# Opposition Brief — Lynch v. Flaherty

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1053%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 930

## Text

~UpTatue Court Uy.
“ILER

g @

No. 01-1038 i

ae

TN
GT. ae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Is a constitutional issue which is not raised in
the trial court preserved for review in the United States
Supreme Court?

II. Is a final judgment of a state court entitled to
Full Faith and Credit in the courts of another state?

II]. | Where a potential beneficiary receives notice
of a state court proceeding and contacts that state court but
then intentionally fails to appear in that proceeding, does the
Full Faith and Credit clause preciude collateral attack of that
court’s decree in another state?

IV. Where collateral attack on a judgment is not
available in the state rendering the judgment, can the
judgment be collaterally attacked in another state?

V. Even if the federal constitutional mandate to
provide Full Faith and Credit does not require the courts of
one state to enforce the judgment of another state, may a state
provide a greater degree of Full Faith and Credit than is
mandated by the constitution? Alternatively, may the second

state enforce the judgment as a matter of comity or under its
own local law?

VI. Does due process preclude determining an
issue solely on papers submitted to a court? Does due process
require a court to hc!d a hearing or to issue a written opinion
responding to every argument made by a party?

VII. Is aclaim to be the administrator of an estate a
property right protected by due process?

ee
ll

VIII. Ifthe Petitioner could not possibly prevail, as a
matter of law, upon a remand of the case, should this Court
grant certiorari?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ..........::cscescessessesscecescosseseescoseoss, i
PRELIMINARY STATEMENT .....0...cccccccccccsccsssesccccoseoseose l
PROCEDURAL HISTORY, ...cescescessessosscssessessessesvessescesseesess, l

The Massachusetts Probate Proceeding .............ce.ceseseese... 2

The New York Surrogate’s SEE 3

The New York Divorce Action..........c.ccccccscescssesssoeeseosessss. 4
COUNTER-STATEMENT OF FACTS. ......ccccccccccccccccocosceee 6
THE MASSACHUSETTS PROCEEDING ........-ccccccccsooees-.. 6
THE NEW YORK SURROGATE’S AND APPELLATE

BL RAN ae So a 8
PETITIONER’S POSITION IS A TANGLE OF FACTUAL

DEFICIENCIES AND CONTRADICTIONG................. 8
PETITIONER’S CONFLICT OF IN1EPESTS ......00.0.......... 9

POINT I PETITIONER’S CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS
WERE NOT PRESERVED FOR REVIEW.......--ccccc0s.-.. 11

POINT II THE POSSIBILITY OF BEING AN ESTATE
FIDUCIARY IS NOT A PROPERTY INTEREST
PROTECTED BY DUE PROCESS ....0.....ccccccscessesseesseee. 12

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS
(Continued)

Page

POINT III PETITIONER CANNOT USE HIS OWN
FAILURE TO PROPERLY RAISE HIS ARGUMENTS
IN MASSACHUSETTS TO CREATE A DUE PROCESS
CLAS neccsrcercocevceseecesesesvepensnassenedenbionsenniinionsinetastaventes 13

POINT IV PETITIONER’S FAILURE TO PURSUE AN
APPEAL IN MASSACHUSETTS PRECLUDES HIS
COLLATERAL ATTACK IN NEW YORK .................. 14

POINT V DUE PROCESS DOES NOT REQUIRE THAT
A COURT HOLD A HEARING OR ISSUE A WRITTEN
CI ION cccssnscoveoserssosconsinsasiiniitatninntoeersiiamiavenenmtvmaninineapinitien 15

POINT VI NEW YORK CORRECTLY GRANTED FULL
FAITH AND CREDIT TO THE MASSACHUSETTS
DETERMINATION; EVEN IF IT WERE INCORRECT
IN DOING SO, THE SAME DETERMINATION
WOULD BE REACHED UPON COMITY OR
INDEPENDENT STATE LAW GROUNDS ALONE... 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES

Adams v. Robertson, 520 U.S. 83, 117 S. Ct. 1028 (1997) .11

Baker v. General Motors Corporation, 522 U.S. 222, 118 S.
Ct. 657, 139 L. Ed. 2d 580 CR Gata So ht, 18

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 92 S. Ct. 2701
CEP ee ettinencnjiepsecdbiniolabididbiciatTieiidlad c. Secik ica 12
CSTE Sitinccionppnidatishoae gest SOIR A. 14
Greene v. WCI Holdings Corporation, 136 F.3d 313 (2nd Cir.
1998) certiorari denied 525 U.S. 983, 119 S. Ct. 448, 142
ce Se UE CO Gaihincha Galashinitlugstdie al 16
Greenwald v. Whalen, 609 F.2d 665 (2nd Cir. 1979) ......... 13
Grossman v. Axelrod, 646 F.2d 768 (2nd Cir. 1981) .......... 12
Loyd v. Loyd, 731 F.2d 393 (7th Cir. (ROR Ear 14

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank, 339 U.S. 306, 70 S. Ct.
Cad, POE. Oe CE CO a 14

Neto v. Thorner, 718 F. Supp. 1222 (S.D.N.Y. 1989) ........ 16

Sherrer v. Sherrer, 334 U.S. 343, 68 S. Ct. 1087, 92 L. Ed.
NIN shiek a a ae a OP 14

Tennessee v. Sizemore, 200 F.3d 373 (Sth Cir. 2000) ..14, 17

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Neiman v. City of New York, 133 A.D.2d 743, 520 N.Y.S.2d
FB CAG EGG. TSGT) cccovocresccoceseevevsevcepevevceoesevceseoeovencosooses 11

New York CPLR, 5401 ( P.3 )

Will of Brown, 120 Misc. 2d 799, 466 N.Y.S.2d 988 (Surr. Ct.
indeticisbdedveimieueclishnitarnimmledvereer 15

Westchester Co. 1983)

vii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
TO APPENDIX

mee

Page

Appendix 1 — Letters From Dean Lynch to Mr.
Frank, Dated March 29, 201 and to the
Appellate Division, Dated March 29, 2001 ............ la

Appendix 2 - Transcript of Proceedings Before
Weiner, J., Rockland County Supreme
Court, on January 11, 1996 ......cccccccscseccececcesesceseeces, 4a

Appendix 3 — Affirmations of Joseph P.
McGlinn, Sworm to June 16, 1998 and
August 1, 2000 and Preliminary Report of
Successor Guardian Ad Litem Orville H.
Mann, Jr., Dated September 15, 2000.............cc000-. 28a

Appendix 4 — Chronology of Key Events /
Documents in the Estate Proceedings...................... 4la

Appendix 5 — Letter From Dean Lynch to the
Clerk — Middlesex Probate and Family
Court, Dated November 16, 1998 ..........cccccccccccceceee. 45a

Appendix 6 — Memorandum of Decision of
Massachusetts Probate Court, Dated June
15, 1999 and Decree, Dated June 29, 1999........... 47a

Appendix 7 — Affidavit of Richard W.
Renehan, Sworn to January 14, 2002...........000.000.. 49a

ae

ecm cad

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Respondents, the executors of the estate of Deborah
Lynch, respectfully submit this brief in Opposition to the
application for a writ of certiorari by Petitioner, Dean Lynch,
an attorney, appearing pro se. The Petition is without merit

and, in fact, it is based on significant misstatements of both
law and fact.

This application for certiorari is founded upon four
primary misapprehensions of the law by Petitioner. First, a
party cannot create a due process claim by his own deliberate
refusal to appear before a court. Second, no one has a
“property right” to be the administrator of an estate and,
hence, even if the remainder of Petitioner’s claims made any
legal sense, there would be no constitutional issue presented
because he was not deprived of any property right by the
decisions below. Third, domicile is a question of fact, and a
state has jurisdiction to oversee the probate of an estate if the
decedent was domiciled there at the time of her death,
irrespective of the decedent’s marital status, and irrespective
of whether or not the state has personal jurisdiction over
potentially interested parties. Fourth, a “limited appearance”
relates to personal jurisdiction over a party. A potential
objectant to a Will is not a party to a probate proceeding, and
one who wishes to make a limited appearance must present
actual evidence of the jurisdictional defect to the court —
something which Petitioner failed to do.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY
There are two direct!» velewant legal proceedings here

and a third of significance for the Court to completely
understand Petitioner’s claims and motivations.

The Massachusetts Probate Proceeding

The first direct proceeding was the admission to
probate in Massachusetts of a Will executed there on June 28,
1995 by Deborah Lynch, the decedent. ' At the time of her
death, Ms. Lynch had been a domiciliary of Massachusetts for
approximately two years.

There is no question but that Petitioner received notice
of the Massachusetts proceeding as he admits the same
throughout his Petition. Petitioner claims to have made a
special appearance in Massachusetts but that is a procedural
non sequitur. Personal jurisdiction over Petitioner was, and
is, irrelevant to whether or not the Will could be probated in
Massachusetts. The only issues on a probate proceeding are
the domicile of the decedent, and the presence or absence of
the customary defenses of “lack of capacity” etc. ?

Instead, of raising these arguments in court, Petitioner
simply wrote to the Massachusetts court claiming (falsely)
that Respondent’s Massachusetts counse] (when presenting
the Will for probate) had misrepresented the decedent’s
marital status. One presumes that Petitioner’s argument is
that decedent (if still married to Petitioner at the date of her
death) could not have a different domicile than his. ’

Decedent executed three Wills - December 1, 1993 (in Rhode
Island), January 3, 1994 (in New Jersey) and June 28, 1995 (in
Massachusetts). It is the third Will which was admitted to
probate in Massachusetts.

It is irrelevant for that purpose whether Massachusetts had
personal jurisdiction in the /nternational Shoe sense overt
Petitioner or over decedent’s minor daughter.

In fact, New York (which Petitioner claims is the relevant State)
allows a wife to have a different domicile than her husband's.

3

However, the decedent’s marital status is irrelevant both to
domicile and to the jurisdiction of the probate court. The only

relevant issue is where decedent was domiciled when she
died.

Petitioner does not deny that he received notice of the
Massachusetts court’s intention to hold a hearing on the
appropriate objections to probate of the decedent’s Will in
that state. Nor does he deny that he deliberately failed to
appear before that court to make his objections, such as they
were.” The Massachusetts probate court, accordingly,
admitted the 1995 Will to probate, finding that Petitioner had
not made the appropriate objections.

Significantly, Petitioner failed to appeal that decision
and, under Massachusetts law, he cannot collaterally attack it.
See Point IV.

