# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Burton v. Fairman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1027%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 930

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

Y

¥11010 DEC 2 8 200)

No. 01-_ OP FACE OF THE Ciutat

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

+

ANTHONY BURTON,

Petitioner,

J.W. FAIRMAN, Warden,
Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

o¢—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

CHARLES D. WEISSELBERG

ELIZABETH SEMEL

CENTER FOR CLINICAL
EDUCATION

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA
ScHOOL OF Law (BOALT
HALL)

Berkeley, CA 97420-7200

Telephone: 510-643-8159

Facsimile: 510-642-3856

Attorneys for Petitioner

GeorceE A. CUMMING, JR.
Counsel of Record

Kirstin E. Wo LF

DAWN CEIZLER

BrRosECK, PHLEGER &
Harrison LLP

One Market, Spear Tower

San Francisco, CA 94105

Telephone: 415-442-1198

Facsimile: 415-442-1910

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

SPEC

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When a federal habeas petitioner seeks equitable
tolling of the one-year limitations period of the Antiter-
rorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996
(“AEDPA”), 28 U.S.C. §2244(d)(1), should the district
court apply a conclusory “extraordinary circumstances”
standard, such as adopted by the Ninth and some other
Circuits, or should the lower court apply the factual
analysis required by the Sixth Circuit?

2. Does a habeas corpus petitioner discover the
“factual predicate” of his claims, which commences the
running of the AEDPA limitations period under Section
2244(d)(1)(D), when he receives “notice” of some facts,
where those facts will not support a good faith petition
under the pleading and evidentiary standards for collat-
eral relief in the state court?

3. In holding that the petitioner failed to make a
gateway showing of actual innocence under Schlup v.
Delo, 513 U.S. 298 (1995), did the appellate court err by
(a) summarily rejecting compelling new evidence from
the State’s key witness without a hearing of any kind, and
(b) applying a “sufficiency of the evidence” test to the
remaining evidence, rather than the standard required by
Schlup?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
COSESTIOING PRICE GOD ccc sesccvccsctesoassvcves i
Het 8 tk rrr errr rr rire rrr rrr errr ory. 1
pe es 8 er rr err rr re 1
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED................ 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE..............-seeeeeeeee 2
Pan GRO oon oidinc cccdcccvevisescccaserverssees 2
B. The Evidence at Trial in 1982.................. 4
C. Ronald Washington Confesses in 1995 ......... 5
D. 1996: Ronald Confesses Again, and Provides a
Handwriting Sample that Leads to the Authen-
tication of Fils. 1995 LAG? s...cscccsccvonenssss 7
E. Mr. Burton’s Efforts to Secure Collateral Relief.... 9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....... 11

A. The Court Should Resolve Circuit Disagreement
on the Standards for “Equitable Tolling” of the
AEDPA Limitations Period, and Clarify the Cir-
cumstances Under Which Equitable Tolling is

WIN osc cc i'd x cece 11
1. The Conflict and its Importance............ 11
2. The Need for Resolution and Guidance.... 15

B. The Court Should Clarify that the Limitations
Period Begins to Run when a Reasonably Dili-
gent Petitioner Can File a Non-Frivolous State
Femvens FOGMOR: «sis ecdenedsd oes 18

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. The Court Should Grant Review or Summarily
Reverse Because the Court of Appeals’ Summary
Disposition Conflicts with Schlup v. Delo....... 23

1. The Court of Appeals Erred in Not Remand-
ing for a Credibility Determination......... 24

2. Alternatively, the Court of Appeals Inap-
propriately Applied the Jackson v. Virginia
Standard in Rejecting the New Evidence... 26

ER 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Allen v. Lewis, 255 F.3d 798 (9th Cir. 2001) .......... 17
Andrews v. Orr, 851 F.2d 146 (6th Cir. 1988)......... 12
Baja v. Ducharme, 187 F.3d 1075 (9th Cir. 1999) ...... 21
Baskin v. United States, 998 F.Supp. 188 (D. Conn.
6 bei dCs RAT kL KREME na 14
Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614 (1998) ......... 24

Calderon v. United States District Court (Beeler), 128
F.3d 1283 (9th Cir. 1997), overruled in part on other
grounds, Calderon v. United States District Court
(Kelly), 163 F.3d 530 (9th Cir. 1998)....... 11, 12, 13, 14

Davis v. Johnson, 158 F.3d 806 (5th Cir. 1998)..... 11, 12
Duncan v. Walker,-533 U.S. 167, 121 S.Ct. 2120

Sas sce kv ans eenees tind saad area tou 11, 19, 20
Dunlap v. United States, 250 F.3d 1001 (6th Cir.

RNa vcd ukasuaad eccaaivees cons bee eens 12, 13, 15
Easterwood v. Champion, 213 F.3d 1321 (10th Cir.

POT Tey Pee Pr re may: Pe mne ane Pree 15
Erwin v. Elo, 130 F.Supp.2d 887 (E.D. Mich. 2001) .... 13
Felder v. Johnson, 204 F.3d 168 (5th Cir. 2000)........ 15

Flanagan v. Johnson, 154 F.3d 196 (Sth Cir. 1998)..... 21
Frye v. Hickman, __ F.3d ___, 2001 U.S. App. Lexis

Berek CO. Ge FP A bbe Wihd ee dkercan eden lees 14
Gibson v. Klinger, 232 F.3d 799 (10th Cir. 2000) ...... 12
Glass v. Vaughn, 65 F.3d 13 (3d Cir. 1995) ........... 25

oe eS:

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Harris v. Hutchinson, 209 F.3d 325 (4th Cir.
ry rr rere en er errr 11, 12, 14
Hasan v. Galaza, 254 F.3d 1150 (9th Cir. 2001)..... 21, 22
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979)............ 27, 28
Jihad v. Hvass, 267 F.3d 803 (8th Cir. 2001) .......... 11
Johnson v. McCaughtry, 265 F.3d 559 (7th Cir. 2001) .... 12
Kyles v. Whitley, 514 US. 419 (1995).............006. 23
McCoy v. Norris, 125 F.3d 1186 (8th Cir. 1997)....... 25
Miller v. Marr, 141 F.3d 976 (10th Cir. 1998)...... 11, 12
Miller v. New Jersey State Dept. of Corrections, 145
Pus: We Ge a I bob's vedoedebeebecsceesecs 11
Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103 (1935) .............. 23
Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478 (1986) ............ 26, 27
O’Dell v. Netherland, 95 F.3d 1214 (4th Cir. 1996)
(en banc), aff'd on other grounds, 521 U.S. 151
Cs Kid au boca een ee ere ceded eee 25
People v. Duvall, 9 Cal. 4th 464, 37 Cal. Rptr. 2d 259
CE cnc cows en senda h dete ees as enhendees nes 7, 21
People v. Martinez, 36 Cal. 3d 816, 205 Cal. Rptr.
Se Es ev 0k 5 ee ees pekeres ees 7, 21
Sandvik v. United States, 177 F.3d 1269 (11th Cir.
NK bana aheeans aka Fa ea cae Peay on hae 12
Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298 (1995) ......... 3, 11, 23-29
Smith v. McGinnis, 208 F.3d 13 (2d Cir. 2000)........ 12

Stead v. Head, 219 F.3d 1298 (11th Cir. 2000)......... 14

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Taliani v. Chrans, 189 F.3d 597 (7th Cir. 1999)........ 14
United States ex rel. Bell v. Pierson, 267 F.3d 544 (7th

i elke ee che ee eee ee CR een eeeteks c4ee% 25

United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976)............ 23
United States v. Griffin, 58 FSupp.2d 863 (N.D. Il.

EE ao ecg ekene ks abe 6b SERS EUSO ES OSSSE07 13

DE RUSS T Eb Pine badeaeunseébeeesntcedisesense es 13
Whalem/Hunt v. Early, 233 F.3d 1146 (9th Cir. 2000) .... 15
Wilkerson v. Cain, 233 F.3d 886 (5th Cir. 2000) ....25, 28
Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420 (2000)............... 19

Statutes & RUuLEs

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of
1996, 110 Stat. 1214, 28 U.S.C. §2244(d)(1)..... passim

28 United States Code

NN foc wsicnuyeeueneevpedtsnessussnedens 1
§2244(d)(1)(D) .....0.ceceececececeeceeeeeeee 3, 18-22
RNS hE Se os eal a 1
ERE el ee ee 1, 20, 22
i hee. oo hrc tieedecthince Pen 24

California Rules of Court
Nn a a oh ak edie hn ait si uewaw an 16

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
ey RG nbs leer dds beeen ed enewaens 17, 20
eS ee SS. RR rr ee porn rs 19
Local Rule 26.1, United States District Court for
the Central District of California.................. 10
OTHER AUTHORITIES
AMERICAN HERITAGE DICTIONARY OF THE ENGLISH LAN-
SAE Ge Ge Bi on cawntbetiweesndsescedes seuss 19

Wesster’s TH1rRD New Int’t DictTIONArRy, UNABRIDGED
PE cuicdehevaseuracaesinekevistldueccaenttecin 19

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court wf appeals (App., infra, 1a-3a)
is not reported. The final order of the district court (App.,
4a), and the final report and recommendation of its mag-
istrate judge, adopted by the district court (App., 5a-12a),
are not reported.

