# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Larkin v. Johnson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0998%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 535 U.S. 928

## Text

(~) Suprema Court, U.S.
SY FILED

No, 1 981 DEC 2 6 200k

GFAGE OF Trt Ce
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

WARD S. LARKIN,

Petitioner,
VS.

MICHAEL JOHNSON and COMPUSA, Inc.,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To the Texas Court Of Appeals For The
Four:centh Judicial District Of Texas

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Warp LARKIN

15327 Pebble Bend Drive
Houston, TX 77068-1839
Tel.: 281-444-3840

Fax: 281-895-9939

Pro Se Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

While off-duty working as a security guard for
Respondent CompUSA, Inc., Respondent Harris County
Deputy Sheriff Michael Johnson arrested Petitioner Ward
S. Larkin. Larkin sued Respondents for damages alleging
false arrest, false imprisonment, battery, malicious pros-
ecution, and intentional infliction of emotional distress.
The Texas courts granted Respondents summary judg-
ment from trial on the grounds that Johnson acted as a
Texas peace officer when he arrested Larkin, and that he
was entitled to qualified official immunity. The question
is whether the Texas courts misapplied the Fighting
Words Doctrine from Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315
U.S. 568 (1942), and related U.S. Supreme Court deci-
sions, by holding that “What the hell are you doing?” are
fighting words.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Crees FOIE 5 bic ok 6 eck cha gae een ai tieiees i
Fee OE Gia ov. c:k Kiran eRe aeecadiies > cone ii
Teen Ge PIII 5 dsc co's Seed evewenaicrgieeessans iii
Citation of Lower Court CE v.90. vedere ddnees 1
i 8. . ry ee e e n 1
Constitutional Provisions Involved................. 2
eee OE GD CN cn. 6 6 v0.6 0 net cccnsosaeeus 2
Seay OF APGMTATN 5.4 5 Ski ka ENO 8
RIOR oo. ci cbivcnseessecunsuncenyeheeess ianaes 9

1. “What the hell are you doing?” are not fighting
WORD 0.0 0.k0'0- 66 bes kaisaans eabek eae eeeer aes 12

2. Respondent Deputy Johnson did not have rea-
sonable suspicion under the Fourth Amend-
ment to detain Petitioner Larkin for disorderly
ee Pree ere Pyre i eo So ey 16

3. Respondent Deputy Johnson did not have
probable cause under the Fourth Amendment
to arrest Petitioner Larkin for disorderly con-
duct or evading detention ................... 20

4. Respondent Deputy Johnson was not entitled
to Qualified Official Immunity ............... 22

5. Summary Judgment was granted Respondent
Deputy Johnson and Respondent CompUSA in
CUE ove ccctvcvsvasedeee des tend danenunceuses 26

Cot 6 oc kad kd cana decleeeeeeeeee 27

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Alabama v. White, 496 U.S. 325 (1990)................ 20
Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47 (1979)............ 17, 20, 21
BSA v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640 (2000) ............. cee eeee 11
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940)....... 12, 13
City of Lancaster v. Chambers, 883 S.W.2d 650 (Tex.
NU FEV UNERS MA ne honor SON eeee sis verses 10, 22, 23
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942)
Sb Uhh naGabe eee we dé pee eis dneevncses 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 18
Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971) ............ 12, 13
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979) ........... 21

Duran v. Furr’s Supermarkets, Inc., 921 S.W.2d 778
(Tex. App. — El Paso 1996, writ denied)..... 8, 18, 21

Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491 (1983) .............. 17, 22
Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972)........ 5, 7, 8, 12

Insurance Co. of North America v. Security Ins. Co.,
790 S.W.2d 407 (Tex. App. - Houston [1st Dist.]

EE NGL Ch NbN Weddwkw rev ebes vwonec cess 23
Hill v. City of Houston, 482 U.S. 451 (1987)....... 13, 18
Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual

Group of Boston, Inc., 515 U.S. 557 (1995).......... 11
Jimmerson v. State, 561 S.W.2d 5 (Tex. Crim. App.

DE Mbabane ee Sade uA 48405 bauald 040.05 600s oop ue sees 6
Larkin v. Johnson, 44 S.W.3d 188 (Tex. App. -

Houston [14th Dist.] 2001, pet. denied) ............ 1

Lamar v. Banks, 684 F.2d 714 (11th Cir. 1982) ........ 15

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

rage
Leake v. Half Price Books, Records, Magazines, Inc.,
918 S.W.2d 559 (Tex. App. - Dallas 1996, no
OREGRe en meer mea Pa ye, SLA tre AK Se Rene ee 27

Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974)....13, 15
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) .... 11
Nixon v. Mr. Property Management Co., 690 S.W.2d

Pe Ss Eo bi 5.600 ia 5 Hee kqaresasivasesyres 9, 26
Pennsylvania v. Hock, 556 Pa. 409 (Pa. 1999) ...... 14, 15
Plexchem International, Inc. v. Harris County

Appraisal District, 922 S.W.2d 930 (Tex. 1996)...... 10
Post v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552 (11th Cir.

ee Een tm ey ea Cnr aes a me Poe 10
Randall's Food Markets, Inc. v. Johnson, 891 S.W.2d

Ge Se SUE 55 644 so ein capecesercencdsaeekasekas 26
Ross v. State, 802 S.W.2d 308 (Tex. App. - Dallas

ROU WO GD oi kc cncWrennkeeis eke sieenstes 18, 21
Srey OCR, FOE WB. F Cin a sicncckceicensiks 17
Texas v. Rivenburgh, 933 S.W.2d 698 (Tex. App. -

Sam Abani TIER, WH WORD 55 os sn ceca s ca cccneesas 17
Wadewitz v. Montgomery, 951 S.W.2d 464 (Tex.

Dg Re ere i ee Ney Bip mere eer y eee 24
Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996) .......... 17

Woods v. State, 213 S.W.2d 685 (Tex. Crim. App.
BOOED. & 60 3:05 0k eA oka od kate as beeen kane a eee 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES AND RULES
Tex. Cope Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 14.01(b) (West

SO a ds ihe nk cack do hd nae Ak oee bbe i eax 21
Tex. Penal Code Ann., § 9.41(a) (West 1995) .......... 15
Tex. Penal Code Ann., § 28.03(a)(3) (West 1995)....... 15
Tex. Penal Code Ann., § 38.04(a) (West 1995) ..... passim
Tex. Penal Code Ann., § 42.01(a)(1) (West 1995)... passim
pe se re 24
Be gs a5 8 oa ARES 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
cn ee ai od waded a, 5, @ a3
Back ea IIE Bg in wih 5d cede yi ones scenes 2, 16, 20
Caw Ce, GN MEV, © Do. occ cccce ces a % 11,23
OTHER AUTHORITIES
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Lan-

Po Ae eee rere 16
L. Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland,

Candlewick Press (1999) .. 2... cc ccc cece cccccces 10, 11

Op. Tex. Atty. Gen., JM-900 (1988).................. 2

CITATION OF LOWER COURT OPINION

Larkin v. Johnson, 44 S.W.3d 188 (Tex. App. - Houston
[14th Dist.) 2001, pet. denied) [App. 1-5]

7

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), the Supreme Court
has jurisdiction of this matter because Petitioner seeks
enforcement of his rights and privileges under the Con-
stitution of the United States of America. Review on a
writ of certiorari is appropriate because the Texas court of
appeals has decided an important federal question in a
way that conflicts with relevant decisions by this Court.