The New York Surrogate’s Proceeding

Rather than appeal in Massachusetts, Petitioner,
instead, requested that the New York Surrogate’s Court (New
York’s probate court) find that decedent’s Wills were invalid,
and grant him letters of administration over decedent’s estate.
This action is a collateral attack on the Massachusetts
determination. This is the second directly relevant judicial
proceeding in this Court.

Landsford v. Landsford, 96 A.D. 2d 832, 456 N.Y.S. 2d 583 (2™
Dept. 1983). See also New York Domestic Relations Law § 231
(McKinney’s 1999).

Petitioner engages in numerous attacks on the integrity and
competence of the courts in both New York and Massachusetts,
e.g. referring to the New York Court of Appeals’ actions in this
case as “a mockery of the rule of law”.(See, e.g. pages 22-23 of
the Petition.)

The New York Court initially dismissed Petitioner’s
application because he had failed to include copies of the
prior Wills. He amended his pleading bu’ referred to, and
annexed, only two of the three Wills that decedent had
executed. The missing one was the 1994 Will which was
prepared by Petitioner’s friends and executed in Petitioner’s
presence. ° The New York Court learned of the second Will
only from Respondents.

Ultimately, the New York Surrogate dismissed
Petitioner’s claims because of the prior Massachusetts

decision and New York’s Appeliate Division affirmed on the
basis of Full Faith and Credit.

Petitioner then sought reargument from the Appellate
Division or, alternatively, leave to appeal to the New York’s
highest court, the Court of Appeals. Both motions were
denied. The Court of Appeals denied Petitioner’s motion for
leave to appeal. This Petition for certiorari ensued.

The New York Divorce Action

The third proceeding is the divorce action between
Petitioner and decedent. That action is still pending in the
same Appellate Division in New York. On January 11, 1996,
approximately six months after the 1995 Will probated in
Massachusetts was executed in that State, a stipulation was

5

Petitioner originally denied knowing of this Will and then
recanted when confronted with an audio tape showing his
presence during its preparation and at its execution. See
Appendix 1.

It is this failure to apprise the Court of the 1994 Will’s existence
which is the basis of the disciplinary proceeding against
Petitioner in New Jersey. (See Petition, page 21)

5

entered into on the record in the New York Supreme Court
(the trial court with jurisdiction over divorce matters) in
Petitioner’s presence and with his cooperation. (See
Appendix 2 for the transcript of this proceeding). In court,
that day, decedent testified to the grounds for divorce, without
objection from Petitioner, the decedent’s divorce counsel
moved for the court to grant the divorce and the motion was
granted. ° Certain provisions of the stipulation (relating only
to the parties’ child) were contingent upon approval by a
guardian ad litem. Ultimately, the first and second guardians
both approved those provisions as modified. “ These last
events occurred four years after decedent’s death.
Nonetheless, despite the fact that the court had held the
marital action open for those four years, it ruled that the
matrimonial action had abated when decedent died.

That determination is currently on appeal to the
Appellate Division in New York and was argued on January
29, 2002. Petitioner’s claim that Massachusetts had no
jurisdiction is founded primarily on his false and irrelevant
claim that Respondents’ counsel misrepresented decedent’s
marital status to the Massachusetts court. If the New York
Appellate Division finds that Respondent and decedent were
divorced, even that spurious claim would fail.

If Petitioner truly believes that decedent was incompetent to
make the 1995 Will (a claim he has made in every court,
including this one), then he committed a fraud on the New York
divorce court when he entered into that stipulation.

Petitioner refers this Court to the first law guardian’s preliminary
report (Petition, p. 20) but fails to mention the later reports by
both law guardians which reach a contrary conclusion and are
critical of Petitioner's motives. See Appendix 3.

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF FACTS

The facts of this case are significantly different from
those asserted by Petitioner. For the Court’s convenience, @
chronology of key events is attached as Appendix 4.

THE MASSACHUSETTS PROCEEDING

The decedent was 4 domiciliary of the State of
Massachusetts at the time of her death on September 5, 1996.
Decedent’s 1995 Will was filed with the Middlesex County
Probate and Family Court on July 22, 1997. The nominated
executors under the Will, Respondents herein, commenced
probate proceedings in that Court and duly served all
interested persons--including Petitioner--by November 4,
1998.

On November 6, 1998, Petitioner filed a petition for
Letters of Administration in Rockland County, New York,
alleging the invalidity of only two of decedent’s prior Wills

and concealing the existence of the Will executed at his
behest. (See footnote 5.)

Petitioner wrote to the Massachusetts Court on
November 16, 1998 acknowledging that he knew of the
commencement of the Massachusetts proceedings and
requesting that the Court either recognize that it lacked
jurisdiction over him, or, in the alternative, set the matter
down for a full hearing. On January 21, 1998, Petitioner filed
a Notice of Special Appearance and Affidavit of Objections
to Petition in the Massachusetts Court.

On June 3, 1999, both the Court and Respondents’
counsel gave notice to Petitioner that the Court would hold a
pretrial conference on June 15, 1999. The Court specifically

7

stated that the case might be ordered to immediate trial on
that date if it appeared that one party, through a failure to
appear at the conference or otherwise, would not present a
case. [The Court should note that Petitioner requested a
hearing in his November 16, 1998 letter. See Appendix 5).

On June 10, 1999, Petitioner wrote a second letter to
the Massachusetts Court acknowledging receipt of the Court’s
Notice and Order, and objecting that the Court did not have
jurisdiction over him. Petitioner stated in his letter that he
had made a “special appearance” to contest jurisdiction, and
would not attend the conference.

On June 14, 1999, Petitioner sent a third letter ® by
facsimile to the Massachusetts Court stating that he would not
appear on June 15", and requesting that the Court take no
action until his Petition for Letters of Administration in New
York was resolved.

Petitioner failed to appear on June 15, 1999 and
Justice Boorstein admitted decedent’s 1995 Will to probate,
based on the submissions of Respondents and the fact that no
proper or evidentiary objections were interposed. > Judge
Boorstein expressly and properly rejected Petitioner’s
personal jurisdiction argument by noting that it was irrelevant
to whether Massachusetts could probate the 1995 Will.

As a lawyer, Petitioner had to know that such letters are not
evidentiary, and that even if he were correct that decedent was
not domiciled in Massachusetts, the court could not consider or
act on them.

A review of Petitioner's Appendix F shows that Respondents’
Massachusetts counsel, on that occasion, fairly advised the court
of Petitioner’s legal positions.

Justice Boorstein further noted that Petitioner had
failed to raise the conventional objections as to domicile,
undue influence, lack of capacity or improper execution, and
specifically found that he would not present a case.
(Appendix 6) Petitioner never appealed the Massachusetts
Decree and, as noted, it is not subject to collateral attack.

Petitioner received notice of the Massachusetts
conference date and deliberately failed to appear because he
was concerned that a decision on the merits in Massachusetts
would have precluded him from proceeding in New York and
because he claimed he could not have received a full and fair
hearing in Massachusetts. (Petition, p. 19)

THE NEW YORK SURROGATE’S
AND APPELLATE DETERMINATIONS

On September 8, 1999, the New York Surrogates
Court dismissed Petitioner’s application and that decision was
affirmed by the New York Appellate Division on Full Faith
and Credit grounds. That determination is the subject of this
Petition.

PETITIONER’S POSITION IS A TANGLE OF
FACTUAL DEFICIENCIES AND CONTRADICTIONS

Petitioner stated that he failed to disclose the January
1994 Will because he “knew” it had been revoked by the
subsequent June 1995 Will. This statement, of course, makes
no sense, since it is in direct contradiction of Petitioner’s
swom contention that the June 1995 Will is invalic. If the
June 1995 Will were invalid, then the January 1994 Will
would not have been revoked and would, itself, be valid.

9

Petitioner told the New York court that the June 1995
and December 1993 Wills were invalid because the decedent
lacked testamentary capacity. '° Nevertheless, in January
1996, about six months after the June 1995 Will was
executed, Petitioner appeared before the same New York
Judge to whom he later alleged the decedent’s incapacity,
entered into a contract with decedent in open court, and
allowed her to testify without objection in the divorce
proceeding. (See Appendix 2)

Petitioner has never offered any credible evidence to
establish his incapacity claim. He does not allege specific
facts demonstrating an impaired state of mind at the time of
the execution of the 1993 and 1995 Wills. His “proof” of this
claim is a single entry on an unauthenticated death certificate
that was never admitted into evidence by any court. Even if
Petitioner had presented this document to a Court it would in
no way constitute competent evidence of Petitioner’s claims.

Petitioner never presented anything at all “supporting”
his claims of undue influence and duress.

Petitioner’s Conflict of Interests

There is a fundamental problem with granting
fiduciary status to Petitioner--the relief he sought from the
New York Court. Petitioner has stated his intention to
exercise an alleged spousal right of election against
decedent’s estate, should it be determined that he was the
spouse of the decedent when she died, and to attack the
probated Will. (See e.g. Petition, page 21) While Petitioner

™ Of course, the 1994 Will, executed in Petitioner’s presence, was

signed after decedent was supposedly incompetent. The internal
contradictions in Petitioner's story are many and evident.

10

claims to be waging this litigation for the sake of his daughter
(Petition, pages 20-22 and 27) the fact is that the Will leaves
virtually everything to that daughter. Where is the advantage
for her in Petitioner’s proposed attack on the probated Will?

Thus, Petitioner’s interests are in direct opposition to
those of his daughter. Under New York law, that alone
disqualifies Petitioner from being appointed the administrator
even if New York had not properly dismissed the application
in light of the Massachusetts decree.

Both guardians ad litem in New York recognized that
fact. Petitioner misstates the guardians’ position to this
Court. (Petition. p. 20) In fact, neither guardian agreed with
Petitioner and both questioned his motives. (Appendix 3)

Petitioner also fails to explain why his claims could
not have been protected in Massachusetts if he produced
evidence that decedent was not a Massachusetts domiciliary
or that she was incompentent when she executed the 1995
Will, or by asserting ‘his elective share and the daughter’s
rights in that State. In Appendix J of his Petition (a 1994
newspaper article), Petitioner claims that a 1992 New York
law permits him to attack certain trusts if he is the widower.
(Petition p. 21) Petitioner only reveals his lack of
understanding of the law. Prior to 1992 a decedent in New
York could “defeat” his spouse’s elective share by providing
in his Will a trust with a corpus equal to 1/3 of the estate. It is
that rule which was abrogated. After that change, a trust
created by the decedent will not defeat the right of election.
Where Petitioner loses his way is in his confusion of the
difference between a trust created by the decedent and those
created by third-parties - which is the case with the trusts
here. Third-party created trusts, under New York law, are
simply not part of the decedent’s estate and therefore are not

11

subject to the surviving spouse’s elective share, and, thus,
New York law would not avail Petitioner.

