# Amicus Curiae Brief — Continentalenental Carbon Co. v. Action Marine Marine, Inc. (No. 07-257)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1376%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

mn ee

! FILEL

r
ray SEP 7B OMG
No. 07-257 i OFFICS: GS fe 58 ae

Hn the Supreme Court of the United States

CONTINENTAL CARBON CO. AND
CHINA SYNTHETIC RUBBER CORP.,
Petitioners,
V.
ACTION MARINE, INC., ET AL..,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CHEMISTRY COUNCIL
AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
MANUFACTURERS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

DONALD D. EVANS ALAN UNTFREINFR*
American Chemisirv Council — Robbins, Russell, Englert,
1300 Wilson Boulevard Orseck, Untereiner &
Arlington, VA 22209 Sauber LLP
(703) 741-5153 L801 K Street, N_W.

Suite 4/1
JAN S. AMUNDSON Washington, D.C. 20006
QUENTIN RIEGEL (202) 775-4500

National Association of
Manufacturers
1331 Pennsvivania Ave., NW.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 637-3000 * Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TIT PAeT EET ng Sine hee cee vecdupeuens il

INTERES! OF THE AARCICURIAE ..... 2.0 cceweees I

IR IS i RE GIO oe a Oe ee 2
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY

eS Oe ae ki ee es veh saa ws 6

I chr ie a Geka bs 6646's WA mai 4 che vacete Oe Ose 10

1. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With This
Court’s Decisions Concerning The Meaning Of The
wie Lt

ll. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Exacerbates Conflicts
And Confusion In The Lower Courts Over The Proper
Interpretation Of The Third BMW Factor .......... 17

SE Laie rai uaa Ss ANCA eae Hoek ERNE OO et 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)
Cases:
BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore,

SEF Os ae ce Ono wib-vc er eee passim
Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964) ......... 6
Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ............ 13
Clark v. Chrvsler Corp.,

436 FB Fe CE ecco rece c cc ec ccces 18
Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Leatherman Tool

Group, inc., 532 U.S. 424 (2001) ........ 8, 12, 17, 18

In re Exxon Valdez, 490 F.3d 1066 (9th Cir. 2007),
pet. for cert. filed, 76 U.S.L.W. 3073 (U.S. Aug. 20,
BOTS ee ee ee eb cece ceeees 19

Johansen v. Combustion Eng ‘g, Inc..

170 F.3d 1320 (1 ith Cir.), cert. denied,

DEO Chey ee bcc cc cre cee: 3,4
Lankford v. Idaho, 500 U.S. 110 (1991) 2.0 0.00000.... 13

Leatherman Tool Group, Inc. v. Cooper
Indus., Inc., 285 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2002) |... 12

Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging, Inc..
S47 FSO 1 CE bigs cocci c ce eecees 18

11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Cont’d

Page(s)

Pac. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

i ees eter eke 10
State Furm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell,

oe > a er ee passim
Union Pac. R.R. v. Barber, 149 S.W. 3d 325 (Ark.),

cert. denied, 543 U.S. 940 (2004) ................ 18
Willow Inn, Inc. v. Pub. Serv. Mut. Ins. Co..

Pg in Te ES ai sal as me nC Eeg 18, 19
Statutes:
sd so o's 9.6 Veo ae ew beeen 3
Eg og 8 a wn gt le kin iallg bik 3,14
pT ge ge eS 8 | a 3
Alabama Code § 22-22A-S(18)c ................. passim
Miscellaneous:
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL

MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2000... 16
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL

MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2001 ... 15

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2002 ... 16

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Cant’'d

Page(s)
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2003 ... 16
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2004 ... 16
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2005 ... 16
ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2006... 16

Steven Chanenson & John Yotanda, The Foggy Road
for Evaluating Punitive Damages: Lifting the Haze
From the BMW/State Farm Guideposts, 37 U. MICH.
pA ee er mene 19, 20

Jenny Jiang, Comment, Whimsical Punishment: The Vice
of Federal Intervention, Constitutionalization, and
Substantive Due Process in Punitive Damages Law,
94 CAL. L. REV. 793 (2006)

Andrew Moskowitz, Comment, Meaning Is In The Eve
of The Beholder: BMW v. Gore and its Potential
Impact on Toxic Tort Actions Brought Under State
Common Law, 8 FORDHAM ENVT'L L.J. 221 (1996) .. 20

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CHEMISTRY
COUNCIL AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
OF MANUFACTURERS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

The American Chemistry Council (“ACC”) represents the
leading companies engaged in the business of chemistry, a $635
billion enterprise that accounts for ten cents of every dollar in
exports and js a critical component of the nation’s economy.
ACC members apply the science of chemistry to create and
manufacture innovative products and services that make the
lives of people throughout the country and abroad better, safer,
and healthier.

The National Association of Manufacturers (““NAM_’’) is the
nation’s largest industrial trade association, representing small
and large manufacturers in every industrial sector and in all 50
states. NAM’s mission ts to enhance the competitiveness of
manufacturers by shaping a legislative and regulatory
environment that is conducive to economic growth. NAM also
seeks to increase understanding among policymakers, the
media, and the public about the vital role of manufacturing to
America’s economic future and living standards.

In support of these objectives, ACC and NAM regularly file
briefs as amici curiae in this Court and in other courts in cases
that are significant to their respective members. This is such a
case. Because ACC and NAM members are often the subject of
suits seeking punitive damages, they have a substantial interest
in the development of sound legal principles governing the
power of juries to mete out punishment in civil litigation.

