# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ross v. Hotel Employees & Restaurant Employees International Union

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0941%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 1162

## Text

O01 921 DEC 172001

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

GEORGE A. ROSS,
Petitioner,

HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES
INTERNATIONAL UNION; ROBERT BAKER, Co-Trustee;
CAROL CARLSON, Co-Trustee,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRDCIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Thomas M. Castello, Esquire Michael A. Karaffa, Esquire
Of Counsel Counsel of Record

2882 Glenmore St. Allegheny Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15216 Suite 1212

(412) 344-7833 429 Forbes Avenue
- Pittsburgh, PA. 15219
(412) 471-3257

Attorneys for Petitioner

i
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. IN DETERMINING A QUESTION OF FIRST
IMPRESSION, THE LOWER COURTS INCORRECTLY
INTERPRETED TITLE Ill — SECTION 304 OF THE
LABOR —MANAGEMENT REPORTING AND
DISCLOSURE ACT OF 1959, 29 U.S.C. §464, BY
DENYING PETITIONER A CAUSE OF ACTION WHEN
HE WAS HARMED BY THE IMPOSTION OF A
TRUSTEESHIP IMPOSED FOR AN _ IMPROPER
PURPOSE AND MAINTAINED IN BAD FAITH.

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

CIITA PIII a oc ccivecssniiesssinitideiethnissisibccesictsdsccsenicedwes i
Br Se eiiiciiacisiceinsniisiinlatalipebintainaceciesssctesauaiee il
PR Oe Fi siviiceinittistictnii ees ae ili
REE STAM RAL Ae vee Bees OP On paleo Aloe ONES l
pS ASE OR CHRO FCC DE ITER LEN TOME l
RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED......se-ssessseessees I
UTE OF TE CN iii 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........cccccccssceccsesccesscescceeees 7
SNe ciessascicseraiesacabacnaracaiiness ciate catia Soe a 20
APPENDIX

CIRCUIT COURT OPINION (09/17/2001) ....cccccccccccecesecceees la

DISTRICT COURT DECISION (10/04/1999) ooo. 43a

DISTRICT COURT DECISION (01/12/2000)..........cccccccceees S2a

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

FINNEGAN V. LEu, 456 U.S. 431, 72 L. Ep. 2b 239,
102 S. CT. 1867 (1982) 7, 10, 12
GESINK V. INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS, 831 F.2D 214 (10™ Cir. 1987)

HIGGINS V. HARDEN, 644 F.2D 1348 (9™ Cir. 1981)

McDONALD V. OLIVER, 525 F.2D 1217 (5™ Cir. 1976)...... 14

PETRAMALE V. LOCAL No. 17 OF LABORER’S INTERNATIONAL
UNION OF NORTH AMERICA, 671 F.Supp. 261 (S.D.N.Y.

POPE V. OFFICE AND PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYEES
'NTERNATIONAL UNION, 74 F.3*° 1492 (6™ Cir. 1996)... 16
PR ‘ITT V. UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND
. OINERS OF AMERICA, 659 F. Supp. 1511 (ND Ga. 1987)15
SH! ET METAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION V.
| YNN, 488 U.S. 347, 102 L. Ep. 2p 700, 109 S. CT. 639
a se saepnomntienaiinen 7, 12
STE: LWORKERS V. SADLOWSKI, 457 U.S. 102, 102 S.CT.
a eenseseemnansennnas 14

STATUTES

I a edienceimnntlomaoeneneciananions 7
29 U.S.C. § 412

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit dated September i7, 2001, is set forth in
the Appendix, p.la (266 F.3d 236). The opinion of ‘the
United States District Court for the Western District of
Pennsylvania dated January 12, 2000 is set forth in the
Appendix, p.53a.

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS OF JURISDICTION
OF THE SUPREME COURT

The statutory provision for this Court’s jurisdiction is
28 U.S.C. Section 1254. The United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit issued its Decision in this case on
September 17, 2001. This Petition was timely filed.

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISION
INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

Statutory Provision
1. 29 U.S.C. §464

Sec. 304. (a) Upon the written complaint of any
member or subordinate body of a labor organization
alleging that such organization has violated the provisions
of this title (except section 301) the Secretary shall
investigate the complaint and if the Secretary finds
probable cause to believe that such violation has occurred
and has not been remedied he shall, without disclosing
the identity of the complainant, bring a civil action in any
district court of the United States having jurisdiction of
the labor organization for such relief (including
injunctions) as may be appropriate. Any member or
subordinate body of a labor organization affected by any
violation of this title (except section 301) may bring a
civil action in any district court of the United States

2

having jurisdiction of the labor organization for such
relief (including injunctions) as may be appropriate.

STATEMENT OF CASE
Procedural History

Prior to January 6, 1998, Petitioner, George Ross, and
Edward Nassan and Darrell Brown were all officers and
employees of Local 57 of the Hotel Employees and
Restaurant Employees International Union (hereinafter
referred to as “HEREIU”). On January 6, 1998, all three
employees were fired when a trusteeship was imposed upon
Local 57 by the International Union. As a result of the
imposition of the trusteeship, Nassan, Ross and Brown filed
suit in Federal District Court against HEREIU and the
appointed Co-Trustees under Titie III of the Labor
Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, 29
U.S.C. §401 et seq. (hereinafter referred to as “LMRDA”), at
No. 98-629, challenging the International Union's right to
impose a trusteeship (hereinafter this case will be referred to
as “trusteeship” case). In May 1998, Nassan and Brown
advised Ross that they were withdrawing from the trusteeship
case resulting in Ross pursuing that case alone.

Shortly after Nassan and Brown withdrew from the
trusteeship case, Ross learned that the trusteeship would be
terminated and that the International Union would be
scheduling new local elections and promulgating election
guidelines which would effectively result in Ross being
declared ineligible. Having learned of this information, Ross
filed a Declaratory Judgment Action in the Court of Common
Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania against HEREIU
and the Co-Trustees (hereinafter referred to as “election”
case). The Defendants immediately removed the election
case to Federal District Court at No. 98-1131.

In the election case, Ross requested a temporary
restraining order asking the District Court to restrain the

3

On July 7, 1999, both actions were consolidated at
No. 98-1131 with all parties consenting to have Federal
Magistrate Judge Caiazza preside over the cases.

Prior to trial, Defendants filed numerous pretrial
motions. On April 23, 1998, Defendants filed a motion to
dismiss in the trusteeship case. This motion was denied on
December 2, 1998. On December 17, 1998, Defendants filed
a motion for summary judgment in the trusteeship case which
was denied on June 11, 1999.

Ross filed an amended complaint on February 9, 1999
adding Local 57 as a party and clarifying the damages
originally sought by Ross. Defendants never filed an
answer to the amended complaint.

Immediately prior to trial, Defendants filed a motion
in limine requesting the trial court to preclude Ross from
offering any evidence or argument regarding his claim that he

was improperly disqualified as a candidate. On October 4,
1999, on the morning of jury selection, the trial court denied
Dei.-ndants’ motion, but held that Ross could not seek any
relic f which would affect a change in the Local 57 election.

The consolidated matters then proceeded to trial on
October 4, 1999. After three days of trial and over two days
of deliberation, the jury could not reach a verdict resulting in
the Judge declaring a mistrial. The matter was then
rescheduled to be tried on January 24, 2000. Prior to the
commencement of trial, Defendants filed another motion in
limine and motion for summary judgment on December 7,
1999.

On January 12, 2000, the trial judge granted
Defendants’ motion for summary judgment and dismissed
Ross’ case. Ross filed a timely appeal with the Third Circuit
Court of Appeals which affirmed the trial court’s
determination.

4

Petitioner now seeks review by this Honorable
Supreme Court.

Statement of the Facts

Prior to January 6, 1998, George Ross had been a
member of Local 57 of the HEREUI for over twenty years.
In those years, Ross had served as an elected and appointed
business agent and as an elected member of the Executive
Board.

In the summer of 1997, a federal investigation began
into the operation of Local 57 as a result of the Local’s
affiliation with Anthony “Nini” Lagatutta, an alleged member
of organized crime. Simultaneously with this federal
investigation, internal problems began between Local 57’s
long time power base and Nassan, Ross and Brown. This
power struggle became so intense that the Executive
Secretary, Nancy Davis, a/k/a Nancy Ross, asked the
International Union to impose a trusteeship to retake control.
In a letter dated November 20, 1997, Kurt Muellenberg, the
federally appointed monitor,' suggested that a trusteeship be
imposed on Local 57 based upon specific charges against the
then President, Louis S. Sanfilippo; Executive Secretary,
Nancy Davis; Board Secretary, Vince Fera; and Louis
Masco.” Notwithstanding the immediacy of a trusteeship,
General President, Hanley did not appoint Robert Baker as a
Trustee until January 6, 1998.

' By Consent Decree dated August 21, 1995, Muellenberg was
appointed as a monitor over the operation of the HEREIU. The Decree
arose out of charges that the International Union had been infiltrated by
members of organized crime. The Decree gave the monitor broad powers
with regard to eliminating the influence of organized crime in the
International Union and its Locals.

2 Muellenberg’s letter states that a trusteeship “should be imposed”. In
a letter to Local 57’s membership, General President Hanley indicated
that he was imposing a trusteeship at the “suggestion” of the monitor.

5

On January 6, 1998, armed with authority from
General President Hanley, Baker appeared at the offices of
Local 57 in Pittsburgh and promptly fired Nassan, Ross and
Brown. President Sanfilippo resigned and Nancy Davis
remained untouched. Because they could not understand
why they had been fired when no charges had been brought
against them, Nassan, Ross and Brown protested to the
monitor’s office. The monitor’s office contacted
International Executive Vice-President, Ron Richardson
regarding the termination of Nassan, Ross and Brown. After
Richardson directed the Trustee to rehire Nassan, Ross and
Brown; the Trustee did so within 24 hours. All three men
were hired on probation with Nassan being demoted from a
General Organizer to a Business Agent.

Nassan, Ross and Brown filed the trusteeship case
challenging the imposition of the trusteeship. At the end of
April 1998, Nassan and Brown withdrew as parties leaving
Ross as the lone Plaintiff in the trusteeship case. Shortly
after Nassan and Brown withdrew from the trusteeship case,
the Co-Trustees recommended to Genera! President Hanley
that the trusteeship be terminated and that elections be held
for officers. In conjunction with this action, the International
Union prepared election guidelines which were specifically
designed to remove Ross as an eligible candidate and
provided them to the Co-Trustees.’ Because these guidelines
precluded Ross from seeking any elected office, he initiated a
second action, this time in State court requesting that he be
declared eligible as a candidate. Before a State Court judge
could rule on Ross’ request, Defendants removed this case to
Federal Court.

3 The International Union also drafted the new bylaws and provided

them to the Co-Trustees for the Local’s use.

6

With respect to the eligibility issue, pleadings’ and
evidence demonstrate that on numerous occasions, Ross was
declared eligible to seek elected office even though he had
been more than sixty days delinquent in the payment of his
monthly dues. Notwithstanding the International
Constitution and local by-laws to the contrary, Ross was
never suspended. However, in November 1997, Ross was
suspended by President Sanfilippo when he was delinquent in
the payment of his dues. Ross contended that he was not
given advance warning of his delinquency prior to the
expiration of the sixty days as had been past practice in Local
57. He also contended that he was treated differently this
time because President Sanfilippo believed he was
cooperating with the federal investigation into his
administration.

Federal District Court Judge Lancaster denied Ross’
request for a temporary restraining order. The election
proceeded with Nassan being elected President; Brown being
elected Vice-President and Amanda Veoni,
Secretary/Treasurer. In spite of his displeasure with Nassan
making a deal with the International Union, Ross did support
him for President.

The jury trial in both actions was set for October 4,
1999. After hearing testimony for three days, the jury was
unable to reach a verdict after over two days of deliberations.
The trial judge then declared a mistrial. Prior to the
commencement of the retrial, Defendants filed a motion for
summary judgment. In that motion, the Defendants argued
that the LMRDA did not permit recovery of the damages
Ross sought. Ross opposed the Motion contending that the
trial court had previously disposed of Defendants’ argument.
The federal magistrate disagreed with Ross and concluded
that Title III of the Act did not permit the recovery of
individual damages, but only those damages experienced by

* See Defendants’ Responses to Plaintiff's Request for Admissions.

7

the Local Union. The Third Circuit Court of Appeals
affirmed. Ross now seeks review by this Honorable Court.