POINT |
PETITIONER’S CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS WERE
NOT PRESERVED FOR REVIEW

At page 10 of the Petition, Petitioner states that his
claim of a denial of due process “was raised to the Appellate
Division”. By his own admission, Petitioner’s due process
claims were not presented to the New York Surrogate’s
Court. Neither of the two New York appellate courts made
any reference to Petitioner’s due process claims. Under those
circumstances this Court assumes that the constitutional issue
was not properly presented. Adams v. Robertson, 520 U.S.
83, 86, 117 S. Ct. 1028, 1029 (1997).

New York appellate courts will not entertain issues
not raised at trial. Neiman v. City of New York, 133 A.D. 2d
743, 520 N.Y.S. 2d 31 (2 Dept. 1987); Martin Mechanical
Corporation v. P. J. Carlin Construction Co., 132 A.D. 2d
688, 518 N.Y.S. 2d 166 (2™ Dept. 1987). Accordingly,
Petitioner’s constitutional claims were not preserved for
review in this Court and the Petition must be denied.

12

POINT Il

THE POSSIBILITY OF BEING AN ESTATE
FIDUCIARY IS NOT A PROPERTY INTEREST
PROTECTED BY DUE PROCESS

When reduced to its essence, Petitioner’s complaint is
that he is not the person who has the fiduciary responsibility
for administering decedent’s estate. It is that fiduciary status
that Petitioner seeks to parlay into financial gain for himself
by attacking the Will and the trusts created for decedent’s
benefit by her family. (Petition, p. 21) However, there is no
necessity that Petitioner be decedent’s administrator before
raising any or all of his claims as to the validity of the Wills,
or the propriety of administration of the estate, or the
marshalling of the estate’s assets, or his or decedent’s
daughter’s claims against the estate under the Will, in
intestacy, or as surviving spouse or guardian of the child.

Even if the estate were administered in New York, it
is only the underlying claims that might constitute property
rights, and Petitioner would still have had to prove his
entitlement thereto.

It is only the possibility of being decedent’s
administrator that Petitioner has conceivably lost. That
contingency cannot possibly rise to the level of “property” or
of a property right protected by the Due Process clause.
Property is defined by looking to underlying state law. Board
of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577, 92 S. Ct. 2701, 2709
(1972); Grossman v. Axelrod, 646 F. 2d 768, 770-71 (2" Cir.
1981). In New York far more concrete claims such as
“prospective [Medicaid] reimbursement payments” and an
“interest in [maintaining] a particular rate of reimbursement”
have been held not to be “property”. Hurlbut v. Whalen, 58

13

A.D. 2d 311, 317, 396 N.Y.S. 2d 518 (4" Dept. 1977);
Greenwald v. Whalen, 609 F. 2d 665, 668 (2™ Cir. 1979).

POINT III

PETITIONER CANNOT USE HIS OWN
FAILURE TO PROPERLY RAISE HIS
ARGUMENTS IN MASSACHUSETTS TO
CREATE A DUE PROCESS CLAIM

Petitioner’s objection to Massachusetts’s exercise of
jurisdiction is twofold: (1) there was a “fraud” '' on the
Massachusetts court and (2) there was no personal jurisdiction
over him. Petitioner admits that he did not raise either claim
at the Massachusetts hearing. Rather he wrote letters and
filed documents making his claims, but deliberately failed to
appear at the hearing (of which he had ample notice), and
offered no evidentiary proof whatsoever of any of his claims.

It has consistently been held, in these circumstances,
that any claimed due process issue has been waived. In Loyd
v. Loyd, 731 F. 2d 393 (7 Cir. 1984), also involving a
collateral attack on a determination made in another state’s
probate court, the widow was given notice of the proceeding

The Court will have noted that the document to which Petitioner
refers at page 6 of the Petition (his Appendix F) quite simply has
nothing whatsoever to do with Petitioner’s claims of fraud.

At this juncture we must respectfully assert a point of personal
privilege. Petitioner falsely accuses Respondents’ counsel,
Richard W. Renehan, of having “admitted” to lying to the
Massachusetts Court (Petition. p. 6) Attorney Renehan’s
affidavit (attached hereto as Appendix 7) states that he (1) made
no misrepresentations to the Massachusetts Court, and (2) has
never told that court that his statements to it were untrue.

14

and she chose not to place her proof before the court. Under
those circumstances, functionally identical to those here, the
Seventh Circuit held that there was no denial of due process.
The Court noted that due process requires only notice
reasonably calculated to apprise the interested parties of the
pendency of the action and that those parties have an
opportunity to present their objections. Loyd, ibid. at 400;
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank, 339 U.S. 306, 314, 70 S.
Ct. 652, 657, 94 L. Ed. 865 (1950). See Sherrer v. Sherrer,
334 U.S. 343, 68 S. Ct. 1087, 92 L. Ed. 1429 (1948), [“If
respondent failed to take advantage of the opportunities
afforded him, the responsibility is his own [it will not]
provide a basis for subsequent attack in the courts of a sister
State ...”]; Underwriters National Assurance Company v.
North Carolina Life and Accident and Health Insurance
Guaranty Association, 455 U.S. 691, 709-10, 102 S. Ct. 1357,
1369, 71 L. Ed. 2d 558 (1982); Wozniak v. Conry, 236 F. 3d
888, 890 (7" Cir. 2001) certiorari denied 121 S.Ct. 2243, 150
L.Ed.2d 231 (U.S. June 11, 2001) [“one who has spurned an
invitation to explain himself can’t complain that he has been
deprived of an opportunity to be heard.” (emphasis in
original)] and Tennessee v. Sizemore, 200 F. 3d 373, 381 (5"
Cir. 2000).
POINT IV

PETITIONER’S FAILURE TO PURSUE AN APPEAL
IN MASSACHUSETTS PRECLUDES HIS
COLLATERAL ATTACK IN NEW YORK

Petitioner chose not to appeal the Massachusetts
decision in that state. Thus, that determination was no longer
subject to collateral attack in Massachusetts (Bloom v. Bloom,
337 Mass. 480, 482, 150 N.E. 2d 24, 26 (1958)). Therefore,
Petitioner has no right to attack the determination collaterally
either in New York or in this Court. Coe v. Coe, 334 U.S.

15

378, 384, 68 S. Ct. 1094, 1096, 92 L. Ed. 1451 (1948);
Sherrer v. Sherrer, above.

Even if the New York courts had applied New York
law, as Petitioner wishes, they would have reached the same
conclusion. In Massachusetts mere publication of notice of a
probate proceeding is considered valid notice to the world.
This is so even where fraud is alleged. Farquhar v. New
England Trust Co., 261 Mass. 209, 212, 158 N.E. 836, 838
(1927). That rule dovetails completely with the decision of
New York’s highest court in Matter of Horton, 217 N.Y. 363,
367, 111 N.E. 1066 (1916). See also see Will of Brown, 120
Misc. 2d 799, 802, 466 N.Y.S. 2d 988, 991 (Surr. Ct.
Westchester Co. 1983). As Petitioner had actual notice of the
Massachusetts proceeding and indeed communicated with the
court about it, a priori, he has no standing to bring a collateral
attack on the Massachusetts decree in New York.

POINT V

DUE PROCESS DOES NOT REQUIRE
THAT A COURT HOLD A HEARING
OR ISSUE A WRITTEN OPINION

Petitioner’s claims were dismissed by the New York
courts on papers and without holding a formal adversarial
hearing on his claims that due process obligated the courts to
hold a hearing on his claims as to the “fraud” on the court in
Massachusetts and to write a formal opinion rejecting his
arguments. '? However, a court has no due process obligation
to hold a hearing. The only requirement is notice and an

Ironically, at page 8 of his Petition he claims that Justice Weiner
had extensive “personal knowledge of the facts and
circumstances”.

16

Opportunity to be heard. As Petitioner was the claimant in
New York, obviously, he had notice. In this Court he fails to
recognize the distinction between an opportunity “to be
heard” and a hearing. All that due process requires is the
opportunity to raise one’s arguments to the court, which
petitioner had. Greene v. WCI Holdings Corporation, 136 F.
3d 313, 315-16 (2™ Cir. 1998) certiorari denied 525 U.S.
983, 119 S. Ct. 448, 142 L. Ed.2d 402 (1998) held that the
dismissal of a proceeding (as occurred here) without an oral
hearing did not violate due process. “The opportunity to be
heard orally on questions of law is not an inherent element of
procedural due process, even when substantial questions of
law are involved.” See also Wozniak v. Conry, 236 F. 3d 888,
890 (7"" Cir. 2001) holding that “due process does not require
that a formal, adversarial hearing precede every decision
affecting property.”
POINT VI

NEW YORK CORRECTLY GRANTED FULL FAITH
AND CREDIT TO THE MASSACHUSETTS
DETERMINATION; EVEN IF IT WERE INCORRECT
IN DOING SO, THE SAME DETERMINATION
WOULD BE REACHED UPON COMITY OR
INDEPENDENT STATE LAW GROUNDS ALONE

It is settled law, which Petitioner does not dispute, that
a court’s jurisdiction to administer an estate is solely
dependent upon the decedent’s domicile on the date of death.
Section 3-5.1 (b) (2) of the Estates, Powers and Trusts Law
(EPTL) of the State of New York provides that the law of the
decedent’s domicile at his death controls both the
testamentary and intestate disposition of the decedent’s estate.
Neto v. Thorner, 718 F. Supp. 1222, 1224 (S.D.N.Y. 1989).
It is the rendering State, not the forum state, whose law is
used to determine if Full Faith and Credit should be accorded

ae

a judgment. Tennessee v. Sizemore, 200 F. 3d 373, 378 (5"
Cir. 2000). In Matter of Horton, 217 N.Y. 363, 367, 111 N_E.
1066 (1916) the court held that a probate proceeding in
another state was “conclusive” if it could not be collaterally
attacked in that other state. (217 N.Y. at 367). See also Will
of Brown and Point IV, above.