' The parties* letters of consent to the filing of this brief have been lodved
with the Clerk. Pursuant to S.Ct. Rule 37.6, amici state that no counsel
for a party has written this brief in whole or in part and that no person or
entity, other than amici, their members, or their counsel, has made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

%
-~

STATEMENT

In BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 574 (1996),
this Court explained that “[ejlementary notions of fairness
enshrined in our constitutional jurisprudence dictate that a
person receive fair notice not only of the conduct that will
subject him to punishment, but also of the severity of the
penalty that a State may impose.” To ensure such fair notice,
and ultimately to determine whether “a more modest
punishment * * * could have satisfied the State’s legitimate
objectives” of punishment and deterrence (State Farm Mut.
Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408, 419-20 (2003)), this
Court has instructed reviewing courts to examine three
guideposts in evaluating whether a punitive damages award is
constitutionally excessive. This case provides a valuable
opportunity to clarify all three guideposts, including the oft-
misunderstood “comparable penalties” guidepost, and to bring
the Eleventh Circuit into line with the decisions of this Court
and other federal and state appellate courts.

|. This is an environmental case involving discoloration and
damage to property (but no claim of physical illness or injury)
flowing from the release of “carbon black,” a compound with
many useful commercial applications, from a manufacturing
plant in Phenix City, Alabama. The plant is owned by petitioner
Continental Carbon Co. (“CCC”), which is an indirect
subsidiary of petitioner China Synthetic Rubber Corporation.
Respondents are the City of Columbus, Georgia; city resident
Owen Ditchfield; a boat dealership, Action Marine, Inc.; and the
dealership’s owner. John Tharpe. The jury returned a verdict
for respondents, awarding $570,000 to the City for remediation
costs, $45,000 to Ditchfield for property damage, $1.2 million
to Action Marine for lost business value, and $100,000 to
Tharpe for emotional distress. The jury also awarded
respondents $1,294,000 in attorneys® fees and $17.5 million in
punitive damages. The district court ordered extensive
injunctive relief (with an estimated cost to petitioners of $4.2
million). See Pet. 6.

3

2. The district court denied petitioners’ post-trial motion,
including their request that the $17.5 million punishment be
vacated or substantially remitted because it was excessive when
judged under the BMW factors. Pet. App. 33a, 41a-47a. With
respect to the third BMW guidepost — “the difference between
the punitive damages awarded by the jury and the civil penalties
authorized or imposed in comparable cases” (id. at 42a) — the
district court acknowledged its crucial importance in ensuring
that a defendant receive fair notice. *** Whether a defendant had
constitutionally adequate notice that his conduct might result in
a particular damages award,’” the court explained, “*depends in
large part upon the available civil and criminal penalties the
state provides for such conduct.”” /d. at 46a (quoting Johansen
v. Combustion Eng'g, Inc., 170 F.3d 1320, 1337 (1 Ith Cir.),
cert. denied, 528 U.S. 931 (1999)) (emphasis added). At the
same time, the district court noted that under Eleventh Circuit
precedent the comparable-penalties factor “is accorded less
weight” than the first two BMW factors. /d. at 30a (internal
quotation marks omitted).

Next, the district court held that the relevant point of
comparison was “the civil penalties that could have been
imposed by the Alabama Department of Environmental
Management (“ADEM’),” the agency with responsibility over
the Phenix City plant, “for air pollution pursuant to Alabama
Code §§ 22-22A-4 and 22A-5.” Pet. App. 46a. Those
provisions authorize ADEM to impose a civil penalty that “shall
not be less than $100.00 or exceed $25,000” for any violation of
certain provisions of the Alabama environmental statutes or of
“any rule, regulation or standard promulgated by the department.
any provision of any order, or any condition of any permit,
license, certification or variance issued by the department.” Ala.
Code §§ 22-22A-5(18)a, 22-22A-5(18)c.° “[T] hose statutes,” the

’ The statute requires ADEM to consider the following factors in
selecting the penalty for each violation from within the $100-$25.000
range: “the seriousness of the violation. including any irreparable harm
to the environment and any threat to the health and safety of the public:

4

court explained, also “impose a $250,000 cap on the ‘total
penalty [that is] assessed in an order issued by the department.’
Ala. Code § 22A-5(18)c.” Pet. App. 46a.

Rather than evaluate how many violations petitioners had
committed, how severe those violations were, and what civil
penalties ADEM realistically would have imposed for the
violations given the considerations ADEM must evaluate in
setting penalties (see note 2, supra), the district court simply
assumed that ADEM would have found at least ten violations
and issued an order imposing the maximum of $250,000 in civil
penalties. In making that assumption over petitioners’
objections, the district court declined to give any weight to
ADEM‘ s actual practice of imposing civil penalties — which had
resulted in no penalties in this case. See Pet. App. 46a & n.7.

