# Opposition Brief — City of Cincinnati, Ohio v. Cleveland Construction Construction Construction, Inc. (No. 07-113)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1241%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

G J OFFICE OF THE CLERK |
No. 07-113
Bun the

Supreme Court of the United States

CITY OF CINCINNATI,
Petitioner,

Vv.

CLEVELAND CONSTRUCTION, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Ohio Court of Appeals, First Appellate District

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

W. Ket_y LunpRIGAN
Counsel of Record
Gary E. PoWELL
ELIZABETH L. Hutton
MANLEY BURKE LPA
225 West Court STREET
Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 721-5525
(513) 721-4268 Fax
wkl@manleyburke.com
Counsel for Respondent

Secker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

7
s

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

There are no parties to the proceedings other than those
listed in the caption. Respondent, Cleveland Construction
Company, Inc., has no parent corporation and no publicly-
held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

SUMMARY OF REASONS TO DENY
THE PETITION

A. The Current Controversy

B. The City of Cincinnati’s Small Business Enterprise
Program

. The SBE Rules and Guidelines
. The Bid Documents

E. The Cincinnati Convention Center Project

F. Proceedings Below

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. This Court Has No Jurisdiction Under 28 U.S.C.
§1257 To Grant this Petition Because There Has Not
Been a Final Appealable Judgment ............ 14

il

Il. The Petition Should be Demied Because the Lower
Courts’ Decisions are in Harmony with Long Standing
Jurisprudence that Government Programs __ that
Encourage and Pressure Discrimination Based on
Race are Subject to Strict Scrutiny

A. Petitioner’s Characterization of its SBE Program
is not Controlling

. The Lower Courts’ Determinations that the City’s
SBE Program Encourages and _ Pressures
Discrimination Based on Race, Triggering Strict
Scrutiny, are Consistent with this Court’s Decision
in Adarand Constructors v. Pena

. The Lower Courts’ Determinations that the City’s
SBE Program Encourages and Pressures Bidders
to Discriminate Based on Race are Consistent with
the Jurisprudence of other Federal Courts

. The Lower Courts’ Decisions Are Consistent with this
Court’s Holding in Parents Involved in Community
Schools v. Seattle School District No. 1

CONCLUSION
APPENDIX

Appendix A: Cincinnati Convention Center Expansion
and Renovation Availability Estimation Sheet

Appendix B: City of Cincinnati Subcontracting
Outreach Program Summary

iv

Appendix C: City of Cincinnati Small Business
Division Office of Contract Compliance Rules and
Guidelines

Appendix D: City of Cincinnati project forms .... 26b

Appendix E: Construction Bid Document

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Adarand Constructors v. Pena,
515 U.S. 200 (1995) passim

American Const. Co. v. Jacksonville, T. & K.W. Ry.,
148 U.S. 372 (1893)

Bras v. Calif. Pub. Util. Comm..,
59 F.3d 869 (9th Cir.1995)

Bruce v. Tobin,
245 U.S. 18 (1917)

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn.,
420 U.S. 469 (1975)

Florida v. Thomas,
532 U.S. 774 (2001)

Flynt v. Ohio,
451 U.S. 619 (1981)

Grutter v. Bollinger,
539 U.S. 306 (2003)

Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, Ala.,
522 U.S. 75 (1997)

Johnson v. California,
543 U.S. 499 (2005)

vi

Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod v. FCC,
141 F.3d 344 (D.C. Cir. 1998), reh’g en banc denied,
154 F.3d 487 (D.C. Cir. 1998)

Martinez v. International Banking Corp.,
220 U.S. 214 (1911)

Mississippi Central R. Co. v. Smith,
295 U.S. 718 (1935)

Monterey Mechanical v. Wilson,
125 F.3d 702 (9th Cir. 1997)

Palmore v United States,
411 U.S. 389 (1973)

Parents Involved in Community Schools v. Seattle School
District No. 1,
ee Do i a's ow 9 bee «RR 27

Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson,
326 U.S. 120 (1945)

Republic Natural Gas Co. v. Oklahoma,
334 U.S. 62 (1948)

Safeco Ins. Co. of America v. City of White House, Tenn.,
191 F.3d 675 (6th Cir. 1999) 21, 26, 27

Statutes and Codes

28 U.S.C. §1257

Cincinnati Municipal Code Chapter 323

SBE Program’s Rules and Guidelines

]

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

SUMMARY OF REASONS TO DENY THE PETITION

Petitioner City of Cincinnati (the “City”) has invoked 28
U.S.C. §1257 as the basis for this Court’s appellate
jurisdiction. However, this Court does not have jurisdiction
because there is no final appealable judgment. As a result,
this Petition is not ripe for review.

On December 8, 2006, the Court of Appeals for the First
Appellate District, Hamilton County, Ohio (“First District
Court of Appeals”) rendered a judgment finding that the
City’s Small Business Enterprise program (“SBE Program”)
indisputably encouraged and pressured bidders for public
contracts to discriminate on the basis of race and gender and
was subject to heightened scrutiny. The City submitted a
petition for writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court of Ohio on
five issues, including the First District Court of Appeals’
finding that the City had violated Respondent Cleveland
Construction’s (“Cleveland”) 14° Amendment equal
protection rights.