This petition is filed within 90 days after the Texas
Supreme Court’s September 27, 2001 decision overruling
Petitioner’s motion for rehearing from denial of petition
for review. [App. 12]

The 133rd Texas District Court granted final sum-
mary judgment on April 9, 1998 [App. 7 and App. 8], and
denied Petitioner’s motion for new trial on June 15, 1998.
[App. 14] The 14th Texas Court of Appeals rendered
judgment [App. 6] and issued an opinion [App. 1-5] on
March 22, 2001. The court of appeals overruled Peti-
tioner’s motion for rehearing on April 26, 2001. [App. 9]
The Supreme Court of Texas denied Petitioner’s Petition
for Review on August 9, 2001 [App. 10-11], and denied
his motion for rehearing on September 27, 2001. [App. 12]

+

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
1. U.S. Const., amend I:

Congress shall make no law ... abridging the
freedom of speech,

2. U.S. Const., amend. IV:

The right of the people to be secure in their
persons, houses, papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be
violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by Oath or affirma-
tion, and particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

3. U.S. Const., amend. XIV, § 1:

. . . No State shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges or immunities
of citizens of the United States; nor shall any
State deprive any person of life, liberty, or prop-
erty, without due process of law; nor deny to
any person within its jurisdiction the equal pro-
tection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 17, 1996 at approximately 7:30 p.m.,
Petitioner Ward Larkin went to Respondent CompUSA’s
store at 330 F.M. Road 1960 in Harris County, Texas to
buy a mouse for his computer. After he paid for the item
the checkout clerk told him to show his receipt to the man
at the door. (Trial Clerk’s Record (CR) Page 199.) This was
Michael Johnson, a uniformed off-duty Harris County
deputy sheriff working for CompUSA as a security guard

with the approval of the Harris County Sheriff's Depart-
ment. (CR 162, 165) Johnson was stationed inside the
store a few feet from the exit. (CR 168) His job was to stop
each customer leaving the store to make sure that his or
her receipt matched the purchased merchandise. (CR 164)

Larkin walked up to Johnson and held his receipt up
just below Johnson’s eye level. (CR 199) Johnson did not
identify himself, ask to see Larkin’s receipt, or ask to see
Larkin’s purchase.! (CR 211) Without consent Johnson
tried to take Larkin’s receipt. Simultaneously, and also
without consent, Johnson marked on the receipt with a
highlighter pen. Surprised, Larkin pulled the receipt
away from Johnson, took a step back and asked, “What
the hell are you doing?” (CR 199) Larkin’s tone of voice
was Slightly louder than conversational. (CR 214) Johnson
testified in his deposition that neither he nor anyone else
in the store was incited to breaching the peace. (CR 177)

After Johnson forcibly marked on and tried to take
Larkin’s receipt, Johnson politely explained that he was
checking the receipts to prevent theft. Larkin said “Oh,
OK”, then turned from Johnson and walked to the exit.
Larkin entered the vestibule to CompUSA’s store when
Johnson called from behind: “What did you say back
there? Do you know that it’s against the law to use foul
and abusive language with a peace officer?”2 Larkin

1 Johnson claims that he did ask permission to see Larkin’s
receipt. (CR 152)

2 There is no Texas statute that expressly prohibits foul and
abusive language with a peace officer, and Johnson admitted in
deposition that he knows there is no such law. (CR 171)

stopped in the vestibule, turned and faced Johnson. John-
son had also entered the vestibule. Larkin explained that
he was surprised by and didn’t understand why Johnson
marked on and tried to take his receipt. Then Larkin said,
“You marked my receipt. Everything’s OK. I’m in a hurry.
I've got to go.” Larkin turned and walked outside onto
the sidewalk. Johnson again called Larkin from behind.
Larkin stopped on the sidewalk, turned and faced John-
son. Johnson had followed Larkin onto the sidewalk.
Johnson identified himself as a Harris County deputy
sheriff, and Larkin said, “I’m in a hurry. I’ve got to go.”
Larkin turned and walked about 20 feet into the parking
lot. Johnson stayed on the sidewalk. Johnson called
Larkin again: “I’m a Harris County deputy sheriff, and I
order you to come back here.” Larkin stopped, turned,
faced Johnson and said, “If you want me to stay here,
then you will have to arrest me.” Larkin turned and
walked away. When Larkin reached his car Johnson
arrested him, stating “you are under arrest for using foul
and abusive language with a peace officer and for evad-
ing detention.” Larkin was handcuffed and escorted back
into CompUSA to an office in the back of the store where
Johnson telephoned the Harris County Sheriff’s Depart-
ment. (This whole paragraph is from CR 26v-201.)

Larkin was transported to the Harris County Jail and
was held in custody until the next morning when he
appeared before a magistrate. Larkin was charged with
the offense of evading detention under Tex. Penal Code
Ann., 38.04(a) (“a person commits an offense if he inten- °
tionally flees from a person he knows is a peace officer
attempting lawfully to arrest or detain him.”) Bond was
set at $500, posted and Larkin was released. (CR 201-2)

On September 25, 1996, at his initial appearance before
the Harris County Criminal Court at Law No. 6, the
charges against Larkin were dismissed for insufficient
evidence. (CR 4)

Represented by counsel, Larkin filed suit in the 133rd
Texas State District Court afiinst CompUSA, Inc. and
Michael Johnson alleging “false arrest, false imprison-
ment, battery, malicious prosecution, and intentional
infliction of emotional distress.” (CR 3) In Larkin’s
response to Johnson and CompUSA’s motions for sum-
mary judgment Larkin raised the federal question of
Freedom of Speech under the Fighting Words Doctrine.

Whether particular words are fighting words is
a question of fact. Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire,
315 U.S. 568, 573, 62 S.Ct. 766, 770, 86 L.Ed. 1031
(1942); Op. Tex. Arry. Gen., JM-900 (1988) [See
App. 15-18]. The test is what a person of com-
mon intelligence would understand to be words
likely to cause an average addressee to fight.
Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 581 (sic), 523, 92 S.Ct.
1103, 1106, 31 L.Ed.2d 408 (1972); Op. Tex. Arry.
Gen., JM-900. [See App. 15-18] Speech punish-
able under [Tex. Penal Code Ann.] Section 42.01
does not include language that is merely harsh
and insulting. Gooding, 504 (sic) U.S. at 525, 92
S.Ct. at 1107. Derisive and annoying words can
be taken as coming within the purview of the
statute only when they have this characteristic
of plainly tending to excite the addressee to a
breach of the peace. Gooding, 504 (sic) U.S. at
522, 92 S.Ct. at 1106. (CR 223)

Larkin also raised the specific issue of his right to
Freedom of Speech: “[w]hether Plaintiff committed the

crime of disorderly conduct or was exercising his right to
Free Speech is a fact question in dispute.” (CR 228)

The district court granted summary judgment to
CompUSA [App. 7] and Johnson. [App. 8] Judgment
became final on April 9, 1998. Represented by the same
counsel, Larkin filed a timely motion for a new trial,
raising the exact same Fighting Words Doctrine argu-
ment. Larkin also made clear that the Texas courts have
ruled that “Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 42.01(a)(1) ... applies
only to ‘fighting words’ which by their very utterance
tend to incite an immediate breach of the peace. Jimmer-
son v. State, 561 S.W.2d 5, 7 (Tex. Crim. App. 1978).” (CR
262-63) The district court denied Larkin’s motion for a
new trial on June 15, 1998. [App. 14]

Represented by the same counsel as at trial court,
Larkin filed an appeal to the 14th Texas Court of Appeals.
Larkin was allowed to file this appeal out-of-time. Larkin
raised word-for-word the same Fighting Words Doctrine
argument as he did at trial court in his response to
Respondents’ motions for summary judgment. On March
22, 2001 the court of appeals denied Larkin’s appeal,
affirming judgment of the trial court, [App. 6] and issued
its opinion. [App. 1-5] The court of appeals acknowl-
edged that Larkin had made a Freedom of Speech claim -
“Larkin contends summary judgment was unwarranted
because Johnson maliciously arrested him for what
Larkin said as he left the CompUSA store where the
deputy worked an off-duty job.” [App. 1] - but the court
of appeals did not otherwise address it.

Acting on his own behalf, Larkin filed a timely
motion for rehearing with the court of appeals, and

7

argued that the court did not properly apply the analysis
of this Court’s ruling in Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315
U.S. 568 (1942) or Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972).