In disposing of Ross’ appeal, the Circuit Court
initially acknowledged that Ross presented a question of first
impression. The Court then reviewed the legislative history
of the Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of
1959 and this Court’s holdings in Finnegan v. Leu, 456 U.S.
431, 72 L. Ed. 2d 239, 102 S. Ct. 1867 (1982) and Sheet
Metal Workers International Association v. Lynn, 488 U.S.
347, 102 L. Ed. 2d 700, 109 S. Ct. 639 (1989) and concluded
that Title III of LMRDA did not permit an individual to
recover damages for an improper imposition of a trusteeship.
Disagreeing with the Circuit Court’s determination, Ross
now seeks review by this Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

IN DETERMINING A QUESTION OF FIRST
IM?RESSION, THE LOWER COURTS INCORRECTLY
INTERPRETED TITLE III — SECTION 304 OF THE
LAI‘OR —~MANAGEMENT REPORTING AND
DIS: “LOSURE ACT OF 1959, 29 U.S.C. §464, BY
DENYING PETITIONER A CAUSE OF ACTION WHEN
HE WAS HARMED BY THE IMPOSTION OF A
TRUSTEESHIP IMPOSED FOR AN _ IMPROPER
PURPOSE AND MAINTAINED IN BAD FAITH.

The issue here is one of the first impression for the
Court. Does § 464 of the LMRDA give a member of the
union affected by a violation of LMRDA the right to seek
appropriate relief? Since the Defendants were using the
trusteeship as a tool to harm Ross, he is entitled to be
compensated for any losses sustained as the result of that
misuse. Furthermore, allowing Ross to seek individual
damages will inure to the benefit of the entire membership by
causing the International Union to fully consider the

:
ramification of its actions in imposing trusteeships in the
future.

The purpose of the LMRDA is to prevent unions from
abusing the rights of members. Title III by its very language
gives a member the right to seek relief for any violation.
Given that Ross was harmed by Defendants, he is entitled to
seek damages. Since the District Court held to the contrary,
it erred as a matter of law.

After the first trial ended in a hung jury, the
Defendants filed a motion for summary judgment under F. R.
Civ. P. 56. In their motion for summary judgment,

Defendants argued that Ross could not set forth a
claim under any set of facts. In essence, Defendants argued
that Ross had no right to recover individual damages under
the LMRDA and therefore Ross’ Complaint must be
dismissed with prejudice.

In his Complaint, Ross requested back-pay, front-pay,
reimbursement for medical and automobile insurance costs
and counsel fees. Prior to this case, the Third Circuit Court
of Appeals had not previously addressed the proper
interpretation of § 464(a) of the Act.

In relevant part, § 464(a) of the LMRDA states as
follows:

Any member of subordinate body of a labor
Organization affected by any violation of this
title (except Section 301) may bring a civil
action in any District Court of the United
States having jurisdiction of the Labor
Organization for such relief (including
injunctions) as may be appropriate. (emphasis
added).

In its opinion, the Third Circuit Court of Appeals
concluded that only Title | of LMDRA and not Title III

9

provides recourse to a union member harmed by its Union.
To support its conclusion, the Court of Appeals relied heavily
upon this Court’s opinions in Finnegan and Sheet Metal
Workers. Ross respectfully suggests that neither Finnegan
nor Sheet Metal Workers are dispositive of Ross’ issue and
therefore presents a question of first impression to be
addressed by this Court.

Title | of LMDRA provides various rights to all union
members including free speech and right of assembly.
Conversely, Title III controls union activity specifically when
a trusteeship has been imposed. Subsection (c) of Section
464 gives any member of a labor organization the right to file
a civil action if a trusteeship was not established for a proper
purpose or maintained in good faith. Thus Title III controls
all union activity when a trusteeship has been imposed, while
Title I could be implicated under circumstances when a
trusteeship has not been imposed. The Circuit Court seems
to suggest that all rights evolve from Title I and those rights
must be categorized as free speech and assembly. Contrary
to the Court of Appeals rationale, Ross is not complaining of
Title I rights but is complaining of the International Union’s
improper imposition of a trusteeship and how that action has
adversely affected him. Therefore, he is asserting a separate
cause of action under Title III.

Section 464(a) section must be read in light of the
intended purpose of the Act which is to “prevent abuses in
the administration of the trusteeships by labor organizations”
and to protect “the rights and interest of employees.”

There is no caselaw that specifically addresses the
unique circumstances before this Court. However, to support
his ruling, the trial judge relied upon Gesink v. International
Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, 831 F.2d
214 (10" Cir, 1987) which Ross contends is distinguishable.

In Gesink, plaintiff was the business representative for
a Local for the Machinists Union. The Local voted to request

10

supervision by the Grand Lodge. After a supervisor was
appointed, Union disciplinary charges were filed against the
plaintiff. The Local delegates then voted to suspend the
plaintiff from his office pending resolution of internal
charges. A trial before a Union committee was held resulting
in the Union’s International President removing plaintiff as a
business agent.

Plaintiff filed suit seeking damages for his
termination. The Defendants filed a motion for summary
judgment arguing that Plaintiff had no cause of action for
damages under Title III of the LMRDA. In disposing of
plaintiff's argument that he is entitled to individual damages
under § 464(a), the District Court noted that the intended
purpose of the LMRDA was to prevent improper uses of
trusteeships. Examples of improper uses of trusteeships
included consolidating the power of corrupt officials,
plundering the resources of local! unions or stifling the growth
of political competition within the union. The trial court also
recognized the United States Supreme Court’s decision in
Finnegan as instructive to the issue. Based upon its limited
interpretation of the intent of § 464(a) and its interpretation
of the holding in Finnegan, the District Court concluded that
plaintiff had no cause of action for individual damages.
Instead, the District Court held that § 464(a) was limited to
providing relief on behalf of Unions only.

The 10" Circuit Court of Appeals then affirmed the
trial court’s dismissal on the basis of the District Court
opinion.

In reaching its determination, the trial court in Gesink
chose to ignore the reasoning set forth in Higgins v. Harden,
644 F.2d 1348 (9" Cir. 1981) believing that the Supreme
Court’s decision in Finnegan demanded that conclusion.

In Higgins, the International Association of
Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM), the local union
and various officers, appealed the District Court’s decision

11

awarding back-pay, other benefits and attorney’s fees to
plaintiff. The Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the District
Court’s determination that a trusteeship was invalidly
imposed and the awarding of certain individual damages.

Higgins was employed as a union organizer for the
Local Union. Apparently a dispute arose between plaintiff
and the directing business representative for the Local Union.
As a result of that dispute, the business representative
suggested to the International Union that the Local be placed
under supervision. The International accepted the suggestion
and placed the Local Union under trusteeship. Plaintiff was
then terminated as an organizer for the district lodge.

Plaintiff then filed suit under the LMRDA alleging
that the trusteeship was improperly imposed and that he was
terminated in retaliation for his support of the terminated
business representative. Based upon the evidence, the
Dis:rict Court awarded plaintiff back-pay, lost benefits and
counsel fees. The Court of Appeals affirmed determining
that the trusteeship was not validly imposed. From the
Cou t’s opinion, it can be inferred that plaintiff was entitled
to a | compensatory damages arising from that improper act.
Clearly, the Court was of the opinion that individual
compensatory damages, such as back-pay, were appropriate.

In Finnegan, the specific issue before the Supreme
Court was whether a Union President violated the LMRDA
when he discharged a Local Union appointed business agent
who supported the Presicent’s opponent for office. Plaintiff
had supported the incumbent President in a hotiy contested
election. After the new Union President took office, he
discharged the plaintiffs who had supported his opponent.
The discharged business agents then filed suit in the United
States District Court alleging that they had been terminated
from their appointed positions in violation of the Act. The
District Court granted summary judgment to the defendants

12

holding that § 411(a) of the Act gave plaintiff no protection
from discharge.

In Finnegan, a trusteeship had not been imposed.
Instead, the plaintiffs lost their jobs merely through a change
of leadership. Title I guarantees members the right to vote
and express their views without the threat of reprisals.
However, an election victory is a mandate for a successful
candidate to implement his programs. Since the purpose of
Title I is to ensure the democratic process, there is no
impediment to that purpose if a successful Union President
chooses _to hire employees consistent with his own
philosophy. The Court stated:

For whatever limits Title I places on a union’s
authority to utilize dismissal from union office
as “part of a purposeful and deliberate
attempt... to suppress dissent within the
union, it does not restrict the freedom of an
elected union leader to choose a staff whose
views are compatible with his own.

102 S. Ct. at p. 1873.

The overriding factor which persuaded the Supreme
Court in making this determination was the fact that
Congress was clearly concerned with promoting union
democracy. To require a newly elected President to hire the
opposition would be counter to the intended purpose. Critical
in the Court’s analysis was the fact that plaintiff's Title I
rights were not violated.

The Finnegan rationale is not without exception. In
Sheet Metal Workers International Association v. Lynn,
supra., this Court was confronted with another termination
challenge under the LMRDA. In Sheet Metal Workers, the
plaintiff, Lynn, was an elected business representative for
Local 75 of the International Union. After a trusteeship was
imposed for financial reasons, plaintiff opposed a dues

13

increase proposed by the trustee, even though the trustee had
requested plaintiff's support. Five days after the dues
increase was voted down, plaintiff was removed from his
position as a business representative. Plaintitf brought suit in
District Court under § 412 of the LMRDA claiming that his
removal violated his free speech rights guaranteed by Title |
of the Act. The District Court granted summary judgment
relying upon Finnegan. The Court of Appeals reversed.

This Court affirmed the Court of Appeal’s reversal
notwithstanding the Finnegan decision. In distinguishing
Finnegan, this Court utilized a weighing process. This Court
noted that in Finnegan, the Court held that the need to
vindicate the democratic process outweighed any potential
chilling affect on free speech when an appointed business
agent is terminated for supporting the opposition candidate.
This Court then went on to explain in Sheet Metal Workers
that the removal of an elected official by a trustee is much
different requiring a different analysis. Not only would a
fired elected official take pause before exercising his free
speech rights under Title I, but his constituency likewise
would be hesitant to express opposition in light of their
leader’s termination. The impression left to the general
membership is that a challenge to the union hierarchy is at
one’s peril. The Court concluded that this result was contrary
to the expressed intent of the LMRDA which is to ensure a
democratic organization with the freedom to discuss union
policies and criticize leadership. Thus, the Court concluded
that plaintiff's retaliatory removal stated a cause of action
under § 412 of the Act.

In Sheet Metal Workers, this Court held that the
imposition of a trusteeship did not dilute Title I protection.
Furthermore, this Court has not held that Title I is exclusive
in providing protection to union members or that Title III
only provides rights or protections through Title I. If only
Title I rights exist and Title III provides no additional rights,
then Congress would not have needed to insert the last

14

sentence of Section 464(a) in Title III, which is the exact
language set forth in Section 412 of Title I.°

Other jurisdictions have rendered decisions which
support Ross’ position in this appeal.

In McDonald v. Oliver, 525 F.2d 1217 (5" Cir. 1976),
the Court of Appeals affirmed the District Court’s judgment,
in relevant part, dissolving a trusteeship imposed by the
International Union and awarding back-pay and attorney’s
fees.

Initially, the Court recognized that,

although the primary purpose of an
individual’s lawsuit is obviously to vindicate
his own rights or facilitate his own candidacy,
there can be little doubt that he renders a
substantial service to the union as an
institution and to his members individually in
protecting local democratic processes through
Titles I and Il]. The successful litigant dispels
the “chill” cast upon the rights of others.

at p. 1221. The Court then went on to hold that intra-union
appeals would be unlikely to provide much relief since the
protests would be to the very International which invoked the
trusteeship.” at p. 1229. Finally, the Court of Appeals
affirmed that award of back-pay to plaintiff.

Likewise, in Petramale v. Local No. 17 of Laborer’s
‘International Union of North America, 671 F.Supp. 261
(S.D.N.Y. 1987), the District Court recognized that an
individual is entitled to recover personal damages under the

* Title I was adopted as an amendment on the Senate Floor because
legislators feared that union members needed general protection from
union leadership. Steelworkers v. Sadlowski, 457 U.S. 102, 102 S.Ct.
2339, 72 L.Ed.2d 707 (1982). Thus Title I protection must be in addition
to any protection provided to union members under Title III.

15

LMRDA. Although the plaintiff was unable to sustain his
claim by sufficient proof, the District Court did acknowledge
plaintiff's right to seek compensatory damages:

It is beyond cavil that in actions under
LMRDA, a plaintiff is required to prove that
the injury he or she sustained was causally
connected to the wrongdoing by defendant.

at p. 265. Because Plaintiff could not substantiate his
damages, the trial court reversed the award of substantial
damages by the jury and awarded nominal damages in the
amount of one dollar ($1.00).

Five years after the United Supreme Court decided
Finnegan, the District Court in Georgia still acknowledged
with approval McDonald in Pruitt v. United Brotherhood of
Carventers and Joiners of America, 659 F. Supp. 1511 (ND
Ga. 1987). In Pruitt, the plaintiff, a business agent, filed suit
under Title [II of the LMRDA against the International Union
and the Trustee as a result of losing his job during the
trust-eship.

In its discussion of plaintiff's cause of action- under
the LMRDA, the Court noted that the Act was “needed to
protect both the rights of the membership as a whole and the
rights of individual members.” at p. 1517 (emphasis added).
The Court also recognized that in some instances trusteeships
have been used as a means of consolidating power and
impeding the growth of competing political elements within
the organization. Furthermore, the manner in which § 464 is
drafted suggests that either the local labor organization or
union members themselves can bring suit for a wrongfully
maintained trusteeship. The Court also noted that since
individual members can bring suit, those individuals can seek
damages, citing to McDonald. (See Note 11, p. 1520). Based
upon the foregoing analysis, the Court permitted plaintiff to

16

proceed with his claim arising out of the maintenance of the
trusteeship.

