in Oberg, “Since there is no suggestion
that different standards of judicial review were ap-
plied for punitive and compensatory damages before
the 20th century, no effort has been made to sepa-
rate out the two classes of cases.” Id. at 442 n.2. The
case at bar provides an important opportunity for
this Court to reaffirm and clarify the constitutional
principle that the Due Process Clause requires some
meaningful level of pre- and post-trial review as a
safeguard against arbitrary or excessive compensa-
tory damage awards. These are fundamentals of our
system of jurisprudence that must be preserved.

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT’S DUE PROCESS JURISPRUDENCE
REQUIRES SOME MINIMUM LEVEL OF PRE- AND
POST-TRIAL REVIEW, AND EVIDENTIARY SUP-
PORT, TO SUSTAIN A DAMAGE AWARD

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the
Constitution of the United States protect against the
unfair deprivation of “life, liberty, or property, with-
out due process of law.” U.S. CONST. AMENDS. V, XIV.
§ 1. The words “due process” have developed over
time to incorporate safeguards on both procedural
and substantive elements—assuring fair notice and
opportunity to be heard and proceedings that are
neither conducted in an arbitrary manner nor lead to
an arbitrary result. Exactly what procedures fulfill
this constitutional right is the product of a complex
history and tradition, and one that has proven essen-
tial to the analysis of the scope of the protection. To-
day, this Court is asked to consider whether that his-
tory and tradition constitutionally protects a defen-
dant from an arbitrary compensatory damage award
that has no basis in the evidence or jury instructions,
that was not subject to even the most rudimentary
post-trial review, and that received no appellate re-
view.

A. History and Development of Due Process

Due process is the “oldest of our civil rights.”
Edward L. Rubin, Due Process and the Administra-
tive State, 72 Cal. L. Rev. 1044, 1044 (1984). This
necessity of fair and impartial process derives from
two sources of English law. See Edward J. Eberle,
Procedural Due Process: The Original Understand-
ing, 4 Const. Comment. 339, 340 (1987). One is

Chapter 39 of the Magna Carta, which established
that “No free man shall be taken, outlawed, ban-
ished, or in any way destroyed, nor will We proceed
against or prosecute him, except by the lawful judg-
ment of his peers and by the law of the land.” Magna
Carta ch. 39 (Eng. 1215) (emphasis added); see also
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 169 (1968). The
second source, employing the words “due process,”
comes from an English statute of 1354 which pro-
vided “[tJhat no Man of what Estate or Condition
that he be, shall be put out of Land or Tenement, nor
taken nor imprisoned, nor disinherited, nor put to
death, without being brought in Answer by due Proc-
ess of the Law.” 28 Edw. 3 ch. 3 (1354).

From these beginnings, the concept of a guaran-
teed right of due process gradually became embedded
in American legal culture and tradition. Although
the Fifth Amendment’s due process clause passed
with little recorded debate on the issue, it prompted
several of the early states, none of which had a state
constitutional due process provision, to adopt similar
language. See Stephen Williams, ‘Liberty’ In the Due
Process Clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments: The Framers’ Intentions, 53 U. Colo. L. Rev.
117, 121-24 (1981). Prior to the adoption of the
Fourteenth Amendment, however, due process was a
right that existed, but one that was rarely discussed.
This Court only addressed the meaning of due proc-
ess on a few occasions, holding that the challenged
process must either conflict with the text of another
constitutional provision or with “those settled usages
and modes of proceeding existing in the common and
statute law of England.” Murray’s Lessee v. Hoboken
Land & Improvement Co., 59 U.S. 272, 277 (1855);
see also United States v. Betsy, 8 U.S. 443, 451 (18608)

(stating that the Fifth Amendment due process
clause “means by due process of the common law”)
(emphasis in original).

Extension of due process to state action under the
Fourteenth Amendment has led to considerable in-
crease in the scope and use of the protection, and
greater refinement in its meaning. See Hurtado v.
California, 110 U.S. 516, 532 (1884) (“[T]hese broad
and general maxims of liberty and justice held in our
system a different place and performed a different
function from their position and office in English
constitutional history and law, they would receive
and justify. .. more comprehensive interpretation.”).

Until the 1960’s, the history and tradition of chal-
lenged procedures generally determined their consti-
tutional adequacy. See, eg., Palko v. Connecticut,
302 U.S. 319, 328 (1937) (holding history and tradi-
tion could permit a state to deny protection against
double jeopardy), overruled by Benton v. Maryland,
395 U.S. 784 (1969). While a state is “free to regu-
late the procedure of its courts in accordance with its
own conception of policy and fairness,” it may not do
so if “it offends some principle of justice so rooted in
the traditions or conscience of our people as to be
ranked as fundamental.” Snyder v. Commonwealth
of Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934) (Cardozo,
J.), overruled on other grounds, Malloy v. Hogan, 378
U.S. 1 (1964).