The court did not properly measure [Larkin’s]
conduct against the accepted standard objective
reasonableness of landmark U.S. Supreme Court
cases Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568,
and Gooding [v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972)], and
Texas Attorney General Opinion No. JM-900.
[App. 15-18] Against these accepted objective
standards of what conduct constitutes disor-
derly conduct under Penal Code 42.01(a)(1), say-
ing “What the hell are you doing?” in a slightly
louder than conversational tone of voice doesn’t
even register a blip on the meter. (Larkin’s
Motion for Rehearing, pg. 6)

The court of appeals overruled Larkin’s motion for
rehearing on Apri: 26, 2001. [App. 9] Acting on his own
behalf, Larkin filed a timely Petition for Review with the
Supreme Court of Texas, arguing that the lower courts
misapplied this Court’s ruling in Chaplinsky v. New Hamp-
shire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942) and Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S.
518 (1972).

To support his argument that “What the hell are
you doing?” is not language which violates Dis-
orderly Conduct, Larkin uses the objective legal
reasonableness of Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire,
315 U.S. 568 (1942), Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S.
518 (1972) and Texas Attorney General Opinion
JM-900. [See App. 15-18]. (Larkin’s Petition for
Review, pg. 3)

and,

8

Texas courts have uniformly held that TPC [Tex.
Penal Code Ann.,] § 42.01(a)(1) applies to “fight-
ing words”, words that “by their very utterance
tend to incite an immediate breach of the
peace.” Duran v. Furr’s Supermarkets, Inc., 921
S.W.2d 778, 785 (Tex. App. — El Paso 1996, wiit
denied) citing Chaplinksy v. New Hampshire, 315
U.S. 568. The concept of “breach of the peace”
includes actual or threatened violence as an
essential element, Woods v. State, 152 Tex. Crim.
338, 213 S.W.2d 685, 687 (Tex. Crim. App. 1948).
Speech that is merely harsh and insulting is not
punishable. Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518, 525
(1972). (Larkin’s Petition for Review, pg. 7)

The Supreme Court of Texas denied Larkin’s Petition
for Review on August 9, 2001. [App. 10-11] Acting on his
own behalf, Larkin filed a timely motion for rehearing.
The Supreme Court of Texas denied Larkin’s motion for
rehearing on September 27, 2001. [App. 12-13]

.
vy

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Instead of applying the analysis mandated by this
Court’s precedents on fighting words, the Texas court of
appeals ignored them. The opinion of the Texas court of
appeals did not address the Fighting Words Doctrine
whatsoever. By affirming summary judgment the Texas
court of appeals held, by default, that Johnson had proba-
ble cause to arrest Larkin, reasonable suspicion to detain
him, and, because Johnson offered no other objective
justification for Larkin’s detention, that “What the hell
are you doing?” is criminal activity, specifically fighting
words.

This case turns on whether “What the hell are you
doing?” are fighting words. It is the central, supporting
and cohesive element of this whole case. For if “What the
hell are you doing?” are not fighting words, then the
subsequent conclusions of law and judgments of law
topple one after the other. Specifically, “What the hell are
you doing?” are not fighting words; so there’s no reason-
able suspicion to detain Larkin for disorderly conduct; so
there’s no probable cause to arrest Larkin for evading
detention; so Johnson didn’t act in good faith when he
arrested Larkin; so Johnson wasn’t entitled to qualified
official immunity; and finally the Texas trial court was in
error to grant Johnson, and consequently CompUSA,
summary judgment from Larkin’s suit for damages.
Larkin’s Constitutional right to equal protection of the
laws was violated, and in turn he was deprived of his day
in court.

¢

ARGUMENT

This is an appeal from summary judgment. In
reviewing summary judgment the Texas courts must take
all evidence favorable to the non-movant (Larkin) as true,
resolving all doubts and indulging all reasonable infer-
ences in the non-movant’s favor. Nixon v. Mr. Property
Management Co., 690 S.W.2d 546, 548-49 (Tex. 1985). More
importantly, the Texas court of appeals doesn’t address
the elements of Larkin’s arrest. There’s no analysis of
fighting words, disorderly conduct, or evading detention,
even though Larkin raised each of those issues at every
level with the Texas courts. In fact, its opinion doesn’t
even mention the crime for which Larkin was arrested:

10

“As Larkin started to get in his car, Johnson arrested
him.” Larkin’s sole issue on appeal before the 14th Texas
Court of Appeals was that “the trial court erred in grant-
ing summary judgment for both defendants”. The
Supreme Court of Texas has ruled that such language
preserves all possible grounds upon which summary
judgment should have been denied. See Plexchem Interna-
tional, Inc. v. Harris County Appraisal District, 922 S.W.2d
930, 930-31 (Tex. 1996).

It appears that the justification by the Texas court of
appeals for its silence on the issues of fighting words,
disorderly conduct, and evading detention is provided by
the second to last sentence of its opinion: “[The doctrine
of qualified governmental immunity] renders facts relat-
ing only to the substantive causes of action immaterial.”
But one of the tests on qualified governmental immunity
is objective legal reasonableness. City of Lancaster v. Cham-
bers, 883 S.W.2d 650, 657 (Tex. 1994) (quoting Post v. City
of Fort Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552, 1557 (11th Cir. 1993),
regarding the standard of review for objective legal rea-
sonableness: the plaintiff must produce evidence that “no
reasonable person in the defendant’s position could have
thought the facts were such that they justified the defen-
dant’s acts.”)

The Texas court of appeals’ refusal to reveal its rea-
soning confuses and frustrates Larkin much the way the
Cheshire Cat did Alice when she asked for directions in
Wonderland.

“In THAT direction,” the Cat said, waving
its right paw around, “lives a Hatter: and in
THAT direction,” waving the other paw, “lives a

11

March Hare. Visit either you like: they’re both
mad.”

“But I don’t want to go among mad peo-
ple,” Alice remarked.

“Oh you can’t help that,” said the Cat:
“we're all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”

“How do you know that I’m mad?” said
Alice.

“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you
wouldn’t have come here.”

Alice didn’t think that proved it at all ....

(L. Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonder-
land, p. 104, Candlewick Press, 1999).

Exactly, that didn’t prove it at all, for the question
Larkin presents to this Court is one of First Amendment
Freedom of Speech, applicable to the State of Texas by the
Fourteenth Amendment. This case involves conclusions
of law that are implicitly inseparable from the findings of
fact. Thus, the U.S. Supreme Court must “independently
review the factual record to ensure that the state court’s
judgment does not unlawfully intrude on free expression.
See Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual

Group of Boston, Inc., 515 U.S. 557 at 567-568 (1995).” BSA
v. Dale, 530 U.S. 640, 648 (2000). The U.S. Supreme Court
must assure itself that the judgment of the Texas court of
appeals “does not constitute a forbidden intrusion on the
field of free expression.” New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. 254, 285 (1964).

12

1. “What the hell are you doing?” are not fighting
words.

“There are certain well-defined and narrowly limited
classes of speech, the prevention and punishment of
which have never been thought to raise any Constitu-
tional problem. These include ... ‘fighting’ words -
those which by their very utterance inflict injury or tend
to incite an immediate breach of the peace... . ‘Resort to
epithets or personal abuse is not in any proper sense
communication of information or opinion safeguarded by
the Constitution, and its punishment as a criminal act
would raise no question under that instrument.’ Cantwell
v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 309-310.” Chaplinisky v. New
Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 571-72 (1942).

“a

Fighting words are “ ‘what men of common intel-
ligence would understand would be words likely to cause
an average addressee to fight. . .. Derisive and annoying
words can be taken as coming within the purview of the
statute . . . only when they have this characteristic of
plainly tending to excite the addressee to a breach of the
peace..... ’ 91 N. H. 310, 313, 320-321, 18 A. 2d 754, 758,
762 (1941).” Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518, 523 (1972).

“ ‘The statute, as construed, does no more than pro-
hibit the face-to-face words plainly likely to cause a
breach of the peace by the addressee... .’” Id.

Proscribed speech must be “personally abusive
epithets which, when addressed to the ordinary citizen,
are, as a matter of common knowledge, inherently likely
to provoke violent reaction.” Cohen v. California, 403 U.S.
15, 20. Additionally, the offensive words must be

13

“directed to the person of the hearer.” Id., quoting Cant-
well v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 309 (1940).

In sum, to be fighting words the expression spoken
must (1) constitute a personally abusive epithet (2)
addressed in a face-to-face manner (3) directly to the
person of the hearer and, (4) as a matter of common
knowledge, be inherently likely to provoke an immediate
violent response by an average addressee. If any of these
elements is missing, then the Fighting Words Doctrine
doesn’t apply for the purpose of punishing that expres-
sion.