Finally, the 6” Circuit Court of Appeals was
confronted with a factual scenario very similar to the Ross
case in Pope v. Office and Professional Employees
International Union, 74 F.3™ 1492 (6" Cir. 1996).

In Pope, the plaintiff had been terminated as a union
employee by the trustee appointed by the International after
the International Union determined that Pope was acting
against the best interest of the current administration. It was
clear that Pope represented a threat to the existing power
structure and for that reason, he needed to be removed. In
fact, changes were made to the local constitution to ensure
that Pope would not be eligible to seek an elected office in
opposition to the current power base.

In an attempt to stop Pope, supporters of the current
administration requested the International to impose a
trusteeship. The International Union accepted the request
and did appoint a Vice- President as the Trustee. That
Trustee then fired Pope. The Trustee also refrained from
scheduling elections in order to assist the International’s slate
of candidates, thereby attempting to control the election
outcome. Notwithstanding the International’s attempts, the
reformers won the election and took control over the local.

Before the trusteeship was dissolved, Pope filed suit
in District Court alleging that the trusteeship was imposed for
an improper purpose and sought individual compensatory
damages, including lost wages. After a fourteen day trial, the
jury found in favor of Pope and awarded $100,000.00 in
compensatory damages and $100,000.00 in punitive
damages. In reaching its verdict, the jury concluded that the
evidence proved that the trusteeship was maintained for an
improper purpose and that Pope’s termination as an employee
was part of a scheme to suppress Pope’s participation in the
union’s election and affairs.

17

On appeal, the Court of Appeals affirmed the verdict.
In doing so, the Court of Appeals rejected the International
Union’s arguments that suggested that Pope failed to prove a
claim for which relief could be granted. The Court rejected
the International’s argument that plaintiff's cause of action
was moot since the trusteeship was dissolved, acknowledging
that an International Union could use a trusteeship as a means
to suppress members’ rights and then dissolve the trusteeship
before plaintiff had his day in court resulting in plaintiff's
claim being considered moot. The Court of -Appeals
concluded that Pope’s cause of action was not moot since his
rights had been violated prior to the dissolution of the
trusteeship and the damages he sought were related to the
violations he suffered as a result of the imposition of the
trusteeship.

Section 464, itself, and all of the foregoing cases
support Ross’ position that he can pursue individual claims
under Title III of the LMRDA. Section 464 states that “any
member or subordinate body of a labor organization affected
by any violation of this Title (except § 301) may bring a civil
action. . . for such relief. . . as may be appropriate.”
(emphasis added). \f individual members have no rights or
claims under Title III, then why would this section give a
member a cause of action?

Ross’ theory throughout this litigation has been that
the International Union was using a trusteeship as a
mechanism to discredit and remove individual members of
Local 57 (i.e., Nassan, Ross and Brown). Initially, the
trusteeship was going to be used to retain Nancy Davis as the
anointed power base for the International Union. When it
became apparent that she was not going to survive the federal
investigation, the International Union needed to align itself
with someone else. In this instance, that someone else was
Nassan, at the expense of Ross. As part of that deal, Nassan
had to agree with the International Union to effectively
destroy and remove Ross.

18

The record is replete with evidence establishing the
fact that the International Union wanted to remove Ross as an
influential member of Local 57. Nancy Davis testified about
a conversation she had with Co-Trustee Baker at the end of
April 1998, prior to the conclusion of the trusteeship and the
nomination of candidates for offices, that Nassan, Brown and
Amanda Veoni would be the slate for the yet to be announced
election. Likewise, Co-Trustee Carlson indicated to Davis in
April 1998 that Nassan, Brown and Veoni would be “taking
over” at the end of the trusteeship. In the context of the
eligibility requirements, the Co-Trustees advised Davis that
they were drafting the by-laws and would make “whoever
they wanted eligible.” Baker also indicated to Davis that
“George (Ross) had to go.” Finally, Ron Richardson
informed Davis at a trustee meeting in April 1998, that
“Eddie Nassan is the boy. He will be the president.”

Barry Trainor, an investigator for the monitor’s office
into the affairs of Local 57, also testified as to the agreement
offered to Nassan by the International Union which
ultimately was at the expense of Ross. Trainor testified that
he had “multiple” discussions with Nassan regarding a deal
the International Union was offering him. Nassan indicated
to Trainor that he (Nassan) had been offerea a deal to enable
him “to run for President of Local 57.” Sometime in April
after April 16, 1998, Nassan advised Trainor that he was
going to “accept the deal with the International.”

Nassan, himself, was required to admit on the witness
stand that the International Union had offered him a deal
which required the elimination of Ross. Ross’ Exhibit No. 8,
which is Nassan’s own handwriting, memorialized a meeting
that Nassan had with Co-Trustee Carlson on April 3, 1998.
At that meeting, Co-Trustee Carlson “tried to make a deal to
eliminate George Ross.” This deal was the one referred to
by Trainor in his testimony.

19

The Defendants argued at trial that they did nothing
out of the ordinary when they disqualified Ross as an eligible
candidate for elective office. However, the evidence
established that eleven out of thirteen times, Ross was
delinquent in the payment of his monthly dues. Yet, Ross
was declared eligible to hold various offices and did win
various elections including the position of a delegate for the
International Convention. Even though the Co-Trustees
admitted that it was common practice to notify any member
of his/her delinquency in sufficient time for the member to
pay his dues and avoid suspension, in November 1997, the
office staff of Local 57 failed to give Ross notification of his
delinquency even though the office staff gave him notices for
other members. In fact, the staff's failure to follow this
common practice in 1995, was the reason for Local 57
overlooking Ross’ delinquency when considering his
eligibility for .a national delegate to the International
Convention in 1996. The International Union also failed to
deny him credentials at the Convention, even though reports
of | is delinquency and suspension had been furnished to the
Inte ‘national Union.

If believed, this evidence proves that the trusteeship
was being used as a vehicle to remove George Ross. For
summary judgment purposes, this Court must assume that the
trusteeship was imposed and maintained for an improper
purpose, the purpose being to prevent Ross (and previously
his two colleagues, Nassan and Brown) from seeking and
winning elective offices in Local 57. As a result of this
improper use of a trusteeship, Ross suffered direct or
proximate damages. But for the imposition of the
trusteeship, Ross still would be employed. Since the
trusteeship was intended for an improper purpose and
maintained in bad faith, the Defendants violated the
LMRDA. Ross, as a member of Local 57, was “affected” by
the violation of the LMRDA. The damages Ross requested
were “appropriate” to make him whole.

20

The actions of the International Union will have also
a chilling affect on all members of Local 57. If the
International Union succeeds in destroying Ross and leaving
him with no recourse, then other members will refrain from
opposing the International Union. On the other hand, if the
International Union is required to defend Ross’ action and to
compensate him for its misuse of the trusteeship, then the
International Union will think twice next time before using a
trusteeship as a means to harm one of its members. In this
respect, Ross’ actions benefit all members and inure to the
benefit of the “subordinate body of a labor organization” in
addition to himself.

The purpose of the LMRDA is to prevent unions from
abusing the rights of individual members. Title III by its very
language gives a member the right to seek relief for any
violation. If there is a violation which adversely impacts a
member, that member is entitled to appropriate relief. In this
instance, appropriate relief would be all monetary damages
that flow from that violation.

CONCLUSION

Viewing the facts in a light most favorable to Ross,
this Court must assume that the International Union imposed
a trusteeship upon Local 57 for an improper purpose and in
bad faith. Section 464(a) of the LMRDA permits any
member of a subordinate body of a labor organization
affected by a violation to seek appropriate relief. Neither
Section 464(a) nor any case law restricts Ross’ right to seek
individual damages for the wrong he suffered. If he is
precluded from recovering his damages, then Section 464(a)
of Title III is meaningless. Section 464(a) would not provide
a member the right to seek relief if in fact that member was
limited to damages to the union as a whole. The Congress
could have clearly provided for such a limitation but chose
not to.

21-

Therefore, Ross is requesting the Honorable Supreme
Court to grant this Petition to resolve this question of first
impression relating to the abusive use of trusteeships under

Title II] of the Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure
Act of 1959.

Respectfully submitted,

By:
Michael A. Karaffa, Esquire
Counsel of Record

Allegheny Building, Suite 1212
429 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, Pa. 15219

(412) 471-3257

Thomas M. Castello, Esquire
Of Counsel

2882 Glenmore St.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15216
(412) 344-7833

Attorneys for Petitioner

la
No. 00-3142

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
THIRD CIRCUIT

GEORGE A. ROSS,
Appellant

¥;

HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND RESTAURANT
EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION; ROBERT
BAKER, Co-Trustee; CAROL CARLSON, Co-Trustee

September 14, 2000, Argued
September 17, 2001, Filed

PRIOR HISTORY: :

Appeal from the Judgment of the United States District Court
for the Western District of Pennsylvania. Civil Action No.
98-cv-01131. Magistrate Judge: Francis X. Caiazza.

DISPOSITION:
Affirmed.

COUNSEL:
THOMAS M. CASTELLO, ESQ. (Argued), Plunkett &
Cooney, P.C., Pittsburgh, PA, Attorney for Appellant.

RICHARD L. STOPER, Jr., ESQ. (Argued), SUSAN L.
GRAGEL, ESQ., Rotatori, Gragel & Stoper CO., L.P.A.,
Cleveland, Ohio, Attorneys for Appellees.

JUDGES:
Before: ROTH, McKEE and RENDELL, Circuit Judges.

2a
OPINION BY:
McKEE
OPINION:
OPINION OF THE COURT
McKEE, Circuit Judge.

We are asked to review the district court's grant of
summary judgment in favor of Hotel Employees and
Restaurant Employees International Union ("HEREIU"), and
Robert Baker and Carol Carlson; and against plaintiff George
Ross. Ross sued under Title III of the Labor Management
Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959. For the reasons that
follow, we will affirm. -

I. Factual and Procedural Background!

George Ross is a member of Local 57, a subordinate
labor organization of HEREIU. Before January 6, 1998,
Ross had been an elected non-salaried member of the
Executive Board of that Local as well as an appointed full
time salaried employee holding the title of business agent.”

On September 5, 1995, the United States entered into a
Consent Decree with HEREIU. The Consent Decree
appointed a federal monitor "for the remedial objective of
relieving HEREIU and Local 57 from the direct or indirect
influence of any organized crime group or the threat of such
an influence." App. At 104. Sometime during the summer of
1997, the United States Department of Justice began
investigating organized crime's relationship with Local 57.
Thereafter, the federal monitor brought charges of corruption
involving several officers of Local 57 including Louis
Sanfilippo, President; Nancy Davis, Secretary-Treasurer;
Vince Fera, Recording Secretary; and Louis Masco, a union
member.

3a

At the same time this investigation was proceeding, a
power struggle erupted between Local 57's "power base” and
three of the other officers of the Local: Ross, Nassan and
Brown.° Ross and Brown were then business agents of Local
57, and Nassan was a general organizer. According to Ross,
the power struggle progressed to the point that the Local's
Executive Secretary, Nancy Davis, n4 asked the International
to assume control of Local 57 by establishing a trusteeship.

In November of 1997, the federal monitor also requested
that a trusteeship be established based on the charges brought
against the officers of Local 57. Eventually, Robert Baker
was appointed as the first of two Trustees who assumed
control of Local 57.° On the same day he was appointed,
Baker fired Nassan, Ross and Brown; and Sanfilippo
resigned. However, Nassan, Ross and Brown were rehired
within 24 hours of their firing after complaining to the
monitor. |

An election for officers of Local 57 was scheduled for
March 1998, but the Trustees canceled the election, and
suspended the Local's constitution and by-laws. In April of
1998, Ross, Nassan and Brown filed the first of two lawsuits
challenging HEREIU's right to impose a trusteeship. They
named HEREIU and the two Trustees as defendants (the
“Trusteeship case"). The plaintiffs asserted that, "given the
resignation of Sanfilippo and the failure of HEREIU or the
Trustees to suspend Nancy Ross, it is clear that the
continuation of the Trusteeship is improper and therefore
must be dissolved." Ross’ Complaint at P 26 (No. 98-629).
The plaintiffs sought declaratory and equitable relief under
Title III of the Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure
Act of 1959 (the "LMRDA") which governs the creation and
maintenance of trusteeships by labor organizations. See 73
Stat. 519 § § 301-01 (1959), 29 US.C. § § 461-66 (1998 &
Supp. 2000) The prayer for relief included a request that the
court dissolve the Trusteeship, reinstate the constitution and
by-laws of Local 57, and order immediate elections. The

4a

plaintiffs also moved for a TRO to enjoin the Trustees from
running Local 57's operations. That motion was denied. At
the end of April, Nassan and Brown withdrew from the
lawsuit, leaving Ross as the only plaintiff.°

During the summer of 1998, the Trustees decided to hold
new elections and terminate the Trusteeship. They also issued
new election guidelines under which Ross became ineligible
to run for office because his union dues were delinquent.
Ross argues that these guidelines were specifically intended
to remove him as an eligible candidate.’ In addition to the
new election guidelines, the Trustees also "proposed a new
Constitution which terminated George Ross' position as full
time salaried business agent." Ross' Amended Complaint at P
38 (No. 98-629).