Petitioner also fails to appreciate the fact that there are
two purely non-constitutional bases upon which the New
York courts could have chosen to follow and give precedence
to the Massachusetts decision. Petitioner makes two separate
legal errors. First, Petitioner assumes that a court cannot
grant Full Faith and Credit to any determination which is not
strictly entitled to it. However, Full Faith and Credit is only a
minimum requirement of our republican form of government.
No constitutional bar precludes a state court from applying
Full Faith and Credit more broadly than it is required to do by
the Constitution. In Underwriters National Assurance
Company above this Court said that a court “may” inquire
into jurisdiction before giving Full Faith and Credit to a
judgment. (455 U.S. at 705, 102 S. Ct. at 1357). This Court
did not say that the court “must” do so.

Thus, even if Petitioner were correct in his assertion
that the Massachusetts determination was not strictly entitled
to Full Faith and Credit, there was no constitutional error
when the New York courts chose to afford full faith
recognition to that determination. '°

Petitioner’s partial quotation from New York CPLR 540] (p. 3)
is misleading and the statute does not comport with his claims.

In fact, that section is merely a definition of a “foreign judgment”
and says nothing about whether a judgment not precisely fitting ~~
that definition can have preclusive affect in New York.

lec

18

Second, even if Full Faith and Credit did not apply
and it was improper to afford such recognition to the
Massachusetts decree, nonetheless, the New York courts
could have honored the Massachusetts determination on the
basis of comity. Ehrlich-Bober & Co. v. University of
Houston, 49 N.Y. 2d 574, 427 N.Y.S. 2d 604, 404 N.E. 2d
726 (1980); Will of Brown, above. Simply put, no
constitutional issue arises. '“

Petitioner’s arguments based upon alleged New York public
policy are also misplaced. In Baker v. General Motors
Corporation, §22 U.S. 222, 233, 118 S. Ct. 657, 663-64, 139 L.
Ed.2d 580 (1998) this Court noted that its “decisions support no
roving ‘public policy exception’ to the Full Faith and Credit due
judgments.” (emphasis in original)

WHEREFORE, the Petition for Certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Blank Rome Tenzer Greenblatt LLP
The Chrysler Building

405 Lexington Avenue

New York, New York 10174

(212) 885-5000 —

Birbrower, Montalbano, Condon
& Frank, P.C.

67 North Main Street

P.O. Box 1070

New City, New York 10956
(845) 634-7010

Co-counsel for Plaintiff-Appellants

Of Counsel:
Sheila Ginsberg Riese
Leonard G. Florescue
Donald Frank
William Frank
Stephen McSweeney

L9

a a oatlienla

No. 01-1038

In The
Supreme Gourt of the
United States
October Term, 2001

ADMINISTRATION PROCEEDING ESTATE OF DEBRA
LYNCH a/k/a Debra L. Lynch & Debra Franchi, Deceased.
DEAN LYNCH,

, Petitioner,
— against —

PATRICIA FLAHERTY, LINDA A. KACEWICZ.
AND MICHAEL P. FRANCHI,
Respondents.

On- Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
The New York Court of Appeals.

APPENDIX

Appendix 1 la
Dean Lynch Letters
[Pages la— 3a]

Dean Lynch
Attorney at Law

3-29-2001
Dear Mr. Frank:

In light of Mr. Uscher's “refreshed” recollection and that
being the case, I believe I owe you an apology for my
comment to you after the oral argument of 11-17-2000. It
appears under the facts and circumstances of those years, |
was “that stupid” in January, 1994.

Please accept my apology.

Very truly yours,

2a Appendix 1
Dean Lynch Letters

3-29-2001

Appellate Division, Supreme Court
Second Judicial Department

State of New York

45 Monroe Place

Brooklyn, NY 11201

Att: James Edward Pelzer, Clerk of the Court
Re: Estate of Debra Lynch
Docket No. 1999-09132

Dear Mr. Pelzer:

There is currently pending a Motion for Reargument which
was returnable March 2, 2001. Included with my response
was an Affidavit from Arthur Uscher, Esq. dated March 1,
2001.

I was advised today that Mr. Uscher's Affidavit at Par. 7 is in
error as to his recollection. Therefore, I enclose for filing an
Amended Affidavit from Mr. Uscher dated March 29, 2001.

It is noted that Mr. Uscher states that “ I reviewed the tape.
again and find I was mistaken in my recollection that Dean
Lynch arrived '...shortly after the execution....' The tape
shows that Dean arrived before the Will was executed.”

I would point up to this Court that Mr. Uscher's original
“recollection” was mine as well. The tape saying otherwise,
would demonstrate that my recollection of the events of that
day, January 3, 1994, may have been in error as well.

I continue to believe the 1994 alleged will is and has always
been a “red herring” and has absolutely no bearing on the

Appendix | 3a
Dean L>-~h Letters

If this Court disagrees that the issue of the 1994 alleged will
is a “red herring”, I would respectfully request that the motion
be held in abeyance until a Copy and transcript of said tape
can be obtained and reviewed by the Parties and the Court.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Respectfully submitted,

Dean Lynch

Pro Se

cc: William Frank, Esq.
Arthur Uscher, Esq. wo/enc.

da Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996
[Pages 4a — 27a]

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF ROCKLAND
ORIGINAL

DEBRA LYNCH,

Plaintiff,
-against-
Index No. 1109/95
DEAN LYNCH,
Defendant.

Rockland County Courthouse
New City, New York
Thursday, January 11, 1996

BEFORE:
THE HON. ALFRED J. WEINER,
Justice of the Supreme Court.

-APPEARANCES:
SHAYS, KEMPER
Attorneys for Plaintiff
276 Fifth Avenue - Suite 306
New York, New York 10001-4509
BY: KENNETH D. KEMPER, ESQ.,
-and-
STANLEY D. HEISLER, ESQ.,
Of Counsel

DEAN LYNCH, ESQ.,
Defendant Appearing Pro Se ;
1 Kalisa Way - Suite 202

Appendix 2 Sa
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

Paramus, New Jersey 07653-0159

BURKE & McGLINN, ESQS..

Guardian Ad Litem

100 Washington-Avenue

Suffern, New York 10901

BY: JOSEPH P. McGLINN, ESQ., Of Counsel
Ellen L. Guardiano,
C.S.R., Senior Court Reporter.

6a Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

THE.COURT OFFICER: Remain seated,
please; come to order.

THE COURT: This matter has been
scheduled for trial for -- I believe it was
scheduled two days ago and there have been
continuing discussions between the parties,
both in chambers and out of chambers and the
Court has been advised by counsel for the
Plaintiff that the parties wish to place a
stipulation on the record at this time.

Counsel may proceed.

MR. KEMPER: First, I would like to
thank your Honor for your Honor’s assistance
in helping us resolve what has been a very
difficult matter. And I'd also like to thank
your Honor for bringing in, a guardian who also
made very constructive suggestions in helping
us to dispose of this.

I would like you, Debra and Mr. Lynch to
listen to this very carefully.

CONN UN hh WN —

\O

en el el ee
NSOUVMIAAWEWNKO

22 It is stipulated and agreed between the
23 parties as follows: The Defendant withdraws
24 his answer to the verified complaint and the
25 Plaintiff withdraws her second cause of action

ae
— ©&

~

t

© ON A nm BB Ww

Ne
©

bo

—

bh NM bh to
Mm & W bo

Appendix 2 7a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
and agrees to proceed on her first cause of
action for constvuctive abandonment.

The juégsment of divorce to be entered
herein will not be entered until confirmation
of the stipulation of settlement which is .as
follows:

1. The Plaintiff agrees to transfer her
interest in the marital residence located at
101 Greenbush Road, Tappan, New York to the
Defendant by deed and the Defendant agrees to
transfer his interest in the Worcester
condominium owned by the parties to the
Plaintiff.

2. The Plaintiff waives her interest in
equitable distribution and for a distributive
award with respect to the residence and
Defendant's law practice and any other assets
of the Defendant. The Defendant waives his
interest in equitable distribution or ty way
of distributive award with respect to
Plaintiff's separate property and any
appreciation thereto.

3. The Defendant will receive and own
all of the contents of the marital residence

8a

l
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

— et
—_— ©

NN eK eR eee eS
—OOoOMmAnNAUNfWWN

Nm nN NY
> WwW WN

25

Appendix 2

Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
at 101 Greenbush Road, Tappan except for the
agreed-upon list of property as follows, which
shall be the possession of the Plaintiff and
may be removed on 20 day's notice:

Those items are paintings by the
Plaintiff, an antique painting at the front
door, her mother's jewelry, Christmas dishes,
Madeline's Christmas dress, linen closet,
Madeline's baby book, photo albums, a jewelry
box, a Lladro ballerina statue, sculptures
made by steel or in good shape, garden winter
sweater and a heart sweater and the pictures
to be retained, to be excluded, by the
Plaintiff, are pictures of boats and water
scenes, a portrait of the, husband and a
self-portrait of the Plaintiff which has been
given to her daughter. Also remaining is a
handmade paper artwork and a plexiglass
display case which was in the marital
residence and will go to the parties’
daughter.

4. The Court, on consent, will appoint

Joseph McGlinn of Burke & McGlinn as guardian

for the property of the child, Madeline Susan

Appendix 2 9a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
Lynch, age eight. Mr. McGlinn will undertake
an investigation to ascertain the value of all
remainder interests in --

THE COURT: Excuse me, ’ hate to .
interrupt, but just for one second, maybe you
should indicate that he's appointed as
guardian ad litem. He's not been appointed
guardian of the property.

MR. KEMPER: Fine.

THE COURT: .If the parties wish to
subsequently --

MR. KEMPER: Fine, Judge.

THE COURT: -- the parties may consent
to him being appointed as guardian of the
property.

MR. KEMPER: Being appointed as-guardian
ad litem in this proceeding Mr. McGlinn will
undertake an investigation to ascertain the
value of all remainder interests in
inalienable trusts of Debra Lynch and the 1/4
of 1% interest in the Sea Breeze property
owned by Madeline Lynch, all whether held
directly or indirectly. The guardian ad litem
shall have authority to obtain information,

10a

l
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
vy)

— pod
— ©-

NWN DN Ne ee eS eS ee ee
SBRORSSCOIANAWDHN

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
review and hire experts to determine the value
of the interest. The guardian shall report to
the Court with recommendations as to the
proposed stipulation of settlement renouncing
Madeline's remainder interests in the
inalienable trusts and her 1/4 of 1% interest
in Sea Breeze as to whether the child's best
interests are being served by the renunciation
of her rights. If approved by the Court, a
judgment shall issue respecting the
renunciation of those rights.

