# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fleming v. Borden, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0612%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 1024

## Text

— Court, U.S

I3 - 641. ILED

~ 1 OCT 21 1993

am 1 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

Kathy Fleming, Petitioner,
Vv.

Borden, Inc., Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

C. Richard Kelly

Post Office Box 11648
Columbia, South Carolina 29211
(803) 252-6707

Counsel of Record

October 21, 1993

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does ~z9 U.S.C. §1140 require a
showing of intent or scienter as regards
its prohibition against discriminating
“against a participant or beneificiary
for exercising any right to which he is
entitled under" an ERISA plan or only as
regards discriminating against a plan
participant "for the purpose of
interfering with the attainment of any
right to which such participant may
become entitled", which is the language
of the second clause of the statute?

2. Does the language prohibiting
@iscrimination against an ERISA plan
participant "for the purpose of
interfering with the attainment" of
rights to which a participant may become
entitled require proof of an actual

subsequent entitlement of the rights

sought to be interfered with or can a

participant sue for damages or injuntive
relief caused by another’s discrimination
based on ae preception or possibility
which failed to materialize?

3. Does an employer’s policy of
terminating employees who exceed the
plant average of absences of two percent
a month and which makes no reasonable
exception for absences caused by health
problems or disabling conditions
inherently discriminate against
participants in the employer’s health and
disability ERISA plan?

4. Does 29 U.S.C. §1132 provide a
cause of action for injuntive relief for
violations of 29 U.S.C. §1140 even after
the plan participant was later terminated
as a result of the prior violations?

5. Was an inability to do her regular
job duties sufficient to cause the

waiting period for petitioner’s long term

ii

disability to run even if respondent gave
her light duty work to do and kept her on

the payroll?

iii

LIST OF PARTIES
The parties to the proceedings
below were the petitioner Kathy Fleming

and the respondent Borden, Inc.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..--+++++eeeeeee> ie
LIST OF PARTIES ..- ceeeeeeeeeceeces iv.
OPINIONS BELOW ...---eeeeeeereeecerces 1
JURISDICTION ...-ee eee ccsccercererecrces 2
STAUTES INVOLVED ...-+--eeeeeeeerreeees 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..--e++eeeeeeeees 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....«--- 40

I. The Fourth Circuit’s
decision required petitioer to
prove scienter in her actions
under 29 U.S.C. §1132 and the
first clause of 29 U.S.C.
§1140 when the statutory
lanuage does not support such
a requirement .......-++-+--+ 40

II../The Fourth Circuit’s
decision required petitioner
to show an interference with

the attainment of an actual

ERISA plan right when the

second clause of 29 U.S.C.
§1140 only requires that she
show discrimination for the
purpose of interfering with a
possible attainment ...... 43
Baas The Fourth Circuit’s
opinion does not address the
inherently discriminatory
effect of respondent’s policy
of terminating plan
participants who exceed the
plant average of absences
while making no meaningful
exception for absences related
to the use of health or
disability plan benefits ..47
Iv. The Fourth Circuit’s
decision failed to address
petitioner’s action for

damages and injunctive relief

under 29 U.S.C. §1132 based on

an intentional interference
with her short term disability
benefits for her migraines and
on her entitlement to long
term disability benefits ..51
Vv. The Fourth Circuit’s
decision does not address
respondent’s ERISA plan’s
definition of what constitutes
"total disability" for
purposes of meeting the six
month waiting period required
to qualify for long term

disability benefits .----- 53

COMOETIETION cccccccosvevoseorerrsorers 58
APPENDIX (Opinion and Judgment of Court

of Appeals, and Memorandum Decision of

District Court) -----+srrrsesrrerre®

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Conkwright v.Westinghouse Elec.

_Corp., .
933 F2d 231 (4th Cir 1991) ............ 53

Gavalik v. Coninental Can Co.
_Inc., .
812 F.2d 834 (3rd. Cir. 1987)...... 44, 48

McDonnell Douglas Corp.v. Green,
411 US 792, 93 S.Ct. 1817,

2° © fF Bei eed errr rrrrerrrrrer 48
Miscellaneous:

Vogal, Joan,"Containing Medical
and Disability Costs by Cutting
Unhealthy Employees: Does Section
510 of ERISA Provide a Remedy?",

Notre Dame Law Review, Vol. 62,
ie Se SR Wee oad so eo bec aes 49

Statutes:

29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(B)...... 40, 42, 52

29 U.S.C. $1140 wccccccsccecves 40, 43, 46

IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

Kathy Fleming, Petitioner,
Vv.