The Supreme Court of Ohio accepted two issues for
review. The first issue involves whether a disappointed bidder
can have a constitutionally-protected property interest in a
publicly bid contract to which due process protections apply.
The second issue involves whether a disappointed bidder may
recover damages under 42 U.S.C. §1983 for a constitutional
violation where state law would deny a damages remedy to
such a bidder. Obviously, both issues present significant
federal law and constitutional issues. The Supreme Court of
Ohio denied discretionary review of the equal protection issue
that the City has prematurely presented to this Court. The
appeal to the Supreme Court of Ohio is pending.

2

While there are four exceptions to the firmly established
final judgment rule which permit the invocation of this
Court’s appellate jurisdiction despite the fact that proceedings
are still ongoing in the state courts, none of those four apply
to this case. The two issues currently being considered by the
Supreme Court of Ohio are of such federal and constitutional
relevance that they will likely be appealed to this Court,
presenting the potentia! for piecemeal review.

If this Court determines that the case is ripe for review,
the Petition still must be denied. The City has
mischaracterized its SBE Program as a “discretionary, non
mandatory municipal outreach/tracking program.”' In reality,
the SBE Program is infused with race and gender-conscious
provisions. The City conceded that it lacked a proper
evidentiary basis to establish any compelling interest in
remedying past discrimination.” The decisions of the trial
court and the First District Court of Appeals are soundly

supported by the facts and are consistent with prevailing
jurisprudence, including that of this Court.

The Court should therefore deny the City of Cincinnati’s
Petition because this case does not qualify for, or merit,
review.

' Petitioner’s Br. at 17, et seq.

) *_* *. *
* Petitioner’s Br. at 12.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. The Current Controversy

In response to a solicitation of bids, Cleveland
Construction submitted the lowest bid for the drywall work in
the City of Cincinnati’s Convention Center Expansion and
Renovation Project. The City conceded that Cleveland’s bid
fully complied with all bid requirements, except for the fact
that Cleveland did not subcontract out at least thirty-five
percent of its work to small business enterprises (“SBEs”), as
required by the SBE Program’s Subcontracting Outreach
Program. The City awarded the contract to the second lowest
bidder, whose bid was more than $1.2 million higher than
Cleveland’s.

Cleveland sued and claimed, among other things, that the

City’s SBE Program was unconstitutional because it
encouraged and pressured contractors to subcontract with
minority and female-owned firms. As part of the bid
documents, the City informed bidders that they “should be
able to include minority and female firms at the level of
availability”? as determined by the City. For the drywall
contract, the City calculated the minority business enterprise
(“MBE”) availability to be 13.09 percent and the women’s
business enterprise (“WBE”) availability at 1.05 percent. The
SBE Program required all bidders to document their efforts to
meet the availability estimate for MBEs and WBEs and
cautioned all bidders that if they “failed to achieve levels of
minority Or women business enterprise participation as might
be reasonable on the basis of objective data regarding
availability and capacity of such businesses, the bidder shall

* App. 2b.

4

be subject to an inquiry by the Office of Contract
Compliance.”*

B. The City of Cincinnati’s Small Business Enterprise
Program

In 1999, the City adopted the SBE Program to replace its
Equal Business Opportunity Program. The Equal Business
Opportunity Program included a minority set aside and was
struck down as unconstitutional because the City lacked
evidentiary findings that would justify a race conscious
program.

The SBE Program’s purpose, but not its substance, is set
forth in Chapter 323 of the Cincinnati Municipal Code
(“CMC”). CMC §323-7, entitled “Program Goals,” explicitly
states that the SBE Program contains a specific participation
goal for MBEs and for WBEs, in addition to an overall
participation goal for small businesses. CMC §323-7
designates a 30% participation goal for small business
enterprises for construction supplies, services, and
professional services. It also establishes MBE and WBE
annual participation goals of 30% construction, 15%
supplies/services, and 10% professional service. To carry out
the meaning and purpose of the SBE Program, CMC §323-7
empowered the City Manager to issue and enforce rules and
regulations.

The SBE Program’s Rules and Guidelines provided the
substance of the SBE Program requirements that applied to
bidders on the Convention Center Project, and which both the
trial court and the First District Court of Appeals found

* App. 10b.

5

indisputably encouraged and pressured Cleveland to
discriminate on the basis of race and gender in violation of
Cleveland’s 14" Amendment equal protection rights. The City
did not include any of the provisions of the Rules and
Guidelines in its Petition nor did it discuss any of the parts of
the SBE Program declared unconstitutional by the lower
courts.

In 2002, as the City prepared to renovate and expand the
Cincinnati Convention Center, City Council hired a consultant
to conduct a disparity study to determine if the City had the
factual predicate that would enable it to reconfigure its SBE
Program to be race or gender-conscious. After conducting the
disparity study, the consultant determined that it did not. The
consultant presented the results of his disparity study, as well
as proposed revisions to the SBE Program, to City Council.
Under political pressure from the Vice Mayor to make the

program more aggressive, and more likely to induce
contractors to subcontract with MBEs and WBEs on City
projects, the consultant developed a “Non-Discrimination
Program” and a “Subcontracting Outreach Program” to
incorporate into the SBE Program. These revisions were
ultimately adopted by City Council and codified in CMC
Chapter 323 by reference.

The Subcontracting Outreach Program (“SOP”) is
contained in CMC §323-31 and is a subset of the SBE
Program. The SOP applies to all City-funded construction
contracts of $100,000 or more and requires bidders to make
a good faith effort to subcontract a pre-determined percentage
of its work to small, minority and women-owned businesses.°
It is undisputed that Cleveland’s failure to meet these

> App. 12b-13b.