Having made this assumption, the district court proceeded to
rely primarily on Johansen, a pre-State Furm case, in which the
Eleventh Circuit had upheld a punitive damages award that was
$4.25 million higher than the $10,000 civil penalty that the State
actually had imposed. Pet. App. 45a n.6, 46a. Focusing on the
ratio of the $17.5 million punitive damages award to the
maximum available penalty of $250,000 (70:1), the district court
deemed it significant that Johansen had upheld a punitive
damages award that was “400 times greater than the fine the
mining company had received.” Pet. App. 47a. “In light of this
precedent,” the court reasoned, petitioners received “adequate
notice that their conduct could result in a substantial penalty for
pollution.” /bid. Thus, although the punitive damages award in
this case exceeded the $250,000 statutory cap by $/ 7.25 million,
the district court concluded that petitioners had adequate notice
that they might receive the vastly larger punishment.

the standard of care manifested by such person; the economic benefit
which delayed compliance may confer upon such person: the nature.
extent and degree of success of such person's efforts to minimize or
mitigate the effects of such violation upon the environment, such
person's history of previous violations: and the abrlity of such person to

Bet
Fh

5

3. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed but relied on a somewhat
different analysis. Like the district court, it “assumed from the
parties’ arguments that Alabama law” — and Ala. Code § 22A-
5(18)c in particular — was “the appropriate guide” in determining
whether petitioners had received adequate notice that they “could
be ordered to pay” a $17.5 million penalty. Pet. App. 30a. But
the court of appeals disagreed that the $250,000 cap placed an
upper limit on the potential civil penalty:

While it is true that the relevant provision * * * limits “the
total penalty assessed in an order issued” (emphasis added)
by the regulating agency, the statute does not limit the
number of such orders the agency may issue. In other words,
ADEM is empowered to assess a penalty of up to $25,000
per violation up to a total of $250,000 per order. That does
not mean that after issuing such an order, [the agency]
cannot again assess penalties against a polluter who was the
subject of a $250,000 fine.

hid. (emphasis altered; citations omitted). “Conceivably, then,”
the Eleventh Circuit reasoned, “Alabama could fine” petitioners
"$250,000 for every ten violations.” /d. at 31a.

Having concluded that a fine above the $250,000 cap was
“conceivabl[e],” the Eleventh Circuit was quick to add that “we
cannot simply presume that Alabama would have fined
[petitioners] an incalculable number of times or would have
assessed the maximum amount cach time.” Pet. App. 31a. “Nor
are we capable of guessing,” the pancl explained, “as to the
frequency of [petitioners’| violations, though evidence in the
records indicates that it did indeed violate conditions of its
permit and thus the {Alabama statute]. /bid.

Despite these disclaimers, the Eleventh Circuit concluded
that, “[c]onsidering the reprehensibility of [CCC's] conduct.” it
was possible to “surmise that if Alabama citizens had found
themselves the victims of [CCC's] malfeasance, ADFM would
have vigorously entorced the relevant statutes and fined [CCC]
closer to the maximum amount, perhaps several times ¢/
necessary.” Pet. App. 31a (emphasis added). Thus, the court of

6

appeals concluded, petitioner CCC was “on notice that its actions
could result in civil penalties that far exceed the per-order cap
limiting ADEM’s discretion, and we do not believe it implausible
that vigorous enforcement would have led to an accrual of fines
totaling several million dollars.” Ibid. (emphasis added). On the
strength of that analysis — which apparently envisioned at least
eight separate ADEM orders, each imposing the maximum
$250,000 penalty (each of which, in turned, was based on
ADEM'’s imposition of the maximum $25,000 penalty for ten
violations) — the Eleventh Circuit concluded that petitioners
received adequate notice that they might receive a punishment
of $17.5 million because that figure “was not gross/ly
disproportionate to the [civil] penalties [CCC] faced for its
actions.” /d. at 32a (emphasis added). Like the district court, the
Eleventh Circuit made no effort to test the plausibility of its
chain of assumptions by examining ADEM’s actual track record
of imposing civil penalties on petitioners or anyone else for
violations of the State’s environmental laws.
INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment
embodies the “basic principle that a criminal statute must give
fair warning of the conduct that it makes a crime.” Bouie v. City
of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 350-51 (1964). The requirement of
fair warning protects the rights of individuals against arbitrary
and unforesceable actions by state actors (including lay juries);
it also disciplines and checks government power by requiring
precision in the definition of crimes before the government may
bring to bear the full weight of its prosecutorial authority.

In BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), this
Court noted that, although “[t}he strict constitutional safeguards
afforded to criminal defendants are not applicable to civil cases,”
the “basic protection against ‘judgments without notice’ afforded
by the Due Process Clause * * * is implicated by civil penalties.”
Id. at 574 n.22 (emphasis in original). Moreover. “[e]lementary
notions of fairness enshrined in our constitutional jurisprudence
dictate that a person receive fair notice not only of the conduct

j

that will subject him to punishment, but also of the severity of
the penalty that a State may impose.” Id. at 574 (emphasis
added). Applying these fundamental guarantees of fair notice,
the Court invalidated as grossly excessive a $2 million punitive
damages award that was “tantamount to a severe criminal
penalty.” /d. at 585. In so doing, the Court identified three
“guideposts’” — “the degree of reprehensibility” of the
defendant’s conduct; the ratio of the amount of punitive damages
imposed to the “harm or potential harm suffered by” the
plaintiff; and the difference between the punitive damages
awarded and “the civil remedies authorized or imposed in
comparable cases” — “each of which indicate[d] that BMW did
not receive adequate notice of the magnitude of the sanction that
Alabama might impose.” /d. at 574-75.