During the 1960’s and 1970’s, the Court moved
toward a more expansive understanding of due proc-
ess. See, e.g., Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1, 15 (1964)
(“(CJontinuing re-examination of the constitutional
conception of Fourteenth Amendment ‘due process’ of
law is required, and that development of the com-

munity’s sense of justice may in time lead to expan-
sion of the protection which due process affords.”).
“Fundamental fairness” emerged as the analytical
tool to guide alleged due process deprivations and
expand its reach. See Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S.
254, 261 (1970) (requiring evidentiary hearing before
termination of benefits by welfare authorities). This
Court has made clear that due process requires state
actors deciding whether to deprive a litigant of his or
her property to meet minimum procedural safe-
guards demanded by rudimentary due process, which
include affording the recipient the opportunity to
confront and cross-examine witnesses, to retain an
attorney, and to present oral evidence to an impar-
tial decision maker, whose conclusion must rest
solely on the legal rules and evidence adduced at the
hearing. See id. at 270-71.

The modern test for determining the adequacy of
the process used recognizes that “(D]ue process is
flexible and calls for such procedural protections as
the particular situation demands.” Mathews v. El-
dridge, 424 U.S. 319, 334 (1976) (quoting Morrissey
v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972)). This Court has
recognized three distinct factors that guide the ex-
tent of the necessary procedures: (1) the private in-
terest that will be affected by the official action;
(2) the risk of an erroneous deprivation of such inter-
est through the procedures used; and the probable
value, if any, of additional or substitute procedural
safeguards; and (3) the Government's interest, in-
cluding the function involved and the fiscal and ad-
ministrative burdens that the additional or substi-
tute procedural requirement would entail. Jd. at
335. The Court requires this balancing of the public

10

and private interests “[tlo assure fairness.” Id. at
348.

The once dispositive role of history and tradition
in analyzing procedural due process claims, however,
has not been supplanted. See Pacific Mut. Life. Ins.
Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 36 (1991) (Scalia, J., con-
curring) (criticizing Mathews and other due process
opinions for “indiscriminately appl{ying] balancing
analysis to determine ‘fundamental fairness” with-
out regard for historical practice). Other recent ju-
risprudence suggests the resurgence of history and
tradition as primary factors in procedural due proc-
ess review. See, e.g., Honda Motor Co. Ltd. v. Oberg,
512 U.S. 415, 421 (1994) (examining deviation from
common law procedures in the awarding of excessive
punitive damages). Burnham v. Superior Court of
Cal., Marin County, 495 U.S. 604, 619 (1990) (hold-
ing that “jurisdiction based on physical presence
alone constitutes due process because it is one of the
continuing traditions of our legal system that define
the due process standard of traditional notions of fair
play and substantial justice”) (internal quotations
omitted); Sun Oil Co. v. Wortman, 486 U.S. 717, 729-
30 (1988) (considering tradition and history to reaf-
firm that Due Process Clause does not bar applica-
tion of the forum state's statute of limitations to
claims that in their substance are and must be gov-
erned by the law of a different state). It is against
this backdrop that history, tradition and principles of
fundamental fairness give rise to a constitutionally
protected right to some minimum level of trial court
procedures, sufficient evidence in the record, and
post-trial review to guard against arbitrary awards
of damages.

li

B. Procedural Due Process Does Not
Permit Unsupported Compensatory
Damage Awards

Judicial review of damage awards is a firmly em-
bedded common law practice throughout this country
and has its roots in English law and tradition. As
Justice O’Connor stated plainly when this Court ap-
plied due process guarantees to a punitive damage
award in TXO Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources
Corp., “courts at common law in England tradition-
ally would strike any [damages] award that ap-
peared so grossly disproportionate as to evidence ca-
price, passion, or bias.” 509 U.S. 443, 476 (1993)
(O'Connor, J., dissenting) (footnote omitted). Lord
Mansfield was also led to comment that “there was
no doubt but that the Court had the power of taking
the opinion of a second jury in any case where the
damages were excessive.” Ducker v. Wood, 99 Eng.
Rep. 1092 (K.B. 1786). This was true in cases involv-
ing both compensatory and punitive awards.