JURISDICTION

The district court had jurisdiction of petitioner’s
habeas corpus petition under 28 U.S.C. §2254; its final
judgment was entered November 2, 1998. App., 4a. The
court of appeals issued a timely Certificate of Appeal-
ability (App., 13a-16a), and thus had jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. §2253(c)(1). Its judgment was entered August 15,
2001 (App., 1a), and a timely petition for rehearing was
denied October 2, 2001 (App., 17a). This petition for a writ
of certiorari therefore is due on or before January 2, 2002.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. §2244(d), as amended by the Antiterrorism
and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”), is
printed at App., infra, 18a-21a.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary

Petitioner Anthony Burton was convicted of murder
in the 1981 death of one Fred Wright. The decedent was
accosted by three persons at the end of an alley in
Pomona, California, where he was shot by at least two of
them. The State’s chief trial witness was Ronald Washing-
ton, a “scaird” thirteen-year-old boy who admitted that
he was one of the three assailants. Granted immunity by
the State, Ronald denied that he was armed, and claimed
instead that Mr. Burton was one of the two shooters. The
State also immunized Ronald’s brother, sixteen-year-old
Derek Washington, who likewise exculpated himself and
implicated Mr. Burton. The prosecutor therefore urged
the jury to convict Mr. Burton because of “the direct
evidence, the eyewitness testimony of Ronald Washington and
Derek Washington that they actually saw the guns fired.” (ER
448).}

Thirteen years after the trial, Ronald voluntarily
came forward, and twice confessed that his trial testi-
mony was false, that Mr. Burton was actually innocent of
Wright’s ,murder, and that he perjured himself at trial
because, in Ronald’s own words, “D.A. Solomon said if I
put him Anthony Burton at the seen, he would drop charges on
me.” (ER 117). Ronald made his first confession in a letter
he wrote Mr. Burton and mailed to petitioner’s wife in
1995 (ER 109). Ronald then confessed again when he was

1 “ER” references are to the excerpts of record below. All
emphasis in materials quoted in this Petition has been added.

interviewed by a criminal investigator in 1996 (ER
114-17).

After marshaling the evidence of Mr. Burton’s actual
innocence and prosecutorial misconduct at trial, his vol-
unteer lawyer filed a fully developed .abeas petition
with the Supreme Court of California (ER 158). The court
denied it without comment on January 14, 1998. (ER 179).
Mr. Burton, however, did not learn of the denial for over
two months. When his lawyer finally told him what had
happened, he also told Mr. Burton that he could not assist
him in pursuing federal habeas relief (ER 8). With his
wife’s help, Mr. Burton filed a pro se petition (his first) in
the district court on May 19, 1998 (ER 1).

The district court dismissed the petition on pro-
cedural grounds, holding that it was filed about two
months late under the one-year limitations proviso of the
AEDPA, 28 U.S.C. §2244(d)(1), and that there was no
basis for equitable tolling. App., 4a-12a. The district court
completely ignored the question whether, under Schlup v.
Delo, 513 U.S. 298 (1995) (“Schlup”), the evidence of peti-
tioner’s innocence provided a “gateway” to the plenary
consideration of his constitutional claims.

The court of appeals granted Certificates of Appeal-
ability as to equitable and statutory tolling, and on the
Schlup issues that the district court had ignored. (App.,
13a-16a). The panel that then heard the case affirmed the
dismissal, holding that (1) equitable tolling is reserved for
unexplained “extraordinary circumstances;” (2) petitioner
discovered the “factual predicate of his claims” (28 U.S.C.
§2244(d)(1)(D)), when his wife received Ronald’s letter of
confession in 1995, rather than when petitioner obtained

admissible evidence of it in 1996; and (3) Ronald’s letter
“is not sufficient proof of Burton’s innocence, given
Derek Washington’s similar testimony, inculpating Bur-
ton at trial.” App., 2a-3a. ;

B. The Evidence at Trial in 1982

The Pomona police arrested four suspects in the mur-
der of Wright. Two were adults — one Anthony Sneed and
petitioner Burton — and the other two were the juvenile
Washington brothers. It became clear, however, that only
three of the four were complicit, for all the witnesses
testified that one of the four broke off from the others,
and remained “up the alley” when Wright was shot at the
alley’s mouth. That fourth person was objectively inno-
cent within the meaning of Schlup, and had all four been
tried together, one would have been exonerated.

But the jury was not permitted to see the truth in this
light. The State tried only the two adults, Sneed and_ Mr.
Burton, and granted immunity to the Washington
brothers. The evidence at trial established that Sneed was
one of the shooters. There was also considerable evidence
that one or both Washington brothers also shot the dece-
dent, and that Mr. Burton did not. Ronald Washington ~
admitted he wore a distinctively orange-colored jacket
(ER 321), and prosecution eyewitness Hal Spring testified
that he saw the assailant wearing this jacket fleeing the
murder scene with a gun in his hand. (ER 242, 251-52).
Indeed, as Ronald confessed many years later: “Cause in
the alley, I was their. Howl Spring seen me their at the seen.
When all this took place, Anthony Burton was up the
alley ...” (ER 109). Another prosecution eyewitness,

Leon Moore, corroborated Spring’s account, testifying
that Ronald was “holding something” at the time of
Wright’s murder. (ER 281-83). Defense eyewitness Quin-
ola Arnold testified that Mr. Burton was “up the alley”
speaking with her at the very moment the gunfire
erupted at the alley’s mouth. (ER 401-08). And Derek
Washington for his part had an argument with the dece-
dent at a party just hours before the shooting. (ER 394).

The State sought to overcome this evidence by offer-
ing immunity to the two juveniles. Ronald and Derek
Washington each then testified that Mr. Burton was at the
mouth of the alley and was the second shooter, and that
Derek was the innocent fourth suspect “up the alley”
when the murder occurred. (ER 309-13; 362-66). Mr. Bur-
ton is now serving a life sentence for a murder because of
— again to use the prosecutor’s words to the jury — “the
eyeitness testimony of Ronald Washington and Derek Wash-
ington that they actually saw the guns fired.” (ER 448).

C. Ronald Washington Confesses in 1995

Thirteen years after the trial, Ronald Washington
twice confessed that the facts were quite different than he
and his brother portrayed them at the trial. Ronald made
his first confession in a letter that he wrote to petitioner,
and mailed to him in care of his wife, Robin Burton. It
states:

“I am writing to let you know, I know it has
been along time ago, in [and] you know I was
scaird even though Mr. Solomon told me he
didn’t wont me he wanted the both of you.
Cause you was older. That why I put you at the

6

seen. If I can I would like to clean it up now if I
can.

“I know it has been a long time in I should have
been did this cause I do allway think about you,
cause I wish thing[s] could have been different.
So now I am coming forward. I wish I can
change something. I no I can’t change the pass.
But I can do right by it now.

“Cause in the alley I was their. Howl Spring
seen me their at the seen. When all this took
place Anthony Burton was up the alley cause he
really didn’t no his way around. I most definely
no Anthony Burton didn’t do it. /s/ Ronald
Washington.” (ER 109).

After receiving this letter, Robin Burton asked a state
judge how she could use it to clear her husband. The
judge replied that she should “seek counsel and have
counsel begin an investigation” to determine “if it would
be appropriate to seek some relief either in a trial court or
at the appellate level,” because “a judge would simply
not have the jurisdiction to act on your request without
the assistance of attorneys.” (ER 180).

This was good advice, for the State has consistently
argued that Ronald’s 1995 letter was unauthenticated,
inadmissible and incompetent - labeling it “an undated,
unaddressed, unsworn, almost unintelligible letter, pur-
portedly written by Ronald” - that would not entitle
petitioner to any relief, or even an evidentiary hearing,

under the strict pleading standards to which the Califor-
nia courts subject collateral relief petitioners.?

D. 1996: Ronald Confesses Again, and Provides a
Handwriting Sample that Leads to the Authentica-
tion of His 1995 Letter

After a long search, petitioner’s wife found an attor-
ney, James Farley, willing to assist her husband on a pro
bono basis. Farley reviewed the police reports and the
evidence and transcript of the trial, and enlisted the aid
of two volunteer experts, a criminal investigator and a
handwriting examiner. (ER 161). The investigator, Wil-
liam Kurta, located Ronald at a state prison, and inter-
viewed him there on May 22, 1996. Ronald immediately
asked him, “there’s no statute of limitations on murder, is
there?,” to which Mr. Kurta truthfully replied that there
was not. (ER 115). Ronald therefore knew that the state-
ments he had made in his letter, and those he was about
to make to the investigator, were against his penal inter-
est. Nevertheless, with nothing to gain and much to lose,
Ronald confessed again, as Kurta recorded in his memo
of the same day:

2 See the State’s “Informal Response” in the Supreme Court
of California, ER 172-78 (citing People v. Duvall, 9 Cal. 4th 464,
474, 37 Cal. Rptr. 2d 259 (1995) and People v. Martinez, 36 Cal. 3d
816, 821-22, 205 Cal. Rptr. 852 (1984)).

The State used the same words - “an undated, unaddressed,
unsworn, almost unintelligible letter, purportedly written by
Ronald” — in assailing Ronald’s confession in the court of
appeals below (Appellees’ Brief, pp. 36, 40).