The proposed settlement in exchange for
the renunciation as as follows: A $1,000,000
irrevocable trust will be created for the sole
benefit of Madeline Lynch with the income only
payable to Debra Lynch as hereinafter set
forth. This trust to be funded with an
initial payment of $400,000 to be paid within
60 days of approval by this Court of the.
settlement with the remaining funds to be
contributed at the rate of at least $100,000
per annum to be guaranteed by letter of credit
from a reputable banking institution. The
trustee of the trust shall be the U.S. Trust

Appendix 2 lla
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
Company in New York which shall also manage
the portfolio of the trust COrpus.

The fee of Joseph McGlinn, Esquire as
guardian ad litem shall be paid as ultimately
determined by this Court. All income from the
trust shall be paid during her life to
Debra Lynch for her Support and maintenance.
If the necessary and appropriate expenses of
Debra Lynch exceed the annual income of the
trust the trustee shall advance future trust
income to meet those expenses and then
accumulate income thereafter to make up for
any expenses advanced so that ultimately the
principal amount of $1,000,000 remains
inviolate. !

The trust shall have the right, upon
application, to pay for the college and
graduate school expenses of the child
Madeline. The trust shall accumulate all
other income except the income from the trust
shall be payable to Madeline Lynch after her.
21st birthday. Principal distributions along
with accumulated income from the trust shall
be paid to Madeline at the rate of 25% at age

12a Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

21, 25% at age 25, 25% at age 30 and 25% at
age 35. If Madeline dies with issue, prior to
completion of payments, .any unpaid payments
shall go equally to said issue and if Madeline
dies without issue any unpaid payments shall
go to a foundation for the benefit of children :
such as Hale House or other similar charity.

The current custody order in effect
shall be entered as a final order along with
the visitation orders now .in existence,
provided, however, that the visitation bond
order by Justice Kenneth Rudolph on May 25,
1995 shall be vacated forthwith and the bond
that has been posted shall’ be returned.

Given the financial and other personal
circumstances of the parties each of the
parties waives maintenance and Defendant
waives receipt of child support to the fullest
extent permitted by law and agrees to accept
what is provided in the Child Support
Standards Act as the minimum payment payable,
which is the amount of $25 monthly, as and for
child support. The New Jersey action pending,
between the parties shall be withdrawn along

on AUN hWN

— = \O
— ©

NNN NN NN NS eR Re eS ES ee
Un BWN KH OO CONAN HW NN

COMI AAMBPWNHOK OS

NM N bho
WwW NO —

No No
Nn &

Appendix 2 13a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
with the appeal and the current order with
respect to the opening and access to the safe
deposit box of the Plaintiff shall be
dismissed.

Your Honor, that completes the
stipulation of the parties.

THE COURT: Off the record.

(There was a discussion held off the
record)

MR. KEMPER: . It has been agreed by the
parties that in the event the report of the
guardian ad litem approves the renunciation of
Madeline's residuary rights { the parties agree
that there will be commenced in the
Surrogate's Court in this County a proceeding
seeking to have Mr. McGlinn appointed as
guardian of the property of the child for
further approval by the Surrogate’s Court of
the settlement and renunciation of rights.

THE COURT: Off the record.

(There was a discussion held off the
record)

MR. KEMPER: I'll call Debra Lynch to
the witness stand. .

l4a

l
2
3
4
5
“©
3
8
9

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
THE COURT: If it's easier for her( she
can sit nght there. It's not necessary for
her to step up.

DEBRA LYNCH the Plaintiff herein, having

been first duly sworn, was examined and
testified as follows:

THE COURT: Please state your name and
address.

MS. LYNCH: Debra Lynch, 16 Westcliff
Road, Weston( Massachusetts.

THE COURT: Thank you very much.

MR. KEMPER: Mrs. Lynch, you are the
Plaintiff in this proceeding; is that correct?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And were you and Mr. Lynch
married in a religious ceremony on the Ist day
of August, 1981 in Weston, Middlesex County,
Commonwealth of Massachusetts?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And ever since you and he
have been husband and wife; is that correct?

MS. LYNCH: Yes

MR. KEMPER: And for more than two years
prior to the commencement of this action

CUMAIDMAWHK OS

~

t

N ho
WW NO

No NO
na

Appendix 2 15a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
continuously was Mr. Lynch a resident of the
State of New York?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And did you and Mr. Lynch
live within the State of New York as husband
and wife?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: Is there one child of your
marriage, a daughter, Madeline, born August
31, 1987?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And is it true that no
decree of divorce, annulment or separation has
been obtained by you against Mr. Lynch or by
him against you in any Court of competent
jurisdiction of this state or any other state,
territory or dependency of the United States or in
any foreign country?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And is it true, to the best
of your knowledge, that no other action is now
pending between you and Mr. Lynch for a
divorce, annullment or separation in the
Courts of New York or in any other state or

l6a

CONN hWN

\O

ee ee ee

NN NY Ww
WN — ©

Nm N
Un &

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch- 12

territory or dependency of the united States
or in any foreign country?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And were both you and
Mr. Lynch over the age of 18 at the time that
this divorce action was commenced?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And will you take all steps
within your sole power, prior to entry of a
judgement of divorce, to remove any barriers
to Mr. Lynch's re-marriage?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: Now commencing in or about
the fall of 1992 and continuing to the present
time did Mr. Lynch wilfully refuse to engage
in marital relations with you despite your
requests that he engage in marital relations?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And was his refusal to
engage in marital relations by you not caused
by any physical impediment on his behalf?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And was his action in that
regard unjustified in all respects?

Ce Le ON Oe ee

roe 7 ™

OCO~IYNADMA BwWPh

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And has that abandonment of
you continued for more than a year prior to
the commencement of this action?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And do you ask that this
Court grant you a Judgement of divorce and
further provide you with the relief agreed to
in the stipulation that we placed upon the
record settling this proceeding?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: Now you've had a chance to
hear me read the Stipulation and agreement; is
that correct?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And you've had an
opportunity to review it with me and with
Mr. Heisler?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And you've also had an
opportunity over the last several days to
discuss it with your. father who is present?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And with your sister Linda

17a

18a

OMmOrnIaANfhWN

— pet
= ©

MW WN WN A ot we oe ee ee ee
OMA BWNHNK OW WANA UNS WWN

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-,
who is present?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And your sister Patty?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And you rely on their
advice and wisdom and counsel in assisting you
to make these determinations?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And did you make this
agreement of your own free wil 1?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And no one forced you to do
anything?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: Or made you any promises to
make you enter into this if you did not want
to; is that correct?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And you're satisfied that
this takes adequate care of your daughter?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: Now you have not taken
today any alcohol or medication which would
impair your judgment; is that correct?

20

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: And you're doing this of
your own free will?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: I have no further questions
of the witness, your Honor.

THE COURT: Mr. Lynch, do you have any
questions?

MR. LYNCH: I have no questions.

THE COURT: I'd just like to ask you,
Ms. Lynch do you have any questions of the
Court at this time?

MS. LYNCH: No.

THE COURT: Are you satisfied with the
stipulation that has been entered into?

MS. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: Do you want me to do
voir dire of Mr. Lynch or do you want to do
it?

Why don't you do it? He can be sworn
from his seat.

DEAN LYNCH, the Defendant herein, having

been first duly sworn, was examined and
testified as follows:

19a

20a Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

l -Lynch v Lynch-

2 THE COURT: please state your name and
3 address for the record.

4 MS. LYNCH: Dean Lynch, 101 Greenbush
5 Road, Tappan, New York.

6 MR. KEMPER: Mr. Lynch, you've heard the
7 stipulation entered into on the record today?

8 MR. LYNCH: Yes.

9 MR. KEMPER: And you've had an

10 opportunity to consu!t with your own

11 independent counsel with respect thereto?

12 MR. LYNCH: Yes.

13 MR. KEMPER: And. :you are an attorney;
14 are you not, sir?

15 MR. LYNCH: In the State of New Jersey,
16 yes.

17 MR. KEMPER: And you've had a chance to
18 reflect upon the various terms which we've

19 negotiated over the course of the last three

20 days, I believe?

21 MR. LYNCH: Yes.

22 MR. KEMPER: And are you satisfied with
23 the terms of that agreement?

24 MR. LYNCH: Yes, I am.

25 MR. KEMPER: Are you entering into this

CONIA MW A Wp

13
14
15

16
17
)

18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

agreement of your own free wil]?

MR. LYNCH: Yes.

MR. KEMPER: .And is it true that no
promises have been made to you other than the
agreements made in the stipulation which has
been placed on the record?

MR. LYNCH: Just the agreement here.

MR. KEMPER: And you have not taken
today any drugs or alcohol which would affect
your judgment or prevent you from entering

12 freely into this agreement; is that correct?

MS. LYNCH: No.

MR. KEMPER: Your Honor, I would move
for a judgement of divorce in the Plaintiff's
favor --

THE COURT: I just want to --

MR. KEMPER: -- incorporating--

THE COURT: Off the record.

(There was a. discussion held off the
record)

MR. KEMPER: I would move at this time
for a judgement of divorce incorporating by
reference the terms of the stipulation that we
placed upon the record and providing for that

21a

22a

]
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

—)

J —

t

NNN NN WN ND = et eS ee ee
A RWNHNK OW WON AMN & WwW

Appendix 2

Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-
to survive. I would ask that the Court retain
continuing, jurisdiction of this matter and
leave this matter further open awaiting the
report of Mr. McGlinn with respect to the
matters that have been assigned to him so that
we can finally conclude this proceeding.

I would also ask that your Honor sign
forthwith an order directing the County Clerk
to release the bond which is now held by the
Rockland County Clerk.

THE COURT: Mr. Lynch, did you
understand the. application that was just made?

MR. LYNCH: Yes. As to the release of
the visitation bond.

THE COURT: Well, no. That was the
second part of the application. It was a
two-part application. |

MR. LYNCH: The first part, yes,
concerning Mr. Lynch awaiting the outcome as
to the settlement of the guardian ad litem;
otherwise, the divorce is final as to those
issues.

THE COURT: Would the Reporter read back

the application, please?

ahah eek ah ee a aR

iter

COMDIDMNARWNHHK OS

NM NN HN bo
On BWNH —

Appendix 2 23a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

(Record read)

THE COURT: o you understand the
application that's been made?

MR. LYNCH: Your Honor, what I
understood is what we have in the stipulation,
that the judgement of divorce will not be
entered until the confirmation that we've
agreed to. If the incorporation of that --

THE COURT: Just go a little slower.