Because this case also involves speech directed to a
police officer, Hill v. City of Houston, 482 U.S. 451, 462
(1987), is especially important:

“Moreover, in a concurring opinion in Lewis [v.
City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974)], JUS-
TICE POWELL suggested that even the “fight-
ing words” exception recognized in Chaplinsky v.
New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942), might
require a narrower application in cases involv-
ing words addressed to a police officer, because
“a properly trained officer may reasonably be
expected to ‘exercise a higher degree of
restraint’ than the average citizen, and thus be
less likely to respond belligerently to ‘fighting
words.’ ” 415 U.S. at 135.”

Regarding the facts of this case, Larkin did speak
directly to Johnson in a face-to-face manner, but those are
the only elements of fighting words that Larkin’s “what
the hell are you doing?” utterance met. “What the hell are
you doing?” does not constitute a personally abusive
epithet, nor is it language that is inherently likely to

14

cause an immediate violent response, particularly from a
properly trained police officer. Larkin asked one single
question to Johnson, acknowledged Johnson’s answer,
then walked away. Larkin was not hurling abuse at John-
son in a persistent manner. The Supreme Court of Penn-
sylvania held in Pennsylvania v. Hock, 556 Pa. 409, 416 (Pa.
1999), that a single profane remark (specifically, “F
you, a .”) spoken in a normal tone of voice
directed to a police officer does not constitute fighting
words.

In many ways Pennsylvania v. Hock, 556 Pa. 409 (Pa.
1999) is similar to this case. Ms. Hock was questioned by
a police officer on suspicion of a traffic violation. She
made her profane remark as she walked away from the
officer. The officer pursued Ms. Hock and advised her
that she was under arrest for disorderly conduct. The
disorderly conduct statute in Pennsylvania is also based
on the Fighting Words Doctrine. As the officer placed
handcuffs on Ms. Hock, she shouted protestations and
then kicked the officer several times. Hock was charged
with disorderly conduct and resisting arrest. The
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania held that Ms. Hock’s
remark didn’t constitute fighting words,.therefore the
officer didn’t have probable cause to arrest her. Also,
since Ms. Hock wasn’t lawfully under arrest, she couldn’t
have committed the offense of resisting arrest.

Especially compelling is the Supreme Court of Penn-
sylvania’s caution against police abuse of the disorderly
conduct statute:

“Moreover, the offense of disorderly conduct is
not intended as a catchall for every act which
annoys or disturbs people; it is not to be used as
a dragnet for all the irritations which breed in

15

the ferment of a community. It has a specific
purpose; it has a definite objective, it is intended
to preserve the public peace; it has thus a lim-
ited periphery beyond which the prosecuting
authorities have no right to transgress any more
than the alleged criminal has the right to oper-
ate within its clearly outlined circumference.”
Pennsylvania v. Hock, 556 Pa. 409, 418 (Pa. 1999).

In deciding whether words are fighting words, “the
circumstances surrounding the words can be crucial, for
only against the background of surrounding events can a
judgment be made whether [the] words had ‘a direct
tendency to cause acts of violence’ by [the addressee].”
Lamar v. Banks, 684 F.2d 714, 719 (11th Cir. 1982). Also, see
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130, 135 (1974)
(Powell, J., concurring) (observing that “words may or
may not be ‘fighting words’ depending upon the circum-
stances of their utterance”).

Johnson had just forcibly marked on and tried to take
Larkin’s receipt. Larkin had the right to protect his prop-
erty under Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 9.41(a): “A person in
lawful possession of ... tangible, movable property is
justified in using force against another to the degree the
actor reasonably believes that the force is immediately
necessary to ... terminate the other’s ... unlawful
interference with the property.” Larkin was also pro-
tected from Johnson marking on his receipt without con-
sent. Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 28.03(a)(3) provides that “a
person commits an offense if, without the effective con-
sent of the owner, he intentionally or knowingly makes
markings ... on the tangible property of the owner.”
Additionally, the Texas court of appeals appears to say
that Larkin was in the wrong for not freely releasing his

16

receipt: “Johnson was marking receipts at CompUSA as a
security guard when Larkin, a customer leaving with
merchandise, resisted releasing his receipt.” [App. 1-2]

Possibly some find the word “hell” offensive. How-
ever, as Larkin used it, the American Heritage Dictionary
of the English Language, Third Edition, 1992 defines
“hell” as “Informal, Used as an intensive”. This is word-
for-word synonymous with such innocent words and
terms as “devil”, “deuce”, “dickens” and “in the world”.
Not even the most grammatically squeamish would find
“What in the world are you doing?” personally abusive,
by its very utterance likely to cause an immediate violent
response. Synonymously, only the supersensitive would
find “What the hell are you doing?” personally abusive,
likely to cause an immediate violent“ response by the
average addressee. “What the hell are you doing?” spo-
ken in the circumstances in which Larkin uttered it, are
not fighting words.

2. Respondent Deputy Johnson did not have reason-
able suspicion under the Fourth Amendment to
detain Petitioner Larkin for disorderly conduct.

There are two ways to examine this issue. Either the
issue is moot because the proper standard of review is
whether Johnson had probable cause to arrest Larkin
without a warrant, or, if reasonable suspicion is the
proper standard of review, then whether Johnson had
sufficient objective reasonableness for an investigative
stop on suspicion of disorderly conduct.

One, Johnson testified in deposition (CR 177) and on
affidavit (CR 153) that he attempted an investigative stop

17

of Larkin for the offense of disorderly conduct. But, John-
son knew all of the facts prior to the stop; further investi-
gation would reveal nothing. Either Larkin had
committed disorderly conduct beforehand, or he had not.
Therefore, the issue is whether Johnson had probable
cause to arrest Larkin without a warrant, not whether
Johnson had reasonable suspicion to attempt an investi-
gative stop. See Texas v. Rivenburgh, 933 S.W.2d 698,
700-701 (Tex. App. San Antonio 1996, no pet.) (citing
Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806, 816-19 (1996) (“issue
where stop followed observed traffic violation was
whether probable cause existed”).)

Two, to justify an investigative stop an officer must
have specific articulable facts, taken in light of his or her
experience and general knowledge together with rational
inferences from those facts, that would reasonably war-
rant the intrusion. See Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 21-22
(1968). “The person approached, however, need not
answer any question put to him; indeed, he may decline
to listen to the questions at all and may go on his way.
Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S., at 32-33 (Harlan, J., concurring);
id., at 34 (WHITE, J., concurring). He may not be detained
even momentarily without reasonable, objective grounds
for doing so; and his refusal to listen or answer does not,
without more, furnish those grounds.” Florida v. Royer,
460 U.S. 491, 497-498 (1983). Ultimately, to justify any
detention there must be reasonable suspicion that crimi-
nal activity is afoot. See Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 51
(1979).

The offense of disorderly conduct under Tex. Penal
Code Ann. § 42.01(a)(1) is committed when a person inten-
tionally or knowingly uses abusi' , indecent, profane, or

18

vulgar language in a public place, and the language by its
very utterance tends to incite an immediate breach of the
peace. The Texas courts have ruled that Tex. Penal Code
Ann. § 42.01(a)(1) applies only to “fighting words” which
by their very utterance tend to incite an immediate
breach of the peace as required by Chaplinsky v. New

Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 86 L. Ed. 1031, 62 S. Ct. 766
~ (1942). Ross v. State, 802 S.W.2d 308, 314-15 (Tex.App. -
Dallas 1990, no pet.) (Section 42.01(a)(1) applies only to
“fighting words” and is not unconstitutionally vague).
See Duran v. Furr’s Supermarkets, Inc., 921 S.W.2d 778, 785
(Tex. App. - El Paso 1996, writ denied). This was also
Texas’s legislative intent: “The ‘practice commentary’ in
the annotated Code confirms that this section is designed
to track the ‘fighting words’ exception set forth in Chap-
linsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942). Tex. Penal
Code Ann. § 42.01, pp. 124-125 (1974 and Supp. 1987).”
Hill v. Houston, 482 U.S. 451, 463 (Fn. 10) (1987).