The third BMW guidepost, “the civil remedies authorized or
imposed in comparable cases,” 517 U.S. at 575, is particularly
important in assuring that defendants receive fair notice of the
magnitude of possible punishment. Beyond its crucial role in
ensuring notice, this guidepost ensures that judicial
determinations concerning excessiveness are firmly rooted in the
soil of legislative or administrative judgments. Precisely
because legislatures are in a better position to determine the need
for punishment and deterrence, BMW instructed that courts must
give “substantial deference” to the “legislative judgments
concerning appropriate sanctions for the conduct at issue.” /d.
at 583. And where, as here, the relevant civil penalties are
embedded in a complex regulatory scheme that is administered
by an expert state agency delegated the authority to do so by the
legislature, these concerns are heightened. The actual
enforcement activities of specialized regulators under such a
scheme are a far better measure of the need for deterrence and
punishment than is the ad hoc decision of a lay jury.

1. Under this Court's cases, the proper focus of the third
BMW factor is on the absolute difference between (a) the
punitive damages award and (b) the legislative and/or
administrative civil penalties that might realistically be imposed
for the defendant's conduct vis-a-vis the plainuffs. In BAW

8

itself, the Court not only pointed out that the $2 million punitive
award was “substantially greater than the statutory fines
available in Alabama and elsewhere for similar malfeasance,”
but it also emphasized that there was no evidence that such a
large punishment had ever been meted out in the real world. See
517 U.S. at 584 (noting absence of “any judicial decision in
Alabama or elsewhere indicating that the application of
{BMW’s] policy might give rise to such severe punishment’’).

Similarly, in Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group,
Inc., 532 U.S. 424, 442 (2001), the Court made clear in ordering
a remand that a reviewing court should avoid “unrealistic”
assumptions in applying the BMW factors to assess ex-
cessiveness. The Court refused to credit the plaintiff's argument
that the defendant would have received the maximum penalty for
each of the chousands of offending pieces of promotional
materials that it sent out, explaining that it was more realistic to
think that this conduct would have been treated as a single
violation. /d. at 442-443. And in State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.
v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003), the Court again cautioned
against relying on “remote possibilit[ies]” and “speculat[ion]” in
evaluating the comparable-penalties factor. /cd. at428. Although
the Court framed the second BMW factor as a ratio, it re:terated
that the critical issue under the third BMW factor was the
absolute “disparity between the punitive damages award” and
the comparable civil penalties that might realistically be
imposed. /hid. (emphasis added).

This Court's realistic approach to the comparable-penalties
factor makes eminent sense. It effectuates both the notice and
the comparable institutional competence concerns that underlie
this important barometer of excessivencss. Although the
theoretical availability of a range of civil penalties for the
relevant conduct provides a defendant with notice that he may
receive punishment within the range prescribed by the
legislature, it does not answer the question of where within that
range the defendant's civil penalty would likely fall. To answer
that question, a reviewing court must consider the severity of the
defendant's conduct and the civil penalties such conduct would

9

likely receive. Where, as in this case, the civil penalty provision
is administered by an expert agency of state government — the
Alabama Department of Environmental Management (ADEM)
~ there is all the more reason to consider the regulator’s actual
practice in imposing civil penalties on the defendant and others.
Not surprisingly, many lower federal and state appellate courts
have heeded this Court’s teachings by applying the comparable-
penalties guidepost with a healthy dose of realism.

In the decision below, the Eleventh Circuit departed from
this Court’s teachings. Not only did it effectively ignore the
$250,000 cap on civil penalties under Ala. Code § 22-22A-
5(18)c, but it relied on a series of speculative and unfounded
assumptions about ADEM's likely punishment actions as well as
petitioners’ likely recalcitrance in the face of agency oversight.
Thus, the Eleventh Circuit assumed that ADEM would
determine that petitioners had committed ten separate violations
of the permit (or of some other, unspecified law or regulation)
and would impose the maximum penalty of $25,000 for each
such violation; assumed that petitioners would be recalcitrant in
the face of this large punishment and would continue to violate
the permit or Alabama law in multiple ways; and assumed that
ADEM would go through the same exercise of finding ten
violations, imposing $25,000 fines for each violation, and
levying a total punishment of $250,000 — at /east seven more
times. See Pet. App. 31a (“we do not believe it implausible that
vigorous enforcement would have led to an accrual of fines
totaling several million dollars”).

Notably, the court of appeals failed to test any of these
assumptions against the available evidence of ADEM’s actual
practice of imposing civil penalties against petitioners or others

evidence that shows that the $17.5 million punitive damages
award was grotesquely excessive. See pp. 15-16. infra. Relying
on nothing more than a chain of speculative assumptions, the
Eleventh Circuit brushed aside the massive “disparity between
the punitive damages award” (State Farm, 538 U.S. at 428) and
the $250,000 maximum civil penalty (or even the “several
million dollars” imagined by the court of appeals, see Pet. App.

10

31a). And it did so even though that disparity — of $/7.25 (or
$15.5) million — is vastly larger than the disparity this Court held
in BMW was sufficient to deprive a defendant of fair notice that
the larger punishment was a realistic possibility.

Ii. Further review is also warranted because the Eleventh
Circuit’s decision exacerbates conflict and confusion in the
lower federal and state appellate courts over the meaning of the
third BMW guidepost. Like the Eleventh Circuit in this case,
some circuits and state appellate courts have continued, even
after State Furm, to rely on speculation about severe, but highly
unlikely, legislative penalties in applying this important indicium
of excessiveness, whereas other courts have taken the teachings
of BMW, Cooper and State Farm to heart. The issue is both
important and recurring; it arises in potentially every case where
the size of a punitive damages award is challenged under the
Due Process Clause. And this case is an excellent vehicle for at
least two reasons. First, it is representative of a significant and
growing category of punitive damages cases involving
environmental torts. Second, the Eleventh Circuit’s reliance on
a chain of utterly speculative assumptions stands in sharp
contrast to this Court’s teachings and the available evidence of
what a comparable penalty realistically would have been under
ADEM's enforcement practices.