In Oberg, where this Court struck down an exces-
sive punitive damages award on procedural due
process grounds, Justice Stevens noted that “[a]s in
many early cases, it is unclear whether this case spe-
cifically concerns punitive damages or merely ordi-
nary compensatory damages,” and “[s]ince there is no
suggestion that different standards of judicial review
were applied for punitive and compensatory damages
before the 20th century, no effort has been made to
separate out the two classes of cases.” 512 U.S. at
423 n.2. Given the long, and seemingly undisputed,
history in which compensatory and punitive damages
were reviewed for excessiveness, and that no attempt
at differentiation was made at common law to ele-

12

vate one type of recovery for the purpose of establish-
ing a unique constitutional right, there is no basis for
separate treatment under due process. Such a dis-
tinction in the type of damages covered is unneces-
sary and improper for purposes of analyzing the ade-
quacy of procedures under the Due Process Clause.

That this Court has not squarely addressed the
issue of procedural due process with regard to com-
pensatory damages should not suggest it does not
apply. Indeed, the meaning of “due process of law”
was sparsely discussed for the first hundred years
following passage of the Fifth Amendment. Fur-
thermore, lower courts, realizing the common law
authority to overturn excessive awards, traditionally
used remittitur to accomplish this same objective.
See e.g., Crookston v. Fire Ins. Exchange, 817 P.2d
789, 802 (Utah 1991) (“After a jury returns a damage
award in a civil case, the most common way for the
losing party to challenge the amount of the award is
to move for a new trial or remittitur....”). This
Court has also stated that district courts’ “discretion
includes overturning verdicts for excessiveness and
ordering a new trial without qualification, or condi-
tioned on the verdict winner’s refusal to agree to a
reduction (remittitur).” Gasperini v. Center for Hu-
manities, 518 U.S. 415, 433 (1996) (holding that New
York’s law controlling compensatory awards for ex-
cessiveness or inadequacy can be given effect without
violating the Seventh Amendment).

The traditional review process of remittitur illus-
trates a court’s power to review the procedures used
in awarding compensatory damages, and that this
review must be protected under due process. The
fact that remittitur is used to reduce both compensa-

13

tory and punitive damages awards further undercuts
any distinction that would warrant separate consti-
tutional treatment. Similarities in how courts’ de-
termine amounts for punitive damages and non-
economic compensatory damages such as pain and
suffering also demonstrate a need for constitutional
safeguards. See Paul DeCamp, Beyond State Farm:
Due Process Constraints on Noneconomic Compensa-
tory Damages, 27 Harv. J. L. & Pub. Pol’y 231, 258-
61 (2003) (arguing that the arbitrary nature of non-
economic damages awards demand constitutional
due process protections); see also Robert Riggs, Con-
stitutionalizing Punitive Damages: The Limits of Due
Process, 52 Ohio St. L.J. 859, 907-08 (1991) (arguing
that non-economic compensatory damages and puni-
tive damages are so similar that they “cannot be ana-
lytically distinguished”). Where procedures for
awarding punitive damages parallel those for com-
pensatory recovery, there is simply no reason to cre-
ate a constitutional distinction. See Cooper Indus.,
Inc., v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424,
446-47 (2001) (Ginsburg, J., dissenting) (“One million
dollars’ worth of pain and suffering does not exist as
a ‘fact’ in the world any more or less than one million
dollars’ worth of moral outrage.”).

Moreover, as this Court expressed in Haslip, the
level of discretion allowed in determining punitive
damages “is no greater than that pursued in many
familiar areas of the law as, for example, deciding...
appropriate compensation for pain and suffering or
mental anguish. As long as the discretion is exer-
cised within reasonable constraints, due process is
satisfied.” 499 U.S. at 20 (footnote omitted). Justice
Scalia, in TXO Production Corp., more directly con-
cluded this essential point: “Procedural due process

14

also requires, I am certain, judicial review of the suf-
ficiency of the evidence to sustain a civil jury verdict,
and judicial review of the reasonablenes. of jury-
awarded compensatory damages (including damages
for pain and suffering).” 509 U.S. at 471 (Scalia, J.,
concurring).

History, tradition, fundamental fairness and the
past decisions of this Court all support the conclusion
that due process requires courts to provide adequate
procedural safeguards against the risk of erroneous
deprivation of property through a compensatory
damage award inconsistent with the evidence. This
Court should, therefore, grant certiorari and remove
any doubts as to this important constitutional right.

II. ADAMAGE AWARD WITHOUT
EVIDENTIARY FOUNDATION IS
INCONSISTENT WITH DUE PROCESS.

“(T]he Due Process Clause does not permit a
State to classify arbitrariness as a virtue.” Haslip,
499 U.S. at 59. For this reason, this Court has rec-
ognized that a state may not reach decisions on mat-
ters of life, liberty or property without a basis for its
action in the evidence.