In July of 1998, Ross filed a second lawsuit against the
same defendants in state court (the "election case"). Ross
sought a declaration that he was an eligible candidate for the
upcoming election, and an injunction to prevent the election
from proceeding until his eligibility could be determined.
That suit was removed to federal court on motion of the
defendants, and the district court thereafter refused to enjoin
the election. Ross was not permitted to run for office because
of the aforementioned eligibility restrictions. On the day of
the election, Ross, Nassan and Brown received letters
terminating their employment as business agents. As a result

of the election, Nassan was elected president and principle .

officer. After the swearing in of the new officers of the union,
the Trusteeship was dissolved. Ross was not re-appointed as
a business agent by the newly elected officers.

In December of 1998, the defendants filed a motion for
summary judgment in the Trusteeship case. They argued that
Ross’ claim for equitable relief had been rendered moot by
the election of new officers and the resulting dissolution of
the Trusteeship. Ross answered arguing that the crux of the
Trusteeship case was that the Trusteeship had been imposed

- ee ee patie! ern
BENS ST SL ad es ?

FARA ELS

5a

in bad faith to remove political opposition. He insisted that
all actions carried out pursuant to the Trusteeship were void.
In February of 1999, Ross filed an amended complaint in the
Trusteeship case alleging continuing harm and asking the
district court to:

Void the following actions taken in conjunction with that
Trusteeship:

i. The suspension of the Local By-Laws
and Constitution;

ii. The firing of the Plaintiff, George Ross
on January 6, 1998;

iii. The imposition of the new eligibility
requirements to run for elected office intended
to exclude George Ross as a candidate for the
July, 1998 elections;

iv. The firing of George Ross on August
10, 1998. .

Ross' Amended Complaint, P 9 (No. 98-629). He also
requested temporary reinstatement, scheduling of new
elections, monetary damages, counsel fees, and costs.

The district court consolidated Ross' two lawsuits and the
matter was scheduled for trial. Essentially, Ross contended
that he was harmed in two respects as a result of the improper
continuation of the Trusteeship. He alleged that he had
suffered damages as a result of being declared ineligible to
run for office in the August 1998 elections. He also alleged
damages as a result of the termination of his appointed
position as a business agent. Prior to trial, the defendants
filed a motion in limine seeking to exclude evidence or
argument regarding Ross’ purportedly improper exclusion
from the August election. The court denied that motion but
did enter an order precluding Ross from "seeking any relief
which would effect a change in the union election." Ross v.

6a

Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees Int'l Union, No.
98-1131, slip. op. at 9 (W.D. Pa. Oct. 4, 1999).

After both sides rested in the ensuing trial, the jury
reported that it was deadlocked and the court declared a
mistrial. However, before the scheduled retrial was to begin,
the defendants moved for summary judgment on all of Ross'
claims. The defendants argued that Ross was precluded from
asserting an individual claim for monetary damages under
Title III of the LMRDA. Ross opposed the motion by relying
solely on the law of the case doctrine. He contended that the
court had already implicitly decided that an individual could
sue for damages under Title III because the court sent the
damage suit to the jury in the first trial.

The district court rejected Ross' law of the case argument
Stating: "the issue of whether Title II] supports Ross's
individual requests for relief has not yet been adjudicated by
the Court." Ross v. Hotel Employees and Restaurant
Employees Int'l Union, No. 98-1131 slip. op. at 12 (W. D. Pa.
Jan. 12, 2000). The court noted that Ross had not asserted a
timeliness challenge, and concluded that it had broad
discretion to entertain the defendants’ motion for summary
judgment even though the issues had been submitted to a
jury. Id. at 6 (citing In re Sch. Asbestos Litig., 977 F.2d 764,
794 (3d Cir. 1992)). The court ultimately held that interests
of judicial economy counseled in favor of adjudicating the
summary judgment motion and granted summary judgment
in favor of the defendants and against Ross.

In doing so, the court relied on the text and legislative
history of the LMRDA as well as relevant precedent from
other circuit courts of appeals. The court held that Ross’
claims were all individual in nature and that Title III of the
LMRDA does not allow plaintiffs to seek individual relief.
Id. at 12-13, 16-17. Rather, the district court concluded that
Title III was intended to protect loca! unions, not their
individual members. Id. at 14. The court relied in large part

Ta

upon Gesink v. Grand Lodge, International Ass'n of
Machinists and Aerospace Workers, 831 F.2d 214 (10th Cir.
1987), in stating:

the purposes listed in Title III as justifying the
creation of a trusteeship have nothing to do
with protecting union members’ or employees’
individual rights; rather, they seek to protect
locals from ‘corruption’ or ‘financial
malpractice’ of their agents and to ensure that
such agents comply with their obligations and
‘otherwise carry [ ] out the legitimate objects
of ' the union.

Ross, slip. op. at 12. The court concluded that Ross' claim
was not appropriately brought under Title III because each
form of requested relief was intended to compensate him, not
his Local.

Plaintiff 's requests for lost wages, medical M
insurance coverage, and other ‘out of pocket
costs' associated with his termination as
business agent, as well as his request for
reinstatement, are asserted on his own behalf

and for his own benefit, not for that of Local

57. ;

Id. at 16-17. The district court did acknowledge that Ross
sought other equitable relief including a declaration that the
Trusteeship was improperly imposed in bad faith and the
voiding of certain of the Trustee's actions. Id. at 17 n.3.°
However, inasmuch as that relief was ancillary to Ross’
primary attempt to redress his individual injuries, Ross’ entire
case was dismissed. This appeal followed.

8a
II. Jurisdiction and Standard of Review

The district court had jurisdiction pursuant to § 304 of
the LMRDA. 73 Stat. 519 § 304, 29 U.S.C. § 464. We have
jurisdiction from the district court's final order granting
summary judgment under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. We exercise
plenary review. Resolution Trust Corp. v. Fidelity and
Deposit Co. of Maryland, 205 F.3d 615, 626 (3d Cir. 2000).

III. Discussion

Ross’ appeal presents two questions for resolution. First,
we must determine if Ross has waived the arguments he
makes now because he did not raise those arguments’ in
opposition to the defendants’ summary judgment motion in
the district court. If we address the merits of his claim we
must decide the very important question of whether Title III
of the LMRDA affords Ross a cause of action under the
circumstances of this case.

A. Waiver

As noted above, Ross’ opposition to the defendants’
motion for summary judgment in the district court was
limited to his contention that the law of the case precluded
summary judgment because the merits of his claim had been
submitted to a jury. The district court disagreed with his
position, and that ruling has not been appealed. On appeal,
for the first time, he argues the merits of the defendants’
claim that Title III of the LMRDA does not provide a cause
of action for individual relief.

Generally, "absent compelling circumstances an appellate
court will not consider issues that are raised for the first time
on appeal." Patterson v. Cuyler, 729 F.2d 925, 929 (3d Cir.
1984), overruled on other grounds recognized in Carter v.
Rafferty, 826 F.2d 1299 (3d Cir. 1987) (citing Singleton v.
Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 120-21, 49 L. Ed. 2d 826, 96 S. Ct. 2868
(1976)). In Patterson, we explained:

9a

This prudential policy seeks to insure that
litigants have every opportunity to present
their evidence in the forum designed to
resolve factual disputes. By requiring parties
to present all their legal issues to the district
court as well, we preserve the hierarchical
nature of the federal courts and encourage
ultimate settlement before appeal. It also
prevents surprise on appeal and gives the
appellate court the benefit of the legal analysis
of the trial court. It is however not a
jurisdictional bar, and the statement of policy
permits exceptions in appropriate cases.

Id. (citations omitted).

The case at bar has important implications for the field of
labor law, and raises a question of first impression in this
circuit. Moreover, the procedural posture also raises
procedural questions that we have not previously addressed.
As noted above, the summary judgment motion was made
after a jury deadlocked and a mistrial was declared. However,
because of that unique procedural posture, the defendants can
hardly claim at this late date that Ross' assertion of a private
cause of action under Title III is a surprise, or that Ross'
position prejudices them. They have obviously assumed that
he had a private cause of action under Title III throughout the
course of this litigation including trial. Although Ross failed
to respond to the merits of defendants' arguments in the
summary judgment motion, the district court was afforded
the rare advantage of a fully developed record in analyzing
the issues raised by the motion for summary judgment.
Inasmuch as the defendants are not unfairly prejudiced by the
lateness of Ross" arguments, and given the importance of the
issues raised by this grant of summary judgment, we think it
appropriate to resolve this appeal on the merits, and not upon
the procedural grounds that the defendants argue in the
alternative.

10a

Moreover, the district court did not err in considering a
motion for summary judgment after a mistrial. If there are no
issues of material fact and a party is entitled to judgment as a
matter of law, judgment may be awarded at any time, even
after trial, under Rule 56 or under Rule 50. There was no
reason to require the court to go through the procedural
calisthenics of a second trial merely because the motion for
judgment was brought after the mistrial. Accordingly, we will
consider the merits of the arguments before us.

B. Title III of the LMRDA

This dispute arises in the context of a trusteeship that was
imposed pursuant to Title III of the LMRDA.'° The LMRDA
defines a trusteeship as "any receivership . . . or other method
of supervision or control whereby a labor organization
suspends the autonomy otherwise available to a subordinate
body under its constitution or bylaws." 73 Stat. 519 § 3(h),
29 U.S.C. § 402(h). Title III limits the establishment of
trusteeships as follows:

'Trusteeships shall be established and
administered . . . for the purpose of [1]
correcting corruption or financial malpractice,
[2] assuring the performance of collective
bargaining agreements or other duties of a
bargaining representative, [3] restoring
democratic procedures, [4] or otherwise
carrying out the legitimate objects of such
labor organization.

73 Stat. 519 § 302, 29 U.S.C. § 462. Specifying proper
purposes protects the local union organization and its
membership as a whole from the misuse of the trusteeship
power. Title III provides that a trusteeship is "presumed valid
for a period of eighteen months . . . and shall not be subject to
attack during such period except upon clear and convincing
proof that the trusteeship was not established or maintained

lla

in good faith for a purpose allowable under section 302." 73
Stat. 519 § 304(c), 29 U.S.C. § 464(c). The provision also
states: "any member or subordinate body of a labor
organization affected by a violation of this title may bring a
civil action in any district court . . . for such relief (including
injunctions) as may be appropriate." 73 Stat. 519 § 304(a),
29 U.S.C. § 464(a). It is this provision that provides the
proverbial "rub" here, as we must determine if the individual
relief that Ross is seeking is "appropriate" under Title II."

Our inquiry is therefore circumscribed by our
interpretation of this statute.

In any case turning on statutory interpretation,
our goal is to ascertain the intent of Congress.
To accomplish this goal, we begin by looking
at the statute's language. If the language is
plain, we need look no further. If the statutory
language is ambiguous or unclear, we may
look behind the language to the legislative
history for guidance.

Collinsgru v. Palmyra Bd. of Educ., 161 F.3d 225, 233
(3d Cir. 1998). The intricate legislative history of the
LMRDA has caused the Supreme Court to note that:

Archibald Cox, who actively participated in shaping much of
the LMRDA, has remarked:

'The legislation contains more than its share of
problems for judicial interpretation because
much of the bill was written on the floor of the
Senate or House of Representatives and
because many sections contain calculated
ambiguities or political compromises essential
to secure a majority. Consequently, in

12a

resolving them the courts would be well
advised to seek out the underlying rationale
without placing great emphasis upon close
construction of the words.'

Wirtz v. Glass Bottle Blowers Asso., 389 U.S. 463, 468
n.6, 88 S. Ct. 643, 19 L. Ed. 2d 705 (1968) (citing Cox,
Internal Affairs of Labor Unions Under the Labor Reform
Act of 1959, 58 Mich. L. Rev. 819, 852 (1960)). Thus the
practice of interpreting ambiguous statutory language in light
of its legislative history is of particular value in the context of
the LMRDA. Although we do not consider the word
"appropriate" an ambiguous term in and of itself, to the
extent that the text of the LMRDA does not adequately define
the term in context, and thereby definitively establish what
remedies are “appropriate” under Title III, we are compelled
to consult the statute's legislative history. See West Virginia
Univ. Hospital, Inc. v. Casey, 499 U.S. 83, 98, 113 L. Ed. 2d
68, 111 S. Ct. 1138 (1991) (it is appropriate to resort to
legislative history to determine the meaning of ambiguous
legislation). The legislative history of Title III] confirms our
analysis.