8

e “[Ronald] Washington said that at the time of
the shooting, Burton was at the top of the
alley with Washington’s brother, Derrick
Ross. He stated that earlier they had gone to
a party and that Burton got into it with some
guys and they had charged at Burton, which
is when Washington gave Burton the gun to
defend himself with. When they split from
the party, Burton gave Washington the gun
back in the car on the way back to his
mother’s house.” (ER 115-16).

e “While they were kicking back at his
mother’s house, they saw Berty, aka ‘Twirp,’
Fred [Wright] the guy that got killed, and
‘Bobo,’ a girl, pass by. When they ran
through the back yard, Derrick and Anthony
Burton, stopped in the middle of the alley.
Washington said that he had a gun and that
Anthony Sneed had a .22 cal rifle, and they
both ran down the alley and that is when ‘the
shit happened.’ Washington said that the wit-
ness Hal Springs then saw Washington and
Leon in his back yard.” Id.

e “Washington said that the D.A. told him that
if he put Burton at the scene, he would drop
charges against him, which he subsequently
did. . . . He said he was 12 or 13 years old at
the time, and didn’t want to go to jail.” Id.

The investigator then noted “throughout the inter-
view, it was obvious that the way Washington was telling
it, he was the actual shooter but is not going to say so as
he believes he would then be charged with the murder.”
(ER 116). He therefore asked Ronald for a handwriting
sample, and in Mr. Kurta’s presence, Ronald wrote and
signed this statement:

“5-22-96

“D.A. Solomon said if I put him Anthony Burton
at the seen he would drop charges on me. /s/
Ronald Washington.” (ER 117).

Richard Fox, the pro bono handwriting expert, then
compared the 1995 letter to this sample, and to other
known samples of Ronald’s handwriting. In a report
dated November 19, 1996, Mr. Fox concluded that the
person who executed the 1995 letter was Ronald Wash-
ington. (ER. 118-20, and Exhs. 2-5 thereto).

The documents reveal Ronald’s perjury; he told the
jury that petitioner Burton shot Fred Wright when in fact
Mr. Burton “was up the alley” just as Quinola Arnold
testified at trial. He told the jury that he did not have a
gun, when in fact he ran down the alley with a gun when
“the shit happened,” just as Hal Spring testified at trial.
And Ronald told the jury that he “didn’t know” about a
conversation with the prosecutor, when in fact the pros-
ecutor told him he would “drop charges” if “I put
Anthony Burton at the seen” of Wright’s murder.

E. Mr. Burton’s Efforts to Secure Collateral Relief

After obtaining this reliable and admissible evidence
of Mr. Burton’s innocence and Ronald’s State-induced
perjury, attorney Farley filed a comprehensive habeas
petition in the Supreme Court of California on March 21,
1997. (ER 158). It was denied without comment on Janu-
ary 14, 1998 (ER 179), but neither the court nor the State’s
Attorney General notified Mr. Burton, presumably
because he was represented by volunteer counsel. Attor-
ney Farley, however, did not inform Mr. Burton of the

10

denial for over two months, and Mr. Burton thus did not
learn of the ruling until March 21, 1998. At this point Mr.
Farley said that he “could not represent [Burton] on the
federal level as he is not familiar with federal procedure
and due to his trial case load.” (ER. 8). Counsel’s unfamil-
iarity with federal procedure also undoubtedly explains
why he did not tell Mr. Burton of the time remaining
under the AEDPA’s one-year limitations period.

Mr. Burton was left to proceed on his own. On March
22, the very next day after he learned of the state court’s
denial, he asked the prison librarian for the habeas
corpus petition form that the district court requires peti-
tioners to use,? and for standard reference books on fed-
eral habeas practice. But the prison library was not even
open for business until June 1998, several months later.
“Paging services” were available when Mr. Burton
needed help in March, yet - as prison staff were eventu-
ally forced to acknowledge - the books he requested
“were not and still are not available.”* The prison never
provided the mandatory habeas corpus forms, and peti-
tioner’s wife eventually had to drive to the district court
in Los Angeles to obtain them. (ER 50). With the assis-
tance of his wife, Mr. Burton prepared and filed a pro se
petition (his first) in the district court on May 19, 1998.
(ER 1).

3 See Local Rule 26.1 (C.D. Cal.) (“A petition for a writ of
habeas corpus . . . shall be submitted on the forms approved and
supplied by the Court.”)

4 See Memorandum of Corcoran Prison Litigation Assistant
Tamara Cowell to Deputy Att’y Gen’l Wm. Davis, Jr., dated
October 8, 1998 (district court docket Item No. 23, Dec. Davis,
Jr., cited at App., 9a, n. 1).

11

Without considering Schlup at all, the district court
denied the petition as untimely under the AEDPA. (App.,
4a-12a). The court of appeals affirmed, holding that equi-
table tolling was not available, that petitioner discovered
the “factual predicate” of his claims when his wife
received Ronald’s initial letter in 1995, and that Ronald’s
letter was not “sufficient proof” of Mr. Burton’s inno-
cence, given the testimony at trial by his brother, Derek
Washington. App., 2a-3a.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. The Court Should Resolve Circuit Disagreement on
the Standards for “Equitable Tolling” of the
AEDPA Limitations Period, and Clarify the Circum-
stances Under Which Equitable Tolling is Available

1. The Conflict and its Importance

Although the State urged otherwise below, the courts
of appeals are generally agreed that AEDPA’s one-year
limitations proviso is subject to equitable tolling.> The
lower courts do not, however, agree at all as to the
circumstances in which equitable tolling is, or may be,

5 See, e.g., Jihad v. Hvass, 267 F.3d 803, 805 (8th Cir. 2001);
Harris v. Hutchinson, 209 F.3d 325, 328-30 (4th Cir. 2000); Calderon
v. United States District,Court (Beeler), 128 F.3d 1283, 1288-89 (9th
Cir. 1997), overruled in part on other grounds, Calderon v. United
States District Court (Kelly), 163 F.3d 530, 541 (9th Cir. 1998) (en
banc); Davis v. Johnson, 158 F.3d 806, 810 (Sth Cir. 1998); Miller v.
New Jersey State Dept. of Corrections, 145 F.3d 616, 618 (3d Cir.
1998); Miller v. Marr, 141 F.3d 976, 978 (10th Cir. 1998). ,
Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167, 121 S.Ct. 2120, 2129-31 (2001)
(concurring opinions of Justices Souter and Stevens).

12

available. A number of the circuits have held that tolling
is only available in “rare,” “exceptional,” or “extraordin-
ary” circumstances,® and the court below adhered to that
view as well. App., 2a-3a.

But these catch-phrases have little meaning, and pro-
vide no real guidance to the district courts that must
apply them to the realities of the facts at hand. The Sixth
Circuit, in contrast, employs a more nuanced approach
_ that gives district courts something meaningful and tang-
ible to consider. In Dunlap v. United States, 250 F.3d 1001
(6th Cir. 2001), the circuit directed its district courts to
consider five factors: (1) the petitioner’s lack of actual
notice of the filing requirement; (2) the petitioner’s lack
of constructive knowledge of the filing requirement; (3)
diligence in pursuing one’s rights; (4) absence of preju-
dice to the State; and (5) the petitioner’s reasonableness
in remaining ignorant of the legal requirement for filing
his claim. (Id., 250 F.3d at 1008, citing a pre-AEDPA
decision, Andrews v. Orr, 851 F.2d 146, 151 (6th Cir. 1988)).
Recognizing that other circuits apply a “rare or excep-
tional” or “extraordinary” circumstances standard, the
Sixth Circuit. nevertheless stated:

6 See Johnson v. McCaughtry, 265 F.3d 559 (7th Cir. 2001)
(“extraordinary circumstances”); Harris v. Hutchinson, 209 F.3d
325, 329-30 (4th Cir. 2000) (same); Smith v. McGinnis, 208 F.3d 13,
17 (2d Cir. 2000) (same); Sandvik v. United States, 177 F.3d 1269,
1271 (11th Cir. 1999) (same); Miller v. Marr, 145 F.3d 616, 618 (3d
Cir. 1998) (same); Gibson v. Klinger, 232 F.3d 799, 808 (10th Cir.
2000) (“in rare and exceptional circumstances”); Davis v.
Johnson, 158 F.3d 806, 811 (Sth Cir. 1998) (same); Calderon v.
United States District Court (Beeler), 128 F.3d at 1288-89
(“extraordinary circumstances beyond a prisoner’s control”).

13

“While we value continuity in standards with
our sister circuits, we think it more important to
be consistent within our own Circuit as to the
standards we are to apply. We therefore hold
that hereafter equitable tolling shall only be
appropriate, in habeas and all other cases, after
a court has properly considered and balanced
the factors set out in Andrews v. Orr unless there
is congressional authority to the contrary.”
(Dunlap, 250 F.3d at 1009.)

The Court should resolve this conflict, particularly
because the catch-phrases employed by circuits other
than the Sixth simply generate confusion in the district
courts. Here, Mr. Burton’s volunteer lawyer failed to
advise him for over two months that the California court
had denied his habeas petition, and then resigned with-
out advising petitioner that the AEDPA limitations period
had resumed running. Once Mr. Burton learned of the
denial, he immediately sought help in the prison law
library, only to learn that the library had no habeas
corpus forms, and could offer little assistance. These
same circumstances have provoked quite different results
in the lower courts.