For example, in Schware v. Board of Bar Examin-
ers of the State of New Mexico, the Court found that a
state bar could not deny an applicant the opportunity
to take the bar examination when all of the evidence
produced at trial showed him to be of good moral
character, while the Board “called no witnesses and
introduced no evidence” and there was “nothing in
the record which suggests that [the applicant] has
engaged in any conduct during the past 15 years
which reflects adversely on his character.” 353 U.S.

15

232, 236, 239 (1957). This Court has also found that
a state may not imprison an individual for violating
the conditions of his probation where the record “was
so totally devoid of evidentiary support as to be inva-
lid under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment.” Douglas v. Buder, 412 U.S. 430, 432
(1973) ( per curiam ); see also Superintendent, Mas-
sachusetts Correctional Institution, Walpole v. Hill,
472 U.S. 445, 455 (1985) (finding that revocation of
“good time credits” must be supported by “some evi-
dence” in order to satisfy the minimum requirements
of procedural due process).

In some instances, federal courts have reversed
compensatory damage awards purely on the basis
that the evidence was insufficient to support them,
without invoking the Due Process Clause. For ex-
ample, several courts have invalidated awards for
emotional distress stemming from alleged constitu-
tional violations when the evidence was vague and
conclusory, and did not show the need for medicine,
physical symptoms, psychological disturbance or
counseling, loss of income or pecuniary expense, or
other corroborative evidence. See Price v. City of
Charlotte, 93 F.3d 1241, 1255-56 (4% Cir. 1996) (cit-
ing Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 262-63 (1978);
Ramsey v. American Air Filter Co., 772 F.2d 1303,
1313 (7 Cir. 1985); Hetzel v. County of Prince Wil-
liam, 89 F.3d 169, 171-72 (4% Cir. 1996); Biggs v. Vil-
lage of Dupo, 892 F.2d 1298, 1304 (7% Cir. 1990);
Spence v. Board of Educ. of Christina Sch. Dist., 806
F.2d 1198, 1201 (3d Cir. 1986)).

Indeed, this case is reminiscent of a lack of basic
procedural rights that led the Tenth Circuit to re-
verse a district court decision upholding multi-

16

million dollar sanctions imposed by the Federal
Trade Commission. (FTC). See Federal Trade
Comm’n v. Kuykendall, 312 F.3d 1329 (10% Cir.
2002), vacated on reh’g en banc, 371 F.3d 745, 763
(2004) (agreeing with the panel that the district
court failed to set forth an adequate basis for arriv-
ing at its $39 million figure). Before the corporations
at issue presented their defense, the district court
stated that it “sees no reason why we cannot be con-
cluded with this matter by the close of business to-
day,” a statement the Tenth Circuit characterized as
“strong medicine.” Jd. at 1340. Noting the complete
lack of evidence in the record to support a $39 mil-
lion compensatory award intended for consumer re-
dress, the court stated:

Such a casual finding of millions of dollars
without one iota of explanation does not meet
the fact-finding requirement of Rule 52. The
court supplied absolutely no indication how it
arrived at this amount—no formula, no set of
guidelines, no explanation, not even the most
rudimentary reckoning of cause and effect to
demonstrate the extent and the manner in
which the consumers had been damaged. Ab-
sent any explanation whatsoever, such an
award is arbitrary and capricious.

Id. at 1342. Such a timeline and approach, the
Tenth Circuit held, “exceeds the limits of permissible
discretion and dangerously approaches a complete
violation of procedural due process.” Id.

17

Ill. WHAT DECIDING THIS CASE
WILL AND WILL NOT DO

A. This Case Presents the Opportunity to
Clarify and Reaffirm That Due Process
Does Not Permit Arbitrary Awards

If this case is permitted to stand, then it will send
a message that trial courts can act arbitrarily in
their decision making without any significant pre-
trial, post-trial, or appellate review. For example,
courts could conduct trials without instructions, al-
low only one side of a case to be heard, or permit a
$12 million award based on $12 worth of evidence or
no evidence at all as was the case here.

Where, as here, a trial court has taken a “let it all
go to the jury” approach and subsequently failed to
conduct a thorough post-trial review to identify sup-
port, or the lack thereof, for the resulting multimil-
lion-dollar award, due process requires appellate
consideration. If the West Virginia Supreme Court
of Appeals does not exercise its authority in such a
case, then it falls to this Court, as the highest au-
thority, to consider whether such an award comports
with the principles of the Due Process Clause.