C. The Legislative History of Title III

In 1957, the Select Committee on Improper Activities in
the Labor Management Field of the United States Senate,
more commonly known as the "McClellan Committee,"
began investigating and gathering findings on the internal
affairs of labor unions. Note, Landrum-Griffin and the
Trusteeship Imbroglio, 7] Yale LJ. 1460, 1473 (1962)
(hereinafter "Note, Trusteeship Imbroglio"). The McClellan
Committee's findings "exposed the details of the sad state of
democracy in large sections of the labor movement and
provided numerous examples of the abuses of the trusteeship
power." Sheet Metal Workers’ Int'l Ass'n v. Lynn, 488 U.S.
347, 357 n. 8, 102 L. Ed. 2d 700, 109 S. Ct. 639 (1998)
(quoting Note, Trusteeship Imbroglio at 1473).

13a

The Labor-Management Reporting and
Disclosure Act of 1959 was the product of
congressional concern with widespread abuses
of power by union leadership. The relevant
provisions of the Act had a history tracing
back more than two decades in the evolution
of the statutes relating to labor unions.
Tensions between union leaders and the rank-
and-file members and allegations of union
wrongdoing led to extended congressional
inquiry. As_ originally introduced, the
legislation focused on disclosure requirements
and the regulation of union trusteeships and
elections. However, various amendments were
adopted, all aimed at enlarged protection for
members of unions paralleling certain rights
guaranteed by the Federal Constitution; not
surprisingly, these amendments--ultimately
enacted as Title I of the Act, 29 U.S.C. § §
411-415--were introduced under the title of
"Bill of Rights of Members of Labor
Organizations." The amendments placed
emphasis on the rights of union members to
freedom of expression without fear of
sanctions by the union, which in many
instances could mean loss of union
membership and in turn loss of livelihood.
Such protection was necessary to further the
Act's primary objective of ensuring that
unions would be democratically governed and
responsive to the will of their memberships.

Id. at 352 (citing 105 Cong. Rec. 6471-6472, 6476,

15530 (1959)).

Title Ill of the LMRDA, the trusteeship title, first
emerged as Title II'* of the Kennedy-Ives Bill passed by the
Senate in June of 1958. Lynn, 488 U.S. at 357 n.8. It

l4a

appeared again in January of 1959 in the Kennedy-Ervin Bill.
Id.; Note, Trusteeship Imbroglio at 1475. The Kennedy-Ervin
Bill focused on disclosure and reporting requirements,
trusteeships and elections. U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News
at 2318-72; Lynn, 488 U.S. at 352. The accompanying
Committee Report to the Kennedy-Ervin Bill reflects the
overarching concern of guaranteeing internal union
democracy while minimizing governmental interference with
the internal affairs of unions. See, e.g., 1959 U.S.C.C.A.N. at
2322-23; Jerry E. Linde, Title II] of the Labor or
Management Relations and Disclosure Act: For Greater
Judicial Protection of Union Democracy and Local
Automony, 9 J. Corp. L. 271, 276-80 (1984); Marcia
Greenblatt, Union Officials and the Labor Bill of Rights, 57
Fordham L. Rev. 601, 601-02 (1989). This report
acknowledged that trusteeships had been effective in the past
"to insure order within [labor] organizations." U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News at 2333. However, it also
acknowledged the McClellan Committee's findings regarding
the misuse of the trusteeship authority. The Committee
Report noted:

in some instances trusteeships have been used
as a means of consolidating the power of
corrupt union officers, plundering and
dissipating the resources of local unions, and
preventing the growth of competing political
elements within the organization.

Lynn, 488 U.S. at 357 n. 8 (quoting 1959 U.S.C.C.A.N. at
2333). The Committee Report also explained why then
current law was ineffective:

A trusteeship will ordinarily be set aside
unless the local is given a fair hearing
including notice of the charges and an

1Sa

opportunity to defend. But if the forms of fair
procedure are observed there appears to be
little the courts can do and there are very few
cases staying or upsetting trusteeships upon
substantive grounds.

Men have frequently been subjected to fines
as large as $ 1,000 for bringing suit against a
union; others have been expelled from the
membership.

The Committee on Labor and Public Welfare
therefore concurs in the select committee's
recommendation that there should be a
‘limitation on the right of internationals to
place local unions in trusteeship.'

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News at 2333.

The Kennedy-Ervin Bill underwent seven months of
rewriting and debate involving several amendments. Note,
Trusteeship Imbroglio, at 1475. A major alteration was the
addition of a “Bill of Rights of Members of Labor
Organizations." Id. The Bill of Rights "was adopted as an
amendment on the Senate floor by ‘legislators who feared that
the [original] bill did not go far enough because it did not
provide general protection to union members who spoke out
against union leadership.' " Lynn, 488 U.S. at 352 (quoting
Steelworkers v. Sadlowski, 457 U.S. 102, 72 L. Ed. 2d 707,
102 S. Ct. 2339 (1982)). Those legislators believed this Bill
of Rights was needed to further protect the rank-and-file
members and reinforce the other provisions of the LMRDA,
including the trusteeship provision.

—
In these debates, Senator McClellan stated:

I do not believe that racketeering, corruption,
abuse of power and other improper practices
on the part of some labor organizations can be,
or will ever be, prevented until and unless the
Congress of the United States has the wisdom
and the courage to enact laws prescribing
minimum standards of democratic process and
conduct for the administration of internal
union affairs. I mean by that, . . . that the
Congress should prescribe and define by law
what the rights of union members are, place in
them by democratic process the power to
secure those rights and protect them in their
efforts to do so from reprisals of any kind
from their would-be exploiters, manipulators,
and bosses. Without such protection, other
provisions of law may be of little benefit and
meaningless. Without such protection in the
exercise of his legitimate rights the records of
our committee's investigations show over and
over again that a rank-and-file member dare
not risk any opposition to a corrupt or
autocratic leadership. If he does so, he may be
beaten, his family threatened, his property
destroyed or damaged, and he may be forced
out of his job--all of these can happen and

have happened.

Having these things in mind, . . . I introduced S. 1137 to
provide a bill of rights for working people--for union
members.

105 Cong. Rec. 6471-72 (emphasis added).

17a

The Bill of Rights was therefore "designed to guarantee
every member equal voting rights, rights of free speech and
assembly, and a right to sue." Lynn, 488 U.S. at 352 (quoting
Steelworkers v. Sadlowski, 457 U.S. 102, 72 L. Ed. 2d 707,
102 S. Ct. 2339 (1982)).

Between January and September of 1959, when the
LMRDA was finally enacted, most of the debate concerned
the new additions and amendments, "while the trusteeship
title glided quietly through the labyrinthine process from bill
to bill with little change and less discussion." See Lynn, 488
U.S. at 357 n.8 (quoting Note, Trusteeship Imbroglio at
1475). Neither the discussions on the House nor Senate floors
focused on the relationship between Title I and Title III. Id.
Senator Dodd, however, did propose an amendment to Title
III which sparked some debate. Specifically, Dodd wanted
the trusteeship provisions to go even further in order to
prevent the manipulation of the trusteeship power and the
resulting harm that had been so well documented by the
McClellan Committee. Note, Trusteeship Imbroglio at 1475-
76. Dodd's amendment created a presumption that
trusteeships in place longer than thirty days were invalid
unless the international union, at a hearing before the
Secretary of Labor, could present clear and convincing proof
of a proper purpose. Id. Senator Dodd explained the rationale
for his proposed amendment as follows:

The [Kennedy-Ervin] bill now provides a
procedure under which an individual union
member may appeal. The point is that the full
burden of proof is placed upon such union
member, who thus would have to fight the
international or the national union; and in that
fight the limited, sparse, or -- most often --
nonexistent power of the individual union
member would be pitted against the
tremendous prestige and power of the national

18a

or the international union. . . . the philosophy
behind my amendment- is an old Anglo-
American philosophy . . . that the burden of
proof for so serious a matter as destroying a
local union, or local union autonomy -- and
that is what a trusteeship usually does --
should rest upon the national union seeking to
impose the trusteeship. ”

105 Cong. Rec. at 6675.

Dodd then focused on the importance of protecting the
local membership given organized crime's entanglement with
certain elements of the labor movement as unearthed during
the congressional inquiry. He explained:

In the past, as we know from the revelations
of the McClellan committee, and as we know
from litigation, the imposition of trusteeships
was one of the greatest abuses of the
Teamsters Union. My recollection is that more
than 120 trusteeships were imposed by that
union some of them for more than 20 years.
Think of it. For more than 20 years, the local
members, the wage earners, were without any
say at all with respect to their local unions.

eee

All I seek by the amendment is to give the
members of a local union an opportunity to
say to someone, a judge, or other competent
authority, ‘This trusteeship should not be
imposed on us."

Id. (emphasis added).

19a

Senator Ervin opposed Dodd's amendment. Ervin argued
"the bill as now drawn furnishes adequate protection for the
rank and file of members of unions which are placed in
trusteeship."'? Id. at 6677. Additionally, Senator Morse
argued:

We should look at the trustee section of the
bill as it comes to us in the light of the other
sections of the bill, and note what the
committee has done by way of setting up
democratic procedures to protect the rank and
file of the local unions. As we provide
democratic guarantees in the bill, I believe we
should keep at a minimum any interference
with the operation of the internal affairs of the
union.=I

_ Lynn, 488 U.S. at 357 n. 8 (quoting 105 Cong. Rec.
6678). Dodd's amendment was subsequently rejected.

When the Kennedy-Ervin Bill went to the House, the
enforcement section of the trusteeship title was changed.’
The Kennedy-Ervin Bill did not grant individual union
members standing to bring suit in federal court. The
Committee Report accompanying the bill explained that
"section 206 makes clear that Federal suits under Title II are
possible only upon suit initiated by the Secretary of Labor."
U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1959, p. 2363. The
enforcement section which Congress passed, and which is
still in force, allows the local union itself or an individual
union member to bring suit in federal court. See 73 Stat. 519
§,29U S.C. § 464.

The legislative history is silent on the issue of whether a
union member, as an appointed officer, may seek individual
damages. However, Congressman Ludwig Teller offered
supplementary views regarding the reasoning behind the
amendment of the enforcement section. Teller explained that

20a

Congress wanted to facilitate individual claims without any
involvement by the Secretary. U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
News 1959, p. 2500. This allowed Congress to curtail the
inordinate power of the Secretary while saving taxpayer
dollars and eliminating any requirement that a union member
first obtain governmental permission to sue.'> Id.

This expansive discussion of legislative history does not
conclusively establish what type of relief is "appropriate" for
an individual union member who is also an appointed
official. However, it places that inquiry into its proper
context and guides our interpretation of the relevant statutory
language. In interpreting Title II] in the context of the
discussions in Congress and the findings of the McClellan
Committee, we conclude that the amendment authorizing
individual law suits was intended to underscore the concerns
surrounding trusteeships under Title III. By allowing
individual members to bring suit rather than the Secretary,
Congress intended more avenues for enforcement of the
trusteeship provision, not more types of relief.

Nothing in the legislative history of Title III suggests that
Congress contemplated an individual bringing suit for
compensatory damages arising from the loss of an appointed
union position under that title. The statutory scheme of the
LMRDA strongly suggests that the individual rights that Ross
seeks to vindicate must be redressed under Title I. As noted
above, that provision was initially referred to as the "workers' |
bill of rights" when it was introduced. Title II], which came
first, was meant to protect the subordinate labor organization,
and Title I was subsequently added specifically to address the
rights of individual union members. Accordingly, we
conclude from the legislative history that the relief that Ross
seeks is not "appropriate" under Title III. An examination of
the relevant cases confirms this conclusion.

2la
D. Applicable Case Law

We have not previously interpreted § 304, the
enforcement provision of Title III. However, Finnegan v.
Leu, 456 U.S. 431, 72 L. Ed. 2d 239, 102 S. Ct. 1867 (1982),
and its progeny guide our analysis. In Finnegan, Leu defeated
Brown in an election for president of Local 20 of the
International Brotherhood of the Teamsters. /d. at 433.
Brown had been openly supported by a group of the local's
business agents including Finnegan. Id. After Leu assumed
office, he discharged all of the business agents who had
supported Bre'wn pursuant to a provision in the local's bylaws
that purported to give the president the "authority to appoint,
. .and discharge the Union's business agents." /d. at 433. The
business agents then sued in district court contending that
their termination violated Title I of the LMRDA."* Id.

The Court began its analysis by reviewing the legislative
history of the LMRDA, and concluding that "the Act's
primary objective [was] ensuring that unions would be
democratically governed and responsive to the will of their
memberships." Id.‘The Court noted that "it is readily apparent
from the legislative history of Title I, that it was rank-and-file
union members--not union officers or employees, as such--
whom Congress sought to protect." /d. at 437. The plaintiffs
were members of the union with protected speech rights, as
well as salaried employees of the union. Accordingly, the
Court had to determine whether the rights afforded plaintiffs
as members of the union "immunized [them] from discharge
at the pleasure of the president from their positions as
appointed union employees." Id.