Even though this is an appeal from summary judg-
ment and the courts are required to view the evidence in
a light favorable to Larkin, there is no substantive dispute
on the record as to what happened immediately after
Johnson marked on and tried to take Larkin’s receipt.
Larkin testified in deposition that he “pulled the
receipt back, and asked [Johnson] ‘What the hell are you
doing?’” (CR 199) Johnson swore in his affidavit that
Larkin “grabbed the receipt from my hand and stated
‘What the hell are you doing, that’s my receipt!’” (CR
152) Larkin and Johnson also agree that Johnson imme-
diately explained why he was checking the receipt, and
afterwards that Larkin walked away toward the exit. (CR
200 and CR 152, 171, respectively)

19

Johnson swore in his affidavit that he decided to
detain Larkin for disorderly conduct under Tex. Penal
Code Ann. § 42.01(a)(1). (CR 153) His justification to
detain Larkin was because (1) Larkin’s “actions were
highly unusual”, (2) Larkin’s “actions toward me caused
me to be alarmed and concerned as to his immediate, past
or future actions”, (3) and Johnson “needed to maintain
control over the situation in order to protect the safety of
the individuals in the area”. (CR 152-154) First, Tex. Penal
Code Ann. § 42.01(a)(1) only applies to speech. It doesn’t
apply to physical conduct. Johnson’s use of the word
“action” applies only to Larkin having said, “What the
hell are you doing?” Second, with nothing more, highly
unusual speech is not an.element of disorderly conduct.
Third, there is a crisp and bright distinction between
speech causing alarm and speech having a direct ten-
dency to cause immediate violent response. More impor-
tantly, there’s evidence that Johnson wasn’t alarmed.
Larkin gave deposition testimony that Johnson’s response
to “What the hell are you doing?” was polite and reason-
able. (CR 200) Fourth, Johnson was being disingenuous
by implying that there was a breach of the peace at the
time. He gave deposition testimony that he did not see
Larkin’s behavior incite anyone to breaching the peace.
(CR 177) Thus, Johnson provided no specific articulable
facts to support reasonable, objective grounds to detain
Larkin for suspicion of disorderly conduct. Thus, Johnson
did not have reasonable suspicion to detain Larkin for
disorderly conduct.

Additionally, the opinion by the Texas court of
appeals appears to allow police officers their own discre-
tion to decide what speech constitutes fighting words.

—

20

The opinion states that “Johnson followed [Larkin] out-
side, and attempted an investigative stop for suspicion of
disturbing the peace.” But disturbing the peace is not
defined as an offense in Texas, nor is it an element of an
offense. Disturbing the peace was a statute in Texas -
Title 9, Chapter 3, Article 474 — but it was amended and
renamed disorderly conduct by Texas Act of June 10,
1969, 61st Leg., p. 1510, ch. 454, § 1, eff. June 10, 1969.
Then it was repealed by Texas Acts of 1973, 63rd Leg., p.
883, ch. 399, § 1, eff. January 1, 1974. Because disturbing
the peace is not an offense, it can not be lawful justifica-
tion to detain someone. Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 51
(1979), (Police officers must “have a reasonable suspicion,
based on objective facts, that the individual is involved in
criminal activity.”) Not only does the opinion by the
Texas court of appeals give the police authority to detain
persons for non-criminal activity (that is, disturbing the
peace), it leaves the definition of disturbing the peace up
to individual officers’ personal and subjective initiative.

3. Respondent Deputy Johnson did not have probable
cause under the Fourth Amendment to arrest Peti-
fioner Larkin for disorderly conduct or evading
detention.

As shown in section 2 above, Johnson didn’t have
reasonable suspicion to detain Larkin for disorderly con-
duct. Also, reasonable suspicion is a less demanding stan-
dard than probable cause. See Alabama v. White, 496 U.S. |
325, 330 (1990). Therefore, since Johnson didn’t have the |
lower standard of reasonable suspicion to detain Larkin
for disorderly conduct, Johnson can’t have higher stan-
dard of probable cause.

i

21

Evading detention under Tex. Penal Code Ann.,
§ 38.04(a) is committed when a person intentionally flees
from a person he or she knows is a peace officer attempt-
ing lawfully to arrest or detain him or her. Thus, a valid
charge for evading detention requires underlying lawful
detention, which in turn requires that the arresting officer
have reasonable suspicion that criminal activity is afoot.
See Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 51 (1979). In this case
Johnson’s reasonable suspicion to detain Larkin was
predicated upon disorderly conduct under Tex. Penal Code
Ann., § 42.01(a)(1), which the Texas courts have ruled
only applies to fighting words. Ross v. State, 802 S.W.2d
308, 314-15 (Tex.App. - Dallas 1990; no pet.) (Section
42.01(a)(1) applies only to “fighting words” and is not
unconstitutionally vague); See Duran v. Furr’s Super-
markets, Inc., 921 S.W.2d 778, 785 (Tex. App. - El Paso
1996, writ denied).

A peace officer may arrest an offender without a
warrant for any offense committed in his presence or
within his view. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 14.01(b).
Probable cause which will justify an arrest without a
warrant by police officers exists where the facts and the
circumstances within the officers’ knowledge and of
which they have reasonably trustworthy information are
sufficient in themselves to warrant a man of reasonable
caution in the belief that an offense has been or is being
committed. Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 208 (1979).

“What the hell are you doing?” are not fighting
words, as shown in section 1, and disorderly conduct
under Tex. Penal Code Ann., § 42.01(a)(1) only applies to
fightirig words, Ross v. State, 802 S.W.2d 308, 314-15
(Tex.App. — Dallas 1990, no pet.), thus “What the hell are

22

you doing?” is not speech that constitutes the offense of
disorderly conduct. Johnson provided no more objective
reasonableness to detain Larkin for suspicion of disor-
derly conduct than Larkin having said “What the hell are
you doing?”, thus Johnson did not have the lawful
authority to detain Larkin for suspicion of disorderly
conduct. Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491, 498 (1983) (an
individual “may not be detained even momentarily with-
out reasonable, objective grounds for doing so; and his
refusal to listen or answer does not, without more, fur-
nish those grounds.”) Since Johnson did not have the
lawful authority to detain Larkin, a predicate element of
evading detention, the circumstances within Johnson’s
knowledge were not sufficient to warrant a prudent offi-
cer to believe that Larkin had committed the offense of
evading detention. Thus, Johnson did not have probable
cause to arrest Larkin for evading detention.

4. Respondent Deputy Johnson was not entitled to
Qualified Official Immunity.

Under Texas law, a defendant seeking a summary
judgment on an affirmative defense of immunity must
prove, without dispute and as a matter of law, that when
the event in question occurred, he or she was: (1) per-
forming a discretionary function, (2) acting in good faith,
and (3) acting within the scope of their authority. See City
of Lancaster v. Chambers, 883 S.W.2d 650, 653 (Tex. 1994).
This is correctly stated and cited of the opinion of the
Texas court of appeals. [App. 4]

Also, when a trial court’s order does not specify the
grounds relied on for its ruling, as in this case, the

|

23

summary judgment will be affirmed if any of the theories
advanced are meritorious. Insurance Co. of North America
v. Security Ins. Co., 790 S.W.2d 407, 410 (Tex. App. -
Houston [1st Dist.] 1990, no writ). However, this distinc-
tion is moot here. Johnson and CompUSA each specified
only one ground for summary judgment. Johnson’s claim
was for qualified official immunity. CompUSA’s claim
was that once Johnson witnessed Larkin commit a crime,
it was no longer liable for Johnson’s actions.

The Texas court of appeals correctly held that John-
son’s arrest of Larkin was undisputedly discretionary.
[App. 4] Whether Johnson acted within the scope of his
authority is now moot. It does not comprise a subsidiary
question fairly included within this petition’s Question
Raised. However, whether Johnson acted in good faith
when he arrested Larkin for “using foul and abusive
language with a peace officer and for evading detention”
does go to whether the Texas courts misapplied the Fight-
ing Words Doctrine.