A number of courts have held that an attorney's
abandonment of a client or failure to advise the client
about a court decision may constitute grounds for equita-
ble tolling. See, e.g., Calderon v. District Court (Beeler), 128
F.3d at 1289 (equitable tolling where appointed capital
habeas counsel resigned); Erwin v. Elo, 130 F.Supp.2d 887,
890 (E.D. Mich. 2001) (equitable tolling where petitioner’s
counsel never notified him of state court ruling); Vasquez
v. Greiner, 68 F.Supp.2d 307 (S.D.N.Y. 1999) (ordering a
hearing to determine whether petitioner’s counsel failed
to notify client of decision); United States v. Griffin, 58

14

F.Supp.2d 863, 870 (N.D. Ill. 1999) (ordering a hearing to
determine if attorney failed to file an appeal after being
instructed to do so); Baskin v. United States, 998 F.Supp.
188, 189-90 (D. Conn. 1998) (equitable tolling where coun-
sel failed to notify petitioner that certiorari had been
denied).

On the other hand, some courts take the view that, no
matter the facts, “extraordinary” or its synonyms trump
all. See, e.g., Frye v. Hickman, __ F.3d __, 2001 U.S. App.
Lexis 25914 (9th Cir. 2001) (as amended) (attorney’s mis-
calculation of time period is not an extraordinary circum-
stance); Stead v. Head, 219 F.3d 1298, 1300 (11th Cir. 2000)
(same); Harris v. Hutchinson, 209 F.3d at 330-31 (same);
Taliani v. Chrans, 189 F.3d 597, 598 (7th Cir. 1999) (same).
There may be stronger reasons to permit tolling where a
lawyer fails to advise about a ruling that a client cannot
discover through other means, rather than when a lawyer
misinterprets a statute, but surely clients ought to be able
to rely upon their attorneys in both sets of circumstances.
Regrettably, the cases do not generally discuss why the
different outcomes may be justified, and so they promote
arbitrary decisionmaking.”

The same conflict and arbitrariness attend cases that
address whether severe problems in prison libraries may
support tolling. At least two circuits have recognized that
inadequacies in a prison law library may be grounds for

7 Frye may purport to confine Beeler to its facts; counsel in
Beeler was appointed by statute. See Frye, 2001 U.S. App. Leus
25914, at *4. Nevertheless, a client ought to be justified in
relying upon an attorney, whether appointed or pro bono, and it
is difficult to understand why the fact of appointment should
make one case suitable for equitable tolling and the other not.

15

equitable tolling. See Whalem/Hunt v. Early, 233 F.3d 1146
(9th Cir. 2000) (en banc) (failure to provide copy of
AEDPA may support tolling); Easterwood v. Champion, 213
F.3d 1321 (10th Cir. 2000) (lack of library access to an
appellate case may support tolling). The Fifth Circuit
disagrees. In its view, ignorance of the law — even when
occasioned by the prison’s failure to provide a copy of the
AEDPA to the petitioner - is insufficient to warrant toll-
ing. Felder v. Johnson, 204 F.3d 168, 171-74 (5th Cir. 2000).

2. The Need for Resolution and Guidance

The standard for equitable tolling matters, and a
meaningful standard matters most. An undifferentiated
conclusory standard for tolling, such as “extraordinary
circumstances,” leads to decision by whim. On the same
essential facts, some courts will reject petitions, while
others will accept them. The current state of confusion
also provokes unnecessary litigation because petitioners
do not know what reasons will permit a late filing. This
Court should grant review, determine the appropriate
standard for tolling, and provide clear guidance to the
lower courts.

This case shows why the standard is important, and
it affords an appropriate opportunity to clarify the law
for the lower courts. Had Mr. Burton’s petition been filed
within the Sixth Circuit, it is likely that equitable tolling
would have been granted under the Dunlap approach, for
these reasons:

e Mr. Burton lacked actual and cor«tructive
notice, because for 66 days, he was jnorant

16

of the state court’s denial. Mr. Burton reason-
ably depended on his attorney for informa-
tion about his case and a person with a life
sentence ought not lose the opportunity to
file a first federal petition because he was
abandoned by his lawyer.®

e Mr. Burton exercised due diligence in pursu-
ing his rights. His wife sought legal advice
and representation right after she received
Ronald’s original letter. The volunteer attor-
ney and his experts appropriately estab-
lished Ronald’s authorship of the letter and
its credibility, and all the new evidence was
submitted to the state court in a petition
faithful to the exhaustion and factual devel-
opment obligations of federal-state comity.

e The very day after Mr. Burton learned of the
state court denial, he asked the prison for
habeas forms and books on habeas practice.
See ante, p. 10.

e There was no prejudice to the State. All the
evidence and arguments that petitioner later
presented in federal court were also present-
ed to the California court, and so the State
was not put in the position of defending new
claims or evidence in federal court. Indeed,
the magistrate judge below argued that Mr.
Burton did not “need” the prison library,
because his federal petition presented “the

8 States wishing to assure that the AEDPA “clock” resumes
running instanter can easily mail notice of state court’s denial to
the prisoner, whose whereabouts are certainly no secret. Cf,,
CauiForniA Rutes or Court Rule 2(a)(2) (180-day period for filing
notice of appeal shortened to 60 days whenever the adverse
party serves notice of entry of judgment “upon the party filing
the notice of appeal.”)

17

same claims petitioner raised before the
California Supreme Court,” (Apr., 9a),
thereby demonstrating lack of prejudice to
the State.?

e Mr. Burton was reasonable in finding an
attorney and in depending upon the attor-
ney’s expertise. Mr. Burton had been in regu-
lar contact with his lawyer and had no
reason to suspect that counsel would fail to
tell him of the state court’s ruling. Thus, it
would not be fair to impute to Mr. Burton
knowledge acquired by his attorney but not
communicated to him. Indeed, a holding that
prisoners cannot rely upon their attorneys
for information would prompt daily collect
phone calls to state courts, an outcome that
this Court ought not promote.

At the end of the day, however, none of this — not
even the evidence of petitioner’s innocence — mattered in
the court below. The court simply repeated the “extraor-
dinary circumstances” palliative and, strangely, cited a
decision that would seemingly support equitable tolling.
App., 3a.!° Because the equitable tolling standard in the

9 Although the “relation back” provision of Feb. R. Cu. P.
15(c) may not apply — at least not technically - to a federal
petition whose core, as here, is the previously-filed state
petition, the Rule nevertheless reflects the well-settled principle
that an adversary is never prejudiced when a later pleading
presents claims that “arose out of the conduct, transaction or
“occurrence set forth, or attempted to be set forth” in the earlier
pleading.

10 The panel cited Allen v. Lewis, 255 F.3d 798 (9th Cir. 2001)
for the proposition that it will normally be more difficult to
prevail “where [the Petitioner] encounters the ‘extraordinary
circumstances’ in the beginning or middle of the limitations

18

Ninth Circuit is merely the conclusory “I know it when I
see it” test, the panel was not obliged to weigh or indeed
even mention any of the compelling facts in his case.
Neither was the panel required to address the various
decisions holding that an attorney’s abandonment of his
client or failure to notify a client of court rulings may
support tolling. The palliative simply displaced reasoned
analysis.

The difference among circuits is important to resolve
and the lower courts need guidance. Review should
therefore be granted particularly where, as here, there is
strong evidence of actual innocence.

B. The Court Should Clarify that the Limitations
Period Begins to Run when a Reasonably Dili-
gent Petitioner Can File a-Non-Frivolous State
Habeas Petition.

AEDPA provides that the one-year period of limita-
tions does not begin to run “until the date on which the
factual predicate of the claim or claims presented could
have been discovered in the exercise of due diligence.” 28
U.S.C. §2244(d)(1)(D). In this case, both the lower courts
held that petitioner “discovered” the factual predicate
of his claims when Ronald’s recantation letter was
received by petitioner’s wife in 1995, not when
Ronald was interviewed or his letter authenticated in

period rather than where he encounters them at the end of the
limitations period.” App., 2a-3a. But Mr. Burton was not timely
advised that his state habeas corpus petition had been denied
and, once he learned, he encountered enormous obstacles at the
prison. This occurred at the very end of the limitations period,
not “at the beginning” or even “in the middle.”

19

1996. (See App., 2a; 1la, n. 5). When the letter was
received, Mr. Burton was on notice that he had facts to
investigate, and that he needed to muster competent,
admissible evidence of those facts, all of which he did
through the considerable and diligent efforts of the law-
yer and the experts who came to his aid. Ante, pp. 6-9.
But respectfully, until they did so, petitioner did not have
the “factual predicate” for his claims. This Court should
clarify the meaning of “factual predicate,” for a holding
that equates mere “notice” with “factual predicate” is
contrary to the plain meaning of the statute and defeats
the larger purposes of the AEDPA statute. Rather, “fac-
tual predicate” must mean sufficient credible facts to
permit the filing of a habeas corpus petition under state
pleading rules and the comity to which those rules are
entitled under the AEDPA’s exhaustion and factual devel-
opment branches.