The Court concluded that the plaintiffs’ Title I rights had
not been violated because plaintiffs had not been precluded
from exercising any of those rights, and the LMRDA did not
protect appointed officers who "backed the wrong horse."
This was true even if it meant that those officers were "forced
to ‘choose between their rights of free expression . . . and

22a

their jobs.' " Id. (citations omitted). The Court explained its
rejection of plaintiffs’ Title I claim as follows:

For whatever limits Title I places on a union's
authority to utilize dismissal from union office
as 'part of a purposeful and deliberate attempt

. . to suppress dissent within the union,’
(citations omitted), it does not restrict the
freedom of an elected union leader to choose a
staff whose views are compatible with his
own. Indeed, neither the language nor
legislative history of the Act suggest that it
was intended to address the issue of union
patronage. To the contrary, the Act's
overriding objective was to ensure that unions
would be democratically governed, and
responsive to the will of the union
membership as expressed in open, periodic
elections.

Id. at 441.

Here, Ross also held the "dual status" of union member
and appointed union officer. Defendants argue that because
Ross was employed during the entire time the trusteeship was
in place, Finnegan precludes him from asserting a claim
"arising from the decision of the newly elected officers of
Local 57 not to retain him as a business agent after the
trusteeship ended." Defendants’ Br. at 9. Defendants are
correct that the newly elected officers of Local 57 were free
"to choose a staff whose views are compatible with [their]
own." Finnegan, 456 U.S. at 441.

However, the analysis does not end there because, unlike
in Finnegan, we are here concerned with a trusteeship that
was created pursuant to Title III. Ross argues he is entitled to
compensation because the continuation of the Trusteeship
was in bad faith and for the purpose of removing him as

23a

political opposition within Local 57 in violation of § 304 of
Title I11.'’ The Supreme Court addressed a similar argument
in the context of a trusteeship in Sheet Metal Workers’
International Ass'n v. Lynn, 488 U.S. 347, 102 L. Ed. 2d 700,
109 S. Ct. 639 (1989).

There, the trustee who had been appointed to run the local
asked Lynn, who was an elected business representative of
Local 75, to support a proposed dues increase. However,
rather than support the increase, Lynn insisted that
expenditures be reduced and he organized the opposition to
the proposal to raise union dues. /d. at 349-50. Five days
after the proposal was defeated, the trustee informed Lynn
that he was being removed from his elected position of
business agent. /d. at 350. Lynn exhausted his administrative
remedies within the union, and then filed suit under Title |
alleging that his removal constituted illegal retaliation in
violation of the statutory right of free speech set forth in §
101(a)(2) of the LMRDA. 73 Stat. 519 § 101(a)(2), 29
U.S.C. § 411(a){2).

The Court began its analysis by noting similarities
between Lynn's plight, and the plight of the plaintiffs in
Finnegan. The Court recalled that the Title I rights of the
plaintiffs in Finnegan had been chilled “albeit indirectly,
because [they] had been forced to choose between their rights
and their jobs." /d., at 354. Nevertheless, the Finnegan
plaintiffs had not recovered because the choice that they were
left with did not violate the purpose of the LMRDA.

Whether such interference with Title I rights
gives rise to a cause of action under § 102
must be judged by reference to the LMRDA's
basic objective: "to ensure that unions [are]
democratically governed, and responsive to
the will of the union membership as expressed
in open, periodic elections." In Finnegan, this

24a

goal was furthered when the newly elected
union president discharged the appointed staff
of the ousted incumbent. Indeed, the basis for
the Finnegan holding was the recognition that
the newly elected president's victory might be
rendered meaningless if a disloyal staff were
able to thwart the implementation of his
programs. While such patronage-related

“ discharges had some chilling effect on the free
speech rights of the business agents, we found
this concern outweighed by the need to
vindicate the democratic choice made by the
union electorate.

488 U.S. at 354-5 (citations omitted). However, the
Court stressed that Lynn's situation was quite different for he
was removed from an elected position, and his removal
thereby had a direct impact on the democratic governance of
the union itself.

The consequences of the removal of an
elected official are much different. To begin
with, when an elected official like Lynn is
removed from his post, the union members are
denied the representative of their choice.
Indeed, Lynn's removal deprived the
membership of his leadership, knowledge, and
advice at a critical time for the Local. His
removal, therefore, hardly was an integral part
of ensuring a union administration's
responsiveness to the mandate of the union
election.

Furthermore, the potential chilling effect
on Title I free speech rights is more
pronounced when elected officials are
discharged. Not only is the fired official likely

25a

to be chilled in the exercise of his own free
speech rights, but so are the members who
voted for him. Seeing Lynn removed from his
post just five days after he led the fight to
defeat yet another dues increase proposal,
other members of the Local may well have
concluded that one challenged the union's
hierarchy, if at all, at one's peril. This is
precisely what Congress sought to prevent
when it passed the LMRDA. "It recognized
that democracy would be assured only if union
members are free to discuss union policies and
criticize the leadership without fear of
reprisal."

Id. at 355. Accordingly, the Court held that Lynn's
allegation of retaliatory removal stated a cause of action
under Title I of the LMRDA. |

Ross was appointed and his complaint alleges only a
violation of Title I1I.'* The Court in Lynn was quite explicit
in tying Lynn's cause of action to Title 1. The Court
emphasized the importance of Title I as follows:

we find nothing in the language of the
LMRDA or its legislative history to suggest
that Congress intended Title I rights to fall by
the wayside whenever a trusteeship is
imposed. Had Congress contemplated such a
result, we would expect to find some
discussion of it in the text of the LMRDA or
its legislative history. Given Congress’ silence
on this point, a trustee's authority under Title
III ordinarily should be construed in a manner
consistent with the protections provided in
Title I.

26a
Id. at 356-57.

Title I was enacted to protect rank-and-file members of
the union and to insure union democracy by protecting the
independence of elected union officials even though the free
speech rights of the union's membership are implicated. This
is true whether or not a trusteeship is involved. Ross tries to
avail himself of the holding in Lynn by arguing that his
removal has an impact on the democratic governance of the
Local.'? He seems to be arguing that Title II] was the
mechanism by which his free speech rights (i.e., Title I) were
violated. However, the rights that may have been chilled are
nevertheless Title I rights, not Title III rights. Therefore, the
holding in Lynn does not further his position. "The potential
chilling effect on Title I free speech rights is more
pronounced when elected officials are discharged. Not only is
the fired official likely to be chilled in the exercise of his own
free speech rights, but so are the members who voted for
him." Jd. at 355. We are not persuaded by Ross' attempts to
secure compensation for a claimed violation of Title I under
Title III. His position is, in fact, in substantial tension with
Finnegan. After all, in Finnegan, the Court allowed an
appointed officer to be removed even though doing so
required employees to chose between free speech and
continued employment. The Court reasoned that choice was
necessarily concomitant to allowing elected officials to
implement the programs and leadership that a majority of the
union membership had voted for. Although there was no
issue of a trusteeship in Finnegan, it is very difficult to square
that analysis with Ross' assertion that he has a cause of action
because of the Trusteeship here.

As the Supreme Court found in the Title I setting, nothing
in the legislative history of Title III establishes that Congress
intended to protect appointed officers like Ross under the
circumstances here. Ross’ reliance upon Title III may well be
an attempt to circumvent the holding in Finnegan. But for the
existence of the Trusteeship and the fact that Ross brought

27a

this suit under Title II], Finnegan would be more precisely on
point. Ross’ claim that he was victimized by an appointed
Trustee rather than an elected officer does not alter the fact
that the rights he seeks to vindicate are Title I rights, not Title
III rights. Accordingly, we believe our analysis here must
still be guided by Finnegan, and that is confirmed by our
reading of Gesink v. Grand Lodge, International Ass'n of
Machinists and Aerospace Workers, 831 F.2d 214, 216 (10th
Cir. 1987).

In Gesink, the International appointed a trustee who
subsequently filed charges against Gesink, a business
representative for the local. /d. at 215. Gesink was thereafter
removed from his office by the president of the International,
and he was barred from holding any office for five years. Id.
Gesink sued for damages under Title I and Title III. His claim
for damages under Title III was based upon his assertion that
he was entitled to relief for deprivation of his salary and other
emoluments of his office during the Grand Lodge supervision
of the District Lodge. He argued that the supervision violated
Title Ill of the LMRDA. /d. at 216. The Court dismissed his
Title II claim stating:

In light of the legislative history of Title III of
the LMRDA and the Supreme Court's ruling
in Finnegan, this Court finds that there is no
cause of action for individual damages under §
§ 462 and 464. Any right of action pursuant
to those sections belongs to the subordinate
union, while a union member may sue to
enforce the act's provisions, such suits should
be limited to relief on behalf of the union. As
the Supreme Court concluded in the Title I
context, this Court concludes that nothing in
the legislative history of Title III indicates an
intent to protect the positions of union officers
and employees.

28a

Id., at 216. Similarly, in Pope v. Office and Professional
Employees International Union, the court stated: "Title III of
the LMRDA is designed to protect a subordinate union as a
whole, whereas Title 1 . . . is designed to protect the
individual rights of the members of a union." 74 F.3d 1492,
1504, (6th Cir. 1996).

The district court here found that Ross is not seeking
compensatory damages and reinstatement in order to protect
the local union and its membership from the actions of the
Trustee. Rather, the court concluded that Ross sought relief
to redress personal losses purportedly inflicted upon him by
the Trustee. Ross v. Hotel Employees and Restaurant
Employees Int'l Union, No. 98-1131, slip. op. at 16-17 (W.D.
Pa. Oct. 4, 1999). His efforts to now argue that his relief will
benefit the union by vindicating its members’ free speech
rights is little more than a belated attempt to import
considerations that govern Title | relief into a suit brought
only under Title III.

Despite the holding in Finnegan, Lynn, and Gesink, Ross
urges that we be guided by Higgins v. Harden, 644 F.2d 1348
(9th Cir. 1981). There, the International Association of
Machinists ("IAM") appointed Simpson and Harden to
exercise control over a local for which Higgins was an
organizer. Thereafter, Harden attempted to remove Higgins
from his position as organizer by claiming that Higgins had
been unproductive. Higgins responded by suing under § §
101-611 of the LMRDA, 29 U.S.C. § § 40/-531. He alleged
that the [AM had imposed an unlawful trusteeship in the form
of Simpson and Harden, that those trustees were without
authority to terminate him, and that his termination had
actually been in retaliation for his political support of the
directing business representative of the local who had
apparently fallen into disfavor with the International, and
been "forced out" by Harden. Id.

29a

The district court held that the International had, in fact,
established a trusteeship. That trusteeship was declared
invalid because the International had not complied with
IAM's own constitution and bylaws. Accordingly, the court
held that Harden did not have the authority to remove
Higgins, and Higgins was awarded back-pay and attorney's
fees. Id. The court of appeals affirmed that part of the district
court's opinion. However, the court of appeals merely
assumed that the requested individual relief was
“appropriate” under Title II1.

We decline to embrace Higgins for several reasons.
Although the court there assumed that an individual right of
action exists, under Title III, it did not directly address the
issue. See Gesink, 831 F.2d at 216 (finding that the Higgins
court “apparently assumes there is an individual right of
action... but . . . does not discuss the issue"). It never
analyzed the legislative history that Finnegan and Lynn
instruct is sO important to a proper inquiry. Moreover,
Higgins was decided before Finnegan and Lynn, and the
Higgins court therefore did not have the benefit of the
Supreme Court's discussion of the LMRDA contained in
those later cases.

Ross also urges reliance on McDonald v. Oliver, 525 F.2d
- 1217 (Sth Cir. 1976). In McDonald, new elections were held
after a trusteeship was established, but the International
invalidated the election results and refused to install the new
officers. Jd. at 1222-23. The newly elected officers brought
suit under Titles I and III seeking to end the trusteeship; and
win installation as officers, and back-pay. Id. The Secretary
also brought an action under Titles III and IV based on a
finding by a Labor Department official that the continuation
of the trusteeship and the failure to recognize the election
violated Titles III and IV of the LMRDA. /d. at 1224. The
district court declared that the election was valid, ordered the
immediate installation of the officers, and awarded back pay.
Id. at 1225. The Court of Appeals affirmed, reasoning that:

30a

although the primary purpose of an
individual's lawsuit is obviously to vindicate
his own rights or facilitate his own candidacy,
there can be little doubt that he renders a
substantial service to the union as an
institution and to his members individually in
protecting local democratic processes through
Titles I and III. The successful litigant dispels
the "chill" cast upon the rights of others.

Id. at 1227. The court also concluded that Title III should
be "construed in light of the various other provisions of the
LMRDA." /d. at 1229. The court recognized that the primary
purpose of the LMRDA is "not only to stop and prevent
outrageous conduct by thugs and gangsters but also to stop
lesser forms of objectionable conduct by those in positions of
trust and to protect democratic processes. within union
organizations." Id. The court concluded by finding that the
international union was thwarting union democracy in
violation to the LMRDA.

Although McDonald suggests that a successful suit under
Title III confers benefits on the entire union membership, the
holding does not advance Ross' argument as much as he
would like because McDonald was also decided before
Finnegan and Lynn. Moreover, McDonald was elected and
Ross was appointed. The decisions in Finnegan and Lynn
readily establish the importance of that distinction and
undermine McDonald as support for Ross' action under Title
Il.