ARGUMENT

This case presents a valuable opportunity not only to rectify
a glaring example of punitive damages “run wild” (Pac. Mut.
Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 18 (1991)), but also to ensure
that the BMW’ factors will function as intended: as meaningful
guidance for appellate review of punitive damages and as a safe-
guard to ensure that defendants who are punished through the
imposition of exemplary damages receive the fair notice required
by the Due Process Clause. As petitioners persuasively
demonstrate, the Eleventh Circuit's interpretation of all three
BMW factors is squarely at odds with this Court's decisions and
contrary to the decisions of many lower federal and state
appellate courts. Accordingly, and for all the reasons set forth
in the petition, further review 1s clearly warranted.

11

For reasons of space, amici focus in this brief on the
Eleventh Circuit’s flawed understanding of the third BMW
guidepost — “the civil remedies authorized or imposed in
comparable cases” (517 U.S. at 574). That guidepost is
especially important in assuring defendants constitutionally
adequate notice of the magnitude of possible punishment.

I. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With This
Court’s Decisions Concerning The Meaning Of The
Third BMW Factor

In at least two critical respects, the Eleventh Circuit's
decision strays from this Court’s teachings concerning the
meaning of the comparable-penalties guidepost. Under this
Court’s decisions, the proper focus of the third BMW factor is on
the ubsolute difference between (a) the punitive damages award,
and (b) the legislative and/or administrative civil penalties that
might realistically be imposed for the defendant’s conduct
vis-a-vis the plaintiffs. In the decision below, the Eleventh
Circuit made no attempt to evaluate the realistic odds of a $17.5
million civil penalty by the Alabama environmental agency, and
instead relied on a series of wholly speculative assumptions that
were designed to render meaningless the $250,000 statutory cap
on civil penalties. Second, the Eleventh Circuit ignored the fact
that — even under its wholly speculative assumptions about the
civil penalties faced by petitioners — the $17.5 million
punishment meted out by the jury was af /east $15.5 million
higher than the imagined civil penalty (and $17.25 million
higher than the statutory cap). That disparity is far greater than
the less-than-$2 million disparity this Court held in BMW was
sufficient to deprive the defendant of adequate notice.

a. In BMW, this Court noted that “the $2 million” exaction
imposed by the jury was “substantially greater than the statutory
fines available in Alabama and elsewhere for similar
malfeasance” (which ranged from a maximum fine of $2.000 to
$10.000). S17 U.S. at 584. “None of these statutes.” the Court
explained, “would provide an out-of-state distributor with fair
notice that the first violation — or indeed the first 14
violations * * * - might subject an offender to a multrmillion

MT ae Ty ee ee Se ee
5 aie

~

a

12

dollar penalty.” /bid. (emphasis added). Thus, the Court was of
the view that the availability of even a civil penalty of $140,000
would not provide constitutionally adequate notice of the
possibility of a punitive damages award $1,860,000 higher. And
in reaching that result, the Court emphasized the absence of any
evidence that such a large punishment had ever been meted out
in the real world. See id. at 584 (noting absence of “any judicial
decision in Alabama or elsewhere indicating that the application
of [BMW’s] policy might give rise to such severe punishment’’).

In Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 532
U.S. 424 (2001), the Court made clear in ordering a remand that
a reviewing court should avoid “unrealistic” assumptions im
applying the BMW factors to assess excessiveness. /d. at 442.
In discussing the comparable-penalties guidepost, the Court
refused to credit the plaintiff's argument that the defendant
would have received the maximum penalty for each of the
thousands of offending pieces of promotional materials that it
sent out, explaining that it was more realistic to think that this
conduct would have been treated as a single violation. /d. at
442-43. On remand, the Ninth Circuit understood this Court to
have |instructed it to look not at what penalties theoretically
might have been imposed on the defendant, but at whether
“Cooper's conduct /ikelvy would * * * have been subject to civil
penalties in any amount approaching the punitive damages
awarded by the jury.” which the court concluded it would not.
Leatherman Tool Group, Inc. v. Cooper Indus., Inc., 285 F.3d
1146, 1148 (9th Cir. 2002) (emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit
on remand accordingly cut the punitive award by almost 90%,
from $4.5 million to $500,000.

Finally, in State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538
U.S. 408 (2003), the Court reiterated that the critical issue under
the third BMW factor was “the disparity between” the punitive
damages award and the comparable civil penalties. /d. at 428
(emphasis added). In addition, the Court again cautioned against
relying on “remote possibilit{ies]” and “speculat[ion]” in
evaluating the comparable-penalties factor. /bid. It noted that
while the Court had previously “looked to criminal penalties” in

13

conducting this analysis, the mere existence of a criminal penalty
“has less utility” when “used to determine the dollar amount of
the award” because “[p]unitive damages are not a substitute for
the criminal process, and the remote possibility of a criminal
sanction does not automatically sustain a punitive damages
award.” /hid. Moreover, this Court criticized the Utah Supreme
Court for having “speculated about the loss of State Farm’s
business license, the disgorgement of profits, and possible
imprisonment” when, in fact, the “most relevant civil sanction
under Utah state law for the wrong done to the Campbells
appears to be a $10,000 fine for an act of fraud.” /hid. Because
a fine in that amount was “dwarfed” by the $145 million punitive
award, the Court reasoned, the third BMW factor further showed
that the award was constitutionally excessive. /bid.