One must “begin, as always, with the language of the
statute.” Duncan v. Walker, 121 S.Ct. at 2124. The phrase
that Congress selected was “factual predicate,” not
“notice of possible facts,” or information “reasonably cal-
culated to lead to the discovery of admissible evidence,”
to borrow the familiar phrase of Fev. R. Crv. P. 26(b)(1). To
“predicate” ordinarily means to “found,” “base” or
“establish,” indicating that the limitations period begins
to run when a petitioner has uncovered the essential
foundation of the legal claim.

Moreover, the statutory phrase must be read in light
of the overall statute and its purposes. In Williams v.

11 See Wesster’s THIRD New Int’t Dicrionary, UNABRIDGED, at
1786 (1993); AmericAN Heritace DicTIONARY OF THE ENGLISH
LANGuAGE, at 1426 (3d ed. 1996).

20

Taylor, 529 U.S. 420, 434 (2000), the Court interpreted one
part of the AEDPA, §2254(e)(2), “to avoid[ } putting it in
needless tension with §2254(d).” Likewise, in Duncan, the
Court drew support for its construction of §2244(d)(2)
from the overall purposes of AEDPA; the interpretation
of the statute was “consistent with ‘AEDPA’s purpose
to further the principles of comity, finality, and federal-
ism.’ ” Duncan, supra, 121 S.Ct. at 2127. Construing “fac-
tual predicate” simply as “notice” would create needless
tension with another part of the statute, section
2254(e)(2), and_would detract from the overall purposes
of AEDPA.

Here’s the problem: In an ordinary civil case in which
permissive, “notice pleading” is the norm, a plaintiff may
file a complaint with a good faith but bare-bones allega-
tion of facts not within the plaintiff's own personal
knowledge, and the plaintiff can depend on the ability to
depose witnesses and establish the essential facts during
the civil discovery process.!2 But in a habeas corpus case,
many jurisdictions — including California - expect the
petitioner to have affidavits and substantial evidence in
hand before filing. A petitioner must gather that evidence
before filing in the state court. He cannot use a later
federal petition as a means to conduct discovery, because
the AEDPA generally forbids an evidentiary hearing in
federal court “{i]f the applicant has failed to develop the
factual basis of a claim in State court proceedings ... .” 28

12 Put another way, every lawyer knows that in a notice-
pleading setting, one can “beat the clock of limitations” by filing
the barest of allegations, and fleshing them out later,
particularly in light of the “relation back” proviso of Fen. R. Civ.
P. 15(c).

21

U.S.C. §2254(e)(2).!3 Thus, if the habeas corpus petitioner
is in a jurisdiction that requires more than mere notice in
a habeas corpus petition, equating AEDPA’s “factual
predicate” with “mere notice” will force petitioners into
state court before they-have adequately developed their
claims or will lead to the filing of premature, “protective”
federal petitions. Both of these outcomes are counter to
the underlying purposes of the AEDPA.

The lower courts have not satisfactorily resolved this
problem. In Flanagan v. Johnson, 154 F.3d 196, 199 (5th Cir.
1998), the Fifth Circuit found that the “factual predicate”
date was when the petitioner knew certain underlying
facts, not when he could prove them, though it must be
said that the facts in Flanagan were within the petitioner's
own personal knowledge. In Hasan v. Galaza, 254 F.3d
1150, 1155 (9th Cir. 2001), the court held that the factual

13 California, Mr. Burton’s state of conviction, is typical. In
People v. Duvall, 9 Cal. 4th at 474, the California Supreme Court
specified that collateral relief petitions must:

“(i) state fully and with particularity the facts on
which relief is sought, as well as (ii) include copies of
reasonably available documentary evidence
supporting the claim, including pertinent portions of
trial transcripts and affidavits or declarations. . . .
Conclusory allegations made without any
explanation of the basis for the allegations do not
warrant relief, let alone an evidentiary hearing.”
(internal citations omitted).

See also, People v. Martinez, 36 Cal.3d at 821. Washington has
similar requirements. See Baja v. Ducharme, 187 F.3d 1075, 1079
(9th Cir. 1999) (prior failure to present affidavits in state court
that are required by Washington law bars federal petition under
the AEDPA’s factual development provision).

22

predicate date was when the petitioner could have
alleged the basis of his claim in objective good faith. In
this case, the panel below put an unacceptable gloss on
Hasan, ruling that the “factual predicate” date was when
Ronald’s letter was received and not when Mr. Burton's
lawyer established that the letter in fact was penned by
Ronald. (App. 2a). But Mr. Burton needed to determine
that Ronald Washington wrote the recantation letter
before he could bring a good-faith petition in the state
courts of California; the facts within the letter were not
within Mr. Burton’s own personal knowledge, and so he
could not credibly - or even in good faith — assert them
by himself. Had Mr. Burton gone into state court with an
unauthenticated letter, his state habeas petition would
have been summarily dismissed. And any later attempt to
develop the facts in federal court likely would have been
met with the argument that he had failed to do so in state
court.

—

Review should be granted so that the Court may give
“factual predicate” its proper meaning. The statute says
“factual predicate,” and not “notice of some facts.” The
“factual predicate” date is when a reasonably diligent
prisoner has sufficient credible evidence to file a state
habeas petition that will avoid summary dismissal. This
construction harmonizes §2244(d)(1)(D) with a prisoner’s
equally-important AEDPA obligation under §2254(e) “to
develop the factual basis of his claim in State court”
before seeking federal relief. It avoids the need for pre-
mature “protective” federal petitions and by giving the
state courts a fair first opportunity to develop the facts
and resolve the constitutional claims, promotes comity,
finality and federalism.

23

C. The Court Should Grant Review or Summarily
Reverse Because the Court of Appeals’ Sum-
mary Disposition Conflicts with Schlup o. Delo.

The district court completely ignored Schlup v. Delo
as a possible basis for relief from petitioner’s “default”
under the AEDPA, but a motions panel of the court of
appeals granted a Certificate of Appealability in order to
afford a full consideration of the implications of Schlup in
this case (App., 13a-14a).14 Yet the panel to which the case
was assigned for decision rejected Mr. Burton’s showing
of actual innocence in a single sentence: “Ronald Wash-
ington’s letter, alleging prosecutorial misconduct during
Burton’s trial, is not sufficient proof of Burton’s inno-
cence, given Derek Washington’s similar testimony, incul-
pating Burton during trial.” (App., 2a). There are only two
possible explanations for this holding, and each conflicts
with Schlup and decisions applying Schlup.

14 The courts below should have considered whether Mr.
Burton’s alleged default could be excused under Schlup. His
petition set forth a claim of constitutional error coupled with
actual innocence; he did not make merely a “freestanding”
claim of innocence. His new evidence showed that a key
prosecution witness, Ronald Washington, lied, and that he did
so at the instigation of the prosecutor. This allegation, if proved,
would entitle Mr. Burton to relief. See United States v. Agurs, 427
U.S. 97, 103 (1976), discussing Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103
(1935) (due process violation to introduce material evidence that
prosecutor knew or should have known was perjured); Kyles v.
Whitley, 514 U.S. 419 (1995) (granting petition because failure to
disclose exculpatory evidence undermined confidence in the
outcome of the trial).

24

_ 1. The Court of Appeals Erred in Not Remand-
ing for a Credibility Determination.

“To be credible,” a claim of actual innocence must be
based upon “new reliable evidence . . . that was not
presented at trial.” Schlup, 513 U.S. at 324. One possible
explanation for the Ninth Circuit's summary ruling is
that the panel determined that Ronald’s letter simply was
not credible or reliable. It is difficult to see how the panel
could have reached such a conclusion. The recantation
was consistent with the testimony of two prosecution
eyewitnesses (Leon Moore and Hal Spring) as well as the
testimony of defense eyewitness Quinola Arnold. More to
the point, however, summarily rejecting the recantation
on credibility grounds is not appropriate under Schlup,
and is inconsistent with the approach taken by this Court
and other circuits where the petitioner presents new evi-
dence of innocence that goes to the very heart of the
State’s case.

The court of appeals should have remanded for a
hearing. In Schlup itself, this Court noted that

“It]he fact-intensive nature of the inquiry,
together with the District Court's ability to take
testimony from a few key witnesses if it deems
that course advisable, convinces us that the
most expeditious procedure is to order that the
decision of the Court of Appeals be vacated and
that the case be remanded to the Court of
Appeals with instructions to remand to the Dis-
trict Court for further proceedings consistent
with this opinion.” (Schlup, 513 U.S. at 332).

Much the same is Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614,
623-24 (1998), where this Court remanded a §2255 motion

25

for further proceedings under Schlup because the district
court failed to address the movant’s actual innocence.
Several circuits, applying Schlup, have emphasized the
need for assessment in the first instance by the district
court. See, e.g., United States ex rel. Bell v. Pierson, 267 F.3d
544, 552 (7th Cir. 2001) (“Schlup requires the district court
to consider the credibility of the petitioner’s new evi-
dence”); Wilkerson v. Cain, 233 F.3d 886, 893 (5th Cir. 2000)
(remand for district court determination of the reliability
of the new evidence on innocence); O’Dell v. Netherland,
95 F.3d 1214, 1250 (4th Cir. 1996) (en banc), aff'd on other
grounds, 521 U.S. 151 (1997) (“[a]scertaining the cred-
ibility of [Schlup] evidence is ‘quintessentially’ a task for
the factfinder”).