Similarly, we find that Ross’ reliance upon Pruitt v.
United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America,
659 F. Supp. 1511 (N.D. Ga. 1987), vacated on other gr'ds,
893 F.2d 1216 (11th Cir. 1990), is misplaced because Pruitt
too is distinguishable from the instant case. There, the court
was not asked to find a private cause of action for damages
under § 304 of Title III. Rather, Pruitt sued under both Title I

31a

and Title II] alleging that an appointed trustee had prevented
him from assuming an elected position in retaliation for the
exercise of free speech. /d. at 1514. The court discussed the
statutory presumption of validity that attaches to trusteeships
under § 304 of Title III in inquiring into whether the
trusteeship in question had been imposed for a proper
purpose. /d. at 1517, 1520. The issue addressed by the court
was whether the "plaintiff's Title III claims fail as a matter of
law under the clear and convincing evidence standard [of §
304}." Id. at 1519. The court merely ruled that "a triable issue
may exist as to whether the trusteeship was maintained to
block plaintiff from assuming his elected position" /d. at
1520. More importantly, Pruitt, unlike Ross, stated a Title I
claim based upon his assertion that the trusteeship had
precluded him from assuming an elected position. /d. at
1522. ;

Finally, Ross relies upon the decision of the Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Pope v. Office and
Professional Employees International Union, 74 F.3d 1492
(6th Cir. 1996). Pope was an appointed busjness
representative of Local 268 of the Office and Professional
Employees International Union (OPEIU). Soon after his
appointment, he alleged wrongdoing and mismanagement on
the part of officers of Local 268. /d. at 1496. Support for
Pope's outspoken criticism of the Local's leadership soon
flourished, and he became a candidate for president of the
Local despite opposition of the OPEIU, and local board. /d.
at 1497. After one very chaotic meeting of the Local, the
OPEIU granted the local board's request, and imposed a
trusteeship to control Local 268 pending a hearing to
determine its propriety. Jd. at 1498. Thereafter, the union
held a hearing and determined that the trusteeship was
appropriate despite Pope's protestations to the contrary.
Shortly thereafter, Pope was fired, and his union membership
was withdrawn without notice or opportunity to be heard. /d.
at 1499. Pope was therefore ineligible to run for president of

32a

the Local. Elections were held, a new slate of officers was
elected, and the trusteeship was thereafter terminated. /d. at
1500. However, before the trusteeship was terminated, Pope
sued in district court.

Pope argued that the trusteeship violated Title III of the
LMRDA, and that denying him eligibility to run for union
office violated Title I of the LMRDA. Id. He sought
monetary, declaratory and injunctive relief. However, after
the elections took place the declaratory and injunctive claims
were dismissed as moot. Id. The suit proceeded to trial, and
the jury awarded Pope compensatory and punitive damages
against the OPEIU. Id.

OPEIU appealed claiming that the LMRDA is designed
to protect rank and file union members and not officers and
employees and that Pope therefore lacked standing as an
appointed employee. /d. at 150]. In resolving those issues,
the Court reconciled the jury's verdict with the holdings in
Finnegan, Lynn, and Gesink. The court also reconciled the
jury's verdict with the holding in Cehaich v. International,
UAW, 710 F.2d 234 (6th Cir. 1983), a case involving similar —
facts decided subsequent to Finnegan. Cehaich and Pope had
both been appointed employees of local unions, but Cehaich's
"status as a member of the union did not change after he was
terminated from his appointed position. He was not fined,
suspended, expelled or disciplined." Pope, 74 F.3d at 1502.
The court reasoned as follows:

In Finnegan, the appointed officials of an
ousted board were not protected by the
LMRDA because union members elected a
new board. In Lynn, the elected officials were.
protected because they had been elected by the
union members. The purpose of ensuring
democracy is furthered by allowing Pope a
cause of action under the LMRDA. Pope was

33a

appointed a business representative by an
elected local executive board. That board was
not ousted as in Finnegan.

Moreover, unlike Cehaich, Pope was expelled
from union membership immediately after his
termination from his position as business
representative. Thus, Pope's case is clearly
distinguishable from Cehaich. Pope is entitled
to protection under the LMRDA because he
was disciplined in a manner which affected his
right to fully enjoy the rights and privileges of
union membership.

Id. at 1503.

However, mosi significantly for our purposes, the court
held that Pope's suit was not moot merely because the
trusteeship had since been terminated. The court reached that
result by reading Title I and Title III] together and concluding
that "the question of the propriety of the trusteeship is not
moot because it has direct bearing on whether Pope's Title I
rights were violated." Id. The violation of Title III supported
Pope's claim for damages because "[his was] an action at law
to recover damages for the suppression of Title I rights as a
result of the imposition of a trusteeship." /d. at 1505.

However, Ross is not alleging a violation of Title I. He
was not expelled from membership, and he was reinstated to
his appointed position within 24 hours of being removed
from it.”° In reviewing the grant of summary judgment for the
defendants here, we must assume that they denied Ross'
eligibility to run for election solely to keep him from running
in the election. Although a union member's right to seek
elective office is protected under Title I, /d. at 1503; Gesink,
831 F.2d at 217, Ross seeks relief solely under § 304 of Title
IlI. Based on the text and legislative history of Title III and
the Supreme Court's decisions in Finnegan and Lynn, we

34a

hold that Title III does not allow a private cause of action for
individual damages flowing from the termination of an
appointed employee. Relief under § 304 must be sought on
behalf of the local union organization and the entire
membership must reap the benefits.

Accordingly, we conclude that the district court properly
determined that there was no genuine issue of material fact
and that, on the record before it, Ross’ Title III claim failed as
a matter of law. The relief Ross seeks is simply not
“appropriate” within the meaning of Title III.

IV. Conclusion

For the reasons set forth herein, we conclude that the
district court did not err in granting summary judgment to the
defendants under Title III of the LMRDA and that order will
be affirmed.

Footnotes

' The procedural history of this appeal is rather unique as
the district court entered summary judgment after declaring a
mistrial.

? At all times relevant to the issues before us, Ross held
an appointed office.

> Inasmuch as we are reviewing a grant of summary
judgment against Ross, we must assume that the allegations
of his amended complaint are true, and draw all inferences
which reasonably arise from those assertions in his favor as
the nonmoving party. Woessner v. Air Liquide Inc., 242 F.3d
469, 471 (3d Cir. 2001).

35a

* Nancy Davis is also referred to as-Nancy Ross in the
record, as she is George Ross’ former wife.

* Carol Carlson was appointed as co-trustee about four
weeks later. ;

° Ross argues that Nassan "cut a deal" with HEREIU and
the Trustees to dissolve the Trusteeship, and hold elections in
exchange for Nassan withdrawing from the lawsuit and his
support of Ross.

’ In support of this argument, he points out that he had
been elected to the Executive Board of Local 57 on three
prior occasions even though his dues were then delinquent.
Inasmuch as we are reviewing a grant of summary judgment,
we must accept this argument as true. —

* The district court also discussed Ross’ repeated attempts
to invalidate the August 1998 election despite its previous
ruling that Ross was barred from seeking to effect a change
in the election. The district court reaffirmed its previous
ruling that it lacked jurisdiction to entertain this part of Ross’
claim. Ross v. Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees
Int'l Union, No. 98-1131 slip. op. at 7-8 (W.D. Pa. Jan. 12,
2000). The court reasoned that Title IV of the LMRDA vests
the Secretary of Labor with exclusive jurisdiction over an
individual union member's post-election suits regardless of
when members first seek relief regarding elections. See id. at
8-10 (citing Local No. 82, Furniture & Piano Moving,
Furniture Store Drivers, Helpers, Warehousemen & Packers
v. Crowley, 467 U.S. 526, 541, 544, 81 L. Ed. 2d 457, 104 S.
Ct. 2557 (1984)). Post-election relief to invalidate elections
or seek new elections must first be pursued with the Secretary
of Labor. Id. at 11 n. 2. Therefore, Ross "[was] barred from
pursuing-claims requiring an invalidation of the August 1998

36a
election." Id. at 10-11.

* Ross does not now challenge the district court's denial
of his assertion that the law of the case precluded entry of
summary judgment, or the district court's refusal to overturn
the union's election.

'° Title II] of the LMRDA provides in relevant part:

§ 302 Purposes for which a trusteeship
may be established

Trusteeships shall be established and
administered by a labor organization over a
subordinate body only in accordance with the
constitution and bylaws of the organization
which has assumed trusteeship over the
subordinate body and for the purpose of
correcting corruption or financial malpractice,
assuring the performance of collective
bargaining agreements or other duties of
bargaining representative, restoring
democratic procedures, or otherwise carrying
out the legitimate objects of such labor
organization.

§ 303 Unlawful acts relating to labor
organization under trusteeship

(a) During any period when a subordinate
body of a labor organization is in trusteeship,
it shall be unlawful (1) to count the vote of
delegates from such body in any convention or
election of officers of the labor organization
unless the delegates have been chosen by

37a

secret ballot in an election in which all the
members in good standing of such subordinate
body were eligible to participate . . .

***

§ 304 Enforcement

(a) Upon the written complaint of any member
or subordinate body of a labor organization
alleging that such organization has violated
the provisions of this title (except section 301)
the Secretary shall investigate the complaint
and if the Secretary finds probable cause to
believe that such violation has occurred and
has not been remedied he shall, without
disclosing the identity of the complainant,
bring a civil action in any district court of the
United States having jurisdiction of the labor
organization for such relief (including
injunctions) as may be appropriate. Any
member or subordinate body of a labor
organization affected by any violation of this
title (except section 301) may bring a civil
action in any district court of the United States
having jurisdiction of the labor organization
for such relief (including injunctions) as may
be appropriate.

** *

(c) In any proceeding pursuant to this section
a trusteeship established by a _ labor
organization in conformity with the procedural
requirements of its constitution and bylaws
and authorized or ratified after a fair hearing .

. Shall be presumed valid for a period of

38a

eighteen months from the date of its
establishment and shall not be subject to
attack during such period except upon clear
and convincing proof that the trusteeship was
not established or maintained in good faith for
a purpose allowable under section 302. After
the expiration of eighteen months the
trusteeship shall be presumed invalid in any
such proceeding and its discontinuance shall
be decreed unless the labor organization shall
show by clear and convincing proof that the
continuation of the trusteeship is necessary for
a purpose allowable under section 302. In the
latter event the court may dismiss the
complaint or retain jurisdiction of the cause on
such conditions and for such period as it
deems appropriate.

73 Stat. 519 § § 301, 302, 303, 304, 29U S.C. § § 46],
462, 463, 464.

'' At oral argument, and vaguely in his brief, Ross argued
that we should read the enforcement section of Title III in
light of § 401 which is the introduction section of the
LMRDA and discusses the purposes and policy of the
LMRDA. § 401(b) discusses protecting the rights of
employees and the public in general:

The Congress further finds, from recent
investigations in the labor and management
fields, that there have been a number of
instances of breach of trust, corruption,
disregard of the rights of individual
employees, and other failures to observe high
standards of responsibility and ethical conduct

39a

which require further and supplementary

- legislation that will afford necessary
protection of the rights and interests of
employees and the public generally as they
relate to the activities of labor organizations,
employers, labor relations consultants, and
their officers and representatives.

73 Stat. 519 § 2(b), 29 U.S.C. § 401](b). Ross contends
that this section's use of the word "employees" indicates that
protecting employees of the union was the underlying
purpose of the LMRDA. For reasons we discuss below, we

disagree.

'2 A review of the Senate Report no. 187, Apri! 14, 1959
[To accompany S. 1555] in the Section-By-Section Analysis
reveals that Title I was originally the reporting provision and
Title II was the trusteeship provision. U.S. Code Cong. &
Admin. News at 2352 - 2362. Later, Title 1 became the Bill
of Rights provision, Title II became the reporting provision
and Title III became the trusteeship provision. 73 Stat. 519 §
| et seq., 29 U.S.C. § 40] et seq.

'? Part of Ervin's discussion specifically explained that
the bill "takes care of the main reason why trusteeships are
sometimes arbitrarily imposed, namely, to enable
international officers to control the selection of delegates to
international conventions. The bill contains a specific
provision to the effect that the local union in trusteeship may
be represented at an international convention only by
delegates elected by a secret ballot of the members of the
local." 105 Cong. Rec. 6677.

'* The enforcement provision currently in force is § 304
of the LMRDA, 29 U.S.C. § 464.

40a
'S Congressman Teller stated:

HR 8342 is a substantial improvement over S.
1555 (the Kennedy-Ervin bill), the Senate-
passed labor management reform bill which
our committee used as a basis for its
deliberations . . . . Reducing the excessive
powers of the Secretary of Labor, as we did in
our committee bill H.R. 8342, is in line with
our traditions which favor the diffusion of
power, will save the taxpayer many millions
of dollars annually without impairing the basic
objectives of the proposed law, and will
permit individuals to prosecute their own
cases in the courts without having to obtain
permission of a Government agent or official
to do so.