Citing City of Lancaster v. Chambers, 883 S.W.2d 650,
656 (Tex.1994), the Texas court of appeals correctly held
that a court must measure good faith in official immunity
cases against a standard of objective legal reasonableness,
regardless of the officer’s subjective state of mind. Then
the Texas court of appeals incorrectly stated that “the
evidence clearly supports the officer’s objective legal rea-
sonableness, and the appellant has not controverted it
with probative evidence that ‘no reasonable person in the
defendant’s position could have thought that the facts
were such that they justified the defendant's acts.’ Cham-
bers, 883 S.W.2d at 657.” No reasonable police officer in
Johnson’s position is going to think that the facts were

24

such that they justified Johnson in making an arrest
absent probable cause. No reasonable police officer is
going to feel justified in arresting someone for disorderly
conduct when he or she says, “What the hell are you
doing?” This is especially true after provoking the person
by trying to take something out of his or her hands
without consent.

Included with his motion for summary judgment
Johnson presented three expert witness affidavits. One
was his own. The others were from Mike Faas, a Harris
County Sheriff’s Department instructor (CR 146-48), and
Scott Durfee, an Assistant Harris County District Attor-
ney. (CR 142-44) All three concluded that Larkin had
committed the offenses of disorderly conduct and evad-
ing detention. “An expert’s testimony will support sum-
mary judgment only if it is ‘clear, positive and direct,
otherwise credible and tree from contradictions and
inconsistencies, and could have been readily contro-
verted’ Tex. R. Civ. P. 166a(c).” Wadewitz v. Montgomery,
951 S.W.2d 464, 466 (Tex. 1997). However, instead of
presenting credible testimony, all three ignored contradic-
tory evidence and other damaging proof. For example,
each incorrectly stated that Larkin was verbally abusive,
that his tone of voice was disruptive, and that this created
a disturbance. Larkin gave evidence that his tone of voice
was “not loud”, (CR 214) and Johnson gave evidence that
no one in the vicinity was incited to breaching the peace.
(CR 177) Thus, all three expert witnesses failed to estab-
lish that Johnson acted in good faith when he arrested
Larkin because not one of them complied with Tex. R.
Civ. P. 166a(c).

25

More importantly, Mike Faas used evidence that is
not on the record. Faas overwhelmingly based his expert
witness testimony on the unsubstantiated idea that
Larkin had said, “What the hell are you doing, mother-
fucker?” Similerly, the Texas court of appeals incorrectly
states the same idea: “The parties dispute whether Larkin
actually did refer to the officer as ‘motherfucker’.” [App.
2] On the record, however, there is no dispute; Larkin and
Johnson agree. Larkin gave deposition testimony that he
said, “What the hell are you doing?” (CR 200) Johnson
swore under oath on his affidavit that Larkin said, “What
the Hell are you doing, that is my receipt!”(CR 152)
Johnson swore in his deposition that he could not recall
what Larkin said. (CR 167) Johnson based his deposition
memory of the incident solely upon reading a copy of his
original offense report. (CR 167) However, the offense
report itself was not entered into summary judgment
evidence. It was only in their unsubstantiated pleadings
that Johnson and CompUSA allege that Larkin said,
“What the hell are you doing, motherfucker?” (CR 14-15
and CR 156 fn. 1, respectively) Larkin did state in his
original pleading that “Johnson ... accused Plaintiff of
saying the word ‘motherfucker’ ”, (CR 3-4) but Larkin
admitted no such fact, just that it was Johnson’s accusa-
tion.

Additionally, lawsuits in Texas alleging false
imprisonment, as does this, specifically turn on whether

3 The offense report had been expunged and turned over to
Larkin. (CR 166-67) During Johnson’s deposition Larkin
presented the offense report so that Johnson could refresh his
memory.

26

the associated detention was lawful. See Randall’s Food
Markets, Inc. v. Johnson, 891 S.W.2d 640, 644 (Tex. 1995). As
shown in section 3 above, Johnson did not have probable
cause to arrest Larkin. Johnson’s detention of Larkin was
unlawful.

In sum, Johnson did not have objective legal rea-
sonableness to demonstrate that he arrested Larkin in
good faith, and Johnson’s subjective state of mind must
be disregarded. Thus, Johnson is not entitled to qualified
official immunity.

5. Summary Judgment was granted Respondent Dep-
uty Johnson and Respondent CompUSA in error.

In Texas a movant for summary judgment must show
that there are no genuine issues of material fact and that
he is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Nixon v. Mr.
Property Management Co., 690 S.W.2d 546, 548 (Tex. 1985).
In determining whether there is a disputed fact issue
precluding summary judgment, the proof must be viewed
in a light most favorable to the non-movant (Larkin),
resolving all doubts and indulging all reasonable infer-
ences in the non-movant'’s favor. Id. at 548-49.

As shown in section 4, Johnson is not entitled to
qualified official immunity from his arrest of Larkin.
Whether Johnson acted in good faith when he arrested
Larkin is a material fact issue still in dispute. Thus,
Johnson is not entitled to summary judgment as a matter
of law. The Texas court of appeals was in error to have
affirmed the trial court’s grant of summary judgment to
Respondent Johnson.

27

CompUSA’s motion for summary judgment was
based on one claim, essentially expressed in two sen-
tences:

“The summary judgment record establishes that,
when Deputy Johnson observed Mr. Larkin dis-
turbing the peace and evading detention, Dep-
uty Johnson became an on-duty policy (sic)
officer and, therefore, not an employee of
CompUSA as a matter of law. Plaintiff’s sole
claim against CompUSA, based on vicarious lia-
bility for the acts of Deputy Johnson, therefore
fails. See Leake [v. Half Price Books, Records, Maga-
zines, Inc.], 918 S.W.2d at 561-64.” (CR 158).

The problem with CompUSA’s theory is that its
premise is faulty. Larkin didn’t commit a crime. Further-
more, at no time did Johnson have the lawful authority to
detain Larkin for suspicion of any criminal activity. Thus,
there is a material fact issue dispute as to whether John-
son ever assumed his duty as a Texas peace officer, or
was instead and at all relevant times an employee of
CompUSA. It is, therefore, CompUSA’s sole claim for
summery judgment that fails.

4
v

CONCLUSION

The Texas courts misapplied the analysis mandated
by this Court’s remarkably consistent precedents on
fighting words, and a cascade of erroneous conclusions of
law and judgments of law resulted. Ultimately, the Texas
courts erred by holding that Johnson and CompUSA were
entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law, thereby

28

violating Larkin’s U.S. Constitutional right to equal pro-
tection of the laws and depriving him of his day in court.
This Court should grant Larkin’s petition.

Respectively submitted,

Warp LARKIN
Pro Se Petitioner

15327 Pebble Bend Drive
Houston, TX 77068-1839
Tel.: 281-444-3840
Fax: 281-895-9939

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Page

Texas Court of Appeals Opinion,

DEROGRE Bay. BOR <b cisctdncdrevecccesescvevevcee App. 1
Texas Court of Appeals Judgment,

PERGGN Bly SUPE hee evar hasth daeweececeseses App. 6
Trial Court Interlocutory Summary Judgment

Cee ED Mc vc dGdavededecances veces App. 7
Trial Court Final Summary Judgment Order, April

Dy WFD. vcccccrvencaccecedesvovernevescoveses App. 8
Court of Appeals Order Overruling Motion for

Rehearing, April 26, 2001. .-.............ee00. App. 9
Texas Supreme Court Order Denying Petition for

DVI, AUG F, Deeb nso ceccccccrceseseuces App. 10
Texas Supreme Court Order Denying Motion for

Rehearing, September 27, 2001............... App. 12
Trial Court Order Denying Motion for New Trial,

PON BE BR es PERCE ce Tk BN ee h era ese App. 14

Texas Attorney General Opinion No. JM-900, May
GE SPOR eve cc Versuvsissne yess bt oeeputvessens App.

15

App. 1
Affirmed and Opinion filed March 22, 2001.