“When the absent procedures would have pro-
vided protection against arbitrary and inaccurate ad-
judication, this Court has not hesitated to find the
proceedings violative of due process.” Oberg, 512
U.S. at 420 (citing Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510
(1927); Brown v. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278 (1936); In
re Oliver, 333 US. 257 (1948); In re Winship, 397
U.S. 358 (1970)). While this Court has found that
“[plunitive damages pose an acute danger of arbi-
trary deprivation of property” due to a jury’s wide

18

discretion in choosing amounts and the potential for
bias against big businesses, id. at 432, adequate pre-
and post-trial review equally provides procedural
safeguards against the danger of arbitrary compen-
satory damage awards.” Here, where such meaning-
ful review was not present, this Court has an oppor-
tunity to clarify that fundamental principles of due
process apply equally in such a context.

B. This Case Will Not Unduly Interfere With
State Judicial Sovereignty or Make This
Court a Final Arbiter of Every Excessive
Compensatory Damage Award

This Court may be concerned that granting cer-
tiorari in this case might result in a decision that ef-
fectively requires states that do not have an inter-
mediate appellate court to change their basic judicial
structure or renders this Court the final arbiter of
excessive compensatory damage awards. For the
reasons noted below, the Court need not fear either
result.

In addition to West Virginia, seven states, Mon-
tana, New Hampshire, Nevada, Rhode Island, South
Dakota, Vermont, and Wyoming, as well as the Dis-
trict of Columbia, have only a single appellate court
or lack an appellate division. See National Center
for State Courts, State Court Caseload Statistics,
2005: State Court Structure Charts (2006), available
at http://www.ncsconline.org/D_Research/csp/
2005_files/State%20Court%20Caseload%20Statistics
%202005.pdf (providing state court structure charts,

? Moreover, application of procedural due process princi-
ples to punitive damages would have little effect if punitive
damages are allowed to bleed into compensatory damages.

19

including a summary of each court’s jurisdiction).
According to the National Center for State Courts, of
these eight jurisdictions, only West Virginia and
New Hampshire do not provide their sole appellate
court with mandatory jurisdiction over most civil
cases. See id. While several other state supreme
courts have purely discretionary review of civil cases,
such as Tennessee, Texas, and, Wisconsin, in those
states, there is an appeal as of right in the interme-
diate appellate court. See id. In other words, West
Virginia is only one of two states in the nation in
which there is a high risk that an excessive verdict
resulting from a lack of procedural safeguards may
face absolutely no appellate scrutiny.

Nevertheless, it is not amici’s contention that
this Court needs to or should uproot West Virginia’s
appellate structure and intrude upon its sovereign
prerogative to design its judiciary. Rather, the lack
of appellate review in West Virginia underscores the
importance, indeed essential nature, of adequate
procedures at the trial court level to guard against
awards that are not tied to the evidence. Here, the
trial court’s abrogation of its role in considering the
appropriateness of summary judgment and its deci-
sion to allow a multimillion dollar award to stand,
despite expressing its concerns, demonstrates a vio-
lation of due process.

Finally, a decision in this case finding that the
West Virginia Circuit Court’s procedures were in-
adequate to satisfy due process will not place this
Court in the position of acting as a state appellate
court of last resort for excessive compensatory dam-
age awards. This is not simply a case of an excessive
compensatory award that a state court can address

20

through remittitur or other traditional means. This
is a case of a court that went against its own clearly
stated better judgment (even when there was ulti-
mately no appellate review) and permitted an award
to stand without any evidence supporting it. It pre-
sents an ideal vehicle for this Court to instruct that
the Due Process Clause requires state judiciaries to
provide meaningful procedures to guard against
awards that are not supported by the evidence.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici curiae request
that this Court grant the Petition for a Writ of Cer-
tiorari in this action.

Respectfully submitted,

Victor E. Schwartz
Cary Silverman

Counsel of Record
SHOOK, HARDY & BACON L.L.P.
600 14 Street, N.W., Suite 800
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 783-8400

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

21

Jan S. Amundson

Quentin Riegel

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS

1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-3055

Robin S. Conrad

NATIONAL CHAMBER LITIGATION
CENTER, INC.

1615 H Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20062

(202) 463-5337

Sherman Joyce

AMERICAN TORT REFORM
ASSOCIATION

1850 M Street, N.W.

Suite 1095

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 682-1163

Donald D. Evans

AMERICAN CHEMISTRY COUNCIL
1300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22209
(703) 741-5000

Of Counsel

Dated: October 22, 2007

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1485%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