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1959, p. 2500.

'° The suit was filed under LMRDA § § 101(a)(1) and
(2) which "guarantee equal voting rights, and rights of speech
and assembly, to 'every member of a labor organization." /d.
at 436 (quoting 29 U.S.C. § 411 (1998)).

'’ There is some confusion about Ross’ position regarding
whether the Trusteeship was appropriately created and/or
maintained. Defendants quote Ross as having conceded that
the Trusteeship “was appropriate and was imposed for a
proper purpose." See Defendants’ Br. at 2. However, we do
not interpret Ross’ testimony as a concession. Rather, he was
asked if he was aware of the serious charges facing the
officers of the union and whether such serious charges justify
establishing a Trusteeship. He responded, "well, according to
the International, that's the way they feel. But, I think we

4la

should have been spoke [sic] to first. . . . I do believe that is a
vaiid reason for an International to come in and take over."
App. at 250. Ross did not necessarily concede, however, that
the actual motivation for taking over was the justification
asserted by the International. Moreover, even if he may have
conceded the Trusteeship was established for a legitimate
purpose, he clearly insists that it was maintained for an
improper purpose, and that he has a cause of action under
Title III as a result.

'8 Ross’ brief states:

As a result of the improper use of a
trusteeship, Ross suffered direct or proximate
damages. But for the imposition of the
trusteeship, Ross still would be employed.
Since the trusteeship was intended for an
improper purpose and maintained in bad faith,
the Defendants violated the LMRDA. Ross, as
a member of Local 57, was "affected" by the
violation of the LMRDA. The damages
requested were "appropriate" to make him
whole.

Ross’ Brief at 23 (emphasis added).

'? Ross’ brief states:

The actions of the International Union will
have also a chilling affect on all members of
Local 57. If the International Union succeeds
in destroying Ross and leaving him with no
recourse, then other members will refrain from
opposing the International Union. On the other
hand, if the International Union is required to

42a

defend Ross' action and to compensate him for
its misuse of the trusteeship, then the
International Union will think twice before
using a trusteeship as a means to harm one of
its members, In this respect, Ross' actions
benefit all members and inure to the benefit of
the 'subordinate body of a labor organization'
in addition to himself.

Ross' brief at 23 (emphasis added).

*? We do not suggest that a union member must be
stripped of his/her union membership to state a cause of
action under Title I or that prompt reappointment will always
insulate a defendant from claims of retaliation. However, we
do note that Ross does not argue that his termination as an
appointed officer was a scheme to suppress his freedom of
speech and assembly as a union member under Title I.

43a
CIVIL ACTION NO. 98-1131

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

GEORGE ROSS,
Plaintiff
vs

HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND RESTAURANT
EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION,
ROBERT BAKER, CO-TRUSTEE, and
CAROL CARLSON, CO-TRUSTEE,

Defendant -

October 4, 1999, Decided

SUBSEQUENT HISTORY:

subsequent app at Ross v. Hotel Emples. & Rest. Emples. Int'l
Union, 2001 U.S. App. LEXIS 20652 (3rd Cir., Sept. 17,
2001)

DISPOSITION:
Defendants' motion in limine was denied.

COUNSEL:
For GEORGE ANDREW ROSS, plaintiff: Thomas M.
Castello, Plunkett & Cooney, Pittsburgh, PA.

For EDWARD NASSAN, DARREL BROWN, consolidated
plaintiffs: Thomas M. Castello, Plunkett & Cooney,
Pittsburgh, PA.

For HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND RESTAURANT
EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION, defendant:
Robert A. Eberle, Jubelirer, Pass & Intrieri, Pittsburgh, PA.

For HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND RESTAURANT
EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION, defendant:
Michelle Heyer, Gold, Rotatori, Schwartz & Gibbons Co.,
Cleveland, OH.

For HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND RESTAURANT
EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION, defendant:
Susan L. Gragel, Rotatori, Gragel & Stoper, Cleveland, OH.

For ROBERT BAKER, CO-TRUSTEE, CAROL
CARLSON, CO-TRUSTEE, defendants: Joseph J. Pass,
Robert A. Eberle, Jubelirer, Pass & Intrieri, Pittsburgh, PA.

For LOCAL 57 OF THE HOTEL EMPLOYEES AND
RESTAURANT EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL
UNION, consolidated defendant: Terry K. Leckman, Lipsitz,
Nassau, Schwartz & Leckman, Pittsburgh, PA.

JUDGES:
FRANCIS X. CAIAZZA, U.S. Magistrate Judge.

OPINION BY:
FRANCIS X. CAIAZZA

OPINION:

Before the court for resolution is the Defendants’ Motion
in Limite. fa their motion the Defendants request the court to
enter an order which bars the Plaintiff "from offering any
evidence or argument regarding his claim that he was
improperly disqualified as a candidate for election to union
office in August, 1998." See Defs.' Mot. in Limine at |.
Before reaching the merits of the Defendants' motion some
comment on the history of this case is required.

The Plaintiff George Ross (Ross) along with Edward
Nassan (Nassan) and Darrel Brown (Brown), commenced an

45a

action against the Defendants in which they requested the
court to "dissolve [a] Trusteeship created January 6, 1998,
reinstate the Constitution and By-laws of Local 57, appoint |
Edward Nassan as temporary President pending elections,
order the immediate elections of officers and assess counsel
fees and costs against the Defendants." See Compl.
Wherefore Clause.' The action was filed in this court at 98-
629 on April 6, 1998. Next, Ross filed a Motion to Amend
Complaint on January 19, 1999. The court directed the
Defendants to respond to the Plaintiff's motion by February
1, 1999 in an order dated January 20, 1999. The Defendants
failed to respond to the Plaintiff's motion and by order dated
February 5, 1999 the Plaintiff was granted the right to file an
Amended Complaint. In his Amended Complaint the Plaintiff
requests that the court void the suspension of the Local 57
By-Laws and Constitution as well as his employment
termination as a business agent. He also requests that the
court void the following action: (1) the imposition of the new
eligibility requirements for elective office and (2) the July,
1998 election. Finally, he requests an order which directs
Local 57 to schedule new elections in accordance with its
1994 By-Laws and Constitution. See Am. Compl., Wherefore
Clause.

Next, Ross filed an action in the Court of Common Pleas
of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania at No. GD98-10468 on
June 26, 1998. That action was removed to this court on June
26, 1998 and is filed at 98-1131. In the latter action the
Plaintiff requests that the court declare him eligible to be
nominated for general office and that he "be included as an
eligible candidate for any and all offices to be chosen by the
election of July, 1998." See Compl.. Wherefore Clause.
Parenthetically, by order dated July 7, 1999 both actions were
consolidated pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
42(a), with all future filings to be docketed at the Civil
Action Number 98-1131.

46a

The resolution of the Defendants' Motion in Limine
requires an examination of the provisions of 29 U.S.C. § 483
as well as the relationship between Title I, Title III and Title
IV of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act
of 1959 (LMRDA), 29 U.S.C. § 401, et seq.

Title 29 U.S.C. § 483 provides that "existing rights and
remedies to enforce the constitution and bylaws of a labor
organization with respect to elections prior to the conduct
thereof shall not be effected by the provisions of this
subchapter." (emphasis provided). Title I of the LMRDA is
the union members ‘Bill of Rights.’ Its terms provide union
members with the right to vote, to participate in union
decisions, to meet freely and to be protected against improper
disciplinary action. 29 U.S.C. § 411. Title III provides union
members with the right to commence a civil action if any
labor organization violates any "provisions of this
subchapter." 29 U.S.C. § 464. That section is pertinent to this
action because it serves as the jurisdictional basis of the
action filed at Civil Action 98-629. See Compl. P 8. In this
lawsuit the Plaintiff has alleged that a trusteeship has been
improperly established. See 29 U.S.C. § § 462 and 464(c).
Title IV regulates elections for union offices. 29 U.S.C. §
482. -

The law is clear that Title IV election rights are not
enforceable through a post-election private suit. See Calhoon
v. Harvey, 379 U.S. 134, 13 L. Ed. 2d 190, 85 S. Ct. 292
(1964). In that regard, an action which raises election
challenges must be commenced by the Secretary of Labor.
See 29 U.S.C. § 482. The court must determine, then,
whether this consolidated action is basically a post-election
suit which seeks judicial relief relative to the completed
election or a pre-election action.

The sequence of the election process is this. On or about
June 15, 1998, the General President issued instructions for
the election of officers to commence with nominations on

47a

July 1, 1998 followed by elections on July 10, 1998. The
ballots were counted on August 10, 1998.

Here, the original Complaint in the action at 98-629 was
filed on April 6, 1998 and it-requested no particular relief
relative to any pending election but instead sought relief
which related to the dissolution of the trusteeship.’ In this
action the Plaintiff also sought injunctive relief which again
related to the creation of the trusteeship. That motion was
denied on April 9, 1998. Subsequent to the election, the
Plaintiff was granted the right to file an Amended Complaint
by order dated February 5, 1999. In the Amended Complaint
the Plaintiff sought very specific relief relative to a
completed election. :

The action at 98-1131 was filed in state court on June 26,
1998; it was removed to this court on June 29, 1998. It sought
specific relief relative to an uncompleted election. Apparently
because of the ensuing election the Plaintiff filed a Petition
For Temporary Restraining Order on June 29, 1998. In the
petition he alleged that he had "reason to believe that he
would be declared ineligible to be a candidate for any local
elected office ..." (Pet. P 6), that the "defendants refuse to
confirm or deny Plaintiff's eligibility ..." (Pet. P 4), that
"without this court's intervention [the] Plaintiff will be
irreparably harmed ..." (Pet. § 14) and that "without this
court's intervention [the] Plaintiff has no adequate remedy at
law ..." (Pet. P 17). By oral order the court denied the
Plaintiff's request for a temporary restraining order on June
29, 1998. The Plaintiff was declared ineligible and the
election was held in the sequence described supra.

A review of those dates reveals that, in somewhat of a
hybrid fashion, the Plaintiff filed both a post-election and
preelection suit in which he sought judicial relief relative to
an election. Nevertheless, even if the court finds that this is
essentially a post-election action the Plaintiff may be
permitted to present evidence which relates to the election

48a

process in an action in which he seeks only monetary relief
because the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit has stated that "the rather broad language of the
Calhoon decision could not be considered to have precluded
Title I suits related to election matters." See Amalgamated
Clothing Workers of America Rank and File Committee v.
Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, Philadelphia,
Joint Board, 473 F.2d 1303, 1306 (3d Cir. 1973) (citing
Union Elections and the LMRDA, 8/ Yale L.J. 407, 546-547
(1972)). The court went on to say that Calhoon did not
prohibit "Title I suits in the election area [and that actions
commenced] before an election which were intrinsically
bound up with the election process have been permitted." /d.
(citing Semancik v. United Mine Workers of America, District
No. 5, 466 F.2d 144 (C.A.3 1972); DePew v. Edmiston, 386
F.2d 710 (C.A. 1967); Sheridan v. United Brotherhood of
Carpenters, 191 F. Supp. 347 (D.Del. 1961). \t does not
appear, therefore, to be unreasonable to extend the court's
reasoning at it relates to Title I actions to lawsuits which are
based upon Title III of the LMRDA, such as the case filed at
98-629. Parenthetically, this court must recognize that "once
the election has been completed, the outcome cannot be
affected by [a] Title I suit. The judicial and administrative
remedy of Title IV is exclusive." Amalgamated Clothing, 473
F.3d at 1306. For the same reason, following the completion
of the election process, the outcome cannot be affected by a
Title II] case because of the exclusivity provisions of Title
IV. Is that same conclusion applicable to cases filed pursuant
to actions filed pursuant to the provisions of 29 U.S.C. § 483
where the action was filed but not decided prior to the
election.

First, the Plaintiff's claim that he has no remedy is
without merit. Following the election he maintained the right
to seek relief pursuant to the enforcemént provisions of the
LMRDA. See 29 U.S.C. § 482.

49a

Next, the action initially filed at 98-629 was filed prior to
the election. However, it sought no specific relief relative to
the election process and it was based upon 29 U.S.C. § 464,
which makes it a Title III action. Notably, the election issues
raised in the Amended Complaint were filed post-election.

Next, the Plaintiff obviously filed the action at 98-1131,
which involved the union's constitution and by-laws, "prior to
the conduct" of the election. [It was filed in state court on
June 26, 1998 and it was removed to this court on June, 29,
1998.] Immediately foliowing the removal of the case to this
court, District Court Judge Gary Lancaster held an expedient
hearing on the request for a temporary restraining order and
proceeded to deny the request of the Plaintiff which would
have made him eligible to be nominated for a Local 57 office
in the face of a close sequence of events; viz., the motion for
a temporary restraining order was denied on June 29, 1998,
the nomination process commenced on July 1, 1998, the
election was conducted on July, 10 1998, and ballots were
counted on August 10, 1998. With this history in mind the
court must resolve this question: whether the action a

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0941%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