It is the office of the district court to determine the
credibility of the new evidence of innocence, and the
probable effect of that evidence, had the jury heard it.
Once the district court has done so, there are times when
an appellate court might revisit the lower court's “proba-
bility” determination, if it concludes that the district
- court was in no better position than the appellate court to
assess the “likelihood that a reasonable juror would con-
vict based on the sum of all the evidence.” Pierson, 267
F.3d at 552 (quoting O'Dell, 95 F.3d at 1250). There might
be instances in which the “new” evidence is so obviously
unavailing under Schlup that an evidentiary hearing can
be avoided,15 but cases of that kind are poles apart from

15 See, e.g., McCoy v. Norris, 125 F.3d 1186, 1190 (8th Cir.
1997) (evidence was cumulative, not new); Glass v. Vaughn, 65
F.3d 13, 17 (3d Cir. 1995) (new evidence of lack of memory of the

murder was contradicted by petitioner's
even at the scene”).

alibi that he was not

26

one in which the State’s key eyewitness confesses to
State-induced perjury at the trial. Neither the state court
nor the district court held an evidentiary hearing; no
judge has made a proper determination of the credibility
of Ronald Washington’s recantation. The court of appeals’
summary affirmance cunflicts with Schlup and the rulings
in other circuits.

2. Alternatively, the Court of Appeals Inap-
propriately Applied the Jackson v. Virginia
Standard in Rejecting the New Evidence.

In Schlup, this Court ruled that a procedural default
will be excused if a constitutional violation ” ‘probably’
resulted in the conviction of one who is actually inno-
cent.” Schlup, 513 U.S. at 322 (quoting Murray v. Carrier,
477 U.S. 478, 496 (1986)). The other possible explanation
for the court of appeals’ ruling in this case is that Ronald
Washington’s recantation was credible and reliable, but
that the new evidence was not sufficient to allow Mr.
Burton to pass through the Schlup “gateway.” If that is the
meaning of the court’s ruling, however, the panel applied
the wrong standard and its holding conflicts with Schlup.

Once a habeas corpus petitioner has come forward
with reliable new evidence, a court must evaluate the
claim of innocence in light of all of the evidence. Schlup,
513 U.S. at 527-28. This requires a probabilistic deter-
mination. A habeas court must ask whether the new
evidence “more likely than not” would have undermined
the State’s case, which includes assessing how the new
evidence may “call into question the credibility of the
witnesses presented at trial.” (Id., at 529-30). This Court

27

took pains to distinguish the Schlup/Carrier standard for
actual innocence from the much higher “sufficiency of the
evidence” test described in Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S.
307 (1979). The Jackson standard assumes that the State’s
witnesses are credible and merely “looks to whether there
is sufficient evidence which, if credited, could support
the conviction.” Schlup, 513 U.S. at 530.

In rejecting Ronald Washington’s new and (finally)
truthful account, the court of appeals merely said that the
evidence was insufficient “given Derek Washington’s
similar testimony, inculpating Burton during trial.” (App.,
2a). The panel appeared to employ, sub silentio, Jackson's
“sufficiency of the evidence” test. The court assumed that
Derek’s version was credible, as one does under Jackson,
and ruled that his testimony was sufficient to uphold the
verdict. But Schlup requires something more. Under
Schlup, the court below was obliged to examine Ronald
Washington’s truthful recantation in light of all of the
evidence and, most critically, assess how Ronald’s recan-
tation would have influenced the jury’s consideration of
the testimony of his brother Derek. This it manifestly
failed to do.

Under the proper standard, Mr. Burton has made a
strong showing of actual innocence. There were three -
and only three - young men in the mouth of the alley
when Fred Wright was shot. By finally coming clean and
affirming that petitioner Burton was not one of the three,
Ronald implicated his brother, Derek. If Mr. Burton was
up the alley, then the three at the mouth of the alley must
have been Anthony Sneed, Ronald Washington and Derek
Washington, and two of the three were shooters. Truthful
testimony by Ronald Washington would surely have

28

undermined the jury’s consideration of Derek’s wholly
self-serving testimony. Indeed, the jury would have had
all the more reason to believe that Derek and not peti-
tioner Burton was one of these three because it was Derek
~ not Mr. Burton - who had fought with the decedent at a
party earlier in the evening.

Ronald’s confessions go to the core of the reliability
of the conviction. Looking at all of the evidence, Ronald’s
confessions are entitely consistent with the testimony of
two prosecution eyewitnesses, Hal Spring and Leon
Moore, and the defense eyewitness Quinola Arnold. See
ante, pp. 4-5. Further, as explained by the Fifth Circuit in
Wilkerson v. Cain, 233 F.3d at 892, remanding for further
proceedings under Schlup, restricting evidence about
rewards offered to a crucial prosecution witness, who
testified at trial under a grant of immunity, is constitu-
tional error.

The decision below ignores these facts completely,
and elevates Derek’s testimony to Jackson-like preemi-
nence. One simply cannot say that if the jury had heard
the truth from Ronald - including the truth of the State’s
offer of immunity if but only if Ronald “put you [Mr.
Burton] at the seen” — Derek’s similarly immunized testi-
mony would have been seen in the light the court of
appeals now suggests, particularly inasmuch as Ronald
has implicated Derek. Respectfully, Schlup does not
authorize appellate courts to proceed in this fashion. The
petition should be granted for the Court’s full review or,
alternatively, the ruling should be summarily reversed

29

and the case remanded for the full inquiry that Schlup
requires.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Georce A. CUMMING, Jr.
Counsel of Record
Kirstin E. WoLF
Dawn CEIZLER
BROBECK, PHLEGER & Harrison LLP

CHARLES D. WEISSELBERG
ELIZABETH SEMEL
CENTER FOR CLINICAL EDUCATION*

Attorneys for Petitioner

San Francisco, California
December 2001

* Elaine Collins, a law student at the University of Cali-
fornia School of Law (Boalt Hall), assisted in the prepara-
tion of this petition.

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed August 15, 2001]

y)
ANTHONY BURTON, ) N® 9999000
Petitioner-Appellant, ) DC# 98-3915-ABC
) Central California

)
J.W. FAIRMAN, Warden, )

et al.,

Vv.

)
Respondents-Appellees.
)

MEMORANDUM*

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Central District of California
Audrey B. Collins, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and submitted July 12, 2001
Pasadena, California

Before: RYMER and RAWLINSON, Circuit Judges, and
RESTANI, CIT Judge.**

Anthony Burton (“Burton”), appeals the district
court’s order denying his 28 U.S.C. § 2254 petition for

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and
may not be cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as may
be provided by Ninth Circuit Rule 36-3.

** The Honorable Jane Restani, Judge for Court of
International Trade, sitting by designation.

2a

writ of habeas corpus as untimely. Because Burton’s peti-
tion was filed after the effective date of the Anti-Terror-
ism and Effective Death Penalty Act (“AEDPA”), the
provisions of that Act apply to his case. See Patterson v.
Stewart, 251 F.3d 1243, 1245 (9th Cir. 2001). AEDPA
imposes a one-year statute of limitations on habeas
corpus petitions filed by state prisoners in federal court.
See 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1). State prisoners, like Burton,
whose convictions became final prior to AEDPA’s enact-
ment, have a one-year grace period in which to file their
petitions in federal court. See Patterson at 1245. We review

the district court’s dismissal of Burton’s petition de novo.
See id.

Pursuant to § 2244(d) of AEDPA, Burton’s petition
was untimely. However, Burton claims that he is actually
innocent and that a showing of actual innocence is an
exception to the limitations period. Assuming, without
deciding, that an actual innocence exception exists, Bur-
ton has not made the requisite showing. See Carrig~
Stewart, 132 F.3d 463, 478 (9th Cir. 1997) (en banc). Ronald
Washington’s letter, alleging prosecutorial misconduct
during Burton’s trial, is not sufficient proof of Burton’s
innocence, given Derek Washington’s similar testimony,
inculpating Burton during trial.

Burton’s contention that the limitations period did
not begin to run until Ronald’s letter was authenticated
by the handwriting expert also fails. Burton was aware of
the factual predicate for his actual innocence claim when
Ronald’s letter was received. See Hasan v. Galaza, 254 F.3d
1150, 2001 WL 699339, at *4, n.3 (9th Cir. 2001) (holding
“time begins when the prisoner knows. the important

3a

facts, not when the prisoner recognizes their legal signifi-
cance.”). Burton’s petition was therefore, untimely.

Burton’s equitable tolling arguments also fail. See
Calderon v. United States District Court (Beeler), 128 F.3d
1283 (9th Cir. 1997), overruled in part on other grounds
by Calderon v. United States District Court (Kelly), 163 F.3d
530 (9th Cir. 1998) (en banc) (setting forth AEDPA stan-
dard of extraordinary circumstances beyond prisoner’s
control that made it impossible to file petition on time);
Allen v. Lewis, 255 F.3d 798, 2001 WL 717021 *1 (9th Cir.
2001) (“It will normally be much more difficult for a
prisoner to demonstrate [that the ‘extraordinary circum-
stances’ were the but-for and proximate cause of untime-
liness] where he encounters the ‘extraordinary
circumstances’ in the beginning or middle of the limita-
tions period than where he encounters them at the end of
the limitations period.”)

AFFIRMED.