MR. LYNCH: If the incorporation that
we're entering, the divorce, enters that
language, which is the second paragraph of the
stipulation, the judgement of divorce will not
be entered until confirmation of the
stipulation of settlement, which is follows:

So as-far as the issue that your
Honor -- we discussed in chambers, the issue
of fault, that issue has been resolved as to
the divorce going forward but the issues that.
need to be confirmed are the application of
the settlement is my understanding of the
facts. And as to the second issue, as to the
release of the visitation bond, I have no
objection.

24a

Omornantbwwnrd

—
— ©

Ns a
Owownznan & WW WN

NNN N WN
UM & WN =

Appendix 2 :
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

THE COURT: Based upon your
understanding is there any opposition to the
application?

MR. LYNCH: There is --

THE COURT: Both parts of the
application.

MR. LYNCH:' The part of the application
that the judgment will not be entered itself?

THE COURT: Right.

MR. LYNCH: Until confirmation is
completed?

THE COURT: That is the understanding of
the Court.

MR. LYNCH: And that, I confirm, is what
my understanding is as well.

THE COURT:-- You have no opposition?

MR. LYNCH: I have no opposition- to
that.

THE COURT: And you have no opposition
to the bond being released?

MR. LYNCH: No, your Honor.

THE COURT: Or vacated?

MR. LYNCH: No, your Honor.

THE COURT: Is there anything further?

Sak Oe: Rice oe

ANE Y Oe

SCUOMNIADWNARWH HOS

NM NM NH bh bo
aA BWh —

Appendix 2 25a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

MR. KEMPER: No, Judge.

THE COURT: I just want to mention --

MR. KEMPER: I would like your Honor, on
the record, to grant the application for the
divorce so we've got that done.

THE COURT: The application is granted.

I just wanted to mention, Mr. Lynch,
that you have Spent a great deal of time
before this Court in chambers with. counsel,
alone and you are an attorney who practices in
the State of New Jersey, you're not being
presently represented by counsel, I did
recommend to you this morning that you seek. to
consult with an attorney acquaintance of
yours -- who is that, please? ~

MR. LYNCH: I had spoken with a.
Mr. Ciganek; I didn't get ahold of him.

THE COURT: You attempted to call up
Mr. Ciganek this morning.
I also recommended to you that you -- |
certainly recommended to you this morning that
you get an attorney to represent you, that you
Should not represent yourself in this matter:
is that correct?

26a

Appendix 2
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

MR, LYNCH: That's -- absolutely,

THE COURT: And you've chosen to speak
to someone on the telephone --.

MR. LYNCH: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: -- you attempted to reach
another attorney but you did decide of your
own volition to proceed unrepresented this
morning by another attorney; 1s that correct?

MR. LYNCH: Yes, your Honor.

If your Honor would like me to state
what my understanding is and have Mr. Kemper
confirm it, I'd.be happy to.

THE COURT: I don't think that's
necessary. I don't think it's necessary.

All right. That will conclude the
proceedings —today.

The court reporter shal! prepare a
transcript of the stipulation; the costs shall
be borne equally by the parties. The Court
shall be provided with a copy of same and a
copy shall be provided for Mr. McGlinn, who is
acting as guardian ad litem and the case will
be adjourned for 30 days for calendar purposes
only so that Mr. McGlinn can commence and

ee
A _— deinen ee en ae iS ii ech IIe (oe ea 3

ene tina ti ati a. CES Gi gS ERE ae SAI age ee wed

‘ m WIG ETA ERR yee ys BRST RN Ni Sea TET AA Pk ERR Du Wk MODE Dips Se ake ——

” TERN PRAGA AIRE SE IA IR i SURG aie ‘Veins

Appendix 2 “27a
Transcript of Proceedings on January 11, 1996

-Lynch v Lynch-

complete his investigation and file his report
with the Court. If the report is filed prior
to 30 days the Court will bring the matter in
for a conference as well as a Statement by the
guardian ad litem. If for some reason’ there's
some delay, then Mr. McGlinn wil] advise the
Court as to the circumstances of the delay and
the Court will determine whether or not the
matter should come in within the thirty-day
period or not.

Off the record.

(After an off-the-record discussion the
proceedings were adjourned)

l
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

18 THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE
FOREGOING IS

19 A TRUE AND CORRECT TRANSCRIPT OF THE
WITHIN

20 PROCEEDINGS.

21

22

23 ELLEN L. GUARDIANO, C.S.R..
R.P.R.
24

25 Dated: January 12, 1996

28a Appendix 3
McGlinn Affirmations
[Pages 28a — 35a]

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

COUNTY OF ROCKLAND
--------- | X
DEBRA LYNCH,
Plaintiff,
-against- AFFIRMATION IN RESPONSE
TO CROSS MOTION
| Index No. 1109/95
DEAN LYNCH,
Defendant.

--- X

Joseph P. McGlinn attorney duly admitted to practice law
in.the State of New York hereby affirms that the following
statements are true under the penalty of perjury.

I am the Guardian ad Litem for Madeline Lynch in the
above captioned action and make this affirmation in response
(not necessarily in opposition) to the cross motion submitted
by affidavit of William Frank, Esq. To paraphase my last
resort as Guardian ad Litem I do not oppose the procedure of
establishing a trust fund for my ward in exchange for a
renunciation of her interest in the various trusts—I do not
recommend that the trust be established in the sum of $1
million. It is my opinion that the one-fifth interest in the trust
now owned by Madeline Lynch has a value far in excess of
$1 million. The simple problem today is the mechanics of
establishing the value of Madeline Lynch's interest and the
procedure for payment of the expenses in connection with the
valuation.

Appendix 3 29a
McGlinn Affirmations

If the opinion of the court on these various motions is

that the actions have abated then no further Steps will be taken
in connection with the trusts and Madeline Lynch will
continue to have a 20% interest therein.

If it is the opinion of the court that the actions have
not abated then the valuation of the trusts for-

Proposed figure o
Settlement trust no

tablishment of the
procedure will have to be established
for the valuation of the various trusts for the Purpose of
placing a settlement figure that hopefully will be acceptable
to the undersigned as well as the court.

» wale " awe - 43 MUS GUE SS! steed gar aad” Me eA a RR ae ws ng Re sai
EP tte Se AE LN LOG alla PLEAS GAUSS Se ok ee ”

30a Appendix 3
McGlinn Affirmations

Independent auditors/accountants will be required to
review the books and records of the various properties of each
trust in order to determine their value. This will more than
likely require the appraiser to inspect the books and records
and the various properties themselves in New England, all at
a considerable expense.

Interestingly, of all the papers submitted on the recent
motions, none of the motions contain any suggestion as to the
source of the funds to cover the expenses in placing value on
the various trusts.

In the last two and one half years your deponent has
spent more than 100 hours in this litigation and has expended
the sum of $1,300 for one accountant’s opinion, which formed
the basis of my recommendation to disprove the $1 million
settlement trust.

If negotiations are to continue on behalf of Madeline
Lynch with the Franchi family members (the other
remainderpersons of the trusts), then a method has to be
determined as to the source of the funds to pay the expenses
of an appraiser. It is my suggestion that the trusts themselves
be the source of these funds.

Assuming an appraiser determines that figure in
excess of $1 million is an inappropriate sum for Madeline
Lynch to renounce her remainder interest, there is no
assurance that this sum will be acceptable to the “plaintiff” or
the plaintiff's estate--assuming there is one. This brings up
the next question as to who is the spokesperson for the
deceased plaintiff and who is (are) the true party (parties) in
interest in the litigation. Clearly William Frank does not
represent Debra Lynch -- she is deceased. At the present time,
upon information and belief, no fiduciary has been appointed
for Debra Lynch and there has been no indication as to the
value of the estate of Debra Lynch.

Any resolution of this litigation by way of the.
establishment of a settlement trust for Madeline Lynch will

Appendix 3 3la
McGlinn Affirmations

In reality what is Proposed by way of settlement of
the divorce action is a purchase of Madeline’s interest in the
trusts by or on behalf of the other remainderpersons.

(1) An appraiser/accountant/financial analyst
be designated (preferably upon consent of
all parties).

(2) That fees be advanced (presumably from

the trusts themselves) to pay all fees and
disbursements incurred by your deponent
to date.

(3) That funds be set aside and Segregated for
the payment of Professional fees in
connection with the appraisal.

(4) If your deponent and representatives of the
plaintiff can agree on a settlement trust
figure, that the Settlement figure be
delivered in escrow to William Frank, Esq.

I point out that in the event the action has abated,
Madeline Lynch continues with her 20% interest in the trust
and/ or in the event the parties cannot agree on a trust

32a Appendix 3
McGlinn Affirmations

settlement figure, Madeline Lynch would continue to be a
20% owner of the various trusts. Her interest in the trusts
could be enforced by the appointment of a guardian of her
property in the State of Massachusetts—presumably her
father, Dean Lynch.

s/

Joseph P. McGlinn
Sworn to before me this
16" day of June 1998
Dated: June 16, 1998

s/

Patricia K. Meehan

Notary Public, State of New York
No. 01ME5063427

Qualified in Rockland County
Commission Expires July 22, 1998

Appendix 3 33a
McGlinn Affirmations

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF ROCKLAND
PATRICIA F LAHERTY, LINDA A.
KACEWICZ, and MICHAEL P. FRANCHI,
as Executors of the Estate of DEBRA LYNCH,
Index No. 1109/95
Plaintiffs,
-against-

DEAN LYNCH,
Defendant,

AFFIDAVIT OF GUARD AD LITEM IN
OPPOSITION TO RELIEF REQUESTED IN
ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE

STATE OF NEW YORK )

COUNTY OF ROCKLAND) ss.:

Joseph P. McGlinn, being duly sworm deposes and
says;

I am the Guardian ad Litem for Madeline Lynch in the
above captioned matrimonial action. This affidavit is made in
response to the relief requested in the Order to Show Cause to
the relief requested in the Order to Show Cause signed by
Hon. William E. Sherwood, JSC and dated August 1, 2000. In
my capacity as Guardian ad Litem for Madeline Lynch |
oppose the relief requested in the Order to Show Cause.

The court rendered a decision/order dated, July 17,
2000 granting the plaintiffs motion for the entry of a
judgment of divorce nunc pro tunc upon the condition that the

34a Appendix 3
McGlinn Affirmations

trust for the benefit of Madeline Lynch has been established
and funded. I am in agreement with that decision.