b. This Court’s approach to the third BMW factor makes
eminent sense. Ina world in which severe statutory penalties are
often theoretically available for conduct that is widespread and
generally not punished at all, see Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S.
186, 197 (1986) (Powell, J., concurring), surely attention to
realistically likely penalties is the only approach that will
provide meaningful constitutional protection against grossly
excessive penalties. Cf. Lankford v. Idaho, 500 U.S. 110(1991)
(although death penalty was theoretically available against
defendant at all times, course of proceedings led him reasonably
to believe that it was not a realistic possibility, and duc process
was violated when death sentence was imposed without adequate
chance to argue against it) (cited in BMW, 517 U.S. at 574 n.22).
Moreover, where, as here, the most comparable civil penalties
are entrusted by the legislature to enforcement by an expert
administrative agency, it would be strange indeed to ignore the
agency's actual behavior in evaluating what civil penalties
realistically were likely to be imposed. The agency’s actual
enforcement activities are the most reliable basis for a
defendant's notice of the penalty that could be expected.

c. Contrary to this Court's decisions. the Eleventh Circuit
failed to examine the civil penalties that might rea/istically be
imposed on petitioners by ADEM and gave no indication that it

be

14

was properly focusing on the $/5.5-/7.25 million disparity
between the massive exaction imposed by the jury and the civil
penalties the court of appeals believed were likely to be imposed
by ADEM. To be sure, the Eleventh Circuit did acknowledge
that, under Alabama law, “[a]ny civil penalty assessed or
recovered * * * shall not be less than $100 or exceed $25,000 for
each violation, provided however, that the total penalty assessed
in each order issued by the department * * * shall not exceed
$250,000.00.” Ala. Code § 22-22A-5(18)c. See Pet. App. 30a.
But the court of appeals rendered the $250,000 cap meaningless
by resorting to a series of unwarranted assumptions grounded in
nothing more than speculation. First, it posited that ADEM
might have issued an order imposing the maximum penalty of
$25,000 for each of ten separate violations, thus fining
petitioners the statutory maximum of $250,000. Next, it
supposed that ADEM might have issued multiple orders, each of
which imposed the $250,000 maximum for another ten
violations. Pet. App. 3la (“Conceivably, * * * Alabama could
fine [petitioners] $250,000 for every ten violations.”). Finally,
the Eleventh Circuit arrived at the conclusion that it was not
“implausible that vigorous enforcement” by ADEM “would have
led to an accrual of fines totalling several million dollars.” Ibid.
(emphasis added). Thus, the court of appeals evidently
envisioned that ADEM would tssue at least eight separate
orders, each imposing the maximum penalty of $250,000 on
petitioners — and do so based on a sum total of at least 80
separate violations, each of which would be punished by the
maximum fine of $25,000.

As the Eleventh Circuit came close to admitting, the
assumptions underlying this imaginary scenario are entirely
speculative. “[W]e cannot simply presume,” the court of appeals
correctly observed, “that Alabama would have fined Continental
an incalculable number of times or would have assessed the
maximum amount each time.” Pet. App. 3la. “Nor are we
capable,” the court added, “of guessing as to the frequency of
Continental's violations * * * .” /bid. Despite those disclaimers,
the Eleventh Circuit evaluated the comparable statutory penalties

15

faced by petitioners under Ala. Code § 22-22A-5 based on the
assumption that petitioners would commit at least 80 separate
violations, would receive the maximum penalty of $25,000 for
each of those violations, and would be subjected by ADEM to at
least eight separate orders notwithstanding the $250,000 cap
placed by the legislature on a single order.

The only basis for this series of wild assumptions, apart from
the Eleventh Circuit’s unfounded view that petitioners” conduct
was highly reprehensible, was the court of appeals’ statement
that there was “evidence in the record” that petitioners had on
one occasion “violate[d} conditions of its permit.” Pet. App.
31a. The court of appeals made no effort to justify the leap from
evidence of one violation to an assumption of at least 80 separate
violations — indeed, it conceded that it was not incapable of
making that leap without “guessing.” /bid. Nor did the Eleventh
Circuit, in its analysis of the comparable penalties factor, attempt
to justify its apparent assumption that 1t would take at least eight
separate orders, each imposing penalties of $250,000, before
petitioners would cease their supposed but unspecified violations
of the permit or of Alabama law. As petitioners demonstrate
(Pet. 13-14 n.4), the image of intransigence or truculence painted
by the Eleventh Circuit in other portions of its opinion lacks
support in the record.

As if that were not enough, the Eleventh Circuit's
assumptions are easily refuted by examining ADEM’s actual
practice of imposing civil penalties. For starters, it is undisputed
that ADEM imposed no civil penalties on petitioners for the
conduct underlying this litigation. Beyond that, ADEM’s actual
practice of imposing civil penalties generally — as reported in
official publications that are available on the agency's website
and subject to judicial notice — would have provided no warning
that a $17.5 million punishment was realistically possible. See,
v.g.. ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAI
MANAGEMENT, ENVIRONMENTAL SUMMARY 2001 (72001
Annual Report”) <available at http: www.aden state.alus
Publications EnvSummary EnvSumhtm= Those materials
show, for example, that in all of Fiscal Year 2001, ADEM

ir? ae

16

imposed a total of on/y $389,2/0 in civil penalties for a//
violations relating to air pollution statewide. /d. at 25.
Moreover, in 2001, ADEM imposed total penalties for all types
of pollution (land, water, and air) of only $2,054,260 (versus
$1.85 million in 2000 and $1.2 million in 1999). /bid. This level
of penalty assessment hardly gave petitioners fair warning that
they would receive a punishment of $/7.5 million. Indeed, the
jury’s $17.5 million exaction was $4.5 million higher than the
total of a// civil penalties imposed by ADEM in the eight years
spanning 1998-2006. See note 3, infra.