6

subcontracting percentages as part of the SBE Program for the
Convention Center Project was the basis upon which the City
awarded the contract to a bidder who was 1.2 Million Dollars
higher in price, but who met the SBE percentages for the
pioject.

C. The SBE Rules and Guidelines

The SBE Program’s Rules and Guidelines promulgated by
the City pursuant to CMC §323-31 explicitly state that the
purpose of the SBE program is:

to ensure that all bidders, vendors, and contractors
. .. doing business with the City provide to businesses
owned and controlled by racial minorities and ethnic
minorities and women, opportunities to participate, fo
the extent of their availability, on contracts which are

paid in whole or in part with monetary appropriations
from the City of Cincinnati.®

The Rules and Guidelines are rife with additional race and
gender-conscious provisions, none of which were discussed
or acknowledged in the City’s Petition, including the
following:

* “In order to be considered as responsive, all
bidders/proposers are required to use good faith
efforts to promote opportunities for Minority and
Women Business Enterprises to participate in and
compete for, to the extent of their availability,
contracting, subcontracting, and purchasing
opportunities. Prior to the award of any contract

” App. 7b (emphasis added).

7

related to construction services or professional
services, the City shall evaluate each bidder’s
documented efforts to achieve participation of minority
and women business enterprise firms.”’

* “Upon its successful implementation, the Non-
Discrimination Program [a component of the SBE
Program] will result in utilization of minority and
women-owned firms to the extent of their
{governmentally specified] availability... .

~&

* “The City of Cincinnati, or its designated agent, will
evaluate efforts made by bidders to promote
opportunities for minority and women-owned firms
(MBE/WBE) to compete for business as
subcontractors and/or material or equipment suppliers
at the time of bidding. ... If the evaluation determines
that a bidder has failed to achieve levels of minority
and women business enterprise participation as might
be reasonable on the basis of objective data regarding
availability and capacity of such business, the bidder
Shall be subject to an inquiry by the Office of Contract
Compliance.”?

* “Bidders or Offerors [operating under the
Subcontracting Outreach Program] should be able to
include the participation of minority and female firms

’ App. 8b-9b (emphasis added).
* App. 10b (emphasis added).

* App. 1Ob (emphasis added).

8

at the levels of availability determined in the City of
Cincinnati Disparity Study.

» 10

* “The SBDOCC [Small Business Division Office of
Contract Compliance] will maintain a database to
assist bidders in identifying minority and women
business enterprises with capabilities commensurate
with general contracting requirements. ... The list
prepared from the database specifies which firms the
City has determined to meet the requirements
necessary for designation as minority and women
business enterprises. ”"”

* “Contractors are required to maintain
documentation regarding the utilization of minority
and women business enterprises, and all other
pertinent records, during the performance of award of
their contract.”

One of the most significant race and gender-conscious
provisions contained in the Rules and Guidelines is the good
faith effort requirement that bidders:

provide a detailed description of the techniques used
to obtain participation of minority and women-owned
business enterprises, including segmenting of the work
into 2 or smaller units (areas for subcontracting),
attending pre-bid conferences, soliciting specific
minority and women-owned firms, soliciting trade

10

App. 13b (emphasis added).
' App. 11b.

'* App. 11b (emphasis added).

9

associations that focus on minority and women-owned
businesses, advertising efforts, and other methods
used."

Further, “[bjidders are required to show that they’ve made a
good faith effort to get the maximum practical participation
of minority and women-owned businesses on this project.” "
To prove that the bidders made the requisite “good faith
efforts” to solicit MBEs and WBEs, bidders were required to
submit Form 2007 “Statement of Good Faith Efforts”’’ with
their bids containing detailed descriptions of the techniques
used to obtain the maximum practical participation of MBEs
and WBEs. A failure to achieve participation by the estimated
availability of MBEs and WBEs as calculated by the City,
which for the drywall contract was 13.09% MBEs and 1.05%
WBEs, would trigger an investigative inquiry. Specifically,
the Rules and Guidelines state:

If the bidder’s utilization is the same as or greater than
the actual availability percentage, then the city can
accept the bidder’s utilization as being in compliance
with the program. The burden is on the bidder to
explain the low utilization percentage. \f the contract
administrator determines that the contractor under-
utilized minority and/or women-owned businesses
based on the actual availability percentage, and that
the bidder's good faith efforts were inadequate and
there is no legitimate explanation for the under-

'’ App. 15b (emphasis added).

'* App. 18b (emphasis added)

'S App. 35b-36b.

10

utilization, then the matter is turned over to the
investigative unit for a discrimination investigation."®

The discrimination investigation could involve local, state, or
federal agencies charged with investigating and resolving civil
rights violations or enforcing laws relating to discriminatory
treatment. Those accused of discrimination must defend
themselves against each allegation with specificity and
particularity.'’

D. The Bid Documents

While the Rules and Guidelines contain explicit race and
gender-based preferences, the bid documents circulated to
bidders for the convention center project, including
Cleveland, did as weil. The bid package included a
Subcontracting Outreach Program Summary.'* The Summary
listed the SBE goals per trade contract, which for the drywall
contract was 35%.” Bidders also received an “Availability
Estimation Sheet” listing the availability percentage for MBEs
and WBEs for each project. Bidders were told that they
“should be able to include minority and female firms at the
level of availability inticated.””° The availability estimate for
the drywall project listed MBE availability at 13.09% and

. 15b (emphasis added).
. 19b-25b.