Whether or not the defendant agreed or did not agree
"with plaintiff's request" is not the issue. The issue is whether
or not the plaintiff is entitled to a judgment of divorce nunc
pro tunc.

The so called “modifications to the stipulation” are all
for the benefit of Madeline Lynch and are otherwise simply
necessary draftsmanship issues to have the trust established.
Obviously 100% of the terms of the trust were not dictated
when the action was: settled on January 11, 1996. The
proposed trust has undergone various language revisions over
the past several years.

To clarify the record, Paragraph 4 of defendants —
affidavit submitted in support of the order to show cause
incorrectly quotes me. The substance of my conversation with
Mr. Lynch on July 20,2000 was that. if he believed the court
to be in error that he first attempt to proceed by letter and not
by order to show cause.

Clearly the defendant consented to the entry of a
judgment of divorce in open court on January 11,1996 (see
settlement stipulation).

Since my ward is not renouncing any interest in the
various Franchi family trusts there is no reason, at this stage,
to ascertain values.

Whatever interests Madeline Lynch has in the trusts,
she continues to retain. Whatever interest she may have in her
mother’s estate she continues to retain.

Appendix 3 35a
McGlinn Affirmations

WHEREFORE, it is respectfully requested that the relief
requested in the order to show cause dated August 1, 2000 be
denied.

s/
~ Joseph P. McGlinn

Sworn to before me this
1* day of August, 2000

s/

Patricia K. Meehan

Notary Public, State of New York
No. 01ME5063427

Qualified in Rockland County
Commission Expires July 22, 2001

36a Appendix 3
Report of Orville H. Mann, Jr.
[Pages 36a — 40]

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF ROCKLAND

PATRICIA FLAHERTY, LINDA A.
KACEWICZ and MICHAEL P. FRANCHI
as Executors of the Estate of DEBRA LYNCH,

Plaintiff,

-against- PRELIMINARY REPORT OF
SUCCESSOR GUARDIAN
AD LITEM

Index No. 1109/95
DEAN LYNCH,

Defendant, pro se.

I was appointed Successor Guardian ad litem in the
above entitled divorce action to represent the interests of
Madeline Lynch pursuant to Order of this Court dated August
16, 2000.

A Motion for an Order directing entry of a Judgment
of Divorce

in the above action was brought on by the Plaintiffs
by Notice of Motion dated January 13", 2000. By virtue of
this Court’s Order dated August 22", 2000 vacating an earlier
Order of the Court dated July 17", 2000, the Plaintiffs’
Motion is still pending and is returnable September Ya
2000.
Since my appointment as Successor Guardian | have
reviewed a tremendous number of documents pertaining to
this case. It has been a daunting task to assimilate all of the
facts and issues set out in the pleadings, motions, affidavits,
reports and other documents filed in this case and as of this

Appendix 3 37a
Report of Orville H. Mann, Jr.

date I am not completely satisfied that | have all the
information I need to properly represent the interests of my
ward. I have not yet reviewed, for example, the Federal
Estate Tax Return filed in the Estate of Debra Lynch,
(although the contents of the return were summarized for me

into my possession and reviewed Mr. McGlinn’s files, notes
and memoranda on this case. There may be some thoughts
and insights set down by Mr. McGlinn in those records which
would be helpful to me. | do feel, however, that I have
assimilated enough of the facts of the €ase to represent the
interests of my ward in connection with the pending motion.
In this connection, I would like to thank Dean Lynch, Esq.
and Wiliam Frank, Esq. for their help in familiarizing me
with the facts in this case and providing me with copies of
some of the documents pertaining to the case. I would also
like to thank Robert Berliner, Esq. for assembling all the files
for me and providing a quiet space at the Courthouse for me
to review those files.

It is my position that the Plaintiff's motion for entry of
a Judgement of Divorce Should be granted. But for the
unilateral modification of the Stipulation of Settlement
waiving the requirement that the infant renounce her interest
in various family Trusts, it seems clear from the cases cited
by Plaintiffs that Debra Lynch is entitled to a Judgment of
Divorce. The transcript of the Stipulation of Settlement at
page 21. shows that the application for the divorce was
granted wit the consent of Mr. And Mrs. Lynch subject to
approval by the then Guardian ad litem. Although the then
Guardian ad litem initially disapproved of the settlement,
after the Plaintiffs waived the requirement that the infant
renounce her interest in the family Trusts, the Guardian

38a Appendix 3
Report of Orville H. Mann, Jr.

changed his position and submitted an Affidavit to the Court
swom to August 1, 2000 supporting the granting of the
Plaintiff's Motion for entry of a Judgment of Divorce nunc
pro tunc. Mr. McGlinn makes the point in his Affidavit that
the modification to the Stipulation was for the benefit of
Madeline Lynch. Not only is that true, but it also appears to
me that the waiver by the Plaintiffs clearly benefits Dean
Lynch, Esq. or at least does not harm or prejudice him. Mr.
Lynch currently has the sole legal obligation for his
daughter’s support. Waiver of the renunciation improves his
daughter’s financial position, thereby indirectly benefiting
Mr. Lynch.

Mr. Frank in his Affirmation dated August 10", 2000
summarizes the arguments as to why the modification should
not defeat the plaintiffs mght to entry of a Judgment of
Divorce and the arguments seem persuasive to me. To argue
that a modification in the Stipulation that not only does not
harm the Defendant, but actually benefits him, should be the
basis for denying the Plaintiff the divorce which both parties
had previously stipulated to and had been granted by the
Court, elevates form over substance.

Assuming this Court grants the Plaintiffs’ Motion,
there are difficult issues remaining which need to be resolved
pertaining to the funding of the Million ($1,000,000.00)
Dollar settlement. I disagree with Mr. Frank that the source
of the funds comprising the Million ($1,000,000.00) Dollar
Trust are irrelevant. Mr. McGlinn makes the point in his
Affidavit of January 19", 2000 that he opposes the procedure
for the establishment of the Trust because it was not clear to
him where the money would come from to fund Trust. The
fact that the source of the funds used to fund the Trust is
relevant as far as the infant is concerned can be demonstrated
by the following examples:

Appendix 3 39a
Report of Orville H. Mann, Jr.

Assume that the Estate of the deceases was Seven
Hundred and Fifty Thousand ($750,000.00) Dollars
at the time of her death on September 5", 1996.

Estate have appreciated so that the total value of the
Estate at the present time is One Million

funded only with the One Million ($1,000,000.00)
Dollars from the Estate, Madeline benefits only to the
extent of Seven Hundred and Fifty Thousand
($750,00.00) Dollars or fo put it another way,
Madeline is funding the Trust with Two Hundred and
Fifty Thousand ($250,000.00) Dollars of her own

Assume for the moment that the money or part of the
money to fund the Trust comes from family Trusts of
which Madeline is a potential discretionary
beneficiary. If the Trustees of those Trusts contribute
funds to make up the One Million ($1,000,000.00)
Dollars for Madeline, they might be disinclined to
consider Madeline for further discretionary
distributions from the Trusts. Again, Madeline is in
effect funding her own Trust to the extent that she
loses out on possible future discretionary
distributions from the Trusts.

40a Appendix 3
Report of Orviile H. Mann, Jr.

Although I agree with the establishment of the Trust
for my ward as part of the settlement, I would like to
understand where the money is coming from which will be
used to fund the Trust or, alternately, where the money is not
coming from, and whether the source of the funding of the
Trust is in the best interests of my ward.

Dated: September 15, 2000

Respectfully submitted

s/
Orville H. Mann, Jr., Successor Guardian ad litem

Appendix 4 4la
Chronology of Key Events/Documents
[Pages 41a -— 44a]

ADMINISTRATION PROCEEDING
ESTATE OF DEBRA LYNCH
CHRONOLOGY OF KEY EVENTS/DOCUMENTS

9/5/96 Debra Lynch died, domiciliary of
Massachusetts

7/22/97 Last Will and Testament dated June 28, 1995
filed in Middlesex County Probate and Family
Court

10/20/98 Massachusetts counsel 80€s to above Probate

Court to commence Probate proceedings, for
appointment of Temporary Executors - court
clerk assigns date of appearance for
appointment of Temporary executors:
November 24, 1998

10/20/98 Patricia Flaherty executes affidavit as
petitioner for appointment as Temporary
executrix

11/4/98 Executors serve all interested _parties
(including Dean Lynch) with Notice of Motion
for appointment of Temporary executors

11/6/98 Dean Lynch files Petition for Letters of
Administration in Rockland County Surrogates
Court. - alleges that the decedent's 2 prior wills
of Dec. 1993 and June 1995 are invalid.

11/16/98 Dean Lynch writes to Clerk of Massachusetts
Probate Court. Acknowledges commencement
of Probate Proceedings therein, and requests

42a

11/19/98

11/23/98

11/24/98

11/25/98

1/21/99

02/22/99

3/1/99

3/8/99

Appendix 4

Chronology of Key Events/Documents

Court to recognize its lack of jurisdiction, set
the matter down for a full hearing.

Petition (NEW YORK) dismissed for failure to
annex wills.

Dean Lynch files Amended Petition for Letters
of Administration, annexing copy of above 2
wills, and swearing to existence of no other
wills after conducting due, diligent search.

Temporary Executors appointed in
Massachusetts Probate Court

Original certificate of appointment of
temporary executors by Massachusetts Probate
Court filed' with Rockland County Surrogate

Dean Lynch files Notice of Special
Appearance and Affidavit of Objections to
Petition in Massachusetts Probate Court

Motion to extend appointment of tem
executors granted by Massachusetts Probate
Court

Copy of extension of appointment as
temporary executors in Massachusetts filed
with Rockland County Surrogate

Motion to extend appointment of temporary
executors granted by Massachusetts Probate
Court

Appendix 4 43a
Chronology of Key Events/Documents

3/23/99 Copy of extension Of appointment as
temporary executors in Massachusetts filed
with Rockland County Surrogate

3/29/99 Dean Lynch files Second Amended Petition
for Letters of Administration

/8/99 Temporary Executors of Estate of Debra
Lynch move in Rockland County Surrogates
Court to intervene and to dismiss Amended
Petition and Second Amended Petition for
Letters of Administration

5/17/99 Motion to extend appointment of temporary
executors filed with Massachusetts Probate
Court; service of same on Dean Lynch

/3/99 Letter by Massachusetts counsel to Dean
Lynch advising him that the Massachusetts
Probate Court has ordered a pretrial conference
for June 15, 1999 and that Court will be
sending notice to all parties

6/3/99 PreTrial Notice & Order issued by
Massachusetts Probate Court and sent to Dean
Lynch. - Notice & Order Stated that the case
might be ordered to immediate trial on the date |
of the Pre-Trial.