4a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA -
WESTERN DIVISION

[Filed November 2, 1998]

CV 98-3915-ABC (SH)

ORDER ADOPTING
FINAL REPORT AND
RECOMMENDATION OF
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

ANTHONY BURTON,
Petitioner,

v.
J.W. FAIRMAN, Warden,

Respondent.

a ee ee ee

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 636(b)(1)(C), the Court
has reviewed the Petition, all of the records and files
herein and the attached Final Report And Recommenda-
tion of the United States magistrate Judge, and has made
a de novo determination of the Final Report and Recom-
mendation. The Court concurs with and adopts the con-
clusions of the Magistrate Judge.

IT IS ORDERED that the Petition filed herein is ‘dis-
missed with prejudice.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk shall serve
copies of this Order, the Magistrate Judge’s Final Report and
Recommendation and the Judgment herein by the United
States Mail on petitioner and counsel for respondent.

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY.
DATED: October 29, 1998

/s/ AUDREY B. COLLINS
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

5a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA -
WESTERN DIVISION

[Filed October 29, 1998]

ANTHONY BURTON,

Petitioner, ) CV 98-3915-ABC (SH)

v.
].W. FAIRMAN, Warden,
Respondent.

ee eee eee Se

FINAL REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION OF
UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

This Final Report and Recommendation is submitted
to United States District Judge Audrey B. Collins pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. § 636 and General Order 194 of the
United States District Court for the Central District of
California.

I. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On January 8, 1982, petitioner was convicted of mur-
der, assault by means of force likely to produce great
bodily injury, and shooting at an inhabited dwelling.
(Petition, p. 3.) Petitioner’s conviction was affirmed by
the Court of Appeal on August 25, 1984. (Pet., p. 3.)
Petitioner’s Petition for Review in the California Supreme
Court was denied on October 31, 1984. (Pet., p. 4.)

6a

More than twelve years later, on March 21, 1997,
petitioner filed a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus in
the California Supreme Court. The Petition was denied
on January 14, 1998. (Pet., p. 5, Ex. 4-A.)

On May 19, 1998, petitioner filed the instant Petition
for Writ of Habeas Corpus (the “Petition”) in this Court.
Respondent filed an Answer on June 17, 1998, followed
by a Return on July 16, 1998. On September 1, 1998,
petitioner filed a Traverse. The matter was taken under
submission.

On September 11, 1998, the Magistrate Judge issued a
Report and Recommendation in this matter, recommend-
ing that the Petition be dismissed with prejudice. See
Report and Recommendation filed September 11, 1998.
Petitioner filed Objections to the Report and Recommen-
dation on September 30, 1998, and respondent filed a
Reply to petitioner’s Objections on October 27, 1998. This
Final Report and Recommendation now issues.

II. DISCUSSION

In its Return, respondent asserts that the instant Peti-
tion must be dismissed because it was not filed within the
statutory deadline. The Magistrate Judge agrees with the
respondent’s analysis, as shown below.

28 U.S.C. § 2244, provides in relevant part:

(d)(1) A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to
an application for a writ of habeas corpus by a
person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a
State court. The limitation period shall run from the
latest of -

7a

(A) the date on which the judgment became
final by the conclusion of direct review or the
expiration of the time for seeking such review;

(B) the date on which the impediment to filing
an application created by State action in viola-
tion of the Constitution or laws of the United
States is removed, if the applicant was pre-
vented from filing by such State action;

(C) the date on which the constitutional
right asserted was initially recognized by the
Supreme Court, if the right has been newly recog-
nized by the Supreme Court and made retroac-
tively applicable to cases on collateral review; or

(D) the date on which the factual predicate of
the claim or claims presented could have been
discovered through the exercise of due dili-
gence.

(2) The time during which a properly filed applica-
tion for State post-conviction or other collateral
review with respect to the pertinent judgment or
claim is pending shall not be counted toward any
period of limitation under this subsection.
(emphasis added).

Thus, Congress provided a one-year limit for filing a
habeas corpus petition in order to strengthen the policy
favoring finality and comity. Calderon v. United States
District Court (Beeler), 128 F.3d 1283, 1286 (9th Cir. 1997).

Petitioner’s State court judgment became final on
October 31, 1984, when the California Supreme Court
declined to review petitioner’s convictions. (Ret., p. 7.)
However, as held in Beeler, the one-year period of limita-
tions did not begin to run against petitioner until April
24, 1996, the date of the enactment of the Antiterrorism

8a

and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”). Bee-
ler, 128 F.3d at 1287. Thus, absent any tolling, the statute
of limitations would have expired one year later on April
24, 1997. As noted above, petitioner did not file the
Petition in this court until May 19, 1998.

Respondent acknowledges that the period of limita-
tions was tolled for some time under 28 U.S.C.
§ 2244(d)(2). Petitioner filed his state habeas petition 34 days
prior to the original deadline under the AEDPA. Thus, the
period of limitations was tolled from March 21, 1997 until
January 14, 1998, when the state habeas petition was denied.
As a result, petitioner had 34 days after January 14, 1998, or
until February 17, 1998, to file a petition in this Court.
However, the instant Petition was filed after that date.

Beeler, supra, held that the one year period in which a
state prisoner has to file a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus
in the District Court constitutes a statute of limitations which
may, on certain narrow circumstances, be tolled. Specifically,
Beeler stated that “equitable tolling will not be available in
most cases, as extensions of time will only be granted if
“extraordinary circumstances beyond a prisoner’s control
make it impossible to file a Petition on time. [citation omit-
ted] We have no doubt that district judges will take seriously
Congress’ desire to accelerate the federal habeas process, and
will only authorize extensions when this high hurdle is
surmounted.” Beeler, 128 F.3d at 1288-89.

Petitioner concedes that the instant Petition was filed
late. Petitioner’s primary explanation for his delay in filing
the Petition is that there was “no law library established in
his facility, in which he is housed; and he had no adequate
access to legal books, or material to assist him in filing the

9a

writ of Habeas Corpus”.! (Obj., p. 4; see also Trav., pp. 7, 12;
Pet., see attach. entitled “Explanation (sic) for Delay”, p. 2.)
However, petitioner fails to provide this court with suffi-
cient specificity regarding the alleged lack of access and
the steps he took to diligently pursue his federal claims.
“It is not enough to say that the ... facility lacked all
relevant statutes and case law or that the procedure to
request specific materials was inadequate.” Miller v. Marr,
141 F.3d 976 (10th Cir. 1998).

In support of his argument for a period of equitable
tolling, petitioner contends that “he submitted several
requests for legal material from the law library located in
another part of the institution and physically inaccessible
to him”. (Trav., p. 8.) However, petitioner does not pro-
vide this court with any relevant documentary evidence
supporting this contention, nor does petitioner provide
this court with any specific dates that he allegedly
requested law library access or legal materials. Respon-
dent submits that petitioner completed only one “Inmate
Request for Interview”, requesting certain publications
from the law library. (Reply, p. 14, Decl. of Davis, Jr., Ex.
B., p. 25.) The court notes that this inmate request was
completed on March 22, 1998, after petitioner’s extended
AEDPA deadline for filing a habeas petition has passed.

1 Respondent concedes that the Facility C law library was
not opened for inmate use until June 1998. However, a paging
service was available to all inmates requesting library resources
and photocopying from February 1998 until the library opened.
(Reply, p. 13, Decl. of Davis, Jr., attaching memoranda from
Corcoran Litigation Office Assistant Tamara Colwell.)

10a

Moreover, this court notes that the claims petitioner is
seeking to raise in the instant Petition are the same claims
petitioner raised before the California Supreme Court,
thereby undercutting his argument that lack of access to the
prison law library caused his delay. (Pet., Ex. 4-A.)

Furthermore, the fact that petitioner submitted an
inmate appeal to prison offices on July 19, 1998 regarding
the alleged lack of law library access does not persuade
this Court that petitioner should be granted equitable
tolling with respect to the instant Petition filed before
that date, namely on May 19, 1998.

Petitioner also argues that the statute of limitations
should be equitably tolled on the ground that he did not
become personally aware until March 21, 1998 that the
California Supreme Court had denied his habeas petition
on January 14, 1998.2 However, as respondent correctly
notes, even if petitioner was granted equitable tolling
until March 21, 1998, the instant Petition would still have
been due 34 days later, on April 24, 1998.°

2 With respect to the status of his state habeas petition,
petitioner states that he “did what most layman (sic) persons
would do when being represented by an attorney ... wait to be
contacted by the attorney concerning the court's decision”.
(Obj., p. 13.) Such a statement underscores petitioner’s lack of
diligence in this matter.

3 Nor does petitioner assert that he made any inquiry to the
California Supreme Court regarding the status of his state
habeas petition, prior to receiving notice from his wife that such
court had denied his petition. In fact, only after receiving notice
from his wife did petitioner contact his attorney to confirm that
the California Supreme Court had denied his petition. (Pet., see
attachment entitled “Explaination (sic) for Delay”, p. 2.)

lla

In sum, the Magistrate Judge finds that petitioner’s
allegations do not amount to the “extraordinary circum-
stances” envisioned by the Beeler court. See also Calderon
v. United States District Court (Kelly), 127 F.3d 782 (9th Cir.
1997); United States v. Van Poyck, 980 F.Supp. 1108
(C.D.Cal. 1997).4

Nor does petitioner argue that he falls within the
statutory tolling provisions of § 2244(d)(1)(C), as he does
not assert that he is relying on a constitutional right
newly recognized by the United States Supreme Court.