. 2b-5Sb.

. 3b.

. 2b (emphasis added).

Item Description: CINCINNATI CONVENTION CENTER
EXPANSION AND RENOVATION
Date Issued: December 23, 2003

AVAILABILITY ESTIMATION SHEET

VAILABILITY ESTIMATION - Subcontractor Outreach Program (CMC 323-31)

The preliminary availability estimate for this project is:

The preiiminary availability estimate for this project is:

Sommodity Code 093-01 Description TC-01B General Trades 11.26 % Minority 3.37 % Female
Commodity Code 0839-01-01 Description TC-01C Interior Remediation 13,09 % Minority 1.05 % Female

cammodity Code 098-01

Commodity Code 099-01

Description

Description

TC-O2E Temporary Conditions 11.26 % Minority _3.97 % Female

TC-02F Selective Demolition 11.26 % Minority 3.57 % Female

commodity Code 0399-01-01 Description TC-04A Masonry 13.09 % Minority 1.05 % Female
Corhmoadity Code 099-01-01_ Description TC-O6A Millwork 13.09 % Minority 1.05 % Female

Sammodity Code 0939-01-01 Description TC-O8A Doors, Frames & Hardware 13.09% Minority 1.05 % Female

Commodity Code 150-55

Description

Commodity Code 099-01-01 Description

~ammodity Code 910-09 __ Description

Commodity Code 0938-01

Description

commodity Code 165-00 Description

TC-O8B Overhead Doors 25.0% Minority 0.00 % Female
TC-09A Drywall 13.09 % Minority 1.05 % Femaie~
TC-08C Soft Floors 13.33 % Minority 0.00 % Female
TC-10A Specialties 11.26 % Minority 3.37 % Female

TC-41A Food Service Equipment _ 6.90 % Minority_0.00 % Femate

Commodity Code 098-09 _ _— Description TC-14A Elevators & Escalators 21.43 % Minority 0.00 % Female
Sommodity Code 099-07__—s- Description TC-15B HVAC 14.29 % Minority 1.59 % Female
Commodity Code 099-05 _ _ Description TC-15C Plumbing 16.07 % Minority 0.00 % Female
‘Dommodity Code 0939-03-01 Description TC-15D Fire Protection 19.23 % Minority. 5.77 % Female
Commodity Code 099-03 _ Description TC-16A Electrical 18.42 % Minority 7.89 % Femalo

Commodity Code 099-03

__ Description

VOLUME 1 - BID OCOCUMENT - As past of the bid submission, the bidder must return Volurne 1 - Bid
Document with all pages intact, along with two (2) photocopies of ali pages inciuded in Voiume 1.

the hid

AVA ARILITY ESTIMATION SPFET

1]

WBE availability at 1.05%.”' Page two of the Legal Notice
directly following the Availability Estimation states in item (b)
that, “Failure of a bidder to comply with these requirements
(Equal Employment Opportunity and Small Business
Enterprise Program) at the time of the bid may be cause for
rejection of the bid.””

Bidders also received a “Subcontractor Utilization Plan”
requiring them to identify the ownership status of each
subcontractor, specifically total MBE, total WBE, total SBE,
and total White percentages,” a “Covenant of Non-
Discrimination Policy,” and a “Solicitation Certification

Form” which detailed solicitations made by the bidder to
subcontractors and required them to indicate the type of
ownership of each.”

E. The Cincinnati Convention Center Project

On December 23, 2003, the City issued an invitation to
bid on the drywall portion of the Cincinnati Convention
Center project. Cleveland was the lowest bidder in the initia!
round of bidding. However, all bids were rejected because
none of the bidders met the 35% SBE participation goal for
the drywall portion of the convention center project. The City
conducted an emergency re-bid, in which Cleveland was

*! App.

22 App.

3 App. °

** App. 26b-27b.

> App. 28b.

12

again the lowest bidder. However, its bid only contained 10%
SBE participation, whereas a competitor, Valley Interior
Systems, Inc. (“Valley”), achieved 40% SBE subcontractor
participation, all of which were MBEs and/or WBEs.
Although its bid exceeded Cleveland’s by $1,246,022, the
City awarded the drywall contract to Valley solely because it
met the SBE participation goal. The City acknowledged that
Cleveland’s bid was acceptable in all other respects and it was
otherwise qualified and able to perform the work.”° On March
30, 2004, Cleveland brought an action against the City for,
among other things, violating its 14° Amendment equal
protection rights through the imposition and application of its
SBE Program.

F. Proceedings Below

After a trial on the merits, the trial court found that the
SBE Program Rules and Guidelines created race and gender-
based classifications and were unconstitutional! on their face
and as applied.”’ The trial court stated that in the process of
soliciting bids for the drywall contract, the City pressured and
encouraged bidders, including Cleveland, to draw upon race
and sex-based classifications that the City concedes could not
withstand the requisite heightened standard of review.
Specifically, the trial! court found that eight provisions of the
SBE Program’s Rules and Guidelines indisputably pressured
and encouraged contractors to recruit and_ utilize
subcontractors based on race and/or gender in violation of
Cleveland's rights under 42 U.S.C. §1983.” The trial court

*° Petitioner's App.