6/10/99 Dean Lynch writes to Massachusetts Probate
Court. stating: “I am in receipt of the Pre-Trial
Notice & Order dated June 3, 1999 as to the
above captioned matter.” In said letter, Mr.
Lynch advises Court that it has no jurisdiction
over him or his daughter, and that he had made

Appendix 4

Chronology of Key Events/Documents

Asks Court to

6/14/99

6/15/99

9/8/99

a “special appearance” to contest jurisdiction.
He state that he would not attend any such
conference due to his "special appearance.”

take no action until issues are litigated in New
York.

Dean Lynch writes again to Massachusetts
Probate Court (sent by Fax)- advises Trial
Dept. that he will not be appearing on June 15,
1999; that the Rockland County Surrogates
Court has not yet made a decision as to his
Petition for Letters of Administration, and that
based on principles of conflict of laws, the
Estate process, having been commenced earlier
in time in NEW YORK must be resolved first
in NEW YORK. Requests that Court take no
action until then, and advised that he means no
disrespect by his failure to appear.

Massachusetts Probate Court. admits Will to
Probate and grants appointment of Executors
of the Estate

NEW YORK Proceeding for Letters of
Administration dismissed for lack of
jurisdiction as Will admitted to Probate and
executors have been appointed.

Appendix 5 45a
Dean Lynch Letter to Probate Court
[Pages 45a — 46a]

11-16-98

Clerk of the Court

Middlesex Probate and Family Court
208 Cambridge Street

East Cambridge, Massachusetts 02 141

Re: Estate of Debra Lynch
Docket No. 97P3465

Dear Clerk:

I am the husband of Debra Lynch and father of Debra's
daughter Madeline, who is 11 years old.

I understand from the enclosed copies of letters from Mr.
McGlinn dated 11-9-98 and Mr. Frank dated 11-13-98 that
my in-laws have retained the firm of Lourie & Cutler to
probate an alleged “Wil]” of my wife. I have not been served
with any papers as to any action in your Court either as
surviving spouse or guardian of Madeline.

I also enclose copy of letter sent to you on 9-13-96 from
David Howe, Esq. as to this matter which it appears you have
chosen to disregard.

I can only assume that the false death certificate with the
misrepresentations of Mrs. Flaherty dated 9-9-96 was used to
file in your Court. Not only was Debra not “divorced” but she
was not a resident of “Weston, Middlesex. Mass.” Your Court
has no jurisdiction over this matter and any acts are and will
be ultra virus.

I enclose for your review copy of my Petition for Letters of
Administration which has been filed in Rockland County,

46a Appendix 5
Dean Lynch Letter to Probate Court

New York. In order to give you a clear picture of the facts and
circumstances of the situation I also enclose copies of letters
to the Appellate Division-Second Judicial Department, and
Surrogate where jurisdiction is properly placed. In addition, |
enclose the “Statement of Facts” from the Appellate Brief to

give you a point of reference as to the facts in time starting in
1981.

It is respectfully requested that your Honorable Court
recognize it's lack of jurisdiction, or in the alternative set the
matter down for a full hearing as to the issue of jurisdiction
including the factual findings as to competency and
residency.

I would point up that in light of the fact I have not been
served that any action by your Honorable Court is in violation
of the due process clause of the United States Constitution.

Please act accordingly.
Respectfully submitted,

Dean Lynch
Husband of Debra Lynch, pro se

cc wo/enc.; Appellate Division-Second Judicial Department
Hon. Alfred J. Weiner
Lourie & Cutler
William Frank, Esq.
Shays, Kemper
Joseph McGlinn, Esq.

Appendix 6 47a
Decision and Decree of Massachusetts Probate Court
[Pages 47a — 48a}

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
THE TRIAL COURT
PROBATE AND FAMILY COURT DEPARTMENT
MIDDLESEX DIVISION DOCKET NO. 97P3465
IN RE: ESTATE OF DEBRA LYNCH

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

Respondent, Dean Lynch, the objecting party having
failed to appear for pre trial on June 15, 1999: and

Respondent having sent a letter to the Trial
Department of this Court dated June 10, 1999 in which he. a
lawyer by profession, raises the issue of the jurisdiction of
this court when the issue, if any, whether or not the court has
jurisdiction over Respondent; and

The pre trial notice having specifically stated that the
case may be ordered to immediate trial on the date of pre trial
if it appears to the court that one party, through a failure to
appear at the Pre Trial Conference or otherwise will not
present a case;

the respondent not having raised the conventional
objections, viz the issue of domicile or invalidity of the will
due to undue influence, lack of Capacity or improper
execution, the court finds that he will not present a case and
thus orders that the Will be allowed and the executors be
appointed.

6/15/1999 s/ acs:
Date Beverly Weinger Boorstein
Judge of Probate and Family Court

48a Appendix 6
Decree

"5, “GMNOD SRVEOUE XASTTAGIN JO
- parsIoay ONTISY NIGUVD “Vv aI Pa
, ar 2 2 eHPTIMTED.uT “RQAoNNYeeseH JO WA FMeAVOUNNOD

ey JO 4XNOD BAeqGoIg BY JO TRee pue puoy sw 44 ‘seeugTn

a2207 TInz wu sup rwez, quewquTodde PTVs AeyQ pve ALT oy kq peatnbe2 se .
pucgq usaTd evry age gg pres qeya fAarvezponpTz ey 70 quewquTodde jo

ee2Dep ey 70 Adoo oTYderBojoNd

vo st hutobez0z ey Q0Yy9 A4JT9700

zeyqanz y pue ‘32an0> Pres Zo ePpz0de1 SYA Jo Apoqans Bary F802 Yons
_«geuq ‘xeseTpptH 30 AQunoD, eYya UT AI7NOD Ayjureg pure egqeqozg ey Jo

Joqsthey oy}. we T YQ AITL UI 2aman peubyszspun oz ‘T

tee ° - ODLVO
666l 6 S NAT
= was) ca
AUNOD A etd 1
I 7 ae Gt tee “e129

SPT OTT OPTI (eeuc ed pies ve. f a a
de oq (8 U} PIES WL Peosd0p 9} 1 ‘CyereW epew
SDUEP:0008 LU} Payjj0u VeeEq BuABY pelsesa}u; SUCSIED Hy
3348930

‘ ‘fT, r) ’ ‘
Bujeq suoniseigo ou pue peivesse Guracy 20 me] Oy) WIM

PP math .
GRO VOL

pa yes
~— AST TU KY JounymuBis i Ss bIVeN! “eg
/
"401709 pue eGpoymoun J f, {ison 1'by onus eve peUye}UO UjEeY syuEWOrEIS OY) JeY) AIN|ed Jo SenjeUEd

ou sepun ~ ~—K yes pus (s)p4oq apdyaagem vo Ajeuns ou EXT iNQex 2g Aouvernemy
JEUR PUR 'PIEMoOl/s PRY téq Agw — pelvis (5) 1 BERS hi hied nos ©20}0200M
DUT STS HY FE AIPOWY JO VOITIANG ‘241z0 SHEeNYouseEY ‘UO}WOG
Ou) 01 BW Peso Aq use UEEG ETY a}RO1WU0S

jo 2809 v 1euy —Kywweo Aqevey (sseuopned ous |x)

‘uopels xeaey ‘98 X0G “O'd
WIeAN s,1uepPeceN ey) jo Advo B Ly Bucje ‘jUeWNOOP Bi)

"(s)puog
youysmaperx uo Ajesns Guyrj6 wos \dwWoxe Aq (s)ou0jed JNOA joy pereonbes per, ~ KFT jwise) ON UjeI9yM pue

peweu eR/% (S)s/OUONNEd INCA VIBIOymM "‘peivesed yyimosey — Piewes mee — BM @ 16] Peseecep pies veul

(pereubjsep o8 eq jsnu syueledwoou! pus ssourw)
diysuoneey a2uepisey Qwen

oer YW
COOLTO-WR TYSTION "TIOTIS | PUPTRDOT ITT ATIAUHS EPI T raed (n)oudHeg JO SsesPpe PUS OWE

—_—_— oO —sERT E equeiies —~—=«wieeQie 2129
)
oe Sen ORES TEETH UTES BON SYYSUR ST veg Ie BI1TWOD

-_— — eee SORT TEAC HHT SUT ere juepereg jo eweRN

“ON 109900
Pk added yNod (ey O4L
syjasnyoesseyy jo WjeEamuUoWWO) a Ke?

Appendix 7
Renehan Affidavit
[Pages 49a — 50a]
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ADMINISTRATION PROCEEDING
ESTATE OF DEBRA LYNCH

a/k/a Debra L. Lynch & Debra Franchi,
Deceased

Dean Lynch
Petitioner

Patricia Flaherty, Linda A. Kacewicz,
and Michael P. Franchi,
Respondents

el

AFFIDAVIT OF RICHARD W. RENEHAN

1. I am an attorney licensed to practice in the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and a shareholder in the
Boston Jaw firm of Hill & Barlow, located at One _
International Place, Boston, MA 02110.

Z. I am also a member of the Bar of the United
States District Court for the District of Massachusetts, for the
Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, and of the Supreme
Court of the United States (admitted as of 1971).

3. This affidavit is submitted in response to the
untrue allegations made at pages six and seven of the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari filed by Petitioner Dean Lynch, an
attorney who is proceeding pro se. In that affidavit Mr.
Lynch imaccurately states that I made a
“misrepresentation...that Petitioner was the ‘ex-husband’ and
that Decedent had been living in Massachusetts for ‘two years

Appendix 7
Renehan Affidavit

after the divorce’”; and he also inaccurately states that |
admitted to the Court that these statements were untrue.

4. First, my statement to the Court that Petitioner
was the ex-husband of the Decedent was accurate as of the
date made because as of that date the Surrogate Court in New
York (in open court) had issued a decree of divorce based on
the parties’ Agreement for Divorce. The divorce decree was
not entered due to the death of the Decedent.

Second, the Decedent had been living in
Massachusetts for one year, eight months and a week, or
approximately two years prior to her death on September 5,
1996.

I never stated to the Court that my statements were
untrue.

Signed under the pains and penalties of perjury this 14th day
of January, 2002.

s/

Richard W. Renehan

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1053%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