In The
Fourteenth Court of Appeals of Texas

No. 14-98-00789-CV

Ward S. Larkin, Appellant
v.
Michael Johnson and CompUSA, Inc., Appellee
On Appeal from the 133rd District Court

Harris County, Texas
Trial Court Cause No. 97-30752

OPINION

Harris County Deputy Sheriff Michael Johnson dem-
onstrated with summary judgment proof that qualified
official immunity protected him when he arrested the
Appellant, Ward S. Larkin, in the parking lot outside a
CompUSA. The trial court granted summary judgment.
Larkin contends summary judgment was unwarranted
because Johnson maliciously arrested him for what
Larkin said as he left the CompUSA store where the
deputy worked an off-duty job. We find Johnson proved
as a matter of law that he acted as a Harris County
Deputy Sheriff rather than as an employee of CompUSA.
As there is no issue of material fact regarding any ele-
ment of qualified official immunity, we affirm.

Johnson was marking receipts at CompUSA as a
security guard when Larkin, a customer leaving with

en

App. 2

merchandise, resisted releasing his receipt. Larkin undis-
putedly stated, “What the hell are you doing?” The par-
ties dispute whether Larkin actually did refer to the
officer as “motherfucker” during this incident. We will
assume he did not. Johnson considered Larkin’s question
as loud. Johnson followed him outside, and attempted an
investigative stop for suspicion of disturbing the peace.
Johnson clearly identified himself to Larkin as a Harris
County Sheriff’s Deputy, and ordered him to stop. Larkin
refused, stating that if Johnson wanted him to stop, he
would have to arrest him. As Larkin started to get in his
car, Johnson arrested him.

Larkin argues that Johnson’s malice, an element of at
least one of the causes of action, arose when Johnson was
engaged in the protection of the employer’s property. See
Blackwell v. Harris County, 909 S.W.2d 135, 139 (Tex. App.
- Houston [14th Dist.] 1995, writ denied) (quoting Glen-
mar Cinestate, Inc. v. Farrell, 223 Va. 728, 292 S.E.2d 366,
369-70 (1982)). Accordingly, Larkin contends it is a jury
question whether Johnson committed the torts as a public
officer or as a servant of the employer. However, the
comparison of the objective action and actual duty
involved, not scienter, determines the immunity question.
Notably, Blackwell explains that where an officer is per-
forming a job incident to enforcing the public laws, he is
acting in the course and scope of his employment as a
police officer even if the private employer directed him to
perform the duty.

It is undisputed Johnson marked the receipt to pro-
tect CompUSA’s property while inside the store. How-
ever, this duty was complete when Larkin left the store.
There is also no contention that, Johnson enforced any

App. 3

CompUSA policy or advanced CompUSA’s interests?
when he went outside and arrested a paying customer.
Thus, there is no issue of material fact about whether
Johnson was acting as an employee of the Harris County
Sheriff’s Office when he arrested a person who refused to
comply with the officer’s attempt to detain him. See gener-
ally Bridges v. Robinson, 20 S.W.3d 104, 114 (Tex. App. -
Houston [14th Dist.] 2000, no pet. h.) (Finding officers
riding hogtied citizen and otherwise abusing him until he
died raised a “fact issue” about whether officers working
as guards at Dillards were acting in their capacity as
peace officers); Blackwell v. Harris County, 909 S.W.2d at
139; City of Dallas v. Half Price Books, Records, Magazines,
Inc., 883 S.W.2d 274 (Tex. App. - Dallas 1994, no writ)
(explaining peace officer becomes a government agent
when he begins to function as one). Johnson was acting as
an officer, not as an employee of CompUSA when he

1 Larkin attempts to assert fact issues about subjective
malice in the context of his underlying false arrest and wrongful
prosecution claims. He argues the officer’s subjective reasons
for behavior presents a jury issue on whether Johnson arrested
him out of subjective malice. To the extent Larkin is also arguing
anger arising from Johnson’s functions for CompUSA
prevented Johnson from making the arrest as an officer, we
disagree. If Clark Kent is outraged about wrongdoing he
discovers while on assignment, his anger is not kryptonite. He is
nonetheless Superman as he sallies forth to fight for truth,
justice, and the American way. A hero without feeling would be
inhuman, not superhuman. From the affidavits of Johnson’s
superiors, Johnson functioned in all ways as we would expect of
a Texas peace officer - even if Larkins’ eye could not follow the
blinding speed with which Johnson’s capacity changed as he
passed the door.

App. 4

arrested the appellant. Accordingly, CompUSA is not lia-
ble for Johnson’s actions in making the arrest.

Government employees are entitled to official immu-
nity from suit arising from the performance of their (1)
discretionary duties in (2) good faith as long as they are
(3) acting within the scope of their authority. City of
Lancaster v. Chambers, 883 S.W.2d 650, 653 (Tex. 1994). The
arrest was undisputedly discretionary. The Texas
Supreme Court observed in Chambers that a court must
measure good faith in official immunity cases against a
standard of objective legal reasonableness, regardless of
the officer’s subjective state of mind. 883 S.W.2d at 656.
The evidence clearly supports the officer’s objective legal
reasonableness, and the appellant has not controverted it
with probative evidence that “no reasonable person in the
defendant’s position could have thought that the facts
were such that they justified the defendant’s acts.” Cham-
bers, 883 S.W.2d at 657. It is undisputed that the claims
arose from Johnson making an arrest and turning the case
over to the District Attorney’s office. These functions are
within the scope of a deputy sheriff’s authority. Thus, we
do not reach Larkin’s causes of action because we con-
clude Johnson objectively functioned within the aura of
the qualified governmental immunity doctrine. This doc-
trine renders facts relating only to the substantive causes
of action immaterial. Accordingly, we affirm.

/s/ Maurice Amidei
Justice

Avp. 5

Judgment rendered and Opinion filed March 22, 2001.
Panel consists of Justices Sears, Lee, and Amidei.*

Publish - TEX. R. APP. P. 47.3(b).

* Senior Justices Ross A. Sears, Norman Lee, and Former
Justices Maurice Amidei sitting by assignment.

App. 6

March 22, 2001
Judgment
The Fourteenth Court of Appeals of Texas
No. 14-98-00789-CV |
Ward S. Larkin, Appellant
v.
Michael Johnson and CompUSA, Inc., Appellee

This cause, an appeal from judgment in favor of
appellee, Michael Johnson and CompUSA, Inc., signed
April 9, 1998, was heard on the transcript of the record.
We have inspected the record and find no error in the
judgment. We order the judgment of the court below
AFFIRMED.

We order appellant, Ward S. Larkin, to pay all costs
incurred in this appeal. We order this decision certified
below for observance.

App. 7

CAUSE NO. 97-30752

WARD S. LARKIN, § IN THE DISTRICT

Plaintiff : COURT OF
VS. a
COMPUSA, INC. and § HARRIS COUNTY, TEXAS
MICHAEL JOHNSON, :

Defendants. -§ 133rd JUDICIAL DISTRICT

ORDER

On the 2nd day of March, 1998, came on to be heard
the Motion for Summary Judgment of CompUSA, Inc.
and the Court, having considered the Motion, any
responses thereto, the evidence before it and the plead-
ings and discovery on file, is of the opinion that this
Motion for Summary Judgment is meritorious and should
be GRANTED. It is therefore

ORDERED that Plaintiff, Ward S. Larkin, take noth-
ing on his claims against CompUSA, Inc. Costs of court
are taxed against Plaintiff.

SIGNED this 25 day of March, 1998.

/s/ Lamar McCorkle
JUDGE PRESIDING

App. 8

[97-30752]
NO. 672,533
WARD LARKIN,
VS.
MIKE JOHNSON

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF
HARRIS COUNTY, TEXAS
133RD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

MMMM

ORDER

On this-dey [March 2, 1998], came on to be heard
Defendant, Michael Johnson’s Motion for Summary Judg-
ment, and after considering same, it is the opinion of this
Honorable Court that said Motion should in all things be
GRANTED [on March 6, 1998].

SIGNED on this the 9 day of April, 1998.

/s/ Lamar McCorkle
JUDGE PRESIDING

APPROVED AS TO FORM: RECORDER’S

MICHAEL 2 FLEMING, 4.
99999939 This instrument is of poor

quality and not satisfactory

for photographic recorda-

/s/ Christopher L. Janak tion, and/or alterations

CHRISTOPHER L. JANAK were present at the time of

Assistant County Attorney filming.