Lastly, petitioner argues that “it would be a funda-
mental miscarriage of justice if this court fails to review
petitioner’s claims based upon this newly discovered evi-
dence that came to light fourteen years after petitioner’s
conviction. Now for the first time, petitioner is finally
able to prove that he is innocent of the crimes for which
he is imprisoned”. (Trav., p. 16.) Petitioner contradicts
himself, in that he has conceded that this newly discov-
ered evidence came to light in 19955, and was brought to

4 Nor does petitioner fall with[in] 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(B), in
that no “state action” prevented him from filing the instant
Petition on a timely basis.

5 Petitioner argues that the newly discovered evidence
which came to light in 1995 was a letter from one of the co-
defendants who admitted that he knew petitioner was not with
him and the others at the end of the alley at the time of the
shooting. The letter was not addressed to anyone, and was
signed by “Ronald W”. Petitioner’s wife apparently received
this letter from “Ronald W”. (Pet., Ex. 4-A, p. 19.) According to
petitioner, this letter had to be “authenticated in order to insure
its reliability”, and the authentication of this letter occurred on
November 19, 1996. (Trav., p. 6.) Petitioner’s discussion on the

12a

the attention of the California Supreme Court in his state
habeas petition. Even if this court were to apply the
statutory tolling provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1)(D),
the Petition is still time-barred.

Ill. RECOMMENDATION

For all of the foregoing reasons, IT IS RECOM-
MENDED that the court issue an Order: (1) approving
and adopting this Report and Recommendation; and (2)
directing that Judgment be entered dismissing the action
with prejudice.

DATED: Oct. 29, 1998

/s/ STEPHEN J. HILLMAN
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

authentication of the letter does not persuade this court that the
statutory tolling provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1)(D) apply in
this case. Rather, the year 1995, when the letter was discovered,
is “the date on which the factual predicate of the claim”
presented was discovered.

13a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed January 25, 1999]

ANTHONY BURTON,
Petitioner-Appellant,

No. 99-55000

DC# 98-3915-ABC
Central California

ORDER

V.

J.W. FAIRMAN, Warden,
et al.,

i

Respondents-Appellees. )
)

)
Before: KLEINFELD and HAWKINS, Circuit Judges:

The request for a certificate of appealability is
granted with respect to the following issues: 1. Whether
the combined showing of actual innocence and constitu-
tional error described in Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298
(1995), is sufficient to overcome the AEDPA’s one-year
time bar. 2. If so, whether remand to the district court is
warranted to establish whether petitioner can make a
showing of actual innocence sufficient to open the gate-
way to his claim that an eyewitness to the crime was
induced by the prosecutor to give false testimony. See 28
U.S.C. § 2253(c)(3).

Appellant is granted leave to proceed in forma pau-
peris. The court, on its own motion, appoints counsel to
represent petitioner in this appeal.

Counsel will be appointed by separate order.

l4a

The Clerk shall serve a copy of this order by facsimile
transmission on Maria E. Stratton, Federal public
Defender, 312 N. Spring Street, Room 1503, Los Angeles,
California 90012 (FAX: (213) 894-0081), who will locate
appointed counsel. The district court shall provide this
court with the name and address of appointed counsel
within 14 days of locating counsel.

Appellant’s opening brief and excerpts of record are
due March 26, 1999; appellees’ brief is due April 26, 1999;
the reply brief, if any, is due within 14 days after service
of appellees’ brief.

15a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed January 9, 2001]

ANTHONY BURTON,

Petitioner-Appellant, No. 99-55000

DC# 98-3915-ABC
Central California

ORDER

We

J.W. FAIRMAN, Warden,
et al.,

Respondents-Appellees.

i i eo
\

The Certificate of appealability granted by this court
on January 25, 1999 is expanded to include the following
issues:

A. Did petitioner file his § 2254 habeas petition
in district court within the limitations period
under 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1)?

B. If not, does equitable or statutory tolling of
the limitations period make the petition timely?

Oral argument scheduled for February 9, 2001 is
vacated. Petitioner shall file a supplemental brief
addressing these issues by no later than February 12,
2001. Respondents shall file a response to the supplemen-
tal brief by no later than march 12, 2001. Petitioner shall
file a reply to the supplemental brief by no later than
April 12, 2001. Each brief shall not exceed 15 pages in

l6a

length. After briefing is complete, the Clerk shall place
this case before the next available panel.

FOR THE COURT

CATHY A. CATTERSON, CLERK OF COURT
By /s/ Gwen Baptista

Deputy Clerk

17a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed October 2, 2001]

No. 99-55000

DC# CV-98-03915-ABC-SH
Central District of
California

ORDER

ANTHONY BURTON,
Petitioner-Appellant,

V.

J.W. FAIRMAN, Warden,
et al.,

mee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Respondents-Appellees.

Before: RYMER and RAWLINSON, Circuit Judges, and
RESTANL,* CIT Judge.

The panel has voted unanimously to deny the peti-
tion for rehearing en banc. Judges Rymer and Rawlinson
voted, and Judge Restani recommended, to reject the
suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the petition for
rehearing en banc, and no active judge of the court has
requested a vote on the petition for rehearing en banc.
Fep. R. App. P. 35(f).

Appellant’s petition for rehearing en banc, filed
August 29, 2001, is DENIED.

* The Honorable Jane Restani, Judge for Court of
International Trade, sitting by designation.

18a

APPENDIX G
28 U.S.C. § 2244, as amended by the AEDPA
§ 2244. Finality of determination

(a) No circuit or district judge shall be required to enter-
tain an application for a writ of habeas corpus to inquire
into the detention of a person pursuant to a judgment of a
court of the United States if it appears that the legality of
such detention has been determined by a judge or court
of the United States on a prior application for a writ of
habeas corpus, except as provided in section 2255.

(b)(1) A claim presented in a second or successive
habeas corpus application under section 2254 that was
presented in a prior application shall be dismissed.

(2) A claim presented in a second or successive
habeas corpus application under section 2254 that was
not presented in a prior application shall be dismissed
unless —

(A) the applicant shows that the claim relies on
a new rule of constitutional law, made retroactive to cases
on collateral review by the Supreme Court, that was
previously unavailable; or

(B)(i) the factual predicate for the claim could
not have been discovered previously through the exercise
of due diligence; and

(ii) the facts underlying the claim, if proven
and viewed in light of the evidence as a whole, would be
sufficient to establish by clear and convincing evidence
that, but for constitutional error, no reasonable factfinder
would have found the applicant guilty of the underlying
offense.

19a

(3)(A) Before a second or successive application per-
mitted by this section is filed in the district court, the
applicant shall move in the appropriate court of appeals
for an order authorizing the district court to consider the
application.

(B) A motion in the court of appeals for an order
authorizing the district court to consider a second or
successive application shall be determined by a three-
judge panel of the court of appeals.

(C) The court of appeals may authorize the filing
of a second or successive application only if it determines
that the application makes a prima facie showing that the
application satisfies the requirements of this subsection.

(D) The court of appeals shall grant or deny the
authorization to file a second or successive application
not later than 30 days after the filing of the motion.

(E) The grant or denial of an authorization by a
court of appeals to file a second or successive application
shall not be appealable and shall not be the subject of a
petition for rehearing or for a writ of certiorari.

(4) A district court shall dismiss any claim pre-
sented in a second or successive application that the court
of appeals has authorized to be filed unless the applicant
shows that the claim satisfies the requirements of this
section.

(c) Ina habeas corpus proceeding brought in behalf of a
person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State
court, a prior judgment of the Supreme Court of the
United States on an appeal or review by a writ of cer-
tiorari at the instance of the prisoner of the decision of

20a

such State court, shall be conclusive as to all issues of fact
or law with respect to an asserted denial of a Federal
right which constitutes ground for discharge in a habeas
corpus proceeding, actually adjudicated by the Supreme
Court therein, unless the applicant for the writ of habeas
corpus shall plead and the court shall find the existence
of a material and controlling fact which did not appear in
the record of the proceeding in the Supreme Court and
the court shall further find that the applicant for the writ
of habeas corpus could not have caused such fact to
appear in such record by the exercise of reasonable dili-
gence.

(d)(1) A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to an
application for a writ of habeas corpus by a person in
custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court. The
limitation period shall run from the latest of -

(A) the date on which the judgment became
final by the conclusion of direct review or the expiration
of the time for seeking such review;

(B) the date on which the impediment to filing
an application created by State action in violation of the
Constitution or laws of the United States is removed, if
the applicant was prevented from filing by such State
action;

(C) the date on which the constitutional right
asserted was initially recognized by the Supreme Court, if
the right has been newly recognized by the Supreme
Court and made retroactively applicable to cases on col-
lateral review; or

2la

(D) the date on which the factual predicate of
the claim or claims presented could have been discovered
through the exercise of due diligence.

(2) The time during which a properly filed applica-
tion for State post-conviction or other collateral review
with respect to the pertinent judgment or claim is pend-
ing shall not be counted toward any period of limitation
under this subsection.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_1027%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