2? Petitioner's App. 53a. ef seq.
I /

*® Petitioner's App. 662-69a.

13

found in favor of Cleveland and permanently enjoined the
City from applying the race and gender-based classifications
in the Rules and Guidelines absent a formal determination that
a race-based program was narrowly tailored to fulfill a
compelling governmental interest or that a gender-based
program was substantially related to genuine and important
governmental interests.””

Both Cleveland and the City appealed to the First District
Court of Appeals. The City argued, among others, that the
trial court erred by concluding that the SBE Program
contained impermissible race and gender-based classifications,
contending, as it does here, that the program was a lawful
outreach program that merely encouraged contractors to use
good faith efforts to provide subcontracting opportunities for
MBEs and WBEs. However, the First District Court of
Appeals affirmed the decision of the trial court, conciuding:

Where the city’s SBE Program required
documentation of a bidder’s specific efforts to achieve
the participation of minority subcontractors to the
extent of their availability as predetermined by the
city, the program undeniably pressured bidders to
implement racial preferences. Therefore, the
program’s rules must be subject to strict scrutiny.”

It also found that to the extent that the City’s program
pressured bidders to hire women-owned subcontractors, the
City was required to demonstrate an exceedingly persuasive

* Petitioner's App. 41a 45a.

Ww : . a
Peutioner’s App. 25a.

14

justification.*’ The City conceded that it could not withstand
either level of heightened scrutiny.”

The City filed a notice of appeal and a memorandum in
support of jurisdiction with the Supreme Court of Ohio.
Among its five issues presented for review was a challenge to
the determinations that the SBE program contained race and
gender-based preferences and was subject to heightened
scrutiny. The Supreme Court of Ohio declined to exercise
jurisdiction over this issue. However, it did exercise
jurisdiction over two other issues presented for review, both
of which present significant federal law and constitutional
questions and are still pending.»

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. This Court Has No Jurisdiction Under 28 U.S.C. §1257
To Grant this Petition Because There Has Not Been a
Final Appealable Judgment

This Court may not exercise appellate jurisdiction except
as explicitly permitted by Congress.” In its Petition, the City

*' Petitioner’s App. 25a-26a.
t

* Petitioner’s App. 26a.

** Petitioner’s App. la-2a.

* American Const. Co. v. Jacksonville, T. & K.W. Ry., 148 U.S.
372, 378 (1893) (“This court, therefore, as it has always held, can
exercise no appellate jurisdiction, except in the cases, and in the
manner and form, defined and prescribed by congress.”).

15

premises this Court’s jurisdiction on 28 U.S.C. §1257(a),
which states:

Final judgments or decrees rendered by the highest
court of a State in which a decision could be had, may
be reviewed by the Supreme Court by writ of
certiorari where the validity of a treaty or statute of
the United States is drawn in question or where the
validity of a statute of any State is drawn in question
on the ground of its being repugnant to the
Constitution, treaties, or laws of the United States, or
where any title, right, privilege, or immunity is
specially set up or claimed under the Constitution or
the treaties or statutes of, or any commission held or
authority exercised under, the United States.

28 U.S.C. §1257 grants to this Court jurisdiction only
over appeals in which there has been a final judgment. This
Court has explained that:

This provision establishes a firm final judgment rule.
To be reviewable by this Court, a state-court judgment
must be final ‘in two senses: it must be subject to no
further review or correction in any other state
tribunal; it must also be final as an effective
determination of the litigation and not of merely
interlocutory or intermediate steps therein. It must be
the final word of a final court.’ Market Street R. Co.
v. Railroad Comm'n of Cal., 324 U.S. 548, 551, 65
S.Ct. 770, 773, 89 L.Ed. 1171 (1945). As we have
recognized, the finality rule ‘is not one of those
technicalities to be easily scorned. It is an important

factor in the smooth working of our federal system.’

16

Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120,
124, 65 S.Ct. 1475, 1478, 89 L.Ed. 569 (1945).*”

This Court elaborated, “in general, the final judgment rule
has been interpreted ‘to preclude reviewability . . . where
anything further remains to be determined by a state court, no
matter how dissociated from the only federal issue that has
finally been adjudicated by the highest court of the state.’”*®
There is no final judgment even if all that remains to be
decided are “a few loose ends.””’

While an order from the highest court of the State, tn this
case, the Supreme Court of Ohio, denying discretionary
review is a final judgment that may be appealed to this Court,
the Supreme Court of Ohio granted discretionary review of
two of the five issues presented by the City and both issues
involve significant federal questions. Specifically, the
Supreme Court of Ohio accepted for review 1) whether, under
Cincinnati’s specific public bidding laws, a disappointed
bidder for a City contract may have a constitutionally

Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, Ala., 522 U.S. 75, 80-81 (1997)
(ernphasis added).

Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619, 620 (1981) (quoting Radio Station
WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 124 (1945)).

’ Republic Natural Gas Co. v. Oklahoma, 334 U.S. 62 (1948)
(citing Bruce v. Tobin, 245 U.S. 18 (1917); Martinez v.
International Banking Corp., 220 U.S. 214, 223 (1911); Mississippi
Central R. Co. v. Smith, 295 U.S. 718 (1935)) (“Thus, the
requirement of finality has not been met merely because the major
issues in a case have been decided and only a few loose ends remain
to be tied up-for example, where liability has been determined and
all that needs to be adjudicated is the amount of damages.”).