1001 Preston, Suite 634

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 755-4985

(713) 755-8924 Fax

County Attorney

App. 9

FOURTEENTH COURT OF APPEALS
[Seal of 1307 San Jacinto, 11th Floor
Texas} Houston, TX 77002

April 26, 2001
RE: Case No. 14-98-00789-CV

[USPS Meter Mark
Houston, APR 2601]

Style: Larkin, Ward S.
v. Comp USA Inc and Johnson Michael

Please be advised that, on this date, the Court OVER-
RULED appellant’s(s’) motion for rehearing in the above
cause.

T.C. Case # 97-30752 Ed Wells, Clerk
Ward S. Larkin

15327 Pebble Bend Drive
Houston, TX 77068-1839

App. 10

[SEAL] THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS
Post Office Box 12248
Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-1312

August 9, 2001
Ms. Leslie Ashby (Garcia)
Ashby & Whitmire
1415 Louisiana, Suite 3200
Houston, TX 77002

Mr. Ryan Chadwick
Jackson & Walker

1100 Louisiana, Suite 4200
Houston, TX 77002

Mr. Michael R. Hull

Harris County Attorney’s Office
1019 Congress, 15th Floor
Houston, TX 77002

RE: Case Number 01-0501
Court of Appeals Number: 14-98-00789-CV
Trial Court Number: 97-30752

Style: WARD S. LARKIN

v.
COMPUSA, INC. and MICHAEL JOHNSON
Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas denied the peti-
tion for review in the above styled case.

Sincerely,
John T. Adams, Clerk

by /s/ Tanya Hunter
Tanya R. Hunter,

Deputy Clerk

App. 11

cc: Mr. Ed Wells, Clerk
Mr. Charles Bacarisse
Mr. Ward Larkin

App. 12

[SEAL] THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS
Post Office Box 12248
Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-1312

September 27, 2001
Ms. Leslie Ashby (Garcia)
Ashby & Whitmire
1415 Louisiana, Suite 3200
Houston, TX 77002

Mr. Ryan Chadwick
Jackson & Walker

1100 Louisiana, Suite 4200
Houston, TX 77002

Mr. Michael R. Hull

Harris County Attorney’s Office
1019 Congress, 15th Floor
Houston, TX 77002

RE: Case Number 01-0501
Court of Appeals Number: 14-98-00789-CV
Trial Court Number: 97-30752

Style: WARD S. LARKIN

Vv.
COMPUSA, INC. and MICHAEL JOHNSON
Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas denied the motion
for rehearing of the above-styled petition for review.

Sincerely,
John T. Adams, Clerk

by /s/ Tanya Hunter
Tanya R. Hunter,

Deputy Clerk

App. 13

cc: Mr. Ed Wells, Clerk
Mr. Charles Bacarisse
Mr. Ward Larkin

App. 14

CAUSE NO. 97-30752

WARD S. LARKIN § IN THE CIVIL
Plaintiff § DISTRICT COURT

vs. : - OF HARRIS

CompUSA, COUNTY, TEXAS

INCORPORATED and §

MICHAEL JOHNSON g = “A JUDICIAL
Defendant §

ORDER
(Filed Mar. 31, 1998)

On this day came on to be considered Plaintiff’s
Motion for New Trial. After duly considering the same,
the motion is hereby GRANTED [Denied].

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that this-cause-is
hereby-set-for-triat-orr- the — day of — 1998 [Plaintiff

motion for New Trial is denied].

Signed on this the 15 day of June, 1998.

/s/ Lamar McCorkle
JUDGE PRESIDING

_ App. 15

[Seal]
THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
OF TEXAS
May 11, 1988
JIM MATTOX
ATTORNEY GENERAL
Honorable David H. Cain Opinion No. JM-900
Texas House of Representatives é'
PO. Box 2910 Re: Whether the use

of “abusive, indecent,
profane or vulgar” lan-
guage in a public place
constitutes an immedi-
ate breach of the peace
(RQ-1378)

Austin, TX 78769

Dear Representative Cain:

Section 42.01 of the Penal Code provides in part that

(a) A person commits an offense if he inten-
tionally or knowingly:

(1) uses abusive, indecent, profane, or vul-
gar language in a public place, and the
language by its very utterance tends to
incite an immediate breach of the peace[.]
(Emphasis added.)

Penal Code § 42.01(a)(1).
You ask the following questions:

(1) Does uttering abusive, indecent, profane, or
vulgar language in a public place constitute
an immediate ‘breach of the peace?’

(2) How is ‘breach of the peace’ defined in rela-
tion to Article 42.01(a)(1)?

App. 16

In order for this provision to withstand scrutiny under
the broad guarantees for freedom of expression and due
process of law in the United States Constitution, the
utterances prohibited can only include “fighting words.”
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942). See
Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972) and Acker v. Texas,
430 U.S. 962 (1977). See also Attorney General Opinion
MW-1 (1979).#

Whether particular words are “fighting words” is a
matter of fact. Chaplinksy, supra, at 573.

The test is what men of common intelligence
would understand would be words likely to
cause an average addressee to fight. . . . Derisive
and annoying words can be taken as coming
within the purview of the statute . . . only when
they have this characteristic of plainly tending
to excite the addressee to a breach of the peace.

See Gooding v. Wilson, supra, at 522, quoting with approval
of the Supreme Court of New Hampshire, 18 A.2d 754,
758, 762 (1941). See generally, Cohen v. California, 403 U.S.
15, 20 (1971); Bachellar v. Maryland, 397 U.S. 564, 567
(1970); and Gooding, supra. The “line between speech
unconditionally guaranteed and speech which may legit-
imately be regulated, suppressed, or punished is finely
drawn,” Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 525 (1958).

Speech punishable under the Penal Code provision
does not include language merely harsh and insulting,

1 This statute does not concern speech legally obscene
under the standards provided by the United States Supreme
Court in Miller v. California, 418 U.S. 915 (1973). See Spears v.
State, 337 So.2d 977 (Fla. 1976).

App. 17

see Gooding, supra at 525, and it should not include
speech, actual or symbolic, that is only “inappropriate,”
“naughty,” “disgusting,” “repulsive,” “tactless,” “gross,”
or “appalling.” Annot., 2 A.L.R.4th 1331. Conviction
under a statute specifically a “breach of the peace” as an
element of the offense must be based on jury instructions
including an admonition that proof of “actual or threat-
ened violence is essential.” Woods v. State, 213 S.W.2d 685,
487 (Tex. Crim. App. 1948). In other words, anything
“ort of the use of “fighting words” does not constitute a
breach of the statute. See Jimmerson v. State, 561 S.W.2d 5
(Tex. Crim. App. 1978). Speech is protected against pun-
ishment unless “shown likely to produce a clear and
present danger of a serious substantive evil that rises far
above public inconvenience, annoyance, or unrest.” Ter-
minello (sic) v. Chicago, 337 U.S. 1, 4 (1949).

a

Finally, because the application of the statute may
turn largely on the factual setting of the speech at issue,
the test is whether, in a particular instance, an average
person would be inured to respond by fighting. An aver-
age person is not someone who is overly sensitive or
overly inured to the speech in question. Cohen, supra and
Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. __, 96 L.Ed2d 398 (1987), quot-
ing from a concurring opinion of Justice Powell in Lewis v.
New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130, 135 (1974).

SUMMARY

Article 42.01(a)(1) of the Penal Code applies
only to speech which as a matter of fact consti-
tutes “fighting words.” As a matter of law, the
statute does not reach speech that merely causes
public inconvenience, annoyance, or unrest.

App. 18 i

“Fighting words” are words which would likely
cause an average addressee to fight. An “aver-
age addressee” is not someone either overly sen-
sitive or overly inured to the speech in question.

Very truly yours,
/s/ Jim Mattox
JIM MATTOX
Attorney General of Texas

MARY KELLER
First Assistant Attorney General

LOU MCCREARY
Executive Assistant Attorney General

JUDGE ZOLLIE STEAKLEY
Special Assistant Attorney General

RICK GILPIN
Chairman, Opinion Committee

Prepared by Don Bustion
Assistant Attorney General

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0998%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