Equally at odds with actual experience is the Eleventh
Circuit's assumption that ADEM was likely to issue at /east
eight separate orders, each imposing the maximum exaction of
$250,000. The agency’s own data show that, in 2001, ADEM
issued a total of 225 administrative orders, 208 of which
imposed monetary penalties - for an average civil penalty of
only $9,876.50. J/bid.’ Moreover, of those 208 penalties
imposed in 2001, the most that could have reached the maximum
level was eight (which would require the assumption that the
remaining 200 penalties totaled $54,260). Even assuming that
there were eight such orders (and it may be that there were
none), that would still represent on/y 4% of the agency's total
orders imposing civil penalties. In light of this data, the notion
that ADEM would have imposed at /east eight consecutive
orders, each imposing a $250,000 civil penalty, 1s fanciful.

Nor is there any basis in the record or common sense for the
Eleventh Circuit's unstated assumption that petitioners would

* The data from other fiscal years are similar. For example. the average
penalty imposed by ADEM in FY 2000 was $8,919.50. 2000 Annual
Report, at 29 (227 administrative orders, 208 of which impose monetary
penalties. with total penalties of $1.855,255). Notably. the total amount
of civil penalties imposed by ADEM in the entire eight years spanning
FY 1999 to FY 2006 was only approximately $13 million — still far below
the punitive award in this case. See 2006 Annual Repon, at 22 ($1.22
million): 2005 Annual Report. at 21 ($1.38 million); 2004 Annual
Report. at 5 ($1.16 million); 2003 Annual Report, at 4 ($1.71 millon):
2002 Annual Report. at 25 ($2.44 million); 2001 Annual Report, at 25.

17

have continued to engage in violations and to incur successive
$250,000 penalties after receiving the maximum punishment
from ADEM. Not only does that assumption ignore the duties
owed by petitioners to their shareholders (and the controversy
such a course of conduct would have created), but it is also
refuted by the record evidence showing that petitioners took
various steps to identify and remedy the causes of the carbon
black emissions. Pet. 3-4, 13-14 n.4.

The Eleventh Circuit's reliance on speculative assumptions
and improbable scenarios is squarely at odds with this Court’s
decisions in BMW, Cooper and State Farm. Indeed, it is
reminiscent of the approach of the Utah Supreme Court that was
rejected in State arm. In that case, the Utah Supreme Court had
concluded that the third BMW factor did not require a reduction
of the jury’s $145 million punishment because State Farm
supposedly could have been required under Utah law to (1) “pay
a $10,000 fine for each act of fraud” in the sprawling nationwide
“scheme” alleged by plaintiffs; (2) “renounce its business license
or have its Utah operations dissolved”; and (3) “disgorge all the
illicit profits gained by the scheme, plus pay a fine of twice the
value of those profits.” 65 P.3d 1134, 1154-55 (Utah 2001). In
addition, “State Farm’s officers could be imprisoned or removed
from office for up to five years.” /d. at 1155. In reversing, this
Court made clear that the lower court was wrong to consider all
manner of hypothetical penalties of the Chicken-Little variety,
including revocation of State Farm’s license to do business and
potential criminal penalties. Instead, it should have avoided
these “speculat{1ons]” and focused solely on the statutory penalty
for the fraud concerning the Campbells. 538 U.S. at 428. The
Eleventh Circuit in this case made exactly the same mistake.

il. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Exacerbates Conflicts
And Confusion In The Lower Courts Over The Proper
interpretation Of The Third BMW Factor

As petitioners persuasively demonstrate (Pet. 18-22), there
is widespread contusion in the lower courts over the proper
interpretation of the comparable-penalties guidepost. Like the
Eleventh Circuit in this case, some circuits have continued, even

ht

ea

18

after State Farm, to rely on speculation about severe, but highly
unlikely, legislative penalties, whereas others have taken the
teachings of BMW, Cooper and State Farm to heart. Compare
Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging, Inc., 347 F.3d 672, 678 (7th
Cir. 2003) (Posner, J.) (in upholding $186,000 punitive award
based on conduct that was punishable by a fine of $2,500,
relying on fact that defendant was also “subject to revocation of
its license” to do business, and noting that “[w]e are sure that the
defendant would prefer to pay the punitive damages assessed in
this case than to lose its license’?) and Union Pac. R.R. v. Barber,
149 §.W.3d 325, 349-50 (Ark.) (examining “total civil penalties
authorized by law” under both state and federal provisions and
assuming that penalties would be imposed for each of 450
consecutive days), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 940 (2004) with Clark
v. Chrysler Corp., 436 F.3d 594, 608 (6th Cir. 2006) (relying on
maximum civil penalties fixed by statute and refusing to rely on
possibility that defendant “could potentially be subjected to a
larger civil penalty if * * * its corporate license was suspended
or revoked” because there was no evidence presented that the
latter scenario was likely). See also Pet. 19-20 (citing and
discussing additional cases).*

In light of these disagreements, it should come as no surprise
that some courts have expressed either consternation, or a desire
for greater guidance from this Court, or both. Illustrative is the
Third Circuit's decision in Willow Inn, Inc. v. Pub. Serv. Mut.