17

protected property interest in that contract and 2) whether a
disappointed bidder may recover lost profit damages in a 42
U.S.C. $1983 action upon proving a constitutional violation.

Thus, while the Supreme Court of Ohio denied
discretionary review of the equal protection issue now
presented to this Court, there are still ongoing proceedings in
the Supreme Court of Ohio involving significant federal
constitutional questions that are likely to be appealed to this
Court at a later date. Therefore, there has not been a “final
judgment” within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §1257.

Jurisdictional statutes like 28 U.S.C. §1257 must be
Strictly construed so as to give effect to the wishes of
Congress.” Strictly construing 28 U.S.C. §1257 so as to give
effect to the wishes of Congress leads to the definitive
conclusion that this Petition is not ripe for review and this
Court does not have jurisdiction.

While there is a firm final judgment rule, there are four
narrow exceptions articulated in Cox Broadcasting Corp. v.
Cohn.” However, none of these exceptions apply here.

The first exception involves cases in which there are
further proceedings in the state courts but where the federal
issue is conclusive or the outcome of further proceedings is
preordained.“” That is not the case here as the federal
constitutional issue of whether Cleveland’s constitutional due
process rights have beer. violated by deprivation of the

*’ Palmore v United States, 411 U.S. 389. 396 (1973).
* 420 U.S. 469 (1975).

* Id. at 479.

18

contract, and whether Cleveland is legally entitled pursuant to
42 U.S.C. §1983 to seek damages in the form of lost profits,
has not and will not be conclusively determined by the
outcome of any decision by the Supreme Court of Ohio. In
the event of an unfavorable decision in the Supreme Court of
Ohio, Cleveland could, and would, seek review by this Court.
The outcome of the proceedings remaining in the Supreme
Court of Ohio is not preordained but remains uncertain. This
first exception simply does not apply.

The second exception applies to cases in which the federal
issue, finally decided by the highest court in the state, will
survive and require decision regardless of the outcome of
future state court proceedings.*' While this would seem to
apply to the issue presented in the Petition, there is a
qualification that there may not be other issues pending below
that could also require review by this Court at a later date.”
This caveat prevents piecemeal review:

We observed in Cox that in most, if not all, of the
cases falling within the four exceptions, not only was
there a final judgment on the federal issue for
purposes of state-court proceedings, but also there
were no other federal issues to be resolved. There was
thus no probability of piecemeai review with respect
to federal issues.*’

*' Id. at 480.

* Id. at 477 (“in most, if not all, of the cases in these categories

excemiions to final judgment rule], these additional proceedings [in
sia’¢ cewrt] would not require the decision of other federai questions
that might also require review by the Court at a later date. . .”)

* Flynt v. Ohio, supra note 36, at 621 (emphasis added).

19

Similarly, in Florida v. Thomas, this Court reiterated that:

We have also noted that we treat state-court judgments
in this category [the second exception] as final on the
assumption that “the federal questions that could come
here have been adjudicated by the State court,” and
the state proceedings to take place on remand “could
not remotely give rise to a federal question . . . that
may later come here.”“

The two issues currently on appeal to the Supreme Court of
Ohio are significant federal issues that could be appealed to
this Court at a future date. Thus, this second exception to the
final judgment rule does not apply.

The third exception involves situations where the federal
claim has been finally adjudicated and there are further
proceedings in state court on the merits, but in which later
review of the federal issue cannot be had, regardless of the
outcome of the case.* This exception does not apply to the
case at bar because there is no impediment to this Court’s
consideration of the issue presented in this Petition at a later
date.

The fourth and final exception involves those situations
where the federal issue has been finally decided at the state
court level and further proceedings are pending in which the
party seeking review might prevail on the merits on
nonfederal grounds, rendering unnecessary review of the
federal issue by this Court, and where reversal of the state

* 532 U.S. 774, 778 (2001).

*’ Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, supra note 39, at 481.

20

court on the federal issue would preclude further litigation on
the relevant cause of action rather than merely controlling the
nature and character of the proceedings still to come.“ This
does not apply to the issue presented in the Petition because
the issues pending in the Supreme Court of Ohio are federal
issues and reversal of the state court on the issue presented in
the Petition would not affect the outstanding issues in state
court.

This Court must deny the Petition because it does not have
appellate jurisdiction over this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§1257.

Il. The Petition Should be Denied Because the Lower
Courts’ Decisions are in Harmony with Long Standing
Jurisprudence that Government Programs that
Encourage and Pressure Discrimination Based on Race
are Subject to Strict Scrutiny

A. Petitioner’s Characterization of its SBE Program is
not Controlling

Despite Petitioner’s characterization of its SBE program
as a mere outreach or tracking program, the triai court and
the First District Court of Appeals correctly found that the
SBE Program is race and gender-conscious and cannot
withstand heightened scrutiny. While the City describes its
program as a “discretionary, non-mandatory municipal
outreach/tracking program designed to promote equal
opportunities for minority-owned and women-owned

* Id. at 482.

21
businesses,”*’ the City completely ignores the provisions the
lower courts found objectionable and which Cleveland cited
previously herein. The City’s characterization of its SBE
Program is not controlling for the purposes of determining
whether it contains race or gender-based classifications
triggering heightened scrutiny. This is amply supported by
prevailing jurisprudence.