Borden, Inc.-, Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner Kathy Fleming
respectfully prays that 4a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment
and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, entered
in the above-entitled proceeding on June
28, 1993 with petition for rehearing
denied on July 23, 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Ciruit was unpublished and

is reprinted in the appendix hereto at
page l.

The memorandum decision of the
United States District Court for the
District of South Carolina (Anderson,
D.J) has not been reported. It is printed
in the appendix hereto at page 5.

JURISDICTION

This case was before the District
Court for South Carolina pursuant to 29
U.S.C. §1132 and 1140, the Employment
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
(ERISA). On July 9, 1992 the District
Court granted respondent’s motion for
summary judgment. On August 4, 1993 the
District Court denied petition’s request
for reconsideration. i at

On petitioner’s appeal, the Fourth
Circuit on June 28, 1993, entered a
judgment and opinion affirming the

Jistrict Court’s order.

No. 92-2009

BorDEN, INCORPORATED,
Defendant-Appellee.

4

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of South Carolina, at Spartanburg.
G. Ross Anderson, Jr., District Judge.
(CA-89-2839-7)

Argued: June 8, 1993
Decided: June 28, 1993

Before PHILLIPS, LUTTIG, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam opinion.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Charles Richard Kelly, Columbia, South Carolina,
Appellant. Melegia Lee Daniels, Jr.. DANIELS & BRA
Greenville, South Carolina, for Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.
LO.P. 36.5 and 36.6.

00001

Se |

2 FLEMING v. Borpben, Inc.

OPINION

granuing summary Judgment to Borden. Incorporated, on Fleming’s
Claim under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
fi

Fleming began work on the Sanitation crew at Borden’s snack food
factory in Spartanburg, South Carolina in 1981. Various non-
occupational health problems forced her to take S¢veral extended

doctors opined that she Could return to her regular duties at the plant,
Fleming received a final waming. She failed to work a full shift the
NeXt two nights. On June 25, having missed at least sixty days of
work in 1986, Fleming was terminated by Borden due to excessive
absences.

FLEMING V. BORDEN, INC. iE

hen allowed Fleming to amend her complaint to add an ERISA
-laim, namely that Borden had discharged her in order to prevent her
om qualifying for long-term disability benefits under appellee’s ben-
‘fits plan, in violation of ERISA section 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140.* The
jistrict court remanded the state law claims to state court. Upon their
jisposition, Borden moved for summary judgment on Fleming's
SRISA claim.

The district court granted the motion. Applying the framework set
forth in Conkwright v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 933 F.2d 231 (4th
Cir. 1991), the court held that Fleming had failed to establish a prima
facie case of discriminatory discharge under section 510. While Flem-
ing claimed to have been nearing the twenty-seven week disability
threshold required for elibility for long-term benefits at the time she
was terminated, the district court noted that she never actually estab-
lished, through medical opinion or otherwise, that she was in fact dis-
abled at any time between her injury on January 30, 1986, and her
dismissal five months later. Thus, far from approaching eligibility for
long-term benefits, Fleming had not even satisfied the prerequisite
necessary to start the disability clock running. Moreover, the district
~ourt concluded that there was no evidence that the supervisors who
fired Fleming had ever even considered the possibility that she might
be proceeding toward eligibility for long-term disability benefits at
the time they discharged her. Since Fleming was unable to produce
any evidence of a causal connection between her membership in the
nenefits plan and her discharge, an essential element of her ERISA
-laim, the district court held that Borden was entitled to judgment

We have read the briefs, heard oral argument, and given full con-
sideration to Fleming’s contentions. Finding no error in the thorough
spinion of the court below, Fleming v. Borden, Inc., No. 89-2839-7
(D.S.C. July 9, 1992), and agreeing that appellant failed to establish
her disability through medical opinion during the relevant time
period, or to provide any evidence of a causal link between her dis-

*"It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge . . . a participant . ..
for the purpose of interfering with the attainment of any right to which
such participant may become entitled under the [employer's benefits|
plan." 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

000035

4 FLEMING Vv. Borpen, INc.

charge and her membership in the Borden benefits plan, we affirm on
the reasoning of the district court.