* Further demonstrating the need for guidance, the district court took a
different approach to the comparable-penalties inquiry than did the court
of appeals. even though both reached the same result. See pp. 3-6, supra.
The district court did not adopt the speculative assumptions of the
Eleventh Circuit concerning the supposed possibility of multiple ADEM
orders. each imposing the $250.000 maximum penalty. Instead, it treated
the $250,000 as a true ceiling. but then relied on Johansen for the
questionable proposition that even a large mu/tiple of that figure would
be expected by a defendant. As explained above. however, it is the
absolute difference between the punitive award and the likely civil
penalty (not their ratio, which is the basis for the second BMW factor)
that is most important under the comparable-penalties guidepost.

19

Ins. Co., 399 F.3d 224 (2005), where the court of appeals noted
that “the Supreme Court has not declared how courts are to
measure civil penalties against punitive damages, and many
courts have noted the difficulty in doing so.” /d. at 237. “We
are similarly unsure,” the Third Circuit added, * as to how to
properly apply this guidepost, and we are reluctant to overturn
the punitive damages award on this basis alone.” /d. at 238.

The pervasive confusion in the lower courts has not gone
unnoticed by commentators. See, e.g., Jenny Jiang, Comment,
Whimsical Punishment: The Vice of Federal Intervention,
Constitutionalization, and Substantive Due Process in Punitive
Damages Law, 94 CAL. L. REV. 793, 807-12 (2006) (describing
divergent approaches to the comparable-penalties guidepost that
have developed in lower courts since State Farm and arguing
that these divisions “have substantially undercut” this Court's
“effort to bring uniformity and coherence to * * * punitive
damages law’’); Steven Chanenson & John Yotanda, The Foggy
Road for Evaluating Punitive Damages: Lifting the Haze From
the BMW/State Farm Guideposts, 37 U. Micu.J.L. REFORM 441,
443 (2004) (“The third guidepost remains shrouded in fog.”’); id.
at 472 (“both state and federal courts have grappled with
applying the third guidepost with little uniform success”).

Perhaps most troubling of all, some courts have simply
ignored the third BMW factor altogether or treated it as a trivial
component of the excessiveness inquiry. Onc recent example is
In re Exxon Valdez, 490 F.3d 1066 (9th Cir. 2007), pet. for cert.
filed, 76 U.S.L.W. 3073 (U.S. Aug. 20. 2007) (No. 07-219),
where the Ninth Circuit noted that its most recent cases had
“gencrally not attempted to quantity legislative penalties” but
had instead merely considered “whether or not the misconduct
was treated seriously under state civil and criminal laws.” /c. at
1094. Morcover, in some recent cases the Ninth Circuit had “not
discussed the factor at all.” //icd. (citing cases). Having
determined that Exxon’s misconduct “was taken quite seriously
by legislatures.” the Ninth Circuit) concluded that the
comparable-penalties guidepost supported a punishment of $2.5
billion. /d. at 1094-95. See also Chanenson & Yotanda,. supra,

ee ees

20

37 U. MICH. J.L. REFORM at 471 (“[A] number of lower courts
have simply stated that an award of punitive damages does not
run afoul of the third guidepost if there exists a state law that
gives the defendant notice that the conduct at issue may give rise
to some form of criminal or civil liability.”); Pet. 22 (citing
additional cases).

Review should be granted to dispel the pervasive confusion
and bring greater uniformity to this important area of federal
law. As the large number of cases cited by the petitioner and by
commentators suggests, the issue is recurring; indeed, it arises in
almost every case where a due process challenge is mounted to
the excessiveness of a punitive damages verdict. Finally, for
several reasons this case is an especially good vehicle for
clarifying the comparable-penalties guidepost. First, it is
representative of a large and growing category of punitive
damages cases involving environmental harms that have caused
substantial difficulty for the lower courts.’ Second, the Eleventh
Circuit's reliance on a chain of utterly speculative assumptions
stands in dramatic contrast to the available evidence of what
civil penalties might realistically have been imposed by the
expert administrative agency charged by the State with the
responsibility for policing, punishing, and _ deterring
environmental harms. To anyone familiar with the agency’s
actual practice of imposing civil penalties (including its failure
to impose anv penalties on petitioners), the jury’s imposition of
a massive $17.5 million punishment would have been as
unexpected as a lightning bolt out of a clear blue sky.

CONCLUSION

Che petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

~ See Andrew Moskowitz, Comment. Meaning Is In The Eve of The
Beholder: BMW v. Gore and Its Potential Impact on Toxic Tort Actions
Brought Under State Common Law, 8 FORDHAMENVT’LL.J. 221, 223-24
(1996) (describing the “increasing importance of common-law tort
actions in environmental law” and attributing this development, among
other things. to the fact that many state and federal environmental
statutes “do not provide for * * * punitive damages’).

Respectfully submitted.

DONALD D. EVANS
American Chemistry Council
1300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22209

(703) 741-5153

JAN S. AMUNDSON

QUENTIN RIEGEL

National Association of
Manufacturers

1331 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 637-3000

SEPTEMBER 26, 2007

21

ALAN UNTEREINER*

Robbins, Russell, Englert,
Orseck, Untereiner &
Sauber LLP

1801 K Street, N.W.

Suite 411

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 775-4500

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1376%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