As the Ninth Circuit opined, a program like the City’s
SBE Program is, “not immunized from scrutiny because [it]
purports to establish ‘goals’ rather than ‘quotas.’ We look to
the economic realities of the program rather than to the label
attached to it.”** The Sixth Circuit agreed, finding that,
“although explicit racial preferences must withstand strict
scrutiny, the government may not avoid searching review
merely by invoking the phrase ‘good-faith effort to solicit.’”*?
Further, the Sixth Circuit noted that, “where ‘outreach’

requirements operate as a sub rosa racial preference-that is,
where their administration ‘indisputably pressures’ contractors
to hire minority subcontractors-courts must apply strict

scrutiny.”~?

While the City has attempted to mask the true character of
its SBE Program by describing it as “outreach” or “for
tracking purposes only,” that does not change its true nature,

*” Petitioner’s Br. at 17.

“8 Bras v. California Public Util. Com’n, 59 F.3d 869, 874 (9" Cir.
1995).

” Safeco Ins. Co. of America v. City of White House, Tenn., 191
F.3d 675, 691 (6" Cir. 1999).

® Id. at 692.

22

which is a program des.gned to coerce contractors into
subcontracting with MBEs and WBEs to the extent of their
availability as calculated by the City or lose the contract and
risk a discrimination investigation and sanctions.

B. The Lower Courts’ Determinations that the City’s
SBE Program Encourages and Pressures
Discrimination Based on Race, Triggering Strict
Scrutiny, are Consistent with this Court’s Decision
in Adarand Constructors v. Pena

The findings of the trial court and the First District Court
of Appeals that the SBE Program contained provisions that
encourage and pressure bidders to discriminate on the basis of
race, triggering heightened scrutiny, are consistent with this
Court’s decision in Adarand Constructors v. Pena.*' In
Adarand, a subcontractor that was not awarded the guardrail
portion of a federal highway contract due to a compensation
clause that provided financial incentives to a prime contractor
in return for hiring disadvantaged subcontractors asserted
violations of the Fifth Amendment’s Equal Protection Clause.
This Court held, “any person, of whatever race, has the right
to demand that any governmental actor subject to the
Constitution justify any racial classification subjecting that
person to unequal treatment under the strictest judicial
scrutiny.”°* The Court went on to say, “When race-based
action is necessary to further a compelling interest, such
action is within constitutional constraints if it satisfies the
‘narrow tailoring’ test this Court has set out in previous

*' 515 U.S. 200 (1995); see also Grutter v. Bollinger, 539 U.S.
306, 326 (2003).

% Adarand Constructors, 515 U.S. at 223.

23

cases.”*? The Court ultimately held that to the extent
regulations provide incentives to contractors to use race-based
classifications, those regulations are subject to strict
scrutiny.

The City tries to differentiate its SBE Program from that
at issue in Adarand by pointing out that whereas the
challenged regulations in Adarand provided a financial
incentive to bidders to grant a preference to disadvantaged
subcontractors, that is not the case with the SBE Program.
However, the City misstates this Court’s holding. First,
Adarand does not stand for the proposition that only programs
providing financial incentives are subject to strict scrutiny.
Rather, it stands for the general rule that any race-based
classification resulting in disparate treatment, including
financial or other incentives, is subject to strict judicial
scrutiny. Second, the financial incentive is present in the
City’s SBE Program as well. The financial incentive is the
ultimate award of the contract and the avoidance of a time-
consuming discrimination investigation and possible sanctions.
If bidders want to maximize their chances of winning a public
contract, they must retain the maximum practical participation
of MBEs and WBEs as subcontractors as calculated by the
City. If they do not, they risk losing the contract entirely.
This is a financial incentive to discriminate on the basis of
race and, as dictated by Adarand, triggers strict scrutiny.

** Id. at 237.

4 Id. at 224.

24

C. The Lower Courts’ Determinations that the City’s
SBE Program Encourages and Pressures Bidders to
Discriminate Based on Race are Consistent with the
Jurisprudence of other Federal Courts

In its Petition, the City attempts to argue that its SBE
Program is merely an outreach or tracking program that does
not encourage or pressure bidders to discriminate and thus is
distinguishable from those programs ultimately held
unconstitutional by other federal courts.*° Again, however, in
attempting to distinguish the City’s SBE Program from those
discussed in the cases, the City failed to discuss the specific
provisions the lower courts found objectionable. A realistic
examination of the City’s SBE Program demonstrates that the
trial court and First District Court of Appeals correctly found
that where the City’s program required documentation of a
bidder’s specific efforts to achieve participation of minority
subcontractors to the extent of their availability as calculated
by the City or risk a discrimination investigation and
sanctions, the SBE Program was not a mere outreach
program, but rather a program that undeniably pressured
bidders to implement racial preferences and is thus subject to
strict scrutiny.

In Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod v. FCC,* the United
States Circuit Court for the District of Columbia found that
indisputable pressure to discriminate on the basis of race,
even if discrimination is not mandatory, is enough to trigger
Strict scrutiny. Citing Adarand, the court found that it was not

** Petitioner's Br. at 17, ef seq.

© 141 F.3d 344 (D.C. Cir. 1998), reh'g en banc denied, 154 F.3d
487 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

25

necessary that the racial preferences be mandatory to trigger
strict scrutiny, stating “the Supreme Court treated the
regulations as a racial classification and did not even pause to
consider the suggestion that the absence of a compelled racial
preference makes strict scrutiny inapposite.”°’ Indisputable
pressure, even if discrimination is not compelled, is sufficient.