AFFIRMED

00004

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA

SPARTANBURG DIVISION

KATHY FLEMING,
Plaintiff,
vs. C. A. No. 7:89-2839-3

BORDEN, INC.,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER

This matter comes before the Court on
defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment.
Plaintiff’s Complaint, as amended, alleged
numerous violations of state law, based on
both contract and tort theories, as well
as a federal claim alleging discriminatory
discharge, in violation of Section 510 of
the Employee Retirement Income Security

Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. Section 1140.

Plaintiff’s state law claims were remanded

000095

to state court and resolved there. This
Court will not consider them further. For
the reasons stated below, the Court grants
summary judgment °§ to defendant on
plaintiff’s ERISA claim.
FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff was employed at defendant’s
snack food plant in 1981. In 1985, she
took extended leaves of absence, one for
an operation on her thumb and one for
migraine headaches. She drew short-term
disability benefits each time. She was
also absent from work on several other
days in 1985 for various reasons. She was
given two warnings in 1985 for excessive
absences. Her leaves of absence were not
counted toward her absence record. On
January 30, 1986, plaintiff suffered an
injury to her wrist at work. She returned
to work the next day on light duty and,

despite her injury, was able to work her

regular hours until the middle of April,

00006

1986. She saw several doctors concerning
her injury. None expressed an opinion
that she should not be working, although
she was restricted to duties which did not
involve use of her right arm. During
March, she was given a third warning for
excessive absenteeism for absences
unrelated to her injury.

After the middle of April, plaintiff
never worked a full shift. She would come
in, work for a short while, and leave,
complaining of her arm hurting. She was
informed by her superiors that her leaving
would be considered an unexcused absence
unless she brought a note from the doctor
saying she couldn’t or shouldn’t be
working. Plaintiff contends that she was
not able to stay at work during this time
because she was given jobs which required
her to use her right arm and/or made her

right arm hurt. While plaintiff did see

several doctors between the middle of

60007

April and her discharge, none of them ever
expressed an opinion that she should not
be working. Plaintiff eel given another
written warning, specifically about her
problems with unexcused absences, on June

12, 1986.

In late June, defendant received a
notice from an orthopedic specialist to
whom plaintiff had been referred to the
effect that he felt she could return to
her normal duties. Plaintiff was informed
of this. When she did not work a full
shift the next two nights, she was
terminated for excessive absenteeism on
June 25, 1986.

ERISA CLAIM

Under Section 510 of ERISA, it is
unlawful to discharge an employee for the
purpose of interfering with the attainment
of any right to which they may become

entitled under an employer’s benefit plan.

Plaintiff contends that the true reason

00006

for her discharge was to get rid of her
before she qualified for long-term
disability under the defendant’s plan.
The Fourth Circuit has determined
that a plaintiff must show specific intent
by a defendant to violate Section 510 in
order to recover. Conkwright v.

Westinghouse Electric Corp., 933 F.2d 231
(4th Cir. 1991). This may be accomplished

through direct evidence of discrimination
or the use of the prima facie case
analysis used in race and age
discrimination cases. Plaintiff has no
direct evidence of discrimination. For a
Section 510 action, the prima facie case
consists of four elements:

e Membership in a benefit plan;

2. Job performance at a level that
meets the employer’s legitimate
expectations;

P An adverse employment decision;
and

4. Some evidence which establishes
a causal connection between the

00009

a

employment decision and
membership in the benefit plan.

Viewing the evidence and any
reasonable inferences from the evidence in
the light most favorable to plaintiff, as
the court must do on a summary judgment
motion, plaintiff has produced no evidence
which is sufficient to supply a causal
connection between her discharge and the
long-term disability plan.

Plaintiff argues that she was well on
her way to qualifying for long-term
disability when she was discharged, and
this supplies the necessary causal
connection. Under defendant’s plan, an
employee must be disabled for six months
in order to qualify for long-term
disability. There is a dispute between
the parties concerning the standard used
by the plan to determine eligibility for
long-term disability. Plaintiff alleges

that the following language should be used

00010

to determine eligibility:

Once Long Term Disability

Plan benefits start, they

will continue:

* for the next two years
if you are not able to

perform the essential
duties of your job, and...

Plaintiff argues that she could not
perform the essential elements of her job
from the date of her injury in January
until her discharge in June, a period of
five months. The language cited by
plaintiff, however, applies only after an
employee has qualified for long-term
benefits. This language is the standard
used to determine continuation of benefits
for up to a two-year period following the
six-month waiting period. Defendant
points to language in the plan which
requires total and continuous disability

for the six-month waiting period in order

O00Li

to qualify for long-term disability

benefits.