While the discrimination in Lutheran was not mandatory,
the City’s stated policy underlying the SBE Program to
provide MBEs opportunities to participate to the extent of
their availability, by its plain language, is intended to ensure,
not just suggest, that minorities be provided with
opportunities sufficient to ensure their participation to the
extent of their availability as calculated by the City. At the
very least, the SBE Program indisputably pressures bidders to
discriminate, if not compels them to do so.

In Monterey Mechanical v. Wilson, the Ninth Circuit
found that a statute requiring general contractors to
subcontract specified percentages of work to minority,
women, and disabled veteran-owned subcontractors, or to
demonstrate good faith efforts to do so, triggered strict
scrutiny. The court found that, “though worded in terms of
goals and good faith, the statute imposes mandatory
requirements with concreteness. The scheme requires the bid
solicitation in the context of requiring ‘good faith efforts to
meet [percentage] goals.’”°’ The court ultimately found that
“the statute does not require set-asides, but it encourages
them. A bidder can avoid disqualification by seeing to it that

*” Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod, 154 F.3d at 491.
© 125 F.3d 702 (9" Cir. 1997).

9 Id. at 71i.

26

23% of the work goes to the designated classes, or showing
that it tried to bring about that result.” As such, the statute
was race-conscious.

Similarly, the SBE Program contains a multitude of race-
conscious provisions that encourage and pressure prime
contractors to include a certain percentage of MBE and WBE
subcontractor participation in their bids. The program
provides benefits for those bidders who include MBEs at their
estimated level of availability. Conversely, the program
imposes burdens upon bidders who do not meet the
subcontracting goals, or demonstrate good faith efforts to do
so, including disqualification and potential investigations and
sanctions to bidders who do not meet the specified MBE and
WBE availability estimates.

And in Safeco Insurance Company of America v. City of
White House, Tennessee,™ the Sixth Circuit held that even if
a regulation does not explicitly impose a specific numerical
quota, but instead only requires “good faith efforts” to meet
that goal, that alone would not insulate the regulation from
strict scrutiny.®' In that case, the Sixth Circuit found that the
EPA’s stated policy of awarding a “fair share” of sub-
agreements to MBEs “implies that the outcome must meet an
implicit goal —- a goal derivable from one’s calculation of ‘fair
share,’ but almost certainly non-zero.””

191 F.3d 675 (6" Cir. 1999).
*" Id. at 689, 691.
* Id. at 690. See also Bras v. Calif. Pub. Util. Comm., 59 F.3d

869 (9" Cir. 1995) (Rigid mandates are not a prerequisite to finding
a racia! classification).

27

The same is true of the City’s SBE Program. The Rules
and Guidelines use the word “ensure” to indicate explicitly,
or at least implicitly, that bidders are required to utilize MBEs
and WBEs to the extent of their availability as calculated by
the City. The fact that the City calculates MBE and WBE
availability and then presents an “Availability Estimation” in
the bid documents strongly implies that the City has
established a goal that should be met and _ requires
documentation of good faith efforts to meet that goal. As was
the case with the challenged regulation in Safeco, a “good
faith” requirement to meet those goals is enough to trigger
Strict scrutiny.

Ill. The Lower Courts’ Decisions Are Consistent with this
Court’s Holding in Parents Involved in Community
Schools v. Seattle School District No. 1

Petitioner asserts that this case should be reexamined in
light of this Court’s recent decision in Parents Involved in
Community Schools v. Seattle School District No. 1°
(“Community Schools”). However, the holding in Community
Schools, in fact, supports Cleveland’s position that the
racially-conscious components of the SBE Program are
subject to strict scrutiny. Community Schools reaffirmed that,
“It is well established that when the government distributes
burdens or benefits on the basis of individual racial
classifications, that action is reviewed under strict scrutiny”™
and that “this Court has recently reiterated, however, that ‘all
racial classifications [imposed by government] ... must be

® 127 S.Ct. 2738 (2007).

** Id. at 2751 (citing Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 505-506
(2005); Grutter v. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306, 326 (2003); Adarand
Constructors v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 224 (1995)).

28

analyzed by a reviewing court under strict scrutiny.’”® The
SBE Program distributes burdens and benefits on the basis of
compliance with the race-conscious components of the Rules
and Guidelines, namely the MBE and WBE availability
estimates, and as such, the courts must apply strict scrutiny.

While the City cites Justice Kennedy’s concurring
opinion, which suggests that tracking the achievement of
students from major racial and ethnic groups may not trigger
strict scrutiny, as demonstrated by the Rules and Guidelines,
the SBE Program is not merely a tracking program.
Community Schools does not erode the reality that the City’s
SBE Program contains race-conscious provisions without the
proper factual predicate to withstand strict scrutiny and, as
such, is illegal.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

®° fd. at 2764 (quoting Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 505-
506 (2005); citing Grutter vy. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306, 326 (2003);
Adarand Constructors v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 224 (i995)).

29

Respectfully submitted,

W. Kelly Lundrigan (0059211)
Counsel of Record

Gary E. Powell (0037546)

Elizabeth L. Hutton (081187)

Manley Burke LPA

225 West Court Street

Cincinnati, OH 45202

($13) 721-5525

Fax (513) 721-4268

wki@manleyburke.com

Attorneys for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1241%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