It is not necessary, however, for the
Court to resolve this question, since it
is clear that a medical Opinion is
required under the plan to qualify for
disability. Plaintiff has presented no
expert medical opinion which would satisfy
either the requirement that she was unable
to perform her essential job duties during
this period or that she was totally and
continuously disabled. In fact, the
uncontroverted evidence is that she worked
her regular schedule for two and on-half
months of the five-month period she
claims. For the other half of this
period, even though she left work on a
regular basis, the opinion of the medical
experts who treated her was that she was
able to work. Clearly, plaintiff’s claims
of pain caused by her job duties would not

have been sufficient, by themselves, to

00012

qualify her for disability benefits.
Moreover, even had she presented medical
evidence of disability, in order to supply
the required causal connection, she would
have to show that defendant was aware of
and concerned about her growing
eligibility for long-term disability. She
has provided no evidence from which this
Court could coriclude defendant even
considered the question of whether she was
proceeding toward eligibility. The agents
of defendant who discharged her denied any
knowledge of her eligibility. There is no
evidence of any communications between
them and the administrator of the long-
term benefits plan in Columbus, Ohio,
relative to her eligibility.

Plaintiff contends that defendant
would save money by discharging her prior
to her becoming eligible for benefits.
While the only evidence in the record

seems to indicate the long-term benefits

00013

were funded by employee contributions, the
fact that defendant might save money by
discharging plaintiff, even if true, by
itself, is not sufficient to Supply a

Causal connection. Conkwright , Supra at
239. See Dister vy. Continental Group.

inc., 859 F.2d 1108, 1113 (2d Cir. 1988).
If that were true, any actions by an
employer that resulted in cost savings
would be evidence of discrimination.
Finally, plaintiff argues that
defendant’s attendance policy inherently
discriminates against persons who seek to
qualify for disability. This Court need
not determine if an attendance policy
which is inherently discriminatory
Supplies the requisite specific intent
required under Section 510, for in no way
can the instant Policy be considered
inherently discriminatory towards
employees who may be eligible for

disability payments. The attendance

00014

policy at issue allows for necessary
absences. If an employee exceeds the
plant’s average absenteeism rate, they are
given several opportunities to improve
before discharge occurs. The policy gives
due regard for those people who may suffer
from disabling medical conditions by
providing for leaves of absence, which are
not counted against an employee’s
attendance record. Plaintiff contends she
was fired for her attendance before she
could qualify for long-term disability.
Yet, her absence record for one and one-
half years, not just six months, was
considered in discharging her. The reason
her absences were counted against her was
because she never secured a medical
opinion which would have qualified her for
a leave of absence, not because of an

inherently discriminatory policy. This

case is not at all like Gavalik v.
Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3d Cir.

000109

1987), as plaintiff suggests.

Since plaintiff has no €vidence which
would tend to prove a causal connection
between her discharge and her membership
in the disability plan, summary judgment
is proper. Even if plaintiff could
present a prima facie case, her excessive
absenteeism under defendant’s policy
provides a legitimate, non-discriminatory
reason for her dismissal. Plaintiff has
presented no evidence from which the Court
could reasonably conclude that this reason
was a pretext for benefits discrimination.
In response to a well-supported motion for
summary judgment, "a plaintiff must adduce
facts, which if taken as true, could
enable a jury to identify unlawful intent
from the various other reasons why an
employer might have terminated plaintiff

-" Conkwright, supra at 239. This the
plaintiff has not done. Her failure

mandates entry of summary judgment in

' 00016

favor of defendant.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that
defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment be
granted, and plaintiff’s Complaint be
dismissed with prejudice in its entirety.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

(s) G. Ross Anderson, Jr.
United States District Judge

Anderson, South Carolina
July, 1992

00017

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

FILED July 23, 1993

No. 92-2009

CA-89-2839-7

KATHY FLEMING

Plaintiff-Appellant
Vv.

BORDEN, INCORPORATED

Defendant-Appellant

On Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion

for Rehearing In Banc

The applicant’s petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing in banc were

00018

submitted to this Court. As no member of
this Court or the panel requested a poll
on the suggestion for rehearing in banc,
and

As the panel considered the petition
for rehearing and is of the opinion that
it should be denied,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in

banc are denied.

For the Court,

/s/_ Bert M. Montague
CLERK

~ 00012

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0612%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
